View Full Version : Pick Ups

27-05-2018, 07:14 PM
It looks like this is going to be a very long season so I thought I'd start this thread as a bit of a diversion from present day woes.
The intention is to go back through our history and develop a bank of info/opinion about players we have recruited from other clubs.
I'll start off from my early days which date from 1956.
Harvey Stevens. We picked him up from Collingwood in 1953 and he won our B&F in his first year. He played in the 1st ruck in our '54 Premiership. He retired in 1957 after 72 games and 71 goals. I reckon he was a pretty good pick up.

27-05-2018, 07:45 PM
It looks like this is going to be a very long season so I thought I'd start this thread as a bit of a diversion from present day woes.
The intention is to go back through our history and develop a bank of info/opinion about players we have recruited from other clubs.
Harvey Stevens. We picked him up from Collingwood in 1953 and he won our B&F in his first year. He played in the 1st ruck in our '54 Premiership. He retired in 1957 after 72 games and 71 goals. I reckon he was a pretty good pick up.

I knew Harvey very well and he and his wife Alva became regulars at Bulldogs games until his passing in 2016. A unique double with his Father also captaining Footscray. A thorough gentleman, Harvey Stevens was highly respected at the Club.

27-05-2018, 08:22 PM

Harvey's dad Chidda (I think his real name was Arthur) also captained Footscray. I think I am right in thinking that Harvey and Chidda were the first father/son captains of a club.

27-05-2018, 08:32 PM
Thanks for that. I didn't know about his Dad.

27-05-2018, 08:58 PM
I have a special interest in Harvey Stevens. My son is named Harvey too.

28-05-2018, 07:29 AM
We didn't pick up many players in the 60s. One I remember was Frank Johnson. It was 1964. Denis Marshall had been lured to Geelong by big money and was forced to stand aside for the first six games while the VFL invesigated a breach of the Coulter law which governed player payments. Marshall was a champion. There was huge publicity about him. My hopes for Frank Johnson were sky high. He was from the west TOO. He must be a champ like Marshall. Alas, he played just 6 games for us and kicked 4 goals. We off loaded him to Fitzroy in '65 where ho played 3 games and failed to trouble the scoreboard.
We weren't that good in 1964 either. I remember he played with his socks down.

28-05-2018, 09:48 AM
All the best people were born in 1964.

28-05-2018, 11:01 AM
All the best people were born in 1964.

Yes my wife was born then too Td. Her birthday is 6/4/64. Easy to remember.

28-05-2018, 12:41 PM
Yes my wife was born then too Td. Her birthday is 6/4/64. Easy to remember.

Maybe it is but how many times have you forgotten?:)

I'm 16/3 myself, your wife was born inside a month of the significant event of my own birth. Anyone born that close to my DOB should get a commemorative medallian!

28-05-2018, 01:00 PM
Our best era for value pickups, out of necessity, was the early 80s. After we'd tragically sold of all of our stars in the late 70s/early 80s just to survive, we had a few years of hell. Over 83-84, we bought in a bunch of low ball outcasts who helped return us to competitiveness, among them Chris Hansen, Mark Kellett, Les Bamblett, Bruce Duperouzel, Stephen Lunn, Phil Maylin, Emmett Dunne and Con Gorizidis who all provided some value to varying degrees.

The best of them all was Peter Foster, who had played a handful of games over a few years at Fitzroy. He ended up being a champion CHB (and occassional CHF) for us for over a decade. As good a contested mark as I've seen at the Dogs, booming left footer and whole hearted competitor. He was a ripper.

28-05-2018, 01:58 PM
Maybe it is but how many times have you forgotten?:)

I'm 16/3 myself, your wife was born inside a month of the significant event of my own birth. Anyone born that close to my DOB should get a commemorative medallian!

I'm not allowed to forget.:)

28-05-2018, 02:05 PM
Our best era for value pickups, out of necessity, was the early 80s. After we'd tragically sold of all of our stars in the late 70s/early 80s just to survive, we had a few years of hell. Over 83-84, we bought in a bunch of low ball outcasts who helped return us to competitiveness, among them Chris Hansen, Mark Kellett, Les Bamblett, Bruce Duperouzel, Stephen Lunn, Phil Maylin, Emmett Dunne and Con Gorizidis who all provided some value to varying degrees.

The best of them all was Peter Foster, who had played a handful of games over a few years at Fitzroy. He ended up being a champion CHB (and occassional CHF) for us for over a decade. As good a contested mark as I've seen at the Dogs, booming left footer and whole hearted competitor. He was a ripper.

Looking back at the playing lists there were a few who couldn't get a game at other clubs that played with us. Allan McConnell (GWS coach) played in the twos at Fitzroy and played a few games for us, same with Brian O 'Keefe (Ryan's dad) he started out at Fitzroy too, Jeff Berry from Richmond and Bill Berry from Essendon both played good footy with us, John Moylan came from North as part of the Dempsey deal and held down a half back flank for a couple of years, Jim McAllester came as a tall forward from Essendon and played some good footy at fullback for us (good enough for Collingwood to poach him anyway) Peter Hickmott came from Essendon for nothing and played 20-30 games. Butch Edwards dragged his bad knees around for us for a year or two, Robbert Klomp, Greg Towns Tony Buhagiar and Emmett Dunne were all premiership players who came across and played for us at the end of their careers. Jon Bennett was a mystery. He always kicked goals in the reserves and kicked 8 goals in 3 games in the seniors but was shipped off back to st Kilda after one year. Max Crow was playing good footy for us after coming over from Essendon but lost a testicle in a contest and that was effectively the end of his career. Angelo Petraglia came over from North and played nearly 50 games (49, I didn't think it was that many) I once saw Russel Tweedale take a piss from the top level of the Whitten stand (he was running up and down the stairs as a punishment, he gets to the top and gets caught short) and finally Malthouse gave a few of his mates from Richmond an extra year or two of league footy but o wouldn't say that any of them had a huge influence on the club, Tim Gepp, Neil Peart (he wasn't a bad player), Andy Preston (THE biggest lunatic I have seen play for us. I think in his only game for us he was reported for bouncing his opponents head on the ground) and Michael Rolfe.

Phew!

28-05-2018, 07:33 PM

There's some good memories associated with that list of names. Bruce Duperouzel played some cracking games for us as a loose man down back. The first time I saw him play he cut us to ribbons. He was a very good ball user, clever and could read the play well. Mark Kellett had the best "Don't argue of his era. Chris Hansen was a really solid defender. Stephen Lunn - an ordinary ordinary footballer. The Golden Greek specialised in the spectacular and shunned the mundane.
I didn't see much of the Phil the Shark as I was o/s at the time but I believe he was pretty handy.
I saw Les Bamblett intercept a handpass at the 'G' against the Pies and snap a goal. Fair dinkum, it happened that quick it was if he was psychic.
Emmett Dunne was in the Force. I once heard a wag at the Western Oval yell. "Dunne, you couldn't get a kick in an interview room."
Peter Foster was a terrific player. One of our best ever pick ups. Great mark, great kick. I wish we could find another like him

28-05-2018, 09:53 PM
Looking back at the playing lists there were a few who couldn't get a game at other clubs that played with us. Allan McConnell (GWS coach) played in the twos at Fitzroy and played a few games for us, same with Brian O 'Keefe (Ryan's dad) he started out at Fitzroy too, Jeff Berry from Richmond and Bill Berry from Essendon both played good footy with us, John Moylan came from North as part of the Dempsey deal and held down a half back flank for a couple of years, Jim McAllester came as a tall forward from Essendon and played some good footy at fullback for us (good enough for Collingwood to poach him anyway) Peter Hickmott came from Essendon for nothing and played 20-30 games. Butch Edwards dragged his bad knees around for us for a year or two, Robbert Klomp, Greg Towns Tony Buhagiar and Emmett Dunne were all premiership players who came across and played for us at the end of their careers. Jon Bennett was a mystery. He always kicked goals in the reserves and kicked 8 goals in 3 games in the seniors but was shipped off back to st Kilda after one year. Max Crow was playing good footy for us after coming over from Essendon but lost a testicle in a contest and that was effectively the end of his career. Angelo Petraglia came over from North and played nearly 50 games (49, I didn't think it was that many) I once saw Russel Tweedale take a piss from the top level of the Whitten stand (he was running up and down the stairs as a punishment, he gets to the top and gets caught short) and finally Malthouse gave a few of his mates from Richmond an extra year or two of league footy but o wouldn't say that any of them had a huge influence on the club, Tim Gepp, Neil Peart (he wasn't a bad player), Andy Preston (THE biggest lunatic I have seen play for us. I think in his only game for us he was reported for bouncing his opponents head on the ground) and Michael Rolfe.

Phew!

I think you mean Jon Ballantyne not Jon Bennet.

28-05-2018, 09:59 PM
In the early 70s we picked up a blond-headed ruckman from Melbourne - Phil Baker? He was pretty good for a while.
In 67 we got Ken Greenwood from Carlton. He came 2nd in our B&F in his first year and played over 70 games - a good pick up.

28-05-2018, 10:44 PM
I think you mean Jon Ballantyne not Jon Bennet.

Nup, I definitely mean Jon Bennett. Ballantyne played 5 or 6 years later and was a bone fide gun prospect from the bush, not from another league team. Bennett was a hopeful from St Kilda.

Bennett nearly won a game that we hadn't kicked a goal in until 3/4 time off his own boot on the last. It was a wet, wet day at Whitten Oval and Essendon led 3 goals to none at tge start of the last quarter. Bennett kicked 2 and put us in front with not long to go (think Royal kicked the other) but bloody Neil Cordy went wandering and was 30 metres away from his direct opponent who was standing in the goal square all by himself when Tim Watson spotted him and landed it on his chest.

*!*!*!*!ing Neil Cordy, there was 30 seconds to go in the match!

28-05-2018, 10:50 PM
In the early 70s we picked up a blond-headed ruckman from Melbourne - Phil Baker? He was pretty good for a while.
In 67 we got Ken Greenwood from Carlton. He came 2nd in our B&F in his first year and played over 70 games - a good pick up.

The only Phil Baker I can think of is Snake Baker who played full forward for North. (Long bombs to Snake! Barrassis 3/4 time instructions in the the 1977 grand final replay) There was Gary Baker a ruckman who went from us to Melbourne. He did pretty well with them won a B&F (in a poor team) and played state footy.

28-05-2018, 10:55 PM
I remember Stewie Magee (South Melbourne), Ken Greenwood (Carlton), Bluey Hampshire (Geelong), and Robert McGhie (South Melbourne) from a few years ago.

28-05-2018, 10:56 PM
There's some good memories associated with that list of names. Bruce Duperouzel played some cracking games for us as a loose man down back. The first time I saw him play he cut us to ribbons. He was a very good ball user, clever and could read the play well. Mark Kellett had the best "Don't argue of his era. Chris Hansen was a really solid defender. Stephen Lunn - an ordinary ordinary footballer. The Golden Greek specialised in the spectacular and shunned the mundane.
I didn't see much of the Phil the Shark as I was o/s at the time but I believe he was pretty handy.
I saw Les Bamblett intercept a handpass at the 'G' against the Pies and snap a goal. Fair dinkum, it happened that quick it was if he was psychic.
Emmett Dunne was in the Force. I once heard a wag at the Western Oval yell. "Dunne, you couldn't get a kick in an interview room."
Peter Foster was a terrific player. One of our best ever pick ups. Great mark, great kick. I wish we could find another like him

I know that Lallie Bamblett goal that you speak of, in fact I saw it on YouTube recently. He did it with trap doors. Les had a series of tunnels underneath all the grounds and every now and then he'd appear from one of his tunnels, intercept a handball or mark a pass meant for somebody else and waddle into the open goal while opponents ran into each other or fell over if there wasn't a teammate handy to run into. It's the only thing that makes any sense.

28-05-2018, 11:56 PM

I think it is Gary Baker and then Greg Parke from Melbourne.

29-05-2018, 07:45 AM
The only Phil Baker I can think of is Snake Baker who played full forward for North. (Long bombs to Snake! Barrassis 3/4 time instructions in the the 1977 grand final replay) There was Gary Baker a ruckman who went from us to Melbourne. He did pretty well with them won a B&F (in a poor team) and played state footy.

Yes, you're right both times. Gary Baker it was. Jon Bennet completely passes me by. No recollection of him whatsoever. I was traveling between 73 and 75 - maybe that's why. In those days, if you wanted football news you had to find an Aussie embassy and check out some month old newspapers!

29-05-2018, 07:49 AM
I know that Lallie Bamblett goal that you speak of, in fact I saw it on YouTube recently. He did it with trap doors. Les had a series of tunnels underneath all the grounds and every now and then he'd appear from one of his tunnels, intercept a handball or mark a pass meant for somebody else and waddle into the open goal while opponents ran into each other or fell over if there wasn't a teammate handy to run into. It's the only thing that makes any sense.

Yours is the only logical explanation TD. It was, and still is, a thing of wonderment.

29-05-2018, 10:38 AM
I think it is Gary Baker and then Greg Parke from Melbourne.

Yes it was a direct swap between those players. Parke lasted a couple of years with us and played some good games. Early to mid 70's I think. Was an excellent mark at centre half forward.

29-05-2018, 10:55 AM
I remember Stewie Magee (South Melbourne), Ken Greenwood (Carlton), Bluey Hampshire (Geelong), and Robert McGhie (South Melbourne) from a few years ago.

Stewie was a great pick up. Centreman and half forward. Played over 100 games with us. Ended up captaining our club too.

29-05-2018, 11:19 AM
Jose Romero switched to us from North Melbourne in 1995 and won the Charles Sutton Medal in 1996. Our best pick up, again in North Melbourne's own backyard, having just won the VFL's U19 Morrish Medal with them, is our Hall of Famer and Brownlow Medalist, Tony Liberatore.

29-05-2018, 11:39 AM
Jose Romero switched to us from North Melbourne in 1995 and won the Charles Sutton Medal in 1996. Our best pick up, again in North Melbourne's own backyard, having just won the VFL's U19 Morrish Medal with them, is our Hall of Famer and Brownlow Medalist, Tony Liberatore.
Does Scott Wynd count? Also zoned to North, they screwed up the paperwork (the year was wrong?) and we pounced.

29-05-2018, 12:57 PM
Does Scott Wynd count? Also zoned to North, they screwed up the paperwork (the year was wrong?) and we pounced.

I can't remember how it happened (the year out of date thing sounds about right) but North had until Wynd turned 17 to sign him, they didn't and we did at a minute past midnight on his 17th birthday. I think it was in a hospital ward where Scott was recovering from knee surgery. Scott, his dad and Chooka Merrington (our recruiting guy at the time) were all there just waiting until midnight for North's hold to expire.

I used to love when we would name the Wynd Romero Liberatore first ruck. Jose Romero never played as a ruck rover in his life. I'm sure we only ever named them like that to tick North off!

29-05-2018, 01:09 PM
I can't remember how it happened (the year out of date thing sounds about right) but North had until Wynd turned 17 to sign him, they didn't and we did at a minute past midnight on his 17th birthday. I think it was in a hospital ward where Scott was recovering from knee surgery. Scott, his dad and Chooka Merrington (our recruiting guy at the time) were all there just waiting until midnight for North's hold to expire.

I used to love when we would name the Wynd Romero Liberatore first ruck. Jose Romero never played as a ruck rover in his life. I'm sure we only ever named them like that to tick North off!

We certainly showed North Melbourne with our lost preliminary finals while they were busy making grand finals and winning premierships! :)

Paul Hudson was an excellent get for us, 214 goals from 108 games was a solid return.........irrespective of his hungry behaviour that cost us a goal in the last quarter of the 97 prelim!

29-05-2018, 01:35 PM
I am waiting for Twodogs to nominate Ben Harrison.

29-05-2018, 02:21 PM
I am waiting for Twodogs to nominate Ben Harrison.

You cannot pervade my calm blue ocean.

Calm blue ocean
Calm. Blue. Ocean...

29-05-2018, 02:38 PM
We certainly showed North Melbourne with our lost preliminary finals while they were busy making grand finals and winning premierships! :)

Paul Hudson was an excellent get for us, 214 goals from 108 games was a solid return.........irrespective of his hungry behaviour that cost us a goal in the last quarter of the 97 prelim!

Just get out of his way Huddo. That last quarter was like watching car accident after car accident. Of all the times that Paul Hudson decides he's going to make a contest for the ball it had to be then and with his own teammate. But you know what? It only took 19 years and four more prelim losses to get our redemption.

Calm blue ocean.

Hudson was a plan B as well. We were all ready to announce Shannon Grant and on the morning we were going to do it there was a story on the back page of the H/S with quotes from Libba saying he hadn't been paid and when Grant read that he decided he's going to North instead. A coulple of phone calls (I think we'd already done our due diligence because we had already been talking with him) later and Paul Hudson was our big name recruit for 1997! Our luck was in that day. Not many players come to us from another club and get AA selection. Paul Hudson was traded to Richmond for pick 49 and we traded that pick to Brisbane for Marcus Picken.

29-05-2018, 07:27 PM
Thanks RD. I didn't know the background to Paul Hudson's arrival. He was certainly a good pick up.
And now for something completely different!
ALAN JAKOVICH!!

29-05-2018, 07:47 PM
Some trades are good for the soul. Leon Cameron to Richmomd for draft picks 37 and 66turned into Mitch Hahn and Ryan Hargrave. Cameron played 84 games of quality football for Richmond but we got Mitch and Shaggy.

30-05-2018, 06:41 AM
I was sad to see Leon go but we ended up with two excellent players as a result. It doesn't always end that way.
One that comes to mind is Jayde - I can't bring myself to mention his name. I can't re-call what the deal was but he turned out to be a big disappointment. Kicked 7 goals in an early game and then racked it. His appalling kicking cost us games.

30-05-2018, 06:44 AM
It was his first game for us that he kicked seven! We said we were going to play him at full forward and they said we were mad. And it turned out we were mad after all.

30-05-2018, 09:46 AM
It was his first game for us that he kicked seven! We said we were going to play him at full forward and they said we were mad. And it turned out we were mad after all.
Didn't help that he really wanted to get to North and we screwed him.
We spent a solid 20 years looking for a white-knight tall forward and never nailed it, save for Barry Hall for one final year just as defensive pressure started to become really important for KPFs.

If we're talking pick ups this one I both love and hate - Ben Hudson.

Love - great ruckman, made the mids better as he blocked space so when, competitive, great bloke off field, had his own fanclub.
Bad - he was under our nose at VFL level and our idiot coach at the time didn't want him so he went to the Crows first and we had to trade for him.

30-05-2018, 09:50 AM
Gordon Casey was a great pick up for us. He played 1 game at Carlton in '68. Came to us in '69. We turned him into a back pocket and he played 125 games for us. A really solid player. We have had some great back pocket players. Wally Donald, Charlie Evans, Ray Walker, Casey, Micky Egan, Wheels.

30-05-2018, 09:53 AM
Didn't help that he really wanted to get to North and we screwed him.
We spent a solid 20 years looking for a white-knight tall forward and never nailed it, save for Barry Hall for one final year just as defensive pressure started to become really important for KPFs.

If we're talking pick ups this one I both love and hate - Ben Hudson.

Love - great ruckman, made the mids better as he blocked space so when, competitive, great bloke off field, had his own fanclub.
Bad - he was under our nose at VFL level and our idiot coach at the time didn't want him so he went to the Crows first and we had to trade for him.

I can't have this "poor bugger Jayde, he wanted to go to North" business. If he wanted to go to North then he shouldn't have signed with us before the draft. If he had been willing to sign a lesser contract with North then we would have been snookered. He was distracted by the amount of money we offered him, that's all. Then he had a two and a half year tantrum on our coin.

30-05-2018, 03:39 PM
Gordon Casey was a great pick up for us. He played 1 game at Carlton in '68. Came to us in '69. We turned him into a back pocket and he played 125 games for us. A really solid player. We have had some great back pocket players. Wally Donald, Charlie Evans, Ray Walker, Casey, Micky Egan, Wheels.

Ian Bryant also played back pocket as well as wing. A number of them represented Victoria too.

30-05-2018, 04:58 PM

I saw Gordon Casey on Saturday at Merv Hughes oval. Phil O Leefe and the great Zino Tzatzaris were there too.

30-05-2018, 07:56 PM
Glenn Coleman was a fantastic addition to our side. He came to us when we had drafted Chris Grant and I think Coleman played a key role in Grants excellent debut season. He played 69 games for us in 4 seasons and 3 of those seasons he produced his highest disposal averages in his 13 years as an AFL footballer. I think Coleman is still the only player who played 50 games or more for 3 AFL clubs

Deserves to be mentioned as a great pick up

30-05-2018, 07:59 PM
Ian Bryant also played back pocket as well as wing. A number of them represented Victoria too.

Ian Bryant - a great exponent of the drop kick. Terrific player.

30-05-2018, 08:05 PM
Glenn Coleman was a fantastic addition to our side. He came to us when we had drafted Chris Grant and I think Coleman played a key role in Grants excellent debut season. He played 69 games for us in 4 seasons and 3 of those seasons he produced his highest disposal averages in his 13 years as an AFL footballer. I think Coleman is still the only player who played 50 games or more for 3 AFL clubs

You are dead right about Galaxy. Fitzroy, Swans and us. He was really good value and supporters loved him.

30-05-2018, 08:12 PM
You are dead right about Galaxy. Fitzroy, Swans and us. He was really good value and supporters loved him.
As GVGjr Said, he was also good for Grant in his first year as a 17 year old.

Remember when he broke the point post. Not a word in the media, but when Leigh Thug Matthews did it, what a big deal it was.

30-05-2018, 08:54 PM

Nobody cut up rough around Chris Grant when Galaxy was about. If they even looked at Chris the wrong way then Glen would kick their arse. The best protecter we ever had.

Ian Bryant - a great exponent of the drop kick. Terrific player.

He worked with my dad at the old council depot in Southampton st. He came home one day and said to me " always watch out for the rat around the loose ball" and I said "sorry, what are you going on about now?" "We were playing kick to kick at work at lunchtime and I thought I was clear through with it. I still don't know where Ian Bryant came from but gee he cleaned me up, he apologised after and said he'd just forgotten where he was"

Remember when he broke the point post. Not a word in the media, but when Leigh Thug Matthews did it, what a big deal it was.

Bloody Lou Richards going on about what a he-man Matthews was. Yeah, that point post must have had its back turned to Mathews and it wasn't expecting him to make contact is the only comment I will make.

30-05-2018, 08:59 PM

No, I Don't remember that incident. Can you elaborate?

30-05-2018, 09:26 PM
No, I Don't remember that incident. Can you elaborate?

Gal ran into a behind post and knocked it over. IIRC it was not long to go until halftime and one of the ground attendants held the Little League behind post in place over the broken post and they fixed it up at half time.

30-05-2018, 11:17 PM
Gal ran into a behind post and knocked it over. IIRC it was not long to go until halftime and one of the ground attendants held the Little League behind post in place over the broken post and they fixed it up at half time.

I forgot about the poor bloke holding up the little league post, that was so funny.:D

31-05-2018, 12:03 AM

You have underestimated Coleman's legacy just a bit in my opinion. I think he ran interference for Grant for 3 seasons.
I remember going to a game a Princes Park and Rhys-Jones had Grant one on one in the goal square and was trying to rough up Grant. Ever vigilant with Grant, Coleman would pick his mark and head back to the goal square to make sure Rhys-Jones knew there would be some consequences for having ago at Grant. A push, shove and a jumper punch would follow and then repeated if necessary a few minutes later if the initial message didn't get through. He wasn't a rough player by nature, he was as laconic as they come, but he either liked Grant a lot (who wouldn't) or he was given specific instructions to defend him but Coleman did a bit of the heavy lifting for Grant in those first few seasons.

He was no star and could go missing in games but his first 3 seasons with us he more than earned his spot.

31-05-2018, 09:11 AM
You have underestimated Coleman's legacy just a bit in my opinion. I think he ran interference for Grant for 3 seasons.
I remember going to a game a Princes Park and Rhys-Jones had Grant one on one in the goal square and was trying to rough up Grant. Ever vigilant with Grant, Coleman would pick his mark and head back to the goal square to make sure Rhys-Jones knew there would be some consequences for having ago at Grant. A push, shove and a jumper punch would follow and then repeated if necessary a few minutes later if the initial message didn't get through. He wasn't a rough player by nature, he was as laconic as they come, but he either liked Grant a lot (who wouldn't) or he was given specific instructions to defend him but Coleman did a bit of the heavy lifting for Grant in those first few seasons.

He was no star and could go missing in games but his first 3 seasons with us he more than earned his spot.

Agree, I thought he was great at the time.

31-05-2018, 09:17 AM
Simon Minton Connell anyone ? I thought he shone for us for a couple of seasons, couldn't take an overhead mark but had that full boar run at the ball taking it on his chest.

Bluey Hampshire was the most loved player at the club ever , he had his 70 th the other day , has had a few strokes and is now in a wheelchair, lives in an aged care place out Geelong way but past players still pop in to see him , he loves his bulldogs.
Bluey filled in as coach once, the club wanted him to stay coach but he had no interest in coaching.

Peter Feartherby ? Wasn't he Geelong and came to us then went back ? Good player he was.

31-05-2018, 09:22 AM

The players who played with him loved him too. One of our midfielder/HBf's at the time said Coleman would lead every time you had the ball, you never had to worry about getting the ball under pressure and having no options. Even when you didn't kick it to him he didn't sulk, he'd just double back and go again next time. Pure team player was Galaxy.

The boys also loved Bernard Toohey from around the same time. Every player on the field knew if you went after one of our players there'd be consequences, and those consequences were usually a multiple of what you dished out.

31-05-2018, 09:48 AM
The players who played with him loved him too. One of our midfielder/HBf's at the time said Coleman would lead every time you had the ball, you never had to worry about getting the ball under pressure and having no options. Even when you didn't kick it to him he didn't sulk, he'd just double back and go again next time. Pure team player was Galaxy.

The boys also loved Bernard Toohey from around the same time. Every player on the field knew if you went after one of our players there'd be consequences, and those consequences were usually a multiple of what you dished out.

Toohey was very good fo us. After he left he was replaced not long after by another good pickup in Matthew Dent.

31-05-2018, 09:53 AM
Toohey was awesome. Vengenance was his!

31-05-2018, 10:05 AM

Toohey from the Swans - I was a massive fan of every player who wore no 8 for about 20 years. Tits Kennedy and Mitch Hahn wore it well.
Pretty glad Trengove has it now - a tough as nails, aggressive defender who is a quality team man.

I still love the story of galaxy getting his car towed home :D

31-05-2018, 10:07 AM
Simon Minton Connell anyone ? I thought he shone for us for a couple of seasons, couldn't take an overhead mark but had that full boar run at the ball taking it on his chest.
I did like the Hyphen - really timed his runs well.

Richard Osborne? Kicked the longest goal at Whitten Oval I've ever seen. The run up started past the Bulldog player's race. Sweet, sweet torp.

31-05-2018, 10:09 AM
Toohey was very good fo us. After he left he was replaced not long after by another good pickup in Matthew Dent.

Dent was a bit of an underrated player, but was very consistent and hard to beat in his position. Also a tough guy like Toohey.

31-05-2018, 10:54 AM

Richard Osborne? Kicked the longest goal at Whitten Oval I've ever seen. The run up started past the Bulldog player's race. Sweet, sweet torp.

Was that versus Geelong or Melbourne in 1994?

31-05-2018, 10:59 AM
Was that versus Geelong or Melbourne in 1994?

Melbourne I think. Chris Grant once told me it is the best goal he's ever seen.

31-05-2018, 11:46 AM
Melbourne I think. Chris Grant once told me it is the best goal he's ever seen.
I only remember it as we used to stand next to the players' race and I thought it was weird he'd even attempt such a goal.

Another favourite players race memory - Kolyniuk was scuffling with an opponent after the ball went over the boundary, they ended up in the race (where the umpire couldn't see) and he gave his opponent the most sweetly timed, loud bitch-slap I've ever heard.

31-05-2018, 12:40 PM

Longest goal not featured, but some highlights of Richard. We can sure use him now

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7onwVrQCEMw

31-05-2018, 12:54 PM
Longest goal not featured, but some highlights of Richard. We can sure use him now

If only we had him his whole career he was something very special.

31-05-2018, 01:32 PM
Toohey was a crazy son of a bitch I remember walking into the urinal at the Attic nightclub in Geelong and Toohey was there and the first thing that struck me was the size of his legs. I didn't say anything to him and then there was this commotion outside and he walked out quickly and some chick was screaming out the front of the girls dunnies and then this big guy drags this chick out by the hair and Toohey just grabs him, puts him down and lays on his back till the bouncers get there. The look in his eyes as he got off this bloke was like looking through hell's window.

31-05-2018, 01:37 PM
I only remember it as we used to stand next to the players' race and I thought it was weird he'd even attempt such a goal.

Another favourite players race memory - Kolyniuk was scuffling with an opponent after the ball went over the boundary, they ended up in the race (where the umpire couldn't see) and he gave his opponent the most sweetly timed, loud bitch-slap I've ever heard.

Billy the kid. He was the quickest draw in the west. :cool:

31-05-2018, 01:52 PM
Our best ever pick up was a North Melbourne Reserves player we got for nothing; Tony Liberatore. He contacted us to get a shot at training and only got 18 games over 4 years under Malthouse (2 in the last 2 years). Probably would never have made it had Malthouse stayed. Terry Wheeler identified his qualities pretty quickly and Libba won a Brownlow his first year under Wheels. Went on to make the Bulldogs team of the century.

31-05-2018, 01:59 PM
Our best ever pick up was a North Melbourne Reserves player we got for nothing; Tony Liberatore. He contacted us to get a shot at training and only got 18 games over 4 years under Malthouse (2 in the last 2 years). Probably would never have made it had Malthouse stayed. Terry Wheeler identified his qualities pretty quickly and Libba won a Brownlow his first year under Wheels. Went on to make the Bulldogs team of the century.

Libba had filled out his transfer application and was going to lodge it for the 1990 PSD on the Friday. We were playing a practice match in Reservoir (I think) and Wheeler convinced Libba to wait until Monday morning before lodging his request and promised to leave him on the ball the whole of the next day. Libba did, Wheels did and the rest is history. Libba was up on the dais accepting his Brownlow less than eight months later.

31-05-2018, 03:32 PM

* gets misty eyed*
* softy whispers "Barry Standfield" *
* wipes tear from eye*

31-05-2018, 03:35 PM
* gets misty eyed*
* softy whispers "Barry Standfield" *
* wipes tear from eye*

A couple of times I saw Rourke Smith in the 37 on Friday night I thought it was Daniel Hargreaves at first.

Barry Standfield would have done the number eight proud.

31-05-2018, 08:00 PM
Some very good players re-called in these posts. Bernard Toohey was staunch. Give him a job - he'd do it.
Simon the Hyphen got the best out of himself. Good kick for goal and quick off the mark.
Agree re Libber - best pick up ever. Sensational wet weather player. Speaking of wet weather - who remembers Richmond's "Swamp Fox"?

31-05-2018, 08:12 PM
Not a great pickup, but Jackovich will be on Front Bar tonight

31-05-2018, 08:18 PM
Some very good players re-called in these posts. Bernard Toohey was staunch. Give him a job - he'd do it.
Simon the Hyphen got the best out of himself. Good kick for goal and quick off the mark.
Agree re Libber - best pick up ever. Sensational wet weather player. Speaking of wet weather - who remembers Richmond's "Swamp Fox"?

Mike Patterson. Did he end up president of Richmond? I know he coached St Kilda. He well may have been on the Richmond coaching conveyer belt too.

31-05-2018, 08:20 PM
How many goals did Alan Jackovich kick for us - was it 1 or 2?

31-05-2018, 08:24 PM
Good thread merantau.

Will be a good read over the bye period next week.

31-05-2018, 08:24 PM
How many goals did Alan Jackovich kick for us - was it 1 or 2?

7. From 7 games.

31-05-2018, 08:31 PM
I was sad to see Leon go but we ended up with two excellent players as a result. It doesn't always end that way.
One that comes to mind is Jayde - I can't bring myself to mention his name. I can't re-call what the deal was but he turned out to be a big disappointment. Kicked 7 goals in an early game and then racked it. His appalling kicking cost us games.

Rawlings I believe.

31-05-2018, 09:02 PM
Rawlings I believe.

You've just ruined my evening!

31-05-2018, 09:03 PM
You've just ruined my evening!

What a first game it was.

31-05-2018, 09:19 PM
Trying to think of the Carlton mid who came to us in later years Phil Maylin I think , he gave good service.

31-05-2018, 09:34 PM
Trying to think of the Carlton mid who came to us in later years Phil Maylin I think , he gave good service.

Phil played some very good footy for us.

31-05-2018, 09:56 PM
Not a great pickup, but Jackovich will be on Front Bar tonight

Haha, wrong Jackovich on. Bloody twitter.

31-05-2018, 10:17 PM
Haha, wrong Jackovich on. Bloody twitter.

I was going to say if it was Allen that he has to turn up first.

31-05-2018, 10:19 PM

Greg Towns too.

Phil Maylin was another player who came to us late in his career and then segged into coaching. He was a assistant with us for a while. Was it under Terry Wallace?

01-06-2018, 08:08 AM
Mike Patterson. Did he end up president of Richmond? I know he coached St Kilda. He well may have been on the Richmond coaching conveyer belt too.

The Swamp Fox coached both St.Kilda and Richmond. Fell out with Lindsay Fox apparently.

01-06-2018, 08:16 AM
What a first game it was.

Give it a break will ya! Talk about promise Roma and deliver Reservoir!
Another tarred with the same brush was John Georgiades. Streaked across the sky like a meteor - ended up in a black hole.

01-06-2018, 08:21 AM
I was going to say if it was Allen that he has to turn up first.

The last time Alan was in the news that I can remember he was being sort after by some people over some fiscal matter.

01-06-2018, 09:46 AM
The last time Alan was in the news that I can remember he was being sort after by some people over some fiscal matter.

Indeed. If channel 7 had actually managed to track him down they should be setting up a new entity focused on locating people trying not to be found. Many of the collection agencies haven't managed to find dear Allen.

01-06-2018, 10:15 AM
Does Hamling count (despite zero games for Geelong)?

a. Cost us nothing as a DFA
b. Broke our 'Geelong fringe player' curse
c. Premiership CHB keeping Buddy to one goal
d. Nets us a reasonable pick when traded to Freo.

From a freebie we got a Premiership KPD and a pick, not bad at all.

01-06-2018, 01:08 PM
Does Hamling count (despite zero games for Geelong)?

a. Cost us nothing as a DFA
b. Broke our 'Geelong fringe player' curse
c. Premiership CHB keeping Buddy to one goal
d. Nets us a reasonable pick when traded to Freo.

From a freebie we got a Premiership KPD and a pick, not bad at all.

We should have been a lot harder to deal with over that. Hamling going out the door was the start of the deteoration from Premiers to wherever we are going.

01-06-2018, 01:17 PM

Bit before my time, but my Dad was a wrap for Adrian 'Gags' Gallagher who had a few decent years with us after being a star at Carlton in the 60s/early 70s.

01-06-2018, 01:42 PM
Bit before my time, but my Dad was a wrap for Adrian 'Gags' Gallagher who had a few decent years with us after being a star at Carlton in the 60s/early 70s.

Gags was our FA/10 year rule player wasn't he?

North rounded off a premiership team with the 10 year rule. We got a mostly washed up Carlton hack.

01-06-2018, 03:30 PM

Loved Ossie, he was a great pick up for us.
Two things that really stood out for me in the highlights package were Ossie's set shots and our ruckman who would easily get a game in our squad today.( including Monster and Fish)

01-06-2018, 03:44 PM
Two things that really stood out for me in the highlights package were Ossie's set shots and our ruckman who would easily get a game in our squad today.( including Monster and Fish)

Barry Standfield is just the sort of player they love today. 80% game time at CHB or CHF and 20 chopping out on the ruck and can fill in as the main ruckman if needed.

01-06-2018, 07:34 PM

Ossie was a damn good player. Strong, quick, agile and he always stayed upright. Great to watch.

01-06-2018, 08:00 PM
Richard Osbourne was well on his way to 100 goals one year early in his career but had a pretty bad knee injury when he'd got to 60 odd after only 8 or 9 games. He was dobbing them through from everyone

01-06-2018, 08:22 PM
Does Paul Dimatina count as a pick-up. I believe he was with Essendon but did not play a senior game for them. He was a good player for us and him, Jose and Libba were a formidable trio.

01-06-2018, 08:47 PM
Does Paul Dimatina count as a pick-up. I believe he was with Essendon but did not play a senior game for them. He was a good player for us and him, Jose and Libba were a formidable trio.

Yep, Dimma was on Essendon's list before ours. His dad played at Richmond too.

01-06-2018, 09:10 PM
Yep, Dimma was on Essendon's list before ours. His dad played at Richmond too.

Dimma Snr also played a handful of games at North, his main claim to fame is kicking KB's career off .
Dimma Snr nose was broken and he was knocked out from a head high bump during a game.
Replaced by KB the next week, Hungry never looked back, was never dropped from the senior side after this and Dimma had to play second fiddle.
Dimma's junior brother played 20 odd games at Collingwood as well so pretty talented footy family.

01-06-2018, 10:36 PM
Yeah forgot about the Collingwood brother. Was he Andrew?

02-06-2018, 12:40 PM
Yeah forgot about the Collingwood brother. Was he Andrew?

Yep Andrew,my daughter works with him at Marios restaurant in Broadbeach QLD .
Paul and Frank run the restaurants down here , they have 4 in all , 2 in each state.
Andrew runs Marios and it is quite successful, status Quo, wolf mother, the GC team, Bonnie Tyler and a few other known people have eaten there. It also has a breakfast /coffee shop next door they run and my daughter works in both, Barista / cocktail maker,serves and waiters,she loves it Frank and Paul pop in up there regularly.
Frank played at the Tigers and North , Paul with us and Andrew at Collingwood.

02-06-2018, 01:44 PM
Hang on. You mean to say that Status Quo don't do all their shopping at Coles when they are in Australia?

I'm devastated.

02-06-2018, 01:55 PM
Hang on. You mean to say that Status Quo don't do all their shopping at Coles when they are in Australia?

I'm devastated.

They probably do but they eat at Marios restaurant when on the Gold Coast :-)
http://www.mariosrestaurant.com.au/

08-06-2018, 06:12 AM
We've had some high profile pick ups at the end of their careers. Nicky Winmar, Phil Krakoeur (spl?) and the daddy of them all - Jason Akermanis.
What went wrong there? Was there a straw that broke the camel's back?

08-06-2018, 10:14 AM
We've had some high profile pick ups at the end of their careers. Nicky Winmar, Phil Krakoeur (spl?) and the daddy of them all - Jason Akermanis.

And not forgetting Big Bad Barry.

08-06-2018, 11:02 AM

Initially we contracted Aker for three years, and I thought he played well and generally kept his mouth shut. We then decided to give him another year and it all went wrong, on and off the field.

Aker said many things that were true but the AFL community didn't like it eg Players using drugs, homophobia etc. He was a different cat that nobody really liked and spoilt his time with us. I remember the leadership group had a go at him for doing the hand stand after a win. I thought it was childish as it was a bit of fun, but they thought it was too much about Aker. In the end players didn't like him and it was time to retire.

Some highlights in case you forgot how good he was.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2wyBSDS7nDE

08-06-2018, 11:10 AM
Barry Hall was so good for us and I think it kind of gets overlooked. Apart from maybe 3-4 weeks in the middle of 2011 he was pretty much constantly dominant. A set shot as sweet as his would be soul food at the moment.

Aker was a tool, but think it also needs to be remembered how grim his last season was on-field too. That he had nothing left to give probably begat his increase commentary; gotta get people to pay attention to you somehow.

08-06-2018, 03:34 PM

Allen Jakovich, Bruce Duperouzel.

08-06-2018, 03:56 PM
Initially we contracted Aker for three years, and I thought he played well and generally kept his mouth shut. We then decided to give him another year and it all went wrong, on and off the field.

Aker said many things that were true but the AFL community didn't like it eg Players using drugs, homophobia etc. He was a different cat that nobody really liked and spoilt his time with us. I remember the leadership group had a go at him for doing the hand stand after a win. I thought it was childish as it was a bit of fun, but they thought it was too much about Aker. In the end players didn't like him and it was time to retire.

Some highlights in case you forgot how good he was.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2wyBSDS7nDE

My son was in primary school when Aker came to us. He was about seven year and (like most Seven year olds) he was a huge Jason Akermanis fan. Anyway a few weeks before the fallout with Aker at Brisbane we were watching a Brisbane game on Friday night footy and he said to me "why don't the other players like Aker any more?" I said "what do you mean?" and H says "you watch, Aker keeps getting all by himself but the other players won't give it to him" So I watched for a while and he was right. Aker was waving his arms like Brendan Goddard but nobody was interested in giving him the ball.

I owe Aker a debt of gratitude. I took him to training one day and we introduced ourselves. Aker looks down at my boy and says "Listen young man when you say hello to somebody then you look them in the eye. Don't look down, nobody will take you seriously" and ever since then he's looked people in the eye and the words "seriously" and "serious" have taken on a new meaning.

He now divides the world into people who are serious people and worth his time and people who aren't serious and deserve only his contempt (That's OK though, he's 19 and the world is a binary place when you are that age-there are no shades of grey)

08-06-2018, 04:11 PM

Great goal kicker Barry. I wish we had got him earlier (mid 00s). 2009 we had a very potent forward line without a major full forward and in 2010 we still be pretty well up there but Bazza kicked a lot of the goals. He would be very useful in our side today.

Also is a Doggies supporter as well Barry from Broadford in Northern Victoria originally.