View Full Version : Welcome to the Western Bulldogs, Tim O'Brien

07-10-2021, 02:44 PM
https://twitter.com/RalphyHeraldSun/status/1445940281174495238

Just waiting for it to be announced but agreed to terms.

https://twitter.com/traderadio/status/1445938767303299073

07-10-2021, 02:56 PM
Fingers crossed we have another Duryea type gem on our hands.

07-10-2021, 03:04 PM
Finished the year strongly. Perhaps given every opportunity to fatten him up for trade - but given the Clarkson situation - maybe not. So I'm pretty optimistic.

He's played 97 games, so he's a chance to play his best footy for us.

Finished the year with

14 & 10 marks in a win v the pies
24 & 10 marks in a win v the dogs
18 & 7 marks in a draw with the tigers

07-10-2021, 03:19 PM
Add some desperately needed intercepting marking capacity in the back half. Indications late in the year we wanted to go with three talls in defence and he's mid-tall enough to play the role.
For no draft cost it seems a no-brainer

07-10-2021, 03:52 PM
Does this mean either Wallis is staying or that we don't anticipate any potential deal elsewhere would generate any compensation?

07-10-2021, 03:55 PM
Does this mean either Wallis is staying or that we don't anticipate any potential deal elsewhere would generate any compensation?

Good call.

07-10-2021, 03:58 PM
He’s now one of us, so welcome aboard.

07-10-2021, 03:59 PM

Or it could mean that a “trade” has been organised for Wallis, where we swap Wallis and our pick X for the other teams pick X+1

Edit: Wait, ignore that it makes no sense- it would be the other way around in that we would have needed to do the Wallis trade first.

07-10-2021, 04:02 PM
Bulldogs land free agent Tim O’Brien (https://www.afl.com.au/news/683064/high-flying-hawks-free-agent-gives-dogs-a-big-man-boost)

The Western Bulldogs have acquired Hawthorn key position utility Tim O’Brien as a free agent on a two-year deal.

The Dogs completed the transaction on Thursday with the uncontracted 27-year-old, who is an unrestricted free agent.

O’Brien has become a mainstay in the Hawks’ line-up, playing either in defence or attack. He has played 97 games so far over eight seasons at AFL level.

He played 19 games in 2021, averaging five marks per game and kicking 12 goals for the season, including multiple goals on three occasions.

“I’m absolutely rapt to get it done. Now I can just focus on the footy stuff and get going into next year. I can’t wait,” O’Brien said.

“I’m looking forward to meeting everyone. I think the list is in a good spot. There’s a lot of players around my age. It fit well for me and the Club.

“Playing in a Grand Final, they’re right in that window, so that was really appealing.”

O’Brien, who stands at 194cm tall, was recruited to Hawthorn with pick 28 in the 2012 NAB AFL Draft and played in a VFL premiership with Box Hill in his debut year.

He made his AFL debut in Round 1 of the 2014 season and has since proven to be a versatile and dependable player as a key forward or defender.

His best performance of the season came ironically against the Bulldogs in Round 22, where he collected 24 disposals and took 10 marks as an intercept defender.

“We’re thrilled to welcome Tim to the Bulldogs, and we’re looking forward to what he will add to our playing group,” said Bulldogs’ General Manager of List Management and Football Projects, Sam Power.

“We’ve seen Tim’s strengths at either end of the ground during his time at the Hawks, but we see him adding the most value to our team as a defender.

“We’re excited by his ability to read the play and win back possession through his intercept marking, and he has impressive speed for a tall player.”

Under the rules of Free Agency, a player with at least eight years of experience at an AFL Club who is not contracted for the following season can move freely to another club without the need for an exchange of draft picks.

07-10-2021, 04:07 PM
I'll take him as our second KPD, between Keath, O'Brien and Gardner we should have some options down back now.

07-10-2021, 04:24 PM
O’Brien, who stands at 194cm tall

Our amazing ability to get players to grow well into their 20s is already at work - listed as 193cm on the hawks website. ;)

I wonder if Young will lose his extra cms at Carlton?

07-10-2021, 04:31 PM
Our amazing ability to get players to grow well into their 20s is already at work - listed as 193cm on the hawks website. ;)

I wonder if Young will lose his extra cms at Carlton?

I had to look twice as I thought I had made that comment :D

07-10-2021, 04:45 PM
Does this complete the Brian Lake trade.

Didn't Hawthorn draft O'Brien with the pick the pick that accompanied Lake to Hawthorn

07-10-2021, 04:45 PM
Does this complete the Brian Lake trade.

Didn't Hawthorn draft O'Brien with the pick the pick that accompanied Lake to Hawthorn

Yep. Bang on.

07-10-2021, 04:53 PM
Good a right footer for more variation.

07-10-2021, 05:01 PM
I’m pretty on the fence about this one. Given there’s been no outlay of picks and the contract is likely pretty friendly I’m willing to cut the team some slack. But O’Brien has been an “almost” player for 9 years, I just can’t really see him playing a huge role. Maybe he takes the Wood role, but even then I’m not hugely convinced

07-10-2021, 05:59 PM
I don't know much about him other than the game he played against us in Tassie. What I will say is that whilst he's been on a list for 9 years, for 4 or 5 of them he would have been a young kid in a bloody good team! Hard to get a look in.

Since 2017/18 as the Hawks slid down the ladder, he has been a regular player in a team on the decline. That's not easy so maybe becoming part of a strong back 6 will allow him to play a settled role.

Who knows. I am ok with the trade as it has secured someone who will add depth and increase competition for spots without us paying overs.

07-10-2021, 06:48 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LFp7FKTMUP0

07-10-2021, 07:56 PM
Finished the year strongly. Perhaps given every opportunity to fatten him up for trade - but given the Clarkson situation - maybe not. So I'm pretty optimistic.

He's played 97 games, so he's a chance to play his best footy for us.

Finished the year with

14 & 10 marks in a win v the pies
24 & 10 marks in a win v the dogs
18 & 7 marks in a draw with the tigers
Don't think Lewy Young has ever had those numbers, save for his first AFL game against Carlton.

Effectively O'Brien and pick 52 for Lewy Young sounds pretty good to me.

07-10-2021, 08:35 PM
Don't think Lewy Young has ever had those numbers, save for his first AFL game against Carlton.

There is an age gap but I agree. Also, Lewy wanted out, so that part not in our hands.

07-10-2021, 08:41 PM
I’m pretty on the fence about this one. Given there’s been no outlay of picks and the contract is likely pretty friendly I’m willing to cut the team some slack. But O’Brien has been an “almost” player for 9 years, I just can’t really see him playing a huge role. Maybe he takes the Wood role, but even then I’m not hugely convinced

Why do you not see him playing a role? He looks every bit as good as Mitch Hannan, even a bit more mobile.

07-10-2021, 08:42 PM
Fingers crossed we have another Duryea type gem on our hands.

Good point. he's coming from a very good culture with a system that our coach knows.

Joins an elite club of ginger dogs.

07-10-2021, 09:14 PM
Welcome Tim. I reckon he will slot in well. Tim and Schache’s ability to play both ends could be a plus although it looks like he was recruited more so as a defender.

Also separate to football ability but important for some of us….he is quite a nice looking chap & we can never have too many readheads.

07-10-2021, 09:15 PM
Good point. he's coming from a very good culture with a system that our coach knows.

Joins an elite club of ginger dogs.

That’s an Arnott’s biscuit variety right there - love it.

07-10-2021, 09:53 PM
No Free Agency compensation for Hawthorn. I’m sure they were hoping for a third rounder to help the rebuild. Ah well.

07-10-2021, 10:06 PM
Interestingly Jon Ralph said Hawks in a last ditch attempt tried to get him to stay.

07-10-2021, 11:03 PM
No Free Agency compensation for Hawthorn. I’m sure they were hoping for a third rounder to help the rebuild. Ah well.

Does that mean the years/dollars weren’t enough to trigger compo? Good deal for us if so.

07-10-2021, 11:12 PM
Why do you not see him playing a role? He looks every bit as good as Mitch Hannan, even a bit more mobile.

Seems he’s been brought in to play down back.
Does he play ahead of Wood? I mean he might, and Wood gets injured a lot, but do you see Bevo not playing Wood if he’s fit?
Who does he dislodge from the backline? I’m not sure he has the capacity to play on proper key forwards so Keath and Gardner/Cordy probably take those spots.
He doesn’t dislodge any of Williams / Dale / Duryea.
I’m just not sure how he fits and I’m definitely not sure he’s good enough to be first 22. I mean he has tools but he hasn’t put it together in 9 years. It’s unlikely he does now, but happy to be wrong.

07-10-2021, 11:14 PM
Does that mean the years/dollars weren’t enough to trigger compo? Good deal for us if so.

Yep. AFEL stricter this year it seems. Hawthorn effectively delisted him. The two years must not be decent money. So we have a free hit and very little risk. Shrewd move by Power. Now for Tim 2 to take the opportunity.

07-10-2021, 11:18 PM
Interestingly Jon Ralph said Hawks in a last ditch attempt tried to get him to stay.

Act 1: Explore your options elsewhere Tim, there’s no contract and honestly no future. Explore free agency.

Act 2: Tim we aren’t getting compo. Ignore the dogs wanting you, and us not. We can maybe offer you something.

Act 3: I’m joining the dogs all the same.

08-10-2021, 12:26 AM
Welcome to the Dogs Tim. Could be a nice pick up and bolster us down back. We need a good interceptor.

08-10-2021, 02:55 AM
Welcome to the Dogs Tim. Could be a nice pick up and bolster us down back. We need a good interceptor.

The last of the v8 interceptors.

08-10-2021, 07:30 AM
He's been targeted and brought in meaning he'll likely be played.

Can see him taking Wood and/ or Cordy's spots. Between arriving at Hawthorn's peak and their residual period of competitiveness up to 2018 where they made top four he's managed to put together 97 senior games and kick 73 goals playing both forward and behind the footy. Clarkson wouldn't have played him that often if he was a slouch during that time.

I get that he frustrates Hawks fans, and doesn't mark enough of the balls he goes for, but they were seriously spoiled for choice during their glory days and I reckon some of the perception about him may be impacted by that. With really good players around him and in a good system he could be a fantastic acquisition. Or he could be ordinary and just a depth player but if this year taught us anything we need depth in talls and mid sized defenders.

08-10-2021, 08:37 AM
He's been targeted and brought in meaning he'll likely be played.

Can see him taking Wood and/ or Cordy's spots. Between arriving at Hawthorn's peak and their residual period of competitiveness up to 2018 where they made top four he's managed to put together 97 senior games and kick 73 goals playing both forward and behind the footy. Clarkson wouldn't have played him that often if he was a slouch during that time.

I get that he frustrates Hawks fans, and doesn't mark enough of the balls he goes for, but they were seriously spoiled for choice during their glory days and I reckon some of the perception about him may be impacted by that. With really good players around him and in a good system he could be a fantastic acquisition. Or he could be ordinary and just a depth player but if this year taught us anything we need depth in talls and mid sized defenders.

I think he is there to add depth to the back line after knowing we were losing Young. I'd be surprised if he replaces Wood in the senior line-up but he should and more than likely he is there to replace Cordy.

08-10-2021, 08:48 AM
I think he is there to add depth to the back line after knowing we were losing Young. I'd be surprised if he replaces Wood in the senior line-up but he should and more than likely he is there to replace Cordy.

Not sure he plays the second key defender role for mine, think its Woods role he will be replacing with the added ability to mark the ball.

08-10-2021, 09:16 AM
Not sure he plays the second key defender role for mine, think its Woods role he will be replacing with the added ability to mark the ball.

I agree he's not necessarily the number 2 tall defender and I'd had Gardner ahead of Cordy so hopefully O'Brien is more of a 3rd tall option for us.

08-10-2021, 09:19 AM
I agree he's not necessarily the number 2 tall defender and I'd had Gardner ahead of Cordy so hopefully O'Brien is more of a 3rd tall option for us.

I think that’s almost a guarantee.

Keath, Gardner as two key defenders.

O’Brien the third tall.

Duryea as lock down small.

Williams and Dale half backs

08-10-2021, 09:25 AM
I think that’s almost a guarantee.

Keath, Gardner as two key defenders.

O’Brien the third tall.

Duryea as lock down small.

Williams and Dale half backs

Sounds about right

I can’t help but imagine what difference O’Brien would’ve made on Fritsch…

08-10-2021, 09:29 AM
So what of Wood & Crozier? Early retirement and trade?

08-10-2021, 09:34 AM

Not sure they have trade value.

I think the MC see Wood as best 22 and Crozier if he is fit and has a ripper pre season I wouldn't mind betting the MC see him as best 22 also.

08-10-2021, 09:41 AM
Not sure they have trade value.

I think the MC see Wood as best 22 and Crozier if he is fit and has a ripper pre season I wouldn't mind betting the MC see him as best 22 also.

Wood was the early retirement. Shouldn’t have a contract next year. I lost all faith in Crozier. I’d hate happily take a future pick. I just don’t trust him to do the job.

08-10-2021, 09:44 AM
Wood was the early retirement. Shouldn’t have a contract next year. I lost all faith in Crozier. I’d hate happily take a future pick. I just don’t trust him to do the job.

I don't disagree with your thoughts.

08-10-2021, 09:57 AM
I don't disagree with your thoughts.

On the flip side, I guess we need to see if TOB (ias Funke) can do the job in our system.

08-10-2021, 10:05 AM

Both will be depth next year, unless Croz can somehow recapture his best form.

Woody is cooked and should have only been given a 1 year deal but it is what it is. Will provide leadership for our Footscray team.

08-10-2021, 11:04 AM
I don't think we should be too pre-occupied about whether O'Brien is best 22 or not. We played 41 players last season. Even if that only got to 35 or 36 next year, chances are he is going to get some senior games - so I think he adds to depth in the 3rd tall type of stocks both for defence or attack. He's obviously coming across on lower end wage in the scheme of things, and if he turns into a regular senior footballer then that is a great result.

One thing about the players we've gotten from Hawthorn, they have been smart footballers who were well drilled in where to be. Suckling could be frustrating and not a gifted one on one player - but his positioning in defence and reading of the play was excellent. Doc is obviously elite at it (positioning, footy IQ). Hopefully as a defender O'Brien brings some of those traits. Certainly looked like he had picked up a thing or two when we kicked the ball to him all day in round 22.

One swallow doesn't make a summer - but 14 intercept possessions against us, 6 of them marks (3 contested)....was a impressive (and frustrating) performance.

08-10-2021, 01:24 PM
Yeah I like this selection, Ozza and others have outlined it well.

How many players actually put together 5+ years of consistent footy? Not many. He's at the perfect age now to contribute, and he was very raw when drafted and isn't a star, so I'm not surprised he's been a bit of a slow burn.

Has attributes we need in our back half (athletic + intercept ability), especially with Wood done.

Gardy + TOB > Wood + Cordy makes us better in the air and much quicker.

08-10-2021, 03:03 PM
TOM
Tim will deliver his 'opus magnum' at the Bulldogs.
Perfect age to leave his prepararations at the Hawks, under Beveridge and with the boys, including Crozier and Duryea to help him transition.
Seems like we benefit from Hawks cleaning out the cupboard under Mitchell who clearly wants to rebuild their midfield at least.

08-10-2021, 05:37 PM
Listened to his interview on SEN with Bob and Andy and thought he spoke well when questioned around how he can improve at the Dogs. He seemed quite upbeat about having a focus as a backline player versus having to kick goals up fwd (for Hawthorn).

08-10-2021, 05:53 PM
Listened to his interview on SEN with Bob and Andy and thought he spoke well when questioned around how he can improve at the Dogs. He seemed quite upbeat about having a focus as a backline player versus having to kick goals up fwd (for Hawthorn).

On trade radio as well - listen here (https://media.whooshkaa.com/show/9121/episode/913777.mp3)

08-10-2021, 10:53 PM
Nickname?

09-10-2021, 04:29 AM

I guess what I was getting at is that I think Gardner and Keath will be our two major defencive talls next year, and that will leave Cordy and Wood battling it out for the next spot. After the conclusion of this past season I am now of the view Easton's time as a walk-up best 22 player is over, as even though I thought again he was on the receiving end of too much unreasonable criticism he is clearly in decline and that's not going to get better a year on (happy to be surprised, however).

From this article in The Age, there's mention of an intercepting role, and while that could just be the journo coming up with a reasonably logical conclusion, it could be something O'Brien mentioned in passing as a reason for coming across to the club. It's also a role Cordy doesn't have the tools to execute, which is why I think he is a target for replacement alongside Wood.

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/high-flying-o-brien-ready-to-make-his-mark-with-bulldogs-20211008-p58yae.html

What will happen next year is that O’Brien will have the chance to be an intercept-marking specialist across half-back for the Bulldogs. His athleticism and marking prowess are clear, reinforced when he was one of the three finalists for this year’s mark of the year for his grab against Greater Western Sydney at the MCG.

What I did like as a direct quote from O'Brien was this (same article):

“That’s the exciting part about it is getting offered a two-year deal at a club that is genuinely contending. There are a lot of players around my age that have been together for a long time now,” O’Brien, who also attracted interest from Port Adelaide, said.

“Hopefully, in some ways, I can help the footy club take another step towards what we are all after.”

For a recruit coming in that's what you want to hear. There are opportunities, I am in the right age group to gel with a competing team and I want to help.

09-10-2021, 09:31 AM
A swingman who plays forward, back and 2nd ruck has played 98 games and kicked 73 goals certainly has talent.

This board and the club have identified an intercept defender is of need and O’Brien seems to have the skill set. Can mark and has reasonable skills.

He is definitely an upgrade on Lewy Young and is ready to play. We are in our window and these are the type of players we should be bringing in.

For mine he is best 22.

09-10-2021, 09:37 AM
A swingman who plays forward, back and 2nd ruck has played 98 games and kicked 73 goals certainly has talent.

This board and the club have identified an intercept defender is of need and O’Brien seems to have the skill set. Can mark and has reasonable skills.

He is definitely an upgrade on Lewy Young and is ready to play. We are in our window and these are the type of players we should be bringing in.

For mine he is best 22.

While I tend to agree, he just has a bit to prove before he makes the best 22 in my opinion. The good part is he will likely get plenty of opportunities to prove his value which Young struggled to get from the MC.

With a few days to go in the trade period it will be intesting to see what we might add to the mix.

09-10-2021, 11:59 AM
While I tend to agree, he just has a bit to prove before he makes the best 22 in my opinion. The good part is he will likely get plenty of opportunities to prove his value which Young struggled to get from the MC.

With a few days to go in the trade period it will be intesting to see what we might add to the mix.

Agreed he's been an almost player for a long time and has frustrated in the past but works hard to give himself opportunities, just fails to execute at times. What is encouraging is that he finished off 2021 in white hot form so hoping a change of environment in a new setup brings out his best.

09-10-2021, 02:54 PM

Welcome Tim and if I remember Sedat when Lake went to Hawks you were keen on O'Brien then. Might be wrong.

09-10-2021, 03:39 PM
Welcome Tim and if I remember Sedat when Lake went to Hawks you were keen on O'Brien then. Might be wrong.

Nah I'm pretty sure Sedat was completely happy with the way the Lake trade played out across all elements. He didn't want anything more for him, and definitely was glad it was executed as quickly as it was.

09-10-2021, 03:45 PM
Nah I'm pretty sure Sedat was completely happy with the way the Lake trade played out across all elements. He didn't want anything more for him, and definitely was glad it was executed as quickly as it was.

No he was disappointed we got Hrovat in draft and not O'Brien if my memory is correct.

09-10-2021, 03:48 PM
No he was disappointed we got Hrovat in draft and not O'Brien if my memory is correct.

Sorry B4L, I was being a jerk/ smart arse.

09-10-2021, 03:55 PM
Sorry B4L, I was being a jerk/ smart arse.

What's news Jee? I am always disappointed when you aren't.

09-10-2021, 09:11 PM

The way I remember it is that Sedat was just happy to see the back of Lake and if anything he was concerned that we got too much in return from Hawthorn for him. I also recall how over the moon Sedat was when Lake won the Norm Smith medal.

09-10-2021, 09:22 PM

He's definitely saying the right things regarding his aspirations with us. I truly think that he is the first player to say he decided on us because he wants to be a premiership player.

There were players like Hall and Akermanis but they were different. They wanted to be that missing link that might have snuck us a flag but O Brien wants to play a part in a team and IMO is a real chance of getting a medallion.

10-10-2021, 10:50 PM

Considering we had 6 players in the GF in Hannan Schache English JJ Weightman and Naughton who kicked a total of two goals between them there is an urgent need to radically improve our attack. We may well find O’Brien spending more time forward.

11-04-2022, 04:52 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FQCjPxZaAAIpPkh?format=jpg&name=large

11-04-2022, 05:53 PM
Apart from the shanked kick that resulted in a goal and a contest where he almost out positioned himself against Riewoldt I thought he was ok. He should benefit from a little more freedom when playing alongside Keath and Gardner/Cordy.

11-04-2022, 06:47 PM
Apart from the shanked kick that resulted in a goal and a contest where he almost out positioned himself against Riewoldt I thought he was ok. He should benefit from a little more freedom when playing alongside Keath and Gardner/Cordy.

I agree, and the good part he will improve from that outing.

11-04-2022, 07:43 PM
Ideally Timbo plays as the intercepting tall, I think he'll be at his best as that role once Keath is back in the team.

16-04-2022, 08:00 PM
Ideally Timbo plays as the intercepting tall, I think he'll be at his best as that role once Keath is back in the team.
We were pretty vocal about wanting him to play that role. I thought his disposal has been a bit shaky for the first game and a half, getting better with more gametime.

16-04-2022, 08:02 PM
We were pretty vocal about wanting him to play that role. I thought his disposal has been a bit shaky for the first game and a half, getting better with more gametime.

He had that delayed start to the season and should be better going forward. With Keath out he needs to support Gardner

23-04-2022, 02:29 PM
Playing game 100 today

23-04-2022, 06:34 PM
He definitely was not our worst today. I would say in general the backline was not responsbile for the loss. If you look at the inside 50m lopsided count they did a good job to keep us in the game.

23-04-2022, 06:47 PM
He definitely was not our worst today. I would say in general the backline was not responsbile for the loss. If you look at the inside 50m lopsided count they did a good job to keep us in the game.

Agree, I thought the backline in general held up, except for allowing those couple of little blokes to get easy marks.

23-04-2022, 06:52 PM

He will get better to.

24-04-2022, 06:32 PM
He was good yesterday overall. Not sure how much growth he has for us this year - particularly if we’re playing him as our first KPD.

We essentially threw him a lifeline as he was being delisted at the hawks. They don’t delist good players.

24-04-2022, 11:35 PM
I also thought he was the only tall to compete well in the air where the Crows dominated the aerial contests I had the pleasure of sitting next to his parents at the match who travel down each week from Mt. Gambier to watch him play.
Apparently we beat off Port Adelaide for his signature.

25-04-2022, 01:44 AM
It was refreshing to have an interceptor on our side for a change

25-04-2022, 08:21 AM
It was refreshing to have an interceptor on our side for a change

Keath can do it but has had to remodel his game. Lewis Young had that ability but we preferred him in the ruck and of course Wood was very good at it a few years back.

TOB might end up being a very nice addition to the team.

25-04-2022, 09:57 AM
O'Brien has been fine. Good enough in the air to have a point of difference to our other guys, and happy to let him settle into the side. I'm hoping he takes a big step forward in influence once we have Keath and Gardner in with him.

There's virtually no competition for his spot so even his current level of output is sufficient.

25-04-2022, 10:05 AM
O’Brien is fine as a interceptor.

But can we have 3 key defenders who are average if not below average field kicks?

25-04-2022, 10:26 AM
O’Brien is fine as a interceptor.

But can we have 3 key defenders who are average if not below average field kicks?

Which ones in particular Aza? Keath and Daniel are great kicks, Dale, Duryea and Williams are typically quite good and even Gardner isn't bad and Richards has potential.

25-04-2022, 11:09 AM
Which ones in particular Aza? Keath and Daniel are great kicks, Dale, Duryea and Williams are typically quite good and even Gardner isn't bad and Richards has potential.

Gardner, Keath and O’Brien. I feel they are all very slow to dispose of the ball and make decisions which kills any attacking moves out of defence.

Maybe I’m being a tad harsh on Keath.

25-04-2022, 11:13 AM
Gardner, Keath and O’Brien. I feel they are all very slow to dispose of the ball and make decisions which kills any attacking moves out of defence.

Maybe I’m being a tad harsh on Keath.

I really rate Keath's kicking skills, perhaps too much :)
I'd regard Gardner's kicks as OK and he typically hits his targets. Perhaps under pressure it's another story.
O'Brien is a suspect kick but I guess there has to a flaw because we didn't get him for his kicking more about his ability to play as a 3rd tall defender and his athleticism.

25-04-2022, 11:22 AM
O'Brien is a big upgrade to the 2021 Easton Wood model. That is a win.

25-04-2022, 11:24 AM
To the eye… I fear Gardiner with ball in hand. Ball travels slow, feel like many of his kicks end up being shovelled OOB and any counter attack momentum is lost.

Keath typically plays it safe by foot, but I don’t have him as a particularly good kick.

25-04-2022, 11:25 AM
Improving each game in a new team. Promising start. Go Windscreens.

25-04-2022, 11:31 AM

Yep TOB is actually marking the ball.

25-04-2022, 01:00 PM

Upgrade? On field, probably. A big one? Certainly not. Wood brought leadership to the group even though on field he diminished.

Watching the game live, he looked taller than I thought he'd be. Plays taller anyway but I guess all our defenders have to fo that anyway.

25-04-2022, 05:29 PM
Upgrade? On field, probably. A big one? Certainly not. Wood brought leadership to the group even though on field he diminished.

Watching the game live, he looked taller than I thought he'd be. Plays taller anyway but I guess all our defenders have to fo that anyway.

Wood 2015 model was well above any level O'Brien can probably aspire to. But the Wood 2021 model was a shadow of his best. I'm talking on field contribution. Yes, I think O'Brien is a big upgrade to Wood 2021.

Swoop
25-04-2022, 07:36 PM
He recieved one coaches vote on the weekend. Good to see his performance was recognised.

26-04-2022, 02:06 PM
He recieved one coaches vote on the weekend. Good to see his performance was recognised.
For mine he kept us in it in the first half. I was a bit fan of his intercept marking, something we sorely lacked last year.

01-05-2022, 08:35 PM
I feel really confident that with Keath back, O'Brien will complete aerial surveillance.

22-04-2023, 03:38 AM
**** it I’m in. He’s been good twice now and we need this specific type of player so bad. Let’s see if it can stick.

22-04-2023, 08:11 AM
Has he though?

Was better last night. Not sure I’d say he was good last week.

I’m comfortable enough to persist based on how he grew into the game.

22-04-2023, 08:14 AM
I thought he was ok until we lost Bruce then his game went down from there.
Was handy last night.

22-04-2023, 08:27 AM
I’m glad someone brought this up. Had a really good game last night - some strong marks and at one stage (think it was him) came over the top of the pack and punched the ball out of play in our HFF thus nullifying a rebound. Can also kick just sometimes chews off a bit more than he should. There was a pass to Dale that was Dalesque.

22-04-2023, 08:46 AM
Tim was a solid contributor last night.

22-04-2023, 09:57 AM
Can't complain.

Last week I think he had a bad error or two early and then was caught in a bad matchup once Bruce went off for 2 contests with Marshall.

He's doing his job for now it seems

22-04-2023, 09:59 AM
He was really good last night, that'll stand out on a replay though to be fair all our backs made it hard for Fremantle in the main.

22-04-2023, 10:07 AM
As long as he is not thrust into a KPD role, Tim is a best 22. He needs to take on the 3rd mid to tall players and use his intercepting skills.

22-04-2023, 10:23 AM
Has he though?

Was better last night. Not sure I?d say he was good last week.

Yeah I reckon he was.

And he was good last night. It's not time to cast him in bronze yet, but he deserves his spot at the moment.

22-04-2023, 10:27 AM
Good player under certain conditions.

If the midfield are up and about. Good player.
If he isn’t required to be creative with the ball. Good player.

With a bit of confidence and continuity I suspect we could wipe those conditions.

22-04-2023, 10:40 AM
I thought he was ok until we lost Bruce then his game went down from there.
Was handy last night.

He was doing alright until Bruce went off and he had to hold down a key position.