Our Best On Ground:

29-06-2020, 11:54 AM

02-07-2020, 01:08 PM
https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/735587/the-last-five-north-melbourne

The last five: North Melbourne
A look at the recent encounters between the Western Bulldogs and North Melbourne.

If the last five contests between the Western Bulldogs and North Melbourne are anything to go by, this Saturday night’s contest at Marvel Stadium will be a nail-biter.

Four of the last five times the teams have met, the margin has been seven points or less.

Here’s a look at the recent encounters between the sides.

2019 – Round 10 (Kangaroos 115 defeated Bulldogs 90)
The Bulldogs were 20 points in arrears at three quarter time in this clash at Marvel Stadium and found inspiration from ruckman Tim English, who booted two goals to the start the last quarter and breathe life into the game. Sam Lloyd followed with two of his own and the Dogs were in front at the nine-minute mark. But the Roos responded with the last five majors of the game to secure the four points.

2018 – Round 21 (Bulldogs 92 defeated Kangaroos 85)
Jack Macrae, Lachie Hunter and Caleb Daniel had a field day, each collecting 40 or more disposals as the Dogs overcame a sizeable early deficit to win a thriller. The Dogs fell 29 points behind by half time but re-emerged from the break with a blistering eight-goal third term to wrestle back the momentum. Each side could only manage one goal each from a combined 10 scoring shots, as the Bulldogs hung on to win by seven points.

2018 – Round 14 (Kangaroos 77 defeated Bulldogs 75)
Earlier that year, a see-sawing contest was edged North Melbourne’s way in the final seconds after the margin was no more than 13 points for the duration of the match. The Bulldogs trailed by 10 points midway through the last quarter, hit the front after goals from Ed Richards and Bailey Gowers, but were heartbroken when Jack Ziebell snapped a goal with less than 30 seconds remaining.

2017 – Round 14 (Bulldogs 107 defeated Kangaroos 106)
A set shot behind by Jake Stinger with just 38 seconds to go was the difference between the two teams in another classic encounter at Marvel Stadium. The Dogs led by 26 points early in the last quarter, but the Kangaroos kicked four straight goals to level scores at the 29-minute mark. A Lachie Hunter kick landed in Stringer’s arms on the boundary line, 50 metres out, and while he narrowly missed, it was enough to secure victory.

2017 – Round 4 (Bulldogs 89 defeated Kangaroos 86)
The clubs had the honour of participating in the first ever Good Friday game, and they delivered a cracker of a contest in front of a bumper crowd. Again, the match was on a knife’s edge until the final seconds, and again the Dogs overcame a deficit to secure victory. Three straight last term majors had the Bulldogs headed for the finish line, but Jack Ziebell goaled and Lindsay Thomas had his long shot sail wide before the siren sounded.

02-07-2020, 01:11 PM
We are due to for a win against North.

02-07-2020, 01:16 PM
We are due to for a win against North.

How so, they have won 1 in a row? :confused:

02-07-2020, 01:18 PM
How so, they have won 1 in a row? :confused:

Just based on that we lost to them last time.

02-07-2020, 01:23 PM
Ziebell a confirmed out won't hurt the cause but Brown's snuck a dozen goals in their last 3 outings against us and I'll weep if we play him back into form.

English's ability to drift back and intercept might have more say in proceedings than his tussle with Goldstein.

02-07-2020, 01:34 PM
I will be very disappointed if we lose this one as i don't rate North at all. Having said that, we have had a few close ones with them.

02-07-2020, 01:46 PM
I will be very disappointed if we lose this one as i don't rate North at all. Having said that, we have had a few close ones with them.

I think you are underrating North a bit, they could easily be 4-0. I do agree it is a game we should be able to win though.

02-07-2020, 01:51 PM
Like St Kilda, the Roos match up on us really well. Cunnington back is a massive IN for them.

I really hope we put some time into him but we know that's not Bevo's style.

I expect English to get slaughtered in the ruck contests but then jump on his bike to drop into the hole in front of Ben Brown. If he can do that effectively, we're a big chance.

North's half backs are absolute panic merchants so if our pressure is at the levels it has been the past few weeks, we can really hurt them from forward half stoppages/trunovers.

02-07-2020, 01:53 PM
All the teams we have played are above us on the ladder. North is 4 spots above us. Yet we have won half our matches. We could lose and go up the ladder. Such are the vagaries of an early season ladder. Bad injuries early for us to crucial players. We have wing waiters who get their chances.
Dogs by 27 pts
First goal: Lloyd's replacement.
BOG: Macrae.

02-07-2020, 03:42 PM
Cunnington back is a massive IN for them.

Turns out that might not be a problem (https://www.afl.com.au/news/460066/star-roos-onballer-no-certainty-to-return-after-fortnight-out) after all.

02-07-2020, 03:49 PM
Turns out that might not be a problem (https://www.afl.com.au/news/460066/star-roos-onballer-no-certainty-to-return-after-fortnight-out) after all.

Fingers crossed. They pretty much can't win without him.

02-07-2020, 05:10 PM
Fingers crossed. They pretty much can't win without him.

We know what part of the body to target :D

02-07-2020, 06:54 PM
If cunnington is in we need to put time into him or Higgins
Cunnington has murdered us recently
I’ll take a win by anything
1st goal Wallis
BOG Bont

02-07-2020, 07:15 PM
Don't check my post history but Cunnington out would be fantastic news for us. He's really evolved into a super damaging player and I agree that they'll struggle to win any games without him.

The real test as I've eluded to elsewhere is if English can have the sort of impact around the ground against a player capable of running, as he's probably going to get wrecked in the bounces again. But no Cunnington might mean that our mids are just way too good to cede too many clearances regardless.

02-07-2020, 08:03 PM
Dogs by 16
First goal: Bruce
Best on ground : Macrae

02-07-2020, 11:45 PM
Dogs by 25
First Goal: Schache
BOG: The Bont

Jam Donuts
03-07-2020, 09:41 AM
Dogs by 43
First Goal Smith
BOG MacRae

03-07-2020, 12:49 PM
Margin: Dogs by 21 points
First goal: Wallis
Best on ground: Bont

03-07-2020, 06:11 PM
Dogs by 16 points
BOG: Bont to continue his good record v North.
First Goal: Josh Bruce with an early Free kick and goal.

03-07-2020, 08:13 PM
https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/736180/four-things-to-watch-round-5

Four things to watch: Round 5
The key talking points ahead of Saturday night's clash with North Melbourne.

1. Josh x 2

With no Aaron Naughton and no Sam Lloyd, the Bulldogs will be without their two top goal-kickers from 2019.
Bulldogs fans will be hoping a Josh can step up to fill that void.
And this week, there’s going to be two of them close to goal.
Off-season recruit Josh Bruce has two goals in his first four games as a Bulldog, while Josh Schache joins him in the line-up this week for the first time in 2020.
Both have the capability to kick a bag of goals and will be hoping they can do just that.

2. Tim’s Gold-en opportunity

Tim English will no doubt remember his last outing against North Melbourne.
The Roos won by 25 points and his opposite number, Todd Goldstein, was best afield with 28 disposals and 57 hit-outs.
Still only 22 years old, English is a star in the making and learning with each game.
He’s been impressive the past two weeks as the Bulldogs have rediscovered their winning ways and will be out to continue that form against one of the best ruckmen in the business.

3. Battle of the young guns

Two of the competition’s rising stars will go head to head in the middle of the ground.
Jy Simpkin is having a breakout year for the Roos, averaging 24.3 disposals per game.
The 22-year-old’s average of 6.5 clearances per game puts him among the competition’s elite.
But the Bulldogs have a young gun who has found a new level in 2020 too – his name is Bailey Smith.
The mulleted midfielder is relishing more opportunity around the ball and has arguably been his side’s most consistent performer this season, averaging 22.3 disposals.

4. Can the Dogs maintain the rage?

For the past two weeks, the Bulldogs have been ferocious – both with their attack at the ball and at the opposition.
Can they continue to maintain that level of intensity?
Because when they bring that, they play a brand of footy that stacks up against the best.
The recent track record between the Roos and Dogs suggests anything short of it won’t be enough to get it done.
Four of the past five games between the two teams have been decided by seven points or less.

04-07-2020, 10:26 AM
I'm really hungry for a good win today. It's so important that we play well before we head off to the QLD hub
Controlling Goldstein, Higgins and Brown could be the key

Dogs by 19,

04-07-2020, 10:32 AM
I’m always worried when we play these guys they tend to be good at squashing our running game. If we can win at the source, get that second possession from a stoppage/overlap and rebound off halfback early we should win.

Dogs by 15
FG Wallis
BOG Bontempelli

04-07-2020, 02:59 PM
Norf by 9 points.
First goal Dale
BOG Daniel

04-07-2020, 03:30 PM
I've got a gnawing feeling about this one.

It feels unkind to question player focus amid all that's swirling around them but will we maintain the rage or are we due for another lapse?

Them by 22
Brown to get off the leash
Silver Linings: Bazlenka our best

04-07-2020, 03:59 PM
Similar to St Kilda in that we routinely struggle against Norf, but we have had a habit of winning ugly against them.

Dogs by 9
BOG Macrae
First goal Schache

04-07-2020, 04:50 PM
North by 7 points
BOG: Smith (for us)
First Goal: Dale

04-07-2020, 06:04 PM
Scenes from the praccy match.

Suckers just thrilled to be here.

https://i.ibb.co/drHw3NX/Screen-Shot-2020-07-04-at-5-02-45-pm.png (https://ibb.co/zrtTL3C)

04-07-2020, 06:13 PM
Dogs by 37
First goal- Dale
BOG- the Bont

04-07-2020, 07:11 PM
In Sydney, we're calling Melbourne "Wuhan" now with the full lockdowns announced.

Looking forward to the Dogs vs North Wuhan game tonight.

04-07-2020, 07:52 PM
Any late changes for us?

04-07-2020, 07:53 PM
Scenes from the praccy match.

Suckers just thrilled to be here.

https://i.ibb.co/drHw3NX/Screen-Shot-2020-07-04-at-5-02-45-pm.png (https://ibb.co/zrtTL3C)

Any reports from the praccy match?

04-07-2020, 07:59 PM
Any reports from the praccy match?

Alas not that I'm aware of, the club themselves by their own admission aren't even keeping score.

Hopefully this bloke better for the gallop though.

https://i.ibb.co/ykD30vx/Screen-Shot-2020-07-04-at-6-58-21-pm.png (https://ibb.co/4ScQWv0)

04-07-2020, 07:59 PM
Dogs by 31 points
BOG Bont
1st Goal. Wallis.

We really need this win to keep ahead of the ledger and get momentum before we go into the hub. Hubs are tough when you go in on a loss

04-07-2020, 08:17 PM
Dogs by 13
1st Goal: Wallis
BOG: Macrae

04-07-2020, 08:26 PM

https://i.postimg.cc/njBn0HYM/EA4-E8295-A62-F-45-DD-8-FB5-D21-B5-AAE31-C4.jpg (https://postimg.cc/njBn0HYM)

04-07-2020, 08:42 PM
Bailey Dale gets us off the mark!

04-07-2020, 08:43 PM
Sharp start.

04-07-2020, 08:47 PM
Josh Bruce strikes!

Cunnington moving about as well as me today.

Look very good up forward

Bailey Dale, get and miss.
Bruce 50m and goal.

04-07-2020, 08:48 PM
Who just yelled out Bruuuuuuuce really loud?

04-07-2020, 08:49 PM
Cunnington moving about as well as me today.

Looked proppy as.

Good to see Ray Chamberlain continues to feel the need to make himself part of the game. Flog.

04-07-2020, 08:49 PM
Defence been very good as well.

04-07-2020, 08:54 PM
The one time Easton Wood decides not to spoil 3 other teammates.

04-07-2020, 08:56 PM
Caleb been good down there.

04-07-2020, 08:58 PM
Hope Bailey Smith is ok

04-07-2020, 08:58 PM
Bailey Smith had the starch knocked out of him

04-07-2020, 09:04 PM
Midfield dominance squandered going forward.

I feel like a broken record.

No way Smith comes back.

English holding his own but that was poor. Needed to move the ball on much quicker.

Feel like we should be up 3-4 goals. Effort is there but we’ve squandered it going forward.

Bruce still getting held

04-07-2020, 09:05 PM
*!*!*!*! me we lose all composure once we get 70m out from goal.

Looking good everywhere else in the ground

04-07-2020, 09:06 PM
Still look vulnerable when they get the ball in quickly but Easton Wood has helped with his aerial ability.

04-07-2020, 09:06 PM
Only 5 tackles for the team in the quarter. Really need a lift in our intensity in that facet. Too often North players are getting away.

04-07-2020, 09:07 PM
Wood's been excellent.

Roscoe_G
04-07-2020, 09:08 PM
North looked utterly terrible in that quarter, and I'm surprised you are not further in front. I suspect a 5+ goal loss tonight for North.

04-07-2020, 09:08 PM
Wood's been excellent.

Yep, he’s turned the clock back about 5 years.

04-07-2020, 09:09 PM
Yep, he’s turned the clock back about 5 years.

How high was he on that last fly? Geez I wish he'd pulled it down.

04-07-2020, 09:09 PM
Wood's been excellent.

Been solid. Good to have him back.

04-07-2020, 09:10 PM
There is just something about Vandermeer..

We need to stick our tackles it was just allowing them to spread late.

04-07-2020, 09:10 PM
English holding his own but that was poor. Needed to move the ball on much quicker.

on Kayo you could hear one of ur dogs yelling at him through the umpire mics “get it in get it *!*!*!*!ig in thereeee”

04-07-2020, 09:13 PM
North looked utterly terrible in that quarter, and I'm surprised you are not further in front. I suspect a 5+ goal loss tonight for North.

We will know if this is likely by half time. I suspect it will be a bit closer than that

Like Vandermeer's game.

That was so good from Dale.

04-07-2020, 09:14 PM
Vandermeer meerly naved.

04-07-2020, 09:14 PM
Like Vandermeer's game.

Me too comrade. It is not just me :)

04-07-2020, 09:18 PM
Vandermeer meerly naved.

im starting to really like The Flying Dutchman

Really poor tackling effort from Bruce.

Bruce has looked better I reckon

04-07-2020, 09:19 PM
And Bruce gets it

04-07-2020, 09:19 PM
Easton Wood has made his intentions fairly clear.

I love it.

04-07-2020, 09:20 PM
Easton Wood has made his intentions fairly clear.

I love it.

Yep, this is close to 2015/16 version of Easton.

04-07-2020, 09:21 PM
Bruce calls his opponent out of the contest, marks and goals :D a thing of beauty.

04-07-2020, 09:23 PM
Lin Jong insane.

04-07-2020, 09:23 PM
Luke Darcy is a Bulldogs legend - and a completely shite commentator.

04-07-2020, 09:24 PM
I’m not sure how Libba can get the ball out with 2 tackling him.

04-07-2020, 09:25 PM
Shame Macrae didn’t get that one.

I’m not sure how Libba can get the ball out with 2 tackling him.

seems like other teams have figured out that Libbas hands are elite

Oh Macrae, no penetration in the strike.

dukedog
04-07-2020, 09:26 PM
How does smith get done for the day? I get the protect the head. But he was sweet. Would love to know the tests.

If Thomas comes back on I'll be pissed

04-07-2020, 09:28 PM
Great stuff Vanda!

That point was a circus.

Our forward line is just a mess. We're paying the price of just picking flanker/hybrid types rather than guys who actually know where the goals are.

04-07-2020, 09:30 PM
How does smith get done for the day? I get the protect the head. But he was sweet. Would love to know the tests.

If Thomas comes back on I'll be pissed

Medical opinion, or...?

04-07-2020, 09:32 PM
Crozier’s kicking is almost as bad as Macrae’s who’s is almost as bad as Richards... the list goes on!

dukedog
04-07-2020, 09:33 PM
Medical opinion, or...?

He got up alright. Yeh. Medical opinion.... would love to know what tests they do

04-07-2020, 09:36 PM
Frustrating half when were clearly the better side. Intensity is good, forward entries remain a problem.

Like the feel of the team with Schache back in.

Caleb Daniel's footy IQ on another level.

He got up alright. Yeh. Medical opinion.... would love to know what tests they do

You can walk and still be concussed.

Loving the player Bailey Williams is becoming... nice to see Bruce getting on the end of a few.

1/2 time highlights

West. He is a gun
Wood leaping like it 2016
MaClean back to his best
The backline just looks so organised

We are the far better side. Except for two cheapies to Goldy they should be goalless. We should have a couple more but for awful entry inside forward and poor forward sense. But love the effort

Massive goal on the siren.

All started with Timmy English' nice hands deep in defence.

04-07-2020, 09:38 PM
Is Jong back in the game or are we playing two down again?

dukedog
04-07-2020, 09:40 PM
You can walk and still be concussed.

So. You are unsure of the tests? U can be in a coma and brain dead. But alive.

Roscoe_G
We will know if this is likely by half time. I suspect it will be a bit closer than that

North are done. Though that last free to Bruce was very soft. Tarrant, Goldy and Simpkin all good .... the rest ordinary. Shaun playing at his normal mediocre level. Ben Brown ... words fail me.

Is Jong back in the game or are we playing two down again?

He grabbed high on the ankle immediately and knowing Jong has a paper mache body, I doubt he's coming back.

We'll see.

Wow. Rhylee West is going to be some kind of player.

Vandermeer is looking more confident. He reminds me of a young Johnno.
West already has the instinct, poise and hardness of a 100 game player.
Thought JJ had played his best half of footy this year. And Wood has wound back the clock aerially.

Not impressed with Razor Ray's umpiring.

04-07-2020, 09:41 PM
Our defence has been superb over the past three weeks, not allowing the opposition goals.

04-07-2020, 09:42 PM
Vandermeer is doing ok. I'm definitely coming around.

Vandermeer is looking more confident. He reminds me of a young Johnno.
West already has the instinct, poise and hardness of a 100 game player.
Thought JJ had played his best half of footy this year. And Wood has wound back the clock aerially.

Not impressed with Razor Ray's umpiring.

Wood let free from locking down a TALL player is playing how he should have played the past few seasons.

Everyone into Poor Josh Bruce who was obviously doing his job in earlier games and now we lost a forward he steps up which goes to show we shouldn’t base possessions or goals on a player.
I think English is improving all the time, Toby Mac is giving Higgins a lesson in going in hard.
We just need to make more of our entries.
Wood is doing the right thing running off Cunnington, Cunnington might be dangerous still but Wood is making the most of the injury.
Hope Jong is ok , not a word on him, they are hopeless in telling you about injuries if it’s not a star.

04-07-2020, 09:43 PM
North are done. Though that last free to Bruce was very soft. Tarrant, Goldy and Simpkin all good .... the rest ordinary. Shaun playing at his normal mediocre level. Ben Brown ... words fail me.

Don't know what the free to Bruce was for, very strange

04-07-2020, 09:44 PM
There is a lot to like about our defence. Wood, Daniel, JJ, Keath - in fact ALL of them have been solid.
I really would like to see some blokes have a snap at goal. There was one passage there where about 4 of them could have had a crack but elected to handball to a team mate who was under pressure!

Roscoe_G
04-07-2020, 09:45 PM
Don't know what the free to Bruce was for, very strange

It was absurd ... Tarrant is surely allowed to compete.

Luke Darcy is a Bulldogs legend - and a completely shite commentator.

The absolute worst

Roscoe_G
The absolute worst

Concur.

04-07-2020, 09:46 PM

It was soft but he did make contact. And Bruce is being scragged and held off the ball so often he deserved that one

04-07-2020, 09:47 PM

http://neurosurgery.net.au/resources/Concussion/AFLMOA-Guidelines-AFL-Level.pdf
Figure 1 (Page 5) shows the steps they go through when concussion is suspected.

The SCAT3 test can be found here
https://bjsm.bmj.com/content/bjsports/47/5/259.full.pdf

04-07-2020, 09:47 PM
Love Vandas aggression and his willingness to run. Bit more strength and another preseason, he'll be dangerous

04-07-2020, 09:49 PM
I feel for Jongy, but like Marcus Adams, he just doesn't have a body built for footy. How many games has he ended up on the pine for us?

04-07-2020, 09:50 PM

He needs to touch the ball and not the player.. it’s a free every day of the week!

04-07-2020, 09:51 PM
I feel for Jongy, but like Marcus Adams, he just doesn't have a body built for footy. How many games has he ended up on the pine for us?

That was just stupid courage.. nothing good is going to come from backing into a pack with 4 players coming at you.

04-07-2020, 09:52 PM
Is McLean tagging Higgins? He's having a terrific night.

04-07-2020, 09:52 PM
Toby playing his best game for a long timea nd leading our disposals at half time.

Bont needs to lift and shake the tag. Lots of holding his arms at stoppages.

04-07-2020, 09:53 PM
Pretty sure Jong was running in frame after the incident so is theoretically ok

dukedog
http://neurosurgery.net.au/resources/Concussion/AFLMOA-Guidelines-AFL-Level.pdf
Figure 1 (Page 5) shows the steps they go through when concussion is suspected.

The SCAT3 test can be found here
https://bjsm.bmj.com/content/bjsports/47/5/259.full.pdf

Cheers bud.

Is McLean tagging Higgins? He's having a terrific night.

Looks like it to me.

Cunnington looks like they dug him up. Waddling around and somehow looks older and unhealthier than his usual 35 year old self

04-07-2020, 09:54 PM
Down to 2 on the bench. Thatd suggest Jong is gone

Cunnington looks like they dug him up. Waddling around and somehow looks older and unhealthier than his usual 35 year old self

Should never have played

He's making Stringer look slim and agile.

04-07-2020, 09:56 PM
How is that no mark to Schache

Another Schache mark not paid

Big smear on Vandermeer.

04-07-2020, 09:57 PM

What an odd hill to die on.

04-07-2020, 09:57 PM
HTB interpretation is the latest blight on the game. Absolute garbage.

04-07-2020, 09:58 PM
This umpiring is atrocious

04-07-2020, 09:58 PM
HTB umpiring is pathetic

04-07-2020, 09:59 PM
12 point turnaround. No mark paid to Schache and poor htb calls lead to a goal at the other end.

We let them work the ball up the ground far too easily then

04-07-2020, 10:04 PM
Wow that was amazing play from West to win that ball and get it to Dale. Brilliant stuff.

Bruce great vision and perfect kick and Schache gets on his horse.

Rhylee West is ridiculous.

Great stuff Rhylee West! To Bailey Dale

Bruce to Schache who soccers the goal!

Love that, Bruce to Scache!

And Ryhlee west's ability to win a one on one gets us a goal ....

Rhylee West, take a bow.

As bad as the htb is being umpired I can’t say I’m surprised. It’s always over umpired following a call from head office.

04-07-2020, 10:06 PM
That was holding the teddy bear.

He's taken a while but Bailey Williams is a really good player.

Strong kick Bailey Williams to Mitch Wallis. I reckon out of the 2 sides our forward line for this game has been much better tonight. Wally gets it!

Bailey Williams really staking a claim for most improved this year.

04-07-2020, 10:07 PM
Well Jong is alive. Im sure bevo said we were down to two on the bench

04-07-2020, 10:08 PM
Richards kicking is a worry at the moment, not getting nearly enough air too often.

04-07-2020, 10:09 PM
Except that one time he kicked a goal where he had to get it in the air quickly immediately I bagged him for not getting the ball in the air!

04-07-2020, 10:09 PM
Richards kicking is a worry at the moment, not getting nearly enough air too often.

At least that one got 6 points!

04-07-2020, 10:11 PM
Lord Bruce!

04-07-2020, 10:11 PM
Brucey showing his worth on the scoreboard!

Is it just me or does his look a lot fitter!? ;)

04-07-2020, 10:12 PM
Chunk goes clunk!

04-07-2020, 10:13 PM
How good has Libba been? What a Bulldogs legend, I love that man.

04-07-2020, 10:14 PM
What’s happened to Lin Jong?

04-07-2020, 10:14 PM
How good has Libba been? What a Bulldogs legend, I love that man.

Elite of the elite

04-07-2020, 10:15 PM
Lipinski that's a beauty.

I've liked how Schache has played tonight. Dragging his opponent up the ground and clearing space.

I’m liking JJs attack on the ball.

04-07-2020, 10:16 PM
Bruce will be in the votes for me most likely.

04-07-2020, 10:16 PM
JJ is impressing me below his knees. Great that we are flicking it around after being hard at the contest and freeing blokes up.

Pretty glad we persevered with Bruce!

04-07-2020, 10:17 PM
Fatso has five.

04-07-2020, 10:18 PM
Vanda :(

Higgins trying to rough up West. He knows he's the least intimidating guy in the game, right? He's Aaron Fiora levels of scary.

Vandermeer, that guy put the knee in.

Timmy!!!!

04-07-2020, 10:20 PM
English like a giraffe twisting in mid air, like Dempsey.

I ahve a feeling that 38 is intentionally trying to hurt our players.

Vandermeer, that guy put the knee in.

Clearly intentional

04-07-2020, 10:22 PM
How good has McLean been on Higgins?

04-07-2020, 10:23 PM
Timmy had to kill that contest against Goldy.

Our new tagger?

Outstanding

Yep there’s that defensive role we spoke about earlier in the week. Someone mentioned McLean was capable

Extremely.

Kept the their best player quiet and won his own ball.

04-07-2020, 10:24 PM
Clearly intentional

Wow. I thought I was one-eyed. Vandermeer seemed to slip. That was not intentional.

Timmy had to kill that contest against Goldy.

Timmy was gassed.

Fatso has five.

04-07-2020, 10:25 PM
Hopefully Vanda is OK.

Great quarter, best of the year

Mutz
04-07-2020, 10:26 PM
Timmy was gassed.
Agreed, he's all over the ground.

Extremely.

Kept the their best player quiet and won his own ball.

Yes but he has been damaging with the ball. Most taggers kill the contest not get on the spread and be a link up player. Oh wait Higgins has no defensive side to his game that’s why we let him go.

Wow. I thought I was one-eyed. Vandermeer seemed to slip. That was not intentional.

He was also the guy that smashed Wallis in the face after he got rid of the ball so I'm not feeling particularly generous, he also definitely stepped into it.

Lookout, we are seriously revisiting 2016 folks.

04-07-2020, 10:28 PM
And what a seriously good defensive unit we are.

It's the role mjp and I suggested may be really good for him. He's doing well, and Libba has been at the bottom of every pack it seems.

Libba playing a great game tonight. Bont had 1 disposal that quarter, mids sharing it around a bit with Macrae, Lippa, Mclean pretty even performances.

And he didn’t jump just made a choice to drop is knees.

Lookout, we are seriously revisiting 2016 folks.

don’t jinx it lol

04-07-2020, 10:29 PM
Wow Laitham was having some sorta game before that unfortunate knock.
13 disposals, 6 tackles, 6 score involvements, 3 clearances, 1 goal and a game high 458metres gained.

Bruce looking like his enjoying the game and space

Very impressive performances by West and the Flying Dutchman. Josh Bruce and Schache both playing well. I am liking what I see.

04-07-2020, 10:30 PM
Wow Laitham was having some sorta game before that unfortunate knock.
13 disposals, 6 tackles, 6 score involvements, 3 clearances, 1 goal and a game high 458metres gained.

Dare I say it again has better attributes than Lloyd

04-07-2020, 10:30 PM
What the hell was North thinking picking Cunnington?

04-07-2020, 10:31 PM
And cross every finger and toe that Libba makes it through the season. Absolutely critical.

04-07-2020, 10:31 PM
What the hell was North thinking picking Cunnington?

Whoever cleared him to play should be worried about their position

04-07-2020, 10:37 PM
Caleb Daniel has been unbelievably clean tonight.

04-07-2020, 10:38 PM
Really solid performance.

04-07-2020, 10:38 PM
Caleb Daniel has been unbelievably clean tonight.

A great decision maker.

04-07-2020, 10:39 PM
Great to see Lin Jong

04-07-2020, 10:40 PM
Gee Wood has been so clean tonight.

04-07-2020, 10:41 PM
Easton Wood. Wow. Unbelievable tonight.

04-07-2020, 10:42 PM
Easton Wood. Wow. Unbelievable tonight.

Yep, been a joy to see him wind back the clock.

Reckon he enjoys having Keath down there.

Mutz
04-07-2020, 10:43 PM
Such quick and accurate decision making from Caleb.

04-07-2020, 10:44 PM
This is an impressive display

Can’t do much wrong tonight! How awesome

If I was there: “percentage now boys”

04-07-2020, 10:45 PM
Macrae has been unreal tonight

04-07-2020, 10:47 PM
Bruce!!!

When was the last time someone kicked six straight for the Bulldogs?

Brucey equal career high! Well done

04-07-2020, 10:48 PM
Without Bont or Baz firing a shot, pretty impressive.

04-07-2020, 10:49 PM
Bont held at that stoppage. Only way they can score from the middle

04-07-2020, 10:49 PM
Bruce. Silenced a few tonight.

04-07-2020, 10:55 PM

I don't think there has been a mention of his weight either

04-07-2020, 10:57 PM
Don't care what the stats say English was huge tonight

04-07-2020, 10:59 PM
If only we had a Ruckman that could win more hit outs we definitely would have won by more

04-07-2020, 11:01 PM
Don't care what the stats say English was huge tonight

Great game.

And such a nice boy. Did you see him interviewed?

04-07-2020, 11:02 PM

Needed to

04-07-2020, 11:04 PM
Without Bont or Baz firing a shot, pretty impressive.

And missing some key players too... our structures look better so when we have a dip we go ok.

04-07-2020, 11:04 PM
If only we had a Ruckman that could win more hit outs we definitely would have won by more

Just goes to show hitouts is over rated

04-07-2020, 11:08 PM
To be fair to the Kangaroos, they misunderstood the new harsh lockdown rules today in the North Melbourne flats and didn't come out to play.

04-07-2020, 11:08 PM
It's the role mjp and I suggested may be really good for him. He's doing well, and Libba has been at the bottom of every pack it seems.

McLean played a defensive role against the Giants, started on Whitfield and spent time in the back half.

04-07-2020, 11:09 PM
Great game.

And such a nice boy. Did you see him interviewed?

Spoke very well. He sounds like he has a lot of pride in his performance. Liked his reference to three years work & recognising that Goldstein has thrashed him in the past but that’s something to aspire to get better at, not be crushed.

04-07-2020, 11:09 PM
We had so many good players tonight. It was a joy to watch how clean we were at times. Daniel, Wood were outstanding in that regard.

04-07-2020, 11:12 PM
How we’ve turned the season around. We are VERY hard to score against at the moment. Cordy is in career best form. He should also receive plaudits for the best jig when they sing the song :) (yeehah!!!)

04-07-2020, 11:14 PM
7 players with 20 plus disposals, including Tim but not including Bont who had a very ordinary night.

Overall a real team effort

04-07-2020, 11:21 PM
Dare I say it again has better attributes than Lloyd

Better attributes agreed.

04-07-2020, 11:25 PM
What are the chances of cunnington copping a knock in a contact sport? Wouldn’t read about it

04-07-2020, 11:31 PM
Don’t over rate us tonight , North are terrible.
As much as we had a day out they had nothing.
I’m keeping a lid on that win.
Nth without Zeibel and Cunnington is a massive loss for them, that’s their midfield done and dusted.
Higgins was never going to do anything with them two out.
Goldstein is holding them together bigtime ATM
I know we won and that’s what it’s about but We did what we should have.

04-07-2020, 11:33 PM
We beat them by fifty and we didn't have Naughton, Dunkley and effectively our two best players this year, Bontempelli and Smith.

Good teams put bad teams away and we did that.

We should be satisfied.

04-07-2020, 11:40 PM
We beat them by fifty and we didn't have Naughton, Dunkley and effectively our two best players this year, Bontempelli and Smith.

We should be satisfied.

Also no Hunter, Duryea

04-07-2020, 11:46 PM
The Mighty Bulldogs!!

https://i.postimg.cc/ykwpXrzd/FBBAEFED-3-BDC-41-F3-B4-C4-50-E27-B813-F63.jpg (https://postimg.cc/ykwpXrzd)

05-07-2020, 12:13 AM

We should be satisfied.

I’m satisfied but we know Nth have nothing after them two, we have a deep list they don’t and even with all those players out we were expected to win.
We did what we needed to do and opened them up like a can of worms . I take more satisfaction out of the two games before, I’m hoping as a team we don’t get carried away with it as we are a huge chance to win our next two if we don’t get complacent over that win.

05-07-2020, 12:18 AM
I thought the game was closer in the first half than the scoreboard suggested. The difference was we made our forward entries count, and they didn't, which was something we've been guilty of.

Having a KPF that kicks 6 straight helps.Anyone else think he moves and kick a bit like WCE Josh Kennedy, without the stutter?

English was good, Maclean was good, West was good, and Daniel once again showed his elite decision-making and execution skills. Such a smart and skilled player.

05-07-2020, 12:22 AM
I’m satisfied but we know Nth have nothing after them two, we have a deep list they don’t and even with all those players out we were expected to win.
We did what we needed to do and opened them up like a can of worms . I take more satisfaction out of the two games before, I’m hoping as a team we don’t get carried away with it as we are a huge chance to win our next two if we don’t get complacent over that win.

I like what EasternWest says but you make a fair point as well ledge. Huge opportunity the next 2 weeks to take a huge stranglehold on the shortened season and affirm ourselves. Great to win tonight without Bont firing as much as he did last week.

05-07-2020, 12:33 AM
https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/737579/bruce-bag-helps-dogs-sink-roos

Bruce bag helps Dogs sink Roos
The Bulldogs were 49-point winners over the Kangaroos, with Josh Bruce bagging six goals.

A six-goal haul to star forward Josh Bruce has helped the Western Bulldogs to a commanding 49-point win against North Melbourne at Marvel Stadium.

Bruce’s equal career-best performance was complimented by a host of strong performers across the board, as the Bulldogs led from start to finish on their way to a 13.9 (87) to 5.8 (38) triumph on Saturday night.

It gives the Bulldogs a third consecutive win for and takes them inside the top eight for the first time in 2020.
The Bulldogs completed the game with 20 fit players, after concussions to Bailey Smith in the first quarter and the impressive Laitham Vandermeer just before three quarter time.

Remarkably, it was a job done without starring roles being played by usual suspects Marcus Bontempelli and Jack Macrae, and with the likes of Josh Dunkley, Lachie Hunter, Aaron Naughton and Sam Lloyd on the sidelines.

The Bulldogs controlled the ball, with 334 disposals to the Kangaroos’ 267, and were able to capitalise heading forward, with 15 marks inside 50 to just six.

A six-point lead at the first change was extended to 20 points at the major break, thanks to Bruce’s third major after the siren.

It was in the third term the Bulldogs kicked away, with a string of five unanswered goals – including Bruce’s fourth and fifth – giving them a 43-point advantage at the final interval.

Mitch Wallis and Josh Schache each added a second major in the last quarter, before Bruce’s sixth capped off the night.

Ruckman Tim English continued his stellar month of football, racking up 22 disposals and eight marks to win his battle with Kangaroos star Todd Goldstein, while tough midfielder Tom Liberatore (23 disposals, five clearances) was important in the clinches.

Toby McLean played an important shutdown role on Shaun Higgins (14 disposals) while finishing with 22 disposals himself.

In defence, the Bulldogs were superb for a third week in a row.

Alex Keath and Zaine Cordy were strong in the key posts as Ben Brown went goalless, while Easton Wood was at his dynamic best on return from injury, dominating in the air with nine marks.

Breaking the lines and driving the Bulldogs from defence to attack were Jason Johannisen and Caleb Daniel, who each finished with 22 disposals and more than 400 metres gained.

The Bulldogs will now head to a Gold Coast hub, ahead of matches against Carlton and Essendon.

WESTERN BULLDOGS 2.2 5.5 10.6 13.9 (87)
NORTH MELBOURNE 1.2 2.3 3.5 5.8 (38)

GOALS
Western Bulldogs: Bruce 6, Wallis 2, Schache 2, Dale, Vandermeer, Richards,
North Melbourne: Goldstein 2, Taylor 2, Zurhaar

BEST
Western Bulldogs: Bruce, Liberatore, English, Wood, Johannisen, McLean, Keath, Daniel
North Melbourne: Simpkin, Tarrant, Anderson, Dumont, Goldstein, Polec

INJURIES
Western Bulldogs: Smith (concussion), Vandermeer (concussion)
North Melbourne: Thomas (concussion), Cunnington (TBC), Higgins (leg)

05-07-2020, 12:38 AM
A few comments about the umpiring and HTB, but I really liked the way it was mostly interpreted.

Keeps the game flowing with reduced stoppages.

Some issues with consistency, but that will always be an issue with our game.

05-07-2020, 12:42 AM
A few comments about the umpiring and HTB, but I really liked the way it was mostly interpreted.

Keeps the game flowing with reduced stoppages.

Some issues with consistency, but that will always be an issue with our game.

The one against Higgins was way too harsh, but it was the only one that stood out where there was absolutely no prior.

The other contentious ones, you could make an argument there was an attempt to ride the contact.

05-07-2020, 12:47 AM
Watching the replay, I didn’t realise Vandermeer was concussed before 3qt, thought it was much later.

Even more impressed with his game now.

05-07-2020, 01:10 AM
Norf are a joke of a club. Rivalling only GWS for fake tough guy antics, and Essendon for poor character overall. A stain on the league.

That was fun. I'm pleased, but not in raptures. Our backline is coming together and we were very cohesive across each phase of the game, that is the stand out. We are getting contributions and connections across the field.

Keep that going, it's footy to be proud of & will quickly re-establish my trust in both the coaching team and the squad if we can keep some momentum into this hub situation.

05-07-2020, 01:13 AM
Norf are a joke of a club. Rivalling only GWS for fake tough guy antics, and Essendon for poor character overall. A stain on the league.

Aside from that, North is your second team?

05-07-2020, 01:14 AM
I like North and think they have a lot to be excited about. But that was a really grim performance.

05-07-2020, 01:15 AM

That was fun. I'm pleased, but not in raptures. Our backline is coming together and we were very cohesive across each phase of the game, that is the stand out. We are getting contributions and connections across the field.

Keep that going, it's footy to be proud of & will quickly re-establish my trust in both the coaching team and the squad if we can keep some momentum into this hub situation.

Sorry SoS I do not like that at all. A stain on the league?

05-07-2020, 01:20 AM
The one against Higgins was way too harsh, but it was the only one that stood out where there was absolutely no prior.

The other contentious ones, you could make an argument there was an attempt to ride the contact.

You will always see some called wrongly, but much better to have the onus on players to move the ball, rather than collapse into a tackle for a stoppage.

05-07-2020, 02:17 AM
Nth without Zeibel and Cunnington is a massive loss for them, that’s their midfield done and dusted.

I don't agree that North are terrible. Yes, they are missing Ziebell and Cunnington was stuffed - but we were missing Dunkley and Naughton who are in our top 5 important players. North probably should have beaten St.Kilda, they beat the Giants, if the game goes another 2 mins they beat Hawthorn....they aren't hopeless and they genuinely have a crack. Being down a player for the whole game, and Vandermeer and Jong missing big portions - I think we deserve to be satisfied.

Also, keep in mind where we are at in terms of team age/experience profile;
North had 7 players with over 150 games experience, we had 1. They had 12 over 100 games, we had 8. Their median age is 27.3 yrs compared to our 24.2.

In reality, we're more talented and should beat them - but particularly when you lose players during the game - and are dealing with an unusual season - I think we deserve to appreciate the good wins when we have them.

We've conceded 110 points in 3 weeks now. Our systems are working well. We're picking a team to get the job done and we've sorted out our percentage issue that had the potential to be a significant finals/final position factor.

It is a significant win on a number of levels.

05-07-2020, 02:40 AM
You will always see some called wrongly, but much better to have the onus on players to move the ball, rather than collapse into a tackle for a stoppage.

I think it’s always better to reward the person that wins the ball. If you start rewarding the person that sweats off the game has lost the plot. The recent change is in danger of over correction.

05-07-2020, 02:59 AM
McLean played a defensive role against the Giants, started on Whitfield and spent time in the back half.

I know. It doesn't change who was advocating for it Baron Von Aza Pants.

05-07-2020, 03:01 AM

Imagine if we had Dunkley and Naughton, or Lloyd or...….I think you get the message.

We played a huge defencive game tonight from the middle to the forwards, and it wouldn't have mattered who we played against. We've have done them.

05-07-2020, 03:06 AM

I actually appreciate your point. They were exposed. However, in shortened games, and when I say shortened I mean by twenty percent, we still did them by 49 points. That's amazing. In regular game time that's amazing.

We lost a prime mover early and had a marking and link up player off the ground for a quarter.

Below our knees we were cleaner than I have seen us in a lot time, and that made us more effective with close hands and being able to break away from stoppages. No team in the league has played like we did tonight, not saying we played the best footy, just saying no other team has played like it.

05-07-2020, 10:36 AM
Just some observations
Hasn't Rhylee West brought a lot to this side since his inclusion after overcoming a knee injury?
Lipinski has answered the challenge after he was surprisingly dropped
English performed sensationally well against a quality opponent. Shame he didn't nail that goal
JJ was a driving force for us and it's just a shame he didn't kick a couple of goals
Keath was a prominent player for us again

05-07-2020, 10:43 AM
Just some observations
Hasn't Rhylee West brought a lot to this side since his inclusion after overcoming a knee injury?
English performed sensationally well against a quality opponent. Shame he didn't nail that goal
JJ was a driving force for us and it's just a shame he didn't kick a couple of goals

Agree with all of this. West has been so impressive, he just does everything well - great in the contest, smart, uses it well.

Keath has been enormous for us.

Thought Schache was important, he provides a link for us and creates space behind him - didn't get in Bruce's way, which Naughty had previously.

05-07-2020, 10:49 AM
I think Keath coming in as really helped cordy and on last nights form Easton wood
West’s poise and decision making is a real standout . The shack was important last night and played a selfless role for Bruce on a few occasions. How on earth they played cunnington should be questioned . Apparently he looked like that in the fitness test

05-07-2020, 10:49 AM
Just some observations

JJs reemergence as an influence on the contest has been a real win for us as a Club and Bevo's plans I think. We are getting better, cohesive play when we transition from the backline and I think thats being driven by improved effort and support from JJ. Richards is sharing some of the load for that line breaking run, Wood did plenty, but it was JJ who loooked like taking that run and keeping the scoreboard ticking over. He had NM caught flat footed.