12-11-2020, 08:37 PM
Welcome son

12-11-2020, 08:37 PM
Ye ha.

12-11-2020, 08:38 PM
Someone get Drake in the studio need another cover of Dogs Flag to belt out.

Best midfield of all time or just in the competiton currently? This is dope I don't even care how stupid it is.

Great news! Big fan and he made the right choice. What was the deal?

Deep midfield. Deep. Deep. Midfield.

12-11-2020, 08:39 PM
I am happy with this.

Well done to Sammy Power.

Sam Power you magnificent bastard!

Great news! Big fan and he made the right choice. What was the deal?

Just waiting on the fine points now. Was done on email at 7.29pm.

Deep midfield. Deep. Deep. Midfield.

You come back, good things happen.

Never leave us again. Your reputation is enhanced.

Pace on the outside, do we know what we gave up?

12-11-2020, 08:40 PM
Welcome to the Dogs Adam Treloar!

12-11-2020, 08:40 PM

Yep, WOOF's list manager

12-11-2020, 08:42 PM
This is huge. Anyone know the details pick 14 anda few other pick swaps

12-11-2020, 08:43 PM
Sam Power is my religion.

12-11-2020, 08:44 PM
There saying we gave a future 2hd for AT and gave up 14 for a stack of lower picks to cover JUH

12-11-2020, 08:45 PM
A future second rounder, and a draft points trade this year.

A future second for Adam Treloar! Those who doubt Power, time for another serve of humble pie.

Twomey saying 14 and future 2nd for Treloar and 26, 33, 42 - and they're paying 300k each year!!!!

Who would have thought that the guy who wore a long sleeve jumper to hide his schoolboy arms for like 3 years would turn out to be such a hard arse at the trade table.

Power is retrospectively my favourite player of all time.

12-11-2020, 08:46 PM
Twomey saying 14 and future 2nd for Treloar and 26, 33, 42 - and they're paying 300k each year!!!!

Sam might have to get a restraining order against me.

Apologies to my wife if you're reading.

12-11-2020, 08:48 PM
A few years ago, Collingwood paid 2 X Top 10 Picks to get Treloar.

Now they pay $1,500,000 for a future second rounder!

12-11-2020, 08:49 PM
I was following Twitter like glue for the last half hour and it was all over - heck even Stevo said it was going to happen - and went to grab some dinner.

Well well well, excellent news and Sam Power was always my favourite.

I never thought having lawyers for our President, CEO and list manager would be a positive!

12-11-2020, 08:50 PM
Who was it again that suggested we go for Treloar and Stef Martin really early in the piece? :)

I reckon we've done exceptionally well this trade period. Midfield is stronger, and that's a good thing given the limited opportunities available to strengthen the bookends.

12-11-2020, 08:54 PM
Can we give Sam Power a retrospective B&F?

12-11-2020, 08:57 PM

Yep - it’s true BT - when the whips were cracking you have lifted this squad

12-11-2020, 08:59 PM
Who was it again that suggested we go for Treloar and Stef Martin really early in the piece? :)

I reckon we've done exceptionally well this trade period. Midfield is stronger, and that's a good thing given the limited opportunities available to strengthen the bookends.

Couldn't have happened without someone suggesting we float Dunkley as a trade option.

Great strategy to get things out of the woodwork and then take your toys home with you.

12-11-2020, 09:13 PM
Posted this on Dunkley thread....better here:

From Big Footy: Pick swaps 26, 33 & 42 for pick 14 with pies is 1687 points compared to 1161 points. That's a BIG win.

Is it 20% discount for Academy JUH?

With no discount/with:
Pick 1 3000/2400
Pick 2 2517/2013
Pick 3 2234/1787
Pick 4 2034/1627

12-11-2020, 09:14 PM
A Big Welcome AT.

https://i.chzbgr.com/full/1252247808/h6AE2FAB5/booyah-damn-right-i-said-booyah

12-11-2020, 09:20 PM
https://resources.afl.com.au/photo-resources/2020/11/11/448d56a7-3f1d-44d0-af96-308fd7c46128/AdamTreloarDogs.jpg?width=952&height=592

12-11-2020, 09:21 PM
Welcome Ads, got a good feeling

12-11-2020, 09:22 PM

I aim to please, and I'm just happy to play my role for the team.

12-11-2020, 09:30 PM
So if we use the example that we finish in the same position next year, we basically got Treloar for 100 points or pick #64? They basically have him away for nothing.

In the 2018 GF he had 26 touches and 11 tackles. The kid can play.

12-11-2020, 09:54 PM
Medical must have been ok.

12-11-2020, 10:00 PM
I aim to please, and I'm just happy to play my role for the team.

One week at a time, the boys are flying yada yada yada

You're too humble.

12-11-2020, 11:07 PM
Welcome to the kennel Adam, we all hope you play well and enjoy our Club. Show Collingwood what a fine player they let go.

12-11-2020, 11:21 PM
Welcome Adam - delighted to have you on board - we trust you to run your arse off and not have a hair out of place across a season

12-11-2020, 11:39 PM
https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/124186727_3914562968577455_1316063569117703600_o.jpg?_nc_cat =103&ccb=2&_nc_sid=825194&_nc_ohc=ZLaVFV98MFEAX9vVNgg&_nc_ht=scontent-syd2-1.xx&oh=f4b8bcd6f0143ff20b717b24082f370c&oe=5FD404A3

13-11-2020, 12:11 AM
Listened to his manager interviewed tonight:

- very disappointed in Collingwood
- majority of clubs interested in him
- Adam pumped to be joining dogs
- Adam instantly impressed by Bevo, Sam and our pitch
- Is now even more ‘driven’ to dominate next year
- Wants to help the dogs take another step towards a premiership

Sounds like Collingwood have motivated him to try to take an awful lot of Brownlow votes from Bonts the next 5 years. I guess, thanks Eddie & Bucks.

13-11-2020, 12:40 AM
Listened to his manager interviewed tonight:

- very disappointed in Collingwood
- majority of clubs interested in him
- Adam pumped to be joining dogs
- Adam instantly impressed by Bevo, Sam and our pitch
- Is now even more ‘driven’ to dominate next year
- Wants to help the dogs take another step towards a premiership

Sounds like Collingwood have motivated him to try to take an awful lot of Brownlow votes from Bonts the next 5 years. I guess, thanks Eddie & Bucks.

I'd take 1 flag over 10 Brownlow's any day of the week.

Welcome to the club Adam, cannot wait to see what you do to our midfield.

13-11-2020, 07:19 AM
It's going to be interesting to hear how much money Collingwood are contributing with this Treloar deal but we may never even get a rough idea of how much it actually is

13-11-2020, 08:29 AM
Welcome Adam. He is a dynamic beast which we have lacked. I feel Bevo with his "cuddle approach" with players will be the perfect coach for Adam unlike Bucks who is more hard line. Maybe the best is yet to come.

13-11-2020, 08:36 AM
Watched his highlight reel. Very impressive.

Welcome Adam, great to have you on board.

No pressure: May you enjoy your time in RWB, help us to another premiership or two, and play 100+ games with us so your speedy children can play for us too.

13-11-2020, 08:42 AM
I’m sorry I compared you to a slightly used Mercedes with potential engine problems.

13-11-2020, 08:54 AM
Great get. We needed rucks

13-11-2020, 08:58 AM
Signed a 5 year deal with us.

13-11-2020, 09:18 AM
As excited as I am about getting another A grade, experienced talent to the club, I hope the club is well advanced in working out how they are going to manage the circumstances of a young man with a wife and small child living interstate.
I've seen Adam speak many times on TV about his personal life and struggles. He comes across as a sensitive man for whom the responsibilities of being a husband and father sit as very high priorities.
I really hope the club work to put together a plan to cater for this. I think that will be a critical component to getting the best from Adam.

13-11-2020, 09:27 AM
Sam Darley has posted publicly that Adz is very happy to be a Bulldog. Toby McLean has also put up a clip of him FaceTiming AT. Good vibes.

13-11-2020, 09:49 AM
Sam Darley is also apparently one of the best NBA 2k players in the world? Glad he finally found something he was good at.

13-11-2020, 10:10 AM
Is Adam Treloar the biggest name recruit we've ever been able to bring in?

Aker was past his best, ditto Hall, and Boyd was a kid. Treloar is (arguably) in his prime and it cost us nothing. If we finish top four next year, on points it cost a pick in the 70s!

13-11-2020, 10:37 AM
Is Adam Treloar the biggest name recruit we've ever been able to bring in?

Aker was past his best, ditto Hall, and Boyd was a kid. Treloar is (arguably) in his prime and it cost us nothing. If we finish top four next year, on points it cost a pick in the 70s!

I vote yes

I was too young to remember the machinations of Beasley moving here from WA, were there other suitors for him?

We’ve been lucky to have it fall in our lap, but it’s a great get

13-11-2020, 10:45 AM
How Treloar became a Bulldog, just in time (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/835870/how-treloar-became-a-bulldog-just-in-time)

Nine days of rumour-mongering, speculating, posturing, mega deal possibilities and seemingly round the clock talkback radio culminated in a wild and wonderful final 60 seconds of the 2020 AFL Trade Period on Thursday night.

As the football world held its collective breath, with the futures of several big-name AFL players up in the air, Sam Power calmly clicked send on his email to the AFL confirming the trade for Adam Treloar was confirmed with Collingwood.

The star 27-year-old midfielder would become a Bulldog, with just seconds remaining until the deadline.

Cue pandemonium for Dogs fans, who also simultaneously learned that much-loved player leader Josh Dunkley would remain at the Club in 2021.

“It was pretty tense there for a bit,” Power told westernbulldogs.com.au in the moments after the Trade Period’s completion.

“It was something we needed to work through, and Collingwood were good being able to work through it with us.”

“Adam’s been a great player for a long period of time. He’s got some attributes we’d love to add to our midfield with his speed and power, and his ability to get away from the stoppage.

“We think that will really add to our current midfield group we’ve got at the moment.”

The Bulldogs met Treloar earlier in the week, and they liked what they saw. Pleasingly, the ball magnet felt the same way.

“He seems to be someone who knows a lot about other teams and watches a lot of footy,” Power said.

“He had a good knowledge of our list and some of the players he’d be playing with. At that stage it was really just getting to know Adam as a person.

“Once we knew he was keen to get to the Bulldogs, he was really excited about that opportunity.”

13-11-2020, 10:48 AM
If Jeemak didn't give Essendon the idea of chasing Dunkley, would we have chased Treloar?

I think this has come out of the blew.

13-11-2020, 10:49 AM
Extraordinary result.

After finishing 7th/8th....to get Treloar in, the No.1 draft coming, and Hannan & Martin coming in for virtually nothing, to address some needs, plus keep Dunks. What a trade week.

And the pies are reportedly picking up $1.5m of the salary for him to play for us!!

How did all of the other clubs miss the kick with grabbing Treloar so cheaply?!

13-11-2020, 10:50 AM
How Treloar became a Bulldog, just in time (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/835870/how-treloar-became-a-bulldog-just-in-time)

Nine days of rumour-mongering, speculating, posturing, mega deal possibilities and seemingly round the clock talkback radio culminated in a wild and wonderful final 60 seconds of the 2020 AFL Trade Period on Thursday night.

As the football world held its collective breath, with the futures of several big-name AFL players up in the air, Sam Power calmly clicked send on his email to the AFL confirming the trade for Adam Treloar was confirmed with Collingwood.

The star 27-year-old midfielder would become a Bulldog, with just seconds remaining until the deadline.

Cue pandemonium for Dogs fans, who also simultaneously learned that much-loved player leader Josh Dunkley would remain at the Club in 2021.

“It was pretty tense there for a bit,” Power told westernbulldogs.com.au in the moments after the Trade Period’s completion.

“It was something we needed to work through, and Collingwood were good being able to work through it with us.”

“Adam’s been a great player for a long period of time. He’s got some attributes we’d love to add to our midfield with his speed and power, and his ability to get away from the stoppage.

“We think that will really add to our current midfield group we’ve got at the moment.”

The Bulldogs met Treloar earlier in the week, and they liked what they saw. Pleasingly, the ball magnet felt the same way.

“He seems to be someone who knows a lot about other teams and watches a lot of footy,” Power said.

“He had a good knowledge of our list and some of the players he’d be playing with. At that stage it was really just getting to know Adam as a person.

“Once we knew he was keen to get to the Bulldogs, he was really excited about that opportunity.”
Anyone else see this as a backhander to Essendon?

13-11-2020, 10:51 AM
Extraordinary result.

After finishing 7th/8th....to get Treloar in, the No.1 draft coming, and Hannan & Martin coming in for virtually nothing, to address some needs, plus keep Dunks. What a trade week.

And the pies are reportedly picking up $1.5m of the salary for him to play for us!!

I think we must have gotten into Treloar's ear early and sold the vision so it become us or the Pies.

Power was interviewed on Trade Radio last week and was very effusive in his praise of AT which might have been a hint at what was going on behind the scenes.

13-11-2020, 10:53 AM
I think we must have gotten into Treloar's ear early and sold the vision so it become us or the Pies.

Power was interviewed on Trade Radio last week and was very effusive in his praise of AT which might have been a hint at what was going on behind the scenes.

SEN this morning reporting that meeting Bevo sealed the deal for Treloar - very impressed. Also stated that Toby McLean spoke to Adam prior to the trade and debriefed him on the club.

Bevo may have his weaknesses but he's got great strengths as well.

13-11-2020, 10:57 AM
SEN this morning reporting that meeting Bevo sealed the deal for Treloar - very impressed. Also stated that Toby McLean spoke to Adam prior to the trade and debriefed him on the club.

Bevo may have his weaknesses but he's got great strengths as well.

Yep, in light of Treloar's situation, nobody can compete with Bevo in this scenario. Perfect fit.

13-11-2020, 10:58 AM
Let's not forget Treloar cost Collingwood two pick 7s in consecutive drafts just a couple of years ago.

13-11-2020, 11:07 AM
Adam would be familiar with Bruce and Libba....

2010 Under 18 All-Australian team
B: Ben Jacobs (VM) Matthew Watson (VM) Dyson Heppell (VC)
HB: Shaun Atley (VC) Patrick McCarthy (SA) Brodie Smith (SA)
C: Jared Polec (SA) Mitch Hallahan (VC) Andrew Gaff (VM)
HF: Harley Bennell (WA) Lucas Cook (VC) Adam Treloar (VC)
F: Jayden Pitt (VC) Steven May (NT) Josh Caddy (VM)
Foll: Daniel Gorringe (SA) Anthony Miles (NSW/ACT) Tom Liberatore (VM)
Int: Sam Day (SA) Josh Bruce (NSW/ACT) Josh Green (Tas)
Sam Darley (TAS)
Coach: Robert Hyde (VC); assistant coach – Matthew Armstrong (Tas)

13-11-2020, 11:12 AM
Adam would be familiar with Bruce and Libba....

2010 Under 18 All-Australian team
B: Ben Jacobs (VM) Matthew Watson (VM) Dyson Heppell (VC)
HB: Shaun Atley (VC) Patrick McCarthy (SA) Brodie Smith (SA)
C: Jared Polec (SA) Mitch Hallahan (VC) Andrew Gaff (VM)
HF: Harley Bennell (WA) Lucas Cook (VC) Adam Treloar (VC)
F: Jayden Pitt (VC) Steven May (NT) Josh Caddy (VM)
Foll: Daniel Gorringe (SA) Anthony Miles (NSW/ACT) Tom Liberatore (VM)
Int: Sam Day (SA) Josh Bruce (NSW/ACT) Josh Green (Tas)
Sam Darley (TAS)
Coach: Robert Hyde (VC); assistant coach – Matthew Armstrong (Tas)

Sam Darley on the bench

13-11-2020, 11:14 AM
Has the $1.5m payout actually been confirmed? I’ve only seen it from journos and before the trade was made

13-11-2020, 11:17 AM
Has the $1.5m payout actually been confirmed? I’ve only seen it from journos and before the trade was made

The numbers will never be confirmed publicly.

13-11-2020, 11:57 AM
Heard Geoff Walsh interviewed on Triple M this morning. The $300K was thrown at him and he would not comment. If it wasn't true he would be quick to deny it.

13-11-2020, 12:43 PM
Heard Geoff Walsh interviewed on Triple M this morning. The $300K was thrown at him and he would not comment. If it wasn't true he would be quick to deny it.
Ned Guy refused to comment on it last night as well. It is definitely true, otherwise the denials would be screamed from the top of Mt Everest.

Collingwood must have been in absolutely horrendous salary cap problems. It makes sense - they gave large contracts to Treloar, Greenwood, Mayne and Wells that started all the back-dating shenanigans. Then they bring Beams to the club and further stretch their salary cap. In the meantime they prematurely give large contracts to Stephenson and Cox (He passed his 4th year trigger clause) and extend Phillips and Treloar's contracts and back-end them even further. Then to top it off, Grundy secures a massive 7 year contract on huge money that hasn't even started yet. Then they sign up Moore for 800k a year and still have De Goey to finalise.

Just a complete mess. It might have been justified if Sheed shanked that kick in the 2018 GF but sucked in.

13-11-2020, 12:50 PM
Another way to look at it is, we were offering Jack Martin around 5 years at about $600,000. So that's roughly the hole we had in our salary cap while signing other players up. The $300,000 a year means Treloar is 5 years at $600,000, the same as the Martin offer in dollars. So reverse engineering it, we'd needed them to cough up at least $300,000 a season ($1.5M) to fit him in. So it fits in with what we publicly know about our spare cap space, what Collingwood aren't saying and fits with what journo's are reporting.

13-11-2020, 12:58 PM
Does this make Adam the second ex-GWS player to play for us? Yuck.

13-11-2020, 12:59 PM

Adam an his best mate Sam Darley.

13-11-2020, 01:02 PM
Adam an his best mate Sam Darley.

And Tom Boyd

13-11-2020, 01:03 PM
And Josh Bruce. Haha. Okay. So not the second....still yuck.

Thankfully he left in 2015 before things really heated up in that rivalry.

13-11-2020, 01:05 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7m0p0h9gt3g&feature=youtu.be&ab_channel=Bornadog

13-11-2020, 01:16 PM
I know he didn't exactly "nominate" us, but I'm hopeful landing Treloar might change our perception a little bit when it comes to attracting outside talent. He's a gun, we've landed him and potentially now we may be viewed as a destination club. Much in the way the saints flipped the script in one offseason after having no-one wanting to go there.

13-11-2020, 01:19 PM
And Tom Boyd

Oh yeah. How did I forget about that. Probably because I see him as a bulldog only. A premiership winning bulldog. Hopefully Adam follows.

13-11-2020, 01:33 PM
https://i.ibb.co/w6mnWcs/D959-A35-F-E30-B-4-EE6-9-A93-B0-BEC946-F275.jpg (https://ibb.co/Yjs5k0Z)

13-11-2020, 01:34 PM
As excited as I am about getting another A grade, experienced talent to the club, I hope the club is well advanced in working out how they are going to manage the circumstances of a young man with a wife and small child living interstate.
I've seen Adam speak many times on TV about his personal life and struggles. He comes across as a sensitive man for whom the responsibilities of being a husband and father sit as very high priorities.
I really hope the club work to put together a plan to cater for this. I think that will be a critical component to getting the best from Adam.

It will require plenty of flexibility on our part and a hell of a lot of discipline and commitment on ours.

And any working arrangements we can make with the Queensland Firebirds, for the benefit of both players and both teams, need to be hammered out as a priority.

Any time our fixture lines up nicely with the Firebirds', we need to facilitate time with them.

We might even need to accept that he might need to miss a game a season, maybe even two, to make time for his family, if it means 5 seasons of 20 quality games in return.

On the flip side, it needs to be made clear to Adam that any time he takes with his family WILL be accompanied by appropriate conditioning work.

13-11-2020, 01:36 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7m0p0h9gt3g&feature=youtu.be&ab_channel=Bornadog

https://i.postimg.cc/SsM6kX57/hqdefault-1.jpg

13-11-2020, 01:37 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EmqrjiIUUAIthpU?format=jpg&name=large

13-11-2020, 01:44 PM

There was that guy who wore No 17 in the 2016 final series

13-11-2020, 01:48 PM

If we're busting out the old scarves we couldn't have found a 2016 one?

13-11-2020, 01:48 PM
The gift that keeps on giving!
Elite sportswoman wife and baby clone father/daughter prospect!

13-11-2020, 01:53 PM
So if we use the example that we finish in the same position next year, we basically got Treloar for 100 points or pick #64? They basically have him away for nothing.

In the 2018 GF he had 26 touches and 11 tackles. The kid can play.

Hopefully he wins a Norm Smith to go with the premiership medallion that he will win with us.

I vote yes

I was too young to remember the machinations of Beasley moving here from WA, were there other suitors for him?

We’ve been lucky to have it fall in our lap, but it’s a great get

From memory Carlton were trying to get him to sign as well. We paid Swan Districts (pretty sure he came from them) a transfer fee of $120 000 to get Beazer. The money clubs payed for players back then was just plain stupid.

13-11-2020, 01:55 PM
Elite sportswoman wife and baby clone father/son prospect!

Just need to make sure he plays 100 games now - that boy has the right genes!

13-11-2020, 01:55 PM
Elite sportswoman wife and baby clone father/son prospect!

Daughter?

13-11-2020, 01:58 PM
Collingwood have really stuffed up haven't they:

Collingwood Magpies blame trade debacle on Adam Treloar's fiancee Kim Ravaillion (https://7news.com.au/sport/afl/collingwood-blames-trade-debacle-on-players-wife-c-1572345#:~:text=Collingwood%20has%20essentially%20blamed%20t heir,to%20have%20the%20pair's%20daughter.)
Nothing to do with a 5 year contract at $900k

13-11-2020, 01:59 PM

The baby looks just a bit like dad!

Love this exchange. Hopefully Adam gets the chance to say it again

https://youtu.be/AsN5-TlyiWM

13-11-2020, 02:00 PM

Collingwood Magpies blame trade debacle on Adam Treloar's fiancee Kim Ravaillion (https://7news.com.au/sport/afl/collingwood-blames-trade-debacle-on-players-wife-c-1572345#:~:text=Collingwood%20has%20essentially%20blamed%20t heir,to%20have%20the%20pair's%20daughter.)

Excuses. There's no way they let a player of his quality go for peanuts for that reason alone. Look I'm sure we will have some rough patches with Adam and this situation. The Pies wouldn't let him go that easily if there weren't issues. I think it's probably a combination of things. The Pies just weren't seeing 900k worth of value with Adam given his situation and there was no way he was going to renegotiate his contract. I'm sure they would have loved him at 600k. They've just really handled the situation poorly.

13-11-2020, 02:21 PM
https://www.instagram.com/p/CHg2jL-A6dP/

No idea how to get the video to appear here.

13-11-2020, 02:23 PM
https://www.instagram.com/p/CHg2jL-A6dP/

No surprises, seems a little shell shocked here but I’ve got no doubt he’ll give us everything he’s got.

13-11-2020, 02:39 PM
He's just said Buckley told him senior players wanted him out. What went on in the hub? Bucks not coming out of this well at all.

Link to article (https://coupler.foxsports.com.au/api/v1/article/amp/afl/afl-2020-afl-trades-trade-period-adam-treloar-collingwood-nathan-buckley-salary-cap-magpies/news-story/521b637f45ee059c9262179abd9e002f)

13-11-2020, 02:40 PM
double.

13-11-2020, 02:41 PM
They were adamant on moving me on': Treloar reflects on his efforts to stay at Collingwood (https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/playing-in-queensland-never-a-reality-for-adam-treloar-20201113-p56ebb.html)

Adam Treloar says Collingwood believed he could not play his best footy while his partner Kim Ravaillion and their child lived in Queensland, and therefore he was traded from the Magpies to the Western Bulldogs.

Treloar also said that he was told by coach Nathan Buckley that some senior players did not want him to remain at the club, contrary to public testimony from the coach following such reports.

The midfielder, in his first interview as a Bulldogs player on Friday, also said he thought senior players never actually said such things, and that this might have been made up by the Pies.

“It is what you read,” Treloar said when asked about the reported chat with Buckley.

“That was told to me in no uncertain way and that did hurt, because I know how close I am with the players. To be told that, when I don’t think that’s the truth, and to be told that there’s some players that don’t want you there when I know the majority of the players love me and care for me, that did hurt a bit.

“But they were adamant on moving me on so no matter how they were going to go about it, it was going to happen. It was a fight up until the end, because I wanted to be at Collingwood.”

Treloar added a move to Queensland with Ravaillion - who will play netball with the Queensland Firebirds - was never on the cards.

"I never considered playing footy in Queensland," Treloar said. "It was never a reality for me.

"It was more the family side of things [discussed with Buckley] and whether or not they could see me playing elite sport being away from my family. I well and truly believe I can.

"They were adamant they had to move me on. Although I disagree, I'm here now.

"I don't think that [salary cap problems and my big contract] from what I have been told I don't think that was their main reason."

Treloar said he was not bitter at the club - because some of his best friends remain at the club - or Buckley.

13-11-2020, 02:44 PM
Messy.

13-11-2020, 02:51 PM
Extraordinary result.

It was written he wanted to go to a club in the premiership window.

13-11-2020, 02:59 PM
It was written he wanted to go to a club in the premiership window.

He also wanted to stay in Melbourne which leaves Richmond (no cap space), Geelong (negative cap space surely), St Kilda (committed to Crouch - might regret that now), perhaps Carlton (committed to Saad and Williams), maybe Melbourne. We were right place, right time.

13-11-2020, 03:00 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/wTrtW9mB/20201113-135915.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

Take some getting used to.

13-11-2020, 03:14 PM
The baby looks just a bit like dad!

Love this exchange. Hopefully Adam gets the chance to say it again

https://youtu.be/AsN5-TlyiWM

ThatÂ’s delightful

13-11-2020, 03:16 PM
Sliding doors today - ouch

13-11-2020, 03:21 PM
He's a very good player and has something to prove to Collingwood. Very disappointing to hear the stories that have been floated about senior players wanting him gone. That is low ball.

13-11-2020, 03:24 PM
Stephenson also having a crack at Bucks on the way out.

13-11-2020, 03:36 PM
Still pinching myself that we managed to snare Treloar and keep Dunks. Amazing.

13-11-2020, 04:01 PM
It’s completely illogical that they speculate that he won’t play his best footy... and then move him on for a future 2nd rounder. Surely you’re more likely to get good footy from AT than a random second rounder.

The reasons why Collingwood moved him on will come out. Cap space makes sense. Not sure why they’re trying to convince anyone that this move helps their squad/list get better. It just doesn’t. And made even worse given what they paid to get him.

The credibility of the Pies is on the drop and you’d have to say that this could be the beginning of Buckley’s demise.

13-11-2020, 04:50 PM
Watching the Treloar presser at the Whitten Oval the two words he kept on repeating were" love" and "care". They're clearly important concepts for him and I think that's probably the area Bevo excels at. He's obviously still feeling hurt at what's happened but give him enough of that love and care and he'll blossom.

13-11-2020, 05:39 PM
Watching the Treloar presser at the Whitten Oval the two words he kept on repeating were" love" and "care". They're clearly important concepts for him and I think that's probably the area Bevo excels at. He's obviously still feeling hurt at what's happened but give him enough of that love and care and he'll blossom.

He answered the questions pragmatically, and respectfully. Certainly gives an insight into what management at Collingwood have been trying to do to get rid of him.

13-11-2020, 05:39 PM

He's a great character with integrity, unfortunately he hasn't been treated as such in recent weeks.

I thought his interview was fantastic and I love that he's so open and honest. He can be both upset/disappointed by what transpired at Collingwood and excited for his future with us, and I think the interview really shows both sides of that.

13-11-2020, 05:45 PM
AT: “I met Bevo and Sam Power and instantly fell in love“

Why the Dogs?

AT: “I have a lot of respect for them and admiration. Personally I’m pumped Josh Dunkley is staying because I rate him really highly. Meeting Bevo, the love he showed Kim and I was something I was really drawn to. I couldn’t be more happy and excited about this opportunity. I’ll have to get used to the derive because I just bought a house in Hyatt.”

13-11-2020, 05:54 PM
Christ, does any club brief so venomously against their own like Collingwood does?

Ugly ugly stuff.

13-11-2020, 05:56 PM
He's a great character with integrity, unfortunately he hasn't been treated as such in recent weeks.

I thought his interview was fantastic and I love that he's so open and honest. He can be both upset/disappointed by what transpired at Collingwood and excited for his future with us, and I think the interview really shows both sides of that.

Either a bloody good actor or you're absolutely spot on.

13-11-2020, 07:11 PM
Super interview. Thought he came across as very honest, open and passionate. Hope he comes to love our club as much as he did Collingwood.

13-11-2020, 10:52 PM
Seems like a ripping guy. He’ll put his 100% into his time at the dogs and send the pill down to Nauuuughton with outrageous regularity.

Getting excited for next season already.

14-11-2020, 12:48 AM
i never use to think much of Adam, as he played for the Pies. After watching this interview on AFL360, I really felt for the guy.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xqh5NJ6w0Ek&ab_channel=FoxFooty

14-11-2020, 04:36 AM

The pies are bitter that they over paid for a player and trying to find terrible excuses, and it cost them 2 first round picks . now they have a salary cap problem, with some of their young players going to demand more money like Moore, Daicos and Brown when they start to dominate

If they had won the premiership I guess that 900k p.a may be treated something differently. I kinda find it ironic that we paid Boyd more and they media were scathing about it.Not surprised by the double standards

Welcome to the club Adam . Play your heart out for us and we will always love you as a player

I look forward to your first game especially when you smash the pies

Travis cloak could share the sentiment and eagerly watch your first game. I still remember his first goal for us against the Pies .

I still reckon Travis was a good pickup and if the thug Ziebel had not broken his ribs we would have gotten a good 2 years out of him

We now have another A grade midfielder. The opposition are going To be scared how they going to compete with : Bonts, Macrae, Libba, smith , no more Rucking dunks, and hunter . If Lipinksi and Vandermeer step up its going to be very exciting. And all being fed by Martin and English

14-11-2020, 09:21 AM
I heard his SEN interview and it was about winning , he is driven to win , his mention of our midfield also are a midfield he sees winning a flag, which seems part of the reason he came to us.
Love the thought that top tier opposition players rank our midfield as one of the best , I think that is a huge statement because it comes from players not the media or supporters.

14-11-2020, 11:38 AM
Hey Macca-totally agree about Travis Cloke. I think he a heap to offer and showed it in the little time he had with us before that thug from North did the despicable.

It is clear Adam will do his utmost and our club are welcoming him with open arms. Love the fact he is so honest - disarmingly so in this age of cliched and empty responses to media questions- not that most of the media deserve reasoned answers seeing as most of them are drivel. Although we supporters deserve better from media which in turn would lead to more in depth answers.

14-11-2020, 12:37 PM

I think it's a bit more than that, we are a very 'family' orientated club where the coach puts a huge emphasis on relationships and feelings with players, not JUST training. Knowing Treloars history, we needs a coach that can be that 'nice guy' 'pat on the back' 'father' type as opposed to a stiff-upper lip type (yes, Collingwood, looking at you).

I feel we'll see the best of Treloar in years to come, because of the environment change and incredibly positive coaching style.

14-11-2020, 12:44 PM
https://i.ibb.co/tHnpS5V/s-l640.jpg (https://ibb.co/XW6x9Tc)

This will sting a bit for Pies fans getting one for Christmas.

14-11-2020, 01:09 PM

That's just crying out for someone who has much better Photoshop skills than me to put a tricolour on Adam. The splash of colour would look great among all that black and white.

14-11-2020, 01:17 PM
I still reckon Travis was a good pickup and if the thug Ziebel had not broken his ribs we would have gotten a good 2 years out of him

I still don't understand (or can believe) that pretty much the entire footy world just shrugged it's shoulders over that and said "oh well fair enough, geez Ziebull's a good bloke."

FFS what part of him breaking a blokes ribs from behind did they not see? I came as closed to walking away from the game over that as I ever had. Just a despicable thing to do. And Ziebull got 2 weeks, was it? Should have been the rest of the year.

14-11-2020, 01:25 PM
The pies are bitter that they over paid for a player and trying to find terrible excuses, and it cost them 2 first round picks . now they have a salary cap problem, with some of their young players going to demand more money like Moore, Daicos and Brown when they start to dominate

If they had won the premiership I guess that 900k p.a may be treated something differently. I kinda find it ironic that we paid Boyd more and they media were scathing about it.Not surprised by the double standards

Welcome to the club Adam . Play your heart out for us and we will always love you as a player

I look forward to your first game especially when you smash the pies

Travis cloak could share the sentiment and eagerly watch your first game. I still remember his first goal for us against the Pies .

We now have another A grade midfielder. The opposition are going To be scared how they going to compete with : Bonts, Libba, smith , no more Rucking dunks, and hunter . If Lipinksi and vandermerr step up its going to be very exciting. And all being fed by Martin and English

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EmrV23kVoAAV94n?format=jpg&name=medium

14-11-2020, 01:47 PM
That's just crying out for someone who has much better Photoshop skills than me to put a tricolour on Adam. The splash of colour would look great among all that black and white.

Possibly a knife in the back from Pendles?

14-11-2020, 01:58 PM
I have had a few days to process this trade and I'm pumped to have Treloar added to our midfield mix.
He will help add some much needed pace to our mix.

We now have two burst players in Smith and Treloar who love to attack the goals.

The other great thing is when Treloar gets the ball he doesn't go sideways, backwards - only forward! We certainly need more of that in our team especially forward of the centre. Only really Bontempelli and Smith have this trait.

I heard Rob Harding speak on SEN yesterday and he said dogs now have a real ability to play a midfield mix of 7 players rotating through the middle and forward similar to what we had in 2016 which gave us a real competitive advantage.

Exciting times.

14-11-2020, 02:00 PM
Possibly a knife in the back from Pendles?

And Sidebottom with no shirt on?

14-11-2020, 02:03 PM
I have had a few days to process this trade and I'm pumped to have Treloar added to our midfield mix.
He will help add some much needed pace to our mix.

We now have two burst players in Smith and Treloar who love to attack the goals.

The other great thing is when Treloar gets the ball he doesn't go sideways, backwards - only forward! We certainly need more of that in our team especially forward of the centre. Only really Bontempelli and Smith have this trait.

I heard Rob Harding speak on SEN yesterday and he said dogs now have a real ability to play a midfield mix of 7 players rotating through the middle and forward similar to what we had in 2016 which gave us a real competitive advantage.

Exciting times.

Must have read my post ;)

14-11-2020, 02:04 PM

I think I know a guy

14-11-2020, 02:05 PM
I think I know a guy

yeah surely it isn't Rocket Science, or is it?

14-11-2020, 04:14 PM
A talented friend of mine mocked this up. Very clever!
https://i.postimg.cc/BQd4dXm3/IMG-20201114-151153-491.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

Over to Rocket Science!

14-11-2020, 04:57 PM
Must say I am impressed by the pies supporters, supporting Adam and wishing him the best and hoping he plays a great game against them.

I think that shows the high regard they held him in and any rumours he was anything but a great player and person put to rest.

14-11-2020, 05:04 PM
Must say I am impressed by the pies supporters, supporting Adam and wishing him the best and hoping he plays a great game against them.

I think that shows the high regard they held him in and any rumours he was anything but a great player and person put to rest.

Yes I agree. As for Essendon supporters, wow are they delusional and sooking.

14-11-2020, 06:22 PM

They are appalled at Treloar's treatment. There were even people at their home groudn yesterday with signs supporting Adam.
There's also a membership petition for the club's leaders to explain why they pushed Treloar and Stephenson out.

14-11-2020, 06:25 PM
Brilliant Grantysghost!! Like a RWB superhero.

14-11-2020, 06:28 PM
Anyone else thinking on trade week and loving how we just went for the Pies throat? Had an opportunity, had them done cold and buried them. It’s all you can ever ask for.

14-11-2020, 06:29 PM
I don’t mind it but I’m cautious of being overly happy about winning trade week. We know how well that typically turns out.

14-11-2020, 06:42 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EmrV23kVoAAV94n?format=jpg&name=medium

Thanks for a great photo list. All of them have elite attributes
Apologies I missed on Macare.

The other players which we should not forget:
McLean: with our depth he can play that outside running role. I can really see him and Hannan play on the wing

JONG: one player I highly rate and really hope he can get some luck without injuries . BOG on vfl 2016 premiership . Kicked 4 goals and out marked Wiederman multiple times . Explosive pace and big mid. His got pretty good hands, just has to play to gut instinct and go for the first option.

Add West to this list as well: good hands and vision. Can really see him take over from Libba one day

I am really excited for next season.

14-11-2020, 07:44 PM
A talented friend of mine mocked this up. Very clever!
https://i.postimg.cc/BQd4dXm3/IMG-20201114-151153-491.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

Over to Rocket Science!

Brilliant!

14-11-2020, 08:04 PM
I don’t mind it but I’m cautious of being overly happy about winning trade week. We know how well that typically turns out.
We didn't. Essendon did.

14-11-2020, 08:20 PM

The photo is actually a pretty good representation of what happened to Treloar at Collingwood. Senior players behind him who instead of having his back have clearly done other things to it causing a pained expression, and Grundy with an "I've got a seven year deal" smug look on his face.

15-11-2020, 10:20 AM
Treloar was played out of position at Collingwood IMV. He was often forced to play as an in and under inside mid. He's much more suited to the traditional rover/ swooping on loose balls out of the pack. He'll do well at dogs because he'll have guys like McCrae and Libba at the bottom of the pack. At Collingwood there are was really only Adams playing that role.

15-11-2020, 02:04 PM
Anyone else thinking on trade week and loving how we just went for the Pies throat? Had an opportunity, had them done cold and buried them. It’s all you can ever ask for.

I'm still upset we didn't go after Stephenson as well, think he would of been great to have in the forward line.

15-11-2020, 02:24 PM
I'm still upset we didn't go after Stephenson as well, think he would of been great to have in the forward line.
Hard to please? Stephenson would’ve killed our salary cap

15-11-2020, 03:49 PM
What was the freak accident when he tore both hamstrings. Was he on a trampoline or something?

15-11-2020, 03:58 PM
What was the freak accident when he tore both hamstrings. Was he on a trampoline or something?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T3g-OuY94Eo

Report from The Age:

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/treloar-out-for-at-least-two-months-with-double-hamstring-injuries-20180626-p4zntt.html

15-11-2020, 08:15 PM

Report from The Age:

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/treloar-out-for-at-least-two-months-with-double-hamstring-injuries-20180626-p4zntt.html

Geez - not much in that. Still had the presence to handball it 15m to advantage whilst he fell to the ground in agony.

15-11-2020, 08:20 PM
Dunno, he was running so fast that he was out of control.

15-11-2020, 09:13 PM

I think the only player I can remember injuring himself jumping on a trampoline was Tom Williams at family day in his first pre season. Did his knee I reckon.

15-11-2020, 10:20 PM
I think the only player I can remember injuring himself jumping on a trampoline was Tom Williams at family day in his first pre season. Did his knee I reckon.

Tom Williams would injure himself doing up his shoelaces.

15-11-2020, 11:24 PM
Tom Williams would injure himself doing up his shoelaces.

He certainly would have. Still falling off a trampoline is a fair effort.

15-11-2020, 11:30 PM
Batting so deep now, I’m thinking of uses for everyone outside the middle. Bailey Smith spending minutes as a forward pocket. Quick enough to play as a defensive forward, quick on the lead, nimble at ground level, loves to tackle, got the ‘don’t argue’ and has genuine X factor.

Spoilt for options.

16-11-2020, 01:52 AM
Batting so deep now, I’m thinking of uses for everyone outside the middle. Bailey Smith spending minutes as a forward pocket. Quick enough to play as a defensive forward, quick on the lead, nimble at ground level, loves to tackle, got the ‘don’t argue’ and has genuine X factor.

Spoilt for options.

I like it, we've long lacked pace in the forward line, we need the foreard pressure back that Stringer, Dickson, Picken, Smith created

16-11-2020, 01:58 AM

Last time we won it was followed up with a flag.:D

16-11-2020, 07:54 AM

Spoilt for options.

Well, he does wear the number 6. Channel it!

16-11-2020, 10:24 AM
I like it, we've long lacked pace in the forward line, we need the foreard pressure back that Stringer, Dickson, Picken, Smith created

Hahahahahaha

16-11-2020, 03:35 PM
So how might one interpret this (https://www.afl.com.au/news/524568/-this-is-a-break-up-buckley-on-treloar-chat-short-and-sharp-conversations)?

https://i.ibb.co/0Dfggm5/Screen-Shot-2020-11-16-at-2-33-20-pm.png (https://ibb.co/HFrWWBZ)

'Ads' a little pre-disposed to kick chasing?

16-11-2020, 03:38 PM
Buckley:

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Em6EZa2UUAAmWXs?format=jpg&name=large

16-11-2020, 03:50 PM
I don't think anyone believes we're getting a flawless player, but a fresh start and some clearer direction from the coaching group might be just what he needs to reach a new level on field. For 600k a year and a future second round pick, it should be well worth it.

16-11-2020, 04:03 PM
Jeez Bucks, I hope no coach is going through a divorce and informs the board on the wrong day.

16-11-2020, 04:38 PM
So how might one interpret this (https://www.afl.com.au/news/524568/-this-is-a-break-up-buckley-on-treloar-chat-short-and-sharp-conversations)?

https://i.ibb.co/0Dfggm5/Screen-Shot-2020-11-16-at-2-33-20-pm.png (https://ibb.co/HFrWWBZ)

'Ads' a little pre-disposed to kick chasing?

My interpretation would be that Treloar is prone occasionally to 'kick and hope', rather than look for teammates down the field.

It's clearly not the reason he was offloaded and doesn't diminish his significant strengths, but clearly something to be worked through with regard to how he fits in our midfield.

16-11-2020, 05:10 PM
My interpretation would be that Treloar is prone occasionally to 'kick and hope', rather than look for teammates down the field.

It's clearly not the reason he was offloaded and doesn't diminish his significant strengths, but clearly something to be worked through with regard to how he fits in our midfield. Ball watching and not switching over over in defensive transition would be it. Doesn’t mean he isn’t a good player and an asset. Has areas of his game that are not perfect like every player.

Agree that he also does seem happy to get a disposal and “job done” Esther than ensuring he uses it well sometimes.

16-11-2020, 05:39 PM

Report from The Age:

In hindsight I feel kind of bad for how hard I laughed at this when he did it.

17-11-2020, 12:32 PM
I think Treloar will flourish under Bevo's coaching style. No reason. But they both are the emotional caring type of person. The coach Adam needs at this stage of his life.

17-11-2020, 03:20 PM
So Collingwood stating clearly that no player should have a wife with career ambitions. Good work Pies. Fits well with having Eddie in charge.

17-11-2020, 04:03 PM
Every interview I've watched with Adam has been very impressive. He seems like a genuinely warm honest person. Not guarded, but not bitter either. I was just gobsmacked when I heard the deal had gone through and I'm so happy to have him. I get the feeling he is going to be utterly fired up to get the absolute best out of himself too. Long before this saga unfolded and long before I had any idea he would end up being a bulldog, I heard him interviewed about Kim going to play netball in QLD and what it would mean for HIS career. He said something along the lines of ....." I honestly wish we were talking about her not me....... this is about her achievements"........ something like that anyway.

I remember being quite impressed at the time. I hope we can hijack the Treloar/Ravaillon gene pool too. Looks like there's a little identical Adam fresh off the assembly line already.

17-11-2020, 05:42 PM
Every interview I've watched with Adam has been very impressive. He seems like a genuinely warm honest person. Not guarded, but not bitter either. I was just gobsmacked when I heard the deal had gone through and I'm so happy to have him. I get the feeling he is going to be utterly fired up to get the absolute best out of himself too. Long before this saga unfolded and long before I had any idea he would end up being a bulldog, I heard him interviewed about Kim going to play netball in QLD and what it would mean for HIS career. He said something along the lines of ....." I honestly wish we were talking about her not me....... this is about her achievements"........ something like that anyway.

I remember being quite impressed at the time. I hope we can hijack the Treloar/Ravaillon gene pool too. Looks like there's a little identical Adam fresh off the assembly line already.

He has a daughter doesn't he?

I was really angry at Murdoch press calling Kim a WAG. Kim is an international athlete and has achieved a lot in netball, and those goons refer to her as a WAG. :mad:

17-11-2020, 05:54 PM
Do they have a daughter? Oops my mistake. Jeez she looks exactly like him. Well she still may turn out to be a good father/daughter.
And yeah, how pathetic to call her a WAG.

17-11-2020, 05:58 PM
Do they have a daughter? Oops my mistake. Jeez she looks exactly like him. Well she still may turn out to be a good father/daughter.
And yeah, how pathetic to call her a WAG.

Yes daughter Georgie.

25-11-2020, 07:03 PM
https://www.afl.com.au/news/525567

What's the go here? How can a trade be finalised without ALL the financial terms already agreed to? What sort of tin pot amateur hour competition is this?

I wonder how the AFEL will makey uppey their way to a resolution on this issue.

25-11-2020, 07:08 PM
https://www.afl.com.au/news/525567

What's the go here? How can a trade be finalised without ALL the financial terms already agreed to? What sort of tin pot amateur hour competition is this?

I wonder how the AFEL will makey uppey their way to a resolution on this issue.

Oh crikey. This could be bad.

25-11-2020, 07:24 PM
Well if that isn't the worst faith negotiating from the filth that I've ever seen.

25-11-2020, 07:27 PM
I'd be really surprised if we've fluffed this one.

25-11-2020, 07:32 PM
Well if that isn't the worst faith negotiating from the filth that I've ever seen.

Sure sure we'll pay 300k.....

Afterwards at Magpie HQ....

https://media.giphy.com/media/4cuyucPeVWbNS/giphy.gif

25-11-2020, 07:37 PM
Being a Damian Barrett penned article, you can be sure his sources are 100% from the Holden Centre.

Aside from the bad faith negotiating by the filth, this is a dreadful look for the AFEL. Is this competition sophisticated and professional or does it have meat tray raffles at training on Thursday nights?

25-11-2020, 07:42 PM
Wow, what a backyard operation we are apart of.

25-11-2020, 07:43 PM
So what happens if there is no agreement?

25-11-2020, 07:44 PM
If only we had a smart lawyer in charge of trades, a smart lawyer as ceo and one of the best lawyers in Australia as president.

If everyone wants legal action. So be it.

25-11-2020, 07:51 PM
Pies will give in they have no choice or they cop all his wage , better to at least turf some of it.
Poor Treloar though, blokes been had about three times now by the pies.
He will sue them if he doesn’t get to us.

dukedog
25-11-2020, 07:53 PM
How the F can this not be sorted . How was it a nod and wink agreement. This is kids shit

25-11-2020, 07:54 PM
Just beautiful.

There goes our leverage now we can hardly say nope, here, have him back.

Lord help us if it ends up going to a specially convened AFEL arbitration panel.

25-11-2020, 08:01 PM
Apparently they have agreed to pay it but not 300,000 each year but back end it.
The issue isn’t the amount but how it’s paid.

25-11-2020, 08:20 PM
Being a Damian Barrett penned article, you can be sure his sources are 100% from the Holden Centre.

Aside from the bad faith negotiating by the filth, this is a dreadful look for the AFEL. Is this competition sophisticated and professional or does it have meat tray raffles at training on Thursday nights?

At a guess both parties agreed to an overall dollar amount that Collingwood would contribute to, lets assume it was 1.25M over 5 years, and we believed it would be the average of 250k per season. The Pies however have now offered us 150K in year one, 450K in year 2, 450K in year 3 but then something like 100K in year 4 and the same in year 5 because it suits their needs

It is an exceptionally bad look for Collingwood, and all players and their managers need to take notice, but it's also an awful look for the AFL to sign off on the deal

It will be interesting to see if it can be resolved by the end of the week

25-11-2020, 08:24 PM
At a guess both parties agreed to an overall dollar amount that Collingwood would contribute to, lets assume it was 1.25M over 5 years, and we believed it would be the average of 250k per season. The Pies however have now offered us 150K in year one, 450K in year 2, 450K in year 3 but then something like 100K in year 4 and the same in year 5 because it suits their needs

It is an exceptionally bad look for Collingwood, and all players and their managers need to take notice, but it's also an awful look for the AFL to sign off on the deal

It should work in how we want it as we didn’t stuff our cap up and shouldn’t have to bend to accomodate the pies bad planning.

25-11-2020, 09:52 PM
Maybe that now Collingwood have sorted out the Dayne Beams affair, they wish to reneg (or change the payment details) on the Treloar deal in case the AFL still wish to include Beam's final salary/deal in their salary cap.

25-11-2020, 09:56 PM
If only we had a smart lawyer in charge of trades, a smart lawyer as ceo and one of the best lawyers in Australia as president.

If everyone wants legal action. So be it.

Yep. Giddy up pies.

25-11-2020, 10:35 PM
Yep. Giddy up pies.

Everyone knows: It’s the lawyers who always win.

25-11-2020, 11:44 PM
Maybe that now Collingwood have sorted out the Dayne Beams affair, they wish to reneg (or change the payment details) on the Treloar deal in case the AFL still wish to include Beam's final salary/deal in their salary cap.

Yep that is going to be the issue as they had to negotiate with Beams on his payout.

Bunch of amateurs.

26-11-2020, 12:17 AM
How has the AFL allowed this to happen? How can a trade be approved, with players starting training and doing media appearances, without the actual details of the trade being confirmed?

What happens if we CAN'T reach a compromise? Cancel the trade? It's shambolic.

26-11-2020, 02:31 AM
How has the AFL allowed this to happen? How can a trade be approved, with players starting training and doing media appearances, without the actual details of the trade being confirmed?

What happens if we CAN'T reach a compromise? Cancel the trade? It's shambolic.

I would say how have we allowed it to happen? I get that the paperwork get's lodged and Treloar becomes a Bulldog, but either we agreed a number or a range of numbers otherwise we haven't agreed a deal and Treloar can go back to the Pies......

26-11-2020, 09:06 AM
I would say how have we allowed it to happen? I get that the paperwork get's lodged and Treloar becomes a Bulldog, but either we agreed a number or a range of numbers otherwise we haven't agreed a deal and Treloar can go back to the Pies......

There is a potential that Collingwood are trying to exploit a rushed deal by going against the spirit of the 'in principle' deal.

I know the player managers will just accept this but surely dealing with Collingwood on renegotiated contracts is more of a concern than ever

26-11-2020, 09:08 AM

The irony looms large if this is true. Backending is what got them here in the first place.

26-11-2020, 09:17 AM
This seems pretty sub-optimal all around. Certainly can have some pretty serious ramifications for us down the track if it doesn’t end up in the structure we expected

26-11-2020, 09:46 AM
This seems pretty sub-optimal all around. Certainly can have some pretty serious ramifications for us down the track if it doesn’t end up in the structure we expected

So true, in that scenario painted by GVGjr it forces us to back end, whilst freeing up cap space for themselves down the track. It's complete mismanagement by one team and now they're trying to push the same practices on to another! The AFL should've dealt with this at the time of the trade. It's a terrible indictment on the way the trade system is operating currently.

26-11-2020, 09:56 AM
I can't imagine the AFL is keen on a protacted legal battle with Peter Gordon involved. This will get resolved somehow but what a freaking mess. Just proves once again the AFL is a bush league.

26-11-2020, 10:15 AM
There is a potential that Collingwood are trying to exploit a rushed deal by going against the spirit of the 'in principle' deal.

I know that the AFL like to think that they operate in a bubble and can make up rules to fix issues as they arise, but this is very illegal in the real world. Pies need to grow up here.

26-11-2020, 10:16 AM
I’m not too worried. This is collingwoods mess to sort out. If we say no, the AFL won’t want to deal with the repercussions and just quietly give us the extra cap space. This is the AFEL after all.

26-11-2020, 10:25 AM
Western Bulldogs and Collingwood yet to agree deal on how much of Adam Treloar’s wage will be supplemented (https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/western-bulldogs-confident-adam-treloar-will-perform-at-high-level-despite-living-away-from-partner-kim-ravaillion/news-story/7ec5417224ef601fe4d850a468be4b1c)

Adam Treloar’s move to Western Bulldogs is still unofficial, with Collingwood haggling over how much of his bumper contract it is willing to pay.

New Western Bulldog Adam Treloar won’t ask for special treatment to handle a long-term relationship next year as Collingwood continues to haggle over its contribution to his $4.5 million five-year contract.

In a surprising twist to the last-minute trade, the Pies and Bulldogs are yet to come to a resolution over the sharing of his wage.

The Herald Sun believes the Bulldogs expected Collingwood to pay as much as $300,000 of his $900,000 annual salary.

But the league is yet to receive his contract and the Magpies are digging in over how much they will fork out for Treloar to play for a rival club next season.

The Dogs secured Treloar for a steal, handing over pick 14 and a future second-rounder and getting back picks 26, 33 and 42.

They also expected to pay as little as $600,000 of the $900,000 yearly salary he was on at Collingwood.

The Magpies shifted Treloar off their books because of salary cap pressure, but Treloar was adamant he would not take any less than he was owed after back-ending contracts in his time at Collingwood.

The Bulldogs had agreed he would be paid all of the money owed to him over the life of the deal.

Clubs regularly pay a portion of contracts for players to finish their careers at rival clubs.

But even if the Pies do not contribute as much as $300,000 a year for five seasons, topping up his wage by more than a million dollars over the life of the contract would be unprecedented in AFL terms.

The clubs will continue deliberations this week on a deal that was only lodged in the seconds before the trade deadline.

The Pies were hopeful they would receive some salary relief from the AFL over Dayne Beams’ contract given his mental health provisions.

But the league made clear last week they would have to include the settlement in their salary cap.

Treloar’s partner Kim Ravaillion and daughter Georgie move to Queensland in January and he has told the Dogs he will be able to handle the 10 months they are interstate with a minimum of fuss.

The ex-Pies midfielder was traded to the Dogs with Collingwood believing he would quickly fall apart with his family living in another state.

But not only are the Dogs confident he and Kim can cope with a long-distance relationship for 12 months, he isn’t even their first player with a Queensland Firebirds partner.

Ruckman Tim English has been going out with Firebirds netballer Rudi Ellis for some years, with the former Melbourne Vixens player joining the Queensland side at the start of this year.

Josh Dunkley’s sister Lara is also a star Queensland Firebirds player.

If the interstate borders had remained closed Treloar’s ability to fly north at times might have been more challenging.

But he and Ravaillion will find time in their schedules to meet up given split rounds and breaks in seasons that have them confident they can make it work for a year.

Western Bulldogs head of football Chris Maple told the Herald Sun as professional sportspeople Treloar and Ravaillion would make it work.

“Adam and Kim have already worked it out. Our player welfare guys will help him when he needs it and I would imagine our football admin staff will be booking flights back and forth for them to see each other. All that was already worked out before the Bulldogs were on the (trade) scene. If you look at Mitch Starc and Alyssa Healy, he is on the road all the time and they have been in (COVID) bubbles recently. Cricketers sign up for it and they know they will be on tours at different times and footballers haven’t come across it until this year but it’s something they are getting used to.”

Treloar will sign a five-year deal with the Dogs, with Collingwood expected to contribute around $300,000 of that $900,000-per-season contract.

The Dogs can configure his $4.5 million salary obligation any way they see fit.

The Bulldogs yesterday made a trio of list changes, with Ben Cavarra, Will Hayes and Roarke Smith delisted.

They have committed to redrafting Smith – most likely as a rookie but potentially on the senior list – while Cavarra and Hayes might still be rookie-listed.

Hayes played nine impressive games in the back-end of 2019 but only two games this year.

It comes as Dogs coach Luke Beveridge admitted former vice-captain Lachie Hunter had “some challenges in the future” to tackle after a disastrous year off-field.

He was suspended for four games after crashing into a series of high-end vehicles and took time away from footy in July for personal reasons.

““He’s had some challenging times dealing with some personal struggles in his life and he hasn’t necessarily managed it too well and he’s needed support that maybe we hadn’t given him enough of.

“As you saw when he came back into the fold the second time and played again, he started to have the usual influence. But why I paint that picture and lay a foundation, it’s to say that Lachie’s got some challenges in the future, there’s no doubt about it.

“I don’t think he’s where he wants to be quite yet. In the short term, hopefully we get to the early part of the season and he’s settled, he’s in the team and he’s playing good footy.”

26-11-2020, 10:27 AM
I’m not too worried. This is collingwoods mess to sort out. If we say no, the AFL won’t want to deal with the repercussions and just quietly give us the extra cap space. This is the AFEL after all.

At the very least the AFL should stop Collingwood from potentially trading any picks with other clubs until this has been resolved

It's still hard to fathom how a deal can be approved by the two parties are actually a long way off on their understanding on how the deal actually looks

26-11-2020, 10:31 AM
Wonder what assurance Sam Power had from the AFL which made him in-turn proceed with the trade?

26-11-2020, 10:34 AM
I blame the AFL and the AFLPA for not dealing with the list sizes and the salary cap way before the trade period. This should have been sorted out by mid year and then the clubs would know where they stand with the cap and numbers. There is still no clear indication of the salary cap for future years which makes it difficult to negotiate individual player payments.

26-11-2020, 10:35 AM
At the very least the AFL should stop Collingwood from potentially trading any picks with other clubs until this has been resolved

It's still hard to fathom how a deal can be approved by the two parties are actually a long way off on their understanding on how the deal actually looks

It certainly is a strange look for the AFL. Like what’s the purpose of Ken Wood and the trade deadline if key terms such as agreement to the trade’s ‘pricing schedule’ have not been ratified. There’s something just not right with the urgency and need with how Collingwood came to offload Treloar from their books. It smells of the AFL meddling / having a hand in this in the first instance which MAY be how it has ended where it is now.

26-11-2020, 10:50 AM

Yes it’s certainly amateurish to say the least by both the AFL and Collingwood. The pies got themselves into this mess so the audacity to try dictate what they pay when is terrible. Clubs should seriously pay upmost attention when dealing with them and players should be wary.

Although are we sure we’re free from criticism here? Did we nail out the terms before executing the trade? Or did we go in with good faith? Either way the a trade shouldn’t be allowed until it’s absolutely final. The flow on effect of this trade means it’s basically irreversible. What a mess.

26-11-2020, 10:56 AM
Look I'm sure it will all be fine we'll just need to have our own fire sale when we have to renegotiate Bont, Smith and Naughton's deal.

Is the new methodology load up big in your premiership window, have a 3 year crack it at then offload?

Didn't work for Collingwood but they got damn close.

26-11-2020, 01:46 PM
Big Ed has chimed in:

But speaking on Triple M’s Hot Breakfast, McGuire was confident the dispute "will get sorted out."

“The Dogs will remember those who stood by them when they had no friends and voted for them and looked after equalisation and things like that,” McGuire said on Thursday morning.

“This is not unusual … Maybe it is unusual, but I was told it’s not that unusual.

“It’ll get sorted.”

Getting some Marlon Brando in The Godfather vibes from that quote.

26-11-2020, 01:55 PM
Big Ed has chimed in:

Piss off Ed, what the F.

26-11-2020, 02:10 PM
It certainly is a strange look for the AFL. Like what’s the purpose of Ken Wood and the trade deadline if key terms such as agreement to the trade’s ‘pricing schedule’ have not been ratified. There’s something just not right with the urgency and need with how Collingwood came to offload Treloar from their books. It smells of the AFL meddling / having a hand in this in the first instance which MAY be how it has ended where it is now.

I think he has now retired. This trade period was his last one. Way to go out with a bang.

26-11-2020, 02:12 PM
Big Ed has chimed in:

Why am I getting an Eric Cartman 'Respect my Authoritah' vibe from Eddie?

26-11-2020, 02:16 PM
Who said this:

"This is not unusual … Maybe it is unusual, but I was told it’s not that unusual."

President Trump or President Eddie?

(... It was a usual, some say the perfect trade. Nobodies seen such a usual trade like this, ever in the history of trades I'd say. People said I could not do such a usual trade, buts that's what we did. All because of your favourite President, my huge Br-ain and my deal making skills)

26-11-2020, 02:19 PM
Who said this:

"This is not unusual … Maybe it is unusual, but I was told it’s not that unusual."

(... It was a usual, some say the perfect trade. Nobodies seen such a usual trade like this, ever in the history of trades I'd say. People said I could not do such a usual trade, buts that's what we did. All because of your favourite President, my huge Br-ain and my deal making skills)

That was my first thought... that sounded more like something out of the Orange Hate Gibbon's mouth

26-11-2020, 02:22 PM
Who said this:

Haha also some definite Trump-ish vibes.

26-11-2020, 02:30 PM
Who said this:

Yeah that's exactly who I thought of when reading it. Trumpism right there.

26-11-2020, 02:32 PM
Who said this:

It was probably...the greatest trade in the history of the world. I don't know if it was but I think it probably was. I don't know all the trades in history but I know this trade was better than any of them.

26-11-2020, 02:43 PM
Eddie swinging his dick around after the complete shit show trade week was for Collingwood is probably indicative of how far that club's gone up its own backside.

Read the room you wanker.

26-11-2020, 03:24 PM
Big Ed has chimed in: Getting some Marlon Brando in The Godfather vibes from that quote.

Why am I getting an Eric Cartman 'Respect my Authoritah' vibe from Eddie?

Because they're all vaguely the same girth?

The turgid prick can't help himself. Like black players in the game, if only we'd just know our place.

26-11-2020, 06:22 PM
Who's signing up for this package?:D

https://i.postimg.cc/FKpHLTd3/treloar.png (https://postimages.org/)

26-11-2020, 06:23 PM
Collingwood's 'double whammy' risks blowing up Adam Treloar trade play (https://7news.com.au/sport/afl/collingwoods-double-whammy-risks-blowing-up-adam-treloar-trade-play-c-1655593)

The Magpies and Bulldogs’ ongoing negotiations over Adam Treloar’s wages are fairly unusual - and a classic case of he said, she said.
At its core it highlights the need for agreements, particularly when they involve money, to be put in writing.

As part of a trade it’s fairly normal for a club that wants to move a contracted player to pay a portion of his ongoing wage to gain some salary cap relief.

This situation is a bit different, because Collingwood are still paying Treloar up to $1.5 million, or $300,000 a year over the next five years.

The Bulldogs paid Ryan Griffen about $900,000 when he moved to the Giants, but even that runs a distant second. The size of Collingwood’s contribution makes this Treloar deal more curious than others.

In Treloar’s case, using rough figures, he had five years to run on an agreement with Collingwood worth, let’s say, $900,000 a year.
Collingwood are contractually obliged to pay that money - until Treloar was traded to the Bulldogs, when he enters a new contract for whatever the Dogs agreed to cover. In this case, let’s say it’s $600,000.

That reduces Collingwood’s liability under the terms of their original contract with Treloar to $300,000 a year - $1.5 million over the balance.

https://images.7news.com.au/publication/C-1655593/9647e725a0cccaf84b51fb5d9dc8ae08ec868504.png?imwidth=650&impolicy=sevennews_v2Adam Treloar will play for
At this point Treloar’s manager would protect his client by drafting a revised contract with the Pies, where the club agrees to pay and be liable for that money.

The legal side is now complete, ensuring he gets the agreed money from his original contract with Collingwood.
On the AFL’s side, the league needed the trade to be lodged before the deadline, which it was.

They also need a new contract - Treloar’s deal with the Bulldogs - to be lodged before a different deadline.
Clubs will typically submit via letterhead a schedule of the additional money the player’s original club has agreed to pay.
With the Bulldogs signing Treloar to a five-year deal, that schedule would feature Collingwood’s commitments until 2025.

What’s in dispute in Treloar’s case is just how much Collingwood will pay.

Deadline day

Sources linked to the Bulldogs indicate Collingwood’s contribution was agreed to before the trade was completed.
The Bulldogs believe the Pies’ contribution wasn’t ambiguous, with one source saying Treloar’s manager Tim Hazell was a witness.

A source familiar with the Dogs’ position indicates that the Pies now - after the fact - claim there was an agreement to review their contribution later.

Collingwood sources have confirmed that’s the club’s view: they believed the contribution would be negotiated later, which is where things were left on the night the trade went through.
The Pies believe there was an agreement to get the trade through, and talk about the money later.

Why they waited

In deciding to determine Collingwood’s contribution at a later date, the Pies believe there was an agreement or understanding that their portion would depend on the trade itself.

How much money they carried through to 2025 would be settled by what the Bulldogs gave up to secure Treloar.
On this logic, if Collingwood received two first-round picks they would carry a bit more of the money.
According to Pies sources, the Dogs had agreed to cover more than originally planned because they ended up with better picks and the better end of the deal.

Collingwood’s position makes sense logically - but not legally.
An agreement to finalise the money later is fraught with danger.

Collingwood’s ‘double whammy’ risk

If this was a relatively small deal, and the Collingwood contribution involved a modest amount, then it’d be easier to see how this could happen.

But we are talking about a total contribution up to $1.5 million, or $300,000 a season - almost equivalent to the average wage of an AFL player.

Bulldogs list boss Sam Power and chief executive Ameet Bains are both lawyers. On the face of it, it seems improbable they would have completed the trade, without documenting Collingwood’s contribution.

However, it’s too early and unfair to judge the Pies on this. There aren’t enough facts.

Collingwood list boss Ned Guy defended his trades. Credit: GettyBut after a terrible trade period the club’s list manager Ned Guy will be under pressure to neatly wrap up the negotiations.

He may also have to deal with a double whammy: it doesn’t appear Collingwood will get any salary cap relief from the AFL for Dayne Beams’ payout (https://7news.com.au/sport/afl/collingwood-and-beams-reach-settlement-c-1648071).

If they made a conservative assumption that a small portion of the settlement figure would be excluded - while expecting to pay more of

Treloar’s wages - they may now pay the price for mismanagement.
Guy might again face the need to shuffle money around to make sure the Pies fall under the $13.1 million cap.

The final word

Perhaps Guy is correct, and Collingwood’s version of the events are true.
But at the very least, agreeing to settle their contribution after the trade creates the impression of sloppy negotiations.
And in football, particularly after a trade period where Collingwood struggled to communicate their message, perception is often reality.

26-11-2020, 06:35 PM
That article certainly paints things in a more positive light from our end. Surely Tim Hazell can confirm what was actually agreed to if the pies and dogs can't come to a consensus?

Sam Power hasn't let us down so far and I don't think he's about to start here. Looks like the pies brought a knife to a gun fight.

26-11-2020, 06:38 PM
I would be extremely disappointed if this was indeed an oversight from Baines and Power.

However, given Eddie's ramblings on the matter and the fact Collingwood gets no relief on the Beams payout I think they're playing around.

26-11-2020, 06:41 PM
For you Eddie !!!

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/51/08/97/5108971496953db0c57eb63c8d2d25d8.jpg

26-11-2020, 06:58 PM
It staggers belief that the Treloar trade could be signed off without the minimum pricing agreement in place that stipulates which club pays what, and when. Actually, it's staggering that it would seem apparent that there isn't a standard 'template' to cover this scenario to mitigate such a mess from ever occurring. But then the result is hardly surprising when up against the AFL's known inadequacies, and Collingwood's quite apparent list management incompetencies. We really should've seen this coming, and lead the legal governance to protect our butts on this.

26-11-2020, 07:15 PM
Who's signing up for this package?:D

https://i.postimg.cc/FKpHLTd3/treloar.png (https://postimages.org/)

Bucks might have spent some time on the courts with Alicia Molik but I'm not sure his tennis has improved any.

26-11-2020, 08:19 PM
Big Ed has chimed in:

I will always be grateful for the way Ed assisted us all those years ago but there was no need for him to link the two issues because it's not like we are going to bow to them now because we owe them one from years ago

The Pies have made a mess of things and it's not up to us to contribute more

26-11-2020, 08:32 PM
I will always be grateful for the way Ed assisted us all those years ago but there was no need for him to link the two issues because it's not like we are going to bow to them now because we owe them one from years ago

The Pies have made a mess of things and it's not up to us to contribute more

The guy basically admitted he doesn't think a level playing field is something that all clubs are entitled to, rather, something that should be afforded clubs for future favours irrespective of the inherent imbalances that are a legacy of the old VFL etc.

It's an unbelievably grubby thing to say and it's rankled me more as the day has progressed.

26-11-2020, 09:25 PM
The guy basically admitted he doesn't think a level playing field is something that all clubs are entitled to, rather, something that should be afforded clubs for future favours irrespective of the inherent imbalances that are a legacy of the old VFL etc.

It's an unbelievably grubby thing to say and it's rankled me more as the day has progressed.
This arsehole entitled attitude neatly encapsulates why they were, are, and always will be the filth. Dirty club.

26-11-2020, 09:39 PM
There is some word that the amount over five years is not in dispute, but the years in which Collingwood pay what is being contested. It sounds like Collingwood want to structure it so that in the next few seasons they can 105 one of the years to attract a free agent, whereas the Bulldogs want to 'smooth' Treloar's contract so the Bulldogs contribution is as even as possible in each of those five years.

26-11-2020, 10:17 PM
There is some word that the amount over five years is not in dispute, but the years in which Collingwood pay what is being contested. It sounds like Collingwood want to structure it so that in the next few seasons they can 105 one of the years to attract a free agent, whereas the Bulldogs want to 'smooth' Treloar's contract so the Bulldogs contribution is as even as possible in each of those five years.

There is a real chance that both parties agreed to somewhere between 1.2M to 1.5M over the 5 years and perhaps we thought an average would be applied but that doesn't suit the Pies now. Tim Hazel can't be doing his reputation any good good because apparently he was privy to the discussions

26-11-2020, 10:23 PM
There is a real chance that both parties agreed to somewhere between 1.2M to 1.5M over the 5 years and perhaps we thought an average would be applied but that doesn't suit the Pies now. Tim Hazel can't be doing his reputation any good good because apparently he was privy to the discussions

Tim Hazel seems to be very young and green. He will be learning a lot of life lessons.

26-11-2020, 10:44 PM
So this is obviously because they didn’t get to discount their Beams payout right? Seems smackingly obvious in light of that somehow thoughtful 7news article

26-11-2020, 10:48 PM

Why the need? Wouldn't any free agent just go there and trust them to fairly back end their deal too...

I'm not sure I'd even trust any offer of 'cash upfront' right now. I'd be looking to a new player agent, like 'M. Gatto Athlete Agents'.

27-11-2020, 01:22 AM
I would be extremely disappointed if this was indeed an oversight from Baines and Power.

However, given Eddie's ramblings on the matter and the fact Collingwood gets no relief on the Beams payout I think they're playing around.

I'm fairly certain that he has tried to use it before

27-11-2020, 02:24 AM
The AFL's policy on the run with list sizes and salary caps created this, and now Collingwood are calling them out because they lost on Beams

27-11-2020, 10:10 AM
The Friday deadline has been extended
*Note: The ins and outs of this issue keep getting reported differently with each new article. Guesswork?

AFL gives Magpies, Bulldogs time to talk about Treloar deal

The AFL has given the Western Bulldogs and Collingwood more time to negotiate how much the Magpies will contribute towards new Dog Adam Treloar's contract.

Nominally the clubs have to lodge contract details by Friday afternoon when they make the first list lodgment, which includes preliminary salary cap projections. It is not uncommon for extensions to be granted by the AFL and the league has told the clubs they are flexible on the time frame for them to reach an agreement.

The two clubs had an amicable meeting on Thursday to discuss the issue in detail for the first time since the trade period ended, when the deal to trade Treloar was agreed in the final minute of the trade period that ended on November 12.

The discussions centre around what proportion of the $4.5 million contract each club will pay over the next five years. The two clubs did not put an agreement in writing in the trade period's frantic conclusion.

Sources said Collingwood believed they would pay a minimal amount of the contract given the Bulldogs gave up relatively little in draft terms. Had Collingwood been able to draw a higher draft pick in the trade, then the club would have been prepared to pay more of the contract to square off getting a better draft pick.

The Bulldogs were of the view the Magpies would still pay a significant amount of Treloar's contract because it still meant they were clearing a big chunk out of their salary cap.

There is scope for the AFL to be involved to mediate the issue and there is no risk of Treloar losing any of his entitlements.

https://www.google.com.au/amp/s/amp.theage.com.au/sport/afl/afl-gives-magpies-bulldogs-time-to-talk-about-treloar-deal-20201126-p56ic2.html

27-11-2020, 10:48 AM
I think he has now retired. This trade period was his last one. Way to go out with a bang.

He got the chop.

27-11-2020, 11:05 AM
The Friday deadline has been extended
*Note: The ins and outs of this issue keep getting reported differently with each new article. Guesswork?

AFL gives Magpies, Bulldogs time to talk about Treloar deal

The AFL has given the Western Bulldogs and Collingwood more time to negotiate how much the Magpies will contribute towards new Dog Adam Treloar's contract.

Nominally the clubs have to lodge contract details by Friday afternoon when they make the first list lodgment, which includes preliminary salary cap projections. It is not uncommon for extensions to be granted by the AFL and the league has told the clubs they are flexible on the time frame for them to reach an agreement.

The two clubs had an amicable meeting on Thursday to discuss the issue in detail for the first time since the trade period ended, when the deal to trade Treloar was agreed in the final minute of the trade period that ended on November 12.

The discussions centre around what proportion of the $4.5 million contract each club will pay over the next five years. The two clubs did not put an agreement in writing in the trade period's frantic conclusion.

Sources said Collingwood believed they would pay a minimal amount of the contract given the Bulldogs gave up relatively little in draft terms. Had Collingwood been able to draw a higher draft pick in the trade, then the club would have been prepared to pay more of the contract to square off getting a better draft pick.

The Bulldogs were of the view the Magpies would still pay a significant amount of Treloar's contract because it still meant they were clearing a big chunk out of their salary cap.

There is scope for the AFL to be involved to mediate the issue and there is no risk of Treloar losing any of his entitlements.

https://www.google.com.au/amp/s/amp.theage.com.au/sport/afl/afl-gives-magpies-bulldogs-time-to-talk-about-treloar-deal-20201126-p56ic2.html

If the article is even remotely accurate I still can't accept that the AFL ratified a deal that is so ambiguous. There is no way a deal that involves one club contributing to the salary of one of their players moving to another club can be anything less than 100% clear.
I can understand if it's about averaging the value of the agreed amount but the article suggests it's not that

27-11-2020, 12:43 PM
Look I'm sure it will all be fine we'll just need to have our own fire sale when we have to renegotiate Bont, Smith and Naughton's deal.

Is the new methodology load up big in your premiership window, have a 3 year crack it at then offload?

Didn't work for Collingwood but they got damn close.

Why is this even our problem.

If, as has been reported, we are paying $600K pa and Collingwood fund the rest.

Surely we make arrangements with Treloar and his agent on our part and the agent needs to deal with Collingwood for their contribution.

27-11-2020, 12:55 PM
Surely that article just cannot be correct. The amount must have been agreed prior to the trade. It was a fundamental aspect of doing the trade.

27-11-2020, 01:04 PM
The whole situation is absolutely nuts.

Even reading the last line here. If we say "Sorry but under the salary cap rules we cannot afford to pay Adam more than the $600k that we agreed" and Collingwood say the same will the AFL just agree to pay Adam by themselves?!

Farcical!

27-11-2020, 01:08 PM
Why is this even our problem.

If, as has been reported, we are paying $600K pa and Collingwood fund the rest.

Surely we make arrangements with Treloar and his agent on our part and the agent needs to deal with Collingwood for their contribution.

'Perhaps', the deal wasn't clear as it should be and the Pies are trying to get one over on us given we didn't dot the i's
Given the legal background of Power and Bains you would expect we have this covered and the Pies will cough up the required money

27-11-2020, 01:10 PM
The AFEL is proud to announce Adam Treloar as a new good will ambassador to the Ballarat Region, for $300,000 a year for 5 years...

They paid GAJ a million a year to do the same thing at GC.

27-11-2020, 02:27 PM
The AFEL is proud to announce Adam Treloar as a new good will ambassador to the Ballarat Region, for $300,000 a year for 5 years...

...But Collingwood can still pay 750K over the course of the deal right? :)

27-11-2020, 02:49 PM

I can very easily see the AFL doing something similar

...But Collingwood can still pay 750K over the course of the deal right? :)

Collingwood are pushing it hoping to be bailed out by the AFL

27-11-2020, 03:03 PM
The AFEL really is a pissant flophouse amateur-hour competition. Even if we hold our ground and pay him $600k a season (assuming that is the agreed terms of the trade), if the AFEL grant the filth some arbitrary discretionary deduction on their obligations to Treloar, then the entire competition is compromised with a bogus salary cap that is open to artificial modification.

27-11-2020, 03:16 PM
The AFEL really is a pissant flophouse amateur-hour competition. Even if we hold our ground and pay him $600k a season (assuming that is the agreed terms of the trade), if the AFEL grant the filth some arbitrary discretionary deduction on their obligations to Treloar, then the entire competition is compromised with a bogus salary cap that is open to artificial modification.

Apologies but I need some clarity here, do you not rate the level of professionalism at the AFL? :)

27-11-2020, 09:16 PM
Apologies but I need some clarity here, do you not rate the level of professionalism at the AFL? :)

Yeah I wish Sedat wasn't so flippy floppy with his opinion about the professionalism of the AFL.

27-11-2020, 09:40 PM
Just reading some more about the Treloar trade and the Herald Sun. Did a trade with heavy financial considerations really get passed without the financials being included? Did we really compete a trade on a gentlemens agreement?

Collingwood and the Western Bulldogs remain significantly apart over a resolution to the Adam Treloar contract dispute.

Figures close to the standoff say the Dogs are adamant they will not be paying Treloar a cent more than a “watertight” five-year, $600,000-a-season contract agreed with the cast-off Magpies midfielder.

It would mean Treloar is still owed $300,000 a year — or $1.5 million — under the terms of his original Magpies contract.

But Collingwood insists the Bulldogs agreed to further negotiations over who would pay what to Treloar after the trade went through, which the Bulldogs absolutely dispute.

Treloar was traded to the kennel along with picks 26, 33 and 42 in exchange for the Dogs’ No.14 pick and a future second-round selection.

The Dogs are confident any money owed above and beyond Treloar’s new arrangement at the Whitten Oval is simply a matter for Collingwood.

The only concession the Western Bulldogs did offer Collingwood during the frantic final days of the trade period, one figure said, was an offer to front-end some of Treloar’s wages in his new contract to assist the Magpies with management of their salary cap.

But if Collingwood’s position is right, the Bulldogs effectively agreed to a trade for Treloar without knowing how much they would pay him.

The clubs agreed to the trade one minute before the AFL exchange period deadline.

But no paperwork outlining any financial details has been lodged with the AFL by either club.

Attempts by Collingwood to push back on payments owed to Treloar will inflame an already bitterly strained relationship with the player after the messy mishandling of the midfielder’s departure.

The AFL is yet to become embroiled in the negotiations.

The clubs held amicable talks on Thursday and have been given extra time before Treloar’s full financial arrangements must be submitted.

28-11-2020, 02:07 AM

Ha. Good to have you back.

28-11-2020, 02:08 AM

Yeah I wish Sedat wasn't so flippy floppy with his opinion about the professionalism of the AFL.

Classical fence sitting Sedat. Can't articulate a point plainly, always convoluted guff.

28-11-2020, 02:12 AM

The AFEL reminds me of Quokkas. They live on an island without too many worries, fat, happy, and if/ as soon as a couple of foxes find their way into their habitat they'll be genuinely *!*!*!*!ed.

28-11-2020, 07:20 AM
I think if the AFL gets involved they will make it simple , pay the amount in 5 instalments one a year at same cost.
None of this backend / front end loading.

28-11-2020, 10:35 AM
I think if the AFL gets involved they will make it simple , pay the amount in 5 instalments one a year at same cost.
None of this backend / front end loading.

I agree. The AFL always act in a sensible, transparent way. There is no way they would encourage back/front ending and risk more clubs finding them in the mess Collingwood are in.

Wait...what?

https://www.google.com.au/amp/s/amp.theage.com.au/sport/afl/afl-create-18-collingwoods-telling-clubs-to-back-end-contracts-20201127-p56ime.html

AFL creates '18 Collingwoods' telling clubs to back end contracts

Irate AFL clubs have warned there will be “18 Collingwoods” forced into back-ending contracts to get under the reduced salary cap next year.

Clubs are angry the league has palmed off applying the cut to the salary cap to the clubs and the league’s best answer for getting under the cap was to back end contracts.

The AFL has mandated the total player payments and additional services agreement for next year will be cut by 9 per cent, while the players will take a 3.5 per cent pay cut on average.

List sizes have been cut by two players, which means the reduced salary cap is slightly spread across fewer players.

The AFL has not applied a flat across the board percentage cut to player salaries next year but instead passed it back to clubs to renegotiate player contracts.

The league has begun visiting and briefing clubs about the cut to the salary cap and has told clubs it was up to them how they got under the salary cap and that they should back end contracts to fit under the cap next year.

Collingwood this year underwent an aggressive trade period in large part to address salary cap issues that were created by constantly back-ending contracts.

They dumped more than $2milion out of their salary cap for next year by trading out Adam Treloar, Jaidyn Stephenson and Tom Phillips.

“The advice from the AFL is to just back-end contracts to get under the cap. Fine. We will have 18 Collingwoods next year with everyone forced to push the problem down the road,” said one list manager who wanted to remain anonymous.

“We have worked for years to get our cap under control and keep it under control – as have other clubs – and the AFL advice is to blow it up again.

“We traded in good faith for draft picks that we may not be able to use because they announced these cuts after the trade period and the reality is we may not be able to bring in as many players.”

The AFL has told clubs that a player cutting their salary by 8.5 per cent next year can recoup 5 per cent of that cut the following year when the salary cap is hoped to normalise back to the pre-COVID levels.

One list manager said it was misleading to say reduced list sizes off-set the size of the salary cap cut.

While the reduced salary cap is spread among fewer players the clubs say it is only the lowest-paid players who were cut from lists and so the clubs’ players wage bill only reduced by about $80,000 per player.

The league has mandated new draftee’s wages will be cut by 10 per cent.

“The AFLPA was representing the players but who was the AFL representing? It wasn’t the clubs,” one club list manager said.

28-11-2020, 11:43 AM
I agree. The AFL always act in a sensible, transparent way. There is no way they would encourage back/front ending and risk more clubs finding them in the mess Collingwood are in.

Wait...what?

https://www.google.com.au/amp/s/amp.theage.com.au/sport/afl/afl-create-18-collingwoods-telling-clubs-to-back-end-contracts-20201127-p56ime.html

Irate AFL clubs have warned there will be “18 Collingwoods” forced into back-ending contracts to get under the reduced salary cap next year.

Clubs are angry the league has palmed off applying the cut to the salary cap to the clubs and the league’s best answer for getting under the cap was to back end contracts.

The AFL has mandated the total player payments and additional services agreement for next year will be cut by 9 per cent, while the players will take a 3.5 per cent pay cut on average.

List sizes have been cut by two players, which means the reduced salary cap is slightly spread across fewer players.

The AFL has not applied a flat across the board percentage cut to player salaries next year but instead passed it back to clubs to renegotiate player contracts.

The league has begun visiting and briefing clubs about the cut to the salary cap and has told clubs it was up to them how they got under the salary cap and that they should back end contracts to fit under the cap next year.

Collingwood this year underwent an aggressive trade period in large part to address salary cap issues that were created by constantly back-ending contracts.

They dumped more than $2milion out of their salary cap for next year by trading out Adam Treloar, Jaidyn Stephenson and Tom Phillips.

“The advice from the AFL is to just back-end contracts to get under the cap. Fine. We will have 18 Collingwoods next year with everyone forced to push the problem down the road,” said one list manager who wanted to remain anonymous.

“We have worked for years to get our cap under control and keep it under control – as have other clubs – and the AFL advice is to blow it up again.

“We traded in good faith for draft picks that we may not be able to use because they announced these cuts after the trade period and the reality is we may not be able to bring in as many players.”

The AFL has told clubs that a player cutting their salary by 8.5 per cent next year can recoup 5 per cent of that cut the following year when the salary cap is hoped to normalise back to the pre-COVID levels.

One list manager said it was misleading to say reduced list sizes off-set the size of the salary cap cut.

While the reduced salary cap is spread among fewer players the clubs say it is only the lowest-paid players who were cut from lists and so the clubs’ players wage bill only reduced by about $80,000 per player.

“The AFLPA was representing the players but who was the AFL representing? It wasn’t the clubs,” one club list manager said.

That is so stupid . I have no words.

28-11-2020, 12:20 PM

Wait...what?

I bet Eddie and the filth were the first club consulted about this drastic policy change (about 3 weeks before everyone else) prior to the trade period starting and duly took out the trash in advance of it being 'officially announced' today.

Could the AFEL be any more partisan, duplicitous, underhanded, secretive, useless and unprofessional? Dickheads.

28-11-2020, 12:21 PM
The AFEL reminds me of Quokkas. They live on an island without too many worries, fat, happy, and if/ as soon as a couple of foxes find their way into their habitat they'll be genuinely *!*!*!*!ed.

Good analogy. The AFL is the marsupial of the sporting world. It thrives with a huge continent to itself but not real good when an external threat comes along.

28-11-2020, 12:26 PM
Snakes are the AFEL animal me thinks:

Paulie Walnuts: Amazing thing about snakes is that they reproduce spontaneously.

Tony Soprano: What do you mean?

Paulie Walnuts: They have both male and female sex organs. That’s why somebody you don’t trust you call a snake. How can you trust a guy who can literally go *!*!*!*! themselves?

Tony Soprano: Don’t you think that expression would’ve come from the Adam and Eve story? When the snake tempted Eve to bite the apple?

Paulie Walnuts: Hey, snakes were *!*!*!*!ing themselves long before Adam and Eve showed up, T

28-11-2020, 12:29 PM
You see, the AFEL can literally go *!*!*!*! itself.

28-11-2020, 12:33 PM
Ok, I shudder to think about the impact on Treloar, but am I right in thinking that we could actually pull the plug on the deal and Collingwood have to keep him?

From my understanding, teams have a week to submit contracts after the closing of the trade period. So they have some type of formal agreement, lodge a notice of intention before the end of trade period, and then have the green light to set about drawing up formal contracts.

If this is the case I think we seriously turn the screws. It’s $600k a year or we are leaving. The ramifications for Collingwood (not clearing some of his salary and having to welcome back a player that they severely mistreated and character assasinated) are too high, they will have to buckle.