View Full Version : players nicknames

05-02-2008, 04:21 PM
I have just read a few threads and noticed people using nicknames for players, i know a few of you are a little involved at the club, is it possible for fans to help with a list of the nicknames of players, this would be a good laugh and help other fans recognize players we discuss.

05-02-2008, 05:06 PM
Farren Ray - Faz, Robert Murphy - Bobby, Daniel Cross - Crossy, Matthew Boyd - Keith, Brad Johnson - Johnno, Scott West - Scooter, Daniel Giansiracusa - Gia, Ben Hudson - Huddo, Ryan Griffen - Griff, Adam Cooney - Puck, Shaun Higgins - Missy, Jason Akermanis - Aker, Dylan Addison - DFA, Andrew McDougall - Doogs, Ryan Hargrave - Shaggy, Wayde Skipper - Skip, Brian Lake - Bryza (might now be Rikki), Cam Wight - Humphrey.

They are the ones I can think of off the top of my head.

05-02-2008, 05:09 PM
Farren Ray - Fez or Faz
Rob Murphy - Bob or Bobby
Andrejs Everitt - Spider or Doctor
Brad Johnson - Johnno or smiling Assassin
Scott West - Westy or Scooter
Peter Street - Cosmo or Streeta
Daniel Giansiracusa - Gia
Ryan Griffen - Griff or Cyclops
Adam Cooney - Coons
Shaun Higgins - Higgo or "Gettin' Higgy Wid It"
Andrew McDougall - Doogs
Wayde Skipper - Skip
Steve Tiller - Tills
Brian Lake - Ricki
Cameron Wight - Humphrey
Dale Morris - Human Glove

05-02-2008, 05:11 PM
Farren Ray - Fez or Faz
Rob Murphy - Bob or Bobby
Andrejs Everitt - Spider or Doctor
Scott West - Westy or Scooter
Peter Street - Cosmo or Streeta
Daniel Giansiracusa - Gia
Ryan Griffen - Griff or Cyclops
Adam Cooney - Coons
Shaun Higgins - Higgo or "Gettin' Higgy Wid It"
Andrew McDougall - Doogs
Wayde Skipper - Skip
Steve Tiller - Tills
Brian Lake - Ricki
Cameron Wight - Humphrey
Dale Morris - Human Glove

Nup. Missy.

05-02-2008, 05:25 PM
Adam Cooney - Puck

Please explain!!!

05-02-2008, 05:30 PM
Please explain!!!

He did an interview when he first arrived at the club and mentioned his nickname in SA was Puck Puck. I'm not sure if he was joking at the time but after causing all the media guys to laugh out loudly and bust a gut the name somehow stuck.

05-02-2008, 05:36 PM
Adam Cooney - Puck Puck, used to always carry around his Ice Hockey stick around Adelaide as a kid - true story.

05-02-2008, 06:14 PM
Adam Cooney - Puck Puck, used to always carry around his Ice Hockey stick around Adelaide as a kid - true story.

Wonder if he ever looked like this back in those wild & woolly days?

http://img110.imageshack.us/img110/937/acul3.jpg

05-02-2008, 06:22 PM
Wonder if he ever looked like this back in those wild & woolly days?

http://img110.imageshack.us/img110/937/acul3.jpg

Very Good!!!

You have way too much time on your hands TCD.

05-02-2008, 06:31 PM
I'm not very original with mine...I call Ray, Farren, because I think it's an awesome name, same with Dale, and I call Boyd- Boydy and Johnson- Johnno and so on with Crossy, Harro (could be tricky now) and Wighty, etc. Others I guess are, I call Williams- Tommy, Hargrave- Shaggy, Hahn- Mitchy, or Hahny, whichever one. Nothing very special...saves the confusion.

cross4brownlow
05-02-2008, 10:21 PM
ok i have some odd ones....
farren - fathead, robert - bobert, andrejs - baby spider, cross - crossie or albury boy,
johnson - johnno or mums toy boy(my mum loves him lol), west - westy, gilbee - gilbs or dumbass (i mean it with love), brain - barman, coons - fuzzy, thats all i can think of atm lol i have a few

05-02-2008, 10:42 PM
I can't resist referring to Everitt as 'Itsy-Bitsy', the smaller brother of Peter.
Maybe he isn't so small the these days.

05-02-2008, 10:47 PM
I call andrejs pineapple head.

05-02-2008, 11:29 PM
itsy bitsy i like, pineapplehead is a crack up, keep em coming peoples

05-02-2008, 11:34 PM
Pineapplehead would be funny if he hadn't of cut his hair.

05-02-2008, 11:38 PM
bit hard to yell out pineappleheeeeaaad when game goes quick though at times

06-02-2008, 09:29 PM
I've heard fans call Everitt - 'Skinny'..which kind stuck with me, just because he was noticeably skinny as all first year players should be, hopefully it doesnt stick and he's packed on some KG's :D

06-02-2008, 10:10 PM
bit hard to yell out pineappleheeeeaaad when game goes quick though at times

Haha its weird, i dont actually call him that during the games, just in photos and and talking about him. During games i call him Dre.

07-02-2008, 03:13 PM
Ray has been called "Emu" before.

23-08-2008, 10:50 PM
I have been wanting to start a thread like this one for quite a while, but never got around to it. Then tonight, when I finally find the time to start it, I searched and found I was half a year too late ...

Anyway, enough of my sulking, I thought it might be good to re-ignite this one ... Has anyone got anymore player nicknames and importantly the reason/s behind them ??

I have always called Brad Johnson 'Cheeky' ... 'cause when he has been running around a lot he gets really red in the cheeks

Does anyone know why Ryan Hargraves is Shaggy? (is it a Scooby-Doo thing?)

23-08-2008, 11:07 PM
Does anyone know why Ryan Hargraves is Shaggy? (is it a Scooby-Doo thing?)

Yes it is, when he first came over from WA he was really skinny.

24-08-2008, 12:02 AM
Yes it is, when he first came over from WA he was really skinny.

"was" really skinny you say?

I always call him jughead for some reason...just seems to fit.

24-08-2008, 11:11 AM
"was" really skinny you say?

I always call him jughead for some reason...just seems to fit.

I must of been sitting very near you at one game. I remember walking out of the ground and saying to my old man, "what was with that guy calling shaggy jughead for the whole game? Completely different cartoon and no resemblance!" lol

24-08-2008, 02:09 PM
I used to call bobby murphy smurf but this year have been calling him poppa as he had his first born I thought poppa smurf appropriate

24-08-2008, 02:14 PM
Best one I've heard for Everitt is "Dr Dre".

Have heard Higgins referred to as "Henry".

In round one my brother got stuck somewhere between "Brian" and "Lake", thus "Blakey" was born.

24-08-2008, 02:23 PM
Have heard Higgins referred to as "Henry".

Missy is much better

24-08-2008, 03:22 PM
We call Eagleton Benji for his resemblance to the slain hitman Vianmin (I have no idea how to spell that)

Used to call Darcy the Strutting Peacock

My wife calls Bob Murphy Frodo (I reckon he looks like Scott Weiland)

For some reason I like referring to Aka as Jason, not sure if I associate the Aka name with Brisbane or not, but I hardly ever yell out Aka at games.

I always call Harbrow Jaz

24-08-2008, 04:18 PM
Missy is much better

Not according to the player himself from what I've heard, absolutely hates it.

24-08-2008, 06:27 PM
Even more reason for the nickname to stick!! lol

24-08-2008, 07:00 PM
What about shiggy..rolls of the tounge much better.

Also, I refer to Farren as primetime, because of his 06 elim. final performance.

24-08-2008, 07:41 PM
Cooney = Cheesy.
Farren Ray = Fazza
Mitch. "the bitch is back" Hahn.
Ryan " Million dollar Griff" Griffen
Robert "Spud" Murphy.
"Whacky Acky" Akermanis
Brad "Anal Johnson" (see blazing saddles)
Mincer Minson
Brian "Taylors" Lake
Giblets Gilbee
Andrejs Everartt (as in Ward Everartt)

But my all time favourite was watching Jose Romero running into an open goal and screaming
" Hose Me!!!!!!!!!!!!! "

24-08-2008, 09:05 PM
My family has a few

Minson= Deutcher or the Saxophonist
Gia= Guido
Welsh= Skippy
Ray= Hollywood
Eagleton= The great ego
Griffen= The Professor after Professor Griff from Public Enemy

24-08-2008, 09:09 PM
Me and most people i sit around at the dome home games call Murphy SILKYYYYYYY

Funny when he takes a nice mark..SILKYYYY..then stuffs the kick up...RUSTYYYY

Doesnt happen often of course.

24-08-2008, 10:30 PM
Nup. Missy. :mad:

I can't stand that reference. Does not sound becoming of a Bulldog.

24-08-2008, 10:34 PM
Its a great nickname when they don't like it.

24-08-2008, 10:37 PM
Not quite a nickname but everytime Nathan Eagleton gets a touch or kicks a goal I think the following:

"Eagle, is not a, dirty word".

Which sometimes becomes just 'Dirty Word' for short. bit silly I know.

25-08-2008, 03:14 AM
Not quite a nickname but everytime Nathan Eagleton gets a touch or kicks a goal I think the following:

"Eagle, is not a, dirty word".

Which sometimes becomes just 'Dirty Word' for short. bit silly I know.

I often use that line when he has a really good game.

Haven't used it for a while...:D

NoseBleed
25-08-2008, 04:26 AM
Being the only Bulldog to get rubbed out this year makes Bob "Fighting Irish" Murphy, our enforcer
Scott "Chicken Walk" Welsh. If you don't know why, you're not watching...

25-08-2008, 10:38 AM
Some of these names you have given the players's are pretty piss poor.

Two of my personal favourites and one's I put to use are:

Junktime Gia and Sheepdog for my mate Nathan.

And yep I'm a harsh bastard.

25-08-2008, 12:32 PM
Some of these names you have given the players's are pretty piss poor.

Two of my personal favourites and one's I put to use are:

Junktime Gia and Sheepdog for my mate Nathan.

And yep I'm a harsh bastard.

You try hard anyway. Hardly insulting nicknames really.

25-08-2008, 01:10 PM
What about shiggy..rolls of the tounge much better.

Also, I refer to Farren as primetime, because of his 06 elim. final performance.

farren is known as "Stinga" As in Sting Ray, a name which could also apply to Jarryd Grant.

25-08-2008, 01:17 PM
Another one that gets rolled out in the box is Giansirabighead.

Murf is also known as Jimmy Sewell.

25-08-2008, 01:18 PM
I have one for Eagleton , well its not really a nickname but i call it a lot, might pass for one.....
it goes something like this ....Eagle f#%*ing chase and tackle for a change!!!!!!

25-08-2008, 02:00 PM
Habrow gets Kostya a bit
Murph gets E.T

25-08-2008, 08:34 PM
Murph gets E.T

Haha, thats what I call him!

Fazza to me is also known as Fazleth, or Fazzaray
Eagleton - Eagletron or Bald Eagle, or "crap" (I cant help it sometimes!"
Higgins- Shiggins
Shaggy- Lanky
Tom Williams- Murray Wiggle (he reminds me of the red wiggle) or TommyWhereYouGo (Mighty Boosh song which Howard Moons sings. We find it appropriate for when Everitt is playing, and we miss Tom Williams.)
Wight- Cameron Wight, He's Alright! (we get weird looks for that one, probably because most people think he's crap, but i have a sorf spot for him.)

Fairly bad, I know, but it's fun!

phroosh
25-08-2008, 08:41 PM
Some from my mates and I,

Tom Williams is Lassie, after his rescue act in Hong Kong.

Cross is Junior, as in Scott west Jr.

Wil Minson is Optimus Prime. Funnily enough, Brian Lake mentioned they call him Robocop, not sure if he was kidding....

Brian was Extra Mild when he was BH not BL.

25-08-2008, 09:28 PM
Eagle genealy gets 'c'mon Eagle look,use it,use it...you didn't use it'

26-08-2008, 04:58 PM
Wil Minson is Optimus Prime. Funnily enough, Brian Lake mentioned they call him Robocop, not sure if he was kidding....

I like Optimus Prime, Good one.

27-08-2008, 10:16 AM
I like Optimus Prime, Good one.

Hopefully he can Transform into a Ruckman/Forward sooner than later. :)

27-08-2008, 05:52 PM
Not exactly nicknames but the things I say (mainly to the TV) when certain players are involved in the game are:
Dale Morris- 'Morris Major'
Brian Lake- 'Lake Superior'
Matthew Boyd- 'Tweety' (as in Tweety Boyd, I tought I taw a Puddy tat)
Will Minson- 'Big Willie Style'
Stephen Tiller- 'Tea For the Tillerman'
Farren Ray- 'Into the fray'
Peter Street- 'Ice Cream'
Ben Hudson- 'What's the time, Big Ben?'
Lindsay Gilbee- 'LG, life's good'
Josh Hill- 'The Hills are alive!'
Daniel Cross- 'Crossfire'

plus all the standard ones- Johnno, Shaggy, Missy etc

27-08-2008, 06:22 PM
Daniel Giansiracusa. The G Tram.

28-08-2008, 02:05 AM
Daniel Giansiracusa. The G Tram.

I have always called him Daniel 'G' Spot

28-08-2008, 09:50 AM
[
]

Ben. as in Stiller (S. Tiller) Too obscure? Probably

28-08-2008, 01:44 PM
Not exactly nicknames but the things I say (mainly to the TV) when certain players are involved in the game are:
Dale Morris- 'Morris Major'
Brian Lake- 'Lake Superior'
Matthew Boyd- 'Tweety' (as in Tweety Boyd, I tought I taw a Puddy tat)
Will Minson- 'Big Willie Style'
Farren Ray- 'Into the fray'
Peter Street- 'Ice Cream'
Ben Hudson- 'What's the time, Big Ben?'
Lindsay Gilbee- 'LG, life's good'
Josh Hill- 'The Hills are alive!'
Daniel Cross- 'Crossfire'

plus all the standard ones- Johnno, Shaggy, Missy etc

Do you sing that one? lol

16-10-2008, 03:02 AM
Now we need one for Ayce Cordy ...

What about 'Power' Cordy ??? :D

16-10-2008, 09:33 AM

:) Andy.

16-10-2008, 01:39 PM

'Jack'?

katemeehan
20-10-2008, 11:22 PM
I used to call bobby murphy smurf but this year have been calling him poppa as he had his first born I thought poppa smurf appropriate

i thought i was the only one!!
I dont know how I came about it, but I used to call him cousin murph, cause hes my frineds distant cousin, an was bit of a joke we had.
then it turned to pappa murph
i get a few weird glances at games

20-10-2008, 11:27 PM
Farren Ray= the Gazelle. Gets run down from behind in open spaces.

21-10-2008, 12:50 PM
'Jack'?

Well he does need a proper name...

Farren Ray= the Gazelle. Gets run down from behind in open spaces.

Funniest line you've ever sprung Jerry. Top effort.

21-10-2008, 06:29 PM
I reckon Ayce should be called either Diamond, Spade, or Clubs

01-06-2010, 08:49 PM
Bump!
Anyone wanna add to the election at all?
Ive noticed a few people misspell nicknames which you SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF!! ;)

01-06-2010, 08:54 PM
Grant - Merlin

01-06-2010, 08:55 PM

Was nicknamed boofa in his school days.

01-06-2010, 09:04 PM
Not very creative, but - BAZZA!

01-06-2010, 10:13 PM
I always use the ones we all do....Johnno, Huddo, Crossy, Shaggy, etc. but here are a couple of others:

Minson = Wilbur
Morris = The Glove
Hahn = Dozer (as in bulldozer)

I tend to yell out "Go griff" lots as well :D

01-06-2010, 10:29 PM
I always use the ones we all do....Johnno, Huddo, Crossy, Shaggy, etc. but here are a couple of others:

Minson = Wilbur
Morris = The Glove
Hahn = Dozer (as in bulldozer)

I tend to yell out "Go griff" lots as well :D

Im more of a 'Griffendor' person for Griffin! ;)

01-06-2010, 11:09 PM
During an alcohol fueled frenzy in the nations capital recently Brennan Stack was nicknamed "Keefy".

02-06-2010, 12:08 AM
minson = wilbur

willllbur!!! :D

02-06-2010, 02:19 PM
Some variations;

We give Addison "Death" - as in Death Adder.
Easton Wood was accidentally called Euston Wood by a mate - and is now Euston Road.
Dale Morris, similar to 'The Glove' - we call him the 'Clamp'.

02-06-2010, 09:59 PM
Barry Hall: Baz or 'Head lock'. Take your pick

02-06-2010, 10:00 PM
Barry Hall: Baz or 'Headlock'. Take your pick

02-06-2010, 10:04 PM

Umbilical

03-06-2010, 01:00 AM
Ive always called Hahn either Premium or Premium Light

Popcorn Chicken
03-06-2010, 01:21 AM

I dont think i've heard that one before but i quite like it

03-06-2010, 10:28 AM
"I reckon Ayce should be called either Diamond, Spade, or Clubs" - posted by stevw9

Not that we're oing to see him this year in red white and blue, but surely if you're at Willi game a Motorhead T-shirt should be worn at these games. Missy is also particularly funny.

"Josh Hill's Hoist" He's taken some hangers this year?????
Easton Knock On Wood
Brodie "Blockhead" Moles

03-06-2010, 11:06 AM
Dale Morris, similar to 'The Glove' - we call him the 'Clamp'.

What about "The Craw"?

We've got a few that a small group of us use

"Bob" Dylan Addison
Brennan Stack "Hat"
Brodie "Dirty" Moles

03-06-2010, 01:35 PM
What about "The Craw"?

We've got a few that a small group of us use

"Bob" Dylan Addison
Brennan Stack "Hat"
Brodie "Dirty" Moles

Not de craw de craw.

03-06-2010, 03:40 PM
Not de craw de craw.

Straight out of Get Smart.

Here's a few that I don't think have been seen yet.

Jarrod Harbrow - Jezza
Josh Hill - Sticky
Tom Williams - China
Ben Hudson - The Beard
Dylan Addison - Thrillin'
Brennan Stack - Smoke
Mitch Hahn - The Autobahn
Jarrod Grant - Ulysses

03-06-2010, 04:46 PM
I've always called Harbrow “Kostya” because he looks like him.
Brian Lake is “Superman”, either “Please save us Superman” when the ball is rushing into the opposition defence or “Da-da-dada-daaaah…” when he inevitably gets it back our way.
Used to call Peter Street “Taller” because he was the only player noticably taller than I am.

Two nicknames I'm looking forward to?

LIBBA!!!!!!!

WALLY!!!!!!! (to be screamed out whilst fingering his old man's badge on my scarf)

03-06-2010, 05:32 PM
I've always called Harbrow “Kostya” because he looks like him.
Brian Lake is “Superman”, either “Please save us Superman” when the ball is rushing into the opposition defence or “Da-da-dada-daaaah…” when he inevitably gets it back our way.
Used to call Peter Street “Taller” because he was the only player noticably taller than I am.

Two nicknames I'm looking forward to?

LIBBA!!!!!!!

WALLY!!!!!!! (to be screamed out whilst fingering his old man's badge on my scarf)

Umm, maybe want to rephrase that BAS.

03-06-2010, 05:33 PM
Ditto !

03-06-2010, 09:38 PM
Hahn - The Ute
Stack - Stack-Dog

03-06-2010, 09:47 PM
Hahn - The Ute
Stack - Stack-Dog

A mate of mine calls Picken the padlock.

"Picken the Padlock"

03-06-2010, 09:52 PM
A time ago Bryza and Shaggy onced shared Dumb and Dumber. Seemed to fit the bill at the time, fortunately now they only present for brief cameo appearances.

03-06-2010, 10:17 PM

"Picken the Padlock"

Gold! :D

04-06-2010, 05:41 PM
Umm, maybe want to rephrase that BAS.

Whatever do you mean? :rolleyes:

04-06-2010, 10:31 PM

"Picken the Padlock"

Gee, I love this - think I might have to use it from now on :D

23-06-2011, 07:01 PM

Reading Murph's article this week, he mentioned Dalhaus' nickname being Grommet; and on Friday night we discovered that Ed Barlow is nicknamed Cheesie because he is from Bega in NSW.

With all the new players that have come into the team this year, can you think of any other nicknames?

23-06-2011, 07:19 PM
I love the cheesie one was funny as listening to the commentators.

24-06-2011, 09:33 AM
Schofield should be"Quasimodo".

24-06-2011, 09:45 AM
Not really a nickname as such, but every time Stack gets the ball my mother screams out, “STACK IT ON!!”

Pretty funny really, she never lets up on it.

26-06-2011, 01:25 PM
Schofield should be"Quasimodo".

Haha I think Schofield looks a bit like a turtle.

26-06-2011, 02:05 PM
Haha I think Schofield looks a bit like a turtle.

After Brennan stood on his head he looked more like a ladder

but he's more like a Sontaran

http://img28.imageshack.us/img28/20/schofieldjayden233x300.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/28/schofieldjayden233x300.jpg/)

http://img200.imageshack.us/img200/826/poisonskysontaran1.png (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/200/poisonskysontaran1.png/)