View Full Version : WB Game Day V St. Kilda R2 2020

27-05-2020, 08:41 PM
Footy is back once again!

Predictions for the Margin, our first goal and our best on ground per usual.

Go Bulldogs!!

https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/703433/the-last-five-st-kilda

The last five: St Kilda
The Western Bulldogs will not only be looking to bounce back from a Round 1 loss this Sunday – they’ll also be hoping to make amends for a last-up loss to St Kilda.
7 hrs ago

The Western Bulldogs will not only be looking to bounce back from a Round 1 loss this Sunday – they’ll also be hoping to make amends for a last-up loss to St Kilda.

The Saints, who also lost their opening game of the 2020 season, got the better of the Dogs when they last met, in Round 18 last year.

The two teams have met at Marvel Stadium in 12 straight games, with each side winning six games.

Here’s a look at the last five times the Bulldogs and Saints have met:

2019 – Round 18 (Saints 116 defeated Bulldogs 89)

The Bulldogs were on their late-season march to the finals when they were stunned by an early St Kilda surge at Marvel Stadium. An 11-goal first half was the Dogs’ undoing, with the 43-point half time deficit too much to overcome. There were positives though – Bailey Dale booted five goals and Josh Dunkley and Jack Macrae combined for 72 disposals and 15 clearances.

2018 – Round 20 (Bulldogs 103 defeated Saints 68)

A scintillating third quarter burst from the Dogs was the feature of this contest after just four points separated the teams at half time. Marcus Bontempelli caught fire in the premiership quarter, booting four goals for the term – one of eight majors for the Bulldogs. Jason Johannisen had a day out, collecting a career-high 42 disposals.

2017 – Round 10 (Bulldogs 90 defeated Saints 50)

The Bulldogs scored a comfortable victory, winning all four quarters on the back of a five-goal haul from Jake Stringer. 13 Bulldogs amassed 20 or more possessions in the game, led by Johannisen with 29, who also had eight rebound 50s and kicked a goal.

2016 – Round 18 (Saints 75 defeated Bulldogs 60)

An unforgettable night for the Bulldogs, for all the wrong reasons. Not only were they beaten on the scoreboard, but the Dogs endured horrific injuries to Jack Redpath (torn ACL) and Mitch Wallis (broken leg) which left Marvel Stadium in a state of shock. Scores were tied late in the third quarter, but St Kilda kicked the last two goals of the game to secure victory.

2016 – Round 2 (Bulldogs 93 defeated Saints 36)

The Dogs recorded their biggest win against St Kilda in 13 years, restricting them to just five goals for the evening. Tom Boyd booted three goals and Lachie Hunter had a game-high 35 disposals as the Bulldogs led from start to finish.

09-06-2020, 08:45 PM

09-06-2020, 08:54 PM
I’ve got no idea on how this is going to play out
All I’ll say is we’d need to be a hell of a lot better than what we’ve been the last few games
Dogs by 1 pt

09-06-2020, 08:59 PM
I’ve got no idea on how this is going to play out
All I’ll say is we’d need to be a hell of a lot better than what we’ve been the last few games
Dogs by 1 pt

Yeah will be interesting to see how we go. I won’t be surprised if we are a little rusty but I want a much better effort than what we dished up in Round 1.

09-06-2020, 09:25 PM
We'll get jumped early by a more prepared team and spend the game playing catch up to lose by 22 points in an uninspired performance.

First goal: Bruce.

Our best: Daniel

09-06-2020, 10:40 PM
Dogs by 13
First Goal: Dale
BOG: Macrae

09-06-2020, 10:49 PM
WB by 18
First goal Lloyd
BOG Wood

10-06-2020, 09:53 AM
Saints by 4 pts

10-06-2020, 12:46 PM
We'll get jumped early by a more prepared team and spend the game playing catch up to lose by 22 points in an uninspired performance.

Our best: Daniel

If only tattslotto was that predictable :D

11-06-2020, 10:45 AM

Our best: Daniel playing tne percentages, I agree.

11-06-2020, 11:36 AM
Have got concerns around English against Marshall & Ryder (if he plays) and Hill on the outside. Our midfield group is better on paper, but I don't think we can have any trust in how they apply themselves on any given day right now.

Think St Kilda will win this one.

11-06-2020, 12:30 PM
Bevo to swing the axe

Luke Beveridge has signalled 4-6 changes from round one. Libba, Jong and Lipinski firmly in the mix.

Every single player on the list is out there for the warm up today, including Garcia, Duryea and R. Smith despite being on the injury list.

11-06-2020, 01:44 PM
I want to believe. But I don't trust us, yet.

Saints win a deeply frustrating game by 13 points.

First goal: Brooooce
BOG: Crozier

Particularly keen to see how Keath fares.

11-06-2020, 08:11 PM
IN
Billy Gowers,
Ed Richards,
Jordon Sweet,
Laitham Vandermeer,
Lin Jong,
Patrick Lipinski,
Will Hayes

OUT
Easton Wood (Injured),
Lachie Hunter (Suspension),
Lewis Young (Omitted)

Very happy to see Vandermeer in the side. I think he'll be a good player for us. I don't see what we see in Gardner, not sure what happened during the time off period but feel Lew Young must not have come back in peak shape to get omitted and he stays in.

Could Sweet be a chance?

11-06-2020, 08:39 PM
With very little confidence

Dogs by 17 points
BOG: Bont
First goal: Wallis

I will become more enthusiastic should we win and play well this Sunday. Right now I still have the remaining sour level of taste in my mouth from our distant round 1 performance. The team selection doesn't inspire me either.
I really, really hope the MC have got this right.

12-06-2020, 12:10 PM
The selected team looks poor. I do hope we win but,
Saints by 35
Our best Bont
First goal Gowers

12-06-2020, 12:34 PM
It's like we don't even want to win.

Saints by 20.
BOG Bonti
First goal Bruce

12-06-2020, 12:40 PM
Dogs by 7 in an game that feels like we lost.
BOG Dunkley.
First goal Naughton.

12-06-2020, 12:50 PM
The Collingwood game stripped all the confidence I had that this could be our year.

We now have AGAIN team selection that defies logic and looks more like experimentation than actually picking the best team to win.

Don't feel good about it.

Saints to win.
Can't tip a first goal as I am not certain we will actually kick any.

Hope I am proven wrong, but hope is all I have.

12-06-2020, 02:07 PM
So we have more people picking St Kilda than us in a game we are clear favourites to win. :confused:

I'm not exactly brimming with confidence but my god you are a pessimistic bunch.

12-06-2020, 02:15 PM
Dogs by 8 points
First goal: Josh Bruce
Best on ground: Jack Macrae but hoping Bont is right up there and had a much better game than he did in Round 1

12-06-2020, 02:17 PM
WB by 18
First goal Lloyd
BOG Wood

Wood out injured

12-06-2020, 02:19 PM
Selection was bad but the Saints suck.

Us by 30
First goal Lloyd
BOG Bont

12-06-2020, 02:27 PM
So we have more people picking St Kilda than us in a game we are clear favourites to win. :confused:

I'm not exactly brimming with confidence but my god you are a pessimistic bunch.

To be fair, the posters here probably have a better feel than the gen pop. Our experimental selection tendencies just scream of a team that is unsettled and unsure of what it's supposed to be, and this doesn't bode well for a good performance.

let's hope St Kilda are worse.

12-06-2020, 02:30 PM

I've got us down for a 4 goal win. Still confident we will get there and I'm particularly confident that Bruce and Naughton will sort out their back line

12-06-2020, 02:34 PM
I've got us down for a 4 goal win. Still confident we will get there and I'm particularly confident that Bruce and Naughton will sort out their back line

If we can win the ball out of the middle, Bruce and Naughty will cause some havoc.

12-06-2020, 02:48 PM
In what way is Gardner a better selection than Sweet, who would release English (to be best on ground at centre half forward) and Naughton (to give us a genuine key position player on the backline). Then we would not run the risk of our midfield out of the game (like in the final, practise match against against Port, and game 1). In fact Sweet is the only player in the squad with a 100% win rate when playing in the firsts in the last six months.

12-06-2020, 08:04 PM
Us easily, don't get the negativity at all.
First goal Bruce
BOG Lin Jong.

12-06-2020, 08:06 PM
Us easily, don't get the negativity at all.
First goal Bruce
BOG Lin Jong.

I wish Lin Jong well in his first game back in 2 years. Let’s hope he gets a great run at it now. So unlucky for him in recent times.

12-06-2020, 09:01 PM
Saints by 37
First Goal Bont
BOG Macrae

12-06-2020, 10:59 PM
In what way is Gardner a better selection than Sweet, who would release English (to be best on ground at centre half forward) and Naughton (to give us a genuine key position player on the backline). Then we would not run the risk of our midfield out of the game (like in the final, practise match against against Port, and game 1). In fact Sweet is the only player in the squad with a 100% win rate when playing in the firsts in the last six months.

Sweet yet to play one AFL game. He is an unknown factor.

13-06-2020, 09:55 AM
I can’t see the saints getting over the top of us. We’ll do it for Josh.

Dogs by 18 points with the game iced at 3/4 time.
1st Goal. Wallis
BOG. Bont. Hell will be mega pissed after the first loss as captain.

Let’s hope that the board have told Bevo it’s a short season so you don’t have time to be creative. Play the percentages (people in position) the list is good enough. Our supporters really do need hope

13-06-2020, 10:01 AM
I'm on a roller coaster of emotions heading into R2.

I don't really feel invested in a further compromised league due to COVID. But I'll be glad to have us on TV competing. But it's not really the same as being there. Weird loop of push and pull towards the footy.

I think I am still hurt by our insipid R1 performance & sense of inevitability I feel based on selection. So many games in recent history I feel we're run and done before a ball was even bounced. Sunday has that feeling.

I'm desperate for that to not be the case. So my reaction when it is will be savage. There is no middle ground for me at the moment. If we win I'm up & about. I'll be a mature adult and give us 15 minutes into the first QTR before I start calling for sackings, or that a Flag* will wag.

13-06-2020, 10:10 AM
Sweet yet to play one AFL game. He is an unknown factor.
As was Gardner 3 games ago.

So what do we know about Sweet?
He can hold Goldstein. He is a good kick. He has good spatial awareness. But most importantly, he can release talent in the team.

What else do we need to know?
Nothing.

13-06-2020, 10:16 AM
As was Gardner 3 games ago.

So what do we know about Sweet?
He can hold Goldstein. He is a good kick. He has good spatial awareness. But most importantly, he can release talent in the team.

What else do we need to know?
Nothing.

Do we really know that? If we are using the practice game when Goldy wasn't on the ground as much as he would normally do as the measuring stick do we then regard Cordy as an option because he competed well against Goldy for nearly half a game?

13-06-2020, 05:47 PM
Do we really know that? If we are using the practice game when Goldy wasn't on the ground as much as he would normally do as the measuring stick do we then regard Cordy as an option because he competed well against Goldy for nearly half a game?
Yes we should. I (and others) are tired of watching English get ‘hung out to dry’. The ruck strategy has been a monumental failure for years. And if Cordy can do well there it’s a clear indication of that failure, proving that what has been dragging the team down is ego and not generalship.

And Cordy’s performance in that game proved that his natural position is one that involves movement. Not a static one- on- one where he gets beaten most of the time by genuine key position players. We lost count last year of how many kicked personal bests against him. All unnecessary angst for the supporters.

Another lesson from that game was English’s remarkable forward work when he was replaced in the ruck. He gave The Bont a first class target and we looked competitive until (mysteriously) both he and the Bont were taken from the ground. Then North regained the upper hand.

None of the members sitting near me could understand that decision.

And back to my original question, in what way is Gardner contributing more than Sweet would? (I would be happy to see Sweet selected as a backman seeing we won’t use Trengove in the team).

14-06-2020, 01:30 AM
I'm on a roller coaster of emotions heading into R2.

I don't really feel invested in a further compromised league due to COVID. But I'll be glad to have us on TV competing. But it's not really the same as being there. Weird loop of push and pull towards the footy.

I think I am still hurt by our insipid R1 performance & sense of inevitability I feel based on selection. So many games in recent history I feel we're run and done before a ball was even bounced. Sunday has that feeling.

I'm desperate for that to not be the case. So my reaction when it is will be savage. There is no middle ground for me at the moment. If we win I'm up & about. I'll be a mature adult and give us 15 minutes into the first QTR before I start calling for sackings, or that a Flag* will wag.

I love reading your posts mate.

14-06-2020, 01:35 AM
Yes we should. I (and others) are tired of watching English get ‘hung out to dry’. The ruck strategy has been a monumental failure for years. And if Cordy can do well there it’s a clear indication of that failure, proving that what has been dragging the team down is ego and not generalship.

And Cordy’s performance in that game proved that his natural position is one that involves movement. Not a static one- on- one where he gets beaten most of the time by genuine key position players. We lost count last year of how many kicked personal bests against him. All unnecessary angst for the supporters.

Another lesson from that game was English’s remarkable forward work when he was replaced in the ruck. He gave The Bont a first class target and we looked competitive until (mysteriously) both he and the Bont were taken from the ground. Then North regained the upper hand.

None of the members sitting near me could understand that decision.

And back to my original question, in what way is Gardner contributing more than Sweet would? (I would be happy to see Sweet selected as a backman seeing we won’t use Trengove in the team).

You see the game uniquely. Welcome back.

I literally disagree with ninety percent of what you post but you give me something to think about.

We're being sorted out by the MC and coaching staff now, I reckon the white flag has already been raised and we don't think we're ready for a decent run at a flag now.

If that's true, it's going to be hard to watch this year.

14-06-2020, 07:52 AM
I reckon the white flag has already been raised and we don't think we're ready for a decent run at a flag now.

If that's true, it's going to be hard to watch this year.

If as you say the white flag has been raised then there is every possibility we are sorting our list for next year and with the AFL talking about reduced lists this could be the beginning of a compromised season were lets see if these blokes are worth keeping on the list type of sorting session.
We'll get a better idea if we see more fringe players given extended runs.

14-06-2020, 08:36 AM
I must say, it's pretty cool to wake up and have a Dogs game to look forward to all day.

14-06-2020, 10:00 AM
I must say, it's pretty cool to wake up and have a Dogs game to look forward to all day.

I thought the same thing and then I looked at the ladder and reflected on our last two outings.

14-06-2020, 10:16 AM
I thought the same thing and then I looked at the ladder and reflected on our last two outings.

A top 5 draft pick doesn't excite you?;)

14-06-2020, 10:46 AM

Oh, I totally expect this positive feeling to disappear about 15 minutes into the first quarter after Max King has taken a few easy marks on Alex Keath's head.

14-06-2020, 10:50 AM
Feeling positive about this one. Doggies by 28 points. Bruce to kick 4 and a good week coming up for all Woofers.

14-06-2020, 11:18 AM
So we have clearly flagged our intentions to out run the Saints today so I'm going into this game with a fair bit of confidence and expecting a strong and most importantly a spirited performance. Given our last two outings, Bevo and the coaches must have our players switched on for a contest and there can be no excuses for anything less than a 'hungry for the contest' effort.

The key for us has to be Bruce and Naughton up forward because if they have good games it will really set us on the right path
We will also need to hope that Keath and Gardner can keep the Saints forwards in check and that our midfield returns to form

I'm not expecting a very high standard game from a skills perspective but if our hunger is there a 24 point win is there for the taking.

14-06-2020, 12:33 PM
I think we will find out a bit about Bruce today, he’s been vocal publicly on numerous occasions regarding his want to play finals (fair enough) which was also a bit of a back hander to the Saints. It should add some spice to that sub contest. I don’t mind being bold so I’m backing him to stand up and have a big influence today, be interesting to watch!
Dogs by 25 on the back of a dominant midfield showing and four from Bruce.

Edit as per OP

First goal Wallis
BOG Dunkley

14-06-2020, 12:58 PM
Oh, I totally expect this positive feeling to disappear about 15 minutes into the first quarter after Max King has taken a few easy marks on Alex Keath's head.

The current 22 is a gold mine for easy dunks and you pick one of the good players. Controversial yet brave.

14-06-2020, 01:02 PM

If our midfield continues to run one way that's exactly what's going to happen.

14-06-2020, 01:04 PM
I confess to being seriously worried today, who knows what we will dish up.

Dogs to just fall in (I say with everything crossed)

First goal: Don't care as long as its us.

BOG: Crozier (I suspect the backline will have more opportunities than the forwards).

Sadly subscribing to the "Murphy was an optimist" mantra today.

14-06-2020, 01:52 PM
My intuition is failing me. The brilliant form post bye last season raged like COVID 19 until physical pressure proved an antidote.
Then the COVID culture itself further distanced us from that period of dominance.
Saints will try to outrun us. They have troubled us with their run in the recent past but blind optimism tells me we will outpossess them for a 27 point win.
First goal Naughton.
BOG Macrae.

14-06-2020, 04:21 PM
My concern about today's game is that we will dominate the first half and to about the 10 miniute mark of the 3rd quarter without putting them away and then as fatigue sets in for our players someone like Carlisle or Marshall will be swung forward and start taking grabs that put them back into the game. With 5 minutes to go we are a few points up but haven't had the ball in our forward half for nearly 10 minutes. Things look grim until JJ does one of those great runs that splits their midfield apart and Gowers gets the game sealing goal.

We will laud the spirited win but still have some doubts about if we have what it takes

14-06-2020, 05:21 PM
I feel good about selection...and good about today. We have named a team of runners and a forward line full of forwards.

Firs time goal - Bruce
BOG - Macrae
Dogs by 35.

14-06-2020, 05:25 PM
I feel good about selection...and good about today. We have named a team of runners and a forward line full of forwards.

Saints have gone in with an inexperienced backline, so should be a good battle if we can get the ball into our f50. I think Naughton will play a blinder.

14-06-2020, 05:26 PM
I like the selections and the team looks good. Should be a good game and we will have this iced by 1/2 time.

14-06-2020, 06:00 PM
Saints have gone in with an inexperienced backline, so should be a good battle if we can get the ball into our f50. I think Naughton will play a blinder.

Yep agree there backline is gettable for sure.

14-06-2020, 07:10 PM
Gardner poor...

14-06-2020, 07:14 PM
Good start. Wallis up and about. Wally and Jack with our first 2.

14-06-2020, 07:15 PM
Good first touch from Vandermeer, good forward running from our mids to follow up.

14-06-2020, 07:19 PM
Good first touch from Vandermeer, good forward running from our mids to follow up.

Been good.

14-06-2020, 07:21 PM
Great to be hitting targets inside 50. Just need to convert.

14-06-2020, 07:25 PM
Great to see the goal kicking is still a problem.

14-06-2020, 07:25 PM
Disgusting

14-06-2020, 07:26 PM
The early signs indicate we are heading towards a good contest and a scarce as hens teeth goal from Macrae a real positive sign

14-06-2020, 07:26 PM
Great to see the goal kicking is still a problem.

Yep 2.4

Gee we don’t take our chances.

14-06-2020, 07:27 PM
Gardner just does not look like he wants to be out there.

14-06-2020, 07:28 PM
Goal kicking atrocious, defensive group rubbish.

Endeavour is better but that's about it.

Same old.

JJ probably should have taken that mark.

Gardner poor...

Wasn't that Keath?

14-06-2020, 07:29 PM
Uninspiring after a 3 month absence. Yay.

14-06-2020, 07:29 PM
Geez can't even watch this. Thought all games would be FTA for some reason? Anyway I'm in bed by 7 so couldn't watch much of it anyway, listening to ABC sounds like I'm not missing much.

14-06-2020, 07:30 PM
Good spoil on King.

14-06-2020, 07:30 PM
Jesus Christ Daniel nearly got killed doing what Young should have.

14-06-2020, 07:31 PM

There is a bit of rust that needs to be worked on but I remain a believer that when the work rate is there good things will come

14-06-2020, 07:32 PM
English has been alright.

Macrae been very good as you would expect.

14-06-2020, 07:32 PM
Seriously Jong.

14-06-2020, 07:34 PM
Same old story couldn’t hit the side of a barn door , when is this club going to sort out it’s set shot kicking at goal, 4 years of it now.

14-06-2020, 07:34 PM
Well we're still in it.

Our back line is just waiting to be torn open.

14-06-2020, 07:35 PM
And if Lloyd can't convert from 30m directly in front, he can't be picked. Gives us very little anywhere else.

14-06-2020, 07:35 PM
I forgot how pissed off watching us waste opportunities makes me. It's so bloody unprofessional and reckless.

The endeavour is there, but we need to be mindful of them on the rebound because they are looking dangerous and we kind of look as if we're forgetting that we need to go with them with defencive run.

14-06-2020, 07:36 PM
Endeavour has been there. Good to see. Lacking goal kicking accuracy as per normal. Felt we were marginally better than the Saints and should be two goals in front.

There is a bit of rust that needs to be worked on but I remain a believer that when the work rate is there good things will come

All clubs are starting the same.

Our back line is just waiting to be torn open.

Luckily there’s is just as bad.

14-06-2020, 07:37 PM
And if Lloyd can't convert from 30m directly in front, he can't be picked. Gives us very little anywhere else.

We shouldn't be playing him and Dale - they're the same player.

Ditto Bailey Dale.

I recon we are going alright. We have made mistakes but that’s expected. Bevo will tidy that up at quarter time and we’ll be right in it during the second. Endeavour is good we just need to finish and put score board pressure.

14-06-2020, 07:38 PM
Same old story couldn’t hit the side of a barn door , when is this club going to sort out it’s set shot kicking at goal, 4 years of it now.

Yeah the most important aspect of the game yet we are so poor at it.

I cringe every time it goes into defensive 50. I cringe every time we kick for goal. I’m doing a lot of cringing.

I’m just glad to see more effort and players looking like they aren’t going to meekly fold under the rough stuff.

bailey smiths been terrific, Wally has been hard at it. I do hate Daniel on the backline. English monstered yet again in the ruck I’m afraid.

14-06-2020, 07:39 PM
Endeavour much better than the last game. Skills very rusty. We controlled a lot of that quarter, yet we find ourselves behind.
We better solve some problems quickly.

14-06-2020, 07:39 PM
Luckily there’s is just as bad.

Unfortunately, our forwards won't make them pay.

14-06-2020, 07:40 PM
We need Bont to dominate

I actually think Jong has been really good, Naughty looks dangerous and Lippa decision making has been excellent.

Caleb Daniel back to kicking out? :confused: The Bont needs to lift.

I’m just glad to see more effort and players looking like they aren’t going to meekly fold under the rough stuff.

bailey smiths been terrific, Wally has been hard at it. I do hate Daniel on the backline. English monstered yet again in the ruck I’m afraid.

English we need to persist with certainly has a lot more improving to do.

14-06-2020, 07:42 PM
Oh Gowers.

14-06-2020, 07:43 PM
On ya Billy!

Didn’t know you were out there until then.

Thanks Billy.

Get Gowers off

Thanks for your contribution Billy. Great stuff mate.

Cheers, Billy.

Nice goal to billing’s from Billy’s 50m

14-06-2020, 07:44 PM
Billy another push in the back

He’s just taking the piss now.

If Gardner doesn't want to be a lightning rod he needs to do much better in contests like that one.

14-06-2020, 07:45 PM
Gowers is a dickhead. At least Toby Greene is a gun.

14-06-2020, 07:47 PM
What the actual *!*!*!*! Vandermeer you goose. You don't ignore the Bont like that you twit.

14-06-2020, 07:48 PM
Oh my god get him off

14-06-2020, 07:49 PM
Billy Gowers....just atrocious so far.

Billy, You get a chance to atone And kick it along the ground... have a spell mate.

I've seen enough of Gowers forever

Billy, You get a chance to atone And kick it along the ground... have a spell mate.

Training well, though.

I haven’t seen a game in 3 months and they dish up this garbage...

Macrae can't kick there I said it.

14-06-2020, 07:50 PM
Training well, though.

Bevo needs to extracts his head out of you know where.

14-06-2020, 07:51 PM
Wheels coming off. Who will stand up?

14-06-2020, 07:52 PM
Need to lift

14-06-2020, 07:52 PM
Gowers should have marked that

14-06-2020, 07:53 PM
The umpire doesn’t like Billy either

14-06-2020, 07:54 PM
Umpires hot on a player infringing the protected area, yet oblivious to a player jumping into someone’s back.

14-06-2020, 07:54 PM
**** we make everything look arduous.

14-06-2020, 07:55 PM
You know when we were dominating possession and missed three easy goals? That brought on that familiar old feeling.

Well done Laitham! First afl goal!

Young Mark!

The umpire doesn’t like Billy either

Yeah easily could have been a free.

14-06-2020, 07:56 PM
Nice work, Dutchman. He's been right amongst it so far.

Thank god for Smith. Really think he's close to our best mid already.

Our best passage of play. Gowers to Naughts to Van der Meer.
C'mon boys!

14-06-2020, 07:57 PM
Our ruck and defence is just a dumpster fire.

14-06-2020, 07:58 PM
Daniel can read the ball better than anyone else in our backline. Pity he's half everyone else's height.

Our ruck and defence is just a dumpster fire.

It's a shame we don't have a proven big body that will compete, compete, compete.

Love watching Daniel try and play tall in defence.

Long year coming up, even with the short season.

14-06-2020, 08:01 PM
Thank god for Smith. Really think he's close to our best mid already.

He's a gem isn't he? A shining light

We've had a few passengers so far and we need a lot more from Bontempelli and Bruce

Love watching Daniel try and play tall in defence.

Long year coming up, even with the short season.

If only I had some redskin macaroons to ease the pain.

Terrible shocking kick Gardner.

Gardner, absolute rubbish.

Lol Gardner.

14-06-2020, 08:02 PM
Thanks Gardner!!

Officially embarrassing.

That's appalling.

14-06-2020, 08:03 PM
How is Gardner playing AFL footy?

It’s like we’ve pulled someone out of the crowd.

If only I had some redskin macaroons to ease the pain.

Oh they're so good.

We're just no good.

MC included.

Folding to St Kilda lol.

Remember when picking Gardner and Gowers wasn’t going to cost us the game?

Pitiful. 3 months, and we look worse than ever. Just disgraceful.

Terrible defensively tonight but all from the Gardner mistake.

Precision kick inside 50 by the Saints in sharp contrast to the Gardiner shank. You need to have a discernible basic skill level to have an AFL career.

Keath going off his tits at Gardner while Butler runs past him into an open goal is peak Bulldogs right now.

It’s like we are chasing 90% of the game like against the pies.
We live off the opposition wasting it and it’s not going to happen.
Serious problems. Second to the ball they just play with us,

Keath and Gardner blueing as Butler strolls past them. Nice.

14-06-2020, 08:04 PM
We are atrocious

This is unfair to me I care too much about this to see players who genuinely cannot play on the field

Does Gardner have ANY AFL attributes?

And then he gives awayba free kick. He Is Horrible!

14-06-2020, 08:05 PM
How is Gardner playing AFL footy?

It’s like we’ve pulled someone out of the crowd.

If there was a crowd we may have a better chance.

If I was Keath I’d be crook at having to share the field with him too.

This is unfair to me I care too much about this to see players who genuinely cannot play on the field

I wish I hated this club about now as I’d love to not care.

I’m so far over Bevo... questions need to be raised as this is *!*!*!*!ing rubbish.

14-06-2020, 08:06 PM
Ok I was wrong

14-06-2020, 08:07 PM
Our midfield is getting smashed. Dunks, Macrae and Bont being owned.

I don't rate Johannisen at all and would be happy to offload him.

Does Gardner have ANY AFL attributes?

He does but he isn't composed at this level yet

14-06-2020, 08:08 PM
Gardner is terrible, but we knew that. When do Bontempelli, Macrae, Bruce, Johannisen, Keath et al step up as senior players?

Lost this at match selection, said it days ago.

and I wasn’t wrong.

Remember when Bevo’s daring left field selections somehow always paid off?

Those days are gone and this just feels like hubris.

14-06-2020, 08:09 PM
It’s panic ball, every one flood forward like headless chooks, turnover and burnt. Structure non existent, Bont not in the game again so unusual for him.

He does but he isn't composed at this level yet

Then shouldn't be playing at this level yet.

Bevo looking like he is wasting another early season game due to selection. Surely he would have leant by now.

Gardner is terrible, but we knew that. When do Bontempelli, Bruce, Keath et al step up as senior players?

Gardner wouldn't look half as bad if he wasn't under constant pressure.

And, as you and others have said, Gardner's ability or lack thereof isn't our issue.

14-06-2020, 08:10 PM
Off to bed all. Good luck....

Gardner is terrible, but we knew that. When do Bontempelli, Bruce, Keath et al step up as senior players?

Yeah, we're getting what we deserve with Gardner. He was never going to provide anything so no point tipping it on him.

Gowers, too. He's doing what he's always done.

Bont isn't a captain's a-hole at this point.

Ok so the shining light is Bailey Smith. He is a gun and in everything. I hope he stays as I recon the crows will come hard for him.

Gardner is terrible, but we knew that. When do Bontempelli, Macrae, Bruce, Johannisen, Keath et al step up as senior players?

Fair call. Let's be honest, Bont has been pathetic v GWS, Pies and for a half v Saints. Macrae slightly better, Dunkley MIA, ditto JJ. These are meant to be our better players.

Smith has been our only positive during these games. Absolute jet.

Moreover, we're bloody soft

A lot of us were concerned that they would be too tall for us but that hasn't eventuated yet so what exactly is going wrong?

Can Bont lift?

Lost this at match selection, said it days ago.

and I wasn’t wrong.

So did the rest of WOOF.

14-06-2020, 08:11 PM
Daniel can read the ball better than anyone else in our backline. Pity he's half everyone else's height.

He actually saved a few goals and the only one composed when the rest were headless chooks

14-06-2020, 08:12 PM
Getting smashed in contested ball, Libba would have been handy I suppose.

14-06-2020, 08:12 PM
Our midfield is getting smashed. Dunks, Macrae and Bont being owned.

Not quite, but they have not been effective. Smith has played well, Dunks most disposals on the ground. We just aren't delivering the ball into the forward 50 very well. Gardner, Gowers should not be playing.

14-06-2020, 08:13 PM
Fair call. Let's be honest, Bont has been pathetic v GWS, Pies and for a half v Saints. Macrae slightly better, Dunkley MIA, ditto JJ. These are meant to be our better players.

Smith has been our only positive during these games. Absolute jet.

Moreover, we're bloody soft

Yeah thats fair but also none of those guys nave given away two free kicks for no reason directly leading to goals and also have missed targets with all their kicks.

We should all be sick that they keep going past AFL standard players to pick Gardner.

14-06-2020, 08:14 PM
A lot of us were concerned that they would be too tall for us but that hasn't eventuated yet so what exactly is going wrong?

Can Bont lift?

To sum it up simply, we are soft front runners who buckle under real and perceived pressure and every side knows it.

Can't wait for more talking during the week...

14-06-2020, 08:14 PM
We’ve kicked 8 goals in 6 quarters
Totally unacceptable and to be honest
Embarrassing

14-06-2020, 08:15 PM
So is it time for Naughton to go back, Gardener in the ruck and English up forward.

14-06-2020, 08:15 PM
Yes Gardner, Gowers et al are poor but this is not being lost at the selection table. Our much flaunted midfield are being woefully exposed. That’s where they are dominating.

Our best players are our younger shining lights such as Smith and English. Even Jong is involved in more of the action and he hasn’t played for two years. Bont, Dunks, Macrae need to step up and starting winning some ball.

14-06-2020, 08:16 PM
We seem to talk up a good game
Can’t back it up

14-06-2020, 08:16 PM
We be lucky to kick 5 goals in the entire game with our opposition chasing and delivery into our forward line is rare as it is let alone have any system.

14-06-2020, 08:17 PM
We are experts at making ordinary teams look like premiers. We would have the worst defence on the league. We try and play like millionaires when going forward but we are broke. How many handballs bloody? Once the ball is turned over it's open slather the saints are quick to make position while we are all at sea.

Questionable team selection raising questions once again. We'll get it right when it's too late is my guess.

Big 3rd quarter needed is an understatement

I’m actually hoping lists do get reduced because we need a significant clean out.

Good to see nothing has changed since last year. Looks like the dogs players are playing in tune with their 70% pay cuts.

Totally insipid.

Then shouldn't be playing at this level yet.

And the problem with that this year is there is not another level. At the start of this disjointed season he should have been seen as a back up option but somehow he leapfrogged a few others. The MC see something in him and I hope he has a significantly better 2nd half

14-06-2020, 08:18 PM
Not quite, but they have not been effective. Smith has played well, Dunks most disposals on the ground. We just aren't delivering the ball into the forward 50 very well. Gardner, Gowers should not be playing.

Yeah ok. Not Dunks but Bont and Macrae are nowhere. That is where we are getting smashed. Jones is carving us up.

14-06-2020, 08:18 PM
If Gowers and Gardner weren’t playing then the 3 (being generous) goals they’re directly culpable for wouldn’t have happened and we’d be down less than a goal. We’d all be filthy at how we’re going but also have a lot of scope to improve.

This absolutely is their fault, we all called it and there’s nothing we can do about it because our coach is obsessed with being the smartest guy in the room.

14-06-2020, 08:19 PM
We have no Plan B. It is all or nothing at the one pace. Saints are just holding the ball and hitting targets we are kamikaze.

Can Bont lift?

Stats wise the only real discrepancy is hit outs 21-6 but hasn’t really hurt us in clearances down by 1. Taking an extra moment in possession and nailing our chances would go along way. We need a big half from the captain to state the obvious.

Edit : contested poss as stated on here is 67-54 Saints way

I only have a crappy radio call, but it seems that aside from Smith we are rubbish.

To sum it up simply, we are soft front runners who buckle under real and perceived pressure and every side knows it.

Can't wait for more talking during the week...
The body of work is increasing. Happened a good 4-5 times last year, then the embarrassing finals effort and R1. Our midfield is probably the most overrated group in the competition - if the opposition mids bring a modicum of heat at the contest, we go to water in the middle.

14-06-2020, 08:20 PM
I only have a crappy radio call, but it seems that aside from Smith we are rubbish.

Dunkley and Jong have been good. Naughton’s hands aren’t there but he’s involved a lot. They’re carrying a lot of dead weight.

14-06-2020, 08:20 PM
It's hard to see us winning many games unless (a) our midfield dominates, and (b) we kick straight.

How often are those stars likely to align?

14-06-2020, 08:21 PM
I’m actually hoping lists do get reduced because we need a significant clean out.

I've been suggesting this for years :) We seem to want that extra year before making the hard call. That's great for team morale but it hasn't quite paid off with seeing an improving list fighting for available spots in the senior side

14-06-2020, 08:22 PM

Its a nice idea but we’d just keep the shit players on anyway.

14-06-2020, 08:23 PM
Stats wise the only real discrepancy is hit outs 21-6 but hasn’t really hurt us in clearances down by 1. Taking an extra moment in possession and nailing our chances would go along way. We need a big half from the captain to state the obvious.
Our list is not as bad as the current score line. We looked goat the second term. Hoping to turn it around in the second half.

If players were picked on form preseason Trengrove Maclean and Cordy must feel nonplussed at others being selected who are clearly not up to the required AFL standard

Who’s looking forward to Roarke Smith coming in next week?

It's hard to see us winning many games unless (a) our midfield dominates, and (b) we kick straight.

How often are those stars likely to align?

yes, we’re basically *!*!*!*!ed.

If he comes in for Johannisen I'm all for it.

At least Roarke has a go.

14-06-2020, 08:24 PM

Needed a good laugh!

14-06-2020, 08:25 PM

If its for Gardner I’d wear Rohan Smith coming in.

14-06-2020, 08:25 PM
If Gowers and Gardner weren’t playing then the 3 (being generous) goals they’re directly culpable for wouldn’t have happened and we’d be down less than a goal. We’d all be filthy at how we’re going but also have a lot of scope to improve.

This absolutely is their fault, we all called it and there’s nothing we can do about it because our coach is obsessed with being the smartest guy in the room.

True. That is the case. But that is giving our midfield a free pass which is where the bigger issue lies.

14-06-2020, 08:26 PM
Something just doesn't seem right. From a supposedly tight knight group in 2016, we seem listless and lacking in care for each other.

Our mids on paper look great, but at the moment the only one that looks influential is 2nd year Bailey Smith.
Bont, Macrae, and Dunkley should be doing much better.
JJ,Suckers, Gardner have been error prone.
Richards, Jong and Gowers, have made costly mistakes up the ground, and Lloyd is a witches hat defensively.

Massive 2nd half for our season's fortunes.

I rate Roarke higher than Gardner and Gowers, bring him in.

I LOLed.

https://i.ibb.co/qBwbdVs/Screen-Shot-2020-06-14-at-7-25-44-pm.png (https://ibb.co/VV8Xt5S)

14-06-2020, 08:27 PM
With Roark I can at least see raw talent, potential even if he probably won’t ever make it.

I can’t see that in Gardner.

Lloyd seems to dodge the bullets. I thought after he crapped himself against Collingwood he would get an extended spell.

I'm listening on the ABC. This is what I'm hearing from the Dogs POV.
"He shanks his kick." "Should have marked". His handpass missed the target." That was a wasted opportunity." "The kick was poor" "Poor tackle" Took the wrong option". "Brushed aside" " Dropped the mark"

In other words it's a nightmare out there.

14-06-2020, 08:28 PM
Very courageous by English.

14-06-2020, 08:29 PM
I'm liking that aerial camera angle thing

14-06-2020, 08:29 PM
Nice start by Red Ed

14-06-2020, 08:30 PM
That’s rubbish Bont!

14-06-2020, 08:30 PM
Bont on the right and it’s a shocker.

14-06-2020, 08:31 PM
Marcus

Un-Bont Like that was.

Putrid by Bont. Complete lack of care with the ball in hand.

Bont on the right and it’s a shocker.
Does he have a less able twin they’ve somehow swapped him with ? This is career worst stuff.

14-06-2020, 08:32 PM
We need the captain to lift, and he kicks a nice goal assist - for St Kilda.

14-06-2020, 08:32 PM
Marcus

Spent too long making podcasts with Bob.

14-06-2020, 08:33 PM
How is that not a free to Alex Keath?

Burn this backline to the ground.

Boy oh Boy.

Draft pick#1 come on down.

They asked people to donate their membership, and repay us with this amateur garbage.

What exactly did we do to McGuire?

14-06-2020, 08:34 PM
We are like swisa cheese defensively.

Can we please drop Lloyd.

Loyd has had two shocking kicks at goal.

Trampoline forward line the worst in the comp. Also our defensive press is way too aggressive, much like the first half of last year.

Kick a drop punt Loyd you wanker.

14-06-2020, 08:35 PM
Lol!!!

Embarrassing Bulldogs... embarrassing!

14-06-2020, 08:35 PM
How do we let 5 players get goal side of us in the forward 20m

14-06-2020, 08:36 PM
How many weeks have we had to think about this? Pathetic......this is a team effort. We can single out individuals, but right now we are a mile off

Is our % going to get below 20 ? Lol

What am I watching?

There’s got to be a Matlock or Murder she wrote on somewhere I’m missing.

Disgusting. Beyond disgusting. Holy *!*!*!*!.

14-06-2020, 08:37 PM
Most of our players are infected with the SHTFUL-20 virus. No known cure at this stage.

14-06-2020, 08:38 PM
Nobody is supposed to score heavily from D50 rebound in the modern game.

14-06-2020, 08:39 PM
I’ve seen enough. Sack Bevo. Save us from this pathetic, hamster wheel of ineptitude.

14-06-2020, 08:40 PM
Select Trengove and Sweet and the team is immediately better.

14-06-2020, 08:40 PM
Nice banana goal Bailey Williams to try and plug the hole.

14-06-2020, 08:41 PM
Wow that was a ridiculously good kick.

14-06-2020, 08:41 PM
Nobody is supposed to score heavily from D50 rebound in the modern game.

When your small/medium forwards include Gowers, Lloyd, Dale and Wallis are you surprised?

14-06-2020, 08:44 PM
Is our effort there or is it just the skill level that is letting us down?

14-06-2020, 08:45 PM

Can’t kick, can’t tackle, can’t take contested marks, and not playing as a team.
So pretty much the same old same old.

14-06-2020, 08:45 PM

I think the fact they've almost walked the ball from D50 to goal at will says a lot of blokes aren't doing their job defensively.

14-06-2020, 08:46 PM
Bont is out of form. 1st time in his career.

14-06-2020, 08:46 PM
Someone tell our defenders that the social distancing rule doesn't apply in a game.