View Full Version : WB Game Day V Melbourne - 2021 AAMI Community Series

27-02-2021, 10:04 PM
All discussion for our second hitout for season 2021.

01-03-2021, 12:49 AM
https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/868202/tickets-on-sale-for-dogs-aami-series-match

Tickets on sale for Dogs’ AAMI Series match

Tickets for the Western Bulldogs’ 2021 AAMI Community Series match against Melbourne will go on sale on Monday 1 March, as announced by the AFL today.

Bulldog members and AFL members will receive priority access to ticket sales from 12pm on Monday, while the general public will be able to purchase from 3pm.

Members will receive free entry to these games, however will still be required to redeem a ticket via ticketmaster.com.au for entry as part of the venue’s COVID-safe plan.

For the general public, tickets are $20 for adults and $15 for concession.

Children aged under 15 are free, but will still require a ticket to enter the venue.

The match itself will be held on Monday, 8 March at Marvel Stadium, with the first bounce at 3.10pm AEDT.

A Bulldogs membership is your ticket to the game this season, so show you’re Made of Red, White and Blue by signing up today.

01-03-2021, 12:51 AM
All discussion for our first hitout for season 2021.

Second hit out ;)

01-03-2021, 12:53 AM
Second hit out ;)

Yep I changed it in the opening thread. Will say the 2nd hitout with the first being at Whitten Oval last Wednesday :)

01-03-2021, 11:47 AM
Anyone know how we go about getting the tickets without actually having a membership card and barcode yet?

01-03-2021, 12:16 PM
Anyone know how we go about getting the tickets without actually having a membership card and barcode yet?

There would have been an email from the club with a PDF attachment you can print of your membership card which has the barcode on it. I got that email on Jan 24.

01-03-2021, 12:18 PM

For A League games you get a membership code which you use to purchase tickets. Like a password really. I dare say something similar?

01-03-2021, 12:21 PM
There would have been an email from the club with a PDF attachment you can print of your membership card which has the barcode on it. I got that email on Jan 24.

I completely missed that you're right thanks Eastdog! Says you can print out the PDF and scan at the gate in lieu of membership pack/card.
That's very different to A League so good news.

https://i.postimg.cc/GpcFTNFL/Screenshot-20210301-112304-Acrobat-for-Samsung.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

01-03-2021, 01:09 PM
Anyone else having issues getting tickets?

Website basically keeps 'trying to secure tickets'.

01-03-2021, 01:11 PM
Anyone else having issues getting tickets?

Website basically keeps 'trying to secure tickets'.

Same, just a spinning wheel.

01-03-2021, 01:18 PM

Absolutely useless.

01-03-2021, 01:20 PM

Eventually it broke through. Got great seats, level 1, row E on the wing.

FYI I was able to add 2 kids tickets to the 2 adult member barcodes I have. So you can get 1 additional ticket per membership I believe.

01-03-2021, 01:23 PM
Eventually it broke through. Got great seats, level 1, row E on the wing.

FYI I was able to add 2 kids tickets to the 2 adult member barcodes I have. So you can get 1 additional ticket per membership I believe.

I've got 3 devices, none are loading.

Forgot how much I hate Ticketmaster.

01-03-2021, 01:43 PM
I’m having problems too-shizen!!!

01-03-2021, 01:49 PM
Finally - 40 mins of pfaffing around plus 5 mins to obtain barcode for hubby from dogs who had not sent hard or e copy of his card yet. We are in section Level 1 bank 29 (on wing). Will be great to see the boys - x fingers no injuries & they put on a ok show with a bit more intensity. Think we might rest a few eg Libba.

01-03-2021, 01:52 PM
Finally - 40 mins of pfaffing around plus 5 mins to obtain barcode for hubby from dogs who had not sent hard or e copy of his card yet. We are in section Level 1 bank 29 (on wing). Will be great to see the boys - x fingers no injuries & they put on a ok show with a bit more intensity. Think we might rest a few eg Libba.

Bevo likes to use the last practice match as a dress rehearsal for the season, so team selection will be interesting.

01-03-2021, 01:57 PM
must have been one of the lucky ones..6 tickets on the wing no problems..yay

01-03-2021, 02:09 PM

I was amazed my old man managed to dig out his emailed barcode when I called him.

FYI aisle 29 is more forward pocket/half forward than wing. Of course it will be great to get back to the footy regardless of where we are sitting.

01-03-2021, 02:11 PM
Members fume after missing out on priority passes due to ticketing bungle
(https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/news/afl-preseason-2021-members-fume-after-missing-out-on-priority-passes-due-to-ticketing-bungle/news-story/74f09bdf202698e6d323b87c7738facb)
AFL clubs have had to apologise to their fans for a Ticketmaster bungle that has seen frustrated members unable to purchase tickets for this weekend’s AAMI Community Series games.

Fans desperate to see their teams live for the first time in a year had rushed to purchase tickets this morning, with members given a priority window to get in ahead of general admission fans.

But supporters were unable to access those tickets with long waits and delays, which saw the priority window pushed back to 3pm this afternoon.

The Western Bulldogs told their fans: “Due to a Ticketmaster issue, our scheduled member email for this morning’s AAMI on sale was delayed. We will be emailing all members their barcodes as soon as the issue is resolved. We’re as frustrated by this as you are and apologise for any inconvenience caused.”

St Kilda told its fans: “Apologies to members who are having trouble booking tickets, it appears the influx of people on Ticketmaster’s site is causing issues. Members have a priority window until 3pm, so please keep trying while we look into this further.”

The league has told fans that Victorian venues will have 50 per cent capacity from Round 1 onwards but fans are already fearing they will be shut-out if games due to that limited capacity.

01-03-2021, 02:23 PM
Year after year there are issues with these ticketing companies. Something needs to be done to say the least

01-03-2021, 02:56 PM
Finally after nearly 2 hours of trying, I got a ticket. Was supposed to be Level 2 (which I had requested) but gave me Level 1, Sec. 41, so took it as I was ******* off with waiting and re-trying every few seconds as requested.

01-03-2021, 03:20 PM
It’s been a couple of hours but finally got tickets on level one only to have Ticketmaster make me change my password! Anyhoo got them eventually need a panadol

01-03-2021, 04:44 PM
There are tickets still available if anyone is looking.

01-03-2021, 05:09 PM
Got in pretty quick with the link the club sent this arvo, section 15 level 1.

Will be nice to see some live footy (on a public holiday no less)

01-03-2021, 07:42 PM
I was amazed my old man managed to dig out his emailed barcode when I called him.

FYI aisle 29 is more forward pocket/half forward than wing. Of course it will be great to get back to the footy regardless of where we are sitting.

Thx Axeman-silly me believing Ticketmaster saying wing when they somehow stuff up almost everything else!

Sounds like your dad is a bit more tech savvy than some.

01-03-2021, 07:50 PM
Bevo likes to use the last practice match as a dress rehearsal for the season, so team selection will be interesting.

Your right-I forgot about Bevo’s approach but that does ring bells.

My heart was in my mouth when Libba went down in practice match vs Hawks. Horrible to say this but when I knew it was a head cut not knee I kind of sighed in relief. Having seen him go down in a practice match with an ACL some years ago & a again more recent round 1 game vs GWS in Canberra - I think it was vs Tigers at WO and knowing he does not seem to need much preparation to be as tough and uncompromising as ever I wonder if Bevo might rest him. I’m not the superstitious type but with that track record perhaps I should not attend?

01-03-2021, 08:24 PM
Secured my ticket. Section: Level 1-23

Doesn’t matter where I seat just great to be getting back to the footy.

01-03-2021, 08:41 PM
In the process of trying to get tickets.
The last 2 weeks of trying to get aflw tickets has been a schmozzle as well. I had the blue spinning wheel for 5 hours last Wednesday...

01-03-2021, 10:10 PM
Use Chrome on your laptop/desktop if possible. I have been able to get seats but only with the chrome browser. Still plenty L1 seats available but they don't give you any choice of L2 seats.

01-03-2021, 10:47 PM
I got 5 tickets pretty easy. I even got 5 tickets for the Coll v Rich for a mate. Just lucky I guess.

02-03-2021, 08:58 AM
Have to work. Forgot that it wasn’t a Uni holiday. A good test run for ticketing arrangements come the season. It’ll be an ongoing source on game day and during the week, all season. Especially when you go to load your ticket from the app as you walk to the gate and it crashes.

02-03-2021, 11:33 AM
Good point. I take photo of QR code for this very reason.

02-03-2021, 07:36 PM
Have to work. Forgot that it wasn’t a Uni holiday. A good test run for ticketing arrangements come the season. It’ll be an ongoing source on game day and during the week, all season. Especially when you go to load your ticket from the app as you walk to the gate and it crashes.

That's why i prefer paper tickets.

02-03-2021, 08:36 PM
Surely we will put away this pea hearted, injury riddled team?

03-03-2021, 09:29 PM
L2 Tickets are available now. Don't even need to enter your membership numbers.

04-03-2021, 05:46 PM
VFL game at Whitten beforehand.

#VFL Practice Match Details
Monday March 8
@FootscrayVFL v @CaseyDemonsFC 10.30am Whitten Oval
https://t.co/hM6h9NZGtc

04-03-2021, 06:17 PM
L2 Tickets are available now. Don't even need to enter your membership numbers.

If you don't enter your membership numbers won't you have to pay for the tickets?

04-03-2021, 10:32 PM
If you don't enter your membership numbers won't you have to pay for the tickets?

Yeah, sorry my bad.

Something went wrong for me. Tried many times but with me entering the membership numbers for 2 tickets or without, they still charged me the same amount :(

05-03-2021, 01:22 AM
Change of circumstances freed me up for Monday so I just tried Ticketmaster now. Able to get a ticket at the front of Level 2. It's in the pocket but I'm just happy to secure a ticket this late. I have no idea how the Best Available algorithm makes its decisions, but it's rubbish. Specifying a particular level and area was a much more successful approach. No problem, once I spotted the tab, getting my membership number accepted so zero cost.

05-03-2021, 11:38 AM
Change of circumstances freed me up for Monday so I just tried Ticketmaster now. Able to get a ticket at the front of Level 2. It's in the pocket but I'm just happy to secure a ticket this late. I have no idea how the Best Available algorithm makes its decisions, but it's rubbish. Specifying a particular level and area was a much more successful approach. No problem, once I spotted the tab, getting my membership number accepted so zero cost.

Good stuff BID. Yeah just great to be going back to the footy to watch the Dogs. Will be intersting during the season in securing the tickets. I hoping I can get tickets near where I usually have my reserve seat which is Level 1 Aisle 33 but not fussed if I don’t get that under the circumstances.

CarnTheScray
05-03-2021, 01:45 PM
Judging from last nights game, it looks like the max attendance will be around 10k.

05-03-2021, 01:52 PM
Judging from last nights game, it looks like the max attendance will be around 10k.

I would have expected a bigger crowd from 2 teams with a lot of hype and strong membership numbers.

05-03-2021, 05:00 PM
I would have expected a bigger crowd from 2 teams with a lot of hype and strong membership numbers.

Melbourne supporters never trek to Marvel

05-03-2021, 05:01 PM
Melbourne supporters never trek to Marvel

I was referring to last night's game.

05-03-2021, 05:03 PM
I was referring to last night's game.

Oh sorry I answered Carn the scray but quoted you.

I agree there should have been more last night, but a practise match - who cares :D

05-03-2021, 06:50 PM
Does anyone know if crowds are allowed at Whitten Oval on Monday?

07-03-2021, 11:48 AM
Are we going to find out who is in our team for tomorrow?

07-03-2021, 07:22 PM
https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/874511

B: Bailey Williams, Ryan Gardner, Caleb Daniel
HB: Laitham Vandermeer, Alex Keath, Hayden Crozier
C: Bailey Dale, Tom Liberatore, Lachie Hunter
HF: Bailey Smith, Aaron Naughton, Rhylee West
F: Tim English, Josh Bruce, Lachie McNeil
Foll: Stefan Martin, Jack Macrae, Marcus Bontempelli
Int: Mitch Wallis, Josh Dunkley, Josh Schache, Buku Khamis, Dom Bedendo, Pat Lipinski, Anthony Scott, Roarke Smith
Emer: Zaine Cordy, Will Hayes, Jason Johannisen, Lin Jong

Edit: Melbourne team here https://www.melbournefc.com.au/news/874790

07-03-2021, 07:24 PM
Well that is a different looking team

07-03-2021, 07:25 PM
We are certainly giving some players there chance to impress.
Does the fact that Cordy has been missing in both games an indication he's out of the mix for round one?

07-03-2021, 07:26 PM
Well that is a different looking team

The IC bench looks a bit strange but the starting 18 looks pretty good

07-03-2021, 07:29 PM
JJ seemingly dropped as well.

07-03-2021, 07:29 PM
Does anyone know if crowds are allowed at Whitten Oval on Monday?

Apparently capacity of 1,000 will be allowed in.

07-03-2021, 07:30 PM
JJ seemingly dropped as well.

Yep, I hope this is an indication that even if you are a senior player we are picking the teams on form

07-03-2021, 07:31 PM
Going in with Naughton, Bruce and English in the forward line with Schache on the bench. It'll be something.

07-03-2021, 07:32 PM
Does the fact that Cordy has been missing in both games an indication he's out of the mix for round one?

Looks like it

07-03-2021, 07:47 PM
Going in younger than we need to again? I'm fine with JJ getting dropped, I just hope we don't spend the first half of the year again searching for out best 22.

07-03-2021, 07:52 PM
Lachie McNeil seems to be in favour. What can you tell me about him?

07-03-2021, 07:53 PM

Quick forward and midfielder. Needs to tidy up his kicking just a bit
Good rookie pick up

07-03-2021, 07:55 PM

We’re pooling money for a Brownlow bet. He’s a dead cert. :)
Impressive v the Hawks. Strong running wing/flanker with pace. Seemed pretty composed with the footy.

07-03-2021, 07:58 PM

I hate to say it but I cant see Cordy being on the list much longer, he really hasn't made any improvement at all in the last four years.

I just think we took too long to drop him for his poor form, hopefully we see some improvement but looking at his body shape nothing seems to have changed.

07-03-2021, 08:02 PM
The lack of some quality small pacy forwards is very obvious in that named forward line.

07-03-2021, 08:47 PM

I find it hard to believe that Cordy as a Premiership player isn’t better than Gardner in what he has shown so far.

07-03-2021, 09:11 PM
Are we thinking apart from injured players this is the preferred side? I believe this is pretty much a full dress rehearsel.
JJ very interesting.

07-03-2021, 09:29 PM
I hate to say it but I cant see Cordy being on the list much longer, he really hasn't made any improvement at all in the last four years.

I just think we took too long to drop him for his poor form, hopefully we see some improvement but looking at his body shape nothing seems to have changed.

Cordy was actually playing really well start of last season but tapered off a fair bit towards the end.

07-03-2021, 10:01 PM
Amidst my excitement about Bedendo being in, I completely missed that Khamis is on the bench too. Good to see. Players may be in pre-season but the match committee is in mid season form already.

07-03-2021, 10:14 PM
Dropping JJ as the game lurches even further to the favour of run and carry, metres-gained types is ... classic Bevo.

07-03-2021, 10:30 PM
Are we thinking apart from injured players this is the preferred side? I believe this is pretty much a full dress rehearsel.
JJ very interesting.

It could be but the players players dropped from the Hawks game have been replaced by the more speculative players on the list excluding Naughton

Schache, Khamis, Bedendo, Scott and R.Smith have to be long shots for the Pies game

07-03-2021, 11:00 PM
Love the inclusions, never really view omissions as being dropped in practice games. Surely J lines up against pies. No Treloar is a shame, can’t see him playing round 1 unfortunately

08-03-2021, 05:48 AM
Gardner, R Smith, Scott all playing with Hayes emergency. That's the Beveridge dream team right there! I hope Beveridge doesn't start with his captains call bullshit when the real stuff starts

08-03-2021, 08:19 AM
Bev loves a surprise or two every year early in the year.

McNeil plays well and I'd say he's almost a certainty, Scott is probably a chance too.

08-03-2021, 08:37 AM
Gardner, R Smith, Scott all playing with Hayes emergency. That's the Beveridge dream team right there! I hope Beveridge doesn't start with his captains call bullshit when the real stuff starts

Anthony Scott has replaced Billy Gowers in the Bevo All Stars.

08-03-2021, 09:07 AM
No one here, in the coaches box or anywhere can convince me that JJ isn’t best 22 or at least better than mfn Bailey Dale.

08-03-2021, 09:25 AM
No one here, in the coaches box or anywhere can convince me that JJ isn’t best 22 or at least better than mfn Bailey Dale.

JJ has needed a rocket for years, but it’s weird that he looks to be on the outer at the very moment a rule change has been implemented that should suit his skill set to a tee.

08-03-2021, 11:08 AM
Important game for many players today. For the likes of West it's a chance to cement a spot for the game against the Pies.
For McNeil a chance to potentially earn a promotion off the rookie list to replace McLean
The pairing of Martin and English as a ruck/forward combination for the season could be dependent on how they perform today and for Lipinski it's a chance to redeem himself in the eyes of the selectors, Dunkley needs a good game as well to work his way back into best 22 calculations

I'm hoping to see a spirited effort as it's great chance for many players today and they need to make the most of them

08-03-2021, 11:23 AM
At VFL and Treloar out on ground in the pre match drills. Also Schache, Kamis on the ground.

08-03-2021, 11:25 AM
At VFL and Treloar out on ground in the pre match drills. Also Schache, Kamis on the ground.

Cheers Smads, keep us posted.

08-03-2021, 11:33 AM
Treloar in everything at start of play

08-03-2021, 11:34 AM
Schache first goal after good pressure from Cav

08-03-2021, 11:35 AM
Ball straight out of centre and Schache for his 2nd goal

08-03-2021, 11:37 AM
Running goal out of defence to Butler - JJ assist. 6 min mark only

08-03-2021, 11:40 AM
Running goal out of defence to Butler - JJ assist. 6 min mark only

Lol JJ and Treloar in the 2s is just unfair.

08-03-2021, 11:50 AM
Casey get there first after getting some more fwd entries. 18 min gone 3.5 to 1.0

08-03-2021, 11:51 AM
And they add a second. 3.5 to 2.0

08-03-2021, 11:53 AM
CAV gets his first.

SkyDog
08-03-2021, 11:58 AM
@smads57 How is Jamarra tracking so far? Any early touches

08-03-2021, 11:59 AM
CAV gets his first.

Is Marra playing?

08-03-2021, 12:00 PM
I find it hard to believe that Cordy as a Premiership player isn’t better than Gardner in what he has shown so far.

You must have missed all of the talk here earlier in the preseason. Cordy didn’t seem to present in very good shape, with a questionable amount of conditioning. This could be his message to get himself to AFL standards?

08-03-2021, 12:01 PM
Classic lead and mark by Marra but point only. McComb follows up with a goal. Qtr time 7.7 to 2.1

08-03-2021, 12:04 PM
Has anyone got access to the VFL team list with numbers? Would like to know who is wearing #7 and #10 in particular - they have looked good!

08-03-2021, 12:08 PM
If we have concerns about a smallish backline in the seniors then they are even smaller in the twos. Good Qtr by many of the AFL listed players - to note - Schache, Treloar, Richards, JJ, Smith, Duryea and great pressure from Cav

08-03-2021, 12:11 PM
If we have concerns about a smallish backline in the seniors then they are even smaller in the twos. Good Qtr by many of the AFL listed players - to note - Schache, Treloar, Richards, JJ, Smith, Duryea and great pressure from Cav

Great to hear that Cav is continuing his good form. Should be playing in the 1s imo.

08-03-2021, 12:14 PM
Nice running goal to JJ after lead up work by Jong, Doc and Schache

08-03-2021, 12:16 PM
Kamis pass to a leading Marra - magic

08-03-2021, 12:18 PM
Butler being played fwd this Qtr. VFL player kicks another goal.9 min gone 9.7 to 2.1

08-03-2021, 12:24 PM
Cordy gives away free and Casey get their 3rd.

08-03-2021, 12:28 PM
Treloar gives away the first Stand 50 metre penalty

08-03-2021, 12:31 PM
Cavarra gets his second - 10.8 to 3.3 21 mins gone. Duryea influential this qtr

08-03-2021, 12:40 PM
@smads57 How is Jamarra tracking so far? Any early touches

Welcome aboard SkyDog

08-03-2021, 12:44 PM
HT 10.10 to 3.3 - battle of both teams defences that qtr. probably have Duryea as our most important player this half. Schache also providing a marking target. Kamis the better of Young and Cordy - offers something they can’t which is genuine run and carry, nonetheless both Cordy and Young had good moments that qtr. Treloar getting touches which is important at this stage. JJ not that influential off half back as he could be...

08-03-2021, 12:46 PM
Has anyone got access to the VFL team list with numbers? Would like to know who is wearing #7 and #10 in particular - they have looked good!
7 is McComb

08-03-2021, 12:51 PM
Raining as they start the 3rd qtr. Schache still out playing so not likely to play Melb today

08-03-2021, 12:53 PM
Smart kick by Weightman to top of square results in first goal to Dogs

08-03-2021, 12:54 PM
https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/874511

B: Bailey Williams, Ryan Gardner, Caleb Daniel
HB: Laitham Vandermeer, Alex Keath, Hayden Crozier
C: Bailey Dale, Tom Liberatore, Lachie Hunter
HF: Bailey Smith, Aaron Naughton, Rhylee West
F: Tim English, Josh Bruce, Lachie McNeil
Foll: Stefan Martin, Jack Macrae, Marcus Bontempelli
Int: Mitch Wallis, Josh Dunkley, Josh Schache, Buku Khamis, Dom Bedendo, Pat Lipinski, Anthony Scott, Roarke Smith
Emer: Zaine Cordy, Will Hayes, Jason Johannisen, Lin Jong

Edit: Melbourne team here https://www.melbournefc.com.au/news/874790

Roarke, Schache, Khamis and all the emergencies are all playing in the VFL match, so I think we will be playing with a bench of 4 and keeping to the 75 rotations. I thought they might go off at half time, but have all come out for the second half.

08-03-2021, 12:55 PM
Stacked forward line with a pick 1, pick 2, and pick 14 running around.

08-03-2021, 12:55 PM
Weightman snaps truly from front and centre 12.11 to 3.3

08-03-2021, 01:00 PM
Treloar playing half back at present

08-03-2021, 01:06 PM
Sweet snaps one after Casey get their 4th. 15 min gone 13.13 to 4.3

08-03-2021, 01:07 PM
Quick ball movement out of centre and Sullivan snags one

08-03-2021, 01:07 PM
Lewis Young has looked alright with some decent intercept marks, backing into packs. His disposal and decision making is a concern - he seems to get quite flustered and prone to throwing it on the boot.

Jamarra has had two marks on the lead for two shots - one narrow miss and one OOF. Has shown glimpses but they're right about him being a way off his debut.

Treloar and Duryea should both play round one based on today. Cavarra and Schache have done enough to be considered.

08-03-2021, 01:08 PM
Treloar finished for the day.

08-03-2021, 01:13 PM
Thanks a million for the update Smads and Jazzadogs. Keep ‘em coming!
#legends

08-03-2021, 01:15 PM
How is Sweet handling the conditions?

08-03-2021, 01:17 PM
3qt - 14.14 to 4.4 - leaving now for the main event.

08-03-2021, 01:19 PM
Treloar finished for the day.

Out of the game but still doing run throughs on the wing - approx 50m with the last 25 at 80-90%

08-03-2021, 01:35 PM
Cavarra has been excellent. Good pressure, clean, kicked a few goals and had a hand in some others.

Jamarra has moved up to a wing for the last quarter, had a good chase down tackle but minimal involvement.

08-03-2021, 01:47 PM
Cavarra has been excellent. Good pressure, clean, kicked a few goals and had a hand in some others.

There is a spot for him in the 1s.

08-03-2021, 01:49 PM
Final score 19.19 133 to 4.4 28

08-03-2021, 02:08 PM
Well that's a shellacking!

Thanks for the updates Smads and Jazza! Much appreciated.

08-03-2021, 02:13 PM
Thanks for the updates.

08-03-2021, 02:16 PM
Lewis Young has looked alright with some decent intercept marks, backing into packs. His disposal and decision making is a concern - he seems to get quite flustered and prone to throwing it on the boot.

Jamarra has had two marks on the lead for two shots - one narrow miss and one OOF. Has shown glimpses but they're right about him being a way off his debut.

Treloar and Duryea should both play round one based on today. Cavarra and Schache have done enough to be considered.

My sentiments exactly from the three Qtrs I seen Jazzadogs. I would also add a special mention to Richards off half back - clearly this is his best position. JJ ok in patches - played mostly defence and there wasn't a lot of ball coming his way.

Having watched Kamis over a couple of seasons in the Twos, think he has come along way - trouble is he is competing with the glut of half backs we have already to get an AFL guernsey.

Butler was clean on occasions and then fumbly on others - has got a bit to work on. Weightman worked hard - particularly with his pressure acts - just needs to keep it up.

Will Hayes and Jongy got a lot of it - Hayes probably more cleaner on the day. Roarke also had some touches. I think all three however are 'back up' at best at this stage.

Not sure how strong the Casey team was with respect to AFL listed players although I heard someone say Brayshaw was playing. As a result the VFL team clearly dominated for most of the day. The only disappointment for me was the lack of any intel on the VFL players. Outside of McComb and Sullivan, I didn't recognise any other players from the 2019 season....looks like we might have had a bit of a clean out and brought in some new faces. For those at the ground I was impressed by 17 running around half forward. Tallish, agile, good mark and kick.

08-03-2021, 02:17 PM
Great updates and insights. Much appreciated.

08-03-2021, 02:20 PM
Who's this Preston guy? Kicked 4.

08-03-2021, 02:23 PM
How is Sweet handling the conditions?
When I first watched Sweet play in the VFL a couple of seasons ago, I thought he could really bring something to the table - particularly liked his aggression - he also got on the scoreboard from time to time. Watching his game today, I feel he has tread water for two seasons with not as much progression as I had hoped.
He was important in the ruck today and around the ground, but he just seems to lack a bit of urgency and mobility for my liking. Will be interesting to see how he goes the rest of this season.

08-03-2021, 02:26 PM

He was one of the four players training with us (with Raak, Ewan McPherson, and Scott).

08-03-2021, 02:29 PM

Didn't realise Corey Preston was playing (train on player)...he was number 10 (a Woofer had asked about this player in an earlier post). I seen him kick a couple at least before leaving at 3/4 time. Good to know who he was.

08-03-2021, 02:43 PM
FOOT 19. 19. 133
CASEY 4. 4. 28

Goals: Preston 4, Cavarra 3, Schache 2, McComb 2, Weightman 2, Butler, Johannisen, Sweet, Hodge, Sullivan, Hayes.

08-03-2021, 02:45 PM
Roof Closed

08-03-2021, 02:48 PM
So looks like Brayshaw, Viney and Oliver are out.

08-03-2021, 02:59 PM
So looks like Brayshaw, Viney and Oliver are out.

Brayshaw played reserves

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Ev6np2sVkAI82mr?format=jpg&name=medium

08-03-2021, 03:37 PM
Didn't realise Corey Preston was playing (train on player)...he was number 10 (a Woofer had asked about this player in an earlier post). I seen him kick a couple at least before leaving at 3/4 time. Good to know who he was.

Agree, he played well and seems to fill a position of need more than Scott based on last weeks game. Intrigued to see Scott's role this week - I can't see how he plays ahead of Duryea as a defender, or Cavarra as a forward.

It was very frustrating that there was no team list available. Even Treloar wore #5, so you couldn't trust the numbers.

08-03-2021, 03:43 PM

Jamarra has moved up to a wing for the last quarter, had a good chase down tackle but minimal involvement.

Thanks & great to hear. Go Benny!!!

08-03-2021, 03:45 PM
Anyone else starting to get a bit excited about today's game?

08-03-2021, 03:51 PM
Anyone else starting to get a bit excited about today's game?

It's an odd build-up to a preseason game. Almost feels like round 1. Seeing their outs and reading about our desire for a "full dress rehearsal" places a fair bit of expectation on the result of this one. We really shouldn't lose. Now, this is just the preseason but after our last game I'm expecting a vast improvement and a clearer indication on what we will look like this season.

08-03-2021, 04:09 PM
Bailey Dale warming up with the defence group

08-03-2021, 04:24 PM
How did Smith miss that goal? They train for that at almost every session

08-03-2021, 04:29 PM
Jesus we make everything look hard.

08-03-2021, 04:38 PM
Loving Martin in the ruck ... great strength

08-03-2021, 04:41 PM
Afl website says Vandermeer injured.
Anyone watching able to elaborate?

Loving Martin in the ruck ... great strength

He makes a huge difference. His work around the ground is excellent.

Look like he pulled up with a hammy

Dominating general play, missing simple goals, same same but different year.

08-03-2021, 04:42 PM
Well everything looks pretty much the same as the last few years *sigh*

Some really nice passages of play by us, if we maintain this we could break the game open

Heard it might have been a hammy. Poor old Laitham might just be one of those people who will always have issues there.

08-03-2021, 04:44 PM
Dominating general play, missing simple goals, same same but different year.

Aside from Bevo throwing the magnets around, I'd love to know what we actually work on each preseason.

08-03-2021, 04:45 PM
That was absolute dross.

08-03-2021, 04:47 PM
Good 1st qtr. Macrae, Bont, Daniel, Dale, Martin good signs

08-03-2021, 04:48 PM
Aside from Bevo throwing the magnets around, I'd love to know what we actually work on each preseason.

It certainly is puzzling. Our game style really doesn’t seem to suit our key forwards in Naughton and Bruce.

08-03-2021, 04:49 PM
It certainly is puzzling. Our game style really doesn’t seem to suit our key forwards in Naughton and Bruce.

Our kicking inside 50 is so, so bad... the one from Hunter to no-one when Naughton was leading up the shining example.

08-03-2021, 04:49 PM
I struggle to believe that Naughton and Bruce have ever trained together.

NoseBleed
08-03-2021, 04:51 PM
Look like he pulled up with a hammy

Hip pointer

08-03-2021, 04:55 PM

Everything relating to our forward line just seems a shambles and has been so for yonks. No cohesion, poor entries, poor set shot kicking, poor roving of contests, lack of defensive pressure. These things aren't really that complicated.

08-03-2021, 04:58 PM
I don't mind what I am seeing so far. Its a bit scrappy, but it's also pre-season. The intensity is most certainly there. I'm holding judgement right now ... waiting (hoping) the game breaks open soon.

08-03-2021, 04:59 PM
I mean sure, we've looked by far the better team and should be dominating (they have a lot of quality out). But we've seen games like this in the past over and over. I want to see us start putting that dominance on the scoreboard.

08-03-2021, 05:01 PM
I don't mind what I am seeing so far. Its a bit scrappy, but it's also pre-season. The intensity is most certainly there. I'm holding judgement right now ... waiting (hoping) the game breaks open soon.

Our membership team is performing better than our forward line and forward entries.

Melbourne is missing a couple of first choice midfielders.

08-03-2021, 05:03 PM
You just can't miss shots like that....honestly

08-03-2021, 05:04 PM
You just can't miss shots like that....honestly

Great goal by Bont, shocking miss by Hunter

08-03-2021, 05:07 PM
Anyone able to shed some light on our ruck situation? Is Martin or English contesting more hitouts?

I see Gawn is once again dominating the hitouts but we're smashing them in clearances so wondering if we're simply better sharking the taps or Stef and/or Timmy are doing a better job at contesting the ruck thus still giving our mids a chance even without getting the tap.

08-03-2021, 05:08 PM
I was hoping 2021 Bruce would be an upgrade.

08-03-2021, 05:12 PM

He's still got the 2nd half to prove he is making progress. I'm not impressed by his efforts so far but it's early days

08-03-2021, 05:13 PM
Anyone able to shed some light on our ruck situation? Is Martin or English contesting more hitouts?

I see Gawn is once again dominating the hitouts but we're smashing them in clearances so wondering if we're simply better sharking the taps or Stef and/or Timmy are doing a better job at contesting the ruck thus still giving our mids a chance even without getting the tap.

English has been in the ruck more

08-03-2021, 05:13 PM
We've got some work to do in the 2nd half

08-03-2021, 05:14 PM
Some things never change. Dominate possession. Dominate i50s. Miss easy chances. Forward line looks dysfunctional. Pressure drops for for five minutes and the opposition opens us up like a can of sardines and scores easy multiple goals. DéjÃ* vu.

08-03-2021, 05:15 PM
Very lucky that wasn’t a push

08-03-2021, 05:16 PM

Patience is the key. He needed that and so did we

08-03-2021, 05:16 PM
Some things never change. Dominate possession. Dominate i50s. Miss easy chances. Forward line looks dysfunctional. Pressure drops for for five minutes and the opposition opens us up like a can of sardines and scores easy multiple goals. DéjÃ* vu.

After 4 years it has gotten pretty old.

08-03-2021, 05:17 PM
Lovely we get to wait all pre-season to see the same thing.

- No improvement in ball movement.
- Miss easy goals
- Give up easy goals
- Make scoring hard work
- Play 2-3 rookies who are miles away.

08-03-2021, 05:19 PM
So easy out of the stoppages for Melbourne. Our much vaunted on ball brigade doesn’t care much for manning up.

08-03-2021, 05:20 PM
Naughton getting a bath so far. I think all the reports of him ‘flying’ over preseason says more about who he was playing on and less about him.

08-03-2021, 05:23 PM
Naughton getting a bath so far. I think all the reports of him ‘flying’ over preseason says more about who he was playing on and less about him.

He hasn’t gotten near it. Would argue the delivery in and work of his fee low forwards haven’t made it easier

08-03-2021, 05:25 PM
He hasn’t gotten near it. Would argue the delivery in and work of his fee low forwards haven’t made it easier

He hasn’t gotten near it and his opponent is racking them up.

08-03-2021, 05:27 PM

Needs to learn to lead and give a target, not stand back

08-03-2021, 05:28 PM
Pretty ugly display and more so that the same issues we've had for 3-4 years are still present. Our midfields blatant refusal to block space and run the other way is quite remarkable.

Our defenders can't defend and our forwards have no cohesion. If Bruce and Naughton go for the same ball one more time......

The only area we look different or better in, is the ruck. At least we're competitive now.

08-03-2021, 05:29 PM

Not a pretty game to watch. Same old with set shot kicking. Should have at least 3 or 4 more on the board

08-03-2021, 05:29 PM
Needs to learn to lead and give a target, not stand back

When he leads we kick it over his head. He had May cold in the first qtr and Hunter bombed it over his head.. got to hit up the leading player, especially against May is so strong one on one.

08-03-2021, 05:30 PM
Jay sus glad I can't watch this one by tbe sounds of things. Anyone playing well?

Can anyone provide score update and time please?

08-03-2021, 05:31 PM
Jay sus glad I can't watch this one by tbe sounds of things. Anyone playing well?

Bont, with 19 to half time,and Daniel and Libba doing well

08-03-2021, 05:34 PM
Pretty ugly display and more so that the same issues we've had for 3-4 years are still present. Our midfields blatant refusal to block space and run the other way is quite remarkable.

Our defenders can't defend and our forwards have no cohesion. If Bruce and Naughton go for the same ball one more time......

The only area we look different or better in, is the ruck. At least we're competitive now.

We should be right by about round 16 and come home with a wet sail to steal 7th or 8th spot.

08-03-2021, 05:37 PM
Khamis is playing. Weird..

08-03-2021, 05:39 PM
Wallis has looked very rusty in both the Hawks game and today. Hands have been so bad.

08-03-2021, 05:41 PM

Can anyone provide score update and time please?

Half time

Dogs 5.8 v Dees 5.5

NoseBleed
08-03-2021, 05:42 PM
Naughs out with forearm injury.

08-03-2021, 05:42 PM
Bruce drops an absolute soda.

08-03-2021, 05:43 PM

At least he got hands to one to be fair.

08-03-2021, 05:43 PM

Hands of Stone

08-03-2021, 05:44 PM
Nice goal by Bont, great signs for a big season

08-03-2021, 05:45 PM
Naughs out with forearm injury.

Made of glass. Would putting him back reduce his collision injuries?

08-03-2021, 05:51 PM
When the same problems present themselves year after year the buck stops with the coaches.

Funnily enough the one area we have improved is ruck after we finally wilted to get a second one. If stubborn Bevo opened his mind a bit we’d make the other obvious adjustments but we’ll have to play the waiting game.

Bont has gone into beast mode.. what a player.

Nice goal by Bont, great signs for a big season

And again.

08-03-2021, 05:52 PM
How ordinary would we be without our precious Bont?

08-03-2021, 05:53 PM
Naughton does throw himself around with reckless abandon. Super courageous but has been injury prone. Hopefully it’s nothing serious.

08-03-2021, 05:54 PM
Lipinski has been great so far. Hopefully a breakout season for him. We need some silk badly

08-03-2021, 05:58 PM
Do posters prefer Dale or JJ as the a high HB?

08-03-2021, 06:01 PM

Is there a 3rd option?

If the game is going to be this open JJ’s pace is going to be an asset.

08-03-2021, 06:01 PM
Terrible from Scott, just get the ball out.

08-03-2021, 06:05 PM
Is there a 3rd option?

Ed Richards?

08-03-2021, 06:07 PM
Who is this McNeill kid? Why would we offer him a contract ?? :rolleyes:

08-03-2021, 06:07 PM
Gee Kumus has some confidence. Great kick to English and finish by McNeil.

08-03-2021, 06:09 PM
Love it:

Hitouts 36-18 melbourne
Clearances 36-18 dogs

Caleb is such a good player

Great vision Caleb

08-03-2021, 06:11 PM
Is there a 3rd option?

Practise matches are usually open, not much defense

08-03-2021, 06:12 PM
I have enjoyed Martin’s body work against Gawn. Been a long time since we haven’t been completely bashed up in the ruck against the Dees.

08-03-2021, 06:12 PM
When the same problems present themselves year after year the buck stops with the coaches.

Funnily enough the one area we have improved is ruck after we finally wilted to get a second one. If stubborn Bevo opened his mind a bit we’d make the other obvious adjustments but we’ll have to play the waiting game.

What are the obvious adjustments?

08-03-2021, 06:13 PM
Daniel has gone to another level.

Been watching Buku closely and he has improved a lot. Still figuring out positioning and reading the play but he competes well in the air, was solid in a couple of ground balls and has nice skills.

Loved that he went the kick to English which opened up the play instead of the safe but defensive option.

08-03-2021, 06:17 PM
Daniel has gone to another level.

Been watching Buku closely and he has improved a lot. Still figuring out positioning and reading the play but he competes well in the air, was solid in a couple of ground balls and has nice skills.

Loved that he went the kick to English which opened up the play instead of the safe but defensive option.

Looks like when he came on, Keath went forward.

Not sure about Dale in the backline

08-03-2021, 06:18 PM
Looks like when he came on, Keath went forward.

Not sure about Dale in the backline

Naughton went off
Kumus on
Keith forward

08-03-2021, 06:18 PM
What are the obvious adjustments?

Does it really take a mastermind forwards coach to say don’t lead to the same spots, apply defensive pressure, don’t all go for the mark, don’t all wait for the drop, know lead patterns and hit up a leading forward?

The midfield and defensive problems also appear to be players not having concentration but how long can you blame a group of players who keep getting games?

No improvement for years is a coaching problem.

08-03-2021, 06:28 PM
There are a lot of negative Nellies on here right now. Whoa is us ... same same as last year :rolleyes:.

I am obviously seeing this game a lot different to you (and maybe I'm a glass half full kinda guy). The way I see it. Our coach has trained all of our players to be able to play different positions. Therefore, we aren't locked into one style of play. We now have three/four years of this experience. We have recruited well. We are flogging Melbourne all over the ground. Yes, they have some big names out ... so do we !!! Wood, Cordy, JJ, Treloar, Richards, Durea, JUH. At the time of writing this, we have hit the scoreboard 25 times. Our accuracy is off, but no where near as bad as it has been in recent years.

This is a great hit out and will bring loads of confidence going into round one. No need for so much negativity

08-03-2021, 06:32 PM
Gee I’ll be disappointed if we drop right off and they get back within a goal or two

08-03-2021, 06:33 PM
If Gardner is the best we’ve got, wow.

08-03-2021, 06:33 PM
There are a lot of negative Nellies on here right now. Whoa is us ... same same as last year :rolleyes:.

I am obviously seeing this game a lot different to you (and maybe I'm a glass half full kinda guy). The way I see it. Our coach has trained all of our players to be able to play different positions. Therefore, we aren't locked into one style of play. We now have three/four years of this experience. We have recruited well. We are flogging Melbourne all over the ground. Yes, they have some big names out ... so do we !!! Wood, Cordy, JJ, Treloar, Richards, Durea, JUH. At the time of writing this, we have hit the scoreboard 25 times. Our accuracy is off, but no where near as bad as it has been in recent years.

This is a great hit out and will bring loads of confidence going into round one. No need for so much negativity

Agreed. If there are problems then we have good problems to have.

08-03-2021, 06:35 PM
That 3rd quarter was great but the first half was just a bit of a carbon copy of years prior. Here’s hoping the 3rd qtr is the new norm

08-03-2021, 06:35 PM
Gee I’ll be disappointed if we drop right off and they get back within a goal or two

Cue might be in the rack?

08-03-2021, 06:36 PM
That 3rd quarter was great but the first half was just a bit of a carbon copy of years prior. Here’s hoping the 3rd qtr is the new norm

So we just have to hop on Bont’s back?

08-03-2021, 06:37 PM
So we just have to hop on Bont’s back?

Yep. My glass is now half full.

08-03-2021, 06:38 PM
Bit of a bummer the dees’ mids were out. We’ve dominated clearances but you’d expect that with no Oliver, Viney etc.

08-03-2021, 06:39 PM
We’ll be a much better side if Lipinski can keep this sort of thing going all season.

08-03-2021, 06:42 PM

Someone who can run and kick Vandermeer preferably but they seem to like him forward

08-03-2021, 06:47 PM
Coincidence or not that the goals flowed once Naughton went off? Can he and Bruce function in the same forward line? Or is Naughton better off down back OR Schache comes in for Bruce? Or was it a coincidence?

08-03-2021, 06:48 PM

JJ every day.

Cue might be in the rack?

Was starting to look a little like that.... good result
Overall, some really good signs, some obvious improvement areas

I'm really happy with the effort and there are some terrific signs for the season ahead. Many dismiss games like this but I think they're essential for a big season

How could anyone now be pleased with Bont, Dunks, Macrae, Libba, Daniel and Lipinski?
English looks dangerous when he is forward and the ruck combination is working well
And we have seen multiple goal kickers

There are of course question marks on a few things like goal kicking but these are the games to iron them out. Oh and the injuries aren't ideal but this can happen in training sessions

We are going to have a heck of a time narrowing the list down to 22 players for the game against the Pies which is a great sign

08-03-2021, 06:50 PM
Gee same old - 39 point win.:D

Let's have more in the season proper

08-03-2021, 06:53 PM
We are going to have a heck of a time narrowing the list down to 22 players for the game against the Pies which is a great sign
McNeill has to play.
Bedendo and Khamis are works in progress but Khamis has impressed with his spoiling, plays taller than 190cm.
I suspect Wood, Treloar, Vandermeer and Naughton availability will shape the 22.
Scott showed some decent signs too.

Gardner was solid today, continues his development. Martin an outstanding pick up and Bruce's effort was strong against one of the best tall defensive duos in the competition.
Love English's game too.

08-03-2021, 06:54 PM
Bont saying the game was used as an experiment with the mids and positions. That is what practise matches are for, as well as testing your game plan and tweaking it.

Guys like Buku, Scott, Bedendo, McNeil all in and not best 22.

08-03-2021, 06:59 PM

Only Wood missed through injury and Treloar missed due to being underdone.

Still huge improvement in our forward line and forward connection.

Back line was not tested and neither was our midfield.

I’m ok with being on the negative side as I haven’t seen enough improvement in our deficiencies from the last few years.

08-03-2021, 06:59 PM
McNeill has to play.
Bedendo and Khamis are works in progress but Khamis has impressed with his spoiling, plays taller than 190cm.
I suspect Wood, Treloar, Vandermeer and Naughton availability will shape the 22.

Gardner was solid today, continues his development. Martin an outstanding pick up and Bruce's effort was strong against one of the best tall defensive duos in the competition.
Love English's game too.

I think you are very close to the mark because it would be hard to drop McNeil but is he any better than 50/50 for round 1?
I read that Wood will play in a VFL game so that will shape the back line and it will be a nervous wait to hear about Vandermeer, Naughton and Crozier but we have plenty of depth. I also think the club has a but of faith that Treloar will be available

Competition for spots is a great thing

08-03-2021, 07:00 PM
Bont saying the game was used as an experiment with the mids and positions. That is what practise matches are for, as well as testing your game plan and tweaking it.

I reckon McNeil might just be best 22.

08-03-2021, 07:01 PM

We played by having pretty much only Bont, Libba, Dunks and Macrae in the centre bounces so not sure what the experiment was? Maybe Smith on a wing?

To be fair Buku & Dom only came on due to injuries and weren’t in the original 22.

08-03-2021, 07:03 PM
We played by having pretty much only Bont, Libba, Dunks and Macrae in the centre bounces so not sure what the experiment was? Maybe Smith on a wing?

To be fair Buku & Dom only came on due to injuries and weren’t in the original 22.

I like Hunter across HF, especially if he can tidy up his goal kicking and disposal.

08-03-2021, 07:06 PM
McNeill has to play.

Love English's game too.

Thought Khamis was good overall. Thought he looked slow but that might be watching on TV. His vertical leap looked awesome

08-03-2021, 07:14 PM
McNeil in the R1 22? With all due respect to him, who has shown some good signs, surely he isn't in the final squad picked. Go back and show me what you've learned in the VFL before playing in the heat of a Friday Night blockbuster v Collingwood.

Availability will determine selection to a degree, Scott most likely to play from the fringes IMO.

Gardner as our second KPD is still a big concern. Our back half in general is a concern.

08-03-2021, 07:17 PM
McNeil is no way a lock, imo. Nice finish but he barely touched it.

I still think there is a spot for Cavarra and I would have Richards ahead of Dale if they’re playing him as half back/wing based on the Hawks game and reports he played well today.

08-03-2021, 07:23 PM
I like Hunter across HF, especially if he can tidy up his goal kicking and disposal.

We’ve been saying that for a long time. He is what he is.

08-03-2021, 07:52 PM
Stevo is saying we are confident that that Naughton has a corked arm and will be right, Crozier AC joint might be more of a concern
I haven't heard anything regarding Vandermeer

08-03-2021, 07:53 PM
Has Anthony Scott done enough to debut in round 1?

08-03-2021, 07:54 PM
I was pretty happy with that generally. The first half could have seen us with a couple more, which would have been fitting.

Some of the negatives about our performances are part and parcel of who we are and the personnel we have. We know them, the club knows them and the rest of the AFL knows them and I guess we just have to keep on working to minimise them. A bit like our strengths, they are what they are and we just need to play to them as often as we can.

It was good that we showed up this week and beat a side we should have beaten by a more than respectable margin. Just having read the thread from the start of the game I'm a little bit surprised by the despair from posters in the first half, but at the same time I kind of get it because when the game is in the balance and we're not taking our opportunities it can seem pretty dire - especially when we let three straight through due to a lapse in concentration.

Was good to be at the footy again. I'm not expecting perfect or anything close to it this year, rather, just a side that is honest with its effort each week because if we are we'll be in the hunt most games.

08-03-2021, 08:04 PM
Just a few notes on things I observed today.

First half we were slow on the release hands and just clumsy ball use on turnover created all of their scores. Looked like we were second guessing ourselves and tripping over each others feet when we had the ball on the rebound. We must have blown 3-4 rebound opportunities in open field with small errors.

Ball getting over the back of contests time and time again. Our interceptors are already behind most of the comp so when we go if we don't mark it we need to make sure the ball comes forward or even side ways. It gets over the back far too often for us and was resposnsible for some of our goals.

We smashed them around the ball but when Melbourne did win it they walked through us especially in the first half. They were able to link handballs and seem to get players forward of the ball.

Ball use going inside 50 looked a bit off. Seemed to get better as the game went on but we kicked long too much early I thought. I also think we looked a bit rushed when we took a mark around the 50, nothing wrong with holding the ball and letting something develop with the new rule because you can either punch a low kick or crib 10 metres to create a shot.

Tackling was very good at times I thought. You really have to nail your tackles with the new rules, if you have a chance to turn the ball back your way or create a spill you need to take it.

If the holding the ball rule is adjudicated like that all year we will butcher some sides inside. It looked like they are giving team a bit longer on the ball which allows our guys to wrestle control and feed it out.

Seemed to be a real mix of players going through different roles but we have scope to do even more of that. We had Lipinski inside and out, Hunter in 2-3 roles, some players seem to disappear for long periods. With the 75 interchange are we going to try and run players through different posiitons and out last sides for sheer numbers we can put through positions? Its too early to tell where the opportunities are with the rule but it wouldn't surprise me if we were looking at it.

We felt way too big with 3 talls but it looks like we will persist with it. When Naughton went off Keath went forward so that indicates that we want to stick with it. Will help if we fix or improve connection issues to elmimate getting burnt on the way out, have to mark the ball when we use 3 talls and Wallis though. Wouldn't underestimate the impact Melbournes two pillars had on our performance either, May was awesome last year and Lever was getting better as the year went on.

Wallis- Very quiet and I can hardly remember seeing him as a leading target for the kicker. I hope he doesn't try to be too unselfish in his new role. Tried hard and seem to get a bit cleaner around the ball as it went on.

Bont- Best ball use game for a long time, cant ask for much more than that. Seemed to keep his feet more as well. Was expecting him to have more forward time.

Dunkley- Went under the radar but thought he was very good. Strong inside, great starting positions and body work around the stoppages especially on the defensive side of the stoppage. Bit rusty early but worked into it well and really got hold of them around the ball.

Smith- Tried hard but was a bit messy with the ball. Some of the handballs were really poor just trying to keep the ball in motion.

Hunter- Very interesting game, used forward mostly where I think he is dangerous. He has clever ball use, closes exits quickly, can pressure and creates shots on goal (himself and others) BUT....he needs to either kick the goals himself or hit those short targets or its not worth what we lose in other spots.

Martin- Impressed with his centre bounce work, I went back and watched most of his games from last year and 2019 and he rarely played that well at the bounces against the very best. His boundary work is never in question he finds front spot most times. English has to play reagrdless so in my view it is just a matter of how many tall forwards we carry. Martin should ruck most of the game when fit but we will need to rest him at times during the year.

Crozier- Thought he was good but thought it was a bit of the same old for us in the intercepting roles. As brave as he is too often he flies and we don't mark it or control it. It is something the top 4-5 sides do much better than us over the last few years and something I will watch closely. I hesitate to criticise him because his selflessness and effort is something we need, it is more a comment of comparison to the players in those roles at other clubs.

Macrae- Very good, used it well, got forward of the ball well too.

Bruce- Looked much better once Naughton went off but still struggling with timing of his leads. Seemed to be trying to draw it deep and out the back early but it wasn't syncing with the kickers. Will come under pressure if Naughton is fit and playing forward. I think English is a lock for forward.

Gardiner- Solid game in my view, rarely got beaten one on one and the goals he conceded were mostly out the back. Defended and spoiled with intent on the high ball.

Williams- Biggest highlight for me. I wasn't as happy with him last year as others because I thought his defensive efforts were lacking which we can't have as a medium defender. He won 1 on 1s nearly every time, still used it well and positioned really well to intercept. My concern with him is match ups, ALWAYS struggles when he ends up on the best opposition small/medium eg: Martin, Petracca.

Dale- Looks good on paper today having 2 goals from half back but his errors cost us some scores. Its the duck of the head as he appraoches a crucial ground ball, missed tackles that always stand out with him for me. Understand why we play him in other roles because I am not sure he can play forward with Wallis and 3 talls. He definitely cant play out of the square which is his most effective position. Left his man well a few times which I thought showed some buy in to the role.

Lipinski- Looked very good inside even though he was often playing on a wing. When he got the ball out of stoppages he was able to take away cleanly and use it really well. Can he push someone else out of the midfield and give us more flexibility?

English- Obviously struggled a few times under the high ball when May moved him but when he is moving he is a major issue for opposiiton defenders. Needs to convert his opportunities. Feels like he and Bruce are able to stay out of each others way but Bruce and Naughton are not.

08-03-2021, 08:05 PM
Thanks Dog Town, good summary

08-03-2021, 08:10 PM
Have heard Naughton is fine.

08-03-2021, 08:20 PM
Have heard Naughton is fine.

Saying he has a corked arm.

Reporting that Crozier will miss round 1 with an AC.. no word on the extent of the injury.

08-03-2021, 08:21 PM
Being at the game and sitting closer to ground level than usual I was in awe of Liberatore's hands. Has there ever been a better contested distributor?

Happy with the intensity. Melbourne were very dissapointing but lacked most of their midfield (Brayshaw, Viney, Oliver) so expect that was around a par performance for us.
Dunkley was superb. And that guy number 4 I think he is, goes all right.
Very impressed with Scott, and McNeil just start working on the statue.

08-03-2021, 08:30 PM
Was just great to be back at the footy today. Great hitout by us to get us ready for the real stuff in 2 weeks.

08-03-2021, 08:46 PM
Just having read the thread from the start of the game I'm a little bit surprised by the despair from posters in the first half, but at the same time I kind of get it because when the game is in the balance and we're not taking our opportunities it can seem pretty dire - especially when we let three straight through due to a lapse in concentration.

Was good to be at the footy again. I'm not expecting perfect or anything close to it this year, rather, just a side that is honest with its effort each week because if we are we'll be in the hunt most games.

Fair call - we are who we are. The out the back stuff is going to happen.

I guess the frustration comes out of a - have we addressed any of our key issues? We have with the ruck and we're already seeing benefits from it, why not in other areas?

B - the other question is do we think we can contend, or should be contending? I'd like us to, by this stage I expected us to be contending, but with our current flaws I don't think we can.

It's going to be an interesting year for us.

08-03-2021, 09:18 PM
Forgive my I ignorance but what is a hip pointer? Vandemeer has one reportedly

08-03-2021, 09:21 PM
Forgive my I ignorance but what is a hip pointer? Vandemeer has one reportedly

Corkie type injury to the hip.

08-03-2021, 09:27 PM
Some photos I took of my return to the footy at Marvel Stadium today:

https://i.postimg.cc/k2vh3hZ8/40-C1-BC4-A-F358-4-F48-B023-DE6-E58-C382-B8.jpg (https://postimg.cc/k2vh3hZ8)

https://i.postimg.cc/McsPXfzp/69719234-3120-4-E1-C-9-C2-C-EAA0-FFF206-F4.jpg (https://postimg.cc/McsPXfzp)

https://i.postimg.cc/mztd9ZrN/714225-EC-7-E48-4737-8-B0-F-F47966-F82-A1-E.jpg (https://postimg.cc/mztd9ZrN)

https://i.postimg.cc/gwctYHF7/7277-C7-B1-1-F51-480-D-8-B1-C-DDC457696-F3-B.jpg (https://postimg.cc/gwctYHF7)

https://i.postimg.cc/k2mhHdjq/86-C3-AB58-9-D6-B-4-B23-B695-CAF4725-FC40-A.jpg (https://postimg.cc/k2mhHdjq)

https://i.postimg.cc/vc9NXmt0/C7418026-53-D0-4722-BAE3-2678822-EEFCF.jpg (https://postimg.cc/vc9NXmt0)