View Full Version : Three things you have learned-round 19 v Freo (the way to go-oh) 2019

26-07-2019, 01:42 PM
Tell us three lovely things that you have learned today please.

28-07-2019, 04:06 PM

28-07-2019, 04:41 PM
1. We still can't put teams away. Should have one that by close to 100+
2. Naughton should stay forward
3. Sam Lloyd has been bloody good value

28-07-2019, 05:01 PM
1. Our intensity seems a little like choosing when. That first half was outstanding, but not the second.
2. Those GCS & Carlton losses will haunt us all forever, and ever, and ever.
3. West will be a seriously good player. May his three younger brothers be just as good.

28-07-2019, 05:10 PM
1. West is going to be an absolute jet. No nerves and just like his old man, he seriously loves to work and and roll the sleeves up.
2. The game often has no semblance of sentimentality. Moz just did not deserve that.
3. Naughts really needs to work on his goalkicking if he's to maximise his potential in the forward half. If he can't then he really will need to move back to defense.

28-07-2019, 05:10 PM
1. West has just locked out Roarke Smith for good.
2. Cordy forward + pinch hitting in the ruck worked well & would persevere with it for the rest of the year. Bring in Lewis Young to replace Morris.
3. I’m a little worried about Libba and how slow he’s looked the past 2 weeks. I don’t think you can play all of Libba, Lipinski & McLean in the side.

28-07-2019, 05:21 PM
We still need a specialist goalkicking coach.
The positive attitude of Dale Morris after his injury is unbelievable, what an ornament to our Club he is.
They went too tall and it cost them, can't wait for the reactions on social media over here.

28-07-2019, 05:35 PM
1. Maybe Dale can play at AFL level. :o

2. We looked better with Morris in the backline

3. Macrae the most under rated gun in the AFL

28-07-2019, 05:50 PM
1/ Naughton’s hands are a thing of beauty.

2/ Bont can kick a goal.

3/ Duryea is a better player than I thought he was.

28-07-2019, 06:22 PM
1. I cannot recall Caleb Daniel making an error.
2. Bailey Dale has skills that set him apart.
3. Bailey Smith will be a future captain.

28-07-2019, 08:54 PM
1. When we're on, we are on all over the ground
2. We do not know how to put teams away. IN a season when % is so important, would have been nice to double our lead in the second half
3. Give Bailey Dale the 2020 Coleman medal right now!

An honourable mention to Rhylee West. Clearly has his old mans handballing polish, with a little more leg speed and a better kick. Really exciting.

28-07-2019, 09:25 PM
1. Our list of young guns is being added to with the emergence of Bailey Dale as well as the blooding of Rhylee West

2. We are a realistic chance to finish eighth.

3. We look better in defence with Moz in the team. I hope that this is not the end but hope he makes a decision that is in the best interest for his long term health.

29-07-2019, 02:19 AM
1. The Bont will give the brownlow a shake this year.

2. Bailey Dale is exactly what our forward line needed. With Dickson, Lloyd, Naughton and Schache all capable goal scorers, our forward line looks dangerous.

3. Dale Morris might actually be human after all.

29-07-2019, 08:18 AM
Locky hunter is slipping to become a fringe player for us. His only attribute is his gut run. I hope he isn’t in the leadership group next year as he will be under pressure for his spot from the young guys on the list.

End of year player meetings will be interesting. Wood, Dickson, Morris, Cordy and Hunter. May not fair that we’ll.

I thing Gia might be a better coach\player manager than I thought. The young kids are really having an impact when they get an opportunity. Glad the MC has seen the light.

29-07-2019, 08:47 AM
Locky hunter is slipping to become a fringe player for us. His only attribute is his gut run. I hope he isn’t in the leadership group next year as he will be under pressure for his spot from the young guys on the list.

End of year player meetings will be interesting. Wood, Dickson, Morris, Cordy and Hunter. May not fair that we’ll.

I thing Gia might be a better coach\player manager than I thought. The young kids are really having an impact when they get an opportunity. Glad the MC has seen the light.

That sort of game is fine from Hunter. 27 touches is a sweet spot, IMO. When he accumulates 30+ it leads to more turnovers, slower ball movement and increases our inefficiency inside 50.

29-07-2019, 10:28 AM
1. Bulldogs supporters are rarely happy. Even with an 8 goal win, my section were beside themselves with anger and negativity.

2. We have probably gotten Taylor Duryea for his best footy years. Congrats to the list managers, I didn't see it coming.

3. People that have declared Dickson as cooked and too slow might be watching the game with their eyes closed or solely on the stats sheet. When the game was hot, his 80 metre long leads to give us an option to kick to from half back were crucial. Does all the basics extremely well, would have covered huge ground yesterday, and even got a couple of crucial balls in D50 when he was needed to get back there and help out.

29-07-2019, 10:33 AM
1. Bailey Dale plays well as that "elusive" forward type rather than the wing. Terrific goal sense. Sign him up!

2. Naughty has got incredible sticky fingers and is so important for our team. His infectious smile after our wins shows he loves being with the red, white and blue.

3. Rhylee West is a thinking footballer. His passing off to other players in better positions rather than just ping it towards goal was exceptional for a first gamer.

29-07-2019, 11:02 AM
1. Bailey Dale plays well as that "elusive" forward type rather than the wing. Terrific goal sense. Sign him up!

2. Naughty has got incredible sticky fingers and is so important for our team. His infectious smile after our wins shows he loves being with the red, white and blue.

3. Rhylee West is a thinking footballer. His passing off to other players in better positions rather than just ping it towards goal was exceptional for a first gamer.

Good point about West. You’d forgive him for having a ping but he made the right decision on multiple occasions. Hard to teach, those sort of split second moments separate the high footy IQ types from the rest.

29-07-2019, 11:34 AM
Rhylee has not only got Scott's gene's (although his chubby cheeks are mum's) but also I suspect been schooled extensively by Scott.

29-07-2019, 11:58 AM
1. Bulldogs supporters are rarely happy. Even with an 8 goal win, my section were beside themselves with anger and negativity.

2. We have probably gotten Taylor Duryea for his best footy years. Congrats to the list managers, I didn't see it coming.

3. People that have declared Dickson as cooked and too slow might be watching the game with their eyes closed or solely on the stats sheet. When the game was hot, his 80 metre long leads to give us an option to kick to from half back were crucial. Does all the basics extremely well, would have covered huge ground yesterday, and even got a couple of crucial balls in D50 when he was needed to get back there and help out.

Re your point 1, it was amazingly obvious yesterday. Was just speaking to a colleague about it I found it very surprising.

29-07-2019, 12:02 PM
Re your point 1, it was amazingly obvious yesterday. Was just speaking to a colleague about it I found it very surprising.

I love the footy club, and I love going to the footy to support them - but the supporters have really taken a shine off it for me in the last couple of seasons.

29-07-2019, 12:06 PM
1. Bailey Dale does have some footy smarts. I thought he was over-rated in the player award voting the previous week, for kicking junk time goals, but this week he played seriously good when it mattered.

2. Aaron Naughton showed that good forwards can be big contributors without needing to score the goals themselves.

3. When our midfield is on they are definitely an elite group.

29-07-2019, 12:07 PM
1. Naughton is extremely agile at ground level, moreso than most 195cm players

2. English is now a genuine threat around the ground

3. The footy gods can be unbearably cruel

29-07-2019, 01:50 PM
Morris going down is a tragedy. Poor bugger deserves a break

Bailey Dale is a smooth mover. Loved his last two weeks

The AFL are numbnuts. They are trying to speed up the game and limit how many stoppages in a game. But when your tackled if you hold onto it no worries ball up. But if you frantically get it out some how you get pinged. Figure it out Almighty ruler of the free world Steve Hocking

29-07-2019, 07:50 PM

I think it's a bit of a harsh assessment there BB. Hunter was pretty good on the weekend, Sure he has some faults that annoy me no end but he is also called out for them vastly more than most

29-07-2019, 08:03 PM
1. Finally the mold has broken and for the first time I genuinely feel we are a capable finals side. Look out 2020.

2. First time in a long time I've heard anyone call us slick. Even in 16 they didn't use the word slick. It was always hard, contested, committed but never slick. I like being slick. It's even better when it's your coach who calls you that.

3. We have the best young players in the comp hands down. Name a younger list profile rolling the likes of Brisbane, Richmond and Geelong. Another 20-30 games into Naughts, Smith, English in particular and look out!

29-07-2019, 09:17 PM
I love the footy club, and I love going to the footy to support them - but the supporters have really taken a shine off it for me in the last couple of seasons.
2014 or 2015 I bought season seats for my son and I. One guy near us would just whinge all game about Minson, he had zero tolerance and obviously enjoyed the power of inflicting his negativity on everyone. It made him feel powerful and others around him uncomfortable.
One game I illegally sat in the reserved area on level one and a guy there was laying into Eagleton with vitriol. I told him to get out of the stadium and leave the club if he wasn't a supporter. Strangely he thanked me for the lesson. These underdeveloped souls need to realise that they are pains in the arse and anti club. Everything you say and do is a reflection of yourself, its not Minson or Eagleton making you act like that, its you. No excuse.

29-07-2019, 09:21 PM
I think it's a bit of a harsh assessment there BB. Hunter was pretty good on the weekend, Sure he has some faults that annoy me no end but he is also called out for them vastly more than most

It’s not a side swipe at all, I was just amazed how the younger Kids are coming on. When I look at who will make way I think that Wood, Hunter and Cordy are the three in the gun. Hunter is the most under pressure as the likes of Richards, Smith, McClean and West will build there tanks over the preseason and will be forcing the issue on getting a call up.

Truth known it’s a really good spot to be in as I would have Wallis in that group as well.

29-07-2019, 09:39 PM
It’s not a side swipe at all, I was just amazed how the younger Kids are coming on. When I look at who will make way I think that Wood, Hunter and Cordy are the three in the gun. Hunter is the most under pressure as the likes of Richards, Smith, McClean and West will build there tanks over the preseason and will be forcing the issue on getting a call up.

Truth known it’s a really good spot to be in as I would have Wallis in that group as well.

Think this is way off the mark.
Hunter was terrific on the weekend and having a solid season - particularly considering he has needed shoulder surgery since the season began, after coming off the B&F last year.
In terms of your previous comment about hoping he isn’t in the leadership next year, I’d say there’s pretty much no chance of that. Hunter is clearly one of our best footy brains out there who visibly organises us, and is one that Bevo and the coaches look to, to communicate to the group on field and back to them also.

29-07-2019, 10:05 PM

Hunter never gets beaten one on one - I think he is a valuable member of the team

29-07-2019, 10:10 PM

Couldn’t agree more

29-07-2019, 10:15 PM

I can't agree with you re Hunter. As GVGjr said he has frustrating faults but those gut runs as you say can't be underestimated. He is constantly making himself an option for his team mates giving them a get out of trouble kick. His loopy kicks annoy the shit out of me but he generally uses the ball well and gains good metres for us. He can milk the odd free or 2 every now and again too. The coaches must like his work as well because he is the reining b&f winner and he just signed a 5 year deal.

29-07-2019, 10:19 PM
Hunter is the smartest player in our team.

30-07-2019, 08:35 AM
Hunter never gets beaten one on one - I think he is a valuable member of the team

You don't sign a player for 5 years if he's not a critical part of your future.

30-07-2019, 11:06 AM
Can't understand the Cordy and Hunter baggers.

There would be 17 other clubs more than happy to take both Hunter and Cordy.

Hunter gives his all and is one of the first picked.

Not sure the young kids would be able to do the pressure acts Cordy does each week. Too many people judge games on the stats/disposals. Some of the tasks Cordy gets he is punching well above his weight but is having a crack. Name someone we have in the 2's who can take a gorilla at the moment.

He is also still learning the game and will only get better. He should be taking on the number 3 or 4 best mid forward but is getting 1 and 2. His game has been fast tracked with Morris missing so many games.

30-07-2019, 11:27 AM

Not sure the young kids would be able to do the pressure acts Cordy does each week. Too many people judge games on the stats/disposals. Some of the tasks Cordy gets he is punching well above his weight but is having a crack. Name someone we have in the 2's who can take a gorilla at the moment.

He is also still learning the game and will only get better. He should be taking on the number 3 or 4 best mid forward but is getting 1 and 2. His game has been fast tracked with Morris missing so many games.

How was that great spoil Cordy did for West to take the ball and kick his first.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UvcFDa7e7I8

30-07-2019, 12:19 PM

I have not seen much criticism of Cordy, most say he is not being used effectively. As you have. All comments referring to his time on the forward line last week have been glowing praise.

30-07-2019, 12:59 PM
You don't sign a player for 5 years if he's not a critical part of your future.

And reigning best and fairest.

30-07-2019, 02:24 PM
Why did Scott West look so grumpy watching Rhylee's first goal? Was he thinking he should still be out there himself? Or blinking back many tears of pride? He just looked so glum!

Insufficient Intent
30-07-2019, 02:49 PM
Why did Scott West look so grumpy watching Rhylee's first goal? Was he thinking he should still be out there himself? Or blinking back many tears of pride? He just looked so glum!

Fox had shown a similar clip earlier, so it possibly had nothing to do with his real time reaction to Rhylee's goal.There was a later clip shown with Westy broadly smiling and hugging his equally happy wife, maybe that was the real time response.

I'd reckon Scott West has a bigger heart than what Fox were cheaply implying in the timing of the grumpy-guts clip.

30-07-2019, 04:37 PM
Lachie is having a very good year. For some reason he has been a bit of a whipping boy on this forum. I think part of that is due to poor finishing when kicking for goal. The disappointment clouds people's judgement. They tend to overlook his gut running, the inside balls he feeds out, his courage, his link work and his one on one wins. He is a Damn good player for mine.

30-07-2019, 09:22 PM

I think its shyness not wanting the spotlight when your son deserves it but also thats nothing more than what I expect, they aint seen nothin yet.

30-07-2019, 11:55 PM

For some reason they played footage they had already shown. There is footage of all the family high-fiving they showed a bit later. C7 have real trouble with the dads of oyr players. Remember at the 2016 Grand Final they kept trying to get a shot of Tony Liberatore hugging his wife but they kept aiming the camera at the wrong section of the crowd, Tony was just visible in the bottom corner until they figured out they were showing the wrong crowd section.

01-08-2019, 12:13 AM
Westy is a nervous watcher remember how calm Rhylee was sitting next to him and how jittery Westy was with 10 minutes to go in the Granny?

01-08-2019, 09:32 AM

Not sure 17 Other clubs would take Cordy. He is an odd player. He does some really nice things and some clangers like all players.

He’s not strong enough to play a lock down defender role for 4 quarters, not fast enough off the blocks or a good enough kick to play as a loose man or a line breaker. His good and bad travel with him both ends of the ground.

Agree he should be playing on lower tier forwards and not sure we’ve nailed the perfect role for him, not the perfect mix of players around him.

Maybe it’s more an issue with consistency and by this stage of his career we are right to expect consistency. He was great on Sunday last.

01-08-2019, 12:29 PM
Not sure 17 Other clubs would take Cordy. He is an odd player. He does some really nice things and some clangers like all players.

He’s not strong enough to play a lock down defender role for 4 quarters, not fast enough off the blocks or a good enough kick to play as a loose man or a line breaker. His good and bad travel with him both ends of the ground.

Agree he should be playing on lower tier forwards and not sure we’ve nailed the perfect role for him, not the perfect mix of players around him.

Maybe it’s more an issue with consistency and by this stage of his career we are right to expect consistency. He was great on Sunday last.

Hunter is a mystifying player. Ball magnet, yet tends to stuff up simple things like a set shot, out of grounds on the full. He's a great contributor, but his best and worst in one game is a bit baffling at times. Master of the head high free. Very handy.

01-08-2019, 02:50 PM
I don't see the downside in Hunter that others do. He'd be one of the last I'd critique although he's certainly not immune to it. Most of our players have the yips at the moment and while I agree his dinky field kicks can be frustrating he almost always hits a leading player front on. He's got good goal sense, is smart, gets a lot of the ball, spreads well, tackles ok and is one of the hardest workers at the club. He's a great celebrator and is always the first one to congratulate a mate on a goal i.e. has a great attitude. I think he'd be really well liked and one of the first picked.

02-08-2019, 09:13 AM
Hunter is hard to call. On one hand you know exactly what you’ll get each week - he runs hard, gathers 30 touches and is often a target for the sideways kick from the middle or out of defence. I think he plays the defensive wing role superbly.

His skills are what baffles me. On point, he is awesome up to 40 metres. Is creative, accurate and accountable. Then he misses a 30 m kick to a player by himself, kicking to an opposition player also all by himself. It’s excrutiating.

Good outweighs the bad though IMO. If he could sort the 25-40m kicking yipps he would genuinely be elite.

02-08-2019, 09:42 AM
Hunter is hard to call. On one hand you know exactly what you’ll get each week - he runs hard, gathers 30 touches and is often a target for the sideways kick from the middle or out of defence. I think he plays the defensive wing role superbly.

His skills are what baffles me. On point, he is awesome up to 40 metres. Is creative, accurate and accountable. Then he misses a 30 m kick to a player by himself, kicking to an opposition player also all by himself. It’s excrutiating.

Good outweighs the bad though IMO. If he could sort the 25-40m kicking yipps he would genuinely be elite.

All players do that, it's because it is Hunter fans point out his mistakes. He is running at 77.1% disposal efficiency, which is pretty good for a player averaging 26.7 disposals per game.

02-08-2019, 07:23 PM
All players do that, it's because it is Hunter fans point out his mistakes. He is running at 77.1% disposal efficiency, which is pretty good for a player averaging 26.7 disposals per game.

There is a reason fans notice it with him, it may not be because it happens more often, it’s because it happens at times when he is under no pressure and the player he is kicking to is in space so there is a large margin for error.

Overall this DE is good and he has other great attributes like his running