View Full Version : WB Game Day V Brisbane Lions R8 2019

09-05-2019, 08:47 PM
Margin: Dogs by 15 points

First Goal: Libba

Best On Ground: Macrae

Will be staying home to watch this one but for woofers going to Ballarat stay warm and cheer loudly.

Go Bulldogs!!

09-05-2019, 09:01 PM
Draw
BOG Macrae
FG Hunter

09-05-2019, 09:12 PM
https://m.afl.com.au/news/2019-05-07/match-preview-western-bulldogs-v-brisbane

Match preview: Western Bulldogs v Brisbane
Paul Bastin
May 7, 2019 8:19PM
h

Pick a Winner: WB v BL
Duck and Browny preview the Bulldogs v Lions
Where and when: Mars Stadium, Saturday, May 11, 1.45pm

Last time they met: Marvel Stadium, round eight, 2018: Western Bulldogs 16.11 (107) defeated Brisbane 14.9 (93)

The Bulldogs won their third straight game and kept the Lions winless for the season, but not without a scare as the visitors charged to within seven points in the final term. Stars Marcus Bontempelli and Dayne Zorko kicked four goals each and Jack Macrae amassed a whopping 47 disposals.

TV, radio and online: Click here for broadcast guide

What it means for the Western Bulldogs: An impressive win against Richmond has the Dogs 3-4 and in the hunt. Squaring the ledger to keep the top eight within arm's reach is vital.

What it means for Brisbane: Week after week, the Lions are proving to be a legitimate top-four hopeful. They ended a decade of defeats against Sydney but finding their best in Ballarat, with different conditions to Queensland and at a ground they've never played before, is a new challenge.

How the Western Bulldogs win: Another Aaron Naughton five-goal domination wouldn't hurt. The Bulldogs' spread, link-up play and pressure on the ball carrier overwhelmed the Tigers. They'll aim to reproduce that level.

How Brisbane wins: Quick and direct. Chris Fagan's side is second for clearances and third for inside 50s, highlighted by 77 entries against the Swans - six short of the record set by Melbourne in round eight, 2018. That much ball coming at you is a tough ask for any opposition defence to cope with.

The stat: Western Bulldogs have won five of the past six games against Brisbane.

The match-up: Eric Hipwood v Jackson Trengove

Hard to imagine Jackson Trengove (293rd overall in the Official AFL Player Ratings) couldn't break into the Bulldogs' team until round six. The defensive unit has looked more resolute with his presence and he completely blanketed Richmond forward Tom Lynch. Athletic tall Eric Hipwood (366th overall) is likely his next assignment.

Charlie Cameron will need to have an influence for the Lions to win. Picture: AFL Photos
103BrPA19CH253485592.JPG

It's a big week for: Charlie Cameron (Brisbane)

He is the Lions' barometer. The dynamic forward has been kept goalless twice this season, and both games ended in losses. If he fires, Brisbane is a big step towards a successful interstate trip.

Big call: Charlie does fire with five-plus goals.

Prediction: Brisbane by 18 points

09-05-2019, 10:13 PM
Dogs by 27

First Goal: Lloyd

BOG: Macrae

10-05-2019, 12:16 AM
Who knows what Doggies team will show up? I don't.

Factor in the odd location, the frigid elements and a Brissy team that plays a style I think might give us trouble and it's impossible to pick this one.

Them by a kick
First major : Lloyd
BOG : Bontissimo

10-05-2019, 09:10 AM
Dogs 8 points
First goal: mclean
BOG: Bont

10-05-2019, 12:38 PM
Dogs by 3 pts
Lloyd
Macrae

10-05-2019, 03:15 PM
https://m.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2019-05-10/four-things-to-watch-bulldogs-v-lions

Four things to watch: Bulldogs v Lions
May 10, 2019 11:11AM

1. Aaron Naughton

Nicknames like Astro-Naught (maybe that was us…) and Air Naughton have been thrown around in the media this week.
There’s no surprise that emerging forward Aaron Naughton has been the centre of attention, after a stellar five-goal haul against Richmond.
Can he pull off the extraordinary again this weekend?
The 19-year-old will be out to play his role as the Bulldogs’ chase their fourth win of the year.
Lions’ vice-captain Harris Andrews makes his return from injury, and is the likely match-up for Naughton.

SKY THE LIMIT FOR NAUGHTON: WOOD

2. Macrae v Neale

Star duo Jack Macrae and Lachie Neale are among the best accumulators of the Sherrin in the AFL.
Macrae is averaging just shy of 32 disposals per match in 2019, and Neale almost 34 disposals.
Both are pivotal players in the scheme of this contest.
The midfield battle is always important, and perhaps this week it will be even more so, if Ballarat’s typically blustery conditions are on show.
One stat to keep up your sleeve is Macrae loves the ‘Rat. He’s racked up 41, 40 and 36 disposals in the Bulldogs’ three games there – and five Brownlow votes.

3. Dangerous Lions

A potent forward line awaits the Bulldogs’ back six this weekend.
Only GWS Giants (684) and Geelong (675) have hit the scoreboard more than the Lions (656) in 2019.
And the load has been shared by a mobile Lions’ attack which can cause headaches in the air or at ground level.
Big man Eric Hipwood leads the Lions’ goal-kicking tally, while in the likes of Charlie Cameron, Cam Rayner, Lincoln McCarthy and Dayne Zorko – when he pushes forward – there are a handful of dangerous options around goal.

EXPERIENCED DOG RETURNS FOR MISSION ON MARS

4. Long sleeves v short sleeves
It’s a debate we expect many players – Dogs and Lions – will be having for Saturday afternoon.
The surface on Mars is impeccable. Our skipper says it’s ‘absolutely pristine’.
But it’s going to be cold in Ballarat, a chilly 13-degree day forecast with a few showers passing through.
It’s 25 degrees in Brisbane today, so our visitors are in for a treat.
To all our Bulldog fans heading along, pack a jacket, or a blanket. You won’t want to miss it!

10-05-2019, 03:47 PM
Dogs by 10.
First goal Bont.
BOG Dunkley.

10-05-2019, 03:50 PM
Dogs 11 points
First goal: Gowers
BOG: Macrae

10-05-2019, 05:11 PM
Lions by 11
1st goal - gowers
Bog - Macrae

10-05-2019, 09:04 PM
Dogs by 17 points

1st Goal Wallis

BOG Libba

10-05-2019, 10:05 PM
Lions by 11
1st goal - gowers
Bog - Macrae

We're close DG. Just different winners.

10-05-2019, 10:31 PM
WB by 13
First Goal Lloyd
BOG Bont

10-05-2019, 11:00 PM
Dogs by 35
First goal: Gowers
BOG: English

11-05-2019, 01:50 AM
Put it in the book, we got this!

Dogs by 21
First goal - Suckling
BOG - Libba

11-05-2019, 02:10 AM
This is a big one. Brisbane fourth, us eleventh yet we're favourites. Can we be consistently good? Will Naughton be able to perform again; will we overrun Brisbane?
Dogs by 27 pts.
First goal: Liberatore
BOG: Liberatore

11-05-2019, 11:27 AM
A lot of supporters from both sides have boarded the train. I bumped into Woof member Josie who is looking forward to the game.
I'm tipping this should be a tight contest.
Dogs by 9 points
Macrae BOG
Bontempelli first goal

11-05-2019, 12:55 PM
WB Cheer Squad
‏@WBCheerSquad
2h2 hours ago
More
Cold and Wet in Ballarat!
Never fear the Cheer Squad has you covered!
Rain coat quality ponchos for sale $30 each!
They will last for years! Come see your cheer squad to purchase one! Extremely good quality!

11-05-2019, 01:11 PM
Ground looks in good enough condition and I'm hoping for a win today.
Who gets Rayner today?

Twice Bitten
11-05-2019, 01:14 PM
Performance in cold and maybe wet conditions a bit unknown for both teams.
Dogs by 8
First goal - Gowers
BOG - Libba

11-05-2019, 01:22 PM
English out Roberts in

11-05-2019, 01:26 PM
English out Roberts in

Nooooooooooo!!

I mean yaaaaay congrats on your 50th Fletch. I wonder if the banner's one they prepared earlier.

So now the dominoes fall. Trengove to ruck. Roberts to full back. Hipwood to run amok.

I'm changing my tip from Brissy by a kick to Brissy by 5 goals.

11-05-2019, 01:32 PM
English out Roberts in

Pretty surprised that the replacement wasn’t Lewis Young (with the extra flexibility of being able to switch Trengove and Young between ruck and the backline depending on how things are panning out).

11-05-2019, 01:57 PM
Dogs 2 points
Best Suckling
FG Naughton

11-05-2019, 01:58 PM
Hmm. It's a length of rope they've given themselves. We will know what's been done with it in 4 hours.

11-05-2019, 02:22 PM
Dogs by a goal
BOG Bont
First Goal Naughton

11-05-2019, 02:37 PM
Dogs by 13 points
BOG Macrae
1st goal: Gowers

11-05-2019, 02:37 PM
Healy couldn’t contain himself .. “the astronaught has landed on mars”

11-05-2019, 02:47 PM
Stick it up em dogs!

11-05-2019, 02:47 PM
Is that the first time this year we have got the first goal?

11-05-2019, 02:56 PM
Lions playing the more composed and smarter game thus far.

11-05-2019, 02:56 PM
Looking a bit flat footed through the middle when we don't have it, need more hunger.

11-05-2019, 02:59 PM
I have liked Woods game. Hasn’t been too bad lately.

11-05-2019, 03:01 PM
Great goal Ed Richards!

2 goals

11-05-2019, 03:02 PM
JJ been busy

11-05-2019, 03:07 PM
Big advantage that the Lions are a rotation down this early. We should have the legs late

11-05-2019, 03:08 PM
Some pretty slack transition kicks that're just coming straight back over the kicker's head.

When will we learn.

11-05-2019, 03:10 PM
They’re doing us around the ball...

11-05-2019, 03:12 PM
Need to make this more of a contested grind. They're absolutely ruining us on the outside. Too slick and clean.

11-05-2019, 03:12 PM
Well done Zaine

11-05-2019, 03:14 PM
Great goals by Lloyd and Richards.

11-05-2019, 03:15 PM
We are fortunate to be 2 points down. Brisbane playing smarter and the conditions seem to suit them better.

11-05-2019, 03:16 PM
Blokes slipping over too

11-05-2019, 03:17 PM
McCluggage has been so clean below his knees, at full pace too.
Can't believe McStay outpaced Cordy in a foot race. Not helped by Crozier unable to keep his feet.

11-05-2019, 03:18 PM
We are fortunate to be 2 points down. Brisbane playing smarter and the conditions seem to suit them better.

Aye. Hopefully it's our ritual 'take a quarter to get going' dispensed with and we can begin dictating more of the play.

Three goals, one point, not a drop punt as yet, two checksides and a snap. We may have addressed our goal kicking issues...

Love the red time goals...

Does mcCluggage smell ?

11-05-2019, 03:19 PM
Not sure I’ve seen a team that handles any sort of adverse conditions as badly as we do.

Agree the Lions have been the better team so far but great that we are very close with them on the scoreboard which matters. Now to take on the 2nd quarter.

Three goals, one point, not a drop punt as yet, two checksides and a snap. We may have addressed our goal kicking issues...

Nearly another snap goal but for the siren. Might be on to something.

11-05-2019, 03:20 PM
Big advantage that the Lions are a rotation down this early. We should have the legs late

As long as we aren’t 5 goals down at 3 qtr time

11-05-2019, 03:20 PM
Is Gowers playing the decoy role again?

11-05-2019, 03:21 PM
Not sure I’ve seen a team that handles any sort of adverse conditions as badly as we do.

Good thing we are playing twice here for many years...

Depending on how we play the wind in the 2nd qtr, this could be over at half time.

Looks like the lions have our measure and are hungier. Going to be a long afternoon .

11-05-2019, 03:23 PM
Let's hope Bevo and the coaches can address a few of the issues we've got right now.
Another quarter of this and Brisbane will really be on top.

Our skills are poor at Marvel, god help us in any outside environment.

Geez we need a tackling coach as well as a goal kicking coach.

Is Gowers playing the decoy role again?

Getting outpointed by an old man who was cooked 3 years ago.

Whitten Oval might be better in future years for us replacing these 2 Ballarat games. We certainly have not made it a fortress.

11-05-2019, 03:28 PM
Our ability to turn a clear advantage into a turnover is almost unparalleled.

11-05-2019, 03:29 PM

Yep. Not ideal

We aren’t playing wet weather footy , where you just push it forward anyway you can.

Brissy so fluid and confident in their passages compared to our tortuous movement, even in spite of the elements.

11-05-2019, 03:33 PM
Jeezus, if we're going to bomb it inside fifty someone at least has to decide to contest it.

11-05-2019, 03:34 PM
Hayes out

My god how the **** did we do that

Hayes having a mare.

Bad fumble by Hayes

Hayes is hopeless. Not AFL standard

Hayes isn’t up to this standard.

11-05-2019, 03:35 PM
We are a bunch of hack skilled tryers. Not enough silk in our team.

Not Hayes fault. He didn’t select him to play.

Hayes isn’t up to this standard.

That was clear before we decided to burn a draft pick on him.

11-05-2019, 03:36 PM
Looks like the lions have our measure and are hungier. Going to be a long afternoon .

Yes Chef, hunger should be in our DNA, Inexcusable.

The BONT!! Needed that.

We needed that badly.

Needed that.
This looks Brisbane's to lose.

Great mark and goal by the Bont. What yips?

11-05-2019, 03:38 PM
Yes Chef, hunger should be in our DNA, Inexcusable.

Its a nonnegotiable. Hunger doesnt take any skill and everyone is capable of it.

11-05-2019, 03:38 PM
Nearly another snap goal but for the siren. Might be on to something.

Bugger, Bont goes the drop punt, hard to snap from there though.:D

11-05-2019, 03:39 PM
What the hell is Easton Wood doing?

11-05-2019, 03:39 PM
Another dumb goal given up.

11-05-2019, 03:40 PM
Wood retaliates. Nothing in it. The hit on him was way harder. Terrible call.

If the skipper can't do basic shit like not gift the opposition goals with dumb retaliation in front of the umpire maybe he shouldn't be skipper.

Another dumb goal given up.

So frustrating. Hate when we do that.

11-05-2019, 03:42 PM
That was clear before we decided to burn a draft pick on him.

He’s been the same player for 5 years, but somehow was seen as a top 35 in the the draft pool in 2018.. not sure how.

We are under so much pressure with the ball. No composure, just long bombing to nothing. Got a feeling this will get ugly in the 3rd....realistically they should be 30 points up.

Did Wood even connect?

Gowers, Daniel, Hayes, Trengrove, Crozier, Wood have been horrendous

11-05-2019, 03:43 PM
Hipwood should have 5. Is naughton on the ground ? Says a lot of our fwd 50 entries.

11-05-2019, 03:44 PM
Gowers has touched it once so far.

Naughton has touched it twice.

Forward line going beautifully.

11-05-2019, 03:44 PM
Maybe our players are thinking of how ugly next week will be haha

11-05-2019, 03:45 PM
Go Jackson. Smart from Wally.

Well done Jacko, take the responsibility.

Jack!! You beauty! Great goal!

Well done Wally & Macrae.
First smart football and composure weve shown today?

That is holding the ball!

11-05-2019, 03:46 PM
Gowers, Daniel, Hayes, Trengrove, Crozier, Wood have been horrendous

Wood started the game ok. Did a few good things very early.

11-05-2019, 03:46 PM
Great SNAP Macca.

11-05-2019, 03:47 PM
Why is Gowers always behind?

Nice tap on from Mitch for Jack’s Goal.

11-05-2019, 03:47 PM
Amazing. We transition better when we don't actually pick it up.

11-05-2019, 03:48 PM
Umpires just don't seem to care that Richards is constantly being held obto without the ball by Rich. At least 3 times thus far.

11-05-2019, 03:49 PM
Soccer along the ground gains 100m, wet weather football.

Lions have fallen asleep. For once we've capitalised.

Strewth. If there's a kick in this at half time Fagan will be bleeding.

11-05-2019, 03:52 PM
Some of the camera work is up there with Hayes composure.

11-05-2019, 03:52 PM
Harris Andrews giving Naughton a lesson.
Good learning. He ain't gonna jump on heads every week. Needs to learn how to lead, and lead again.

11-05-2019, 03:53 PM
Some of the camera work is up there with Hayes composure.

Agree. They must have some work experience kids on it

11-05-2019, 03:54 PM
Geez, we are in front ...how ?

How are we leading?

Nice fight back there as we looked in a bit of trouble... good signs.

11-05-2019, 03:55 PM
That was an incredible kick from Naughton.

How did that happen?

Wash your mouth out Chef.

Haha we are playing shit and winning. Hows this happening?

11-05-2019, 03:56 PM
Well how bout that

Nice kick Astro.

My first game on Kayo, it’s great, but I’m 45 seconds behind this forum because I replayed the first goal ��

Opposite to normal Dogs game.

Hipwood kicks that goal and we were 21 points down and looking down the barrel. Lions dominating large periods but missing shots or butchering chances. Dogs making them pay at the other end.

How did that happen?

It happened. We are in front without necessarily being the better side so far today.

11-05-2019, 03:57 PM
A couple of times ago against Brissy, didn’t Hipwood kick 5 or 6 points too?

Harris Andrews giving Naughton a lesson.
Good learning. He ain't gonna jump on heads every week. Needs to learn how to lead, and lead again.
A lot of holding and pushing

Wash your mouth out Chef.

The Lions should be kicking themselves. They've fallen asleep and let us back in.

11-05-2019, 03:59 PM
The Lions should be kicking themselves. They've fallen asleep and let us back in.

Bit slippery out there so you have to be good with your skills

11-05-2019, 04:00 PM
Lions have absolutely dominated yet we are in front. We just need more composure and FFS tackle the arms instead of the waist.

11-05-2019, 04:00 PM

I know it's great isn't it.

11-05-2019, 04:01 PM
Haha we are playing shit and winning. Hows this happening?

I just said that to a mate, we usually dominate every stat except goals.

11-05-2019, 04:03 PM
Any news on Roberts? Went off and straight to rooms

11-05-2019, 04:03 PM
Any news on Roberts? Went off and straight to rooms

Possible shoulder injury, but let’s hope just a stinger.

11-05-2019, 04:04 PM
Is Roberts done for the day? His shoulder looked stuffed.

11-05-2019, 04:04 PM
Lions have absolutely dominated yet we are in front. We just need more composure and FFS tackle the arms instead of the waist.

when you say dominated we are infront with all the stats, except they have 4 more inside 50

11-05-2019, 04:06 PM
Replay looks like he just over extended in the wrong angle, can’t see how it can be anything more than an over stretch to be honest, he wasn’t hit and even when he landed he didn’t hit it.

11-05-2019, 04:08 PM
when you say dominated we are infront with all the stats, except they have 4 more inside 50

Just checked the stats Bornadog, geez they surprise me. Watching it, it looks like they were well ahead. I noticed Tackles in fwd 50, 18-5 in their favour, but others are very even.

Obviously we are struggling to break their wall coming out of defence, where as they are bringing it out with ease. Probably helps with Rich taking majority of kick outs, where he’s getting to 50-60 out even against the wind.

11-05-2019, 04:11 PM
That's 2 shit quarters and we find ourselves in front.
We need to control the next 2 quarters and keep the scoreboard ticking over. If we get our forwards going we'll win.

11-05-2019, 04:12 PM
First 5-6 mins of this qtr will be crucial. Can’t allow them easy ones going with the breeze...I think we have to score 2 goals this qtr AT LEAST

11-05-2019, 04:13 PM
Just checked the stats Bornadog, geez they surprise me. Watching it, it looks like they were well ahead. I noticed Tackles in fwd 50, 18-5 in their favour, but others are very even.

They controlled the game for most of the first half regardless of stats. We just ended up in front!

We have had patches in both quarters but the last ten minutes was as if someone mentioned to our players that it’s wet.

11-05-2019, 04:15 PM
I know it's great isn't it.

Not yet, it'll be great if we win and shit if we dont. They've left the door open now lets charge through it.

11-05-2019, 04:17 PM
Matt Suckling's finish, Jesus Christ that was good.

11-05-2019, 04:17 PM
Naughton to Suckling Goal!

11-05-2019, 04:18 PM
Suckers! Can that be called a drop punt? His action is different.

11-05-2019, 04:20 PM
Astro Naught!

11-05-2019, 04:21 PM
Bad miss Naught

11-05-2019, 04:21 PM
Naughton working his way into the game.
Bad miss, but good to see him getting some aerial wins.

11-05-2019, 04:26 PM
We have to score while we have all the play...great pressure goal.

11-05-2019, 04:27 PM
Naughton coming into it now.

11-05-2019, 04:29 PM
All over them at the moment. Lions sleep tonight.

11-05-2019, 04:30 PM
Love your work Hayes. You belong :)

11-05-2019, 04:30 PM
13-2 inside 50’s so we have to keep scoring.

11-05-2019, 04:31 PM
Gowers and Naughton making a presence.

Hayes is hopeless. Not AFL standard

I take that back.:)

Fantastic response this quarter. Lions have fallen away greatly.

11-05-2019, 04:34 PM
Uncontested possessions at will

11-05-2019, 04:35 PM
Scrubby kick by hunter AGAIN

11-05-2019, 04:36 PM
Hunter? Dribble pass? What the?

Go long for territory!!!

11-05-2019, 04:36 PM
Get stuffed Hunter.

Same shit every week.

11-05-2019, 04:37 PM
Millionaire kick by Hunter.. just wasn’t needed.

Need to hold this margin as Brisbane are lifting.

11-05-2019, 04:43 PM
Great quarter

11-05-2019, 04:44 PM
Ripping qtr.. Go dogs!!

Well done Dunks. Never looked like missing.

Not yet, it'll be great if we win and shit if we dont. They've left the door open now lets charge through it.

We're charging.

11-05-2019, 04:45 PM
In control that quarter. Need to bring it home now. Go Dogs!

11-05-2019, 04:45 PM
Much better quarter from us. Another one of those please.

11-05-2019, 04:46 PM
We're charging.

We are through the door, just need to shut it behind us and keep them out. Great quarter.

11-05-2019, 04:46 PM
McLean struggling

11-05-2019, 04:47 PM
Dunkley 29 disposals very good game. Hasn’t been the best lately.

11-05-2019, 04:48 PM
Can’t be complacent going with the wind. Still need composure into fwd 50, and not allow easy goals from turnovers. Cmon boys

11-05-2019, 04:49 PM
Massive comeback from Naughton. More encouraging signs. Willed himself back into the game.

11-05-2019, 04:50 PM
Nice are dogs. Keep going. They are on the ropes ready for the knockout blow

11-05-2019, 04:51 PM
Loving Cordy's desperation

11-05-2019, 04:52 PM
The annoying thing about Naughton is that Lachie Hunter now feels like he has full licence to execute his high lollypops.

11-05-2019, 04:52 PM
Cordy slays three lions coming out of defence

11-05-2019, 04:53 PM
Excellent, smart running and choice of option moving the ball in that chain.

Wally finishes.

Running in waves, feels good.

11-05-2019, 04:56 PM
Yah gagging me Zaine!

11-05-2019, 04:56 PM
Didn’t need to concede that goal.

11-05-2019, 04:58 PM
I wish I didn't praise Cordy... I put the Moz on him. He's had two shockers since.

11-05-2019, 04:59 PM

And embeds his elbow in Berry’s head

11-05-2019, 05:00 PM
We need one more goal to just remove any thought the Lions might have that they're still a sneaky chance.

11-05-2019, 05:03 PM
Defensive pressure, all over the ground.

Trengrove has had a few frees.

11-05-2019, 05:03 PM
Loving the movement of our defence we seem to have got the balance in terms of how high the press is getting. One of the better halves we have played in the last few years

11-05-2019, 05:09 PM
time to put Bont into the middle

11-05-2019, 05:15 PM
How good is it having a top flight contested tall to kick long to when the need arises.

11-05-2019, 05:15 PM
NAUGHTS.

I'm still so unaccustomed to seeing a bloke in our colours pluck marks like that in that part of the ground.

Long may it continue.

11-05-2019, 05:17 PM
NAUGHTON

That would have been handy in a 2009 preliminary

11-05-2019, 05:17 PM
Yasssssss. How greats it having a gun key forward.

11-05-2019, 05:19 PM
That's poor McLean.. absolutely torched Wallis.

11-05-2019, 05:21 PM
F me Naughton will be the difference in a final one day.

11-05-2019, 05:21 PM
Mmmm #junktime

11-05-2019, 05:22 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FGl5ReYunoY

11-05-2019, 05:25 PM
Gutsy win. We looked gone half way through that second quarter. Adjusted to the conditions and torched them in that 3rd quarter and then just did enough in the last.

11-05-2019, 05:27 PM
Challenged, then responded with a gritty, disciplined win. Pleasing perseverance.

Team-leading 36 touches for Dunks. We're a tougher proposition when he's barrelling through everything in the guts.

11-05-2019, 05:31 PM
I was reasonably satisfied with what I saw today. Found a way to stay in the game when we were being beaten early and acquitted ourselves fairly well in trying conditions. Deserved to win.

11-05-2019, 05:32 PM
I thought both teams would be happy. The game turned into a bit of a slog so the rotation lost early for Brisbane meant less, but they would be happy with how they played out the game given they were two down for the last quarter.

Our boys defended their run really well from 45-50 minutes into the game. Really excellent to see us adjust to the conditions as well, I was dreading a handball fest for some reason, but glad to say it didn't eventuate even if we did overuse it from time to time.

Still plenty of improvement in us which is good, but a massive challenge for us next week at a ground we've traditionally sucked at.

11-05-2019, 05:33 PM
Really strong performance after an indifferent start. Bar the goal kicking accuracy in the 3rd that was as good a quarter as we can play.

Still carrying a few, but sets us up to have a crack at the best team so far in 2019 at their dump... $100 for the first one to run over the top of the motovated one.

11-05-2019, 05:37 PM
I thought both teams would be happy. The game turned into a bit of a slog so the rotation lost early for Brisbane meant less, but they would be happy with how they played out the game given they were two down for the last quarter.

Our boys defended their run really well from 45-50 minutes into the game. Really excellent to see us adjust to the conditions as well, I was dreading a handball fest for some reason, but glad to say it didn't eventuate even if we did overuse it from time to time.

Still plenty of improvement in us which is good, but a massive challenge for us next week at a ground we've traditionally sucked at.

Brisbane are a pretty decent team, and not far off being a good team. All in all a pretty good game and result.

11-05-2019, 05:41 PM
Great to win again. Was tough going in that first half but in the second half we got our skates on and the team lifted. Naughton great in the 2nd half.

Funke disco
11-05-2019, 05:47 PM
Good win in trying conditions. Take the 4 points and focus on beating Geelong and make it 2 in a row vs them. Lets become their bogey team

11-05-2019, 05:49 PM
How many people wrote us off at the mid way mark of the 2nd quarter?
Brisbane just refused to play direct football even in the last quarter.

11-05-2019, 05:52 PM
A classic gutsy win!

11-05-2019, 05:59 PM

I thought we were toast.

11-05-2019, 06:02 PM
Only seen the first half , but I thought we were gonners.
Hipwoods miss was critical , and Mccluggage murdered us . I thought Josh Dunkley was our only decent mid in the first half

11-05-2019, 06:19 PM
Hipwoods miss was critical , and Mccluggage murdered us . I thought Josh Dunkley was our only decent mid in the first half

McCluggage is a ripper. I think he is looking like the best player from that draft. I think Essendon missed a trick choosing McGrath over him. I can understand GWS overlooking him given the talent on their books in the midfield, but the Bombers would be a better side with McCluggage in their side.
McGrath is good but McCluggage has real game changing abilities and excellent size.

11-05-2019, 06:31 PM
I was very impressed with Caleb Daniels game today even though it was probably a quiet one for him from a possessions point of view.
He's having a great season.

11-05-2019, 06:33 PM
What'd we think of Roberts' game? Think he slipped back in pretty seamlessly and did a good job when Brisbane had dominance in the second term.

11-05-2019, 06:44 PM

We didn’t appear to be playing for the jumper, their players seemed to have a lot of separation and we weren’t playing to the conditions, the logical conclusion of that path was a loss. We would have been very happy to snatch the lead at half time and that put us in a great position to tweak our game which was executed very nicely in that 3rd qtr. I’m not sure any team can be written off in our game. They had their chance in the last qtr but we choked them out.

11-05-2019, 06:49 PM
Dunkley 29 disposals very good game. Hasn’t been the best lately.
Apart from last week when he dominated!! :)

11-05-2019, 06:59 PM

Me. I thought we'd crumble and happy to wear that egg on my face.

11-05-2019, 06:59 PM
I was very impressed with Caleb Daniels game today even though it was probably a quiet one for him from a possessions point of view.
He's having a great season.

I thought he was very poor in the first half, fumbly, and seemed more reactive than usual.
Was pivotal after that point.

11-05-2019, 07:09 PM
Is Gowers sacrificing his game for Naughton?
I curse and swear at Billy like most of us I assume but is his role to look after Aaron. Frustrating player to watch but is he helping more than hindering.

11-05-2019, 07:17 PM

36 touches from dunks. Insane. Like the way we ground that one out.

11-05-2019, 07:17 PM
The thing I hate about gowers on field is the absolute stupidity he shows when it comes to giving away free kicks. Especially those where he is one on one with an opposition player, where all he has to do is make a contest, but he’ll stupidly push them in the back before the ball is near them, or give away a free kick when the ball hits the ground with a head high lazy tackle.

11-05-2019, 07:38 PM
I curse and swear at Billy like most of us I assume but is his role to look after Aaron. Frustrating player to watch but is he helping more than hindering.

I agree, I am sure part of his role is to protect him, and he also blocks well at times...though sometimes, being billy, he can’t resist going for his own specks.

11-05-2019, 07:44 PM
Apart from last week when he dominated!! :)

Yep 35 disposals. Solid game :)

11-05-2019, 08:35 PM
Out of town and expected to read about losing after seeing the scores early so great to see another W in the books. I'm certainly no fan of playing in Ballarat but the city is right behind us and supportive so good to show them a win. My brother was there on Thursday and said there was lots of red white and blue.

11-05-2019, 09:10 PM
I've got to admit I have been spoiled over the last 12 seasons or so because I tend to sit with other Bulldog supporters for home games.
Today I was unlucky enough to have many Brisbane supporters sitting around me and oh how I had forgotten just how obnoxious they can be. There must have been 4 or 5 of them that just mouthed off all game. One of them mouthed off at both Bontempelli and Naughton's set shots and then he just had to shut up for the majority of the last quarter as the Lions simply refused to be direct towards goal even when being 3 or 4 kicks behind. He left at the 20 minute mark of the last quarter and someone asked if he wanted them to save his seat. :)

They have some good youngsters but they're still a long way off.

How bad was Hodge?

11-05-2019, 09:14 PM
I've got to admit I have been spoiled over the last 12 seasons or so because I tend to sit with other Bulldog supporters for home games.
Today I was unlucky enough to have many Brisbane supporters sitting around me and oh how I had forgotten just how obnoxious they can be. There must have been 4 or 5 of them that just mouthed off all game. One of them mouthed off at both Bontempelli and Naughton's set shots and then he just had to shut up for the majority of the last quarter as the Lions simply refused to be direct towards goal even when being 3 or 4 kicks behind. He left at the 20 minute mark of the last quarter and someone asked if he wanted them to save his seat. :)

How bad was Hodge?

Living in Brisbane for over 22 years, I stand by my comment that overall Brisbane Lions supporters are the most obnoxious, graceless & unknowledgeable supporters going around.

11-05-2019, 09:24 PM
Living in Brisbane for over 22 years, I stand by my comment that overall Brisbane Lions supporters are the most obnoxious, graceless & unknowledgeable supporters going around.

I think you have summed them up well.
A perfectly balanced supporter group, chips on each of their shoulders.

11-05-2019, 09:26 PM
I really see what Bevo sees in Young and why we bled him early and kept him in the team, kid looks like he'll at least be a handy defender along with how well his kicks come off sometimes.

11-05-2019, 10:01 PM
Would love to know the meters gained from soccers off the ground today in total

11-05-2019, 10:13 PM
I really see what Bevo sees in Young and why we bled him early and kept him in the team, kid looks like he'll at least be a handy defender along with how well his kicks come off sometimes.

He reminds me quite a bit of Zaine Cordy. Likes the contest, doesn't mind taking the game on and is totally unflappable when he makes a mistake. I think he's been good.

11-05-2019, 10:31 PM
Young is a promising player for sure it's just a question is it his time yet? I liked the positioning of our backs today thought we got the balance right but we need one of them to be able to take a mark. An intercept mark is such a weapon with our half backs but outside of Crozier we seem to like to punch the ball back into the corridor.

11-05-2019, 11:48 PM

Does alot of blocking

12-05-2019, 10:18 AM

I also think that he does create some chaos. No one can predict what Billy will do next, not he even knows.

12-05-2019, 10:22 AM
McCluggage is a ripper. I think he is looking like the best player from that draft. I think Essendon missed a trick choosing McGrath over him. I can understand GWS overlooking him given the talent on their books in the midfield, but the Bombers would be a better side with McCluggage in their side.
McGrath is good but McCluggage has real game changing abilities and excellent size.

How good is he below his knees

12-05-2019, 10:27 AM

How bad was Hodge?

Had a few in the late 90’s gobbing off at the Heatley end . Mate turned around pointing that the cemetery was over the other side of the ground! They shut up quickly

12-05-2019, 12:16 PM
Loving Cordy's desperation

And embeds his elbow in Berry’s head

I ****ing love Zane Cordy. He's fast becoming my favorite player of all time.

I love him more than BT loves him!

12-05-2019, 12:25 PM
Really strong performance after an indifferent start. Bar the goal kicking accuracy in the 3rd that was as good a quarter as we can play.

Still carrying a few, but sets us up to have a crack at the best team so far in 2019 at their dump... $100 for the first one to run over the top of the motovated one.

I will fair dinkum spew up if I see one of our blokes go over before the game and shake his hand.

Wait until after the game and our blokes can boof him out in the centre circle if they want, but before the game I don't want to see any interaction unless it's one of our blokes sitting him on his arse.

12-05-2019, 12:32 PM

I had a couple of dark thoughts in the first half (I may have even had to go for a walk out the back during the second quarter) but I always thought that we were a huge chance to win after Naughton slotted that goal on halftime.

12-05-2019, 12:33 PM
I will fair dinkum spew up if I see one of our blokes go over before the game and shake his hand.

Wait until after the game and our blokes can boof him out in the centre circle if they want, but before the game I don't want to see any interaction unless it's one of our blokes sitting him on his arse.

Will Libba put friendship aside and get up in Dahl's face?

12-05-2019, 12:44 PM

How bad was Hodge?

Is it just me or does anyone else love to get in the face of opposition supporters? It doesn't always need to be aggressive or obnoxious but you do need to let them know that you aren't going to put up with any crap but that doesn't mean that you have to be punching people in the face or abusing them.

They give a bit, you give a bit back then the siren goes and everyone shakes hands and gets on with life.

I have a lot of fun arguing/interacting with opposition supporters at games.

12-05-2019, 12:49 PM
I also think that he does create some chaos. No one can predict what Billy will do next, not he even knows.

That’s the ‘Shaun Tait Effect’.

12-05-2019, 12:51 PM
Will Libba put friendship aside and get up in Dahl's face?

There is that great story from the Grand Final. Toward the end of the game a pack forms and Dalhaus is waiting for the umpire to bounce the ball when he becomes aware that someone is tapping him on the shoulder. He turns around to find Libba standing there and Libba just says "In a couple of minutes they are going to blow the siren and when that happens I am going to give you the biggest hug you have ever gotten!"

But I'd love to see Libba sit Dalhaus on his arse at the opening siren and just as he gets up sit him on his arse again.

12-05-2019, 12:54 PM
I ****ing love Zane Cordy. He's fast becoming my favorite player of all time.

I love him more than BT loves him!

I just laughed as two lions tackled him over the line and one of them looked a bit sore, Berry did not return.
He made his mark on that 2016 final series with his physicality, he stole my heart evening up that prelim. Imagine if he had an older and bigger brother?

12-05-2019, 01:31 PM
Gowers is not sacrificing his game for Naughton. Gowers is just bad.

12-05-2019, 01:33 PM
I just laughed as two lions tackled him over the line and one of them looked a bit sore, Berry did not return.
He made his mark on that 2016 final series with his physicality, he stole my heart evening up that prelim. Imagine if he had an older and bigger brother?

Even if he did how are we supposed to draft him anytime soon?

12-05-2019, 02:07 PM

Followed closely by West Coast supporters. I have had some huge run ins with them at Marvel over the years.

12-05-2019, 02:11 PM
Is it just me or does anyone else love to get in the face of opposition supporters? It doesn't always need to be aggressive or obnoxious but you do need to let them know that you aren't going to put up with any crap but that doesn't mean that you have to be punching people in the face or abusing them.

They give a bit, you give a bit back then the siren goes and everyone shakes hands and gets on with life.

I have a lot of fun arguing/interacting with opposition supporters at games.

Me too I'm afraid to say TD although there is no shaking hands afterwards. I usually react when they run down specific players. Always have.

12-05-2019, 03:44 PM
Gowers is not sacrificing his game for Naughton. Gowers is just bad.
time to drop him

12-05-2019, 04:24 PM
Watched on a replay through Kayo as was doing Mothers day things yesterday. My takeawys from the game

1. HUNTER! Got shit for his dribble pass but he was also doing underground handballs. Is he a moron? Why continue to do that in the wet when your team mate is next to no chance to be able to handle that ball? Infuriating. Should be able to expect better from the B&F and a leader of the club regardless of how many disposals he can gather with questionable influence. (There's a reason Boyd was loved much more as a defender than a mid)

2. Loved Wallis' tap to Macrae

3. Hayes was fumbly. Kicked a goal which is nice but still don't see his strength.

4. Young is looking better and more confident with each week. Is be best 22? Probably not yet, but maybe not too far away either

5. I think Llyod is going about his job nicely. Put him in the good pickup bucket with Crozier

6. Trengove wasn't bad in the ruck. More of a leap than I expected at times. Could do with a few less frees against but he also got a few himself

7. Daniel wasn't able to dance around and spot up the best option today due to the conditions but he was still able to demonstrate his footy smarts with taps and spoils to advantage.

8. Woods block of the Lion kick off the ground at goal in the last quarter gave me glimpses of Sydney 2015. Not as big a game for the club as that but for whatever reason it felt reassuring.

13-05-2019, 07:26 PM
Me too I'm afraid to say TD although there is no shaking hands afterwards. I usually react when they run down specific players. Always have.

From my POV at the end of the day it's just a game. Like the guys on the field you go your hardest and defend your colors and all the rest but when the siren goes its time to shake hands and head off to beer o'clock.

I can't say that I've ever felt threatened or scared. Although thst might be the 25 or so mates I go to the footy with more than any great judgement on my part.

14-05-2019, 02:44 AM

Yeah looks like have unearthed a gem here. I love the penetration he gets with his kicks. He still needs to work on his accuracy but I can see us using him as a weapon with long goals from 50 off half back like the Gilbee days.

14-05-2019, 01:59 PM
Can't believe Ed Richards goal missed out on a goal of the week nomination. Savage from St Kilda kicked a very similar one, Castagna from Richmond kicked a ripper, but Ablett's was a routine dribble snap that most reasonably skilled players would kick more often than not.

14-05-2019, 02:52 PM
Can't believe Ed Richards goal missed out on a goal of the week nomination. Savage from St Kilda kicked a very similar one, Castagna from Richmond kicked a ripper, but Ablett's was a routine dribble snap that most reasonably skilled players would kick more often than not.

The AFL are a bunch of wankers of the highest order.

14-05-2019, 03:26 PM
Yeah looks like have unearthed a gem here. I love the penetration he gets with his kicks. He still needs to work on his accuracy but I can see us using him as a weapon with long goals from 50 off half back like the Gilbee days.
I love his aerial work too.

Looks raw as hell but a bit more time in the system and he'll be valuable. Well ahead of his development curve already.

14-05-2019, 05:52 PM
Love listening to The Bont discussing the game. Have a listen (https://player.whooshkaa.com/episode?id=371776) to the moves made on Saturday and how Bevo changed things up after half time and the effects on the game.

15-05-2019, 08:03 AM
BAD do you normally listen during the week? All the players (bar Gawn)they have on are great listening.

Very interesting what he said about Hunter and how well he sees the game and Hunter is pretty much the onfield coach.

15-05-2019, 10:05 AM
BAD do you normally listen during the week? All the players (bar Gawn)they have on are great listening.

Very interesting what he said about Hunter and how well he sees the game and Hunter is pretty much the onfield coach.

I don't always get a chance. I normally pickup the recorded version and listen over lunch or while I am working on something that doesn't need my huge attention.

15-05-2019, 05:05 PM

I think the most interesting thing is that he goes for risky kicks which means that his efficiency isn't going to look great on paper but we're already seeing a couple a game that open up a side. It's like Suckling in that sense, he goes for a lot of risky kicks (also kicks that are more flashy then effective) and when a risky kick comes off it's a thing of beauty.