View Full Version : How to watch the grand final with sketchy free to air tv

12-09-2021, 01:02 PM
Back in 2017 I moved into a new place which does not have a TV Antenna and to get one installed is $2K plus.

In 2017, 2018 and 2019 I limped through with a "rabbit ears version" and it didn't matter too much as I could actually go to the games.

During 2020 I put my hand in my pocket and subscribed to Kayo which has seen me sorted, until now...

My understanding is Kayo does not have the rights to stream the Grand Final and channel 7 will not stream it on their app.

Do I have to pray my make shift antenna works or I am doomed to a radio call only?

Over to you brains trust...

12-09-2021, 01:05 PM
If you’re still having issues game day I’ll find a link (obviously on how to get better reception) and DM it to you.

12-09-2021, 01:08 PM
Shit really? I’m out beyond FTA TV. So only Kayo was my option.

Does Foxtel carry it at all? Separate to Kayo?

12-09-2021, 01:09 PM
Shit really? I’m out beyond FTA TV. So only Kayo was my option.

Does Foxtel carry it at all? Separate to Kayo?

I honestly don't know, but I don't think so.

It is all to do with the stupid rights agreement.

12-09-2021, 01:13 PM
I honestly don't know, but I don't think so.

It is all to do with the stupid rights agreement.

No they don’t. 7 or 7+ is it.

12-09-2021, 01:13 PM
Fox footy definitely don’t show the game. They have a pre game segment and then come back after the game for analysis
Hope you get something sorted Azabob

12-09-2021, 01:19 PM
No they don’t. 7 or 7+ is it.

You being in NSW may get you 7+ but don't rely on the option.

12-09-2021, 01:46 PM
You being in NSW may get you 7+ but don't rely on the option.

Foxtel apologised for the last few seasons of GoT and sent me a Foxtel Now box. I just plugged it in and it’s streaming all Ch7. Hopefully it covers the GF.

12-09-2021, 01:48 PM
I've never set up the FTA TV in my appartment so hopefully it works. Will need a long cable though cause the TV is on the other side of the room. Looks like I'm forking out $25 to Officeworks or whatever for a cable.

12-09-2021, 01:50 PM
Foxtel apologised for the last few seasons of GoT and sent me a Foxtel Now box. I just plugged it in and it’s streaming all Ch7. Hopefully it covers the GF.

I think it does but you might (depending on your deal) have worse quality picture than 7HD.

That said it's been quite some time since I used Foxtel

12-09-2021, 01:54 PM
Will it be streamed on 7s website? Surely there has to be options for those without FTA.

12-09-2021, 01:57 PM
We stream everything here so it better be watchable through their app. It isn't like we can go to the pub to watch it.

12-09-2021, 01:59 PM
Apparently it will be on 7plus. Where did you hear it won’t azabob?

I need to lock in my backup option in case of any power outage!

12-09-2021, 02:00 PM
I think it does but you might (depending on your deal) have worse quality picture than 7HD.

That said it's been quite some time since I used Foxtel

I think it’s just a roku unit with their name on it. I can watch all their channels at the moment l.

12-09-2021, 02:05 PM
I’d be shocked if it’s not on their app. Channel 9 def put the league (I’m thinking Origin here) on their app. Kayo don’t show Origin so similar situation. They make you sign up… get your data etc. It’s a massive benefit for them as a business to actually show it on the app…

12-09-2021, 02:23 PM
According to Lifehacker.com it will be on 7plus so if that's not official confirmation I don't know what is

12-09-2021, 02:45 PM
Apparently it will be on 7plus. Where did you hear it won’t azabob?

I need to lock in my backup option in case of any power outage!

I tried to watch some finals last year through 7+ app and also the post game last night through 7+ app and could not.

12-09-2021, 02:54 PM
I did watch the prelim last night in HD via Foxtel but from the comments above and from what I’ve read online they don’t have the rights for the GF.

12-09-2021, 03:02 PM
I tried to watch some finals last year through 7+ app and also the post game last night through 7+ app and could not.

Hmmm did it give a reason or it just wasn’t on? Where are you based?

12-09-2021, 03:05 PM
Last year instructions from Channel 7. It said you could stream it last year.

https://7plus.com.au/where-to-watch-the-afl-grand-final

12-09-2021, 03:07 PM
I found this interesting tidbit

AFL Grand Final live stream
“As AFL streaming rights belong to Foxtel and Kayo, there are only a limited number of devices available to stream the AFL Grand Final live with Network Seven’s 7Plus. If you have a Telstra TV, Samsung Tizen (2016 or later), Fetch TV, Apple TV, Playstation 4 or Android TV, you will be able to stream the AFL Final live. If you use an alternative device, you will only be able to stream the AFL Grand Final on demand with Foxtel and Kayo after the final whistle. Find out how to stream AFL Grand Final replays with Foxtel and Kayo below.“

https://www.comparetv.com.au/news/how-to-watch-afl-grand-final-2021/

12-09-2021, 03:08 PM
Ok sweet what I posted matches what ap posted. That might be your issue azabob.

12-09-2021, 03:09 PM
Apple TV 4k, best streaming device if anyone is looking at purchasing one.

12-09-2021, 03:14 PM
So I’m pretty much stuffed if there’s a blackout. Can’t even go to someone else’s place.

12-09-2021, 05:44 PM
So I’m pretty much stuffed if there’s a blackout. Can’t even go to someone else’s place.

It looks like the set top box / streaming options are the only way to go via the 7plus app.

12-09-2021, 06:01 PM
It looks like the set top box / streaming options are the only way to go via the 7plus app.

What about off your phone and cast to TV?

12-09-2021, 06:11 PM
What about off your phone and cast to TV?

Apparently you can’t stream the game on your phone. Can only do it on certain devices.

13-09-2021, 01:16 PM
So I can't chrome cast it? We haven't used non streamed tv in years, this is bullshit.

13-09-2021, 01:18 PM
So I can't chrome cast it? We haven't used non streamed tv in years, this is bullshit.

What did you do last year for the grand final?

13-09-2021, 01:20 PM
What did you do last year for the grand final?

Went to a mates place. Not really an option atm.

13-09-2021, 01:30 PM
I dont think they will limit it to certain devices, it would actually be quite a bit of work to limit it in such a fashion and from what I have seen from 7 they are not big of lots of work.

Having said that I'm screwed if they do limit it.

13-09-2021, 01:32 PM

I have sent 7Plus a support query to see if they will have casting this year.

13-09-2021, 01:43 PM
Follow it live on WOOF!
In 2016 my neighbour offered me 3 entries to GF.
It was a kind of charity set up by security.
The deal was wait till first siren, the security guy opens gate and you run in and blend.
Happens every year.
Declined because I had to worry about my two adult sons.
Watched it on TV instead.

13-09-2021, 02:01 PM
I dont think they will limit it to certain devices, it would actually be quite a bit of work to limit it in such a fashion and from what I have seen from 7 they are not big of lots of work.

Having said that I'm screwed if they do limit it.

Reading the links provided on the previous page, this is indeed what they’re doing. I think the restrictions are there because of kayos/Foxtel rights to streaming. It’s stupidly stupid.

13-09-2021, 02:03 PM
Follow it live on WOOF!
WOOF match day threads are 1,000 times more entertaining and informative than the utterly garbage ch 7 coverage.

13-09-2021, 02:47 PM
WOOF match day threads are 1,000 times more entertaining and informative than the utterly garbage ch 7 coverage.

I agree, but we need someone to provide a timeline of events or at least when the quarter starts, half way point, when the quarter ends etc.

13-09-2021, 02:48 PM
So feel wise 7+ app on your Android TV should work?

13-09-2021, 02:59 PM

Welcome to Australia and Channel 7, the home of our greatest sport presented in glorious 720p

13-09-2021, 03:05 PM
So feel wise 7+ app on your Android TV should work?

It sounds like you can stream if you do it from one of these devices:

Telstra TV,
Samsung Tizen (2016 or later),
Fetch TV,
Apple TV,
Playstation 4 or
Android TV

13-09-2021, 03:56 PM
Welcome to Australia and Channel 7, the home of our greatest sport presented in glorious 720p

It's a bloody joke isn't it. 4K has been around for awhile now and they are stuck in the dark ages.

13-09-2021, 04:13 PM
We stream everything here so it better be watchable through their app. It isn't like we can go to the pub to watch it.

I got a response:

Hi Michael,
Thank you for contacting 7plus support.
Unfortunately we don't have rights for AFL Grand Final streaming rights on all of the devices.
You will not be able to live stream this content on a mobile device.
We are sorry for the inconvenience.
Regards,
7 Digital Support Team

13-09-2021, 04:13 PM
Imagine the outrage if Melbourne has some freak storm grand final night. There’s no way to watch the game without a tv. It’s nuts.

I hope everyone can watch it. But make sure you have a backup plan in case of an outage.

13-09-2021, 04:17 PM
I got a response:

Hi Michael,
Thank you for contacting 7plus support.
Unfortunately we don't have rights for AFL Grand Final streaming rights on all of the devices.
You will not be able to live stream this content on a mobile device.
We are sorry for the inconvenience.
Regards,
7 Digital Support Team

Thanks for your work BAD. Are you aware if we can stream it off a smart TV?

13-09-2021, 04:19 PM
Thanks for your work BAD. Are you aware if we can stream it off a smart TV?

If it’s Samsung or android then yes you should. As long as it’s fairly recent.

13-09-2021, 04:27 PM
If it’s Samsung or android then yes you should. As long as it’s fairly recent.

So if I can download the app (which I can), I’m good to go?

13-09-2021, 04:30 PM

What tv do you have?

I haven’t ever watched a match this way so can’t say with certainty but going off what I’ve read, a post 2016 Samsung or android tv should work with the 7+ app.

13-09-2021, 04:31 PM

Yes you should be able to.

Check here (https://7plus.com.au/where-to-watch-the-afl-grand-final)

On what devices can I watch the AFL Grand Final?

You can watch the AFL Grand Final on the following devices:

Telstra TV
Samsung Tizen (2016 and later)
Fetch TV
Apple TV
PlayStation 4
Android TV

*Android TV refers to the TV/Set Top Box version of the Android Operating System, which is available on select Smart TV's and devices such as the nVidia Shield and Foxtel Now Box. For more information on Android TV

13-09-2021, 04:33 PM
Thanks heaps guys.

13-09-2021, 04:34 PM

I believe Sony TVs have android tv so should work. But it will depend on the model.

13-09-2021, 04:42 PM
Chromecast with Google TV should work but who knows with 7+ liking old technology so much.
Technically does Android TV even exist anymore?
Available on PS4 but not PS5?

13-09-2021, 04:48 PM

That appears to be the 2020 info

13-09-2021, 04:48 PM
That appears to be the 2020 info

Yes, still the same, especially devices you can stream on.

13-09-2021, 04:49 PM
Chromecast with Google TV should work but who knows with 7+ liking old technology so much.

I wouldn’t count on using chromecast. But who knows, it’s way more complicated than it needs to be.

A lot of smart tvs use android tv as their software for streaming. Sony is one and I think hisense is another.

13-09-2021, 04:51 PM

From 7Plus

Can I Chromecast or AirPlay the AFL Grand Final?

No, the 7plus coverage of the 2020 AFL Grand Final is not available for Chromecast or AirPlay.

Also applies to 2021 according to email back to me.

13-09-2021, 04:57 PM
I've set up the & app on my PS4 which should work, really hoping that whatever can't broadcast it cuts out at least 15 minutes prior to the GF to at least give us room to scramble if what I think works doesn't.

13-09-2021, 05:00 PM
Ps4 should work

Just terrified if it doesn't I'm stuffed. And it isn't even a day Grand Final so I can't do my ultimate fall back which is "Wait till it's over and watch it on delay with a complete media blackout" unless I'm prepared to wait till 10.30.

13-09-2021, 05:10 PM
Yeah ps4 should work but I understand your hesitancy. No way to test it. But if you’re getting a live feed right now, I’d expect that to continue given they’ve stated ps4 is a valid way to go. Just unbelievable in this day and age, in a lockdown where we can’t go to pubs or other people’s houses, some might have no way to watch a grand final without forking out for new tech.

13-09-2021, 05:17 PM
You’d just think common sense prevails here. Ok channel 7 don’t have streaming rights because Foxtel have it. But Foxtel don’t have rights to stream the grand final live. So all viewers are left in this dark hole. Surely either can step in to make it more widely available. Doesn’t the AFEL want more viewers?? Especially in a lockdown??

13-09-2021, 05:22 PM
You’d just think common sense prevails here. Ok channel 7 don’t have streaming rights because Foxtel have it. But Foxtel don’t have rights to stream the grand final live. So all viewers are left in this dark hole. Surely either can step in to make it more widely available. Doesn’t the AFEL want more viewers?? Especially in a lockdown??

Does Telstra have rights on mobile Devices? May have to pay for the day? I will check it out.

EDIT

All I found was this:

https://www.watchafl.com.au/

13-09-2021, 05:24 PM
Does Telstra have rights on mobile Devices? May have to pay for the day? I will check it out.

I’m not sure what happened with Telstra because last year and this year they just funneled all their customers to kayo.

13-09-2021, 05:35 PM
So let me get this straight:
- Kayo have streaming rights, but not for live GF so you can’t watch it on Kayo
- Ch7 have GF live rights, but not mobile device streaming - so no using mobiles to watch or to cast onto a TV.
- You can watch on free to air TV or via 7plus app on a smart TV using the devices listed previously.h

Telstra TV,
Fetch TV,
Apple TV,
Playstation 4 or
Android TV

Is that summary correct?

13-09-2021, 05:43 PM
Can't even find the bloody app on my PS4.

13-09-2021, 05:43 PM
- Ch7 have GF live rights, but not mobile device streaming - so no using mobiles to watch or to cast onto a TV.
- You can watch on free to air TV or via 7plus app on a smart TV using the devices listed previously.h

Telstra TV,
Fetch TV,
Apple TV,
Playstation 4 or
Android TV

Is that summary correct?

That's the stupid situation we find ourselves in

13-09-2021, 05:59 PM

Telstra TV,
Fetch TV,
Apple TV,
Playstation 4 or
Android TV

Is that summary correct?

We think so...

13-09-2021, 06:08 PM
We don't even have a *!*!*!*!ing TV in our house!

13-09-2021, 06:08 PM

Telstra TV,
Fetch TV,
Apple TV,
Playstation 4 or
Android TV

Is that summary correct?

Based on articles and BADs info from 7, this is essentially it. Moronic really.

13-09-2021, 06:09 PM

What are you watching games on?

13-09-2021, 06:11 PM
What are you watching games on?

Kayo on my laptop.

13-09-2021, 06:11 PM
5 pages on a bulldogs supporter forum to figure out how to watch the biggest event in our sporting calendar and it still isn’t clear. It’s bloody horrendous from the AFL.

13-09-2021, 06:12 PM
Kayo on my laptop.

Did you watch at a mates/pub last year for the grand final?

13-09-2021, 06:12 PM
Did you watch at a mates/pub last year for the grand final?

Watched at the old man's, makes it tougher with restrictions this year but obviously nothing is going to stop me.

13-09-2021, 06:17 PM
Watched at the old man's, makes it tougher with restrictions this year but obviously nothing is going to stop me.

Yeah without a tv, it seems you’re out of luck otherwise.

13-09-2021, 06:40 PM
So in a 1 in 100 pandemic, they can use common sense to push the MCG deal out. But can’t use common sense to adjust broadcasting deal with respect to streaming.

I think I’ve worked it out for me, or I hope so, but if you live a long way from a tower as I do, I just can’t get anything like a decent signal even with strong antenna boosters. So I rely on Kayo & Foxtel. That there’s not a commercial deal to be had here just *!*!*!*!s over some rural/regional people and others that don’t fit neatly into the nice little box Ch7 & AFEL have decided on. But whatever, so people don’t watch the GF and the corporate overlords see that as a victory...

13-09-2021, 06:51 PM
So in a 1 in 100 pandemic, they can use common sense to push the MCG deal out. But can’t use common sense to adjust broadcasting deal with respect to streaming.

I think I’ve worked it out for me, or I hope so, but if you live a long way from a tower as I do, I just can’t get anything like a decent signal even with strong antenna boosters. So I rely on Kayo & Foxtel. That there’s not a commercial deal to be had here just *!*!*!*!s over some rural/regional people and others that don’t fit neatly into the nice little box Ch7 & AFEL have decided on. But whatever, so people don’t watch the GF and the corporate overlords see that as a victory...

Ah the corporate overlords. The same ones who whinge about having a public holiday for a sports event? Ok if you compare it to other countries it does seem a little silly, but it’s a day off ffs!! I’ll take it!

13-09-2021, 06:59 PM

One day soon I'm going to ask you how this happened :)

13-09-2021, 07:10 PM
I just splashed out on a new TV and sound bar today, was able to get a very good deal via a friend. If thinking of doing the same be mindful of delivery timings, because they could be a bit cooked in certain areas.

The preference would be to splash out on travel to Perth etc. etc. but if I'm going to be home then so be it. I was due anyway, the TV I have has a black faded spot the size of a water polo ball about a third up and slightly to the left and that just won't do for a grand final.

I can send it up to Ballarat if you need Comrade.

13-09-2021, 07:38 PM
I just splashed out on a new TV and sound bar today, was able to get a very good deal via a friend. If thinking of doing the same be mindful of delivery timings, because they could be a bit cooked in certain areas.

The preference would be to splash out on travel to Perth etc. etc. but if I'm going to be home then so be it. I was due anyway, the TV I have has a black faded spot the size of a water polo ball about a third up and slightly to the left and that just won't do for a grand final.

I can send it up to Ballarat if you need Comrade.

I bought a projector and Apple TV last year and watch all the night games on the deck with that set up. I’ll be having a medium sized gathering with friends (sorry… not meaning to rub it in…) and am stoked it’s a night GF cause the projector is unwatchable in the daytime.

13-09-2021, 08:51 PM
I wonder if you can watch 7Plus GF on a web browser. I know you can watch other 7Plus shows on a browser

13-09-2021, 08:53 PM
I wonder if you can watch 7Plus GF on a web browser. I know you can watch other 7Plu shows on a browser

You would be able to with a VPN?

WatchAFL via a VPN would work, will cost about $130.00 for the pleasure though....plus the cost of the VPN.

13-09-2021, 10:54 PM
You would be able to with a VPN?

WatchAFL via a VPN would work, will cost about $130.00 for the pleasure though....plus the cost of the VPN.

I have an Apple tv4k which I would highly recommend to you. The new version came out this year, but I will stick with the 2017 version. I do run Geoblocking if I want to watch some overseas apps like HBO, or USA Netflix etc.

14-09-2021, 12:18 AM
I've decided the 7 Plus app on the PS4 isn't good looking enough so I'm buying a 10 meter tv antenna cable instead.

Best of all is I can continue to use it to watch all those quality channel 7 shows that we all love...

14-09-2021, 12:26 AM
I have an Apple tv4k which I would highly recommend to you. The new version came out this year, but I will stick with the 2017 version. I do run Geoblocking if I want to watch some overseas apps like HBO, or USA Netflix etc.

I went with this:

https://www.jbhifi.com.au/products/sony-x90j-65-bravia-xr-full-array-led-4k-google-tv-2021

I'm more of a music guy....which you may have picked up on so buying TVs isn't really my thing (I do have a Sony Bravia 62 inch that's about nine years old and has a dark spot on it, but I picked that up on the cheap about seven years ago). I'm just sad at the realisation my LSR JBL monitors and 12 inch sub that I would love to get cranking isn't viable for the small space in which I'm residing for the foreseeable future.

For the sound bar I went with:

https://www.jbhifi.com.au/products/jbl-bar-9-1-channel-soundbar-system-with-surround-speakers

The heart belongs to JBL........this stuff will last me for ten years hopefully as it's a shit tonne to fork out even though I got a good deal via a mate.

14-09-2021, 12:46 AM
I went with this:

https://www.jbhifi.com.au/products/sony-x90j-65-bravia-xr-full-array-led-4k-google-tv-2021

I'm more of a music guy....which you may have picked up on so buying TVs isn't really my thing (I do have a Sony Bravia 62 inch that's about nine years old and has a dark spot on it, but I picked that up on the cheap about seven years ago). I'm just sad at the realisation my LSR JBL monitors and 12 inch sub that I would love to get cranking isn't viable for the small space in which I'm residing for the foreseeable future.

For the sound bar I went with:

https://www.jbhifi.com.au/products/jbl-bar-9-1-channel-soundbar-system-with-surround-speakers

The heart belongs to JBL........this stuff will last me for ten years hopefully as it's a shit tonne to fork out even though I got a good deal via a mate.

I have the same TV and it’s super impressive. It will more than do the job. Android interface is great and the full array dimming makes a big difference to the black levels when compared to standard LED. Hopefully you enjoy it as much as I do.

14-09-2021, 01:01 AM
I have the same TV and it’s super impressive. It will more than do the job. Android interface is great and the full array dimming makes a big difference to the black levels when compared to standard LED. Hopefully you enjoy it as much as I do.

Yeah my gear head mates really rate it as an outstanding piece. Thanks dude, hopefully you're right!

14-09-2021, 01:03 AM
The Nvidia Shield box I find is excellent, with a ton of apps and add ons to utilise beyond the GF. Of course the 7 App is available with the Shield to watch the GF as a back up if my antenna is taken out by a wayward albatross.

14-09-2021, 03:00 AM
The Nvidia Shield box I find is excellent, with a ton of apps and add ons to utilise beyond the GF. Of course the 7 App is available with the Shield to watch the GF as a back up if my antenna is taken out by a wayward albatross.

Scallywag......!

We need more of Doc26.

18-09-2021, 05:18 PM
Telstra tv comes free to all Big Pond/telstra subscribers....

18-09-2021, 06:09 PM
Telstra tv comes free to all Big Pond/telstra subscribers....

I have a standing policy to avoid all Telstra products to the best of my ability.