View Full Version : AFL Game Day Round 2, 2019 - Hawthorn V Western Bulldogs at the MCG

28-03-2019, 08:53 PM
Let’s get our predictions in.

Dogs by 23 points - a great Bulldog MCG win!

First Goal: Sam Lloyd

Best On Ground: Toby McLean

Go Bulldogs!!

28-03-2019, 09:20 PM
https://m.afl.com.au/news/2019-03-25/match-preview-hawthorn-v-western-bulldogs

Where and when: MCG, Sunday March 31, 3.20pm AEDT

Last time they met: Marvel Stadium, round 16, 2018. Western Bulldogs 9.5 (59) lost to Hawthorn 19.8 (122)

Hawthorn star Luke Breust led the charge as the Hawks obliterated the Bulldogs by 63 points. Breust kicked a career-best six goals, four of those in the first term, while Jarryd Roughead and Jack Gunston booted four apiece. Daniel Howe had the job tagging star Marcus Bontempelli, with the Dogs vice-captain gathering 23 possessions but he had little impact. The loss for the Dogs effectively ended their hopes of making the finals.

TV, radio and betting: Click here for broadcast guide

What it means for Hawthorn: Many pundits didn't have Hawthorn in the top eight this season, and while a shock win over the Crows may have swayed a few, the Hawks need to keep the momentum going and bank as many early wins as possible.

What it means for Western Bulldogs: The last time the Bulldogs beat the Hawks was in a semi-final during their premiership-winning year. If they can nab the four points here, the confidence levels at the Kennel will be sky-high.

How Hawthorn wins: It was an even contribution across the board against the Crows. Ben McEvoy was impressive in the ruck, and if he can continue his dominance and give first use to young Hawks James Worpel and Jaeger O'Meara, they will be hard to stop.

How Western Bulldogs wins: Round one saw the Bulldogs return to the manic pressure that delivered them a premiership in 2016. If they can keep that up, it will go a long way to stopping the Hawks in their tracks.

The stat: The Bulldogs struggled last year when it came to entries inside 50. They were ranked 12th in the competition, averaging 52 per game. Already there is a huge improvement in 2019, with 68 against the Swans in the opening round, which has them leading the competition.

The match-up: James Sicily v Aaron Naughton

Aaron Naughton announced himself as the Bulldogs' No.1 forward against the Swans, his athleticism and presence causing plenty of headaches for the Sydney defence. He kicked three goals and took five marks inside 50. James Frawley probably doesn't have the speed to keep up with Naughton, with young Hawk James Sicily a better match-up. Sicily spent time on Taylor Walker in round one and kept him goalless, while having 26 disposals, 15 rebound 50s and taking 10 marks himself.

It's a big week for: Chad Wingard

The question is will he play? He has said publicly that he is eyeing off a return in round two following a pre-season marred by a troublesome calf. Should he make his debut for the brown and gold, he'll need a good showing to justify to the Hawks giving up young gun Ryan Burton and last year's pick 15 in the NAB AFL Draft.

Recruit Chad Wingard will want to make a good impression for his new club - if he plays. Picture: AFL Photos
AFL 2018 Media - Chad Wingard Media Opportunity

Big call: Worpedo stars again, new favourite for the Brownlow

Prediction: Hawthorn by 17 points

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs

28-03-2019, 09:23 PM
Dogs by 68 points

First Goal - Naughton

BOG - Schache (6 goals)

28-03-2019, 09:34 PM
Dogs by 68 points

First Goal - Naughton

BOG - Schache (6 goals)

On fire

I would like to see that

28-03-2019, 10:21 PM
On fire

I would like to see that

Yeah Cracking Post Tragician - hard to beat your book, but youve given it a nudge early in the season

28-03-2019, 11:20 PM
Hawks by 31
First Goal Lloyd
BOG Bont

28-03-2019, 11:28 PM
Dogs by 15
First goal Llyod
BOG Naughton

28-03-2019, 11:42 PM
Dogs by 9
First Goal Naughton
BOG: Macrae

29-03-2019, 02:17 AM
Dogs by 10.
First Goal Lloyd
BOG Bontempelli.

Sicily v Naughton will be a fascinating match up if it pans out. Two young, talented, genuine swingmen. Both confident in the air, both with no lack of self confidence.

If Wingard plays it will be a good chance to show him what he's missed out on.

McEvoy will probably dominate the hit outs but English may look to exploit his superior mobility around the ground.

29-03-2019, 02:43 AM
Dogs by 30 points
First Goal will be Bont I would say.

Our midfield to trouble Hawthorn's for pressure with Libba champing at the bit to prove himself.
McEvoy might win the taps but just have to shark them.
Sicily is a pest and would love Billy Gowers to drag him into a spat, so Naughton can do his work.

29-03-2019, 10:35 AM
Hawks by 21
First goal: Dicko
BOG: Macrae

Good test.

29-03-2019, 12:43 PM
Dogs by 3 points
BOG McClean
First goal Wallis

29-03-2019, 01:43 PM
Dogs by 7 points
BOG Bontempelli
First goal Gowers

29-03-2019, 02:03 PM
Dogs by 20
First Goal Gowers
BOG: Libba

29-03-2019, 09:00 PM
Hoping we can get a sea of red white and blue at the G on Sunday.

29-03-2019, 10:11 PM
Sicily is a pest and would love Billy Gowers to drag him into a spat

Those two going at it would be great to watch!

29-03-2019, 11:40 PM
Some interesting stats from last week.

Hawks had 73 fewer disposals, lost cont poss by 18, lost clearances by 11, lost stoppages by 9, and centre clr by 2 and inside 50s by 3, yet won the game by 32 points. How did they do that? Their backline was very good and denied the Crows forwards.

Will be an interesting match. We need to be efficient with the ball and hit targets.

30-03-2019, 07:16 AM
Think our side will play the G well like we did late last year.

Dogs by 23
First goal Dicko
BOG Bont

30-03-2019, 10:39 AM
Think our side will play the G well like we did late last year.

Dogs by 23
First goal Dicko
BOG Bont

I was thinking that surely the round 22 game fills them with confidence. Bring in Lynch as a late change?

Dogs by 31
First Goal- Llllllllllooooyd
BOG Jackson Macrae

30-03-2019, 11:48 AM
We'll need to cash in with greater efficiency and be very patient with the ball in hand between the arcs I think. Hawthorn have nailed the "rope a dope" component of footy. Sydney had plenty of chances late in the game against us to really punish our turnovers, but didn't cash in as well as they would've liked. We had plenty of say in that too, but it was in a knife's edge for too long. Hawks will hit the scoreboard if given the chance.

Hawks by 19
First goal : Lloyd
BOG: Daniel

31-03-2019, 05:27 AM
Dogs by 1 point
First goal - Gowers
BOG - Macrae

31-03-2019, 08:39 AM
On paper, we have a significantly greater amount of talent. We're underselling ourselves a bit in this thread I think...

31-03-2019, 11:39 AM
I like our chances even though the Hawks are always a great benchmark.

Just need to keep the scoreboard ticking over

31-03-2019, 02:59 PM
Late change Williams out , Lewis Young in

31-03-2019, 03:04 PM

Bummer.

31-03-2019, 03:11 PM
We will win or come close. They can't dominate our midfield totally. As long as we can kick a few when we do get it down there.

31-03-2019, 03:20 PM

He is risen!

Welcome back old friend.

31-03-2019, 03:22 PM

Interesting. Says that he’s been rested.

Guess it has been a long season.

31-03-2019, 03:24 PM
Interesting. Says that he’s been rested.

Guess it has been a long season.

The backline is more balanced with another tall

31-03-2019, 03:59 PM
Dogs by 1 point
First goal Lloyd
BOG Libba

31-03-2019, 04:23 PM
Dunkley, why would you go up for that?

31-03-2019, 04:29 PM
Contest the ruck, run hard forward, bomb a long goal.

Good boy Josh.

31-03-2019, 04:31 PM
In these conditions, efficient use is gold.

Not sure that's exactly our forte.

31-03-2019, 04:35 PM
No point Hunter getting it 30+ times when he's so careless with the ball. Tries to be a creative genius and costs us a goal.

31-03-2019, 04:35 PM
Just stay in his vision Lachie...a bad kick then a lazy effort to follow up...u8s stuff.

Why don’t the commentators talk about this stuff?

31-03-2019, 04:36 PM
Not much fanfare but how good was Lewy Young's mark just then?

31-03-2019, 04:38 PM
We are our own worst enemies. Such stupid football.

Libba having a shocker.

No point Hunter getting it 30+ times when he's so careless with the ball. Tries to be a creative genius and costs us a goal.

Just stay in his vision Lachie...a bad kick then a lazy effort to follow up...u8s stuff.

Why don’t the commentators talk about this stuff?

This has always been my gripe. He covers more ground than any other player, knows where to run to get it 30-40 times a game. But this stuff doesn't look like leaving his game. He's got the potential to take his game to a higher level, and I don't understand why he won't or can't.

God the turn overs are killing us on the rebound

31-03-2019, 04:39 PM
Stop
turning
it
over

jseus guys

31-03-2019, 04:40 PM
Richards misses a sitter. Bont misses a sitter. For goodness sake.

31-03-2019, 04:40 PM
My hair is going to take a beating with Hunter, Dunkley, Macrae and Wallis accumulating so much ball.

31-03-2019, 04:42 PM
Suckling is playing a dumb game so far. Punting it 50 metres in the air is doing nothing for us.

Dickson can’t kick 55 in the wet...

...just selfish play.

31-03-2019, 04:43 PM
Suckling is playing a dumb game so far. Punting it 50 metres in the air is doing nothing for us.

Is that any surprise?

31-03-2019, 04:44 PM
Nice smashing of the Hawthorn pack by Schache. Won't go down as a goal assist, but it was.

31-03-2019, 04:46 PM
We are actually dominating general play.

Commentators talking about hawks being cleaner going forward...well, no kidding. ‘Cos every time they go forward it’s on the to. Are they watching?

Now macrae misses.

31-03-2019, 04:50 PM
Well win this game. We just look like a better team.

31-03-2019, 04:51 PM
With the exception of Bont and Daniel, jeezus we're unintelligent with the footy.

Just the sort of stuff the Hawks dine out on.

31-03-2019, 04:52 PM
The boys thought they were playing the 2012-2015 version of the Hawks early... A little composure with the ball in hand and we win this.

31-03-2019, 04:52 PM
Daniel's foot skills are next level. It stands out so much in this team.

31-03-2019, 04:53 PM
Dickson can’t kick 55 in the wet...

At the moment Dickson can’t kick 45 in the dry...

31-03-2019, 04:53 PM
Looks like we brought the bruise free footy plan today

31-03-2019, 04:55 PM
Daniel's foot skills are next level. It stands out so much in this team.

Daniel is so heavily underrated, at this rate id place him in our top 5

31-03-2019, 04:55 PM
Very pleased that we are back and only 4 points down at qtr time. We need to spread the hawk defenders and pressure the ball carrier. We are in to this up to our eye balls.

31-03-2019, 04:59 PM
That's better.

Cleaner, with more purpose.

EDIT: Except you Lachie. Go sit in the corner.

31-03-2019, 05:00 PM
We are killing these guys

31-03-2019, 05:00 PM
Dickson restoring my faith in him
English showing his worth

come on lads!!

31-03-2019, 05:03 PM
Suckling is better than these skunk around th back shots on goal. I wish he would just play footy.

Good pressure Doggies.

Should be 6 up.

31-03-2019, 05:04 PM
I'm loving our intensity. That's one of the reasons why I go to the footy.

31-03-2019, 05:04 PM
That pressure through the middle, so good to see

31-03-2019, 05:07 PM
Jeez, we've almost broken them here.

Gotta make them pay on the scoreboard. Just HAVE to.

31-03-2019, 05:08 PM
Is anyone else seeing Easton Woods confidence growing?

31-03-2019, 05:09 PM
Doing what we did last week. Dominating without scoring.

31-03-2019, 05:11 PM
Just waiting for the Hawks cheapy.

31-03-2019, 05:12 PM
*!*!*!*!ing Gowers hahahahahaha

31-03-2019, 05:13 PM
Crozier with some Morris like chest marks.

31-03-2019, 05:23 PM
Sicily is killing us. Too good. Someone needs to sacrifice here and play out the game with their elbow in his back.

That was the biggest waste of 30 minutes of dominance in the history of the sport.

we really really need to be able to convert from these inside 50ties

And they score, doesn’t that just kill you

31-03-2019, 05:25 PM
I know he's only new in the role, but Gilbert McAdam is a shocker on the boundary. Have I missed something with his appointment?

31-03-2019, 05:26 PM
Sicily is killing us. Too good. Someone needs to sacrifice here and play out the game with their elbow in his back.

Yep. I'd like to see Wally go to him and make him more accountable.

Jeez, harassed them for a quarter and still less than a kick in it.

We need to find a mismatch up forward.

Or just tap the Bont on the shoulder at a critical moment.

Suckling is better than these skunk around th back shots on goal. I wish he would just play footy.

He's not though. I don't get why anyone thinks this. Having ability, and being a good player are two different things.

It looks like I'm going to ctrl C + ctrl v my commentary for the year.

First one: we're killing these guys and keeping them in the game.

Second: I never want to see Suckling in our colours again.

Playing well but you know the lack of scoring is going to cost us.

Our small forwards haven’t been good enough in getting to the drop of the ball

31-03-2019, 05:27 PM
The intensity levels are the highest they've been since 2016 Finals. However it must be energy sapping to know that for all that dominance we have almost nothing to show for it scoreboard wise.
I hope we don't run out of petrol, because unlike last week we don't have a 7 goal lead as a buffer.

31-03-2019, 05:27 PM

Aye. Gowers might like to make himself useful.

31-03-2019, 05:28 PM
Absolutely dominant. The majority of Hawks scores have been from us overusing it and turning it over needlessly. I really wish we had the ability to actually get some reward for effort.

31-03-2019, 05:28 PM
Lloyd really should be lapping up these conditions and the amount of ball we've had in the forward 50. I know he's been playing higher but his lack of any presence when the ball has gone to ground has been disappointing. These are the games we brought him in for.

31-03-2019, 05:36 PM
Aye. Gowers might like to make himself useful.

Not sure he is capable.. would take away from him being the clone of Jake.

31-03-2019, 05:41 PM
Midfield is killing these blokes yet once more our forward entry is atrocious

31-03-2019, 05:42 PM
We have to be ready and primed to jump them after half time and then keep the foot on their throats. Dominated that quarter for a poor return. Let's Go Dogs!

31-03-2019, 05:42 PM
Finding it hard to be negative we haven't played with this sort of presence in a long long time.. Naughton and Schache looking like a really good combination, they both lead at the footy yes please! Our mids are totally dominate, The Bont is playing midfield! Easton Wood is looking more like Easton Wood, Crozier is looking like 2015 Easton Wood, Bailey Smith is excellent with the ball in his hands and English just took a pack mark.

More of this please Dogs, the reward will come.

31-03-2019, 05:43 PM
Really enjoyed our back 6 work rate and desperation today. Daniel, Crozier and Wpod6in particular.
English getting monstered at the ruck, but he's been super impressive around the ground.

31-03-2019, 05:44 PM
Lloyd really should be lapping up these conditions and the amount of ball we've had in the forward 50. I know he's been playing higher but his lack of any presence when the ball has gone to ground has been disappointing. These are the games we brought him in for.
Couldn’t agree more. This is heart and soul stuff. McClean and Dunke also Need to step up

31-03-2019, 05:45 PM
Young pick the bloody ball up

31-03-2019, 05:46 PM
Great kick Mitch!

31-03-2019, 05:47 PM
Wallis is the new Troy Dickson

31-03-2019, 05:47 PM
Son of walter pigeon heeds the call

31-03-2019, 05:50 PM
Lachie's gonna help fill the swear jar today, I'll tell you that much.

31-03-2019, 05:51 PM
Lachie's gonna help fill the swear jar today, I'll tell you that much.

Plays like a millionaire.

31-03-2019, 05:53 PM
Now behind...

31-03-2019, 05:54 PM
Now behind...

Of course. When you're incapable of scoring after mountains of possession, it'll always bite you on the arse.

31-03-2019, 05:56 PM
This game is going to be a hole clentcher until the final siren isn’t it?

31-03-2019, 05:57 PM
Must be Wallis dumbest and worst ever kick. Hurts too.

31-03-2019, 05:57 PM
Wow. Mitch that was a horrible kick.

31-03-2019, 05:58 PM
Ok Wallis is not the new Troy Dickson as that was a shocking field kick cost us a goal

31-03-2019, 05:58 PM
Wow. Mitch that was a horrible kick.

Momentum killer. We're just handing them this game.

31-03-2019, 06:01 PM
Just looks awful when Caleb Daniel ends up being mismatched one on one with a tall in a marking contest.
We need to find a response now

31-03-2019, 06:02 PM
Would love it explained how Caleb is consistently caught one out against the opposition's big forward

31-03-2019, 06:02 PM
Just looks awful when Caleb Daniel ends up being mismatched one on one with a tall in a marking contest.

It has happened twice, got away with Ceglar
could not outmark Roughead second time - Goal to Hawks

come on Dogs step up!

31-03-2019, 06:03 PM
Dumb. Dumb. Dumb with the footy.

And the other mob rub their hands together.

31-03-2019, 06:06 PM
Burning the footy

What the *!*!*!*! are we doing? What happened to the team that was playing in the second???

Your goal Bont.

31-03-2019, 06:07 PM
Now Bontempelli turns it over inexplicably
Costs us a goal.
Unless we respond in the next minute or two, we are toast.
We've really killed ourselves here. Wallis, Bont the most costly of offenders.

31-03-2019, 06:08 PM
Henderson killing us

31-03-2019, 06:09 PM

It has happened twice, got away with Ceglar
could not outmark Roughead second time - Goal to Hawks

come on Dogs step up!

31-03-2019, 06:09 PM
Plays like a millionaire.

He won our B&F playing this way so it must be playing as the coaches request.

31-03-2019, 06:10 PM
Who is on Ricky Henderson ? His having a field day.

Guess that’s it now we in rattled

Well, this is over.

Yeah, forget it.

You switch on and off so easily you deserve to get punished.

Not like the Hawks are playing a blinder either, just clean and smart.

He won our B&F playing this way so it must be playing as the coaches request.

Can't see why we'd reward this constant wasting of the footy.

31-03-2019, 06:14 PM
Would love it explained how Caleb is consistently caught one out against the opposition's big forward

...anyone?

Delivery into our forward line let’s us down as always.
Didn’t take advantage of the 2nd qtr and we pay for it.

That typifies today. A one on one with two seconds left between a KPF and Daniel. Then the final nail in the coffin.

31-03-2019, 06:15 PM
*!*!*!*!ing pathetic coaching.

Caleb continually one out against bigger opponents is ridiculous.

Midfield was trash starting with Bont

Now here's the JLT form I was expecting. Swans getting dominated at home showed how soft last week's form was.

We have to be ready and primed to jump them after half time and then keep the foot on their throats. Dominated that quarter for a poor return. Let's Go Dogs!

Well that worked out well!

...anyone?

Ask Clarko, he's all over it.

...anyone?

Again on the siren against. How can this happen?

Accountable footy pleassszzzee ....!

Thats the 2018 Dogs I know.

What are we doing. Every time someone is on Daniel they go to the square and then (like it’s ment yo be) we have a turn over and they goal through that same person.

Looks a simple game plan to me.

31-03-2019, 06:17 PM
...anyone?

If we play him down there, good teams will find a way to exploit it.

31-03-2019, 06:18 PM
We are getting out played in the coaching box. Rucks are killing us and they are setting up at half back beautiful

31-03-2019, 06:19 PM
Bont, McLean and Libba too quiet that quarter.

Macrae and Hunter trying but doing more harm than good.

McEvoy schooling English.

Schache and Naughton adrift with no and/or poor quality supply.

Dunkley not doing enough. Need to get Richards more involved too.

Jeez, could use a bit of JJ action today. No Williams hurts.

Bit to work on.

31-03-2019, 06:19 PM
Pathetic to see Daniel left on the Hawks tall forwards. Blind Freddie could see it why not the MC.

31-03-2019, 06:24 PM
Lovely kick from Gowers. Absolutely everything has to go right from here if we're a chance.

31-03-2019, 06:25 PM
Gowers' kicking looks to have improved on last year

31-03-2019, 06:27 PM
Pathetic to see Daniel left on the Hawks tall forwards. Blind Freddie could see it why not the MC.

It's a good poin't NBP but we've gone in small by design though and we have recruited with that thought process in mind as well

31-03-2019, 06:27 PM
Lovely kick from Gowers. Absolutely everything has to go right from here if we're a chance.

Ummm...

So sick of the Hawks being good.

31-03-2019, 06:29 PM
I know it isn’t great (the Caleb thing) but given the choice between him sliding back to cover in transition and no one doing it, I would rather it was him.

The backline have been pretty good today- clearly still a long way to go.

31-03-2019, 06:33 PM
That last second goal to Gunston is looking costly...

31-03-2019, 06:34 PM

He's such an accurate kick

31-03-2019, 06:34 PM
Hawks are down to 2 on the bench with Shiel and Burgoyne done.

Run run run.

31-03-2019, 06:38 PM
Back in this.

But do we want it?

31-03-2019, 06:40 PM
Really had to kick that, Timmy.

31-03-2019, 06:41 PM
Oh boy.

31-03-2019, 06:43 PM
Okay sorry Hawks if Macrae's kicking them against you you're toast.

You just are.

31-03-2019, 06:43 PM
Wow....

31-03-2019, 06:44 PM
And then Sicily gives one away off the ball to give us the lead.

This is crisp.

31-03-2019, 06:45 PM
Ahh shit. Richards.

I'm calling a draw.

31-03-2019, 06:46 PM
How good is this game ;)

"Free Kick Bulldogs"

Libbaaaaaaaaa

What are we watching?

31-03-2019, 06:47 PM
They're just the kinda goals we missed while Libba was sidelined.

31-03-2019, 06:49 PM
Libba says "tatts all folks"

31-03-2019, 06:50 PM
This is all very 2016-esque.

I hope the boys all line up to ruffle Sicily's hair.

31-03-2019, 06:52 PM
Dogs kicked 8 goals straight, couple of free kicks including the last one.
thanks sicily for the frees

hawks 2 men down
win by 18 points

got out of jail with this one.

31-03-2019, 06:53 PM
Insane. I always wondered if I would see my team do something like this. Feels good.

31-03-2019, 06:54 PM
Dogs kicked 8 goals straight, couple of free kicks including the last one.
thanks sicily for the frees

hawks 2 men down
win by 18 points

got out of jail with this one.

Macca, I can't agree. We just needed 10 minutes of good football and in the words of Raylan Givens "I don't care how it gets done as long as it gets done"

31-03-2019, 06:54 PM
I'm 70 years old. I have never seen a game like it. Go Dogs! You bloody beauties. And the losers - Hawthorn - makes it all the sweeter.

31-03-2019, 06:56 PM
Wow. Can't believe that happened.

31-03-2019, 06:57 PM
Macca, I can't agree. We just needed 10 minutes of good football and in the words of Raylan Givens "I don't care how it gets done as long as it gets done"

No worries, I was listening on streaming radio, so it must be different on TV.
But glad we got the win

Ran over the top of the hawks

2 games up now

Suns next week R3 bring it on !

31-03-2019, 07:00 PM
I just can't believe what I just saw. My 6 year old son sauntered in to watch the game when we were 30 points down in the last, and was lamenting the score..... 15 minutes later we were both running around the lounge-room like lunatics high fiving

I love beating Essendon but beating the Hawks is a bit special given how good they have been for a long while

This is the sort of football we are capable of. It's not about who isn't playing or how many games any one has played it's about heart, soul and playing out the full game and today we did more than enough.
Very proud of the boys

I'm a bit happy for BAD as well as he was going today with a Hawks mate

Well I didn’t see that coming. Pretty happy and a really good 3/4 effort.

31-03-2019, 07:02 PM
Libba was huge in that last quarter he willed us across the line. He’s an A grader when up and about and has the mongrel we have been lacking.
Best win since the flag.

31-03-2019, 07:03 PM
What a win. Go Josh. So happy for the guy. We'll done everyone, coaches, players, fans. Now we see the true power of our unique list. The force is strong.... Raaaaaaa woof!

31-03-2019, 07:04 PM
Libby was huge in that last quarter he willed us across the line. He’s an A grader when up and about and has the mongrel we have been lacking.
Best win since the flag.

He was awesome. He made some very smart decisions when it counted

31-03-2019, 07:06 PM
https://i.ibb.co/yhRT2LZ/Screen-Shot-2019-03-31-at-6-05-39-PM.png (https://ibb.co/YDW9gv1)

31-03-2019, 07:09 PM
I thought Smith look more at home today did some nice things and look composed.

31-03-2019, 07:14 PM
Matty Suckling, 25 kicks. Leather poisioning.

I won’t lie, I stopped watching at the end of the third until my missus walked in halfway though the fourth going “your heart must be pounding it’s so close”

I had no idea how we did it, I’ll need to watch the replay.. but damn, we won!

Smith is very good user , he lowers his eyes , would like to see him on a wing , it’s to early him on the ball but I can see why Luke is playing him in there , the experience he will get off Liberatore and the Bont will be unbelievable.
How good was Liberatores goal , seriously he isn’t the natural looking footballer has a strange kick but god he is good.

31-03-2019, 07:15 PM

Yep, much bigger contributor today. #InBevoWeTrust

31-03-2019, 07:20 PM
Smith is very good user , he lowers his eyes , would like to see him on a wing , it’s to early him on the ball but I can see why Luke is playing him in there , the experience he will get off Liberatore and the Bont will be unbelievable.
How good was Liberatores goal , seriously he isn’t the natural looking footballer has a strange kick but god he is good.

Smith just needs to improve his aerobic capacity and then he will be an A grader. A full preseason will have him cherry ripe.

31-03-2019, 07:22 PM
Great win by the boys, I thought we were going to do a sydney last week but we kicked on. We had a bit of luck but that is out of our hands.

I got frustrated in the 3rd like most but I'm stoked we managed to fight it out, well done doggies :D

31-03-2019, 07:22 PM
Libba was huge in that last quarter he willed us across the line. He’s an A grader when up and about and has the mongrel we have been lacking.
Best win since the flag.

Agree I too think it was the best win since the flag. Good opposition, backs to the wall, young side. But bleed bulldog spirit fr us all

31-03-2019, 07:23 PM
Wow that was edgy.

31-03-2019, 07:27 PM
That was such a gutsy win. Real grit. Everyone played a part in that last quarter. It wasn't pretty but we were swarming, driven by brute will power. Very proud of that EFFORT.
I thought Caleb Daniel was outstanding for four quarters. I love this team. They are working hard for each other and did us proud.

31-03-2019, 07:29 PM
Chad Wingard. Pffft.

31-03-2019, 07:30 PM
Great game overall, a bit tough to watch at times. Loved our flow and movement when we switched in in the second and last quarters.

Couple of thoughts:

- Bailey smith settled as the game went on, opposite to last week. 92% disposal efficiency today
- Lewis Young was good and should play next week
- English played he best game I’ve seen him play since joining the club
- you know we’re going to win when Jack Macrae starts slotting goals
- the free kick count will be discussed this week but I thought the umpiring was pretty spot on. The count was irrelevant
- this is the confidence boost we sorely need
- There is a strong chance we’ll be 3-0 which is amazing

31-03-2019, 07:31 PM
That was such a gutsy win. Real grit. Everyone played a part in that last quarter. It wasn't pretty but we were swarming, driven by brute will power. Very proud of that EFFORT.
I thought Caleb Daniel was outstanding for four quarters. I love this team. They are working hard for each other and did us proud.

Daniel was excellent. I wad thinking midway through the 3rd how we could use a few more with such amazing decision making. We've got to stop him getting isolated on talls though it cannot happen.

31-03-2019, 08:01 PM
This might be obvious but I took my boy out for a kick after the game and surprised how wet & slippery it was - didn’t feel much come down in the lower level of the Ponsford.

The last ten minutes was the most ridiculous period of footy I reckon I’ve seen live. Umpiring had a huge influence but we were good for the win all the same. Should’ve been 8 goals to 2 at half time.

Rapt to see Lewis Young put in a shift at senior level

Funny day

I love beating Essendon but beating the Hawks is a bit special given how good they have been for a long while

This is the sort of football we are capable of. It's not about who isn't playing or how many games any one has played it's about heart, soul and playing out the full game and today we did more than enough.
Very proud of the boys

I'm a bit happy for BAD as well as he was going today with a Hawks mate

Stunned - what a win. Best win since GF

I was sitting surrounded by members of Kennedy Club, the only Bulldog. They whinged the whole game about the free kicks.

I can't believe that last quarter.

Always interesting reading these threads after the game..

Said to my mate at 3/4 time the rules favour us and we were kicking to the scoring end. Didn't expect what we did, but bloody stoked and just shows you can't write a team off in the modern game.

31-03-2019, 08:02 PM
Stunned - what a win. Best win since GF

I was sitting surrounded by members of Kennedy Club, the only Bulldog. They whinged the whole game about the free kicks.

I can't believe that last quarter.

I love that feeling.

31-03-2019, 08:03 PM
I love that feeling.

I didn't say much, but snickered under my breath :D

31-03-2019, 08:05 PM
They have short memories. I remember back in the glory days the superstar frees they got.

31-03-2019, 08:05 PM
I won’t lie, I stopped watching at the end of the third until my missus walked in halfway though the fourth going “your heart must be pounding it’s so close”

I had no idea how we did it, I’ll need to watch the replay.. but damn, we won!
Haha. Me too. I ran out of my medication Friday and without it I feel shite so at 3/4 time thought I'd go get it cos the game wasnt making me feel better. Thought we'd finish game well but not make it, too far behind. Haha. Have read this thread now for a great evening watching the last quarter. Could see in the first quarter wjen Libba made some errors that he hated it and knew he as litmus paper for the team would put in a good 4 q effort. I'm a libbalubber.

31-03-2019, 08:13 PM
They were handed so many wins on a silver platter with a side serve of lobster medallions during those years, I am quite happy to rub their collective entitled Jeff kennet noses into a stinking cesspit of brutal karma.
They have short memories. I remember back in the glory days the superstar frees they got.

31-03-2019, 08:15 PM
Dogs by 30 points
First Goal will be Bont I would say.
Called the Gowers Silicy show!
Our midfield to trouble Hawthorn's for pressure with Libba champing at the bit to prove himself.
McEvoy might win the taps but just have to shark them.
Sicily is a pest and would love Billy Gowers to drag him into a spat, so Naughton can do his work.

Well done to me. Superior footy predictions.
But Ghost Dog, you said 30 points.
Yes, well 11 points off is two kicks.
Sloppy Ghost Dog. Accuracy please.

31-03-2019, 08:21 PM
Character building stuff. What did Bevo say to our boys at 3/4 time?

Libba you are a gun. I have been critical of Wallis but boy he was good today. And Caleb Daniel - you little ripper for all 4 quarters. Schache is finding his groove. Talk of Dickson’s demise a bit premature. Macrae can kick a snap!

If English starts holding those marks - like wow!!

Great to win without Bonti starring.

And how good were Dureya and Suckling and Lloyd?

And we saw some great delivery and composure from young Bailey and Young too.

Time to watch the replay so I can pick my player awards.....

31-03-2019, 09:11 PM
That was a great Bulldog win. The Bulldog spirit is alive and well. What a comeback!

While I love playing at Marvel our home ground the MCG is just as great particularly when we win.

31-03-2019, 09:51 PM
For sure the call on Sicily was marginal..........DON'T CARE.
The number of times we've been on the receiving end of improbable comebacks, replete with line-ball decisions... this was a long overdue Karma bus stopping at our station.

31-03-2019, 10:22 PM
Schache/Naughton are an exciting duo - Round 1 it was Naughton, Round 2 it was Schache. They are great foils for each other - both mobile, with Naughton better in pack situations and Schache better on the lead. Exciting.

Libba was huge, really got us over the line IMO.

Impressed by Duryea who had some good moments in tough situations. Caleb was sublime, but very frustrating seeing him get caught one out against KPPs - not his fault.

We got a bit lucky I felt, having said that it was a great win and we dominated for 3 quarters.

31-03-2019, 10:53 PM
Any idea who Henderson was playing on? I'm guessing it rotated but he was nearly the difference at one stage.

31-03-2019, 11:16 PM
Well done to me. Superior footy predictions.
But Ghost Dog, you said 30 points.
Yes, well 11 points off is two kicks.
Sloppy Ghost Dog. Accuracy please.

Get a room for yourself!
Great call. Did you feel it or think it?

01-04-2019, 12:47 AM
For sure the call on Sicily was marginal..........DON'T CARE.
The number of times we've been on the receiving end of improbable comebacks, replete with line-ball decisions... this was a long overdue Karma bus stopping at our station.

Well said YHF. About time it went our way against them.

01-04-2019, 01:00 AM
Sicily, I'll give him a vote for his contribution to our win. Karma bites. Take your pick from the book of grudges and even the ledger.

Insufficient Intent
01-04-2019, 10:55 AM
I've heard Sicily travelled home chained to the roof-rack of the team bus.

01-04-2019, 11:09 AM
Sicily was gut punching off the ball all game and had given multiple frees away. Stands to reason that he'd give away a free in front of goal because he is incapable of learning.

And then the Gowers 50, clear free and then he abused the umpire so no sympathy.

01-04-2019, 12:31 PM

I watched this again last night and I’m not convinced Gunston got that off before the siren

Matters little now

01-04-2019, 03:00 PM
https://i.imgur.com/OMQ5v4f.jpg

01-04-2019, 07:18 PM
Something about Libba makes me laugh , don’t know if it’s his face his tattoos or just him, but he should be a cartoon character.
He should be one of the people at lazy moes bar in the Simpson’s

01-04-2019, 09:11 PM
I like to think of the Sicily free as a little payback 10 years after Riewoldt flopped like a dead fish in the 2009 PF

01-04-2019, 11:10 PM
I like to think of the Sicily free as a little payback 10 years after Riewoldt flopped like a dead fish in the 2009 PF

Was thinking the exact same thing today.

02-04-2019, 12:49 AM

We keep our dignity though, Josh didn’t go looking for anything. Autumn leaf Nick on the other hand...

02-04-2019, 09:42 AM
Hawthorn scored 86 of their 87 points from turnovers which shows the rest of our game is in good order.

Fix up our ball use and we are going to be a tough team to play.

02-04-2019, 10:08 AM
Hawthorn scored 86 of their 87 points from turnovers which shows the rest of our game is in good order.

That is an amazing stat.

We are also leading the AFL for inside 50s, which gives us opportunities to score more.

02-04-2019, 11:00 AM

Remarkable.

The coaches need to paint that sentence in six foot high letters on the change room walls.

All they got is what we gave them. Lets be a lot less charitable from here.

02-04-2019, 11:43 AM
Coaches votes

HAWTHORN v WESTERN BULLDOGS

8 Jack Macrae (WB)
6 Caleb Daniel (WB)
5 Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
4 Josh Schache (WB)
3 Ricky Henderson (HAW)
2 Lachie Hunter (WB)
1 Matthew Suckling (WB)
1 Tory Dickson (WB)

02-04-2019, 11:53 AM
Yes the Bont there. I agree. Bont's less magnificent games are still better than others who have very good games. Prostrate he is better than others standing up.

02-04-2019, 01:00 PM
Coaches votes

8 Jack Macrae (WB)
6 Caleb Daniel (WB)
4 Josh Schache (WB)
3 Ricky Henderson (HAW)
2 Lachie Hunter (WB)
1 Matthew Suckling (WB)
1 Tory Dickson (WB)

One coach admires Suckers

02-04-2019, 01:02 PM
Coaches votes

8 Jack Macrae (WB)
6 Caleb Daniel (WB)
4 Josh Schache (WB)
3 Ricky Henderson (HAW)
2 Lachie Hunter (WB)
1 Matthew Suckling (WB)
1 Tory Dickson (WB)

I can't believe they don't have Liberatore in there.

02-04-2019, 01:03 PM

Agree

02-04-2019, 06:17 PM

Staggering stat and shows we have huge scope for inprovement if we just have more care with ball in hand. Also shows how easily we are torched out the back if we aren't careful with our ball use, as evidenced by our horrendous 3rd qtr on Sunday

02-04-2019, 08:21 PM
Coaches votes

8 Jack Macrae (WB)
6 Caleb Daniel (WB)
4 Josh Schache (WB)
3 Ricky Henderson (HAW)
2 Lachie Hunter (WB)
1 Matthew Suckling (WB)
1 Tory Dickson (WB)

Interesting how those tallies are arrived at
5 Macrae, Bontempelli
4 Daniel, Schache
3 Henderson, Macrae
2 Hunter, Daniel
1 Suckling, Dickson

As I see it, that is the only split that will give the end tallies. I am also amazed that Libba gets no votes as he was BOG for me.

02-04-2019, 11:05 PM
Apparently we had ten left footers in the team on Sunday

03-04-2019, 01:16 AM
We did last week. Most ever?

Stadium, Docklands in Bulldogs Unleashed
We had ten left footers in the team...so that's five times the average of ten percent. Inadvertant tactic? At one stage when English kicked with...
see more

03-04-2019, 11:27 PM
Interesting how those tallies are arrived at
5 Macrae, Bontempelli
4 Daniel, Schache
3 Henderson, Macrae
2 Hunter, Daniel
1 Suckling, Dickson

As I see it, that is the only split that will give the end tallies. I am also amazed that Libba gets no votes as he was BOG for me.

Suckling and Dickson only got 1 vote so must have got the 1's

Hunter got 2 and the 1's are both gone so he got a 2

Henderson got 3 and the 1's are both gone so he got a 3

Schache got 4, 3+1 and 2+2 are out as both 1's and one 2 are gone, so he got a 4

Macrae on 8 can't have gotten two 4's as Schache got one, so he got a 5 and a 3

Daniel with 6 can't be 5+1 or 3+3 as both 1's and one 3 are gone, so he got a 4 and a 2

That leaves the remaining 5 for the Bont - you were right, that's the only way it could have gone

04-04-2019, 07:11 PM
Enjoy Jack's goal 6 times !
https://youtu.be/mvSCUTGUou0

04-04-2019, 08:50 PM

We did last week. Most ever?

Stadium, Docklands in Bulldogs Unleashed
We had ten left footers in the team...so that's five times the average of ten percent. Inadvertant tactic? At one stage when English kicked with...
see more

Hawthorn rode to their premiership hattrick on the back of a team packed with leftfooters. Leftfooters tend to be better and more accurate kicks because they get that extra nanosecond while their opponent runs to the right and then has to readjust to cover the left.

I'm a big fan of recruiting left footers.

05-04-2019, 05:13 PM
Hawthorn rode to their premiership hattrick on the back of a team packed with leftfooters. Leftfooters tend to be better and more accurate kicks because they get that extra nanosecond while their opponent runs to the right and then has to readjust to cover the left.

I'm a big fan of recruiting left footers.

Lefties are ten percent of population so about two per team is average. We had five times that. I notice at least once a game one of our lefties get an extra nanosecond as they wheel to the left and an opponent has delayed reaction. I like too that Fate has given us the lefties not through planning so Fate is on our side.

05-04-2019, 07:23 PM
Lefties are ten percent of population so about two per team is average. We had five times that. I notice at least once a game one of our lefties get an extra nanosecond as they wheel to the left and an opponent has delayed reaction. I like too that Fate has given us the lefties not through planning so Fate is on our side.

It's amazing how players who have played the game for years and play at an elite standard still fall for that whole "wheeling around on the right" trick. They have seen you play, they know your style really well but all you have to do is feign moving onto your right foot as soon as you take possession and they go to the right as well.

It works every time!

06-04-2019, 11:27 AM

I had Libba in my votes but he directly caused three first half goals against us, twice with playing on when he shouldn't have and once where he refused to take contact and fired a poor handball miles away from Hunter. He came good in the second half however I can see why the coaches didn't have him in the best players.