View Full Version : 2021 AFL Finals Series

22-08-2021, 09:18 PM
AFL 2021 FINALS FIXTURE - WEEK 1 (All times AEST)

Second Qualifying Final: Port Adelaide (2nd) v Geelong Cats (3rd)

Adelaide Oval, Friday 27 August 7:50pm

Second Elimination Final: Sydney Swans (6th) v GWS Giants (7th)

UTAS Stadium (Launceston), Saturday 28 August 3:20pm

First Qualifying Final: Melbourne (1st) v Brisbane Lions (4th)

Adelaide Oval, Saturday 28 August 7:30pm

First Elimination Final: Western Bulldogs (5th) v Essendon (8th)

UTAS Stadium (Launceston), Sunday 29 August 3:20pm

22-08-2021, 09:32 PM
I’d rather get COVID then pay attention.

But thanks for all your threads again this year Eastie. You make the place work well. Have you thought about taking professional football for the actual football team. Your vaccinated so that counts in your favour too.

22-08-2021, 09:37 PM
Thanks BT.

22-08-2021, 09:59 PM
So our last three finals opponents have been the giants, saints and bombers. I can’t think of a worse trio. I don’t think I can possibly mentally prepare myself if the bombers complete the clean sweep. We really must have sacrificed our soul to the footy gods in 2016.

22-08-2021, 10:20 PM
We really must have sacrificed our soul to the footy gods in 2016.

Pretty sure we didn't - Bont did re-sign afterall.

22-08-2021, 10:54 PM
Whats the bet if we make it through Sundays game they will line us up for Friday night. :)

23-08-2021, 09:51 PM
Bye round between Prelim and GF

24-08-2021, 04:41 PM
Finalists told to prepare for five weeks away, as AFL’s stay in Tassie may get longer (https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl-finals-2021-finals-venues-teams-told-to-prepare-for-five-weeks-away-grand-final-venue-victoria-finals-covid-news/news-story/3c503fa72fd9c64b0c0f58d3115c1e3f)

The four clubs playing finals in Tasmania this weekend have been told to prepare for as many as five weeks on the road.

The winners of the Essendon v Western Bulldogs and GWS v Sydney elimination finals will not return to Victoria or NSW after the game.

Instead, they will either stay in Tasmania or fly to Queensland or South Australia, depending on the results of the qualifying finals.

If Geelong and Melbourne win their matches, they are a good chance to fly straight to Perth to prepare for their respective preliminary finals.

Victorian-based players have also been ordered to avoid supermarkets and cafes from Monday onwards.

The instruction for anyone travelling to South Australia or Tasmania this weekend is to only leave home for two reasons: training at the club or in the event of a medical emergency.

For the four teams playing in Tasmania, their families are permitted to go to work and live as all others are permitted by Victoria’s Covid-19 restrictions.

Clubs have also been informed families will not be allowed to travel with them due to strict health regulations.

It’s understood the league is working hard to have partners and families join clubs for the back end of finals, but nothing is locked in.

The Dogs are set to fly to Tasmania on Thursday after training ahead of Saturday’s game.

The AFL has left the door ajar for at least one semi-final to be played in Launceston next weekend.

The league is working through whether the Demons and Cats would return to Victoria after their games, or stay outside of the state. Both clubs will pack for five weeks on the road.

24-08-2021, 04:59 PM
So sounds like Port and Bris will still get home finals if they “earn” it, but the Vic/Sydney teams won’t.

24-08-2021, 05:09 PM
So sounds like Port and Bris will still get home finals if they “earn” it, but the Vic/Sydney teams won’t.

Yeah, thought as much. No chance the AFL tries to appear fair and balanced. They’d love an interstate team winning this year, especially Brisbane.

24-08-2021, 05:10 PM

Sounds like it.

The only advantage Melbourne got finishing first was choose your neutral venue.

24-08-2021, 05:13 PM
Yeah, thought as much. No chance the AFL tries to appear fair and balanced. They’d love an interstate team winning this year, especially Brisbane.

If they win through to the prelim this week will it be at the Gabba?

24-08-2021, 05:35 PM
If they win through to the prelim this week will it be at the Gabba?

Given there is a bye between prelim and GF, I would say yes.

24-08-2021, 05:37 PM
So do we hope that Bris and port both win so they get no more home finals?

24-08-2021, 07:55 PM
So do we hope that Bris and port both win so they get no more home finals?

Sounds like if either of those sides win, they’ll get home finals.

24-08-2021, 07:59 PM
Honestly does being at home/away effect us at all? We’ve been better as the away side this year.

24-08-2021, 08:06 PM
Honestly does being at home/away effect us at all? We’ve been better as the away side this year.

I just want a crowd there

24-08-2021, 08:11 PM
Bye round between Prelim and GF

This is huge.

Winners of this weeks QF could end up playing one week on, week off, week on, week off.

Watch Chris Scott melt in due course

25-08-2021, 12:57 AM
This is huge.

Winners of this weeks QF could end up playing one week on, week off, week on, week off.

Looking forward to it. His little pantomime act must be in the camera man’s things-to-do checklist week in week out.
Watching Max Gawn’s mark send him stomping out of the box was a delight.

25-08-2021, 04:41 PM
Announcement by the AFEL at 3.55pm re the finals...

25-08-2021, 05:22 PM
MCG or Perth. Likely Perth.

Good thing we won’t be playing and thus be deprived the opportunity. Good news all round.

25-08-2021, 05:30 PM
MCG or Perth. Likely Perth.

Good thing we won’t be playing and thus be deprived the opportunity. Good news all round.

Who knows we wont be there BT? Having the faith that we will win each week is half the fun. Take away that and what have you got. Had a dream too that we reached the GF. Woke up before I looked at the scores

25-08-2021, 05:42 PM
Who knows we wont be there BT? Having the faith that we will win each week is half the fun. Take away that and what have you got. Had a dream too that we reached the GF. Woke up before I looked at the scores

My reading of things over last weeks is that this is not our year. I’d love to be wrong, don’t get me wrong. What do we have? Trade, draft and preseason. Add in integrity to match committee selection and it’s a new hope.

25-08-2021, 05:48 PM
My reading of things over last weeks is that this is not our year. I’d love to be wrong, don’t get me wrong. What do we have? Trade, draft and preseason. Add in integrity to match committee selection and it’s a new hope.

Faith that the players will get it done BT. I am confident we will win this week.

25-08-2021, 05:59 PM
We've stuffed up an excellent chance royally and go into the finals without a second chance, terrible form and low on confidence, however we have plenty.

We know our best can match it with anyone. This isn't just faith, we have gone with and beaten the best.
- Dees: we beat at MCG
- Port we beat on their own deck (where we will probably play them if we get there) and lost to them by 2 points will in a rut (which we might not get out of granted but still, clearly can believe we can beat Power)
- Cats (lost by after the siren at their dump. No Naughton after HT. No Dunks, no Adz. Bruce was playing but we stronger now. We had no ruck then. They lose Stewart/get Cameron. There is enough to say we can beat them.
- Lions. One game, one convincing win.

Our opponent Essendon, we clearly had enough chances to beat. Wright was rampant and we have Keath back.

I am down, I think we will actually lose Sunday but there is more than blind hope.

25-08-2021, 06:04 PM
We've stuffed up an excellent chance royally and go into the finals without a second chance, terrible form and low on confidence, however we have plenty.

We know our best can match it with anyone. This isn't just faith, we have gone with and beaten the best.
- Dees: we beat at MCG
- Port we beat on their own deck (where we will probably play them if we get there) and lost to them by 2 points will in a rut (which we might not get out of granted but still, clearly can believe we can beat Power)
- Cats (lost by after the siren at their dump. No Naughton after HT. No Dunks, no Adz. Bruce was playing but we stronger now. We had no ruck then. They lose Stewart/get Cameron. There is enough to say we can beat them.
- Lions. One game, one convincing win.

Our opponent Essendon, we clearly had enough chances to beat. Wright was rampant and we have Keath back.

I am down, I think we will actually lose Sunday but there is more than blind hope.

We will smash Essendon, I have no doubt in my mind. :)

25-08-2021, 06:09 PM

I love it BAD...deserved more than a like.

25-08-2021, 06:12 PM
Faith that the players will get it done BT. I am confident we will win this week.

I hope you’re right. RE teachers and Sunday school teachers told me much the same. I’m an atheist. I like proof, evidence, rationality and logic over faith. That doesn’t mean I want to lose, but my assessment is a loss prediction. Rocco’s post sums it up. There’s reason to see a win, and reason to see a loss coming. I hope a magic switch is flipped and it happens, after significant changes to the 23. Thursday night could swing me back. Tinkering at the edges would heighten my expectation. But we are here, so let’s go out swinging as hard as possible. A meek cowardly backward stepping effort like GWS in 2019 could create some more scar tissue that we don’t want. We will soon see though. Oh to be taken back to before the Essendon game when all was perfect in our footy world.

25-08-2021, 06:13 PM

You also said we were a lock for top 4 :)

The lads have completely ripped out any faith or hope I have in them over the last 3 weeks, to the point I’ll actually be surprised if we do win.

25-08-2021, 06:45 PM

The lads have completely ripped out any faith or hope I have in them over the last 3 weeks, to the point I’ll actually be surprised if we do win.

I’d be surprised is we win but I also think their is hope we could go along way. Partially about demonstrated ability to beat best mainly, is anyone else THAT good?

25-08-2021, 06:48 PM
- Cats don’t have Stewart and feel a bit runners up/prelim ceiling
- Definitely still have doubts w Power vs the best.
- Dees. It’s finals and they are unknown
- Lions sneaked into 4 but they haven’t gone long patches looking good

Not saying we will go far, just it’s very open.

25-08-2021, 06:51 PM
- Cats don’t have Stewart and feel a bit runners up/prelim ceiling
- Definitely still have doubts w Power vs the best.
- Dees. It’s finals and they are unknown
- Lions sneaked into 4 but they haven’t gone long patches looking good

Not saying we will go far, just it’s very open.

100% which makes our capitulation even more disappointing.

25-08-2021, 06:54 PM

That’s the real kicker.

25-08-2021, 06:55 PM

Oh for sure, I’m with you on the disappointment. But still, even here, if we are good enough…

You can get a new sense of confidence. We win, QF loser becomes in our shoes a bit.

Like I said, I’m oddly not confident but this week but quite confident we can win flag if we do win.

25-08-2021, 06:56 PM
I think part of it, without wanting to sound like a psychologist, is giving up hope is the easiest thing to do now. Caring has been brutal the last few weeks.

25-08-2021, 06:58 PM
Basically I think we are like 40-45% chance of winning Sunday + 10% chance of flag.

25-08-2021, 07:07 PM
I just have a feeling we just need a bit of luck to swing things to the point that confidence lifts…a Weightman screamer in the goal square, a JJ run down and tackle on stringer, a Naughton goal from the boundary on his wrong side…just something…anything, that the team can go whoah…that’s us…we can do that, we can do ANYTHING…we can BE ANYTHING !!!!

As much as it’s a team game, it’s also going to take some individual brilliance.

What are we here for ?
What do we play for ?
What do we want to be remembered for?

3 games from being at the big dance.

25-08-2021, 07:11 PM
I just have a feeling we just need a bit of luck to swing things to the point that confidence lifts…a Weightman screamer in the goal square, a JJ run down and tackle on stringer, a Naughton goal from the boundary on his wrong side…just something…anything, that the team can go whoah…that’s us…we can do that, we can do ANYTHING…we can BE ANYTHING !!!!

As much as it’s a team game, it’s also going to take some individual brilliance.

What are we here for ?
What do we play for ?
What do we want to be remembered for?

3 games from being at the big dance.

WTF DOG GOD you alright? If you're confident, I'm putting a bucket load on us!

25-08-2021, 07:21 PM
WTF DOG GOD you alright? If you're confident, I'm putting a bucket load on us!
Haha…I’ve been down and out like all of us over the last 3 weeks Rocco, but that’s nothing to what my Woofers in Vic and NSW are going through with lockdown. Add the footy on top of that and it’s inconsolable.

I know what we are capable of. I’ve seen it. We’ve all seen it.

Hope is more than just a 4 letter word. As long as we are running out there, there’s HOPE.

It’s ok for us to feel apprehensive.
It’s ok for us to feel dejected.
It’s ok for us to feel anything. We are all human after all.

No, I’m not on drugs…this week I’m looking through different eyes..a different perspective…a NEW HOPE.

25-08-2021, 07:22 PM
This is huge.

He's commenced the sand banking process.

25-08-2021, 07:58 PM
Haha…I’ve been down and out like all of us over the last 3 weeks Rocco, but that’s nothing to what my Woofers in Vic and NSW are going through with lockdown. Add the footy on top of that and it’s inconsolable.

Hope is more than just a 4 letter word. As long as we are running out there, there’s HOPE.

No, I’m not on drugs…this week I’m looking through different eyes..a different perspective…a NEW HOPE.

Help me Cody Wan youre my only hope.

https://media.giphy.com/media/l2JJmXRcFoEJNXyEM/giphy.gif?cid=ecf05e47vj197alvl9jn5xn8dp11tdxs8brfnx1u333tta t7&rid=giphy.gif&ct=g

25-08-2021, 08:06 PM
I think part of it, without wanting to sound like a psychologist, is giving up hope is the easiest thing to do now. Caring has been brutal the last few weeks.

Oh this has 100% been me since ‘97. Pretty sure my trust issues in life stem from this event.

25-08-2021, 08:33 PM

I was out by 0.4% or 7 behinds ;)

25-08-2021, 08:36 PM

I am loving this DG - Go Dogs !!!!

27-08-2021, 08:50 PM
Go port!!!!

27-08-2021, 09:39 PM
Gary Rohan the finals specialist! Such a huge big game player.

27-08-2021, 09:43 PM
Gary Rohan the finals specialist! Such a huge big game player.

Beat me to it (my post was to be ‘Gary Rohan having a typical final’)

27-08-2021, 09:44 PM
Our form last week looks OK on this Port performance … we were much better than Cats at this point and Port looks like 7 in a row at this stage.

27-08-2021, 09:49 PM
Stewart out for the cats is massive. They are structurally out of shape.

They really look old and slow. The wings are really exposing their shitty home ground wins.

27-08-2021, 10:01 PM
45 players used in the game.

Gary Rohan ranked 45.

Now I’m happy.

27-08-2021, 10:09 PM
Good to see Gary Rohan lighting up another finals series

27-08-2021, 10:25 PM
If we by some miracle get though to prelim. We should send someone with COVID to Adelaide to shut down city and get game on neutral territory.

27-08-2021, 10:35 PM
Our form last week looks OK on this Port performance … we were much better than Cats at this point and Port looks like 7 in a row at this stage.

Your right it does but we were lucky enough to kick straight (for a change) making the most of our opportunities. We had 14 scoring shots for the match, geel have 13 half through the 3rd quarter. The old adage, bad kicking is bad football

27-08-2021, 10:40 PM
Your right it does but we were lucky enough to kick straight (for a change) making the most of our opportunities. We had 14 scoring shots for the match, geel have 13 half through the 3rd quarter. The old adage, bad kicking is bad football

Yes. Port had six goals on a perfect deck with 10 minutes to play against us. We kicked four goals in first quarter. Cats stuck on three goals. Cats can’t move the ball at all.

27-08-2021, 10:44 PM
If we by some miracle get though to prelim. We should send someone with COVID to Adelaide to shut down city and get game on neutral territory.

Honestly I feel we are oddly better in an away setting but yeah, I hope that too.

27-08-2021, 10:45 PM

It’s unbelievable that they’re even allowing a genuine home ground advantage when you have other clubs forced to play at neutral venues.

27-08-2021, 10:46 PM
It’s unbelievable that they’re even allowing a genuine home ground advantage when you have other clubs forced to play at neutral venues.

No different to last year.

27-08-2021, 10:48 PM
Far out Hawkins went so deep then I'd be surprised if he didn't pull out his brain instead of a booger.

27-08-2021, 10:50 PM
Our sleeper cells executing their mission, Higgins & Dahl completely ineffective.

27-08-2021, 10:51 PM
No different to last year.

Last year all clubs were in hubs and spent plenty of time getting acclimated to Metricon or the Gabba as neutral venues so I could cop that.

This year, it’s being forced upon some clubs while others get to stay home and play in front of their own crowd. If the AFL had any integrity, if one home club can’t get a home final, they should all be held at neutral venues.

27-08-2021, 10:51 PM

If the GF is in Perth, the prelims will be as well.

27-08-2021, 10:53 PM
Far out Hawkins went so deep then I'd be surprised if he didn't pull out his brain instead of a booger.

Or a Bont doll.

27-08-2021, 10:54 PM
We kick 1 more goal last week and it’s us playing a pretty average looking Geelong tonight.

Pissed a genuine flag shot up the wall.

27-08-2021, 10:54 PM
Last year all clubs were in hubs and spent plenty of time getting acclimated to Metricon or the Gabba as neutral venues so I could cop that.

This year, it’s being forced upon some clubs while others get to stay home and play in front of their own crowd. If the AFL had any integrity, if one home club can’t get a home final, they should all be held at neutral venues.

Totally agree. Once Melb clubs couldn’t have home finals, all games should’ve been neutral.

27-08-2021, 10:55 PM
Bye. Bye.

27-08-2021, 10:57 PM
Lack of state league could really hurt the Vic teams. Could be one of the biggest disadvantages.

Personally the last two seasons have massive asterisk next to them *

*unless we win.

27-08-2021, 10:57 PM
We kick 1 more goal last week and it’s us playing a pretty average looking Geelong tonight.

27-08-2021, 10:58 PM

Cmon comrade I was just starting to feel positive !

27-08-2021, 11:03 PM
If we played Port at Adelaide in a prelim in a normal year how many Dogs supporters would make the trip. 10K easy I believe based on the GWS prelim. Home final without zero opposition support is a massive advantage.

27-08-2021, 11:06 PM
46 players used

Ranked

46th the injured Geelong player early on
45th Dahl

27-08-2021, 11:08 PM
If we played Port at Adelaide in a prelim in a normal year how many Dogs supporters would make the trip. 10K easy I believe based on the GWS prelim. Home final without zero opposition support is a massive advantage.

Can also add a bit of pressure. I think if we play at our best, we can definitely do it. Lots and lots to go though. But if we get there, I will have the belief.

27-08-2021, 11:09 PM
I am glad Fantasia is not playing for the Bombers on Sunday.

Post match Scott presser will be fun.

27-08-2021, 11:10 PM
Geez Port are relentless when they're up and about.

27-08-2021, 11:12 PM
Rohan playing back pocket just to get touches. Useless flog.

Don’t forget Jeremy ‘MIA in Finals’ Cameron too.

27-08-2021, 11:12 PM
Gary Rohan stinking it up in defence is great viewing.

27-08-2021, 11:19 PM
Rohan playing back pocket just to get touches. Useless flog.

Don’t forget Jeremy ‘MIA in Finals’ Cameron too.

At least Selwood and Danger try. The other 2 are useless shit.

27-08-2021, 11:19 PM
Jeremy Cameron reprising his 2016 PF disappearing act has been a sight to see.

Clangerfield wetting the bed when he heard footsteps in the 3rd qtr and the commentators trying in vain to make excuses was enjoyable as well.

27-08-2021, 11:20 PM
So Daisy Pearce just explains a free kick to Higgins was for too high, not a dangerous tackle, then BT completely ignores her and says Higgins milked the dangerous tackle free and the rule's out of control.

He is a complete pig of a man.

27-08-2021, 11:21 PM
Jeremy Cameron reprising his 2016 PF disappearing act has been a sight to see.

Clangerfield wetting the bed when he heard footsteps in the 3rd qtr and the commentators trying in vain to make excuses was enjoyable as well.

It's a shame because I've heard Danger really wants to be a premiership player.

27-08-2021, 11:22 PM
Shit the bed, wee’d your pants at school kind of embarrassment.

Awesome.

27-08-2021, 11:23 PM
It's a shame because I've heard Danger really wants to be a premiership player.

So he’s requesting a trade then?

27-08-2021, 11:24 PM
Shit the bed, wee’d your pants at school kind of embarrassment.

Awesome.

Underutilised.

27-08-2021, 11:28 PM
Danger not winning shit this year is a silver lining at least.

Port is probably the side I wouldn’t mind going all the way from here.

27-08-2021, 11:30 PM
Danger not winning shit this year is a silver lining at least.

Port is probably the side I wouldn’t mind going all the way from here.

If we win the next two we will be up against Port

27-08-2021, 11:31 PM
So Daisy Pearce just explains a free kick to Higgins was for too high, not a dangerous tackle, then BT completely ignores her and says Higgins milked the dangerous tackle free and the rule's out of control.

He is a complete pig of a man.

He's a prize wanker it's a pity the gas explosion didn't singe his tongue so we wouldn't have to listen to his dibble for the rest of the year.

27-08-2021, 11:34 PM
Last 6 seasons prelim results
- 6 won by side going straight there
- 6 won by winners of semi final
- 3 of the last 6 premiers went through the semi

Obviously the straight to prelim side is, all things being equally, probably better too. If you're good enough, having to go through the semi won't be the thing that stops you.

27-08-2021, 11:42 PM
Hope Geelong go out in straight sets, that's the only thing that will save the season for me.

27-08-2021, 11:43 PM
Hope Geelong go out in straight sets, that's the only thing that will save the season for me.

Yeah, I think it'll happen too.

27-08-2021, 11:45 PM

In the last 8 opening finals, they have won once

27-08-2021, 11:48 PM

A Max Gawn kick after the siren to push them from top to third, then copping Port in Adelaide before meeting a red hot Swans/Giants side at a neutral venue. You love to see it.

27-08-2021, 11:57 PM
A Max Gawn kick after the siren to push them from top to third, then copping Port in Adelaide before meeting a red hot Swans/Giants side at a neutral venue. You love to see it.

Outscored by 87 points since 20 minute mark of 3rd quarter last week.

28-08-2021, 01:18 AM

They’ve lost twice since our last game, reminds me this game ain’t *all* bad

28-08-2021, 01:18 AM
Outscored by 87 points since 20 minute mark of 3rd quarter last week.

Ooof :)

28-08-2021, 01:36 AM
There's already a massive cry me a river campaign happening for Geelong as well, with Tom Stewart out alongside Zac Touhey. They're good players and all, and I think missing them is a massive dent in their credentials but it seems some injuries count more for some sides than they do for others.

If we win this week without Bruce, and then go a bit further I don't think we'll be getting any kudos for doing so without him.

28-08-2021, 11:47 AM
Interesting stat from last night - at 3/4 time Port had LOST the centre clearances 12-0 while comprehensively smacking Geelong.

28-08-2021, 11:59 AM
Interesting stat from last night - at 3/4 time Port had LOST the centre clearances 12-0 while comprehensively smacking Geelong.

Amazing what a decent backline can do! We can only dream of bringing in a capable ruck and KPD this off-season. It’d be a game changer.

28-08-2021, 12:32 PM
Amazing what a decent backline can do! We can only dream of bringing in a capable ruck and KPD this off-season. It’d be a game changer.

To be fair we're only a couple of players away from having a gun backline, and the one we've got has held up it's end of the bargain in my opinion.

28-08-2021, 12:38 PM
To be fair we're only a couple of players away from having a gun backline, and the one we've got has held up it's end of the bargain in my opinion.

Agreed. We’re one decent KPD away. Dropping Cordy/Gardner/Young to the 3rd KPD spot would be huge.

28-08-2021, 12:40 PM

May and Lever?

28-08-2021, 12:42 PM
May and Lever?

Oh my lord imagine that. We'd never get scored on.

28-08-2021, 12:47 PM
Oh my lord imagine that. We'd never get scored on.

Pretty sure Melbourne haven't conceded a goal this year so far.

28-08-2021, 12:55 PM
Pretty sure Melbourne haven't conceded a goal this year so far.

Well that doesn't sound right, but I don't have any means available to verify it and I don't think you'd lie to me.

28-08-2021, 01:10 PM
Well that doesn't sound right, but I don't have any means available to verify it and I don't think you'd lie to me.

https://media.giphy.com/media/sxLdKSQdrqpEXy3pCj/giphy.gif?cid=ecf05e47il0h5uioa87gjwp41702xv1tmryvgy1qhhv2tu 78&rid=giphy.gif&ct=g

28-08-2021, 01:57 PM
The Geelong v Swans/GWS final will be in Perth on Friday night.

May mean we win we play Demons/Lions in Tas? Unsure re Lions at the Gabba.

If it's Lions at the Gabba then I'll be rooting for the Lions tonight so we get the Demons in Tas.

28-08-2021, 01:59 PM

If it's Lions at the Gabba then I'll be rooting for the Lions tonight so we get the Demons in Tas.

Footscray vs Casey in Tassie will be a cracker.

28-08-2021, 02:09 PM

Win tomorrow we play either Melbourne at Optus or Brisbane at the Gabba, depends who loses tonight. Win that we play Port in Adelaide in a Prelim. The only way we get a neutral ground in the next two weeks is if Brisvegas win tonight. Then we get Melbourne at Optus next week.

Missing out on top 4 hurts.

28-08-2021, 02:19 PM
So what are your picks for today's games?

Mine: Swans and Lions

28-08-2021, 02:31 PM
Did anyone see Aliir last night? I know he has his flaws, but did we even ask the question when he was available?

28-08-2021, 02:38 PM
Ok so if we win and
Dees lose:
- we play them in WA
- is that a week hard quarantine or can we spend the time in Tassie?

Lions lose
- do we play them at The Gabba or is a Gabba game only for prelim?

28-08-2021, 02:40 PM

Hmmm, WB v Port at Adelaide Oval

goofydoitagain.jpg

28-08-2021, 02:53 PM
Did anyone see Aliir last night? I know he has his flaws, but did we even ask the question when he was available?

Kudos to port. From my understanding he wasn’t available until port asked and targeted him.

28-08-2021, 02:59 PM
Kudos to port. From my understanding he wasn’t available until port asked and targeted him.

Another one of their’s - Bulldogs fan Butters would be great in our side. Love his tenacity.

28-08-2021, 03:03 PM
Another one of there’s - Bulldogs fan Butters would be great in our side. Love his tenacity.

Good Darley boy too.

28-08-2021, 03:36 PM

They said on Fox no more games in Tassie.
If we play Bris it will be at the Gabba I’d think
If we play Melb, it will be in Perth.

28-08-2021, 03:39 PM
Ok so if we win and
Dees lose:
- we play them in WA
- is that a week hard quarantine or can we spend the time in Tassie?

Lions lose
- do we play them at The Gabba or is a Gabba game only for prelim?

As to my understanding, both prelims are in Perth IF the GF is in Perth.

28-08-2021, 03:47 PM
As to my understanding, both prelims are in Perth IF the GF is in Perth.

Sounds like AFL have backflipped on this and will gift Port a home prelim (Brisbane also if they make it).

28-08-2021, 03:48 PM
Sounds like AFL have backflipped on this and will gift Port a home prelim (Brisbane also if they make it).
Wow really. Brisbane had the greatest leg up of all time last year this is a close second.

Saying that the MCG home ground thing is pretty big too. Crows 2017 springs to mind.

28-08-2021, 03:57 PM
Really? Well that would completely suck. Does the AFL want a Bris vs Port GF?

Would not surprise me at all to see Bris beat Melb tonight.

28-08-2021, 04:14 PM
Yep. Seems like, Covid permitting:
- Cats vs GWS/Swans @ SF locked in
- Port has Prelim @ AO
- Lions SF/PF @ Gabba depending on result
- Dees SF/PF @ OS depending on result

So we will either playing at Gabba or OS if we win. Tassie assessed at 'very low risk' by WA, so hopefully we don't have to quarantine for too long if it's WA.

28-08-2021, 04:15 PM
A mate of mine had a theory the AFL really wanted a Port or a Bris GF winner last year, and given they didn't get that they really want one this year.

28-08-2021, 04:24 PM
I'm worried about a few things Bulldogs related but playing away isn't one of them. When you look at our performances vs the top 8, we are worst at Marvel which is meant to be home.

- We've beaten Port at AO (then lost at Marvel)
- Lost to Cats after the siren at their dump
- Beat the Dees at MCG (after losing at Marvel)
- Beat Lions in Ballarat
- Lost to Swans at Marvel
- Beat GWS in Canberra
- Lost to Essendon at Marvel

28-08-2021, 04:27 PM
I'm worried about a few things Bulldogs related but playing away isn't one of them. When you look at our performances vs the top 8, we are worst at Marvel which is meant to be home.

- We've beaten Port at AO (then lost at Marvel)
- Lost to Cats after the siren at their dump
- Beat the Dees at MCG (after losing at Marvel)
- Beat Lions in Ballarat
- Lost to Swans at Marvel
- Beat GWS in Canberra
- Lost to Essendon at Marvel

We like a crowd, don't we, except we had one against Swans :D

28-08-2021, 04:27 PM
Don't get me wrong, I'd rather a neutral venue etc but it won't be the thing that kills us.

Over the lastt 3 years. There's been 3 true home prelims. The sides who had to play in semi then away are 3-0 over home teams with a week's rest.

28-08-2021, 04:48 PM
*!*!*!*! Buddy is still so lethal inside 50. Such a joy watching pure forward craft.

28-08-2021, 04:55 PM
Pretty entertaining 1st quarter. Swans transition is super dangerous, Giants midfield still runs very deep. Reckon this one’ll stay pretty close.

28-08-2021, 04:59 PM
Pretty entertaining 1st quarter. Swans transition is super dangerous, Giants midfield still runs very deep. Reckon this one’ll stay pretty close.

Swans are great to watch and the way GWS have pulled it together after a nightmare start to the year is pretty admirable.

Also, he's a massive ****hole but geez, Mumford still causes problems for opposition sides. Can we get a big beefy, wrecking ball ruckman one day?

28-08-2021, 05:01 PM
Swans are great to watch and the way GWS have pulled it together after a nightmare start to the year is pretty admirable.

Also, he's a massive ****hole but geez, Mumford still causes problems for opposition sides. Can we get a big beefy, wrecking ball ruckman one day?

I am 100% with you on that ruck type (unless of course, we get an allround gun, which I am pretty sure you'd be okay with).

Would compliment our midfield well + we have 2nd ruck/forward types that would provide a good mix.

28-08-2021, 05:10 PM
Toby Greene is a POS. But he plays football well.

28-08-2021, 05:15 PM
Interesting to see how the Swans respond here.

GWS are playing well, and evenly.

28-08-2021, 05:19 PM
Interesting to see how the Swans respond here.

GWS are playing well, and evenly.

They have a bad ass midfield

28-08-2021, 05:26 PM
We knew, but Leon Cameron can seriously coach.

28-08-2021, 05:29 PM
I love watching Buddy.

28-08-2021, 05:29 PM
Bud is still bloody good

I can't stand Daisy, she's a shit commentator.

28-08-2021, 05:30 PM
Bailey smith for Taylor from GWS straight swap. Make it happen.

28-08-2021, 05:34 PM
Bailey smith for Taylor from GWS straight swap. Make it happen.

Bazlenka would struggle to get a gig in that midfield.

28-08-2021, 05:35 PM
I thought the Swans were one of the big threats outside the top 4. Just not looking close to it right now.

28-08-2021, 05:36 PM
Bud is still bloody good

Either can I, plus she hates us

28-08-2021, 05:41 PM
Either can I, plus she hates us

Is that true?

28-08-2021, 05:43 PM
Is that true?

Her commentary when we are playing is biased, in my opinion.

28-08-2021, 05:44 PM

+1

Too short.

Plus one.

28-08-2021, 06:09 PM
Bud is still bloody good

I quite like her most of the time. She tends to give decent analysis and keeps her points concise which is what a special comments type should do. Plus she works with *!*!*!*!ing useless clowns mostly, Jason Bennett being a strong exception. He’s 7’s best game commentator by a mile.

28-08-2021, 06:13 PM
How did nobody bid on Gulden until pick 32?

28-08-2021, 06:18 PM
Pretty good third quarter

28-08-2021, 06:19 PM
How did nobody bid on Gulden until pick 32?

He's a quality youngster isn't he. Surprised that clubs didn't make Sydney pay a much higher price.

28-08-2021, 06:23 PM
C'mon Swans!!

28-08-2021, 06:23 PM

It certainly came across that way last week, she and her colleagues were pretty much barracking for Port.

Some of her analysis is good, and she has to work with Taylor and be constantly spoken over and ignored.

28-08-2021, 06:27 PM
It certainly came across that way last week, she and her colleagues were pretty much barracking for Port.

Some of her analysis is good, and she has to work with Taylor and be constantly spoken over and ignored.

Can't stand the lot of them on Seven

28-08-2021, 06:30 PM
Toby Greene can't help but be a dickhead.

He should get a couple of weeks for umpire contact.

28-08-2021, 06:31 PM
Something has caught fire behind the ground.

I'm easily distracted.

28-08-2021, 06:31 PM
Toby Greene bumped the umpire at 3/4 time. Well walked through him on purpose. Interesting to see what comes of it.

Really silly stuff.

28-08-2021, 06:32 PM
He just didn't have to do it.

28-08-2021, 06:32 PM
Toby done for the year.

Good.

28-08-2021, 06:33 PM

I'm easily distracted.

Your two favourite things at once. Sit down and take deep breaths.

28-08-2021, 06:35 PM
Toby Green can't help but be a dickhead.

3 or 4 even. That’s the worst umpire contract in a long, long time.

28-08-2021, 06:37 PM
He just didn't have to do it.

It's almost as if being mollycoddled over his *!*!*!*!wittery makes him continue to be a *!*!*!*!wit!

28-08-2021, 06:38 PM
It's almost as if being mollycoddled over his *!*!*!*!wittery makes him continue to be a *!*!*!*!wit!

Hahaha. Spot the f on.

Heeney is a dead set gun. May well be the difference.

Heeney is a terrific player.

28-08-2021, 06:40 PM
3 or 4 even. That’s the worst umpire contract in a long, long time.

Even by AFL/ MRO standards that’s going to be a mighty feat to get their boy Toby off this one, although the 7 commentary prats have started the spin of down playing it.

28-08-2021, 06:41 PM
Heeney is an absolute superstar. Greene minus the psycho.

28-08-2021, 06:42 PM
Even by AFL/ MRO standards that’s going to be a mighty fete to get their boy Toby off this one, although the 7 commentary parts have started the spin of down playing it.

Daisy trying to say a $1,000.

She doesn’t want credibility apparently.

28-08-2021, 06:44 PM

I'm easily distracted.

Wasn’t the same thing on fire when we played the hawks? Or was that our season burning to the ground in front of our eyes?

28-08-2021, 06:49 PM
Wasn’t the same thing on fire when we played the hawks? Or was that our season burning to the ground in front of our eyes?

It's Jake and a scout troop roasting marshmallows.

28-08-2021, 06:53 PM
Glad we didn’t try to get Hickey.

28-08-2021, 06:54 PM
Too much weight of ball going forward but Sydney gonna run out of time. They'll only have themselves to blame.

Far out sounds familiar.

28-08-2021, 06:55 PM
Toby Greene bumped the umpire at 3/4 time. Well walked through him on purpose. Interesting to see what comes of it.

Really silly stuff.

Toby done for the year.

Good.

What a flog.

Your two favourite things at once. Sit down and take deep breaths.

Lol. Off duty so it's just a passing observation.

28-08-2021, 06:57 PM
Game of the year. Absolute belter.

28-08-2021, 06:58 PM
That was a cracker!

28-08-2021, 06:58 PM
Hickey will leave a blemish that will last a while.

28-08-2021, 07:00 PM
That’s an epic win for the Giants. Sam Taylor, my god what a jet.

28-08-2021, 07:01 PM
Sydney’s loss was straight out of the bulldogs how-to book.

Syd reminded me of us…Mega amount of inside 50’s for not a lot of goals.

Yep…imagine him in our jumper.

28-08-2021, 07:02 PM

How many finals wins is that v us since the 16 prelim. The flag is all that counts of course, but they've been consistently good for a while.

28-08-2021, 07:03 PM
Swans blew it but geez that's a very, very gutsy and spirited win.

Hard not to be impressed with that. Hope we turn up with a similar spirit.

That Thug Greene contact with ump at 3/4 time was intentional & was bordering on intimidation. He will probably only be fined but if AFL are serious he should miss a week. If it was not for him and Bully Mumford my hatred of the plastic oranges might die down a fair bit.

Ripper match. Gee Hogan was good. C’mon Naughty - you can do that too. Heeney impressive.

How many finals wins is that v us since the 16 prelim. The flag is all that counts of course, but they've been consistently good for a while.

They’ve turned over plenty of players in that time.

Would love their record over the last 4 years. Their defence is great, ultra athletic and they can intercept mark. Very envious.

I'm disappointed there was nothing for this.

I'm starting to think this isn't the place for my humour. Might need a break.

28-08-2021, 07:04 PM
Syd reminded me of us…Mega amount of inside 50’s for not a lot of goals.

Thought the same.

28-08-2021, 07:04 PM
So 7 interview Greene. Smart. Let him get in front of the story.

Ha ha nauseating Hodge. Nauseating. TOTAL ACCIDENT!

28-08-2021, 07:05 PM
They’ve turned over plenty of players in that time.

Would love their record over the last 4 years. Their defence is great, ultra athletic and they can intercept mark. Very envious.

You mean we can’t use it as an excuse?

28-08-2021, 07:06 PM
Sydney Bulldogs.

28-08-2021, 07:07 PM
65-45 inside 50’s in Sydney’s favour.

28-08-2021, 07:11 PM

Actually it was pretty great. I feel embarrassed I didn't spot it.

28-08-2021, 07:14 PM
65-45 inside 50’s in Sydney’s favour.

It's an interesting stat. Not sure it's a great measure of the game tbh.

GWS were +22 contested possession early in the last qtr. It ended up +15, I really rate that as a KPI.

28-08-2021, 07:15 PM

Look I try, it's an artistic endeavour that probably doesn't float everyone's boat but I can't change my approach I have to stay strong and believe.

28-08-2021, 07:21 PM

Look I try, it's an artistic endeavour that probably doesn't float everyone's boat but I can't change my approach I have to stay strong and believe.

28-08-2021, 07:23 PM

Don't make any rash decisions. (sorry it's lockdown).

28-08-2021, 07:24 PM
I think it's kind of a net net result if Toby gets suspended. I haven't really like Sydney after Longmire's carry on over umpires and us, so seeing them out doesn't worry me too much.

28-08-2021, 07:26 PM

Haha thats gold.

28-08-2021, 07:27 PM
I hope Toby doesn't get rubbed out, I'd rather he help dump the Cats in straight sets.

28-08-2021, 07:33 PM

He will get a fine and play next week because the AFL want GWs to be successful

28-08-2021, 07:34 PM
Haha thats gold.

Anzac biscuits aside, you've always been one of my favourite contributors. Now I realise beyond normal intelligence too!

28-08-2021, 07:35 PM
I am very cynical of the AFL MRO/Tribunal but that's a suspension.

28-08-2021, 07:35 PM
You mean we can’t use it as an excuse?

They have had 35 first round draft picks (something like that), big difference

28-08-2021, 07:38 PM
What a flog.

Lol. Off duty so it's just a passing observation.

Was this you :D

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E93Nsu1VIAId1ap?format=jpg&name=large

28-08-2021, 07:39 PM
Haha thats gold.

Even better than BT’s “Cummings swallowed that one” line…

28-08-2021, 07:48 PM
It's urinating down in Adelaide atm.

Amazingly the Demons love the wet.

Seriously if they don't win it this year they never will !

28-08-2021, 07:52 PM
Was this you :D

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/E93Nsu1VIAId1ap?format=jpg&name=large

Lol. I wish our social media team was as cutting.

28-08-2021, 07:57 PM
Melbourne will shit it in tonight.

28-08-2021, 08:00 PM
Respect for the Giants

Could go all the way. Hogan is finally becoming an excellent pick up.

28-08-2021, 08:00 PM

I think it depends on how it goes early. If they take their chances, get on top, I think their structure and ability is set. If they miss chances and/or Lions get on top early. Lots of pressure on them.

28-08-2021, 08:11 PM

Then it’s all due to Paul Roos.

If they lose, then it’s the culture there Paul Roos couldn’t fix.

28-08-2021, 08:14 PM

Hmm. Lions are pretty good. Should be a good match.

28-08-2021, 08:16 PM
Then it’s all due to Paul Roos.

If they lose, then it’s the culture there Paul Roos couldn’t fix.

I don't think Paul Roos gives himself the credit he thinks he deserves.

28-08-2021, 08:19 PM
I don't think Paul Roos gives himself the credit he thinks he deserves.

That kind of humble consciousness is reserved for Gods, and miles above them, Paul Roos.

28-08-2021, 08:24 PM
Swamp

Toby Greene's last 6 finals
2018 EF - $2,500 in fines
2018 SF - $2,500 in fines
2019 EF - $7,500 in fines
2019 SF - 1 week suspension
2019 GF
2021 EF - ???

28-08-2021, 08:45 PM
McStay a real big blow with no Hipwood.

28-08-2021, 08:51 PM
McStay a real big blow with no Hipwood.
What happened to McStay?

28-08-2021, 08:51 PM
Interesting to see that Brisbane are playing Fullerton who is pretty crap purely to maintain structure in place of Hipwood. Complete opposite to our approach.

28-08-2021, 08:54 PM
Swamp

Toby Greene's last 6 finals
2018 EF - $2,500 in fines
2018 SF - $2,500 in fines
2019 EF - $7,500 in fines
2019 SF - 1 week suspension
2019 GF
2021 EF - ???

Imagine what his rap sheet's going to look like when he's a fat old bogan that all his footy "mates" have left behind.

28-08-2021, 08:56 PM
Imagine what his rap sheet's going to look like when he's a fat old bogan that all his footy "mates" have left behind.

Probably like his father. Head butting police women at the footy.

28-08-2021, 08:57 PM
I hate the interpretation around incorrect disposal.

Seriously, if you try and handball and miss your hand or if you try and kick and miss your foot then it's simply cut and dry incorrect disposal.

Dumb.

28-08-2021, 08:58 PM
Like how is Gawn not pinged then? It's madness.

28-08-2021, 09:00 PM
That’s two blatant htb calls on the dees that weren’t paid. That Gawn one was despicable.

28-08-2021, 09:00 PM
Oliver is a beast. That mark and quick play is just high IQ stuff.

28-08-2021, 09:02 PM

I don’t understand what ever this rewriting of the rules is. It should be simple. You do, or don’t dispose of it correctly.

28-08-2021, 09:07 PM
What happened to McStay?

Friendly fire. Copped a knee to the face in a pack situation

28-08-2021, 09:07 PM

Concur, absolute madness

28-08-2021, 09:08 PM
Friendly fire. Copped a knee to the face in a pack situation

He’ll have to miss next week (if they lose).

28-08-2021, 09:08 PM
Oliver is a beast. That mark and quick play is just high IQ stuff.

Yep. Best player in the game and good to watch.

28-08-2021, 09:09 PM

One thing I noticed, he doesn't cover alot of ground

28-08-2021, 09:10 PM

So dynamic in close, he’s built for finals.

28-08-2021, 09:26 PM
I don’t get the sense Brisbane are really in the hunt tonight.

28-08-2021, 09:27 PM
I don’t get the sense Brisbane are really in the hunt tonight.

They come home strongly. Their second halves are very good

28-08-2021, 09:27 PM
Oliver is taking the piss.

Melbourne are dominating, could easily be 5+ goals up.

28-08-2021, 09:32 PM
Yeah I think they've broken the Lions and this is going to get ugly. Hopefully Lions confidence takes a real hit, we win and the confidence tables are turned.

28-08-2021, 09:32 PM
So Starcevich would have been better off pretending to kick it and missing his foot then.

28-08-2021, 09:33 PM
McStay without Hipwood a real killer with Dees structure.

28-08-2021, 09:34 PM
At least Ray Chamberlin is in a different state, so no chance umpiring our game.

28-08-2021, 09:38 PM
The GF is Melbourne's to lose. I can't see anyone getting near them.

28-08-2021, 09:39 PM
The Dees just squeeze the life out of you.

28-08-2021, 09:42 PM
The Dees just squeeze the life out of you.

They're just rock solid everywhere on the field. If I was picky I'd say there forward line is their weakest link but I'm being picky.

28-08-2021, 09:43 PM
19 shots in half a game, of a final.

Those 26 seconds wouldn’t have helped us if we played them tonight. They’re irrepressible.

28-08-2021, 09:46 PM

Those 26 seconds wouldn’t have helped us if we played them tonight. They’re irrepressible.

Yeah, happy to avoid Melbourne for as long as possible. They’ve gone to another level after we touched them up.

28-08-2021, 09:47 PM

Very workman like. God to have May and Lever in the backline.

28-08-2021, 09:50 PM
Very workman like. God to have May and Lever in the backline.

You’d be happy with one!

28-08-2021, 09:58 PM
I guess this is why its appropriate to be pretty Pi55ed with the end to the season.
We beat those guys, pretty convincingly too.

Wtf went wrong after that.

28-08-2021, 10:01 PM
I guess this is why its appropriate to be pretty Pi55ed with the end to the season.
We beat those guys, pretty convincingly too.

Wtf went wrong after that.

English lost confidence
The mids lost confidence in him
Then they lost confidence in themselves
The Bruce injury completely threw out our fwd structure.

28-08-2021, 10:05 PM
I am very cynical of the AFL MRO/Tribunal but that's a suspension.

They need to send a message and we know you can’t touch an umpire, 6 weeks feels about right

28-08-2021, 10:08 PM
They need to send a message and we know you can’t touch an umpire, 6 weeks feels about right

Should hear Riewoldt and Brown slowing down footage saying he hardly touched him and shouldn't be suspended. If he gets off it's a serious black eye on the AFL.

28-08-2021, 10:12 PM
Should hear Riewoldt and Brown slowing down footage saying he hardly touched him and shouldn't be suspended. If he gets off it's a serious black eye on the AFL.

Have to say AFL media is probably the worst I've ever seen in world sport.
Maybe NRL is as bad. But it's a very low bar.

28-08-2021, 10:16 PM
English lost confidence
The mids lost confidence in him
Then they lost confidence in themselves
The Bruce injury completely threw out our fwd structure.
Without Bruce who was our only regular goal kicker we look threadbare in attack with little attempt to consider other options.

28-08-2021, 10:54 PM
Razor is so techical with his frees. He expects every player in every contest to be a robot and be very precise.

28-08-2021, 10:56 PM
Razor is so techical with his frees. He expects every player in every contest to be a robot and be very precise.

And is abusive with his power when speaking (down) to them.

I am very anti what Greene did today and I am also anti how Razor speaks to the players. Need a much thinker line between players and umpires.

28-08-2021, 10:57 PM

The contact itself is only half the problem.

No player shimmy be approaching an umpire like that at the break. Captain or not.

Stevic is standing still. Greene is walking in a straight line and he VERY clearly steps towards him to make the contact.

This is a massive test, for Michael Christian, the Tribunal, the league and the Giants themselves.

28-08-2021, 11:01 PM
So to win the Premiership.

We will need to win a game in consecutive weeks in:

Tasmania
Queensland
South Australia
Western Australia

Including two games against home teams with crowds without our supporters being able to travel to attend. Mission impossible x 100. It makes 2016 look like a cakewalk.

28-08-2021, 11:02 PM

Tasmania
Queensland
South Australia
Western Australia

Including two games against home teams with crowds without our supporters being able to travel to attend. Mission impossible x 100. It makes 2016 look like a cakewalk.

Piece of cake

28-08-2021, 11:07 PM

Tasmania
Queensland
South Australia
Western Australia

2 of those would be neutral. We beat Port at AO this season. No doubt, very difficult but if we are good enough. Can be a lot of pressure on the home side in a prelim. Sides with true home state advantage are 0-3 over last 3 years.

Again, very hard but my main doubts revolve about how poorly out of form we are, rather than the trips.

28-08-2021, 11:12 PM
2 of those would be neutral. We beat Port at AO this season. No doubt, very difficult but if we are good enough. Can be a lot of pressure on the home side in a prelim. Sides with true home state advantage are 0-3 over last 3 years.

Again, very hard but my main doubts revolve about how poorly out of form we are, rather than the trips.

I agree. If we click, we can get it done.