View Full Version : It's been a tough year but our future looks very bright

01-07-2018, 08:04 PM
Been a tough 2 seasons since we won the premiership but our future I reckon looks very bright. We have recruited some very good kids in Naughton, Lipinski, English, Richards, Gowers and have many players to come back from injury who would bolster our team even more.

Morris and Adams give us a lot down back as well as Crozier off half back who has improved over the last few weeks as there were concerns on his form.

Maintain our competitiveness and will scare a lot of teams for the rest of the year. Hopefully within the next few years we are back in finals challenging once more for the flag.

Excellent win on Friday night for our young group and Bevo said it's a win that can give a teams like our at the moment so much confidence going forward beating a potential finalist for this year.

Short term pain for long term gain.

Go Bulldogs!!

02-07-2018, 11:01 AM
This year reminds me a lot of 2005.

We finish that year strongly and established the basis for a really good team that played finals in 2006 and made prelims in 08,09 and 2010.

This side has more tall options, but we do need more skill in the midfield.

03-07-2018, 02:44 PM
I agree Easty. It's not often a club can compose a full team of under 23s. Our list of youngsters at present are as good as any I can remember. I reckon if we sent out the following team, we'd be reasonably competitive:

B: Cordy (21), Naughton (18), Lynch (20)
HB: Williams (20), Young (19), Hunter (23)

R: English (20), Bontempelli (23), Dunkley (21)
C: Richards (18), Macrae (23), McLean (22)

HF: Dale (21), Schache (20), Daniel (22)
F: Lipinski (19), Boyd (22), Gowers (22)

IC from: Smith (21), Collins (20), Webb (22), HC (23), Greene (20), NMM (21), Porter (19)

It really should be a good few years coming up.

03-07-2018, 02:52 PM
I agree Easty. It's not often a club can compose a full team of under 23s. Our list of youngsters at present are as good as any I can remember. I reckon if we sent out the following team, we'd be reasonably competitive:

IC from: Smith (21), Collins (20), Webb (22), HC (23), Greene (20), NMM (21), Porter (19)

Great team.

BTW: Richards turned 19 today, but I will forgive you. :D

03-07-2018, 03:01 PM

That's not bad at all.

03-07-2018, 03:34 PM
Great team.

BTW: Richards turned 19 today, but I will forgive you. :D

Sheesh BAD, nothing gets by you :)

03-07-2018, 03:47 PM
Sheesh BAD, nothing gets by you :)

Sorry :D

03-07-2018, 10:38 PM
Agree Easty. That's why I am annoyed at fair weather fans who only look at win loss numbers and decide not to turn up. They miss the opportunity to see the start of some brilliant careers and our progression towards another flag.

03-07-2018, 10:44 PM
We're in a better position than the Saints & Blues; Hell, I'd say that we're better off than the Demons who have talent but zero application or drive.

03-07-2018, 10:58 PM
We're in a better position than the Saints & Blues; Hell, I'd say that we're better off than the Demons who have talent but zero application or drive.

We have a premiership flag in the kit bag in the last quarter of a century over that lot too.

04-07-2018, 12:28 PM

That's a cracking team.

2020 is looking up.

04-07-2018, 12:33 PM

Gee now that is some great talent there. Hopefully a good few years coming up for us.

04-07-2018, 12:35 PM
Agree Easty. That's why I am annoyed at fair weather fans who only look at win loss numbers and decide not to turn up. They miss the opportunity to see the start of some brilliant careers and our progression towards another flag.

It is what being a supporter is all about particularly for us Bulldogs supporters. You can have patches in poor seasons where you enjoy the footy again and it is great looking at the future of the club who will hopefully lead us to our next premiership.

04-07-2018, 04:14 PM
It is what being a supporter is all about particularly for us Bulldogs supporters. You can have patches in poor seasons where you enjoy the footy again and it is great looking at the future of the club who will hopefully lead us to our next premiership.

Anyone who went through the dismal days of the late 70s and early 80s and didn't break should get campaign medals or therapy or something. Man they were bleak. We'd win three games for the season and our ex players would win Brownlows with other clubs. I tell you what Eastie Boy the year two of our ex-players tied for the Brownlow I remember thinking that they were just taking the piss now.

Our one Jewel amongst all that wreckage was Kelvin Templeton who won the Brownlow and promptly did his knee in the last minute of a pointless preseason night match. It was that sort of era. Occasionally we'd laugh at the antics of the players out on the ground, they were pretty funny sometimes, but it was mostly a pretty grim experience.

But abandoning Footscray and barracking for another team was never an option.

15-07-2018, 08:23 PM
Bad losses the last 2 weeks but quite a few positives out of both games in particular the 1st halves. Schache will be a player. It is very tough now but we have players here to work around and some who need to be delisted. Potentially could play finals again in 2-3 years and if our luck on injuries change that will help heaps.