View Full Version : AFL Game Day R20 2021

13-07-2021, 08:17 PM
Round 20

Friday, July 30

St Kilda v Carlton at Marvel Stadium, 7.50pm AEST (SEVEN)

Saturday, July 31

Western Bulldogs v Adelaide at Mars Stadium, 12.30pm AEST (FOX)

North Melbourne v Geelong at Blundstone Arena, 1.15pm AEST (FOX)

Gold Coast v Melbourne at TBC, 3.10pm AEST (FOX)

Collingwood v West Coast at the MCG, 4.15pm AEST (FOX)

Essendon v Sydney Swans at the Gabba, 7.40pm AEST (SEVEN)

Sunday, August 1

Hawthorn v Brisbane at UTAS Stadium, 2.10pm AEST (FOX)

GWS Giants v Port Adelaide at TBC, 3.10pm AEST (FOX)

Fremantle v Richmond at Optus Stadium, 3.10pm AWST (FOX)

25-07-2021, 09:22 PM

25-07-2021, 10:18 PM
MCG not Ballarat? Interesting.

25-07-2021, 10:23 PM
MCG not Ballarat? Interesting.

Good practice for the finals but yeah interesting not in Ballarat or Marvel being our home game.

25-07-2021, 10:31 PM
Good practice for the finals but yeah interesting not in Ballarat or Marvel being our home game.

That's a good point can't hurt to get more G experience.

25-07-2021, 10:44 PM
That's a good point can't hurt to get more G experience.

I don't think it is confirmed

26-07-2021, 07:45 AM
Wouldn't take anything in that fixture as gospel.

26-07-2021, 08:54 PM
Fixture now updated accordingly in the OP.

27-07-2021, 12:01 PM
Lockdown in Victoria/Melbourne over but with restrictions.

No Crowds at Footy for next two weeks

27-07-2021, 12:03 PM
Lockdown in Melbourne over but with restrictions.

Shame that we miss out on our home game v Essendon if so.

27-07-2021, 12:08 PM
Shame that we miss out on our home game v Essendon if so.

Already missed two Melbourne games.

27-07-2021, 12:29 PM
Lockdown in Victoria/Melbourne over but with restrictions.

Crazy that you can have 300 people outdoors at a pub but can't have a single spectator to a local footy game.

30-07-2021, 09:08 PM
On the last five quarters, Weitering looks like a VFL player.

30-07-2021, 09:24 PM
On the last five quarters, Weitering looks like a VFL player.

Playing himself out of an AA spot.

30-07-2021, 09:30 PM
Playing himself out of an AA spot.

Maybe, but I reckon King has actually arrived. His game last week was unbelievable and he’s staring down double figures tonight.

30-07-2021, 09:32 PM
Watching Saints v Carlton is like watching two schoolgirls trying to have a fight during morning recess.

30-07-2021, 09:32 PM
Maybe, but I reckon King has actually arrived. His game last week was unbelievable and he’s staring down double figures tonight.

I know, I hate it.

30-07-2021, 09:38 PM
The rest are not much chop.

Cant believe Jones is still playing. Good player dump from the Swans. Ditto Hanners.

30-07-2021, 09:48 PM
Finals footy stuff…

30-07-2021, 10:30 PM
How did we lose a semi to these clowns?

30-07-2021, 10:32 PM
The most overrated pissweak peahearted side ever.

30-07-2021, 10:45 PM
No room for Josh Bruce in that forward line with King & Membrey…
Need the picks & salary from Bruce to cover Zak Jones…

Awesome list management.

30-07-2021, 11:58 PM
Lucky I've had the purplish liquid to get me through that mess of a game.
For a dead man walking, Teague clearly pointed the finger at Alfred E 'What Me Worry?' Ratten tonight.
Maybe Clarko's destination is St Kilda?

31-07-2021, 12:06 PM
Games in QLD postponed. Melbourne will never have to play interstate (again)

31-07-2021, 12:22 PM
Games in QLD postponed. Melbourne will never have to play interstate (again)

Surely they get everyone on a plane and they play the games in Melbourne over the next few days?

Marvel and the MCG are both free tomorrow.

31-07-2021, 12:37 PM
Surely they get everyone on a plane and they play the games in Melbourne over the next few days?

Logical option, this round can be completed easily.

31-07-2021, 12:40 PM

But if there's mystery cases and the players have been out in those LGAs....

Hmmm.

31-07-2021, 12:49 PM
Fox Footy

Two AFL games scheduled to be played in Queensland today have been postponed amid the state’s announcement of a snap three-day lockdown.Gold Coast and Melbourne were due to meet at 3:10pm at Metricon Stadium, while Essendon and Sydney were due to play at the Gabba on Saturday night. Greater Western Sydney and Port Adelaide are also scheduled to play at Metricon Stadium on Sunday.
Queensland health chief Dr Jeanette Young confirmed on Saturday there would be no professional sport of any kind allowed as the state grapples with six new locally acquired cases of the virus. “No, there will be no football matches,” Dr Young said.“So, no community sport, no professional sport, nothing for the next three days. Starting as of 4:00pm today.”

Port Adelaide was due to fly to Queensland on Sunday - foxfooty.com.au has confirmed that will not happen.
The Giants are already in Queensland and the AFL will either need to move the game to Melbourne or push it down the track.
AFL 360 co-host Gerard Whateley reported on SEN this morning that the league has opted to scrap the pre-finals bye and instead schedule byes for teams over the coming weeks leading into finals.
Despite touching down in Brisbane late on Saturday morning, the Dees will now fly to Perth, while Essendon is trying to negotiate a flight back to Melbourne.

A VFL game between Gold Coast and Southport was called off nine minutes into the first quarter.

31-07-2021, 12:51 PM
Fox Footy

That's full on. Even WA allows it without crowds.

31-07-2021, 12:52 PM
That's full on. Even WA allows it without crowds.

How was the VFL game, called off 9 minutes in

Threedogs
31-07-2021, 12:55 PM
All Qld AFL matches just cancelled due to covid

31-07-2021, 01:07 PM

What? Wow.

31-07-2021, 01:19 PM
It might be off by Tuesday night. Hopefully it is and perhaps the last rounds are shuffled back and finals teams play earlier in the final round as the bye will be eaten into.

31-07-2021, 01:20 PM
More time for Dunks, Treloar, VDM, Keath and Martin to be available?

Oh no...

31-07-2021, 03:00 PM
So Melbourne might play GC at the MCG.

Seriously.

31-07-2021, 03:32 PM
So Melbourne might play GC at the MCG.

Seriously.

Reckon it'll be at Marvel. Even the AFL aren't that corrupt.

31-07-2021, 03:33 PM
Cordy got a massive shove then Schache copped one high, play on.

31-07-2021, 04:58 PM
UPDATE

Sunday:

12.10pm: Gold Coast Subs v Melbourne (Marvel Stadium)

2.10pm: Hawthorn v Brisbane Lions (Launceston)

3.10pm: Essendon v Sydney Swans (MCG)

5.10pm: Fremantle v Richmond (Optus Stadium)

6.10pm: GWS Giants v Port Adelaide (Marvel Stadium)

31-07-2021, 04:58 PM
UPDATE

Sunday:

12.10pm: Gold Coast Subs v Melbourne (Marvel Stadium)

2.10pm: Hawthorn v Brisbane Lions (Launceston)

3.10pm: Essendon v Sydney Swans (MCG)

5.10pm: Fremantle v Richmond (Optus Stadium)

6.10pm: GWS Giants v Port Adelaide (Marvel Stadium)

Makes sense.

31-07-2021, 05:02 PM
Makes sense.

We play Esendon Friday night, so I wonder if that will be moved

31-07-2021, 06:51 PM

For all the criticism of the NSW approach nothing NSW has done is as dumb as this. And I thought WA cancelling crowds with an hour to go was crazy.

31-07-2021, 06:53 PM
For all the criticism of the NSW approach nothing NSW has done is as dumb as this. And I thought WA cancelling crowds with an hour to go was crazy.

Do you get match payments for 9 minutes? I’d hope so.

01-08-2021, 04:58 PM
What the hell is happening with the Lions?

And are Sydney playing badly or are the Bombers better than we thought?

01-08-2021, 05:13 PM

Hard to fathom how badly Lions are playing today. Just getting monstered around the ball it seems.

Just shows that you can't be off in any game this year or you can drop one. If we go 3-0 over the next few weeks, we've done very well.

01-08-2021, 05:45 PM
Hard to fathom how badly Lions are playing today. Just getting monstered around the ball it seems.

Just shows that you can't be off in any game this year or you can drop one. If we go 3-0 over the next few weeks, we've done very well.

Hawks down at Tassie may be as you say a banana peel game.
Hopefully our experience playing at Ballarat will help.

01-08-2021, 05:46 PM

Just on Sydney I think they played a near perfect game against us for four quarters and haven’t quite got to that level again.

01-08-2021, 06:05 PM
Just on Sydney I think they played a near perfect game against us for four quarters and haven’t quite got to that level again.

Close match at the moment

01-08-2021, 06:05 PM
Brisbane similar to WCE. Just making up the numbers this year, don’t think they’re a genuine threat.

Probably down to 3 teams who can win it, with a question mark over Port - who probably can’t win it either, but are only just getting their first choice midfield on the park.

01-08-2021, 06:24 PM
Decent game on at the G.

I really like Heeney, but I don't think there's a player who's equally talked up by the commentators and also pointed out as not being talked up enough.

01-08-2021, 06:41 PM
Four minutes left and Bombers don't have any interchanges left.......with Walla, Sheil and Perkins on the bench. Two goals down.

Buffoons.

01-08-2021, 06:43 PM
Four minutes left and Bombers don't have any interchanges left.......with Walla, Sheil and Perkins on the bench. Two goals down.

Buffoons.

Hopefully they are all out for next week. 2m Pete has done well

01-08-2021, 06:47 PM
Nothing to play for next week. Nice result.

01-08-2021, 06:59 PM
Freo could’ve had an awesome year, if they weren’t committed to being butchers in front of goal.

01-08-2021, 07:02 PM

Buffoons.

Oh my. That is amusing

01-08-2021, 07:41 PM
Thought it was clever from Essendon getting their three worst players off in crunch time. Probably needed to find some extra room for Cox though.

Essendon lost but more importantly did they lose any fans? Will they still look good at (arbitrary point in the future)? Because that's what it's really all about.

01-08-2021, 07:43 PM
Thought it was clever from Essendon getting their three worst players off in crunch time. Probably needed to find some extra room for Cox though.

Essendon lost but more importantly did they lose any fans? Will they still look good at (arbitrary point in the future)? Because that's what it's really all about.

Apparently it's better for Essendon if they don't make finals this year, so today was actually a win for them.

01-08-2021, 07:49 PM
Anyone seen if Leverde’s shoulder will keep him out next week?

01-08-2021, 07:57 PM

The Lions aren't anywhere near the best, not sure why.

Sydney got up against Essendon who have performed very well over the last month or so. It has the potential to be a danger game for us.

01-08-2021, 08:00 PM
Nothing to play for next week. Nice result.

Putting a nail into Essendon's finals campaign means there is something in it from my perspective :)

01-08-2021, 08:08 PM
Apparently it's better for Essendon if they don't make finals this year, so today was actually a win for them.

Yeah under Hangar Rules Essendon actually haven't lost this year. Inspirational season from the Bombers when you consider all the young guys they're getting games into like James Stewart, Will Snelling and Cale Hooker.

01-08-2021, 08:50 PM
Anyone seen if Leverde’s shoulder will keep him out next week?

He came off multiple times, that's typically not a good sign if you're having shoulder concerns.

01-08-2021, 08:53 PM
He came off multiple times, that's typically not a good sign if you're having shoulder concerns.

Rutten said in the presser that he couldn't lift the arm above his head. Would have to be doubtful.

Merrett was immense for them, his kicking is almost Caleb like.

01-08-2021, 09:51 PM
Yeah under Hangar Rules Essendon actually haven't lost this year. Inspirational season from the Bombers when you consider all the young guys they're getting games into like James Stewart, Will Snelling and Cale Hooker.

They're just priming themselves to have another amazing draft and trade season, where they can gaslight potential recruits into thinking they're on the up whilst not having sufficient currency to meaningfully trade for them due to their middling ladder position.

06-08-2021, 11:49 PM
OMG... surprise, surprise.... Gary Lyon keen to give Geelong a pass tonight.... Danger was injured, Tuohey was injured......boo hoo. They shat their pants on their own notorious deck against the Plastics who made 8 changes from last week......forced...

06-08-2021, 11:55 PM
Last week dude.

07-08-2021, 10:35 AM
OMG... surprise, surprise.... Gary Lyon keen to give Geelong a pass tonight.... Danger was injured, Tuohey was injured......boo hoo. They shat their pants on their own notorious deck against the Plastics who made 8 changes from last week......forced...

While smirking to himself if his Dees win this week they will go to 2nd. Interesting last match of the season between the Dees and Cats at Geelong.