View Full Version : The unofficial "Where is T&T?" who to root for thread

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

20-07-2019, 10:15 AM
Finals bound - want these teams to beat the other top 8 threats as they are in anyway

1. GEE 13 wins & 141%
2. COL 11 & 117%
3. BL 11 & 114%
4. WCE 11 & 113%
5. RIC 10 & 104%, 6 MCG games to come

Top 8 threats - these are the ones we want to lose, excluding us!

6. ESS 10 & 103%, played extra game
7. GWS 9 & 121%, injury plagued
8. ADE 9 & 110%, played extra game
9. PA 8 & 105%
10. WB 8 & 94%
11. HAW 7 & 100%
12. NM 7 & 99%
13. FRE 7 & 96%

Out of it - hoping these teams can take some scalps when they play our top 8 threats

14. SYD 6 & 95%
15. STK 6 & 80%
16. MEL 5 & 80%
17. CAR 4 & 83%
18. GC 3 & 64%

Round 18

RIC V PA
Tigers unlikely to miss the 8 with 10 wins on the board and 6 MCG games remaining

CAR V GC
No impact

GWS V COL
Collingwood with 11 wins & 117% are almost there anyway

BL V NM
Brisbane with 11 wins & 114% are almost there anyway

FRE V SYD
Freo on 7 wins and Sydney on 6

GEE V HAW
Geelong on 13 wins are home, Hawthorn still in the mix

MEL V WCE
Dees are Gawn

STK V WB
A win gets us to 9-8, 12-10 we're a chance and 13-9 we're in

Our 4 main rivals for a top 8 spot are Essendon, Adelaide, GWS and Port, need to finish ahead of 2 of those 4
Essendon beating Adelaide last night probably bodes well for us as Adelaide have the softer draw ahead
GWS & Port big chances to be beaten by Collingwood & Richmond this week, root your hearts out!

20-07-2019, 01:02 PM
Great thread bd. We are up to date with our rooting now.

20-07-2019, 01:18 PM
First and foremost we need to suitcase the Saints tomorrow. It's probably our only shot at getting the percentage back to square.

20-07-2019, 04:29 PM
Richmond doing the right thing so far against the Power. 22 points up 17 mins in during the third quarter.

20-07-2019, 05:53 PM
Tigers did the right thing but gws are giving the pies a hiding early .

20-07-2019, 06:01 PM
The rooting was going so well until the Pies ruined the mood.

20-07-2019, 08:55 PM
North started well against Brisbane

20-07-2019, 09:54 PM
North started well against Brisbane

Booooo!

21-07-2019, 08:47 AM
Hooray for this thread. All good, been a bit busy work wise and life wise

21-07-2019, 12:35 PM
I was so cut that the Swans fell short at the death. And North were not far away.

21-07-2019, 12:38 PM
I was so cut that the Swans fell short at the death. And North were not far away.

The South result doesn't matter to us and the North result went our way so I am not that upset

21-07-2019, 01:35 PM
Can't imagine getting cut about whether another team wins or loses unless it has a direct affect on us.

21-07-2019, 01:38 PM
Can't imagine getting cut about whether another team wins or loses unless it has a direct affect on us.

Unless you pick them in a tipping comp.

21-07-2019, 01:45 PM
Unless you pick them in a tipping comp.

True true I don't tip and didn't think of that.

21-07-2019, 01:56 PM
We are still competing with Freo for a spot and their percentage is slightly better than hours. If they had lost surely this would have been a plus for us. If there is something I've missed - pray do tell.

21-07-2019, 02:04 PM
Just realised Brisbane are second! They got right under my radar. I thought they were still in the mix but looks like they're out of the oven, on the plate AND - ready to be sliced up by us at the Gabba! Go Dogs!

21-07-2019, 03:38 PM
hawks up by 32 half time. cmon cats!

21-07-2019, 04:00 PM
Hawks by 18 points half way through 3rd quarter

21-07-2019, 04:22 PM
Hawks by 19 with a quarter to go.

21-07-2019, 06:57 PM
Can we delete this thread please.

26-07-2019, 11:26 AM
We are probably rooting in vain now but just for the hell of it, let's hope the following happens this weekend:

Dogs beat Freo
Carlton beat Adelaide
Brisbane beat Hawks
GWS beat Port
West Coast beat North
Melbourne beat St Kilda

26-07-2019, 12:34 PM
We are probably rooting in vain now but just for the hell of it, let's hope the following happens this weekend:

Dogs beat Freo
Carlton beat Adelaide
Brisbane beat Hawks
GWS beat Port
West Coast beat North
Melbourne beat St Kilda

All possible

26-07-2019, 02:32 PM

Dogs beat Freo
Carlton beat Adelaide
Brisbane beat Hawks
GWS beat Port
West Coast beat North
Melbourne beat St Kilda

The least safe bet in that pool is arguably us.

26-07-2019, 11:26 PM

Dogs beat Freo
Carlton beat Adelaide
Brisbane beat Hawks
GWS beat Port
West Coast beat North
Melbourne beat St Kilda

Thanks Axeman

Melbourne v St Kilda & West Coast v North probably irrelevant, but if Gold Coast can get their shit together against Essendon that would help

26-07-2019, 11:56 PM
Thanks Axeman

Melbourne v St Kilda & West Coast v North probably irrelevant, but if Gold Coast can get their shit together against Essendon that would help

Yeah just to mathematically finish off the saints and north. I didn’t bother mentioning Gold Coast because that ain’t going to happen unfortunately.

27-07-2019, 10:39 AM
Yeah just to mathematically finish off the saints and north. I didn’t bother mentioning Gold Coast because that ain’t going to happen unfortunately.
Wouldn’t it be nice though. Already Essendon supporters getting on your nerves.

27-07-2019, 04:18 PM
So far going our way. We must must win tomorrow.

27-07-2019, 05:19 PM
Jeez, Adelaide are COOKED.

27-07-2019, 05:20 PM

Yeah they are in trouble.

27-07-2019, 05:43 PM

Dogs beat Freo
Carlton beat Adelaide
Brisbane beat Hawks
GWS beat Port
West Coast beat North
Melbourne beat St Kilda

Hawks and Adelaide lose.

A BIG must win for us.

27-07-2019, 05:54 PM
Don Pike is in massive trouble
Oldest list in the comp

27-07-2019, 05:55 PM
Not very often i barrack for Carlton. better not be in vain.

A win tomorrow is mandatory.

And praying for a heatwave up in Queensland..

27-07-2019, 06:28 PM
Don Pike is in massive trouble
Oldest list in the comp

Yep you would think the pressure would start to mount on him.

27-07-2019, 07:23 PM
Yep you would think the pressure would start to mount on him.

They better not sack him leading into Round 23!

27-07-2019, 07:57 PM
They better not sack him leading into Round 23!

Put the freakin house on it.

27-07-2019, 08:50 PM
To say our season lives or dies tomorrow is putting it lightly. We win tomorrow and we may still have some lattitude to drop 1 game out of Brisbane, GWS, Essendon or Adelaide and still sneak into 8th on 12 wins.
A win tomorrow - providing GWS beat Port tonight, and we're outright 9th and only out of 8th in %.
I hope that scenario is a source of motivation for the lads tomorrow.

I've Geelong finishing top of ladder and Wet Toast 2nd. I'd much rather play Geelong in Vic rather than the Eagles in the west. Yes I know we burnt their house down in 2016, but think it would be a different proposition this year.

27-07-2019, 09:02 PM
To say our season lives or dies tomorrow is putting it lightly. We win tomorrow and we may still have some lattitude to drop 1 game out of Brisbane, GWS, Essendon or Adelaide and still sneak into 8th on 12 wins.
A win tomorrow - providing GWS beat Port tonight, and we're outright 9th and only out of 8th in %.
I hope that scenario is a source of motivation for the lads tomorrow.

I've Geelong finishing top of ladder and Wet Toast 2nd. I'd much rather play Geelong in Vic rather than the Eagles in the west. Yes I know we burnt their house down in 2016, but think it would be a different proposition this year.

Yep we would be equal 8th just % keeping us out if all that happens.

27-07-2019, 09:16 PM
Yep we would be equal 8th just % keeping us out if all that happens.

I know it's woulda, shoulda, coulda. But geez last week hurts given what we could've been playing for tomorrow if we'd not shit the bed against the Saints.

27-07-2019, 09:21 PM
I know it's woulda, shoulda, coulda. But geez last week hurts given what we could've been playing for tomorrow if we'd not shit the bed against the Saints.

Absolutely. So disappointing last week in particular that terrible first quarter.

27-07-2019, 09:25 PM

I believe if we’d won last week we would’ve been out of the 8 on %... so stay tuned for a choke tomorrow!

27-07-2019, 09:56 PM
I believe if we’d won last week we would’ve been out of the 8 on %... so stay tuned for a choke tomorrow!

You take that back! You've put the Moz on us.
If it goes sideways tomorrow I'm holding you culpable ��

27-07-2019, 10:56 PM
Onya Dees, yet another reason to loathe you.

I mean seriously, who loses to St. Kilda?

27-07-2019, 10:59 PM
Carn the Dogs!

27-07-2019, 11:13 PM
Very good rooting so far this weekend

27-07-2019, 11:26 PM
So all the cards have dropped our way this weekend. Now it's up to the players and coaches. We have been thrown a lifeline of sorts. Let's grab it.

28-07-2019, 12:00 AM

All of a sudden the Carlton pick swap doesn't look so bad.

Carlton could well end up 14th or 15th and Adelaide are in free fall.

28-07-2019, 01:05 AM
All of a sudden the Carlton pick swap doesn't look so bad.

Carlton could well end up 14th or 15th and Adelaide are in free fall.

However it falls, it places a lot of pressure on Stocker.

28-07-2019, 02:27 AM
Gees no-one wants that 8th spot

We're the side the rest of the 8 doesn't want in there, we can match it on our day we're just so up and down

28-07-2019, 02:56 AM
Freo is a massive game. If we can sneak over the line today (won't be easy), we'll get Brisbane at a good time next week - they have won 6 in a row and are due for a downer, they are coming back from a tough trip to Tassie and they have a couple of injuries in their back half that will test their depth.

With Brisbane, Essendon, GWS and Adelaide to come, we could really wreck other contending team's top 8 and top 4 aspirations.

28-07-2019, 03:16 AM
Freo is a massive game. If we can sneak over the line today (won't be easy), we'll get Brisbane at a good time next week - they have won 6 in a row and are due for a downer, they are coming back from a tough trip to Tassie and they have a couple of injuries in their back half that will test their depth.

With Brisbane, Essendon, GWS and Adelaide to come, we could really wreck other contending team's top 8 and top 4 aspirations.

If we make it people won’t be asking questions of us like they have been asking of the Crows (who have been awful and without beating up GC by huge margins twice would currently be sitting 14th).

A run home that has us take down down Port in Adelaide, Geelong, GWS, Brisbane, Essendon and fellow 8th candidates Adelaide and Freo would make us close to the form team in the comp.

Let’s do it.

28-07-2019, 09:18 AM
The way the results are planning out, man I’m even filthier about last week. No point dwelling, but talk about shooting your self in the foot.

28-07-2019, 10:05 AM
The way the results are planning out, man I’m even filthier about last week. No point dwelling, but talk about shooting your self in the foot.

I know right. We have *!*!*!*!ed up this season at least 3 times.

28-07-2019, 05:07 PM
Start rooting

28-07-2019, 05:12 PM
Start rooting

I'm absolutely plumb tuckered from the furious rooting this weekend, I'll need a solid few days to get my strength back.

28-07-2019, 05:37 PM
I'm absolutely plumb tuckered from the furious rooting this weekend, I'll need a solid few days to get my strength back.

This week was the the best rooting for a long time

28-07-2019, 07:01 PM
https://i.ibb.co/ZHw4kJM/mcmahon.png (https://ibb.co/8zRvSB7)

Looking promising at half time.

If the Suns get up I might need a cigarette.

28-07-2019, 07:09 PM
https://i.ibb.co/ZHw4kJM/mcmahon.png (https://ibb.co/8zRvSB7)

Looking promising at half time.

If the Suns get up I might need a cigarette.

I think anSuns win would give me more pleasure than the Dogs win. Please let it happen. Rooting furiously.

28-07-2019, 07:12 PM
Hahaaaa and the Bombres just got dudded out of a clear goal by an umpiring error.

Quick! Everyone over to BombreBlitz!

28-07-2019, 07:19 PM
Hahaaaa and the Bombres just got dudded out of a clear goal by an umpiring error.

Quick! Everyone over to BombreBlitz!

It’s funny, because it’s them....

28-07-2019, 07:35 PM
Bombers will win. Shame. Suns could do with a win to finish out the year

Viagra. Now.

Lookslike the Bombets will win .

28-07-2019, 07:36 PM
Come on Suns. They are my second team!

28-07-2019, 08:20 PM
Give Woosha another 5 years

28-07-2019, 08:29 PM
Jakey wins the day for the Bombers. It will just make knocking them over at the pointy end all the more satisfying.

28-07-2019, 08:33 PM
Jakey wins the day for the Bombers. It will just make knocking them over at the pointy end all the more satisfying.

Not sure I’ll be able to watch that one live. Might have to go for a long walk and come back when it’s done.

28-07-2019, 08:47 PM
Will be tough next week v Lions but with the comp the way it is anything can happen so I give us a chance. Need the Saints to take care of the Crows.

28-07-2019, 08:57 PM
Will be tough next week v Lions but with the comp the way it is anything can happen so I give us a chance. Need the Saints to take care of the Crows.

WE have beaten Brissie once this year, so we will be confident going in.

28-07-2019, 08:58 PM
WE have beaten Brissie once this year, so we will be confident going in.

For sure. We played very well that day in Ballarat and should have confidence next week now as our firm recently now has been very good.

28-07-2019, 09:00 PM
Not sure I’ll be able to watch that one live. Might have to go for a long walk and come back when it’s done.

Yep it's going to be emotional for sure. And we are 1-3 in 4 finals with Essendon. I don't that counts the 1924 Championship of Victoria though.

28-07-2019, 10:51 PM
Round 19
RIC V COL Yes
Collingwood are within striking distance now and loaded with injuries

HAW V BL Yes
Hawthorn are above us on percentage but almost done now a game behind

CAR V ADE Yes
Surprise win for Carlton leaves us only percentage behind Adelaide

WCE V NM Yes
North are done now

PA V GWS Yes
Great result that enabled us to jump above Port. Go Charcoals! *vomits*

WB V FRE Yes
Big win, some of the best footy we've played in years

GC V ESS No
So close!

SYD V GEE & STK V MEL no impact

Great week with 6 out of 7 results falling our way, and most importantly our team playing some great footy

Round 20

With our poor percentage we really need to get to 12 wins to get in - win 3 of our last 4
The roots below are based on what helps us make the top 8, assuming we get to 12 wins

NM V HAW
Hawthorn need to go undefeated to get to 12-10, this would end their tilt

ESS V PA
This root could go either way, decided we go for Essendon as they are only one win away from 12 and more percentage than us anyway, though they have a tough finish with WB (H), Freo (A) and Coll (A). Port have a soft draw to finish with Syd (H), North (A) and Freo (H), they need to win them all but could also get to 12 wins with better percentage if they win this

GWS V SYD
GWS probably get in anyway needing only one more win, with this game then Haw (H), WB (H) and GC (A) to go

ADE V STK
Critical root, Adelaide only need to win 3 of their last 4 to get to 12 wins and a better percentage than us, so even if we get to 12 wins and beat Adelaide, they could still get in. Need them to drop 2 of this game, WCE (A), Coll (H) and WB (A)

COL V GC
Collingwood suddenly looking vulnerable with 4 losses in their past 5 and a mounting injury list. Only need one more win to get to 12 wins with a better percentage than us though, and you would expect they would get it this week. Mel (A), Ade (A) & Ess (H) to finish

BL V WB
Tough assignment but we need to beat at least one of Brisbane or GWS away, we got them last time let's do it again!

CAR V WCE, FRE V GEE, MEL V RIC irrelevant

29-07-2019, 12:00 AM
The good thing is we can beat teams above us, and the last 4 teams are all above us.

29-07-2019, 11:41 AM
I'm a bit shagged out this morning after rooting my brains out all weekend.

I could have rooted for Australia at times on the weekend, especially yesterday afternoon. God knows what the neighbors thought.

29-07-2019, 12:09 PM
I'm a bit shagged out this morning after rooting my brains out all weekend.

I could have rooted for Australia at times on the weekend, especially yesterday afternoon. God knows what the neighbors thought.
I read the first line than sat confused for a good 10 seconds before reading your second line.

29-07-2019, 12:28 PM
I read the first line than sat confused for a good 10 seconds before reading your second line.

Meh! It's just a normal weekend really.

29-07-2019, 07:48 PM
Meh! It's just a normal weekend really.

You remind me of the Pilots joke of being a part of the mile high club, sure it was a solo flight but it still counts

29-07-2019, 10:14 PM
You remind me of the Pilots joke of being a part of the mile high club, sure it was a solo flight but it still counts

Hehehe! Yeah, that's probably closer to what actually happened.

29-07-2019, 10:35 PM
Hehehe! Yeah, that's probably closer to what actually happened.

Nothing wrong with that :D

02-08-2019, 11:22 PM
Good start to the weekend rooting.

02-08-2019, 11:27 PM
Good start to the weekend rooting.

Aye, that doesn't hurt.

Now the natural order can resume and we can go back to wishing North considerable ill though they're a fraction less loathable under Shaw than they were under coconut head.

02-08-2019, 11:36 PM
Rooting for the Saints big time

02-08-2019, 11:38 PM
Rooting for the Saints big time

Yep them winning would help. We just need to focus and get the result on Sunday.

03-08-2019, 01:26 AM
Even the margin of victory for North tonight was ideal. It puts Hawthon's percentage back near ours and North's percentage didn't increase too much in case they make a late finals run.

03-08-2019, 05:04 PM
EFC has spoiled today's early afternoon rooting.

Classy mob their supporters, still booing Ryder.

03-08-2019, 05:28 PM

I guess it depends on what you want. Most spots in the 8 up for grabs? Or fewer people chasing just the one?

03-08-2019, 05:36 PM
I guess it depends on what you want. Most spots in the 8 up for grabs? Or fewer people chasing just the one?

Exactly opens up another spot.

03-08-2019, 05:40 PM
Be ideal if the swans could get this done.

03-08-2019, 06:10 PM
Exactly opens up another spot.

True. I actually posted that before I realised how vulnerable EFC are on the run home. It would be a dream come true if we were to play a part in them missing the eight.

03-08-2019, 07:00 PM
Save the rooting energy for tonight I reckon. That’s the big one. (Aside from tomorrow night ��)

03-08-2019, 07:34 PM
Yep, It's time to collectively root our brains out tonight.

Root until it hurts.

03-08-2019, 07:48 PM
Yep. Bombers may not win another gsme for the rest of the season. And their percentage took a hammering today.

03-08-2019, 08:06 PM
Freo up there as well now. We must win, that is where rooting is going to take place

03-08-2019, 08:06 PM
Cats haven’t done us a favour with Freo winning.

03-08-2019, 08:59 PM
Jeeze this competition is tight. If we find ourselves on ten wins at the end of the weekend it'll be a great effort, given there'll be another six teams on 8-9 wins below us.

03-08-2019, 09:19 PM
Essendon's percentage just took a hammering as well.

Win tomorrow and we're a chance to overtake them next week.

If Collingwood continue their indifferent firm they're on shaky ground as well.

Saints in touch early.

03-08-2019, 09:33 PM
Huge opportunity tomorrow to get to 10 wins 40 points which would take us a game clear of those teams currently on 36 points. As jeemak said it is very very close. Could 12 wins still be enough to make it this year?

03-08-2019, 11:06 PM
Crows look like they have got the Saints.

Cmon Dogs!

03-08-2019, 11:19 PM
We may have to win all three

03-08-2019, 11:26 PM
We may have to win all three

We may need to win 4!

03-08-2019, 11:36 PM
We may need to win 4!

Yep another 4 wins that gets us to 52 points particular with our % the way it is.

04-08-2019, 12:43 AM
If we play really well over the coming weeks then more and more I think it's likely to come down to the last round and our game against the Crows to see which of us will end up finishing seventh or eighth. EFC looked completely cooked this afternoon and I think the competition is ripening for the last few rounds of the season in the lead up to finals - with them having a dip in form at the wrong time.

Perhaps it's wishful thinking, but, our destiny is genuinely in our own hands and our form is trending really well. As for tomorrow's game I actually think the scheduling helps us. We have been able to travel up to Brisbane late with minimal interruption to our usual weekly routine with a view to keeping our season alive, while Brisbane have been waiting around possibly thinking about permutations and combinations impacted by whether WCE beat Carlton.

Interesting and bloody good season finish. Aside from all of the bullshit the AFL pulls, equalisation seems to be an actual positive for them.

04-08-2019, 03:18 AM
If we play really well over the coming weeks then more and more I think it's likely to come down to the last round and our game against the Crows to see which of us will end up finishing seventh or eighth. EFC looked completely cooked this afternoon and I think the competition is ripening for the last few rounds of the season in the lead up to finals - with them having a dip in form at the wrong time.

Perhaps it's wishful thinking, but, our destiny is genuinely in our own hands and our form is trending really well. As for tomorrow's game I actually think the scheduling helps us. We have been able to travel up to Brisbane late with minimal interruption to our usual weekly routine with a view to keeping our season alive, while Brisbane have been waiting around possibly thinking about permutations and combinations impacted by whether WCE beat Carlton.

Interesting and bloody good season finish. Aside from all of the bullshit the AFL pulls, equalisation seems to be an actual positive for them.

This really is the game that tells us all where we are in 2019. We win and everyone in the top 8 starts fretting about playing us , and what we might do in September. Lose and we're probably an also ran

04-08-2019, 10:21 AM

Why wouldn't they turn on someone they injected with unknown substances and then got the hell out of the joint as quickly as possible, all class as usual Essendon.

04-08-2019, 12:01 PM
We're in the position where if we win every game we make the 8, so I reckon we just focus on that.

However, it is such a shame about Essendon losing because they were a chance to be our week one opposition, which would pretty much amount to a bye.

04-08-2019, 01:34 PM
We're in the position where if we win every game we make the 8, so I reckon we just focus on that.

However, it is such a shame about Essendon losing because they were a chance to be our week one opposition, which would pretty much amount to a bye.

This is 100% correct. If we win, we are IN.

No other side can knock us out of the top 8 if we win out. Adelaide can (of course) say the same thing...port and Freo and whoever else can suck it cos if we win, we are in. Yes - we are in a razors edge (created by losses to the Gold Coast, Carlton, st Kilda and north) but all the conjecture is bs. The player should need to take responsibility and BEAT Brisbane.

04-08-2019, 02:23 PM
mjp generally players and coaches say the don’t look at the ladder or the win loss column.

Surely it’s BS and today’s 22 know the situation we find ourselves in?

04-08-2019, 02:29 PM
mjp generally players and coaches say the don’t look at the ladder or the win loss column.

You absolutely look at the ladder and you understands games are important...you don’t really get too carried away with what is coming up though.

You have to remember, players think and expect that they will win every game and think they are (as individuals at least) better than the other team and better than their immediate opponent. So...it is kind of hard to say much more than that.

04-08-2019, 02:30 PM

Bevo admitted recently he looks at the ladder - nothing wrong with that.

04-08-2019, 08:34 PM
We can't lose next week - either we win or Woosha is coach in 2020.

Jokes aside, saving percentage in the 2nd half today might be crucial in the final wash-up. Beat the scum next week and it will bring them right back into the pack, especially if we can give them a 5+ goal.touch-up. That will open up 7th and 8th.

10-08-2019, 10:24 PM
Alright, it's back on.

Simply:

Next week:

Dogs beat GWS
Freo beat Dons (Freo)
Woods beat Crows (MCG)

R.23:

Dogs beat Crows
Woods beat Essendon
Freo beat Port

Or simpler again: Dogs, Woods & Freo to win their last two games. North to win against Port this week.

Dogs play finals from 8th or maybe... 7th...

11-08-2019, 11:00 AM
Alright, it's back on.

Simply:

Next week:

Dogs beat GWS
Freo beat Dons (Freo)
Woods beat Crows (MCG)

R.23:

Dogs beat Crows
Woods beat Essendon
Freo beat Port

Or simpler again: Dogs, Woods & Freo to win their last two games. North to win against Port this week.

Dogs play finals from 8th or maybe... 7th...

Yes BT all good if those happen.

We also want Saints to beat Freo and Eagles thrash Adelaide today too.

11-08-2019, 04:52 PM
Alright, assuming Crows lose.

R.22

Freo beat Essendon at home
Port beat North at North (doesn't really matter, but I don't trust north, but I'm rooting with North)
Collingwood beat Adelaide
Dogs beat GWS

Port 7th
Dogs 8th - 44 points (beat crows week after to stay in on 48 points and over 102%)
** If we win, and Port, Crows & Dons lose. We are 7th on percentage. How's that for a quadie.

Dogs lose to GWS

Port 7th - 44 points
Essendon 8th - 44 points
Crows 9th - 40 points
Hawks 10th - 40 points (beating GCS)
Dogs 11th - 40 points

R.23

Collingwood beat Essendon
WCE beat Hawks at Perth
Freo beat Port
Dogs beat Crows

Port 7th - 48 points or 44 points and superior percentage.
Dogs 8th on percentage from last night - 44 points
Essendon 9th out on percentage from last night - 44 points
Adelaide 10th - 40 points
Hawks 11th - 40 points

Two wins probably gets us in. One win may get us in on percentage. I'd rather the two win strategy.

11-08-2019, 04:55 PM
Alright, assuming Crows lose.

R.22

Freo beat Essendon at home
Port beat North at North
Collingwood beat Adelaide
Dogs beat GWS

Wouldn't be a bit suprised if North come out firing next week after being humiliated by Geelong. Of course same with GWS.

11-08-2019, 05:06 PM
Saints over the line is a win for us.

11-08-2019, 05:07 PM
Now my full support is behind Ross Lyon, that’s ridiculous but true.

11-08-2019, 05:09 PM
R.23

WCE beat Hawks at Perth
Freo to beat Port
Dogs beat Crows

Port 7th - 48 points
Dogs 8th on percentage from last night - 44 points
Essendon 9th out on percentage from last night - 44 points
Adelaide 10th - 40 points
Hawks 11th - 40 points

To the extent *anything's* a 'sure' thing this is the more likely scenario and nothing would warm the cockles more than to tip those pricks out on percentage and percentage alone.

They can relive last night's massacre all over again and truly wallow in the consequences of yielding so pathetically... all farkin Summer.

*chef's kiss*

11-08-2019, 05:10 PM
Saints over the line is a win for us.
My worry is that Freo are now shot for the season, which gives Essendon all the incentive next week. The scum need to lose both remaining games for 7th to open up.

11-08-2019, 05:12 PM
My worry is that Freo are now shot for the season, which gives Essendon all the incentive next week. The scum need to lose both remaining games for 7th to open up.

If we win both and the Bummers only win one we will be above them on percentage.

11-08-2019, 05:13 PM

They should smash the bombers over there. I’ll take a 1 point win though. Also happy to win the flag from 8th. Getting way ahead of myself.

11-08-2019, 05:14 PM

Nah, the fragile superego that is Essendon was broken beyond repair last night. They're shot and Freo at home and Collingwood at the MCG trying to get top 4 should both account for them.

11-08-2019, 05:17 PM
But what shits me is that if we just played even at 80% ability against GCS & Carlton then this thread probably wouldn't even have been created this year. But we like doing things the hard way, so off to GWS and smash them too.

11-08-2019, 05:19 PM

Freo still have a slim chance to make 8th.

11-08-2019, 05:24 PM
I wish I could share the same confidence in Freo, who regularly kick sub 10 goals a game.

The Pies will smash Essendon in R23 - next week against Freo is absolutely critical in opening up that additional finals spot

11-08-2019, 05:25 PM

We just need to win one to stay ahead of them now

11-08-2019, 05:26 PM
So slim it is now 'mathematical'.

11-08-2019, 05:32 PM
But what shits me is that if we just played even at 80% ability against GCS & Carlton then this thread probably wouldn't even have been created this year. But we like doing things the hard way, so off to GWS and smash them too.

Absolutely, we'll have some fairly intense stewing of our own to do this offseason should we miss out on September.

No prizes for guessing who the rest of the eight would rather face come the real stuff out of the Bombres, or us right now.

They're a week one bye in waiting for whoever draws them.

It's just bloody good for footy for us to sneak in!

11-08-2019, 05:37 PM
So slim it is now 'mathematical'.

Yes, but they will take it and try and beat the bombers. Hopefully they do.

11-08-2019, 07:31 PM
Don’t be a jerk west coast!

11-08-2019, 07:33 PM
Don’t be a jerk west coast!

Do they want a home final or not

11-08-2019, 07:37 PM
If I'm reading the AFL app correctly Kennedy and McGovern both had extended stints on the bench to end the second half.

11-08-2019, 07:40 PM
Don’t like the way the crows are hanging in against WC

11-08-2019, 08:11 PM
Put them to the sword bulldog style eagles

11-08-2019, 08:23 PM
That's more like it.

FINISH THEM!

11-08-2019, 08:52 PM
Stuff that. I never want to be that invested in a Crows/Eagles game again.

11-08-2019, 08:53 PM
A small big root. Thanks WCE.

11-08-2019, 09:21 PM
Stuff that. I never want to be that invested in a Crows/Eagles game again.

WE are the eagles and we are flyi.......I can't do it. :D

11-08-2019, 09:42 PM
WE are the eagles and we are flyi.......I can't do it. :D
You think that's difficult, we're all going to have to learn to sing "Good Old Collingwood Forever" with gusto in the next 2 weeks. The filth are going to be our best friends if we make it to September.

Ditto Norf next week against Port. Might have to learn all 86 verses of their shitty song.

11-08-2019, 09:44 PM
You think that's difficult, we're all going to have to learn to sing "Good Old Collingwood Forever" with gusto in the next 2 weeks. The filth are going to be our best friends if we make it to September.

Ditto Norf next week againat Port. Might have to learn all 86 verses of their shitty song.

The intro just goes on and on and on.

11-08-2019, 10:09 PM
Isn't it the inxs song, never tear us apart?

11-08-2019, 10:11 PM
Isn't it the inxs song, never tear us apart?

I was talking about Norf's song GD.

11-08-2019, 10:57 PM
The intro just goes on and on and on.

Hearts to hearts and hands to hands,
Beneath the blue and white we stand,
We shout, God bless our native land,
North Melbourne, North Melbourne.

Out we come, out we come, out we come to play,
Just for recreation’s sake, to pass the time away,
Lots of fun, heaps of fun, enjoy yourself today,
North Melbourne boys/girls are hard to beat when they come out to play.

Is just the start. It's not even the singing bit yet!! I guess when you win as few games as they do then you damn well want to stretch the theme song out.

11-08-2019, 11:24 PM
Hearts to hearts and hands to hands,
Beneath the blue and white we stand,
We shout, God bless our native land,
North Melbourne, North Melbourne.

Out we come, out we come, out we come to play,
Just for recreation’s sake, to pass the time away,
Lots of fun, heaps of fun, enjoy yourself today,
North Melbourne boys/girls are hard to beat when they come out to play.

Is just the start. It's not even the singing bit yet!! I guess when you win as few games as they do then you damn well want to stretch the theme song out.
I just threw up in my mouth a little

11-08-2019, 11:29 PM
I just threw up in my mouth a little

I love how the Cow *!*!*!*!ers seem to believe that they are living in the People's Republic of North Melbourne.

12-08-2019, 12:12 AM

Ditto Norf next week against Port. Might have to learn all 86 verses of their shitty song.

Pies win two, and we win two and we are in.

12-08-2019, 08:07 AM
What if our fate is in Collingwoods hands which could mean they either play us or Essendon in the first elimination final. Do they play funny buggers and rest Pendles, Trealor and Grundy just to make sure they play an out of form Essendon?

12-08-2019, 09:27 AM
What if our fate is in Collingwoods hands which could mean they either play us or Essendon in the first elimination final. Do they play funny buggers and rest Pendles, Trealor and Grundy just to make sure they play an out of form Essendon?
Having the Cheats v Pies game played before both the Dogs v Crows and Port v Dockers matches may make it difficult for them to know for sure who they might be playing in the first round of the finals.

12-08-2019, 09:53 AM
The Pies if they beat Crows will be playing for a Potential Top 4 spot because Tigers Lions play on Sunday so I think Pies will be going all out for the win.

12-08-2019, 02:32 PM
So we are barracking for Collingwood to win both their games, and then we will probably play them in an elimination final at the G.

12-08-2019, 02:36 PM
Are Collingwood favourites to win both?

12-08-2019, 02:49 PM
Are Collingwood favourites to win both?

Clear favourites against Essendon but Adelaide are favoured in the betting at this stage.

12-08-2019, 05:52 PM
ODDS THIS WEEK:

Freo 1.50
Ess 2.54

Adel 1.80
Coll 2.00

GWS 1.60
Doggies 2.30

NM 2.00
Port 1.80

12-08-2019, 06:17 PM
ODDS THIS WEEK:

Freo 1.50
Ess 2.54

Adel 1.80
Coll 2.00

GWS 1.60
Doggies 2.30

NM 2.00
Port 1.80

These look very good for us. The biggest thing is we just need to win both games and September here we come!

17-08-2019, 01:16 PM
Massive massive roots coming up today. Grab your supplies and sit back and enjoy! Go Roos, Pies and Dockers!!!

17-08-2019, 01:29 PM
Yep. Huge seven hours between 4 and 11pm. I haven't watched as much neutral footy as I used to this year, but I have a feeling I'm going to be watching to and paying attention to only footy for 7 hours. Then see what tomorrow brings.

17-08-2019, 01:53 PM
Well I'm prepping myself for an endurance root of the highest order.
I've been stretching and limbering up for the last hour so I'm primed to go.
Got some energy bars at the ready in case I need some picking up mid way thru, can't falter on this one there's a lot riding on it.

17-08-2019, 02:31 PM
I don’t usually put on multibets, but when I do they lose. So today I put $10 on an “Everything’s gone to shit” multi (Adelaide, Essendon, Port, and GWS). You’ll thank me later.

17-08-2019, 02:40 PM
I don’t usually put on multibets, but when I do they lose. So today I put $10 on an “Everything’s gone to shit” multi (Adelaide, Essendon, Port, and GWS). You’ll thank me later.

Even if you lose you sorta still win

17-08-2019, 02:55 PM
Even if you lose you sorta still win

By putting this on I have guaranteed at least one team will lose, which should keep us alive.

17-08-2019, 07:18 PM
Liveladders has literally just moved us into finishing 9th (beating Adelaide next week) with us losing to GWS and Essendon winning one of their two.

So we can slide into 8th if we do the job on GWS, or Essendon lose both (Freo & Collingwood).

Root hard for Freo tonight.

17-08-2019, 07:19 PM

Looks like you’ll be out in the first leg, Adelaide are cooked. Magnificent rooting everyone.

17-08-2019, 07:21 PM
Liveladders has literally just moved us into finishing 9th (beating Adelaide next week) with us losing to GWS and Essendon winning one of their two.

So we can slide into 8th if we do the job on GWS, or Essendon lose both (Freo & Collingwood).

Root hard for Freo tonight.

If the margin increases by 5 goals then we jump Adelaide shortly on percentage. Cmon pies.

17-08-2019, 07:22 PM
Working out very well.

17-08-2019, 07:38 PM
With the results as they stand at the moment, There is a possible, but extremely unlikely, scenario that sees us play a home final against GWS.

17-08-2019, 07:48 PM
With the results as they stand at the moment, There is a possible, but extremely unlikely, scenario that sees us play a home final against GWS.

I was actually thinking about this scenario, it relies on GCS having a day out in round 23 against the Giants and I just can't see it happening unfortunately.........

17-08-2019, 08:09 PM
Pies smashing Adealide - check

17-08-2019, 08:11 PM
Results look like, if we make it, Collingwood or Richmond at the MCG.

That doesn't scare me if we play to our best.

17-08-2019, 08:13 PM
Results look like, if we make it, Collingwood or Richmond at the MCG.

That doesn't scare me if we play to our best.

Pass on tigers till GF day.

17-08-2019, 08:13 PM
We play the G quite well which is really good.

17-08-2019, 08:37 PM
Pass on tigers till GF day.

Nearly got them last year but at that time they were out of form.

17-08-2019, 08:38 PM
Nearly got them last year but at that time they were out of form.

So we did Eastie. I forgot that.

17-08-2019, 08:55 PM
What are these strange feelings of appreciation I am feeling towards Norf at this moment?

17-08-2019, 08:56 PM
Great start by Norf. Let’s hope they keep it up.

17-08-2019, 08:58 PM
What are these strange feelings of appreciation I am feeling towards Norf at this moment?

I hear you Jeemak. Very strange indeed. Some type of parallel universe.

17-08-2019, 09:23 PM
I was actually thinking about this scenario, it relies on GCS having a day out in round 23 against the Giants and I just can't see it happening unfortunately.........

It essentially relies on the combined winning margins of our game against GWS, GC's game against GWS and our game against Adelaide to exceed 200 points.

Extremely unlikely but given Adelaide and GWS' form line at present, not outside the realms of possibility.

17-08-2019, 09:27 PM
Norf up by more than 50 points.........too good to be true at the moment.

17-08-2019, 09:27 PM
I said beat them North, not embarrass them. But thank you.

17-08-2019, 09:28 PM
It essentially relies on the combined winning margins of our game against GWS, GC's game against GWS and our game against Adelaide to exceed 200 points.

Extremely unlikely but given Adelaide and GWS' form line at present, not outside the realms of possibility.

I didn't bother doing the actual mathematics of it given the GWS percentage.

17-08-2019, 09:29 PM
Essendon is worrying.

17-08-2019, 09:30 PM
It's a bit of a massacre, Brown has six!

I just don't understand how I feel.

17-08-2019, 09:31 PM
Essendon is worrying.

Of all the teams I figured Norf would be the ones to shit the bed for us......but it looks like Freo might give it a burl.

17-08-2019, 09:32 PM
Of all the teams I figured Norf would be the ones to shit the bed for us......but it looks like Freo might give it a burl.

Early days fellas

17-08-2019, 09:34 PM
Stringer one off his total possessions from last week

17-08-2019, 09:36 PM
Come on Freo stop shitting it up

17-08-2019, 09:39 PM
Early days fellas

Nah. The Freo that played us turned up tonight unfortunately.

17-08-2019, 09:39 PM
When has Freo ever smashed an opponent? They can barely cobble together 10 goals a game most weeks.

If they manage to get up, it will be well into the last qtr I reckon.

17-08-2019, 09:44 PM
We must win, that is all I care about

17-08-2019, 09:45 PM

Yep absolutely BAD. Another 6 wins would be great but need to focus on tomorrow now.

Then post on the 'we must win' thread! :D :D

Root. Root. Root.

Nah. The Freo that played us turned up tonight unfortunately.

Only 9 points the diff BT. You just have to root a bit harder mate

17-08-2019, 09:48 PM
Only 9 points the diff BT. You just have to root a bit harder mate

I think they tried harder after I insulted them. So.

*!*!*!*! those *!*!*!*!ing weak mother *!*!*!*!ing dickheads with their *!*!*!*!ing dumb song and stupid *!*!*!*!ing jumpers who have no *!*!*!*!ing regard for the players retiring tonight who should've won a *!*!*!*!ing premiership if their coach wasn't dour *!*!*!*!ing easy hateable Ross *!*!*!*!ing *!*!*!*!head.

That get momentum?

17-08-2019, 09:50 PM
I think they tried harder after I insulted them. So.

*!*!*!*! those *!*!*!*!ing weak mother *!*!*!*!ing dickheads with their *!*!*!*!ing dumb song and stupid *!*!*!*!ing jumpers who have no *!*!*!*!ing regard for the players retiring tonight who should've won a *!*!*!*!ing premiership if their coach wasn't dour *!*!*!*!ing easy hateable Ross *!*!*!*!ing *!*!*!*!head.

That get momentum?

Dirty talk. Go BT.

17-08-2019, 10:01 PM
Only Freo could concede 6 goals from 12 I50's

17-08-2019, 10:01 PM

This is the rooting thread BAD, not the "how to be pragmatic this week thread"! :)

17-08-2019, 10:02 PM
Where there's Zac Clark there's hope!!!

17-08-2019, 10:10 PM
Freo now tanking.

17-08-2019, 10:10 PM
Essington playing like team with a season on the line.

How dare they.

Wake the f**ck up Freo. Nobody likes a dud root.

17-08-2019, 10:57 PM
Outside of this root, you couldn't pay me enough money to watch Freo.

17-08-2019, 11:00 PM
Outside of this root, you couldn't pay me enough money to watch Freo.

Christ they're deplorable. I'm led to believe Fyfe has another Brownlow coming his way this year. WHY?

No chance from here the wankers.

17-08-2019, 11:01 PM
Screw you Freo guys. I'm goin' home.

17-08-2019, 11:03 PM
Win tomorrow we're in the eight.

17-08-2019, 11:05 PM
We have no choice. We have to beat GWS.

17-08-2019, 11:06 PM
I knew Freo would wet the bed. Shame as the results of the Adelaide teams have gone beyond our wildest dreams with both their percentages getting absolutely belted.

17-08-2019, 11:38 PM
Oh well the good news is that it is in our hands. We win both we are in. Don’t need results to go our way.

18-08-2019, 07:29 AM
Oh well the good news is that it is in our hands. We win both we are in. Don’t need results to go our way.

Given the first half of the season we endured, for destiny to be in our own hands is a tremendous result.

Despite Freo (how bad are they?) good rooting all round team

18-08-2019, 09:35 AM
Whether or not Freo won, our situation would have been the same except that there would have been 2 live spots available in the top 8. Now there is only 1.

18-08-2019, 10:44 AM
Anyone nervous

18-08-2019, 11:14 AM
Looks like you’ll be out in the first leg, Adelaide are cooked. Magnificent rooting everyone.

You’re welcome! :cool:

18-08-2019, 11:39 AM
You’re welcome! :cool:

Which reminds me to go buy the Sunday mail. May also spend the week listening to adelaide talk back radio

18-08-2019, 12:12 PM
Which reminds me to go buy the Sunday mail. May also spend the week listening to adelaide talk back radio

I am a bit disappointed they won’t be burning the joint down on Bomberblitz (for at least another week) so listening to all of the tears and whinging replace all the back slapping and high fives on 5dooublecrow (5AA) will have to do this week.

18-08-2019, 12:22 PM
Anyone nervous

A little but it is what it is. We just have to win today.

18-08-2019, 12:38 PM

One S Rowe’s voice just went up 3 octaves.

In other news..
Ross Lyon has always been a jerk, is currently a jerk and will always be a jerk.

18-08-2019, 12:46 PM
Can they afford to sack Ross Lyon yet?

18-08-2019, 12:51 PM

I’m happy to chip in

18-08-2019, 02:45 PM
Anyone nervous

Absolutely, with the cards falling our way with SA results, are we sailing to finals on the winds of fate with a wet sail?
Is Bulldog history about to unfold before our eager eyes? Are Ted and Charlie pulling the strings up there? Is our midfield our greatest ever?
Or will we go from our most crunching victory for the season to a season ending anti climax?
Season and history-on-the-line. Knife's edge nervousness.

18-08-2019, 09:13 PM
Ok, I've done some rough sums, and if:

West Coast beat Hawthorn
Gold Coast beat GWS
We beat Adelaide, and
The combined margin of our win and GCs exceeds 100 points,

We finish 6th and host GWS in week 1.

18-08-2019, 09:26 PM
In an absurd way, the Essendon win combined with our 10 goal smashing of GWS has now worked in our favour for next week, as there is only 1 spot in the top 8 up for grabs. Adelaide will need to beat us by 5 goals in order to catch our percentage, and they also know they will only be doing their arch rivals Port a favour if they do. Port will be angry and smash Freo at home next week - never trust Freo ever again.

Had Essendon lost last night, there would have been an extra top 8 spot up for grabs and far more incentive for both Adelaide and Port next week.

18-08-2019, 09:30 PM
The sole concern now is not underestimating an apparently shithouse Crows outfit.

18-08-2019, 09:31 PM
In an absurd way, the Essendon win combined with our 10 goal smashing of GWS has now worked in our favour for next week, as there is only 1 spot in the top 8 up for grabs. Adelaide will need to beat us by 5 goals in order to catch our percentage, and they also know they will only be doing their arch rivals Port a favour if they do. Port will be angry and smash Freo at home next week - never trust Freo ever again.

Had Essendon lost last night, there would have been an extra top 8 spot up for grabs and far more incentive for both Adelaide and Port next week.

Not accounting for a calamitous loss next week, should we make finals there are potentially 3 interstate finals, in Sydney, Perth and possibly Brisbane depending on outcomes.
If we were to get through this year, it would make 2016 look like a veritable cakewalk!

18-08-2019, 09:33 PM
The sole concern now is not underestimating an apparently shithouse Crows outfit.
Big time. They spudded it up yesterday but pushed West Coke hard in Perth only last week. They have a strong clearance game so can match it with us in that crucial area. We need to be on from the get-go in order to get the 4 points.

18-08-2019, 09:47 PM
Big time. They spudded it up yesterday but pushed West Coke hard in Perth only last week. They have a strong clearance games so can match it with us in that crucial area. We need to be on from the get-go in order to get the 4 points.

They don't look to have too many injuries from the weekend, so maybe there's a pride element. Unless they really, really want the coach sacked.

19-08-2019, 12:54 AM
Big time. They spudded it up yesterday but pushed West Coke hard in Perth only last week. They have a strong clearance game so can match it with us in that crucial area. We need to be on from the get-go in order to get the 4 points.

They have been legitimately awful this year and have been made to look better than they are by some very, very unconvincing wins against teams they got at the right time (eg Tigers when they were decimated). They are a bottom five team right now.

But this is exactly the type of team (the ones we should smash) that we have struggled with (St. Kilda, Carlton, NM, GC, etc.).

Danger signs. Need to be on and kill the game early.

19-08-2019, 03:31 AM
They have been legitimately awful this year and have been made to look better than they are by some very, very unconvincing wins against teams they got at the right time (eg Tigers when they were decimated). They are a bottom five team right now.

But this is exactly the type of team (the ones we should smash) that we have struggled with (St. Kilda, Carlton, NM, GC, etc.).

Danger signs. Need to be on and kill the game early.

Weather looks to be about right for a lock down game, bit of wind and a fair chance of some rain. Set the ground up properly, don't press too hard and let easy goals out the back is the first priority (as it should be every week).

We just need to identify how they can hurt us, and focus on how we can stop that while using every opportunity to expose their one paced midfield.

If we are looking a week ahead we're in for some pain.

19-08-2019, 10:27 PM
Weather looks to be about right for a lock down game, bit of wind and a fair chance of some rain. Set the ground up properly, don't press too hard and let easy goals out the back is the first priority (as it should be every week).

We just need to identify how they can hurt us, and focus on how we can stop that while using every opportunity to expose their one paced midfield.

Yep. Some important rooting to do before then.

19-08-2019, 10:30 PM

BoM updated today. 11 degrees, up to 3mm of rain.

If we could change venue without a financial penalty, would we want to play at Etihad? Or will cold and wet suit a contested brawl in our favour in Ballarat?

19-08-2019, 10:39 PM
BoM updated today. 11 degrees, up to 3mm of rain.

If we could change venue without a financial penalty, would we want to play at Etihad? Or will cold and wet suit a contested brawl in our favour in Ballarat?

We seemed to go alright against Port and Brisbane in ordinary conditions.

19-08-2019, 10:42 PM
We seemed to go alright against Port and Brisbane in ordinary conditions.

That's what I'm thinking. We hunt the contest and even kids like Smith rack up big tackle numbers in the wet. The shoot out involves the risk of Tex, Fogarty & Betts doing well and Keath intercepting. The slog is us going harder for longer, something I think we can do if we are switched on.

20-08-2019, 01:00 AM
Other than brass monkeys is Ballarat going to be wet or dry, if wet can't go in too tall.

20-08-2019, 02:05 PM

Yes.

I’m happy to chip in

Pay up. Credit card or PayPal facilities available.

20-08-2019, 02:07 PM
That's what I'm thinking. We hunt the contest and even kids like Smith rack up big tackle numbers in the wet. The shoot out involves the risk of Tex, Fogarty & Betts doing well and Keath intercepting. The slog is us going harder for longer, something I think we can do if we are switched on.

Keath was in Adelaide's reserve team last weekend. Not sure if he was dropped or injured previously.

20-08-2019, 02:13 PM
Other than brass monkeys is Ballarat going to be wet or dry, if wet can't go in too tall.

20% chance of rain

20-08-2019, 02:30 PM
Keath was in Adelaide's reserve team last weekend. Not sure if he was dropped or injured previously.

First game back from injury. He's been in near All Australian form, no way he was dropped.

Fogarty 8 goals in the last 2 weeks, who takes him?

20-08-2019, 02:35 PM
First game back from injury. He's been in near All Australian form, no way he was dropped.

Fogarty 8 goals in the last 2 weeks, who takes him?

Cordy?

20-08-2019, 03:43 PM
Wood to Fogarty. He’s their most dangerous forward and will require a captain’s game to keep him quiet. Hopefully Easton’s uptick in form over the recent weeks continues.

20-08-2019, 04:12 PM
Wood to Fogarty. He’s their most dangerous forward and will require a captain’s game to keep him quiet. Hopefully Easton’s uptick in form over the recent weeks continues.

He was very good Wood last couple of weeks.

20-08-2019, 05:03 PM
He was very good Wood last couple of weeks.

Because he didn't take on monsters and didn't play as deep.

20-08-2019, 07:35 PM
The adelaide rumour mill as being discussed in the coffee shops is that the Crows coach will be sacked before this weekend, God I hope not

20-08-2019, 07:45 PM
Ridiculous. They could well win and play finals. They should do the right thing by him and at least wait until they've played us.

20-08-2019, 09:21 PM
The adelaide rumour mill as being discussed in the coffee shops is that the Crows coach will be sacked before this weekend, God I hope not

Maybe the Lyon sacking has something to do with it.

21-08-2019, 12:06 AM
GC play their GF against a GWS team that doesn’t know how to score in second halves this weekend. Maybe, just maybe, they can pull off one of the upsets of the season and their biggest win since Karmichael kicked a sausage roll after the siren.

Let’s not get ahead of ourselves and all of that, but if this happens we are a sneaky chance of a home final.

We need:
-To beat the Crows
-GC to beat GWS
-A roughly 100 point combined margin from the two games

If we can kill the Crows off early (like the Pies did last week) a big margin is not out of the question.

One week at a time and let’s just worry about getting the win etc. but stranger things have happened.

23-08-2019, 10:38 PM
GC play their GF against a GWS team that doesn’t know how to score in second halves this weekend. Maybe, just maybe, they can pull off one of the upsets of the season and their biggest win since Karmichael kicked a sausage roll after the siren.

Let’s not get ahead of ourselves and all of that, but if this happens we are a sneaky chance of a home final.

We need:
-To beat the Crows
-GC to beat GWS
-A roughly 100 point combined margin from the two games

If we can kill the Crows off early (like the Pies did last week) a big margin is not out of the question.

One week at a time and let’s just worry about getting the win etc. but stranger things have happened.

Stealer of thunder! I just worked this out!

Ok, let’s just beat the crows but... for a Fun sporty root.

If Gold Coast beat greater waste of space by 20 and we beat the cows by 80 then we play George dubbleya at the G.

24-08-2019, 10:16 AM
Stealer of thunder! I just worked this out!

Ok, let’s just beat the crows but... for a Fun sporty root.

If Gold Coast beat greater waste of space by 20 and we beat the cows by 80 then we play George dubbleya at the G.

I wonder if they would actually put it at Marvel. We got 60k against the Crows. But they are a fairly high drawing interstate team.

I wouldn’t think GWS would pull more than a super optimistic 5000 (probably more like 2,500).

24-08-2019, 12:11 PM
This is our last rooting weekend

Freo to beat Port
WC to beat Hawks
Then of course for the final root Doggies to beat Adelaide.

I know the previous 2 matches don't matter if we beat Adelaide but I am a cautious guy and have always liked insurance.

24-08-2019, 12:35 PM

Freo to beat Port
WC to beat Hawks

I know the previous 2 matches don't matter if we beat Adelaide but I am a cautious guy and have always liked insurance.

You just like a good root.

24-08-2019, 12:41 PM

Freo to beat Port
WC to beat Hawks

The rooting this week almost needs to be separated into a “If we win” and “If we lose” category. I think you have covered the model that guards against a loss and the model that most traumatised Dogs fans would be subscribing to.

But, if we do end up winning I think we want the ladder to look like this:
Brisbane
Geelong
Richmond
Collingwood
West Coast
Us
GWS
Essendon

This ladder means there is no way we have to travel to Perth and we would actually avoid WC until the GF (if they make it through three road trips). They are one of the only teams we haven’t beaten and the one I am least confident playing, especially in Perth, due to the makeup of their forward line.

For this to eventuate we would want:
Richmond to beat Brisbane
Carlton to beat Geelong
Hawthorn to beat WC
GC to beat GWS and us to beat Adelaide by a total margin of about 100* (*to get the home final versus playing in sydney)

This model also sees us play either the loser of Richmond v Geelong at the G (probably Geelong) rather than Brisbane in Brisbane. Some may prefer the finals inexperience of the Lions and a road trip that offers some extra vitamin D, which a Cats win over Carlton would deliver.

24-08-2019, 01:08 PM
The perfect round of results so we don't leave the state through September...

Carlton d Geelong
Gold Coast d GWS by 10 goals
West Coast d Hawthorn
Brisbane Lions d Richmond
Fremantle d Port Adelaide

If we beat Adelaide by around 6 goals > finish 6th and host GWS with the top 8 as -

Lions
WCE
Geelong
Pies
Tigers
Dogs
Giants
Dons

Giants at MCG
Cats at MCG (Eagles d Cats in QF)
Pies at MCG (Pies d Lions in QF)
GF at MCG

If we beat the Crows by less than 6 goals or lose by up to 4 goals > travel to Sydney to play Giants
Then rest of finals as above

25-08-2019, 11:23 PM
*!*!*!*!ing great rooting everybody. Perfect rooting really.

Some of the greatest rooting I have ever seen.

25-08-2019, 11:27 PM
*!*!*!*!ing great rooting everybody. Perfect rooting really.

Some of the greatest rooting I have ever seen.

We rooted until we couldn't root no more.

26-08-2019, 11:33 AM
I am all rooted out.

26-08-2019, 02:36 PM
Now come on team, we can't give up the 66 just yet....we'll want our boys to show some stamina and we should too!

Main one here is Brisbane vs Richmond - a Brisneyland win will see Richmond host the winner of our game. *Should we progress, I'd much rather a semi at the G (we all know how a semi at the G against a former recent premier worked out for us)

* with respect to the sporting gods

26-08-2019, 03:31 PM
Now come on team, we can't give up the 66 just yet....we'll want our boys to show some stamina and we should too!

Main one here is Brisbane vs Richmond - a Brisneyland win will see Richmond host the winner of our game. *Should we progress, I'd much rather a semi at the G (we all know how a semi at the G against a former recent premier worked out for us)

* with respect to the sporting gods
I'd be equally as happy with Brisbane up at the Gabba in week 2 of the finals. Richmond are a better September team but we don't travel vs Brisbane young and possibly overawed but in their backyard. Eiither way we are back home for the prelim againat Geelong or the filth.