View Full Version : AFL Game Day Round 10, 2018 - Collingwood V Western Bulldogs at Etihad Stadium, Docklands

24-05-2018, 09:32 PM
Predictions:

- Margin
- Our First goal kicker
- Our Best on ground

Margin: Dogs by 15 points

Our First Goal: Josh Schache we get our first on his debut

Our Best On Ground: Toby McLean

Go Bulldogs!!

24-05-2018, 11:01 PM
Dogs by 33
First Goal- Boyd
BOG The Bont

24-05-2018, 11:06 PM
This round we are playing for the Robert Rose cup as part of our disability round, promoting inclusion and equality for people living with disabilities.

A young doggies fan, Noah, who is growing with epilepsy - and is the son of some close friends - is running out with the team in full bulldogs gear, which will be a great thrill for him.

Dogs to win by 10 points
Gowers to kick our first goal
Bont to be BOG

24-05-2018, 11:42 PM
Good luck to Noah. I know through work and my family what a nightmare living with epilepsy is.

Dogs by 33
First goal: Josh Schache
BOG: Tom Boyd.

25-05-2018, 07:25 AM
Yeah epilepsy sucks big time. My sister-in-law has severe epilepsy and it has pretty much ruined her life the poor girl.

Good on you Noah, I hope you have an awesome night. Go Dogs.

Dogs by 3 points
First goal - Tom Boyd
BOG - Bontempelli

25-05-2018, 08:30 AM
We're stuffed, and we'll make them look a whole lot better than they are.

But if we keep watering the seeds Spring will come.

Pies by 37.
First major : Schache
BOG : Macrae - how good's this bloke?

25-05-2018, 09:42 AM
Dogs by 10
BOG- Bont
First goal- Boyd

25-05-2018, 01:05 PM
Dogs by 10
1st: Schache
BOG: Bont

25-05-2018, 06:26 PM
This round we are playing for the Robert Rose cup as part of our disability round, promoting inclusion and equality for people living with disabilities.

A young doggies fan, Noah, who is growing with epilepsy - and is the son of some close friends - is running out with the team in full bulldogs gear, which will be a great thrill for him.

Dogs to win by 10 points
Gowers to kick our first goal
Bont to be BOG

Was going to pick pies but noah will be an omen (and biblical reference)

bog Jac Mac

first goal Le Shak

Dogs by a point after Jeremy Howe fails to take a regulation screamer, Red Ed Richards picks up the crumbs, takes 3 bounces, crosses the 50 metre arc and slots the goal from a 45 degree angle. The siren sounds. Eddy McGuire's head explodes off his shoulders and hits the roof.

25-05-2018, 07:42 PM
Drawn game. BOG McLean first goal Gowers, last goal Dickson to secure a draw

25-05-2018, 08:16 PM
Dogs by 1 point
First goal Dicko
BOG. Bont.

25-05-2018, 08:19 PM
In the worse seat ever. Last row level 3

25-05-2018, 08:23 PM
If Collingwood are the biggest club in the land, i'd hate to see the smallest. Plenty of Collingwood supporters masquerading as empty seats tonight.

25-05-2018, 08:25 PM
If Collingwood are the biggest club in the land, i'd hate to see the smallest. Plenty of Collingwood supporters masquerading as empty seats tonight.
Anything less than 45k is a fail for them

25-05-2018, 08:44 PM
Crozier warning up with the forwards

25-05-2018, 08:54 PM
In the worse seat ever. Last row level 3

You mean right at the top. Go down to ground level and stand. You get a much better experience.

25-05-2018, 08:58 PM
You mean right at the top. Go down to ground level and stand. You get a much better experience.

I second that. Much better experience.

25-05-2018, 08:58 PM
This is like watching paint dry.

Not letting them score after eight entries is good going though.

JJ really struggles as a forward, no clue when the ball is in the air.

25-05-2018, 09:00 PM
That was really really bad from Williams.

Hope he doesn't go into his shell.

Wayne Carey the dickhead is saying that goal was from Collingwood moving the ball quickly and finding space. Now trying to back peddle.

Bailey Bailey Bailey ttt

And a needless turnover gives the Pies the first.
Meanwhile two decent opportunities for forward entry..and we vlow it.

25-05-2018, 09:01 PM
I don't have a good feeling so far

25-05-2018, 09:03 PM
Ordinary start by Bont. Been busy but uncharacteristically poor disposal skills.

25-05-2018, 09:03 PM
Far out Gowers

25-05-2018, 09:04 PM
Goal umpire called that a touched behind, what a numbnut.

Great work from Suckers, need more of that decisive finishing.

Good goal Suckers! Needed that early and in response to Gowers miss.

25m out and puts it out on the full. Seriously!

Big roost from Suckers, great goal.

Ordinary start by Bont. Been busy but uncharacteristically poor disposal skills.

2 sloppy skill errors already

25-05-2018, 09:05 PM
Boyd doing well in the ruck against Grundy.

25-05-2018, 09:07 PM
Dicko looks dangerous..

25-05-2018, 09:08 PM
Dickoooooo!!!

A fit, firing Dickson really changes our profile.

It's good to have someone like Dicko finishing for us. Really good.

Just need him to get plenty of it.

25-05-2018, 09:11 PM
Come on!!

25-05-2018, 09:11 PM
Handy response.

25-05-2018, 09:13 PM
Shache to Dicko.. and 50.. sharp stuff..

Really good ball use going forward from all concerned then, and a good decision from Crozier to punch hard to get it to the front of the contest as well.

Excellent spot up from Schache. We just need to ensure we don't let a red time goal go.

Smart by Schache to get it in to Dickson.

25-05-2018, 09:14 PM
Ok starting to feel more optimistic now. Go dogs

25-05-2018, 09:16 PM
Gee Boyd, Schache & Dickson looks dangerous. I like it.

25-05-2018, 09:16 PM
Boyd did everything right, except the bloody kick.

25-05-2018, 09:18 PM
Everyone is cracking in and switched on so far.
Boyd having a good game thus far.

25-05-2018, 09:18 PM
This game is umpired really really really good

25-05-2018, 09:19 PM
Boyd did everything right, except the bloody kick.

He's pulling them left, he can fix it by having his starting position clearly over his right leg to move his drop over a bit.

25-05-2018, 09:21 PM
Best qtr all year for us

25-05-2018, 09:21 PM
Good quarter. Excellent pressure and winning a lot of contests

25-05-2018, 09:22 PM
Pendlebury sooking to the umps at quarter time

25-05-2018, 09:22 PM
Geez we’ve put a couple under the pump with our hands but the tails are up. Good quarter dogs.

So happy to have the sharpshooter back.

25-05-2018, 09:23 PM
He should be spooking to his pea heart mates.

25-05-2018, 09:24 PM
Pressing up well after giving a bit too much space early on, but didn't pay for it... Quick ball movement going forward is giving us some good looks too.

25-05-2018, 09:24 PM
Shaqs pass was sensational.

Collingwood have nobody to match Dickson.

Apart from our usual hunter not hitting a target the boys skill is on tonight.

25-05-2018, 09:25 PM
Buckley is good at adapting. I know it was only JLT but the Pies will have confidence they can reverse things quick if we have any period of time where we go to sleep.

25-05-2018, 09:26 PM
Defence excellent positioning in that quarter didn’t get too high up the park and played in front. Boyd’s best quarter o the year great to see.

25-05-2018, 09:26 PM
Great quarter. Glad to have Dickinson back

25-05-2018, 09:28 PM
We look good when Boyd is playing like this. He's attacking the ball with confidence. I'm liking Shaq's game too, he looks really clean with the ball in his hands.

25-05-2018, 09:30 PM
BT is flat out barracking for Collingwood.

25-05-2018, 09:32 PM
JJ and Bont can take us to another level if they play... so far no good.

Rest going well.

25-05-2018, 09:33 PM
JJ stinks as a forward.

25-05-2018, 09:35 PM
If any of these whinging Collingwood supporters could read or count they'd know they have more free kicks than us......

25-05-2018, 09:37 PM
How bad a kick was that from Cordy? Just gifting the ball back to them.

JJ stinks as a forward.

That was going to be my post. I best include it in a three things or B/A thread now, thanks.

JJ stinks as a forward.

So does Crozier.

25-05-2018, 09:39 PM
What a putrid few minutes of lazy unaccountable football.

25-05-2018, 09:41 PM
What a putrid few minutes of lazy unaccountable football.

A few more minutes to go if history tells us how long these periods last.

25-05-2018, 09:42 PM
That was really good from Suckling. Great smother.

25-05-2018, 09:43 PM
Roughy!

25-05-2018, 09:44 PM
Love the inside 50 marks

25-05-2018, 09:47 PM
Richards fumbles a lot.

Richards has been poor.

JJ needs to get in the game.

Lipinski is really showing good signs.

I think Richards is due a spell after this week. He's lost his touch and looks like he's going to make a mistake just about every time he goes near the ball.

25-05-2018, 09:49 PM
Great tackle Richards!

25-05-2018, 09:50 PM
Not good Macrae.. very poor. High risk..not what was needed.

25-05-2018, 09:52 PM
I think our period of going to sleep should be over now, right?

I'm loving what Williams is trying to do, but he really does need to think about taking the first option, he's cost us a goal through not handballing, rushing a kick and turning it over.

Not good Macrae.. very poor. High risk..not what was needed.

Extremely poor.

Collingwood lifting the intensity.. we need to step up too.

A 2nd qtr as bad as our first Qtr was good.
Your Move Bevo..your move.

Come on siren. We need to reset.

25-05-2018, 09:53 PM
Well done Billy!

Much needed. Well done Gowers.

How's the bullet from Lipinski! Great grab Gowers and excellent finish. Wow we needed that.

25-05-2018, 09:54 PM
Billy! Ripping mark and a nice finish. Just the tonic.

25-05-2018, 09:55 PM
Hunters disposal is so bad

25-05-2018, 09:56 PM
Yes!

Schache!!!!

How good has Richards been these last few minutes?

How sweet was the finish from Schache!

He may have zero defensive intent but he is a good kick for goal.
Well done Shache.

25-05-2018, 09:59 PM
How good is it having Dicko & Schache. Their set shot technique is something others should watch closely. Good to see return for all the hard work done up field.

25-05-2018, 10:02 PM
Schache moves well, happy for him. Beautiful kick of the ball.

Dickson a very smart forward. Boyd has been very good.

Bont needs to do more, both he and Macrae have made costly errors. Overall a good first half great to see a dangerous forward line for once!

25-05-2018, 10:03 PM
Cordy has done a great job blanking De Goey thus far..
I've loved Dahl's intensity tonight.
Bailey Dale has remembered how to tackle!

25-05-2018, 10:04 PM
It’s now time for JJ the Bont and Macrae to switch it on and take over

25-05-2018, 10:05 PM
How sweet was the finish from Schache!

I love that this is our default. Basic shot that he converted. Good stuff but should be expected

25-05-2018, 10:05 PM
How good has MacLean been? Doing a mountain of work in tight. That forward line is looking so exciting with options everywhere. Most promising half of football. Bont has been down though.

25-05-2018, 10:09 PM
Well done to Crozier for leading and taking the mark from Lipinski’s super bullet. Then a lovely kick into the square for Gowers to mark. More of that please Hayden.

25-05-2018, 10:10 PM
Great red time for us. Normally it is the other way round where we leak late goals. Gives us momentum leading into the 3rd.

25-05-2018, 10:11 PM
I love that this is our default. Basic shot that he converted. Good stuff but should be expected

It was more the ball flight, rather than the difficulty. Quick spinning, small amount of left to right after a relaxed approach.

25-05-2018, 10:13 PM
Well done to Crozier for leading and taking the mark from Lipinski’s super bullet. Then a lovely kick into the square for Gowers to mark. More of that please Hayden.

Much more!.. that was his only kick of the half.

25-05-2018, 10:23 PM
Over handballing early in the 3rd. The filth will eat that up.

25-05-2018, 10:24 PM
Zaine out with concussion.

Cordy out delayed concussion. Trouble.

Cordy our of the game with concussion

Cordy out of the game with concussion

25-05-2018, 10:25 PM
Bont may be concussed too. We're wobbly now.

25-05-2018, 10:26 PM
Can Crozier go and sit in the stand? Be of more value.

25-05-2018, 10:26 PM
JJ mouthing off, he needs to try to actually impact the game before he opens his mouth.

25-05-2018, 10:28 PM
Your moment Dahl.

25-05-2018, 10:28 PM
Dahl goal kicking watch for the season:

1.4 (8 no score)

25-05-2018, 10:29 PM
Horrible.

25-05-2018, 10:30 PM
Your moment Bont.

25-05-2018, 10:31 PM
Richards warming into the game.

Also horrible.

Your moment Bont.

Horrible?

25-05-2018, 10:35 PM
Horrible?

Ball drop was too high.

Brian Taylor is so unprofessional. The barracking is disgraceful.

25-05-2018, 10:36 PM
Pies really getting on top in key moments.

25-05-2018, 10:37 PM
Dahl and Bont could've arrested Collingwood. Pivotal missed moments.

25-05-2018, 10:37 PM
Ball drop was too high.

Brian Taylor is so unprofessional. The barracking is disgraceful.

I almost want Bruce or Basil. The producers obviously gave him the pies in their story for the night.

25-05-2018, 10:40 PM
Anyone brave enough to say we win it?

25-05-2018, 10:40 PM
We look tired.

Getting opened up.

25-05-2018, 10:41 PM
Bont is having a 'mare.
Its going to be tough from here.

25-05-2018, 10:41 PM
Bontempelli is playing so badly tonight. He's just absent minded.

25-05-2018, 10:42 PM
Bont and JJ have been bloody awful

25-05-2018, 10:45 PM
Bont and JJ have been bloody awful

Looks like Bont has a hand injury. Not clean at all.

25-05-2018, 10:47 PM
Honestly, what a pathetic quarter.

Carbon copy of last week - couldn’t win the ball and when we did we went as slow as we possibly could.

Can’t stand watching crozier play, so far off the level.

25-05-2018, 10:48 PM
Put a fork in us, we’re cooked.

25-05-2018, 10:49 PM
Bailey Dale's chasing and tackling efforts have been so lamentable they are almost laughable.

Honestly, what a pathetic quarter.

Carbon copy of last week - couldn’t win the ballon and when we did we went as slow as we possibly could.

The best way to arrest momentum is to score, but we just kick it sideways until we turn it over.

Wow crozier is bloody awful. Are leadership group went missing again when it counts.

25-05-2018, 10:50 PM
The best way to arrest momentum is to score, but we just kick it sideways until we turn it over.

Not one forward lead up at the footy.

25-05-2018, 10:50 PM
I'm still smarting over the Dahl ball drop. How can that be his technique? Seriously? Professional football has gone completely up its own arse if that's the standard.

OK....calm down.

25-05-2018, 10:51 PM
The Pies have so much more run and are prepared to take the game on. Pathetic quarter.

25-05-2018, 10:51 PM
I know it's only 9 points, but from a momentum change perspective, it seems much more.
This is going to either be a heroic last quarter or a very deflating finish to such a promising game.
Bont, JJ MUST make valuable contributions if we're to be any chance.
The Filth have stifled Dickson after a stellar start. We need his finishing.

25-05-2018, 10:52 PM
Great time for a goalless quarter but they are only nine points up.

We've been ordinary since Zaine went off. What the hell is Wood thinking each time he gets the ball?

25-05-2018, 10:53 PM
They look forlorn not galvanised at 3 Qtr

25-05-2018, 10:54 PM
Dale has stunk it up horribly. The only reason he looks borderline like an AFL footballer is because Crozier is on the same field!

25-05-2018, 10:55 PM
Gone.

25-05-2018, 10:56 PM
Hunter's ripping the ball out and release was poor.
Dumb. Would've got holding the ball. Instead the risky release allowed Collingwood to go length of field.

25-05-2018, 10:57 PM
Dale has stunk it up horribly. The only reason he looks borderline like an AFL footballer is because Crozier is on the same field!

List managers can look or great or shithouse from trade to trade, but JMac and Crozier is looking like a legacy of the bad kind. I've just seen nothing this year.

That was just lazy lazy defending. What did we think was going to happen then?

We're cooked.

Seriously, what was Gowers doing to Tom Boyd then? What?

Hunter's ripping the ball out and release was poor.

His kicking tonight has been, dare I say it, horrible.

25-05-2018, 10:59 PM
We are just a bloody rabble.

Easton Wood gave up on that contest.

Dear lord, just please not an embarrassing marking please.

25-05-2018, 11:01 PM
Wood....

His efforts at times have been embarrassing.

Grundy has destroyed us. Horrendous by Roughy and Boyd

So where was the confected outrage against the ridiculous HTB decision against Williams that led directly to Pendlebury just then? The whole commentary team just go quiet until until after de Goey kicks it into the forward 50.

25-05-2018, 11:02 PM
Sick of this inability to be consistent within games, within quarters we're not trustworthy from moment to moment

25-05-2018, 11:03 PM
Has Crozier had a non-Clanger tonight?

25-05-2018, 11:04 PM
Williams and Suckling are the only ones trying to make something happen. Everyone else has stopped.

25-05-2018, 11:05 PM

Chris Mayne would be a happy man too.

25-05-2018, 11:07 PM
There is no way crozier and dale can play next week

25-05-2018, 11:07 PM
Are we the dumbest side in the league?

We are saving the game even though we’re behind.

No goals in the second half.

Awesome.

25-05-2018, 11:08 PM
Well..as a glass half full....we are going to have a top 5 pick in a super draft. ........ok i got nothing...

Wood and Dahlhaus have barely played a decent game in 18 months. Some questions need to be asked.

Such a disappointing last half.

25-05-2018, 11:09 PM
Lol, not 1 goal in the 2nd half. We're an absolute embarrassment.

25-05-2018, 11:09 PM
So many players in or colours that just aren't up to AFL standards... Miles away!

25-05-2018, 11:10 PM
This is embarrassing. Collingwood are shit and we're making them look like the Harlem globetrotters.

Went way too big at selection and have completely run out of legs. Too many talls that don’t play tall and mid size players who can’t pressure.

From 10 minutes into third have had to swing team all over the place to cover holes and try to generate run.

No goalsnon the second half... must be the conditions again.

25-05-2018, 11:11 PM
Why can we be so good..then so, so bad..
What is it that allows such fluctuation within games?

25-05-2018, 11:12 PM
Wood and Dahlhaus have barely played a decent game in 18 months. Some questions need to be asked.

You can add JJ to that list

And now we're making the biggest spud in the AFL look good

Disgraceful capitulation - again.

At least De Goey has wiped 50k off his value

25-05-2018, 11:13 PM
Why can we be so good..then so, so bad..
What is it that allows such fluctuation within games?

The folly of youth. The senior players have been poor all night.

Bailey Dale... dumb.. dumb

We have a serious lack of on field leadership when things are going pear shaped. Libba and Picken sorely missed; still very poor.

Dale gets a cheap receive and bombs it nowhere. Time to make the call on him.

It’s amazing how Wood has escaped the attention in the media and on this blog. Dahlhaus just hasn’t got the same zest for the contest. Sad to see both where key cogs to the premiership.

25-05-2018, 11:14 PM
Had enough of this *!*!*!*!ing shit.

Backwards sideways, backwards turnover repeat

If this is what an ordinary team do against us it's going to be messy next week against Melbourne who like to beat up on poor teams.

Kicking the ball bag and forth running the clock down is baffling.

Are we icing the game right now?

FFS

2 points after half time.
One thing I noticed , when it goes in our forward line it's packed, when it goes in their forward line they are open , our players aren't running back.
We still miss shots that come back to haunt us.

25-05-2018, 11:15 PM
Dale gets a cheap receive and bombs it nowhere. Time to make the call on him.

Not the first time we've had to do it, where are the forwards?

JJ stared the Dogs down in a contract battle..done zip since making bank.

JJ has had a number of not very brave moments. Looks like he's playing for the pay cheque

25-05-2018, 11:16 PM
JJ has had a number of not very brave moments. Looks like he's playing for the pay cheque

What was it? $3mil for 5 years.. Easy money!

25-05-2018, 11:17 PM
3 points since half time

FFS

25-05-2018, 11:17 PM
JJ has become as soft as butter

25-05-2018, 11:18 PM
We are a mentally cooked team. There is something seriously wrong with the psyche of our players and it's too much of a coincidence for me that the malaise set in when we missed two very keen scoring shots in the third.

Lowest score by a team in the second half in 50 years

My god our kicking into the forward line is atrocious.

25-05-2018, 11:19 PM
JJ gets collected, 1 guy goes and gives Cox a token push.

My goodness. We go from Boyd having a mark on 50. .decides to pass, poor decision and less than 20 seconds later its a goal to the Pies. Pathetic

Hence why we should've looked at trading him. His value was high being the Norm Smith, but should've never have got the medal. Hearing Brad Johnson talk about 800m gained in the GF. His metres gained weren't effective. Now this for 18 months with 4.5 years to go.

How is that not deliberate?

25-05-2018, 11:20 PM
I am even more angry than last week.
I think I need to go now. All i want to do is swear.

Hope Bevo realises his experiment with ruckman is now just embarrassing and decides to have a crack at picking one up.

Disaster.

25-05-2018, 11:21 PM
You can add JJ to that list

JJ won a BnF and is being played out of position.

Dickson has gone out of the game and the forward line has collapsed.

How the *!*!*!*! do we keep falling over?

25-05-2018, 11:22 PM
2 points after half time.
One thing I noticed , when it goes in our forward line it's packed, when it goes in their forward line they are open , our players aren't running back.
We still miss shots that come back to haunt us.

It doesn’t help when our ball movement is so slow as well. Seems like a lifetime ago that we were the men of mayhem.

25-05-2018, 11:23 PM
At what point does Bevo and the coaching group come under pressure?

Lost contested possession by 32, and people reckon we have a deep midfield lol.

4 points after half time.
Absolute rubbish.
why did Wallis get dropped ???

2 goals, 18 behinds in three of the four halves combined in the last two weeks.

Next week against Melbourne is going to be brutal.

25-05-2018, 11:24 PM

Now.

JJ, Hunter Wood Dahl are all senior players who have been poor for too long.

Completely listless in the second half.

Our leaders in JJ, Wood, Roughead, Hunter and Bontempelli need to start having some very difficult conversations with each other and the coaching team. They are the people who are letting us down right now.

25-05-2018, 11:26 PM

He has still been ordinary. For a player of his calibre he should be able to adapt.

25-05-2018, 11:26 PM
Collingwood midfield too good. I said in round one our midfield wasn’t good enough and I am still right

25-05-2018, 11:27 PM

2 years too late after a premiership coaching team decide to rotate their line coaches for the sake of professional development that at best helps 3 people.

Such a shit show.

25-05-2018, 11:27 PM
Wood form is so poor he should stand down as captain and concentrate on his game.

25-05-2018, 11:28 PM
Collingwood midfield too good. I said in round one our midfield wasn’t good enough and I am still right

Our "insert any part of the team" isn't good enough.

2 years too late after a premiership coaching team decide to rotate their line coaches for the sake of professional development that at best helps 3 people.

Such a shit show.

Agree. Have mentioned this several times.

Ridiculous.

Such a shit show.

makes no difference

25-05-2018, 11:29 PM
I've booked my air tickets and accommodation to Melbourne to take my son to see his first Dogs game v North in late June..for this????
I hope I can display better control of my emotions.

25-05-2018, 11:31 PM

He missed a few easy tackles tonight going half harded, for me it's more attitude than him being played out of position.

Such a shit show.
Two years? So you wanted them to be under pressure after delivering the premiership for the first time in 62 years....

Must say I'm very impressed with schache he will win us games in the future.
He never wastes a disposal and is very evasive for his height and reads the game well.
We need to use him properly.

makes no difference

Current difference is:

Win Flag
VS
Be rubbish for 2 years directly after winning flag

How does it make no difference?

25-05-2018, 11:33 PM
Must say I'm very impressed with schache he will win us games in the future.
He never wastes a disposal and is very evasive for his height and reads the game well.
We need to use him properly.

Just texted similar to one of my pups at the game, at least it was a positive out of tonight

25-05-2018, 11:33 PM

For what club? East Fremantle under 14s?

25-05-2018, 11:34 PM
Two years? So you wanted them to be under pressure after delivering the premiership for the first time in 62 years....

Happy for you to chill out and enjoy 2016 for another 62 years. Go nuts.

25-05-2018, 11:36 PM
For what club? East Fremantle under 14s? this made me laugh on the train home

Nothing else to smile about

25-05-2018, 11:37 PM
Was always going to be tough playing 4 quarters after the game last week in monsoonal conditions - reckon Adelaide will be thrashed by Melbourne too.

BUT that 2nd half was a coach killer.

25-05-2018, 11:37 PM
Current difference is:

Win Flag
VS
Be rubbish for 2 years directly after winning flag

How does it make no difference?
Moving the deck chairs. Our issues are not coaches

25-05-2018, 11:39 PM

I will, thanks. That has zero impact on what the team does. Your comment was that the pressure should have been on the coaches two years ago. That’s just stupid.

25-05-2018, 11:39 PM

Unlike, bumped the wrong spot on my table:o

25-05-2018, 11:40 PM

Everyone was quick to praise them when we won the flag. Fair enough. But now we’re putting out pitiful performances they escape criticism?

25-05-2018, 11:40 PM
Nothing to do with changing line coaches
Problem is the cattle on the park
Just insipid ! How do we go from a hard tackling pressure team to insipid in one half .
Totally unacceptable, and Beveridge being head coach should be copping some scrutiny.

25-05-2018, 11:41 PM
4 points after half time.
Absolute rubbish.

That's actually flattering us.

Two of the four freakin points were rushed.

25-05-2018, 11:43 PM
Forget ladder position; we are the joke of the year

25-05-2018, 11:46 PM
Forget ladder position; we are the joke of the year

Yeah pretty much, I've said it a few times this year. I'm embarrassed to support this club. We're a ****ing joke.

25-05-2018, 11:46 PM
Except for Callum Porter as a speculative late pick (which we only got by delisting and re-rookieing Roarke Smith), we haven't drafted of traded for a mid since 2014. Meanwhile everyone else is loading up on them.

Baffling to say the least.

25-05-2018, 11:47 PM
I will, thanks. That has zero impact on what the team does. Your comment was that the pressure should have been on the coaches two years ago. That’s just stupid.

Or maybe it was stupid to change the guys who were hired to do a job, and move them all to do different jobs, right after they did that really well... and maybe it's still stupid that we keep being rubbish at the same stuff 1.5 seasons on?

25-05-2018, 11:49 PM
Except for Callum Porter as a speculative late pick (which we only got by delisting and re-rookieing Roarke Smith), we haven't drafted of traded for a mid since 2014. Meanwhile everyone else is loading up on them.

Baffling to say the least.

Perhaps next week Roughead can play as an inside mid and Campbell on the wing?

Flexibility and all.

25-05-2018, 11:52 PM

Flexibility and all.
Jokes aside, it is staggering to think that for 3 years now we have completely rested on our laurels in the most important area of the ground. It is an indictment on our list management strategy IMO.

Not even a rookie selection FFS.

25-05-2018, 11:54 PM

Flexibility and all.

God I hate quoting Jon Ralph but he just mentioned that Turtle reckons Mitch Wallis has to find another position before agreeing a new deal.

Seriously, we are beating ourselves

25-05-2018, 11:55 PM
For what club? East Fremantle under 14s?

Ahh yeah he ran second ha. Has shown a shite load more than the Captain since 16.

25-05-2018, 11:56 PM
Jokes aside, it is staggering to think that for 3 years now we have completely rested on our laurels in the most important area of the ground. It is an indictment on our list management strategy IMO.

One paced guys ‘with scope to move into midfield’ that have no real impact in any spot in a senior AFL game

25-05-2018, 11:57 PM

And you said your looking at a different player when watching Wood. Please....

26-05-2018, 12:00 AM
God I hate quoting Jon Ralph but he just mentioned that Turtle reckons Mitch Wallis has to find another position before agreeing a new deal.

Seriously, we are beating ourselves

Extraordinary. Meanwhile we're playing Crozier who can play all 3 parts of the ground... appallingly.

Our football department looks a rabble on and off the field at the moment.

26-05-2018, 12:01 AM
Extraordinary. Meanwhile we're playing Crozier who can play all 3 parts of the ground... appallingly.

Our football department looks a rabble on and off the field at the moment.

Just don’t question them though.

26-05-2018, 12:03 AM
Or maybe it was stupid to change the guys who were hired to do a job, and move them all to do different jobs, right after they did that really well... and maybe it's still stupid that we keep being rubbish at the same stuff 1.5 seasons on?

So not two years then. Right. In hindsight the coaching shuffle hasn’t borne fruit, but when you come off a season reaching the pinnacle, it gives you a lift and you feel confident enough to make changes. Would they have been able to predict that Libba and Grizzly would’ve gone down again, or that Picko would be on the shelf indefinitely, or that Boyd would need long periods out battling depression....or that our backline would be reliant on kids...or that our senior leaders would be as poor as their Pup counterparts?

‘Blame the coaches’ is obvious and easy, but much too simplistic.

26-05-2018, 12:04 AM
One paced guys ‘with scope to move into midfield’ that have no real impact in any spot in a senior AFL game
In the last 3 years we also traded out fringe mids like Hrovat and Koby Stevens without replacing them with other midfielders either by drafting or trading - neither of these two are world beaters but to not replace them with more mids is stoopid. It places ridiculous pressure on Macrae, Bont, McLean, Hunter and Libba, and of course when one falls over we are screwed. Not even a Brownlow-esque season by Macrae and a stellar season by McLean can mask our hideous lack of depth in the middle.

26-05-2018, 12:04 AM
We are moving into McCartney/Rohde/Hart territory now in terms of flakiness.
We have more than squandered the goodwill 2016.

26-05-2018, 12:10 AM
Just don’t question them though.

They are being questioned . They were after the first fortnight , and tend to recall a blowtorch applied to the whole club

26-05-2018, 12:15 AM

So the coaching staff are bullet proof?

If the coaches can't motivate the players to play out games surely they have a level of accountability?

26-05-2018, 12:16 AM
In the last 3 years we also traded out fringe mids like Hrovat and Koby Stevens without replacing them with other midfielders either by drafting or trading - neither of these two are world beaters but to not replace them with more mids is stoopid. It places ridiculous pressure on Macrae, Bont, McLean, Hunter and Libba, and of course when one falls over we are screwed. Not even a Brownlow-esque season by Macrae and a stellar season by McLean can mask our hideous lack of depth in the middle.
Yep . Far too lopsided in the recruiting
I’d imagine Richards will play in the midfield eventually , but we’ve got obsessive with this flexibility mantra .
Interesting times, and the only positive is an early draft pick

26-05-2018, 12:16 AM
Just got back from game. What a deplorable game. I wasn’t that impressed with Collingwood we were just putrid. That second half was as bad as I have ever seen.

Some questions:

-What’s the fascination with Roarke Smith? I don’t get it.
-Why the persistence with Crozier? Can’t play back. Can’t play forward. Jumps at everything but doesn’t get near it.
-Is Wallis seriously not in our best 22? At least he gives you a contest. With no Libba, Picken, Clay and Morris we desperately need some hard bodied players.

26-05-2018, 12:19 AM
Just got back from game. What a deplorable game. I wasn’t that impressed with Collingwood we were just putrid. That second half was as bad as I have ever seen.

Some questions:

Now he’s back, they need to give him some games to see if he should be retained.

26-05-2018, 12:19 AM

If the coaches can't motivate the players to play out games surely they have a level of accountability?

The circus will move from Worsfold and Stkilda to us . The buck stops with the coach, always has .
The circus was at the whitten oval the first two weeks

26-05-2018, 12:21 AM

Some questions:

-Why the persistence with Crozier? Can’t play back. Can’t play forward. Jumps at everything but doesn’t get near it.
-Is Wallis seriously not in our best 22? At least he gives you a contest. With no Libba, Picken, Clay and Morris we desperately need some hard bodied players.
Mitch Wallis should be playing .

26-05-2018, 12:21 AM
So not two years then. Right. In hindsight the coaching shuffle hasn’t borne fruit, but when you come off a season reaching the pinnacle, it gives you a lift and you feel confident enough to make changes. Would they have been able to predict that Libba and Grizzly would’ve gone down again, or that Picko would be on the shelf indefinitely, or that Boyd would need long periods out battling depression....or that our backline would be reliant on kids...or that our senior leaders would be as poor as their Pup counterparts?

‘Blame the coaches’ is obvious and easy, but much too simplistic.

So we switched the coaches around after a premiership so they didn't get stale, but left everything exactly how it was after a putrid season. Surely you can see that makes no sense?

26-05-2018, 12:22 AM

This area needs a seismic shake-up IMO. Bevo stays but the rest need to be closely looked at - have a look at West Coke's midfield structure and ball movement this season with Sam Mitchell at the helm. We need this sort of fresh and cutting edge thinking to help out Bevo.

26-05-2018, 12:24 AM
So we switched the coaches around after a premiership so they didn't get stale, but left everything exactly how it was after a putrid season. Surely you can see that makes no sense?

Changing them again would’ve made even less sense.