View Full Version : Always Right Match Committee Thread Round 20, Vs Brisbane

23-07-2019, 02:22 PM
Welcome to the Always Right Match Committee Thread. The Match Committee threads has been named after long time WOOF member Always Right who tragically passed away in March 2018.

If you were on the Western Bulldogs match committee what changes would you make after our Round 19 match against Fremantle for our Round 20, 2019 match against Brisbane at the GABBA?

For those new to these threads, please give a brief explanation for your changes ... this would add a lot of value to the discussion.

28-07-2019, 04:07 PM

28-07-2019, 04:55 PM
In:

Lew Young, Schache

Outs:

Morris (retired), Richards (omit)

28-07-2019, 05:06 PM
McLean said he would be back next week

28-07-2019, 05:29 PM
In:

McLean, Schache

Outs:

Morris (retired), Richards (omit)

McLean said he would be back next week

Then he's in.

28-07-2019, 05:31 PM
Then he's in.

Can we play McLean, Libba and Lippa in the same team. Brisbane will run us raggered.

28-07-2019, 05:45 PM
I reckon Schache is done for the year.

28-07-2019, 05:47 PM
Can we play McLean, Libba and Lippa in the same team. Brisbane will run us raggered.

Got to beat them at the source and use it efficiently going forward... McLean should play if he’s ready.

28-07-2019, 05:50 PM
Got to beat them at the source and use it efficiently going forward... McLean should play if he’s ready.

Yep, I agree McLean needs to play.

If it was me:

OUT: Moz, Libba
IN: Young, McLean

What I think will happen:

OUT: Moz
IN: McLean

28-07-2019, 05:51 PM
Yep, I agree McLean needs to play.

If it was me:

OUT: Moz, Libba
IN: Young, McLean

What I think will happen:

OUT: Moz
IN: McLean

We can’t go in that small.

28-07-2019, 06:59 PM

Is McLean slow? Go check that tackle on Jetta Vs the Dees just before he strained the string. Elite explosion.

29-07-2019, 01:00 AM
Keeping in mind the height of McStay and Hipwood, Lewis Young should come in if available.

29-07-2019, 01:03 AM
Not sure why we'd spell Libba and based on the post-match it appears the coach agrees. Made an unprompted point of mentioning the job he did keeping Walters quiet today.

Surely he's set the task of running around giving Zorko the shits all day.

Bevo also seemed to concede with Moz gone that all but ends the Zaine as forward experiment. Pity, he was a handy catalyst.

29-07-2019, 01:22 AM
I had a good look at Libba today - I thought he was awesome at the source and got us first use out of the stoppages on numerous occasions, usually sharking opposition hitouts by reading their hitting zones perfectly.

29-07-2019, 08:30 AM
I love Libba as much as the next guy, but in a game where our mids ran riot he had 19 touches, 1 tackle & just the 4 clearances for the day (Bailey Smith also had 4 for example).

Walters had more possessions, and was the 3rd ranked player for Freo on the day so he didn’t exactly put the clamps on.

He did get crunched early and his time on ground was lower than normal so have to give him leeway, but his form has been average for weeks now.

29-07-2019, 08:34 AM
I had a good look at Libba today - I thought he was awesome at the source and got us first use out of the stoppages on numerous occasions, usually sharking opposition hitouts by reading their hitting zones perfectly.

Yes he is starting to become the new whipping boy. He 100% makes us a better team and the work he does blocking for Dunks and Bont is amazing. I also find it amazing how he can body another opponent under the ball so they are out of posiston time after time. You think they would wise up a little.

Libya’s in our best 22 but needs to be in the midfield. Forward 50 is not his go at all.

29-07-2019, 10:32 AM
I love Libba as much as the next guy, but in a game where our mids ran riot he had 19 touches, 1 tackle & just the 4 clearances for the day (Bailey Smith also had 4 for example).

Walters had more possessions, and was the 3rd ranked player for Freo on the day so he didn’t exactly put the clamps on.

He did get crunched early and his time on ground was lower than normal so have to give him leeway, but his form has been average for weeks now.

Walters had zero impact when the game was up for grabs and has been amazing for them this season.

29-07-2019, 10:36 AM

Bevo said Libba had a job on Walters yesterday and played well. Wouldn't be surprised if he plays on Neale this week.

29-07-2019, 10:39 AM
Bevo said Libba had a job on Walters yesterday and played well. Wouldn't be surprised if he plays on Neale this week.

Who plays on Rich?

29-07-2019, 10:40 AM
Who plays on Rich?

Good point. Who?

29-07-2019, 11:54 AM
Who plays on Rich?

Game 2 for Westy. I’d give him a crack at it. Beat one of the inform players of the comp young man.

Agree calls for Lewis Young to come in for Moz.

29-07-2019, 12:53 PM
A real tough one team balance wise. Moz out. McLean best 22 IMO but I feel we need another tall. Lew Young wasn’t even an emergency and apparently a bit sore. I know he is still raw but do we go with Sweet and give English a bit more time forward? Otherwise we probably need Naughton to pinch hit in ruck. Maybe Richards out for McLean? I thought Richards looked dangerous at times though...

29-07-2019, 01:17 PM
A real tough one team balance wise. Moz out. McLean best 22 IMO but I feel we need another tall. Lew Young wasn’t even an emergency and apparently a bit sore. I know he is still raw but do we go with Sweet and give English a bit more time forward? Otherwise we probably need Naughton to pinch hit in ruck. Maybe Richards out for McLean? I thought Richards looked dangerous at times though...

Look what happened to Schache as a result of putting a young forward (non ruckman) in that role. I saw the risks highlighted in a thread earlier in the year. Naughton is better in the air but it’s a risk all the same.

I believe Gardner sustained his injury in the ruck too.

At least L Young is getting some training and experience there.

29-07-2019, 01:45 PM
Look what happened to Schache as a result of putting a young forward (non ruckman) in that role. I saw the risks highlighted in a thread earlier in the year. Naughton is better in the air but it’s a risk all the same.

I believe Gardner sustained his injury in the ruck too.

At least L Young is getting some training and experience there.

Schache copped his concussion in a marking contest, not the ruck.

29-07-2019, 01:46 PM

I reckon he will be itching to play against his old side.

29-07-2019, 01:51 PM
I reckon he will be itching to play against his old side.

Is there talk he’ll miss? I’m assuming he comes back. I hope so.

29-07-2019, 02:01 PM
Is there talk he’ll miss? I’m assuming he comes back. I hope so.

The injury report on the club website tomorrow should tell us more.

29-07-2019, 02:22 PM

Not quite correct.

Schache was injured in the back pocket while playing as a ruckman. He attempted to spoil a pack which already had Cordy and Wood in it. We had a fourth player in the pack but I forget who it was.

Being known as a leading forward he obviously had no idea of what to do in the circumstances. He came in wide and late and was totally off balance.

Why we repeatedly have half the backline going up in the same pack suggests a lack of confidence in each other- maybe?

29-07-2019, 02:23 PM
Why we repeatedly have half the backline going up in the same pack suggests a lack of confidence in each other- maybe?

Mayb a lack of height down there has a fair bit to do with it.

29-07-2019, 02:57 PM
Cameron and Hipwood are my concerns.
I think we are a bit slow down back. Only JJ has the pace to go with Cameron but we need his drive, so that will leave
Cameron free a lot. I'm guessing Trengove will match up with Oscar, so Cordy will be on Hipwood.
It's nice not to have a big hulking tall to match up on but I just don't have total faith in Zaine at the moment, and Hipwood
might cause problems. We could use another defender like one of the Young's.

I thought we looked good early on when Morris was down back and Cordy went forward. He adds some grit up forward and provides a contest, giving Naughton some space to work as well.

I think Zaine just needs some confidence and some stints up forward might be the answer.

Out: Morris

In: Lewis Young

29-07-2019, 03:13 PM
The following players, played last time we beat Brisbane, but didn't play yesterday:

Billy Gowers
Fletcher Roberts
Lachie Young
Toby McLean
Will Hayes
Matthew Suckling

These players, played yesterday, but not against Brisbane last time:

Bailey Dale
Patrick Lipinski
Rhylee West
Taylor Duryea
Timothy English
Tory Dickson

The mix is interesting.
Schache will be available as will Toby Mclean. I can't see any of the players that played in round 8 other than Toby playing this week. I presume Suckling is still injured.

I think we need to look at matchups and then pick our best team.

29-07-2019, 03:56 PM
so Cordy will be on Hipwood.

It's nice not to have a big hulking tall to match up on but I just don't have total faith in Zaine at the moment, and Hipwood
might cause problems. We could use another defender like one of the Young's.

I thought we looked good early on when Morris was down back and Cordy went forward. He adds some grit up forward and provides a contest, giving Naughton some space to work as well.

I think Zaine just needs some confidence and some stints up forward might be the answer.

Cordy spent a lot of time on Hipwood at Ballarat and didn’t do well.

I think he looked much better on the forward line. He was mobile and the backmen had trouble moving with him and that opened up space for the other forwards. It was a good move that was long overdue.

29-07-2019, 04:07 PM

Don't let the truth get in the way of a good old fashioned horse flogging soup......

29-07-2019, 04:25 PM

Yep watch it here (https://www.afl.com.au/video/2019-07-21/concerns-as-flying-dog-undergoes-concussion)

29-07-2019, 04:36 PM
Don't let the truth get in the way of a good old fashioned horse flogging soup......

I assume that you are suggesting that my description is dishonest. Please give details of where it is wrong.

1. It occurred in the back pocket.
2. Schache was ruckman at the time.
3. He was not attempting to mark.
4. He was attempting to spoil.

If he hadn’t been involved Wood would’ve taken the mark.

Why can’t some people accept a simple truth.

29-07-2019, 04:43 PM
I assume that you are suggesting that my description is dishonest. Please give details of where it is wrong.

1. It occurred in the back pocket.
2. Schache was ruckman at the time.
3. He was not attempting to mark.
4. He was attempting to spoil.

If he hadn’t been involved Wood would’ve taken the mark.

Why can’t some people accept a simple truth.

Because you are inferring he should not be in the ruck (your pet topic :D )and the incident wouldn't have happened. You don't know that, the same thing could have happened in the forward line. That is footy.

29-07-2019, 05:43 PM
Because you are inferring he should not be in the ruck (your pet topic :D )and the incident wouldn't have happened. You don't know that, the same thing could have happened in the forward line. That is footy.

1. You are correct. I don’t think Schache should be used in the ruck. We have better options, people who are less likely to be injured there.

2. He has never displayed standard ruck craft that I have noticed.

3. The team has had no significant benefit from his 1 (average) hitout per game this year.

4. The team loses when he is taken from his role as a leading forward who converts well.

5. If the ball was coming into the forward line Schache would not have been throwing himself recklessly into spoil the pack. He might still have been injured but the probability of that would have been much less.

And I am glad that you set out to dismiss me rather than the facts I stated, because they are correct. Schache was the ruckman at the time of his injury.

29-07-2019, 05:55 PM
And I am glad that you set out to dismiss me rather than the facts I stated, because they are correct. Schache was the ruckman at the time of his injury.

Whether Schache was in the ruck or not, it is actually irrelevant to him getting concussion. He was in the act of spoiling a ball, he wasn't actually going up for the ruck.

29-07-2019, 05:55 PM
Back to the topic.

Mclean, Suckling and Schache are all available this week.

29-07-2019, 06:22 PM
1. You are correct. I don’t think Schache should be used in the ruck. We have better options, people who are less likely to be injured there.

2. He has never displayed standard ruck craft that I have noticed.

3. The team has had no significant benefit from his 1 (average) hitout per game this year.

4. The team loses when he is taken from his role as a leading forward who converts well.

5. If the ball was coming into the forward line Schache would not have been throwing himself recklessly into spoil the pack. He might still have been injured but the probability of that would have been much less.

Points 2 and 3 are correct, to an extent. He is neither a natural ruckman nor one who overly benefits us with his ruckwork, however hi work when the ball hits the ground has been decent and his movement around the contest has on occasion been good.

As for point 1, we have few better options. English is, Sweet is but solely for the ruck contest, Trengove is, while Cordy, and Naughton are roughly on par. The only reason Schache could be possibly at greater risk of injury than any of them is because he is softer. He has all of them covered for height aside from Sweet and English, and is only lighter than Trengove and Sweet. So he is bigger than almost all the alternatives, and of the non specialist rucks is only worse than Trengove.

As for point 4, he is hardly the presence that Naughton is, and is hardly producing for all 25 minutes per quarter so it isn't as if we are sacrificing 5 minutes of scintillating forward play each quarter which is completely throwing out our system. Besides, your solutio which I assume is Sweet means we lose when he rests forward as a forward who neither leads nor converts well, and if the plan is to put English there then which tall comes out of the side? Schache does. So we lose our forward who leads and converts well anyway.

5 isn't even a point. What do you mean "if the ball was coming into the forward line"? The opposition is bound to get plenty of inside 50s and our players, including our forwards, will at times be caught in a position to have to come back and support. Besides clearly an area of focus for Schache has been to be more aggressive in aerial contests and if he can't mark the ball to kill it. That us exactly what he did in that scenario, and i would expect him to do the same thing anywhere else on the ground should the opportunity arise.

Completely irrelevant. He is not copping injuries from ruck contests. He has copped one unfortunate landing from a marking contest.

Anyway it's a stupid thing to argue over because there is no chance Beveridge picks two ruckmen in a side. He has already shown he would rather have Josh Dunkley as second ruck than do so. The only way Sweet gets a game is if we play English forward, and the only way that is happening is if Schache isn't getting a game.

29-07-2019, 06:53 PM
Points 2 and 3 are correct, to an extent. He is neither a natural ruckman nor one who overly benefits us with his ruckwork, however hi work when the ball hits the ground has been decent and his movement around the contest has on occasion been good.

As for point 1, we have few better options. English is, Sweet is but solely for the ruck contest, Trengove is, while Cordy, and Naughton are roughly on par. The only reason Schache could be possibly at greater risk of injury than any of them is because he is softer. He has all of them covered for height aside from Sweet and English, and is only lighter than Trengove and Sweet. So he is bigger than almost all the alternatives, and of the non specialist rucks is only worse than Trengove.

As for point 4, he is hardly the presence that Naughton is, and is hardly producing for all 25 minutes per quarter so it isn't as if we are sacrificing 5 minutes of scintillating forward play each quarter which is completely throwing out our system. Besides, your solutio which I assume is Sweet means we lose when he rests forward as a forward who neither leads nor converts well, and if the plan is to put English there then which tall comes out of the side? Schache does. So we lose our forward who leads and converts well anyway.

5 isn't even a point. What do you mean "if the ball was coming into the forward line"? The opposition is bound to get plenty of inside 50s and our players, including our forwards, will at times be caught in a position to have to come back and support. Besides clearly an area of focus for Schache has been to be more aggressive in aerial contests and if he can't mark the ball to kill it. That us exactly what he did in that scenario, and i would expect him to do the same thing anywhere else on the ground should the opportunity arise.

Completely irrelevant. He is not copping injuries from ruck contests. He has copped one unfortunate landing from a marking contest.

Anyway it's a stupid thing to argue over because there is no chance Beveridge picks two ruckmen in a side. He has already shown he would rather have Josh Dunkley as second ruck than do so. The only way Sweet gets a game is if we play English forward, and the only way that is happening is if Schache isn't getting a game.

my original comment was:

No mention of Sweet. It is a reference to risk.

Ruckmen have a particular skill set, which includes remaining vertical. I don’t want to see Schache in the ruck until he understands that.

He has proven to be a liability when played in the ruck. as you say he is missing from his main role for 20% of the game for no return. And against St Kilda he left the team a player short for half a game.

A better option would be Cordy, plenty of favourable comments here about his ruck work. Particularly after the game against North.

And Schache was not trying to mark the ball. He was attempting to spoil, and he prevented an almost certain mark by Wood who had it covered. He did not understand the circumstances he found himself in. He was just trying to be aggressive and finished up being reckless. No real ruckman does that. Their attack on the contest is positive.

29-07-2019, 07:02 PM
Whether Schache was in the ruck or not, it is actually irrelevant to him getting concussion. He was in the act of spoiling a ball, he wasn't actually going up for the ruck.

Nobody said it was a ruck contest. Ruckmen do a lot more than that. He got concussion because he didn’t know how a ruckman plays on the backline. And I hope someone teaches him that part of the game before he makes the same mistake again.

29-07-2019, 07:03 PM
Back to the topic.

Mclean, Suckling and Schache are all available this week.

Sorry Suckers but we can't afford your schtick against the Lions, at home, and very much up and about.

It's going to be a high-energy tilt. That and the form of others makes him surplus to requirements just at the minute.

McLean plays, we'll need his cleverness. Schache plays with a plan. They're going to be right into him I reckon.

29-07-2019, 08:05 PM
Would Fletcher Roberts be in a stronger position to replace Morris than Lewis Young?

29-07-2019, 09:46 PM
Can we talk more about the ruck. I’m not sure we have gotten everyone’s view on the ruck.

29-07-2019, 10:02 PM
Would Fletcher Roberts be in a stronger position to replace Morris than Lewis Young?

Fletch played last time against Brissie and we really couldn't contain their talls. Hipwood should have kicked at least 5 - ended up with 2.5. Trengove rucked, so I guess he plays Hipwood.

I feel we are still one tall player down, but I bet Bevo goes in with Trengove and Cordy.

29-07-2019, 10:09 PM
Fletch played last time against Brissie and we really couldn't contain their talls. Hipwood should have kicked at least 5 - ended up with 2.5. Trengove rucked, so I guess he plays Hipwood.

I feel we are still one tall player down, but I bet Bevo goes in with Trengove and Cordy.
Not sure Trengove is a great match up for Hipwood. He is a tricky match up with his pace and height, Trengove probably better suited to McStay. Hipwood’s opponent will depend on who comes in for Morris- but I think Cordy will end up there and we’ll back him to do better.
Who knows which Hipwood turns up. He missed one game, but otherwise hasn’t had a kick in a month.

NoseBleed
29-07-2019, 10:10 PM
Can we talk more about the ruck. I’m not sure we have gotten everyone’s view on the ruck.

Rucking hell

29-07-2019, 10:20 PM
Not sure Trengove is a great match up for Hipwood. He is a tricky match up with his pace and height, Trengove probably better suited to McStay. Hipwood’s opponent will depend on who comes in for Morris- but I think Cordy will end up there and we’ll back him to do better.
Who knows which Hipwood turns up. He missed one game, but otherwise hasn’t had a kick in a month.

Trengove really matched it well with Martin last time and I can see some sense in going down that road again with English more up forward

30-07-2019, 12:23 AM
Trengove really matched it well with Martin last time and I can see some sense in going down that road again with English more up forward

Martin is a nightmare matchup for English at this stage of his development, but as you said Trengove can more than match it with him given his (Martin's) increased reliance on wrestling in ruck contests.

There isn't really a proper match up for Trengove down back anyway so I'm all for it.

30-07-2019, 01:46 AM
With regards to Rich, I would like to see Dickson take the job. Has played as a negating forward at times in the past and is dangerous enough that Rich won't be able to drop off him when we're going forward.

30-07-2019, 10:31 AM

Yes.

Roberts plays and plays back (Hipwood).
Trengove plays on McInerney.
English plays in the ruck.
Cordy plays forward (so do Naughton and Schache).

The deck of cards looks kind of like this:

- Trengove into the ruck vs Martin if the difference in styles between English and Martin is going Martin's way (too much).
- Cordy available to help down back as/when required.
- Libba plays on Rich (see below for Libba part 2).
- Duryea takes Cameron.

From there, I think we need a plan for McCluggage...I would go JJ but I think the MC would be more likely to go with Lipinski. Dunkley works with Libba to look after Neale.

If the English in the ruck thing is working, Naughton and Schache provide support as required.

(Morris out for Roberts, Richards out for Schache...sorry but I can't find a spot for Toby based on the form shown over the past couple of weeks...Dale, Lloyd, Smith, West etc should all hold their spots. In pure 'win now' terms though, he should probably come in for West).

30-07-2019, 10:44 AM
Who plays on McStay in the above scenario mjp?

30-07-2019, 10:50 AM
Walters had zero impact when the game was up for grabs and has been amazing for them this season. Walters went kick chasing and got the easy handball down back. this is where stats are no good.

30-07-2019, 10:54 AM
Because you are inferring he should not be in the ruck (your pet topic :D )and the incident wouldn't have happened. You don't know that, the same thing could have happened in the forward line. That is footy. Agree. You will find the forwards play down back anyway. there are usually 36 players down one end of the ground.

30-07-2019, 10:59 AM
I can't see Richards going out. In the members email Bevo mentioned him and Libba having roles on B. Hill and Walters...when on the ball...respectively. Said both played well.

30-07-2019, 11:02 AM
I liked Cordy on the forward line Sunday. He didn't get a lot of it but the pressure he put on was manic and the contests he got to crash the pack and spoil the ball to the ground was like the Cordy of 2016.

30-07-2019, 11:39 AM
I liked Cordy on the forward line Sunday. He didn't get a lot of it but the pressure he put on was manic and the contests he got to crash the pack and spoil the ball to the ground was like the Cordy of 2016.

Agree - he brings the ball to ground when seemingly out of the contest fairly well (see R West goal) and doesn't resort to holding that he can be prone to down the other end.

Re: Roberts in for Morris - would rather Lewis Young's athletic attributes matched up with Hipwood.

30-07-2019, 12:07 PM
Yes.

Roberts plays and plays back (Hipwood).
Trengove plays on McInerney.
English plays in the ruck.
Cordy plays forward (so do Naughton and Schache).

The deck of cards looks kind of like this:

- Trengove into the ruck vs Martin if the difference in styles between English and Martin is going Martin's way (too much).
- Cordy available to help down back as/when required.
- Libba plays on Rich (see below for Libba part 2).
- Duryea takes Cameron.

From there, I think we need a plan for McCluggage...I would go JJ but I think the MC would be more likely to go with Lipinski. Dunkley works with Libba to look after Neale.

If the English in the ruck thing is working, Naughton and Schache provide support as required.

(Morris out for Roberts, Richards out for Schache...sorry but I can't find a spot for Toby based on the form shown over the past couple of weeks...Dale, Lloyd, Smith, West etc should all hold their spots. In pure 'win now' terms though, he should probably come in for West).

Truly the stuff of nightmares, but speaks to our dearth of options for Hipwood types.

He's 200+cms but can crumb like a rover so without organised support Fletch is chasing lots and lots of tail once the pill hits the deck.

Lewy Young seems tailor-made on paper, but a recall before throwing him at Hipwood does him few favours. Then again if we're going to do the same to Roberts ...

The plans looks an effective one otherwise. Love to be able to keep Zaine forward if we can swing it. He makes stuff happen.

They're very fond of chaos ball going forward - and with Cameron, Christensen, Hipwood & Rayner lurking why wouldn't you be - so our small-medium defenders must be ferocious at ground level. Hopefully our mids are getting things on their terms to help curb supply.

30-07-2019, 12:13 PM
Truly the stuff of nightmares, but speaks to our dearth of options for Hipwood types.

He's 200+cms but can crumb like a rover so without organised support Fletch is chasing lots and lots of tail once the pill hits the deck.

Lewy Young seems tailor-made on paper, but a recall before throwing him at Hipwood does him few favours. Then again if we're going to do the same to Roberts ...

The plans looks an effective one otherwise. Love to be able to keep Zaine forward if we can swing it. He makes stuff happen.

They're very fond of chaos ball going forward - and with Cameron, Christensen, Hipwood & Rayner lurking why wouldn't you be - so our small-medium defenders must be ferocious at ground level. Hopefully our mids are getting things on their terms to help curb supply.

Who DOES have an array of options for 'Hipwood types'? He's 200cm's and as quick on the sprint as nearly anyone in the league - they don't make many like that! But as I said earlier - he has barely had a kick in a month, and he has the odd game where he can have 5 shots on goal in a quarter or a half. If he is 'on' and getting supply - then good luck to anyone, but the team's job is to defend well across the whole ground and limit clean opportunities.

I'm more worried about containing Charlie Cameron - who is consistently dangerous, and not someone we have a natural match up for.

30-07-2019, 12:46 PM
Not quite correct.

Schache was injured in the back pocket while playing as a ruckman. He attempted to spoil a pack which already had Cordy and Wood in it. We had a fourth player in the pack but I forget who it was.

Being known as a leading forward he obviously had no idea of what to do in the circumstances. He came in wide and late and was totally off balance.

I've had a couple of looks at the video and I can't see anyone else apart from Wood, Cordy and Schache (That's enough though) flying for the mark. Interestingly the players who seem to be crumbing the pack are Dunkley and Trengove, at least they didn't get in the way.

30-07-2019, 12:50 PM

Am I misreading this? Richards and Schache were both in the team last week weren't they? How can one replace the other?

30-07-2019, 12:56 PM
Am I misreading this? Richards and Schache were both in the team last week weren't they? How can one replace the other?

Maybe with your furious rooting on the weekend you suffered a concussion like Schache did, hence why he didn't play against the Dockers?

30-07-2019, 01:17 PM
Maybe with your furious rooting on the weekend you suffered a concussion like Schache did, hence why he didn't play against the Dockers?

You're right. I thought it was this week that Scache injured himself.

It wouldn't be the first time that I have had a rooting related concussion.

30-07-2019, 01:43 PM
Who plays on McStay in the above scenario mjp?

I figured one of them would get 'out' and have to be soaked up by the Wood, Crozier type jumping machines.

It is also the reason I listed Cordy for defensive support if required...

30-07-2019, 02:14 PM
Fletcher Roberts lack of pace worries me, especially on Hipwood, but I guess as long as he isn't getting the ball in marking contests in the goal square then he can lead out to 50 if he wants to find the ball.

Here is the top Brisbane goal scorers so far this year: (games, goals)

Charlie Cameron 18 37

Eric Hipwood 17 27

Hugh McCluggage 17 19

Lincoln McCarthy 18 19

Cameron Rayner 18 17

Daniel McStay 18 17

Dayne Zorko 18 17

McInerney has 15 games 8 goals.

30-07-2019, 02:16 PM
Given we see Lewis Young as part of our future then he needs to play in front of Roberts who is most likely going to be delisted come the end of the season.

30-07-2019, 05:45 PM
Given we see Lewis Young as part of our future then he needs to play in front of Roberts who is most likely going to be delisted come the end of the season. Morris had his op last night. He'll be a certain starter Saturday.

30-07-2019, 06:28 PM
Given we see Lewis Young as part of our future then he needs to play in front of Roberts who is most likely going to be delisted come the end of the season.

Even while finals are possible?

30-07-2019, 06:39 PM

We need to be looking long term and hopefully a good finish to the year in the seniors for Lewis will give him the impetus for a big pre-season.

30-07-2019, 08:00 PM

I'd go with the best option regardless of longer term plans
The time to get Lewis Young settled in was a couple of months back and we didn't think his form warranted it

I have no issue if he is selected but we are past the stage of having development plans being at the front of our selection process

30-07-2019, 10:41 PM

I’d argue Young gives us greater flexibility than Roberts and on that basis helps us win more than Roberts does.

31-07-2019, 12:30 PM
Who DOES have an array of options for 'Hipwood types'? He's 200cm's and as quick on the sprint as nearly anyone in the league

Oddly enough I think we have our own Hipwood, in Aaron Naughton.

I love that he is now not tied to the forward line, and often presents up the ground to provide a link option when the ball exits defence. He has a great pair of hands, and a good leap and isn't beaten when the ball hits the deck. He has kicked some memorable goals when the ball comes out after the aerial contest. Aaron is also quicker, and more agile, than anyone of his size has a right to be. Also, when he chooses he is a good lead and takes the ball in his hands well in front, making it impossible to spoil for the defender.

Maybe this game will hinge on the result of the Hipwood v Naughton contest.

31-07-2019, 01:46 PM
Roberts did a good enough job on Hipwood last time, but Young is plainly a better match up for him athletically. I think he gives us a better chance to win right now than Roberts does too.

Can only really find out if Lewy's fixed his game sense and read of the play by actually playing him.

01-08-2019, 11:26 AM
'Gabbatoir' could decide Dogs' finals fate (https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/gabbatoir-could-decide-dogs-finals-fate-20190731-p52ci1.html)

Plenty has changed since Jason Johannisen last played at the Gabba, where a resurgent Brisbane could make or break the Western Bulldogs' finals chances this weekend.

Sunday's game is a must-win for the Bulldogs, who sit ninth on the ladder amid half a dozen teams chasing a finals berth.

The Dogs trail eighth-placed Adelaide only on percentage but are just four points clear of Port Adelaide, Hawthorn, Fremantle and St Kilda.

Johannisen hasn't played at the Gabba in almost four years, having been a late withdrawal for the Bulldogs' last visit in 2017.

Back then, the Lions were easybeats on their home deck, where they posted just 10 wins and 34 losses between 2015 and 2018.

The tables have turned this season.

Brisbane have lost just once – to Collingwood in round 5 – from eight games at the Gabba, and they sit third on the ladder.

Their form resurgence has also bumped crowds up, creating an atmosphere that Johannisen likened to West Coast's Optus Stadium fortress.

"They're getting some record crowds up there," he said.

"It's definitely (becoming) like with West Coast when you go over there. The crowd really gets into it and it's a hard venue to play at.

"They're the most in-form team in the competition. They're playing some really good footy.

"In saying that, we did beat them earlier in the year. Obviously it was in Ballarat. This week's going to be much different conditions.

"We know they're going to be a massive challenge but we're up for it."

Johannisen noted the Lions had few weaknesses, with Brownlow Medal frontrunner Lachie Neale firing in the midfield and damaging talls at both ends of the ground.

He said Zaine Cordy was likely to swing back to defence to replace Dale Morris, whose career is likely over after he suffered another ACL injury.

That could open the door for key forward Josh Schache, who trained on Wednesday along with other potential inclusions Toby McLean and Matthew Suckling.

Nothing will come easy for the Bulldogs in a home stretch that also includes games against Essendon, GWS and Adelaide.

But Johannisen, a key player in the Bulldogs' 2016 premiership, feels they're as well-placed to challenge as any contender.

"The morale is right up there," he said.

"It's as good as it's felt since I've been here. We've just got to keep growing that.

"The way we move the ball is unpredictable and very damaging. If we do make it to finals, it could cause teams some havoc."

01-08-2019, 11:15 PM
ROUND 20 SQUAD

B: Taylor Duryea, Jackson Trengove, Hayden Crozier
HB: Caleb Daniel, Zaine Cordy, Easton Wood
C: Lachie Hunter, Tom Liberatore, Jason Johannisen
HF: Bailey Dale, Aaron Naughton, Sam Lloyd
F: Bailey Smith, Marcus Bontempelli, Tory Dickson
Foll: Tim English, Josh Dunkley, Jack Macrae
Int (ext.): Matthew Suckling, Josh Schache, Rhylee West, Toby McLean, Ed Richards, Pat Lipinski, Bailey Williams, Jordon Sweet

In: Matt Suckling, Josh Schache, Toby McLean, Bailey Williams, Jordon Sweet
Out: Dale Morris (knee)

02-08-2019, 07:37 AM
Strong team, will be interesting who’s on the bench this week. We are settled and in for a fight this week. Let’s hope the boys are up for it.

My bench would be Schache, McClean, West and Suckling

02-08-2019, 07:46 AM
'Gabbatoir' could decide Dogs' finals fate (https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/gabbatoir-could-decide-dogs-finals-fate-20190731-p52ci1.html)

Plenty has changed since Jason Johannisen last played at the Gabba, where a resurgent Brisbane could make or break the Western Bulldogs' finals chances this weekend.

Sunday's game is a must-win for the Bulldogs, who sit ninth on the ladder amid half a dozen teams chasing a finals berth.

The Dogs trail eighth-placed Adelaide only on percentage but are just four points clear of Port Adelaide, Hawthorn, Fremantle and St Kilda.

Johannisen hasn't played at the Gabba in almost four years, having been a late withdrawal for the Bulldogs' last visit in 2017.

Back then, the Lions were easybeats on their home deck, where they posted just 10 wins and 34 losses between 2015 and 2018.

The tables have turned this season.

Brisbane have lost just once – to Collingwood in round 5 – from eight games at the Gabba, and they sit third on the ladder.

Their form resurgence has also bumped crowds up, creating an atmosphere that Johannisen likened to West Coast's Optus Stadium fortress.

"They're getting some record crowds up there," he said.

"It's definitely (becoming) like with West Coast when you go over there. The crowd really gets into it and it's a hard venue to play at.

"They're the most in-form team in the competition. They're playing some really good footy.

"In saying that, we did beat them earlier in the year. Obviously it was in Ballarat. This week's going to be much different conditions.

"We know they're going to be a massive challenge but we're up for it."

Johannisen noted the Lions had few weaknesses, with Brownlow Medal frontrunner Lachie Neale firing in the midfield and damaging talls at both ends of the ground.

He said Zaine Cordy was likely to swing back to defence to replace Dale Morris, whose career is likely over after he suffered another ACL injury.

That could open the door for key forward Josh Schache, who trained on Wednesday along with other potential inclusions Toby McLean and Matthew Suckling.

Nothing will come easy for the Bulldogs in a home stretch that also includes games against Essendon, GWS and Adelaide.

But Johannisen, a key player in the Bulldogs' 2016 premiership, feels they're as well-placed to challenge as any contender.

"The morale is right up there," he said.

"It's as good as it's felt since I've been here. We've just got to keep growing that.

"The way we move the ball is unpredictable and very damaging. If we do make it to finals, it could cause teams some havoc."

How Dumb are footballers. Why talk yourself up. We need to be quietly confident and show some respect. Not talking up how much damage we will do in the finals. You would think with so much on the line now our PR department would wheel out our vest performing media people that have been prepped and come out with Vanilla ice cream.

It worked me that ever time we talk ourselves up we hit the ground with a thud.

02-08-2019, 09:23 AM

Couldn’t agree w that last sentence more. We’ll be up and about, unpredictable and have done it before.

We’ll rattle whomever we played in an elimination final.

02-08-2019, 10:24 AM
Strong team, will be interesting who’s on the bench this week. We are settled and in for a fight this week. Let’s hope the boys are up for it.

My bench would be Schache, McClean, West and Suckling

You want to drop Lipinski?

02-08-2019, 11:44 AM
I fear Trengove and Cordy will again have a hard time. Lewis Young is entitled to leave this club, no opportunities here.

02-08-2019, 11:48 AM
I fear Trengove and Cordy will again have a hard time. Lewis Young is entitled to leave this club, no opportunities here.

* Lewis Young just signed a new contract.

* He is 20 years old.

* He has been asked to work on specific areas in his game.

Let's be a little patient with him. I am confident he will get there, however, you are right Trengove and Cordy will have a hard time, but so did Roberts and Cordy in Ballarat and we won.

02-08-2019, 12:40 PM
Lewis Young is entitled to leave this club, no opportunities here.

You must be joking? From what I have seen of him at AFL level and what I have read about his form at VFL level, he hasn't come close to demanding a spot. Like BAD says, be patient, he will get opportunities if and when he deserves them.

02-08-2019, 03:49 PM
Doc Duryea out bit of a blow you would think Suckling would replace him .

02-08-2019, 04:58 PM
You want to drop Lipinski?

Not really but didn’t want to drop West after one game.

02-08-2019, 05:01 PM
That really does hurt against this mob.

Suckers can replace Duryea's leg but can't replace his low-risk smarts around the contest which we're gonna need in spades this weekend.

02-08-2019, 06:06 PM
ROUND 20 TEAM

B: Matt Suckling, Jackson Trengove, Hayden Crozier
HB: Caleb Daniel, Zaine Cordy, Easton Wood
C: Lachie Hunter, Tom Liberatore, Jason Johannisen
HF: Bailey Dale, Aaron Naughton, Sam Lloyd
F: Bailey Smith, Marcus Bontempelli, Tory Dickson
Foll: Tim English, Josh Dunkley, Jack Macrae
Int: Josh Schache, Toby McLean, Ed Richards, Pat Lipinski

Emer: Rhylee West, Will Hayes, Bailey Williams, Jordon Sweet

In: Matt Suckling, Josh Schache, Toby McLean
Out: Dale Morris (knee), Taylor Duryea (groin soreness), Rhylee West

02-08-2019, 06:08 PM
Surprised by West but the season is on the line. I'm happy for the match committee to pick the side they think is the best chance to get the win.

02-08-2019, 06:08 PM
In pure 'win now' terms though, he (Mclean) should probably come in for West).

We are going for the win

02-08-2019, 06:11 PM
Schache 50 games

02-08-2019, 06:23 PM
Young rhylee west is stiff ,but season on the line inclusion

02-08-2019, 10:32 PM
Great to see Josh straight back in he needs to continue to build momentum.

03-08-2019, 01:31 AM
Looks like we have picked the best 22 (shame for West) good news is that it looks like the MC have finally stopped stuffing around. I’ve got a really good feeling about this one.

03-08-2019, 02:50 PM
You must be joking? From what I have seen of him at AFL level and what I have read about his form at VFL level, he hasn't come close to demanding a spot. Like BAD says, be patient, he will get opportunities if and when he deserves them.

Well I hope Trengove and Cordy do well tomorrow as KPD's, we shall see....

04-08-2019, 03:15 AM
I am worried that we have crossed that threshold of talls that we can comfortably handle. It feels like Carlton the first time all over again. Say it ain’t so.

04-08-2019, 01:38 PM
I am worried that we have crossed that threshold of talls that we can comfortably handle. It feels like Carlton the first time all over again. Say it ain’t so.

It ain’t so.

We are running ‘skinnier’ with the mid rotations over the past 6 weeks so - unless we get injuries - the balance is there.

04-08-2019, 01:39 PM
...I wonder how much debate there was on Richards vs West for that 22nd spot...

04-08-2019, 01:46 PM

I thought Richards played ok last week. kicked 3 behinds which could have been goals, but i can also see a good debate happening.

04-08-2019, 02:29 PM

I think it would have been a close call. We typically don't bring in players like West for just one game.
Richards needs a good game this week and next

04-08-2019, 10:06 PM

There should have been more.

04-08-2019, 10:20 PM
There should have been more.

I had a look at Richards stats when putting the career best together. Richards averaging 11 touches, 3 marks. 2 tackles with a total of 7.12 for his games.

I'm not intending to take a pot shot, but that's significant case of second year blues. I hope he's prepared to work his arse off post season to come back in 2020 and show he's every bit the player he showed us last year.

04-08-2019, 10:25 PM
I had a look at Richards stats when putting the career best together. Richards averaging 11 touches, 3 marks. 2 tackles with a total of 7.12 for his games.

I'm not intending to take a pot shot, but that's significant case of second year blues. I hope he's prepared to work his arse off post season to come back in 2020 and show he's every bit the player he showed us last year.

Flashes of brilliance. Doesn't impact the game enough. Did lay a pretty good running tackle from memory to stop them out of 50. Like to see him do more of that. Certainly very quick. Doesn't always use it.

04-08-2019, 10:29 PM
Flashes of brilliance. Doesn't impact the game enough. Did lay a pretty good running tackle from memory to stop them out of 50. Like to see him do more of that. Certainly very quick. Doesn't always use it.

I still don't know what his best position yet, not a criticism of him, I'm genuinely not sure. Last year you could put him anywhere, this year no so much. Is he a HFF, a winger or a HBF?

04-08-2019, 11:33 PM
I still don't know what his best position yet, not a criticism of him, I'm genuinely not sure. Last year you could put him anywhere, this year no so much. Is he a HFF, a winger or a HBF? Wing/HFF