View Full Version : How Many More Wins Left In The H&A?

17-05-2021, 09:03 PM
How many wins from here?

6 Games at Marvel
2 Games in WA
1 Game in Ballarat, Geelong, Gold Coast, Tassie, MCG

6 Games vs Top 8 Opponents
7 Games vs Non Top 8 Opponents - Many bottom 6

Run Home:

Roos - Marvel (18th)
Swans - Marvel (5th)
Suns - Gold Coast (14th)
Crows - Ballarat (15th)
Demons - MCG (1st)
Bombers - Marvel (12th)
Hawks - Tassie (17th)
Power - Marvel (6th)

Players to come back to fitness in the H&A:

Hunter
McLean
Richards
Dunkley
English
Martin
Gardner
Wood
Jamarra
Vandermeer
Jong

Fixture:

Round 10 Sat 22 May 7:25pm Saints Marvel Stadium
Round 11 Fri 28 May 7:50pm Demons Marvel Stadium
Round 12 Sun 6 Jun 4:40pm Dockers Optus Stadium
Round 14 Sat 19 Jun 12:00pm Cats GMHBA Stadium
Round 15 Sat 26 Jun 12:00pm Eagles Optus Stadium
Round 16 Sat 3 Jul 12:00pm Kangaroos Marvel Stadium
Round 17 Sat 10 Jul 12:00pm Swans Marvel Stadium
Round 18 Sat 17 Jul 12:00pm Suns Metricon Stadium
Round 19 Sat 24 Jul 12:00pm Crows Mars Stadium
Round 20 Sat 31 Jul 12:00pm Demons MCG
Round 21 Sat 7 Aug 12:00pm Bombers Marvel Stadium
Round 22 Sat 14 Aug 12:00pm Hawks UTAS Stadium
Round 23 Sat 21 Aug 12:00pm Power Marvel Stadium

17-05-2021, 09:22 PM
Not sure what happened to the poll.

I think we have at least 9 more wins from the 13 games left. That would put us on 17 wins, one more win over the entire comp in 2019. That probably gets us to top 2. Even if someone jumps up to match our wins, we have about 20% more than those clubs and there’s an opportunity with Roos, Suns & Hawks to surge it on the run home.

The injury list, once fit again, should improve us drastically again. If we can stay relatively fit, I can argue we have it in us to maybe win more again.

17-05-2021, 09:23 PM
I recon 11 more wins. We may drop one against the Dees And the cats but that’s it.

Bring it home doggies.

17-05-2021, 09:28 PM
I recon 11 more wins. We may drop one against the Dees And the cats but that’s it.

Bring it home doggies.

If we beat WC over there, wowee. Hardest trip in footy (along with Geelong in Geelong).

17-05-2021, 09:33 PM
Round 10 Sat 22 May 7:25pm Saints Marvel Stadium - Win
Round 11 Fri 28 May 7:50pm Demons Marvel Stadium - Win
Round 12 Sun 6 Jun 4:40pm Dockers Optus Stadium - Loss
Round 14 Sat 19 Jun 12:00pm Cats GMHBA Stadium - Loss
Round 15 Sat 26 Jun 12:00pm Eagles Optus Stadium - Loss
Round 16 Sat 3 Jul 12:00pm Kangaroos Marvel Stadium - Win
Round 17 Sat 10 Jul 12:00pm Swans Marvel Stadium - Win
Round 18 Sat 17 Jul 12:00pm Suns Metricon Stadium - Win
Round 19 Sat 24 Jul 12:00pm Crows Mars Stadium - Win
Round 20 Sat 31 Jul 12:00pm Demons MCG - Loss
Round 21 Sat 7 Aug 12:00pm Bombers Marvel Stadium - Win
Round 22 Sat 14 Aug 12:00pm Hawks UTAS Stadium - Win
Round 23 Sat 21 Aug 12:00pm Power Marvel Stadium - Win

I reckon we'll do Melbourne at Docklands and they'll do us at the G, but we'll be better for the experience at the latter. Tough run of games after the next two, wouldn't be surprised if we falter in all three or at least in two of them after a few really big weeks.

Seventeen wins for the year would be pretty good, should land us within the top two.

17-05-2021, 10:00 PM
I’d actually be pretty stoked to win 3 of the next 5. The next 5 games are pretty season defining for mine. In fact we’re in basically a season defining 8 game stretch. We’re 2-1 so far which I would have taken at the start.

But it’s time to put some old demons away in the next batch of games. Finish the saints off like we should have done last season. Then beat geelong on their home deck for once. If we win this week I’m fairly confident we knock the demons off the week after. They’ll be due for a loss provided the crows don’t upset them. But I really want to get this weeks game done with. Things will unravel quick if the saints do us again. I want to bury them.

17-05-2021, 10:30 PM
Seventeen wins for the year would be pretty good, should land us within the top two.

17 H&A would be a record for us.

We have never finished top either - love to do that.

17-05-2021, 11:09 PM
Some tough games in there - Melbourne twice, Geelong in Geelong, Perth twice and Port in the final round fighting for spots. Could lose the next 5 whilst still playing OK. I'll say 8 wins

17-05-2021, 11:14 PM
Some tough games in there - Melbourne twice, Geelong in Geelong, Perth twice and Port in the final round fighting for spots. Could lose the next 5 whilst still playing OK. I'll say 8 wins

I’d take another 8 wins from here. Should be good for top 4 and if we’re fit, anything can happen from there.

17-05-2021, 11:37 PM
I’m thinking 9 or 10. 18 wins for the year. Top two finish. Thank your mother for the rabbits

18-05-2021, 12:24 PM
10/13 that would give us 18 and a top 2 finish.

18-05-2021, 06:03 PM

I reckon we'll do Melbourne at Docklands and they'll do us at the G, but we'll be better for the experience at the latter. Tough run of games after the next two, wouldn't be surprised if we falter in all three or at least in two of them after a few really big weeks.

I agree 100% with your assessment Jeemak. If we could pull one win from Freo, Geel and WC I’d be over the moon. Melb will be hard at Marvel too.

23-05-2021, 01:31 AM
Updated: How many wins from here?

9-1 Current W/L

5 Games at Marvel
2 Games in WA

6 Games vs Non Top 8 Opponents - Most bottom 6

Treloar
McLean
Richards
Dunkley
English
Martin
Gardner
Wood
Jamarra
Vandermeer
Jong

Fixture:

Round 11 Fri 28 May 7:50pm Demons Marvel Stadium - 2nd
Round 12 Sun 6 Jun 4:40pm Dockers Optus Stadium - 9th
Bye
Round 14 Sat 19 Jun 12:00pm Cats GMHBA Stadium - 3rd
Round 15 Sat 26 Jun 12:00pm Eagles Optus Stadium - 6th
Round 16 Sat 3 Jul 12:00pm Kangaroos Marvel Stadium - 18th
Round 17 Sat 10 Jul 12:00pm Swans Marvel Stadium - 7th
Round 18 Sat 17 Jul 12:00pm Suns Metricon Stadium - 15th
Round 19 Sat 24 Jul 12:00pm Crows Mars Stadium - 12th
Round 20 Sat 31 Jul 12:00pm Demons MCG - 2nd
Round 21 Sat 7 Aug 12:00pm Bombers Marvel Stadium - 14th
Round 22 Sat 14 Aug 12:00pm Hawks UTAS Stadium - 17th
Round 23 Sat 21 Aug 12:00pm Power Marvel Stadium - 5th
Bye

23-05-2021, 01:34 AM

9-1 Current W/L

5 Games at Marvel
2 Games in WA

7 Games vs Non Top 8 Opponents - Many bottom 6

Treloar
McLean
Richards
Dunkley
English
Martin
Gardner
Wood
Jamarra
Vandermeer
Jong

Fixture:

Round 11 Fri 28 May 7:50pm Demons Marvel Stadium 2nd
Round 12 Sun 6 Jun 4:40pm Dockers Optus Stadium 9th
Round 14 Sat 19 Jun 12:00pm Cats GMHBA Stadium 3rd
Round 15 Sat 26 Jun 12:00pm Eagles Optus Stadium 5th
Round 16 Sat 3 Jul 12:00pm Kangaroos Marvel Stadium 18th
Round 17 Sat 10 Jul 12:00pm Swans Marvel Stadium 6th
Round 18 Sat 17 Jul 12:00pm Suns Metricon Stadium 14th
Round 19 Sat 24 Jul 12:00pm Crows Mars Stadium 12th
Round 20 Sat 31 Jul 12:00pm Demons MCG 2nd
Round 21 Sat 7 Aug 12:00pm Bombers Marvel Stadium 13th
Round 22 Sat 14 Aug 12:00pm Hawks UTAS Stadium 17th
Round 23 Sat 21 Aug 12:00pm Power Marvel Stadium 6th

Thank goodness we've not dropped games thus far, because we're approaching a tough block now. We could conceivably drop 3 in the next month.

23-05-2021, 02:06 AM
6 more probably gets us top 4 and 7 definitely does.

23-05-2021, 02:21 AM
6 more probably gets us top 4 and 7 definitely does.

I reckon we'll start to see our Match Committee start to play some games now. We better be prepared for some fun and games as I suspect we'll start to look towards making sure we're in good shape to run out the season strong in the last 7 weeks, than to try and go hard over the next month.

23-05-2021, 09:30 AM
8-9 games would be both par and a fantastic outcome.

23-05-2021, 09:44 AM
How many ya got?

23-05-2021, 10:22 AM
So, who’s going to be disappointed at this point IF we don’t make top 2? If we happened to lose all 4 to Melb, Freo, Geel and WC could we still do it with our superior %?

23-05-2021, 10:23 AM
So, who’s going to be disappointed at this point IF we don’t make top 2? If we happened to lose all 4 to Melb, Freo, Geel and WC could we still do it with our superior %?

We must finish top 4, but also avoid playing Lions at Gabba in a final

23-05-2021, 10:25 AM

Yep and with all bris, port, WC and Sydney all in the mix, we have to put ourselves in the best position for home finals.

23-05-2021, 10:26 AM
And that’s why we would be desperate for a top 2 finish. Guaranteed Melb finals.

23-05-2021, 10:29 AM
And that’s why we would be desperate for a top 2 finish. Guaranteed Melb finals.

Would we insist on Marvel, or MCG?

23-05-2021, 10:37 AM

We would. The AFEL would knock us back, unless we had a small drawing interstate opponent. We should remind them they’ve been making good money from Friday & Saturday night footy, so having us on our home deck in the first week would make for great TV viewing.

23-05-2021, 11:13 AM
In 2019 15 wins secured top 4. 16 wins secured top 2.
In 2018 15 wins secured top 4. 16 wins secured top 2.
In 2017 14 wins secured top 4. 15 wins secured top 2.
In 2016 16 wins secured top 4. 17 wins secured top 2.
in 2015 16 wins secured top 4. 16 wins secured top 2.

So based on five years of data. We need to win six more games to finish top four (+ percentage). We need to win 16 games to finish top two (+ percentage).

We are now 9-1. 12 games to play. A 50% strike rate from this position should see a top four finish. Seven more wins (58% strike rate) should see us finish top two. There is a long, long way to go ... but even if we can chalk wins against North, Sydney (at home), Gold Coast, Adelaide (at home), Essendon and Hawthorn we should finish top four.

A solitary win then against Melbourne, Freo, Geelong, West Coast, Melbourne again, or Port (at home) should see us finish top two.

23-05-2021, 11:14 AM
Marvel, but if we were playing Richmond for instance, the AFL would knock us back even before we got the word Marvel out.

23-05-2021, 11:18 AM
In 2019 15 wins secured top 4. 16 wins secured top 2.
In 2018 15 wins secured top 4. 16 wins secured top 2.
In 2017 14 wins secured top 4. 15 wins secured top 2.
In 2016 16 wins secured top 4. 17 wins secured top 2.
in 2015 16 wins secured top 4. 16 wins secured top 2.

So based on five years of data. We need to win six more games to finish top four (+ percentage). We need to win 16 games to finish top two (+ percentage).

We are now 9-1. 12 games to play. A 50% strike rate from this position should see a top four finish. Seven more wins (58% strike rate) should see us finish top two. There is a long, long way to go ... but even if we can chalk wins against North, Sydney (at home), Gold Coast, Adelaide (at home), Essendon and Hawthorn we should finish top four.

A solitary win then against Melbourne, Freo, Geelong, West Coast, Melbourne again, or Port (at home) should see us finish top two.
A lot of work to do. I see only NM and Ess as relatively easy. Hawks in Launceston might be difficult. GC up there, Crows in Ballarat and Melb at G are no givens. Port could be playing for a top 4 spot in that last game.

I think the next 4 games are the make or break. We need to find a way to win at least 2 of Melb, Geel, Freo and WC. We don’t wanna go 0-4 and let the confidence slip.

23-05-2021, 11:58 AM
Round 11 Fri 28 May 7:50pm Demons Marvel Stadium - 2nd
Bye
Bye

Liveladders predicter has us finishing on top of the ladder with 7 more wins of our 12 games. That’s at least par.

23-05-2021, 01:17 PM
Liveladders predicter has us finishing on top of the ladder with 7 more wins of our 12 games. That’s at least par.
I’d be absolutely stoked with that. I did a live ladder of worst case scenarios (15 wins) and had us at 7th, playing Richmond at the G in an elimination.

23-05-2021, 01:20 PM
I’d be absolutely stoked with that. I did a live ladder of worst case scenarios (15 wins) and had us at 7th, playing Richmond at the G in an elimination.

Worst case falling to 7th? Was that every player having COVID and were locked down for 2 months? :D

23-05-2021, 01:27 PM
Worst case falling to 7th? Was that every player having COVID and were locked down for 2 months? :D
Haha not quite, but I’d be slightly worried if we were to lose the next 4 and then hit the batch of games we SHOULD win, but just can’t get it down.

I’ll take your scenario mate and live the dream.

23-05-2021, 01:41 PM
Haha not quite, but I’d be slightly worried if we were to lose the next 4 and then hit the batch of games we SHOULD win, but just can’t get it down.

I’ll take your scenario mate and live the dream.

Have we ever been minor premiers?

23-05-2021, 01:53 PM
Round 11 Fri 28 May 7:50pm Demons Marvel Stadium- Lineball, I think we can win it but it'll be a slog.

Round 12 Sun 6 Jun 4:40pm Dockers Optus Stadium- We should win but might be tough over there

Round 14 Sat 19 Jun 12:00pm Cats GMHBA Stadium- Cats in Geelong will be tough but we're a better team

Round 15 Sat 26 Jun 12:00pm Eagles Optus Stadium- Difficult proposition, don't think we can win it

Round 16 Sat 3 Jul 12:00pm Kangaroos Marvel Stadium- Things would have to fall apart to lose that

Round 17 Sat 10 Jul 12:00pm Swans Marvel Stadium- I think that we should be able to account for the Swans at Marvel

Round 18 Sat 17 Jul 12:00pm Suns Metricon Stadium- Suns aren't as bad as their record suggests but I still have us winning

Round 19 Sat 24 Jul 12:00pm Crows Mars Stadium- Ditto for the Crows, comes down to which Crows come to play as their worst is abysmal and their best is awesome.

Round 20 Sat 31 Jul 12:00pm Demons MCG- Another lineball game, would not be shocked if we split the games one apiece. Demon's have had a very good injury run so things could change over two months

Round 21 Sat 7 Aug 12:00pm Bombers Marvel Stadium- They can knock off good teams when they're on but they'd need to drag us down to their level.

Round 22 Sat 14 Aug 12:00pm Hawks UTAS Stadium- Cannot see a loss, Hawks are pretty insipid.

Round 23 Sat 21 Aug 12:00pm Power Marvel Stadium- Should win this, Power aren't anywhere near as threatening away from Adelaide and they got a lot of lucky calls against us.

I'd put us down for 7 more wins.

23-05-2021, 01:55 PM

Never..

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_VFL/AFL_minor_premiers

23-05-2021, 01:57 PM
Round 11 Fri 28 May 7:50pm Demons Marvel Stadium- Lineball, I think we can win it but it'll be a slog.

Round 12 Sun 6 Jun 4:40pm Dockers Optus Stadium- We should win but might be tough over there

Round 14 Sat 19 Jun 12:00pm Cats GMHBA Stadium- Cats in Geelong will be tough but we're a better team

Round 15 Sat 26 Jun 12:00pm Eagles Optus Stadium- Difficult proposition, don't think we can win it

Round 16 Sat 3 Jul 12:00pm Kangaroos Marvel Stadium- Things would have to fall apart to lose that

Round 17 Sat 10 Jul 12:00pm Swans Marvel Stadium- I think that we should be able to account for the Swans at Marvel

Round 18 Sat 17 Jul 12:00pm Suns Metricon Stadium- Suns aren't as bad as their record suggests but I still have us winning

Round 19 Sat 24 Jul 12:00pm Crows Mars Stadium- Ditto for the Crows, comes down to which Crows come to play as their worst is abysmal and their best is awesome.

Round 20 Sat 31 Jul 12:00pm Demons MCG- Another lineball game, would not be shocked if we split the games one apiece. Demon's have had a very good injury run so things could change over two months

Round 21 Sat 7 Aug 12:00pm Bombers Marvel Stadium- They can knock off good teams when they're on but they'd need to drag us down to their level.

Round 22 Sat 14 Aug 12:00pm Hawks UTAS Stadium- Cannot see a loss, Hawks are pretty insipid.

Round 23 Sat 21 Aug 12:00pm Power Marvel Stadium- Should win this, Power aren't anywhere near as threatening away from Adelaide and they got a lot of lucky calls against us.

I'd put us down for 7 more wins.

So go from 9-1 to 7-5?
Would our confidence be where we’d want it to be going into finals ?

23-05-2021, 03:37 PM

Never..

1998 was the closest. We had to beat North in the last game of the round and lost by a goal.

I would love to be minor premiers with more than 16 wins (current highest ever)

23-05-2021, 03:48 PM
Never..

1998 was the closest. We had to beat North in the last game of the round and lost by a goal.

I’d love this group to make some more history.

23-05-2021, 04:03 PM

That was as close to a final a home and away game gets. Incredible atmosphere at the G, ripping game, Carey and Grant.
North had a great side back then. Ours wasnt too shabby either.

29-05-2021, 03:11 PM

9-2 Current W/L

4 Games at Marvel
2 Games in WA

5 Games vs Top 8 Opponents
6 Games vs Non Top 8 Opponents - Most bottom 6

Treloar
McLean
Richards
Dunkley
Hannan
Martin
Gardner
Wood
Scott
Garcia
Vandermeer
Jong

Fixture:

Bye
Bye

I’m thinking 16-17 wins in total, which should still be top 2. Week after week, post the bye, we get good players back which should keep us improving post bye.

29-05-2021, 03:20 PM
Depends what happens with lockdown. If we're sent to a hub for the remainder of the season, or a big chunk of it, another 4-5 wins is on the cards.

29-05-2021, 03:24 PM
I think we can get 6 more for sure. 15 wins should be top 4.

29-05-2021, 03:25 PM
We Should be able to win 8 more at minimum. Six teams outside the 8 and at least 2 of 5 in 8, if not more

29-05-2021, 06:37 PM
5-6 more wins.

06-06-2021, 11:26 PM
Bye Edition

How many wins from here?

10-2 Current W/L

4 Games at Marvel
3 Games interstate in WA, Tassie, Gold Coast
3 Games in Victoria (other) Ballarat, Geelong & MCG

5 Games vs Top 8 Opponents
5 Games vs Non Top 8 Opponents - 4 are bottom 6 sides

Players to come back to fitness after the bye:

McLean - Available
Richards - Available
Garcia - Available
Jamarra - Available
Wood - Available to Two Weeks
—————————————-
Dunkley - 4-6 Weeks +/-
Treloar - 4-6 Weeks +/-
Vandermeer - 6 Weeks +/-
Jong - 6 Weeks +/-
Martin - Unknown

Fixture:

I’m still thinking 16-17 wins in total, which should still be top 2. Week after week, we get good players back which should keep us improving all the way to Round 23.

06-06-2021, 11:31 PM

Well we're back on track to where I thought we'd be at this point. It's easy to underestimate how good a win tonight's was, and while I get it wasn't perfect and that we were slightly lucky with Fremantle's injuries late in the game it was a good win and we maintain touch with top spot.

07-06-2021, 12:45 AM
I’d love to be able to take one of the next two. It’ll be tough, especially given we can’t take a trick on the injury front. But it’d be huge.

07-06-2021, 12:54 AM
I’d love to be able to take one of the next two. It’ll be tough, especially given we can’t take a trick on the injury front. But it’d be huge.

McLean, Richards, Garcia, Wood, McNeil & Jamarra all likely on the table again after injury/concussion for Geelong. Things hopefully looking up on this front soon.

07-06-2021, 08:08 AM
Anyone with thoughts on how many wins needed to make the eight this year? I'm thinking 13 and a team or two with 13 wins will miss out on percentage.

07-06-2021, 01:52 PM
Anyone with thoughts on how many wins needed to make the eight this year? I'm thinking 13 and a team or two with 13 wins will miss out on percentage.

I'd say 12 wins would be needed to make the 8 and somebody misses on percentage. If I had to guess, Essendon finishes 9th and West Coast 8th.

07-06-2021, 03:31 PM
Bye Edition

Fixture:

Round 14 Sat 19 Jun 12:00pm Cats GMHBA Stadium - 3rd - Loss
Round 15 Sat 26 Jun 12:00pm Eagles Optus Stadium - 6th - Loss
Round 16 Sat 3 Jul 12:00pm Kangaroos Marvel Stadium - 18th - Win
Round 17 Sat 10 Jul 12:00pm Swans Marvel Stadium - 7th - Win
Round 18 Sat 17 Jul 12:00pm Suns Metricon Stadium - 15th - Win
Round 19 Sat 24 Jul 12:00pm Crows Mars Stadium - 12th - Win
Round 20 Sat 31 Jul 12:00pm Demons MCG - 2nd - Loss
Round 21 Sat 7 Aug 12:00pm Bombers Marvel Stadium - 14th - Win
Round 22 Sat 14 Aug 12:00pm Hawks UTAS Stadium - 17th - Win
Round 23 Sat 21 Aug 12:00pm Power Marvel Stadium - 5th - Win

Puts us at 17 wins which pretty much guarantees top 4, probably top 2.

08-06-2021, 12:29 PM

I'd say 12 wins would be needed to make the 8 and somebody misses on percentage. If I had to guess, Essendon finishes 9th and West Coast 8th.

I did a very quick ladder predictor without much thought and indeed Essendon & West Coast ended up 8th/9th on 12 wins each, GWS 11 and St Kilda 10 (Sydney 7th with 13).

The top 4 could be very tight, I had us finishing 2nd with 18 wins which might be slightly optimistic, but Port, Brisbane & Richmond ended up with 17 and Geelong 16. Somehow I had Richmond not losing another game though which surely can't be correct. If we can largely maintain our percentage it's worth an extra game and could be important to our final ladder position.

08-06-2021, 12:35 PM
I did a very quick ladder predictor without much thought and indeed Essendon & West Coast ended up 8th/9th on 12 wins each, GWS 11 and St Kilda 10 (Sydney 7th with 13).

The top 4 could be very tight, I had us finishing 2nd with 18 wins which might be slightly optimistic, but Port, Brisbane & Richmond ended up with 17 and Geelong 16. Somehow I had Richmond not losing another game though which surely can't be correct. If we can largely maintain our percentage it's worth an extra game and could be important to our final ladder position.

I did the same. 17 wins being a bit conservative. From there I hope third is Brisbane or Port. I don’t think there’s much chance of a Docklands home final first week at all. But a low drawing interstate team might give us an outside chance to get it (roof shut). That would actually be the advantage top 2 teams are meant to get.

08-06-2021, 12:41 PM
I did the same. 17 wins being a bit conservative. From there I hope third is Brisbane or Port. I don’t think there’s much chance of a Docklands home final first week at all. But a low drawing interstate team might give us an outside chance to get it (roof shut). That would actually be the advantage top 2 teams are meant to get.

Just have to hope for another outbreak and no crowds for a Marvel final!

Just kidding.:D

08-06-2021, 12:52 PM
Just have to hope for another outbreak and no crowds for a Marvel final!

Just kidding.:D

Ha!

Thinking about what the afel cares most about, the integrity of their money. If there’s something like a 50% capacity, they’ll take it to the MCG to double the ticket sales. We need 100% allotment for sale and then Docklands or MCG doesn’t impact the afel bottom line. So maybe we get a chance at successfully lobbying for a ‘home final’.

The dominoes: We finish second. Port or Bris finish third. No Covid restrictions to stadiums in September. Successfully lobby afel. Get true ‘home final’. Win three games in a row.

08-06-2021, 03:49 PM
I did a ladder predictor…had us finishing 3rd, playing Brisbane at the Gabba..lose that and come up against Rich at MCG…now that would suck.

08-06-2021, 04:18 PM
I did a ladder predictor…had us finishing 3rd, playing Brisbane at the Gabba..lose that and come up against Rich at MCG…now that would suck.

How did we finish 3rd after losing most of the remaining games? ;)

08-06-2021, 04:35 PM

This is DOG GOD we're talking about yeah?. A fine, but pessimistic man.

08-06-2021, 04:59 PM

Lock in Geelong as a win. ;)

08-06-2021, 05:47 PM
West Coast have a few out injured. Not sure how many come back for game against us. If they still have a few stars out might even things up a bit, especially if Stef Martin is ok to play.

And I truly believe if our players heads are in right spot we can beat Geelong at Cattery, even with our injuries.

08-06-2021, 05:52 PM

I hope so. I see no reason why we can’t. But playing at the shittery is never much fun. Even with Danger back for them I think our mids are too good. We just need high intensity all over the ground. Geelong typically bring that across all lines.

08-06-2021, 05:52 PM
West Coast have a few out injured. Not sure how many come back for game against us. If they still have a few stars out might even things up a bit, especially if Stef Martin is ok to play.

And I truly believe if our players heads are in right spot we can beat Geelong at Cattery, even with our injuries.

West Coast definitely vulnerable right now.

08-06-2021, 06:18 PM

We won't be making the eight so what's the problem?

08-06-2021, 06:31 PM

I think I have attended just two wins at KP over the years and both looked like big losses until we ramped it up in the 2nd half.

I like our chances against them though

08-06-2021, 06:43 PM
Best case scenario Axe Man. Best case scenario.

Personally, we are playing OK..but not to the standard of Melb, Bris or Rich. We have been winning, but not playing anywhere near our potential. Need Dunks and Treloar back ASAP, and I’ll probably feel more positive. Geel/WC will be hard, and most on here predict losses (I’m not alone there), and I wouldn’t say we have the EASIEST draw of the top 6. Interesting times ahead.

If I’m too much of a “Debbie Downer”, then I can certainly just read from now on.

08-06-2021, 07:07 PM

Personally, we are playing OK..but not to the standard of Melb, Bris or Rich. We have been winning, but not playing anywhere near our potential. Need Dunks and Treloar back ASAP, and I’ll probably feel more positive. Geel/WC will be hard, and most on here predict losses (I’m not alone there), and I wouldn’t say we have the EASIEST draw of the top 6. Interesting times ahead.

If I’m too much of a “Debbie Downer”, then I can certainly just read from now on.

We actually enjoy your particular perspective, don't take the ribbing seriously.

08-06-2021, 07:14 PM
We actually enjoy your particular perspective, don't take the ribbing seriously.

Yep. That’s how you know you’re truly part of the furniture around here. That and having a sixth sense as to when Twodogs will bring up the Hamling trade.

08-06-2021, 07:16 PM

Just teasing DG, please continue to share your views, even if they are surprisingly pessimistic at times.

Even if we lose to Geelong, WC and Melbourne we are still a good chance to finish second with our superior percentage. Obviously that relies on winning the games we should win against sides out of the 8 and Sydney and Port at Marvel (hopefully).

08-06-2021, 07:18 PM
All good Jeemak. Appreciate that.

08-06-2021, 07:31 PM
Just teasing DG, please continue to share your views, even if they are surprisingly pessimistic at times.

Even if we lose to Geelong, WC and Melbourne we are still a good chance to finish second with our superior percentage. Obviously that relies on winning the games we should win against sides out of the 8 and Sydney and Port at Marvel (hopefully).

Will do Axe Man

08-06-2021, 07:31 PM
Not a bad result when worst case scenario is finishing 3rd from here!

And I agree with you DG, we aren't anywhere near firing on all cylinders like Melbourne are right now and have some clear weaknesses that they haven't displayed BUT I guess the silver lining is we have 2-3 months to sort it out while getting back some good players at the same time.

08-06-2021, 07:33 PM
I done the ladder predictor and had us finishing 1st. If fact we didn't lose another game! I may have had my RWB goggles well and truly on.

But seriously 17 wins is a decent result that will set us up nicely for a proper tilt. Hopefully no more serious injuries and Dunks and Treloar are back fit and firing at the right time of year. So much hinges on our midfield depth/strength so that we don't expose our defense who aren't great 1 on 1

08-06-2021, 07:56 PM

I think people here respect your views and input enough to roll with the the flow.
We can't all be cheerleaders

08-06-2021, 08:15 PM

Exactly, we want all views.

08-06-2021, 08:16 PM

I think we’re pretty similar DG in our views. We have high expectations of the team and judge them on their ability to win the premiership. That and we’re so used to being burnt that we don’t want to get our hopes up. I know I’ve never been the same since 97. I thought 2016 would rectify it but hasn’t really.

I agree we’re not at the same level as Dees, Cats and Tigers. I honesty believe the talent is there (except defence but everyone has a weakness). It’s a question of effort and intensity against the better sides. We’re just not as consistent and when the heat is on, we can succumb to it. Freo let us off the hook last week with some horrendous skill errors. The best teams won’t. I’m trying to enjoy the ride but game day gets the best of me at times. :D

08-06-2021, 09:40 PM
I think we’re pretty similar DG in our views. We have high expectations of the team and judge them on their ability to win the premiership. That and we’re so used to being burnt that we don’t want to get our hopes up. I know I’ve never been the same since 97. I thought 2016 would rectify it but hasn’t really.

I agree we’re not at the same level as Dees, Cats and Tigers. I honesty believe the talent is there (except defence but everyone has a weakness). It’s a question of effort and intensity against the better sides. We’re just not as consistent and when the heat is on, we can succumb to it. Freo let us off the hook last week with some horrendous skill errors. The best teams won’t. I’m trying to enjoy the ride but game day gets the best of me at times. :D

I agree with what you’re saying, and I certainly see through your glasses too. There is that expectation. 2016 was one of the greatest moments of my sporting life (even though I was in the USA at the time, which I booked 18 months beforehand), and I think after being on such a high and so much to look fwd to, the next 3 years really took a toll. I’m enjoying the season, and I’m enjoying the ride.

08-06-2021, 11:30 PM
Don't go getting Loco Essay you're loved here DG.

08-06-2021, 11:58 PM
I agree with what you’re saying, and I certainly see through your glasses too. There is that expectation. 2016 was one of the greatest moments of my sporting life (even though I was in the USA at the time, which I booked 18 months beforehand), and I think after being on such a high and so much to look fwd to, the next 3 years really took a toll. I’m enjoying the season, and I’m enjoying the ride.

Yeah, best not to look back (except 2016), and enjoy where we are at the moment.

I am loving watching the Bont and see what he does and how he can turn a game and Naughton is one of the best young forwards I have seen for a long time.

We have lots of good players, and they just have to work as a team and we will be unstoppable.

09-06-2021, 03:10 AM
I've pinned my colours to the mast wins wise, and wouldn't have been so bullish in previous seasons.

Having just watched the Freo game, we are much too good not to be in the top four. We didn't play well at all, it seemed sluggish all game however, we just had answers.

We've lost to Melbourne and Richmond this year. That's it. We can build, while I get the impression they are what they are and it's been seen already.

This is more like 2016 than we give it credit for.

09-06-2021, 08:50 AM
I've pinned my colours to the mast wins wise, and wouldn't have been so bullish in previous seasons.

Having just watched the Freo game, we are much too good not to be in the top four. We didn't play well at all, it seemed sluggish all game however, we just had answers.

We've lost to Melbourne and Richmond this year. That's it. We can build, while I get the impression they are what they are and it's been seen already.

This is more like 2016 than we give it credit for.

It never really clicked for us in 2016 until it mattered and when it did.. well we all know the story. Given the lack of continuity this year (we've played the most players in the comp!) it's fairly remarkable we're sitting 2nd on the ladder.

Lots to look forward to in the 2nd half of the year as we get players back and look to settle on what looks our best team, but it's good to know that we probably have 30-35 players who could realistically play in our first final, and all play a role which is a great position to be in.

09-06-2021, 08:59 AM

Thanks DG.

Your prediction really buoyed me, based on the fact you are least likely to pick us to win any week. I am now certain we can't miss top 4.

The fact that we need to lose 3 more games than Brisbane from this point, to not be top 2, also makes me fairly confident that we finish ahead of them.

09-06-2021, 10:20 AM
It never really clicked for us in 2016 until it mattered and when it did.. well we all know the story. Given the lack of continuity this year (we've played the most players in the comp!) it's fairly remarkable we're sitting 2nd on the ladder.

Lots to look forward to in the 2nd half of the year as we get players back and look to settle on what looks our best team, but it's good to know that we probably have 30-35 players who could realistically play in our first final, and all play a role which is a great position to be in.

The fact we're 10-2 and have played been forced to play Jordon Sweet as a stand alone ruck for a decent portion of the season, as well as missing Dunkley and Treloar is pretty encouraging. If you took Gawn, Jackson, Oliver and Viney out of Melbourne for an extended period at the same time, I'm sure they would look completely different.

The next 10 weeks is all about staying as fit as possible while finding our best combination, particularly in the defensive half.

09-06-2021, 12:21 PM

It clicked enough for us to win 15 games in the home and away season, usually enough to get you into the top four at the time. In 2016 we got punished a little more severely with injuries, but we're having a decent crack at that this year as well.

I get it's not the same, but the major difference is we're probably a bit better talent wise now than we were then so can mask the injuries better.

09-06-2021, 12:54 PM

I'm firmly of the belief that if we were able to get over the line against Adelaide in the 2015 EF, we would have been able to do in that September what we did 12 months later. We were travelling beautifully leading into the 2015 finals series, probably as good as we have at any stage of the Bevo era up to this year.

14-06-2021, 01:46 PM
Will do Axe Man

Keep posting mate. This forum would be bloody boring if we agreed.

14-06-2021, 02:20 PM
Keep posting mate. This forum would be bloody boring if we agreed.

I disagree.

14-06-2021, 03:57 PM
I disagree.

Can you agree to disagree?

14-06-2021, 04:26 PM
I disagree.

19-06-2021, 12:01 AM

10-4 Current W/L
2nd Ladder - Equal Points with Geelong, Brisbane, Port Adelaide

4 Games at Marvel
2 Games in Victoria (Ballarat & MCG)
2 Games interstate (Gold Coast 16th, Tasmania 17th)

3 Games vs Top 8 Opponents (All in Melbourne: 2 x Docklands, 1 x MCG)
5 Games vs Non Top 8 Opponents - a game against each of the bottom 3 teams, plus 11th & 13th

Treloar
Dunkley
Martin
Wood
Vandermeer
Jong

Fixture:

Round 18 Sat 17 Jul 12:00pm Suns Metricon Stadium - 16th
Round 19 Sat 24 Jul 12:00pm Crows Mars Stadium - 13th
Round 20 Sat 31 Jul 12:00pm Demons MCG - 1st
Round 21 Sat 7 Aug 12:00pm Bombers Marvel Stadium - 11th
Round 23 Sat 21 Aug 12:00pm Power Marvel Stadium - 4th

I was thinking 16-17 wins in total. Hoping still for 17, could be 16. Still hoping for top 2, but it’s harder now after the Geelong result and no real room for bad results. Every post needs to be a winner.

19-06-2021, 12:43 AM
With 0 upsets it's 17

19-06-2021, 12:47 AM
Query - would you rather be Melbourne, who have coughed up games to average sides in Adelaide and Collingwood, or the Bulldogs who have lost to other contenders (noting that we have also defeated Lions and Port)?

19-06-2021, 12:47 AM
Query - would you rather be Melbourne, who have coughed up games to average sides in Adelaide and Collingwood, or the Bulldogs who have lost to other contenders (noting that we have also defeated Lions and Port)?

Melbourne - because they have stuff all injuries.

19-06-2021, 12:55 AM

Us jazza, because I couldn't stomach being Melbourne in any way.

19-06-2021, 12:59 AM
It looks like I need to reword my question - would you prefer that we had beaten Melbourne, Geelong and Richmond but lost to Collingwood and Carlton instead, or stick with our current season.

Argument would be that losing to contenders shows that we can't beat the other teams at our level, and they are the ones we have to beat in September.

But losing to lesser teams maybe exposes poor concentration, a side that lacks the killer punch.

I think I prefer our season where we have put away the poor sides, and competed in every game even when we have lost.

19-06-2021, 09:43 AM
It looks like I need to reword my question - would you prefer that we had beaten Melbourne, Geelong and Richmond but lost to Collingwood and Carlton instead, or stick with our current season.

Argument would be that losing to contenders shows that we can't beat the other teams at our level, and they are the ones we have to beat in September.

But losing to lesser teams maybe exposes poor concentration, a side that lacks the killer punch.

I think I prefer our season where we have put away the poor sides, and competed in every game even when we have lost.

Starting to feel like 08, 09 under Eade.

3 scenarios for me-

We are good enough and in the right circumstances we beat the best teams when it counts

We aren’t good enough and lose when it counts.

Things derail from here with injury and pandemic disruptions. I’m thinking it’s this one ��

19-06-2021, 09:45 AM
I reckon we have 5 wins left in us.

Too many injuries to key players, very likely about to go on a 2 loss skid which will impact confidence/form.

19-06-2021, 10:21 AM
I reckon we have 5 wins left in us.

Too many injuries to key players, very likely about to go on a 2 loss skid which will impact confidence/form.

Our great start has given us a nice buffer. We'll drop the WC game and have a good run of winnable games up until Round 20 against Melbourne. Hopefully we're getting healthy by then.

19-06-2021, 10:57 AM
I think we will get to 17 wins .

Our percentage helps us get top two IMO .

19-06-2021, 11:21 AM

And West Coast too.

19-06-2021, 11:57 AM

From a ladder pov you'd rather beat the other contenders as those are the old "8 point games".

I'm pretty content though with how things have panned out though. We have shown what we are capable of against the lesser sides and have shown enough to belive we can beat the good sides as well. If we were getting blown away by the good sides I'd be a bit more down.

19-06-2021, 01:44 PM
Even allowing for us to be beaten by West Coast and Melbourne....chance we might still win either or both...I have us second on the ladder predictor with 17 wins....on percentage.

19-06-2021, 05:46 PM
Even allowing for us to be beaten by West Coast and Melbourne....chance we might still win either or both...I have us second on the ladder predictor with 17 wins....on percentage.

Yeah I had much the same. I’m actually pretty encouraged by the performance last night.

19-06-2021, 05:49 PM
I think I had us losing to all of Freo, Geelong and WCE though winning against Melbourne so we're on track with how I thought we'd go to this point on balance.

24-06-2021, 05:50 PM
The run Home (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/963151/the-run-home-bulldogs-fixture-analysed)

The Western Bulldogs have been ranked as having the 14th most difficult run home across the league, according to Champion Data.

Despite having to face four current top-eight sides, five of the Bulldogs’ final nine games are scheduled to be played in Melbourne.
Currently halfway through a seven-day hotel quarantine in Perth in preparation to meet West Coast at Optus Stadium on Sunday, the

Bulldogs will return to Melbourne and host two back-to-back home games at Marvel Stadium.

Hawthorn has been ranked as having the most difficult run home, while reigning premier Richmond statistically has the most advantageous.

WESTERN BULLDOGS FIXTURE R15-23

Round 15 vs West Coast, Optus Stadium
Round 16 vs North Melbourne, Marvel Stadium
Round 17 vs Sydney, Marvel Stadium
Round 18 vs Gold Coast, Metricon
Round 19 vs Adelaide, MARS Stadium
Round 20 vs Melbourne, MCG
Round 21 vs Essendon, Marvel Stadium
Round 22 vs Hawthorn, UTAS Stadium
Round 23 vs Port Adelaide, Marvel Stadium

CLUB
FIXTURE DIFFICULTY
(R15-23)
RANK

Hawthorn
+7.0

St Kilda
+5.4

North Melbourne
+4.1

Gold Coast Suns
+3.8

GWS Giants
+3.5

Melbourne
+3.4

Adelaide Crows
+3.3

Essendon
+0.5

Fremantle
+0.2

Collingwood

West Coast Eagles

Port Adelaide

Sydney Swans

Western Bulldogs

Geelong Cats

Brisbane Lions

Carlton

Richmond

* Ranking indicates hardest-to-easiest.

24-06-2021, 05:58 PM
It’s sucks Geelong & Brisbane have soft draws too. I hope the loss last Friday doesn’t impact the final ladder.

Only one interstate travel after this one is handy. Maybe the after could swing it to the MCG or Etihad since it’s against the Hawks.

24-06-2021, 06:13 PM
It’s sucks Geelong & Brisbane have soft draws too. I hope the loss last Friday doesn’t impact the final ladder.

Only one interstate travel after this one is handy. Maybe the after could swing it to the MCG or Etihad since it’s against the Hawks.

I did the ladder predictor and I am looking at a total of 17 wins and top two

25-06-2021, 01:13 AM

Did the predictor myself, finish top two if we are fair dinkum.

25-06-2021, 09:20 AM

Me too. Doesn't it feel good.

25-06-2021, 09:22 AM
I think people here respect your views and input enough to roll with the the flow.
We can't all be cheerleaders

Speak for yourself G. I love cheerleading.

25-06-2021, 09:45 AM
Speak for yourself G. I love cheerleading.

The outfit really compliments your legs too!

25-06-2021, 12:25 PM
In doing a ladder predictor, what stands out is how damn close this competition is. At different stages I had Port, Brisbane and us on top so it's really going to come down to the wire.

Our percentage is key - highlights how big of a drop the game was v Geelong and how important Sunday is v Eagles.

25-06-2021, 12:32 PM
Melbourne have us, WC in Perth, Port in Adelaide and Geelong down there. Going to be tough for them. If Port beat Melbourne in Adelaide, looking at the draw, I have Port taking 4th spot and Melbourne 5th. Getting a Melbourne final against Port would be a dream come true.

25-06-2021, 05:43 PM
If Bris get a top 2 spot, they will be very hard to beat. We certainly don’t want to be going there for a prelim.

25-06-2021, 06:22 PM
If Bris get a top 2 spot, they will be very hard to beat. We certainly don’t want to be going there for a prelim.

They are quick and traditionally front runners. If you hold them early and play tough, tight, contested football players like Cameron, Hipwood really struggle.

Will be interesting to see if that has changed in 2021

27-06-2021, 06:48 PM

11-3 Current W/L
Huge percentage gap
2nd Ladder

4 Games at Marvel

5 Games vs Non Top 8 Opponents - a game against each of the bottom 3 teams, plus 11th & 13th

Treloar
Dunkley
Martin
Wood
Vandermeer
Jong

Fixture:

Should be at least 17 wins.

27-06-2021, 07:03 PM
I'm ecstatic that we've won two of the toughest four weeks under duress many teams are likely to experience.

27-06-2021, 07:04 PM
Undefeated for remainder of the year :)

27-06-2021, 07:43 PM
Dogs 2nd -

Six wins takes us to 17 wins. Beating Melbourne is 18 wins. Dropping one game somewhere only.

Dees 1st -

Round 16 GWS @ MCG
Round 17 PORT @ Port
Round 18 Hawthorn @ MCG
Round 19 SUNS @ Suns
Round 20 Dogs @ MCG
Round 21 WCE @ WCE
Round 22 Adelaide @ MCG
Round 23 Geelong @ Geelong

Five wins takes them 17 wins. Losing to Dogs, and two of Port at Port, Geelong at Geelong or WCE at WCE.

Even if they get to 18 wins. If we beat them and take care of business in the games around it, our superior percentage has up on top. That must be the goal now.

28-06-2021, 01:37 PM
I'm ecstatic that we've won two of the toughest four weeks under duress many teams are likely to experience.

Yep. This was a huge danger period for us and we were a kick away from 3 wins. We're on and have better players than most teams' best players to come back in.

30-06-2021, 02:37 AM
Yep. This was a huge danger period for us and we were a kick away from 3 wins. We're on and have better players than most teams' best players to come back in.

I think a real challenge comes in the next few weeks. It's been a tough period for us and we've met the challenges, but leading up to it we showed some vulnerability albeit winning at times against lesser sides and I really want to see us stamp that out in the next few weeks.

If we relax this week we'll get a scare. If we do the same the following weeks we'll get rolled. We are a good side but we're not great yet, and we need to concentrate in each game we play otherwise we could drop one we shouldn't.

30-06-2021, 09:54 AM
I think a real challenge comes in the next few weeks. It's been a tough period for us and we've met the challenges, but leading up to it we showed some vulnerability albeit winning at times against lesser sides and I really want to see us stamp that out in the next few weeks.

If we relax this week we'll get a scare. If we do the same the following weeks we'll get rolled. We are a good side but we're not great yet, and we need to concentrate in each game we play otherwise we could drop one we shouldn't.

I doubt we pump North by 100 points again. They have tightened up their defense. I just hope we go in with a good attitude and not think it will be a walk over.

30-06-2021, 10:04 AM
Yeah North are considerably more cohesive than when we played them earlier in the year. We aren’t going to lose but I doubt that they pack it in again.

30-06-2021, 11:04 AM
No game will be easy if we don’t have the right mindset. We’ve got through the toughest period. We don’t want to drop one we start mega favourites in.

30-06-2021, 11:55 AM

Both in Perth :cool:

04-07-2021, 10:39 PM

12-3 Current W/L
Huge percentage gap
TOP of the Ladder

3 Games at Marvel

4 Games vs Non Top 8 Opponents - 12th, 14th, 15th, 17th)

Treloar ?
Naughton
Dunkley
Martin
Wood
Vandermeer
Jong

Fixture:

Round 17 Sat 10 Jul 12:00pm Swans Marvel Stadium - 6th
Round 18 Sat 17 Jul 12:00pm Suns Metricon Stadium - 14th
Round 19 Sat 24 Jul 12:00pm Crows Mars Stadium - 15th
Round 21 Sat 7 Aug 12:00pm Bombers Marvel Stadium - 12th

Should be at least 17 wins. With percentage is top 2 if not top. That’s dropping up to two and being minor premier.

04-07-2021, 10:41 PM
Plenty of water to go under the bridge - some tricky games in that lot.

04-07-2021, 11:56 PM
Fixture:

Round 17 Sat 10 Jul 12:00pm Swans Marvel Stadium - 6th WIN
Round 18 Sat 17 Jul 12:00pm Suns Metricon Stadium - 14th WIN
Round 19 Sat 24 Jul 12:00pm Crows Mars Stadium - 15th WIN
Round 20 Sat 31 Jul 12:00pm Demons MCG - 2nd 50/50
Round 21 Sat 7 Aug 12:00pm Bombers Marvel Stadium - 12th WIN
Round 22 Sat 14 Aug 12:00pm Hawks UTAS Stadium - 17th WIN
Round 23 Sat 21 Aug 12:00pm Power Marvel Stadium - 4th 50/50

05-07-2021, 12:01 AM
I'm most worried about the EFC game. Reckon they're flukey enough to worry us particularly if we're not on song.

05-07-2021, 12:35 AM
I'm most worried about the EFC game. Reckon they're flukey enough to worry us particularly if we're not on song.

I reckon we absolutely belt Essendon. It’s really hard to not get sucked in by the state-controlled media hype that’s always behind them but they honestly ain’t shit.

05-07-2021, 12:36 AM
I reckon we absolutely belt Essendon. It’s really hard to not get sucked in by the state-controlled media hype that’s always behind them but they honestly ain’t shit.

They were every chance to beat Geelong according to the SCM. Only very, very wrong.

05-07-2021, 12:41 AM
Yeah, we've given them what for these past couple of years and as I said they're a bit flukey and it's at Marvel. It's not media bias that makes me believe what I believe, it's just looking at them as a team we've belted the past couple of years and them possibly getting up for the challenge to get one back.

It's also scheduled after a massive game that I think we win.

05-07-2021, 12:45 AM
Yeah, we've given them what for these past couple of years and as I said they're a bit flukey and it's at Marvel. It's not media bias that makes me believe what I believe, it's just looking at them as a team we've belted the past couple of years and them possibly getting up for the challenge to get one back.

It's also scheduled after a massive game that I think we win.

I think when they have no finals to play for and everyone has played to get their contract and got it, winning only costs Dodoro Draft spots, injured players are put on ice, there will be no signs of life. We need to turn up to play, but I don’t fear it.

05-07-2021, 12:47 AM
We’re getting essendon at the right time. I understand the concern though as they have looked good at times this year no doubt. But round 21 is a great time to get them. Tired, finals gone and more to gain by losing.

05-07-2021, 07:52 AM
3 Games at Marvel

Might have another of those interstate games in Vic - potential to play the suns away game at our home ground….

Can’t bank on it and shouldn’t matter anyway if we’re genuine contenders - just excited I may get to go to more footy after the demons - eagles 5 week stint….

05-07-2021, 09:21 AM
In terms of banana peel type matches, the next two weeks are particularly slippery.

05-07-2021, 09:24 AM
Swans are the real deal. I’m pretty concerned after what they’ve shown since the bye.

05-07-2021, 09:30 AM
Swans are the real deal. I’m pretty concerned after what they’ve shown since the bye.

They aren't at the same level as us... we come with the right mindset, and a little fresher in the legs and we win this one with a bit left in the tank.

05-07-2021, 09:47 AM
They are quick and traditionally front runners. If you hold them early and play tough, tight, contested football players like Cameron, Hipwood really struggle.

Will be interesting to see if that has changed in 2021
They should have been in the GF in 2019 - lost by 3 points to GWS who should not have had Greene playing (should have been suspended).
Given our injuries and question marks in defence I'm surprised they're not GF favourites. I rate them higher than Melbourne.

05-07-2021, 11:56 PM
They should have been in the GF in 2019 - lost by 3 points to GWS who should not have had Greene playing (should have been suspended).
Given our injuries and question marks in defence I'm surprised they're not GF favourites. I rate them higher than Melbourne.

We beat them comfortably earlier in the year

07-07-2021, 01:13 PM
We may become the only premiere to play mainly Sundays.

07-07-2021, 01:27 PM
They aren't at the same level as us... we come with the right mindset, and a little fresher in the legs and we win this one with a bit left in the tank.

Without Naughton, not as sure about this, but hope you are right.

07-07-2021, 01:42 PM
We may become the only premiere to play mainly Sundays.

Including this round:
Friday 6
Saturday 4
Sunday 6

This week and the previous 2 have tipped the balance. A victim of circumstance this week with the 5 day break and covid travel considerations with other matches. We should have some more Friday and Saturday games coming up hopefully.

07-07-2021, 02:14 PM
We’re getting essendon at the right time. I understand the concern though as they have looked good at times this year no doubt. But round 21 is a great time to get them. Tired, finals gone and more to gain by losing.

Not sure on that. If they have a good July they will be right in contention for finals.

07-07-2021, 03:00 PM
Based on a quick ladder predictor, I have us needing 5 more wins to get us a top 4 spot. Obviously a lot can play out in 7 more games but if we get 5 out of 7 we should guarantee top 4. There is going to be a clear top 5 and then a clear 6-8 if things go to current form.

08-07-2021, 03:58 PM
I think if Melb lose tonight, it’s quite possible they will miss the top 4. With 7 games to go, I have the wins as the following…

Bulldogs - 5
Bris - 7
Melb - 4
Port - 6
Geel - 6

Make the top 5

Brisbane - 72 points
Bulldogs - 68
Geel- 68
Port- 68
——————
Melb - 64

08-07-2021, 04:05 PM
I think if Melb lose tonight, it’s quite possible they will miss the top 4. With 7 games to go, I have the wins as the following…

Bulldogs - 5
Bris - 7
Melb - 4
Port - 6
Geel - 6

Make the top 5

Brisbane - 72 points
Bulldogs - 68
Geel- 68
Port- 68
——————
Melb - 64

You have us winning 5 more games? Are you feeling OK DG? ;)

08-07-2021, 04:24 PM

Bulldogs - 5
Bris - 7
Melb - 4
Port - 6
Geel - 6

Make the top 5

Brisbane - 72 points
Bulldogs - 68
Geel- 68
Port- 68
——————
Melb - 64

I don’t want Geelong. Port need to boost their percentage.

08-07-2021, 04:25 PM
You have us winning 5 more games? Are you feeling OK DG? ;)

Feeling ok here ;)

I do indeed, but Sydney isn’t one of them ;)
I think Naughton is a huge out.

That, and Melb at the G are my 2 dogs losses.

Brisbane have a fairly easy run home so are the danger for our top spot.
Actually, the top 5 in general have fairly easy draws unfortunately.

What WE don’t want, is to see us slip up against sides we start favourites against.
It would be nice if Bris and Geel were to lose the odd one when they shouldn’t.

08-07-2021, 04:40 PM
Feeling ok here ;)

I do indeed, but Sydney isn’t one of them ;)
I think Naughton is a huge out.

That, and Melb at the G are my 2 dogs losses.

Brisbane have a fairly easy run home so are the danger for our top spot.
Actually, the top 5 in general have fairly easy draws unfortunately.

What WE don’t want, is to see us slip up against sides we start favourites against.
It would be nice if Bris and Geel were to lose the odd one when they shouldn’t.

I reckon your analysis is pretty spot on mate!

I would hate to play the cats or lions at home for a final - so a top 2 spot I think is really important for obvious reasons.

Having said that - I’d be furious if the AFL gifted the cats a home final against us at a ground that only holds c.35k

08-07-2021, 04:57 PM
Agree Ashmac. We do not want to be playing down there.
Ideally we would finish top and play Port. That’s our best shot for first week.

God forbid, we certainly don’t want Bris at the Gabba for a prelim.

08-07-2021, 04:58 PM

Agree 100%.

08-07-2021, 05:03 PM

Yeah screw that how bout we just keep winning? Also, Geelong have Freo in W.A and Richmond at the G. I mean they SHOULD win those but...

Do Geelong really play their last 3 games at home?

08-07-2021, 05:25 PM
Yeah screw that how bout we just keep winning? Also, Geelong have Freo in W.A and Richmond at the G. I mean they SHOULD win those but...

Do Geelong really play their last 3 games at home?

Yep…giants, saints and demons

12-07-2021, 09:15 PM
Dogs 2nd

Round 19 Sat 24 Jul 12:00pm Crows Mars Stadium - 16th

Five wins takes us to 17 wins. Dropping one.

Dees 1st -

Round 18 Hawthorn @ MCG
Round 19 SUNS @ Suns
Round 20 Dogs @ MCG
Round 21 WCE @ WCE
Round 22 Adelaide @ MCG

Five wins locks up top spot.

Geelong 3rd -

Round 18 Freo @ Freo
Round 19 Richmond @ MCG
Round 20 North @ Tassie
Round 21 GWS @ Geelong
Round 22 St Kilda @ Geelong
Round 23 Melbourne @ Geelong

Five wins too.

Brisbane probably can’t make up an extra win.

If that played out. Or even an extra loss to us, or win to Geelong = QF vs Geelong at MCG.

Edit: Only once in the recent times, when Geelong has qualified for a home final in the first week has it been played at GMHBA. That was against Freo in 2013. Every other time has been played at the MCG. Should crowds be 50%-100% in September, the afel will need the extra gate sales. So on the above it’s at the MCG.

13-07-2021, 10:29 AM
I will be rapt if we can win another 5 from here.

13-07-2021, 10:35 AM
Of those five potential wins there's 3 in there that we really should win and two (GC and Essendon) that are 50/50.

13-07-2021, 10:49 AM
Of those five potential wins there's 3 in there that we really should win and two (GC and Essendon) that are 50/50.

Essendon shouldn't be 50/50 but they'll be pushing hard for finals spot and will throw everything at us. Plenty of banana peels on our path to finals, if we're as good as we all hope we should be able to get through without falling on our arse.

13-07-2021, 11:53 AM
Essendon shouldn't be 50/50 but they'll be pushing hard for finals spot and will throw everything at us. Plenty of banana peels on our path to finals, if we're as good as we all hope we should be able to get through without falling on our arse.

Essendon can spew up anything. Dunkley and Naughty hopefully back this week or next will help immeasurably.

Unfortunately Greenwood has done his ACL which is shattering for him and the Suns as he's been a pressure bull this year. It's a really, really good out for us as they'll be a lot less pressure around the ball. I think he was leading tackles?

13-07-2021, 12:11 PM
Essendon can spew up anything. Dunkley and Naughty hopefully back this week or next will help immeasurably.

Unfortunately Greenwood has done his ACL which is shattering for him and the Suns as he's been a pressure bull this year. It's a really, really good out for us as they'll be a lot less pressure around the ball. I think he was leading tackles?

I really really hate long-term injuries to any club. Seeing Hipwood go down would be tough for Brisbane fans to see. I can only imagine what it'd be like feeling you're a chance this season and then one of your star players goes down. Just shows how much luck is requires to win a premiership yet the likes of Hawthorn, Geelong and Richmond seemed to be healthy season after season. Seems to be turning to Melbourne now.

13-07-2021, 12:24 PM

Greenwood has actually avoided an ACL injury, rather tearing his MCL. Will still miss the rest of the season but a much better result for him.

13-07-2021, 03:14 PM

Essendon won’t be easy, and GC certainly won’t be easy. They have a bit of confidence. Who remembers Sexton’s 3 1st qtr goals at Marvel ? I do. He loves our backline. Miller will have to be watched closely. For mine this upcoming game will shape what’s to come. Will we play 3 weeks of tired football with little to no run. ?

13-07-2021, 03:17 PM
Essendon won’t be easy, and GC certainly won’t be easy. They have a bit of confidence. Who remembers Sexton’s 3 1st qtr goals at Marvel ? I do. He loves our backline. Miller will have to be watched closely. For mine this upcoming game will shape what’s to come. Will we play 3 weeks of tired football with little to no run. ?

This week is a must win game, no doubt about it.

13-07-2021, 03:22 PM
This week is a must win game, no doubt about it.

I still remember GC with their 6 goals in the 3rd last time we played them. If they have another quarter like that…they win.

13-07-2021, 03:27 PM
I still remember GC with their 6 goals in the 3rd last time we played them. If they have another quarter like that…they win.

What about the 11 consecutive goals we kicked before then?

We will actually murder the Gold Coast. They’ve had a nice little run but it’ll be back to impending doom relocation talk this time next week.

13-07-2021, 03:31 PM
What about the 11 consecutive goals we kicked before then?

We will actually murder the Gold Coast. They’ve had a nice little run but it’ll be back to impending doom relocation talk this time next week.

We played out of our skin, and they were a rabble that day. They have improved, and we aren’t at that level at the moment.
To murder them Happy Days, I’m guessing you mean a 50+ point win ?

I’ll mark this comment as I think if we win, it will be JUST…(under a goal).

With the way our fwd line has looked the last 2 weeks, we’d be lucky to kick 11 for the game.

13-07-2021, 03:33 PM
We played out of our skin, and they were a rabble that day. They have improved, and we aren’t at that level at the moment.
To murder them Happy Days, I’m guessing you mean a 50+ point win ?

I’ll mark this comment as I think if we win, it will be JUST…(under a goal).

50 points easy. This is the exact sort of game where we crush the other team and then get told it doesn’t count.

13-07-2021, 03:40 PM
50 points easy. This is the exact sort of game where we crush the other team and then get told it doesn’t count.

I am with you, especially with Naughton and Dunks back in.

13-07-2021, 03:42 PM
More than happy to have some breezy 'doesn't count' wins the next few weeks.

13-07-2021, 03:48 PM
Man I hope you’re right.

16-07-2021, 11:47 PM
Ranked head into into the round.

Dogs 2nd - 48 Points

Five wins - 68 Points

Dees 1st - 52 Points

Round 18 Hawthorn @ MCG
Round 19 SUNS @ Suns
Round 20 Dogs @ MCG
Round 21 WCE @ WCE
Round 22 Adelaide @ MCG

Five wins - 72 Points

Geelong 3rd - 52 Points

Round 19 Richmond @ MCG
Round 20 North @ Tassie
Round 21 GWS @ Geelong

Four wins. 68 Points.

Brisbane now probably can’t make up an extra win. Port best is fourth.

1. Melbourne - 72
2. Dogs (percentage) - 68
3. Geelong -68
4. Brisbane/Port

If we dropped two games, then we and Geelong swap, which makes no effective difference. So it appears we have QF at the MCG with the opponent likely Geelong. If Melbourne dropped an extra one, we finish top and play Brisbane/Port. Either ways, I think Top 3 is almost locked up.

Keys: Dogs vs Dees in Round 20 and Dees vs Cats in Round 23.

Note: Only once in the recent times, when Geelong has qualified for a home final in the first week has it been played at GMHBA. That was against Freo in 2013. Every other time has been played at the MCG. Should crowds be 50%-100% in September, the afel will need the extra gate sales.

17-07-2021, 12:09 AM
I really hope this COVID bullshit eases off between now and then, as I can imagine a scenario in which Geelong get to play us at their shithole in front of nobody.

17-07-2021, 12:15 AM
I really hope this COVID bullshit eases off between now and then, as I can imagine a scenario in which Geelong get to play us at their shithole in front of nobody.

There’s 7 weeks, so that should be fine. If we can just stay equal with them to the end of the season our percentage takes care of that. That last minute of ours at their shithole a month ago I hope doesn’t come back to bite us.

17-07-2021, 09:48 AM
None. Things are about to go pear shaped.

I’ve woken up in a foul mood, sick, injured, and in lock down and am going to take my frustrations out on the footy ��. The wise thing to do would be log off. Instead I am going to make a bunch of negative, catastrophic statements here today, in my safe space.

17-07-2021, 09:57 AM

I’ve woken up in a foul mood, sick, injured, and in lock down and am going to take my frustrations out on the footy ��. The wise thing to do would be log off. Instead I am going to make a bunch of negative, catastrophic statements here today, in my safe space.

Rant away mate, we are here for you.

17-07-2021, 10:01 AM

Hope it’s not too serious SoS. Wishing you a speedy recovery and (fingers & toes crossed) an elixir of good vibes when the doggies win this arvo.

17-07-2021, 10:17 AM

The reverse kiss of death, I'm here for it.

17-07-2021, 10:29 AM

That's what worries me too.

17-07-2021, 10:33 AM
Hope it’s not too serious SoS. Wishing you a speedy recovery and (fingers & toes crossed) an elixir of good vibes when the doggies win this arvo.

A good win cures all! I’ll be OK in a few weeks.

With the COVID stuff I just have a nagging sense that we will really drop off or get the rough end of the stick. It’s caused disruption for us already and it doesn’t feel like every club has copped it yet. Can see certain clubs (Geelong) really getting a leg up through home ground advantage etc.

17-07-2021, 10:35 AM
Geelong has confirmed cases and exposure sites so they're no better off than anywhere else. This Delta variant is a bulldozer.

Wouldn't be surprised if there is a break in the season and everyone ends up in WA, with games also being played in SA.

17-07-2021, 10:37 AM
A good win cures all! I’ll be OK in a few weeks.

With the COVID stuff I just have a nagging sense that we will really drop off or get the rough end of the stick. It’s caused disruption for us already and it doesn’t feel like every club has copped it yet. Can see certain clubs (Geelong) really getting a leg up through home ground advantage etc.

We’ve played as well as anyone when on the road this year (4-0) so thinking a few days away will have galvanised the group after a poor one last Sunday.

17-07-2021, 11:29 AM
It’s actually a tough run home. Essendon playing for a finals spot with a couple of softer kills before then and Port will likely be playing for 4th.

Last week really hurts at the moment because it seems to be opening up for whoever finishes 1st. We will need to play very well to earn top spot and get a home final against Port or Brisbane. If we win the next 3 including the Melbourne game at least we can turn for home knowing that option is in our hands.

17-07-2021, 01:10 PM
Geelong has confirmed cases and exposure sites so they're no better off than anywhere else. This Delta variant is a bulldozer.

Wouldn't be surprised if there is a break in the season and everyone ends up in WA, with games also being played in SA.

Tassie is in the best position of anyone, as we have had pretty much zero cases for 12 months. Gill’s reluctance to bring the teams here are surely based on something (possibly not wanting to give Tassie their own team, and by bringing it all down here, will only exasperate that for fans). We have 2 grounds (north and south), a 2 hr drive from each other, with one of the best ground surfaces (Launceston) in the AFL. Makes sense to me.

17-07-2021, 01:13 PM
It’s actually a tough run home. Essendon playing for a finals spot with a couple of softer kills before then and Port will likely be playing for 4th.

Last week really hurts at the moment because it seems to be opening up for whoever finishes 1st. We will need to play very well to earn top spot and get a home final against Port or Brisbane. If we win the next 3 including the Melbourne game at least we can turn for home knowing that option is in our hands.

Agree, just like Sydney turned out to be, Essendon and Port will not be easy games.

17-07-2021, 02:05 PM
What's the north Hobart venue like these days? From images it's probably a bit narrow and short for modern AFL games, but it's a beautiful old ground.

17-07-2021, 03:16 PM
Tassie is in the best position of anyone, as we have had pretty much zero cases for 12 months. Gill’s reluctance to bring the teams here are surely based on something (possibly not wanting to give Tassie their own team, and by bringing it all down here, will only exasperate that for fans). We have 2 grounds (north and south), a 2 hr drive from each other, with one of the best ground surfaces (Launceston) in the AFL. Makes sense to me.

Isn’t it the state premier denying the AFL? Simon Garlick is on record saying Fremantle wanted to play Carlton in Tasmania rather than the MCG as it was Freo’s home game but the Tassie government said no.

17-07-2021, 03:54 PM
Isn’t it the state premier denying the AFL? Simon Garlick is on record saying Fremantle wanted to play Carlton is Tasmania rather than the MCG as it was Freo’s home game but the Tassie government said no.

Exasperating.

17-07-2021, 03:58 PM
Covid has certainly highlighted the frailties of state and federal leadership across the nation. Just 6 different little fiefdoms with their own rules and regulations, not overly cooperative and effectively doing their best to divide us all.

Feels like I'm more Victorian than Australian.

17-07-2021, 04:19 PM
Covid has certainly highlighted the frailties of state and federal leadership across the nation. Just 6 different little fiefdoms with their own rules and regulations, not overly cooperative and effectively doing their best to divide us all.

Feels like I'm more Victorian than Australian.

Sooner we get rid of the states, the better.

17-07-2021, 04:19 PM
Isn’t it the state premier denying the AFL? Simon Garlick is on record saying Fremantle wanted to play Carlton in Tasmania rather than the MCG as it was Freo’s home game but the Tassie government said no.

That’s probably correct knowing the premier, but surely if the full AFL had the ability to come down, only an arrogant, egotistical premier would say NO.

17-07-2021, 04:20 PM
What's the north Hobart venue like these days? From images it's probably a bit narrow and short for modern AFL games, but it's a beautiful old ground.

I’m in launnie so I’m not real sure Jeemak.

17-07-2021, 05:04 PM
Sooner we get rid of the states, the better.

I agree. Let's start with NSW ;).

17-07-2021, 11:08 PM
Updated with the Melbourne draw tonight:

Dogs 2nd - 52 Points

Four wins - 68 Points

Dees 1st - 54 Points

Round 19 SUNS @ Suns
Round 20 Dogs @ MCG
Round 21 WCE @ WCE
Round 22 Adelaide @ MCG

Four wins - 70 Points

Geelong 3rd - 52 Points

Round 19 Richmond @ MCG
Round 20 North @ Tassie
Round 21 GWS @ Geelong

Four wins. 68 Points.

1. Melbourne - 70
2. Dogs (percentage) - 68
3. Geelong - 68
4. Brisbane/Port - 60

If we dropped two games, then we and Geelong swap, which makes no effective difference. So it appears we have QF at the MCG with the opponent likely Geelong. If Melbourne dropped an extra one, we finish top and play Brisbane/Port. Either ways, I think Top 3 is almost locked up.

Keys: Dogs vs Dees in Round 20 and Dees vs Cats in Round 23.

Note: Only once in the recent times, when Geelong has qualified for a home final in the first week has it been played at GMHBA. That was against Freo in 2013. Every other time has been played at the MCG. Should crowds be 50%-100% in September, the afel will need the extra gate sales.

17-07-2021, 11:09 PM
If we win the last five. We are minor premiers.

18-07-2021, 10:29 AM
The way we are playing, Melbourne will be a definite loss, and Essendon/Port 50/50
I think Geelong won’t lose another game, especially if they get their last 3 at home.

I think dogs (3), demons (4) and cats (5) wins

18-07-2021, 11:24 AM
The way we are playing, Melbourne will be a definite loss, and Essendon/Port 50/50
I think Geelong won’t lose another game, especially if they get their last 3 at home.

Melbourne will be interesting clearly if they are slightly off they come back to the pack.

18-07-2021, 12:09 PM
Melbourne will be interesting clearly if they are slightly off they come back to the pack.

Of the 13 and a half games that Melbourne have won/drawn, they have rarely dominated, and in fact played a little like us over the past three weeks, ie doing just enough to win.

Come finals time, the intensity and pace of the game goes up a notch, so anything can happen.

18-07-2021, 12:12 PM

Melbourne can't even beat Hawthorn at the moment mate.

Imagine if we lost (Adelaide) and drew (Hawthorn) with bottom 4 teams this board would be in meltdown.

We are as likely as Melbourne or anyone else to win it this year.

18-07-2021, 12:20 PM

Imagine if we lost (Adelaide) and drew (Hawthorn) with bottom 4 teams this board would be in meltdown.

For some reason Melbourne can struggle against the lower 8 teams.

18-07-2021, 12:26 PM
Just saw a weird stat. Our opponents have kicked 11.13.79 across the last three games.

18-07-2021, 12:51 PM
For some reason Melbourne can struggle against the lower 8 teams.

I have a feeling that they go in expecting to cruise to victory against lesser teams.

18-07-2021, 02:44 PM

We haven’t played Adel or Haw yet ;)

18-07-2021, 02:50 PM
Just saw a weird stat. Our opponents have kicked 11.13.79 across the last three games.

Really? Could've sworn Sydney kicked 20.0.

18-07-2021, 02:51 PM
We haven’t played Adel or Haw yet ;)

Hawks did us in a pre season game from memory.

There are no easy games, especially down in Tassie.

18-07-2021, 03:52 PM
Hawks did us in a pre season game from memory.

There are no easy games, especially down in Tassie.

Correct. Hopefully Gunston won’t be there

18-07-2021, 04:51 PM
Really? Could've sworn Sydney kicked 20.0.

Felt like it

18-07-2021, 05:20 PM
Correct. Hopefully Gunston won’t be there

What possible difference could Norman make ????

18-07-2021, 05:25 PM
What possible difference could Norman make ????
Well he’s a guaranteed 3 goals against us..he’s one of those types like Sexton we struggle to curtail.

18-07-2021, 05:47 PM

North Hobart is way too small.

18-07-2021, 05:53 PM
North Hobart is way too small.

Albeit it was used for AFL games in the nineties.

18-07-2021, 06:07 PM
Albeit it was used for AFL games in the nineties.

Correct.

But also a contributing reason for the development in Launceston as a more viable venue.

18-07-2021, 11:18 PM
Correct.

But also a contributing reason for the development in Launceston as a more viable venue.

What's York Park like to watch footy at? It looks like you'd be nice and close to the action.

Back on topic, and I've been wondering since it became a possibility, whether we or Melbourne are in the more precarious form at the moment.

Does the game being brought forward assist us or them?

18-07-2021, 11:31 PM
What's York Park like to watch footy at? It looks like you'd be nice and close to the action.

Back on topic, and I've been wondering since it became a possibility, whether we or Melbourne are in the more precarious form at the moment.

Does the game being brought forward assist us or them?

I'd feel better with Martin available.

25-07-2021, 09:15 AM
Updated with the Melbourne win lay night:

Dogs 1st - 56 Points

Round 20 Sat 24 Jul 12:00pm Crows Mars Stadium - 15th

Three wins - 68 Points
(Four wins - 72 Points)

Dees 2nd - 54 Points

Round 20 SUNS @ Suns
Round 21 WCE @ WCE
Round 22 Adelaide @ MCG

Three wins - 66 Points

Geelong 3rd - 56 Points

Round 20 North @ Tassie
Round 21 GWS @ Geelong

Three wins. 68 Points.

1. Dogs (percentage) - 68 (72)
2. Geelong - 68
3. Melbourne - 66
4. Brisbane/Port - 60

Let’s hope that last minute at Geelong doesn’t hurt us.

25-07-2021, 09:44 AM
Updated with the Melbourne win lay night:

Dogs 1st - 56 Points

Round 20 Sat 24 Jul 12:00pm Crows Mars Stadium - 15th

Three wins - 68 Points
(Four wins - 72 Points)

Dees 2nd - 54 Points

Round 20 SUNS @ Suns
Round 21 WCE @ WCE
Round 22 Adelaide @ MCG

Three wins - 66 Points

Geelong 3rd - 52 Points

Round 19 Richmond @ MCG
Round 20 North @ Tassie
Round 21 GWS @ Geelong

Four wins. 68 Points.

1. Dogs (percentage) - 68 (72)
2. Geelong - 68
3. Melbourne - 66
4. Brisbane/Port - 60 Melbourne are in some danger of missing the top 4 with Geelong and West Coast in Perth to come.

25-07-2021, 11:38 AM
Melbourne are in some danger of missing the top 4 with Geelong and West Coast in Perth to come.

That would be hilarious.

26-07-2021, 01:43 AM
Melbourne are in some danger of missing the top 4 with Geelong and West Coast in Perth to come.

With the way they've played against some of the lesser lights they could lose three out of their last four......which would of course be completely amazing.

It's going to be really interesting to see how and if they can bounce back or whether they've spent their tickets. They really should have put us to the sword last night, especially after getting so close in the last quarter. I get that they don't have Bont and we do....

26-07-2021, 09:48 AM
With the way they've played against some of the lesser lights they could lose three out of their last four......which would of course be completely amazing.

It's going to be really interesting to see how and if they can bounce back or whether they've spent their tickets. They really should have put us to the sword last night, especially after getting so close in the last quarter. I get that they don't have Bont and we do....

Their biggest issue has been to kick a decent score. They have great defence but fall down on the HF line.

26-07-2021, 10:14 AM
Can't see Dees getting close to Geelong at that ****hole. GC is a bit of a banana peel game, too.

Interesting month ahead for them.

26-07-2021, 10:39 AM
Assuming we can beat Adelaide, Hawks and Essendon, the Rnd 23 clash with Port Adelaide looms as the determining factor in our final ladder position. Their form has improved, and they're starting to get some players back, and they will be desperate to hold onto a top 4 spot.

26-07-2021, 10:54 AM
Assuming we can beat Adelaide, Hawks and Essendon, the Rnd 23 clash with Port Adelaide looms as the determining factor in our final ladder position. Their form has improved, and they're starting to get some players back, and they will be desperate to hold onto a top 4 spot.

That will be a cracking match. Glad it's a home game.

26-07-2021, 11:04 AM
That will be a cracking match. Glad it's a home game.

Of all the “top” teams I really feel most confident against Port. Their backline, between Aliir not really knowing how to defend a man and Jonas being unwilling to, is one of the worst in the league and our mix is perfectly set up to get a hold of them.

26-07-2021, 11:09 AM
Of all the “top” teams I really feel most confident against Port. Their backline, between Aliir not really knowing how to defend a man and Jonas being unwilling to, is one of the worst in the league and our mix is perfectly set up to get a hold of them.

How confident would you be if we have no Keath to play on Dixon?

26-07-2021, 11:10 AM
How confident would you be if we have no Keath to play on Dixon?

I wouldn’t feel great about it but I don’t rate Dixon so highly (especially after some of his output this year) where it becomes fatal to us.

26-07-2021, 11:13 AM
I wouldn’t feel great about it but I don’t rate Dixon so highly (especially after some of his output this year) where it becomes fatal to us.
I'd be more worried about Marshall or Giorgiadis having a day out. They tend to alternate between kicking 3-4 goals each.
Keath walked off so might be back for the last round before finals 2-3 weeks is a standard low grade hammy and we'd surely give him 3 in that case to avoid undue risk.

26-07-2021, 11:16 AM
I'd be more worried about Marshall or Giorgiadis having a day out. They tend to alternate between kicking 3-4 goals each.
Keath walked off so might be back for the last round before finals 2-3 weeks is a standard low grade hammy and we'd surely give him 3 in that case to avoid undue risk.

Georgiadis is a real talent and a problem matchup but can absolutely go missing when paid appropriate respect. If Wood is back and fit then I’m pretty confident in being able to contain him.

Marshall worries me more if he’s not in the side. He’s a non-factor and I can’t believe he’s played as many games as he has.

Geelong have their last three games at home. How does that happen

Yes that extra week would be good for him. Has suffered hammy problems in the past he was saying.

26-07-2021, 11:17 AM
Geelong have their last three games at home. How does that happen

Keeping Scott happy as they won't be getting any home games in the finals.

31-07-2021, 06:09 PM
Updated:

Dogs 1st - 60 Points

Round 21 Fri 6 Aug Bombers Marvel Stadium - 10th
Round 22 Sat 14 Aug Hawks UTAS Stadium - 17th
Round 23 Sat 21 Aug Power Marvel Stadium - 4th

Win All Three - 72 Points

Geelong 2nd - 60 Points

Round 21 GWS @ Geelong (WIN)
Round 22 St Kilda @ Geelong (WIN)
Round 23 Melbourne @ Geelong (LOSS)

Two Wins - 68 Points

Dees 3rd - 58 Points

Round 21 WCE @ WCE (LOSS)
Round 22 Adelaide @ MCG (WIN)
Round 23 Geelong @ Geelong (WIN)

Two Wins - 66 Points

1. Dogs - 72 (Outright or 68 + Percentage if Geelong win all their 3)
2. Geelong - 68
3. Melbourne - 66
4. Port Adelaide - 64

So on the above in Round 23, Dogs vs Port at Marvel. Bye. Finals Week 1, Dogs vs Port at Marvel/MCG.

Let’s hope that last minute at Geelong doesn’t hurt us, or deny us a First Minor Premiership. Three more H&A wins and it won’t.

31-07-2021, 06:20 PM
With the position we are now, I think we must finish at least 2nd.

That occurs with 1 loss and Geelong and Melbourne also winning every game except their clash. If we drop 1 the winner of Geelong Melbourne will end up top.

01-08-2021, 08:00 PM
Basically guaranteed a top four finish finish now and odds on that it will be a Victorian home final too.

02-08-2021, 08:55 AM
I've just got my fingers crossed that port hold on to fourth. I'd much prefer to face them or Melbourne, than Sydney or Geelong.

02-08-2021, 08:58 AM
I've just got my fingers crossed that port hold on to fourth. I'd much prefer to face them or Melbourne, than Sydney or Geelong.

The fixture makes it hard.

For Port to finish top 4, they're most likely going to need to win all 3 as Sydney are going to be warm favourites in each remaining game and are only a few % behind. But if Port win all 3, it means we lose one leading to a likely 2nd finish at best. This means we will probably face Melbourne week 1 which I don't mind actually.

02-08-2021, 08:59 AM

Strangely enough I'd prefer to play Sydney and Cats at the MCG and not docklands.

02-08-2021, 09:05 AM
Strangely enough I'd prefer to play Sydney and Cats at the MCG and not docklands.

I like our chances at the MCG, feels like more open space actually suits us more.

02-08-2021, 09:36 PM
The fixture makes it hard.

For Port to finish top 4, they're most likely going to need to win all 3 as Sydney are going to be warm favourites in each remaining game and are only a few % behind. But if Port win all 3, it means we lose one leading to a likely 2nd finish at best. This means we will probably face Melbourne week 1 which I don't mind actually.

Port can drop us by a little bit and still finish 4 even if Sydney win their remaining games. Port have a 33 point buffer over them at the moment. Percentage obviously critical for the final standings.

06-08-2021, 11:33 PM
Updated:

Dogs 1st - 60 Points

Win Two or Three - 68-72 Points

Geelong 2nd - 60 Points

One Wins - 64 Points

Dees 3rd - 58 Points

Two Wins - 66 Points

1. Dogs - 68-72
2. Melbourne - 66
3. Geelong - 64 (%)
4. Port Adelaide - 64 (%)
5. Sydney - 64

If Geelong beat Melbourne, they swap 2 & Port into 3 & Dees 4. For us, then 2 wins and % secures top spot.

So on the above in Round 23, Dogs vs Port at Marvel. Bye. Finals Week 1, Dogs vs Port at Marvel.

06-08-2021, 11:40 PM
Updated:

Dogs 1st - 60 Points

Geelong 2nd - 60 Points

One Wins - 64 Points

Dees 3rd - 58 Points

Two Wins - 66 Points

1. Dogs - 68-72
2. Melbourne - 66
3. Geelong - 64 (%)
4. Port Adelaide - 64

If Geelong beat Melbourne, they swap 2 & Port into 3. For us, then 2 wins and % secures top spot.

So on the above in Round 23, Dogs vs Port at Marvel. Bye. Finals Week 1, Dogs vs Port at Marvel/MCG.

Need to show Port and Swans as well. They will fight out 4th and we potentially play one of them

06-08-2021, 11:47 PM
Need to show Port and Swans as well. They will fight out 4th and we potentially play one of them

Port in on %.

Much rather them than Sydney.

06-08-2021, 11:57 PM
In a nutshell.

If dees win their 3, we need to win all 3 to finish on top.

If dees win only 2 (loss to WCE away or Cats away) we can afford to drop 1 of our 3 and still finish top.

07-08-2021, 01:22 AM
In a nutshell.

If dees win their 3, we need to win all 3 to finish on top.

If dees win only 2 (loss to WCE away or Cats away) we can afford to drop 1 of our 3 and still finish top.

WC have been putrid the last few weeks. Melbourne will get them next week.

As for Geelong/Melbourne in round 23, I just don't know anymore.

It's going to have an EPL 'Final day' feel. Could be at least 5 matches having an impact on the final 8 makeup.

07-08-2021, 10:55 AM
Round 23 Melbourne v Geelong could be repeated first week of finals. Ditto with us v Port. Interesting. Do you let the opposition see all you tricks in round 23?

07-08-2021, 11:00 AM
Round 23 Melbourne v Geelong could be repeated first week of finals. Ditto with us v Port. Interesting. Do you let the opposition see all you tricks in round 23?

Perhaps. Put the fear of god into them for the following match.

07-08-2021, 11:03 AM
Will there be a bye? We may rest a player or two if so.

I'm just happy we may well win our first minor premiership, ever

07-08-2021, 07:04 PM
If there is ever a premiership ripe for the picking its this year. Geelong all of of sudden look vulnerable, Melbourne have had a real lull in form, Port have scraped through all year, Sydney are threatening but are very young. If we play our best in September we win it. Us at our best is better than the rest at their best I believe. We just have to show up in the finals.

07-08-2021, 11:22 PM
Updated: Top 4 Locked In

Dogs 1st - 60 Points

Round 21 Bombers @ Marvel Stadium
Round 22 Hawks @ UTAS Stadium (Poss. MCG)
Round 23 Power @ Marvel Stadium

Geelong 2nd - 60 Points

One Wins - 64 Points

Dees 3rd - 58 Points

Two Wins - 66 Points

1. Dogs - 68-72 (2-3 Wins)
2. Melbourne - 66
3. Geelong - 64 (%)
4. Port Adelaide - 64
5. Sydney - 60

Alternate where Dees beat WCE, but lose to Geelong at Geelong;

1. Dogs - 68-72 (%) (2-3 wins)
2. Geelong - 68 (%)
3. Melbourne - 66
4. Port Adelaide - 64
5. Sydney - 60

So on the above in Round 23, Dogs vs Port at Marvel. Bye. Finals Week 1, Dogs vs Port at Marvel.
So on the above in Round 23, Dees vs Cats at GMHBA. Bye. Finals Week 1, Dees vs Cats at MCG/GMHBA.

07-08-2021, 11:25 PM
Geelong pretty much out of top 1
Port into 4th a reward for top spot
Sydney into 5-8 section
Essendon now 12th, 2 wins out of the 8
Viney suspended, McDonald uncertain, WCE bringing in better players

Everything our way so far. Now just beat Essendon to make it all count.

07-08-2021, 11:31 PM
Can't finish below 4th now, no-one outside of 2nd-4th can pass 15 wins and our percentage

07-08-2021, 11:36 PM
Geelong pretty much out of top 1
Port into 4th a reward for top spot
Sydney into 5-8 section
Essendon now 12th, 2 wins out of the 8
Viney suspended, McDonald uncertain, WCE bringing in better players

Everything our way so far. Now just beat Essendon to make it all count.

As it stands us and Geelong are on 60 points and they still have 2 at home. They are a long way from being locked out of first spot. We haven't even beaten Essendon yet.

07-08-2021, 11:39 PM
As it stands us and Geelong are on 60 points and they still have 2 at home. They are a long way from being locked out of first spot. We haven't even beaten Essendon yet.

If we win two games to match those possible wins. Our percentage still puts us above them. I’m prepared to say we will win at least 2 of our 3 games.

08-08-2021, 12:11 AM
If we win two games to match those possible wins. Our percentage still puts us above them. I’m prepared to say we will win at least 2 of our 3 games.

Actually we MUST win 2 of our last 3