View Full Version : McDonald's becomes Gold Partner of the Bulldogs

25-08-2020, 03:09 PM
Good signs in these tough times. McDonalds are a huge brand and we can leverage the partnership to connect with a much larger population (no pun intended. I keep doing that).

https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/801328/mcdonald-s-becomes-gold-partner-of-the-bulldogs

The Western Bulldogs have locked in a new three-year partnership with McDonald’s, which will become a Gold Partner of the Club.

A key focus of the partnership is centred on driving fan engagement via activations across the Bulldogs’ digital platforms.

The ‘Macca’s MVP’ digital fan engagement property has already been a key McDonald’s branded asset during the 2020 season.

With both the Bulldogs and McDonald’s focused on community initiatives, both organisations will also collaborate on initiatives to support Ronald McDonald House.

“We are looking forward to creating fan engagement activities with the McDonald’s team over the next three years, focussed on digital branded content,” said Western Bulldogs Chief Commercial Officer, Nick Truelson.

“As we look into the future and we see crowds return to stadiums, we are keen to work with McDonald’s on activations which create a better match-day experience for our loyal members and fans.”

McDonald’s Australia Market Director – Southern Region, Brad McMullen, said: “We’re pleased to be teaming-up with the Western Bulldogs, as we continue our support of AFL.

“We’re proud to play an active role in communities across Australia, and together with the Western Bulldogs we hope we can help more Aussies enjoy and participate in the game of AFL.”

25-08-2020, 03:16 PM
Wow we are really kicking goals off field, amazing considering the circumstances.

25-08-2020, 03:18 PM
Brilliant, hopefully allows us to keep the VFL, VFLW and AFLW teams going.

25-08-2020, 03:18 PM
Wow we are really kicking goals off field, amazing considering the circumstances.

Hopefully the partnership can prosper and we can turn it into a platinum level sponsorship in the future.

25-08-2020, 03:22 PM
We're all going to be connoisseur's in north american cuisine. Next we'll be adding Canada's poutine to our weekly dinner plan of tacos, quarter-pounders, burritos, McChickens and nachos.

25-08-2020, 03:28 PM
Seems to be a link with their community charities and Ronald Mcdonald house which ties in nicely with Good Friday as well I believe?

25-08-2020, 03:38 PM
We are certainly kicking some goals on and off the field.
Well done to the club to get such a global sponsor like McDonald's on board.

25-08-2020, 04:10 PM
Great news! Buy more Maccas to help the Dogs :D

25-08-2020, 04:47 PM
Importantly ... do I get a discount card now??? (asking for a friend)

25-08-2020, 05:50 PM
They sponsor Melbourne FC too. Odd.
Don't look a gift horse in the face.

25-08-2020, 06:35 PM
Great news! Buy more Maccas to help the Dogs :D

I love the Dogs....but not that much

25-08-2020, 07:46 PM
How good is this! There was a time not too long ago we were struggling for sponsors and now we are attracting the big guns. Great stuff Doggies!!

25-08-2020, 07:59 PM
I love the Dogs....but not that much

Yeah each to their own :)

25-08-2020, 08:06 PM
That’s amazing. And delicious.

25-08-2020, 08:22 PM
Happy to take their money. It's a good endorsement of what the club must be presenting to its partners, to attract a brand like maccas. I saw some data around the Club with respect to the partnership with VU which I think sold the club really well. Credit to the team in charge of that side of the business.

It does heighten for me the value we should place on a program like SOTW too, given the contribution (direct or otherwise) that the prevalence of fast food outlets per capita in Brimbank and neighbouring LGAs has on health outcomes on our patch.

25-08-2020, 10:00 PM
How much money is this worth?

25-08-2020, 10:18 PM
How much money is this worth?

Those sorts of deals are never mentioned but as a gold partner it's a few steps behind the main ones in Mission and BMW
And a couple of levels below Victoria University, Asics, City of Ballarat, and Pedigree etc

25-08-2020, 10:20 PM
Those sorts of deals are never mentioned but as a gold partner it's a few steps behind the main ones in Mission and BMW
And a couple of levels below Victoria University, Asics, City of Ballarat, and Pedigree etc

You mean Mercedes

25-08-2020, 11:48 PM
Love a good Freudian slip.

26-08-2020, 12:06 AM
Our commerical partners

https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/commercial-partners

26-08-2020, 12:47 AM
That's actually really good news, off field we can certainty kick goals.

26-08-2020, 12:29 PM
Not complaining at all but just wondering how many other clubs Maccas sponsor?

Are we one of a number or have we been singled out for specific reason? (community work)

26-08-2020, 12:37 PM
Not complaining at all but just wondering how many other clubs Maccas sponsor?

Are we one of a number or have we been singled out for specific reason? (community work)

Looks like they may be partnering with a few teams.

https://www.richmondfc.com.au/news/704077/richmond-announces-new-partnership-with-mcdonald-s

https://www.carltonfc.com.au/news/795031/mcdonald-s-joins-as-official-afl-and-aflw-partner

https://www.melbournefc.com.au/news/572931/mcdonald-s-kicking-goals-with-melbourne-football-club

https://www.saints.com.au/news/308793/mcdonalds-joins-st-kilda

Feels like Oprah. You can have a sponsorship, you can have a sponsorship!

26-08-2020, 12:41 PM

https://www.richmondfc.com.au/news/704077/richmond-announces-new-partnership-with-mcdonald-s

https://www.carltonfc.com.au/news/795031/mcdonald-s-joins-as-official-afl-and-aflw-partner

https://www.melbournefc.com.au/news/572931/mcdonald-s-kicking-goals-with-melbourne-football-club

Weird.

26-08-2020, 06:02 PM

And recently: https://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/795785

Hawks, Cats, Crows, Dockers, Lions, Suns, Giants, Power, Swans and Roos also have them listed as sponsors on their websites. Collingwood and the Hungry Jacks Eagles appear the only exceptions.

26-08-2020, 06:11 PM

And recently: https://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/795785

Hawks, Cats, Crows, Dockers, Lions, Suns, Giants, Power, Swans and Roos also have them listed as sponsors on their websites. Collingwood and the Hungry Jacks Eagles appear the only exceptions.

So I"m not getting a discount card ????

26-08-2020, 07:33 PM
So I"m not getting a discount card ????

For a friend? :)

26-08-2020, 07:40 PM

Haha. It's already discounted so you can start your trans fat addiction.

26-08-2020, 07:52 PM
Happy to take their money. It's a good endorsement of what the club must be presenting to its partners, to attract a brand like maccas. I saw some data around the Club with respect to the partnership with VU which I think sold the club really well. Credit to the team in charge of that side of the business.

It does heighten for me the value we should place on a program like SOTW too, given the contribution (direct or otherwise) that the prevalence of fast food outlets per capita in Brimbank and neighbouring LGAs has on health outcomes on our patch.

I was waiting for this angle. Their menu has improved a lot, 10 years ago this would have been the first reply

27-08-2020, 12:52 PM
I was waiting for this angle. Their menu has improved a lot, 10 years ago this would have been the first reply

Sorry but comments like this annoy me. The menu might be 'better', but seriously...better than what? And compared to 10-years ago when mega size drinks weren't even available...

The healthiest items on the menu are listed here:

https://www.lifehacker.com.au/2020/06/the-least-worst-fast-food-items-to-order-when-its-your-only-option/

Try and cross reference that list (and when a muffin with jam qualifies as healthy it isn't much of a list!!) with this one for the most popular foods on a Macca's menu:
https://www.sunshinecoastdaily.com.au/news/stats-in-on-coasts-most-craved-mcdonalds-items/3470384/ (article is from the Sunshine coast because that's the most recent one I can find) and you will see there is not much overlap.

In other words, there is some 'not the worst' food on the menu...unfortunately no-one buys it.

I don't want to deny the club the right to get whoever they want to sponsor them, but there shouldn't be any Chinese Walls here...if you run the SOTW program, well, you don't have fast food restaurants as a sponsor.

27-08-2020, 01:15 PM
I guess our main sponsor isn't exactly health food either. But I somewhat agree. This stuff exists, and sadly it's the lower socio- economic groups that are drawn mostly to it. So it's a bit of a conflict as you say.
Think we also have affiliations with Mars and the Pancake Parlour.

And on that line - I've got some connections on the canine front, I wouldn't eat Pedigree either ! (if I was a dog).

27-08-2020, 01:23 PM

Of course ... of course :p

27-08-2020, 04:44 PM
Maccas is terribly unhealthy, lets not even pretend otherwise.

I don't want to deny the club the right to get whoever they want to sponsor them, but there shouldn't be any Chinese Walls here...if you run the SOTW program, well, you don't have fast food restaurants as a sponsor.

Where do you stop though? I'm happy to be rid of pokies from the club revenue streams but we arent exactly in a position to knock back sponsorship money from one of the AFLs major sponsors.

28-08-2020, 12:50 PM
Sorry but comments like this annoy me. The menu might be 'better', but seriously...better than what? And compared to 10-years ago when mega size drinks weren't even available...

The healthiest items on the menu are listed here:

https://www.lifehacker.com.au/2020/06/the-least-worst-fast-food-items-to-order-when-its-your-only-option/

Try and cross reference that list (and when a muffin with jam qualifies as healthy it isn't much of a list!!) with this one for the most popular foods on a Macca's menu:
https://www.sunshinecoastdaily.com.au/news/stats-in-on-coasts-most-craved-mcdonalds-items/3470384/ (article is from the Sunshine coast because that's the most recent one I can find) and you will see there is not much overlap.

In other words, there is some 'not the worst' food on the menu...unfortunately no-one buys it.

Just saying it took a while for the appropriateness of Macca's as a sponsor to come up, before that it was just 'wow great job especially during covid'

Easton Wood has been an outspoken opponent of pokies as a revenue source, to me a sponsor is worse because you're promoting the unhealthy behaviour

28-08-2020, 02:03 PM
Where do we draw the line with sponsors? We shouldn't promote McDonalds because they have unhealthy food, so does that mean we should knock back Amazon because they have unhealthy items on their platform?

Or if Google came knocking, we should say no because their search engine brings up results we don't agree with?

Or what about Netflix, which streams material that inappropriately sexualises children?

Until Freddie's Organic Farm is prepared to pay hundreds of thousands sponsoring a small market footy team, I'm not sure we're in a position to knock back someone like McDonalds.

28-08-2020, 02:29 PM
Where do we draw the line with sponsors? We shouldn't promote McDonalds because they have unhealthy food, so does that mean we should knock back Amazon because they have unhealthy items on their platform?

Or if Google came knocking, we should say no because their search engine brings up results we don't agree with?

Or what about Netflix, which streams material that inappropriately sexualises children?

Until Freddie's Organic Farm is prepared to pay hundreds of thousands sponsoring a small market footy team, I'm not sure we're in a position to knock back someone like McDonalds.

You know I love you comrade but I don't think the examples you have given are in the same ballpark as McDonalds. I actually don't think they are part of the same sport.

Yes - every potential sponsor has elements that we may like and may not like. Yes - in 2020, McDonalds (and similar brands) are part of everyday life for a lot of people/families. But if you have higher aspirations as an organisation, then you need to stand for something 'more'. To me, the SOTW program has been an amazing initiative that has helped a lot of people. I'm pretty certain the program isn't advocating people head out to Maccas to help improve their current life-style AND their longevity.

No - we probably can't afford to turn away potential sponsors.

No - that doesn't mean we should compromise our values and aspirations.

For me - I own a gym. Could I make money sticking powerade/gatorade etc in the fridge and selling it to people who don't know any better? Of course I could. And once upon a time I did. Do I do that now? No - 'cos it is BAD FOR YOU and you have to plant your flag somewhere as to what is acceptable and what isn't.

28-08-2020, 03:56 PM

I agree with you but the original point was more around the fact we run a men's health program. So it's less 'let's take this moral stand' and more 'aren't be being outright hypocritical' which has more weight behind it.

28-08-2020, 04:12 PM
I agree with you but the original point was more around the fact we run a men's health program. So it's less 'let's take this moral stand' and more 'aren't be being outright hypocritical' which has more weight behind it.

I'm more of an 'everything in moderation' type and feel that we are all responsible for our own health. Getting a Maccas coffee (even though it sucks) or the occasional sundae or god forbid a one off Egg McMuffin isn't going to kill anyone.

People know McDonalds shouldn't be an everyday choice, and if they don't, then they have much bigger problems than our sponsorship.

28-08-2020, 05:02 PM
SOTW is a brilliant program but is much more focused on the mental health side of things rather than physical wellbeing (yes i know they can be quite intrinsically linked)

SOTW does teach doing things in moderation.

I'm happy to take their money for sponsorship.

28-08-2020, 05:03 PM
I'm more of an 'everything in moderation' type and feel that we are all responsible for our own health. Getting a Maccas coffee (even though it sucks) or the occasional sundae or god forbid a one off Egg McMuffin isn't going to kill anyone.

People know McDonalds shouldn't be an everyday choice, and if they don't, then they have much bigger problems than our sponsorship.

I'm an 'Everything in moderation, including moderation' kinda guy

28-08-2020, 05:30 PM
I'm an 'Everything in moderation, including moderation' kinda guy

During lockdown and working from home, ain't that the truth. I've had to get the family to hide snacks from me.