View Full Version : Always Right Match Committee Thread Round 18, Vs St Kilda

31-05-2019, 04:38 PM
Welcome to the Always Right Match Committee Thread. The Match Committee threads has been named after long time WOOF member Always Right who tragically passed away in March 2018.

If you were on the Western Bulldogs match committee what changes would you make after our Round 17 match against Melbourne for our Round 18, 2019 match against St Kilda at Marvel Stadium?

For those new to these threads, please give a brief explanation for your changes ... this would add a lot of value to the discussion.

14-07-2019, 06:17 PM

14-07-2019, 07:17 PM
Out - McLean (inj) & Dickson/Richards
In - West & Libba

I really, really want to see West, and it's probably as a forward.

14-07-2019, 07:28 PM
Dickson really offers little IMO - don’t see why we are still playing him.

Richards also needs to find more of the ball.

OUT - McLean & Dickson
IN - Libba and West

14-07-2019, 07:29 PM
Dickson really offers little IMO - don’t see why we are still playing him.

Richards also needs to find more of the ball.

OUT - McLean & Dickson
IN - Libba and West

Ditto

14-07-2019, 07:39 PM
McLean out, Wally in

It will be interesting to see who else might be sore. Bontempelli and Naughton might struggle .

14-07-2019, 08:01 PM
McLean and Dickson out
and
Libba and West in.

14-07-2019, 08:02 PM
McLean out, Wally in

It will be interesting to see who else might be sore. Bontempelli and Naughton might struggle .

If Liberatore is fit would you pick him ahead of Wallis?

14-07-2019, 08:04 PM

Either is fine with me but Wallis demonstrated he is fit enough and i think Liberatore needed a run today

14-07-2019, 08:05 PM
Libba didn't play today is he 100%

Also Paddy has a sore knee and was struggling late in the game.

14-07-2019, 08:06 PM

I was tossing up between the two.

14-07-2019, 08:35 PM
Bontempelli and Naughton might struggle .

Off for 20 mins in the 2nd...

Would seem to present as an injection + stabilisation time...

Thinking a week off.

14-07-2019, 08:41 PM
Either is fine with me but Wallis demonstrated he is fit enough and i think Liberatore needed a run today

Big difference in the way they play... and the impact they have on our team.

14-07-2019, 09:15 PM
Forgot to mention, Caleb Daniel might be an outside chance to return next week. He talked at the player sponsors today

14-07-2019, 09:16 PM
Out: McLean, Lipinski, R Smith
In: Liberatore, Wallis, Daniel

14-07-2019, 09:24 PM
Out: McLean, Lipinski, R Smith
In: Liberatore, Wallis, Daniel

Lipinski dropped?

14-07-2019, 09:25 PM
Lipinski dropped?

Last quarter on the bench IIRC so assuming the idea is he's injured?

14-07-2019, 09:25 PM
Lipinski dropped?

Maybe injured, had work done on his knee it may not be much though.

14-07-2019, 09:32 PM
West and Wallis for McLean and Dickson

14-07-2019, 09:50 PM
Out: McLean, Dickson
In: Jong, Dale.
Wallis said after the game that he was a bit sore still.

14-07-2019, 10:29 PM
Out: McLean, Dickson, Lippa (assuming he doesn't get up), Bont (as before, probably needs the week off)
In: Jong, West, Dale, Libba

14-07-2019, 10:42 PM
For mine no one to be dropped only changes to be forced through injury.

14-07-2019, 11:18 PM
Out. Mclean and THE BONT (could do with the rest anyway)
In. West and Dale I think have earned the promotion

14-07-2019, 11:44 PM
Out: McLean, Dickson
In: Jong, Dale.
Wallis said after the game that he was a bit sore still.

Is Jong even available?

15-07-2019, 02:23 AM
Only McLean out for Libba/Wallis/Jong (in that order).

I get the calls for Dickson out but he generates 3 chances at goal in a given game and will kick or generate a goal from 2.8 of them so he stays. There's no one in the seconds I want in the side more than Dickson right now, and that includes a still-green West.

AutoFill
15-07-2019, 02:42 AM
I’ll take a punt that at least three changes will be made this week; all injuries. McLean, Bont @ Lipinski. West will get his chance, Libba will be in if fit, and Wally.

15-07-2019, 09:34 AM
last quarter on the bench iirc so assuming the idea is he's injured?

iirc?

15-07-2019, 09:36 AM
Is Jong even available?

Played the last two VFL games and is steadily getting better.

15-07-2019, 10:45 AM
iirc?
If I recall correctly

15-07-2019, 11:18 AM
Is Jong even available?
Yes he played well in the curtain raiser. He looked fit and explosive (good ingredients for injuring yourself:)). Big bodied like Dunkley but faster.

15-07-2019, 07:49 PM
The Bont is sore but he will be available to play V St Kilda, Mark Stevens on c7 news.

15-07-2019, 08:35 PM
Lipinski dropped?

Spent half the game on the bench and the other half turning it over, if he was sore I'll give him the benefit of the doubt

15-07-2019, 09:04 PM
Spent half the game on the bench and the other half turning it over, if he was sore I'll give him the benefit of the doubt

I’d be hesitant to drop Lipinski based on 1 bad game.

15-07-2019, 10:56 PM

Me too. Has played his best career footy in the last 2 months. Not in the discussion for being dropped.

15-07-2019, 11:31 PM

100% Libba over Wallis for replacement of McClean. But I would take Wallis over Libba for a replacement of Dickson

Hope that clears that up now 🤭

16-07-2019, 07:31 AM
100% Libba over Wallis for replacement of McClean. But I would take Wallis over Libba for a replacement of Dickson

Hope that clears that up now ��

It does. For what it’s worth, I agree.

16-07-2019, 08:36 AM
Out: McLean, Roarke Smith
In: Libba, West

Richards, Sucklimg & Dickson all next in line.

16-07-2019, 09:54 AM
Out: McLean, Roarke Smith
In: Libba, West

Richards, Sucklimg & Dickson all next in line.

I would like to see that, but I think Roarke saved himself with two goals.

16-07-2019, 11:42 AM
One big out looks like being Alan Richardson for the Saints.

We know what happens when a coach leaves as we cop it a fair bit.

16-07-2019, 11:57 AM
Based more on injury than output I think. Is he right to play?

Jong probably in the frame to come in for McLean. I still had West as BOG but he was far better as a mid than a forward. Jong is a little more like for like, forward with stints on the wing.

16-07-2019, 12:00 PM
Based more on injury than output I think. Is he right to play?

Jong probably in the frame to come in for McLean. I still had West as BOG but he was far better as a mid than a forward. Jong is a little more like for like, forward with stints on the wing.

Club hasn't posted up the injury report yet, so we don't know who is available.

16-07-2019, 12:53 PM
Lipinski still played 80% gametime which is 1% off his season high. Cant've been too bad.

16-07-2019, 01:18 PM

Just confirmed that Richardson has been sacked.

16-07-2019, 03:57 PM

Unbelievable I reckon the Saints saw us coming and waited for this round to sack him knowing North did the same and got over us. We'll have to get in front early and kill the contest.

16-07-2019, 04:12 PM
Wallis to have surgery, Mclean out for a few weeks, Lippa ok as not on the injury list, and The Bont needs to get through this week.

Libba and Caleb are a possible as well and will be tested.

dukedog
16-07-2019, 05:27 PM
That is ridiculous
... they must have it in for the dogs. Coaches always going before they play us... that or a milestone game.

16-07-2019, 06:16 PM
That's a mistake Richardson can coach.

But seriously if we're the real deal it's going to get much harder than beating a bottom 6 team that has just lost its coach. Good test and one I think we should pass.

16-07-2019, 08:44 PM
What about the presser
Finnis waffling on about the future and the job while Richardson’s still there
Was more this is your life than a coach sacking
Let’s rise above the B/S of losing to a club sacking its coach

16-07-2019, 10:19 PM
What about the presser

And all that talk about "following the process no matter what" sounded a bit hollow to me. It seemed a bit like one of those "processes" that ends in the decision we were going to make in the first place and appoint one of our mates anyway.

16-07-2019, 10:28 PM
What about the presser
Ratten has taken on the toughest job in the AFL outside GCS. Dealing with the Saints management is a nightmare. Alan Richardson deserved better. He was on a hiding to nothing

16-07-2019, 11:01 PM
The Bont currently in a moon boot. Damaging a ligament in the ankle sounds like to me a few weeks off. Hopefully he trains well Friday.

16-07-2019, 11:06 PM
The Bont currently in a moon boot. Damaging a ligament in the ankle sounds like to me a few weeks off. Hopefully he trains well Friday.

This is tough following on the injuries to Maclean Libba and Wallis. You wouldn’t want to take any risks with Bont given his value to the side

16-07-2019, 11:33 PM
Watched the Saints play North in Tassie not long back, all the way through ( torture really, not a great game ).
Jack Z absolutely pole-axed some kid that looked like Bjorn Borg.
Name ? I'm really keeping up with opposition lists these days I tell you!

Kid came back on! Toughness. At least they have heart, the saints.
Melbourne for example, manage to win some games, but still seem a bit gutless.
Expect the Saints to come out, chests puffed out and go crazy. Going to be a tough game and this is exactly the sort of game we could lose.

17-07-2019, 02:48 PM
I imagine they'll look to Bailey Dale to replace Toby unless Daniel is cleared fit
If The Bont is right, possibly no other changes. Jong or Hayes in if not.

Libba could use a run at Footscray if right (feels weird typing that)

17-07-2019, 03:02 PM

Damaging a ligament is a technical way of saying he sprained his ankle isn't it?

I'm tipping he'll be running on Friday and the only risk on him playing is that it doesn't recover after training.....

(in my non-medical guess work opinion!)

17-07-2019, 03:34 PM
Stevo tweeted that Bont is almost certain to play.

17-07-2019, 03:50 PM

Speaking of twitter - saw on the clubs twitter that its Patty Lipinski's 21st birthday today. Another reminder of how young some of our talent is.

17-07-2019, 03:56 PM
Ratten has taken on the toughest job in the AFL outside GCS. Dealing with the Saints management is a nightmare. Alan Richardson deserved better. He was on a hiding to nothing
One SEN interview over summer was telling. A huge proportion of their cap during the 09-11 era was spent on their top 6 players and they had years of back-ended contracts as a consequence. Their TPP structure was "a total mess" and next year it's mostly resolved.

In any case, I'd hope we understand how the Saints will come out breathing fire and have a plan to stop it. I wouldn't be surprised if we rush Libba back because he offers more than just his stats on the field.

17-07-2019, 04:29 PM

Bont put out a video yesterday ( see here (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2019-07-17/bontempelli-a-chance-to-face-saints)) and confirms he needs to get through training on Friday.

17-07-2019, 06:29 PM

Few jabs will get him through. Happy to rest him against the Lions.

17-07-2019, 10:13 PM
Watched the Saints play North in Tassie not long back, all the way through ( torture really, not a great game ).
Jack Z absolutely pole-axed some kid that looked like Bjorn Borg.
Name ? I'm really keeping up with opposition lists these days I tell you!

Kid came back on! Toughness. At least they have heart, the saints.
Melbourne for example, manage to win some games, but still seem a bit gutless.
Expect the Saints to come out, chests puffed out and go crazy. Going to be a tough game and this is exactly the sort of game we could lose.

I reckon you are talking about Hunter Clark? He was born in South Sudan.

17-07-2019, 10:15 PM
I imagine they'll look to Bailey Dale to replace Toby unless Daniel is cleared fit
If The Bont is right, possibly no other changes. Jong or Hayes in if not.

Libba could use a run at Footscray if right (feels weird typing that)

If the Bont plays I'd like to see Libba in the guts with him because he takes some of the pressure off him. If the Bont doesn't play I'd like to see Libba in the guts taking his place! :)

18-07-2019, 07:26 PM
ROUND 18 SQUAD
B: Jason Johannisen, Jackson Trengove, Hayden Crozier
HB: Taylor Duryea, Zaine Cordy, Easton Wood
C: Lachie Hunter, Bailey Smith, Pat Lipinski
HF: Matt Suckling, Josh Schache, Sam Lloyd
F: Aaron Naughton, Marcus Bontempelli, Tory Dickson
Foll: Tim English, Josh Dunkley, Jack Macrae
Int (ext.): Rhylee West, Ed Richards, Tom Liberatore, Bailey Dale, Bailey Williams, Caleb Daniel, Roarke Smith, Dale Morris
In: Rhylee West, Tom Liberatore, Bailey Dale, Caleb Daniel, Dale Morris
Out: Toby McLean (hamstring)

18-07-2019, 07:37 PM
Some quality coming into the side there. Tom Libba, Caleb Daniel, Dale Morris and Roarke Smith/Rhylee West would be good although maybe it is one defender too many.

18-07-2019, 07:38 PM
Hope West debuts

18-07-2019, 07:40 PM
Hope West debuts

Me too. I love a F/S debut.

18-07-2019, 08:38 PM
Hope West debuts

Yeah would be great to see him debut after hearing about him do good in the VFL.

18-07-2019, 08:44 PM
How confident are we that the Bont gets up?

If he doesn't then Libba straight in makes sense.

18-07-2019, 08:45 PM

Not sure with the Bont. Hopefully he is right to go. I think they are doing a test.

18-07-2019, 10:48 PM
How confident are we that the Bont gets up? .

Why would we even risk him. If we win we need him leading into the bigger games. If we lose it won’t matter asxno chance of finals.

Rest the Bont, Libba straight back in, back the boys in and Bont will come back cherry ripe. If he plays it’s on one leg and could be a 80% fit over the next month.

18-07-2019, 11:17 PM

I reckon he'll play. He needs to play. Please play. I'd try to get him though to the Brissie game and rest him, English and Smith then.

18-07-2019, 11:17 PM
Why would we even risk him. If we win we need him leading into the bigger games. If we lose it won’t matter asxno chance of finals.

Rest the Bont, Libba straight back in, back the boys in and Bont will come back cherry ripe. If he plays it’s on one leg and could be a 80% fit over the next month.

What he said. My exact thoughts.

18-07-2019, 11:25 PM
Love the glove. I’m in Sorrento and there is a town called Liberatore. It’s in the West of Sorrento..

19-07-2019, 08:11 AM
It’s a shame Bont has the yips. We could play him at FF at 80% fitness. The issue would be if he had six set shots, one goal five points would loss us the game.

He shoul only play if he is ready for big midfield minutes.

19-07-2019, 11:48 AM
It’s a shame Bont has the yips. We could play him at FF at 80% fitness. The issue would be if he had six set shots, one goal five points would loss us the game.

He shoul only play if he is ready for big midfield minutes.

I'd back Bont to overcome the yips if given a role forward because of lack of fitness.

19-07-2019, 11:51 AM
Love the glove. I’m in Sorrento and there is a town called Liberatore. It’s in the West of Sorrento..

I'm in Frankston so presumed you mean Italy cos never heard of Liberatore. No Liberatore in google maps for either Italy or Australia. Where are you?

19-07-2019, 12:25 PM
I'm in Frankston so presumed you mean Italy cos never heard of Liberatore. No Liberatore in google maps for either Italy or Australia. Where are you?
If you need to Google Liberatore, you'll never find it man

*white rabbit plays softly in the background*

19-07-2019, 12:26 PM
Libba and Caleb sound like they are automatically in judging by Bevo's presser so I guess Roarke misses out along with losing Toby to his hammie.

19-07-2019, 12:52 PM

Go ask Alice? But would Alice know where Liberatore is?

19-07-2019, 06:08 PM
Final Team

IN
Tom Liberatore, Bailey Dale, Caleb Daniel

OUT
Bailey Williams (Omitted), Ed Richards (Injured), Toby McLean (Injured)

19-07-2019, 06:10 PM
Go ask Alice? But would Alice know where Liberatore is?

Alice Doesn't Live Here Anymore. Maybe she opened a restaurant instead.

19-07-2019, 06:15 PM
How's Dale been doing at Vfl level?

19-07-2019, 06:17 PM
How's Dale been doing at Vfl level?

Killed it in first half last week before being taken off as the emergency for the AFL game.

19-07-2019, 06:17 PM
Final Team

IN
Tom Liberatore, Bailey Dale, Caleb Daniel

OUT
Bailey Williams (Omitted), Ed Richards (Injured), Toby McLean (Injured)

I don't known how Dale gets a gig. I would love to have seen West get his first game.

19-07-2019, 06:20 PM
I don't known how Dale gets a gig. I would love to have seen West get his first game.

Final chance? Show us something or you may not be at Whitten Oval next year?

We always announce first gamers early don't we? Never through a Sunday game extended bench as far as I recall.

19-07-2019, 06:23 PM
Final chance? Show us something or you may not be at Whitten Oval next year?

We always announce first gamers early don't we? Never through a Sunday game extended bench as far as I recall.

True.

Bont ready to go.

19-07-2019, 06:54 PM

Yeah I guess they see him as someone who can add that outside flair but I just don't see it. Bit of an Eagleton type for me.

I thought Bailey Williams has been showing a lot more toughness at the contest and getting involved in the play more since his last omitting. Don't think he deserved to lose his place at this particular time.

I guess it's like for like,

Daniel comes in Automatically and kicks our Williams.

Richards was quiet again so Dale takes his spot.

Libba in for the mid/fwd role that McLean left open.

19-07-2019, 07:41 PM
That could be it for Williams at the Dogs.

19-07-2019, 08:01 PM
Williams has a few poor moments in the contest in the air against Melbourne.

19-07-2019, 08:04 PM
I’d say Williams might be gone at seasons end
Dale has had a truck load of chances and must perform now

19-07-2019, 08:29 PM

He'll get his chance. We know what Dale is capable of we just need to be patient.

19-07-2019, 08:41 PM
Yeah I guess they see him as someone who can add that outside flair but I just don't see it. Bit of an Eagleton type for me.

I thought Bailey Williams has been showing a lot more toughness at the contest and getting involved in the play more since his last omitting. Don't think he deserved to lose his place at this particular time.

I guess it's like for like,

Daniel comes in Automatically and kicks our Williams.

Richards was quiet again so Dale takes his spot.

Libba in for the mid/fwd role that McLean left open.

Richards is injured according to ins and outs.

19-07-2019, 08:56 PM
I do have concerns about the speed we have lost with both Richards and Williams out. The saints one wood has often been their leg speed.

19-07-2019, 09:05 PM

I have local knowledge of Sorrento golf course but I suspect a sect in Liberatore.

19-07-2019, 10:25 PM
And I'd love to know how they garden in the sand.
I'm hoping Tom Liberatore will get to play and Bailey Dale will do some incisive damage.

19-07-2019, 10:31 PM

Alice is so generous. If ever there was a Liberatore in her restaurant, even if they were mafia she would over deliver on the dinner.

20-07-2019, 12:25 AM
He'll get his chance. We know what Dale is capable of we just need to be patient.

Dale turns 23 in a few days so he has had his chances. His last two games were woeful, but hopefully he can take his opportunity on Sunday.

20-07-2019, 01:06 PM
Dale turns 23 in a few days so he has had his chances. His last two games were woeful, but hopefully he can take his opportunity on Sunday.

He did have a limited pre season through injury to his foot and a lot of players struggle when they start off behind the 8 ball. Hopefully he gives a good account of himself for the rest of the year.

21-07-2019, 12:28 AM
Dale would need to improve dramatically, I hope he does however I think Williams is a better player. West should be in the side Imo.

21-07-2019, 01:08 AM
Dale would need to improve dramatically, I hope he does however I think Williams is a better player. West should be in the side Imo.

I'm critical of Dale's output the last couple of years, but I have also learned to back our MC of late with their selection calls. If they think Bailey D is deserved of a call up this week then I suspect they have good reason. I'll back them in.
Having said that, I am loving that Rhylee is causing the MC much consternation in recent weeks with his output.
The lad is going to earn a guernsey, and every player whose role he can play in the team is now on notice that it could be they who make way if they don't perform.
That's a good type of friction to have leading into a pivotal back end of the home and away season.

21-07-2019, 01:31 AM

Dale has had more better games than Williams. Dale was sensational there for a month of footy a few years back - Premiership year? Kicking goals and racking up high numbers. He can do it just needs a good run at it and his confidence back. The MC having faith in him should instil some of that but agreed he needs to repay the faith.

21-07-2019, 01:33 AM

Bahahahaha, yes Italy.. interestingly it was on a map handed to me by the ships captain after a scuba session in Massa lubrense, the map was provided to find fresh octopus. I noticed Liberatore some where near Punta Lagno. I haven’t been able to find it on google maps either.. white rabbit indeed.

I’m now in Asti with family.

21-07-2019, 02:32 AM
Dale has had more better games than Williams. Dale was sensational there for a month of footy a few years back - Premiership year? Kicking goals and racking up high numbers. He can do it just needs a good run at it and his confidence back. The MC having faith in him should instil some of that but agreed he needs to repay the faith.

Thanks for saving me a post saying the same thing, even though I'm about to say pretty much the same thing anyway in the post I said you saved me from making.

Dale has played exceptional games as a high forward which is pretty much the hardest position on the ground, Williams has played his best games behind the football which is a much easier thing to do as a young player.

I'm not saying one or the other will be more likely to make it, but, if Dale has earned a recall on his efforts playing well forward at the lower level then I'm happy for him to get a shot given Williams has been patchy in every position he's played this year.

Something that sticks in my mind that MJP has been saying all year, is that footy is footy, and players need to play well in the positions they get selected in. There's only a few players in each side who demand a certain spot, the rest have to suck it up and make the most of what they're given in terms of opportunity. Williams hasn't done this so far this year.

21-07-2019, 11:06 AM

Alice is so generous. If ever there was a Liberatore in her restaurant, even if they were mafia she would over deliver on the dinner.

Don't you guys start. That sig almost drove me mad.

...that was terrible. Now we just need to wait for it to come around on the geetar again and then sing along!
And you can get anything you want at Alice's restaurant ('cepting Alice)

If only these kids knew what we were talking about!