View Full Version : AFL Game Day Round 9, 2018 - Adelaide V Western Bulldogs at Adelaide Oval

17-05-2018, 08:57 PM
Predictions:

- Margin
- Our first goal kicker
- Our best on ground

Margin: Bulldogs by 3 points - win our 4th game in a row and really gain even more confidence

First Goal: Tom Boyd to get the first and kick 4 for the game

Best On Ground: Jack Macrae with Toby McLean behind

Go Bulldogs!!

17-05-2018, 11:42 PM
Dogs by 5 points
First Goal: Gowers
BOG: The Bont

18-05-2018, 01:38 AM
Dogs by 38 points
First goal; Mr William Gowers
Best on Ground: Mr Tobias (Magic) McLean.

18-05-2018, 07:22 AM
Dogs by 1 pt
BOG Macrae ( on him for the Brownlow )
1st goal Monica Lipinski
Crowd 40,000 whinging raven fans

18-05-2018, 08:25 AM
Was having a debate last night about which of the sides are more depleted for tonight’s game. Thoughts?

18-05-2018, 08:39 AM
Dogs by a goal, Kicked by MaCrae with 2 minutes to go (as a result of gut running from CHB - ala the '16 PF)
First goal is Billy, with a massive stiff arm fend off in the goalsquare.
BOG is the Bont, they cant tag both Bont and Jack.

This is a supremely winnable game, this is the making or breaking of us this year.

18-05-2018, 09:01 AM
Was having a debate last night about which of the sides are more depleted for tonight’s game. Thoughts?

It doesn’t really matter because no doubt it will all be about how depleted and brave they are.

18-05-2018, 09:48 AM

Them... comfortably.

Whilst we are still missing a few we won't get them at a better time.

18-05-2018, 09:57 AM
Any SA woofers going?

18-05-2018, 10:05 AM
Any SA woofers going?

At least one Vic WOOFer going.

Arranged a work trip over here for the last few days and heading back into Adel for tonight's game... Nice that we are half a chance too.

18-05-2018, 10:09 AM
I am giving us some hope tonight....but ultimately think Adelaide's system on that ground will be too much.

Crows by 15 points
First Goal: Tom Boyd from a free for blocking!
BOG: Why wouldn't it be Macrae?
Crowd: 49,555.

18-05-2018, 10:13 AM
At least one Vic WOOFer going.

Arranged a work trip over here for the last few days and heading back into Adel for tonight's game... Nice that we are half a chance too.

Good stuff Mantis. Yeah I'm a VIC woofer too who will be watching it from home with a beer :) Big chance tonight for sure. We are a due for a interstate win.

18-05-2018, 10:43 AM
Dogs by 12 (would've said Crows by 60 a fortnight ago)
1st goal Boyd in the first minute after chestmarking a Macrae lace out pass off a 30 metre lead
BOG McLean

18-05-2018, 12:18 PM
Any SA woofers going?

Yep. Taking my four year old to her second game and she is bursting with excitement.

18-05-2018, 01:44 PM
Dogs by 10
BOG- Bont
First goal- Boyd

18-05-2018, 02:50 PM
Dogs by 16 pts, could it just click tonight? Hope so.
BOG: JMac
FG: Billy Gowers

18-05-2018, 02:54 PM
BOG Macrae ( on him for the Brownlow )

His a very good chance if he keeps up this form. While Bont hasn't had the best 2018 so far he was a very strong contributor last Saturday night.

18-05-2018, 03:12 PM
Dogs by 11 pts
BOG: Bont
FG: Boyd

18-05-2018, 04:22 PM
About 7 mills of rain have fallen in Adelaide so far today and radar says there's more coming.

18-05-2018, 04:39 PM
About 7 mills of rain have fallen in Adelaide so far today and radar says there's more coming.
Bring the Crows back to our skill level.

Seems like a Jong/Honeychurch kind of night.

18-05-2018, 04:44 PM
Interesting stats.

We are number one for marks inside 50, Adelaide 12th and we are second for marks overall, and Adelaide 3rd.

We are also 6th in clearances and Adelaide 14th, even though Adelaide hitouts total is 321 to ours 187.

We must take advantage of the marks inside 50 and goal accurately.

18-05-2018, 04:53 PM
Interesting stats.

We are number one for marks inside 50, Adelaide 12th and we are second for marks overall, and Adelaide 3rd.

We are also 6th in clearances and Adelaide 14th, even though Adelaide hitouts total is 321 to ours 187.

We must take advantage of the marks inside 50 and goal accurately.

I like those clearance stats. With wet conditions, winning clearances is a big advantage. Their best clearance players, Sloane and Crouch, are out so this should be an advantage for us. Their best clearance winner this year has been Bryce Gibbs, he is a player we will need to watch. If we have an onballer play defensively, Gibbs is the player we probably need to target (as well as Laird on the outside).

18-05-2018, 04:59 PM
I like those clearance stats. With wet conditions, winning clearances is a big advantage. Their best clearance players, Sloane and Crouch, are out so this should be an advantage for us. Their best clearance winner this year has been Bryce Gibbs, he is a player we will need to watch. If we have an onballer play defensively, Gibbs is the player we probably need to target (as well as Laird on the outside).
With Honey and Jong out, I imagine our only really nullifying player with be Caleb on Laird and we'll back our midfield in to go head to head.
They'll be one short on attacking types given Greenwood will run with Macrae I assume, although I suspect when Macrae is not in the middle they'll structure up to ensure McLean doesn't get a clean run at the ball.

18-05-2018, 05:05 PM
With Honey and Jong out, I imagine our only really nullifying player with be Caleb on Laird and we'll back our midfield in to go head to head.
They'll be one short on attacking types given Greenwood will run with Macrae I assume, although I suspect when Macrae is not in the middle they'll structure up to ensure McLean doesn't get a clean run at the ball.

Hopefully Bont has had a good week with his hip and is up to 50% midfield time. His big body iand sure hands will be valuable in the clinches.

18-05-2018, 05:07 PM

They will have to contend with Macrae, Mclean and The Bont, plus we need a big game from Dahl who was down last week.

I am expecting Bont to play more midfield time with a couple of talls coming in.

18-05-2018, 05:10 PM
I'm tipping the Bont and Macrae will tear this game up. The crows are missing too many in the middle to be a threat and if our young kids don't go into their shell, these two will star. Macrae with another 40+, Bont with a 2-3 classy big game goals.

18-05-2018, 05:11 PM
I'm not convinced that the rain helps us. It didn't against Freo.

18-05-2018, 05:21 PM
I'm not convinced that the rain helps us. It didn't against Freo.

But this will be different because we've packed our team with talls and, umm... Oh right I see your point.

18-05-2018, 05:30 PM
Yep. Taking my four year old to her second game and she is bursting with excitement.

Hope you have a great night TAC.

Dogs by 17
First Goal : Boyd
BOG: You know who it is. It's him.

18-05-2018, 05:31 PM
Dogs by 27 points
First goal: Dunkley
BOG: Bont

18-05-2018, 06:11 PM

Hope Roo got a new umbrella after the one he had against Collingwood in Adelaide a few weeks back was torn to shreads.

Also hope Bevo and the MC had a very good look at what the Pies did to knock off the Crows in similar conditions that night.

18-05-2018, 07:10 PM
Hope you have a great night TAC.

Dogs by 17
First Goal : Boyd
BOG: You know who it is. It's him.

Cheers! You will all be happy to know that my four year old has been to one Dogs game for a win (the Good Friday game) and two Crows games (my wife is a Crow) for two losses (the Grand Final last year and a Game at the G’ against the Hawks when she was about 18 months where she kept yelling out “Go Bulldogs!”).

I’m taking that as an omen:
Dogs by 20
Boyd first goal (from a Free where he gets blocked and held)
Bont and Mcrae to both get 9 coaches votes as equal best on

18-05-2018, 07:12 PM
Cheers! You will all be happy to know that my four year old has been to one Dogs game for a win (the Good Friday game) and two Crows games (my wife is a Crow) for two losses (the Grand Final last year and a Game at the G’ against the Hawks when she was about 18 months where she kept yelling out “Go Bulldogs!”).

I’m taking that as an omen:
Dogs by 20
Boyd first goal (from a Free where he gets blocked and held)
Bont and Mcrae to both get 9 coaches votes as equal best on

Nice

18-05-2018, 07:51 PM
No late changes.

Wallis, Dunkley, Richards, Lipinski on bench.

Big team starting on field.

18-05-2018, 07:53 PM

Awesome

18-05-2018, 07:58 PM
I can smell a win tonight!
Dogs by 26
First goal - Lips
BOG - Dunkley to have a blinder

18-05-2018, 08:13 PM
On Fox, Johnno has just tipped us to win by 30+. Love it.

18-05-2018, 08:20 PM
If our goal kicking is anything like the warm up, we will smoke them.

18-05-2018, 08:36 PM
This is the season defining game for mine. If we can't muster up the strength and will to overcome a very depleted Crow's side tonight, we will struggle to compete with the better than middling teams.

18-05-2018, 08:43 PM
If our goal kicking is anything like the warm up, we will smoke them.

I can feel another 5 15 coming on

18-05-2018, 08:45 PM
I love footy in heavy rain. C'mon doggies, lets dig in harder

Uh it's already hard to listen to. I think they've gone in too tall, I think they've gone in too tall. How many more times will Ling say that tonight. I think he's up to 3, maybe 4 in the first 10 minutes of coverage.

Will be even better winning in the rain.

18-05-2018, 08:46 PM
It's pissing down! Have we gone in too tall?

18-05-2018, 08:48 PM
Who's the girl who ran out with Wood?

18-05-2018, 08:50 PM
Very much reminds me of Sydney 2015..........

Let's hope the result is the same.

18-05-2018, 08:52 PM
Well that’s it we’re stuffed! Lol

18-05-2018, 08:54 PM
Bruce is a sick pervert, he just can't not make everyone mortified with his histrionics and I ask once again, who the hell does he appeal to?

18-05-2018, 08:58 PM
Roughy looks noticeably stronger than Jacobs. Must have hit the gym!

18-05-2018, 09:08 PM
Jesus, it's all about Adelaide on the commentary tonight isn't it.

18-05-2018, 09:11 PM
Mclean is pure class

18-05-2018, 09:14 PM
Richard's handling first touch these last couple of minutes has been sublime.

18-05-2018, 09:16 PM
One free goal to Adelaide lol

18-05-2018, 09:16 PM
Piss off umpire

18-05-2018, 09:18 PM
Poor result. We've dominated possession and territory but Adelaide are looking in control.

Christ, 2 in about 20 seconds.

Can someone please amputate zaine cordy’s left foot!

18-05-2018, 09:19 PM
That is the softest free kick, and *!*!*!*! you Ling you *!*!*!*!, *!*!*!*! off, they won't pay that every time.

*!*!*!*!ing cheats. Channel 7 *!*!*!*! off, that is not a free kick you *!*!*!*!ing wankers stop being *!*!*!*!ing wankers.

18-05-2018, 09:20 PM
Jeez we've been unlucky. Keep this intensity up and we'll win.

18-05-2018, 09:21 PM
Cordy again, mate, come on.

18-05-2018, 09:21 PM
We need a reset in that backline, getting way too high up the park.

18-05-2018, 09:23 PM
16 points. Is that a match winning lead?

Adelaide have managed to get a free man off the back of the contest way too often.

18-05-2018, 09:24 PM
Those goals hurt.

That sliding rule paid against Roughy is what is wrong with the rule. Umpires have no idea in what circumstances you have to pay it.

The rules of the game have been *!*!*!*!ed up, and the wet conditions are showing why we must reverse many silly changes made in the past 20 years

Going to be a long night.

With our terrible converting if the conditions keep up we may go goalless

Can someone please amputate zaine cordy’s left foot!

I said that in round 1

18-05-2018, 09:25 PM
Adelaide umpires again I see. I’m watching with a crowd supporter and he agrees

18-05-2018, 09:37 PM
Like watching your kids getting run over by a car.

18-05-2018, 09:37 PM
I don’t think I can watch this

18-05-2018, 09:39 PM
Really frustrating

18-05-2018, 09:40 PM
This is not getting any better.

18-05-2018, 09:41 PM
Yay.

Nice finish Webb.

Wow, that free to Webb was a pile of shit

18-05-2018, 09:42 PM
Come on Wood play like a bloody Captain.

18-05-2018, 09:43 PM
Wow, that free to Webb was a pile of shit

Well that is the rule I was talking about earlier

18-05-2018, 09:45 PM
Mitch Wallis should be killing it in these conditions.

18-05-2018, 09:47 PM
I just really struggle with why we think we can do things with the football in these conditions.

Good boy Lucas. Good boy.

*!*!*!*! off commentary team, he slid on the ball into Webb's legs clearly running at 30 degrees. The umpire just explained the rules on air, and still this *!*!*!*!ing commentary team doesn't get it.

18-05-2018, 09:48 PM
Hunter needs to learn out to kick goals

Williams looking like an A grader, Crozier a local footballer at best.

Bloody hell. Lachy had to nail that.

Hunter needs to learn out to kick goals

Had to kick that. The boys are really pushing.

18-05-2018, 09:49 PM
Williams, Lipinski doing well.

18-05-2018, 09:52 PM
How good has Lipinski's ball handling been?

Jesus Lachy. I mean come on.

18-05-2018, 09:53 PM
Great fightback without being able to fully capitalise.

18-05-2018, 09:54 PM
I wish we would nail our opportunities

18-05-2018, 09:57 PM
What's with all the Hunter criticism? He's a smart footballer. :D

18-05-2018, 09:57 PM
Crozier & Trengove just look like very limited, experienced additions to our squad right now.
Prone to costly errors.
Juxtaposed against the composure and skill of two inexperienced guys in Lipinski and Williams.

18-05-2018, 09:58 PM

Williams has been outstanding

18-05-2018, 09:59 PM

Early, but look like 200 gamers at this early stage already.

18-05-2018, 09:59 PM
Im loving this. Big thumbs up to Lipinski, McLean, Williams. Webb has done some good things too. Just keep driving hard, we'll get them.

18-05-2018, 10:00 PM
Wallis struggling. Geez I love the effort from our players. Here’s hoping we snag a goal early in 3rd quarter....Williams, Lipinski and Richards make me think we have some silk for sure. Maclean and Macrae in and under and so brave.Wonder if Boyd should go to forward line as if we get it a high ball in there opp likely to hold him and he gets a free. Is it just me or umpiring slightly favouring crows?

18-05-2018, 10:01 PM
What's with all the Hunter criticism? He's a smart footballer. :D

Unlike some, he’s able to create a concise and compelling point.

18-05-2018, 10:05 PM
Unlike some, he’s able to create a concise and compelling point.

Anyone have a sense of humour? I have a donor I'd like to give it to. I was taking the piss out of myself...

18-05-2018, 10:07 PM
Fremantle spent 6 years trying to turn Crozier into an AFL footballer with no success, why we thought we'd give it another couple of years is beyond me. He's never been up to it and has barely improved in nearing on a decade.

Good ordinary VFL player and nothing more.

18-05-2018, 10:07 PM
I don't get why commentators are up in arms about the Webb free.
I don't care if Talia was going the same way. He slowed and with Webb in very close pursuit chose to dive on the ball. Webb had nowhere to go and was only ever going to get his knee taken out in the ensuing collision.
Talia chose to drop to the ground. He could've tried to pick the ball up and accept the tackle..and a ball up could've ensued.
He knew the greater risk in the conditions was that to do so would've seen the ball get knocked from his grasp from Webb's tackle and so chose instead to dive on the ball.
Take the risk accept the penalty.
Again I say what else from behind could Webb do other than collide withTalia once he chose to go to ground. That resulting collusion could've seen Webb do his knee.

18-05-2018, 10:08 PM
Isn't it funny that Lucas Webb, with an amazing technique, didn't have any issues in steering a wet slippery ball through?

Lachy has been quite good tonight, but he needs to work on his goal kicking technique desperately.

18-05-2018, 10:09 PM
Fremantle spent 6 years trying to turn Crozier into an AFL footballer with no success, why we thought we'd give it another couple of years is beyond me. He's never been up to it and has barely improved in nearing on a decade.

Good ordinary VFL player and nothing more.

Agree. It would appear we've traded and free agented our way in Crozier & Trengove to a poorer list than we had prior to their acquisition.

18-05-2018, 10:11 PM
I reckon Trengove has been ok. Not sure about Crozier yet.

18-05-2018, 10:12 PM
Webb looked like he wanted it and nailed it. Lachie was missing before the ball hit the foot.

Adelaide players with more than 12 touches: Laird.

WB players with more than 12 touches: Macrae, Dahlhaus, Hunter, McLean, Suckling, Bontempelli, Trengove, Cordy.

FFS

18-05-2018, 10:14 PM
I'd like to see Crozier throw himself around like 'The Biggs Repeat Efforts' in the premiership. I'm not sure he can or wants to. Seems to lack a bit of desperation or physicality.

18-05-2018, 10:16 PM
He knew the greater risk in the conditions was that to do so would've seen the ball get knocked from his grasp from Webb's tackle and so chose instead to dive on the ball.
He lost his feet like he lost his mobile phone

18-05-2018, 10:16 PM
Didn't need that. Cmon Dogs get it back!

18-05-2018, 10:17 PM
I don't get why commentators are up in arms about the Webb free.
I don't care if Talia was going the same way. He slowed and with Webb in very close pursuit chose to dive on the ball. Webb had nowhere to go and was only ever going to get his knee taken out in the ensuing collision.
Talia chose to drop to the ground. He could've tried to pick the ball up and accept the tackle..and a ball up could've ensued.
Take the risk accept the penalty.
Again I say what else from behind could Webb do other than collide withTalia once he chose to go to ground. That resulting collusion could've seen Webb do his knee.

This is the only time I'll stick up for Bruce, he got cut off just as the umpire tried to explain the rules. If you slide on it and you might injure someone it's a free.

18-05-2018, 10:18 PM
Where do we find a goal?

18-05-2018, 10:22 PM
Can anyone explain to me what role Roughead is in the team for?

18-05-2018, 10:22 PM
Need to take our chances.

18-05-2018, 10:23 PM
Our ability to turn guilt edged goal opportunities into nothing is truly elite.

18-05-2018, 10:25 PM
too many in short close handballs, not wet weather football.

18-05-2018, 10:25 PM
We're screwed.

18-05-2018, 10:26 PM
At some stage do we acknowledge the 3000 handballs per quarter strategy isn't working and change the plan.

lucky

Where do we find a goal?

Etihad

Easton Wood wow. Im speechless.

Need to pull something out

18-05-2018, 10:27 PM
Harsh free of Crozier there.

Overall I'm enjoying the scrap but we haven't quite played the conditions as well as the Crows.

18-05-2018, 10:28 PM
We’re done.

18-05-2018, 10:30 PM
We’re done.

Yup cooked!

I'm going early. It's done.
The tale of the tape. Sublime finishing from Betts from a half chance. We find ways to miss easy ones let alone half chances like JJ just did.

21 more behinds and the scores are level.

18-05-2018, 10:31 PM
Cordy having a shocker.

18-05-2018, 10:32 PM
Disappointing how much separation the Crows forwards are getting on their opposition.

Just take the dam thing through the goals.

We're determined to handball ourselves to a belting.

It's beyond insane.

Handball,handball,handball, shank kick, turnover.... repeat

18-05-2018, 10:34 PM
Jee. Dunkley make's Scott West look like a sprinter..

18-05-2018, 10:35 PM
Dahl has been really good

18-05-2018, 10:36 PM
The handballing thing is a young and rattled side reverting to something they know and doubling down on it. It wouldn't be the strategy.

100% it will be called out during the review.

18-05-2018, 10:38 PM
141 handballs to 71 and we're 27 points down. What a *!*!*!*!ing joke!

Handball, handball, handball, handball, shank kick, miss the goal. Repeat!

I really thought Bevo would've had the nouse to know the handball game was not an option tonight.
Afraid to say we committed to fail strategically before a ball was bounced.

I’ve had more enjoyable medical procedures than watching this.

18-05-2018, 10:39 PM
Such a stupid football side we are.

Handballing obsessionnin wet weather... wow wee. No wonder we’ve kicked one goal

18-05-2018, 10:40 PM
Call of the night from Wayne Carey (referring to below the knee): I'd love to know what the rule is.......

Newsflash *!*!*!*!wit, it's your job to know what the rules are you dickhead.

18-05-2018, 10:40 PM
30m out in the clear and it lands 10m short. Extraordinary!

18-05-2018, 10:41 PM
I really thought Bevo would've had the nouse to know the handball game was not an option tonight.
Afraid to say we committed to fail strategically before a ball was bounced.

Mate, it's not the coaching it's the players.

18-05-2018, 10:44 PM
Call of the night from Wayne Carey (referring to below the knee): I'd love to know what the rule is.......

Newsflash *!*!*!*!wit, it's your job to know what the rules are you dickhead.

I think he was taking the piss about the rule. If there is anything to take out of this is that it highlights how ridiculous it is.

18-05-2018, 10:46 PM
Just dumb football by us. So frustrating

18-05-2018, 10:47 PM
Mate, it's not the coaching it's the players.

I hope so.. but the fact Bevo has had 3 opportunities to address it would suggest otherwise.
If he's banged on about it pre game, and end of each break thereafter then the player's have to be at fault.
But even then would it not beg the question...why aren't they listening?

18-05-2018, 10:49 PM
8 of the top 10 kick getters in the game are Crows and we've had 70 more possessions.

I think he was taking the piss about the rule. If there is anything to take out of this is that it highlights how ridiculous it is.

He proved earlier he doesn't know what the rule is mate. Having complained about two of the first three iterations of it, he clearly doesn't know when each was spot on.

The umpires know what it is, and once again it pains me to say, Bruce does too.

I hope so.. but the fact Bevo has had 3 opportunities to address it would suggest otherwise.
If he's banged on about it pre game, and end of each break thereafter then the player's have to be at fault.

Sorry I've just worked out you were being sarcastic.
Go easy with the wit.. I've had to consume a lot of wine tonight.

18-05-2018, 10:50 PM
1 goal in any conditions to 3QTR time is embarrassing.

I’ll babg my head against the wall if I hear Beveridge talk about our effort. Our skill is suburban level and the insanity to handball repeatedly in these conditions is the dumbest thing I’ve ever seen on a football ground.

18-05-2018, 10:51 PM
1 goal in any conditions to 3QTR time is embarrassing.

I’ll babg my head against the wall if I hear Beveridge talk about our effort. Our skill is suburban level and the insanity to handball repeatedly in these conditions is the dumbest thing I’ve ever seen on a football ground.

And that goal from a shocking umpiring decision.

18-05-2018, 10:51 PM

Seriously, do you think we're that arrogant from a coaching perspective, with a young team that has questionable skills as it is, to say let's handball our way through these horrible conditions?

Seriously?

The issue should be about our line coaches not drumming basics into their areas if anything, and going as tall as we did. If it was a coaching and match committee issue.

We're clearly poorly lead on the field. Stopping the handball, and choosing to kick if the former is a pattern in normal conditions is something that needs to be policed on the field as it's happening.

18-05-2018, 10:52 PM
JJ 3 misses does not help our cause. They are beating us in clearances, Stoppages and cont.poss and therefore scoreboard. We hve tried hard but running out of petrol in the conditions. That is what happens to young bodies. Richards has faded out, Dale has been useless in the conditions, Webb is Webb getting his usual number of dispoals, and it is all left up to Macrae, and the Bont and Dahl. Surprised Mclean isn't playing better under these conditions

18-05-2018, 10:52 PM
It might be overly maudlin and melodramatic of me..but our season is cooked off the back of this.
That we can't even keep it tight in a waterlogged contest against an Adelaide side missing Walker, both Crouch's, McGovern and Sloane is embarrassing.

18-05-2018, 10:53 PM
Really poor Dogs really poor :mad:

18-05-2018, 10:53 PM
Gee our backline :mad:

18-05-2018, 10:55 PM
Rouhghead is at the crossroads

18-05-2018, 10:56 PM
It might be overly maudlin and melodramatic of me..but our season is cooked off the back of this.
That we can't even keep it tight in a waterlogged contest against an Adelaide side missing Walker, both Crouch's, McGovern and Sloane is embarrassing.

YEs it is

18-05-2018, 10:56 PM

He should retire at the end of the year there no doubt about it. Ditto Trengove.

18-05-2018, 10:57 PM

In these wet conditions? Jacobs has had 4 disposals. Roughead 12

18-05-2018, 10:57 PM
Lots of turnovers again

18-05-2018, 10:58 PM
Seriously, do you think we're that arrogant from a coaching perspective, with a young team that has questionable skills as it is, to say let's handball our way through these horrible conditions?

Seriously?

The issue should be about our line coaches not drumming basics into their areas if anything, and going as tall as we did. If it was a coaching and match committee issue.

We're clearly poorly lead on the field. Stopping the handball, and choosing to kick if the former is a pattern in normal conditions is something that needs to be policed on the field as it's happening.

Oh okay so after 3 straight quarters of the game Bevo can just abrogate responsibility for the overarching game strategy going awry to line coaches not being clear?

Bailey Williams has impressed me in these conditions.

Hooray a goal

Sucker strike! Finally!

18-05-2018, 10:59 PM
*!*!*!*! me sideways Lachie that was gutless. Lucky Suckling bailed you out.

18-05-2018, 11:00 PM
Remi.. right now I'd take your 5.15 posited at the start.

18-05-2018, 11:01 PM
In these wet conditions? Jacobs has had 4 disposals. Roughead 12

Is he our number one ruckman? Not sure where we place him. He isn’t a ruck/fwd

18-05-2018, 11:02 PM
That's a terrific mark by Gowers. Shane its undone by a miss.

18-05-2018, 11:03 PM
YEs it is

The former or the latter?

*!*!*!*! me this is the highest grade of the sport. Gowers is 25m out on a slight angle. A D grade footballer should be angry at missing that, we don't even bat an eyelid.

That's a terrific mark by Gowers. Shane its undone by a miss.

Billy good year but sucked he missed that one. Would have been confidence boosting.

He should retire at the end of the year there no doubt about it. Ditto Trengove.
Why don't you add Wood in there too

18-05-2018, 11:04 PM
The former or the latter?

Former :D

18-05-2018, 11:05 PM
Oh okay so after 3 straight quarters of the game Bevo can just abrogate responsibility for the overarching game strategy going awry to line coaches not being clear?

Mate if you've been close up to any reasonable standard of footy you'd know sometimes players just do weird shit irrespective of what the coaches try and do and what they say to them.

We're young and that precise issue is playing out now.

18-05-2018, 11:05 PM
Hand it to Cordy. He's had a shocker..but he NEVER loses his desire. .if not execution.

18-05-2018, 11:06 PM
Hand it to Cordy. He's had a shocker..but he NEVER loses his desire. .if not execution.

Maybe he can spend some time with Crozier, I don't think he's got a competitive bone in his body.

18-05-2018, 11:07 PM
Former :D

Haha
In my best Principal Skinner voice.. 'prove me wrong Bulldogs prove me wrong.

18-05-2018, 11:08 PM
Why don't you add Wood in there too

Agree. Actually hold that thought he just won his first one on one contest in 18 months lets keep him going.

18-05-2018, 11:09 PM
Maybe he can spend some time with Crozier, I don't think he's got a competitive bone in his body.

Wow.. If Cordy is anything he's combative and competitive?
I'm clearly way off the group barometer tonight. ...

18-05-2018, 11:10 PM
Bett's cleans up easy as you like from where Hunter has missed twice.

18-05-2018, 11:10 PM
Agree. Actually hold that thought he just won his first one on one contest in 18 months lets keep him going.

We are watching different players I think.

18-05-2018, 11:11 PM
Wow.. If Cordy is anything he's combative and competitive?
I'm clearly way off the group barometer tonight. ...

He is, it's Crozier that needs some of it.

18-05-2018, 11:11 PM
Copping a belting against a side with about 10 out.

We’re in a world of pain.

18-05-2018, 11:12 PM

Can we delist him now?

18-05-2018, 11:15 PM
We are watching different players I think.

Obviously. How do you rate Dunkley's performance tonight? I'm guessing he goes in your bests along with Roughead and Wood?

18-05-2018, 11:15 PM
Copping a belting against a side with about 10 out.

We’re in a world of pain.

and we have 8 on our list

18-05-2018, 11:16 PM
Obviously. How do you rate Dunkley's performance tonight? I'm guessing he goes in your bests along with Roughead and Wood?
Please don't take the piss

18-05-2018, 11:16 PM

Ah I see your intent now..apols..
Crozier is a massive recruiting fail.

Jayz. I think we kicked more in worse conditions in a tight loss against Essendon in either 83 or 84.

18-05-2018, 11:17 PM
and we have 8 on our list

Libba, Adams, Morris, Dickson but that’s about it of note - Morris and Dickson about done too

18-05-2018, 11:19 PM
Record game for tackles....Bailey dale 0

18-05-2018, 11:20 PM

Astounding

18-05-2018, 11:21 PM

Dale has been very poor

18-05-2018, 11:23 PM
Well that was painful.

18-05-2018, 11:23 PM
It's such a concern that our key players like JJ and Hunter are also our most profligate.

Our side 2.14. TWO FOURTEEN

Adelaide 9.9

We've got to make some big decisions going forward if we're to address the major problem of our side.

18-05-2018, 11:24 PM
Just completely disfunctional going forward and in there . Broken record
Over handballing in wet weather . It’s just bizarre

18-05-2018, 11:26 PM
Bit part forwards and putting backs forward isn’t working . Recruit or draft smart forwards who put pressure on

18-05-2018, 11:27 PM

Yikes. Really starting to develop a bruise free tag. Just pushed off the ball a lot tonight and all season. Needs to strengthen up a lot.

18-05-2018, 11:27 PM
Bit part forwards and putting backs forward isn’t working . Recruit or draft smart forwards who put pressure on

I’ve been banging on about this for years.

We simply refuse to draft and develop forwards. We’re more likely to draft the boot studder and try him at half forward than draft a natural forward.

18-05-2018, 11:42 PM
As poor as tonight has been (and large parts were shitful), I wouldn't be using it as a microcosm of all our woes. We played dumb wet weather footy and we selected a dumb team for the conditions.

I'd almost be inclined to throw away the tape and focus on next week.

18-05-2018, 11:47 PM
As poor as tonight has been (and large parts were shitful), I wouldn't be using it as a microcosm of all our woes. We played dumb wet weather footy and we selected a dumb team for the conditions.

The forecast showed some showers and then clearing by game time. Yes we ended up a little top heavy, but didn't we all expect to lose this one?

18-05-2018, 11:53 PM
The forecast showed some showers and then clearing by game time. Yes we ended up a little top heavy, but didn't we all expect to lose this one?
Nah, this was a very winnable game. Teams after a Showdown normally have a let down the following week, and they clearly had injury woes tonight (that were masked by the conditions to be fair).

We shot ourselves in the foot with really dumb set-ups and dumb ball use. And we picked 3 ruckmen tonight after going in with 1 ruckman the week before at Etihad.

18-05-2018, 11:54 PM

We played dumb wet weather footy against Freo. Every time its wet we should expect the same result?

18-05-2018, 11:55 PM
Nah, this was a very winnable game. Teams after a Showdown normally have a let down the following week, and they clearly had injury woes tonight (that were masked by the conditions to be fair).

We shot ourselves in the foot with really dumb set-ups and dumb ball use. And we picked 3 ruckmen tonight after going in with 1 ruckman the week before at Etihad.

Trengove played in the backline, so you can't count him as a Ruckman

18-05-2018, 11:55 PM
I don't think I've ever felt more frustrated watching a game. We were all over them for the last 10 minutes of the second quarter and went in to half time 8 points down I think.
I really felt we were right in it.
The second half was so disappointing. Overuse of handball and so many turnovers. We just could not take our chances. Every under pressure kick out of congestion seemed to go to Adelaide's advantage whether it was us who kicked it or the!

In addition the umpiring was very inconsistent.
We weren't as bad as the scoreboard indicated so I am still hopeful we can grab another win before the bye.

18-05-2018, 11:58 PM
We played dumb wet weather footy against Freo. Every time its wet we should expect the same result?
We were disgraceful against Freo in all aspects. I also think the weather was much worse tonight.

Regardless, I'm not happy about tonight by any stretch. Clearly the effort was there but the execution was sub-standard and some of our play in the conditions was incredibly naive.

18-05-2018, 11:58 PM
Maybe when the roofs shut at Docklands we should turn the sprinkler system on just to get some wet weather practice.

18-05-2018, 11:59 PM
I don't think I've ever felt more frustrated watching a game. We were all over them for the last 10 minutes of the second quarter and went in to half time 8 points down I think.
The second half was so disappointing. Overuse of handball and so many turnovers. We just could not take our chances. Every under pressure kick out of congestion seemed to go to Adelaide's advantage whether it was us who kicked it or the!

We weren't as bad as the scoreboard indicated so I am still hopeful we can grab another win before the bye.
I think we were.

19-05-2018, 12:00 AM

One thing I enjoy is your positivity. Adelaide are a mature group and even with their outs can bring in players to fill gaps. They averaged 100 games to our 74 tonight. Our young players couldn't go the full 4 quarters under those conditions and guys like Richards may need a rest.

19-05-2018, 12:02 AM
Trengove played in the backline, so you can't count him as a Ruckman
3 talls tonight in the wet v 1 tall last week at Etihad.

I thought the selection tonight was flawed, irrespective of the weather conditions. That just made it worse.

19-05-2018, 12:08 AM
I put this loss squarely in Beveridge's lap. A night as wet as that and he (yep HE) goes in wanting to play with short sharp handballs in tight and precision foot passes. That is an under 11 's mistake. I don't blame the players. You can blame the execution till the cows come home it but it was bad execution of even worse tactics.

19-05-2018, 12:12 AM

I thought the selection tonight was flawed, irrespective of the weather conditions. That just made it worse.

It was probably forced on us to some extent. In an ideal scenario Boyd partnered with Schache might have been the better option with Trengove as a back up as well but Schache just didn't have the miles in the legs for this game.

We did get the selections wrong though.

The likes of Adams, Morris and Schache might be in the mix for Collingwood but we are clearly down on midfield options

19-05-2018, 12:14 AM
There was a horrible sense of déj* view about tonight with last years Crows game. Pissing with rain, in it at half time, one way scoring thereafter.

As disappointing as we were, as disappointing as our selections were (the irony of finally having so many talls on a night not suited to talls), I still think any chance we had of actually winning went out the window with the “free kicks directly in front of goal” differential. The McGovern one was a sign of what was to come (could have picked ten free kicks like that prior to this that weren’t paid) and I counted 5 of the first 7 Adelaide goals that were directly from frees. Were we that undisciplined?

19-05-2018, 12:16 AM
I put this loss squarely in Beveridge's lap. A night as wet as that and he (yep HE) goes in wanting to play with short sharp handballs in tight and precision foot passes. That is an under 11 's mistake. I don't blame the players. You can blame the execution till the cows come home it but it was bad execution of even worse tactics.

I admit fault, I stand corrected. Jeemak said it, based on Bevo's comments the player's gotta own the handball happy output.

19-05-2018, 12:17 AM

I am sorry that comment is was way off the mark. We have been crying for a second ruckman and when we put one in it's the wrong decision? ????

Trengove replaced another tall in Young, so we only had the one extra tall in.

19-05-2018, 12:18 AM

He said in the presser that the plan was not to handball that much, but it wasn’t executed that way.

19-05-2018, 12:19 AM
There was a horrible sense of déj* view about tonight with last years Crows game. Pissing with rain, in it at half time, one way scoring thereafter.

As disappointing as we were, as disappointing as our selections were (the irony of finally having so many talls on a night not suited to talls), I still think any chance we had of actually winning went out the window with the “free kicks directly in front of goal” differential. The McGovern one was a sign of what was to come (could have picked ten free kicks like that prior to this that weren’t paid) and I counted 5 of the first 7 Adelaide goals that were directly from frees. Were we that undisciplined?

Yeah we were. They got several holding frees which were there because their forwards played in front.

We lost it because their coaches tactics suited the conditions better.

19-05-2018, 12:19 AM

The umpires fail to give frees for incorrect disposal, holding the ball but love to pay the technical ones when an arm brushes over someone.

19-05-2018, 12:24 AM
I am sorry that comment is was way off the mark. We have been crying for a second ruckman and when we put one in it's the wrong decision? ????

Trengove replaced another tall in Young, so we only had the one extra tall in.
Have we? Been winning and/or competitive with just the 1 ruck the last few weeks.

I don't think our midfield bats deep enough to go in one short - would much rather extra mids to rotate through than a 2nd ruck who competes 5-10 mins a qtr. I'd rather that set-up in dry conditions, let alone tonight.

19-05-2018, 12:25 AM
Our lack of skill and class showed up in the wet conditions.
Only Bontempelli Macrae and Williams looked A Grade Players. The forward line with 52 advances into the forward 50 for two goals tells the sorry story. Dale Dunkley and Gowers really struggled in attack. Our overuse of handball in the conditions was a major contributor to the defeat. Tom Boyd had a bad night with Roughead our best ruck man against Jacobs.I would like to see Schache tried in attack which was lamentable tonight.

19-05-2018, 12:26 AM
Yeah we were. They got several holding frees which were there because their forwards played in front.
Their quick ball movement and territory gains by foot contributed to this as well.

19-05-2018, 12:27 AM
The umpires fail to give frees for incorrect disposal, holding the ball but love to pay the technical ones when an arm brushes over someone.

They were letting them go for both sides eg Hunter's throws. We didn't lose because of the umps.

19-05-2018, 12:30 AM
Have we? Been winning and/or competitive with just the 1 ruck the last few weeks.

I don't think our midfield bats deep enough to go in one short - would much rather extra mids to rotate through than a 2nd ruck who competes 5-10 mins a qtr. I'd rather that set-up in dry conditions, let alone tonight.

So you say we go in with one ruck and Dunkley/Bont as second rucks and have no talls in the forward line. Sorry I can't agree.

As for tonight, as I said we weren't to know the weather was going to be that shit.

19-05-2018, 12:31 AM
Their quick ball movement and territory gains by foot contributed to this as well.

On a night like this, isn't that more reflective of tactics rather than execution? Its not as if they were drilling precision kicks to forwards on the lead. They knew to go long by foot when ever they won it back. That;s superior coaching.

19-05-2018, 12:32 AM
They were letting them go for both sides eg Hunter's throws. We didn't lose because of the umps.

Did I say we lost because of the umps. It was a comment.

We lost because we weren't good enough.

19-05-2018, 12:40 AM
It was so painful to see Eddie Betts confident about his ability to kick a goal no matter where. We lack class on the forward line, badly, but the indirect zig zagging into the forward line was just horrible. But, when we did kick it, the wet ball just magnified that we have so many poor kicks.

The first half effort was terrific but you knew that with so little reward in a gruelling slog, it could get ugly. And it did.

This is where we are at right now, I’m afraid. We have a lot of gritty midfielders but few are polished. The “silky” players - Webb and Dale - just don’t give enough. The form of Wood and Roughy is tough to watch at present, shadows of themselves.

19-05-2018, 12:52 AM
Disappointing night watching from home and even more so for those who travelled over or who live in SA and went to the game.

Really thought we would be a chance tonight. I can't fault the effort tonight we tackled well and got the ball inside 50 but we did not do what matters most - kick goals. This is such a huge issue that hasn't not gotten any better and we are just sick of it now - action needs to be taken in how we can get more when we get it inside 50.

2.14 for the whole game is very embarrassing. I know it was a wet and slippery night out there but still the Crows managed 8 goals.

So onto next Friday night now against the Pies back at Etihad Stadium. It will be me (Doggies supporter) vs my brother (Pies supporter).

19-05-2018, 12:52 AM
On a night like this, isn't that more reflective of tactics rather than execution? Its not as if they were drilling precision kicks to forwards on the lead. They knew to go long by foot when ever they won it back. That;s superior coaching.
Bit of both I reckon. It's a territory battle on nights like tonight so the quick kick to an open forward line is very effective, even if it is a hack kick.

Bevo got schooled a bit tonight I reckon.

19-05-2018, 12:56 AM
So you say we go in with one ruck and Dunkley/Bont as second rucks and have no talls in the forward line. Sorry I can't agree.
What exactly is wrong with the 1 ruck/ relief ruck option? We win more than we lose with such a structure - worked for Richmond last year as well.

I agree with you on the forward structure. Having a big body down there for the bail out option is vital.

19-05-2018, 09:30 AM

We had 90 more handpasses and 22 less kicks with 68 more disposals. This is our normal dry weather pattern of play but in these conditions an unmitigated disaster. Our inability to adjust proved fatal.

19-05-2018, 09:52 AM
Ok looking at the big picture, we certainly have a go and are trying our hardest , we are still a failure into the forward line and I'm beginning to think it's the men of mayhem again, just get in there anyway possible, but the problem is we aren't picking out our forwards .
I have no doubt we are on track with our young kids and it will come sooner than later that we start to blow sides away.
I went to the West Coast and my god they were twice the size of us height and build wise.
We have young kids who are playing in the highest level in major positions and are just finding their feet, they are doing a great job and give them some slack .
I'm dissapointed the score ended up like it did but I don't think it reflects our endeavour in any way.
Just be patient.

19-05-2018, 11:03 AM
Bit of both I reckon. It's a territory battle on nights like tonight so the quick kick to an open forward line is very effective, even if it is a hack kick.

Bevo got schooled a bit tonight I reckon.

Bevo said post match that the coaches had instructed the players to look to kick more and to alter the gamestyle to the conditions, and that the players just didn't follow this through. That is probably even more worrying.

It was our better and more experienced players who failed to adapt - Macrae, Bont, Maclean, Dahlhaus, Wallis all had more handballs than kicks. I understad that these ar the guys in the clinches who probably need to handball most, but they were the ones that needed to modify their play the most.

19-05-2018, 11:19 AM
Our stoppage work was frustrating. Whenever there was one in Crows forward 50 there were dangerous loose men waiting outside. Including one Eddie Betts. In our 50 everyone was caught inside the scrum or at bottom of packs.

19-05-2018, 12:03 PM
Our stoppage work was frustrating. Whenever there was one in Crows forward 50 there were dangerous loose men waiting outside. Including one Eddie Betts. In our 50 everyone was caught inside the scrum or at bottom of packs.
We seemed to employ and antispread tactic, whereby if we won the ball midfield or forward, we charged towards the ball carrier rather than away to try to create space. Interesting tactic - won't catch on.

19-05-2018, 12:20 PM
We just play dumb football. That's all there is too it. I'm not going to any more games until we start to take things seriously.

The kicking is fixable and always has been, we just need to take it seriously and fix it. The game plan is fixable we just have to stop stupidly insulting that what we are doing is correct.

These players can play well, (better anyway) but we have to let them.

19-05-2018, 12:56 PM
Bevo said post match that the coaches had instructed the players to look to kick more and to alter the gamestyle to the conditions, and that the players just didn't follow this through. That is probably even more worrying.

It was our better and more experienced players who failed to adapt - Macrae, Bont, Maclean, Dahlhaus, Wallis all had more handballs than kicks. I understad that these ar the guys in the clinches who probably need to handball most, but they were the ones that needed to modify their play the most.

We were also pressured very well by Adelaide which forced us to handball alot.

19-05-2018, 12:58 PM
We were also pressured very well by Adelaide which forced us to handball alot.

Yeah but that's a given in those conditions. We put as much pressure on them, but they kicked more and got the ball into space more easily.

19-05-2018, 02:16 PM
Yeah but that's a given in those conditions. We put as much pressure on them, but they kicked more and got the ball into space more easily.

I think we had more tackles and inside 50s. So the tackling pressure and getting forward were there but our application in wet weather needs addressing.

19-05-2018, 03:42 PM

Agree. Another example is the jumper hold even though the player is not being impeded. Just throw you're arm in the air and you get a free kick!

19-05-2018, 03:55 PM
Agree. Another example is the jumper hold even though the player is not being impeded. Just throw you're arm in the air and you get a free kick!

Certainly need a few clarifications on some decisions that have been made. The free to Webb was there despite the criticisms. They paid a few similar ones like that against us too.

19-05-2018, 04:57 PM
They were still bitching and moaning about it on the radio this morning. Seedsman comes on and talks about how annoyed Talia is, gives a highly dubious account of what happened and gives the "everybody is a bit confused" line but fails to mention that Adelaide got a free kick for exactly the same thing. They appear to have understood the one they got. No problems there.

19-05-2018, 05:09 PM
They were still bitching and moaning about it on the radio this morning. Seedsman comes on and talks about how annoyed Talia is, gives a highly dubious account of what happened and gives the "everybody is a bit confused" line but fails to mention that Adelaide got a free kick for exactly the same thing. They appear to have understood the one they got. No problems there.

It goes both ways.

19-05-2018, 06:10 PM
It goes both ways.

Not the way the media tells the story.

19-05-2018, 06:14 PM

Another whinging club about frees. Remember the coach whinging and whining when the frees were skewed our way back in 2016 and he complained to the AFL. Get over it you won morons.

19-05-2018, 08:09 PM
Another whinging club about frees. Remember the coach whinging and whining when the frees were skewed our way back in 2016 and he complained to the AFL. Get over it you won morons.

Yep. Look I don't mind it from Seedsman he has an agenda to run and he gets a direct benefit from it but for the media experts all to sit there and blithely accept it without one of them saying "you guys got one of those frees too though" I am interested to see if he had anything planned as a response.

19-05-2018, 08:23 PM
Yep. Look I don't mind it from Seedsman he has an agenda to run and he gets a direct benefit from it but for the media experts all to sit there and blithely accept it without one of them saying "you guys got one of those frees too though" I am interested to see if he had anything planned as a response.

Someone with credibility will read this thread and mention it... Maybe.