View Full Version : Blast from the past.

05-01-2020, 12:13 AM
I thought it would be interesting finding some old clips from the past to get the footy juices flowing.
I'll start with this one.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SM7rFc3xqLo

06-01-2020, 07:29 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F5xI_CNVKNE

06-01-2020, 09:15 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F5xI_CNVKNE

I was there, 10 years old standing on the concrete steps and freezing my a*** off!

It was awesome.

06-01-2020, 09:52 AM
I thought it would be interesting finding some old clips from the past to get the footy juices flowing.
I'll start with this one.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SM7rFc3xqLo

This was a brilliant game. Collingwood had won something like ten in a row, and along we came to upset them. Pies were on top of the ladder and won the premiership that year. I was sitting in the pocket with my mate where Koly took on Wright and it was pure ecstasy watching him run around and kick a goal.

It was also the year after the attempted takeover by Fitzroy, and we only just missed the finals.

06-01-2020, 12:27 PM
I reckon that this is the best team I have seen. Obviously we blow them away like they are a bit of toilet paper stuck to our shoe.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CgbzkMlyDOw

06-01-2020, 12:33 PM
And same time and place just a year before. There's a bit of a contrast!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VSMKHyDr4ZA

06-01-2020, 02:39 PM
I reckon that this is the best team I have seen. Obviously we blow them away like they are a bit of toilet paper stuck to our shoe.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CgbzkMlyDOw

The comment on Youtube:

At Western (now Whitten) Oval Essendon 11.18 (84) went down to their bogie side Footscray 18.17 (125) watched on by a crowd of 33,677 on Saturday April 27.

I can remember being packed in like a sardine.

06-01-2020, 04:57 PM
The comment on Youtube:

At Western (now Whitten) Oval Essendon 11.18 (84) went down to their bogie side Footscray 18.17 (125) watched on by a crowd of 33,677 on Saturday April 27.

Hard to remember a better crowd one of my top ten favourite H&A wins

06-01-2020, 07:15 PM
The comment on Youtube:

It was impossible to move. There were people hanging off the advertising hoardings at the Geelong rd end-people just kept pouring in.

07-01-2020, 03:02 PM
Another great game v Essendon

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hO4Q6I1q9tY

07-01-2020, 03:03 PM
Saints over run and Max Hudghton cries like a baby

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F9yTriddkIs

08-01-2020, 06:13 PM
Saints over run and Max Hudghton cries like a baby

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F9yTriddkIs

Sadly that gave me about 1000 reasons why I don’t like Bruce “ captain obvious” Macavaney.
Saints two goals down kick the next two and his response was they needed them !

08-01-2020, 09:34 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MFwUVqS1Wp4

08-01-2020, 11:12 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a8EHMWxV2MM

08-01-2020, 11:15 PM
"that's one!" Steve Wallis yells into the face of a semi comatose Brett Heady at 1.01.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IUZe_CssU4U

11-01-2020, 06:22 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=36NFOffOlyg

I maybe bias but I think North did alright by the umps.

13-01-2020, 11:33 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=00B4ujL4wT4

15-01-2020, 05:59 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7JlV5T0foDA

How Minson ended up with the shot for goal in the Richmond draw I will never know. :D

18-03-2020, 12:23 PM
https://m.facebook.com/830731606973828/photos/a.830830433630612/2959019414145026/?type=3&source=48
Footscray v Tasmania in 1979.