View Full Version : Doggies Top 3 Greatest Upsets 2000-2019

07-07-2019, 06:37 PM
Last night has to go down as one of the best upsets by us since the 2016 prelim.
My votes are based on percieved chance of winning ( Buckley's chance )

1. Bombers 2000 ( Stuff of legends )
2. V Geelong 2019 ( on pure ladder position, incredible win )
3. Eagles Premim 2016 ( Beating Eagles at home in a prelim. )

Yours?

07-07-2019, 06:45 PM
1. 2016, EF West Coast at Perth (huge home ground advantage, many stars who faulted that night under pressure). Unsure how the week off would impact the sides.
2. 2016, SF Hawthorn (going for the four peat, had tons of extra experience across all lines) at MCG (their home ground).
3. 2016, PF GWS (gifted a home final in their shitty 'boutique ground'). They batted deep on talent. Roughy going down early.

Based on bookies odds, they were huge upsets.

After those three, the Grand Final win I expected. So that's not on my list. A shout of to Chris Grant's ice pick to the heart vs Essendon in 2000.

07-07-2019, 07:18 PM
There was the 2006 Elimination Final against Collingwood

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VZN9Z6CGvCY

08-07-2019, 08:51 AM
There was the 2006 Elimination Final against Collingwood

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VZN9Z6CGvCY

Thanks for posting. That game was a classic. Monty was epic.

08-07-2019, 11:54 PM
I'd say:

1. v Essendon 2000
2. v St.Kilda 2004
3. v WCE in 2016 EF.

09-07-2019, 12:13 AM
Agree with Bombers 2000 and PF 2016 Giants.

But IMO another 2000 game should be in this conversation.

Before Kouta did his knee, the two best sides in 2000 were the Bombers and Carlton.

In Round 19 we played the Blues and we were undermanned without Grant and Darcy.

Garlick kicked 6 and we beat those bastards. see

https://finalsiren.com/MatchDetails.asp?GameID=500&Code=99a8f032ced04ac176ea2860fe28b3d3

09-07-2019, 12:19 AM
Not sure the GWS game fits the bill of a huge upset. GWS were faves, but only just.

09-07-2019, 12:20 AM

Before Kouta did his knee, the two best sides in 2000 were the Bombers and Carlton.

In Round 19 we played the Blues and we were undermanned without Grant and Darcy.

https://finalsiren.com/MatchDetails.asp?GameID=500&Code=99a8f032ced04ac176ea2860fe28b3d3

We defeated all 4 of the top 4 at some stage that year.

Essendon in Round 21, Carlton in Round 19, North in Round 15 and Melbourne in Round 12.

09-07-2019, 12:57 AM

What he said.

So who is still playing? Morris, Shaw and Thomas?

09-07-2019, 07:23 AM
What he said.

Correct.

09-07-2019, 10:31 AM

My favorite ever H&A game! We stood on our seats and taunted the Carlton supporters when the siren went. There were a couple of kids near us and their atypical arrogant Carlton supporting parents had been encouraging them in being obnoxious all game. The siren went and one of them got the upper lip shivers then looked up accusingly at her dad and said "They are the Bulldogs and YOU TOLD ME that we would beat the bulldogs" her dad couldn't meet her gaze because he felt so guilty.

I have a picture I bought from the Herald Sun from that game of Rohan Smith and Trent Bartlett (Who kicked the winner from the dodgiest free kick I have seen) arriving at the race. They are surrounded by Carlton supporters and Bubba is holding the bulldog badge on his jumper, just about to kiss it and the Ugg Boot has his arms in the air with a huge smile.

09-07-2019, 10:47 AM
What he said.

It's funny looking at our team that day - current list manager Sam Power is younger than current player Dale Morris.

09-07-2019, 01:59 PM
1. 2016, EF West Coast at Perth (huge home ground advantage, many stars who faulted that night under pressure). Unsure how the week off would impact the sides.
2. 2016, SF Hawthorn (going for the four peat, had tons of extra experience across all lines) at MCG (their home ground).
3. 2016, PF GWS (gifted a home final in their shitty 'boutique ground'). They batted deep on talent. Roughy going down early.

Based on bookies odds, they were huge upsets.

After those three, the Grand Final win I expected. So that's not on my list. A shout of to Chris Grant's ice pick to the heart vs Essendon in 2000.

Yep. Before the first final we were at odds of $67 to win the premiership.

09-07-2019, 02:02 PM

Great game. When I close my eyes I can still see all the Colliwobble supporters leaving early while all of us gave it to them. A Glorious day.

09-07-2019, 07:52 PM
Great game. When I close my eyes I can still see all the Colliwobble supporters leaving early while all of us gave it to them. A Glorious day.

Great day. As the Collingwood "fans" poured past us on the way toward the exits halfway through the last quarter my (then 8 yo) son turned to me and said "dad, can we go and sit on the fence so I can hi five the players after the game?" "We sure can mate"

09-07-2019, 07:55 PM
One I remember fondly is mid season vs The Pies, 2014. We were rank outsiders. An article had been written saying our club was ‘irrelevant.’ We had been playing unwatchable footy. Thing were grim. And yet....

I called my blog that day: We came, we saw, we believed... http://www.bulldogtragician.com/the-tragician-blog/we-came-we-saw-we-believed

I often think of matches like that to remind myself that things aren’t always as they seem. It was the day The 18 yr old Bont showed how good he could be, with the lovely picture of him embracing his tearful dad afterwards. We didn’t win many more games that miserable year, but nine of the guys out there for that win played in a flag 2 years later.

09-07-2019, 09:44 PM
My favorite ever H&A game! We stood on our seats and taunted the Carlton supporters when the siren went. There were a couple of kids near us and their atypical arrogant Carlton supporting parents had been encouraging them in being obnoxious all game. The siren went and one of them got the upper lip shivers then looked up accusingly at her dad and said "They are the Bulldogs and YOU TOLD ME that we would beat the bulldogs" her dad couldn't meet her gaze because he felt so guilty.

Ha Ha Ha.

But imagine how bad that little Carlton fan has felt over the last 19 seasons?

09-07-2019, 10:14 PM
One I remember fondly is mid season vs The Pies, 2014. We were rank outsiders. An article had been written saying our club was ‘irrelevant.’ We had been playing unwatchable footy. Thing were grim. And yet....

I called my blog that day: We came, we saw, we believed... http://www.bulldogtragician.com/the-tragician-blog/we-came-we-saw-we-believed

I often think of matches like that to remind myself that things aren’t always as they seem. It was the day The 18 yr old Bont showed how good he could be, with the lovely picture of him embracing his tearful dad afterwards. We didn’t win many more games that miserable year, but nine of the guys out there for that win played in a flag 2 years later.

That was a brilliant day.

Liam Jones played the game of his life, Bont had a breakout quarter in the 3rd, Koby Stevens kicked 3, the Minson/Libba combo smashed then, fun times.

Edit: Just read your blog entry and out reminded me of the sealer.

Bont had marked on a half forward flank. He had Stringer on short but get held his nerve went for the longer, riskier option in Jason Tutt, who iced a not so easy kick

09-07-2019, 11:02 PM
That was a brilliant day.

Liam Jones played the game of his life, Bont had a breakout quarter in the 3rd, Koby Stevens kicked 3, the Minson/Libba combo smashed then, fun times.

Edit: Just read your blog entry and out reminded me of the sealer.

Bont had marked on a half forward flank. He had Stringer on short but get held his nerve went for the longer, riskier option in Jason Tutt, who iced a not so easy kick

The names who played well...Jones, Minson, Griffen... Tutt!!! ....surprised me. it’s fascinating how much turnover there was and yet the bones of the 2016 flag were there I guess. It seems much further away than five years.

09-07-2019, 11:11 PM
Thanks for this.
I loved reading your blog at the time, and thoroughly enjoyed reading it again tonight.
As an aside I thought that game was going to be a watershed moment for Tutt. That was such a clutch goal. Alas not to be, but perhaps it was for the 9 others who, as you point out, featured in 2016.

09-07-2019, 11:37 PM
Thanks for this.
I loved reading your blog at the time, and thoroughly enjoyed reading it again tonight.
As an aside I thought that game was going to be a watershed moment for Tutt. That was such a clutch goal. Alas not to be, but perhaps it was for the 9 others who, as you point out, featured in 2016.

I thought it was a game where Liam Jones arrived too. The line between making it or not is so very fine.

10-07-2019, 12:43 AM

Going into round 21 the Bulldogs were in 10th place (of 12) only 1 win off the bottom. Their last 2 games were against Carlton and Richmond. The VFL powerhouses who had played each other in that mighty 1972 Grand Final. So naturally;

Round 21

Footscray 10.15.75
Carlton 9.12. 66

Round 22

Richmond 10.16.76
Footscray 11.11.77

We beat the 2 teams that played the previous grand final who would then go on to play off again in the 73 grand final.

I had practically given up hope we would ever play finals and Carlton were winning everything until this happened at Princes Park

Round 1

Carlton 17.10.112
Footscray 22.10.142

welcome Brad Hardie who would become my fave player

Having missed the finals in 1986 and Brad Hardie had waved us goodbye we opened first 3 rounds of the 1987 season with these results

Round 1

Footscray 9.8. 62
Essendon 19.7. 121

Round 2

Sydney 27.25 187
Footscray 11.13.79

(I was there with my theatre going Swans friends who only knew Warwick Capper and kept singing after each goal "Show it to em Sydney" with the Swannettes strutting their stuff after each of their freaking 27 goals). God I hated that day.

Round 3

Footscray 5.10. 40
Carlton 18.19.127

So after losing to Bombers by 59, Swans by 108, Carlton by 87 in the opening 3 rounds of the season. What were we expected to do in this kind of form against the reigning champions Hawthorn? This;

Round 4

Footscray 14.12.96
Hawthorn 7.13 55

Go figure

10-07-2019, 12:57 AM
Going back into the archives there! but what the heck.

10-07-2019, 09:22 AM

I had practically given up hope we would ever play finals and Carlton were winning everything until this happened at Princes Park

Round 1

Carlton 17.10.112
Footscray 22.10.142

Beasley 9 goals

10-07-2019, 10:13 AM

Going into round 21 the Bulldogs were in 10th place (of 12) only 1 win off the bottom. Their last 2 games were against Carlton and Richmond. The VFL powerhouses who had played each other in that mighty 1972 Grand Final. So naturally;

Round 21

Footscray 10.15.75
Carlton 9.12. 66

Round 22

Richmond 10.16.76
Footscray 11.11.77

We beat the 2 teams that played the previous grand final who would then go on to play off again in the 73 grand final.

Round 1

Carlton 17.10.112
Footscray 22.10.142

Having missed the finals in 1986 and Brad Hardie had waved us goodbye we opened first 3 rounds of the 1987 season with these results

Round 1

Footscray 9.8. 62
Essendon 19.7. 121

Round 2

Sydney 27.25 187
Footscray 11.13.79

(I was there with my theatre going Swans friends who only knew Warwick Capper and kept singing after each goal "Show it to em Sydney" with the Swannettes strutting their stuff after each of their freaking 27 goals). God I hated that day.

Round 3

Footscray 5.10. 40
Carlton 18.19.127

So after losing to Bombers by 59, Swans by 108, Carlton by 87 in the opening 3 rounds of the season. What were we expected to do in this kind of form against the reigning champions Hawthorn? This;

Round 4

Footscray 14.12.96
Hawthorn 7.13 55

Go figure

Our first win at Princes Park since 1964 which was the year I was born.Neil Cordy kicked the first towards the scoreboard end and we were already taunting the Carlton supporters-Come on you *!*!*!*!s. We will *!*!*!*!ing have you, we will take the lot of yers on.

10-07-2019, 11:39 AM
Our first win at Princes Park since 1964 which was the year I was born.Neil Cordy kicked the first towards the scoreboard end and we were already taunting the Carlton supporters-Come on you *!*!*!*!s. We will *!*!*!*!ing have you, we will take the lot of yers on.

God I loved 1985, saw every game. That first win was a big surprise and so satisfying

10-07-2019, 12:09 PM
God I loved 1985, saw every game. That first win was a big surprise and so satisfying

Yeah but check the OP. 2000-2019 :D

10-07-2019, 12:12 PM

10-07-2019, 03:00 PM

I didn't put up the post, I was just commenting on what was said.

10-07-2019, 03:44 PM

Speaking of the OP you have your games mixed up.

10-07-2019, 04:14 PM
Beasley 9 goals

I was at that game. It was a ripper win. I think Alan Daniels and Ian Williams may have debuted that day too.

10-07-2019, 09:02 PM
I was at that game. It was a ripper win. I think Alan Daniels and Ian Williams may have debuted that day too.

Brad Hardie. Ian Williams was playing in 1983.