Williams to keep North to just 4 goals for the match

23-05-2019, 07:38 PM
On word of the TBs (triple Baileys)

Bulldogs by 150 points.
BOG Bailey Smith with 40 touches
First goal: Bailey Dale (of 5)

Williams to keep North to just 4 goals for the match

150 point win sounds great. Imagine that great % :)

23-05-2019, 07:41 PM
Dogs by 10
first goal Bailey
bog Bailey

23-05-2019, 08:17 PM
150 point win sounds great. Imagine that great % :)

This was a good start to the season. 321.15 percentage.

23-05-2019, 11:33 PM
WB by 50
First Goal Lloyd
BOG Liberatore

24-05-2019, 11:46 AM
Just got level 2 tickets for $15 so very much looking forward to going (hopefully we win since I've only seen us lose in person this year)

24-05-2019, 12:01 PM
Just got level 2 tickets for $15 so very much looking forward to going (hopefully we win since I've only seen us lose in person this year)
I rally enjoy level 2.
Marvel stadium has it's detractors but I've always enjoyed my seats.

Anyway, Bulldogs by 7 points
Wally first goal, Bailey Dale highest goal scorer for us
Caleb Daniel BOG.

For North: Brown has a stinker, Larkey kicks 3 goals.

Twice Bitten
24-05-2019, 02:39 PM
WB by 15
First Goal English
BOG Bontempelli

24-05-2019, 02:56 PM
We'd really wanna beat this mob, convincingly, with none of the careless slop we dished up against the Suns and Blues thanks.

Dogs by 29
First goal : Bailey Dale
BOG : Bailey Smith

24-05-2019, 04:38 PM
Yeah level 2 is the best viewing.

Got some bad news guys, I'm going to the game and I haven't seen us win live since the GF. 6 loses in a row so far.

24-05-2019, 04:59 PM
The Tri Colours by 28
First goal : Naughty
BOG : Hunter

24-05-2019, 04:59 PM

Got some bad news guys, I'm going to the game and I haven't seen us win live since the GF. 6 loses in a row so far.

Well I am going and I have only seen us win this year.

(Went overseas for 7 weeks after Round 1 and not viable to go to Ballarat or Geelong)

I am hoping for a big win, but 1 pt will do (just not for my stress levels).

I am concerned because we need to bring our best and smash them!!

24-05-2019, 06:23 PM
Dogs by 39
Best - Bont
FG - JJ

24-05-2019, 06:37 PM

You selfish, selfish ***....nah just kidding. You'll just enjoy our hard fought win that much more :)

24-05-2019, 07:13 PM
What are we thinking about the Brad Scott news and how it will impact their players?

24-05-2019, 07:15 PM
And the latest news is Scott will be sacked , why around when we play them ?
We all know what happens when stories like this get out .. they win.
Well I still have hope we can win as they haven’t sacked him yet, I see it two ways they will completely fold and we get a huge win or they fight and pull one over us.

24-05-2019, 07:24 PM
Caleb Daniel on Ben Brown
Dogs by 10
First goal Naughty.

24-05-2019, 07:50 PM
What are we thinking about the Brad Scott news and how it will impact their players?

Certainly not ecstatic about it coming out now.

24-05-2019, 08:16 PM
My thoughts exactly... why not wait another week!

24-05-2019, 08:38 PM
Frankly, we're playing a 2-and-7 team who's sufficiently crap they've just sacked the cockroach.

If we're fair dinkum we torch them.

TORCH them.

24-05-2019, 09:28 PM
Yep fair enough..let’s do that then

24-05-2019, 10:04 PM
We are no chance.
North by 13 pts
First goal Bailey
BOG Daniel

24-05-2019, 11:06 PM
Just what we don’t want.

North in a close one.
1st goal - dale
Bog - macrae

25-05-2019, 12:31 AM
My heart says we win.

But it’s a bottom 3 team so we get rolled by 5.

25-05-2019, 12:38 AM
Players found out about Brad Scott after the newspapers did - not sure how that can be good for morale. I mean, who do they need to impress in the coaches box tomorrow when the senior coach will be gone at 5pm?

Dogs by 10+ goals

25-05-2019, 02:52 AM
We'll smash em

Dogs by 61
First goal - Dale, welcome back son.
BOG - McLean

Brad Scott to resign effective immediately in the after match press conference!!!

25-05-2019, 03:25 AM
Western Bulldogs vs North Melbourne (MS) Fox 2:10pm - From Titus.

I guess some people will be interested in this game, but I do worry I’m wasting my time writing this as no one will read it, instead skipping over this entirely.

That would be a real shame as… well who am I kidding, the only interesting bit about this for neutral fans will be watching Brad Scott’s facial reactions if the Kangaroos are getting smashed.

Brad should send a basket of fruit with a nice card to Brendon Bolton to say thanks for distracting everyone from the true masterpiece of a disaster he is curating this season.

Only by Carlton standards could this not be judged an abject failure.

Luckily Brad isn’t one for excuses, except this week when he said, ‘Certainly in hindsight if I could go back, I'd change the 6-6-6 (rule) because it's killed North Melbourne.’

If only he knew it was coming. It’s strange he didn’t see that given he sits on the competition committee that approved it.

The Bulldogs are pretty average this season but off the field they are way ahead if your judge them on ‘feuding with Damian GrubGrubGrubGrubGrubGrubGrub’.

Luke Beveridge seems a bit obsessed with this. I’m not sure why, feuding with someone who commentates on the game, and I include myself in this, would be like pulling the car over to argue with a group of kids because they were swearing.

It entertains the kids and makes them feel powerful, while it takes time out of your day when you should be focusing on important things, like how did your team fall apart so spectacularly after winning a premiership?

Bulldogs to win this.

and ( I like this bit )

"The Cats already have impressive wins over the Pies, Adelaide, West Coast and the AFL Tribunal system (twice)."

25-05-2019, 06:35 AM
I'm really looking forward to this game but I suspect it's going to be a arm wrestle for a few quarters and not necessarily a free flowing game. The Brad Scott final game as coach could potentially fire up his team which is a distraction we probably didn't need

North have a number of players that thrive on a contested possession game in particular Cunnington and Ziebell so depsite their position on the ladder I don't think this will be an easy game for us.

Defensively we should match-up well with them and the challenge for us is to not run Ben Brown into form. I'm hoping that JJ, Crozier, Daniel and Suckling can really provide a lot of run for us and Wood should be able to find suitable match-ups against Zurhaar or Ziebell.

Tarrant and Thompson won't make it easy for Naughton so we need someone like Lloyd, Wallis and McLean to step up as multiple goal kickers

Ed Richards needs to find a bit of the ball today as does Dale and Williams

Dogs by 15 points
Hunter BOG
Wallis first goal kicker

25-05-2019, 10:59 AM
Frankly, we're playing a 2-and-7 team who's sufficiently crap they've just sacked the cockroach.

If we're fair dinkum we torch them.

TORCH them.

And as an eternal pessimist of a Doggies supporter, I say that's exactly why we will lose.

Bottom side - check
Totally crap - check
Just sacked their coach - check
Doggies players to rest on their laurels a la Carlton - check

North by 24
BOG Dogs - Daniel
First goal dogs - The Bont

25-05-2019, 11:00 AM
Players found out about Brad Scott after the newspapers did - not sure how that can be good for morale. I mean, who do they need to impress in the coaches box tomorrow when the senior coach will be gone at 5pm?

Dogs by 10+ goals

I hope you're right. It's not who's in the coaches box now it who will be in the near future. Half that list is playing for their collective lives.

It's hardly Scott's fault though it really is the worst list the AFL. They're old and crap.

Dogs by 11.

25-05-2019, 11:34 AM
Higgins must be regretting the move, good choice to release Hrovat he is struggling to get a game in a train wreck.
Pity Higgins didn’t stay and Hrovat was never going to get a game ahead of Daniel.

25-05-2019, 11:36 AM
They're actually terrible and are looking in the wrong places for the answers
Recipe for disaster

25-05-2019, 12:06 PM
They're actually terrible and are looking in the wrong places for the answers
Recipe for disaster

I actually think it’s not Scott’s fault , they took a gamble keeping old players to win a flag as they were so close,making preliminary finals but just couldn’t break it.
They are now paying for it not working, it was always going to be a lot of pain after it.
I think it’s using Scott as a scapegoat to an extent, it’s the whole club from top down that’s failed ,recruiters, list managers, assistant coaches.
We were in the same boat when the Mc Cartneys came in, we hit the right formula in a list rebuild. North haven’t .

25-05-2019, 12:23 PM
And as an eternal pessimist of a Doggies supporter, I say that's exactly why we will lose.

Bottom side - check
Totally crap - check

North by 24
BOG Dogs - Daniel

This is me to a T!

I just try to believe by faith that we will rise above my (and 99% of dogs supporters) negative pessimistic views.

25-05-2019, 12:25 PM
Dogs by 26
First goal McLean
BOG Macrae

I am going to miss the shock horror astonished look on Scott's face when the opposition gets a free kick. That only leaves Don Pike :)

25-05-2019, 12:35 PM
Prediction, Naughton to have another day out.

25-05-2019, 12:42 PM
I hope you're right. It's not who's in the coaches box now it who will be in the near future. Half that list is playing for their collective lives.

It's hardly Scott's fault though it really is the worst list the AFL. They're old and crap.

Dogs by 11.
There's a small chance the players will be galvanised but the reality is that they have an out with this performance due to the exceptional circumstsnces. How can they look Brad Scott in the eye when he's demanding effort and he's on his bike after today?

Today's result either way will have little or no bearing on the future of the players. I reckon there might be a spike early but if we are on our game they will crumble emotionally, which is a very natural response to their coach walking our on them and not even telling the players before the news came out.

25-05-2019, 12:43 PM
Duplicate post

25-05-2019, 12:58 PM
What a bizarre situation 24 hrs out from a game
Complete mess . Should have been done midweek
Apparently the coach saw a massive rebuild and the board don’t .

25-05-2019, 01:26 PM
Feel sorry for Crocker. They will make him coach again, they will start winning games, then they'll appoint someone else.

25-05-2019, 01:35 PM

NO Chelsea chants thanks Chef.

25-05-2019, 01:38 PM
The Crazy Horse Cowton cup:

dogs by 46

toby first goal

bog: "it has to be Him"

25-05-2019, 02:09 PM
This is me to a T!

I just try to believe by faith that we will rise above my (and 99% of dogs supporters) negative pessimistic views.

I must be the 1%.

25-05-2019, 02:14 PM
Happy with the outs and ins. Good team.

25-05-2019, 02:28 PM
Dogs by 27 points
BOG:Bont
First goal: Wallis

25-05-2019, 03:10 PM
Doggies by 28 points
1st Goal Naughton
BOG Dunkley

25-05-2019, 03:17 PM
Bruise free footy so far.

25-05-2019, 03:26 PM
Ed Richards makes 2 mistakes in 3 seconds. Very close to the chopping block.

25-05-2019, 03:35 PM
How is that not holding the footy??

25-05-2019, 03:37 PM
Yellow morons cost us a goal, Suckers kicks an absolute pearler to respond.

25-05-2019, 03:37 PM
How is that not holding the footy??

Total BS, and so was the commentator's attempt at justifying.

25-05-2019, 03:38 PM
Pretty embarrassed by this quarter.

25-05-2019, 03:40 PM
Some very lacklustre, low energy footy by us so far.

25-05-2019, 03:41 PM
Some very lacklustre, low energy footy by us so far.

Mentally we are weak.

25-05-2019, 03:44 PM
Opposite to how I thought thd game might be played. Open and attacking football.
Way too many errors and we need to tighten up a bit.

25-05-2019, 03:44 PM
I guess at least its close

25-05-2019, 03:45 PM
We just need to crack in. North will crumble

25-05-2019, 03:46 PM
There's a small chance the players will be galvanised but the reality is that they have an out with this performance due to the exceptional circumstsnces. How can they look Brad Scott in the eye when he's demanding effort and he's on his bike after today?

Today's result either way will have little or no bearing on the future of the players. I reckon there might be a spike early but if we are on our game they will crumble emotionally, which is a very natural response to their coach walking our on them and not even telling the players before the news came out.

They haven't got as much as a dead cat bounce as I thought they might so far.

25-05-2019, 03:48 PM
Man do I love me some Bailey Smith.
Nothing super impressive about that quarter. Some nice work from Hunter. Naughton being outbodied by Tarrant. Dunkley has been good, great attack on footy and man.

25-05-2019, 03:48 PM
I Think we are being a bit critical , I’m happy we are even at qtr time , you would expect them to come out hard at first.
Let’s wait and see.
Umpiring is still horrid though, has been a theme this year and getting worse.

25-05-2019, 03:53 PM
I Think we are being a bit critical , I’m happy we are even at qtr time , you would expect them to come out hard at first.
Let’s wait and see.
Umpiring is still horrid though, has been a theme this year and getting worse.

They didn't come out hard though. It's been flat and bruise free.

25-05-2019, 03:55 PM
Goldstein clinic

25-05-2019, 03:56 PM
Our onballers getting a bath.

25-05-2019, 03:56 PM
English copping a bath.

25-05-2019, 03:57 PM
We don’t look switched on at all. Very little to no run from the backs and the kids getting smashed.

25-05-2019, 03:57 PM
Everything this quarter is a result of players not willing to take the riskier kick/ option from the backline. Cordy, Wood, Smith

25-05-2019, 03:58 PM
Another cellar dweller beating at Docklands on the cards. Yeh.

25-05-2019, 04:12 PM
This stop start footy is so ugly. Work rate non existent.

Just down the line > turnover > repeat.

25-05-2019, 04:14 PM
In season with some horrid quarters, this is right up there.

25-05-2019, 04:15 PM
This is a debacle thus far.
We should've come out breathing fire, and instead we've come out meek, mild and disorganised.

25-05-2019, 04:16 PM
17 disposals 28 hit outs before half time. Needs to be addressed. Goldy

dukedog
25-05-2019, 04:17 PM
Where the GrubGrubGrubGrub are we at. Do we actually think we waltz on in on shit teams or what. This season has been a joke.

25-05-2019, 04:17 PM
Never play a team the week they sack a coach.
Players are let loose of coaches shackles and just go out and play with abandonment, usually win.

25-05-2019, 04:18 PM
Typical piss weak effort against a bottom 2 side. Typical bulldog shit

25-05-2019, 04:19 PM
I sympathise with woofers who have paid to watch this crap.

25-05-2019, 04:19 PM
Why should we give a **** when the players are clearly going half rat power.

25-05-2019, 04:21 PM
When the Dockers started in 1995 their game plan was to run around in circles, pirouette and go nowhere, they were a laughing stock. Our game today reminds me of the Dockers 1995.

25-05-2019, 04:21 PM
I sympathise with woofers who have paid to watch this crap.

Yay. I'll spend 6 hours in the car to watch this crap.

Wheres our cheersquad?

25-05-2019, 04:22 PM
North have chosen to defend the ground properly today, we have matched that with laziness and an unwillingness to run.

We should have received 3 x 50m penalties within that quarter that weren't paid, but whatever. We're not going to win the game that way anyway.

Really need to reset after half time.

25-05-2019, 04:22 PM
Passive, passive, passive, passive

25-05-2019, 04:23 PM
Daniel's worst game of the year so far, North are doing a good job of shutting down his right foot and making him second guess himself.

Richards can't play next week if his second half goes the same way, and Wood's lucky he's captain. Not AFL standard at the moment.

The lack of talls around the ground is really hurting us when we go back in shell and just slam it down the line.

English copping a bath.

Yep, hes a mile off it today. He is being exposed for pace, endurance and strength.
Id like to see him lift his intensity in the 2nd half

Everything this quarter is a result of players not willing to take the riskier kick/ option from the backline. Cordy, Wood, Smith
Clearly we have some issues. But surly it all between the ears. What happened to the team that played three quarters against the cats.

We need to get our shit together st half time. Get down and dirty and run that’s our go

Where are our leaders? Who are our leaders? Why do we play average teams into form year after year?

25-05-2019, 04:24 PM
Yep, hes a mile off it today. He is being exposed for pace, endurance and strength.
Id like to see him lift his intensity in the 2nd half

I don't mind him getting beaten in the ruck duel, that's expected against an experienced guy like Goldstein. Being out worked around the ground is inexcusable.

25-05-2019, 04:25 PM
Not even little League at halftime ffs

25-05-2019, 04:25 PM
First 10 minutes of the next quarter will tell the story

25-05-2019, 04:26 PM
So far not one of the 4 players promoted have done anything of note.

25-05-2019, 04:26 PM
Daniel's worst game of the year so far, North are doing a good job of shutting down his right foot and making him second guess himself.

Richards can't play next week if his second half goes the same way, and Wood's lucky he's captain. Not AFL standard at the moment.

The lack of talls around the ground is really hurting us when we go back in shell and just slam it down the line.

I reckon Wood has made good decisions around when to fly and has impacted contests positively.
His ball use and decision making however, are subpar at this point.

25-05-2019, 04:28 PM
The only positive so far is that Dwayne Russell is not in the commentary team.

25-05-2019, 04:28 PM
8 goals 1 behind from turnovers out of their total score of 64.

25-05-2019, 04:29 PM
I reckon Wood has made good decisions around when to fly and has impacted contests positively.
His ball use and decision making however, are subpar at this point.

Did you see his dropped mark from the kick in? I thought he would have a big game this week becuase there were some good match ups for him.
We need more from him.

25-05-2019, 04:31 PM

No, in fact the opposite. Lipinski has been a main culprit for over using by hand, has had Jasper-Pittard run through his tackle.
Williams and Dale have all had poor moments and English is just having a mare.

25-05-2019, 04:32 PM
I hope there's a dressing down going on in those meetings at halftime. Sub par lacklustre efforts on every line.

25-05-2019, 04:33 PM

That’s disappointing as 3 of them had ‘knocked the door down’ according to the coach, but are doing little to warrant their selection.

25-05-2019, 04:34 PM
Dale has probably been the best of the inclusions, but that's only because he's made less glaring mistakes.

Not a fan of Lipinski up the ground, he's slow. Worried for his future.

25-05-2019, 04:34 PM
This is the Carlton game all over again. We'll be lucky to be within 6 goals when the final siren goes. Jeckyl and Hyde.

25-05-2019, 04:35 PM
Did you see his dropped mark from the kick in? I thought he would have a big game this week becuase there were some good match ups for him.
We need more from him.

Doesn’t stick in my memory but there’s been a bunch of lowlights to remember.

25-05-2019, 04:36 PM
Are we tanking for the mid season draft?

25-05-2019, 04:44 PM
Are we tanking for the mid season draft?

Yeah, maybe we're really gunning for Reuben William.

25-05-2019, 04:48 PM
Two of the most pathetic non holding the ball calls I’ve ever seen

25-05-2019, 04:49 PM
Game over.
Season cooked.

25-05-2019, 04:50 PM
What the bloody hell is wrong with Trengove, he is a moron sometimes.

25-05-2019, 04:52 PM
What is between Trengove's ears???

25-05-2019, 04:52 PM
Trengove either rucks or doesn’t play at all.

25-05-2019, 04:53 PM
Trengove again...….what a moron.

Confused his ambition with his ability

Great kick to 3 onto 1 in the middle , split us open perfectly

25-05-2019, 04:54 PM
We've been so passive all game going down the line from defence, and then Trengove decides to switch it in the middle to a 2 on 1. Brain dead.

25-05-2019, 04:57 PM
Ed Richards playing like its his first game of footy ever.

25-05-2019, 05:00 PM
I can't watch. Horrid.

25-05-2019, 05:00 PM
Ed Richards playing like its his first game of footy ever.

And doesn’t know the rules... besides a few nice goals his season thus far has been disappointing.

25-05-2019, 05:02 PM
Jeez, these guys must have hated Brad Scott.

This is a season killing loss. I knew we weren't much chop but this is just ridiculous.

We just don’t have the desire for o work hard.

25-05-2019, 05:03 PM
Out coached and out worked these past two quarters. Terrible.

25-05-2019, 05:04 PM
I am at pains to see our game plan.
Turn it over at every opportunity.
Feel sorry for Daniel he is under siege down there.

25-05-2019, 05:04 PM
Would it be a crazy call to have someone sit on Cunnington at the centre bounce?

25-05-2019, 05:06 PM
Bad day for the other Bulldogs too - Point Cook 20 goals down at Hoppers Crossing.

25-05-2019, 05:09 PM
Nice scramble by the boys to get that last goal.

Toby McLean is really paying for his ducking ways. Doesn’t even get legitimate head high frees paid now.

Funny how it doesn't seem to matter for Selwood or Shuey.

25-05-2019, 05:10 PM
I think they said Higgins had it 14 times that quarter.... We never seem to put time into quelling blokes when they're getting off the chain.

25-05-2019, 05:12 PM
Could we make a game of it in the last quarter.?

I think they said Higgins had it 14 times that quarter.... We never seem to put time into quelling blokes when they're getting off the chain.

Teams allow Hunter off the chain because he does no damage. We let the opposition's most damaging player have free reign. Makes sense.

How can Bevo turn it around in a quarter of footy

Tag Higgins.
Cordy rucking looks Ok
Run from the back line looks good. We need more of it

I would put Naughton on Brown tree grove ruck and go with a small forward line.

25-05-2019, 05:13 PM
Could we make a game of it in the last quarter.?

I'm guessing North squirt out a few goals to make it a 30+ win.

25-05-2019, 05:13 PM
We are a sniff if we stop doing everything we have done so far and do the opposite. Lucky to be this close.

25-05-2019, 05:14 PM
Umpiring woefully bad-mainly against us. We are playing poorly and making them look good. C’mon dogs you can run over them!!

25-05-2019, 05:15 PM
Perfect start.

25-05-2019, 05:15 PM
Thank God. English needed that goal

25-05-2019, 05:16 PM
Bont time!

Our mids are often too arrogant to put defensive work into a dominant opposition mid when they are torching us.

Why do we play Bont forward when he can delivery to English like that

25-05-2019, 05:17 PM
Well done Timmy. Smashed in the centre, but having an impact now

25-05-2019, 05:20 PM
Bont is just tearing this quarter apart

25-05-2019, 05:22 PM
Where has this been all day?

25-05-2019, 05:23 PM
Bont Show.

Annnnd we’re in front!

Well this is a crazy turnaround.....hopefully Norf are too shocked to come back into the game.

25-05-2019, 05:26 PM
How was that not dropping the ball?

25-05-2019, 05:27 PM
I genuinely hate everything about watching Ben Brown. He just really pisses me off.

25-05-2019, 05:31 PM
How was that not dropping the ball?

Unbelievable miss from the umpire, clear as day.

Caleb left foot. What the fark was that?

Nice one Caleb! Always good for a goal or 2 a game.

Ouch. That hurts.
Didn't deserve to win anyway given our first 3Qtrs.

Unbelievable stupidity at its best

Stick to bananas on your right, Caleb.

25-05-2019, 05:32 PM
Daniel turn over that’s the game right their

25-05-2019, 05:35 PM
Soft as butter Dale. Pissweak. Take the hit.

25-05-2019, 05:37 PM
How long are we going to put up with this?
Beaten by the two worst teams in the league.
Well maybe we are one of the two.

25-05-2019, 05:39 PM
Soft as butter Dale. Pissweak. Take the hit.

Yep.. needs to be so much stronger in the contest. It’s the thing that will see him playing for Frankston next year.

25-05-2019, 05:40 PM
I've had enough of this.
I don't even want to talk about this performance right now.

25-05-2019, 05:40 PM
How long are we going to put up with this?
Beaten by the two worst teams in the league.
Well maybe we are one of the two.

We're not much better than a bottom 4 team.

25-05-2019, 05:41 PM
That Dale effort was unforgivable. Absolutely putrid. Went to water at the slightest physical pressure. Should have been a deep forward entry but killed the game instead.

25-05-2019, 05:42 PM
How does our coaching staff not able to read the moment and get us up got the fight against teams like north

25-05-2019, 05:43 PM
We've lost to three of the worst teams at home, each time we have been very lazy getting back and allowing opposition midfielders to run riot against us.

Is it coaching, or player mentality that allows this to happen? It can't be a coincidence that we let ourselves down against the poorer teams.

25-05-2019, 05:44 PM
Daniel turn over that’s the game right their

25-05-2019, 05:45 PM
At the game. Disgusting. Embarrassing. Shameful.

25-05-2019, 05:48 PM

Bottom side - check
Totally crap - check

North by 24
BOG Dogs - Daniel

So, who wants tonight's Tatts numbers? I might not get you first division (being out by a point isn't bad), but I'll definitely get you second!

25-05-2019, 05:49 PM
Why do our players not hurt after a loss like that. They walk around like rock stars.

I thought they cleaned out the party club boys. Maybe it’s our coaching or leadership group

25-05-2019, 05:50 PM
Gee we lit it up in the first 10 minutes but they just finished far stronger than we could.

25-05-2019, 05:51 PM
How are the media not going to smash is from now on in.

We have so much talent and play like that.

25-05-2019, 05:52 PM
I dodged a bullet as the game wasn't on TV in Indo. We have a lot of issues to fix if we are to salvage something from this season which is rapidly heading south. Disappointing is an understatement. As far as the season goes it was a disaster to lose today.

25-05-2019, 05:53 PM
Caleb left foot. What the fark was that?

Was just pure pure lazy by Caleb.

25-05-2019, 05:56 PM
So, who wants tonight's Tatts numbers? I might not get you first division (being out by a point isn't bad), but I'll definitely get you second!

Well done DOW. truth hurts. laughed reading that. Going back to my beer.

25-05-2019, 06:01 PM
How are the media not going to smash is from now on in.

We have so much talent and play like that.

you know what we don’t have so much talent. We over rate our players

25-05-2019, 06:02 PM
Dale is a bit timid unfortunately. Can't afford to be in the AFL. Maybe get away with it in the VFL.

25-05-2019, 06:02 PM
10 minutes of footy. There better not be anyone involved with the club pleased with almost pinching it. Weak performance.

25-05-2019, 06:12 PM
Dale is a bit timid unfortunately. Can't afford to be in the AFL. Maybe get away with it in the VFL.

That last marking contest everyone thought he should have got a free. If he didn't go up with a turtle neck he would have marked it. That wasn't the first time he did it

25-05-2019, 06:14 PM
That last marking contest everyone thought he should have got a free. If he didn't go up with a turtle neck he would have marked it. That wasn't the first time he did it

Yep. If they drop Schache because of his lack of hardness I hope they apply that to all players.

25-05-2019, 06:35 PM
Very dissapointed Doggies supporter here. Not good enough today.

25-05-2019, 07:04 PM
10 minutes of footy. There better not be anyone involved with the club pleased with almost pinching it. Weak performance.

If I hear anyone say that at least we fought back and didn't fold meekly, I'll Spew Up.

25-05-2019, 07:08 PM
It’s all about effort, we did not bring it, very disappointing.

25-05-2019, 07:19 PM
I thought North's pressure was very good and we din't handle it very well.

25-05-2019, 07:26 PM
I thought North's pressure was very good and we din't handle it very well.

They didn't panic when we rallied and took the lead. Full credit to them.

Goldy put on a masterclass today. Marks, hit outs and his hanballing in particular was outstanding.

25-05-2019, 07:26 PM
1st quarter - the shootout
2nd quarter and 3rd quarters - North on top
Start on the 4th quarter - we got control and hit the lead
Latter part of the 4th quarter - North get control again and we lose.

Story is don’t play 4 quarters don’t win :(

25-05-2019, 07:34 PM
Norff were bloody clean today, they dominated the ground ball moved through our press with with ease and finished well. Absolutely deserved to win.

Hard to find a good player outside the Bont who once again spent too much time forward due to structural issues but loving the progress of Smith. He seems to get his hands clear even when tackled and generally takes the right option. Once he learns to back his pace and another preseason under his belt look out.. Could be the best player in what looks to be a generational draft.

25-05-2019, 07:38 PM
I know many here are frustrated and upset with the result but there was some scintillating football at times and that honesty excites me about our future.

Its nowhere doom and gloom from my perspective but I'm as frustrated as that we didn't finish it off in the last quarter

25-05-2019, 07:39 PM
Let down again. Even took someone to their first ever AFL match and this is what we dish up?

25-05-2019, 07:44 PM
I know many here are frustrated and upset with the result but there was some scintillating football at times and that honesty excites me about our future.

Can’t agree. We really stunk it up today. Which unfortunately is par for the course this year. I’m not so sure a ten minute patch of scintillating football against a bottom four team equals an exciting future.

25-05-2019, 07:44 PM
I know many here are frustrated and upset with the result but there was some scintillating football t times and that honesty excites me about our future.

Its nowhere doom and gloom from my perspective but im as frustrated as that we dudnt finish it off in the last quarter

We just need Timmy to start getting his hands on it first and let the Bont do his magic. The 666 is made for Bontempelli we just need to give him an opportunity to shine.

25-05-2019, 07:48 PM
That really really hurt. Even more when we saw what we were capable of in 10 minutes of the last quarter, only to meekly surrender. North wanted it more. Our guys seem unable to turn up focused for these games where we are favoured to win.

Regarding Caleb Daniel I personally feel he is overused as our get out of jail option in the backline. We hand passed backwards to him several times. He is not a break the lines kind of guy. His kicks are neat and precise but don’t go far. I’m not sure we have the balance right with how we use him.

The umpiring was really dreadful today. Apart from the missed HTB decisions, Naughton was scragged with no frees while Ben Brown was untouchable. Still, we were just not switched on. Those losses against GC, Carlton and Nth have put paid to the season but also make you wonder if we’re moving backwards.

I feel too disappointed to say much else. The hunger is missing from our team. Maybe the loss of those blokes hard nuts like Smith, Picken and Biggs who absolutely burned to win a flag has been greater than we thought and some of the blokes coming through aren’t going to make it.

25-05-2019, 07:53 PM
Yep, the hunger and consistency just hasn’t been there since 2016.

25-05-2019, 07:55 PM
The problem was you could see it coming, that they would come out boning with their shins. And we didn't bring any counter to the game for that.

25-05-2019, 08:16 PM
Why do our players not hurt after a loss like that. They walk around like rock stars.

I thought they cleaned out the party club boys. Maybe it’s our coaching or leadership group

25-05-2019, 08:17 PM

Any players in particular BB?

25-05-2019, 08:47 PM
you know what we don’t have so much talent. We over rate our players

And coaches.

25-05-2019, 08:48 PM
Didn’t see the game at all.

Disappointing result.

Maybe we’re just not very good? We have some talent but every list does. Our list is seemingly a long way off the likes of Collingwood.

25-05-2019, 09:15 PM
Sam Power talked about the upcoming draft and seemed to suggest we had a short list of players we are interested and their availability at our selections will determine if we take one or two players

25-05-2019, 11:30 PM
A very sort presser for Bevo. 4 minutes 40 seconds. Then he was gone.

26-05-2019, 08:53 AM

Bit like our performance on the field.

26-05-2019, 09:19 AM

The moment there was a pause in questions he took the opportunity to shut it down and get out of Dodge. It gave me the impression he didn't want to do the interview anyway. He talked about the Cordy move into the ruck, and I do feel that was a real positive, and he also mentioned English hitting the scoreboard which I was pleased for him.
Who would want to be a coach of a team that is capable of both brilliance and well below par performances? I genuinely feel Bevo is working as hard as he can as a coach and that he is frustrated as all of us are with inconsistent performances during games.

26-05-2019, 09:20 AM

The moment there was a pause in questions he took the opportunity to shut it down and get out of Dodge. It gave me the impression he didn't want to do the interview anyway. He talked about the Cordy move into the ruck, and I do feel that was a real positive, and he also mentioned English hitting the scoreboard which I was pleased for him.
Who would want to be a coach of a team that is capable of both brilliance and well below acceptable performances? I genuinely feel Bevo is working as hard as he can as a coach and that he is frustrated as all of us are with inconsistent performances during games.

26-05-2019, 10:40 AM
Frustrating loss. 10 minutes of our absolute best and a fair chunk of our worst. The flat patches stank almost as bad as the Carlton game and structurally looked like the Pies game when we broke down late.

For all that, a handful of misses (we've improved to some degree), and the absolute silver platter Nth were handed 4 goals from by the umpires really impacted the scoreboard. We just couldn't put any decent scoreboard pressure on. It's as frustrated as I've been with the umpiring as I have been for 10 years.

26-05-2019, 01:44 PM
Kicking the first 4 of the last to get from 20 points behind to 5 in front, we should’ve been able to bury them from there, but we went the complete opposite. We have way too many players that don’t like the hard stuff. Prima Donnas strutting their stuff with their skirts over their heads when the opposition get down and dirty.

Personally, I’ve never rated Cunnington, Anderson etc, but geez they love playing us.

Putrid effort for the most part. And boy, we must be the weakest team to be able to lay a tackle that sticks.

26-05-2019, 04:36 PM
I think we have to write this one off. Erase if from our memory.
The 'their coach has just been sacked' is such a strong syndrome in fact it's an archetype. It deeply impacts their psyche, especially with the media hysteria. Our players would be affected too.
If a tree is not fruiting it is a practice (those Italians!) to garotte it. It then fruits its head off the next opportunity, thinking it's going to die.

28-05-2019, 10:46 AM
Coaches votes
WESTERN BULLDOGS v NORTH MELBOURNE
10 Todd Goldstein (NMFC)
8 Shaun Higgins (NMFC)
5 Josh Dunkley (WB)
3 Mason Wood (NMFC)
3 Ben Cunnington (NMFC)
1 Sam Lloyd (WB)

28-05-2019, 01:22 PM
Coaches votes
WESTERN BULLDOGS v NORTH MELBOURNE
10 Todd Goldstein (NMFC)
8 Shaun Higgins (NMFC)
5 Josh Dunkley (WB)
3 Mason Wood (NMFC)
3 Ben Cunnington (NMFC)
1 Sam Lloyd (WB)

10 and clearly best on ground, can we say match winner, is a strong experienced specialist ruckman. Something we have been missing while trying to prove that the ruck is irrelevant in modern football.

28-05-2019, 02:02 PM
10 and clearly best on ground, can we say match winner, is a strong experienced specialist ruckman. Something we have been missing while trying to prove that the ruck is irrelevant in modern football.

I don't agree with this. I think Bevo values the rucks, as long as they are not just a ruck but can contribute around the ground.

Unfortunately, we don't have a topline ruckman that can do this. English is great around the ground, but his tap work is not up to it at the moment.

BTW, for all of Goldstein's good work, we won the clearances, stoppages and contested possessions, however, we did lose the centre clearances where Goldstein was very good. Goldstein was also good around the ground picking up 28 disposals, including 7 marks to English's 5

28-05-2019, 02:23 PM
I don't agree with this. I think Bevo values the rucks, as long as they are not just a ruck but can contribute around the ground.

Unfortunately, we don't have a topline ruckman that can do this. English is great around the ground, but his tap work is not up to it at the moment.

BTW, for all of Goldstein's good work, we won the clearances, stoppages and contested possessions, however, we did lose the centre clearances where Goldstein was very good. Goldstein was also good around the ground picking up 28 disposals, including 7 marks to English's 5
17 of Goldstein's disposals were in the first half.
Cordy battled pretty well considering he was giving up size, weight and experience.

28-05-2019, 03:05 PM
Cordy battled pretty well considering he was giving up size, weight and experience.

And also considering we should have a team where We don’t need to run Cordy in the ruck.

28-05-2019, 08:12 PM

He really is a marvel is Zaine.

"It's Grand Final day today can you be a Premiership winning CHF for us Zaine?" "yeah, no worries I can do that"

"can you go back and play on monster forwards for us Zaine?" "Yeah, no worries I can do that"

"we are getting our arses kicked in the ruck, any chance you can go in there and stop North waltzing it out of every centre bounce Zaine?" "Yeah no worries, I can do that"

I wish we had three or four of him. One to play at CHF, one in the ruck, and a couple in defence.

28-05-2019, 08:37 PM
He really is a marvel is Zaine.

"It's Grand Final day today can you be a Premiership winning CHF for us Zaine?" "yeah, no worries I can do that"

"can you go back and play on monster forwards for us Zaine?" "Yeah, no worries I can do that"

"we are getting our arses kicked in the ruck, any chance you can go in there and stop North waltzing it out of every centre bounce Zaine?" "Yeah no worries, I can do that"

I wish we had three or four of him. One to play at CHF, one in the ruck, and a couple in defence.

don’t get too carried away.

Against North 8 disposals and 8 hitouts. Against Geelong 8 disposals and 2 hitouts

I like him but what we want occasionally is:
goldstein 28 disposals and 60 hitouts.

Cordy is being used the same way Naughton is, propaganda to distract from the fact that nobody is putting a genuine AFL team on the ground.

28-05-2019, 11:17 PM
don’t get too carried away.

Against North 8 disposals and 8 hitouts. Against Geelong 8 disposals and 2 hitouts

I like him but what we want occasionally is:
goldstein 28 disposals and 60 hitouts.

Cordy is being used the same way Naughton is, propaganda to distract from the fact that nobody is putting a genuine AFL team on the ground.

You can't see Cordy's value looking at a stats sheet. Don't know what else can be said.

29-05-2019, 01:40 AM
You can't see Cordy's value looking at a stats sheet. Don't know what else can be said.

Aliir Aliir was CHB against Brisbane. He had 14 kicks and 7 handballs.

Cordy was CHB against Brisbane. He had 5 kicks and 5 handballs. (Following week)

Cordy is probably playing exactly as instructed. But from my observations of his games he is not providing enough (any) momentum off the backline. And stats back up that observation.

And I see this with others.

29-05-2019, 02:20 AM

Cordy was CHB against Brisbane. He had 5 kicks and 5 handballs. (Following week)

Cordy is probably playing exactly as instructed. But from my observations of his games he is not providing enough (any) momentum off the backline. And stats back up that observation.

Perhaps this is an important problem. Some players like Easton Wood and other 2016 heroes have been below their best. But not really getting the torch like newer players.

29-05-2019, 10:27 AM

Not every player is there to provide run off the backline. I'd rather Cordy stay back so Caleb doesn't get caught out one on one against a key forward. I frankly couldn't care less how many disposals Cordy gets and the performance of Aliir Aliir in a different game for a different team with different plans and structures and instructions is in no way relevant to that

29-05-2019, 02:23 PM
Not every player is there to provide run off the backline. I'd rather Cordy stay back so Caleb doesn't get caught out one on one against a key forward. I frankly couldn't care less how many disposals Cordy gets and the performance of Aliir Aliir in a different game for a different team with different plans and structures and instructions is in no way relevant to that

I see your point about game plans. But are the positions in two different sides THAT different?

29-05-2019, 03:15 PM
I see your point about game plans. But are the positions in two different sides THAT different?

It's not just the position, it's the role they play and the different teams structure/defensive plan/preferred ball movement methods and what how the actual game plays out between the two team. All sorts of factors make the comparison moot.

We have all of JJ, Caleb, Crozier and Suckling as defenders who I'd rather have the ball in the hands of before Cordy anyway. If anyone is going to be instructed to play extra defensive he'd be right up at the top of my list with the likes of Morris.

In fact Morris is a great comparison. Has anyone every looked at Morris's stats after a game and said 'geez we're not getting much run from him he's down on output'? No. Because we all know what Morris does best and what he's in the team to do.

29-05-2019, 03:27 PM
It's not just the position, it's the role they play and the different teams structure/defensive plan/preferred ball movement methods and what how the actual game plays out between the two team. All sorts of factors make the comparison moot.

We have all of JJ, Caleb, Crozier and Suckling as defenders who I'd rather have the ball in the hands of before Cordy anyway. If anyone is going to be instructed to play extra defensive he'd be right up at the top of my list with the likes of Morris.

In fact Morris is a great comparison. Has anyone every looked at Morris's stats after a game and said 'geez we're not getting much run from him he's down on output'? No. Because we all know what Morris does best and what he's in the team to do.

I love Cords as a player but get very nervous when he kicks on his left.

29-05-2019, 04:26 PM

It's funny when we discuss Morris in the context of 'flexibility', the new mantra. He plays one role and does it very well.
If Cordy can match Morris in that stopper role, we would be fortunate. I would hope Cordy could run a little faster than Dale and give us some better spread however.

29-05-2019, 05:15 PM
By hujsh

It's not just the position, it's the role they play and the different teams structure/defensive plan/preferred ball movement methods and what how the actual game plays out .....

We know how the game plays out......We lose.

it is what we have done better than most teams since the middle of 2017.

Now we are not winning against bottom teams...a new low for long suffering supporters.

That is why players have to change. And in Cordy’s case it has to be more and better ball use.

29-05-2019, 05:29 PM
[COLOR=#333333]

Now we are not winning against bottom teams...a new low for long suffering supporters.

Ummmm.

We aren’t long suffering. A couple of seasons with unfulfilled expectations is not long suffering. Only 3x teams have won premierships in the past 3 years - West Coast, Richmond and US.

29-05-2019, 05:34 PM
Ummmm.

We aren’t long suffering. A couple of seasons with unfulfilled expectations is not long suffering. Only 3x teams have won premierships in the past 3 years - West Coast, Richmond and US.

unlike the other teams that have been winning premierships since 2000 our stay at the top was short lived. Could not make the finals the following year and were even worse the next two (three).

29-05-2019, 05:38 PM
By hujsh

It's not just the position, it's the role they play and the different teams structure/defensive plan/preferred ball movement methods and what how the actual game plays out .....

We know how the game plays out......We lose.

it is what we have done better than most teams since the middle of 2017.

That is why players have to change. And in Cordy’s case it has to be more and better ball use.

I'm speaking about how the game flows, how the various plans interact with eachother, what one team does to counter the other's attacking movement etc. Don't just pull pull this 'we always lose' crap because you don't want to engage with the fact there's too many variables for you to compare Cordy against one team with another tall defender against the same team and demonstrate anything of real value.

I get you like stats but they don't tell the whole story. If you think the problem (or one of them to be fair to you) facing this team is that Zaine Cordy doesn't get enough of the ball then you're free to believe it but you'll be in the minority.

29-05-2019, 06:33 PM
unlike the other teams that have been winning premierships since 2000 our stay at the top was short lived. Could not make the finals the following year and were even worse the next two (three).

Yeah - but we also played in prelims in 08/09/10...it hasn't exactly been a barren 20 years...

29-05-2019, 06:42 PM
Yeah - but we also played in prelims in 08/09/10...it hasn't exactly been a barren 20 years...

Also finals in 2000, 2006, 2015

29-05-2019, 07:24 PM
I'm speaking about how the game flows, how the various plans interact with eachother, what one team does to counter the other's attacking movement etc. Don't just pull pull this 'we always lose' crap because you don't want to engage with the fact there's too many variables for you to compare Cordy against one team with another tall defender against the same team and demonstrate anything of real value.

I get you like stats but they don't tell the whole story. If you think the problem (or one of them to be fair to you) facing this team is that Zaine Cordy doesn't get enough of the ball then you're free to believe it but you'll be in the minority.

I said we lose more than most and that is a fact that can’t be argued against on the basis of the last 40 games. The task is to change that.

Cordy is not a tall defender. And he doesn’t have the body strength like Morris, so he often gets beaten (1 on 1) by big forwards. Morris has been beaten too at times, no disgrace in that.

I am sure that Cordy is being played in the wrong positions (others too). Look at the Carlton game, very few people were surprised by that disaster . His opponent (an emergency I think) had 20 possessions, 11 marks and 4 goals. Cordy had about 6 possessions.

Cordy is built like Ryan Hargraves and the team would be better served if he played that style of game. Taking the ball instead of punching it away. Positive instead of negative. 100 %ers instead of 1 %ers.

29-05-2019, 08:11 PM

True, these were very good years. Looked like we meant business all season and top 4 finish.

Can I have some more please.

29-05-2019, 08:47 PM
True, these were very good years. Looked like we meant business all season and top 4 finish.

For me too please.

29-05-2019, 09:57 PM

Not sure there is a switch that can be flicked... if there was, it might be worn out.

29-05-2019, 09:58 PM
We badly lack key position players. Naughton will be a genuine key player but still lacks experience. At this stage of development he would be better suited as a defender. Cordy given his size is more a third defender. Schache has the potential of being a key forward but suffers from our poor delivery into attack. English lacks experience against the likes of Grundy and as we saw against North, Goldstein. We recruited Trengrove from PA as a key defender but for the most part has been needed in the ruck to support English.
Without a genuine spine, we can expect to struggle

29-05-2019, 11:09 PM
We badly lack key position players. Naughton will be a genuine key player but still lacks experience. At this stage of development he would be better suited as a defender. Cordy given his size is more a third defender. Schache has the potential of being a key forward but suffers from our poor delivery into attack. English lacks experience against the likes of Grundy and as we saw against North, Goldstein. We recruited Trengrove from PA as a key defender but for the most part has been needed in the ruck to support English.
Without a genuine spine, we can expect to struggle

Other than Trengove, our KPP are young Naughton 19 years old, Schache 21, English 21 and add on Lew Young 20 years old and Gardner 21. Even Cordy is only 22.

30-05-2019, 10:16 AM
Other than Trengove, our KPP are young Naughton 19 years old, Schache 21, English 21 and add on Lew Young 20 years old and Gardner 21. Even Cordy is only 22.

Agreed it needs time.

31-05-2019, 11:35 PM
Good points quoted. The loss of Morris Picken Roughead Dahlhaus and Campbell has robbed the Club of a lot of experience. North with a big win again over Richmond tonight showed that they have a far greater blend of good on field experienced players with a strong blend of young quick players which we are still struggling to match.