First Goal Smith

01-08-2020, 12:37 PM
Port by 67
Ist goal - someone in our team
Bog- Macrae

01-08-2020, 01:01 PM
Burns me to say it and I could've reasonably denied it before this week but Port are way better than us. Don't think this game is going to be very cash money.

01-08-2020, 02:37 PM
The Tigers did some homework and devised an effective alternate game plan to combat our A game.
Any chance we can do the same for this game where the odds are heavily against us getting the result ? I personally would at least like to see something similar to what the Tigers did in possession at times. Work the ball by foot more slowly into our f50 and then lock it in like the Hawks did yesterday.

Am I completely crazy thinking we can achieve something like this? I would really like to see this in our arsenal. Or at the very least some ability to adapt to the situation during the game. Be interesting to see if last week was some sort of catalyst for the coaches to try something different. Hard with the short turnaround to be too dramatic of course.

Port by 25
BOG Macrae
FG Wallis

01-08-2020, 03:20 PM
Port by 48 points
Macrae BOG
Billy Gowers first major

01-08-2020, 04:09 PM
Margin: Dogs by 1 point
FG: Libba
BOG: Macrae

01-08-2020, 05:21 PM
Very difficult for me to pick the Dogs but in this thread over the past 14 years, I have never put us down for a loss ( I think).

Game - draw :D

First Goal: Smith

BOG Macrae

02-08-2020, 10:16 AM
Dunks to play tomorrow vs Port

02-08-2020, 10:54 AM
Margin: Dogs by 6 points
FG: Bruce
BOG: Macrae

Doggies to come good this week.

02-08-2020, 01:14 PM
I will be there and am hoping for a turnaround, but not holding my breath. I am buoyed by a couple of against the odds wins against Port at AO (last year and in 2016?), but generally speaking it hasn’t been a happy hunting ground.

Dogs by 8
First Goal Bruce
BOG Gowers

How’s that for positivity?

02-08-2020, 02:00 PM
I will be there and am hoping for a turnaround, but not holding my breath. I am buoyed by a couple of against the odds wins against Port at AO (last year and in 2016?), but generally speaking it hasn’t been a happy hunting ground.

Dogs by 8
First Goal Bruce
BOG Gowers

It's pretty insane yeah.

02-08-2020, 02:10 PM

Dogs by 8
First Goal Bruce
BOG Gowers

Hopefully the boys turn it on for you

02-08-2020, 02:21 PM
Press Conference

Beveridge baffled by holding the ball rule (https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/beveridge-baffled-by-holding-the-ball-rule-20200802-p55hq8.html)
The Western Bulldogs remain baffled by the holding the ball rule, with coach Luke Beveridge declaring his team can't really prepare for the way it will be umpired on Monday night.

Debate around the rule has simmered for much of the season, with the AFL changing its interpretation after Hawthorn coach Alastair Clarkson complained that his side wasn't being rewarded for its tackles following their round four match.

Beveridge was an outspoken critic of the interpretation change at the time, criticising the league for flinching in the face of Clarkson's comments.

A decision paid against Essendon's Andrew McGrath on Friday night reignited the discussion, and Beveridge conceded on Sunday that the Dogs were in the dark about the rule heading into Monday night's meeting with Port Adelaide at Adelaide Oval.

"We can't address it because we don't know what the interpretation is going to be and we're not sure what the rule is," Beveridge said.

"We'll just play and our players will just do their best to make sure we clear the ball when we get tackled and maybe take the opportunity to really clamp down when the opposition get the footy."

Perhaps even harder to predict than the interpretation of the rule this year has been the Dogs' form, with Beveridge's side running hot and cold. The Dogs were soundly beaten by Richmond on Wednesday night and will now confront the ladder-leaders. However they will be boosted by the return of star midfielder Josh Dunkley from a syndesmosis injury.

"[He] is just a great team player. A great teammate. He does everything right in the game – he works his backside off … and he reads the game really early.

"He's strong and hard in tight, and he really gets out. Our boys have done an inconsistent job over the course of the year inside and out, but Dunks is a really consistent player who continues to apply himself. And he's a shining example within our four walls of what we're after."

Meanwhile Lachie Hunter could be closing in on a return to senior football after taking a break from the game with personal issues.

Hunter has remained in the Dogs' Queensland hub and has been joined by a loved one.

"Maddie's up now, which is great, Lachie's fiancee," Beveridge said.

"They did have plans to get married – I'm not sure how that sits in this COVID-19 world at the moment.

"He'll play in the scratch match today … so that'll be good for him. And we'll see how he comes through over the course of the next week or two and work out whether he's considered to come back into the AFL team."

In more welcome news for the Dogs, key forward Aaron Naughton could return from injury in next Saturday night's meeting with the Brisbane Lions at the Gabba.

Beveridge also said the $50,000 fine issued to Collingwood over Nathan Buckley and Brenton Sanderson's coronavirus protocol breaches were a reminder of the need to remain vigilant.

"It was a positive message because we've been doing everything to the best of our ability to the letter of the protocols," Beveridge said.

"Fortunately, we weren't one of the clubs who transgressed.

"It seems like a no-brainer that you should stay within the parameters, but at times it's quite easy to revert to what your life has been prior and it doesn't seem so black and white.

"But we've had some reminders and there's no doubt all of us really checked ourselves when the sanctions came out.

"Now it's our challenge to make sure that we remain compliant and keep our heads in what we're here to do."

02-08-2020, 06:37 PM
The Tigers did some homework and devised an effective alternate game plan to combat our A game.
Any chance we can do the same for this game where the odds are heavily against us getting the result ? I personally would at least like to see something similar to what the Tigers did in possession at times. Work the ball by foot more slowly into our f50 and then lock it in like the Hawks did yesterday.

Am I completely crazy thinking we can achieve something like this? I would really like to see this in our arsenal. Or at the very least some ability to adapt to the situation during the game. Be interesting to see if last week was some sort of catalyst for the coaches to try something different. Hard with the short turnaround to be too dramatic of course.

Port by 25
BOG Macrae
FG Wallis

I just don’t think we have the skilled players to pinpoint passes into our fwd 50, hence the bombing we have been known for. For mine, we only have 2 players I could think of that could deliver bullet like passes into fwd 50, and both of those are in defence (JJ and Daniel).

If we moved it slowly, the opposition would make our fwd line like Bunnings on a Sunday.

02-08-2020, 07:37 PM
Press Conference

Beveridge baffled by holding the ball rule (https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/beveridge-baffled-by-holding-the-ball-rule-20200802-p55hq8.html)
The Western Bulldogs remain baffled by the holding the ball rule, with coach Luke Beveridge declaring his team can't really prepare for the way it will be umpired on Monday night.

Debate around the rule has simmered for much of the season, with the AFL changing its interpretation after Hawthorn coach Alastair Clarkson complained that his side wasn't being rewarded for its tackles following their round four match.

Beveridge was an outspoken critic of the interpretation change at the time, criticising the league for flinching in the face of Clarkson's comments.

A decision paid against Essendon's Andrew McGrath on Friday night reignited the discussion, and Beveridge conceded on Sunday that the Dogs were in the dark about the rule heading into Monday night's meeting with Port Adelaide at Adelaide Oval.

"We can't address it because we don't know what the interpretation is going to be and we're not sure what the rule is," Beveridge said.

"We'll just play and our players will just do their best to make sure we clear the ball when we get tackled and maybe take the opportunity to really clamp down when the opposition get the footy."

Perhaps even harder to predict than the interpretation of the rule this year has been the Dogs' form, with Beveridge's side running hot and cold. The Dogs were soundly beaten by Richmond on Wednesday night and will now confront the ladder-leaders. However they will be boosted by the return of star midfielder Josh Dunkley from a syndesmosis injury.

"[He] is just a great team player. A great teammate. He does everything right in the game – he works his backside off … and he reads the game really early.

"He's strong and hard in tight, and he really gets out. Our boys have done an inconsistent job over the course of the year inside and out, but Dunks is a really consistent player who continues to apply himself. And he's a shining example within our four walls of what we're after."

Meanwhile Lachie Hunter could be closing in on a return to senior football after taking a break from the game with personal issues.

Hunter has remained in the Dogs' Queensland hub and has been joined by a loved one.

"Maddie's up now, which is great, Lachie's fiancee," Beveridge said.

"They did have plans to get married – I'm not sure how that sits in this COVID-19 world at the moment.

"He'll play in the scratch match today … so that'll be good for him. And we'll see how he comes through over the course of the next week or two and work out whether he's considered to come back into the AFL team."

In more welcome news for the Dogs, key forward Aaron Naughton could return from injury in next Saturday night's meeting with the Brisbane Lions at the Gabba.

Beveridge also said the $50,000 fine issued to Collingwood over Nathan Buckley and Brenton Sanderson's coronavirus protocol breaches were a reminder of the need to remain vigilant.

"It was a positive message because we've been doing everything to the best of our ability to the letter of the protocols," Beveridge said.

"Fortunately, we weren't one of the clubs who transgressed.

"It seems like a no-brainer that you should stay within the parameters, but at times it's quite easy to revert to what your life has been prior and it doesn't seem so black and white.

"But we've had some reminders and there's no doubt all of us really checked ourselves when the sanctions came out.

"Now it's our challenge to make sure that we remain compliant and keep our heads in what we're here to do."
Really glad to read this and that Lachie has her support.

03-08-2020, 07:21 AM
We haven't lost 2 weeks in a row this year (it was about 2 months between round 1 and 2) :)

So in saying that
Dogs by 16
First goal- Flea
Bog- McLean

03-08-2020, 09:10 AM
Port by 8 goal 2 behinds.
First goal : baz
BOG : roarke smith

This will be an unpleasant start to the week in footy.

03-08-2020, 09:15 AM
Port by 8 goal 2 behinds.
First goal : baz
BOG : roarke smith

This will be an unpleasant start to the week in footy.

Just think of it as the end of round 9 and we get to go again very soon.

03-08-2020, 10:00 AM
We can do this. Let's shake up the football world. Go Dogs!

03-08-2020, 11:27 AM
Port by 36.
BOG Macrae.
First goal Wallis.

Think this could get ugly.

03-08-2020, 11:53 AM
Absolutely we can win this game let’s get to work Dogs .

03-08-2020, 11:57 AM
Port by plenty.
BOG Libba
First goal Wallis

03-08-2020, 12:00 PM
I'm very frustrated with our team and it's inconsistencies but I also think along with us frequently not being as good as we should be we are often better than we expect. As a result I think we will win two of our next three, so why not this one?

Our team defence is both good and shit, so who is to say it doesn't starve Port of opportunity and Dixon barely touches it, or maybe Dixon is their only effective forward and our forwardline somehow manages to outscore him?

We are absolutely capable of winning this one and the Brisbane game, we are also capable of losing both in the first quarter. I'm going to optimistically back us in and say we will win by 26 points, Daniel bog and Weightman first goal.

03-08-2020, 12:44 PM
I'm not trying to endorse gambling but what a player Jarcus would be!

https://i.postimg.cc/LXx6nfG5/Capture.png (https://postimages.org/)

03-08-2020, 01:47 PM
Like all in the same situation (those living in Melbourne) we need a boost to the morale so lets hope the boys put in a good one... Go Dogs!!

03-08-2020, 02:23 PM
I'm not trying to endorse gambling but what a player Jarcus would be!

https://i.postimg.cc/LXx6nfG5/Capture.png (https://postimages.org/)

Please. Jarcus ain't got nothin' on Jacksilly Trengowers.

https://i.ibb.co/fD4Vn1L/jacksilly-trengowers.jpg (https://ibb.co/BnqHrzF)

Get around him.

03-08-2020, 02:32 PM

Get around him.

Haha. What would the market be if they were playing? Combine for 10 clangers and fewer than 15 possessions?

03-08-2020, 04:47 PM
I think we can win. But on the balance of things, Port winning is more likely.

Port by 6 points.
BOG Bont
First Goal Bruce

03-08-2020, 04:49 PM
Us by 1pt
BOG Macrae
1st goal Wallis

03-08-2020, 04:54 PM
I think we can win. But on the balance of things, Port winning is more likely.

Port by 6 points.
BOG Bont
First Goal Bruce

I know we CAN win, I just have no expectation that we will.

Twice Bitten
03-08-2020, 06:01 PM
Will the ego boost of probably tipping correctly make me pick against the Bulldogs?
Never.
Never have and never will.
A fan equivocates; a supporter supports through thick and thin. Or as in Bullies case - thick and thin and thick and thin and thick and thin.

Us by 9 pts
BOG Bont
1st goal Bruce

03-08-2020, 07:35 PM
Cmon Dogs!

03-08-2020, 07:59 PM
Dog 17 points
First goal: Vandermeer
BOG: Bont ( has to be if we're going to upset Port)

03-08-2020, 08:10 PM
Time to bring it doggies!!!!!

03-08-2020, 08:10 PM
Dogs by 12 points
BOG. Libba
1st Goal Wallis

03-08-2020, 08:14 PM
Cody gets us firing! Fair 50m penalty for high tackle.

03-08-2020, 08:24 PM
Dixon already a worry

03-08-2020, 08:25 PM
Lipinski needs a good hard look at himself.

03-08-2020, 08:26 PM
Started with decent intent

03-08-2020, 08:27 PM
Mitch Wallis in good form. Great stuff to Sam Lloyd who finishes.

Sharp start. Well done Mitch.

Need to make sure Bruce kills those rebound marks from Jonas and co.

Take a bow Mitch.

Wally nice stuff

03-08-2020, 08:29 PM
Roarke Smith getting involved early..good on him
Dunkley's set shot was always going to go right as that was the way he ran at it
Bont and Macrae taking a turn in the ruck
Crozier on Dixon could be a problem
Williams productive
Wallis showing his worth
and a few decisions going our way

I'm liking the energy we have brought so far

03-08-2020, 08:31 PM
Bruce couldn't catch a cold right now.

03-08-2020, 08:31 PM
Awesome Keath

03-08-2020, 08:33 PM
Have to make the most of this dominance. Let's luck a few goals.

03-08-2020, 08:36 PM
Pressure has been good.

Love the effort, but so wasteful.

Gee that's a poor effort by Bruce going one handed

Lipinski and Bruce are our 2 most out of form players. It shows.

03-08-2020, 08:38 PM
Good qtr. 2.5 not the best reading but we’ve shown what we can do. English ready to dominate the hit outs.

03-08-2020, 08:38 PM
Can't fault the intent and effort, playing our style. Finishing lets us down as always.

03-08-2020, 08:39 PM
Gee that's a poor effort by Bruce going one handed

He jumped off the wrong leg... horrible effort.

03-08-2020, 08:39 PM
He jumped off the wrong leg... horrible effort.

Lipinski should have handballed it to Daniel on his outside.

03-08-2020, 08:40 PM
Bruce is rubbish at the moment.

I was excited about his arrival but he's been absolutely crap and really, should probably be dropped.

Get around him.

How do I delete someone else's post?

English has done well. 5 hit outs to advantage. Mids applying themselves well.

03-08-2020, 08:41 PM
Lipinski and Bruce are our 2 most out of form players. It shows.

Upside with Lipinski is that when he gets the ball in any space he hits a target by foot. Which makes him a rare bird in this team.
Really like Roarke Smith’s first quarter, got involved and did little things well. We need to keep the dominance around the footy, because if they get easy ball into the forward 50, we’re *!*!*!*!ed.

Midfield very strong in the phone box so far

Bruce couldn't catch a cold right now.

Unlucky, the one he clunked getting called back and then Lipinski missing him with a hot short ball.

The pressure and effort to get first to the ball is looking really good from the team tonight. Need to do our best to capitalise on some possession.

03-08-2020, 08:43 PM
Jeez Laith can kick it further than I would have given him credit for

03-08-2020, 08:45 PM
Ed Richards kicking into Hartlett was really bad. Has a habit of fluffing his lines under pressure a little too much.

Bruce, Wood haven't touched the ball

Unlucky, the one he clunked getting called back and then Lipinski missing him with a hot short ball.

The pressure and effort to get first to the ball is looking really good from the team tonight. Need to do our best to capitalise on some possession.

Yeah the kick from Lipinski sucked but he needs to mark that. He's at Tom Boyd levels at the moment.

03-08-2020, 08:47 PM
Getting outmarked at CHF is hurting us. Need to stop their rebound defensive marks

03-08-2020, 08:49 PM
Port inside 50 = shot on goal.

Unlucky free against Bont.

Few players letting us down with no influence. Likes of Bruce, Lipinski and Richards who are all repeat offenders.

Still well on top. Can’t let soft goals make us drop our head.

03-08-2020, 08:50 PM
Our forwards all lead to the same spot, surely they watched Richmonds set up after last week. Need to create separation.

Schache would have been handy in this one.

03-08-2020, 08:51 PM
Forward 50 marking letting us down.

03-08-2020, 08:53 PM
Forward 50 marking letting us down.

Forward 50 everything. It's like the blokes down there have never played forward in their life.

03-08-2020, 08:54 PM
These defensive 50 rebound marks are annoying the crap out of me

Honestly, unless we run it to the goal line we're not going to score.

Surely we give up the most defensive marks than any other team

03-08-2020, 08:55 PM
Our forward line is VFL standard

03-08-2020, 08:55 PM
Forward 50 everything. It's like the blokes down there have never played forward in their life.

Having more than one player over 6 foot would be nice... long bombs to short players.. rinse & repeat!

03-08-2020, 08:56 PM
God Naughton down there would be good

03-08-2020, 08:57 PM
Having more than one player over 6 foot would be nice... long bombs to short players.. rinse & repeat!

Shame Schache has been banished to Siberia.

03-08-2020, 08:58 PM
Richards high IQ getting to the ball and low IQ with ball in hand

03-08-2020, 08:59 PM
Lippa welcome to 2020!

Wallis IQ is impressive. Just wish he could run but he's dependable.

Great tackle Lippa.

03-08-2020, 09:00 PM
McLean's touches have been so clean tonight.

03-08-2020, 09:01 PM
Is Wood out there?

Wanted: A half forward line

This htb rule has me totally lost.

03-08-2020, 09:02 PM
Wallis has been excellent

03-08-2020, 09:03 PM
My kingdom to see Bruce get separation on his opponent just once.

03-08-2020, 09:03 PM
HTB back to old interpretation

03-08-2020, 09:04 PM
Port supporters are BOGANS

03-08-2020, 09:04 PM
Have I mentioned I love Libba yet?

03-08-2020, 09:06 PM
That was stupid play there

How embarrassing

Unforgivable

03-08-2020, 09:07 PM
Overpossess-turnover-goal-Drink

$700k for what?

Seriously that could turn the game.

Ah JJ....

One handball too many all night. Kills you.

03-08-2020, 09:08 PM
$700k for what?

Most overpaid player on our list by a long way

03-08-2020, 09:08 PM
Our exact gameplay problem. Total domination for nothing on the scoreboard.

03-08-2020, 09:09 PM
So sick of these defensive 50 marks

03-08-2020, 09:10 PM
Bruce is deliberately just trying to spoil now.

03-08-2020, 09:10 PM

That’s what happens Sedat when you have Bruce and the mosquito fleet around him.

03-08-2020, 09:11 PM
Our exact gameplay problem. Total domination for nothing on the scoreboard.

We are matching the top side. Just have to keep this up

What did we expect with absolutely no height up forward to support Bruce?

Port supporters are BOGANS

Name me a club whose supporters aren't, ours included?

We have ran out of ideas on how to score. We lose no threat and can’t even bring the ball to ground. 13 more inside 50s for the same amount of goals.

03-08-2020, 09:12 PM
Nice effort but our problems are in full display. Turnovers lead to easy goals out the back but more crucially we can’t get anything going up forward. They mark it or clear it out of 50 every bloody time. Whatever we’re trying to do simply doesn’t work and it hasn’t for 3 years. Jesus why isn’t Schache out there

Name me a club whose supporters aren't, ours included?

Have you seen them, booing everything

What did we expect with absolutely no height up forward to support Bruce?

We're kicking inside 50 as if we have West Coast's forward line.

Played very well. Pressure been great just cannot capitalise - THE MOST IMPORTANT ASPECT OF THE GAME!!

03-08-2020, 09:13 PM
Fantastic work rate and effort. We are doing so much right so far, but our delivery into F50 coupled with the inability of our forwards to prevent their defenders marking our I50's needs urgent repair.

How many of our handballs are to players standing still ? So frustrating.

And crozier handballs to JJ with JJ running fwd, for JJ to stop and try to hand sideways to Crozier standing still. Makes no friggin sense.

Very frustrating and error riddled half. Can't fault the effort and intensity but execution is rubbish. So much energy expended for almost nothing.
Can't help but wonder if we're positioned like George Foreman v Ali, where we've punched ourselves out.

Nice effort but our problems are in full display. Turnovers lead to easy goals out the back but more crucially we can’t get anything going up forward. They mark it or clear it out of 50 every bloody time. Whatever we’re trying to do simply doesn’t work and it hasn’t for 3 years. Jesus why isn’t Schache out there

The scary thing is this is us playing our brand of footy. It doesn't get much better than this for us.

Port have another 2-3 gears, we're close to full throttle and we've kicked 3 goals.

Well, hat off to the mids. Great first half. Delivery into the forward line was poor, but sometimes you need to kick it long and you need your forwards to, you know, contest? Aside from Wallis, nobody can mark it let alone contest it in the air.

How is it we forget about Schache and Young but are happy enough for Bruce to deliver nothing? We are desperate for another tall target yet we refuse to play them.

Effort has been great but I can see this turning into a either a close loss or a blowout if we don't maintain that dominance.

Unfortunately this has getting run over all over it. Great effort but we’ll blow opportunity after opportunity, they’ll take their gifted opportunities. Then we’ll drop our intensity 5-10% and they’ll run over us

I could have intercepted that JJ handball from my couch.

Players like Lloyd need to lower the eyes and take shorter targets taking the ball forward. There was one where he saw Libba, almost went short, but went long instead and of course Port killed the footy. The short to Libba was clearly on and would have opened up the ground given Libba is a leftie.

Anyway, the endeavour is there. We just need English to take some pressure off with around the ground marking, and we Bruce to hold one or two.

03-08-2020, 09:14 PM
We look 1 tall forward short, but our delivery into F50 is also not helping. Need to spot up the short options.

03-08-2020, 09:14 PM

10 minutes of good footy by us could break this game wide open
I'm still liking our effort but there is still a bit to get done

03-08-2020, 09:15 PM
You have to admire our endeavour BUT *!*!*!*! we look like an ordinary team going forward. Bruce couldn't catch the coronavirus in the quarantine hotel right now! Hes dropping everything

Our around the ground stoppage A game is contested ball win, quick handball chain to create overlap but we generally either go one too many and put ourselves under pressure or kick with the same urgency as those phone box handballs which must be a nightmare for forwards. We can't seem to create a clean entry often enough.
The effort can't be faulted, but not sure I love our 1 wood.

Who needs forwards when you have luck?

Really need a second tall forward. Even a mobile mid sizer would help

03-08-2020, 09:16 PM
Dunkley quiet after first quarter with only two touches. Libba is playing a great game and trying to get things moving, but we need to capitalise. Bruce one touch. Needs to lead more

03-08-2020, 09:17 PM
Who needs forwards when you have luck?

That McLean goal was peak Bulldogs.

03-08-2020, 09:17 PM
The scary thing is this is us playing our brand of footy. It doesn't get much better than this for us.

Port have another 2-3 gears, we're close to full throttle and we've kicked 3 goals.

Both teams are at full throttle and we've dominated play. The only difference is that they have made the most of the small chances they've had. It was a typical Doggies quarter, hardly any scoring control the play and keep the ball inside 50 but hardly a score. The only way we look like scoring right now is the umps pluck one out for us.

03-08-2020, 09:18 PM
25 inside 50s. Bruce one handball.

03-08-2020, 09:19 PM
Both teams are at full throttle and we've dominated play. The only difference is that they have made the most of the small chances they've had. It was a typical Doggies quarter, hardly any scoring control the play and keep the ball inside 50 but hardly a score. The only way we look like scoring right now is the umps pluck one out for us.

Port aren't close to playing at their best.

03-08-2020, 09:19 PM
25 inside 50s. Bruce one handball.

And he threw that one!

03-08-2020, 09:20 PM
It's usually not a coincidence when one team dominates play, the other is crazy efficient with their inside 50s.

This is identical to the McCartney Bulldogs. We're going to lose.

Have you seen them, booing everything

I'm watching the same game, yes.

That carry on happens all game, every game.

And if I'm honest with you, we've had plenty go our way this game. There was a section of play we gave away three frees in 15 seconds, none of which were called.

Handball club or constantly refer pressure to your teammate until someone scrambles a kick club?

Ricciuto to Hinkley: "you're not having any luck with the umpires."

Adelaide boys club at work, completely unprofessional. Might as well have me in the commentary team.

Glass half full, we are making the ladder leader look impotent on their home deck. The JJ error aside, they struggled to kick 2 goals in a half against us. A lot of our game is working, especially in and around the ball and at stoppages.

03-08-2020, 09:21 PM
Tim English got smashed in the 2nd quarter. He's looking more cooked with every game.

It's usually not a coincidence when one team dominates play, the other is crazy efficient with their inside 50s.

But hey, we're cracking in.

10 minutes of good footy by us could break this game wide open
I'm still liking our effort but there is still a bit to get done

We need to continue with that effort, and not turn the ball over, and kick some bleeding goals

Adelaide boys club at work, completely unprofessional. Might as well have me in the commentary team.

I'd rather hear that to be honest.

Port aren't close to playing at their best.

Why? Because we haven't let them, that's why. Both teams are going full tilt. The pressure is immense.

03-08-2020, 09:23 PM
I'm watching the same game, yes.

That carry on happens all game, every game.

And if I'm honest with you, we've had plenty go our way this game. There was a section of play we gave away three frees in 15 seconds, none of which were called.

Frees are even

03-08-2020, 09:24 PM

Losing clearances by a million but it's the umpires fault. A pretty apt microcosm of why the Crows are where they are from Ricciuto.

I feel it'll be an honourable loss as well. Can't sit up to watch the end due to the 3am wake up for work tomorrow but that's probably a good thing because I'll either be peed off or high on adrenalin after a close win.

He's a complete dickhead. You get the coach for a few seconds, your job is to extract information, and your contribution is asking a question he can't answer. What a dickhead.

Frees are even

Therefore the game has been umpired perfectly, Bigfooty told me so.

Macrae 6 tackles to half time. Great effort.

03-08-2020, 09:25 PM
Frees are even

And we've been screwed royally with HTB. They won't pay us one of those

03-08-2020, 09:25 PM
What was JJ thinking he had momentum and instead of running down the middle 30 or 40 metres decides to give it back to them for a goal.

03-08-2020, 09:26 PM
Tim English got smashed in the 2nd quarter. He's looking more cooked with every game.
Definitely needs a rest..maybe it will be the Adelaide game

And we've been screwed royally with HTB. They won't pay us one of those

yeah I am confused with the HTB and so are the players

I am listening on the wireless. Have read the entire thread and Woofers opinions are mirrored by the commentators. So frustrating to dominate everywhere - except on the scoreboard - and then give them a goal via a turnover. Btw, according to the commentators we did not get a free kick that quarter.

03-08-2020, 09:27 PM
Frees are even

That settles it then.

03-08-2020, 09:28 PM
I think we need to go back to one umpire on the field so we can have a consistent call.

03-08-2020, 09:28 PM
Are we winning or not?

Gee... glass half empty on here?

We’re gonna win. Midfield is up and about.

03-08-2020, 09:29 PM
Very similar to the gold coast game except this time it's us dominating the general play

03-08-2020, 09:29 PM
One of the great mysteries this season is how on earth Josh Bruce kicked 6 goals on Robbie Tarrant.

I know he is lacking support and good delivery but his form is a real worry, and over a decent sample size.

03-08-2020, 09:30 PM
'A' grade effort. I know it's frustrating that we're not getting reward for effort but if we can keep up this effort, we can go close.

03-08-2020, 09:30 PM
Very similar to the gold coast game except this time it's us dominating the general play

Thought the exact same thing TD. We lead at half time in that game though so it means we'll win this one. Right?

03-08-2020, 09:32 PM
If we clean up our ball use forward of centre we have this

03-08-2020, 09:35 PM
Lloyd is not a clever footballer. That inside 50 was garbage.

03-08-2020, 09:36 PM
Bloody hell JJ!!

Love your work JJ.

JJ. Owes us two goals. Gee whiz. Brain fade.

03-08-2020, 09:37 PM
Trade JJ.

That's it. Trade Johannisen.

2 goals for Port today JJ

Farken JJ. Take the easy option by hand

That’s 2 he’s given up

JJ... 2 goals he's cost us.
We look awful now. Fumbly, and error prone.

Here come the floodgates

JJ's making a fool of himself tonight! Goodness me.

03-08-2020, 09:38 PM
What was that effort from Bont in the contest? Let his man go.

03-08-2020, 09:39 PM
We need to get the next goal, badly

03-08-2020, 09:39 PM
This is what happens when you do not take your chances!

03-08-2020, 09:40 PM
Ignore Dixon clearly pushing Cordy in the back and then pay him a free.

Great.

Here comes the real Port.

Young Cody looks like he is ready for under 18 football, looks along way off it.

Boys need to hang in they are off a 4 day break we can still do it.

This one's finished

Going to be a tough lead to chase down, no joke.

15 contested marks to 1

03-08-2020, 09:41 PM
Hopefully at some stage we might pick someone who is over 6 foot to play forward... he certainly has his favourites does our coach.

03-08-2020, 09:41 PM
What was that effort from Bont in the contest? Let his man go.

What is going on with him it's bizarre. We really struggle in the air but continually bomb it by foot. 15 contested marks to 1.

03-08-2020, 09:42 PM
Flood gates are opening. We’re a really average team let’s face it

03-08-2020, 09:42 PM
Absolute BS free to dixon ffs

03-08-2020, 09:43 PM
3 goals haha

It's over

Our overuse turnovers changed the entire trajectory of the game.

Hands in the back doesn't exist anymore

Weak as piss Dogs. How did we not have someone coming over the top of that.

Bevo doing his patented "perplexed".

We are useless in that forward line :mad:

This will be another Carlton game

So predictable.

Let's go and recruit another couple of KPPs so we can not play them.and be outmarked all over the ground.

03-08-2020, 09:44 PM
Why? Because we haven't let them, that's why. Both teams are going full tilt. The pressure is immense.

This is the extra gear or two.

Ricciuto happy for his mate Dixon :)

This feels like a 7 goal loss

03-08-2020, 09:45 PM
This feels like a 7 goal loss that is being generous. Floodgates

Typical

Here comes the great fold. 8+ goal loss coming up.

03-08-2020, 09:46 PM
Did Ricciuto really just say that switching Caleb Daniel to the forward line would get us back in the game?

Bloody hell Dogs :mad:

dixon can have fist full of jumper and never penalised

Someone tell me what Roarke offers. Am i missing something?

Bailey Smith has turned into a panic merchant the last 2 weeks.

03-08-2020, 09:47 PM
That hasn't been paid deliberate in 3 years

Did Ricciuto really just say that switching Caleb Daniel to the forward line would get us back in the game?

That was King.

We need a response

03-08-2020, 09:48 PM

That’s what we do to players we bring in.

But hey let’s just try harder next week and everything will magically change

we are kike a deer in the headlights here. Cmon dogs

RoZDog
Players look dead on their feet.

We need a response

We've shot our bullets in the first half. That was the best we had.

03-08-2020, 09:49 PM
Wood needs to be better than that with a simple disposal by foot

03-08-2020, 09:49 PM
I don’t think we can play Easton Wood anymore... he just cannot hit a target and isn’t an influence with his intercept marks.

03-08-2020, 09:50 PM
Oh FMD Cordy

Cordy outmarked ;)

We've shot our bullets in the first half. That was the best we had.

Yep... we had 25 inside 50’s for 3 goals. Embarrassing.

03-08-2020, 09:51 PM
No hands in the back again.

Port keeping us in it.

Need a goal before 3/4 time and we are still in it

If we can somehow get a goal here, is still a game but gee it appears unlikely

03-08-2020, 09:52 PM
No hands in the back again.

That wasn't close to a free

Yep... we had 25 inside 50’s for 3 goals. Embarrassing.

Just not good enough. We must do better than that when we are dominating the game.

Can't even win a 1on1 right now anywhere on the ground

Port keeping us in it.

Need a goal before 3/4 time and we are still in it

We will be lucky to kick another goal for the game

Shit defending

It is very obvious from the commentary that the game has completely turned. We are just hanging on. One more goal to them and it could be game over. We are not able to string four quarters together. Georgiardies misses. We are still in it in theory but in practice it looks like we're cooked.

03-08-2020, 09:53 PM
We're like a dog trying to bite without any teeth.

Why was no one near Ladhams?
Wheels off now. We're a rabble.

We dominate two quarters. Even.

They dominate one quarter. Game over.

Brisbane up next. Yay.

I say it again hands in the back doesn't exist anymore

Time to send the wives and kids home i reckon.

03-08-2020, 09:54 PM
I don’t think we can play Easton Wood anymore... he just cannot hit a target and isn’t an influence with his intercept marks.

The signs have been there for a couple of years now but he will be played

We dominate two quarters. Even.

They dominate one quarter. Game over.

So frustrating!!!!!

Nowhere near the effort we put in that first half. We're letting them walk it now. When is some real heat going to be put on the coaches. He have been this way for so long. We cannot funking score!!

03-08-2020, 09:55 PM

I was going to post he seems out of form at the moment.

Ports pressure went up and we are found wanting BIG time

They brought the heat in the middle that qtr.

We can't sustain a game plan that requires us to win clearances and I50's by 10-20 to squeak over the line. Good teams will get their turn to dominate in the middle, and we will get obliterated when they do.

We need to score 24 points in the last term to hit the front, if Port don't score.....we've only scored 23 points in 3Qtrs.
Goodnight...

03-08-2020, 09:56 PM
Bruce & Bont playing largely as a key forward have taken 1 mark between them.

Naughton can't come back quick enough.

03-08-2020, 09:56 PM
Ports pressure went up and we are found wanting BIG time

They were going half rat power in the first half.

As soon as they flicked the switch, we were laughably outmatched.

03-08-2020, 09:57 PM
No way were we going to sustain that first half pressure. Like usual, we used all the Petrol vouchers and couldn’t score. It was just a matter of time. I’m now waiting for port to put the foot on the throat and send us back to Qld with a 40+ point loss.

Our only weapon is effort.

That's the sign of a bottom 6 squad. When effort declines even slightly, we're irrelevant against half decent opposition.

We need a list and coaching clean-up.

Apart from four magical weeks has this handball game been super effective? We persist almost in hope. I find it a frustrating tactic; easily countered. Shame the effort fell away when challenged in that quarter. Port have dominated the air 18 contested marks to 1 now.

Nowhere near the effort we put in that first half. We're letting them walk it now. When is some real heat going to be put on the coaches. He have been this way for so long. We cannot funking score!!

Look Port were always going to come. They got a roll and our mids struggled to handle it. This game was lost (yes I am assuming that we cannot kick 4 unanswered goals) at the selection table (again). Bruce cannot be the sole marking forward. He does enough to bring the ball to ground, but it makes us one dimensional. You can't beat the better teams with that approach.

They brought the heat in the middle that qtr.

We can't have a game plan that requires us to win clearances and I50's by 10-20 to squeak over the line.

The game plan is fine... we don’t have the personnel to implement it.

So I guess the game plan for this team isn’t going to work against the decent teams.