View Full Version : AFL Game Day Round 20, 2018 - St. Kilda V Western Bulldogs at Etihad Stadium, Docklands

03-08-2018, 10:37 AM
Predictions:
- Margin
- First Goal
- Best On Ground

Margin: Bulldogs by 8 points

First Goal: Dickson

Best On Ground: Macrae

Go Bulldogs!!

03-08-2018, 10:48 AM
Saints by 28
FG Schache
BOG Wallis

03-08-2018, 11:09 AM
Anyone else get the feeling we'll let Nathan Freeman carve us a new one?

03-08-2018, 02:37 PM
Dogs by 18
First Goal: Greene
BOG The Bont

03-08-2018, 08:48 PM
Saints by 19
1st goal - Dickson
Bog- McLean

03-08-2018, 09:17 PM
Dogs by 16
First Goal Schache
BOG the Bont

04-08-2018, 10:39 AM
Dogs by 20
BOG JMac
First goal Tory
looking at our team, we have quality in, with Tory and Lin. I'll be very dark if we lose and I'm actually considering betting on this game. I'm not a betting man.

04-08-2018, 02:52 PM
Dogs by 20
BOG JMac
First goal Tory
looking at our team, we have quality in, with Tory and Lin. I'll be very dark if we lose and I'm actually considering betting on this game. I'm not a betting man.

Mate, that certainly stands out if you are considering betting on us.

04-08-2018, 04:15 PM
That Saints lineup looks positively dire, and they're still a pretty healthy chance to knock us over.

Dogs by a point but the real winners will be fans of champagne football.

04-08-2018, 04:29 PM
That Saints lineup looks positively dire, and they're still a pretty healthy chance to knock us over.

Dogs by a point but the real winners will be fans of champagne football.

And fans of the Keystone Kops.

04-08-2018, 06:28 PM
Dogs by 28
First Goal: Wally
BOG Macrae

04-08-2018, 08:16 PM
Dogs by 1 point
First goal: Schache
BOG: Macrae

04-08-2018, 08:25 PM
According to Sandy Roberts Mitch Wallis leads our goal kicking with 17 goals.

04-08-2018, 08:36 PM
Horrible footy so far.

How could we have about 10 players goal-side of that contest and dish out and no-one near the ball?

04-08-2018, 08:39 PM
Horrible footy so far.

How could we have about 10 players goal-side of that contest and dish out and no-one near the ball?

There's been much mocking of Gill and his impending rule changes after a round of high-intensity thrillers.

Fear not Gill, we'll bolster the cause this eve.

04-08-2018, 08:44 PM
After 4 great games, this one is a shocker...god we are shocking...can we just white flag it to not get more injuries.

04-08-2018, 08:45 PM
Awful start, we need to get some momentum

At the game. Pathetic. Embarrassing. Just awful

There's no excuse for this, we have a decent side on the park.

04-08-2018, 08:49 PM
I still reckon Bevo's angling to ask for a priority pick, the ol' fox.

04-08-2018, 08:52 PM
We be lucky to kick a goal in the whole match at this rate. We are the worst side in the league by a country mile.

04-08-2018, 08:53 PM
Good lord. Imagine if the Saints were any good ...

04-08-2018, 08:55 PM
Johannissen (or Johansen if you're Paul Roos) looking a million times better behind the ball - who would have thought.

Gutted Brisbane lost.

We need the earliest pick we can get

We are barely above VFL standard right now.

Just completely rudderless.

04-08-2018, 08:56 PM
We are not AFL or VFL standard. I’m totally embarrassed to even watch this. Lacklustre efforts, pathetic disposal, almost laughable game style, and more so, we have this again, or maybe even worse in 2019....but the coaches are doing their bit I’m sure....if I was Wallis, I’d be getting the best deal I can. We are going nowhere fast.

Two quarters in a row without a goal. Takes us to 9 for the season.

https://image.ibb.co/cQR2Tz/champagne_football.jpg (https://imgbb.com/)

04-08-2018, 08:57 PM

We are not VFL standard. Port or Willy would smack us.

No goals against the fourth bottom of the ladder. I'm glad these assistant coaches are here until next year where they'll be recontracted.

04-08-2018, 08:58 PM
There's no excuse for this, we have a decent side on the park.

On paper only.. our players are devoid of confidence, structure and know how.

Completely sub-standard!

04-08-2018, 08:58 PM
I like Brad Lynch, but *!*!*!*! me, he needs 7 years to get rid of the ball.
This is already painful.

04-08-2018, 09:00 PM

Completely sub-standard!

110% agree.

04-08-2018, 09:02 PM
Kind of want to watch Buddy instead

04-08-2018, 09:03 PM
Well Bevo is extremely happy with all our assistants so there will be no change in the coaches box.

Completely sub-standard!

I sat at Ballarat last week next to a supporter who had come down from Swan Hill. He asked me (as he's struggled to get to games due to the distance) what the problem is ? I thought about it, and had nothing (edit: I did mention injuries of course). This is feeling like 2003 against Freo when we packed it in at Etihad and Shaun McManus cut us up.

I hate watching us play and i don't look forward to our games...
But yep surely it will just around naturally in time..

04-08-2018, 09:06 PM
I hate watching us play and i don't look forward to our games...
But yep surely it will just around naturally in time..

Is it possible to feel any different right now? It's actually easier when we get smashed early because you can at least go do something else.

04-08-2018, 09:07 PM
Surely it isn’t that hard to tell Roughy and Trengove apart

04-08-2018, 09:08 PM

Trengrove according to Johnathon Brown.

04-08-2018, 09:09 PM
Doing all I can to not turn this *!*!*!*!ing shit off.

Our defensive running is appalling.

04-08-2018, 09:10 PM

Since neither of them played U/18s with his son it's probably asking a bit too much of Roos to know their names.

04-08-2018, 09:13 PM
The dumbness hurts. We just are the perfect model of an inept team in all facets of the game.

04-08-2018, 09:14 PM
"Well done Blake" "On ya Armo" "Well done there by Freeza"

Who is this this wanker calling the game?

04-08-2018, 09:15 PM
Lin Jong has been injured you *!*!*!*!ing numb-nuts!

I sat at Ballarat last week next to a supporter who had come down from Swan Hill. He asked me (as he's struggled to get to games due to the distance) what the problem is ? I thought about it, and had nothing. This is feeling like 2003 against Freo when we packed it in at Etihad and Shaun McManus cut us up.

I think I've met that guy a few times, he travels some distances to come and watch us, nice guy as well.

I'm just glad this isn't on FTA tonight. This is a Bush League 2nds performance.

04-08-2018, 09:16 PM
"Well done Blake" "On ya Armo" "Well done there by Freeza"

Who is this this wanker calling the game?

Joey Montagna.. how biased is he?

04-08-2018, 09:16 PM
I think I've met that guy a few times, he travels some distances to come and watch us, nice guy as well.

Yes good fella.

04-08-2018, 09:22 PM
Can someone please let Roos know that Norm Smith Medalist and current best on ground Jason Johannisen's last name has an extra syllable?

04-08-2018, 09:29 PM
I've got no idea what happened in the last fifteen minutes but I like it. JJ and Caleb been big.

04-08-2018, 09:29 PM
I've really missed watching Dickson kick for goal.

04-08-2018, 09:30 PM
Can someone please let Roos know that Norm Smith Medalist and current best on ground Jason Johannisen's last name has an extra syllable?

I love how Johnno Brown calls him Joe Hansen.

04-08-2018, 09:30 PM
Onya lads, we've gone from being inept to being competitive with the Saints.

If I'm another team, NOW's the time to make your audacious play for the Bont.

He's not going anywhere, but I'd love to hear what we'd trot out to convince him to hang around apart from his conscience.

04-08-2018, 09:32 PM
How big is Crozier for us?

04-08-2018, 09:33 PM
Much better quarter. Really encouraging game from Daniel so far, his delivery inside 50 is how I remember it looking 2 years ago.

Who said all Saints & Carltob have to do is be nearby at half time and the us not showing up after half time thing wins it for them?

Love him. Knew he could do the easy things but had no idea how courageous he was. Plus he's probably our best one on one defender as it currently sits.

04-08-2018, 09:35 PM

He's been better and better throughout the year. Taken some hard knocks tonight, which has been the question mark.

04-08-2018, 09:35 PM
Crozier has settled into the team and is now an important contributor.

04-08-2018, 09:36 PM
He's been better and better throughout the year. Taken some hard knocks tonight, which has been the question mark.

The mark running back into the contest was immense.

04-08-2018, 09:38 PM
Who said all Saints & Carltob have to do is be nearby at half time and the us not showing up after half time thing wins it for them?

That was me mate..time will tell

04-08-2018, 09:44 PM
Rougheads been all over the ground and making an effort so has Trengove , both he and Crozier are finding their feet with us.

04-08-2018, 09:48 PM
That was me mate..time will tell

Turning up to play after half time would be a novel concept.

04-08-2018, 10:08 PM
Those misses at the start really are a pity. Should have put a bet on this game. Play us into form Saints, thanks a lot. Go Dogs

04-08-2018, 10:18 PM
We're so unbelievably lucky to have Bont.

04-08-2018, 10:18 PM
Wow... are we playing well or are Saints just woeful?

04-08-2018, 10:20 PM

C) all of the above

04-08-2018, 10:21 PM

This aged well.

Saints woeful, and the fact there’s not 1 tag happening on the ground....it’s a free for all...hickey injured hurt them.

This aged well.

You did say "above" which is still technically true.

04-08-2018, 10:22 PM
I hope we keep the scoreboard ticking over. Im sitting near a couple of Saints fans who have been a tad annoying. I suspect they will go early if we get the first 2.

04-08-2018, 10:22 PM
Not at the game tonight sitting in the Lodge ar Cradle Mountain with limited internet. Bont on fire

04-08-2018, 10:23 PM
Wow just wow , I hope this is the game we see we can play and get confidence out if it.

04-08-2018, 10:24 PM
Obnoxious Aints fans near me. Half a dozen just left. Cmon Dogs, keep it going.

04-08-2018, 10:25 PM
Sorry I've been busy and I'm only 3 pages in. Are we still unwatchable?😁

I thought it was going to be Freo 03, turns out it's more like Lions 05.

We’ve played well... but I can’t help but be amazed at how awful St Kilda have been. You’d almost think they’ve tanked they’ve been that pedestrian in that quarter

04-08-2018, 10:34 PM
Sorry if this has been posted is Smith injured.

04-08-2018, 10:37 PM
Sorry if this has been posted is Smith injured.

Concussion from a tackle in first . Arms pinned head hit turf.

04-08-2018, 10:38 PM
Will we hold on ?

04-08-2018, 10:42 PM
Will we hold on ?

App stuck on 37 up is that right

04-08-2018, 10:44 PM
JJ 36 disposals to date

04-08-2018, 10:45 PM
Looks like another goalless quarter :(

Is it possible to score 100 and have two goal less quarters? Three more behinds could see it.

96 at 3/4 time. Will we score 100?

04-08-2018, 10:47 PM
Thank god ;)

Great work Schache very pleasing game again

Is it possible to score 100 and have two goal less quarters? Three more behinds could see it.

Academic now. Schache seems a master stroke trade.

04-08-2018, 10:50 PM
Do we have the most holding the ball against us ? Surely we lead the league in that stat.

04-08-2018, 10:50 PM
Where is JJ playing. 41 disposals

04-08-2018, 10:51 PM
Where is JJ playing. 41 disposals

Half back..with no opponent

04-08-2018, 10:53 PM
Half back..with no opponent
Where he belongs

04-08-2018, 10:57 PM
Josh is going to be a player. He looks more at home now and he's playing some good footy. He's a nice kick too.

04-08-2018, 10:58 PM
2 poor quarters (1 horrible) & 2 excellent quarters.. good for a few young guys to show a bit.

04-08-2018, 11:00 PM
Lipinski's best game ever I reckon.

04-08-2018, 11:11 PM
If we play any other team I feel the result would have been much different.

04-08-2018, 11:17 PM
If we play any other team I feel the result would have been much different.

Probably. But let's just be happy with the win.

04-08-2018, 11:26 PM
Daisy Pierce votes on ABC radio 3. Macrae, 2. JJ, 1. Bontempelli

04-08-2018, 11:30 PM
How does Alan Richardson allow JJ to get anywhere near 42 touches?

04-08-2018, 11:32 PM
And saints did beat MELBOURNE a few weeks ago let’s enjoy this win

05-08-2018, 12:10 AM
Went to the game tonight. Absolute abysmal first quarter. Last quarter only marginally better we just butchered it going forward. We should have won by 10 goals we had that many easy marking opportunities in the last had we just made the right decision (I was behind the goals at that end)

The second and third quarters were surprising! Whilst I think it reflects worse on the saints than it does make us look any good, our cream did rise to the top. But it was like a training drill such were the saints efforts. But the Bont, JJ, Crozier, Lippa played well to name a few. Rough was good around the ground although only once Hickey could barely move. How JJ wasn’t tagged is beyond me. Daniel stepped up and I thought Naughton was important. Macrae was solid as usual. Was important having Dickson back. Liked his pressure and presence up forward. We’ve missed him. It’s hard to fault anyone in quarters 2 and 3 and hard to praise anyone in 1 and 4. Strange game but some promising signs. Schache actually looks like he could be that forward for us

But it puts all the draft pick talk to bed. We know what pick we’ll have and it’s the position we deserve to finish in. Let’s hope we have a strong finish to the year.

05-08-2018, 12:25 AM
How does Alan Richardson allow JJ to get anywhere near 42 touches?

The most obvious coaching move would’ve been to put a tag on JJ at half back as he’s shown in this and the previous season that he struggles to cope. How Richo failed to address this in his box was bewildering to sit in the stand and watch nothing being done to counter his freedom.

05-08-2018, 12:29 AM
Had a dinner so couldn’t watch.

Was good seeing the tables turn throughout the 2nd and 3rd.

Perhaps Richo has someone at pick four he wants to land....

05-08-2018, 12:32 AM
Had a dinner so couldn’t watch.

Was good seeing the tables turn throughout the 2nd and 3rd.

Perhaps Richo has someone at pick four he wants to land....

But what does the person who'll be coaching them want to do with pick four?

05-08-2018, 12:58 AM
But what does the person who'll be coaching them want to do with pick four?

Good point.

Not sure he’s going to get the flick, teams can shoot up the ladder quickly and the Saints could come good next year and challenge for the eight.

05-08-2018, 01:14 AM
Good point.

Not sure he’s going to get the flick, teams can shoot up the ladder quickly and the Saints could come good next year and challenge for the eight.
It won't be the saints , Brisbane would be the team I would put money on to do that if any.

05-08-2018, 01:21 AM
I went along last night after 12am now :). Just good to get another win in a ordinary season. The game itself wasn't spectacular but we did enough in the end to get a comfortable win.

1st quarter - Very bad. We simply did not take our chances and they did.

2nd quarter - The comeback started and we got back in the game.

At half time I was hoping for a good 2nd half as they have been shocking for us this year. We got it in the 3rd quarter at least not so much the 4th quarter.

3rd quarter - One of our best of the year. Bont was magical.

4th quarter - Really fizzled out but had our chances once again.

Go Dogs!!

05-08-2018, 01:26 AM
Our last win we scored 103 points in a classic Bulldog win over the Cats.

05-08-2018, 01:31 AM
Probably. But let's just be happy with the win.

Yep that's my attitude as well. In a tough season we just have to be happy with any type of win.

05-08-2018, 01:48 AM
I seriously thought we would loose that game going into it, its nice to be surprised for a change. Hopefully we can jag a few more I think its incredibly important for this group going into next year.

05-08-2018, 02:03 AM
What did you all make of the cracking pack mark by Schache in the goal square tonight?

05-08-2018, 02:25 AM
What did you all make of the cracking pack mark by Schache in the goal square tonight?

Really good. He has shown a lot this year.

Crozier another started off not so good but really has improved a lot as the season has gone on.

05-08-2018, 09:03 AM
Good to get a win and see us perform (albeit for a short period) at the level I expect.

Can't wait for Bont to return in 2019 free from whatever has hampered him this year, he can turn a game on its head very quickly.

Dunkley fast becoming one of our most unheralded players who plays an important role each week.

05-08-2018, 09:11 AM
I Aagree GD, Dunkley has been a real positive in the 2nd half of the season.

05-08-2018, 09:21 AM
I find it hard to get excited but it was good to turn it on after an abyssal first half from both clubs. I did fall asleep in the 4th, flu related, but will go back and watch.

05-08-2018, 09:25 AM
I find it hard to get excited but it was good to turn it on after an abyssal first half from both clubs. I did fall asleep in the 4th, flu related, but will go back and watch.

It's all about effort for me, I can handle average football but as long as the effort is there and there was no problems with that last night. Many of the the young players performed well and I think we can bounce back in the next 2 years.

05-08-2018, 09:30 AM
The first qtr was diabolical. Our season in summary. Wasted effort.

The 2nd and 3rd quarter were both pleasing, as the effort went up a fraction, but the rewards were more significant. A bit of price elasticity. Warmed my heart to see Bont go Bang x 4. Naughton had a remarkable 1st, 2nd and 3rd effort one out which changed the mindset of the group I think, it was a real catalyst. Daniel and Hunter cleaned up their act and got involved defensively. JJ ran wild, ran free. Awful decision by StKFC to let that happen.

Goals. They cure plenty of ailments. I acknowledge we only beat the lowly, rabble, deviant Saints but at least there was some joy in the game.

05-08-2018, 09:48 AM
Jacko’s kicking is becoming freakishly good at times, right or left he can match it to his vision better than other midfielders of his calibre.

05-08-2018, 10:27 AM
Jacko’s kicking is becoming freakishly good at times, right or left he can match it to his vision better than other midfielders of his calibre.

Agree, it's a real positive of our / his development and coaching that he has gone from a good to elite kick on both sides. Paired with his awareness and vision he really is an amazing player now.

05-08-2018, 11:04 AM
It's all about effort for me, I can handle average football but as long as the effort is there and there was no problems with that last night. Many of the the young players performed well and I think we can bounce back in the next 2 years.

For me it's intensity I know it's a small distinction but you expect effort, that's a non negotiable. Players don't get to or stay in AFL football without effort, I rarely see a player not make an effort but I often see a lack of intensity.

05-08-2018, 11:39 AM

Unfortunately I was sitting in the saints cheer squad last night! But I got a birds eye view of that Schache mark. Knew he would mark it before he went for it. You could just see him time his leap perfectly and he’s got a strong pair of hands. I called it early and he didn’t let me down :D

05-08-2018, 11:55 AM
And the sledge of the night goes to the Saints supporter behind me after Bont had kicked his 4th

“ Don’t worry Billings I’d still take you over Bontempelli...if I was deaf dumb blind and stupid “

Fair to say not happy

05-08-2018, 01:17 PM

He never would have kicked that goal in the second even a season ago. He's just so confident with the ball in his hands.

05-08-2018, 01:35 PM
And the sledge of the night goes to the Saints supporter behind me after Bont had kicked his 4th

“ Don’t worry Billings I’d still take you over Bontempelli...if I was deaf dumb blind and stupid “

Fair to say not happy

Surely, surely it was said with irony? Would have had to have been!

05-08-2018, 02:18 PM
Surely, surely it was said with irony? Would have had to have been!

Not really. Billings is good but the Bont is the Bont.

05-08-2018, 06:51 PM
Not really. Billings is good but the Bont is the Bont.

Saints supporters do not love that Bont runs around taunting them like he did last night - they are all painfully aware that they could have had him instead of Billings

That said, Id happily have Billings at dogland

05-08-2018, 07:04 PM
Saints supporters do not love that Bont runs around taunting them like he did last night - they are all painfully aware that they could have had him instead of Billings

That said, Id happily have Billings at dogland

They love talking about that one game where Billings inspired a super comeback and was unstoppable. They just choose to ignore our circumstances in that game and that Tambling could have done the same. But last night out that to bed. They were savaging him

05-08-2018, 07:29 PM
They love talking about that one game where Billings inspired a super comeback and was unstoppable. They just choose to ignore our circumstances in that game and that Tambling could have done the same. But last night out that to bed. They were savaging him

That was also the game that we all decided to pot him and how stupid the Saints were for picking him immediately beforehand.

Having said that he's dropped off massively this year.

06-08-2018, 11:24 AM
The most obvious coaching move would’ve been to put a tag on JJ at half back as he’s shown in this and the previous season that he struggles to cope. How Richo failed to address this in his box was bewildering to sit in the stand and watch nothing being done to counter his freedom.

Newnes was sent to JJ and did an awful job of it.