View Full Version : AFL Game Day R16 2021

27-06-2021, 08:19 PM
Round 16

All times AEST/AEDT (Sydney/Melbourne time)

Thursday, July 1

Gold Coast Suns vs Richmond Marvel Stadium 7:20pm

Friday, July 2

Geelong Cats vs Essendon GMHBA Stadium 7:50pm

Saturday, July 3

Melbourne vs GWS Giants MCG 1:45pm

Adelaide Crows vs Brisbane Lions Adelaide Oval 4:35pm

Fremantle vs Carlton Optus Stadium 7:40pm

Hawthorn vs Port Adelaide Marvel Stadium 7:40pm

Sunday, July 4

Sydney Swans vs West Coast Eagles GMHBA Stadium 1:10pm

Collingwood vs St Kilda MCG 3:20pm

Western Bulldogs vs North Melbourne Marvel Stadium 4:40pm

27-06-2021, 08:37 PM
Venues and times could change

27-06-2021, 08:38 PM

As long as the opponents don’t change.

27-06-2021, 08:56 PM

Yep lots can happen before the round starts. Will update accordingly if there are changes to the opening post.

27-06-2021, 08:58 PM
Yep lots can happen before the round starts. Will update accordingly if there are changes to the opening post.

Thanks Easty,keep up the good work

27-06-2021, 11:08 PM

As long as it’s not in Tassie, Roos are a different side over there.

27-06-2021, 11:11 PM
As long as it’s not in Tassie, Roos are a different side over there.

Not sure why it’s be our game. But Ballarat would be the logical second best option. Plus we make more money. So a silver lining. But Docklands is the flat track we slaughtered them on a couple of months ago. Bring them back for Round 2!

27-06-2021, 11:33 PM
Not sure why it’s be our game. But Ballarat would be the logical second best option. Plus we make more money. So a silver lining. But Docklands is the flat track we slaughtered them on a couple of months ago. Bring them back for Round 2!

Sounds dumb, given our win loss record this year, but it's clear historically we come down harsh from epic wins. We don't need to win by 100, but we do need to back up and show no mercy this week. A gritty win will neither advance our reputation or build inner belief. We have to have the game on our terms from start to finish

29-06-2021, 06:34 PM
Gold Coast v Richmond has been moved to Marvel Stadium on thursday night, while Fremantle v Carlton will be played at either GMHBA Stadium or UTAS Stadium in Launceston.

29-06-2021, 06:40 PM
Gold Coast v Richmond has been moved to Marvel Stadium on Friday night, while Fremantle v Carlton will be played at either GMHBA Stadium or UTAS Stadium in Launceston.

Thursday night for Suns v Tigers blockbuster.

29-06-2021, 06:41 PM
So we're gonna get the Suns at home again? Delicious!

The 4:40pm Sunday time slot is arse.

29-06-2021, 06:41 PM
Thursday night for Suns v Tigers blockbuster.

Yes sorry, Thursday

29-06-2021, 06:44 PM
So we're gonna get the Suns at home again? Delicious!

Who knows? Things are changing so quickly it could be a New Zealand hub by then!

29-06-2021, 08:28 PM
Gold Coast v Richmond has been moved to Marvel Stadium on thursday night, while Fremantle v Carlton will be played at either GMHBA Stadium or UTAS Stadium in Launceston.

No crowd required. Richmond hate going there

01-07-2021, 08:30 PM
How are the seagulls at this Marvel game. Open roof sucks.

Might be more seagulls than Tigers supporters there.

01-07-2021, 08:44 PM
Gold Coast fluffing their lines too.

01-07-2021, 08:47 PM
Would love Collins at our full back.

01-07-2021, 08:50 PM
Gee… how good would a GC win be. Tigers look miles off it!

01-07-2021, 08:50 PM
Gold Coast have never had a better time to take a stand as a football club than tonight.

01-07-2021, 08:51 PM
Gold Coast have never had a better time to take a stand as a football club than tonight.

GC could have gapped them, should be 3 or 4 in front.

Tigers definitely aren't as sharp as they've been in previous years.

01-07-2021, 08:58 PM
GC could have gapped them, should be 3 or 4 in front.

Tigers definitely aren't as sharp as they've been in previous years.

Travel sickness?

01-07-2021, 09:00 PM
Gold Coast fluffing their lines too.

Hardwick is likely to explode.

01-07-2021, 09:00 PM
Richmond are lucky they're not playing a real team.

01-07-2021, 09:01 PM
3.8 and other misses. Wasting this opportunity. Where was this Richmond when we played them?

01-07-2021, 09:14 PM
Blow your chances, this is what happens.

Is Tassie take on extra games to help this season, we should give them GCS as a thank you.

01-07-2021, 09:57 PM
Touk-Miller is all class.

01-07-2021, 10:01 PM
Richmond will probably pinch this, but certainly don’t deserve to win.

01-07-2021, 10:04 PM
Touk-Miller is all class.

What a gun!

01-07-2021, 10:04 PM
GC pissing all their hard work in the middle of ground against a wall.

01-07-2021, 10:10 PM
GC throwing this game away with just stupid decisions. Only got themselves to blame.

01-07-2021, 10:10 PM
Rankine is appearing to be a seriously lazy average small forward.

01-07-2021, 10:13 PM
Lynch proving the difference.

01-07-2021, 10:19 PM
Lynch proving the difference.

Goal kicking accuracy proving the difference. The game should be dead. I can see Richmond getting four points despite not deserving them.

01-07-2021, 10:22 PM
Rankine is appearing to be a seriously lazy average small forward.

I just read his stats for the night. Woeful describes it well.

01-07-2021, 10:23 PM
Goal kicking accuracy proving the difference. The game should be dead. I can see Richmond getting four points despite not deserving them.

Yeah probably true. Game should be over.

01-07-2021, 10:35 PM
Brandon Ellis playing a ripping game for Richmond.

01-07-2021, 10:40 PM
Brandon Ellis playing a ripping game for Richmond.

He's total garbage.

01-07-2021, 10:54 PM
Well done GC. Great to see.

01-07-2021, 10:56 PM
Gee I can’t wait for Hardwick pressa

01-07-2021, 10:57 PM
Dynasty over.

01-07-2021, 10:58 PM
Gee I can’t wait for Hardwick pressa

10 free kicks to 2 in the last, he will be seething :D

Well done GC

360 this week are going to say if Richmond win it again it’s the best ever in the history of sport…

They’re cooked.

Hardwick would’ve loved wearing the mask this week

01-07-2021, 10:59 PM
360 this week are going to say if Richmond win it again it’s the best ever in the history of sport…

They’re cooked.

Just gotta hope those below them can win to replace them.

01-07-2021, 11:00 PM
10 free kicks to 2 in the last, he will be seething :D

Well done GC

10-2 good decisions. They can sook, but they’re wrong to.

01-07-2021, 11:01 PM
Just gotta hope those below them can win to replace them.

Freo a real chance now.

01-07-2021, 11:01 PM
Gold Coast just too good. THAT WIN WAS GREAT FOR FOOTBALL!!!

01-07-2021, 11:02 PM
Melb, dogs and cats would’ve LOVED that result.

01-07-2021, 11:03 PM
Melb, dogs and cats would’ve LOVED that result.

Everyone would have loved it other than Richmond

01-07-2021, 11:04 PM
Tigers are done and dusted. They were good enough to snag 3 flags while their windows was open - would have been 4 if it wasn't for Mason Cox

01-07-2021, 11:05 PM
Tigers are done and dusted. They were good enough to snag 3 flags while their windows was open - would have been 4 if it wasn't for Mason Cox

Players don't seem to have the same appetite. They are just cruising around, even Dusty

01-07-2021, 11:08 PM
The footy media picked the wrong King brother to anoint as the saviour. If you wanted one or the other, it’s not Max currently.

01-07-2021, 11:09 PM
The footy media picked the wrong King brother to anoint as the saviour. If you wanted one or the other, it’s not Max currently.

Simply - yep

01-07-2021, 11:11 PM
Ben is lazy as well. Good finisher but terrible 2nd efforts.

01-07-2021, 11:12 PM
Stats were telling in the end and GC should have won by more.

50 more disposals, more clearances, more tackles, 20 more inside 50s and 14 more CP

01-07-2021, 11:14 PM
Players don't seem to have the same appetite. They are just cruising around, even Dusty

Maybe they all know he's off to Sydney.

01-07-2021, 11:15 PM
Richmond were lucky to get close. Nice of them to crawl out of the gutter for just long enough to beat us, because they haven’t fired another shot all year.

01-07-2021, 11:18 PM
You are all mean and unfair.

Why do the Tigers have to play at Marvel?

01-07-2021, 11:20 PM
Ben is lazy as well. Good finisher but terrible 2nd efforts.

I agree. Just look at Naughton’s second efforts and neither King don’t come close. But Max (the saviour) seems to avoid the fair criticism, while at least Ben can hit the scoreboard. Max should’ve been dropped this year. He’s not the saviour.

01-07-2021, 11:23 PM
Essendon would be watching that closely and should be prepared to go balls out tomorrow night.

01-07-2021, 11:42 PM
Gold Coast just too good. THAT WIN WAS GREAT FOR FOOTBALL!!!

Football is the winner

Oh and it’s good to see Richmond lose

01-07-2021, 11:44 PM

Ben makes his kicks count.

01-07-2021, 11:44 PM
I might be crazy, but I wouldn't write off Richmond yet....

They look shot but finals are still 2 months away. As long as they get into the 8, would anyone really say they can't win? History suggests they are a long shot at winning the flag, but IF they're injury free and IF they find hunger, they're surely a dangerous side to play in the finals. They know how to win big games, they still have match winners....

I don't know. Maybe they're done. History suggests they should be. But they're not THAT old.

01-07-2021, 11:51 PM

They look shot but finals are still 2 months away. As long as they get into the 8, would anyone really say they can't win? History suggests they are a long shot at winning the flag, but IF they're injury free and IF they find hunger, they're surely a dangerous side to play in the finals. They know how to win big games, they still have match winners....

I don't know. Maybe they're done. History suggests they should be. But they're not THAT old.

Yeah, I'd still hate to play them in a cutthroat final at the MCG. Once they get Nankervis back, they'll be a different side.

02-07-2021, 12:09 AM

Yeah I know, talk about everyone missing the point.

02-07-2021, 12:15 AM

I definitely don't want to play them, but I also think what they did against us was an outlier to how they're actually travelling and most likely to travel.

Hawthorn in 2016 were cooked but cobbled together wins and ended up on 17 wins in third, with us on 15 wins in seventh. By the time they got to us in the finals we'd gone up two levels but even then prior to the game I didn't want to play them.

I can't see Richmond maintaining pace IF they actually make the finals. I'll be nervous if we face them, but bring our best and we've got them.

02-07-2021, 12:42 AM
I definitely don't want to play them, but I also think what they did against us was an outlier to how they're actually travelling and most likely to travel.

Hawthorn in 2016 were cooked but cobbled together wins and ended up on 17 wins in third, with us on 15 wins in seventh. By the time they got to us in the finals we'd gone up two levels but even then prior to the game I didn't want to play them.

I can't see Richmond maintaining pace IF they actually make the finals. I'll be nervous if we face them, but bring our best and we've got them.
Like you said, Hawthorn cobbed together a 17-5 season in 2016 despite being in obvious decline. Richmond are 7-8 and will be lucky to square the ledger at 11-11 and even make finals. Really, their season has actually been a disaster except for the 2nd half against us, which remains the only game they have beaten anyone in the top 8. Their ladder position in 2021 is a very accurate reflection of their form, and it is a 15 week sample size.

02-07-2021, 12:45 AM
Like you said, Hawthorn cobbed together a 17-5 in 2016 despite being in obvious decline. Richmond are 7-8 and will be lucky to square the ledger at 11-11 and even make finals. Really, their season has actually been a disaster except for the 2nd half against us, which remains the only game they have beaten anyone in the top 8. Their ladder position in 2021 is exactly reflective of their form.

Well I'm glad we're aligned Sedat. I don't have any fight in me this evening.

02-07-2021, 11:46 AM

Clearly they didn't play there last night.

02-07-2021, 08:58 PM
Now Houli is out for an extended injury period.

Good player and very important to the Tigers. They are rooted.

02-07-2021, 09:12 PM
Stringer started well with 2 goals. A lot of play but no real reward in the scoreboard.

02-07-2021, 09:19 PM
The stars align.
Tippenwoody and Stringer expose Geelong.

02-07-2021, 09:24 PM
Once again BT demonstrates his lack of knowledge of the rules of the game.

02-07-2021, 09:24 PM
And they get an arsy goal with 15 seconds left. Essendon should be further in front. Backline holding up ok, and hind being a standout.

02-07-2021, 09:29 PM
Essendon have done well down back but are really butchering it going forward. Should be 5 goals up.

02-07-2021, 09:34 PM
Recruit Zac Tuohy my fav non Dog.

02-07-2021, 09:56 PM
Cats well on top now. Essendon would be 40 points down if parish wasn’t out there. Too many turnovers for the bombers.

02-07-2021, 09:58 PM
Cats well on top now. Essendon would be 40 points down if parish wasn’t out there. Too many turnovers for the bombers.

They did that against Melbourne as well, especially going forward

02-07-2021, 10:03 PM
They did that against Melbourne as well, especially going forward
Not sure what snelling offers other than turn the ball over

02-07-2021, 10:06 PM
That umpiring in the 2nd was something.

02-07-2021, 10:33 PM
Dons continue with shocking delivery going inside 50. Parish brilliant there. 2 goals in it now.

03-07-2021, 12:33 AM
Once again BT demonstrates his lack of knowledge of the rules of the game.

Didn't watch the game. What did I miss?

Thus is one of my big bugbears with BT. Then he compounds out by ranting for a good 20 seconds afterwards while the play that he is supposed to be calling continues on without him.

03-07-2021, 01:06 AM
Essendon were nowhere near it in the last quarter.

How many days since Essendon played finals ?

03-07-2021, 01:08 AM
Didn't watch the game. What did I miss?

Thus is one of my big bugbears with BT. Then he compounds out by ranting for a good 20 seconds afterwards while the play that he is supposed to be calling continues on without him.

He demonstrated his ignorance regarding the current ruling that a player taking a set shot on goal must start in line with the goals. He was arguing that the umpire was in error, then after someone off air must have explained it to him, he argued that the rule was too complicated for anyone to understand. He is obviously paid very good money to supposedly be an expert. Make a bloody effort or just acknowledge that you nothing more that comic relief.

03-07-2021, 08:29 AM
Darcy Parish is having an exceptional season.

He would be the biggest challenge to Bont winning the Brownlow.

03-07-2021, 10:05 AM
Darcy Parish is having an exceptional season.

He would be the biggest challenge to Bont winning the Brownlow.
Agree. Less people to take votes from him. His hair hat must’ve boosted his confidence on and off the field. Love watching him play.

03-07-2021, 10:21 AM

I found it generally a pretty poor game to watch, but the last quarter was like watching bad circle work. Brutally dull.

03-07-2021, 11:04 AM
I found it generally a pretty poor game to watch, but the last quarter was like watching bad circle work. Brutally dull.

All Geelong games down there are the same.

03-07-2021, 11:12 AM

I think they've been riding a bit of a wave of enthusiasm brought about by some great young talent, some experiened players stepping up (Parish, Merrett) and a fresh coaching panel.

They've far exceeded all expectations.

I'm thinking they might hit a bit of a wall soon, hopefully just in time for our game. ;^)

03-07-2021, 11:19 AM
I think they've been riding a bit of a wave of enthusiasm brought about by some great young talent, some experiened players stepping up (Parish, Merrett) and a fresh coaching panel.

I'm thinking they might hit a bit of a wall soon, hopefully just in time for our game. ;^)

Cox looked completely cooked.

03-07-2021, 11:35 AM

Same thing every year at Bomberland, they die in the second half of the season

03-07-2021, 11:48 AM
Cox looked completely cooked.
I didn't know this but Cox has such great athleticism for a 200cm player. That and Pendlebury coming from a basketball background.

03-07-2021, 12:22 PM
I didn't know this but Cox has such great athleticism for a 200cm player. That and Pendlebury coming from a basketball background.

Where did you hear that? Sounds like bullshit as it would be more widespread if it were true.

03-07-2021, 01:56 PM
Yep, guys like Cox, Jones and Perkins look like they need a rest. Hopefully in our game.

Laverde has really found his niche down back, similar to us with Dale (we have the better player ofcourse). Ridley continues to impress. They have a good nucleus to build on. Have certainly nailed their kids.

03-07-2021, 02:04 PM
Where did you hear that? Sounds like bullshit as it would be more widespread if it were true.

First I've heard of any basketball related skill synchronicity in the AFL. Is that a word?

03-07-2021, 02:11 PM
First I've heard of any basketball related skill synchronicity in the AFL. Is that a word?

It is now.

You are permitted to invent words. Shakespeare did.

03-07-2021, 03:28 PM
Gws started well here. Good around the contest.

03-07-2021, 03:40 PM
Top spot looking open.

03-07-2021, 03:44 PM
I feel dirty. Barracking for GWS.

03-07-2021, 03:54 PM
Leon Cameron’s Half Time address:

“Win and you go into the top 8. Lose and you *!*!*!*! over the bulldogs. So enjoy *!*!*!*!ing over those bulldogs and planning a domestic holiday in September. Boo us at our own stadium in 2016. Who do they *!*!*!*!ing think they are.”

03-07-2021, 05:14 PM
I have always said I loved GWS :rolleyes:

03-07-2021, 05:20 PM

I believe blokes with really fine skills in congested situations have got a background in embroidery.

03-07-2021, 05:21 PM
Ripping game and finish. GWS very brave. Hunt is a fool.

03-07-2021, 05:27 PM
That was an enthralling game of football.. Melbourne did all they possibly could to win but the GWS stood firm. It was a big defensive effort. I expect they will make the eight.

03-07-2021, 05:34 PM
Well that was a nice surprise. If all goes to plan we should top of the table tomorrow evening

03-07-2021, 05:39 PM
Melbourne losing is a pleasant surprise. Just shows that if you're off a little teams will get you, especially teams fighting for a top 8 spot.

03-07-2021, 05:58 PM
Dees forward line is a more foundational flaw than our backline.

I’m begging them to bring Ben Brown in.

03-07-2021, 06:02 PM
Max should’ve been dropped this year. He’s not the saviour.

He's not the saviour, he's just a naughty little boy.

03-07-2021, 06:15 PM
Gawn was important dropping back into defence, but Mumford did an incredible nullifying him in the ruck. That's what you need against that big bearded b******, a strong physical ruckman to just bang into him all day. Let's hope Stef is right for finals to do just that.

03-07-2021, 06:20 PM
Gawn was important dropping back into defence, but Mumford did an incredible nullifying him in the ruck. That's what you need against that big bearded b******, a strong physical ruckman to just bang into him all day. Let's hope Stef is right for finals to do just that.
Gawn is a liability by foot. Always kicks it to disadvantage.

03-07-2021, 06:21 PM
Crows could keep the good times rolling today.

03-07-2021, 06:56 PM
Crows could keep the good times rolling today.

Sticking with the Lions. Unlucky not to be paid a few free kicks in their forward line as well

03-07-2021, 08:16 PM
Burgoyne could have been a Dog.
What if?
Congrats to him on 400.
I saw Ted's 321st a record until Gary Dempsey eight years later.

The Footscray crowd always ooed an aahed at Ted's every touch.
Late in the game he missed an expected goal. Minutes later kicked an imperious torpedo through the sticks.
I will never forget the adoring crowd cheering.

03-07-2021, 08:22 PM
Melbourne were a ticking time bomb. They’ve been ordinary for a month now.

03-07-2021, 08:26 PM

Port over in Adelaide for the dees next week.

03-07-2021, 08:38 PM

It stinks of them being May premiers, one LTI to an important player and they'll be off the boil. Been carried by a few players in red hot form.

03-07-2021, 09:38 PM
Agree. Less people to take votes from him. His hair hat must’ve boosted his confidence on and off the field. Love watching him play.

I bought a really cheap wig the other day. It was a small price toupee!

I'll let myself out. Try the veal.

03-07-2021, 09:42 PM

It's the name of a Police album.

03-07-2021, 09:52 PM
Burgoyne could have been a Dog.
What if?
Congrats to him on 400.
I saw Ted's 321st a record until Gary Dempsey eight years later.

The Footscray crowd always ooed an aahed at Ted's every touch.
Late in the game he missed an expected goal. Minutes later kicked an imperious torpedo through the sticks.
I will never forget the adoring crowd cheering.

I was at EJ's record breaking game too. It was the first VFL game I ever went to.

Doug Hawkins took the club record off Ted. Dempsey had gone to North long before his 300th game.

03-07-2021, 10:29 PM
I have always said I loved GWS :rolleyes:

Are you being romantic or just talking dirty ?

03-07-2021, 10:32 PM
I bought a really cheap wig the other day. It was a small price toupee!

I'll let myself out. Try the veal.

I'll pay that.

03-07-2021, 11:12 PM
Freo would’ve played finals if they could just kick straight. Wasted year for them. Long off season of goal kicking practice.

03-07-2021, 11:19 PM
One of the most calamitous last quarters you'll ever see. Freo literally did everything wrong from the moment they hit the front.

04-07-2021, 03:12 AM
I was at EJ's record breaking game too. It was the first VFL game I ever went to.

Doug Hawkins took the club record off Ted. Dempsey had gone to North long before his 300th game.
I mean Dempsey took the all time league record in 1978 from Ted's 1970.
You were born a Dog.

04-07-2021, 11:34 AM
I really like Longmuir and have a bit of a soft spot for Freo but they’re actually cursed.

04-07-2021, 12:20 PM
That last quarter was atrocious.

Both sides looked so panicky with ball in hand going forward and missed multiple easy handballs and targets. Really makes you appreciate how good we are at stuff like that when you see how bad some of the mid table sides are. Also the umpiring was truly terrible.

04-07-2021, 02:28 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E5a-QMnXwAE61md?format=jpg&name=medium

04-07-2021, 03:10 PM
Sydney giving WC a bath

04-07-2021, 03:12 PM
Sydney giving WC a bath

Eagles absolutely suck playing at GMHBA.

04-07-2021, 03:21 PM
Eagles absolutely suck playing at GMHBA.

Bloody hell. If this continues they’ll likely miss finals owing to the percentage loss.

Ah well.

04-07-2021, 03:21 PM
Horrible effort by WC. Hopefully Sydney use up their good goal kicking this week and boot 6.14 next week.

04-07-2021, 03:35 PM
Bloody hell. If this continues they’ll likely miss finals owing to the percentage loss.

Ah well.

It'd be a shame wouldn't it?

In saying that, if we happen to run into a team in the bottom 4 of the 8 in the finals, I wouldn't mind it being against the eagles. They're no good away from Perth. And even then they go to water if there's the slightest bit of.....well, water.

04-07-2021, 04:24 PM
Freo losing, WC losing, just get the feeling it’s going to play into Richmonds lucky mitts. Just enough to make the 8. No matter how bad they’ve been, I wouldn’t want to be facing them in a knockout.

04-07-2021, 04:47 PM
Swans are a dangerous team this season. We will need to be at our best next week.

04-07-2021, 04:49 PM
Swans are a dangerous team this season. We will need to be at our best next week.
Absolutely. It will be a test. Got a lot of good looking kids coming through. And any team with Buddy, Heeney and Hayward up fwd, can be dangerous.

05-07-2021, 10:30 AM
One of the most calamitous last quarters you'll ever see. Freo literally did everything wrong from the moment they hit the front.

To be fair, do you think that happens if they were playing at Optus like they were supposed too? The compromise in this year's fixture is reaching all time levels...

05-07-2021, 10:35 AM
To be fair, do you think that happens if they were playing at Optus like they were supposed too? The compromise in this year's fixture is reaching all time levels...

They definitely win at Optus and have been stuffed by the fixture but they should have won anyway.

05-07-2021, 12:44 PM

I guess they can thank their Premier for that.

Freo should still have got the job done.