Hawthorn vs Adelaide Crows UTAS Stadium 12:30pm Fox

Collingwood vs Essendon MCG 3:20pm Seven, Fox

Port Adelaide vs St Kilda Adelaide Oval 6:40pm Fox

19-04-2021, 04:56 PM

20-04-2021, 12:02 AM
carlton players and coach under the pump now , carlton starting to chew up their own: “ 20 years of rubbish “

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/carlton-stand-for-nothing-says-maclure-20210419-p57kjp.html

I think Teague is on notice and a few other players could be as well

I thought I put it here to see how they respond in this weeks game against Brisbane . Another Bottom 4 finish for them Could be on the cards

That’s what happens when your cheat on salary cap

Sack a decent coach in Ratten

Recycle gws players and recruit a bunch of down hill skiers

But full credit to Liam Jones for carving out a niche there

20-04-2021, 01:55 AM
Weird time to be picking on Carlton, they've been competitive and trending upwards in recent seasons

20-04-2021, 03:47 PM
Weird time to be picking on Carlton, they've been competitive and trending upwards in recent seasons

Have they?

2020: 11th
2019: 16th
2018: 18th
2017: 16th
2016: 14th
2015: 18th

They arent really a super young team. Average age for the Port game was 26.4, ours was 25.7.

I'd be questioning if I were a Carlton supporter

20-04-2021, 05:26 PM
Have they?

2020: 11th
2019: 16th
2018: 18th
2017: 16th
2016: 14th
2015: 18th

They arent really a super young team. Average age for the Port game was 26.4, ours was 25.7.

I'd be questioning if I were a Carlton supporter

That's just horrendous, tragic even.

Not sure about Teague.

23-04-2021, 05:56 PM
Perth and Peel in a 3 day lockdown from midnight tonight. On a long weekend too.

North are there so that game is going to be postponed.

23-04-2021, 06:05 PM
Perth and Peel in a 3 day lockdown from midnight tonight. On a long weekend too.

North are there so that game is going to be postponed.

Game going ahead without a crowd apparently.

23-04-2021, 06:08 PM
If COVID ruins this season...

23-04-2021, 06:08 PM
Game going ahead without a crowd apparently.

Yes that's what I've just heard. Interesting.

Lets hope he didn't infect anyone on the plane to Melbourne.

23-04-2021, 06:20 PM
If COVID ruins this season...

If only there was a vaccine and a programme to administer it from the start of the year - oh well. :mad:

24-04-2021, 04:31 PM
GC doing us a favour against Swans. Sydney look flat as.

Geelong kicked 10.1 to WC 0.1 in the 2nd to blow that away. Cameron with 3 so far.

24-04-2021, 04:33 PM
Geelong up by 66 and GC up by 41 (both halfway through the third) is exactly the reason that I am tanking at footy tips this year.

24-04-2021, 04:39 PM
Geelong up by 66 and GC up by 41 (both halfway through the third) is exactly the reason that I am tanking at footy tips this year.

I picked Suns

24-04-2021, 04:42 PM
Carlton are two wins and three losses which is fair enough, given they've lost to Port, Richmond and Collingwood, all sides I'd have expected them to lose against. You could make an argument they should have beaten Collingwood, but it's lineball.

I really don't get why Teague is supposedly under the pump.

24-04-2021, 04:53 PM
GC doing us a favour against Swans. Sydney look flat as.

Geelong kicked 10.1 to WC 0.1 in the 2nd to blow that away. Cameron with 3 so far.

Something smells about this Eagles performance. Wonder about the want to get home.
They're as talented as you get and will lose by 100 which they've probably never done.
Clearly something's off as the Cats aren't a great side this season.
My colleagues in Perth were floored by the lockdown announcement. Many had important commitments and holidays planned for the long weekend.
This season is already compromised, last year was a pretend season let's hope this doesnt descend into the same.

24-04-2021, 05:03 PM
Something smells about this Eagles performance. Wonder about the want to get home.
They're as talented as you get and will lose by 100 which they've probably never done.
Clearly something's off as the Cats aren't a great side this season.
My colleagues in Perth were floored by the lockdown announcement. Many had important commitments and holidays planned for the long weekend.
This season is already compromised, last year was a pretend season let's hope this doesnt descend into the same.

I think Geelong are a bit better than they've shown though, and for whatever reason they've started the season poorly. WCE having lost McGovern early have been exposed by that and a lack of midfield firepower. KP is a difficult venue for anyone, let alone the Perth teams.

24-04-2021, 05:16 PM
WC were never gonna kick a winning score missing Kennedy and Ryan.
Cameron back for Geel makes them dangerous. Geel are at their best when their mids are also contributing on the scoreboard. Duncan has 4 right now.
Hawkins and Cameron will give a lot of sides headaches. I still rate them. They’re always hard to beat down there.

24-04-2021, 05:20 PM
Suns making our third quarter fade last week loot a little better.

24-04-2021, 05:29 PM
I think Geelong are a bit better than they've shown though, and for whatever reason they've started the season poorly. WCE having lost McGovern early have been exposed by that and a lack of midfield firepower. KP is a difficult venue for anyone, let alone the Perth teams.

Hmm yeah not sure about that. Their midfield is bang average. They play at that 30 metre widthless ground and only beat North by a bit.
Eagles were the anomaly for mine.
Get your point though :cool:

24-04-2021, 05:42 PM
Hmm yeah not sure about that. Their midfield is bang average. They play at that 30 metre widthless ground and only beat North by a bit.
Eagles were the anomaly for mine.
Get your point though :cool:

Easily beaten by Demons, barely scraped over Hawks. Their game plan is built for that bowling alley of a home ground. I'd very ultra confident facing them anywhere else, will be an arm wrestle when we play them down there.

24-04-2021, 05:57 PM
Lachie Neale looks to have sustained a pretty serious ankle injury.
Edit : No he's running it out.

24-04-2021, 06:01 PM
Eagles are a bit weird though. They got blitzed by the saints in all of 1 quarter. I think they may have some resilience problems.

24-04-2021, 06:08 PM
Eagles are a bit weird though. They got blitzed by the saints in all of 1 quarter. I think they may have some resilience problems.

Their fourth biggest loss ever though something smells.

Head to head next week in Perth they win by 10 goals.

Agree re the Saints game though they dominated for 3 /4s and went to sleep.

24-04-2021, 06:37 PM
Eagles are a bit weird though.
Booooooooooooooooooo!

24-04-2021, 06:50 PM
Carlton are two wins and three losses which is fair enough, given they've lost to Port, Richmond and Collingwood, all sides I'd have expected them to lose against. You could make an argument they should have beaten Collingwood, but it's lineball.

I really don't get why Teague is supposedly under the pump.

I get the feeling this Brisbane game may answer your question.

24-04-2021, 07:22 PM
I get the feeling this Brisbane game may answer your question.

Brissy are a bit banged up today but Carlton have turned it around.

I guess if I look at their list they've got average players on it and a number of new players that are trying to gel. Thus, I don't see how inconsistency should be pinned on the coach when they've beaten the teams they should and lost to the teams they should have as well.

24-04-2021, 07:54 PM
Brissy are a bit banged up today but Carlton have turned it around.

I guess if I look at their list they've got average players on it and a number of new players that are trying to gel. Thus, I don't see how inconsistency should be pinned on the coach when they've beaten the teams they should and lost to the teams they should have as well.

The very simple answer is because that's footy. They aren't a young side and have been bang average for the last 6 or 7 years. Their list management has not been very good but that always falls on the coach when they've made some big moves.

2-4 and their next 3 games are Essendon, Bulldogs and Melbourne.

24-04-2021, 07:55 PM
Did we dodge massive bullets with Martin and Wingard? Neither have impressed me (I get Martin is injured).

Think the Blues are paying 2 mill for Martin, Saad and Williams.

We are in a great position list wise.

24-04-2021, 08:55 PM
I think the Demons are actually doing quite well, their defence is elite and hold their shape so well. Stay so much deeper than our system, interesting contrast.

24-04-2021, 09:16 PM
I think the Demons are actually doing quite well, their defence is elite and hold their shape so well. Stay so much deeper than our system, interesting contrast.

Strong team, I think many underrated them.
Tough conditions tonight so it might give us a slight advantage against the Tigers because of the extra days break.

24-04-2021, 09:22 PM
Strong team, I think many underrated them.
Tough conditions tonight so it might give us a slight advantage against the Tigers because of the extra days break.

All over the Tigers at the moment, who just can't break through the Demons defensive structure.

24-04-2021, 09:25 PM
Has Hardwick never watched a dogs game the last 3 years? One ruck doesn’t work.

24-04-2021, 09:26 PM
The intensity and pressure Melbourne are applying are what our standard needs to be. We were woeful against the tigers last year.

24-04-2021, 09:28 PM
Tigers should win easily.

24-04-2021, 09:28 PM
Demons are looking the real deal.

24-04-2021, 09:31 PM
Demons are looking the real deal.

Give it time.

24-04-2021, 09:45 PM
Martin and Cotchin very quiet. I expect Richmond to come out better in the 2nd half. Melb did well to curb the tide. I thought they were going to be blown away. They’ve picked up their handball game and look quicker than Tigers. The difference was McDonald nailing those 2 set shots. Gotta put scoreboard pressure on Richmond when you get the chance.

Next week, we will have our patches of dominance. We HAVE to kick goals during those moments.

24-04-2021, 09:45 PM
The intensity and pressure Melbourne are applying are what our standard needs to be. We were woeful against the tigers last year.

We are currently the best defensive team in the AFL conceding the least amount of goals

24-04-2021, 10:02 PM
Melbourne will win this easily from here.

24-04-2021, 10:04 PM
Melbourne haven't lost a 4th quarter for the year and have the most players with 90%+ TOG in the league. They're not slowing down.

24-04-2021, 10:08 PM
Melbourne haven't lost a 4th quarter for the year and have the most players with 90%+ TOG in the league. They're not slowing down.

I'm really liking how the season is shaping up.

24-04-2021, 10:13 PM
Hunt is playing like JJ used to before he got his soul tagged out of him about 4 years ago.

24-04-2021, 10:29 PM
Suddenly unsure how ideal for us a stung premiers outfit will be next Friday ...

Let alone wrapping my head around the Dees deserving respect.

Langdon has been a great pick up for them. The run and carry that he and Hunt bring really set up Melbourne well. May and Lever tag teaming well. Jackson also really improving for them.

However, the Tigers have a lot of their better players down.

Maybe 54 revisited coming up.

Suddenly unsure how ideal for us a stung premiers outfit will be next Friday ...

Let alone wrapping my head around the Dees deserving respect.

How often have Richmond lost 2 in a row the last 3-4 years?

24-04-2021, 10:30 PM

Couple of weeks ago. Swans then Port. This is a good year to be up.

24-04-2021, 10:31 PM

The last time was about 3 weeks ago.

They did it just 2 weeks ago

Demons will run away with this. Watch them win by 40+

24-04-2021, 10:32 PM
Martin out with concussion

24-04-2021, 10:32 PM
Martin out with concussion

Out next week too then. Shame.

24-04-2021, 10:33 PM
They did it just 2 weeks ago

Yeah I was just wondering how often it’s happened.

24-04-2021, 10:35 PM
Demons will run away with this. Watch them win by 40+

Should I change my bet?

Yeah I was just wondering how often it’s happened.

Happened last year too.

Yeah hate to admit it but the Dees are the real deal. Still have most of their forward line to come in too.

24-04-2021, 10:38 PM
Yeah hate to admit it but the Dees are the real deal. Still have most of their forward line to come in too.

They're better off keeping it how it is.

24-04-2021, 10:39 PM
Is Martin definitely out of next week then?

24-04-2021, 10:41 PM

Yeah I can't wait for Ben Brown to come in and 'improve' things.

24-04-2021, 10:43 PM

He is indeed. A tragedy.

24-04-2021, 10:43 PM
Yes - concussion

24-04-2021, 10:44 PM
Demons have played close to a perfect game after quarter time.

24-04-2021, 10:47 PM
Demons have played close to a perfect game after quarter time.

A very team orientated performance. Not many weak links.

24-04-2021, 10:48 PM

I don’t think there’s a bigger Ben Brown truther in the world than me but Weideman will be a good in.

24-04-2021, 10:49 PM
Agree Melbourne are the real deal

24-04-2021, 10:53 PM
Agree Melbourne are the real deal

A very good football team indeed.

We did dispatch them very easily in our preseason encounter however they have obviously improved since then.

24-04-2021, 11:13 PM
I'm worried about the Demons because I'm thinking the same things about them that I did about Richmond in 2017, i.e. no way a side with Melksham/Jordon/Spago/Langdon etc can win a flag.

Gawn is a huge problem for us, made even more so that Luke Jackson has kicked on.

24-04-2021, 11:18 PM
I'm worried about the Demons because I'm thinking the same things about them that I did about Richmond in 2017, i.e. no way a side with Melksham/Jordon/Spago/Langdon etc can win a flag.

Gawn is a huge problem for us, made even more so that Luke Jackson has kicked on.

Langdon particularly doesn't belong there. He is probably the number 1 winger over the first 6 rounds.

24-04-2021, 11:21 PM
Langdon particularly doesn't belong there. He is probably the number 1 winger over the first 6 rounds.

Yeah but he's come from the clouds. Was an absolute butcher at Freo.

24-04-2021, 11:22 PM
Are the Tigers done? Look tired. I'm really liking this.

24-04-2021, 11:30 PM
Are the Tigers done? Look tired. I'm really liking this.

The evidence is pretty strong.

Cotchin, Edwards, Houli, Reiwoldt, Astbury and Lambert all born 91 or earlier.

No drive from the middle and they looked decidedly ordinary.

24-04-2021, 11:31 PM
The evidence is pretty strong.

Cotchin, Edwards, Houli, Reiwoldt, Astbury and Lambert all born 91 or earlier.

No drive from the middle and they looked decidedly ordinary.

They dominated from the 15m mark of the 1st quarter and never relinquished control. Extremely impressive performance, they took Richmond's pressure and returned it threefold.

24-04-2021, 11:31 PM
Melbourne play North next week, whilst we play Richmond.
Really hope our guys make a statement next week.

24-04-2021, 11:35 PM
Melbourne play North next week, whilst we play Richmond.
Really hope our guys make a statement next week.

Interesting contrast between us and Melbourne.

I would say that Melbourne are much, much closer to their best form than we are - in fact, I doubt they can go much better than they did tonight. No passengers even amongst the lesser lights and they have zero injuries.

We have quite a few important players down on form (Bazlenka, JJ, Daniel to name a few) or just finding their feet (McNeil, Scott). We also have key injuries to Dunks, English and Williams.

If Melbourne somehow managed to avoid critical injuries, they should be the flag favourite.

24-04-2021, 11:49 PM
Interesting contrast between us and Melbourne.

I would say that Melbourne are much, much closer to their best form than we are - in fact, I doubt they can go much better than they did tonight. No passengers even amongst the lesser lights and they have zero injuries.

We have quite a few important players down on form (Bazlenka, JJ, Daniel to name a few) or just finding their feet (McNeil, Scott). We also have key injuries to Dunks, English and Williams.

If Melbourne somehow managed to avoid critical injuries, they should be the flag favourite.

Port? And remember it's only early, the pies are perennial May champions.

25-04-2021, 12:06 AM
Melbourne went up in my estimations of them by a lot tonight.
Even without Dusty next week, and maybe Lambert, I expect them to respond.
We're going to have to adjust with some key outs too. Will be a real indication of both where we are, as well as how deep we bat list wise.

25-04-2021, 12:53 AM
It's between us and Port I reckon. Great to see the Tigers lose their want.

25-04-2021, 01:26 AM
It's between us and Port I reckon. Great to see the Tigers lose their want.

So you don't rate Melbourne?
I was waiting for them to be tested, as I had some doubts, but tonight's performance stamps them as a genuine threat.
I still have queries on their depth, when injuries hit. Especially in the midfield.
I'm disappointed that Dusty will miss next week, as I really want to see how our depth matches up.

25-04-2021, 02:39 AM
The very simple answer is because that's footy. They aren't a young side and have been bang average for the last 6 or 7 years. Their list management has not been very good but that always falls on the coach when they've made some big moves.

2-4 and their next 3 games are Essendon, Bulldogs and Melbourne.

A season and a half during a list rebuild/ transition period and because the media says they should be better to appease the biggest bunch of dickhead supporters in the league the coach is under pressure.

That's not footy, that's crap. Where because the list manager gets off Scott Free and the coach cops it all, in lieu of the media not understanding how footy works. It's bonkers.

25-04-2021, 07:08 AM
I was waiting for them to be tested, as I had some doubts, but tonight's performance stamps them as a genuine threat.
I still have queries on their depth, when injuries hit. Especially in the midfield.
I'm disappointed that Dusty will miss next week, as I really want to see how our depth matches up.

Make no mistake, the Demons wiped Richmond off the park last night.

How we handle Melbourne’s deep defensive structure will be telling. They set up a similar way to Geelong, always keeping shape and having one back very deep to clean up the messy forward 50 entry and then use the likes of Salem, Hunt and Langdon to ping it back. We’ve never handled Geelong’s structure well.

They also have a dominant ruck combo with Gawn/Jackson, and the one area we had a decent advantage over them (midfield) has now been reduced with the Dunkley injury.

At least we get 2 cracks at Melbourne during the H&A, inc at MCG. We will know where we sit prior to finals.

25-04-2021, 10:22 AM
Make no mistake, their backline containing May, Lever, Salem and Hunt are top notch right now. Playing their parts to a tee and setting the rest of the field up beautifully. Oliver, viney and Petracca form a great midfield, with Gawn and Jackson (improving a lot) giving them first use. If they keep injury free, and can keep all these mentioned players playing at their peak, then they are a huge threat for all.

And regarding Richmond, I am certainly not writing them off. They will come out firing next week, and if we play like we did in the 3rd quarter against GC, and the first half against GWS, we will be in for a fight. It certainly won’t be a walk in the park.

25-04-2021, 10:32 AM

Ha I’m just being facetious with them. Not one of my favourite mobs.

Hard not to rate them after last night isn’t it, but they always find a away to self destruct. Although with their draw they really should finish top 4 now.

Very early in the season but it’s great news the Tigers look to be stumbling a bit. Beware the wounded champs though.

25-04-2021, 10:38 AM
Ha I’m just being facetious with them. Not one of my favourite mobs.

Hard not to rate them after last night isn’t it, but they always find a away to self destruct. Although with their draw they really should finish top 4 now.

Very early in the season but it’s great news the Tigers look to be stumbling a bit. Beware the wounded champs though.

It’s definitely hard to get your head around Melbourne being a genuine contender but here we are. I slept on Richmond in 2017 until about 5 mins into the 3rd quarter of the Grand Final :D. I won’t be doing that with the Demons. Fingers crossed we stay fit (or they cop a few to even the ledger). It’s a long season though and a lot of water to go under the bridge yet. Getting a top 4 spot should be our absolute minimum target and anything is possible from there.

25-04-2021, 10:49 AM
Make no mistake, their backline containing May, Lever, Salem and Hunt are top notch right now. Playing their parts to a tee and setting the rest of the field up beautifully. Oliver, viney and Petracca form a great midfield, with Gawn and Jackson (improving a lot) giving them first use. If they keep injury free, and can keep all these mentioned players playing at their peak, then they are a huge threat for all.

And regarding Richmond, I am certainly not writing them off. They will come out firing next week, and if we play like we did in the 3rd quarter against GC, and the first half against GWS, we will be in for a fight. It certainly won’t be a walk in the park.

I think their backline is their main strength. In the practise match we played against them, they took mark after mark in the backline which means our forward entry strategy must be changed a bit. We are relying too much on Naughton, Bruce and English to take the big marks.

As for Richmond, they will now be tested having lost a couple of players to injury. They have been very lucky in the past 4 years with little injuries to main players. Lets see how they cope with no Dusty.

25-04-2021, 11:09 AM
I think their backline is their main strength. In the practise match we played against them, they took mark after mark in the backline which means our forward entry strategy must be changed a bit. We are relying too much on Naughton, Bruce and English to take the big marks.

As for Richmond, they will now be tested having lost a couple of players to injury. They have been very lucky in the past 4 years with little injuries to main players. Lets see how they cope with no Dusty.

I think that game would have given us quite a lot of food for thought. May in particular was dominant and mopped up entry after entry.

The only question mark I have on Melbourne is their depth, particularly in the midfield and down back. Our defensive depth has already been tested and the loss of Dunkley and English will ask some extra questions of our middle and forward groups. They hit their only real test so far with a healthy squad, but time will tell.

The reality is they have a very soft looking draw and will likely win the next four. It would be a very Demon thing to somehow miss the top 4, but surely they are a lock.

25-04-2021, 11:19 AM
I think that game would have given us quite a lot of food for thought. May in particular was dominant and mopped up entry after entry.

The only question mark I have on Melbourne is their depth, particularly in the midfield and down back. Our defensive depth has already been tested and the loss of Dunkley and English will ask some extra questions of our middle and forward groups. They hit their only real test so far with a healthy squad, but time will tell.

The reality is they have a very soft looking draw and will likely win the next four. It would be a very Demon thing to somehow miss the top 4, but surely they are a lock.

If they avoid injury, top 4 is a lock and should sit comfortably in the top 2. They are huge contenders. I’m more worried about them than any other side right now.

25-04-2021, 11:20 AM

Good to have different teams in the top 4.

We must also remember, Tigers have lost 3 games, so they are down at the moment.

25-04-2021, 11:25 AM

I agree. Their backline is their definite strength. The way May and Lever Marshall that defence is top notch, allowing freedom to Salem and Hunt.

As much as I like to see our tall fwds plucking marks, we need to be able to deliver the ball in other ways to be a massive contender. What I like about Treloar, is that he’s one of our mids that banks on himself to run into the 50 and shoot for goal. Bonti does it on occasion. I’d like to see another mid/half fwd flanker that would take that on. JJ is one that could do this.

25-04-2021, 11:30 AM
It’s funny, a demon mate of mine was at the game last night. Before the game I messaged him saying “let’s see what you pretenders dish up tonight”. Obviously in the first 5-10 mins I had a smile on my face.

After the game I get a message back from him that simply said “now over to you guys. Let’s see who the pretenders are”. He’s referring to our meeting with the Tigers next week. And he’s right. Melbourne passed that test with more than flying colours. Now let’s see if we are genuine contenders or the dreaded pretender word. It’s in our hands. Make a statement or don’t.

25-04-2021, 11:51 AM
If they avoid injury, top 4 is a lock and should sit comfortably in the top 2. They are huge contenders. I’m more worried about them than any other side right now.

Based on last nights effort there is a new benchmark of the competition.
We can still beat them but they do look the real deal.

25-04-2021, 12:06 PM
A season and a half during a list rebuild/ transition period and because the media says they should be better to appease the biggest bunch of dickhead supporters in the league the coach is under pressure.

That's not footy, that's crap. Where because the list manager gets off Scott Free and the coach cops it all, in lieu of the media not understanding how footy works. It's bonkers.

I actually agree with everything you say about how things should be but that isn't the reality we live in.

The media and Carlton fans were very excited for the season, Teagues will most likely pay for that poor read of their list

25-04-2021, 12:07 PM
It’s funny, a demon mate of mine was at the game last night. Before the game I messaged him saying “let’s see what you pretenders dish up tonight”. Obviously in the first 5-10 mins I had a smile on my face.

After the game I get a message back from him that simply said “now over to you guys. Let’s see who the pretenders are”. He’s referring to our meeting with the Tigers next week. And he’s right. Melbourne passed that test with more than flying colours. Now let’s see if we are genuine contenders or the dreaded pretender word. It’s in our hands. Make a statement or don’t.

Pretenders and contenders aren't made in April, we could get easily lose to the tigers and win the premiership

25-04-2021, 12:07 PM
Based on last nights effort there is a new benchmark of the competition.
We can still beat them but they do look the real deal.

I think they’re pretty much at full capacity. I know Brown and Weideman are waiting in the wings but I don’t think they’ll improve the forward structure too much anyway. How much better can their top tier get?

We have quite a few down on form - Daniel and Bazlenka especially. If we’re at our absolute best and Demons are at their best, I’d still back us in but it’s tight.

25-04-2021, 12:19 PM
I liked seeing a side actually clamp down on Martin, with Hibberd blanketing him before Dusty got injured. From our defensive group, who would be best suited for that role if required (obviously not this week but potentially in a final)?

25-04-2021, 12:28 PM
Pretenders and contenders aren't made in April, we could get easily lose to the tigers and win the premiership

Agree, but if we happen to lose, it’s HOW we lose. Melb beat Richmond convincingly. If Richmond come out and beat us convincingly, then that shows where we are at, right now..

25-04-2021, 02:14 PM
Had a chat to a Melbourne friend this morning, he said as soon as the rain came he knew they'd win as they handle it well.
Same as the Geelong game.
Big bodies in the midfield.

25-04-2021, 02:54 PM
Make no mistake, the Demons wiped Richmond off the park last night.

How we handle Melbourne’s deep defensive structure will be telling. They set up a similar way to Geelong, always keeping shape and having one back very deep to clean up the messy forward 50 entry and then use the likes of Salem, Hunt and Langdon to ping it back. We’ve never handled Geelong’s structure well.

They also have a dominant ruck combo with Gawn/Jackson, and the one area we had a decent advantage over them (midfield) has now been reduced with the Dunkley injury.

At least we get 2 cracks at Melbourne during the H&A, inc at MCG. We will know where we sit prior to finals.

Richmond are cooked. If we can't win this with Prestia and Martin out we are kidding ourselves re. making a GF this year.

Melbourne are so untrustworthy. Their fans are in shock.

25-04-2021, 03:14 PM
Richmond are cooked. If we can't win this with Prestia and Martin out we are kidding ourselves re. making a GF this year.

It's April.

25-04-2021, 03:23 PM
I'm not too worried if we do drop a game or two coming up, we have banked enough to allow ourselves that luxury, and honestly with the finals system as long as we finish top four I'm not sure it matters too much how many games we won.

Its much more important to me that we show the signs that we are that good side, its important that we show we can beat Richmond, its important that we don't just turn off in games when it matters, its important we have a variety of players show they can lift the side. I'm much more interested in what happens against Richmond and the following weeks than I am in winning all those games no matter the cost.

25-04-2021, 03:27 PM
Hows Adelaides form? A big surprise in the season so far.

25-04-2021, 03:29 PM
I wanna see how we show up against a wounded Premier on their home deck on a Friday night. I wanna see effort, tough, hard, team football. I wanna see a take no prisoner attitude, and ofcourse I wanna see a win.

What I don’t wanna see is knock Richmond over, only to come out mentally half assed against Carlton the following week and lose.

I’m not expecting to win every game, but with the start we’ve had, we shouldn’t be losing to teams like Carlton.

25-04-2021, 03:31 PM
Hows Adelaides form? A big surprise in the season so far.

Seem to be playing a very team focused game plan. Walker in great form seems to be making all others stand tall. They’ve got a few kids standing up and ofcourse Thilthorpe with 5 goals at this stage looks to be a good mover/mark.

25-04-2021, 03:34 PM
Thilthorpe has barely touched it at SANFL level. Incredible step up.

25-04-2021, 03:37 PM
Thilthorpe has barely touched it at SANFL level. Incredible step up.

I guess it just goes to show what an opportunity can do. Maybe the MC looked at Frost and Hartigan and thought this might be a good game to have a look at him. ?

25-04-2021, 03:41 PM
I guess it just goes to show what an opportunity can do. Maybe the MC looked at Frost and Hartigan and thought this might be a good game to have a look at him. ?

I reckon every coach would look at the Hawks defence and get pretty excited.

25-04-2021, 03:50 PM
Adelaide pretty accurate today 16.2

25-04-2021, 04:17 PM
Do these football commentators actually check to see what they are saying? Hawthorn young? Give me a break - check Adelaide

Average Attributes

Hawthorn
Attribute
Adelaide

186.7cm
Height
187.6cm

85.0kg
Weight
84.9kg

25yr 9mth

Games

Total Players By Games

Hawthorn
Games
Adelaide

Less than 50

50 to 99

100 to 149

150 or more

25-04-2021, 04:20 PM
Seem to be playing a very team focused game plan. Walker in great form seems to be making all others stand tall. They’ve got a few kids standing up and ofcourse Thilthorpe with 5 goals at this stage looks to be a good mover/mark.

Great win by Hawthorn in the end.

25-04-2021, 04:43 PM
Did the AFEL Jumper Clash department have the weekend off?

25-04-2021, 06:02 PM
The Moore experiment didn't last. He is a better fullback than up forward.

25-04-2021, 07:29 PM
The Moore experiment didn't last. He is a better fullback than up forward.

If they want to turn him into a FF, then he can come and play for us at FB.

25-04-2021, 08:39 PM
Great win by Hawthorn in the end.

Unless you tipped Adelaide grrr

25-04-2021, 08:49 PM
Port putting the hurt on St Kilda. Their forward line is dynamite.

25-04-2021, 09:00 PM
Port putting the hurt on St Kilda. Their forward line is dynamite.

Port are genuine contenders. Saints need to rally

25-04-2021, 09:01 PM

Definitely.

25-04-2021, 10:51 PM
After 6 rounds the ladder looks very different to last year. Who would have thought Saints with just 2 wins, Collingwood second bottom, us and Melbourne undefeated.

26-04-2021, 12:12 AM

Maybe. They are suspect against good teams away I reckon.

26-04-2021, 01:51 AM
Maybe. They are suspect against good teams away I reckon.

Agreed but they're close.

26-04-2021, 02:03 AM
Agreed but they're close.

You definitely would not want to be playing a final against them in Adelaide.
We have simply got to keep our nose to the grindstone, capitalise on our 6-0 start, and push for a top 2 finish. No excuses from here. We need to not drop games against bogey teams that are currently below us like Carlton, and St Kilda, and a danger away game against Fremantle, as well as at least balance the ledger in our 2 games against Melbourne.

26-04-2021, 08:58 AM
Adelaide pretty accurate today 16.2

Maybe accurate but clearly are not organised with their medical sub!

Tom Lynch was clearly not fit or warmed up when he was called upon!

He still needed to get his ankles strapped and warmed up etc...

Just crazy.

https://www.afl.com.au/news/602860/-take-the-time-you-need-crows-explain-lynch-s-slow-medical-sub

26-04-2021, 05:42 PM

Just crazy.

https://www.afl.com.au/news/602860/-take-the-time-you-need-crows-explain-lynch-s-slow-medical-sub

I was watching it at the time. It was ludicrous. Highly unprofessional, and he’s not even 100% fit so no idea why he was even named the sub.

26-04-2021, 05:46 PM
Adelaide had like 16.1 and a 30 or so point lead at the time too. They were rolling and this has probably gone some way to costing them a win, of which you’d assume there won’t be too many this year.

26-04-2021, 06:54 PM

Just crazy.

SEN were all over this in the morning. A huge missed opportunity that might have cost them a win.
You have to wonder the decision making that went into this.
If North did this they'd be accused of tanking.

26-04-2021, 07:54 PM
I was watching it at the time. It was ludicrous. Highly unprofessional, and he’s not even 100% fit so no idea why he was even named the sub.

Nicks has doubled down and said they planned it that way...

26-04-2021, 10:23 PM
It's April.

Well its nearly bloody May!

27-04-2021, 11:04 AM
Highly unprofessional, and he’s not even 100% fit so no idea why he was even named the sub.

I think he was named 'sub' as they wanted the other emergencies to play in the SANFL and get some minutes...Lynch was nominally being rested BUT could play if needed.

I guess they were just playing the long game and it looks terrible now they have coughed up a 32-point lead...but has also been a great alibi. Teams win games playing one or two short all the time but the Adelaide boys have received a 100% free pass at this stage because of a 'player management error'. Sounds like crap to me. You can't hold off Hawthorn with a 5-goal lead? PLEASE!

27-04-2021, 11:13 AM
No one has mentioned that the Hamill injury is the weirdest ankle sprain you will ever see. He tweaked it while in midair.

27-04-2021, 12:27 PM
Well its nearly bloody May!

I think I would have just said "It's May".

COVID is yet to have it's say on this season either...

27-04-2021, 01:17 PM
I guess they were just playing the long game and it looks terrible now they have coughed up a 32-point lead...but has also been a great alibi. Teams win games playing one or two short all the time but the Adelaide boys have received a 100% free pass at this stage because of a 'player management error'. Sounds like crap to me. You can't hold off Hawthorn with a 5-goal lead? PLEASE!

EXACTLY what i was thinking. Even with an interchange down you shouldnt give up a 5 goal lead to the Hawks.

27-04-2021, 03:38 PM
I think I would have just said "It's May".

COVID is yet to have it's say on this season either...

Can't wait for that.