View Full Version : Carlton

13-10-2019, 05:40 PM
Assuming Carlton land Betts, Martin and Papely how much stronger will that make them?

We know first hand how their tall forwards can perform and I guess if you throw in a mixture of quality small forward it should make them a high scoring team

How do you rate their chances in 2020?

13-10-2019, 05:43 PM
Not as Good as ours��

13-10-2019, 05:51 PM
I’d call them top 8 potential for certain. On paper they have an outstanding list with quality players right across the ground.

They seem to get in their own way more than anything, and clearly do not have a winning culture anymore.

If I was a blues diehard, I’d be wanting 10-12 wins next year.

13-10-2019, 06:26 PM
I’d call them top 8 potential for certain. On paper they have an outstanding list with quality players right across the ground.

They seem to get in their own way more than anything, and clearly do not have a winning culture anymore.

If I was a blues diehard, I’d be wanting 10-12 wins next year.

Totally agree with this. The first four or five games is critical, they absolutely must get some wins on the board. If they can do that, they could have a year like us in 2015.

13-10-2019, 07:30 PM
My wish is they reach bottom 4

13-10-2019, 07:41 PM
Assuming Carlton land Betts, Martin and Papely how much stronger will that make them?

We know first hand how their tall forwards can perform and I guess if you throw in a mixture of quality small forward it should make them a high scoring team

How do you rate their chances in 2020?

Betts could be passed it , other two great gets but it’s all about team gel and I am not sure they have the right culture/management to bring that.
They still have arrogance at the top.

13-10-2019, 07:45 PM
Carlton potentially have a very potent forward line and a strong midfield which in the second half of the year didn’t rely solely on Cripps. They are very light on for a dominant ruckman with kruzer getting on in age and increasingly unlikely to stay on the park.
The other unknown is what style of game plan will Teague look to implement.
The big question for mine is can they continue to improve their defence which clearly is their biggest weakness. If they can they should win 10-12 games.

13-10-2019, 08:37 PM
Carlton potentially have a very potent forward line and a strong midfield which in the second half of the year didn’t rely solely on Cripps. They are very light on for a dominant ruckman with kruzer getting on in age and increasingly unlikely to stay on the park.
The other unknown is what style of game plan will Teague look to implement.
The big question for mine is can they continue to improve their defence which clearly is their biggest weakness. If they can they should win 10-12 games.

Their backline isn't bad either with Jones, Weitering, Marchabank, Plowman, Newman, Simpson and the returning Docherty plus Casboult can play a few positions for them. I agree they need to find another ruckman but it's going to be a significantly better balanced side in 2020

13-10-2019, 08:40 PM
What's their midfield like if Cripper gets a 12 week injury?

13-10-2019, 08:42 PM
Their backline isn't bad either with Jones, Weitering, Marchabank, Plowman, Newman, Simpson and the returning Docherty plus Casboult can play a few positions for them. I agree they need to find another ruckman but it's going to be a significantly better balanced side in 2020

There's a lot of height but not a lot of class ball users in that back half though. Put a bit of pressure on them and they will wilt.

13-10-2019, 08:45 PM
What's their midfield like if Cripper gets a 12 week injury?

Not great, Dow, Murphy, O'Brien, Petrevski-Seaton, Kennedy, Stocker, Walsh, Cunningham and Setterfield

Cripps is certainly the key to their midfield, we must tag him when we play them

13-10-2019, 08:50 PM
Not great, Dow, Murphy, O'Brien, Petrevski-Seaton, Kennedy, Stocker, Walsh, Cunningham and Setterfield

Cripps is certainly the key to their midfield, we must tag him when we play them

I love you eternal hope we will tag and nullify the best opposition player to try to help win games of footy. I've given up hope, but serious respect for believing we'd do this. I hope it comes true.

13-10-2019, 08:56 PM
I love you eternal hope we will tag and nullify the best opposition player to try to help win games of footy. I've given up hope, but serious respect for believing we'd do this. I hope it comes true.

We did in the 2nd game we played them and his impact was reduced
Part of my interest in Bonar is the hope he could bring a defensive work ethic and approach for us

13-10-2019, 09:09 PM

It’s more likely Bevo plays a second ruckman than tags anyone

13-10-2019, 09:11 PM
It’s more likely Bevo plays a second ruckman than tags anyone

I think he might have changed his approach just a fraction.

13-10-2019, 09:41 PM
He used Libba to tag Dangerfiekd against Geelong a couple of years ago and Libba limped off injured just before halftime (2016?) so he just sort of gave up on the idea for a bit.

13-10-2019, 11:34 PM
Going after Fisher was great foresight by us. Carlton clearly rate him as potentially best 22 even with Betts, Martin and Papley coming into the side.

It was very strategic of us to ask the question because from the outside looking in it was entirely feasible that Fisher may have been spat out by the arrival of the aforementioned three.

14-10-2019, 10:04 AM
I hope we're going in for Papley over the next few days.

30-12-2019, 08:07 AM
This from the Hun

Eight reasons to get excited about Carlton in 2020

1. 2019 FINISH

The Blues finished a lowly 16th on the ladder last year, but their end to the season gave plenty of cause for optimism among Carlton fans. If you were to re-do the ladder for only the last 11 games of the season, you would find the Blues went 6-5 to be the ninth-best team in that period. That surge came after David Teague was installed as coach in place of Brendon Bolton. In that span, the Blues also lifted their average score from 67 points per game to 79. If Teague can continue that rate of improvement, the Blues will be well placed to push for a finals berth in 2020.

2. DOCHERTY’S RETURN

Given he has not played an AFL game since 2017, it’s easy to forget just what a star Sam Docherty is when he’s up and going. Consecutive anterior cruciate ligament tears during pre-season have robbed the Blues of a seriously good defender and leader. The hope is he will be fit and firing for Round 1. In 2017, Docherty played every game and averaged 27.9 disposals, 5.7 rebound 50s, 504m gained, 6.3 intercept possessions and 3.3 tackles per match. He finished second in Carlton’s best-and-fairest that year behind Marc Murphy. Docherty is still just 26 and his football smarts and leadership should make a huge difference when he returns to the Blues’ defensive half.

3. BETTS’ RETURN

Yes, Eddie Betts is 33 and his best years are seemingly behind him. But the livewire forward can still do plenty that other players can’t. Betts started his career at Carlton in 2005 but has spent the past six seasons at Adelaide. He booted 37 goals for the Crows last season, down from a career-high 75 majors in 2016, and averaged 12 disposals, 1.2 score assists and 5.6 score involvements per match. The Blues have been crying out for a quality small forward and snapped up the three-time All-Australian dirt cheap for only a future fourth-round pick during the trade period. If Betts can bring some pressure and kick 30-plus goals next season, that will be seen as a big win.

4. FORWARD LINE

Even putting Betts to one side, the Blues’ forward line is certainly an exciting one given the three key forwards in Charlie Curnow, Harry McKay and Mitch McGovern. The trio only played eight games together last season as they all missed matches through injury. All three stand 191cm or more, with McKay the tallest at 204cm. McKay kicked 26 goals from 20 games in 2019 and McGovern booted 22 majors from 16. Curnow, who kicked 18 goals from 11 matches, could face a slightly delayed start to the season after a November knee injury.

5. JACK MARTIN

Many astute football brains have described Martin as the best junior footballer they have ever seen, including his new captain Patrick Cripps who was selected in the same draft. Martin was snapped up by Gold Coast with pick No.1 in the 2012 mini-draft but found his way to the Blues for nothing in the recent pre-season draft. While yet to live up to his underage talent at AFL level, the 24-year-old averaged 18.1 disposals, 3.4 clearances and 3.8 score involvements per game for the Suns last season to rank as the 16th-best midfield-forward in the league. He kicked only eight goals from 16 matches, but produced a career-high 24 majors from 22 matches in 2017. It will be intriguing to see what he can do in the No.21 jumper in 2020.

6. PATRICK CRIPPS

The only elite-rated player at Carlton, captain Cripps is already a superstar. Can he get better? He thinks so. Cripps revealed in November he had dropped between two and three kilograms during his off-season break in a bid to raise his game. Cripps is coming off a campaign in which he averaged career-high numbers for metres gained (270m per game), goals (0.7), score assists (1.1) and ground ball gets (10.6). He averaged his most clearances (8.5) since 2016 and the second-most disposals (28) of his career. For a player who finished equal-third in the Brownlow Medal last season and has earned consecutive All-Australian honours, the prospect of further improvement from the 24-year-old is scary for opposition clubs.

7. THIRD-YOUNGEST LIST

There is no shortage of upside when you have the third-youngest list in the competition as the Blues do entering 2020. Carlton has an average age of 23.55 years. Only Gold Coast and the Brisbane Lions are younger. Runaway 2019 Rising Star Award winner Sam Walsh is still only 19, the highly-rated Liam Stocker will start next season aged 20, 2017 No.3 draft pick Paddy Dow is also 20 and Zac Fisher and Sam Petrevski-Seton are both 21. Then there is a pair of top-20 draft picks that also come into the mix in Brodie Kemp and Sam Philp. Talk about Young Talent Time.

8. JACK NEWNES ADDITION

Martin was not the only experienced player picked up by Carlton during the trade and free agency period, with St Kilda wingman Jack Newnes also finding a new home at Princes Park as a delisted free agent. The 26-year-old joins the club with 155 games of AFL experience behind him and he averaged 17.3 disposals across 20 matches for the Saints last season. The Blues see Newnes as a mature body and elite runner who can help through the middle of the ground.

30-12-2019, 08:09 AM
They've significantly improved their playing list and if the coach works out they will start to see a lot more wins
They could very well be a team that surprises but I think a lot rests on Kruezer

Getting some more quality midfielders around Cripps will help them but overall they are another 12 months away from making an impact

30-12-2019, 08:29 AM
A lot of their future depends on how good players like Dow, Walsh, Stocker and O'Brien can become. If they can get one or two of those players up to an A grade level, then they will have the midfield to be competitive.

30-12-2019, 11:24 AM
They looked like a new side once Bolton was sacked, which is so weird and coincidental.

There's a ton of talent on this side but they're still being weighed down by the asinine recruitment of a half-dozen retreads every year for what felt like a decade. It's forcing them to still play a few guys every week who are nowhere near the level and it just kills them. But their forward mix is exciting and Walsh looks like a stud. I like their prognosis better than that other side the Hun won't shut up about.

Will be interesting to see how good Docherty is coming off two lost seasons. He's a fantastic player.

30-12-2019, 12:04 PM
I hope they finish well outside the 8, second bottom would be lovely. :D

30-12-2019, 12:12 PM
I hope they finish well outside the 8, second bottom would be lovely. :D

When Carlton finished last for the first time in 2006 or whenever it was there is a story about Craig Bradley going to his local Coles to do his weekly shop and as he walked down aisle 1 the PA announced "Wooden spoons are in aisle 1" and he thought to himself that's an odd thing to announce and then he walks down aisle 2 and the PA blares out "wooden spoons are now on special in aisle 2" and Bradley thinks "What the *!*!*!*! are they talking about?" it was when he was walking down aisle 3 and the PA says "wooden spoons are now in aisle 3" that the penny dropped...

30-12-2019, 12:41 PM
Anyway, Martin and Betts will add a lot of class to their forward line and if McKay and Curnow continue to improve they will potent forward line. With a bit of luck they could be around the 8

30-12-2019, 12:44 PM
Anyway, Martin and Betts will add a lot of class to their forward line and if McKay and Curnow continue to improve they will potent forward line. With a bit of luck they could be around the 8

Yep, they have nearly recovered from the Malthouse coaching experiment.

21-04-2020, 04:34 PM
Carlton's financial woes continue with $2 million Virgin Airlines sponsorship now gone.

21-04-2020, 04:36 PM
Carlton's financial woes continue with $2 million Virgin Airlines sponsorship now gone.

My heart bleeds for them. I wonder if they'll still be crying 'socialism' when going to the AFEL for money?

21-04-2020, 04:40 PM

That's a massive loss for them. From a clubs perspective it's imperative that as many sponsors as they can stick with clubs
I't wouldn't surprise me if we lost a sponsor

21-04-2020, 06:51 PM
How tragic is that?

21-04-2020, 09:00 PM

This will hit GWS as well with Virgin a co-major sponsor. Double the pleasure.

22-04-2020, 10:26 AM
Bless them they still have the pokie king to bail them out.

22-04-2020, 02:25 PM
Where's Mr. Elliott?

22-04-2020, 06:53 PM
Has to be on his last legs
Apparently sonny ( another Carlton Neanderthal) has old man Elliott on his show

22-04-2020, 07:27 PM
and how happy do you think mercedes benz are seeing Lachies on every news bulletin crashed into those cars.......

22-04-2020, 08:26 PM
and how happy do you think mercedes benz are seeing Lachies on every news bulletin crashed into those cars.......

I was just thinking that.

22-04-2020, 08:41 PM
Hunter was driving a Toyota SUV, not a Mercedes.

22-04-2020, 09:24 PM

Should've been with the major sponsor:

Mercedes X-Class the first ute to offer autonomous emergency braking.

Competition in the light commercial vehicle (LCV) segment has been heightened with the Mercedes-Benz X-Class the first utility to enter the Australasian market with autonomous emergency braking (AEB). Three other new models also enter with standard-fit AEB including the Volkswagen Polo, Jaguar E-PACE and BMW X2.

Autonomous emergency braking is fitted as standard on all X-Class variants, helping it achieve a 5 star ANCAP safety rating.

“This is a game-changer for the ute market and puts pressure on competing brands,” said ANCAP Chief Executive, Mr James Goodwin.

“The light commercial vehicle segment has generally lagged passenger cars and SUVs with regard to safety specification, so the inclusion of AEB as standard across the X-Class range is to be commended,” he said.

The AEB system fitted to the X-Class performed well – detecting and either avoiding or mitigating crashes with other vehicles at low and high speeds. Its AEB system is also capable of detecting and preventing crashes with pedestrians.

23-04-2020, 08:42 AM

its a shame one of the cars he busted into was a merc!

23-04-2020, 09:14 AM
I worry about Charlie Curnow. This year would have been a write off for him without the CV19 impact.
He's in Cooney-territory with his knee.

26-04-2020, 09:03 AM
Carlton (https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/why-carlton-s-recruiting-plans-are-immune-from-virus-20200424-p54mwe.html)

Why Carlton's recruiting plans are immune from virus

Carlton are planning to be a strong bidder for mature recruits from other clubs this year, despite the uncertainty surrounding the size of the salary cap.

The Blues say they will stick to their plan to bring in mature recruits - as they did last year with Jack Martin (Gold Coast) and prodigal son Eddie Betts and attempted with Sydney's Tom Papley - in the knowledge that they will have the salary-cap space to bring in seasoned players who fit their needs.

While the AFL and the clubs do not know what the salary cap will be in 2021 and 2022, the Blues say that, whatever amount is cut by the AFL, it will be proportionate to the space clubs have already, and thus Carlton, with a significant amount of space, will still have room for acquisitions.

Carlton chief executive Cain Liddle said the Blues would have a key focus on "both player retention and acquisition'', with the club able to utilise an "underspend'' in their salary cap from previous years for recruitment or retention of players. Under the rules, clubs can spend up to 5 per cent over the salary cap, if they have not spend that amount in the two previous seasons.

"Football performance is our No.1 priority and will continue to use every lever available to us,'' Liddle told The Age. "We have underspend available and will continue to invest in our list-management strategy with a key focus on both player retention and player acquisition.

"Obviously, we recognise that there is the potential that underspend we have access to may be slightly reduced proportionate to any changes the AFL make with TPP [total player payments].''

The Blues have a 5 per cent "underspend'' available to them in 2021, having planned to spend 105 per cent of the salary cap this year, as the rules allow under the banking system.

Carlton view the midfield as their area of greatest need, although they could well make another bid for Sydney forward Papley, whose wish for a trade was not met by the Swans, who had secured the small forward on a long-term contract and would not trade him unless they were landing Joe Daniher from Essendon.

The Blues made a huge offer for Greater Western Sydney's gun midfielder Stephen Coniglio, who subsequently signed for the Giants for seven years on a multimillion-dollar deal.

Carlton have room in their salary cap for 2021, despite acquiring Martin from the Suns on a hugely front-loaded, five-year deal. While Martin was due to be paid close to $2 million over the first two years - an amount that will be cut, as with all player contracts this year - the total deal was worth about $3.1 million plus incentives over five years.

The Blues would not have front-loaded the Martin contract - a device to get him to them in the pre-season draft - had they landed Papley.

Carlton also traded for ruckman Marc Pittonet from the Hawks, in the recognition that they need some seasoned ruck support for Matthew Kreuzer, 30, who has had significant injuries, and youngster Tom De Koning, whom the club rates highly as a prospect.

The Blues have made significant cuts to their football department since the financial crisis facing football, jettisoning their relationship with the Northern Blues, removing part-time coaches Sav Rocca and Hamish McIntosh and VFL coach Josh Fraser, while also axing two full-time members of their recruiting team.

27-04-2020, 09:43 AM
"The Blues have made significant cuts to their football department since the financial crisis facing football, jettisoning their relationship with the Northern Blues, removing part-time coaches Sav Rocca and Hamish McIntosh and VFL coach Josh Fraser, while also axing two full-time members of their recruiting team."

Well hello.
I would normally stop annoying everyone with my wish for better goal-kicking coaching and accuracy, but it's lockdown time so I'm throwing it out there one more time.

27-04-2020, 09:57 AM
"The Blues have made significant cuts to their football department since the financial crisis facing football, jettisoning their relationship with the Northern Blues, removing part-time coaches Sav Rocca and Hamish McIntosh and VFL coach Josh Fraser, while also axing two full-time members of their recruiting team."

Well hello.
I would normally stop annoying everyone with my wish for better goal-kicking coaching and accuracy, but it's lockdown time so I'm throwing it out there one more time.

For the more progressive clubs now is the time to recruit displaced by talented people from other clubs. Rocca fits that criteria
I just wonder if our goal kicking challenges have really been seen as a priority by the coach? I suspect it's is about as important to him as having some ruck options

27-04-2020, 10:14 AM

Well hello.

Maybe Mission Foods can employ big Sav as chief taco taster but secretly he spends his time teaching the likes of Naughton how to slot sausage rolls?

27-04-2020, 10:16 AM
Maybe Mission Foods can employ big Sav as chief taco taster but secretly he spends his time teaching the likes of Naughton how to slot sausage rolls?
I met Anthony* last year - now I'm 6'2 and 90+kgs and he made me look like a child.
It might be cheaper to pay Sav in gold ingots than in the amount of tacos I reckon the Rocca boys could put away.

* Ripping bloke, one of the good guys.

27-04-2020, 11:04 AM

Sav’s food of choice is Ice cream and ice magic.

He was asked on RSN when he kicked 90 odd goals one year what did he change. And his answer was ice cream!

27-04-2020, 12:36 PM
I met Anthony* last year - now I'm 6'2 and 90+kgs and he made me look like a child.
It might be cheaper to pay Sav in gold ingots than in the amount of tacos I reckon the Rocca boys could put away.

Both the Roccas are nice guys. Let's get Sav onboard, I am all for that. He is the Twodogs gold standard goalkicking coach. I love what he did with Casboult. A few very simple (it is extraordinarily easy to load up too much information) rules got the job done.

27-04-2020, 12:51 PM

I walked past Anthony while I was working at Marvel one night. I was wearing a ballistic vest and carrying a firerarm, baton and an OC Spray. I've never felt so physically insignificant.

13-09-2020, 03:14 PM
Watching Carlton getting spanked by Adelaide (at the moment), I was thinking can we entice any players to the Dogs and who would we chase? After all their number one draft picks, and years of losing, not making finals, there may be a few players who want a change of scenery.

13-09-2020, 03:17 PM
Cripps would be handy. :)

13-09-2020, 09:46 PM
Watching Carlton getting spanked by Adelaide (at the moment), I was thinking can we entice any players to the Dogs and who would we chase? After all their number one draft picks, and years of losing, not making finals, there may be a few players who want a change of scenery.

I wouldn't mind de Koning. Looks the ideal ruck/forward partner for Tim English.

Perhaps we could swap him for double Josh (Bruce and Schache)

13-09-2020, 09:54 PM
I wouldn't mind de Koning. Looks the ideal ruck/forward partner for Tim English.

Perhaps we could swap him for double Josh (Bruce and Schache)

Not a bad idea. Getting De Koning that is. I don't think Carlton would consider taking either Josh off our hands.

13-09-2020, 09:57 PM
Not a bad idea. Getting De Koning that is. I don't think Carlton would consider taking either Josh off our hands.

Well I know I wouldn't if I was them.

Surely Terry can put in a word. I would even accept Sam from Geelong to get a Bulldog family where they belong. Someone else can work out the detail.

13-09-2020, 10:02 PM
Well I know I wouldn't if I was them.

Surely Terry can put in a word. I would even accept Sam from Geelong to get a Bulldog family where they belong. Someone else can work out the detail.

Yeah we are ideas guys! The club pays people to pay attention to the details.

13-09-2020, 10:06 PM
Absolutely not, given we couldn't land folks that they landed preseason there's no way we'll land anyone they have now given they think they're the next big thing in the AFL.

Let's just sit back and wait until they find out just how *!*!*!*!ing hard it is to be good in this competition and actually spend years as a middling team before they eventually might challenge for top four.

The Blues won't make a prelim in Cripps time in all likelihood.

29-06-2021, 04:18 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E5A4AxhUYAglRnA?format=jpg&name=large

29-06-2021, 04:29 PM
Sure Weitering is on a good wicket. If not, we should see if he wants a good wicket with us.

If not for Collingwood, their list management would be ‘the’ head scratcher borne of over estimating their list.

29-06-2021, 04:41 PM
There are quite a few head scratchers there but handing an injury prone medium forward averaging 1.4 goals a game a 5 year $800k deal is hall of fame territory. Billy Gowers got delisted with a similar record. Perhaps someone in the back office got Mitch mixed up with Jeremy?

29-06-2021, 08:38 PM
Other than Walsh and MacKay, the rest of that list has not played their best footy or got injured. What a headache they have!

Its staggering only Martin is paid less than 500K, and the rest are over 500K. Only MacKay and Walsh would be worth their $$ on current form.

8 players on estimated total of $ 5.15 M, for maximum 44 players on list.

2021 Salary Cap: Player payments, including ASAs, are $13,165,950 = 39% of Cap
2022 Salary Cap: Player payments for 2022 are slated to be $14,769,322 = 35%

With reference to Age Article
https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/salary-cap-score-the-afl-clubs-that-do-and-don-t-have-room-20210327-p57em2.html

29-06-2021, 08:44 PM
Other than Walsh and MacKay, the rest of that list has not played their best footy or got injured. What a headache they have!

Its staggering only Martin is paid less than 500K, and the rest are over 500K. Only MacKay and Walsh would be worth their $$ on current form.

8 players on estimated total of $ 5.15 M

2021 Salary Cap: Player payments, including ASAs, are $13,165,950 = 39% of Cap
2022 Salary Cap: Player payments for 2022 are slated to be $14,769,322 = 35%

With reference to Age Article
https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/salary-cap-score-the-afl-clubs-that-do-and-don-t-have-room-20210327-p57em2.html

I think Martin was front loaded, so got a big chunk of his money early

30-06-2021, 12:07 AM
Yep, he was the highest paid Martin in the comp last year - even more than Dusty

30-06-2021, 10:27 AM
$1m in his first season so no other club could match him and he could walk to thd PSD

Carlton are paying something like $2.5m for four flankers. Crazy money for positions that aren't the hardest ones to fill on an AFL list, especially when they traded a king's ransom for Liam Stocker as a mid and they're playing him off the HB line too.

30-06-2021, 10:47 AM
Their list management will be a basket case in a few years.

30-06-2021, 10:51 AM
$1m in his first season so no other club could match him and he could walk to thd PSD

Carlton are paying something like $2.5m for four flankers. Crazy money for positions that aren't the hardest ones to fill on an AFL list, especially when they traded a king's ransom for Liam Stocker as a mid and they're playing him off the HB line too.

Couldn't happen to a better club

30-06-2021, 11:06 AM
They have had a tragic recent history.

30-06-2021, 11:13 AM
They have had a tragic recent history.

Irrelevant club now.

30-06-2021, 06:49 PM

That's a great observation. We have relocated players there and it has rejuvenated them to find a place in the team: M.Boyd, Bailey Dale, Roarke, Hayes

Williams has really matured in this role.

Recruited solid defenders in Crozier and Duryea

We must be doing some things right at developing players in the backline, well done to the coaching staff.

30-06-2021, 07:41 PM
Their list management will be a basket case in a few years.

It’s in pretty bad shape in the here and now!!!

30-06-2021, 07:44 PM
It’s in pretty bad shape in the here and now!!!

I was thinking it couldn't get any worse.

30-06-2021, 07:54 PM
Irrelevant club now.

They still call themselves part of the big four.

30-06-2021, 08:23 PM

That so called big four is impressive

Carlton - longest current stretch without making a GF (shared with North their 1999 successful opponent)
Essendon - Longest current stretch without winning a final
Collingwood - Current best example of how to self destruct.

Plus Richmond, who have found recent success after years in the wilderness.

30-06-2021, 08:26 PM

They still complain about the penalty for getting caught salary cap cheating. But whoa. Back the *!*!*!*! up. Really, they identify themselves equal with a systemic drug cheating team that hasn’t won a final in 300,000 days and brought shame to the code - and - a horribly racist, woefully mismanaged from sacking a coach not long after winning a flag with a young list, wide illicit drug use over the years, poor injury management and only missing the salary cap by about 200%.

Kind of like boasting about being in the top 4 Neo Nazis for 2021.

I’m happy for us to be Cleo’s Most Eligible Club 2021.

30-06-2021, 11:12 PM

The caravan parks?

https://www.big4.com.au/

01-07-2021, 02:29 AM
They still complain about the penalty for getting caught salary cap cheating. But whoa. Back the *!*!*!*! up. Really, they identify themselves equal with a systemic drug cheating team that hasn’t won a final in 300,000 days and brought shame to the code - and - a horribly racist, woefully mismanaged from sacking a coach not long after winning a flag with a young list, wide illicit drug use over the years, poor injury management and only missing the salary cap by about 200%.

Kind of like boasting about being in the top 4 Neo Nazis for 2021.

I’m happy for us to be Cleo’s Most Eligible Club 2021.

Popularity comes at a cost, right!

Then there's Hawthorn, the family club, that sucks money out of the pockets of pokies addicted people at an industrial rate. With a president that apparently understands mental illness (or whatever he thinks he understands) but does what he can to gaslight his staff and label homosexual people unfit to act as trainers at footy clubs.......

I can see why they want to join such an illustrious group.

01-07-2021, 08:18 AM

Then there's Hawthorn, the family club, that sucks money out of the pockets of pokies addicted people at an industrial rate. With a president that apparently understands mental illness (or whatever he thinks he understands) but does what he can to gaslight his staff and label homosexual people unfit to act as trainers at footy clubs.......

Politics aside, he's a detestable human. Just the worst.

01-07-2021, 10:03 AM

Joke of a club, abhorrent man.

21-08-2021, 04:10 PM
Sacking Teague on the cards for tomorrow.

21-08-2021, 05:05 PM
Sacking Teague on the cards for tomorrow.

I think they should be trying to support him more but they will probably take the short cut and bring Lyon in.

21-08-2021, 05:12 PM
I think they should be trying to support him more but they will probably take the short cut and bring Lyon in.

Teagues manager (Pickering) sprayed everyone today including Carlton and Lyon. He’s done.

21-08-2021, 05:26 PM
Teagues manager (Pickering) sprayed everyone today including Carlton and Lyon. He’s done.

Lyon gives long winded and not clearly defined answers when questioned about his coaching ambitions.

21-08-2021, 06:21 PM
The good thing is that it looks like Carlton are going to go for the messiah coach because they think they are better than what they are and in doing so are locking themselves in for another three years of misery. And bog ugly and boring footy.

24-08-2021, 02:53 AM
Lyon gives long winded and not clearly defined answers

Fixed :)

24-08-2021, 08:05 PM
Fixed :)

Beat me to it.

25-08-2021, 01:19 AM
Any casual viewer like me with 5 minutes to watch Cornes or Lloyd or others casually dissect Carlton and half an idea of what Footy is about can tell it would be good for Carlton players to have to stick with their coach. Their effort is not good enough.
Sacking the coach allows them to shift the blame.

Should be in the wilderness for a good while yet.

25-08-2021, 04:37 PM
Lyon gives long winded and not clearly defined answers when questioned about his coaching ambitions.

He always shouts on footy classified too. Hang on Ross we can put the volume up if we can't hear you. Or maybe put the volume down when Ross appears.

25-08-2021, 04:40 PM
The good thing is that it looks like Carlton are going to go for the messiah coach because they think they are better than what they are and in doing so are locking themselves in for another three years of misery. And bog ugly and boring footy.

Just like it didn't help when they got rid of Ratten and appointed Malthouse

25-08-2021, 04:48 PM
Word is Clarkson isn’t into them at all.

25-08-2021, 04:49 PM
Word is Clarkson isn’t into them at all.

Statement today from Clarkson, he is taking a year off

25-08-2021, 04:53 PM
Statement today from Clarkson, he is taking a year off

I would too if I had a million and working in coaching meant cutting it back. I think he might have some potentially juicer options next year too.

25-08-2021, 04:56 PM
I would too if I had a million and working in coaching meant cutting it back. I think he might have some potentially juicer options next year too.

He could do a deal now. Carlton stick with Teague and he comes in next year?

25-08-2021, 04:59 PM
He could do a deal now. Carlton stick with Teague and he comes in next year?

That would destroy their club. So I’m all for it.

25-08-2021, 05:05 PM
That would destroy their club. So I’m all for it.

Essendon and Carlton my number one hated teams. GWS is different, hate them differently, it is a rivalry hate.

I won't be able to stand it if we lose Sunday.

26-08-2021, 12:23 AM
Just like it didn't help when they got rid of Ratten and appointed Malthouse

Lyon coming out and saying he had guys like Steve Kernahan telling him he should be coach would have to be warning enough, wouldn't it?

26-08-2021, 10:45 AM
Coach has been sacked.

26-08-2021, 10:47 AM
Lyon coming out and saying he had guys like Steve Kernahan telling him he should be coach would have to be warning enough, wouldn't it?

I think Lyon should be one of the 18 coaches. He's gotten 2x clubs to Grand Finals...2x clubs who have basically been perennially terrible when anyone other than him was the coach.

He will get Carlton to defend and they will become a top 8 side basically straight away.

I feel a touch sorry for Teague given the 'review' and the way it played out adjacent to the season but I think Carlton doomed him from the start due to the circumstances of his appt.

26-08-2021, 10:57 AM
Coach has been sacked.

I hope there’s some disenfranchised Carlton players. Time to start ringing a few player agents.

26-08-2021, 11:32 AM
Teague has been hung out to dry in a terrible fashion.
Their defensive system is terrible so questions have to be asked but has any coach been treated in a worse fashion by their own club in living memory?

Let's not forget he is a staunch Carlton man, a former B&F winner and as a player was considered the 'most courageous' player in the comp more than once by his peers.

I hate Carlton but I do feel for Teague.

26-08-2021, 12:29 PM
https://www.afl.com.au/news/662277

Teague gone. Fifth coach to depart in 9 years.

Carlton are the gift that keep on giving.

26-08-2021, 12:32 PM
An relevant club. Pigs arse!!

26-08-2021, 12:32 PM
I think Lyon will be a terrific coach for them personally. Not a fan myself, he comes across as a pig of a bloke but he'd straighten them up quick smart.

26-08-2021, 12:38 PM
I think Lyon will be a terrific coach for them personally. Not a fan myself, he comes across as a pig of a bloke but he'd straighten them up quick smart.

Cerra apparently not willing to go to Carlton if Lyon is appointed.

26-08-2021, 12:41 PM
Cerra apparently not willing to go to Carlton if Lyon is appointed.

Would look good in R,W&B.

26-08-2021, 01:01 PM
Would look good in R,W&B.

Good idea , how would we trade for him ?

One of tbe reasons carlton sacked Bolton because he was trying to instill a defensive skillset into a young team
Teague sacking ,, with one of the reasons circulating they had no defensive system

Sure Rose lyon will fix it , amd they will be on tbe way to be one of the most boring teams to watch.

I still dont understand why they got rid of Rattem , the players highly respected him.

26-08-2021, 01:04 PM
I think Lyon should be one of the 18 coaches. He's gotten 2x clubs to Grand Finals...2x clubs who have basically been perennially terrible when anyone other than him was the coach.

He will get Carlton to defend and they will become a top 8 side basically straight away.

I feel a touch sorry for Teague given the 'review' and the way it played out adjacent to the season but I think Carlton doomed him from the start due to the circumstances of his appt.

I think Lyon's a good coach, though it's not as if he took over a basket case when he went to St Kilda - who had made the 04 and 05 preliminary finals and the finals in 06 when Thomas was sacked. He did a great job at Fremantle but they weren't a team bereft of talent, while the Saints were fairly endowed at the top end as well.

Agree with you that he'll get Carlton to defend, but I don't think it'll be enough for them to play finals. There's just too many other teams who are better.

Anyway, this is so on-brand for Carlton. I look forward to history repeating in three years time.

26-08-2021, 02:09 PM
I think Lyon's a good coach, though it's not as if he took over a basket case when he went to St Kilda - who had made the 04 and 05 preliminary finals and the finals in 06 when Thomas was sacked. He did a great job at Fremantle but they weren't a team bereft of talent, while the Saints were fairly endowed at the top end as well.

Agree with you that he'll get Carlton to defend, but I don't think it'll be enough for them to play finals. There's just too many other teams who are better.

Anyway, this is so on-brand for Carlton. I look forward to history repeating in three years time.

They never learn, do they?

There's more to that club than the coaches and players. They've never properly moved on from the arrogance of the John Elliott era. They've got no clue how to reestablish a culture.

Gold Coast will win a final before this mob.

26-08-2021, 02:15 PM

There's more to that club than the coaches and players. They've never properly moved on from the arrogance of the John Elliott era. They've got no clue how to reestablish a culture.

If you've still got power brokers who remember the good old days when cheating had a blind eye turned towards it, you could bully your way to the best recruiting zones and just get out the cheque book to land the players you wanted then you're not going to get very far.

29-08-2021, 10:50 PM
Bucks firming.
It would be hilarious if he was selected

29-08-2021, 10:50 PM
Bucks firming.

Surely not?

29-08-2021, 11:26 PM
Bucks firming.

Poor Ross.

30-08-2021, 12:45 AM

Essendon will win a final before Carlton!

10-09-2021, 01:55 PM
Now they’ve sacked their CEO. Who was on the coach replacement committee…

What a joke of a club.

10-09-2021, 02:04 PM
Carlton. The gift that keeps on giving.

10-09-2021, 02:14 PM
I think John Elliott said it best #tragicclub.

10-09-2021, 03:03 PM
Now they’ve sacked their CEO. Who was on the coach replacement committee…

What a joke of a club.

Might this decision bring Lyon back into the picture?

10-09-2021, 03:05 PM
Might this decision bring Lyon back into the picture?

After he ruled himself out. I would watch that with glee. It’s a dumpster fire at this stage. They would want to land Cerra to deflect their members from their rage.

10-09-2021, 03:16 PM
They're still paying almost $3m pa on four flankers they traded in from other clubs in the immediate future.
I'm watching with glee.

10-09-2021, 03:18 PM
Why on earth would Cerra or any player want to go there.

10-09-2021, 04:01 PM

$$$$

10-09-2021, 04:02 PM

Contracts, third party contracts and brown paper bags.

It's clear they've found ways to keep doing it because there's simply no other reason.

10-09-2021, 04:58 PM
Contracts, third party contracts and brown paper bags.

It's clear they've found ways to keep doing it because there's simply no other reason.

Judd was Environmental ambassador for Visy.

You can have brand or product ambassador. Environment protection officer.

environment ambassador ????

Can't really recall any products Visy use. Maybe because I am not in that industry

[URL="https://www.carltonfc.com.au/news/308553/visy-appoints-judd-as-environmental-ambassador"]https://www.carltonfc.com.au/news/308553/visy-appoints-judd-as-environmental-ambassador[/UR

10-09-2021, 05:12 PM
Judd was Environmental ambassador for Visy.

You can have brand or product ambassador. Environment protection officer.

environment ambassador ????

Can't really recall any products Visy use. Maybe because I am not in that industry

[URL="https://www.carltonfc.com.au/news/308553/visy-appoints-judd-as-environmental-ambassador"]https://www.carltonfc.com.au/news/308553/visy-appoints-judd-as-environmental-ambassador[/UR

Visy as a packaging company have always specialised in Brown Paper Bags

10-09-2021, 05:43 PM

The story writes itself.

Too me, any integrity the AFL claims to have is demolished by their ignoring what is blatantly going on.

10-09-2021, 06:00 PM
The story writes itself.

Too me, any integrity the AFL claims to have is demolished by their ignoring what is blatantly going on.
I have seen what Bevo, Bont and Ellie Blackburn drive and strongly urge you to shuuuuut... up....

10-09-2021, 07:43 PM
I have seen what Bevo, Bont and Ellie Blackburn drive and strongly urge you to shuuuuut... up....

Lol I can't speak for the others but Bont's contract with Mercedes has never been anything but in plain sight.

I wonder if Mrs Bontempelli received a huge payrise for some reason at her job?

10-09-2021, 08:44 PM
This is the thing with taking shortcuts. The more they take they will struggle to get the most out of what is a pretty decent list.

11-09-2021, 12:11 AM

Love your pun

I guess they must have used a lot of that to help ahemm... fund the cause.

18-09-2021, 01:17 AM
Booooooo

https://www.afl.com.au/news/677666/blues-coup-former-cats-ceo-joins-carlton-to-bolster-backroom

Maybe they'll get their act together now

18-09-2021, 01:39 AM
Booooooo

https://www.afl.com.au/news/677666/blues-coup-former-cats-ceo-joins-carlton-to-bolster-backroom

He is 65. Geelong retired him. He has signed a three year deal. Let's see how it goes. They already have tried poaching two highly rated CEOs without success in recent times in Greg Swann and Steven Trigg.

18-09-2021, 01:44 AM
Booooooo

It depends on whether they listen to his advice or not. There's no doubt that he's a good get for them though.

18-09-2021, 08:22 AM
Booooooo

So Carlton. Go after a known name and overlook smart younger types like Sam Power who has previously worked there. I’m happy they didn’t, but this is the cycle perpetuating. Which is good.

18-09-2021, 11:04 AM
So Carlton. Go after a known name and overlook smart younger types like Sam Power who has previously worked there. I’m happy they didn’t, but this is the cycle perpetuating. Which is good.

They will also be paying top dollar.

How does that go with the reduced financial position most clubs are currently in.

18-09-2021, 11:07 AM
They will also be paying top dollar.

How does that go with the reduced financial position most clubs are currently in.

Fingers crossed he can help the Blues pork barrel their way to the top, like he did with Geelong. Is Carlton in a marginal seat these days?

18-09-2021, 02:29 PM
This is actually good news.

He'll be struck by the inherent disadvantages Melbourne based clubs experience relative to Geelong and might realise he doesn't have the energy to turn things around.

20-09-2021, 09:48 PM
First Clarkson says no.
Then Lyon says no.
Then they sack their ceo, who is on the coach selection panel
Then Clarkson says no again and tells the footy world it on 360
All the assistant coaches have left

They have a shitload of work to do putting an entire coaching staff together for preseason which isn’t far off for them. They don’t even have a playing style, systems or game plan as a result. The list manager is going to be doing their own thing without coach input at this stage. This is amateur stuff.

20-09-2021, 09:50 PM
First Clarkson says no.
Then Lyon says no.

They have a shitload of work to do putting an entire coaching staff together for preseason which isn’t far off for them. They don’t even have a playing style, systems or game plan as a result. The list manager is going to be doing their own thing without coach input at this stage. This is amateur stuff.

https://c.tenor.com/DmqpA2NqyB8AAAAd/and-loving-it-get-smart.gif

21-09-2021, 02:28 AM
First Clarkson says no.
Then Lyon says no.

The speculation is that Voss is now the likely front runner to the coaching job.

21-09-2021, 04:00 AM
Clarkson is completely disheveled and cooked. His bags under his eyes tell the story, I've not seen anything like it. He actually needs tissue to be taken from his arse and put on his face.

21-09-2021, 10:53 AM
Clarkson is completely disheveled and cooked. His bags under his eyes tell the story, I've not seen anything like it. He actually needs tissue to be taken from his arse and put on his face.

:D:D:D

your best work is done in the middle of the night

21-09-2021, 03:34 PM
He's about to get paid $900k+ to sit on his arse next year.

Yeah, I'd take that over being the coach of a rabble thanks.

21-09-2021, 03:58 PM
He's about to get paid $900k+ to sit on his arse next year.

Yeah, I'd take that over being the coach of a rabble thanks.

Carlton could have kept Teague for one year more and likely lured Clarko at the end of 2022 without all this BS they've tipped on themselves.

21-09-2021, 04:51 PM
Carlton could have kept Teague for one year more and likely lured Clarko at the end of 2022 without all this BS they've tipped on themselves.

Let them have Voss who is not rated.

21-09-2021, 04:54 PM
The speculation is that Voss is now the likely front runner to the coaching job.

It's not exactly the biggest vote of confidence for an incoming coach, is it?

"We couldn't get Al Clarkson or Ross Lyon but you were our next choice".

21-09-2021, 07:08 PM

The Ross Lyon one probably doesn't come into the equation. The boss was trying to short circuit the process.
Clarkson would beat a lot of other candidates just on his name alone. Bevo would play him on a break now.

21-09-2021, 09:55 PM
First Clarkson says no.
Then Lyon says no.

In a hypothetical world called the AEFL, here is what actually happened

Naysayers : ACalrko come coach us, your best in the biz, we will pay you 1 billion in AEFL tokens a year for 5 years
AClarko: I heard that’s what you told that young fella, Bolta, he lasted 24 months
Naysayers: he wasn’t winning us games, I was telling him, he had to win games
AClarkko: you need a defensive game and some foundations in your squad first.
Naysayers: we haven’t got time for that. InTreague offered he could win us games , so we got rid of Bolta. Couldn’t stand the guy, he was always into processes and the systems. I want downhill skiing type of footy.
AClarko: thanks but no thanks. ( hangs up the phone)

Naysayers calls Bross Lion: hey Bross, you want to coach? Job is yours mate.
BROSS the boss: funny you mention that. I was having a talk to my mate, Leighton Mathieus. The holy one. He pickled my interest back into the coaching

Naysaers: the jobs yours, I just have to clear it with a few people.

Next morning talking with the CEO: Kane BigLittle
Naysayers : We found a new coach, its Bross the Boss. His almost won 2 premierships, except for a shocking turn of luck. Really it was the footy’s fault for not being round, if it was round it would have cleanly bounced across the goal line.
Kane BigLittle: Has he applied through the coaching selection process ? We have a coaching selection panel you know? . You know the one I am on.

Naysayers : we don’t need all this talk. Bross knows footy, his on TV every night talking about it with all the experts like Carott and McClooney. Wtf do you know about winning premierships ?
Kane BigLittle: I just come from a club that won 3 ( coughs , and mentions Richmond)
Nasayers: but you left in 2017 and joined us, so technically you weren’t there ?
Kane BigLittle: I laid the foundations. That what it takes to build a dynasty.
Naysayers: building, whats that ? We are CFC, we can just buy it and they will come. Look at what who we managed to get in: ACeSalad and DIAMOND Williams they going to win us premierships. DiamondWilliams going to dominate the midfield

Kane BigLittle: I beg to differ. You still need to get himto go through the coaching selection process. I am not going to sign off on it.

Naysayers: Well then , your fired!

Later that day on Twitter feedback:
https://twitter.com/AFL/status/1436152563296976922

Naysayers calls BROSS later to tell him the good news.
Naysayers: I cleared it with the CEO, your a good chance, but have to go through the coaching selection panel process.
BROSS: why do I need that ? Its going to mess with my media and burgeoning property empire schedule. Stuff that . Im going to tell the world how busy I am on TV tonight.

Later in the week. CFC sacks their coach for doing what he promised to do: play attacking brand of footy.

2 weeks later, all the assistants coaches are gone.

By the end of September AClarko had to go on national TV to ask CFC to stop harassing him to become their coach. No amount of begging or even generous employment "opportunities" with BVisy. His got gainful enjoyment with his 1 mio a year payoff from generous HFC.

22-09-2021, 12:59 AM

"And we asked Al Clarkson 12 times just to make sure. Actually he had to go on TV in the end and say no just to get the message across. In fact we'll probably keep asking him even after you've taken the job.

22-09-2021, 01:00 AM

He's probably been hiding under a bush to avoid Carlton.

23-09-2021, 12:45 PM
Voss just named as new Carlton head coach.

23-09-2021, 12:54 PM
I actually like Voss.
I don't think head coach is the only problem at Carlton.

They kind of rebuilt, then traded in a bunch of guys on big contracts. Incoherence is their problem.

23-09-2021, 01:55 PM
So the coach infamous for tanking a whole club through frenetic player movement gets hired by the club most susceptible to frenetic player movement. This should end well.

23-09-2021, 10:23 PM
John Elliott has died aged 79.

23-09-2021, 10:28 PM

So he wasn’t a fan of the Voss appointment?

23-09-2021, 10:29 PM

Tragic man, tragic history

24-09-2021, 12:36 AM
He'd had it up to here with our tragic history

24-09-2021, 02:39 AM
He couldn't bare watch our so called tragic club win another flag in 5 years so he tapped out. What a tragic man.

24-09-2021, 06:47 PM
I heard some very fawning interviews and media discussion re uis passing this morning. Just to balance the ledger:

https://www.crikey.com.au/2021/09/24/the-seedy-rise-and-fall-of-john-elliotts-tottering-empire/?utm_campaign=Daily&utm_medium=email&utm_source=newsletter

24-09-2021, 07:57 PM
I heard some very fawning interviews and media discussion re uis passing this morning. Just to balance the ledger:

https://www.crikey.com.au/2021/09/24/the-seedy-rise-and-fall-of-john-elliotts-tottering-empire/?utm_campaign=Daily&utm_medium=email&utm_source=newsletter
An arrogant, racist, sexist buffoon who should have been jailed (like more than one Carlton president).

26-09-2021, 08:11 AM
Apparently Cerra has nominated Carlton as his preference and the Blues are confident they will add Hewett as well.
An offer of a 4 x 450k deal for Hewett might be sufficient.

Voss is getting off to a fast start if they land Cerra and Hewett to Walsh, Cripps, Martin and Newnes. I'm not sure that that means for Dow, Setterfield, Curnow and Stocker.

They'll just about have to Sam Petrevski-Seton go to free up some room.

27-09-2021, 02:29 AM
An arrogant, racist, sexist buffoon who should have been jailed (like more than one Carlton president).

TBT Beast Mode enabled.

Thoroughly agree, legendary summary of a complete piece of shit.

27-09-2021, 08:53 AM
TBT Beast Mode enabled.

Thoroughly agree, legendary summary of a complete piece of shit.

I concur

27-09-2021, 08:05 PM
Years ago I was playing cricket at a ground near the Shrine (beautiful ground, has a bluestone wall half covering it at the back. Aesthetically one of the most pleasing grounds I have ever played at) Anyway it was stinking hot so one of the other guys who was already out and me went to 7-11 to grab slurpees. As we approached a group of people sitting outside a cafe I recognised John Elliott's voice and realised that it was him and Derryn Hinch sitting there with a carafe of wine between them.

This is when the guy I was with went absolutely off-tap screaming abuse and as he ran towards them I realise for the first time that he had bought his bat along with him and was swinging it above his head while yelling "Elliot you *!*!*!*!ing *!*!*!*!, I've been waiting years for this day. You're about to cop yours you prick"

Luckily I managed to bring him down from behind and get the bat away from him before he did any physical damage! Elliott and Hinch were just sitting there with their jaws on the ground.

27-09-2021, 08:19 PM
Years ago I was playing cricket at a ground near the Shrine (beautiful ground, has a bluestone wall half covering it at the back. Aesthetically one of the most pleasing grounds I have ever played at) Anyway it was stinking hot so one of the other guys who was already out and me went to 7-11 to grab slurpees. As we approached a group of people sitting outside a cafe I recognised John Elliott's voice and realised that it was him and Derryn Hinch sitting there with a carafe of wine between them.

This is when the guy I was with went absolutely off-tap screaming abuse and as he ran towards them I realise for the first time that he had bought his bat along with him and was swinging it above his head while yelling "Elliot you *!*!*!*!ing *!*!*!*!, I've been waiting years for this day. You're about to cop yours you prick"

Luckily I managed to bring him down from behind and get the bat away from him before he did any physical damage! Elliott and Hinch were just sitting there with their jaws on the ground.

Should have just let him go.

I kid, but only a little. Two worse humans I struggle to think of.

27-09-2021, 08:31 PM
Should have just let him go.

I kid, but only a little. Two worse humans I struggle to think of.

The thing that raised my eyebrows was Hinch who had just had a liver transplant was not only drinking red wine but was in a about with a well known drunkard like Elliott.

I would have let him go but we needed him to keep when we were all out. I don't know if the other mob would have let us field a 12th man because one of our guys got locked up for beating someone to death. Sometimes it pays to be pragmatic.

27-09-2021, 08:36 PM
The thing that raised my eyebrows was Hinch who had just had a liver transplant was not only drinking red wine but was in a about with a well known drunkard like Elliott.

I would have let him go but we needed him to keep when we were all out. I don't know if the other mob would have let us field a 12th man because one of our guys got locked up for beating someone to death. Sometimes it pays to be pragmatic.

Hinch is a hypocrite, fraud, charlatan and liar. After being sacked from every job he's every had and lost every intimate relationship he's ever been involved in, he still thinks everyone else in the room is the idiot.

He's never got off the wine either. He's a joke.

27-09-2021, 08:52 PM
Hinch is a hypocrite, fraud, charlatan and liar. After being sacked from every job he's every had and lost every intimate relationship he's ever been involved in, he still thinks everyone else in the room is the idiot.

He's never got off the wine either. He's a joke.

I know someone who used his resources to get elected to the Victorian upper house as a Justice Party candidate and then promptly quit his party to sit as an independent!

I have never agreed with her politics but I've always voted for her at local council elections because she does what she says she will do and she will listen to other people's ideas. Dicking Hinch around was just gravy as far as I'm concerned.

Oh and she's a huge bulldog supporter!

06-10-2021, 03:09 PM
And now they poached Hansen.
Still throwing dirty money around.

08-10-2021, 06:35 PM
I know someone who used his resources to get elected to the Victorian upper house as a Justice Party candidate and then promptly quit his party to sit as an independent!

I have never agreed with her politics but I've always voted for her at local council elections because she does what she says she will do and she will listen to other people's ideas. Dicking Hinch around was just gravy as far as I'm concerned.

Oh and she's a huge bulldog supporter!

Didn't she crack the sads that Stuart Grimley got the leadership over her?

Worked with Stu a couple of times. Good fella

08-10-2021, 08:29 PM
Didn't she crack the sads that Stuart Grimley got the leadership over her?

Worked with Stu a couple of times. Good fella

I think that she may have done actually.

11-10-2021, 03:56 PM
Probably not surprising to hear from the inside the place was a rabble this year. Hope Gibbons gets another chance somewhere.

‘Bitterly disappointed’ Blue opens up exit meeting, ‘incredibly stressful’ club culture (https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/teams/carlton-blues/afl-news-2021-michael-gibbons-delisted-carlton-list-offseason-changes-comments-about-club-david-teauge-bad-culture/news-story/d692cfefd0e622c79e1b1e2af2b55b6b?fbclid=IwAR0a27jtAWCtewkGxn _xGWXpU7LPZpIL_eV9_GA_8c4bbyGhmzo9MfCMmCY)

Delisted Carlton player Michael Gibbons says he was “bitterly disappointed” with the club’s reasoning for cutting him and admitted the highly-publicised footy department review had a significant impact on the club this season.

Gibbons’ perseverance to become an AFL player was one of Carlton’s feel-good stories over the past three years, coming in as a pre-season pick in 2019 and playing 47 games, quickly becoming a fan favourite before the Blues’ decision to delist him.

While admitting he could see the “writing on the wall”, Gibbons said he was baffled when the club told him his best spot was in the midfield, given he was used almost exclusively as a small forward despite being elevated from the VFL as an elite onballer.

“When I first got there I was a pretty dominant midfielder in the VFL. ‘Bolts’ (Brendon Bolton) was in charge when I first got there and the need for a small pressure forward was basically the only way I could get a spot on the list,” he explained on SEN Breakfast.

“So I went for that, but then in the end, the three years I spent there, I was solely focused on that and I genuinely enjoyed putting time into that.

“In the end, when they gave me the flick, the justification that they saw me as a good midfielder and that I play my best footy in the midfield disappointed me a bit. They said they see me as a really good midfielder, but I never played one minute in the midfield for the Blues unfortunately.

“It never really occurred to me at the time because I was happy playing as a forward and learning the craft that way and thought I was contributing that way. In the end they sort of didn’t see it that way I guess.”

Gibbons, a two-time VFL best and fairest player, said he’d put his case forward to new senior coach Michael Voss, but held “no grudges” against him for the final decision to part ways.

It has been an eventful season for the Blues, with an external review into the football department resulting in the departure of coach David Teague, while the club has changed its president and CEO heading into 2022.

Speaking about the review, which became one of the season’s biggest storylines, Gibbons said the focus on the club had taken its toll.

“It was incredibly stressful,” he said.

“If you talk to anyone throughout that time, a lot of people will try and play it off, but you’ve got coaches who don’t know if they’ll be there next year having to perform weekly and stay positive and players in the same position.

“It creates a, I wouldn’t say toxic (environment), but it’s pretty unspoken to a point, but when you sit down and have a chat to blokes towards the latter end of the year, it was getting to everyone.

“It’s no fault of the media, but it was in the media every day and it becomes a bit of a cycle.”

The 26-year-old said he felt Teague was “pretty hard done by”.

Gibbons said he is “100 per cent” committed to trying to find another AFL club to continue his career at, having made it at the highest level against the odds before.