View Full Version : Best President in Footscray/Western Bulldogs History?

28-06-2019, 02:09 PM
Self explanatory. Peter Gordon, yes, you can nominate yourself :D

28-06-2019, 02:13 PM
Peter Gordon and David Smorgon. Both have been fantastic for our club.

28-06-2019, 02:42 PM
Who was the successful President in 1954, and also in 1924 (Victorian Champions & VFA Premiers) ? They should rate a mention too.

28-06-2019, 02:51 PM
Footscray’s/Western Bulldog's Presidents, only 26 of them:

Year President/Chairman

1886-1893 David Mitchell (1)
1894 James Tucker
1895-1911 James Cuming
1912 Frank Shillabeer
1913-1915 Arch Crow
1916 Competition suspended due to
increased seriousness of World War 1
1917 Competition suspended due to
increased seriousness of World War 1
1918-1919 Arch Crow
1920 David Mitchell (2)
1921 Arch Crow
1922 George Sayer
1923 James Stephens
1924 George Farnsworth
1925 L. Caldecott
1926 George Sayer / Kevin McCarthy
1927-1938 Dr. Kevin McCarthy
1939-1941 Bert Jamieson
1942-1946 Con Curtain
1947-1949 Otto Grobbecker
1950-1952 Con Weickhardt
1953-1955 Otto Grobbecker
1956-1960 Bernie Barry
1961-1962 Harry Dolphin
1963-1966 Jim Miller
1967-1973 Jack Collins
1974-1978 Dick Collinson
1979-1981 Charlie Sutton
1982-1987 Dr. Tony Capes
1988 Barry Beattie
1989 Nick Columb
1990-1996 Peter Gordon
1997-2012 David Smorgon
2013-Current Peter Gordon

28-06-2019, 02:56 PM
Peter Gordon, hands down

28-06-2019, 03:02 PM
Peter Gordon, hands down

Hands down? He's been really great. But Smorgon has claim to reviving us in the 1990's and the robo dog. I'm not sure which president gets credit for us moving from the VFA to VFL, but that was a huge achievement in club history. That's as important as anything done by a president. Not sure it's a hands down thing is it?

28-06-2019, 03:09 PM
Hands down? He's been really great. But Smorgon has claim to reviving us in the 1990's and the robo dog. I'm not sure which president gets credit for us moving from the VFA to VFL, but that was a huge achievement in club history. That's as important as anything done by a president. Not sure it's a hands down thing is it?

1989 Fight back - we were gone. Fitzroy were already at the club working out which staff stay and what office furniture they want.

28-06-2019, 05:41 PM

As a Futurama fan I am voting for Farnsworth. As an added bonus he was president in 1924, the season that lead to us being admitted to the VFL the following year.

28-06-2019, 06:38 PM
George Sayers. He turned Footscray from a VFA also ran into a VFA super power and then into a VFL club. He recruited Vernon Banbury's to the club, kept him in beer tickets and was his best mate. Vernon Banbury is the greatest Footscray player of all time.

As one of the conditions of entry into the competition the VFL refused to allow Sayers remain as president (they thought he was corrupt and they weren't far wrong!). Sayers used to run a lottery called the Footscray lottery every week and unsuprisingly one of his mates usually ended up winning it! Unless one of the players won it.

https://trove.nla.gov.au/newspaper/article/242730687/26346011

https://trove.nla.gov.au/newspaper/article/88798794

Although James Cuming was a name from the early days that keeps bobbing up, he bankrolled those first three premiership teams in 1989-99-1900.

28-06-2019, 06:43 PM
As a Futurama fan I am voting for Farnsworth. As an added bonus he was president in 1924, the season that lead to us being admitted to the VFL the following year.

He had Farnsworth avenue that runs between the rope factory and Footscray Secondary College named after him too.

28-06-2019, 06:44 PM
TD, being that EJ could pretty much do whatever he wanted, any idea why he never wanted the presidency?

28-06-2019, 07:17 PM
TD, being that EJ could pretty much do whatever he wanted, any idea why he never wanted the presidency?

I'm guessing that he deferred to the only person he ever deferred to in his life and let Charlie take the presidency in the late '70s and early '80s. Other than that he was the coach or looking to play for other teams (North, Fitzroy and Willy) in the time (67-73) that Collins held the job so he would have been ineligible then. Also I don't think that Teddy was all that happy that the club made him retire as a player in 1970 either. In between those two (Sutton and Collins) it was Dick Collinson and the club was lucky to survive his presidency. Charlie Sutton was very much a compromise candidate after the Social Club locked the footy club out of it's premises during Collinson's tenure.

28-06-2019, 11:34 PM
Also under PG we have wiped out all debts, and recorded million dollar profits over the past three years, a premiership, 2 x VFL premierships and an AFLW premiership.

29-06-2019, 12:02 AM
He had Farnsworth avenue that runs between the rope factory and Footscray Secondary College named after him too.

George or Hubert? :D

He was also the mayor of Footscray apparently.

29-06-2019, 09:07 AM
Also under PG we have wiped out all debts, and recorded million dollar profits over the past three years, a premiership, 2 x VFL premierships and an AFLW premiership.

It's a hugely impressive performance. 2 women's teams, our own VFL side for the men and success has followed all four teams indicating it's been done right. We were pioneers for the ladies in football, set-up a new venture in Ballarat and we have a highly representative board. We've also been very visible in the community with health initiatives.
We would be the envy of some other clubs I suspect and we have a number of other projects that are well advanced in planning and funding.

I couldn't be more proud of what this club has achieved under Gordon's leadership.

01-07-2019, 05:38 PM
George Sayers. He turned Footscray from a VFA also ran into a VFA super power and then into a VFL club. He recruited Vernon Banbury's to the club, kept him in beer tickets and was his best mate. Vernon Banbury is the greatest Footscray player of all time.

As one of the conditions of entry into the competition the VFL refused to allow Sayers remain as president (they thought he was corrupt and they weren't far wrong!). Sayers used to run a lottery called the Footscray lottery every week and unsuprisingly one of his mates usually ended up winning it! Unless one of the players won it.

https://trove.nla.gov.au/newspaper/article/242730687/26346011

https://trove.nla.gov.au/newspaper/article/88798794

Although James Cuming was a name from the early days that keeps bobbing up, he bankrolled those first three premiership teams in 1989-99-1900.

TD, I remember reading a piece about Vernon Banbury in the Footscray Mail written by Hugh Buggy. He certainly would endorse your opinion of Vernon Banbury. He was the super star of his day.

04-07-2019, 08:22 PM
TD, I remember reading a piece about Vernon Banbury in the Footscray Mail written by Hugh Buggy. He certainly would endorse your opinion of Vernon Banbury. He was the super star of his day.

Vernon is my hero. I can remember reading an article by Alan Hopkins where he said that the local kids around Footscray would go to training just to watch him go through his paces. Now I'm prepared to believe that there wasn't a lot to do in Footscray back then but I reckon getting a bunch of kids coming along to just watch you train is pretty good.

07-07-2019, 04:25 PM
Gordon. For reasons previously mentioned. He's a born leader and there's not too many of them around. And a leader of social issues and foundations within the club

Smorgon was also great at promoting the club.

Capes did well to put an end to the loss of star players that took place prior to 1982.

Special mention to good old David "Mitch" Mitchell who after finishing his initial tenure in 1893, came back on board in 1920. A 27 year break. Expect Smorgo to return in 2040!!

07-07-2019, 07:28 PM
Gordon. For reasons previously mentioned. He's a born leader and there's not too many of them around. And a leader of social issues and foundations within the club

Smorgon was also great at promoting the club.

Capes did well to put an end to the loss of star players that took place prior to 1982.

Special mention to good old David "Mitch" Mitchell who after finishing his initial tenure in 1893, came back on board in 1920. A 27 year break. Expect Smorgo to return in 2040!!

I have often wondered if that Dave Mitchell the builder was the same Dave Mitchell the builder who was Dame Nellie Melba the opera singer's father. Melba was born by the name of Helen Porter Mitchell in Melbourne in the 1870s. Melba was the one who insisted that the 1924 Championship of Victoria between Footscray and Essendon match be played to raise funds for the limbless soldiers from WWI.

08-07-2019, 08:17 AM
Interesting. Someone will know. Back in the 80s I once hosted a trivia night and in the warm up I mentioned my favourite trivia question of all time.

"Who was the Chinese - Australian Aussie Rules player who barefooted a 74 yard torpedo at the Echuca Showgrounds in 1928?"

And a 84 year old woman by the name of Mina Pocock called out, " Oh, that'd be Kew Ming. He was a beautiful kick!"

I couldn't believe it. She'd seen him play at the QEO in Bendigo when she was a teenager.

08-07-2019, 11:35 AM
Interesting. Someone will know. Back in the 80s I once hosted a trivia night and in the warm up I mentioned my favourite trivia question of all time.

"Who was the Chinese - Australian Aussie Rules player who barefooted a 74 yard torpedo at the Echuca Showgrounds in 1928?"

And a 84 year old woman by the name of Mina Pocock called out, " Oh, that'd be Kew Ming. He was a beautiful kick!"

I couldn't believe it. She'd seen him play at the QEO in Bendigo when she was a teenager.

My granddad used to talk about him but he just called him Chew. My dad could remember the Chinese opium dens in Bendigo. Heaps of Chinese people moved to Bendigo and Ballarat back in 1850s during the gold rush. They were very skilled at taking a mullock heap (the dirt and rock left over from sinking a shaft) and extracting a payload from it. They were really good at getting the last degree of gold from workings that others had given up on even though it made them incredibly unpopular amongst the other diggers who thought they were cheating or robbing them."Hello, you gave up on that mound and walked away. Its not the Chinese' fault that they had different methods for getting gold dust and small nuggets."

08-07-2019, 08:11 PM
John Harms has written a piece about Chinese-Australian Aussie Rules players and Les Kew Ming is featured. His grandfathe came out for the gold rush and eventually started a boot making business. There is a "Kew Ming Lane" on the outskirts of Ararat. Les, I believe played for Rochester when they were in the Bendigo League. He tried out with North Melbourne and may have played for Willy.

08-07-2019, 08:18 PM
Merantau and Twodogs our Bulldogs history buffs :D

08-07-2019, 08:30 PM
Don't get me started Easty! And the more obscure and localised the better. Western suburbs - Sunshine/Braybrook in particular - and boxing are two interests of mine.

09-07-2019, 10:35 AM
Don't get me started Easty! And the more obscure and localised the better. Western suburbs - Sunshine/Braybrook in particular - and boxing are two interests of mine.

I love boxing. The too and fro, the dance, the contact when you get a sweet one on their nose, even getting hit isnt so bad-it can be a learning experience. You never feel as alive as you do when you are in the ring.

Les was a really good boxer and sprinter.

11-07-2019, 02:50 PM
For anyone feeling nostalgic ...

The 'Fightback' newsletter that hit member's mailboxes thirty years ago after Oakley had administered the last rites.

https://i.ibb.co/z22PBV4/1.png (https://ibb.co/WzzBMv2)

https://i.ibb.co/khJ9Rkg/2.png (https://ibb.co/rZ3cCTG)

https://i.ibb.co/dJ43nDz/3.png (https://ibb.co/rf2LnH1)

Onya Gordo.

11-07-2019, 03:19 PM
This was happening when I was a baby.

11-07-2019, 05:37 PM
Does anyone know if Lynne Kosky's father was Alan Kosky who had a pharmacy in Beachley St Braybrook in the 60s and 70s and maybe into the early 80s

11-07-2019, 05:42 PM
The Belgravia in Nicholson St not far from the old Footscray Tech building used to always be called Con Curtain's.

12-07-2019, 11:10 AM
For anyone feeling nostalgic ...

The 'Fightback' newsletter that hit member's mailboxes thirty years ago after Oakley had administered the last rites.

https://i.ibb.co/z22PBV4/1.png (https://ibb.co/WzzBMv2)

https://i.ibb.co/khJ9Rkg/2.png (https://ibb.co/rZ3cCTG)

https://i.ibb.co/dJ43nDz/3.png (https://ibb.co/rf2LnH1)

Onya Gordo.

This is amazing stuff, and you still have it.

12-07-2019, 01:58 PM
This is amazing stuff, and you still have it.

Well, courtesy of the old man in truth. Pity he didn't keep an Up Yours Oakley badge too.

I'm just pleased we had a pirate-friendly board policy.

12-07-2019, 03:53 PM
Well, courtesy of the old man in truth. Pity he didn't keep an Up Yours Oakley badge too.

I'm just pleased we had a pirate-friendly board policy.

I still have some Up yours Oakley stickers

13-07-2019, 12:05 AM
I still have some Up yours Oakley stickers

I hated the guy so much that i never bought a pair of his sunglasses.

And i've avoided the suburb since 1989.

13-07-2019, 09:27 AM
That newsletter is amazing. Gordon outlines his 30 year dream and he kind of nailed everything.