27-06-2021, 08:57 PM
Dogs by 77
FG Jamarra
BOG Richards

27-06-2021, 08:58 PM
Getting in super early Eastie?

Yeah I shift the game day threads over pretty much now when the round finishes. Generate some discussion during the week

27-06-2021, 09:14 PM
Any chance the AFl change the fixture and have us playing the Swans next week?
If there is a risk the competition is reduced I'm assuming they will want each team to play each other once.

27-06-2021, 09:18 PM
If there is a risk the competition is reduced I'm assuming they will want each team to play each other once.

I hope not. After the last two weeks, North would be ideal.

27-06-2021, 10:30 PM

Hope not but yes you just don't know with the Covid situation. It is a day by day thing.

27-06-2021, 10:39 PM

From a wider comp perspective that ship has already sailed with Cats and Lions already playing twice.

Hopefully crowd capacity is increased. Really keen to get back to the footy.

28-06-2021, 12:03 AM
There shouldn't be any need to condense the season at all. Just play the games across the 4 grounds in Vic and the 2 in Tassie.

MCG x 2 per week
Marvel x 2 per week
Geelong x 2 per week
Ballarat x 1 per week
Hobart x 1 per week
Launceston x 1 per week

There's 9 games at AFL standard grounds.

28-06-2021, 12:04 AM
There shouldn't be any need to condense the season at all. Just play the games across the 4 grounds in Vic and the 2 in Tassie.

MCG x 2 per week
Marvel x 2 per week
Geelong x 2 per week
Ballarat x 1 per week
Hobart x 1 per week
Launceston x 1 per week

There's 9 games at AFL standard grounds.

Could also play Monday if they had to

03-07-2021, 05:19 PM
We should be on top of the ladder on Sunday night. :)

03-07-2021, 05:39 PM
Dogs by 66
FG Bruce
BOG Weightman (6)

03-07-2021, 05:50 PM
Don't get cocky Dogs.
MFC got rolled by Toby Green and his mob today.
Focus on the 4 points and percentage.
Off to an early start, a good start please.

Dogs by 10
BOG Jack
First Goal Lachie Hunter

Go the Mighty Western Bulldogs
A club worthy writing a folk song about.

03-07-2021, 05:54 PM
Given GWS beat the Dees, and (presumably) Brisbane beat the Crows, this game is now officially a scary proposition.

Just happy with a win, please guys.

Dogs by: Who cares, when you keep winning the margins take care of themselves.

FG: Bruce
BOG: It's him, you know who he is.

03-07-2021, 06:17 PM
Dogs by 17
1st goal - Bruce
Bog - Bont

Raels_d
03-07-2021, 09:10 PM
Dogs by 45 points
FG: Bont
BOG: Bont

03-07-2021, 09:13 PM
Margin: Dogs by 23 points
First goal: Bont out of the centre
Best on ground: Macrae

03-07-2021, 09:13 PM
Secured parking at the Marvel stadium carpark as well.

03-07-2021, 10:11 PM
Dogs by 71 points.
BOG Naughton 9 goals
1st goal McClean

03-07-2021, 11:20 PM
North have improved since round, but should still win comfortably

Dogs by 74 with a big flourish in quarter 4

BOG Bont
First Goal Bruce (loves playing the Roos - with us average 8 goals)

04-07-2021, 12:30 AM
WB by 37
First goal McLean
BOG Dale

04-07-2021, 08:57 AM
I don’t like Norf at all.

Be nice to belt them again. Maybe Naughton could kick a bag this time, or Bruce another 10 for a bit of extra salt into the wound.

04-07-2021, 09:42 AM
Dogs by 45
FG Bruce
BOG Macrae

04-07-2021, 10:14 AM
I'm happy to scrap out a 2-3 goal win if it means no injuries. Bloody sick of losing someone every single week.

04-07-2021, 10:58 AM
27 point win
Liberatore BOG and Weightman with the first goal

04-07-2021, 10:58 AM
Weather will make this one a scrappy game. Hopefully rain holds out

04-07-2021, 11:03 AM
Just win, no injuries.

04-07-2021, 11:15 AM
Must kill their confidence early.
This is the kind of game we may drop, having had a very difficult run with travel.
For some reason, I expect Mitch Wallis to make a statement.

04-07-2021, 11:23 AM
Must kill their confidence early.
This is the kind of game we may drop, having had a very difficult run with travel.
Expect Mitch Wallis to have a good game.

Mitch is an emergency and will come in if medical sub, so I don't want him to have a good game as it means we have copped another injury

04-07-2021, 11:23 AM
No injuries please!

Dogs by 24-36 points.
You know it's him.
Naughts first major.

04-07-2021, 12:38 PM
Dogs by 47pts
FG Wallis
BOG Macrae

04-07-2021, 02:00 PM
Just to confirm, roof is open today, right
?

04-07-2021, 02:01 PM
Just to confirm, roof is open today, right
?

Yes.

04-07-2021, 02:36 PM
Rug up

04-07-2021, 04:00 PM
Dogs by 74
First Goal Dale
BOG Bont

04-07-2021, 04:22 PM
Yes.
Rain forecast ?

04-07-2021, 04:24 PM
Rain forecast ?

Maybe a little. Marvel is slippery when it’s dry so it’s going to be a scrap today.

04-07-2021, 04:26 PM
Maybe a little. Marvel is slippery when it’s dry so it’s going to be a scrap today.
Hmm. Let’s just hope our mids can out muscle the likes of cunnington who normally kills us.

04-07-2021, 05:26 PM
I’m not gonna bullshit you guys, ya boy drank a few too many beers last night so I’m watching this one from the couch. I did buy tickets and we’re definitely gonna win, so I feel okay with it from a mental gymnastics point of view.

04-07-2021, 05:38 PM
Let’s do it for Top spot today boys

04-07-2021, 05:46 PM
Had heavy squalls in Frankston.
I can see a cell heading for Marvel.

04-07-2021, 05:46 PM
Cody!

04-07-2021, 05:51 PM
Cunnington doing as he pleases as usual against us.

04-07-2021, 05:54 PM
Good start by weightman.

04-07-2021, 05:55 PM
Cody on fire. What an extra dimension he offers us.

04-07-2021, 05:57 PM
Dogs by 66
FG Bruce
BOG Weightman (6)

Might have not given enough credit to Cody.

04-07-2021, 06:01 PM
Cody on fire. What an extra dimension he offers us.

This will help build his confidence as well

We need to do a bit better out of the midfield at the moment.

04-07-2021, 06:01 PM
They are getting fwd way too easily.

04-07-2021, 06:02 PM
Terrible from Keath there, guarding useless space and not working to help Cordy at all.

04-07-2021, 06:06 PM
Hannan the butcher!

04-07-2021, 06:09 PM
Goal to Hannan. He will keep his place now for next week.

We won’t wanna be playing like this against Sydney. A lot of improvement for the 2nd qtr.

04-07-2021, 06:12 PM
Daniel having a shocker. Has cost us 2 shots on goal with sloppy kicking.

04-07-2021, 06:14 PM
The improvement in Cody in a year is unbelievable. Marra take note...

Liking Garcia i reckon he is a cleaner version of Dahl when he was with us, he has clearly joined the handball club.

04-07-2021, 06:15 PM
Libba has been good in and under but we need to do something about these clearances.

04-07-2021, 06:25 PM
It's a shame Bont missed that after a great piece of work from Bailey Dale

04-07-2021, 06:30 PM
They are getting some very easy goals.

04-07-2021, 06:31 PM
Giving up cheap goals.

A better qtr so far but that Cunnington goal is annoying.

We’re looking good though.

04-07-2021, 06:35 PM
We are still in first gear..just doing enough to be in front but that’s about it.

04-07-2021, 06:37 PM
We are still in first gear..just doing enough to be in front but that’s about it.

If that's what is indeed happening, I'm happy with it. Cruise to a win when we can.

04-07-2021, 06:38 PM
Mids getting a bath

04-07-2021, 06:38 PM
We need English and Naughton to lift.

Liberatore has been sensational.

04-07-2021, 06:39 PM
Mids getting a bath

They've not quite clicked into gear yet. Plenty of improvement to come hopefully.

04-07-2021, 06:41 PM
He needs a kicking coach…NOW.

04-07-2021, 06:46 PM
He needs a kicking coach…NOW.
That's me!
I can tell you all about it.

04-07-2021, 06:46 PM
Young looks great.

04-07-2021, 06:50 PM
Young looks great.
I agree. Done some good things.

04-07-2021, 06:51 PM
Young looks great.

I can’t see why he’s not getting a game.

Naughton off with concussion.

Game should be well over by now.

Naughton off with concussion.

Is that confirmed?

04-07-2021, 06:52 PM
Is that confirmed?

Nothing on fox Footy about it.

Hopefully Naughty is OK. Could do with him next week.

Hannan is useless, WTF do the MC see in him? Offering absolutely nothing offensively or defensively.

Three tall defenders needs to continue.

04-07-2021, 06:55 PM
Nothing on fox Footy about it.

Down in the rooms. Considering all the laws around it now fair chance I'd say he's done for the day.

04-07-2021, 06:55 PM
Announced. Out with concussion.

Includes Sydney game too obviously.

04-07-2021, 06:56 PM
Crap! Missing vs Swans then. Dang!

04-07-2021, 06:56 PM

Includes Sydney game too.

Massive blow.

FFS.

04-07-2021, 06:57 PM

Includes Sydney game too obviously.

It might be Marra time.

04-07-2021, 06:57 PM
Massive blow.

FFS.

A mark at half back. Not exactly the throw everything at it situation.

04-07-2021, 06:58 PM
It might be Marra time.

It’ll be Schache.

04-07-2021, 06:59 PM
A mark at half back. Not exactly the throw everything at it situation.

Agree. But it is how he plays. Fearless natural instincts. Can you dial that back without losing your edge? I’m not sure. It’s a good question.

04-07-2021, 06:59 PM
It’ll be Schache.

We look ok for tall defenders.

04-07-2021, 07:00 PM

I think means move Cordy forward.

04-07-2021, 07:00 PM
Longmire will be sleeping this week

04-07-2021, 07:02 PM
Naughton out with concussion. Damn! We are being badly beaten at the centre stoppages and our defence has been forced to work hard. Three terrible misses that quarter keep North in it. Those responsible owe their teamates so let's make amends eh?

Mitch Wallis doing most things right. Lewis Young has done well.
English needs to lift. He just has to start TIMING his leap. Goldy has no right to outpoint a younger man every time.

04-07-2021, 07:05 PM
I think means move Cordy forward.

He kicked that first goal in our premiership.
I would love to see Schache at CHB, thing is he is back up for this type of scenario. And what a back up!

04-07-2021, 07:06 PM
They are using the ball with no real pressure from us…it’s their ball use that is their downfall. Cunnington wishes he could play us every week. Need a massive improvement against Sydney

04-07-2021, 07:11 PM
I just have a bad feeling about this second half. I hope I am wrong but this is looking like it will go down to the wire.

04-07-2021, 07:11 PM

Why not have both?

Young has gone forward. Opens up a spot in defence.

04-07-2021, 07:13 PM
Take a bow, Dale.

04-07-2021, 07:13 PM
B. Dale. Brilliant

04-07-2021, 07:14 PM
I just have a bad feeling about this second half. I hope I am wrong but this is looking like it will go down to the wire.

Know the feeling. Is it intuition or my old mate anxiety?

04-07-2021, 07:16 PM
Watching Cordy make a decision is like watching an old computer boot up.

04-07-2021, 07:19 PM
Take a bow, Dale.

He was a pretty good forward kicking 21 goals in just 10 games in 2019 including a couple of bags of 5 but he has become a super attacking defender who provides us with a lot of drive. He has really silenced his critics.

04-07-2021, 07:19 PM
Know the feeling. Is it intuition or my old mate anxiety?

We won't drop this. But I feel we'll only win by 3-5 goals.

04-07-2021, 07:20 PM
North are just doing things far too easily. We don’t seem to be hunting, or hungry at the moment.
Playing anyone else, this score would be reversed.

04-07-2021, 07:25 PM
How is the game still alive?

04-07-2021, 07:25 PM
Bloody hell we e gone to sleep

04-07-2021, 07:26 PM
We've got a bit of work to do haven't we?

Pull your finger out boys. This is not a performance from a team that wants top spot

Our rope a dope strategy of letting North get a million touches and hoping for an error is certainly a choice.

04-07-2021, 07:27 PM
Good work Cody

04-07-2021, 07:27 PM
How cool is Cody. No problems I’ve done rd this before bang goal.

04-07-2021, 07:28 PM
I want to be Cody.

04-07-2021, 07:31 PM
Thank dog for Cody. Five minutes of very ordinary football by us. Lewis Young doing well. Thank dog North are missing ops.

04-07-2021, 07:32 PM
I’ve got to say it’s a really consistent effort across the board today.

04-07-2021, 07:33 PM
Cmon goal umpire. Do your job. Do we need you out there if you can't call that?

04-07-2021, 07:34 PM
Cmon goal umpire. Do your job. Do we need you out there if you can't call that?
He was the same guy with the Keath touch.

04-07-2021, 07:37 PM
Stuff Naughton. I want Cody’s paddock.

04-07-2021, 07:41 PM
North are just doing things far too easily. We don’t seem to be hunting, or hungry at the moment.
Playing anyone else, this score would be reversed.

What are your expectations of the team?

Perfect footy every week?

04-07-2021, 07:41 PM
Stuff Naughton. I was Cody’s paddock.

Clear it out for Cody!

04-07-2021, 07:42 PM
Very happy with the team considering the Tuff trot they've had with travel and Covid.

Half time. The Weightman show rolls on.

04-07-2021, 07:47 PM
What are your expectations of the team?

Perfect footy every week?

No, but better footy against the bottom team, yes. It’s top vs bottom. So, yeah I expect a bit more hunger.

04-07-2021, 07:48 PM
We have had a pretty torrid fortnight so this is turning out to be a good result. Let's keep the foot down. I feel better.

04-07-2021, 07:50 PM
Bailey Smith doing the space cadet thing again.

04-07-2021, 07:53 PM
Thats5 minutes of our worst football this year.

04-07-2021, 07:53 PM
How are Garcia and Young going?

04-07-2021, 07:54 PM
7-0 inside 50’s for NM. Shows where our heads are at.

We've put the queue in the rack. Not what I'm used to seeing this season

Both have done well.

04-07-2021, 07:55 PM
If we play like this next week we'll be buggered.

04-07-2021, 07:55 PM

Young has been very good, Garcia kicked a goal and has done his bit.

04-07-2021, 07:57 PM
Rubbish football.

04-07-2021, 07:57 PM
We are asleep Dry Rot. All mental.

04-07-2021, 07:58 PM
This is really poor. Seven shots to zip this qtr

04-07-2021, 08:00 PM
Mitch Wallis - timely.

04-07-2021, 08:00 PM
This is really poor. Seven shots to zip this qtr

And we have typcially finished off games well. I wonder why we haven't quite flipped the switch this quarter?

04-07-2021, 08:02 PM
And we have typcially finished off games well. I wonder why we haven't quite flipped the switch this quarter?
Coz our head isn’t in the game.

04-07-2021, 08:02 PM
When do we start to worry.

04-07-2021, 08:03 PM
3.6 to 1.0 says it all.

If they get the next one it might be time.

If they get to within 2 goals with 3 min left

04-07-2021, 08:07 PM
If they get the next one it might be time.

Now we can say it's workmanlike. :cool:

Mitch - again. Cool head.

Well done Wally, that as good as ices it for us.

04-07-2021, 08:13 PM

Nah we will dispose of Sydney easily enough.

04-07-2021, 08:14 PM
Finishing off which is nice to see. Really like young …doing really well.

04-07-2021, 08:14 PM
I think Cody likes Wally.

04-07-2021, 08:15 PM
Mitch Wallis - timely.

Wallis seems to play better when Naughton is not playing?

04-07-2021, 08:15 PM
I think Cody likes Wally.

Cody likes everyone.

04-07-2021, 08:17 PM
Did Macrae get his 30 possessions?

04-07-2021, 08:18 PM
Young injured?

Just

Top of the table. Happy days.

Great four points to go top.
We leaked percentage.

Young injured?

Seems ok DR

04-07-2021, 08:19 PM

30 exactly at the moment.

04-07-2021, 08:19 PM
Young injured?

Looks to be OK.

04-07-2021, 08:20 PM
Got the win. That’s about it. Allowing NM to kick 4.8 in the last was very disappointing. On to Swans now. No easy beats.

04-07-2021, 08:20 PM
Strange last quarter. I think a very light week is in order.

04-07-2021, 08:22 PM
Strange last quarter. I think a very light week is in order.
Mentally fatigued ?

04-07-2021, 08:22 PM
Well done. Not pretty but given the recent travel and workload this win was ok and we did what we needed to do.

04-07-2021, 08:23 PM
Mentally fatigued ?

Definitely. Just needed to get over the line and rest up for next week.

04-07-2021, 08:25 PM
Mentally fatigued ?

We’ve had a big couple of weeks and it showed today… bank the win and move on.

04-07-2021, 08:28 PM
*!*!*!*!ing seagulls

04-07-2021, 08:29 PM
As others have said, just good to get the win, and refocus for what is looming as a tough game against Sydney this week.
Was not a pretty game to watch, and credit to North, they dominated in centre clearances.

04-07-2021, 08:32 PM
Can we just keep Young in now? Kid has something.

04-07-2021, 08:35 PM
Hopefully Young doesn’t have any concussion symptoms.

04-07-2021, 08:38 PM

Possible, it was a jarring fall.

04-07-2021, 08:40 PM

That must have happened late as I had to step away. What happened?

04-07-2021, 08:42 PM

He came down from on high after taking a big mark and hit his head.

04-07-2021, 08:42 PM

Went for a big mark and hit the turf. Looked like he shook off the medical staff who might have been asking him to come off.

04-07-2021, 08:43 PM
Went for a big mark and hit the turf. Looked like he shook off the medical staff who might have been asking him to come off.

He either hit his head or was badly winded. Hopefully the latter.

04-07-2021, 08:59 PM
Guess glad that is over. We just stopped in the last. It looked to me they about was sort, also the boys just couldn’t run. As stated s light week is in order. Heavy knows the Swans will not make it easy snd they will come out switched on.

04-07-2021, 09:10 PM
There are a few things that concerned me about this game. We were pantsed at the centre stoppages. I don't think I've ever seen the Bont mishandle the ball so much. English did not give himself a good chance against Goldy at throw ins. At least start beside him not half a metre behind him.
We missed at least 4 sitters from 20 - 35mts out. It is our Achilles heal

We allowed them so many easy possessions in the last. Fortunately they kicked very poorly.

But we got the win and that ia all that matters.

Some very good signs from the blokes at the end of the alphabet - W, W and Y.
I liked Duryea's game. In fact I was pretty happy with the defence especially B. Dale. Pace, great kick, good link up runner, kicks goal, gains metres.
Daniel is sure with ball in hand and is always hard at it.
Bailey Williams continues to play with a cool head and, apart from a horrible turn over, had a solid game.

Alex Keath was very solid in the last line. Zaine was outbodied a couple of times but he did more good things than bad - spoilng, tackling and kicking.

Up forward. Cody was terrific. Great hands, pace and tackles fiercely.

Libba is a "Cool Hand Libba" and kicked clutch goals when we needed them. Macrae and Hunter had solid games as did Bazlenka.

So, we did what we had to do to win. We won without our prime movers having dominant games. We will benefit from a light week. The Swans are quick and play a high pressure run and carry game like us. They had a very soft game against the Cokes. It will be different against us.

04-07-2021, 09:21 PM
I almost pulled out of going to the game because I thought it would be a bit dull, like it was for much of it.

We gave North a lot of lateral leeway and sat off quite a bit which allowed them a lot of uncontested footy/ marks. We didn't set up defencively often at stoppages, this played into their hands a bit. However, we are a better team, get better looks at goal more often and that was the difference in the end.

Cody is going to be a great player to watch. Easily a match for Pickett in terms of excitement up forward, and will get the recognition for it by the end of the year.

I'm disappointed about Naughton, but that's gonna happen when you're a maniac in the air and I guess you've got to take the good with the bad.

Take the five goal win, take top of the ladder, and move on after a couple of taxing weeks.

04-07-2021, 09:36 PM
Can we just keep Young in now? Kid has something.

I like this new angry version of Young. Took a good pack mark in the last quarter and his punching was good. A bit more physicality to his game today and good to see him point and shout out to team members to get in position. His so versatile and can become that Blivac type player for us.

04-07-2021, 09:37 PM
There are a few things that concerned me about this game. We were pantsed at the centre stoppages. I don't think I've ever seen the Bont mishandle the ball so much. English did not give himself a good chance against Goldy at throw ins. At least start beside him not half a metre behind him.
We missed at least 4 sitters from 20 - 35mts out. It is our Achilles heal

We allowed them so many easy possessions in the last. Fortunately they kicked very poorly.

But we got the win and that ia all that matters.

Some very good signs from the blokes at the end of the alphabet - W, W and Y.
I liked Duryea's game. In fact I was pretty happy with the defence especially B. Dale. Pace, great kick, good link up runner, kicks goal, gains metres.
Daniel is sure with ball in hand and is always hard at it.
Bailey Williams continues to play with a cool head and, apart from a horrible turn over, had a solid game.

Alex Keath was very solid in the last line. Zaine was outbodied a couple of times but he did more good things than bad - spoilng, tackling and kicking.

Up forward. Cody was terrific. Great hands, pace and tackles fiercely.

Libba is a "Cool Hand Libba" and kicked clutch goals when we needed them. Macrae and Hunter had solid games as did Bazlenka.

So, we did what we had to do to win. We won without our prime movers having dominant games. We will benefit from a light week. The Swans are quick and play a high pressure run and carry game like us. They had a very soft game against the Cokes. It will be different against us.

How about Wally's game. 3 goals is a good haul.

04-07-2021, 09:39 PM
*!*!*!*!ing seagulls

https://youtu.be/U9t-slLl30E

04-07-2021, 09:53 PM
What is Weightman's contract status?

Insufficient Intent
04-07-2021, 09:54 PM
We missed at least 4 sitters from 20 - 35mts out. It is our Achilles heal.

I pray to dog, meranteau, we can heal our heel :)
North's 8-behind last quarter pivotal to our win. It's not often we kicked less behinds than the opposition.

04-07-2021, 09:56 PM
Happy with the win, thought our ball movement in the first half was excellent but were obviously off on the pressure stakes.

I'm still stunned by Cody's improvement. He has gone from a VFL player to a bona fide best 22 player in a few months he is exactly the natural small forward we needed.

Bailey Dale and Libba just keep rolling on, both were excellent again

Timmy as the solo ruck is still a massive concern. We can get away with it during the season but come finals time it cant be an option he will get killed in there.

Young was used in way too many roles was a victim of circumstance but acquitted himself well. I'm still keen to see him play exclusively defence along with Cordy and Keath to see what his intercept marking can add to the mix. I think the three talls is something we need to persist with.

Lippa, Scott and Hannan are on thin ice would like to see more from them in a game when the stars didn't shine bright.

04-07-2021, 09:57 PM
Nothing special tonight. We got the job done and we are back on top which is great. Used the Marvel Stadium carpark for the first time which was good and had my Doggies scarf proudly hanging out the car window on my way home.

04-07-2021, 10:00 PM

There's no way to tell.

04-07-2021, 10:02 PM
Sometimes footy is dull, sometimes it’s a bit of a chore to sit through, and that was one of those days.

We never looked like losing really but we never clicked into gear either.

I saw a tired bunch who had enough pride and commitment not to let the game slip, but there’s been a physical and mental toll. This is what Hardwick calls Big Boys Month. Unlike some of our competitors for spots we’re doing what we have to do.

The seagull issue is out of control and a mediocre spectacle became literally unwatchable especially from those spots on level 3 to which we are somehow consigned.

04-07-2021, 10:05 PM
The seagull issue is out of control and a mediocre spectacle became literally unwatchable especially from those spots on level 3 to which we are somehow consigned.

Tell me about it.

04-07-2021, 10:06 PM

Finishes this year.

04-07-2021, 10:09 PM
Seagulls issue was ridiculous, that plus the timeslot plus the slog of the game - couldn't wait to get home!

04-07-2021, 10:14 PM
Seagulls issue was ridiculous, that plus the timeslot plus the slog of the game - couldn't wait to get home!

There were children enticing the seagulls by offering them chips while their mums encouraged them and filmed it on their phones. Bizarre.

04-07-2021, 10:24 PM
Enjoy a warm shower, wash that filth off us and bank the four points.
North are just shit on our shoe, I hate that club and resent having to have had close contact with them today. I dislike that club greatly.

Glad that Wally hit the scoreboard. Cody was superb. Young promising.

Hopefully Bevo is getting less bullish about his preferred ruck scenario. We’ve looked poor each time he’s run with it over the traditional looking big men’s dept.

04-07-2021, 10:59 PM
Geez, we miss Dunks. Cunnington murked us on the inside all day, no way he does that with Dunks in there instead of Bazlenka.

Happy that Wally got on the end of it and hit the scoreboard late but he did sweet FA otherwise. He's just too slow and cumbersome, I'd prefer Scott or McNeil inside 50.

Can we also please not drop Young now? In defence, he lost composure/focus in just one contest when matched up against Goldy at half forward, the rest he made great decisions all day and found the balance between marking and spoiling.

04-07-2021, 11:08 PM
The after match presser Bevo either looked unimpressed or tired. He may not have been happy with the last quarter efforts or wondering what he's going to do up forward against the Swans.

04-07-2021, 11:38 PM
It wasn’t one for the time capsule but I am celebrating that we are 12 and 3 and top of the ladder. We’ve had tough wins interstate, survived COVID disruption, injuries, and it’s rarefied air to be where we are (thought it was necessary to correct The Age’s lukewarm comment):

https://i.postimg.cc/Yjqt2fV8/E57231-BA-CAF5-4866-A43-C-D8-F3-FBABEB95.jpg (https://postimg.cc/Yjqt2fV8)

04-07-2021, 11:45 PM
It wasn’t one for the time capsule but I am celebrating that we are 12 and 3 and top of the ladder. We’ve had tough wins interstate, survived COVID disruption, injuries, and it’s rarefied air to be where we are (thought it was necessary to correct The Age’s lukewarm comment):

https://i.postimg.cc/Yjqt2fV8/E57231-BA-CAF5-4866-A43-C-D8-F3-FBABEB95.jpg (https://postimg.cc/Yjqt2fV8)

Pathetic words from The Age.

05-07-2021, 12:26 AM
Pathetic words from The Age.

If they don’t have the best words. Which person in the entire world could have the best words?

05-07-2021, 12:51 AM
The media have low standards nowadays.
Can't spell and do what they are told.

05-07-2021, 01:04 AM
There were children enticing the seagulls by offering them chips while their mums encouraged them and filmed it on their phones. Bizarre.

It was driving me nuts. My whole body was tense because there were 30 seagulls swooping a metre over my head to get some idiots chips.

On the quality of the game, I wonder how heavy our training load was this week? I wouldn't be surprised if it was a big week/fortnight and that contributed to the lethargy today. Hopefully we shake it off for a huge game against the Swans.

05-07-2021, 04:14 AM

Keep fighting the good fight legend.

Melbourne is to 2021 to what Sydney/ GWS was/ were to 2016. Kissed on the dick via the media and officiation, and it's going to be sweet as *!*!*!*! taking them down.

05-07-2021, 08:06 AM
How about Wally's game. 3 goals is a good haul.

Yes, that's a good point and embarrassing that I overlooked him. The goal he kicked from just inside 50 was very important. He threw himself into every contest and kicked straight as he usually does. Another, I should have mentioned, is Garcia. He has a bit of mongrel close to the surface, excellent pace and looked pretty comfortably out there.

05-07-2021, 08:12 AM
Who told the seagulls the roof was open?

05-07-2021, 09:06 AM
I wouldn't be surprised if teams didn't start tagging Bailey Dale from now on.
He was a real difference maker yesterday.

05-07-2021, 09:07 AM

I am curious about how they get them out!

05-07-2021, 10:10 AM

Throw a bucket of chips on the outside and shut the roof quickly :D

05-07-2021, 11:02 AM

How to stop it is by flying trained Eagles or Hawks above the ground. The Gulls aren't hanging around if that happens

Apparently the Seagulls crapped on quite a few people yesterday.

05-07-2021, 11:10 AM
How to stop it is by flying trained Eagles or Hawks above the ground. The Gulls aren't hanging around if that happens

Open roof is definitely crappy :D

05-07-2021, 12:13 PM

My son came back from the 3 quarter time break and his seat had been crapped on!
Geez it was cold there yesterday. At 3 quarter time I said to those I was with - that I'd have been happy with Bont and Ziebell just shook hands and agreed to finish up the game. Mercy rule for the spectators and tired players!

05-07-2021, 12:15 PM
My son came back from the 3 quarter time break and his seat had been crapped on!
Geez it was cold there yesterday. At 3 quarter time I said to those I was with - that I'd have been happy with Bont and Ziebell just shook hands and agreed to finish up the game. Mercy rule for the spectators and tired players!

On the walk up LaTrobe Street back to my car was freezing. Reminded me of the olden days.

05-07-2021, 12:21 PM

The facilities were in an awful state. Level 3 looked like it hadn’t been cleaned in weeks.

05-07-2021, 01:30 PM

There were more seagulls than footy supporters last night :D:D

05-07-2021, 01:31 PM
Open roof is definitely crappy :D

Works better an open roof on a nice sunny day and with a bigger crowd to put off the seagulls.

05-07-2021, 01:37 PM
Works better an open roof on a nice sunny day and with a bigger crowd to put off the seagulls.

Roof open on a sunny day is horrible for the light and dark patches on the ground, more so for TV than at the ground but it depends where you sit.

About the only time the roof should be open at Marvel is on a fine balmy night.

05-07-2021, 01:45 PM
Roof open on a sunny day is horrible for the light and dark patches on the ground, more so for TV than at the ground but it depends where you sit.

About the only time the roof should be open at Marvel is on a fine balmy night.

Yes very true Axe Man. I forgot that. That is a big issue as well. Ordinarily it is closed most of the time.

05-07-2021, 01:48 PM
In terms of actual playing conditions, the roof didn't cause any issues but in terms of the experience, it's bad. Probably makes it a good 5 degrees colder and the bloody seagulls are a joke. Surely it gets re-assessed.

05-07-2021, 02:05 PM
It was quite good listening to Bob Murphy on the radio yesterday. Obviously, he gives a little few more snippets about Bulldogs players.

05-07-2021, 02:34 PM
It was quite good listening to Bob Murphy on the radio yesterday. Obviously, he gives a little few more snippets about Bulldogs players.

Sedat likes this.

05-07-2021, 02:55 PM

Sedat likes this.

He lost all credibility when he gave Zurhaar 2 votes... Which game were you watching Bob?

05-07-2021, 03:20 PM

They showed vision of Sarah Jolle of Fox Footy with seagull dropping on her - whilst simultaneously playing Flock of Seagulls 'I ran' whilst they went to a commercial break

05-07-2021, 03:21 PM

The Bulldogs are so 2016. Clearly we have a new darling to ride home to a Premiership and I don't mean the Jack variety.

05-07-2021, 03:21 PM

One of the most improved players in the competition - hard to sit on all of our options and contain them all

05-07-2021, 03:23 PM

The AFL have been shitting on us for years with this stadium, yesterday they just found a literal way to do it!

05-07-2021, 03:26 PM
He lost all credibility when he gave Zurhaar 2 votes... Which game were you watching Bob?

Cunnington was North's best

05-07-2021, 05:17 PM

The coaches gave Zurhaar 3 (and Cordy picked up 1 btw).

05-07-2021, 05:26 PM
The coaches gave Zurhaar 3 (and Cordy picked up 1 btw).

Both you & Bob know as little as the coaches! :D

05-07-2021, 05:49 PM

Just like in the 2016 GF when Sydney woulda/shoulda/coulda sent Ben McGlynn - who didn't get near it - to JJ opposition sides should 100% be locking in on Dale and Williams. They are difference makers with the footy (run and kick) AND impact pretty consistently on marking contests which really does cover up some of our 'issues' (key defenders).

It would be 100% worth playing with 4x forwards and 2x taggers, locking these two away, forcing our key defenders to fight 1-on-1 and leaving Daniel (who has been playing higher lately in any case) as the only behind the ball runner...

05-07-2021, 05:50 PM
Wouldn’t be surprised to see Hayward take one of them this week.

05-07-2021, 08:42 PM
Coach's votes

Western Bulldogs v North Melbourne
8 – Ben Cunnington (NM)
5 – Tom Liberatore (WB)
5 – Cody Weightman (WB)
5 – Bailey Dale (WB)
3 – Jack Macrae (WB)
3 – Cameron Zurhaar (NM)
1 – Zaine Cordy (WB)

Leaderboard
76 – Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
71 – Clayton Oliver (MELB)
70 – Ollie Wines (PORT)

05-07-2021, 08:43 PM
He lost all credibility when he gave Zurhaar 2 votes...

Sedat gave Zurhaar 2 votes?

06-07-2021, 01:02 AM
Anyone remember the score review where it was called touched off the boot?

Keath was losing his mind, he appeared to shepherd the ball through for a behind and would have been livid if the touched call he based that on was overturned

Like hearing no ball in cricket, swinging for a 6, getting caught then being given out

06-07-2021, 09:46 AM
The score reviews in general were an absolute joke.

06-07-2021, 09:56 AM
The one that made me angry was Cunnington's goal late in the match. Keath running back with the flight to touch it, kangaroos player burrows his head into Keath with no eyes for the ball and it was a free kick to them for high contact?!? It's unbelievable how the forward gets protected in those situations.

06-07-2021, 10:10 AM
The score reviews in general were an absolute joke.

That review when the ball was touched 40cm+ over the line. Have we paralysed goal umpires? An auto review if called a goal would’ve let the game move on. If goal umpires can’t make easy calls, we need to recruit better ones.

06-07-2021, 10:28 AM
Score reviews in general are an absolute joke in this league. The AFL have got nothing right with it. Poor technology that's in the wrong spots and then the vision is poorly interpreted. Honestly I think we're better off without it given how amateurish the whole setup is.

I honestly find it embarrassing thinking if there are international viewers watching it. It was always meant to overturn the absolute obvious errors like Tom Hawkins hitting the post in the 09 grand final. Not looking for touches in blurry vision or touches on the goal line where the camera is looking down and on an angle. Every time I see a review like that I get nightmares thinking of what could have happened to us in 16 with JJs goal stupidly being overturned. Until we can deliver a better product, it can't and shouldn't be anything more than ruling out the obvious.

06-07-2021, 10:44 AM
For me the biggest issue with the score review is its inconsistency and isn't this why the process was integrated in the first place? We are no closer to closing the gap between good and bad decisions despite the amount of cash the AFL have thrown at this. All the things it gets right are completely broken down by all the things it gets blatantly wrong.

It also completely strips away a goal umpires confidence in the decision making process to the point that we experience unnecessary down time as a result of the over reliance of the tech.

The ludicrous part of all of this is that the AFL have been at pains to speed the game up by incorporating layers of new rules, yet the often junky score review process completely unravels any gains made in this area.

06-07-2021, 10:56 AM
For me the biggest issue with the score review is its inconsistency and isn't this why the process was integrated in the first place? We are no closer to closing the gap between good and bad decisions despite the amount of cash the AFL have thrown at this. All the things it gets right are completely broken down by all the things it gets blatantly wrong.

It also completely strips away a goal umpires confidence in the decision making process to the point that we experience unnecessary down time as a result of the over reliance of the tech.

The ludicrous part of all of this is that the AFL have been at pains to speed the game up by incorporating layers of new rules, yet the often junky score review process completely unravels any gains made in this area.

Imagine a correctional tool being so bad that it introduces more mistakes than it fixes.

06-07-2021, 10:58 AM
Imagine a correctional tool being so bad that it introduces more mistakes than it fixes.

Sounds like my parenting.

06-07-2021, 11:40 AM
Sounds like my parenting.

And you haven't been fired either.