25-07-2019, 08:17 PM
https://m.afl.com.au/news/2019-07-23/match-preview-western-bulldogs-v-fremantle

Match preview: Western Bulldogs v Fremantle
Jourdan Canil
Jul 23, 2019 10:00AM

Where and when: Marvel Stadium, Sunday, July 28, 1.10pm AEST

TV, radio and online: Click here for broadcast guide

What it means for Western Bulldogs: A missed chance against St Kilda. It cannot happen again. The Dogs must come out all guns blazing against the Dockers to keep in touch with the finals hopefuls.

What it means for Fremantle: The Dockers have been disappointing over the last month or so, but last week's win kept them in the finals race. An absolute must-win to keep the September dream alive.

The stat: The Western Bulldogs are on track to finish 2019 with 511 hitouts. Aaron Sandilands had nearly double that with 998 in 2015.

The match-up: Jason Johannisen v Michael Walters

The Official AFL Player Ratings have Johannisen and Walters as the 125th and the 30th ranked players in the competition this year. The pure speed and excitement these two bring should set Marvel Stadium alight.

It's a big week for: Cam McCarthy

With no Jesse Hogan for the rest of the season, it's time for McCarthy to get back to his best after gathering just five possessions against the Swans. Rory Lobb needs help.

Big call: Aaron Naughton to be sent back to lock down Rory Lobb in a match-saving performance.

Prediction: Bulldogs by 12 points

25-07-2019, 08:28 PM
https://www.metrotrains.com.au/extra-services/

AFL Round 19
Western Bulldogs v Fremantle
Sunday 28 July, 1.10pm, Marvel Stadium

EXTRA SERVICES

We’re running extra trains to get you to and from the game.

Before, to Southern Cross Station
Greensborough, departing 11.42am
Sunbury, departing 11.49am
Glen Waverley, departing 11.56pm
Sandringham, departing 11.59am
Bell, departing 12.05pm

After, departing Southern Cross Station
Bell, departing 3.59pm Platform 9
Greensborough, departing 4.05pm Platform 9
Glen Waverley, departing 4.07pm Platform 10
Sunbury, departing 4.07pm Platform 11

After, departing Flinders Street Station
Sandringham, departing 4.02pm Platform 10

Plan your journey at ptv.vic.gov.au or call 1800 800 007.

26-07-2019, 08:14 AM
Dogs by 21 points
Dunkley BOG
1st Goal West

26-07-2019, 09:48 AM
Dogs by 17

First goal: Lloyd

BOG: Bont

26-07-2019, 11:20 AM
Dogs by 45

First Goal: West

BOG: Dunkley

Loudest cheer: Morris' first possession.

26-07-2019, 02:33 PM
Margin: Dogs 9 points

First Goal: Bailey Dale

Best On Ground: Lachie Hunter

26-07-2019, 04:41 PM
Dogs by 45

First Goal: West

BOG: Dunkley

Loudest cheer: Morris' first possession.
Same for me please.

26-07-2019, 06:18 PM
So great to have Moz back. He is a champion of the game. We also have another father son debuting in Rhylee West.

This is a must win game if we are any hope to feature in September. I think it will be another challenging game but I’m hopefully will get the result.

26-07-2019, 11:02 PM
The Teflon Dog returns! Durable Dale.

I truly have no idea, not watched any Freo games this year.
So us to win by um....10

BOG Hunter
First Goal Tinder King. It's seniors month and our old dogs to milk the most out of their fading careers.
Come out snarling Dogs.

27-07-2019, 05:54 PM
https://m.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/2019-07-26/four-things-to-watch-dogs-v-dockers

Four things to watch: Dogs v Dockers
Jul 26, 2019 5:42PM

1. It’s on for young and old(er)
One career starts, as another resumes.
Young gun Rhylee West will make his AFL debut in red, white and blue, while premiership defender Dale Morris will return from – another – ACL injury mid-way through a season.
It’s a big day for the Bulldogs.
West has been described as a “tough” player by coach Luke Beveridge, who will bring some added intensity to the forward line and potentially the midfield.
Dale Morris? We all know what to expect there.

2. One week at a time
It’s boring, but it couldn’t be more true.
And this weekend is that important, for the Bulldogs and the Dockers.
Bevo has conceded that ‘there’s no wriggle room’ if the Bulldogs want to keep their finals aspirations alive, and that a win against the Dockers is essential.
Only a narrow percentage differential splits the teams on the ladder.
The winner stays in touch with the eight, and the loser slips potentially two games and a percentage buffer behind.

3. Go big or go home
Fremantle will fly over plenty of tall timber.
The Dockers’ line-up will boast three genuine ruckmen in Aaron Sandilands, Rory Lobb and Sean Darcy – and it’s easy to see two of them in attack at any given time.
Sandilands (211 centimetres), Lobb (206 centimetres) and Darcy (202 centimetres) pose a sizeable threat.
It looms as a big test for the likes of Tim English and Jackson Trengove, plus potentially Zaine Cordy and Dale Morris in key defensive posts.

4. Clash of the titans
Will we see Marcus Bontempelli and Nat Fyfe go head-to-head at stoppages?
It’s a tantalising prospect.
Fyfe returns to the Dockers’ line-up after missing their narrow win last week through injury, while Bontempelli was well held against St Kilda.
Both are among the competition’s elite – with Fyfe rated second in the AFL Player Ratings and Bontempelli tenth.
Fyfe has had more of the ball in 2019, averaging 29.1 to 26.3 disposals per game, but Bontempelli has gained more metreage, with an average of 506.8 metres per game to 362.2.

28-07-2019, 02:11 AM
Freo aren't capable of 6 goals in a quarter to catch us napping if we forget to drink our coffee again

WB by 26
First Goal Naughton
BOG Hunter

28-07-2019, 02:11 AM
Double post

28-07-2019, 09:30 AM
Freo aren't capable of 6 goals in a quarter to catch us napping if we forget to drink our coffee again

WB by 26
First Goal Naughton
BOG Hunter

Inclined to agree about Freo's attacking prowess.

Dogs by 35
Lloyd first goal of 4 for the day
Dunkley BOG after a fascinating duel with Fyfe at various stages during the day.

28-07-2019, 09:34 AM
Bulldogs by 19 points
Macrae BOG, Lloyd first goal

28-07-2019, 09:55 AM
I have zero confidence that we'll win but I have blind faith!

Dogs by 27

First goal- West. I just wanted to say West.

BOG- JJ. If we are to make anything of this season this bloke is a very important part of it. He needs to get in to hot form.

28-07-2019, 11:22 AM
I honestly have no idea what to expect. An uncomfortable win or a confounding loss seem to be our main modus operandi.
We’ve somehow gotten a lifeline on the season but not sure we’ll grab the opportunity. Still let’s say....
Dogs by 9
BOG - Macrae
FG - Astro

28-07-2019, 11:38 AM
Dogs by 1 pt or Freo by 19 points

1st goal - Dickson
Bog - dunks

28-07-2019, 11:43 AM
We will either fall over the line, or Freo will win convincingly so...

Dogs by 8
1st goal - Bont
BOG - Macrae

I am actually attending for the first time in two years, and taking my 3.5 year old pup (I'm not game enough to bring the 10 month old pup!). It better be a win just for the effort that is going into this mission :D

28-07-2019, 11:49 AM
Dogs by 16
1st Goal Dickson
BOG JJ

Don't kick out to where Fyfe is.

28-07-2019, 11:53 AM
Dogs by 42 points
Bont BOG
Lloyd first goal

28-07-2019, 12:04 PM

Dogs by 8
1st goal - Bont
BOG - Macrae

I am actually attending for the first time in two years, and taking my 3.5 year old pup (I'm not game enough to bring the 10 month old pup!). It better be a win just for the effort that is going into this mission :D

Best of luck. Lots of snacks and activities to keep the pup entertained is my tip. At least there’ll be lots of space on level 3 if you need ....

28-07-2019, 12:22 PM
Dogs by 61
BOG Macrae
First Goal Cordy

28-07-2019, 12:27 PM

Dogs by 8
1st goal - Bont
BOG - Macrae

The good news is there are plenty of pre-game distractions in the form of kid zones with bouncy castles and slides, another with a drawing station, face paint, mascots floating around, etc. etc. I found doing activities plus right up until the first bounce meant my 2 year old got through the day (with a sleep in the middle of the game). Good luck!

28-07-2019, 12:30 PM
We need to put pressure on the teams 6-8th. We also owe this mob. Another would have, could have, should have loss earlier in the year (where they were aided by the usual kind WA home game umpiring interpretations). Let’s finish their season on the way.

Dogs by 22
First goal- West ;)
BOG- Bont

28-07-2019, 12:41 PM
Margin: Dogs 6 points

First Goal: Dicko

Best On Ground: Bont

28-07-2019, 12:45 PM

Dogs by 8
1st goal - Bont
BOG - Macrae

I've been taking mine since he (baby sister doesn't really like football, but we took her until she decided) was a few weeks old and he virtually slept through most of the first season and a half. He's been coming for 20 years now (sometimes we will be watching an old game on FOX and he will say "I wish I went to this game" and gets the answer "you were mate". I think my kids were acclimatized from going so young.

28-07-2019, 01:09 PM
Dogs by 17 points
First goal Naughton
BOG Bontempelli

28-07-2019, 01:31 PM
I have zero confidence that we'll win but I have blind faith!

Dogs by 27

First goal- West. I just wanted to say West.

BOG- JJ. If we are to make anything of this season this bloke is a very important part of it. He needs to get in to hot form.

Same! Blind faith. Always glass half full...

Please win!

28-07-2019, 01:48 PM
Same! Blind faith. Always glass half full...

Please win!

Let’s get the glass overflowing...

Dogs to win by 97 and get our percentage back to 100.00

28-07-2019, 02:11 PM
Welcome back Dale.. you get to play on Lobb. ��

28-07-2019, 02:30 PM
Still being too cute trying to get the extra handball out

28-07-2019, 02:31 PM
Morris has hurt his knee again.. didn’t look good.

28-07-2019, 02:38 PM
It's strange watching Bailey Dale because he actually has some forward guile.

28-07-2019, 02:39 PM
5 first quarter goals so far for us. We are moving the ball well. Morris looks good to come back on.

28-07-2019, 02:40 PM
5 first quarter goals so far for us. We are moving the ball well. Morris looks good to come back on.

But went forward.. I think he’s done it again.

28-07-2019, 02:46 PM
Hows the strength on Smith to get that handball to hunter, what a beast, what a finisher.

8.2 is a lot nicer than 2.8

Seems to be moving ok, and holding his own in contests. If he's done it again, just confirms he is a freak of nature.

28-07-2019, 02:47 PM

Commentators think he may have gone forward to play the defencive role against the Dockers interceptors. He was involved in a couple of tough contests and seemed to be OK, but it didn't look at all good when he actually came off.

50 points in a quarter....do we go scoreless from this point?

Seriously though, good ball movement and use. Look vulnerable when we lose possession but we’re hurting them when we have it.

If so, they will try and keep him on for as long as they can. I'm hoping the best for him.

28-07-2019, 02:48 PM
Going to be a pleasure watching Naughton, Smith, West and English for the next 10 years.

28-07-2019, 02:48 PM
On track for a 200 point game.

28-07-2019, 02:49 PM
If so, they will try and keep him on for as long as they can. I'm hoping the best for him.

Yep, fingers crossed.. deserves to go out on his own terms.

28-07-2019, 02:49 PM
I was lamenting that it looked as if we'd gone to sleep a little when we let the Dockers get within five or six points, but it was the other way around.

Even performance thus far, we're occasionally getting too cute with our positioning around the contests and letting the Dockers out but still very good across the ground.

28-07-2019, 02:51 PM
Back in defence now so who *!*!*!*!ing knows... go well Dale!

28-07-2019, 02:54 PM
Terrible kick from Lloyd on the turnover. Easy scoring shot coming up turned into an opposition goal.

28-07-2019, 02:57 PM
Sorry Freo, when Lachie's kicking the straight forward ones you're on a hiding to nothing.

28-07-2019, 02:57 PM
We need to resign Bailey Dale

28-07-2019, 02:58 PM
We are playing well. AND kicking straight. Bailey Dale!!

28-07-2019, 03:00 PM
Play it again Bailey!!!!

28-07-2019, 03:00 PM
love when a player comes up at the footy well done Dale!

28-07-2019, 03:01 PM
Bailey Smith’s ability to stand up in a tackle is amazing for a 1st year player... He’s got it.

Bailey Smith- awesome inside and outside

Lllllooooyddddd!

Our loss last week makes me want to weep watching this. We can beat any top 8 team with this sort of footy.

28-07-2019, 03:11 PM
Dale was delisted in here a month ago, and not without due cause.

I wonder what the Bison said to him.

28-07-2019, 03:12 PM
Nothing good comes from Trengove being the kicker.

28-07-2019, 03:20 PM
Get around the debutant.

When was the last time we pantsed a side? Feels weird man.

28-07-2019, 03:20 PM
Fantastic contest by Cordy. Made something out of a poor JJ kick inside 50.

And great poise by West to take the right option and have a shot.

28-07-2019, 03:22 PM
Fantastic contest by Cordy. Made something out of a poor JJ kick

Yep, Westy owes Zaine a beer.

28-07-2019, 03:24 PM
Outstanding first half, whole team contribution, lets keep the foot on their throat.

28-07-2019, 03:25 PM
Happy to have Westy as a forward pocket until he develops as a mid. That finish was sublime and his vision and passing inside 50 is the same.

28-07-2019, 03:25 PM
Yep, Westy owes Zaine a beer.

Reminds me of the finals series with Cordy making sure we were never outmarked in the F50

28-07-2019, 03:27 PM
Moving Cordy forward with some ruck work is a good coaching move, Cordy provides contest and aggression in the forward line.

28-07-2019, 03:28 PM
Fantastic finishing from the first gamer, both finding a team mate and then nailing a rare opportunity after an excellent contest from Cordy.

While the scoring dried up a little through the middle part of that quarter it was great that we defended the ground well and held strong when it looked like we could get exposed out the back.

Football is heaps more fun when you take your opportunities in front of goal.

28-07-2019, 03:29 PM
Moving Cordy forward with some ruck work is a good coaching move, Cordy provides contest and aggression in the forward line.

Yep, with Morris back and able to play a little taller than someone his size usually might it's freed us up to try something different.

28-07-2019, 03:30 PM
Good work by Cordy in a two on one. And young West pounced like a seagull on a chip and split the posts with his kick - memorable first goal.
We have been applying a lot of pressure around the packs. Mids really working hard. English has done very well. We are up and about all over the ground.
Got to keep the pedal to the metal right from the off in the second half.

28-07-2019, 03:30 PM
Yep, with Morris back and able to play a little taller than someone his size usually might it's freed us up to try something different.
Yep, and it keps English fresher in games for longer, which is absolutely critical while he is still learning the caper

28-07-2019, 03:32 PM
Like that Naughton is playing higher and not get caught in wrestling battles .. his hands are ridiculously good.

28-07-2019, 03:38 PM

100% agree. A liability in backline and has turned it around so far today. Back aboard the Zaine Train-toot toot !!!

28-07-2019, 03:41 PM
As it stands at the moment we've gained 3 percentage points.

28-07-2019, 03:43 PM
Okay. Put the glasses down. That's goal of the year.

28-07-2019, 03:48 PM
Anyone see what happened to Morris?

28-07-2019, 03:48 PM
Looks like Moz is done.

28-07-2019, 03:49 PM
Anyone see what happened to Morris?

Knee when no contact, just changing direction.

28-07-2019, 03:49 PM
Jeez, c'mon Lloyd, the Stallion was on then.

28-07-2019, 03:50 PM
Knee when no contact, just changing direction.

So acl or??

28-07-2019, 03:51 PM
That's the end of Morris I fear. He went out On his terms.

28-07-2019, 03:51 PM
Guttered ....

28-07-2019, 03:54 PM
So acl or??

Probably yes. Doggies have been hugging or shaking his hand when they come off so I think we know it's the end for Moz.

28-07-2019, 03:57 PM
Hope we don’t let them get cheap goals. Need to keep pushing!

28-07-2019, 03:57 PM
Probably yes. Doggies have been hugging or shaking his hand when they come off so I think we know it's the end for Moz.

Horrific

28-07-2019, 04:06 PM
Annoying quarter. Wasting it going forward.

Gotta punish them!

28-07-2019, 04:07 PM
12.6 in the 1st half.. 2.6 this qtr.

It was good while it lasted!

28-07-2019, 04:10 PM
Wasteful quarter. Should be 12 goals up.

Lloyd's obviously had a good year but geez he makes some soft errors.

28-07-2019, 04:15 PM
Docs told fox footy that initial testing shows Dale Has done the ACL.

28-07-2019, 04:17 PM
West getting murdered of goal assist stats, *!*!*!*!ing easy ones too.

28-07-2019, 04:24 PM
Need the percentage, keep going. At least Morris ent out with the jumper on.

28-07-2019, 04:36 PM
That centre clearance was a thing of beauty.

EDIT: Pity about the finish.

28-07-2019, 04:42 PM
4.10 since half time

28-07-2019, 04:42 PM
Incapable of finishing off a team.

28-07-2019, 04:45 PM
4.11 to 4.7 after half time and most of those points were gettable set shots.

Should’ve won by 75

28-07-2019, 04:46 PM
4.11 to 4.7 after half time and most of those points were gettable set shots.

Should’ve won by 75

Yeah and it's not like percentage is an issue...

28-07-2019, 04:52 PM
A little bit of a flat finish, with some really poor goal kicking and some defending that was a bit lacklustre. But, overall very good to have a substantial win and give ourselves a chance to keep the season alive.

We have a really great opportunity to show ourselves and the broader football world that we have improved. I think we have, but if we don't continue playing good football for the coming month it will all be for nothing.

28-07-2019, 04:54 PM
Very bad news about Moz takes the shine off the win. I hope it's not over for him - it wouldn't be fair.
Great result that sets us up for a big finish. Play with that intensity, dare and flair and we can beat ANYONE.

28-07-2019, 04:55 PM
Just caught up and finished watching the game, was out for the first Gutted Moz looks to have done his ACL again.
Good performance overall, albeit we still can't smash a team when it's there for the taking. With Dale going down though I really can't muster a great deal of excitement over the result right now.

28-07-2019, 04:55 PM
Very bad news about Moz takes the shine off the win. I hope it's not over for him - it wouldn't be fair.
Great result that sets us up for a big finish. Play with that intensity, dare and flair and we can beat ANYONE.

28-07-2019, 05:12 PM
Sitting on the train next to Mark Stevens. Much better than BlackSoul.

28-07-2019, 05:19 PM
Sitting on the train next to Mark Stevens. Much better than BlackSoul.

Better Mark than Nick. Did you have a chat?

28-07-2019, 05:22 PM
God Moz's injury really puts a downer on the day. Flat as a tack right now, watched the bench for 5 - 10 minutes after h3 went down in hope it wasn't too bad.

28-07-2019, 05:25 PM
Would Morris be any chance to go on?

It honestly wouldn’t surprise me and for the last spot on the list, I’d leave the decision up to him.

28-07-2019, 05:29 PM

It honestly wouldn’t surprise me and for the last spot on the list, I’d leave the decision up to him.

Bevo did say it would be up to him. Moz will know when it is time and he would tell the club.

I hope he is ok.

28-07-2019, 05:35 PM

He could even come back into conxiderationx for the mid season draft. I think he needed to finish the season off so now its very doubtful but I certainly wouldn't write him off

28-07-2019, 05:57 PM
Cheers for all the encouragement Woofers - Mr 3.5 had an excellent time.

We bailed after 3/4 time, but to be fair it was after we did the members laps of honour together and he had been a champion up to that point (and I didn't want to push my luck :D)

Moz went down right in front of us, not good at all I suspect. The fact that he came back on in any capacity seemed remarkable.

28-07-2019, 06:14 PM
Home now from the game.

Very happy with that performance today. Really complete team effort and we give ourselves a chance again to still feature in September. Will be back again in 2 weeks at Marvel for what hopefully will set up a big game v Bombers if we can pull it off next week against the Lions.

Moz injury the sour note.

28-07-2019, 08:03 PM
How cool was Moz sitting on the bench comforting teammates who were pretty much inconsolable that he had gone down again? At one stage he was sitting there explaining something to Bailey Smith when Bailey started with the big tears and Dale just leaned over, put his arm around Bailey's shoulders and gave him a big hug.

28-07-2019, 08:15 PM
The young ones' goals were outstanding. What a boon if Rhylee and BS enjoy a sniff of a goal. Exciting.

28-07-2019, 08:16 PM
Bailey Dale is our next Garry Merrington.

28-07-2019, 08:28 PM
How cool was Moz sitting on the bench comforting teammates who were pretty much inconsolable that he had gone down again? At one stage he was sitting there explaining something to Bailey Smith when Bailey started with the big tears and Dale just leaned over, put his arm around Bailey's shoulders and gave him a big hug.

I'm in awe of Dale at how he carries himself in all situations, good or bad. He just always puts the team first. He is the dictionary definition of the team player, and I am so devastated that this appears to be how he exits the game.

There have been more skilled players, but for mine Moz is my all time favourite. If i ever need to show my kids to model their application to any task that seems beyond them, I'll talk to them about Dale's journey.

28-07-2019, 08:28 PM
I have memories of the versatile Merrington switching forward and kicking bags of goals.

28-07-2019, 08:32 PM
I'm in awe of Dale at how he carries himself in all situations, good or bad. He just always puts the team first. He is the dictionary definition of the team player, and I am so devastated that this appears to be how he exits the game.

There have been more skilled players, but for mine Moz is my all time favourite. If i ever need to show my kids to model their application to any task that seems beyond them, I'll talk to them about Dale's journey.

I always loved my dad and thought I was lucky to have him but I'd happily take Dale Morris as a replacement.

28-07-2019, 08:33 PM
Garry Merrington - ex- Tottenham Tech, ex-Braybrook FC, I believe. Gave us great service in the 70s.

28-07-2019, 08:35 PM
I fwar the worst for Dale Morris. Dale you are immortal. You are up there with the greats in contesting, competing. Thank you.

28-07-2019, 08:35 PM
PG mentioned today another $1million profit coming up.

28-07-2019, 08:37 PM
I have memories of the versatile Merrington switching forward and kicking bags of goals.

My favorite memory of Chooka was him running around the boundary at the Geelong rd end bouncing the ball with Peter Hudson hot on his tail. Merrington takes one too many bounces when the ball bounces back over his head into Hudson's lap who promptly turns around and kicks a goal!

28-07-2019, 08:38 PM
Garry Merrington - ex- Tottenham Tech, ex-Braybrook FC, I believe. Gave us great service in the 70s.

You, B4lL BAD and no-one were my predictions for remebering Merrington. Good memories.

28-07-2019, 08:38 PM
Bailey Dale is an interesting player. He has proven he can kick 4-5 goals on about 3 or 4 occasions now, so quite clearly he has the ability to play well at the top level. The question is can he consistently deliver and become that goal kicking HFF or does he need to be able to push further up the ground?

Question marks on his defensive game / ability to win the ball, but he’s a smart player who moves well and has very good skills.

My opinion has seemed to change on him multiple times, from thinking he won’t make it, to thinking he can become a very dangerous forward, to thinking he has too many deficiencies to then seeing him produce two great games back to back.

Will be interesting to see where he’s at in 2-3 years time.

28-07-2019, 08:45 PM
My favorite memory of Chooka was him running around the boundary at the Geelong rd end bouncing the ball with Peter Hudson hot on his tail. Merrington takes one too many bounces when the ball bounces back over his head into Hudson's lap who promptly turns around and kicks a goal!

Haha, that makes me remember. One of the few times we were on the TV. I met Dougie alone at a bar in Doncaster. In the company of my beautiful partner told him that like EJ he was not recorded on TV like other greats, the TV missed a lot of their brilliance.

28-07-2019, 08:53 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EAjVTihUwAAyBzN?format=jpg&name=900x900

28-07-2019, 08:53 PM
I fwar the worst for Dale Morris. Dale you are immortal. You are up there with the greats in contesting, competing. Thank you.

What makes me really angry at the footy gods is that Moz showed before he went down was that he looked no closer to retirement in terms of how he was playing than he did when he was 26!
In fact his return , allowed us the ability to move Cordy up forward to negate their best intercepter in Ryan. That's not a guy who is hanging on for grim life at the end of a career. That's someone who is still a valuable and integral perforner.
This could be the wine talking..but I say if he wants to go through the rehab, then let sentimentality prevail; give him another year.

I reckon Moz would keep going til he's 40, and his conditioning and attitude would allow that.
I know it's not reality......i just really want him to go out on his terms and I fear we'll never see the likes of a Moz in my lifetime and that's depressing

28-07-2019, 09:16 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EAjVTihUwAAyBzN?format=jpg&name=900x900

You'll have to excuse me, I have something in my eye.......

28-07-2019, 09:17 PM
You'll have to excuse me, I have something in my eye.......

After the game:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EAjfMV9WsAAg_d1?format=jpg&name=900x900

28-07-2019, 09:21 PM
Haha, that makes me remember. One of the few times we were on the TV. I met Dougie alone at a bar in Doncaster. In the company of my beautiful partner told him that like EJ he was not recorded on TV like other greats, the TV missed a lot of their brilliance.

I've told this story a few times but I will briefly tell it again. Back in the late '70s I was at the Western Oval watching training and kicking the footy with my mates on the terraces in front of the Gent stand. Charlie Sutton and Ted Whitten were standing roughly 20-30 metres away from us both staring intently at the contents of a folder Teddy was holding.

Anyway the ball goes flying over my head and bounces toward the two of them so cheeky me yells out "excuse me mister but can we have our ball back please?" Neither of them looked up but Teddy moved his foot almost imperceptibly and flicked the ball with his toe end of his shoe and the bloody thing flew at me like a tracer bullet. It was going so fast that it knocked me off my feet and as I got up they were both having a bit of a giggle and I heard Charlie say to Ted "oh EJ, you've still got it old son".;)

28-07-2019, 09:27 PM
What makes me really angry at the footy gods is that Moz showed before he went down was that he looked no closer to retirement in terms of how he was playing than he did when he was 26!
In fact his return , allowed us the ability to move Cordy up forward to negate their best intercepter in Ryan. That's not a guy who is hanging on for grim life at the end of a career. That's someone who is still a valuable and integral perforner.
This could be the wine talking..but I say if he wants to go through the rehab, then let sentimentality prevail; give him another year.

I reckon Moz would keep going til he's 40, and his conditioning and attitude would allow that.
I know it's not reality......i just really want him to go out on his terms and I fear we'll never see the likes of a Moz in my lifetime and that's depressing

I get what you mean about the footy gods and what could have been but I reckon that if you said to Moz when he was Rookied in 2004 that he would retire with 250 games, a premiership and be the most respected player in the competition he may well have taken that.

I have come to praise Moz, not to bury him. Let's celebrate a wonderful career rather than be sad that it looks like (I'm not game to count him out while he still has two legs, actually make that one leg) it's over.

28-07-2019, 09:38 PM
I get what you mean about the footy gods and what could have been but I reckon that if you said to Moz when he was Rookied in 2004 that he would retire with 250 games, a premiership and be the most respected player in the competition he may well have taken that.

I have come to praise Moz, not to bury him. Let's celebrate a wonderful career rather than be sad that it looks like (I'm not game to count him out while he still has two legs, actually make that one leg) it's over.

Even as I was writing, my mind turned to the GF and 'the tackle' and that moment franked his career.
I just never want Moz to retire okay. I go to sleep most nights trying to configure ways in which Moz can find a way to play til at least his early 60's...
It consumes me; surprisingly to my wife's encouragement..I don't know why she is so supportive in this endeavour??

28-07-2019, 09:58 PM
Even as I was writing, my mind turned to the GF and 'the tackle' and that moment franked his career.
I just never want Moz to retire okay. I go to sleep most nights trying to configure ways in which Moz can find a way to play til at least his early 60's...
It consumes me; surprisingly to my wife's encouragement..I don't know why she is so supportive in this endeavour??

During the 16/17 off season I was at the footy ground and I got talking to a couple of Irish backpackers. Due to the number of Irish players in the AFL nowadays they had developed a slight interest in the game and they had added a trip to a footy ground to their bucket list while they were backpacking around Australia.

Anyway I was just showing the club museum when the playing group walked past en masse. The Irish guys were particularly taken with the physicality of AFL football and wanted to know who the toughest player was out of the guys walking past. I pointed to Dale Morris and they said "Him? The one with the big ears? He cant be the toughest out of all those blokes" so I told them the story of him climbing off the deck and taking a rampaging Buddy Franklyn (who they had heard of) down in front of 100 000 people with a broken bone in his back to help win us our first premiership in 62 years. That's more physical and mental courage there than you could poke a very large stick at!

28-07-2019, 10:08 PM
At the game English seemed to break even.

How did other posters see his game?

28-07-2019, 11:28 PM

I thought he played really well. Certainly timed his centre bounce leaps a lot better and was very good by hand and foot. And he did it against three big guys too. I think Bevo and the Club would be really happy with his performance.

29-07-2019, 12:14 AM

He was great around the ground but our mids saved his arse at the stoppages with a brilliant display of sharking opposition hitouts.

29-07-2019, 04:33 AM
Just watched the first quarter again, and as I've always been, I'm actually a Ross Lyon fan and I think he almost has a team that can be good enough to reach the pointy end of the finals within the next couple of years, and still make them this year.

Fremantle had a few key players out today and were ripe for the picking, with the good thing being we picked them off. But, when they move the football well they cut through everyone. I got back on to this thought when I was thinking about how awesome we are when we have it on our terms, Fremantle are the same but they just do it differently.

We got them on a good day.

29-07-2019, 09:32 AM
Never thought I'd be walking out of such a thumping win with tears in my eyes. Not surprised the wind went out of our sails after Morris went down. What a beautiful man he is.

29-07-2019, 09:51 AM
Bailey Dale is an interesting player. He has proven he can kick 4-5 goals on about 3 or 4 occasions now, so quite clearly he has the ability to play well at the top level. The question is can he consistently deliver and become that goal kicking HFF or does he need to be able to push further up the ground?

Question marks on his defensive game / ability to win the ball, but he’s a smart player who moves well and has very good skills.

My opinion has seemed to change on him multiple times, from thinking he won’t make it, to thinking he can become a very dangerous forward, to thinking he has too many deficiencies to then seeing him produce two great games back to back.

Will be interesting to see where he’s at in 2-3 years time.

He's been our best leading player for about 3 years but hasn't had the opportunity for continuity there due injury and encumbents. He's going to make it.

29-07-2019, 10:14 AM

Yep played full back a lot. I remember Chooka kicked 5 goals in one of the "Night Premiership" matches we played at South Melbourne. We were pretty good in those too winning a few premierships.

29-07-2019, 10:19 AM

I thought he did well against great odds. Bevo said he loved his game.

29-07-2019, 10:34 AM

Thought he did quite well. Been very happy with his progress this year. It has been challenging at times for him but he looks to be a great prospect for us in the coming years in that ruck position.

29-07-2019, 10:43 AM
He was great around the ground but our mids saved his arse at the stoppages with a brilliant display of sharking opposition hitouts.

Just keep pushing that barrow.

29-07-2019, 10:47 AM
I thought he did well against great odds. Bevo said he loved his game.
I thought he was better around the ground than the Freo rucks, had a couple of nice hitouts although still lost them easily.

I can see the method in the madness. What Freo gained by 1-2 clean clearances from ruckwork they lost around the ground with English extremely good at ground level as well as being a marking threat.

29-07-2019, 11:08 AM
I've told this story a few times but I will briefly tell it again. Back in the late '70s I was at the Western Oval watching training and kicking the footy with my mates on the terraces in front of the Gent stand. Charlie Sutton and Ted Whitten were standing roughly 20-30 metres away from us both staring intently at the contents of a folder Teddy was holding.

Anyway the ball goes flying over my head and bounces toward the two of them so cheeky me yells out "excuse me mister but can we have our ball back please?" Neither of them looked up but Teddy moved his foot almost imperceptibly and flicked the ball with his toe end of his shoe and the bloody thing flew at me like a tracer bullet. It was going so fast that it knocked me off my feet and as I got up they were both having a bit of a giggle and I heard Charlie say to Ted "oh EJ, you've still got it old son".;)

Amazing story. Sounds like the toe poke was as good as Naughton's.

29-07-2019, 11:17 AM

Moz's treatment was non surgical, just resting and physio, so perhaps this time with traditional surgery he could make it back seberal rounds before next years finals.
Yes yet Moz like Bob, Brad, Chris, Doug and Ted must retire from the arena just as Aaron, BS and Rhyllee emerge.

29-07-2019, 12:32 PM
7 Straight games with 30 plus disposals.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EAmoKN9VAAA8rr4?format=jpg&name=medium

29-07-2019, 01:05 PM
I thought he was better around the ground than the Freo rucks, had a couple of nice hitouts although still lost them easily.

I can see the method in the madness. What Freo gained by 1-2 clean clearances from ruckwork they lost around the ground with English extremely good at ground level as well as being a marking threat.

I was sitting on the fence on the wing and I saw a lot more than 2 clean clearances. At least a dozen.

I thought it was English’ best ruck game in that he used his agility better but he was beaten in that department. I thought he showed great stamina too.

29-07-2019, 03:41 PM
Better Mark than Nick. Did you have a chat?

No, but there was a hilarious story. Two other guys got on, both with some intellectual disabilities (one of them might have been autistic I think). One of them said in a loud voice "I need the Swans v Cats score". I was about to get my phone out to give it to him, when he walked straight past me and asked Stevo!. He duly obliged with the point score, and the guy said "Not enough. I need the exact scores, goals and behinds!"

Stevo then did as he was asked. The guy went on "Who has been important for both sides. I must know this"... Stevo gives him the bests up to that point, which seemed to satisfy him. Stevo and the guy with him got off at Burnley, the stats guy a few stops later. . I just wanted to know the inside scoop on Moz' injury (and maybe his opinion of BlackSoul :D) God it was funny, a major sports journo relegated to providing match updates 😅

29-07-2019, 03:51 PM
No, but there was a hilarious story. Two other guys got on, both with some intellectual disabilities (one of them might have been autistic I think). One of them said in a loud voice "I need the Swans v Cats score". I was about to get my phone out to give it to him, when he walked straight past me and asked Stevo!. He duly obliged with the point score, and the guy said "Not enough. I need the exact scores, goals and behinds!"

Stevo then did as he was asked. The guy went on "Who has been important for both sides. I must know this"... Stevo gives him the bests up to that point, which seemed to satisfy him. Stevo and the guy with him got off at Burnley, the stats guy a few stops later. . I just wanted to know the inside scoop on Moz' injury (and maybe his opinion of BlackSoul :D) God it was funny, a major sports journo relegated to providing match updates ��

Haha I bet the guy didn't know who was supplying him. Considering Mark is a Bulldog you deserved to be the one having a chat and getting the inside info for yourself and WOOF.

29-07-2019, 04:10 PM
Haha I bet the guy didn't know who was supplying him. Considering Mark is a Bulldog you deserved to be the one having a chat and getting the inside info for yourself and WOOF.

Just got a reply from him on Twitter. He said it was "bizarre" and that he headed to the Rising Sun to discuss it further 😂

29-07-2019, 09:50 PM
If you look at Freo's prime movers - people like Mundy, Walters, Hill and Ballantyne, you would have to say that they were pretty much nullified throughout. So big shout out to our team defence and the hard running of players like Richards, Hunter, JJ, Duryea, Crozier, etc. Dicko was back there too at times and Caleb Daniel was really good with the ball. He was the generalissimo down back.

30-07-2019, 02:17 PM
COACHES VOTES:

WESTERN BULLDOGS v FREMANTLE
9 Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
9 Jack Macrae (WB)
3 Caleb Daniel (WB)
3 Jason Joahannisen (WB)
3 Aaron Naughton (WB)
2 Andrew Brayshaw (FRE)
1 Bailey Dale (WB)

LEADERBOARD
84 Tim Kelly
79 Marcus Bontempelli
78 Patrick Cripps
73 Lachie Neale
67 Travis Boak
65 Ben Cunnington
65 Nat Fyfe
62 Patrick Dangerfield
62 Brodie Grundy
62 Luke Shuey
58 Max Gawn
52 Elliot Yeo
51 Brad Crouch
51 Josh Dunkley
51 Tim Taranto
51 Dayne Zorko
50 Jack Macrae
48 Dustin Martin
47 Jeremy Cameron
46 Scott Pendlebury

30-07-2019, 02:26 PM
Bonti is creeping up there.

30-07-2019, 03:39 PM
Bonti is creeping up there.

If he maintains the late season form, I think it is between Bont and Cripps.

Bont is so influential.

30-07-2019, 09:08 PM
If he maintains the late season form, I think it is between Bont and Cripps.

Bont is so influential.

For the brownlow its a matter for the umps, who do they notice. Last year Bont got 9, Cripps got 20, Macrae got 14 and Kelly 13.

30-07-2019, 10:47 PM
Just keep pushing that barrow.
Dogs 14 hitouts vs Freo 55 hitouts, and yet we won the clearances 35 to 32 - that is the very definition of our mids being able to effectively shark the opposition hitouts I'd have thought.

Freo's best chance of winning was to smash us in clearances, give their forwards plenty of looks and put our defenders under pressure, and our mids were brilliant in curtailing that threat - 59 inside 50's to 44 was clear evidence of that.

I wasn't aware that stating facts was 'pushing a barrow'.

30-07-2019, 11:08 PM
Dogs 14 hitouts vs Freo 55 hitouts, and yet we won the clearances 35 to 32 - that is the very definition of our mids being able to effectively shark the opposition hitouts I'd have thought.

Freo's best chance of winning was to smash us in clearances, give their forwards plenty of looks and put our defenders under pressure, and our mids were brilliant in curtailing that threat - 59 inside 50's to 44 was clear evidence of that.

I wasn't aware that stating facts was 'pushing a barrow'.

No but you’ve decided a couple of months ago somehow that English isn’t a ruckman, he didn’t ruck as a junior and that we are flogging him too hard as a ruckman - so every time he plays against a monster ruck you have to roll it out there.

How about considering how aggressively English jumped into Sandilands which curbed his influence significantly? Because it was the most aggressive I’ve seen Tim, and it clearly had an impact on them not dominating clearances. But rather your focus is on the mids ‘saving his arse’ - to keep flogging your point.

The week before - when we got smashed, Tim was breaking square in the hit outs with Marshall - and we didn’t do any better out of the middle. And we certainly didn’t improve in that match when Trengove and others went in there and Tim forward.

What gets me about this banging on about the ruck from several posters - is that in the lead up to the Freo game, we had plenty saying that we needed to play Sweet, or that Young or Roberts should come in so that Trengove could Ruck/Forward. Freo go in with three 6”9+ blokes - and good on them - they won the hit outs - but it was like we had at least one extra at every loose ball because they can’t cover the ground. That had more to do with the 59 inside 50s to 44, than sharking 3 more clearances than we lost.

30-07-2019, 11:29 PM
No but you’ve decided a couple of months ago somehow that English isn’t a ruckman, he didn’t ruck as a junior and that we are flogging him too hard as a ruckman - so every time he plays against a monster ruck you have to roll it out there.

How about considering how aggressively English jumped into Sandilands which curbed his influence significantly? Because it was the most aggressive I’ve seen Tim, and it clearly had an impact on them not dominating clearances. But rather your focus is on the mids ‘saving his arse’ - to keep flogging your point.

The week before - when we got smashed, Tim was breaking square in the hit outs with Marshall - and we didn’t do any better out of the middle. And we certainly didn’t improve in that match when Trengove and others went in there and Tim forward.

What gets me about this banging on about the ruck from several posters - is that in the lead up to the Freo game, we had plenty saying that we needed to play Sweet, or that Young or Roberts should come in so that Trengove could Ruck/Forward. Freo go in with three 6”9+ blokes - and good on them - they won the hit outs - but it was like we had at least one extra at every loose ball because they can’t cover the ground. That had more to do with the 59 inside 50s to 44, than sharking 3 more clearances than we lost.
English lacks stoppage ruck craft - I don't think this is a secret - and it was galling earlier in the year to see him being forced to compete one-out almost all game against superior stoppage ruckmen, and this stubbornness in the coaches box was a key cause of a number of close losses in that time.

I've been heartened by the long overdue additional support English has received since the bye from the likes of Trengove and Cordy (and Schache until injured). This support has ensured he is fresher in games for longer and is thus able to better compete at stoppages (even though he is still getting well beaten). This support has also increased his ability to become more involved around the ground, where is he an absolute jet compared to less mobile opposition ruckmen - his possession count and involvement in scoring chains would have no doubt increased since the bye.

I am hoping the work we've put into him will bear fruit at stoppages in future seasons - we work awfully hard for our I50's and scoring opportunities compared to other teams, and it would be nice to be able to have a dominant stoppage asset that can feed it to our elite midfield group. It does concern me that one of the tallest players in the competition cannot get first hands to the stoppage more often - otherwise I absolutely love what English brings to the table. He is an aerobic animal who gets positively involved around the ground far more than someone his size has any right to, he is an undeniable aerial threat when pushed forward for short stints (most ruckmen look like gumbies up forward), and his hands below his knees are as good as anyone his size. I think he was poorly mistreated earlier in the season and am very happy this has been rectified.

30-07-2019, 11:59 PM

We should be fielding the best possible team at every opportunity. Looking back over the season I don’t believe that the Dogs have done it. Why do I think that? Because

1. Not enough emphasis has been put on centre half back as a defensive focal point.

2. Not enough emphasis has been put on the ruck as the launching pad for crushing victories.

Well then, how is it we might make the finals?

3. Because we probably have the most talented midfielders in the competition.

Three totally different factors, but many comments use 3 to pretend that 1 and 2 never existed.

As a result we lost to Gold Coast, Carlton and Freo early in the season.
Then Grundy and Goldstein beat us. Making 5 wins we could have had.

On Sunday English played what I thought was his best game and had about the same impact as Darcy. And Sandilands had an extra 30 or so hitouts, at least a dozen to advantage that I saw.

That dozen hitouts to advantage had more impact than Richards whole game.

So lets stay real. It is a young, talented team that will only get better. Next year they should make the finals comfortably. But for supporters this year has had many scratching their heads.

31-07-2019, 12:43 AM
We should be fielding the best possible team at every opportunity. Looking back over the season I don’t believe that the Dogs have done it. Why do I think that? Because

1. Not enough emphasis has been put on centre half back as a defensive focal point.

2. Not enough emphasis has been put on the ruck as the launching pad for crushing victories.

Well then, how is it we might make the finals?

3. Because we probably have the most talented midfielders in the competition.

Three totally different factors, but many comments use 3 to pretend that 1 and 2 never existed.

As a result we lost to Gold Coast, Carlton and Freo early in the season.
Then Grundy and Goldstein beat us. Making 5 wins we could have had.

On Sunday English played what I thought was his best game and had about the same impact as Darcy. And Sandilands had an extra 30 or so hitouts, at least a dozen to advantage that I saw.

That dozen hitouts to advantage had more impact than Richards whole game.

So lets stay real. It is a young, talented team that will only get better. Next year they should make the finals comfortably. But for supporters this year has had many scratching their heads.

Who is it exactly that you think should be playing that will change our fortunes.

If you go back to the early 5-7 rounds of the season, I would agree with you on selection, and I was critical at the time about not playing Trengove in defence, and having other questionable selections and positioning of players.

But who exactly should be playing right now to have us field the best possible team? We’ve won 5 of our last 7. Bevo is coaching significantly better also. And I just can’t understand how you can watch the game that we win by 8 goals and let your ruck obsession blind you to the reality of what was happening on the field with how we exploited their lack of run. Great, they had more hit outs. We had 50 more kicks and 30 more handballs and those not only travel further than a hit out but are about three times more likely to clearly go to your team mate.
The moment that they decided to pick three lumbering ruckman was the first big win for us on the weekend.

31-07-2019, 08:55 AM
Who is it exactly that you think should be playing that will change our fortunes.

If you go back to the early 5-7 rounds of the season, I would agree with you on selection, and I was critical at the time about not playing Trengove in defence, and having other questionable selections and positioning of players.

But who exactly should be playing right now to have us field the best possible team? We’ve won 5 of our last 7. Bevo is coaching significantly better also. And I just can’t understand how you can watch the game that we win by 8 goals and let your ruck obsession blind you to the reality of what was happening on the field with how we exploited their lack of run. Great, they had more hit outs. We had 50 more kicks and 30 more handballs and those not only travel further than a hit out but are about three times more likely to clearly go to your team mate.
The moment that they decided to pick three lumbering ruckman was the first big win for us on the weekend.

So we are pretty much in agreement, our season was thrown away early.

This is elite professional sport, and we began watching experimental development.

When I pointed out that Cordy had 24 goals kicked on him in 6 games I was simply making an observation. When I say that English is beaten badly sometimes in the ruck I am again making an observation. The obsession has been with those who believe repeating poor decisions will lead to a different result.

Yes, we won by 8 goals. Yes we had 80 more possessions. Both good signs suggesting the future will be better than 2018/2019. And I was pleased to see Cordy finally get a chance to ignite the forward line (as I suggested months ago).

But no, we lost the week before to a bottom team (again). We were 50 points behind at half time. A sign that the welcome improvement is fragile. And it is good that people here are pointing out what they think might make things better.

31-07-2019, 09:37 AM

This is elite professional sport, and we began watching experimental development.

When I pointed out that Cordy had 24 goals kicked on him in 6 games I was simply making an observation. When I say that English is beaten badly sometimes in the ruck I am again making an observation. The obsession has been with those who believe repeating poor decisions will lead to a different result.

Yes, we won by 8 goals. Yes we had 80 more possessions. Both good signs suggesting the future will be better than 2018/2019. And I was pleased to see Cordy finally get a chance to ignite the forward line (as I suggested months ago).

But no, we lost the week before to a bottom team (again). We were 50 points behind at half time. A sign that the welcome improvement is fragile. And it is good that people here are pointing out what they think might make things better.

The Saints are not a bottom team. They are a game outside the 8.

31-07-2019, 09:56 AM

Personally, I think the early games we lost were due to two areas. Poor defensively around the ground, and missing easy shots at goal. Nothing to do with selection of players. The players in, should have played better than they did.

Bevo made some changes to our structure and we started to defend better after the bye round and consequently we started playing more consistently over four quarters. Yes, you can thrown in the odd player here and there at the start of the season, that maybe should have been playing, but I don't believe a couple of players would have made much difference.

31-07-2019, 10:27 AM
Personally, I think the early games we lost were due to two areas. Poor defensively around the ground, and missing easy shots at goal. Nothing to do with selection of players. The players in, should have played better than they did.

Bevo made some changes to our structure and we started to defend better after the bye round and consequently we started playing more consistently over four quarters. Yes, you can thrown in the odd player here and there at the start of the season, that maybe should have been playing, but I don't believe a couple of players would have made much difference.

I could be wrong, it was a long time ago, but my anger has still not subsided from watching those early games. Even after God’s intervention in the last quarter against Hawthorn we still went unbelievably short. I nearly collapsed when I saw the team for the Carlton game.

After Trengove got 28 possessions, 25? hitouts and 2 goals for Footscray he was rewarded with another game there. The one who was promoted only needed 12 touches.

After the Carlton debacle Trengove was recalled. Some stability returned. Team selection was certainly a major factor early in year.

I do agree with you about goal kicking. Cost us dearly against Freo over there (and more recently). Definitely relevant.

Why the dramatic reversal in accuracy after half time on Sunday?

31-07-2019, 10:29 AM
The Saints are not a bottom team. They are a game outside the 8.

Thanks to us.

31-07-2019, 10:36 AM

I am happy to acknowledge some poor results but if you want to continue to blame them on structure rather than effort then I think you are crazy.

- Gold Coast R#3? KILLED around the ball early. Players clearly didn't come to play. Careless turnovers in q2 enabled them to maintain a lead and we missed easy goals late that stopped the comeback (just) short.
- Carlton R#5? Minus 40 or something for UN-Contested possession? Mids simply did not and would not run. Wouldn't run to attack. Wouldn't run to defend. How the hell can you win a game conceding that much possession 'outside' the game?
- North and the Saints? Didn't respond to an emotional push by the opposition (that coulda/shoulda been predicted). Late comebacks in both showed we have a bit to work with, BUT not if effort isn't there...

Add even TWO of those games to the wins list and we are all thinking about the season in a positive way. At the same time, you could say we got DEADSET LUCKY with some free-kicks during the Hawthorn comeback and we clearly 'got' Richmond at the 'right' time...so maybe take TWO off the list as well....

I don't know. We have had a good season to this point and our future is 100% in our hands right now. If you do the ladder predictor then no matter what you type in as long as you select us to win each of our remaining games (the definition of it being 'in our own hands'!!) then we are playing meaningful games in September. Can we just celebrate that for a second, look forward to the Lions game (a real test against a team we have already beaten) and enjoy watching the season play out before we pre-emptively talk about 'ruining' the season back in April and May?

31-07-2019, 12:22 PM
I frankly find the thought of a lack of effort far more galling than a lack of structure. Don't they care sometimes? Selfish footy? This smacks to me of mental issues which may be more far reaching than simply how we structure up or what player is selected to play where. I don't know maybe it's just a maturity issue.

31-07-2019, 12:48 PM
I frankly find the thought of a lack of effort far more galling than a lack of structure. Don't they care sometimes? Selfish footy? This smacks to me of mental issues which may be more far reaching than simply how we structure up or what player is selected to play where. I don't know maybe it's just a maturity issue.

You have played footy at pretty high level, and know that sometimes you are on and sometimes you are not. It is a mental thing, it has got to do with age and experience or something going on in your life. Also you may be on, but some teams mates aren't.

I think we learnt something from those early games.

31-07-2019, 12:50 PM
Maybe it's more like when you have a shit day at training and nothing works and you get frustrated which makes things worse? But spread out over the team.

31-07-2019, 01:50 PM
I frankly find the thought of a lack of effort far more galling than a lack of structure.

So do I.

But go back and watch the first half of the game vs GC or the first half vs Carlton.

Allowing Sam Seaton to get 25 touches in a 1/2 of footy is NOT reflective of a structural issue.

31-07-2019, 02:32 PM
In the meantime enjoy:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=agrzcSpBeC0

31-07-2019, 04:12 PM
Great highlights. I like seeing the points as well.

31-07-2019, 05:35 PM
I'm rewatching the last quarter at the Rosstown in Carnegie. Very frustrating and worrying. The lazy snap by Dickson with player in the goal square. Failure to kick it long and throw the dice, so timid. Overuse of hand pass, when we really could have got them on the h0p. 6:56 left, five hand passes to the fifty and Libba just bombs it in. If that's what we really wanted, one kick could have done it -3 possessions. Percentage gone begging, by not really backing our forwards in. Good to see Lloyd kicking long goals. Our season could be gone with that quarter. The last miss by Richards....gah.