Best on ground: The Bont

30-03-2021, 09:40 PM
Dogs by 17 points
First goal - Wallis
Bog - Bont

31-03-2021, 09:23 AM
We belted North last year and now we’re the coolest and best team in it. Dogs by 400.

31-03-2021, 10:50 AM
Dogs by 38.

BOG: Treloar.....think after two hit outs, he is ready to peak.

First Goal: English.

English plays his 50th game this weekend.

Gardner and Vandemeer only their 15th. Keath ticked over 50 last weekend , obviously Scott and McNeil only 2 each, and both Lipinski and Bailey Smith haven't reached 50. Just a reminder we are still a young side in terms of games played (Keath and Scott late starters).

Fun fact: Only the players that have come from other clubs, have played in a draw. Not even our older players (Libba, Wally, JJ) have played in a draw, and Luke Beveridge has never coached in a draw.

31-03-2021, 11:12 AM
Secured my away tickets for Friday, hopefully a decent crowd comes to support the game.

31-03-2021, 11:16 AM
Secured my away tickets for Friday, hopefully a decent crowd comes to support the game.

Ditto.

Bring on Friday!

31-03-2021, 01:27 PM
Fun fact: Only the players that have come from other clubs, have played in a draw. Not even our older players (Libba, Wally, JJ) have played in a draw, and Luke Beveridge has never coached in a draw.

It sure has been a long time since we have played in a draw, the last being the famous Brian Lake "cramp"/Will Minson goal game v Richmond in 2008.

We still have a few years to go to surpass the longest period between draws - Round 1 1957 to round 8 1973.

31-03-2021, 02:34 PM
It sure has been a long time since we have played in a draw, the last being the famous Brian Lake "cramp"/Will Minson goal game v Richmond in 2008.

We still have a few years to go to surpass the longest period between draws - Round 1 1957 to round 8 1973.

Those few post1973 draws are enough to last me a lifetime.
I would not mind drawing a grand final as long as we win the replay.
Dogs by 73 pts.
BOG Macrae
FG LVDM

31-03-2021, 02:39 PM
Those few post1973 draws are enough to last me a lifetime.
I would not mind drawing a grand final as long as we win the replay.

I assume you were only 2 or 3 years old at round 1 1957, so you wouldn't have really seen a draw until you were 18 or 19 in 1973?

31-03-2021, 03:26 PM
Got on right at 10 this morning and they piffed me to row X.

I’m going at least

31-03-2021, 03:34 PM

I’m going at least

Yeah, I'm reading that others got on later and managed to secure much better seats. The ticketing companies are barely above MLM pyramid schemes in terms of corporate ethics.

31-03-2021, 03:40 PM

I’m going at least

I had a choice of using my AFL membership with a ticket for level 1 but on my own, or going with others to sit on level 3. Decided to go on my own and have level one wing and no extra cost.

I don't understand why they don't have a system like the theatres to pick your seats.

31-03-2021, 03:59 PM

I’m going at least

Yeah, I'm reading that others got on later and managed to secure much better seats. The ticketing companies are barely above MLM pyramid schemes in terms of corporate ethics.

I waited until 1pm so I could purchase a 6-14 junior ticket along with our members seats and got row L on the wing/half forward, whereas at 10am I was getting further back and in the forward pocket.

I think some people are using their tickets as a guide only, the last 2 weeks there have been people in our seats when we arrived.

31-03-2021, 04:15 PM
I waited until 1pm so I could purchase a 6-14 junior ticket along with our members seats and got row L on the wing/half forward, whereas at 10am I was getting further back and in the forward pocket.

I think some people are using their tickets as a guide only, the last 2 weeks there have been people in our seats when we arrived.

Yeah, I should have waited. I mean, why would you reward people for getting on early!

31-03-2021, 11:05 PM

I’m going at least

The ticketing is a disgrace, you should not be 12 rows further back than people who log on hours later.

The club should do something about this, they have to get on to the AFL and lodge an official complaint. Time to expend some energy on behalf of the members. They have the time and contacts. Have they got the guts?

01-04-2021, 09:46 AM

I’m going at least

Honestly - Ticketmaster is an absolute joke. I bought 10.01 Tuesday - aisle 8. Mate bought 5pm yesterday Aisle 11.

Best available my ass!

01-04-2021, 09:35 PM
We belted North last year and now we’re the coolest and best team in it. Dogs by 400.

Would be the highest margin in VFL/AFL history let’s go for it Dogs :D

02-04-2021, 10:27 AM
Pretty excited for today. How good is it having footy back and being able to get along to the games, plus playing Good Friday?

Hope we can make North v Dogs on Good Friday an annual event. Stuff St. Kilda and bloody Essendon

02-04-2021, 10:44 AM
Pretty excited for today. How good is it having footy back and being able to get along to the games, plus playing Good Friday?

Hope we can make North v Dogs on Good Friday an annual event. Stuff St. Kilda and bloody Essendon

Hopefully the fans will show up.

02-04-2021, 11:16 AM
No wild margin prediction from me, as always, just happy with a 'Dogs win.

First goal: Bulldogs

BOG: 22 Nominations, all Bulldogs

Winner: Bulldogs

Margin: irrelevant.

02-04-2021, 11:22 AM
Good luck to all of those going today. Can’t believe after not going to the footy for 18 months I’m looking at possibly not getting there until round 7 at best (depending on when that game is). Am a small chance of getting to Ballarat next week...

Anyway- Dogs by 33
BOG- Macrae
First Goal - English

02-04-2021, 11:30 AM
No wild margin prediction from me, as always, just happy with a 'Dogs win.

First goal: Bulldogs

BOG: 22 Nominations, all Bulldogs

Winner: Bulldogs

Margin: irrelevant.

The closer the game gets, the more I feel, I just want a win and forget the margin. (nerves are starting to kick in)

02-04-2021, 11:36 AM
We win by 19 in an underwhelming performance.
Mark Latham kicks the first goal.
Bailey Smith our best.

02-04-2021, 11:55 AM
Yeah it was strange last week that I got on at 10:01 and got on the wing row V level 3. Well come to think of it, not strange at all they want you upgrade your so call free ticket to better seats so makes sense all about the $$$.

02-04-2021, 11:58 AM
We win by 19 in an underwhelming performance.
Mark Latham kicks the first goal.
Bailey Smith our best.

Can we not call him Mark Latham? It makes it very hard to want anything good to happen to him.

02-04-2021, 12:26 PM
Yeah it was strange last week that I got on at 10:01 and got on the wing row V level 3. Well come to think of it, not strange at all they want you upgrade your so call free ticket to better seats so makes sense all about the $$$.
Ours are worse,How does one upgrade their ticket

02-04-2021, 12:57 PM
Can we not call him Mark Latham? It makes it very hard to want anything good to happen to him.

Rob Van Damdermeer

02-04-2021, 01:04 PM

You're not my Dad.

02-04-2021, 02:13 PM
Ours are worse,How does one upgrade their ticket

You would have to do it when you booked your ticket

02-04-2021, 02:27 PM
Dogs by 100
First goal Naughty
BOG The Bont

02-04-2021, 02:32 PM
You're not my Dad.

Fine. Petition we start referring to Ash Hansen as Pauline.

02-04-2021, 02:37 PM

I dont like it

02-04-2021, 02:52 PM
Dogs by 100
First goal Naughty
BOG The Bont

Now THAT would make a great Good Friday Chef

02-04-2021, 03:07 PM
Dogs by 62
BOG Macrae with 50 possessions
1st goal Astro

02-04-2021, 03:56 PM

Seconded.

02-04-2021, 04:41 PM
As expected, no late changes to either team. Lipinski our sub, Hayden theirs.

02-04-2021, 05:12 PM
Dogs by 27 points
BOG: Macrae
1st goal: English

02-04-2021, 05:12 PM
I have a feeling that North have set themselves for this one. Hope we are on from the first bounce as I’m getting very nervous that this one could slip.

02-04-2021, 05:14 PM
JJ warming up with the forwards. It's 35 degrees in here.

Scott is too.

02-04-2021, 05:14 PM
JJ and Scott are warming up with the forward group

02-04-2021, 05:15 PM
JJ warming up with the forwards. It's 35 degrees in here.

So is Scott

02-04-2021, 05:17 PM
Dogs by 42 points
BOG: Lachie Hunter
1st Goal: McNeil

Given I've picked Lachie to get BOG I am thinking I'll set up a Lachie Hunter bingo board with a drink accompanying all of the things he invariably does that drive me mad on his way to playing a stellar game........I'll be wankered by three quarter time.

02-04-2021, 05:21 PM
Gardner holding shoulder

02-04-2021, 05:21 PM
That was pretty ordinary and unnecessary from Keath.

02-04-2021, 05:23 PM
Lippa warming up

02-04-2021, 05:25 PM
Lippa on

02-04-2021, 05:27 PM
That was pretty ordinary and unnecessary from Keath.

Now I’m super nervous, I don’t have any good feelings about this one.

02-04-2021, 05:28 PM
Pretty much the flat start I expected

02-04-2021, 05:29 PM
Now I’m super nervous, I don’t have any good feelings about this one.

Cream rises, but North are the type of team that has troubled us for a long time... so we need to be clinical.

Pretty much the flat start I expected

Same. Writings on the wall

The beauty of the injury sub means we aren't a player down for the balance of the game.

02-04-2021, 05:31 PM
They have more intent and going straight down the guts. We are under pressure where there isn’t much pressure. Do not like the look of this at all.

02-04-2021, 05:32 PM
Good boy Lachie!

02-04-2021, 05:35 PM
That was a pretty good goal from Bruce, after excellent effort from Naughton to bring it to ground. We just need to keep up the pressure on these guys and they'll crumble.

02-04-2021, 05:38 PM
Losing Gardner so early sucks but North only really have one tall fwd with Walker helping out down back today, so if we ever have to lose a key defender early, this is probably the best game matchup wise to do it.

02-04-2021, 05:41 PM
North having a real crack, while we’re drowning in bath water.

02-04-2021, 05:41 PM
Our mids need to pull the finger out. They're cruising around in 2nd gear at the moment. 2020 feels.

We're clearly the better side so let's look like it.

02-04-2021, 05:42 PM
Honestly, I mentioned in the VFL thread who would come in if Keath went down. Almost the same with Gardner as weird as that sounds. Is Khamis big enough?

02-04-2021, 05:42 PM
Our heads aren’t at marvel that’s for sure. Wtf is happening out there. ?

02-04-2021, 05:49 PM
This is such an ordinary game. Why do they insist on having north on good friday?

02-04-2021, 05:50 PM
Was it is will all our players slipping over? It absolutely grates me

02-04-2021, 05:50 PM
Honestly, I mentioned in the VFL thread who would come in if Keath went down. Almost the same with Gardner as weird as that sounds. Is Khamis big enough?

Have to be Cordy, surely ?

02-04-2021, 05:51 PM
Have to be Cordy, surely ?

Young should be ahead of Cordy based on VFL output.

02-04-2021, 05:53 PM
Bruce may kick 25.

02-04-2021, 05:54 PM
Very ordinary start.

We look flat and fumbly.

02-04-2021, 05:56 PM
Very ordinary start.

We look flat and fumbly.

I expected North to be competitive for a half. Theyve almost chucked it in already.

North have brought the heat and we’re off our game, but still nice to be a couple of goals up... hoping for a better effort in the 2nd qtr.

Young should be ahead of Cordy based on VFL output.

Ah that’s right Comrade, I forgot he was still on the list haha

We need to get into our midfielders and really challenge them to lift here. If we can do that North won't be able to get their hands on it, and when they do won't be able to move the ball through our zone.

Bruce playing well, and if we keep giving Naughton a chance he'll get on the end of a few.

Really annoyed with Keath, sometimes doesn't seem to take care with the footy and he should have had better awareness in the incident with Gardner.

02-04-2021, 05:57 PM
Problems with the ol' 'ON/OFF' switch again.

Lest we amp up, not sure this'll be quite the tune up we need ahead of Brissy.

02-04-2021, 05:59 PM
I think McNeil needs a spell

02-04-2021, 06:00 PM
We literally look like a bottom 4 team right now. Terrible to watch.

02-04-2021, 06:05 PM

Really? Bottom 4?

02-04-2021, 06:05 PM
Well.....at least I can say I'm not surprised by this performance. It's still frustrating though.

02-04-2021, 06:06 PM

That was just a loosen up for us. We will come out and get rolling in the second. North were hard at it and we seemed to just stand back edit for a mistake, not go in and make them make the mistake

02-04-2021, 06:07 PM
Why is Keath 10m in front at every contest?

02-04-2021, 06:07 PM
We look out on our feet already

02-04-2021, 06:08 PM
Why is Keath 10m in front at every contest?

Because Cordy isn't playing. Someone has to do it.

02-04-2021, 06:09 PM
Nice, thanks arc

02-04-2021, 06:09 PM
Well that was a lucky overturn for us.

I'd like us to try and be a bit composed with the footy, and slow it up a bit to try and hang onto it.

02-04-2021, 06:10 PM
This is not the killer instinct we need to have. North are beating us in possessions. We're not playing our game because we think we can walk it in. I don't like it. North have 4 marks inside 50. They had 3 all game last week.

02-04-2021, 06:11 PM
That's such a sweet strike from Lippa. Good two goal swing for us there, hopefully that breaks them.

02-04-2021, 06:12 PM
It's been the way our defence has set up since Bevo came in that we play position rather than the man and the deep defenders usually play in front.

02-04-2021, 06:13 PM
Was it is will all our players slipping over? It absolutely grates me

It's unforgivable, one of the first things you learn is to stay in the contest.

02-04-2021, 06:14 PM
The commentary is so bad. Anderson gives away a silly free kick and they give him a wrap for being a tackling machine and talk up how he had 14 tackles last week.

Shouldn't they be admonishing Anderson for the silly free kick?

Lachie Young forgetting which team he now plays for.

Cue the Benny hill music

02-04-2021, 06:15 PM
Cue the Benny hill music

It's a bit like that. Which is really unfortunate. We need to build and own this good friday game.

The one to Naughton was bad luck though. The last bounce before he kicked it deviated sharply to his right which meant it was near impossible to soccer through a goal with his left. Before that bounce it would have been fine.

02-04-2021, 06:16 PM
That's such a sweet strike from Lippa. Good two goal swing for us there, hopefully that breaks them.

Just need to keep the scoreboard ticking over and finish off the first half strongly.

02-04-2021, 06:18 PM
Why did we get Adam Treloar again? I really don't think he meets needs..........

Thats much better from our mids

That’s nice to watch!

02-04-2021, 06:19 PM
Treloar. Great few minutes. That’s why we got him. Excellent.

Just need to keep the scoreboard ticking over and finish off the first half strongly.

Which is what we seem to be doing, thankfully. Now a 31 point game, still time to put a couple more on the board.

JB saying Daniels. Honestly

02-04-2021, 06:20 PM
Anthony Scott just hasn’t caught up to this level yet.

02-04-2021, 06:20 PM
Why did Dale not go to Lipinski there?

02-04-2021, 06:21 PM
Why did Dale not go to Lipinski there?

Just dumb... still need to play the percentages.

02-04-2021, 06:23 PM
Anthony Scott just hasn’t caught up to this level yet.

Not sure what McNeil and Scott offer, that West doesn’t.

02-04-2021, 06:23 PM
Overhandballing

02-04-2021, 06:24 PM
The over use of handball is laughable. Are players taking bets amongst themselves ?

02-04-2021, 06:25 PM
How was the candy selling!!!

Treloar. Worth every cent Collingwood is paying for him.

Much better second half to this quarter

02-04-2021, 06:26 PM
Why did we get Adam Treloar again? I really don't think he meets needs..........

And to think a high portion of his salary is paid by Collingwood.

He's been impressive today.

02-04-2021, 06:27 PM
Poor from our forwards that contest. Ball hit the deck and everyone stood and watched.

02-04-2021, 06:28 PM
How was the candy selling!!!

Williams has really progressed as a player.

02-04-2021, 06:28 PM
Are they putting a heap of numbers back?

02-04-2021, 06:30 PM
Poor from our forwards that contest. Ball hit the deck and everyone stood and watched.

There’s been a lot of watching. I think we turned up, thinking “we only have to turn up”.

Playing .... ordinary. Yet we are six goals up. If we find some form in the last half, this could get very ugly.

Zuhaar is playing as spare behind ball and Goldy is pushing back at times too. Parking the bus.

02-04-2021, 06:32 PM
Great quarter by Treloar.
Scoreboard a bit flattering given we've not been as sharp as we'd like to be and North's effort, if not their execution, has been very good.

Not really. We are imploding under the “perceived” pressure in most situations. Over hand balling as usual putting ourselves under immense pressure. Mids have been well down (which they tend to be against lesser likes).

Treloar was awesome that quarter, but Bont, Smith, Hunter, Libba all well down.

Geez Cunnington loves playing us. And he brings an effort for the others.

What a strange game! I don't think I've ever seen as play so poorly to accumulate a 38 point half time lead.

I really hope the form we showed in the last 8- 10 minutes of the first half continues. Otherwise it is going to be one of THOSE games.

Great qtr. Treloar can roam around and do as he pleases. If he hits the score board like that we will be so much better for it.

02-04-2021, 06:34 PM
Zuhaar is playing as spare behind ball and Goldy is pushing back at times too. Parking the bus.

Thanks.

May explain some of the overuse by hand to an extent.

I won't say I'm happy with what I'm seeing, but I'm well and truly satisfied. If you had have told me we'd be six goals up at half time I'd have taken it.

02-04-2021, 06:36 PM
From what I have seen today, I doubt that we can carry both Scott and McNeil against Brisbane.

02-04-2021, 06:37 PM
From what I have seen today, I doubt that we can carry both Scott and McNeil against Brisbane.

Yep short of them stepping up in the second half, you'd think that with the Match Committee drawing a line in the sand with Lipinski and Wallis being dropped the pressure will be on for them to retain their spots next week.

02-04-2021, 06:38 PM
A lot of times we just look slow to react on field. A lot of ball/man watching that first half. Treloar really took the game on and I’d like to see more of that.

02-04-2021, 06:38 PM

It’s obvious to us, but will the MC see it the same way?

RoZDog
02-04-2021, 06:39 PM
I’m pretty disappointed in North Melbourne’s coaching & game plan. Making for a pretty boring spectacle and gives them zero chance at a result, won’t keep the marquee game. Ziebel behind the ball has invited the pressure onto his less experienced team mate and left them for the wolves (Laith - damn his hungry).

02-04-2021, 06:42 PM
Lots of scrappy disposal and uncharacteristic mistakes from normally composed players yet we're up by 6 goals. If we're going to have a bad day this seems the day to do it. You also probably take the win regardless coming off a 5 day break. Maybe that's playing a part?

02-04-2021, 06:42 PM
To be honest the talk of over use by handball is bollocks. We did overuse it once, but by and large its a very effective part of our game.

02-04-2021, 06:43 PM
The best thing I can say about today is that we've really put our chances on the scoreboard, which is something we haven't always done over the years. It's an ugly game, North are, frankly, a poor team right now and we aren't being able to play the way we want to but despite that we're 6 goals up at half time.

02-04-2021, 06:50 PM
Perfect start to the 2nd half.

02-04-2021, 06:50 PM
That's great work Laith. Nice finish again from Bruce, doing exactly what we need from a tall forward.

02-04-2021, 06:53 PM
To be honest the talk of over use by handball is bollocks. We did overuse it once, but by and large its a very effective part of our game.

Absolutely. I was only referring to that one passage.

02-04-2021, 06:56 PM
Bruce has brought his own footy.

02-04-2021, 06:59 PM
Move Bruce to CHB.

02-04-2021, 07:00 PM
Mcneil and Scott have now both had some good moments this quarter. That goal was a ripper.

02-04-2021, 07:00 PM
I mentioned earlier McNeil needed a spell. It was actually Scott. No 28

02-04-2021, 07:01 PM
Darcy giving the cheap "unbiased" commentary knowing we’re miles in front.

02-04-2021, 07:02 PM
Great finishing by Big Chilli!!

02-04-2021, 07:02 PM
Don’t stop dogs!

02-04-2021, 07:04 PM
Bont just saving himself for Brisbane

02-04-2021, 07:06 PM
Bont just saving himself for Brisbane
He's definitely had an ordinary day. Good depth that we can perform well with him not being a factor.

02-04-2021, 07:08 PM
Bont why wouldn't you kick a simple drop punt with that?

02-04-2021, 07:09 PM
North are done. Gassed and parking the bus. Keep the pressure up and we can continue the onslaught

02-04-2021, 07:09 PM
Poor Lachie Young has had a mare for North.

02-04-2021, 07:10 PM
This is awful to watch.

02-04-2021, 07:12 PM
Hahaha i love Naughts swagger!

Great effort too

Completely awful to watch, Naughton's ground hustle aside.

Naughts. That was amazing commitment and work rate. A real shame Vandermeer didnt do the right thing and finish the job.

02-04-2021, 07:13 PM
Oh no Naughts limping a bit

02-04-2021, 07:14 PM
Scott's gotta have a spell and improve.

02-04-2021, 07:15 PM
Treloar 3 goals, really settling into the Bulldog's life now.

02-04-2021, 07:19 PM
What is it with Macrae’s kicking? Has been absolutely shocking kicking into 50. Nowhere near a target.

02-04-2021, 07:19 PM
Yep, the Lachie Hunter skinnny kick to not make the distance from thirty five metres is on my Lanchie Hunter bingo board! Bottoms up!!

02-04-2021, 07:20 PM
North completely dead on their feet. Either can't run or won't run, basically just allowed us to play that qtr from between the middle/half back to their goal line.

02-04-2021, 07:20 PM
Scott's gotta have a spell and improve.

Just don’t see what he offers. 3 games is enough. Time for West, Cavarra or Jong.

02-04-2021, 07:21 PM
Would be great to continue to hold them to a low score in the last.
All I want to see in the last Q is to keep the foot on their throat.

02-04-2021, 07:21 PM
Well a twelve goal lead's reasonably pleasing but I won't feel truly sated til someone shoulder charges Ziebell's ribs.

02-04-2021, 07:22 PM
Yep, the Lachie Hunter skinnny kick to not make the distance from thirty five metres is on my Lanchie Hunter bingo board! Bottoms up!!

This is one aspect of his game that really lets him down.

Hard to see how North win a game.

Great to see us out them to the sword, let's do it for one more quarter please.

How's Naughty?

100 point win cmon Dogs just few more snausages

North completely dead on their feet. Either can't run or won't run, basically just allowed us to play that qtr from between the middle/half back to their goal line.

A player down as well. If we can maintain the work rate we can really stick it too them.

02-04-2021, 07:25 PM
Team's will really want to put some work into Bailey Smith when we're coming out of the half back line. He's really critical in setting up movement through the rest of the ground.

02-04-2021, 07:26 PM
Vandermeer's given away 2 dumb 50's today. Not good enough, needs to stay mentally in the game.

02-04-2021, 07:27 PM
The jooce is loose.

On a side note I love that there's still room in the game for blokes with Cunnington's body shape.

02-04-2021, 07:28 PM
This is awful to watch.
You are being insincere or not devoted. We need to put the sword to NMFC and send them in a leaky boat to Tasmania.
We piggy backed them and Hawthorn into the big league and they have caused us lots of trouble. Be Vikings, be Sparticus and end their resistance to our supremacy.
Put them to the sword to an exponential power.

02-04-2021, 07:29 PM
Terrible kicking again from Vandermeer.
Love his potential, but he's still a big work in progress.

02-04-2021, 07:34 PM
Great goal Pizzaro but a percentage killer for us!

02-04-2021, 07:35 PM
I know North kicked a goal, but great to see Bont chase him all the way.
Good signs when you 13 goals up and your skipper is still putting in that effort.

02-04-2021, 07:35 PM
Vandermeer's given away 2 dumb 50's today. Not good enough, needs to stay mentally in the game.

Spot on, he does some terrific things in a game but those two examples showed no awareness.

02-04-2021, 07:37 PM
Bruuuccccccceeeeee

02-04-2021, 07:43 PM
North are flat out lazy defending a counter attack.

02-04-2021, 07:48 PM
You are being insincere or not devoted. We need to put the sword to NMFC and send them in a leaky boat to Tasmania.
We piggy backed them and Hawthorn into the big league and they have caused us lots of trouble. Be Vikings, be Sparticus and end their resistance to our supremacy.
Put them to the sword to an exponential power.

It was more that five minutes of play where both teams were turning it over ad nauseum.

Make no mistake, I love us spanking Norf almost more than any team. They still think they're great because of the 90s, and they get this adulation because.....well I don't really know why.

They carry on about Shinboner spirit as if they are the only club that has spirit. Like they own the concept.

02-04-2021, 07:53 PM
First time in my 67 years and I am not worried about a last quarter goal by the opposition and our percentage.
For the first time ever I am calling:
IAM NOT WORRIED ABOUT OUR PERCENTAGE.

02-04-2021, 07:54 PM
That's just dumb from Naughton, he kicked the ball from five metres further out than he needed to.

02-04-2021, 07:56 PM
Bruce. That’s all.

02-04-2021, 07:59 PM
Yeah this is a rubbish game and yeah North are rubbish but for years I have hated how we've not been merciless with shit teams.
So this is pretty satisfying.

Bruce kicks his tenth - Happy Days not sure how to feel.

02-04-2021, 08:00 PM
That was awesome.

02-04-2021, 08:01 PM
How good Josh Bruce!

And full credit to the rest of the team. It wasn't always pretty but we did what needed to be done when it needed to be done and we have a new club record!

02-04-2021, 08:04 PM
North have vacated the right to use Shinboner spirit for a long while

02-04-2021, 08:06 PM
How good Josh Bruce!

And full credit to the rest of the team. It wasn't always pretty but we did what needed to be done when it needed to be done and we have a new club record!

Excellent, confident with his marking and kicked straight.
He and Naughton were right in sync today.

02-04-2021, 08:09 PM
How good Josh Bruce!

That last Bruce goal was just great fun. And as much as there was some underwhelming things, they kept putting score on the board. That percentage boost will be invaluable.

02-04-2021, 08:09 PM
Biggest ever club win. I was at the previous record, 120 points in 1985 V Melbourne at the Whitten Oval. Lots to like about how ruthless we were today. Put them to the sword.

02-04-2021, 08:10 PM
There was some very good leading patterns by all 3 talls. Lots of options and space.

02-04-2021, 08:10 PM
The best bit about Bruce celebrating his tenth might've been Libba fighting half of Norf in the background while Bevo giggled himself silly in the box.

02-04-2021, 08:11 PM
Great Josh Bruce. What a difference it makes when you’re match fit. Players love him. Working well with Naughts.
A great win, but geez some of our disposal left a lot to be desired. Need massive improvement. Was Macrae told to lower his eyes kicking into 50? He seemed to be kicking lower stab type kicks instead of his usual slow up and under 30 metre floaters.

02-04-2021, 08:12 PM
The best bit about Bruce celebrating his tenth might've been Libba fighting half of Norf in the background while Bevo giggled himself silly in the box.

They were really getting into tough guy Ziebell in the last quarter. Bailey Smith was right up in his grill, which is good to see.

02-04-2021, 08:14 PM

That's a bit unfair.

Bailey Smith was fighting the other half.

02-04-2021, 08:15 PM
Our big men again dominating

02-04-2021, 08:18 PM
Considering we did that damage in basically 2 and a half quarters is shocking.

02-04-2021, 08:25 PM

Classic

02-04-2021, 08:26 PM
So we saw a thrashing. A forward kicked 10 goals. And we got into a bit of biff at the end. Don’t change 2021 bulldogs

02-04-2021, 08:31 PM

You can see as soon as the ball leaves Bruce’s foot, Libba re-starts the fight. Classic Libba

02-04-2021, 08:32 PM
Considering we did that damage in basically 2 and a half quarters is shocking.

20 goals to 2 after the 13 min mark of the 2nd quarter. That's astonishing.

02-04-2021, 08:50 PM
Well that was a big win for sure. Had we kicked straight it would have been a 150 plus points win.

It was really satisfying to see Josh Bruce play so convincingly. He has copped a lot of stick on a couple of FB Forums. He marked very strongly and was hard at it when the ball hit the ground too.

Our midfield worked well to shark a lot of Goldy's hitouts in the 2nd half.

I felt Treloar was very sure handling the ball. There were a lot of fumbles by our blokes that went unpunished.

Easton Wood looked very rusty but got better as the game progressed.
Caleb Daniel kept things under control down back ably supported by Keath and Duryea. Williams was both steady and, in one play, brilliant. Bailey Dale continues to impress and z
JJ showed a bit of dash.

It was a really good win as it should have been against a North outfit that are clearly under-manned and under-performing.

It was the win we needed to have. Mission completed. Go Dogs!

02-04-2021, 08:54 PM
Most fun I’ve had at the footy since ‘16.
Bit to figure out KD wise for next week, but for now I’m going to bask in #Juicy10

02-04-2021, 09:12 PM
Home now. That was a great day out. Donated to the appeal and saw a massive Dogs win by 128 points against the rabble that is North.

Jose Bruce with 10 goals was amazing as was Adam Treloar.

Bont had a quietier day but liked some of what he did in the end.

Really liking how English and Naughton are going. They both mark the ball really well. Libba had some great moments as well.

02-04-2021, 09:19 PM
It’s quite funny to come home and read this thread from start to finish. I know we were a bit flat early but did we honestly ever look like losing.

I loved what I saw. It was 30 degrees, we were off a 5 day break and an exhausting contest last week, but we kept the foot on the accelerator. Yes, North are a rabble, but our pressure acts continued all night.

I said after last week that we are a team that thrives on confidence. I don’t really get the angst about us getting big headed or drinking our own bath water. We saw in 15 and 16 just how far belief takes you. Early wins on the board are worth gold, a % boost never hurts either, but most importantly beginning to realise how good they can be is so important...we have the young guys who are hungry for success and the “ oldies” who remember what it’s like. It’s been a pretty ordinary & frustrating few years seeing us battle to regain the hunger, I’m enjoying the ride.

02-04-2021, 09:21 PM
Biggest ever club win. I was at the previous record, 120 points in 1985 V Melbourne at the Whitten Oval. Lots to like about how ruthless we were today. Put them to the sword.

Not quite. Biggest ever V/AFL win but back in 1908 we put North to the sword by 160 points in the VFA. Jack Hutchinson kicked a club record 16 goals.

https://trove.nla.gov.au/newspaper/article/242041133

02-04-2021, 09:22 PM
Yeah this is a rubbish game and yeah North are rubbish but for years I have hated how we've not been merciless with shit teams.

A rubbish game?
Do you mean a rubbish game?
Are you protecting your hopes? You dare not hope.
What does 'rubbish game' mean: you do not know joy?

02-04-2021, 09:27 PM
Joshua fought the battle of Jericho and the walls came a tumblin' down.

02-04-2021, 09:31 PM
Joshua fought the battle of Jericho and the walls came a tumblin' down.

Style Council! Nice!

02-04-2021, 09:39 PM
I thought JJ played a good team game today and most importantly used the ball very well today bar one poor pass inside 50.

02-04-2021, 09:43 PM
It’s quite funny to come home and read this thread from start to finish. I know we were a bit flat early but did we honestly ever look like losing.

I loved what I saw. It was 30 degrees, we were off a 5 day break and an exhausting contest last week, but we kept the foot on the accelerator. Yes, North are a rabble, but our pressure acts continued all night.

I said after last week that we are a team that thrives on confidence. I don’t really get the angst about us getting big headed or drinking our own bath water. We saw in 15 and 16 just how far belief takes you. Early wins on the board are worth gold, a % boost never hurts either, but most importantly beginning to realise how good they can be is so important...we have the young guys who are hungry for success and the “ oldies” who remember what it’s like. It’s been a pretty ordinary & frustrating few years seeing us battle to regain the hunger, I’m enjoying the ride.

Excellent post Tbt, never looked like losing.
Biggest win in the clubs history and up to page 10 of this thread you would have thought we had just scraped over the line.:D:D

02-04-2021, 09:47 PM
Dogs by 100
First goal Naughty
BOG The Bont

Disappointed you only predicted 100 ��

Looking forward to your prediction for next week’s game��

02-04-2021, 09:48 PM

I just got home from the game and couldn't agree more.
Bont was hard tagged all game, but still came alive when we needed him to, Bruce was just insane to watch, and the rest of the team really put the boot in when it counted.

What a great game of football today.

02-04-2021, 09:49 PM

Yeah it was pretty clear that if we kept applying pressure they'd eventually roll over, and roll over they did. I think what posters find really annoying is that it can often seem to take us a while to bring something close to our best against what we would deem lesser opponents. However what's positive in this instance is we were able to build into the game and really dominate a team we should have dominated.

I agree that belief takes you places, and in 2016 we generated that belief by hanging in there against pretty good sides with a team that was heavily impacted through injury across the season. Sure this year's start hasn't been perfect, in that we were a bit sloppy against the Pies, able to be dominated against the Eagles for a period of the game, and started slowly today but each win has had different positive aspects we can build on. For instance against the Pies we dominated possession and schooled a midfield that usually always shows up against us. We fought back from a last quarter deficit against a WCE that clearly came to play, while today we thrashed a team we should have thrashed.

I'm really looking forward to taking on Brissy next week. They'll be up and about after two solid weeks and close results, and with a backs to the wall mentality having not been able to return home for a few weeks unexpectedly. It's a game that if we account for ourselves really well in the effort department and be super competitive it will be a real positive for the group.

02-04-2021, 09:50 PM
I just got home from the game and couldn't agree more.
Bont was hard tagged all game, but still came alive when we needed him to, Bruce was just insane to watch, and the rest of the team really put the boot in when it counted.

What a great game of football today.

I mean my god what a nightmare our midfield is for oppositions. You have to tag Bont because he's close to the best mid in the comp. In order to do that you have to concede more liberty to the likes of Dunkley, Macrae, Libba, Smith and now Treloar. Good god.

02-04-2021, 09:52 PM
Yeah it was pretty clear that if we kept applying pressure they'd eventually roll over, and roll over they did. I think what posters find really annoying is that it can often seem to take us a while to bring something close to our best against what we would deem lesser opponents. However what's positive in this instance is we were able to build into the game and really dominate a team we should have dominated.

I agree that belief takes you places, and in 2016 we generated that belief by hanging in there against pretty good sides with a team that was heavily impacted through injury across the season. Sure this year's start hasn't been perfect, in that we were a bit sloppy against the Pies, able to be dominated against the Eagles for a period of the game, and started slowly today but each win has had different positive aspects we can build on. For instance against the Pies we dominated possession and schooled a midfield that usually always shows up against us. We fought back from a last quarter deficit against a WCE that clearly came to play, while today we thrashed a team we should have thrashed.

I'm really looking forward to taking on Brissy next week. They'll be up and about after two solid weeks and close results, and with a backs to the wall mentality having not been able to return home for a few weeks unexpectedly. It's a game that if we account for ourselves really well in the effort department and be super competitive it will be a real positive for the group.

Yeah I mean I don't think anyone really thought we'd lose. The concern was that we'd just repeat the first 1.5 quarters for most of the game and win by about 5-6 goals. The way North were playing I would not have been happy with that. Thankfully we stepped it up. Quite a lot.

02-04-2021, 09:54 PM

Going with the rule that if you're under the margin, you're out, was this closest to the mark?

02-04-2021, 09:56 PM
I thought JJ played a good team game today and most importantly used the ball very well today bar one poor pass inside 50.

The thing for me with JJ is his lack of composure. He just seems to always be needing to everything at 100% speed. Weirdly it's gotten worse for him when typically as you mature with the game things slow down a bit. He might just be really down on confidence. Been that way since that tagging incident sadly.

02-04-2021, 09:58 PM
I think Bont was being tagged by Anderson. He got better when Anderson went off injured.

02-04-2021, 10:03 PM
The thing for me with JJ is his lack of composure. He just seems to always be needing to everything at 100% speed. Weirdly it's gotten worse for him when typically as you mature with the game things slow down a bit. He might just be really down on confidence. Been that way since that tagging incident sadly.

I agree. But I thought he was good in that regard today. The only one he botched was a pass inside 50. When he was running out of the back or through the middle I thought he delivered the ball forward with a lot more care and thoughtfulness. Only a sample size of 1, but given why he was dropped, today's performance suggests he's taken the feedback on board.

02-04-2021, 10:07 PM
You can’t teach speed. JJ has that explosiveness and acceleration that can bust a game open. The way the game is played this year, will suit him more. I would persevere with him as his best attributes are a point of differentiation compared to the rest of the squad.

02-04-2021, 10:09 PM
I agree. But I thought he was good in that regard today. The only one he botched was a pass inside 50. When he was running out of the back or through the middle I thought he delivered the ball forward with a lot more care and thoughtfulness. Only a sample size of 1, but given why he was dropped, today's performance suggests he's taken the feedback on board.

Yeah I agree. In some respects our loaded midfield, plus Caleb and now Williams, should help him. It'll be very hard for opposition teams to tag multiple players so he should get a fairly free run at things. He just needs to those defensive things defenders do.

02-04-2021, 10:19 PM
The jooce is loose.

On a side note I love that there's still room in the game for blokes with Cunnington's body shape.

I admire him as a players. He has hardly played footy in last 2 years. His so strong and can stand up in a tackle. Does all the hard work in a crap midfield. If he was in our midfield he would pick up 40 possessions, probably any other team with a decent midfield.

I am still filthy and will always be on Ziebell for breaking Cloak's ribs. We did not see the best of Cloak in our club which I thought was a real tragedy.

02-04-2021, 10:23 PM
Treloar. Worth every cent Collingwood is paying for him.

Thats 30 million cents its costing them a year! I did not get around to post in R2, but love how Treloar helped us win and save the $.

02-04-2021, 10:36 PM
I admire him as a players. He has hardly played footy in last 2 years. His so strong and can stand up in a tackle. Does all the hard work in a crap midfield. If he was in our midfield he would pick up 40 possessions, probably any other team with a decent midfield.

I am still filthy and will always be on Ziebell for breaking Cloak's ribs. We did not see the best of Cloak in our club which I thought was a real tragedy.

Agree. A lot forget Travis was playing fairly well for us up to that point.

02-04-2021, 10:39 PM
Totally agree re Ziebell- a thug of the highest order. Feel we could have gotten another few years out of Cloke and that he could have played the big bullocking forward Bruce is playing so well now.

02-04-2021, 10:52 PM
I hope the match committee continue to stuff it up every week.

02-04-2021, 10:55 PM
Great presser from Bevo today. He really engaged with the young lad selected to sit with him as a representation of the children who benefit from the Good Friday Appeal.

Also really good to hear him put some perspective about the size of the win and Bruce's haul. He's pleased by how we took charge, but also understands that North are in a big rebuilding phase.
I certainly don't think we'll be getting ahead of ourselves next week against Brisbane.

02-04-2021, 10:56 PM
A few photos I took at the ground today including one of Bevo pre game :)

https://i.postimg.cc/mz67w0YF/0-D3-B2-B67-99-C8-48-CA-92-E6-363-D5-A2-F455-A.jpg (https://postimg.cc/mz67w0YF)

https://i.postimg.cc/MXv7Tpw0/10-C32862-EE63-4-FA4-8-B30-7-C8-D28-C90-B10.jpg (https://postimg.cc/MXv7Tpw0)

https://i.postimg.cc/HrG4FDfw/239-CC755-76-DB-47-D4-82-AC-04-ACDF1117-AE.jpg (https://postimg.cc/HrG4FDfw)

https://i.postimg.cc/n9jBw02S/41-BCD6-AA-82-F2-4620-AE6-E-C483-C6-BF83-ED.jpg (https://postimg.cc/n9jBw02S)

https://i.postimg.cc/G4kJCgCZ/B8-A9-E220-5662-4-D0-B-9-E00-3-F752293381-E.jpg (https://postimg.cc/G4kJCgCZ)

https://i.postimg.cc/KkYntZM2/C9-A01-DF4-A2-D2-4967-B0-CA-78145-D16-E919.jpg (https://postimg.cc/KkYntZM2)

03-04-2021, 01:22 AM
That was bloody fun.

I know NM are poor but that was an absolute day out.

Watching Treloar run inside 50 and kick 2 trademark goals was electrifying and seeing Bruce dominate with 10 and a 'Brucey' chant which lasted long after the game was magical.

03-04-2021, 04:04 AM
In the early 80's I used to mostly dread walking into school on Monday mornings, usually being on the receiving end of a walloping.
Geez its good to be on the other side.

Prior to 2016, I'd suspect this forum would be up and about following a record win.

That we're not is probably a good indication of how the bar has been raised.
Still feels good though!!����

03-04-2021, 07:44 AM
Revenge for 1996 :D

03-04-2021, 08:50 AM
You can’t teach speed.
Never a truer word spoken.

03-04-2021, 08:54 AM
Our percentage is 181.6!

03-04-2021, 10:05 AM
I made the call to go away for the weekend, thinking this would be a typical Dogs v North slog which we ended up winning by 4 or 5 goals. Watching the end of the match on TV, gee I wished I was there. Jumped out of my seat at the bar when Bruce took the mark for his 10th.

From what I saw, Treloar was terrific and the triple Bailey's all important. It's tough to pick clear best/worst in a 120 point win.

I also really enjoyed Lachie McNeill's snap from 40. Bit by bit he is showing us what he is capable of. I would still be happy for him to have a rest and give Cav/West an opportunity, but I can see why bevo is giving him his chance.

03-04-2021, 10:09 AM
I made the call to go away for the weekend, thinking this would be a typical Dogs v North slog which we ended up winning by 4 or 5 goals. Watching the end of the match on TV, gee I wished I was there. Jumped out of my seat at the bar when Bruce took the mark for his 10th.

From what I saw, Treloar was terrific and the triple Bailey's all important. It's tough to pick clear best/worst in a 120 point win.

I also really enjoyed Lachie McNeill's snap from 40. Bit by bit he is showing us what he is capable of. I would still be happy for him to have a rest and give Cav/West an opportunity, but I can see why bevo is giving him his chance.

Yeah, McNeil needs to go out (sorry Grantysghost) but I'm really liking what he's got to work with. I think he has a bright future.

03-04-2021, 11:11 AM
Great win, ruthless 4 quarter effort when it could’ve not been.

Contributors across the board.

Hunter not quite in rhythm with his role.
Scott did some good things but also a bit VFL-paced at times.
McNeil has some tools and will develop into a good player, but a little green and rushed.
Keath been great defensively but needs to take a simple first option. Didn’t hurt us today too much.

How good is Naughton at ground level! So fast.

Well done. Onto next week.

03-04-2021, 11:18 AM
Great win, ruthless 4 quarter effort when it could’ve not been.

Contributors across the board.

Hunter not quite in rhythm with his role.
Scott did some good things but also a bit VFL-paced at times.
McNeil has some tools and will develop into a good player, but a little green and rushed.
Keath been great defensively but needs to take a simple first option. Didn’t hurt us today too much.

How good is Naughton at ground level! So fast.

Well done. Onto next week.

Yes he did! He took out Gardner. :)

03-04-2021, 11:20 AM
Relive the ten goals here (https://twitter.com/westernbulldogs/status/1378100775868456963) Last time a Bulldog kicked ten was 1987 when Beasley slammed home ten v Brisbane.

05-04-2021, 02:07 PM

Nah I love Bruce. He’s been a really frustrating player to watch and definitely should have been dropped last year, but he seems like a cool guy and he’s got the kind of charisma to him that makes him really easy to get behind.

05-04-2021, 05:04 PM
Yes he did! He took out Gardner. :)

Is that hurting us though?

05-04-2021, 05:34 PM
Well we now have the problem of deciding on which under performing tall defender we are going to pick to replace him.

05-04-2021, 06:19 PM
Well we now have the problem of deciding on which under performing tall defender we are going to pick to replace him.

Yeah well that's kinda the position we've been in the past 2 years to be honest so not entirely sure it's a problem.

05-04-2021, 09:07 PM
Just sat through both AFL 360 and On The Couch hoping to bathe in some Bulldogs bathwater and lo and behold, we got barely a mention. Sydney is well and truly the flavour of the month.

Not sure how you can fly under the radar after a 21 goal win, but let's just keep racking them up.

05-04-2021, 09:27 PM
Nah I love Bruce. He’s been a really frustrating player to watch and definitely should have been dropped last year, but he seems like a cool guy and he’s got the kind of charisma to him that makes him really easy to get behind.

Stop being a killjoy.

05-04-2021, 10:03 PM
Just sat through both AFL 360 and On The Couch hoping to bathe in some Bulldogs bathwater and lo and behold, we got barely a mention. Sydney is well and truly the flavour of the month.

Not sure how you can fly under the radar after a 21 goal win, but let's just keep racking them up.

My Auntie's hit up the family WhatsApp group with the same comments...........she's actually complained to Fox!

05-04-2021, 10:05 PM
My Auntie's hit up the family WhatsApp group with the same comments...........she's actually complained to Fox!

GWS got more air time than us.

05-04-2021, 10:47 PM

We are use to it.

05-04-2021, 11:15 PM
I remember the only time we really got a decent mention in 2008-2010 was when Aker was making an arse of himself. The rest of the time we were ignored.

Anyway, I've stopped watching these shows, they annoy me. Most of the time when they mention us it's half baked or cliched, but mostly inaccurate or ill-considered.

05-04-2021, 11:38 PM
I remember the only time we really got a decent mention in 2008-2010 was when Aker was making an arse of himself. The rest of the time we were ignored.

Anyway, I've stopped watching these shows, they annoy me. Most of the time when they mention us it's half baked or cliched, but mostly inaccurate or ill-considered.

I had the last quarter of Geelong v Hawks on and left the TV on and after the game, AFL 360 came up. The first ten minutes not a word about us, and as usual Robbo was annoying me, so I switched off. LIke you, I don't watch these shows, unless someone tells me Bevo is on.

05-04-2021, 11:41 PM
We only had the largest win of our VFL/ AFL history to leave us top of the ladder.......no big deal.

05-04-2021, 11:53 PM
And a big forward kicked 10 goals and had 21 disposals in an era where a big forward kicking 4 goals is a great game, but how good was Heeney's 2 goals and 11 disposals!!

06-04-2021, 01:37 PM
Anyone else waiting for mjp to confirm it's ok to get excited yet?

06-04-2021, 01:38 PM
Anyone else waiting for mjp to confirm it's ok to get excited yet?

No..

06-04-2021, 01:49 PM
No..

Lid off?

06-04-2021, 02:14 PM
Lid off?

Well and truly. Time we supporters got our swagger back.

06-04-2021, 02:45 PM
Happy to fly under the radar and still win games. Stick it right up ‘Em!! Love how after bemoaning a lack of mongrel we suddenly have Naughts, Vandermeer, B Smith as great supporting acts to Libba. Keath goes alright too - as you’d expect of a pissed off �� PE Teacher.