View Full Version : WB Game Day V Port Adelaide R15 2019

27-06-2019, 12:52 PM
https://m.afl.com.au/news/2019-06-25/match-preview-port-adelaide-v-western-bulldogs

Match preview: Port Adelaide v Western Bulldogs
Lee Gaskin
Jun 25, 2019 6:00AM

Where and when: Adelaide Oval, Saturday June 29, 7.10pm ACST

TV, radio and online: Click here for broadcast guide

What it means for Port Adelaide: Fresh off a brilliant upset of ladder leader Geelong, the Power have the opportunity to consolidate their spot in the top eight in a game they are expected to win.

What it means for Western Bulldogs: Finals are all but out of reach for the 15th-placed Bulldogs, but they showed enough in their plucky nine-point loss to Collingwood last Sunday to suggest they can trouble the best sides on their day.

The stat: Adelaide Oval has been an unhappy hunting ground for the Bulldogs, with just one win from their six visits to the ground. The Bulldogs' only victory was against the Power in round 12, 2016.

The match-up: Robbie Gray v Marcus Bontempelli

Two absolute stars of the competition face off in the midfield. Gray is the best midfielder/forward at the Power and 29th overall in the Official AFL Player Ratings, while Bontempelli is the No.1-ranked player at the Bulldogs and 10th overall.

It's a big week for: Tim English

After having his hands full with All Australian ruckman Brodie Grundy last week, 21-year-old English faces another huge challenge against Port's Scott Lycett. Lycett was best on ground in the Power's win against Geelong and will be looking to dominate around the ground again.

Big call: Power spearhead Charlie Dixon boots five goals in his second game back from missing 10 months with a broken leg.

Prediction: Power by 20 points

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs

27-06-2019, 10:53 PM
Dogs by 5 points

First Goal: Josh Schache to get our first

Best On Ground: Caleb Daniel to tear it up

Go the mighty Dogs!

29-06-2019, 02:36 PM
I spat my Milo out glancing at our fearsome starting on-ball unit the last time we played them.

https://i.ibb.co/7r7P1FG/Screen-Shot-2019-06-29-at-1-30-09-PM.png (https://ibb.co/KVCdrH9)

Good times.

Despite the fact we're dead set allergic to this ground I feel like we're still capable of knocking this mob over at the minute.

I just don't think we will.

Power by 31
First major : Richards
BOG : Macrae

Dixon will be licking his lips but I'm just as worried about Rozee making us look a bit silly down back.

29-06-2019, 03:12 PM
https://m.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2019-06-28/four-things-to-watch-dogs-v-power

Four things to watch: Dogs v Power
Jun 28, 2019 2:33PM

The midfield battle: Boak v Bont

With both players spending time in the midfield this year, this match up looms as the key contest of Saturday’s clash.
If there’s anyone who can hinder Boak’s influence in the contest, it’s The Bont.
Boak has enjoyed an impressive season for the Power, averaging 32.1 disposals at 65% efficiency over his thirteen appearances, while Bontempelli has once again proved his worth within the midfield, averaging 27.2 disposals at 69% efficiency in 2019.

Who stops Charlie Dixon?

With the likes of Charlie Dixon and emerging star Connor Rozee in the Power’s forward line, the Dogs’ defensive pressure will be a key focus this weekend.
The last time they met, Jackson Trengove spent a majority of the game in the ruck, where he collected an outstanding 22 disposals, 10 clearances, five tackles and two goals.
Moving into the backline this weekend to face his old side, Trengove could be the man for the job against Dixon, who booted five majors in the Power’s 44-point victory at Mars Stadium in Round 19, 2018.

Lycett’s influence

It’s been a big season for developing ruckman Tim English, who has faced some of the competition’s toughest opponents in recent weeks. The 21-year-old will be confronted with another challenge at Adelaide Oval this Saturday, facing Port’s Scott Lycett.
Coming off the back of a dominant performance against Geelong in Round 14, Lycett’s influence is undeniable, which could provide a huge learning curve for the developing Bulldog.
English seems to get better with each game he plays, and now he has another chance to put himself to the test against one of the competition’s greats.

The interstate factor

It’s no secret that the Bulldogs have struggled interstate in recent years, with Adelaide Oval proving a hard task for the Dogs. With just one win from six matches at the ground, the team will be looking to turn their luck this Saturday night and grant their first interstate victory since 2017.
With big-man Trengove in the backline and Aaron Naughton’s influence up-forward for the first time against the Power, the Dogs will be looking to break the curse this weekend.

29-06-2019, 03:42 PM
Any SA Woofers going tonight? Marcov, TAC and T&T from on here.

29-06-2019, 03:51 PM
Any SA Woofers going tonight? Marcov and TAC from on here.

Yeah mate, I will be there. I am up front in the Eastern stand but have a mate with spare seats in the Western stand so might split my time. Would have been keen to catch up, but will be likely getting to the game with little time before the bounce.

29-06-2019, 03:54 PM
Yeah mate, I will be there. I am up front in the Eastern stand but have a mate with spare seats in the Western stand so might split my time. Would have been keen to catch up, but will be likely getting to the game with little time before the bounce.

Hopefully we have a good night.

29-06-2019, 04:42 PM
Dogs by 9

First Goal Naughton
BOG: Dunks

29-06-2019, 07:39 PM
Dogs by 22 - I just have a feeling about this one.
First goal - Bailey Smith
BOG - The Bont to get back into Brownlow conversation!

29-06-2019, 07:46 PM
Doggies by 11 points

First Goal: Lloydy

BOG: The Bont to have a big game.

29-06-2019, 07:56 PM

make sure you wave

29-06-2019, 07:57 PM
us by 7

Le Shaq to get the opener and the closer

Dunks bog

29-06-2019, 08:02 PM
Dogs by 1 point
Dickson 1st goal
Macrae BOG

29-06-2019, 08:34 PM
Doggies by 17 points
BOG Dunkley
1st Goal Macrae

29-06-2019, 08:40 PM
Wood is pumped. This is the best lve seen him in years.

Look out this might be his night.

29-06-2019, 08:44 PM
What was that Jackson!

29-06-2019, 08:44 PM
That’s annoying

29-06-2019, 08:46 PM
Dumb shit costing us already

29-06-2019, 08:47 PM
Pouring down

29-06-2019, 08:55 PM
Dicko gets us going!

Bont been strong early

29-06-2019, 08:55 PM
Good to see us going long in the wet.

29-06-2019, 08:59 PM
I like our effort, we are up for a scrap tonight. We aren't quite getting the bounce of the ball at the moment but we are competitive

29-06-2019, 09:01 PM
Bont to Suckers GOAL!

Handy goal by Suckling

Bont is just having an awesome quarter.

He's on fire isn't he

Schache needs to get more in front. Cmon Josh!

29-06-2019, 09:02 PM
I'd love to see Schache play in front of his man.

29-06-2019, 09:02 PM
He's on fire isn't he

You'd think it was pristine conditions the way he's picking the ball off the turf

29-06-2019, 09:03 PM
I'd love to see Schache play in front of his man.

My thoughts as well YHF.

29-06-2019, 09:04 PM
Well done Schache.

29-06-2019, 09:05 PM
Great goal Josh. If we can get it in his hands excellent! Great set shot.

29-06-2019, 09:07 PM
Roarke Smith has had some good touches. Good signs for him

29-06-2019, 09:07 PM
This is just about our best use of the ball into the 50 I've seen from us for some time.

29-06-2019, 09:13 PM
We've come to play. Great first quarter.

Great quarter!

We are doing well in this wet conditions.

Bont has been excellent best on ground so far.

Outstanding quarter. Well done. Bont was sensational. Crozier great. Roarke Smith some clean pick ups and disposals.

Bont activating beast mode.

The Bont

Agree with GVG liked Rorake’s game as well.

29-06-2019, 09:14 PM
I'm encouraged by our efforts in that quarter, Bont is trying to carry us to a fast start and Dunks is up for the challenge as well

No kicks but 4 tackles from Bailey Smith who has found another way to make an impact.

29-06-2019, 09:14 PM
I used to love the true test of real wet weather footy in the 80's.
I get the feeling that Bont, Dunks, Macrae and Cordy would've reveled playing in the wet, muddy tracks of yesteryear.
That's as consistent a qtr of footy as we've played for a long time.

29-06-2019, 09:15 PM
I like Bont, Dunkley, R Smith, Crozier in that quarter.

29-06-2019, 09:15 PM
We are so lucky to have Bont.

29-06-2019, 09:17 PM
Great to see our defenders actually mark the ball, made a huge difference particularly in this weather. We seem to be positioned further back also, easy goals over the back tonight absolutely kill you.

Schache, keep coming up to the ball please!

29-06-2019, 09:19 PM
I'm encouraged by our efforts in that quarter, Bont is trying to carry us to a fast start and Dunks is up for the challenge as well

No kicks but 4 tackles from Bailey Smith who has found another way to make an impact.

I think we played Smith too far inside, need to get him one pair back.

29-06-2019, 09:19 PM
Don't kick it off the ground

29-06-2019, 09:21 PM
Like how our defence has gone

29-06-2019, 09:24 PM
Our captain Easton I think has shown something.

29-06-2019, 09:25 PM

Big mistake there not to jump and punch. Went the body.

29-06-2019, 09:25 PM

Not his best just then

29-06-2019, 09:29 PM
Strong grab Schache. Great finish.

That is an absolutely outstanding Mark and goal in wet weather.

Well done Josh Schache. Simply superb.

The shack - wow

Nice work Love Shack

Big mistake there not to jump and punch. Went the body.

On that occasion yep agree.

Suckling left foot is lethal to Willians then a great mark to Schache who kicks it.

Not his best just then

Bevo was livid with it too. Most animated I've seen from the coach.

29-06-2019, 09:30 PM
I'm tempting fate here but we seem to be playing good wet weather footy.

29-06-2019, 09:31 PM
Daniel copping a tag may not be so bad for us given the weather

29-06-2019, 09:31 PM
DELIBERATES just BULLshit

29-06-2019, 09:32 PM
That is an absolutely outstanding Mark and goal in wet weather.

Well done Josh Schache. Simply superb.

We can be critical of not playing him earlier but when he has returned he's performed well. I think he's ironed out some issues at Footscray and has returned with confidence. I'd say the MC got this right

Shack showing some good signs. Such a good kick for goal which is a refreshing change!

How the *!*!*!*! can Marcus pick up the ball so damned cleanly?

29-06-2019, 09:33 PM
Bont isn’t human.

29-06-2019, 09:33 PM
There have been two deliberate OOB paid, and at least 3 others that could have been but weren’t . I’d hate to have to play with the unpredictability of the umpiring.

29-06-2019, 09:35 PM
We're forcing the ball forward at any opportunity and at any cost. I'm liking what I see.

29-06-2019, 09:37 PM
Crozier what a good acquisition he has been.

29-06-2019, 09:38 PM
Chase by Schache too

29-06-2019, 09:38 PM
Umpires refuse to give Schache a free kick, either in the back or run down tackle.

29-06-2019, 09:39 PM
Roarke's drift. Awesome goal.

29-06-2019, 09:39 PM
That is a ripper from Roarke. Well done young man

29-06-2019, 09:40 PM
Bailey smith what a goal!!!!

Roarkiiiiiii

Nice goal by Roarke. Does he have a bit of spring back in his game or is it just me?

29-06-2019, 09:41 PM
This rain is just astonishing.

29-06-2019, 09:41 PM
Good goal for Roarke Smith. Playing well given the conditions

29-06-2019, 09:42 PM
Crozier what a good acquisition he has been.

Absolutely. I was really hard on him in his 1st year. But he's turned into a real player. And just looks like one who is really invested in the club. Looks an on field leader now too.

29-06-2019, 09:43 PM
Sorry Rorake :D

29-06-2019, 09:45 PM
I am loving Schache's endeavour tonight.

How many Bonts are out there?...

"Despite having a greater share of time in possession, 39 per cent to 36, the Bulldogs have still laid far more tackles than the Power, 43 to 27." We've come to play.

29-06-2019, 09:46 PM
Massive let-off there.

29-06-2019, 09:48 PM
Thank god for that poster.

29-06-2019, 09:49 PM
BS free kick.

29-06-2019, 09:49 PM
They threw everything that last 5 minutes. Excellent coaching getting naughty back

29-06-2019, 09:50 PM
Massive let-off there.

Could have been costly, what was Trengove thinking

29-06-2019, 09:51 PM
I am loving Schache's endeavour tonight.

It's the most aggressive and proactive I've seen him. I'm loving that just as much as his marks and goals. Its the one element of his game to date that has been lacking, and its that piece of the puzzle that will unlock his true capability if he keeps it up.

29-06-2019, 09:52 PM
They threw everything that last 5 minutes. Excellent coaching getting naughty back

Indeed. Going forward that's how we need to use him. Switch him back and forward as the game's momentum and placement dictates.

29-06-2019, 09:53 PM
Dunkley, Bont, Macrae, JJ our leading disposals getters to half time.

29-06-2019, 09:54 PM
Schache the multiple goal scorer with 2.

29-06-2019, 09:56 PM
The players are rewarding the match committee's faith.

Favourite moment is Roarkoe's goal. To be a rookie who has had a wretched run with injury, you couldn't wipe that smile off his face.

C'mon boys, keep the crowd quiet (and us scraggers screaming with delight).

29-06-2019, 09:57 PM
The rain was supposed to be done by 6, kept trickling away and then came back with a vengeance. It was incredibly loud.

We need to get far enough ahead that the non-bipartisan decisions don’t give pinch it for them. Bury them early.

Oh and kick it to Schache. It looks like he is feeling it.

29-06-2019, 09:58 PM
Caleb Daniel saved the day a couple of times in the last five minutes. We are up for it tonight. Still using too much handball for mine. JJ has to lift. He has butchered a few oops. Bont has been magnificent and Crozier has been a leader down back. Love Dunkley's game. He is a genuine hard nut.

29-06-2019, 10:02 PM
BS free kick.

Sorry but the free was there. Trengove wrestled him away from the drop of the ball then got nowhere near the contest. Stupid free to give away.

Great lead to have in the conditions.

29-06-2019, 10:03 PM
We need something more from the likes of Hunter, Richards and Duryea in the 2nd half

29-06-2019, 10:03 PM
We need something more from the likes of Hunter, Richards and Duryea in the 2nd half

Hunter 6 disposals so far.

29-06-2019, 10:04 PM
Caleb Daniel saved the day a couple of times in the last five minutes. We are up for it tonight. Still using too much handball for mine. JJ has to lift. He has butchered a few oops. Bont has been magnificent and Crozier has been a leader down back. Love Dunkley's game. He is a genuine hard nut.

You must be enjoying so far merantau from Indonesia. So which part of the year are you back home?

29-06-2019, 10:06 PM
Who has been sitting on Wines? He's been very quiet so far.

29-06-2019, 10:06 PM

Duryea gave a great chase that probably saved a goal

29-06-2019, 10:08 PM
Who has been sitting on Wines? He's been very quiet so far.

Sounds like he’s given a negating goal on the GOAT

29-06-2019, 10:09 PM
The first goal of this quarter is important for us

29-06-2019, 10:10 PM
It hasn't been pretty, but you have to admire our effort and commitment in such difficult conditions.

29-06-2019, 10:12 PM
Port have lifted their game. Need to weather this period.

29-06-2019, 10:12 PM
Stop kicking off the ground.

29-06-2019, 10:15 PM
Stop kicking off the ground.

Why? It's usually the best option in the conditions

29-06-2019, 10:16 PM
Surely Cordy needs a spell. Lewis Young can't do any worse than what Zaine has served up this year.

29-06-2019, 10:18 PM
Being swamped. Have to weather the storm.

29-06-2019, 10:18 PM
We haven’t been forward in ages , we are just not trying to score , they will get over us if we don’t start to change something.

29-06-2019, 10:20 PM
Is it an effective possession if it hits your player in the face?

Falcons five goals up

29-06-2019, 10:21 PM
Our defence need to hold firm. I would want us to get the next 1 or 2. Another dissapointing 3rd quarter.

These commentators are so port loving, it’s making me sick.

All of a sudden looking shaky.
Need to get the next goal.
Trengove poor.

29-06-2019, 10:22 PM
Shocking error from Trengove. We're throwing this away.

Trengove needs to go into the ruck, Naughton back and English forward now or it's over.

Why? It's usually the best option in the conditions

Not this quarter.

Stoppped dead half way through the second.

Cmon Dogs!

29-06-2019, 10:23 PM
Well done Macrae.

29-06-2019, 10:23 PM
Thank you Port

Macrae gets important one!

29-06-2019, 10:24 PM
That's a good reply.

Trengove's decision making tonight has been horrendous.

Got it. Fightback. Well done Jack.

Macrae goals!

A Bulldogs-esque turnover to gift us one. Nice work Macrae.

Much better

29-06-2019, 10:26 PM
Pat gets on the scoreboard.

29-06-2019, 10:26 PM
2 goals against the run of play. Good to see us capitalise on opposition errors for a change

29-06-2019, 10:27 PM
The effort continues

Lipppppaaaaaaa.

come on boys bring this back

Shocking error from Trengove. We're throwing this away.

Trengove needs to go into the ruck, Naughton back and English forward now or it's over.

Naughton in the ruck now

So happy for Lipinski.

Great work Schache.

29-06-2019, 10:28 PM
We are back out again Go Dogs!

SHACK!!!! Again. Just standing up.

Shack grab!

We are on a roll, good footy and very pleased with our efforts

Speaking of blokes I'm happy for...

3 goals from a key forward is a brilliant result on a night like tonight.

Shack! Super effort.

Naughton in the ruck now

Lycett was just manhandling Timmy.

29-06-2019, 10:29 PM
Can Trengove not give away a free in every contest?

Jackson having a mixed night against his former employer.

If we want to win, Naughton has to go back.

29-06-2019, 10:30 PM
Straight kicking has been a bonus for us.

Jackson having a mixed night against his former employer.

Disappointing from an always good player

Would we be any worse if Naughton & Trengove swapped. Leave Schache at home, second ruck JT. Seems semi logical.

29-06-2019, 10:31 PM
Every week we get beaten by a big forward.
I’m over forwards licking their lips when they play us.

29-06-2019, 10:32 PM
Need to keep holding firm.

29-06-2019, 10:32 PM
Can Trengove not give away a free in every contest?

3 vital frees, with one miss

29-06-2019, 10:35 PM
That smother was Dale Morris like

29-06-2019, 10:36 PM
Our mid sized forwards are so slow in these heavy conditions... need to keep the ball in!

29-06-2019, 10:38 PM
Siren! Hanging in there.

Weathered the storm well in that quarter. Need to maintain the work rate.

The more I see of Crozier, the more I like him.

Too many kicks off the ground and wild kicks forward

Our mid sized forwards are so slow in these heavy conditions... need to keep the ball in!

To be fair, both sides look slow tonight

29-06-2019, 10:40 PM
It's going to be an arm wrestle. It's a great contest

29-06-2019, 10:41 PM
It's going to be an arm wrestle. It's a great contest

Got to win this

29-06-2019, 10:41 PM
I'd move Sucking to half back, just think we need his run and penetration we need to create still.

29-06-2019, 10:42 PM
Win tonight and we are one win behind Port but with a bit of an inferior % cmon Dogs!

If we win this, its a team belief and buy-in builder like the win against Sydney in the wet in 2015.
Lose and the arse could fall out of our season.
Schache to kick the 1st goal of the last would be humongous.

Such a massive first 5 min!

29-06-2019, 10:44 PM
Too many kicks off the ground and wild kicks forward

That’s the perfect game in the wet , you want them to try and pick it up?
Just push it forward any way you can, it’s paying off.

29-06-2019, 10:47 PM
Crozier has been great

Went to a school close to my old school.

29-06-2019, 10:50 PM
saved Tregoves arse there too did Crozier

29-06-2019, 10:50 PM
Suckling's butchered it tonight.. just play the percentages!

29-06-2019, 10:52 PM

Horrible decision there

Edit: and again

Having an absolute mare.

We're being let off the hook a fair bit tonight.

29-06-2019, 10:55 PM
If we win Port fans will feel like we did in games such as the GC match

29-06-2019, 10:57 PM
Dunkley has been immense

29-06-2019, 10:58 PM
Beautiful execution under pressure by Daniel.

29-06-2019, 10:59 PM
Lippa you Rippa!!!!

Lipinski off the ground!!!

That could be the sealer.

Lipppppppa!

29-06-2019, 11:00 PM
One more to kill this.

29-06-2019, 11:00 PM
Yes. Lippa. Smart English. Wowee.

29-06-2019, 11:02 PM
Ball game.

Dicko finishes it off! Excellent kick!

Dicko earns his money. He ain't cooked yet.

Not 1 millimetre off middle

29-06-2019, 11:03 PM
Should have beaten Pies last week, going to win interstate against a top 8 side. Get beaten by cellar dwellers.

We’re a weird team.

29-06-2019, 11:03 PM
How was that holding the ball?

29-06-2019, 11:04 PM
Tory Dickson. Poetic justice to finish them , and send The port fans streaming into The carpark.

29-06-2019, 11:04 PM
Usually the game's greats get good service from the umps Bont does not.

29-06-2019, 11:05 PM
Great effort by the us. We should all be proud of the effort displayed by the boys

29-06-2019, 11:06 PM
Big win!

Surged again after being challenged... Naught's has done nicely in the ruck.

29-06-2019, 11:08 PM
Fantastic display. As good a performance as the win against the Swans in the wet at the SCG in 2015. That was a turning point for our team in ‘15 and ‘16. This will give the same amount of confidence to the group going forward.

29-06-2019, 11:09 PM
Dixon. Flog of the highest order.
Petulant toolbag.

29-06-2019, 11:09 PM
Roarke Smith. Well played. You earned your keep tonight.

29-06-2019, 11:10 PM
Big win!

Surged again after being challenged... Naught's has done nicely in the ruck.

We often criticise Bevo for positional changes but this move was excellent. English was getting tired and Lycett was on top. Stymied his influence

29-06-2019, 11:11 PM
Roarke Smith. Well played. You earned your keep tonight.

Yep. Breakout game for Roarke. Can see what Bevo likes in him.

29-06-2019, 11:11 PM
We often criticise Bevo for positional changes but this move was excellent. English was getting tired and Lycett was on top. Stymied his influence

Probably due to Schache being injured but it woked and he stuck with it

29-06-2019, 11:12 PM
We've led for almost the whole night and yet the commentators only begrudging us the win... with their " you can't take anything away from the Dogs"..intimating that its less what we deserved and more what Port have dished up.
Suck it McAvaney!

29-06-2019, 11:13 PM
I’m not a big Bradshaw fan but “Garner Richards and Lloyd at the adelaide oval” is gold

Great team effort!

Anyone got any idea why Wood refuses to mark the ball?

Great win , what’s wrong with Schache ? I saw him go off , looked like a whack in the nose.

29-06-2019, 11:14 PM
WOW 10-6 that always help

And not even a dry deck

Really hard fought and great we got out with no injuries.

great playing lads

Macrae, Bont, Dunks & Smith were all superb. Monstered the Port mids all night.

29-06-2019, 11:15 PM
20 less inside 50s. Six less shots. We kicked 5 more goals!!!

We played the smarter footballer for a change.

29-06-2019, 11:15 PM
Great win , what’s wrong with Schache ? I saw him go off , looked like a whack in the nose.

Yep. A whack to the Schnozz, but I think he also hit his head.

29-06-2019, 11:16 PM
Really good to see some great for the effort

Gee they hate the coach, all the hugging and high fiving :D

I love the boys but how can we play like that and lose to the Blues a few months ago

29-06-2019, 11:18 PM
That's our best of the season. A real Bulldog type victory that one.

Very young side too. Be interested in The avg age difference and games played.

Very good game from Roarke Smith

29-06-2019, 11:19 PM
Very young side too. Be interested in The avg age difference and games played.

Close to same

29-06-2019, 11:20 PM
I love the boys but how can we play like that and lose to the Blues a few months ago

Take the positives

29-06-2019, 11:21 PM
Really impressed with English's agility and co-ordination and smarts.

29-06-2019, 11:22 PM
You must be enjoying so far merantau from Indonesia. So which part of the year are you back home?

Yeah, I loved that win. A real team effort. I will be back on August 8. Go Dogs!

29-06-2019, 11:23 PM
Very good game from Roarke Smith

I was just about to post this!! We are very good at writing off players as fans too early. Let’s hope he can continue - his composure, toughness and that ripper goal should fill him with confidence. Would love Maclean and Cavarra to come in but cannot see anyone being dropped. Be interesting to see if a few pull up sore from such tough conditions. Such a tight competition this year.

29-06-2019, 11:25 PM
Bad night for “ woe” is everything

29-06-2019, 11:26 PM
Really impressed with English's agility and co-ordination and smarts.

Agree, although I hope he learns to move forward into a mark rather than standing static. Has happened a few times this year. Strikes me as a smart lad so think he will learn quickly.

29-06-2019, 11:26 PM
I was just about to post this!! We are very good at writing off players as fans too early. Let’s hope he can continue - his composure, toughness and that ripper goal should fill him with confidence. Would love Maclean and Cavarra to come in but cannot see anyone being dropped. Be interesting to see if a few pull up sore from such tough conditions. Such a tight competition this year.

Ed Richards had a shocker

29-06-2019, 11:27 PM
You beauty! GO THE MIGHTY BULLDOGS!!

29-06-2019, 11:28 PM
Reckon you don’t drop anyone after a win like that.

29-06-2019, 11:28 PM
Good 4 quarter effort .well done to the boys . Our mids were very good tonight
Bont was majestic in the first. Just so timeless how he gathers the ball
And his balance is poetry in motion
We have found another mid n Lipinski . If he can add more to his frame and strength he will be a great player , hopefully in the mould of fyffe.

Liked Roarke’s game
Dunkley is a beast . Macrea goal was gold
How well looked after was Dixon tonight with the frees ?
Hinkley won’t have any hair left at the end of the season
If we had won 3 more game this season we would have been on the TOP 5

29-06-2019, 11:33 PM
Putting it to top eight sides. Well done boys. A most memorable win in the wet. Our midfield is really skilled and fun to watch, when in their groove. love Jack Mac, a baby-faced assasin. And love to see them gather around R. Smith. He's had his doubters.

29-06-2019, 11:36 PM
Wow, not sure where that came from but I'm glad it did.

Just checked the stats. Bailey Smith laid 14 tackles. 14. He's only played 14 *!*!*!*!ing games and he's laying 14 *!*!*!*!ing tackles.

29-06-2019, 11:39 PM
How the hell do we kick 10.6 in conditions like that but kick like shit in perfect conditions ??

29-06-2019, 11:41 PM
Bailey Smith had 14 tackles. 14. Amazing effort from a first year player.

(Libba has the all comers record with 19)

29-06-2019, 11:44 PM
Reckon you don’t drop anyone after a win like that.

Dureya looked pretty sore post game. Heavy track so wouldn't surprise if there were 1 or 2 changes.

29-06-2019, 11:45 PM
Excellent win for the Club. Bevo looked really happy at the end as did the players. The conditions were very testing and we stood up to the test.
Bontempelli was superb in the first half in particular. McRae wad great all night. Smith did a lot of inside work and Dunkley was crucial to the win.
I was very impressed with Crozier and Schache. Crozier was a rock in defence and Schache was clinical and competed very well.
Williams had his best game for a while and Roarke Smith had his best game to date. Very happy with the team effort.

29-06-2019, 11:51 PM

Just checked the stats. Bailey Smith laid 14 tackles. 14. He's only played 14 *!*!*!*!ing games and he's laying 14 *!*!*!*!ing tackles.

Is now the time to point out he was only draft eligible by two weeks?

I wouldn't swap him for Sam Walsh. Seriously, I wouldnt

30-06-2019, 12:01 AM
I like the fact we lost the inside 50's and still won its usually the other way round. It was noticeable that our defenders didn't get so high up the park which is a significant change for us, and once we did get it forward there was space to move. I'm not sure it was by design but I wonder it we can learn a few things from it. I'm really keen for us to not press so hard I think it is the big reason why we struggle to get decent looks at it while it gives the opposition too much freedom on the turnover.

I'm still not convinced of Dickson,Lloyd,Suckling and Richards in the same forward line, they really struggle to win 50/50 ball. Easton Wood continues to refuse to mark the ball he is still a massive worry.

30-06-2019, 12:08 AM
Press conference. Bevo has sprung to life, full of beans, firing off a few barbs, very assertive and coherent. Happy. This is good news I think folks.

30-06-2019, 12:18 AM
Is now the time to point out he was only draft eligible by two weeks?

I wouldn't swap him for Sam Walsh. Seriously, I wouldnt

Smith is an inside mid , Walsh is an out outside deliverer. Since McCartney became our coach we have always gone the inside mid which sometimes has been detrimental to our needs.
What did we think of Hunter tonight ? I thought he was a little down and doesn’t seem a wet weather player, which surprises me.

30-06-2019, 12:21 AM
I like the fact we lost the inside 50's and still won its usually the other way round. It was noticeable that our defenders didn't get so high up the park which is a significant change for us, and once we did get it forward there was space to move. I'm not sure it was by design but I wonder it we can learn a few things from it. I'm really keen for us to not press so hard I think it is the big reason why we struggle to get decent looks at it while it gives the opposition too much freedom on the turnover.

I'm still not convinced of Dickson,Lloyd,Suckling and Richards in the same forward line, they really struggle to win 50/50 ball. Easton Wood continues to refuse to mark the ball he is still a massive worry.

Wouldn’t be critical of Wood tonight it was wet, punching is always the instruction when in doubt.

30-06-2019, 12:28 AM
Smith is an inside mid , Walsh is an out outside deliverer. Since McCartney became our coach we have always gone the inside mid which sometimes has been detrimental to our needs.
What did we think of Hunter tonight ? I thought he was a little down and doesn’t seem a wet weather player, which surprises me.

Who was Hunter's opponent(s)? Hunter wasn't influential stat wise, but tellingly he didn't frustrate with dinky kicks that hurt. It felt like he played a more tighter, accountable gane tonight.

30-06-2019, 12:41 AM
Go the B****y Bulldogs. Any parent who doesn't give their kids the next two weeks school off is a bum!

30-06-2019, 12:45 AM
Hoping for a big Bulldog turnout next week at Marvel. A home game and we have some confidence after tonights win but obviously weary of the opposition who sit top of the ladder right now.

30-06-2019, 12:47 AM
It feels like forever since I've loved a game like tonight.
I'm a WW1 nuffie, so please forgive me the indulgence.
A game where we've just stepped out of the trench, and in abhorrent conditions, weathered terrible conditions, self doubt about personnel and previous battles that have not gone our way.
We've been self doubting, found wanting, and tonight were situated in awful terrain, against a red hot opposition that was supreme in confidence.
We not only held the line, we shook their foundations tonight. We had blokes tonight find a level that previously they thought were beyond them.
This was our Villers-Bretoneux.
22 blokes tonight learned that Roarke Smith, Josh Schache, Josh Dunkley, Jack Macrae are blokes who will lay it on the line for the team. They already knew Bont would single-handedly take an enemy stronghold on by himself. They also learned many other new troops would not only follow his lead, but would also lay it all on the line to achieve the breakthorough.
The team, I suspect, learned tonight what is required to win, much like in 2015 against Sydney.
Lest we forget.

Please, know I mean ZERO disrespect to those who laid down their life in WW1. My family's loss in WW1 weighs heavily on me
Clearly the analogy is not the same, but the reference is but a nod in deference, not in mock.

30-06-2019, 01:15 AM
Can the media please take notice of The Bont's performance tonight, and please adjust their love for Cripps?
Cripps is a top tier talent, no doubt, but the press fawn over him, to the discounting of Marcus' output.

30-06-2019, 01:17 AM
Can the media please take notice of The Bont's performance tonight, and please adjust their love for Cripps?
Cripps is a top tier talent, no doubt, but the press fawn over him, to the discounting of Marcus' output.

Tonight

27 disposals, 18 contested, 10 tackles, 9 clearances, 7 I50

Last Week

30 disposals, 17 contested possessions, 10 clearances, 7 tackles, 6 rebound 50s & 8 score involvements.

30-06-2019, 01:19 AM

Just checked the stats. Bailey Smith laid 14 tackles. 14. He's only played 14 *!*!*!*!ing games and he's laying 14 *!*!*!*!ing tackles..
Rising star nomination , I will spew if he doesn’t
its one game , great team 4 quart effort , get it going all together for another please !

30-06-2019, 01:51 AM
Rising star nomination , I will spew if he doesn’t
its one game , great team 4 quart effort , get it going all together for another please !

Already been nominated in round 9

30-06-2019, 03:50 AM
Absolutely cracking performance from the team tonight. If we bring effort like that for four quarters each week we will win more often than we lose, and kicking straight really really helps my football enjoyment!

It was nice to see another team repeatedly enter forward fifty and either kick points or lack that ability to execute a score through getting frustrated with the ball. It's usually us, and I'm so glad it wasn't this week.

Looking at the stats it was only an eight free kick differential in the end. From the coverage it didn't look like they missed any for Port, that last holding the ball against Bontempelli was out of control.

Anyway, we won and won well. I hope this inspires the team to bring consistent effort to the table for the remainder of the season, when we bring that and click we look great and are a joy to watch.

30-06-2019, 09:05 AM

Agree w this, so much is now being put into comparing players from draft years, and asking them about it in media sessions.

Cripps is a more consistent player, Bont is a more skilful and classy player.

Both elite. Both on par.

30-06-2019, 10:32 AM
Bont will have a longer prosperous career, as he hasn’t spent every second getting smashed in the middle .
Let’s be honest the navy blue rabble have only been able to hang their pathetic collective hats on comparing both
Bont’s ball handling was so much like Douggie it was frightening

30-06-2019, 11:18 AM

Agree w this, so much is now being put into comparing players from draft years, and asking them about it in media sessions.

Both elite. Both on par.

30-06-2019, 03:09 PM

Both elite. Both on par.

Although they both play in the midfield they are different styles , Cripps is the hard nut ,Bont is like Pendlebury ,the world goes into slow motion and they just wander out weaving and pinpoint players with class.

30-06-2019, 03:25 PM
What a game. One of our best wins for a long time. Loved to see our small group of fans, drenched through and smiling, fists raised in the rain. Rourke Smith, two knees, fantastic reward and a moment in his career.

30-06-2019, 04:04 PM
Port beat Geelong, we beat Port, we beat Geelong.

30-06-2019, 04:06 PM
Port beat Geelong, we beat Port, we beat Geelong.
Perfect

30-06-2019, 04:49 PM
What a game. One of our best wins for a long time. Loved to see our small group of fans, drenched through and smiling, fists raised in the rain. Rourke Smith, two knees, fantastic reward and a moment in his career.

There was also a bay in the Eastern stand that was probably 2/3’rdsish full. Not sure how it translated to tv, but it was loud up there!

Also, despite being undercover we still got rain whipped into our faces by the fierce winds. The last few minutes of the game the wind picked up to a mini cyclone and all the Port supporters in the bay next to us ran for the exits.

30-06-2019, 07:18 PM

That rain hid the tears in his proud Dad’s eyes

30-06-2019, 11:09 PM
There was also a bay in the Eastern stand that was probably 2/3’rdsish full. Not sure how it translated to tv, but it was loud up there!

Also, despite being undercover we still got rain whipped into our faces by the fierce winds. The last few minutes of the game the wind picked up to a mini cyclone and all the Port supporters in the bay next to us ran for the exits.

Sooks. They wouldn't reached half time at the Whitten Oval.

30-06-2019, 11:46 PM

The weather we used to stand through at the footy ground was incredible wasn't it? Then you'd spend all of Saturday night standing in front of the Vulcan gas heater warming up again and watching the replays on the ABC and C7. And trying to read the footy record if it had dried off.

30-06-2019, 11:52 PM

How do reckon Chris or Brad Scott would've gone with having to climb up into the coaches box?

My guess is a monster tantrum. I know we romance the past, but even with modest success towards the end of the WO, going to the footy was genuinely fun. Rain, hail or rain and hail.

01-07-2019, 12:26 AM
The weather we used to stand through at the footy ground was incredible wasn't it? Then you'd spend all of Saturday night standing in front of the Vulcan gas heater warming up again and watching the replays on the ABC and C7. And trying to read the footy record if it had dried off.

You just described my childhood.

01-07-2019, 12:31 AM
You just described my childhood.

I would be very surprised if we didn't know each other IRL. We must have spent time together trudging fro one end of Whitten oval to the other following Simon Beasley back in the mid '80s