View Full Version : WB Game Day V Fremantle R6 2019

25-04-2019, 04:03 PM
Could change depending on the team selections tonight.

Margin: Bulldogs by 3 points - a famous Bulldog win on Anzac weekend

First Goal: Tory Dickson

Best On Ground: Tom Liberatore (Libba)

Go Bulldogs!!

25-04-2019, 04:23 PM
WB by 18
First Goal Libba
BOG Hunter

25-04-2019, 04:48 PM
Freo by heaps
First goal: McLean
BOG: The Bont

I see multiple goalless quarters in our immediate future.

Ooh, and timely reminder that as David Mundy trots out for game 300 he was drafted with the pick we gave them for Steven Koops.

True story!

25-04-2019, 05:22 PM
Freo by 86
1st goal - Dickson
Bog - bont

25-04-2019, 05:58 PM
Any woofers from WA going or anyone travelling over? I know westbulldog isn’t going but maybe Bertie Wooster, Scraggers, mjp might be there.

25-04-2019, 06:20 PM
Scraggers by 6
1st goal - Naughton
Bog - Bont

25-04-2019, 06:26 PM
Dockers by 56
FG Naughton
BOG Smith

25-04-2019, 06:28 PM
Shockers by plenty
First Goal for us Gowers
BOG for us Jacko

25-04-2019, 08:25 PM
Freo by 72
BOG Macrae
FG Smith

25-04-2019, 09:09 PM
Dogs by 1 point
BOG: Bont
FG: Dickson

26-04-2019, 12:37 AM
https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2019-04-25/team-news-round-6

TEAM NEWS | One change for Dogs
Apr 25, 2019 6:20PM

One change has been made to the Western Bulldogs’ line-up for Saturday night’s clash against Fremantle at Optus Stadium.

In-form big man Jackson Trengove comes into the side for his first match of the year on the back of impressive VFL form.

He replaces utility Bailey Williams, who makes way after coming in for the round five clash against Carlton.

Last week’s debutants, Will Hayes and Lachie Young, have both retained their spots.

Josh Schache, Fletcher Roberts, Pat Lipinski and Roarke Smith are the emergencies.

The Bulldogs will be determined to bounce back after three consecutive defeats, against Gold Coast Suns, Collingwood and Carlton.

They sit in 14th spot on the ladder, but only one win behind the fourth-placed Dockers who enter the match on the back of a win against the GWS Giants.

The match will mark 300 AFL games for Fremantle star David Mundy.

ROUND 6 TEAM

B: Ed Richards, Aaron Naughton, Hayden Crozier
HB: Caleb Daniel, Zaine Cordy, Easton Wood
C: Lachie Hunter, Tom Liberatore, Jason Johannisen
HF: Will Hayes, Billy Gowers, Sam Lloyd
F: Josh Dunkley, Marcus Bontempelli, Tory Dickson
Foll: Tim English, Toby McLean, Jack Macrae
Int: Mitch Wallis, Bailey Smith, Jackson Trengove, Lachie Young
Emer: Josh Schache, Fletcher Roberts, Pat Lipinski, Roarke Smith

In: Jackson Trengove
Out: Bailey Williams

MATCH DETAILS

Fremantle v Western Bulldogs
Optus Stadium
Saturday 26 April
6.10pm AWST

For detailed match information, click here.

LAST TIME THEY MET

Round 5, 2018 – It’s been more than 12 months since the Dogs and Dockers last met, with Fremantle claiming the points in the wet with a 54-point win. Nat Fyfe (43 disposals) and Michael Walters (five goals) were dominant for the Dockers, who increased their lead at each interval. Matt Suckling (27 disposals) was the Dogs’ leading ball-winner, with Billy Gowers and Tom Boyd snaring two goals apiece and Toby McLean (25 disposals) also influential.

BROADCAST INFO

TV - Channel 7, FOX Footy
Radio - Triple M, 3AW/6PR, ABC Grandstand, NIRS

26-04-2019, 10:53 AM
https://m.afl.com.au/news/2019-04-22/match-previewfremantle-v-western-bulldogs

Match preview: Fremantle v Western Bulldogs
Travis King
Apr 22, 2019 4:32PM

Where and when: Optus Stadium, Saturday April 27, 6.10pm AWST

Last time they met: Optus Stadium, round five, 2018: Fremantle 16.12 (108) defeated Western Bulldogs 8.6 (54)

The Dockers brushed the young Dogs aside to remain undefeated at new home Optus Stadium, with skipper Nat Fyfe at his domineering best picking up a career-high 43 disposals. Michael Walters bagged five goals for the home side, but the win was soured by Matt Taberner suffering a fractured foot.

TV, radio and online: Click here for broadcast guide

What it means for Fremantle: If there is a game the Dockers would want to win this year, outside of the Western Derby clashes, this would be it. The Len Hall Tribute Game is a massive event for the club and will be an even bigger occasion than normal with David Mundy playing his 300th game.

What it means for Western Bulldogs: The Dogs are losing credibility by the week and spoiling Mundy's party would be a huge shot in the arm for their finals chances. After winning their first two games the Bullies have lost three straight, and getting belted by Carlton was deflating to say the least.

How Fremantle wins: The Dockers should have too much firepower at home for the Dogs to handle. If Fremantle plays with pace and dare in similar fashion to the upset win over the Giants, it's hard to see the Dogs getting a toehold.

How the Western Bulldogs win: It will take a huge effort from onball stars Marcus Bontempelli, Jack Macrae and Tom Liberatore to deny the Dockers enough forward 50 entries to kick a winning score. The Dogs have to dominate midfield and lock it in their attacking half.

The stat: It was like watching a man against boys when Nat Fyfe tore the Dogs apart last year. The Dockers skipper finished with 43 disposals, 21 contested possessions, 13 clearances, seven inside 50s and a goal.

The match-up: Nat Fyfe v Marcus Bontempelli

Fyfe might only be ranked sixth in the AFL Player Ratings but he has been almost unstoppable this season, averaging 9.5 clearances and 29.3 disposals, and is arguably the best player in the game. Bontempelli (18th) isn't far behind and has averaged 29.8 touches and 6.4 clearances, but will need to be at his absolute best to match Fyfe's output.

It’s a big week for: David Mundy

The much-loved veteran will chalk up 300 games in purple and fittingly be lauded for an outstanding career. Mundy, the 2010 Doig medallist and 2015 All Australian, is arguably Freo's second-greatest player behind Matthew Pavlich, the only other WA-based player to reach the landmark, and deserves every plaudit coming his way this week.

AFL 2019 Round 04 - West Coast v Fremantle

Big call: Jesse Hogan's confidence is growing and the boom recruit could have a birthday against the Dogs defence if there is enough supply. Tipping him to bag five goals on Saturday night.

Prediction: Dockers by 47 points

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs

26-04-2019, 11:03 AM
Dockers by 78
Inside 50’s us
Efficiency inside 50 them

26-04-2019, 11:05 AM
Dogs by 1 point

First Goal: Dickson

BOG The Bont

Jam Donuts
26-04-2019, 05:22 PM
Dockers by 103 points

First Goal The Bont

BOG Hunter

26-04-2019, 05:39 PM
Waiting for this shellacking feels like waiting for the election, as if time itself has stopped due to lack of interest.

Come. On. Already.

26-04-2019, 05:59 PM
Dockers by 103 points

First Goal The Bont

BOG Hunter

Since Freo never score 100 points, for us to lose by 103 might mean we don't even score. So first goal-kicker should be "NA". Plus, Bont only kicks points these days...

With predictions like this I am looking forward more and more to sitting in the crowd.

26-04-2019, 06:01 PM
Since Freo never score 100 points, for us to lose by 103 might mean we don't even score. So first goal-kicker should be "NA". Plus, Bont only kicks points these days...

With predictions like this I am looking forward more and more to sitting in the crowd.

Hopefully you enjoy the night.

26-04-2019, 06:53 PM

Neither did Carlton until they played us.

26-04-2019, 06:55 PM

If he kicks 6 points can we count that as a goal instead?

You could then make the case he's actually 2.3 this year.

26-04-2019, 07:20 PM
Im not all doom and gloom but not sure where we score enough to win.

Dockers by 40
First Goal Gowers
Bog Trengove

26-04-2019, 07:23 PM
Bulldogs by 56
first goal Gowers
BOG Macrae

26-04-2019, 07:24 PM
Freo by heaps

Ooh, and timely reminder that as David Mundy trots out for game 300 he was drafted with the pick we gave them for Steven Koops.

True story!

Oh god I didn't know that re Koops and Mundy.....that's deflating. :cool:

26-04-2019, 07:36 PM
Oh god I didn't know that re Koops and Mundy.....that's deflating. :cool:

"His first year at the Bulldogs continued Koops' injury woes, with a thigh strain, broken jaw and punctured lung restricting him to just 11 games in 2004. Shoulder injuries and family reasons forced him to retire in 2005 at only 26 years of age, managing a total of only 89 AFL games (11 for the Bulldogs) over 10 seasons."

Koopsy, we barely knew ye.

26-04-2019, 07:37 PM
Dockers by 48 points
BOG Macrae
First goal Dickson

26-04-2019, 07:50 PM
Dockers by 40 (expecting a 70 to 30 score line)
First goal- accumulation of 10 straight forward misses adding up to 6 points)
BOG- Who knows, maybe Caleb Daniel playing at CHF.

I'm expecting a goalless half at some point in the game. Our forward line vs a Ross Lyon coached team could be a cure for clinical insomnia.

26-04-2019, 08:15 PM
Dockers by 40 (expecting a 70 to 30 score line)
First goal- accumulation of 10 straight forward misses adding up to 6 points)
BOG- Who knows, maybe Caleb Daniel playing at CHF.

I'm expecting a goalless half at some point in the game. Our forward line vs a Ross Lyon coached team could be a cure for clinical insomnia.

I dunno about you but a feeling of "oh no here we go again" and white hot anger isn't something that typically gets me off to sleep!

26-04-2019, 08:17 PM
"His first year at the Bulldogs continued Koops' injury woes, with a thigh strain, broken jaw and punctured lung restricting him to just 11 games in 2004. Shoulder injuries and family reasons forced him to retire in 2005 at only 26 years of age, managing a total of only 89 AFL games (11 for the Bulldogs) over 10 seasons."

Koopsy, we barely knew ye.

He might not have played a lot of footy but he did please a lot of supporters by asking for Michael MacLean's #51.

26-04-2019, 08:21 PM
Freo by heaps

True story!

It was pick 19. Do I win a prize?

26-04-2019, 08:28 PM
It was pick 19. Do I win a prize?

What was the reaction to this at the time? I was too young to properly contextualise how good Koops was and if this was fair value.

26-04-2019, 08:28 PM
This could get ugly. I have zero confidence that we can manufacture any sort of score that could be enough to win a game of footy atm.

Freo by 49
First goal for us - McLean
BOG - Daniel

26-04-2019, 08:54 PM
He might not have played a lot of footy but he did please a lot of supporters by asking for Michael MacLean's #51.

I was bullish on Koopsy in no small part for that reason. We don't have enough indigenous players in our back catalogue.

11 games of Koops though for 300 games of Mundy?

Thanks Rhoda.

26-04-2019, 08:58 PM
What was the reaction to this at the time? I was too young to properly contextualise how good Koops was and if this was fair value.

It was sort of swept under the carpet by the fact that we gave up a pick of any description for Peter Street who was going to be delisted by Geelong anyway.

26-04-2019, 10:09 PM

He had been dropped to the WAFL the season before and the price was ridiculous. Played only 13 AFL games for Freo in 2003 and averaged 7.6 disposals. 2003 was a weak draft though.

26-04-2019, 10:54 PM
With the Nathan Brown Draft picks, and for once we had managed to get fair market value, we were sort of drunk with picks and just went mad. It was like the picks we had didn't count or something.

27-04-2019, 12:57 PM
Dockers by 103 points

First Goal The Bont

BOG Hunter

103 points huh? love the optimism donuts.

27-04-2019, 01:02 PM
Hopefully you enjoy the night.

Yes MJP, may i suggest taking along a sudoka book. Hours of fun.

27-04-2019, 01:05 PM
dogs by 3

Libba to score the first

3 votes to Bont

27-04-2019, 01:37 PM
2003 was a weak draft though.

It can't have been that weak. Pick 19 has played 300 games which is bloody amazing given the amount of travel he has had to do.

Ben Hudson was still there at pick 58. Michael Johnson, Jake Surjan and Josh Mahoney all fell through to the PSD.
Aaron Davey, Nathan Lovett-Murray, Andrew Carazzo, Brett Jones, Paul Duffield, Jaymie Graham and Andrew Lovett all went as rookies.

Every year there is a tonne of talent. It is just whether or not the right player lands at the right club.

27-04-2019, 01:42 PM
Ben Hudson was still there at pick 58.

I've always wanted to quote myself. Just digest that for a second. Hudson was there at pick 58. But we gave up pick 20 to get Peter Street from Geelong.

27-04-2019, 02:09 PM
It can't have been that weak. Pick 19 has played 300 games which is bloody amazing given the amount of travel he has had to do.

Ben Hudson was still there at pick 58. Michael Johnson, Jake Surjan and Josh Mahoney all fell through to the PSD.
Aaron Davey, Nathan Lovett-Murray, Andrew Carazzo, Brett Jones, Paul Duffield, Jaymie Graham and Andrew Lovett all went as rookies.

Every year there is a tonne of talent. It is just whether or not the right player lands at the right club.

Yep, the Rookie and Preseason drafts were decent but the National was overall ordinary and possibly the worst this century.

We had the chance to pick all the guys you mention but decided to go for Thompson at 50 in the National and Condos at 1 in the Rookie and both failed to even get a senior game between them.

27-04-2019, 02:36 PM

or the recruiters don't know how to pick out the right talent

27-04-2019, 03:35 PM
Dogs by 14 (optimistic but feel that they have something to prove tonight and will be up for the challenge)
First goal - Gowers
BOG - Bont

27-04-2019, 04:44 PM
Couple of questions. Will Naughton play back? Where does Trengove play when he is not in the ruck? Bevo did say he wants to shore up the defence this week and Fremantle's forward line looks as dangerous as it has been in a long long time.

I'm scared about the result in this one with Hayes, Dukley and potentially Trengove to play forward its hard to see us scoring over 70 points.

Walters BOG lock it in

27-04-2019, 06:11 PM
Couple of questions. Will Naughton play back? Where does Trengove play when he is not in the ruck? Bevo did say he wants to shore up the defence this week and Fremantle's forward line looks as dangerous as it has been in a long long time.

I'm scared about the result in this one with Hayes, Dukley and potentially Trengove to play forward its hard to see us scoring over 70 points.

Walters BOG lock it in

And Fyfe a given to get 30+

Honestly, we will be VERY lucky to score 8 goals.

27-04-2019, 06:30 PM
Why am I so jittery tonight then? Is there an upset in the air?

I've been thinking more and more that Josh Schache just needs to play in this team.

27-04-2019, 06:53 PM
And Fyfe a given to get 30+

Honestly, we will be VERY lucky to score 8 goals.

1 more goal than last week. 👍
That will be something Ashley Hansen can highlight in the match review.

27-04-2019, 07:45 PM
Doggies jumper and scarf on at home. Cmon Dogs!

27-04-2019, 08:02 PM
Midfield to bounce back, Dogs by 20.
First Goal- Hayes (just the good vibes we could do with to kick us off)
BOG- Bont

27-04-2019, 09:02 PM
I am crapping myself and praying that we fight.

The last thing I want is the sympathy of 30k Dockers members.

27-04-2019, 09:06 PM
Freo by 62.
First goal Gowers
BOG Macrae

27-04-2019, 09:15 PM
I am crapping myself and praying that we fight.

The last thing I want is the sympathy of 30k Dockers members.

Got the guernsey on?

27-04-2019, 09:15 PM
Umps are on fire for them so far

27-04-2019, 09:20 PM
Umps are on fire for them so far

For sure

27-04-2019, 09:23 PM
Same ol f50 woes

So far not bad

Good chase by Hunter. Did a shoulder?

Same ol f50 woes

Yes we just have to convert our chances. We get it up there enough times.

27-04-2019, 09:24 PM
We are in for a hiding here , just holding up the flood gates

27-04-2019, 09:26 PM
Things can turn

27-04-2019, 09:29 PM
Goal Assist Liberatore.

27-04-2019, 09:29 PM
Gifted them a goal. What a bad tap down there.

27-04-2019, 09:30 PM
Here we go again can’t find a target inside 50 then let them rebound for easy goals out the back.
Seriously over this every bloody week !

27-04-2019, 09:31 PM
Billy Gowers so poor with his hands

27-04-2019, 09:32 PM
Be tough being a forward in this system. We rarely kick to our forwards advantage. Not sure why.

27-04-2019, 09:33 PM
Billy recovered onto Bailey Goal!

Great goal by Smith, just what we needed

Running goals from 50 looks our best avenue right now.

Good man.

Good stuff Bailey!
Boy we needed to get some reward for inside 50s

27-04-2019, 09:34 PM
Jacko ! There goes some more of my non grey hairs.

27-04-2019, 09:35 PM
Got to defend Dogs!

27-04-2019, 09:35 PM
Let’s leave blokes in the middle on their own so they can split us open .

27-04-2019, 09:36 PM
We need to get the likes of JJ, Smith and Richards running and carrying the ball.

27-04-2019, 09:36 PM
Bailey Smith reminds me so much of a young Brad Johnson.

Easton Wood should retire.

27-04-2019, 09:37 PM
Lets see if Hunter czn nail this easy shot.....yes

27-04-2019, 09:37 PM
Lachie converts

27-04-2019, 09:38 PM
Did Libba just cost us that free? Bloody hell

Jacko having a mare.

Get it back Dogs!

Bit costly there Libba. Not sure we need the faux tough guy stuff.

27-04-2019, 09:39 PM
Jacko having a mare.

Just about to make same comment.

27-04-2019, 09:41 PM
Oh yeah leave Fyfe on his own 30 metres clear.
What the hell is going on ?

27-04-2019, 09:42 PM
Bit costly there Libba. Not sure we need the faux tough guy stuff.

Take it back, Walters shameful faking.

27-04-2019, 09:43 PM
65% disposal efficiency. We are not up to park footy level skill wise.
I just hate watching us play.

27-04-2019, 09:43 PM
Trengove is a plus I must say but my god we pinpoint the opposition in our forward line.

27-04-2019, 09:44 PM
Can someone please take a contested mark inside 50?

27-04-2019, 09:44 PM
Why was the retaliation by Walters ok? Should have been a 1-1 draw and get on with it.

27-04-2019, 09:45 PM
Pleased with the effort. Just our skills letting us down ( as normal).

Billy Gowers in particular needs to mark them. Not good enough if you can’t do that as a forward to give us a chance to score.

I question North Melbourne’s game plan and where they are going, we are the same.

Beveridges message at qtr time should be “if you’re running toward goal and cross the 50, then shoot for goal coz we can’t take a mark to save ourselves”.

We are so unskilled and boring to watch.

27-04-2019, 09:47 PM

Easier said than done particularly when we have a makeshift CHF and young FF who is being outmuscled

A few have pointed out Macrae’s turnovers - how bad was Lloyd’s kick to Naughton?

Gee we’re ordinary at times

Beveridges message at qtr time should be “if you’re running toward goal and cross the 50, then shoot for goal coz we can’t take a mark to save ourselves”.

To be fair to the forwards very few balls inside 50 have given them much chance.

Our disposal is dismal. Macrae, Lloyd major culprits but have plenty of mates. Turnovers just KILL us.

27-04-2019, 09:48 PM
Oh for some composure. JJ should have charged towards goal, Jacko should have taken a shot..we are frustrating

27-04-2019, 09:49 PM
As Easty pointed out, Gowers needs to hold some marks. Just have to get someone marking the ball in the forward 50

27-04-2019, 09:50 PM
Thank god we have our gun full back in Hunter.

27-04-2019, 09:51 PM
As Easty pointed out, Gowers needs to hold some marks. Just have to get someone marking the ball in the forward 50

Naughton has had chances and fumbled.

Not much working yet. We aren't out of it...

As I say that, we stuff another chance.

27-04-2019, 09:51 PM
That was a missed opportunity. Fremantle are pretty classy and we need to make the most of our chances when we get them.

27-04-2019, 09:52 PM
I mean just woeful. Comical if it wasnt us.

27-04-2019, 09:52 PM
Naughton’s hands tonight are unusually horrible

27-04-2019, 09:53 PM
We have the skills of a good VFL team.

How many basic school boy hand balls can me miss?

Good to see we've taught Richards how to kick a set shot

27-04-2019, 09:54 PM
I mean shocking handpass, but Lachie Young just does not look up for this level on evidence thus far

Great goal Hayes

Nice trick Hayes. Nice trick.

Hayes Goals! We are up for it tonight so far even though our skills are poor.

I mean shocking handpass, but Lachie Young just does not look up for this level on evidence thus far

Should not be playing infront of Williams.

27-04-2019, 09:55 PM
Tidy goal made from messy build up

27-04-2019, 09:55 PM
Naughton redeems himself a little. Hayes awesome

27-04-2019, 09:56 PM
FfS JJ. Honestly.

Has Easton Wood forgotten how to mark the ball?

JJ - what are you doing?

27-04-2019, 09:57 PM
Thats a shame that Hogan gets an easy mark in the F50. Just as well he missed it.

27-04-2019, 09:58 PM
Great finish Wally.
Much better so far. Finally getting some scoreboard reward.

That's why Eallis should be forward, and Dunkley/McLean in the mid.

Great set shot Mitch

Within 40m .... Wallis is almost automatic

27-04-2019, 09:59 PM
Anyone want to knock Mitch? Great kick.

27-04-2019, 10:00 PM
Well done Wallis. I know he has some people question hus ability but he seems a decent forward option for us

27-04-2019, 10:00 PM
Wait are we equal? How did that happen?

27-04-2019, 10:01 PM
Wait are we equal? How did that happen?

In front :D

27-04-2019, 10:02 PM
Dumb footy, now an easy shot.

27-04-2019, 10:03 PM
Hunter is our reigning B&F. :eek:

27-04-2019, 10:04 PM
We are doing a good job of keeping them in the game by putting ourselves under pressure till we make a mistakes

Why did Caleb play on? Stupid kick from Hunter. Play safer!!!!

Hunter’s ego is out of control. The kicks he tries to execute under pressure are ridiculous for someone with his lack of skill.

27-04-2019, 10:05 PM
Jacko has kicked over the head of every player he was trying to hit.

Is a reverse pain killer wobbly leg a thing?

27-04-2019, 10:06 PM
Macrae again!

Dicko has turned into a witches hat. Out-positoned, falls over and has lost a yard of pace. Just not dangerous anymore.

We are doing ok great intensity, it's just so much effort per goal I really feel for the guys they're working so hard. Freo don't like it too hard.
Well done Billy !

Gowers!

When we compete we can score. Amazing

27-04-2019, 10:07 PM
Macrae's kicking has been abysmal today

27-04-2019, 10:07 PM
Gowers redeems himself! Good work. He's deadly from inside the square.

27-04-2019, 10:09 PM
JJ that was terrible

Take as long as you like JJ.

You liability. For god sake.

JJ is stinking it up

JJ... 2 awful, careless & costly turnovers.

Costly error by JJ and then coughed up a free kick.

JJ .... every week. Momentum killers.

27-04-2019, 10:10 PM
**** we play some dumb footy.

Dive on it JJ, you muppet.

JJ - what are you doing? Costly

27-04-2019, 10:11 PM
**** we play some dumb footy.

JJ plays some spectacularly dumb footy.

If the Boyd/Schache rule applies, Naughton is getting dropped.

Naughton, Hamling has him rattled. Dropping sitters now

Naughton back go small ffs Hamling is killing him.

27-04-2019, 10:12 PM
Naughty not getting a good go of it. He should be holding that sort of mark

27-04-2019, 10:12 PM
If the Boyd/Schache rule applies, Naughton is getting dropped.

Two wrongs don't make a right. Back the kid in.

27-04-2019, 10:13 PM
Why can't our forwards catch the ball

Naughton is having a nightmare. We are lucky they keep hitting the post.

Two wrongs don't make a right. Back the kid in.
That's fine just back Schache in too

27-04-2019, 10:14 PM
Hunter literally can not hit a target by foot at least half the time. Macrae not much better.

Great forward pressure. Lloyd has to slot this

That’s better. Some pressure in our forward 50m. Rather than let them walk it out.

Nice one Lloyd

There's good signs from JJ I get the angst but to me I'm seeing some of the old JJ....just needs to sharpen a bit I've got faith in him. But I get the frustration he is well paid.

That's fine just back Schache in too

I agree.

27-04-2019, 10:15 PM
Kick the goal Lloydy! YES!! McLean has given us a lift.

27-04-2019, 10:15 PM
That’s no prior for Easton?

27-04-2019, 10:16 PM
You sort of get the impression that our best is pretty competitive. We just seem to have to work a bit harder for goals than they do.

27-04-2019, 10:16 PM
If JJ doesn't have a ripper in the 2nd half, he's gotta have a spell.

27-04-2019, 10:17 PM
JJ refusing to give a second effort at the missed snap.

If he's unfit, don't ****ing play him. He can't do much worse anyway.

JJ's running in circles.

You sort of get the impression that our best is pretty competitive. We just seem to have to work a bit harder for goals than they do.

Our best is great, it's just that its usually interspersed with some of the worst in the league.

27-04-2019, 10:18 PM
I think the fact that Hunter and Macrae are our biggest accumulators has a lot to do with our scoring issues.

27-04-2019, 10:19 PM
Thought Ed Richards was held onto badly from that last clearance - can’t understand how that doesn’t get paid

Our best is great, it's just that its usually interspersed with some of the worst in the league.

We just lack consistency which leads to basic skill errors. Can’t fault our effort.

You need another Tall in the forward line you cant have a 19 year old taking the best defender every week. Schache should be playing in this team.

Macrae is good by hand he just needs to play to his strengths and stop kicking the ball

Honestly, in the last minute Richards was held, they they dropped the ball - play on - and then Wood gets pinged for dropping the ball when he had not gained control over it. Poor umpiring. We are in this game if we keep the foot down and take our chances

27-04-2019, 10:20 PM
If we keep playing like this and lose I'm satisfied. Big improvement from the past 2 weeks in effort across the board

27-04-2019, 10:20 PM
Gee we can be hard on our players. Naughton is 19 a 2nd year player and is on a bloody good defender. He will stink it up on occasions. No reason to drop him.

27-04-2019, 10:21 PM
I think the fact that Hunter and Macrae are our biggest accumulators has a lot to do with our scoring issues.

Absolutely, their “smart arsed” kicking tears my hair out. They think they are better kicks than what they are. I just wish they would “kick” the ball instead of this cutesy arty farty BS they normally deliver. Yes they get the ball but gee the majority of their disposal is utter rubbish.

Thought Ed Richards was held onto badly from that last clearance - can’t understand how that doesn’t get paid

Absolutely. As if often the case in WA or Adelaide games, the rub of the green invariably rubs harder the way of the home side in critical situations.

Is it me being biased or a we getting crucified by the umps but not getting the same ones in return. I’ve never been so frustrated watching a game for a long time. Lucky Freo are keeping us in it. Surely we can pick this up a bit

The million dollar question. The endeavour and intensity is back this week. Where was it last week? What the hell happened?

Skills are still consistently bad:)

True, but to be fair they are the hardest running players and fatigue is probably hindering them. Especially Hunter, he has worked his arse off.

27-04-2019, 10:22 PM
If we keep playing like this and lose I'm satisfied. Big improvement from the past 2 weeks in effort across the board

Absolutely. Just wish we could do this on a consistent basis

27-04-2019, 10:22 PM
Good 1st half effort. Tim English will be a quality player. Mitch Wallis been a forward thread. Hunter got a lot of it. Not Jacks best game.

27-04-2019, 10:23 PM
True, but to be fair they are the hardest running players and fatigue is probably hindering them. Especially Hunter, he has worked his arse off.

Hunter has been excellent. His work rate has been incredible.

If Libba, Wood, Naughton and Dickson can lift it will certainly improve things for us.

What a difference it makes when you have dunks and McLean playing mids..

We just have to take all our chances with set shots (if we can get them).

English has been very good tonight.

Good half of football, we have taken it right up to this mob. With some better delivery we could have been up by alot.

Need The Bont to lift

I respect you Lachie Hunter - clearly BOG to half time with a bung shoulder that he's put on the line more than once tonight.

Gee we can be hard on our players. Naughton is 19 a 2nd year player and is on a bloody good defender. He will stink it up on occasions. No reason to drop him.

I didn't actually say that. It was a barb at selectors who drop a young KPP because he's inconsistent. I.e. The Boyd/Schache rule.

27-04-2019, 10:24 PM
Macrae is good by hand he just needs to play to his strengths and stop kicking the ball

His kicking the last year or so had been excellent, but we’ve managed to turn Ed Richards into a shit kick so not surprised Jacko has taken a step back.

I just cannot believe we are only a point I arrears.

His work rate is always good. His disposal by foot has been atrocious as usual. Net gain is probably only slightly in our favour.

If Libba, Wood, Naughton and Dickson can lift it will certainly improve things for us.

Dickson only 4 touches, really must lift. Naughton must hold those marks

27-04-2019, 10:25 PM

His ball use has been pretty ordinary though (and I’m a huge Hunter defender).
Loving English’s game. Naughton looks like he’s lost his confidence.

27-04-2019, 10:26 PM
I didn't actually say that. It was a barb at selectors who drop a young KPP because he's inconsistent. I.e. The Boyd/Schache rule.

Difference is Naughton is at least making a contest compared to Schache’s last game. BTW wasn’t having a potshot.

27-04-2019, 10:26 PM
What is JJ’s issue? Is it the white shorts or is he overweight? He has no confidence whatsoever.

If only we could eliminate those terrible errors, we are right in this.

27-04-2019, 10:27 PM
Pleading for a positive 2nd half. Please. Please.

Jack Macrae going at 53% disposal, JJ and Hunter at 66 and 68% respectively.
Bailey Smith going at 100%, Toby at 90%

Caleb Daniel looking good, Tim English having a real impact around the ground and in the ruck.
I thought Wood has looked better, killing some high balls, and Cordy too, and Crozier ultra reliable. Mitch & Lloyd's finishing was a big boost to the guys confidence no doubt.

I respect you Lachie Hunter - clearly BOG to half time with a bung shoulder that he's put on the line more than once tonight.

He is just so bloody frustrating! No footballer has ever driven me as bonkers as Lachie Hunter, but on balance, he’s been good and tough today.

27-04-2019, 10:28 PM

Same here, keeping the scoreboard ticking over is vital

Schache was extremely poor in his last two games. 9 disposals and FOUR, it was a weak effort and deserves to be dropped.

How are we looking from a “live” perspective MJP?

27-04-2019, 10:29 PM
Freo hear footsteps. They don't exactly seem keen to go when its their turn to go or pop their head over the loose ball.

27-04-2019, 10:30 PM
Good to see them wheeling out Easton’s brother again.....

Would love to see Bont have an influential 2nd half. He's really working hard, doing some grunt stuff, but would really love to see him impose himself ala a Fyfe.
I feel we need him to impose, and for Macrae to lift his ball use for us to have a chance. And for JJ to show some care, and sharpness.

Jack Macrae going at 53% disposal, JJ and Hunter at 66 and 68% respectively.
Bailey Smith going at 100%, Toby at 90%

Caleb Daniel looking good, Tim English having a real impact around the ground and in the ruck.
I thought Wood has looked better, killing some high balls, and Cordy too, and Crozier ultra reliable. Mitch & Lloyd's finishing was a big boost to the guys confidence no doubt.

Agree - The backline guys you mentioned are just going the punch and Daniel is mopping up. That is what should be happening.

Mclean's field kicking is atrocious at times - he seems to skye the ball.

27-04-2019, 10:31 PM
Freo hear footsteps. They don't exactly seem keen to go when its their turn to go or pop their head over the loose ball.

Yeah I noticed that too a couple of times.

Schache was extremely poor in his last two games. 9 disposals and FOUR, it was a weak effort and deserves to be dropped.

If that's the test, Naughton had a quite game last week and has been poor. Does he get dropped if he has a quiet second half?

Personally, I'd support them and back them to turn around. It's the positive thing to do.

Geez bont gets caught with the ball a lot.

JJ looks like he couldn’t make a decision to save himself.

Good to see them wheeling out Easton’s brother again.....

What does he do??.....

27-04-2019, 10:32 PM
What does he do??.....

He's in the army. Serving in Iraq at the moment.

If that's the test, Naughton had a quite game last week and has been poor. Does he get dropped if he has a quiet second half?

Personally, I'd support them and back them to turn around. It's the positive thing to do.

The difference is the effort, and Naughton shows alot of it.

Who’s this Len Hall bloke?

It should be the Brad Wira Cup.

How are we rating Hayes and Young ?

27-04-2019, 10:33 PM
Well done guys, you just gotta love the effort.

Something special for Naughton would be helpful too.
And just bloody something from Dickson.

This is a game we really need to win. I hope the players seize the opportunity and run with it. We maintain the intensity, we stop turning it over - we WIN.

27-04-2019, 10:34 PM
Libba has not laid a tackle so far for the game. He just has to lift for us

Wood hasn't done much again

27-04-2019, 10:35 PM

Hayes has surprised me. Looked sharp by foot, and his goal was exactly what we needed at the time. He's done nothing wrong.
I can see Young has some nice attributes, but I think he needs to spend the season developing, because he just looks shaky. I see him as an even shakier version of Roarke Smith right now.

27-04-2019, 10:36 PM
The difference is the effort, and Naughton shows alot of it.

But no goals is no goals, right. One doesn't score but with more gruff?

My point is simple. Back all the KPPs. They're going to be inconsistent. We should all be positive and patient with them all.

I think you need to look at the spoils from behind

Wood has had 6 1percenters. I think he's done his role well.
Libba yes, he has to lay some tackles.

27-04-2019, 10:38 PM

I'd like them both to have a lot better 2nd half of the game they have already have

27-04-2019, 10:38 PM
What does he do??.....

Chose a career in the armed forces

27-04-2019, 10:40 PM
Thank goodness he missed. Some keystone cops errors from Crozier and then English.

27-04-2019, 10:41 PM
Chose a career in the armed forces

You don't say. Is this a new career change?

27-04-2019, 10:42 PM
Our best transition all game.
Cmon Dicko finish it.

27-04-2019, 10:43 PM
Wood I think has been ok tonight. Great punch in the backline before straight to Bailey Smith.

27-04-2019, 10:43 PM
So little pace in our forward half.

27-04-2019, 10:44 PM
Please football god, I know we don't talk as much as we used to. You know I don't ask for much. But I promise if you see your way to give this young team a victory tonight I promise to do whatever humans do with football god. Forever yours, Bulldogtragic.

27-04-2019, 10:44 PM
English excellent. Great stuff!

27-04-2019, 10:45 PM
Tim English. 4th intercept mark! Saved a certain goal.
Big game.

27-04-2019, 10:46 PM
Dead eye Dicko

Cmon boys!

Dicko!!!!!!!!!

TORY!
That is a moment, right there. English saves a shot on goal with a great intercept mark, and we march it downfield and Dick wobbles one through from beyond his reliable range.

27-04-2019, 10:47 PM
Hasn't it kicked it that far in 3 years

27-04-2019, 10:49 PM
How many cheap turn overs for goals!!!!

27-04-2019, 10:50 PM
We do all the hard yards, one turnover and they run it down and kick a goal uncontested. Bloody hell.

27-04-2019, 10:50 PM
And again done on the rebound with an easy run goal, have we actually got one of those this year in any game ?

27-04-2019, 10:51 PM
And again done on the rebound with an easy run goal, have we actually got one of those this year in any game ?

Good question ledge. You are so right on that.

27-04-2019, 10:53 PM
Crozier free???

27-04-2019, 10:54 PM
Really poor few minutes. Need to regroup quickly.

Football god, where are you?

Here comes the flood gates.

27-04-2019, 10:55 PM
Getting drunk FYI

This umpiring is downright suss. That went nowhere near 15 metres.

Crozier free???

I thought so initially, but on replay it wasn't in the back, and if he did grab him, it was slight, and very hard for umpire to see it.

27-04-2019, 10:57 PM
This game is ****ing bullshit. It's like a beautiful movies where the star wins for the home team

27-04-2019, 10:57 PM
Wood I think has been ok tonight. Great punch in the backline before straight to Bailey Smith.

Need to mark it surely punching it back into the middle of the ground its absolutely lucky dip. Just cost us a goal