View Full Version : AFL Game Day Round 19, 2018 - Western Bulldogs V Port Adelaide at MARS Stadium, Ballarat

27-07-2018, 10:39 AM
Predictions
- Margin
- First Goal
- Best On Ground

Margin: Bulldogs by 17 points

First Goal: Schache

Best On Ground: McLean

Go Bulldogs!!

27-07-2018, 10:44 AM
Dogs by 16

First Goal: Fergus Greene

BOG: Macrae

27-07-2018, 01:54 PM
Agreed Port look wobbly but not sure I'm heartened or amused by chat we're somehow a show against this lot.

We might hang with them for the first half but Port to bang it up a gear only as needed to win by 39 in an awful, awful game for the neutrals.

We'll have no answers for Dixon & Westhoff, particularly if Roberts sneaks into the 22.

27-07-2018, 04:55 PM
Dogs by sixteen
FG Fergus Greene
BOG Toby Maclean
We are going to be like a machine
We're gonna be mean
Play the best footy you've ever seen.
Dogs by sixteen.

27-07-2018, 05:11 PM
Port by 36
Ist goal - bont
Bog - McLean

Is Dixon out of form? Not for long.

28-07-2018, 05:06 PM
Port by 31
First Goal Bont
BOG Bont

28-07-2018, 05:45 PM
Doggies by 7
First Goal Schache
BOG Bont

29-07-2018, 03:55 PM
Dogs by 1point
First goal: Schache
BOG: Mclean

29-07-2018, 03:57 PM
Dogs by sixteen
FG Fergus Greene
BOG Toby Maclean
We are going to be like a machine
We're gonna be mean
Play the best footy you've ever seen.
Dogs by sixteen.
Wins have been lean
In 2018
But if the boys are keen
Ballarat just could be the scene
Of a bulldog team that dare to dream.

Dogs by 4
First goal - Bont
BOG - Bont

29-07-2018, 04:21 PM
Great start. Wally with the first!

29-07-2018, 04:27 PM
Gonna be some sore boys after this one.

If we're going to persist with Ballarat we need to have the games scheduled either very early or very late in the season. July's just asking for it.

29-07-2018, 04:32 PM
Honeychurch kick smothered. DRINK!

29-07-2018, 04:40 PM
Great kick from Richards to Greene who took a great mark.

29-07-2018, 04:47 PM
Honeychurch kick smothered. DRINK!

Give up a goal with 30 seconds or less left. DRINK!

29-07-2018, 04:48 PM
Wouldn't be a Bulldogs game this year without finding a way to concede a goal right at the end of a quarter.

29-07-2018, 04:48 PM
Conceding a goal in the dying seconds of a quarter. DRINK!

29-07-2018, 04:49 PM
Wouldn't be a Bulldogs game this year without finding a way to concede a goal right at the end of a quarter.

It's very frustrating.

29-07-2018, 04:50 PM

At least we’re elite at something

29-07-2018, 04:50 PM
We must have the record for conceding goals from fullback in the last 20 seconds in a quarter on a regular basis.

29-07-2018, 04:51 PM
I think some of our players need to take off some layers under their long sleeve jumpers coz we look as slow as all hell

29-07-2018, 04:52 PM
30 seconds to go in the quarter and the ball is deep in our forward line and somehow I knew we would conceed a goal.:mad: same shit every week. Dont they train for this not to happen.

29-07-2018, 04:59 PM
Goal Fergus! First career AFL goal. Well done.

29-07-2018, 05:06 PM
We're such a better side for having Bont in.

29-07-2018, 05:07 PM
We're such a better side for having Bont in.

Great kick before to Fergus who scored his first AFL goal.

29-07-2018, 05:08 PM
Beautiful tap to motop by Roughead :mad::mad:

29-07-2018, 05:11 PM
Does Daniel play in sneakers? Ffs he slips over all the time

29-07-2018, 05:12 PM
Has that female ump paid a free to us because she is bloody lightning to pay one against us.

29-07-2018, 05:17 PM
Can't believe I'm saying this but Trengove is belting Ryder.

29-07-2018, 05:29 PM
Not sure why JJ is playing up forward, needs to go back in the second half. Lynch only 3 touches, Ed only 2, HC ONE, JJ 3.

On the other hand Lippa with 11 touches. Macrae on target to get 40 again for the third time in a row at Ballarat.

29-07-2018, 05:35 PM
Not sure why JJ is playing up forward, needs to go back in the second half. Lynch only 3 touches, Ed only 2, HC ONE, JJ 3.

On the other hand Lippa with 11 touches. Macrae on target to get 40 again for the third time in a row at Ballarat.

That would be a World Record for games at Ballarat.

29-07-2018, 05:37 PM

Damming stats. Its hard enough to win with 22 contributors.

29-07-2018, 05:38 PM
Damming stats. Its hard enough to win with 22 contributors.

Yeah only a few contributing at ground level. I am not counting the backman as they just go the punch

29-07-2018, 05:38 PM
Has that female ump paid a free to us because she is bloody lightning to pay one against us.

She's not helping advance the idea of having female umpires.

29-07-2018, 05:40 PM

I actually think she is doing a good job, as other the other two.

29-07-2018, 05:46 PM
Thank god we have kicked straight

This is a shit take not withstanding the fact she paid us several later in the quarter.

Where is the support for Adams against Dixon ffs

That's right if we don't let them score in the last 20 seconds then let them score in the first 20 of the next quarter

29-07-2018, 05:48 PM
We have got like 15-16 defenders playing and they still manage to take marks 30 metres out ;)

29-07-2018, 05:49 PM
Looks like we've come to only play one half of footy yet again.

29-07-2018, 05:50 PM
If we can avoid indulging our fancy for second half capitulations that'd be great, ta.

Got a feeling it’s gonna be one of those 7-1 goal quarters

Same 3rd quarter rubbish week after week.

29-07-2018, 05:51 PM
Same old 3rd qtr , how the hell does jack Watts get a possession in these conditions ?
Biggest reciever in the league and we let him get a contested one ?

29-07-2018, 06:00 PM

Yeah nah this is stupid.

29-07-2018, 06:00 PM
I actually think she is doing a good job, as other the other two.

Agree to disagree then.

29-07-2018, 06:03 PM
The set play!

Schache gets one. Important goal.

Jeez, JJ just hasn’t shown up

29-07-2018, 06:04 PM
Nice mark nice goal Shack

29-07-2018, 06:05 PM

She has been awful!

Not real good signs. Most of our goals have come from frees.

Edit: Shaq delivers.

29-07-2018, 06:07 PM
Apparently Port have a microwave!

29-07-2018, 06:08 PM
Love the way we just let them run round the wing with not one bit of pressure , looks like a training run sometimes.

29-07-2018, 06:09 PM

This should go down in infamy along with Hawthorn and the ice vests.

Quick tell Bevo to use it in the 3 quarter time address.

29-07-2018, 06:09 PM

Were they given permission ? Taylor seems to want us to get fined for aluminium studs , how he can see from 100 metres away is amazing.

29-07-2018, 06:18 PM
Were they given permission ? Taylor seems to want us to get fined for aluminium studs , how he can see from 100 metres away is amazing.
Such is the quality of this game. They are talking about everything but footy.

29-07-2018, 06:18 PM
https://preview.ibb.co/mmTBto/cooked.png (https://ibb.co/nK4jDo)

29-07-2018, 06:19 PM
Better in the last 10 but Port just parked the bus. Tough to find a path through

29-07-2018, 06:19 PM

Did you know they make bricks in Ballarat

29-07-2018, 06:20 PM

I think she has been good. Perhaps 2 errors in tough conditions

29-07-2018, 06:20 PM
Yep he owes us a big last quarter. I hope Bevo gets up him. He wanted the big bucks now show us something for the money.

29-07-2018, 06:21 PM
I had a chat with Clay Smith at 3 quarter time, freindly guy

29-07-2018, 06:23 PM
Yep he owes us a big last quarter. I hope Bevo gets up him. He wanted the big bucks now show us something for the money.

A little hard when half a game you have been freezing your butt off Deep in a very bare forward line

29-07-2018, 06:25 PM

Would love to know why he has played forward... all his decent footy this year has been when in defence.

29-07-2018, 06:29 PM
Adams is a very ordinary defender

Would love to know why he has played forward... all his decent footy this year has been when in defence.

Defies logic

A little hard when half a game you have been freezing your butt off Deep in a very bare forward line
i think they are referring to the fact that when the ball does go down there his efforts are non existent. At least you could look like you are trying.

29-07-2018, 06:30 PM
What a difference it makes when you have key fwds who can take marks

29-07-2018, 06:30 PM
Adams is a very ordinary defender

Had a really poor day

29-07-2018, 06:32 PM
Cue the blowout.

29-07-2018, 06:32 PM
Defies logic

Hard to have anyone to run the ball out when you have Adams, Cordy, Morris, Roberts & Naughton in defence.. *!*!*!*!ing ridiculous.

29-07-2018, 06:34 PM
Hard to have anyone to run the ball out when you have Adams, Cordy, Morris, Roberts & Naughton in defence.. *!*!*!*!ing ridiculous.

Sounds like something Dean Bailey would try to experiment with frankly.

29-07-2018, 06:34 PM

And even with all those key defenders, we still get out marked ;)

29-07-2018, 06:36 PM
Hunter is a liability with the ball, so indecisive. Runs forward, stops and props then handballs back and puts a teammate under pressure

29-07-2018, 06:37 PM

Nobody has mentioned it.

29-07-2018, 06:41 PM
Hunter is a liability with the ball, so indecisive. Runs forward, stops and props then handballs back and puts a teammate under pressure

He's really been loath to advance the footy in this one. I'm assuming at least part of the problem is a lack of viable options ahead.

Groundhog day.

29-07-2018, 06:45 PM
Adams is really not the answer in the backline. WE are just to short

29-07-2018, 06:47 PM
Only we could manage to lose by this much in these conditions

Our recent performances are seriously concerning

Another great second half with one miserable goal

29-07-2018, 06:48 PM
Embarrassing.

29-07-2018, 06:48 PM
Saints and blues only need to be with us at half time and they’ll both win.

29-07-2018, 06:49 PM
How many times have we been beaten by 100% or more of our score?

This is beyond injuries or youth. There's losing competitively, and then there's getting pantsed regularly.

29-07-2018, 06:49 PM
Saints and blues only need to be with us at half time and they’ll both win.

Sadly, this is true.

29-07-2018, 06:50 PM
It needs to be asked.....has Bevo lost the players ?

29-07-2018, 06:51 PM
Embarrassing.

11 players with 10 or less disposals

29-07-2018, 06:52 PM

The only thing Bevo has lost is players to injury

29-07-2018, 06:53 PM
Unpopular opinion but the sooner this Ballarat "home" games finish the better. We still would have been belted but at least we may have seen a few more goals before the half time snooze started.

29-07-2018, 06:54 PM
Another poor year and Bevo would be worried

29-07-2018, 06:54 PM

Hes tolerating some average ones

29-07-2018, 06:55 PM
I am genuinely concerned with our club right now. This is lower than any 2013 or 14 performances. Is Bevos role under question?

29-07-2018, 06:56 PM
Unpopular opinion but the sooner this Ballarat "home" games finish the better. We still would have been belted but at least we may have seen a few more goals before the half time snooze started.

The funny part is we had more scoring shots in the 3rd quarter than the first half, it was just 1.4 against 4.0

29-07-2018, 06:57 PM

You can’t keep blaming injury. This is a seriously uncompetitive performance that lacked fundamental skills, abilities, awareness and structure.

29-07-2018, 06:58 PM
You can’t keep blaming injury. This is a seriously uncompetitive performance that lacked fundamental skills, abilities, awareness and structure.

Yep. Injuries are part of explanation as to what's going on. The are not on their own the explanation. Something is very smelly right now.

29-07-2018, 06:59 PM

It’s more than injuries...we aren’t competitive for majority of the game. Players are thrown all round. Players being picked over others for what reason ? I said something wasn’t right half way thru 2017 and nothing I’ve seen since has eased that feeling.

29-07-2018, 07:00 PM

While I agree its a convenient excuse albeit with some merit you wont shift BAD off it

29-07-2018, 07:06 PM
While I agree its a convenient excuse albeit with some merit you wont shift BAD off it

I agree that we have a HUGE injury list and we’d look better with a lot of them playing but to me that just softens the blow and papers over cracks. I keep saying it but I am concerned. Something is going on behind the scenes surely

29-07-2018, 07:08 PM
The fact is that right now we have the worst list in the AFL, and it is not close. Feels a lot like 1996.

29-07-2018, 07:13 PM
I agree that we have a HUGE injury list and we’d look better with a lot of them playing but to me that just softens the blow and papers over cracks. I keep saying it but I am concerned. Something is going on behind the scenes surely
Yeah spot on. Look at the pies, their injury list is bigger than ours an they are competing for top 4. The injury excuse is valid but 8-10 goal loses week after week you have to start asking questions.

dukedog
29-07-2018, 07:14 PM
Dare I say it... We can move up the drafting with the current draw

29-07-2018, 07:20 PM

Because I am realistic unlike others. We played a side with KIDS, 11 less than 50 games and they had 8 with more than 150. Our average games were 71 to 122.

There are lots of players I wouldn't be playing right now, but we have little choice. There are only 27 players available for Bevo to pick from.

29-07-2018, 07:21 PM

What is going on? I tell you what is going on, the players on the ground, at this moment are not good enough

29-07-2018, 07:23 PM
Because I am realistic unlike others. We played a side with KIDS, 11 less than 50 games and they had 8 with more than 150. Our average games were 71 to 122.

There are lots of players I wouldn't be playing right now, but we have little choice. There are only 27 players available for Bevo to pick from.
Yep, your committed to it no doubt. That and an inexperienced list.

29-07-2018, 07:24 PM
Yeah spot on. Look at the pies, their injury list is bigger than ours an they are competing for top 4. The injury excuse is valid but 8-10 goal loses week after week you have to start asking questions.

Collingwood still have experience to bring in, they averaged 90 games on Saturday and had a pretty even spread from less than 50 to over 150

29-07-2018, 07:25 PM
Yep, your committed to it no doubt. That and an inexperienced list.

Spot on.

29-07-2018, 07:30 PM
Spot on.

I like the fact that you keep it simple, no need to look any deeper until we have the right list profile and a moderate level of injuries

29-07-2018, 07:35 PM
I like the fact that you keep it simple, no need to look any deeper until we have the right list profile and a moderate level of injuries

But keep Chris Bell and the sports team around him who've seen these injuries on their watch. The injuries under the close eye of the same people doing the same things will result in different outcomes.

29-07-2018, 07:41 PM
Adams is a very ordinary defender He can't play one on one. Never has been able to. If he can't play goal keeper role he is as you say ordinary.

29-07-2018, 07:47 PM
Yep, your committed to it no doubt. That and an inexperienced list. And an inexperienced list that looks like it is no good. I would love to be optimistic but a lot of these inexperienced "young" guys are not going to make it.

29-07-2018, 07:48 PM

I could cop that if it weren’t for the fact that our more experienced players are the ones looking totally inept and uncompetitive

29-07-2018, 07:49 PM
And an inexperienced list that looks like it is no good. I would love to be optimistic but a lot of these inexperienced "young" guys are not going to make it.

As I said we are currently not good enough. It's too easy to blame coaches, but the players we have at our disposal aren't up to it

29-07-2018, 07:53 PM
I listened to the last quarter. It sounded dismal. We didn't come within a cooler of troubling the scoreboard. That's a big worry. Inside 50s? What are they? Glad I'm in Indo and not Bendigo. If I was home I would've gone to the game. Dodged a bullet. Come on Dogs. Surely we are better than this?

29-07-2018, 07:54 PM
And an inexperienced list that looks like it is no good. I would love to be optimistic but a lot of these inexperienced "young" guys are not going to make it.
I remember throughout the McCartney years I always felt that we were heading in the right direction even though we were being beaten easily every week. I don't have the same optimism with this group right now. I might be bitter after another shitty loss but right now thats how I see it.

29-07-2018, 08:09 PM
I remember throughout the McCartney years I always felt that we were heading in the right direction even though we were being beaten easily every week. I don't have the same optimism with this group right now. I might be bitter after another shitty loss but right now thats how I see it. Agree with this. Very well put.

29-07-2018, 08:16 PM
I’m actually more bullish about our young kids than others. We’ve got some talent coming through. We’ve got a lot of holes on the list and it’s seriously unbalanced but we’ve got some good kids. It’s the experienced players I’m concerned with

29-07-2018, 08:24 PM
I remember throughout the McCartney years I always felt that we were heading in the right direction even though we were being beaten easily every week. I don't have the same optimism with this group right now. I might be bitter after another shitty loss but right now thats how I see it.

There is no doubt that the popularity of our coaches plays a huge part in the conversations. Would B-Mac have been given the same latitude if he had the same injury list Bevo has? No way
Nor was he with strange MC selections. The buck stopped with B-Mac

29-07-2018, 08:27 PM
Another disappointing result today. It really has been an ordinary being a Doggies supporter. Not many positives.
The big positive I think has been our young players who have come in this year. Our more experienced players have struggled.

Macrae and McLean have had great seasons. Wallis has been very good for us in the forward line and Schache is showing a bit up there - will take time with him along with our ruck hope in Tim English who has shown something when he has played. Hayden Crozier has come on in recent weeks.

29-07-2018, 08:30 PM
Did anyone catch the details of the crowd numbers?

29-07-2018, 08:33 PM
Did anyone catch the details of the crowd numbers?

29-07-2018, 08:38 PM

Really. Ouch.

29-07-2018, 08:41 PM
Not feeling any anger today - we had a crack for the most part.

The Motlop goal off Roughy’s palm down..felt it was significant at the time but was surprised Bevo referenced it at half time.

Took way too long to move JJ behind the ball. He’ll only be good in spurts forward.

Dixon loves playing us - Adams was a shocking match up for reach alone.

Always seem to struggle being at the fall of the ball from a kick in pack contest. Just a random observation.

Lynch is still a bit soft - would persevere though.

Reckon key parts of our list are in ok shape long term - we do look to be getting outwitted on game day though.

29-07-2018, 08:43 PM
Naughton must be nominated for rising star this week, he started to find some form again after his injury

29-07-2018, 08:44 PM
Naughton must be nominated for rising star this week, he started to find some form again after his injury

Been quite good in his first year.

29-07-2018, 10:14 PM
Really. Ouch.

NRL territory. I was in ballarat a few weeks ago for a fortnight. Not sure why the locals are not getting excited about our brand....

29-07-2018, 10:39 PM

One of our five best players on the day together with Macrae Hunter Trengrove and Crozier.
Naughton is certainly a rising star and can be expected to have a long and successful career.

30-07-2018, 10:13 AM
What about the game plan? Can we discuss it with the amount of injures we have? Bevo said we struggled with connection, we have for a long time now though. The forward line continues to get way too high up the park and when we finally lock the ball in like the backend of the third we struggle to score due to 30 odd players inside 50. The high press also impacts our defence players guarding space however we are lacking spread/ accountability in both directions and players are failing to get back and come across and help out a team mate.

All in all its a bloody awful look, hard to score at one end and free flowing in the wrong direction. Has anyone noticed any game plan changes recently?

30-07-2018, 10:23 AM
From Bevo After match:

The inexperienced Dogs

A Bulldogs team full of youngsters due to a growing injury list were competitive for a half, but Beveridge said they succumbed to a more seasoned Port Adelaide outfit in the second half.

“There’s probably eight to 10, maybe even a dozen boys, who are still trying to find their way in the game and establish themselves as AFL footballers.

“When you’ve got that, it’s quite difficult to connect as a 22 for a quarter, let alone four. We’re finding it hard to play four quarters.

“They’re doing all they can to continue to improve and press in the latter stages of this AFL year.

“I’m pretty proud that they keep fronting up and the desire is there to win.”

30-07-2018, 12:26 PM
There is no doubt that the popularity of our coaches plays a huge part in the conversations. Would B-Mac have been given the same latitude if he had the same injury list Bevo has? No way

In fact if I remember correctly some posters actually blamed BMac for causing injuries due to his coaching. So not only were injuries not an excuse for losing, but they weren't due to bad luck back in those days.

Much has changed clearly.

30-07-2018, 02:23 PM
In fact if I remember correctly some posters actually blamed BMac for causing injuries due to his coaching. So not only were injuries not an excuse for losing, but they weren't due to bad luck back in those days.

Much has changed clearly.

There’ll always be an element of personal bias when commenting on anyone’s performance. But in fairness, BMac hadn’t won us a flag. I think that warrants Bevo a bit more good will than his predecessor. Plus, the fact is injuries are real. And we’ve seen players develop even in what has been a poor season collectively.

30-07-2018, 04:13 PM
Fact is we have very few players who would get a tick for season 2018.
I would give a tick to McRae, McLean, Wallis, Richards, Naughton, Bontempelli, Dunckley and Crozier. There's a lot I would consider neutral and a bigger lot who've gone backwards.

30-07-2018, 06:00 PM
There’ll always be an element of personal bias when commenting on anyone’s performance. But in fairness, BMac hadn’t won us a flag. I think that warrants Bevo a bit more good will than his predecessor. Plus, the fact is injuries are real. And we’ve seen players develop even in what has been a poor season collectively.
BMac was a one-dimensional disaster - he obsessed with CP's and clearances like it was still 2005 and loaded up numerical advantages at stoppages to make these stats look impressive. Meanwhile any opposition coach with half a brain would simply structure up to win the turnover and ream us with interest time and again. Our scores conceded from turnovers were worse than even the young expansion clubs at the time. He was quite simply an awful senior coach - not a knock on his abilities as a development coach but he was totally out of his depth with the keys to the car.

Having said that, I have been completely underwhelmed this season by how we structure up all over the ground, how we move the ball and how we prevent the opposition transition. Yes we're young but this is the coaching group's responsibility to improve in all these areas. Round 9 to Round 19 is an awfully long sample size and our coaching group have been found wanting throughout this long stretch. Changes need to be made, simple as that.

I sincerely hope we are courting Sam Mitchell strongly to bring in fresh ideas to our midfield area - stoppage work and ball movement in particular.

30-07-2018, 06:05 PM
wrong thread

30-07-2018, 08:23 PM

This is a pretty weird comparison to make given Bevo has proven he's excellent at the same job B-Mac was terrible at. Of course he's given more latitude.

30-07-2018, 08:31 PM
BMac was a one-dimensional disaster - he obsessed with CP's and clearances like it was still 2005 and loaded up numerical advantages at stoppages to make these stats look impressive. Meanwhile any opposition coach with half a brain would simply structure up to win the turnover and ream us with interest time and again. Our scores conceded from turnovers were worse than even the young expansion clubs at the time. He was quite simply an awful senior coach - not a knock on his abilities as a development coach but he was totally out of his depth with the keys to the car.

Having said that, I have been completely underwhelmed this season by how we structure up all over the ground, how we move the ball and how we prevent the opposition transition. Yes we're young but this is the coaching group's responsibility to improve in all these areas. Round 9 to Round 19 is an awfully long sample size and our coaching group have been found wanting throughout this long stretch. Changes need to be made, simple as that.

I sincerely hope we are courting Sam Mitchell strongly to bring in fresh ideas to our midfield area - stoppage work and ball movement in particular.

I'd clear multiple assistants (which needs to happen anyway), just for more wage to get him. Plus a 'senior assistant' job title. His pick of line, midfield or stoppages/Clearnaces hopefully. Plus give him head coaching in whatever presaeson comp there is, for his resume. Guaranteed not to stand in his way if a good senior job comes up in several years.

We are regressing badly. I'd keep Joel Corey, in 2016 he was crucial and he's Bonts mentor, but after that I need convincing on the rest.

30-07-2018, 09:12 PM
I'd clear multiple assistants (which needs to happen anyway), just for more wage to get him. Plus a 'senior assistant' job title. His pick of line, midfield or stoppages/Clearnaces hopefully. Plus give him head coaching in whatever presaeson comp there is, for his resume. Guaranteed not to stand in his way if a good senior job comes up in several years.

We are regressing badly. I'd keep Joel Corey, in 2016 he was crucial and he's Bonts mentor, but after that I need convincing on the rest.

Agree with this 100%....need to be aggressive with this...last 2 years have been a nightmare regarding MC and game plan etc...big changes are a must and I want Mitchell to be a part of it.

30-07-2018, 09:34 PM

Tom Cole from West Coast Eagles got this weeks nomination. This could Libba all over again.

30-07-2018, 09:40 PM
Tom Cole from West Coast Eagles got this weeks nomination. This could Libba all over again.

Do these people actually attend a match?

30-07-2018, 09:42 PM

Daniel & Bonts couldn't win despite superior performances over interstate players. An interstate player getting a nomination over Naughton. Not surprising if you think the award is a now without meaning as a proper award.

30-07-2018, 09:50 PM

To be fair I haven't seen Cole at all, but I would think the body of Aaron's work is equal to anyone's this season. Be a bad decision if he is not nominated. Is there any transparency into the process ? Darts at a bingo board with players names my guess.

30-07-2018, 10:13 PM
Daniel & Bonts couldn't win despite superior performances over interstate players. An interstate player getting a nomination over Naughton. Not surprising if you think the award is a now without meaning as a proper award.

So the Victorian kid playing for the wa team gets nominated over the wa kid playing for the Victorian team? Not sure about bias (interstate or otherwise) or why this matters...

Naughton has been terrific rising star nomination or otherwise so who cares?

30-07-2018, 10:16 PM
So the Victorian kid playing for the wa team gets nominated over the wa kid playing for the Victorian team? Not sure about bias (interstate or otherwise) or why this matters...

Fair point, makes no difference at the end of the day, however I think the players like the recognition .

30-07-2018, 11:29 PM

I agree. It’s a meaningless award. Taylor vs Bonts shows exactly the meaningless especially since Bontscwon the AFLPA best first year player by a record margin.