18-05-2019, 01:30 AM
Dogs by 12
BOG Naughton
First Goal Naughton
Best Off Ground Tom Boyd

18-05-2019, 02:21 PM
There's something in the wind at Whitten Oval. We are on a roll and we will win!

Dogs by 18
First goal - Smith
BOG - Trengrove

18-05-2019, 02:31 PM
Dogs by 1 point.
1st goal: Wallis
BOG: Macrae

18-05-2019, 02:42 PM
Cats by 43
BOG CD
First goal for us Wallis

18-05-2019, 04:28 PM
Stanley a late out for the other mob.

That won't hurt one bit.

18-05-2019, 05:09 PM
Cmon Dogs!
All ready at home with my Doggies stuff on. I have missed going to the footy these last 2 weeks. Looking forward to going again back at Marvel next week against North then it won’t be for most of us again until Round 13.

18-05-2019, 05:37 PM
Hayes into the action early

18-05-2019, 05:37 PM
Remind me again why Hayes is playing?

18-05-2019, 05:38 PM
Woods got to be better than that .

18-05-2019, 05:39 PM
Shit. Worst start possible

18-05-2019, 05:41 PM
Well done Dunks Bont to McLean for our first.

18-05-2019, 05:42 PM
Nice kick from Toby.

18-05-2019, 05:43 PM
If they keep this efficiency up we will have a very long evening
. Very very.

18-05-2019, 05:47 PM
Nice and straight keep um coming.

18-05-2019, 05:47 PM
Hunter over the shoulder high lollipop into forward fifty.

*DRINK*

18-05-2019, 05:50 PM
Easton Wood having a mare.

18-05-2019, 05:51 PM
Easton Wood having a mare.

Did Dahlhaus con him then?

Handpassed straight to him

18-05-2019, 05:53 PM
Did Dahlhaus con him then?

Handpassed straight to him

Then turns his back on the forward for the easy hit up.

18-05-2019, 05:54 PM
Bloody lovely finish JJ.

18-05-2019, 05:54 PM
Great running JJ and goal.

18-05-2019, 05:58 PM
Then turns his back on the forward for the easy hit up.

Hes struggling .

18-05-2019, 06:00 PM
Geez Daniel thats a killer.

WTF was that by Caleb?

Our forward pressure has been far better the last few weeks. Really pleasing

18-05-2019, 06:01 PM
Dahlhaus classic off the shin.

18-05-2019, 06:02 PM
Don’t like the idea of a shoot out with Geelong.

18-05-2019, 06:03 PM
Shit. How did we let Fort mark that.

18-05-2019, 06:04 PM
Jeezus do they ever bloody miss?

18-05-2019, 06:04 PM
Our defence just killing us.

18-05-2019, 06:05 PM
Terrible kick by Wallis, so shallow.

18-05-2019, 06:05 PM
Wooo go Billy.

18-05-2019, 06:06 PM
Shit. How did we let Fort mark that.

Should have been rushed through but it wasn't a mark.

18-05-2019, 06:07 PM
Our forward entries have been pretty good so far except for that shocker by Wallis, which was made worse given he had Dunkley on the overlap.

Our defence is just getting destroyed to the point of embarrassment.

18-05-2019, 06:07 PM
Great to get that goal there. Gives us some more confidence. Our pressure has been good and we have found some targets up forward. Need to be a bit better in defence.

18-05-2019, 06:08 PM
Defence is poor and I still don’t see it with Young. Not for now.

Bont and Libba really need to lift for us

18-05-2019, 06:09 PM
9 marks inside 50 for them for the qtr is a worry for us.

18-05-2019, 06:10 PM
It was a funny quarter, never really felt like we were either right in it or out of it at the same time. Really happy to see that Luke Dahlhaus can't kick.

Super mark by Gowers to finish off the quarter, I think two goals is about fair.

18-05-2019, 06:10 PM
A very open game, I'm not sure that suits us

18-05-2019, 06:14 PM
Why are we slipping over so much?

18-05-2019, 06:14 PM
Hayes has been putrid

18-05-2019, 06:15 PM
Hayes has got to mark that.

Some nice kicking from Hunter so far.

Come on Aaron

Hunter has been very good by foot so far.

Moar of that Lachie. Nice spear.

18-05-2019, 06:16 PM
Trengrove going nicely

18-05-2019, 06:18 PM
Defence is poor and I still don’t see it with Young. Not for now.

Bont and Libba really need to lift for us

Libba looks to be running with Kelly. Haven't seen a lot of Kelly yet.

18-05-2019, 06:20 PM
Infuriating.

18-05-2019, 06:21 PM
Sorry, but Hayes is not AFL standard.

18-05-2019, 06:21 PM
All the play and do nothing.. Bulldogs footy!

18-05-2019, 06:22 PM
Lauchie is on fire.

18-05-2019, 06:23 PM
Hunter kicking is exceptional this game. I’ll give credit where credit is due.

Hunter has been phenomenal.

Gorgeous leg for goal hunter.

We need to attack deeper though

18-05-2019, 06:24 PM
Lachie’s been reading my posts - his disposal has been mint today

18-05-2019, 06:25 PM
They are just so clinical.

18-05-2019, 06:25 PM
Jj vs gaj is good for the acronym lovers

18-05-2019, 06:26 PM
Honestly, they look like kicking a goal every time they go into fwd 50. Gotta be careful this doesn’t turn into a blow out.

18-05-2019, 06:30 PM
We are right in this, 10 minutes of good football and we will have them worried

18-05-2019, 06:30 PM
They are just so clinical.

As a coach, what is our play here? Besides clone Naughton and subbing Hayes.

We are matching them in most areas but they are more clinical.

Turn it into a scrap and play a possession game?
We have 4 of the top five on the ground?

I think e persist for now.

18-05-2019, 06:32 PM
DAniel clever touch

18-05-2019, 06:33 PM
Missing those set shots are killing us. 10 inside 50’s to 4 in our favour this qtr...argh !!!

18-05-2019, 06:34 PM
As a coach, what is our play here? Besides clone Naughton and subbing Hayes.

We are matching them in most areas but they are more clinical.

Turn it into a scrap and play a possession game?
We have 4 of the top five on the ground?

I think e persist for now.

Just got to keep doing what we are doing. We are in this.

18-05-2019, 06:34 PM
Every time Hayes goes nears it something bad happens.

18-05-2019, 06:35 PM
Not good enough in the contest Billy.

18-05-2019, 06:36 PM

He’s a liability

18-05-2019, 06:37 PM
All hail the Bont.

18-05-2019, 06:37 PM
Some good things by fletch there

18-05-2019, 06:38 PM
Hawkins is just too strong.

18-05-2019, 06:39 PM
We are all over them in most areas of the ground, their forward entries worry me.

No amount of running makes up for completely bottling it whenever you get the ball.

Fletch getting a pantsing.

18-05-2019, 06:40 PM
It would be nice to have English so that we could chuck Trenners on Porkins; Roberts & Cordy are a combination of too light and not large enough to take him.

18-05-2019, 06:40 PM
Shit. Too easy.

18-05-2019, 06:41 PM
Hayes again.

Clinical chef

Why do we handball 10m backwards?

Just giving it to guys under the pump in worse positions.. dumb!!

18-05-2019, 06:42 PM
I wish we could have players crying out to move back to Footscray instead of just anywhere in Victoria; I wonder why Geelong can get so many players wanting to move there specifically. Surely there's under the table shenanigans

Clinical chef

X2 mate.

This is gunna turn ugly.

Libba getting smashed by Danger in the last 5 minutes.

18-05-2019, 06:43 PM
Hayes again.

Horrible handball by Hunter, but Hayes just isn’t up to this level.

God I hate Geelong.

Ok I’m coach, Hayes, your last game, take out danger, cordy will give you the plan.

Back 6 needs a reallllll spray at halftime

That last 5 minutes has broke the game open for them

Bont and Liberatore have to lift in the 2nd half

18-05-2019, 06:45 PM
Fought hard for most of the half, but our mids got torched in the last 5 minutes.

Stewart is an A grade **** also.

18-05-2019, 06:45 PM
I’m sorry but rather Lipinski than Hayes.

18-05-2019, 06:46 PM
That is a bitter pill to swallow after doing pretty well.

Funke disco
18-05-2019, 06:46 PM
God I hate Geelong.

me too! Hate them with a passion

18-05-2019, 06:47 PM
5 minutes of poor football has killed us.

We seem unorganised down back. Wood should be directing traffic.

18-05-2019, 06:47 PM
Things looks very promising until a poor 5 minute stretch that has seen us go from under a goal down, to now Geelong coasting into half time.
We need to halve the lead in the 3rd to be any chance.

18-05-2019, 06:48 PM
We were piss weak in the centre and around the contest in the last ten minutes there. How we could allow them to get goal side of us so often and get clear run at the footy and goals is beyond me.

Just really disappointed because we had worked so hard to pull ourselves to within a goal of them, only to have the defencive lapses to let them kick away.

Fletch is being belted but there's really not a lot he can do, the delivery to Hawkins advantage has been excellent. We really need a lift from Bontempelli and a few others in the engine room if we're to get back in this.

18-05-2019, 06:48 PM

I’d rather Stack doing figure 8s

18-05-2019, 06:49 PM
Why the hell in the last 5 minutes did we not have Dunkley, Bont and Libba in the guts.

Bont has given us nothing. If he doesn't have a massive turnaround in the 2nd half we are no shot.

They are a good team, they will win the flag this year.
Just don’t want us smashed.
We can’t afford this shoot out stuff.
Our goal kicking also lets us down , it’s improved a lot though , so has our Lowering our eyes into the forward line, but Geelong just too much strength.

18-05-2019, 06:50 PM
I just can’t see how the MC can see Hayes ahead of Williams or Lipinski. He just doesn’t get it enough or do anything worthy.

Those 3 goals against in the last 2 mins pretty much killed all our hard work and this game. Roberts is trying but Hawkins is a man mountain against him.

With the 6-6-6 we just can’t allow their mids to run out of the centre to bomb it long to Hawkins one out. Roberts is no chance.

They just seem to score so easily. I like how we are playing in trying to lower our eyes in tune with a high handball game, but on the turnover they just run hard.

18-05-2019, 06:51 PM

Or Williams or Dale or Dickson or Lynch or Greene or .....

18-05-2019, 06:51 PM
We need our mids to lift. Libba is close to being dropped IMO. When I look at Geelongs mids they take the space in front of them as well as win the ball - some of our mids only ever want to handball and so their effectiveness is limited.

We rely so much on Daniel and JJ to run and carry but it’s not enough against the good sides.

18-05-2019, 06:52 PM
Cats going 48% goal / inside 50 we have to do something about their entries. Way too quick clean and loads out the front of stoppages.

18-05-2019, 06:53 PM
Bont has given us nothing. If he doesn't have a massive turnaround in the 2nd half we are no shot.

Clearly his injured. I can understand to play him if he can’t play mid. Would have been better with a young bloke 100% fit and ready to go.

18-05-2019, 06:53 PM
You can't imagine Hayes is using the ball any more beneficially than Williams might right now.

The backline's on a hiding to nothing if we permit them clean, fast entries. Hawkins might kick ten.

Must make it more of a scrap in the centre.

Don't mind Trengove's game so far.

18-05-2019, 06:54 PM
We need our mids to lift. Libba is close to being dropped IMO. When I look at Geelongs mids they take the space in front of them as well as win the ball - some of our mids only ever want to handball and so their effectiveness is limited.

We rely so much on Daniel and JJ to run and carry but it’s not enough against the good sides.

With the emergence of Dunkley over the last few weeks, are we seeing a new role for libba playing more of a shutdown role ? Is he playing on Kelly tonight ?

18-05-2019, 06:54 PM
They are a good team, they will win the flag this year.
Just don’t want us smashed.
We can’t afford this shoot out stuff.
Our goal kicking also lets us down , it’s improved a lot though , so has our Lowering our eyes into the forward line, but Geelong just too much strength.

No they won't they're a different team away from here

18-05-2019, 06:56 PM
Butchering opportunities has killed us. TM Lean has been brilliant at finding space and having set shots, but he has let himself down. We owned them in the 2nd, but let them in late in the quarter. It’s a tough game and some of our lesser players , Hayes, Young, Williams, are finding out what a good football side looks like.

He’s been forward a hell of a lot which hasn’t helped, but hadn’t been as clean as we expect him to be.

With the emergence of Dunkley over the last few weeks, are we seeing a new role for libba playing more of a shutdown role ? Is he playing on Kelly tonight ?

I think that's right. There's some rotating happening with Wallace and others but he definitely is role playing ATM.

18-05-2019, 06:57 PM
Bailey Dale after today's game just has to come into the side. McLean playing higher up the ground works for us, Dale can take his HF spot.
I love Hayes' endeavour, I want him to make it because it's a great story but I just don't see it.

18-05-2019, 06:57 PM
Butchering opportunities has killed us. TM Lean has been brilliant at finding space and having set shots, but he has let himself down. We owned them in the 2nd, but let them in late in the quarter. It’s a tough game and some of our lesser players , Hayes, Young, Williams, are finding out what a good football side looks like.

Williams? Do you mean Richards?

18-05-2019, 06:58 PM
That last 5 minutes has broke the game open for them

Bont and Liberatore have to lift in the 2nd half

Call it as it is. Both been poor.

18-05-2019, 07:00 PM
I thought Young has been ok apart from a butchered rebound kick.
Williams isn't playing.

Richards had one touch in the first half, had a nightmare. Needs to find the ball or he's playing VFL next week.

18-05-2019, 07:09 PM
This is about to get ugly.

18-05-2019, 07:09 PM
That's just disgusting umpiring to ping Dunkley unfairly when it should have been holding the ball. Disgraceful that the non-controlling umpire called it.

18-05-2019, 07:10 PM
Good goal.

18-05-2019, 07:13 PM
2 inside 50’s, 2 goals. Too easy.

Funke disco
18-05-2019, 07:14 PM
Dammit! Stick those tackles!

Can this club stop dicking around and play to best 22 FFS!

Can't be stepped like that, Lachie

18-05-2019, 07:15 PM
It's bullcrap I'm sick of it.

18-05-2019, 07:18 PM
No way that was touched

18-05-2019, 07:20 PM
Why isn’t that holding the ball ? FFS umpires

18-05-2019, 07:20 PM
This is absolute bullshit. How easy can they make it for them.

18-05-2019, 07:22 PM
Why isn’t that holding the ball ? FFS umpires

That’s two umpires goals

Funke disco
18-05-2019, 07:22 PM
The umps have given them a leg up

18-05-2019, 07:23 PM
Or Williams or Dale or Dickson or Lynch or Greene or .....

Greene’s injured

18-05-2019, 07:23 PM
We've copped some woeful decisions from the ump.
Dunks tackle should've been holding the ball. Then the kick out from Tuohey that was not touched and went out of bounds..but called a ball in. Grion Miers incorrect disposal not paid Ablett scores. Naughton's kick ump calls touched..umps call on review.

18-05-2019, 07:24 PM
All hail the BONT

Bont!

Until we as a side learn to kick straight and make the most of our opportunities we will not beat good sides. 3 goals 5 points in the second quarter meant we lost the opportunity to put the Cats under real scoreboard pressure.
When the game is done we will look at the second quarter and rue the missed opportunities.

18-05-2019, 07:27 PM
Another goal here dogs

18-05-2019, 07:29 PM
How the heck is Duncan not penalised?

18-05-2019, 07:30 PM
Roberts putrid. Uncontested mark, dropped and Geelong score

Basic errors are killing us.

Fletcher Roberts just isn’t up to this level... playing on a very good player, but he is miles off.

It really is a great home ground advantage.

That’s 3 umpire goals this qtr

18-05-2019, 07:31 PM
Come on Ed sherrin!

18-05-2019, 07:32 PM
Nice goal Ed! Good that we are scoring but need to restrict scoring at the other end. 11.9 not bad.

18-05-2019, 07:32 PM
If you go to handball and it’s knocked loose / smothered in the tackle, that has to be holding the ball doesn’t it?

18-05-2019, 07:33 PM
Bont!!

The Bont! Here he comes

We have played well just need to keep taking our chances.

ALL HAIL the BONT

18-05-2019, 07:34 PM
Bont!

18-05-2019, 07:34 PM
Smith has been clever

18-05-2019, 07:38 PM
We've still got a mountain to climb but we aren't as bad as many here think

18-05-2019, 07:38 PM
We’ve got them. I’m confident we will run over them in the last

18-05-2019, 07:39 PM
I'm really impressed we have not dropped our heads thus far.
The shocking umpiring could've seen the lads think it was all too much.
I feel we're 1 goal further away than we need to be, but I'd love them to prove me wrong.

18-05-2019, 07:39 PM
Game on.

18-05-2019, 07:40 PM
We've copped some woeful decisions from the ump.
Dunks tackle should've been holding the ball. Then the kick out from Tuohey that was not touched and went out of bounds..but called a ball in. Grion Miers incorrect disposal not paid Ablett scores. Naughton's kick ump calls touched..umps call on review.

Sure have.

Great last 10 mins. Bont influential.

Umpiring is disgraceful.

I’m sick of watching Hayes and Young - they aren’t in our best 30 let alone 22 and they continually make errors

If we can get the first we’re a chance, but they only need a 5 minute patch to end this.

Smith was really influential in the last 10 minutes of that quarter. Loves a scrap.

18-05-2019, 07:41 PM
Got to win the clearances first and foremost and take every opportunity regarding any set shots that come our way. Tackles HAVE to stick, and hopefully a few umpire decisions go our way and you never know. First goal is absolutely crucial.

18-05-2019, 07:41 PM
Sure have.

How was Dunkleys tackle not given?? That was a 12 point turnaround

18-05-2019, 07:42 PM
Can I also add that I ****ing hate this ground.

The umpiring has been so one sided I thought we were playing in Perth.

It's looking like we'll need to spell both Hayes and Young. They've been given a fantastic opportunity and have tried hard, but I think it's time to bring a couple of others into the mix.

Really happy with the fight here, many more credentialed Bulldogs sides have performed worse at Kardinia.

18-05-2019, 07:43 PM
We've still got a mountain to climb but we aren't as bad as many here think

We are better in general play, they are more efficient. I don’t usually pay attention to umpires but they hurt us for three goals that qtr

18-05-2019, 07:43 PM
C'mon Bullgods let's be relentless for another 30 minutes and knock the politicians off tomorrow's front page.

18-05-2019, 07:44 PM
I don't normally worry too much about the umpiring but ... They certainly haven't given us much. We are in this game. Come on Dogs! Trengove, Wallis, Bont, Smith - all excellent that quarter. Come on Libba - lift!

18-05-2019, 07:45 PM
Billy billy billy :(

18-05-2019, 07:45 PM
FFS gowers, get the F off the ground.

18-05-2019, 07:47 PM
Mitch!

18-05-2019, 07:47 PM
Great start.
Well done Wally.
Kudos to Cordy for starting it all

18-05-2019, 07:48 PM
I feel this

18-05-2019, 07:50 PM
Short kick to a contest, just silly.

GrubGrubGrubGrubers cant miss

Poor option by Hunter. Hayes no chance to mark that.

18-05-2019, 07:51 PM
Hunter’s ego once again.

18-05-2019, 07:52 PM
So soft. Dangerfield is a protected species.

18-05-2019, 07:53 PM
Gowers seriously - two reasonable forward chances squandered, costing us big time

Pfttt when shorts got 3, you can’t win.

Gonski now.

I’m not usually an umpire bashed, but this has been GrubGrubGrubGrubing woeful.

18-05-2019, 07:54 PM
Are we going to be content with three solid quarters?

Let's see.

18-05-2019, 07:54 PM
Once again it was the night a hack tall forward made us pay by having his only game of his career.

18-05-2019, 07:55 PM
Geez Red, can’t miss those.

18-05-2019, 07:55 PM
And now no 50 to Crozier.
Umps are just awful

18-05-2019, 07:56 PM
Yep. We just arent clinical enough and it'll cost us the game.

18-05-2019, 08:02 PM
Hayes. I just dont see it.

18-05-2019, 08:03 PM
Strewth, does Roberts have a gear other than leisurely amble?

18-05-2019, 08:04 PM
Goodnight.
Gee, I hate Geelong, even more when they get a 4 goal boost fom shocking umpiring.

Hayes. I just dont see it.

Yep it's like a broken record here

How the GrubGrubGrubGrub was Selwood not pinged for holding the ball in the centre of the ground. Crap.

Brave effort seeing as though we are playing about 4 short.. Young, Hayes, Gowers & Roberts are giving us nothing.

Funke disco
18-05-2019, 08:05 PM
We couldnt make it count when the game was up for grabs

18-05-2019, 08:06 PM
Never win a shoot out against this mob.

Roberts, Hayes, Gowers and Young pathetic.

We don’t deserve to lose by 30+ ,but if you don’t take your chances at this ground against this team, this result is expected.

Geelong, my most hated team by FAR.

18-05-2019, 08:08 PM
That’s ordinary Easton.

Brave effort seeing as though we are playing about 4 short.. Young, Hayes, Gowers & Roberts are giving us nothing.

Add Richards.

Young and Hayes boggle my mind. It’s ridiculous selections.

Think Young has a future though - the other 3 I’m not so sure

Cats back 6 have been the difference. We played ourselves into a position to win but just can't get past them. The irony of Stewart having a go at Smith's hair. He looks like something out of deliverence.
God nearly 40 points. This just feels like a replay of every game down at that s***hole for nearly as long as I can remember.

18-05-2019, 08:09 PM
Geel 82% kicking efficiency to 63%. That’s the difference.

18-05-2019, 08:09 PM
That’s ordinary Easton. You expect it from Wood these days thats the sad part

18-05-2019, 08:10 PM
Hayes!

Haha thanks for the laugh I needed it

If he plays next week I’m giving it a miss.

Gee that kick sums up Hayes game

18-05-2019, 08:11 PM
GrubGrubGrubGrub me

It’s embarrassing now.

If Hayes or Young play another game this year, I refuse to go.

18-05-2019, 08:12 PM
**** weak finish but we’ll end up losing by about the amount I expected.

Just a mediocre team.

18-05-2019, 08:14 PM
And now they're lairising. It's a party.

F**K I've had a hundred gutfuls of losing to these pr*cks.

They've kicked 21.6 ... we couldn't dream of doing that on our best night.

THAT'S the difference.

18-05-2019, 08:14 PM
Not fair on young
If Hayes or Young play another game this year, I refuse to go.

18-05-2019, 08:15 PM
That just sums it up. Why the heck is that deliberate rushed paid against Wood, he was under pressure?

18-05-2019, 08:16 PM
This needs to be a moment for the future. Beveridge has to rule a line through some guys who just aren't up to the skills level.

Not fair on young

He’s mikes off the pace.. which is unsurprising given he’s a rookie selection.

Had a good taste, but he needs to refine his game.

Not fair on young

Agree. There is a lot to like. He had some learning moments, tonight, but he has some very good attributes.

How's the last free kick against Wood, what a lot of bollocks that was.

Disappointing finish in the end. Just not enough class in the side to match it for the four quarters. I don't want to see Hayes or Young in the side next week, we'd be immediately better with Dale and Williams in their spots.

I hate these Kent’s

18-05-2019, 08:17 PM
Really dissapointing last quarter. No one stood up. Can we just forfeit games down there in future it's like lambs to the slaughter for the Geelong public's viewing pleasure.

Add Richards.

Young and Hayes boggle my mind. It’s ridiculous selections.
Richards lifted in the 2nd half.

Young battles, he's got a bright future but he was outclassed by more experienced opponents today.

Hayes was woeful.

Looking forward to reading the defence of Gowers and how well he blocked and created space for his teammates.

18-05-2019, 08:18 PM
Agree. There is a lot to like. He had some learning moments, tonight, but he has some very good attributes.
He's really good in the air. He'll take over the intercept role when he's had a couple of pre-seasons.

Bailey Smith lifts when the standard of the game lifts. I know it's a disappointing game but by god I love watching him play. He's a beauty.

18-05-2019, 08:19 PM
I missed the game today. Sounds like the same story reading the last few pages. Missed easy shots, tried hard, lacked some polish in key moments and blokes playing that shouldn't be. Is that about it?

Hayes was woeful.

Should never have been picked.

Hayes must be dropped

He’s mikes off the pace.. which is unsurprising given he’s a rookie selection.

Had a good taste, but he needs to refine his game.

A lot to work with, decent rookie

I watched Footscray today and a lot better players in that side than some we sent out tonight .
I just want to know why when we play a tall side we go shorter ?

18-05-2019, 08:20 PM
Really thought the rub of the green went with the date tonight. We just needed to not give dumb free kicks away (Gowers) contest (Hayes) and take a mark Wood

You don’t take chances against good teams they make you pay

Another game we had our chances to win and pissed it down the drain.

Hayes must be dropped

If Hayes playes another game I’ll spew

Gowers- usual pathetic effort, giving away stupid one on one frees and not doing much like usual.
Hayes - can’t get near it and when he does either does nothing with it, or turns it over
Young- hard tryer, but better players in the VFL

I’m flying over from Tassie next week for the NM game. I’ll look fwd to seeing all 3 running around at Marvel.

18-05-2019, 08:22 PM
Naughton looked like he was shifted to the backline for the last quarter. To my way of thinking we took away our only chance of a match winner.

18-05-2019, 08:25 PM
Naughton looked like he was shifted to the backline for the last quarter. To my way of thinking we took away our only chance of a match winner.
Spent some time in the ruck.

FFS. Looks like on top of being our best KPF and KPD, we's possibly our best ruck too, Beast.

Naughton was our only chance of winning, we bombed high to Stewart and Taylor in the last quarter when we had Gowers and Hayes up there. Stupid football.

18-05-2019, 08:33 PM
Roberts, Hayes, Gowers and Young pathetic.

Should Wood be added to the list? 11 possessions, 2 or 3 of them late in the game, no marks and just one tackle

18-05-2019, 08:38 PM
Surprising the culprits with poor disposal efficiency tonight

I'll leave off the guys with under 10 disposals
McLean 22 possessions 54%
Lloyd 16 at 62%
Hayes 13 at 62%
Wood 11 at 63%
Suckling 12 at 67%

To really add salt
Dahlhaus went at 88% from 17 disposals

18-05-2019, 08:43 PM
Surprising the culprits with poor disposal efficiency tonight

I'll leave off the guys with under 10 disposals
McLean 22 possessions 54%
Lloyd 16 at 62%
Hayes 13 at 62%
Wood 11 at 63%
Suckling 12 at 67%

To really add salt
Dahlhaus went at 88% from 17 disposals

All motovated handballs ?

18-05-2019, 08:46 PM
All motovated handballs ?

True. only 7 kicks

18-05-2019, 08:52 PM
Seeing Dahl spray one from directly in front, 40m out was a fun throwback.

18-05-2019, 09:05 PM
Same old same old. When we had chances we failed to grab them. They were the reverse of us. We got treated harshly by some ridiculous umpiring ERRORS in applying the rules NOT in INTERPRETING the rules. We are down in class and leaving too much to too few. Even so we are not that far off the pace as Geelong are the benchmark this season. There is hope for a top eight finish.

18-05-2019, 09:15 PM
Should Wood be added to the list? 11 possessions, 2 or 3 of them late in the game, no marks and just one tackle

That's a poor return. He almost seems to get lost at times if he has to defend a man rather than space or come in as that floating defender. Not sure who we replace him with though ?

18-05-2019, 09:26 PM
Cats by 43

Unfortunately I was close.

18-05-2019, 10:40 PM
Looking forward to reading the defence of Gowers and how well he blocked and created space for his teammates.
Apparently some people say he sacrifices his game for the team. Unfortunately he has no idea. Bevo needs to admit he was wrrrrrrrrong with this one.

18-05-2019, 10:54 PM

I've been banging on about Wood since early 17, I've given up on him ages ago. He has had one of the biggest falls I can remember, the media don't even talk about him its amazing.

We badly miss an intercepter in our back half its part of the reason we lost tonight, not only did we loose the majority of one on ones we just don't take marks in our back 50 anymore. We have the flankers to take advantage but the current mix isn't working.

Wood should absolutely retire at years end he just doesn't have it anymore.

18-05-2019, 11:04 PM
I was at the match. The home town bias on umpiring decisions is unbelievable. The crowd is so influential but the way holding the ball is interpreted for their stars vs our players is beyond belief, and their love for Little Gazza aka Voldemort is off the chart.

I have a strange reaction from the game. We had several players well below genuine AFL standard playing and that was painfully apparent. Their lack of class and skill hurt us against the Frontrunning Cats. We had a genuine chance to go in ahead at half time but allowed 3 easy goals. Bont had a very quiet first half. Naughton was double teamed and scragged. Little Red had a disappointing game. Easton Wood had the worst game I can remember him playing. And whenever Cordy went into the ruck we were murdered.

With all of that, we were nine points down and pressing in the last quarter. They always seemed to be a two goal better team. But if some of the above deficits can be reversed, then we’re not far off.

Williams and Lipinski simply must come in for Hayes and Young.

I don’t know how Trengove appeared on Tv but I thought he did very well. You can never fault his endeavour. B Smith is going to be enormous.

And I hate that place, their fans, their players and wish I’d kept my vow to never go there again.

18-05-2019, 11:37 PM
I've been banging on about Wood since early 17, I've given up on him ages ago. He has had one of the biggest falls I can remember, the media don't even talk about him its amazing.

We badly miss an intercepter in our back half its part of the reason we lost tonight, not only did we loose the majority of one on ones we just don't take marks in our back 50 anymore. We have the flankers to take advantage but the current mix isn't working.

Wood should absolutely retire at years end he just doesn't have it anymore.

I've challenged his position in the team for a while now and while I understand it's hard to explain dropping a captain but he isn't performing like a player with his experience should be let alone doing things to inspire the side as you would expect from most captains.
He's has certainly has limitations and needs favorable match-ups, he isn't versatile and he doesn't take the game preferring to switch the ball laterally. There is no chance we will drop him but we do have to work out a way where he can be more involved.

18-05-2019, 11:47 PM
Why drop someone who you can't replace?

Wood is clearly a better defender when able to attack the football in the air, something his role, our personnel and our structure has limited in recent years. Yes, I agree that he hasn't been playing as well as we'd like him to but his performances are linked to the personnel he has around him.

Dropping Wood makes an area of the ground that isn't strong weaker. It's a stupid idea.

18-05-2019, 11:56 PM
Why drop someone who you can't replace?

Wood is clearly a better defender when able to attack the football in the air, something his role, our personnel and our structure has limited in recent years. Yes, I agree that he hasn't been playing as well as we'd like him to but his performances are linked to the personnel he has around him.

Dropping Wood makes an area of the ground that isn't strong weaker. It's a stupid idea.

I agree that he won't be dropped but I challenge the notion that actually dropping him makes the back line weaker. The worst case scenario is that we break even.
He's played maybe 3 decent bordering on good games this year and the balance have been off the mark. He doesn't get a lot of the ball and it's been a while since he has performed strongly for us.

Surely Williams would be an upgrade on him at the moment.

19-05-2019, 12:03 AM
Outside of the last 15 minutes of the game I thought we competed well at times today.
Macrae has gotten better in the last few weeks, Smith is looking to be a great addition and Trengove has put question marks on the MC on why he wasn't picked earlier in the season.
Hunter was good in patches today and JJ has been improving.

I hate losing and I really hate losing to Geelong but there were times today where I thought we showed encouraging signs.

If we get it right at the selection table this week we should be able to account for North next weekend

19-05-2019, 12:05 AM
I agree that he won't be dropped but I challenge the notion that actually dropping him makes the back line weaker. The worst case scenario is that we break even.
He's played maybe 3 decent bordering on good games this year and the balance have been off the mark. He doesn't get a lot of the ball and it's been a while since he has performed strongly for us.

Surely Williams would be an upgrade on him at the moment.

I want Williams in the side, in my view having another medium height and big bodied defender gives us more options and will help Wood. However, Williams isn't a replacement for Wood and never will be.

Wood has played some good games, some par level games and some disappointing games - much like the team and most of its players. As I stated, as much of this is to do with personnel as it is with his own form.

19-05-2019, 12:12 AM
Outside of the last 15 minutes of the game I thought we competed well at times today.
Macrae has gotten better in the last few weeks, Smith is looking to be a great addition and Trengove has put question marks on the MC on why he wasn't picked earlier in the season.
Hunter was good in patches today and JJ has been improving.

I hate losing and I really hate losing to Geelong but there were times today where I thought we showed encouraging signs.

If we get it right at the selection table this week we should be able to account for North next weekend

Focusing on the opposition a little, sure we held their prime movers to a lower possession count than usual however, they had to play out of their skins and in the most efficient way possible to keep themselves in front and eventually kick away. That and those factors you mention leave me comfortable of our position as a mid-table team and possible challenger for the eight.

We need to get Dale's class into the side, and I think Williams is also in that category. Lipinski is an interesting one, can his good form as an inside midfielder in the VFL translate to another role in the seniors? Unfortunately for him we're covered for inside midfielders at present.

19-05-2019, 12:22 AM
I want Williams in the side, in my view having another medium height and big bodied defender gives us more options and will help Wood. However, Williams isn't a replacement for Wood and never will be.

Wood has played some good games, some par level games and some disappointing games - much like the team and most of its players. As I stated, as much of this is to do with personnel as it is with his own form.

Why couldn't Williams cover Wood? I'd have to back him to get more than 11 possessions, in fact he will take some of the kick ins like he did last year. He's a far better user of the football, he should be able to take more than one mark for the game and if he lays a tackle he's got him covered. Last year he averaged 20 disposals a game and often was pitted against taller opponents.

Are you sure he's played some good games and some par performances for us this year? I thought I might have been generous with saying he's 3 decent/good games. Collingwood, Richmond and at a stretch Gold Coast were decent/good performances the rest have been sub-par to me.

I've checked Footywire and his disposal numbers are steadily declining

2015 he was averaging 17.8 disposals
2016 - 16.3
2017 - 14.1
2018 - 13.8
2019 - 10.3

Given he won't be dropped the challenge for the MC is to get him more favorable match-ups each week.

19-05-2019, 12:29 AM
I would like to see Williams in and given some time in the middle. I thought his cameo's there last year were good. His game in the twos today was just ok.