View Full Version : Assistant Coaches

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6

11-08-2023, 08:44 PM
Worked out well

We certainly missed Monty's leadership in 2017.

12-08-2023, 01:43 AM
The Lade decision has always been a strange one, what intel were we going to learn from the Saints?

12-08-2023, 11:18 AM
I recall him playing and Gary Ablett senior running through the back of him in a marking contest when he was young down at Sedat Park.
He was a sniper that bloke. I remember my mum, who absolutely loved Rohan being a local boy was nearly going to jump the fence with her brollie!

I remember that too GG.

12-08-2023, 12:56 PM
The Lade decision has always been a strange one, what intel were we going to learn from the Saints?

Why was it strange. He has a good resume, lots of experience and was touted as a senior coach.

I would say he is the most senior assistant we have ever hired.

12-08-2023, 01:02 PM
Why was it strange. He has a good resume, lots of experience and was touted as a senior coach.

I would say he is the most senior assistant we have ever hired.

I agree it was a solid appointment and I think what might cloud people's view is that he didn't come directly from a more successful team.

12-08-2023, 01:09 PM
I agree it was a solid appointment and I think what might cloud people's view is that he didn't come directly from a more successful team.

Yes you could be right.

Coaching - Ruck and mid field coach under Hardwick, two years at Port Adelaide, two years at Saints

13-08-2023, 09:05 PM
Yes you could be right.

Coaching - Ruck and mid field coach under Hardwick, two years at Port Adelaide, two years at Saints

In my experience with employing people, people changing roles every two years in an industry that is specialised are generally running from something, running from getting found out. What IP was Lade going to bring from the Saints? We were desperate to improve our defensive set up after last year and I'm not sure he would have added much to this.

One thing we know now is the club didn't make enough changes after the internal review and to know that Brendon possibly hasn't fitted in well then we have wasted a summer there is no doubt about it.

14-08-2023, 11:18 PM
"My understanding is that Luke Beveridge was happy to keep Rohan Smith."

Caroline Wilson believes the Bulldogs' call to not offer a club legend another deal went against its senior coach's wishes, in a 'significant shift' at the kennel.

https://twitter.com/FootyonNine/status/1691057485266690048?s=20

14-08-2023, 11:21 PM

Caroline Wilson believes the Bulldogs' call to not offer a club legend another deal went against its senior coach's wishes, in a 'significant shift' at the kennel.

Bevo would keep lunch in the work fridge he forgot to eat over the preseason. He won?t let anything go. So hardly surprising.

Maybe the club bosses has finally awoke to the fact they have responsibility for the hiring and firing?

P.S. haven’t spoken to Bevo after she went him over the Talia affair, I find it extremely difficult to believe she knows anything about what Bevo thinks. Even second hand. Or tenth hand.

14-08-2023, 11:23 PM
There is real bitterness and even hatred in Caro's narrative in particular. It does appear that some of what she is saying has merit. Not disputing that. But gee whiz, she is running a vendetta against Bevo.

14-08-2023, 11:27 PM
"A lot coaches have left" Caro.

"The trend up until know is that we know some of those have been fallings out" - Caro

"Coaches have not just been happy working with Luke Beveridge" - Caro

"I just think that there is a move and it comes from the Board led by Ameet Baines and his team that they need to change the narrative around the football club, that this is now a club run by the coach" - Caro

mmm for so many falling outs, gee whiz there were coaches who were happy to work with Bevo for many, many, may years.

14-08-2023, 11:28 PM
There is real bitterness and even hatred in Caro's narrative in particular. It does appear that some of what she is saying has merit. Not disputing that. But gee whiz, she is running a vendetta against Bevo.

I would discuss the convo I had with Bevo about Caro and her reporting on all the Talia stuff (way back) but won’t fully detail it. I don’t think Bevo would ever forgive her and I think/guess Caro would resent Bevo for blocking her out. I suspect it’s still deeply personal after all this time. For any of my criticism of Bevo, I think he’s right to keep her in the freezer even if it means she appears personally motivated at times to go after him. But that’s life.

14-08-2023, 11:30 PM

The 3 people who take her seriously were already lost

14-08-2023, 11:31 PM
I would discuss the convo I had with Bevo about Caro and her reporting on all the Talia stuff (way back) but won’t fully detail it. I don’t think Bevo would ever forgive her and I think/guess Caro would resent Bevo for blocking her out. I suspect it’s still deeply personal after all this time. For any of my criticism of Bevo, I think he’s right to keep her in the freezer even if it means she appears personally motivated at times to go after him. But that’s life.

Yes. You live by the sword. You die by the sword.

It does remind me of Malthouse. There were a number of journalists who absolutely despised him. While he was winning and going well they patiently waited, when the tide turned they all lined up to whack him and whack him hard. When things went bad at Carlton they came from everywhere to hit him.

14-08-2023, 11:39 PM

Don't forget the first person Caro had on her new podcast at the start of the year was Tom Morris, an old buddy of hers.

MSM has alot to answer for coming up with things that put ideas into people's minds, whether true or false.

14-08-2023, 11:43 PM
Don't forget the first person Caro had on her new podcast at the start of the year was Tom Morris, an old buddy of hers.

MSM has alot to answer for coming up with things that put ideas into people's minds, whether true or false.

It’s pretty much all opinion and not need anymore. Would be good if most understood this. News is dying. Media is about making money and opinions do that in the click bait world. But what are you gunna do, be like me and consume virtually none of it.

15-08-2023, 12:28 AM

There is a shake up coming, the devil is in the detail here.

15-08-2023, 12:31 AM

You're questioning Caro's integrity and her standards rather than challenging the content of what she has said.
I don't think what she has said was negative towards Bevo or the club. Do you?

15-08-2023, 08:39 AM

Speaking of true or false Caro's podcast has been around for a number of years.

15-08-2023, 08:42 AM
You're questioning Caro's integrity and her standards rather than challenging the content of what she has said.

Posters are putting up sound bites without context and other posters are falling for it hook, line and sinker.

15-08-2023, 08:55 AM
Posters are putting up sound bites without context and other posters are falling for it hook, line and sinker.

I watched the segment very early this morning and didn't see anything wrong with it.

I don't buy the story that the board sacked Rohan to show that they're in charge. If that were the case Bevo's mate Spangher would have been given the flick not a 300 game legend at the club.

15-08-2023, 08:56 AM

I watched it last night and I didn't see anything sinister in it.

15-08-2023, 10:27 AM
Speaking of true or false Caro's podcast has been around for a number of years.

ok, first guest for the year. I don't listen to her at all. Sick of the BS of these footy shows.

Yes I am questioning her integrity, because she is off the mark here regarding Rohan.

15-08-2023, 11:11 AM
Yes I am questioning her integrity, because she is off the mark here regarding Rohan.

Do you know that for a fact?

I suspect she's actually not far off the mark at all, the devil is in the detail of what she said.

15-08-2023, 11:17 AM
Do you know that for a fact?

I suspect she's actually not far off the mark at all, the devil is in the detail of what she said.

From what I have been told, but maybe yes Bevo wanted to still employ him, but the way she puts it to sound like a riff between him and the club is just plain sensationalism. I don't like that sort of journalism. That is where her integrity is questionable.

15-08-2023, 11:37 AM
From what I have been told, but maybe yes Bevo wanted to still employ him, but the way she puts it to sound like a riff between him and the club is just plain sensationalism. I don't like that sort of journalism. That is where her integrity is questionable.

Hey BAD - I'm probably like you and think the worst where she is concerned but I don't think this was anti-Bevo or anti-club. I think what she is trying to say is that whilst Bevo has been the dominant footy person at the club since the departure of Lowe and there are some challenges to that status right now.

I mean, I guess you could say that is anti-Bevo but I'm not sure...it's just pointing out that there is a bit of a shift in the power balance at the footy club.

15-08-2023, 11:49 AM
Hey BAD - I'm probably like you and think the worst where she is concerned but I don't think this was anti-Bevo or anti-club. I think what she is trying to say is that whilst Bevo has been the dominant footy person at the club since the departure of Lowe and there are some challenges to that status right now.

I mean, I guess you could say that is anti-Bevo but I'm not sure...it's just pointing out that there is a bit of a shift in the power balance at the footy club.

I think that started after the Morris incident.

15-08-2023, 12:09 PM

I just get sick of stupid and unnecessary commentary from these people.

15-08-2023, 12:09 PM
She contacted the club and they declined to comment so I think she has done her due diligence.

15-08-2023, 02:36 PM
She contacted the club and they declined to comment so I think she has done her due diligence.

Caro is a cancer and always has been. Don't believe a word she says.

15-08-2023, 10:59 PM
"A lot coaches have left" Caro.

"The trend up until know is that we know some of those have been fallings out" - Caro

"Coaches have not just been happy working with Luke Beveridge" - Caro

"I just think that there is a move and it comes from the Board led by Ameet Baines and his team that they need to change the narrative around the football club, that this is now a club run by the coach" - Caro

mmm for so many falling outs, gee whiz there were coaches who were happy to work with Bevo for many, many, may years.

By hook or by crook Caro will get Bevo sacked if it's the last thing she does. She can smell a bone a mile away.

She's only just getting started.

16-08-2023, 12:27 AM

She contacted the club they didn’t respond so she makes up her own story .

16-08-2023, 01:41 AM
They showed that eight coaches in nine seasons have left the club and they're using that as a lever to propagate Bevo being difficult to work with. Albeit admitting some left for opportunity.

We all think we've kept coaches too long! It's really amazing stuff.

Bevo - very emotional about losing a club legend.

I've heard......not confirmed.

Close losses means the coach is bad.

I really hope the panic merchant mentality that's infecting the supporter base driven by this bullshit in the media doesn't stick. Well I'm not that hopeful.

The only thing that gives me some sense of calm about our administration is they're weathered corporatists that have to present and be accountable to shit numbers and results from time to time, and should know that calm instead of chaos is the way to deal with it.

If the club responds in the emphatic reactionary way the media is goading it towards I'll be really disappointed.

16-08-2023, 01:56 AM
The information asymmetry is so stark between what we as supporters are able to experience, and the difference between us and the media is almost the same.

People at the club literally live and breath the information day by day, hour by hour and minute by minute and it's because of that versus what we have I just can't buy into this bullshit.

I understand that as observers we can only interpret what is put in front of us, but that should calm us rather than make us rabid. And that's not to say we should just sit by and suck it up, but at the same time buying into this shit doesn't do anyone any favours.

16-08-2023, 09:42 AM
That show is all negative . I’ve never seen Caro bring a positive story .
It’s all about making up rumours because (sadly ) most people love a disaster story.
The segment Caros arrow pretty much sums it all up . I’m going to pot someone or a club every week.
Mental health is furthest from these degenerate minds as you could ever get.

16-08-2023, 09:47 AM
They showed that eight coaches in nine seasons have left the club and they're using that as a lever to propagate Bevo being difficult to work with. Albeit admitting some left for opportunity.

We all think we've kept coaches too long! It's really amazing stuff.

Bevo - very emotional about losing a club legend.

I've heard......not confirmed.

Close losses means the coach is bad.

I really hope the panic merchant mentality that's infecting the supporter base driven by this bullshit in the media doesn't stick. Well I'm not that hopeful.

The only thing that gives me some sense of calm about our administration is they're weathered corporatists that have to present and be accountable to shit numbers and results from time to time, and should know that calm instead of chaos is the way to deal with it.

If the club responds in the emphatic reactionary way the media is goading it towards I'll be really disappointed.

Left the club or the club made a decision to let them go ?
Some left due to other opportunities some left due to Covid soft cap and we couldn’t pay them.
9 in 10 years isn’t a lot at all.
Most clubs let one go a year I would think.
Be interesting to know how many have moved from all other clubs in 10 years .
I would think it would be pretty standard amount.

21-08-2023, 05:42 PM
I feel sick writing this but Phil Davis from GWS has retired.

A bloody good footballer and who understands the game incredibly well.

Surely worth a conversation.

21-08-2023, 05:54 PM
I feel sick writing this but Phil Davis from GWS has retired.

A bloody good footballer and who understands the game incredibly well.

Surely worth a conversation.

Might be if Leon Cameron is our new coach ;)

21-08-2023, 09:00 PM
Our 3 latest Hall of Fame inductees in Robert Murphy and Matthew Boyd who are both at Fremantle and Dale Morris with the Brisbane Lions
would be ideal to join our Match Committee. These are three highly respected former players with the credibility for our playing group
to respond in a positive way. It should also require Ameet Bains to oversee the Match Committee and Recruitment to demand higher
standards that what is occurring at the moment.

22-08-2023, 10:38 AM
I thought Boyd was at the pies.
I don’t think we could get Murphy back. I believe the reason he is at Fremantle is because he went to live there.
I think it would take a huge offer to get any back.
Would any of us leave that weather to come back to Melbourne ?
They are assistants not players.

22-08-2023, 10:44 AM
Our 3 latest Hall of Fame inductees in Robert Murphy and Matthew Boyd who are both at Fremantle and Dale Morris with the Brisbane Lions would be ideal to join our Match Committee. These are three highly respected former players with the credibility for our playing group to respond in a positive way. It should also require Ameet Bains to oversee the Match Committee and Recruitment to demand higher standards that what is occurring at the moment.

Isn't that Chris Grant's job?

22-08-2023, 10:54 AM
Our 3 latest Hall of Fame inductees in Robert Murphy and Matthew Boyd who are both at Fremantle and Dale Morris with the Brisbane Lions
would be ideal to join our Match Committee. These are three highly respected former players with the credibility for our playing group
to respond in a positive way. It should also require Ameet Bains to oversee the Match Committee and Recruitment to demand higher
standards that what is occurring at the moment.

Morris is up north because that's where his wife wanted to live. I doubt he is coming back.
Boyd has just signed an extension with Fremantle so that doesn't appear to be a likely outcome in the short term either.
Murphy isn't in a coaching position at Fremantle and is the Head of Football Operations there. Perhaps he might consider a move back home to replace Chris Maple's role.

Do we really think Bains is best placed to oversee the MC or even recruitment or that he could add much value there?
Surely a GM of Football, Director of Football and the GM of List, Recruiting and Projects should be sufficient in that capacity with Bains attending strategic meetings that involve targeting players from opposition teams.

We have to trust the managers we have in place for the day-to-day functions and we don't need Bains to be that close or hands-on to any of the clubs departments.

22-08-2023, 11:21 AM
I am hoping that we look at replacing most of the assistants (except Lade if he is working out ie).

I don't want any former Western Bulldogs Champions of the club, or ex players. We need to look for new ideas from a successful club under a successful coach. People that have worked with Longmuir, Scott at Geelong, Hardwick, Hinkley or ex senior coaches such as Dew.

Our game plan revolves around creating a stoppage, and getting the clearance but we have been worked out.

We want new fresh ideas. Make it happen Granty/Baines.

22-08-2023, 11:25 AM
Morris is up north because that's where his wife wanted to live. I doubt he is coming back.
Boyd has just signed an extension with Fremantle so that doesn't appear to be a likely outcome in the short term either.
Murphy isn't in a coaching position at Fremantle and is the Head of Football Operations there. Perhaps he might consider a move back home to replace Chris Maple's role.

Do we really think Bains is best placed to oversee the MC or even recruitment or that he could add much value there?
Surely a GM of Football, Director of Football and the GM of List, Recruiting and Projects should be sufficient in that capacity with Bains attending strategic meetings that involve targeting players from opposition teams.

We have to trust the managers we have in place for the day-to-day functions and we don't need Bains to be that close or hands-on to any of the clubs departments.
I would also add that Bains had a very underwhelming career as list manager at the Saints before he somehow traded up to COO (what is it about failure being rewarded at the Saints - have a look at Lethers). Many of the list management decisions Bains directly presided over from 2011-2014 were a disaster in truth. Add to that his VAFA background and his career prior to the Saints working with the global corporates as an in-house lawyer, and he is the prototype of the slick globalist careerist who (like our president) is far more suited to an executive position at City Hall than the club environment IMO.

I personally don't want him anywhere near presiding over any future detailed review of our footy operations, but that wish won't be granted while he is CEO. The off-field/redevelopment stuff is really his wheelhouse, and if he is performing to expectations in this area then great.

The Dogs feels like a stepping stone in his future career on the board of some nondescript global organisation (or the AFEL) - nothing wrong with that of course, we all do the hustle from time to time.

22-08-2023, 11:33 AM
I am hoping that we look at replacing most of the assistants (except Lade if he is working out ie).

I don't want any former Western Bulldogs Champions of the club, or ex players. We need to look for new ideas from a successful club under a successful coach. People that have worked with Longmuir, Scott at Geelong, Hardwick, Hinkley or ex senior coaches such as Dew.

Our game plan revolves around creating a stoppage, and getting the clearance but we have been worked out.

We want new fresh ideas. Make it happen Granty/Baines.

I simply want the best people identified and brought in. I don't have a preference if it's ex players or not and I'm not sure why we would limit our searches.

Gia, for example, has done some additional development work in his quest to give himself the best chance of landing a senior coaching job. If he was interested in a return to us if I was on a selection committee I'd be keen to hear what he has to say.
I certainly wouldn't be ignoring him because he previously played for us.
Fresh ideas are only a good thing if they can be acted upon.

22-08-2023, 11:43 AM
I would also add that Bains had a very underwhelming career as list manager at the Saints before he somehow traded up to COO (what is it about failure being rewarded at the Saints - have a look at Lethers). Many of the list management decisions Bains directly presided over from 2011-2014 were a disaster in truth. Add to that his VAFA background and his career prior to the Saints working with the global corporates as an in-house lawyer, and he is the prototype of the slick globalist careerist who (like our president) is far more suited to an executive position at City Hall than the club environment IMO.

I personally don't want him anywhere near presiding over any future detailed review of our footy operations, but that wish won't be granted while he is CEO. The off-field/redevelopment stuff is really his wheelhouse, and if he is performing to expectations in this area then great.

The Dogs feels like a stepping stone in his future career on the board of some nondescript global organisation (or the AFEL) - nothing wrong with that of course, we all do the hustle from time to time.

Understand what you are saying, but possibly a little unfair. I'm only judging him from his CV and hearing him speak.

Born to migrants. Grew up in Bendigo. Chose to work in a football club environment at a relatively young age. He has been in a football club environment for 13+ years now. He only worked at one global company, which was Toyota.

"A slick globalist careerist" - I'm not too sure he fits that prototype.

22-08-2023, 11:51 AM
Understand what you are saying, but possibly a little unfair. I'm only judging him from his CV and hearing him speak.

Born to migrants. Grew up in Bendigo. Chose to work in a football club environment at a relatively young age. He has been in a football club environment for 13+ years now. He only worked at one global company, which was Toyota.

Don't let the truth get in the way of a good character assassination.

22-08-2023, 12:01 PM

Ameet has been a fantastic CEO, but like Sedat, I don't really want him interfering with the football department. Admin and Football Operations must be separate.

If there was to be an extensive review, it should be independent of Bulldog people.

22-08-2023, 12:06 PM
Ameet has been a fantastic CEO, but like Sedat, I don't really want him interfering with the football department. Admin and Football Operations must be separate.

If there was to be an extensive review, it should be independent of Bulldog people.

Ultimately the CEO will be judged by how well the football team performs. The buck stops with him. You think Brendan Gale has zero influence in the Football Department? The CEOs role is not to be hands on with Football Department matters, but he should be across the structure and most importantly the appointment of the key roles. That is his job.

He is the CEO of a Football Club, not a corporation. He is in the business of football. Football is his job. Every metric of the club is dependent on the team performing on field. That is the foundational layer of the club. Everything else can only be built from that.

So to reiterate. He should not be micromanaging football matters, but to say that the leader of the Football Club should not be across the key decisions of Football are misguided.

AFL Football Clubs are not large bureaucracies, they are relative small businesses. The club only turns over ~$50m per annum. The leader of the club should be across almost everything.

22-08-2023, 12:11 PM
Ultimately the CEO will be judged by how well the football team performs. The buck stops with him. You think Brendan Gale has zero influence in the Football Department? The CEOs role is not to be hands on with Football Department matters, but he should be across the structure and most importantly the appointment of the key roles. That is his job.

He is the CEO of a Football Club, not a corporation. He is in the business of football. Football is his job. Every metric of the club is dependent on the team performing on field. That is the foundational layer of the club. Everything else can only be built from that.

So to reiterate. He should not be micromanaging football matters, but to say that the leader of the Football Club should not be across the key decisions of Football are misguided.

I agree, I was talking the micro stuff, not the key decisions like appointment of staff etc.

Critter
22-08-2023, 12:13 PM
What about engaging an assistant who is highly skilled (leading patterns, kicking & marking), who has had an undeniably successful career (3 premierships) and who is demonstrably intelligent. Jack Riewoldt. He would be an asset to the coaching panel.

22-08-2023, 12:17 PM
I simply want the best people identified and brought in. I don't have a preference if it's ex players or not and I'm not sure why we would limit our searches.

Gia, for example, has done some additional development work in his quest to give himself the best chance of landing a senior coaching job. If he was interested in a return to us if I was on a selection committee I'd be keen to hear what he has to say.
I certainly wouldn't be ignoring him because he previously played for us.
Fresh ideas are only a good thing if they can be acted upon.

The reason I say no ex players or coaches is, they have been under Bevo. I am looking at fresh ideas - yeah, maybe Gia has his own ideas now after being at Essendon for so long.

22-08-2023, 12:41 PM
It looks like Bevo will be staying but I agree that if he does stay on that an overhaul of the assistant coaches is required around him. I reckon getting in someone like Jack Riewoldt could benefit our group. I would keep Brendan Lade on as he has only been here this season.

This would be a pretty decent shake up:
Luke Beveridge - Head Coach
New Assistants - Stuart Dew, Leon Cameron along with Lade who is currently here (Dew and Cameron to replace Spangher and Webb)
Jack Riewoldt - who has just retired and might be able to offer something

In this process we need to tell Bevo to start delegating and leaning on the assistant coaches.

22-08-2023, 12:45 PM

Slick globalist careerist is possibly a little strong - as you rightly pointed out, he has spent a long time at clubland to be fair. I am going by his general demeanour on the rare occasions he is in the media - he strikes me as a small target company man who is not interested in rocking the boat. That is a skill in itself, but sometimes you need to be more than that at clubland. He does seem to be very competent at the off-field stuff, but his tenure as list manager at the Saints was really poor under any metric. Not sure what his performance was as COO at the Saints, but they were/still are shedloads in debt (not sure whose fault that is, but failure is an orphan)

As an aside, "born to migrants'' is not be the slightest bit relevant with regard to competency (I'm born to migrants and I'd like to think I am judged on my competency alone and nothing else). Everything else in his CV/background is quite similar to an Andrew Dillon (except the club component), or even a Lethers (except the sleeping with junior staffers bit).

22-08-2023, 12:53 PM
Slick globalist careerist is possibly a little strong - as you rightly pointed out, he has spent a long time at club land to be fair. I am going by his general demeanour on the rare occasions he is in the media - he strikes me as a small target company man who is not interested in rocking the boat. That is a skill in itself, but sometimes you need to be more than that. He does seem to be very competent at the off-field stuff, but his tenure as list manager at the Saints was really poor under any metric. Not sure what his performance was as COO at the Saints, but they were/still are shedloads in debt (not sure whose fault that is, but failure is an orphan)

As an aside, the "born to migrants'' bit should not be the slightest bit relevant with regard to competency (I'm born to migrants and I'd like to think I am judged on my competency alone and nothing else). Everything else in his CV is very similar to an Andrew Dillon (except the club component).

Both my parents were born overseas. I'm also a child of migrants. That wasn't my point in regards to competency. It was in regards to your point as a "Slick Globalist Careerist". My point is that he is not some silver spoon, trust fund baby like Andrew Dillon. He is a self made man. Hence the reference to to being born to migrants and growing up in Bendigo.

Compared to Dillon. His father was the President of VAFA and Chairman of the Melbourne Racing Club. His father-in-law was the president of the MCC and headmaster of Melbourne Grammar. Dillon is literally part of the establishment.

They could not be more different.

22-08-2023, 12:55 PM
Can we take a step back and be truly honest with ourselves.

Who on woof believe Luke Beveridge can change his spots and delegate more, relinquish the game plan style and game day tactics?

Essentially that is what we see as a good compromise.

I can't see it happening. Beveridge lives by the sword and will die by the sword.

22-08-2023, 12:58 PM

Who on woof believe Luke Beveridge can change his spots and delegate more, relinquish the game plan style and game day tactics?

I can't see it happening. Beveridge lives by the sword and will die by the sword.

I think you make a really relevant point.

The issue I think is that he achieved the ultimate success so quickly as a coach. Finals first year. Premiership in his second. Success does most people in, especially when people put you on a pedestal and literally hail you as the messiah. Hubris sets in quickly if you don't have strong people around you to keep it real.

I'm not saying he can't change, but gee whiz it is going to be very difficult for him.

22-08-2023, 12:58 PM
Slick globalist careerist is possibly a little strong - as you rightly pointed out, he has spent a long time at clubland to be fair. I am going by his general demeanour on the rare occasions he is in the media - he strikes me as a small target company man who is not interested in rocking the boat. That is a skill in itself, but sometimes you need to be more than that at clubland. He does seem to be very competent at the off-field stuff, but his tenure as list manager at the Saints was really poor under any metric. Not sure what his performance was as COO at the Saints, but they were/still are shedloads in debt (not sure whose fault that is, but failure is an orphan)

As an aside, "born to migrants'' is not be the slightest bit relevant with regard to competency (I'm born to migrants and I'd like to think I am judged on my competency alone and nothing else). Everything else in his CV/background is quite similar to an Andrew Dillon (except the club component), or even a Lethers (except the sleeping with junior staffers bit).

He returns my emails Sedat, that's an indicator of his style. Or maybe it's an indictment on him responding to some crazy bloke who likes to point out issues with tea and coffee ;)

I have spoken to him informally at functions, I also have a mate who coached at Sandy and did some work with Ameet and all I hear are good things and that he is pretty down to earth. It's the same as my experience.

Maybe there's a disconnect with members and he needs to more visible I'm not sure.

22-08-2023, 01:14 PM
q
He returns my emails Sedat, that's an indicator of his style. Or maybe it's an indictment on him responding to some crazy bloke who likes to point out issues with tea and coffee ;)

I have spoken to him informally at functions, I also have a mate who coached at Sandy and did some work with Ameet and all I hear are good things and that he is pretty down to earth. It's the same as my experience.

Maybe there's a disconnect with members and he needs to more visible I'm not sure.

I too have met him several times and he even DMs me information that he doesn't want in the public eye. I agree he is a down to earth guy.

22-08-2023, 01:34 PM

Who in their right mind would be wiling to be accountable for these things but hand them over?

22-08-2023, 01:49 PM
Who in their right mind would be wiling to be accountable for these things but hand them over?

No one of course. Beveridge has never had a true senior assistant before and I can't see that changing now.

IMO only one of two things will happen:

1) Beveridge stands down
Or
2) We bring in two new assistants to replace Smith and Webb (rumoured to be heading back home).

22-08-2023, 01:51 PM
No one of course. Beveridge has never had a true senior assistant before and I can't see that changing now.

IMO only one of two things will happen:

1) Beveridge stands down
Or
2) We bring in two new assistants to replace Smith and Webb (rumoured to be heading back home).

King, and Lade

22-08-2023, 02:06 PM
King, and Lade

Yes, true on Lade. King grew into that role; when he started I don't think he was senior.

What I meant by senior assistant is a very experienced coach such as Mark Williams, Don Pyke etc and I can't really see that happening now. Do you see that happening?

22-08-2023, 02:09 PM
Yes, true on Lade. King grew into that role; when he started I don't think he was senior.

What I meant by senior assistant is a very experienced coach such as Mark Williams, Don Pyke etc and I can't really see that happening now. Do you see that happening?

I don't have insight into the club on those matters, but why not.

22-08-2023, 02:56 PM
Both my parents were born overseas. I'm also a child of migrants. That wasn't my point in regards to competency. It was in regards to your point as a "Slick Globalist Careerist". My point is that he is not some silver spoon, trust fund baby like Andrew Dillon. He is a self made man. Hence the reference to to being born to migrants and growing up in Bendigo.

Compared to Dillon. His father was the President of VAFA and Chairman of the Melbourne Racing Club. His father-in-law was the president of the MCC and headmaster of Melbourne Grammar. Dillon is literally part of the establishment.

They could not be more different.
I already retracted my initial remark about slick careerist - it was an overreach in relation to Bains. And I never asserted he was some silver spoon son of a trust fund millionaire (not that that should matter in relation to Andrew Dillon either - he does a good job or he doesn't). However, it's not true that they are completely different. Both hail from the VAFA footy factory so beloved by the AFEL. Both have studied law at uni (I suspect this is where the "small target, not rocking the boat" philosophy comes from - lawyers are by their very nature risk averse and are more comfortable as backroom operators than front-facing). And Bains has also done a leadership program at the AFEL. There are clear cultural similarities (and also some differences as you pointed out).

I specifically referenced his performance at St Kilda, which is underwhelming. And I've also made mention of the lack of leadership displayed by both Bains and KW-W on occasions when I thought it was needed, and that they have over-burdened the senior coach with media responsibilities that have potentially had a detrimental effect on his core coaching/matchday planning. It appears he has done a good job at the kennel on the off-field elements of his role - not sure he is as comfortable/competent with the on-field operations. And anecdotally at least, he has been a good communicator with some here on woof (thanks GG and BAD for confirming).

22-08-2023, 02:58 PM
I already retracted my initial remark about slick careerist - it was an overreach in relation to Bains. And I never asserted he was some silver spoon son of a trust fund millionaire (not that that should matter in relation to Andrew Dillon either - he does a good job or he doesn't). However, it's not true that they are completely different. Both hail from the VAFA footy factory so beloved by the AFEL. Both have studied law at uni (I think this is where the "small target not rocking the boat" philosophy comes from - lawyers are by their very nature risk averse and are more comfortable in the background that front-facing). And Bains has also done a leadership program at the AFEL. There are clear cultural similarities (and also some differences as you pointed out).

I specifically referenced his performance at St Kilda, which is underwhelming. And I've also made mention of the lack of leadership displayed by both Bains and KW-W on occasions when I thought it was needed. It appears he has done a good job at the kennel on the off-field elements of his role - not sure he is as comfortable/competent with the on-field operations. And anecdotally at least, he has been a good communicator with some here on woof (thanks GG and BAD for confirming).

Yes. That is all fair. Accept that.

Bains also went to Melbourne Grammar. Dillon Xavier. So that there is also that similarity.

28-08-2023, 09:22 AM
Tom Morris. Marc Webb will leave the club.

28-08-2023, 09:23 AM
SEN.com.au understands Webb made the decision himself for family reasons.

Perth-based sources confirmed Webb is looking at returning to Western Australia, where his wife Lisa coaches Fremantle’s AFLW side.

Webb spent two seasons at the Dogs, first as midfield coach in 2022 then looking after stoppage work this year.

28-08-2023, 09:24 AM
We kind of knew that but good to have it confirmed. 1 more assistant to go.

28-08-2023, 10:00 AM
Well if true that is a significant loss. Listened to Marc at the East West club dinner and and provided a terrific overview of his role at the club and seemed happy working with Bevo.

28-08-2023, 10:21 AM
Well if true that is a significant loss. Listened to Marc at the East West club dinner and and provided a terrific overview of his role at the club and seemed happy working with Bevo.

With his wife living in Perth, it was on the cards.

A lot of people haven't rated Webb, but he has good credentials having worked under Ross Lyon at Freo and before that coached Claremont.

28-08-2023, 10:31 AM
With his wife living in Perth, it was on the cards.

A lot of people haven't rated Webb, but he has good credentials having worked under Ross Lyon at Freo and before that coached Claremont.

In fairness to some of our supporters we haven't seen a lot of Webb a public profile isn't really in the role of many assistant coaches.
I got to see a lot of the assistant coaches at Skinner reserve and probably gained a more positive appreciation of what they bring to the playing group but for most supporters he would have remained out of sight.

28-08-2023, 11:00 AM
In fairness to some of our supporters we haven't seen a lot of Webb a public profile isn't really in the role of many assistant coaches.
I guess this emphasizes the point that Bevo is doing too much of the heavy media lifting and needs to spread the load in 2024 to give himself the best chance to focus on core day-to-day coaching/match-day planning - the question is if Bevo was driving this or was it dictated from higher up the chain of command.

The assistants, the head of footy, and the CEO/president all need to ramp up their media in 2024.

28-08-2023, 11:26 AM
I guess this emphasizes the point that Bevo is doing too much of the heavy media lifting and needs to spread the load in 2024 to give himself the best chance to focus on core day-to-day coaching/match-day planning - the question is if Bevo was driving this or was it dictated from higher up the chain of command.

The assistants, the head of footy, and the CEO/president all need to ramp up their media in 2024.

Just on assistants in the media outside of the occasional cameo's it's normally the previous senior coaches that might get more exposure than the normal assistants. We need to a footy GM who's got a strong presence at the selection table and also got a bit of a profile within the media.

28-08-2023, 11:36 AM

The Assistants of any team are hardly a public figure? Lade has been out there a few times, but he is the Senior ass.

28-08-2023, 09:10 PM
The Assistants of any team are hardly a public figure? Lade has been out there a few times, but he is the Senior ass.

What a job to get the “senior ass” keeping that in mind he should be first to go . :-)

28-08-2023, 09:45 PM
We kinda knew that Webb was moving back to WA so that's not a shock at all.

28-08-2023, 10:27 PM
Tom Morris. Marc Webb will leave the club.
How quickly Tom Morris has slid back into the media

28-08-2023, 10:29 PM
We kinda knew that Webb was moving back to WA so that's not a shock at all.

Exactly, most on here could've broken that exclusive 2 months ago.

28-08-2023, 10:37 PM
How quickly Tom Morris has slid back into the media

mmmm it is a very good point, the AFL want to virtue signal their gender and sexual prefernce equality, but they ain't too good about actually living it. Much easier to virtue signal than actually have to do anything real.

"Unfornuately she is a Lesbian lads, Megan B f^&*^ hot as and a great bird, like good fun, good to talk too, my view the hottest girl at Fox by a long way, but unfornuately, yep, she has got her liqour licence and she is very, very good at it" - Tom Morris

Caroline Wilson is the first person to welcome him back into the fold. Thanks Caro, protector of all females and number one spokesperson and promoter of the AFLW.

28-08-2023, 10:47 PM
mmmm it is a very good point, the AFL want to virtue signal their gender and sexual prefernce equality, but they ain't too good about actually living it. Much easier to virtue signal than actually have to do anything real.

"Unfornuately she is a Lesbian lads, Megan B f^&*^ hot as and a great bird, like good fun, good to talk too, my view the hottest girl at Fox by a long way, but unfornuately, yep, she has got her liqour licence and she is very, very good at it" - Tom Morris

Caroline Wilson is the first person to welcome him back into the fold. Thanks Caro, protector of all females and number one spokesperson and promoter of the AFLW.

Hutchy took him back . No one else would touch him I would think .

28-08-2023, 10:50 PM
Hutchy took him back . No one else would touch him I would think .

By memory, his first foray back was a podcast with Caroline Wilson. She then wrote a piece about it https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/disgraceful-disgusting-and-deserving-of-the-sack-tom-morris-on-his-very-public-downfall-20230307-p5cpy7.html

28-08-2023, 10:54 PM
If you were going to put a strategy in place to make a comeback. You would get the leading female journalist in the game to have an interview on her all female podcast and then write a piece in The Age for you highlighjting your redemption arc, you sick mother and the impact on the innocents, your family.

Propoganda 101.

28-08-2023, 11:42 PM
By memory, his first foray back was a podcast with Caroline Wilson. She then wrote a piece about it https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/disgraceful-disgusting-and-deserving-of-the-sack-tom-morris-on-his-very-public-downfall-20230307-p5cpy7.html

Yeah but they are all employed by Hutchy aren’t they . It’s Hutchy show footy classified.

28-08-2023, 11:45 PM
Yeah but they are all employed by Hutchy aren’t they . It’s Hutchy show footy classified.

Yes. All related. But Caro has some indpendance from Hutchy too. She is also employed by The Age and also 3AW.

29-08-2023, 10:59 AM
https://www.zerohanger.com/former-gold-coast-coach-stuart-dew-linked-to-afl-return-with-victorian-club-142673/

Rumours circulating that we are into Dew.

29-08-2023, 11:05 AM
https://www.zerohanger.com/former-gold-coast-coach-stuart-dew-linked-to-afl-return-with-victorian-club-142673/

Yep, Carro also mentioned it last night on Footy Classified
It's also been mentioned earlier in this thread.

29-08-2023, 11:09 AM
Interesting. Many on here were calling for this kind of an appointment years ago.

29-08-2023, 11:16 AM
I would love Cameron and King back.

29-08-2023, 11:21 AM
Dew gives me Bevo vibes strong relationship coach wonder what his game plan/ game sense is like? I know he didn't have success at GC but I thought from a far he always carried himself well.

29-08-2023, 11:40 AM
Dew gives me Bevo vibes strong relationship coach wonder what his game plan/ game sense is like? I know he didn't have success at GC but I thought from a far he always carried himself well.

I think his coaching was a long way from a disaster too.
You could say he has set up Clarkeson, the list was built under his watch and it looks good.
Definitely didn’t go downhill under him.

29-08-2023, 11:50 AM
Just on Dew roles below he held at Sydney...

Dew joined the Swans at the end of the 2009 season and has held a number of coaching roles at the club, overseeing defence, development, stoppages, and most recently, senior assistant to John Longmire.

29-08-2023, 11:52 AM

Dew joined the Swans at the end of the 2009 season and has held a number of coaching roles at the club, overseeing defence, development, stoppages, and most recently, senior assistant to John Longmire.

I think he would be good for us.

29-08-2023, 11:54 AM
I honestly am not sure on Dew. I don't know why.

29-08-2023, 01:10 PM
I honestly am not sure on Dew. I don't know why.

Caretaker in waiting :)

29-08-2023, 01:11 PM

That is what does worry me.

29-08-2023, 01:39 PM

Dew joined the Swans at the end of the 2009 season and has held a number of coaching roles at the club, overseeing defence, development, stoppages, and most recently, senior assistant to John Longmire. By all accounts one of the best assistant coaches. Longmire can't speak highly enough of him. Had a massive input game day at the Swans. Allowed Longmire to sit on the bench.

29-08-2023, 01:56 PM
I think Dew’s potential for us is twofold
1. Another experienced voice of reason in the coaching box. Something we have needed for a while
2. Fan merch will now come in bigger sizes

29-08-2023, 02:03 PM

Caro has no idea what's going on.

29-08-2023, 02:15 PM
Caro has no idea what's going on.
true:)

29-08-2023, 02:23 PM
I would love Cameron and King back.
Do we really need more of Bevo?s mates at the club?

Boots
29-08-2023, 02:42 PM
I like Dew if only because a bit of body diversity in AFL is a good thing. Other than Minson and Mumford (and Caleb of course) AFL players have significantly less body diversity than they used to and in a sport that can find roles for the tall and the short it’s nice to counter the prevailing narrative of thin at all costs (which is partly why anorexia is on the rise in boys). We should all take it easy on his size. The guy was a premiership player and was pretty big then too. It has nothing at all to do with his competence.

For real though I liked him as a coach. He’s be an excellent get for us. I figure from how quiet things have got on this front that Cameron said no again. That’s a shame. From how he seemed to coach at the Giants he’d be an excellent addition to a coaching panel that included Bevo and Dew.

29-08-2023, 02:43 PM

Frankly I wish Sydney would complete the handover to Cox so we could install Longmire as an *air quotes* 'assistant' ...

29-08-2023, 02:47 PM
By all accounts one of the best assistant coaches. Longmire can't speak highly enough of him. Had a massive input game day at the Swans. Allowed Longmire to sit on the bench.
That actually sounds perfect - Bevo on the bench, Dew in the box

D Mitchell
29-08-2023, 02:49 PM
I like Dew if only because a bit of body diversity in AFL is a good thing. Other than Minson and Mumford (and Caleb of course) AFL players have significantly less body diversity than they used to and in a sport that can find roles for the tall and the short it’s nice to counter the prevailing narrative of thin at all costs (which is partly why anorexia is on the rise in boys). We should all take it easy on his size. The guy was a premiership player and was pretty big then too. It has nothing at all to do with his competence.

I l......

First qualification for Assistant Coach position. Fat blokes only need apply.

29-08-2023, 03:03 PM
Marc Webb returns to WA (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1418752/marc-webb-returns-to-wa)

Western Bulldogs assistant coach Marc Webb will depart the Club in the coming weeks, returning home to Perth for family reasons.

Webb has been part of the red, white and blue coaching setup for the past two seasons, joining initially as the midfield coach before transitioning into a specialist role in charge of stoppages and analysis.

The 44-year-old returns home to be reunited with his young family, supporting his wife Lisa, who has taken the reins as the Fremantle Dockers AFLW Head Coach.

Bulldogs? Executive Director of Football, Chris Grant thanked Webb for his contributions across two campaigns.

?Marc came to us with vast experience across a variety of roles in WA footy, with his professionalism and diligence a standout within our football department,? he said.

?He is a passionate football person, and we thank him for his tireless effort during his time at the Kennel.

?We wish Marc, Lisa, Ollie and Leo all the best for their next chapter in WA.?

Webb said he was eternally grateful for the opportunity given to him by the Western Bulldogs.

?I?ve loved my time at the Bulldogs and am extremely grateful to Luke Beveridge and Chris Grant for the opportunities provided to me in the past 24 months,? Webb said.

?The Club has been incredibly understanding towards my family situation and allowed me to focus my time and energy on this fantastic playing group.

?I look forward to watching the Club from afar into the future.?

29-08-2023, 03:05 PM
Do we really need more of Bevo?s mates at the club?

I would prefer new ideas brought over from successful clubs.

29-08-2023, 03:14 PM
I would prefer new ideas brought over from successful clubs.

Then why are you happy with us looking at Dew? He spent six years at Gold Coast who won at most ten games in his time in charge.

AFL footy has changed a lot in the past six years, is his Sydney experience still relevant?

29-08-2023, 03:26 PM
Then why are you happy with us looking at Dew? He spent six years at Gold Coast who won at most ten games in his time in charge.

AFL footy has changed a lot in the past six years, is his Sydney experience still relevant?

Premiership player, assistant at Sydney to 2010 -2017 and of course Suns coach. I think he has good credentials.

BTW - won more than ten games - more like 40

29-08-2023, 03:38 PM
Premiership player, assistant at Sydney to 2010 -2017 and of course Suns coach. I think he has good credentials.

BTW - won more than ten games - more like 40

Based on those dates he also would have been an assistant when the swans won the flag also.

Sorry, I meant ten games a year.

29-08-2023, 03:57 PM
Based on those dates he also would have been an assistant when the swans won the flag also.

Sorry, I meant ten games a year.

Fair enough, I thought 10 sounded strange.

Tell me, you don't think he is the right bloke?

I wouldn't mind Brenton Sanderson as strategy manager

29-08-2023, 04:59 PM
That actually sounds perfect - Bevo on the bench, Dew in the box

How would that fit in with Lade as the current 2IC?

29-08-2023, 09:06 PM
How would that fit in with Lade as the current 2IC?

Also, Bevo has stated he likes being up in the box, v. on the bench.

Hopefully Bevo is open to change in this regard, if they are to attract well-credentialed assistant coach.

29-08-2023, 10:23 PM
Also, Bevo has stated he likes being up in the box, v. on the bench.

Hopefully Bevo is open to change in this regard, if they are to attract well-credentialed assistant coach.

Yes - because you can see the game from the box. You cannot see the game from the bench.

Watching Fagan in particular sit in the dugout and 'watch' the game is befuddling to me. How can you HELP the players if you are unable to see the things they can't.

Sorry but coaching from the bench is DUMB. 5-minutes here and there to help provide calm to a bench in chaos...yeah, for sure. For the whole game? DUMB.

30-08-2023, 01:17 AM
Expect Dew in the RW&B next season. Deal is almost done.

30-08-2023, 01:26 AM

I can't complain, to complement that move it'd be nice to see an assistant from a successful coaching setup (Melbourne & Collingwood as prime examples)

30-08-2023, 02:02 AM

Is that for real ?

30-08-2023, 02:03 AM
Is that for real ?

As I was told tonight, Dew already looking at houses around WO.

30-08-2023, 07:53 AM

I wonder if Dew is still the senior assistant? Getting some coaching depth now.

30-08-2023, 08:36 AM
As I was told tonight, Dew already looking at houses around WO.

Spoke to the folks at Pie Thief in Footscray. Told them to stock up. A big winter ahead.

30-08-2023, 08:52 AM

I can dig it.

30-08-2023, 09:04 AM
Bevo and Dew two little tug boats pulling in the same direction.

30-08-2023, 09:23 AM
My question on Stuart Dew. It is his weight.

AFL sporting clubs are elite athletic environments where players need to show discipline in all aspects of their life and importantly treat their bodies with respect. In an elite athletic environment do you respect someone who is obese?

If you can't have self control and disclipline in the most important thing in your life, your overall well being and health (without your own health, you can't help yourself, your family or anyone else) then why should I trust you with anything else?

Is that too harsh? Is that fair? Or is that an unreasonable view?

30-08-2023, 09:27 AM

AFL sporting clubs are elite athletic environments where players need to show discipline in all aspects of their life and importantly treat their bodies with respect. In an elite athletic environment do you respect someone who is obese?

If you can't have self control and disclipline in the most important thing in your life, your overall well being and health (without you own health, you can't help yourself, your family or anyone else) then why should I trust you with anything else?

I don't think it matters at all. Who knows why he carries weight it could well be something out of his control.
If he's a good coach he's a good coach.

Of course there are professional standards to maintain, from what I understand this has never been an issue for Dew. I can only assume he wouldn't get very good references if that were the case.

30-08-2023, 09:29 AM

If you can't have self control and disclipline in the most important thing in your life, your overall well being and health (without your own health, you can't help yourself, your family or anyone else) then why should I trust you with anything else?

I get that view but he's also done it all before, the work he did to get into that Hawks premiership team was incredible.

30-08-2023, 09:31 AM

I think it's irrelevant.

People are flawed, but it's possible to be two (and more) things at once.

If he's the right footballing guy, then his appearance doesn't matter. In actual fact even if he's the wrong footballing guy his appearance doesn't matter.

30-08-2023, 09:46 AM

Dude was amazing in a GF looking like he was smuggling something through customs. I'd want to know his secrets

30-08-2023, 09:49 AM
I think it's irrelevant.

If he's the right footballing guy, then his appearance doesn't matter. In actual fact even if he's the wrong footballing guy his appearance doesn't matter.

I?d love to spend a day out with him. Seems like a good bloke and I reckon he?d bolt out to an early lead on the beers and pies and just never give that lead up. Come to think of it, that?s exactly what this group needs to learn asap!

He?s our man!

But moreover he?s being hired for his brain, before the rumours started he had GCS humming with dreams of their first finals after beating them top 8 sides dogs & crows. Then the board backed him about the rumours of Hardwick…

He can coach, and that?s all I?m interested in.

30-08-2023, 10:00 AM
I think it's irrelevant.

It shouldnt be given the position he is being considered for but there will always be people of judge on other criteria. Id take Mark Williams in a heartbeat but he is no slim jim.

30-08-2023, 10:06 AM
Mark Williams 65

https://resources.melbournefc.com.au/photo-resources/2021/06/04/5a5fb81f-1c88-46a1-9188-e5bbd0585684/Williams.png?width=342&height=342

30-08-2023, 10:07 AM
It should be given the position he is being considered for but there will always be people of judge on other criteria. Id take Mark Williams in a heartbeat but he is no slim jim.

You could also say, is the type of person that loves a solarium and Devinci veneers as their chompers are they the right type of person you want leading?

We're all flawed.

Now pass me the donuts.

30-08-2023, 10:09 AM
Stuart Dew 44

https://imageresizer.static9.net.au/ZVL3Re8U-10MMqo1tfZQkVyUC8k=/700x0/https%3A%2F%2Fprod.static9.net.au%2Ffs%2Ff7dfee97-5eaa-4f4a-be0c-465bf9c428b7

30-08-2023, 10:12 AM
Adam Kingsley

https://content.api.news/v3/images/bin/f0ce0a941070d2d07a172d62a5d96996

30-08-2023, 10:13 AM
Dew is highly regarded, even by Australian cricket team in recent Ashes series. His weight is irrelevant

https://s.yimg.com/ny/api/res/1.2/aXVKcmqobCXrgGMQJXb2Nw--/YXBwaWQ9aGlnaGxhbmRlcjt3PTk2MDtjZj13ZWJw/https://s.yimg.com/os/creatr-uploaded-images/2023-07/19b47a70-2500-11ee-9a9e-7971c5b39423

30-08-2023, 11:15 AM
Adam Kingsley

https://content.api.news/v3/images/bin/f0ce0a941070d2d07a172d62a5d96996

Well Kingsley and Bevo should get on well looking at his muscle . They can talk tactics while working out in the new gym .

30-08-2023, 11:23 AM
I don't think it matters at all. Who knows why he carries weight it could well be something out of his control.
If he's a good coach he's a good coach.

Of course there are professional standards to maintain, from what I understand this has never been an issue for Dew. I can only assume he wouldn't get very good references if that were the case.
Whilst I agree that his physical condition doesn't really matter in terms of competency, the bolded bit is very much in everybody's individual control.

My concern with Dew is not about bringing his sharp mind into the coaches box, it is about the distinct possibility that we will "appoint a senior assistant" and essentially be done with the review of our entire operation - that's just a re-heated version of what we did last year with our pissy internal review and bringing in Brendan Lade. I'm not a fan of the optics coming out of our club post-season so far.

30-08-2023, 11:26 AM
Whilst I agree that his physical condition doesn't really matter in terms of competency, the bolded bit is very much in everybody's individual control.

My concern with Dew is not about bringing his sharp mind into the coaches box, it is about the distinct possibility that we will "appoint a senior assistant" and essentially be done with the review of our entire operation. I'm not a fan of the optics coming out of our club post-season so far.

A bit Judge Smails so far, “you’ll get nothing and like it”.

Hopefully something changes for the better, especially a rethink on an external review.

30-08-2023, 11:40 AM

Not always true. There are medical conditions, medications etc that can take that control away. In most circumstances it's something people can control but everyone has different metabolisms and natural body shapes that means it's more work for some than others.

I think Dew seems predisposed to packing on pounds pretty quick but doubt he has any medical condition given his history as a professional athlete

30-08-2023, 12:54 PM
Another name I've heard mentioned (outside of that BF thread) that we're interested in is Jackson Kornberg, yet another Suns coach, but he is doing wonders with their VFL team this season and has a host of development experience.

30-08-2023, 01:10 PM
I'm not a fan of the optics coming out of our club post-season so far.

mmmm - 3 days since end of season????

30-08-2023, 01:34 PM
mmmm - 3 days since end of season????
Well the optics so far have us conducting another internal post-season review and looking to appoint another senior assistant to better support the head coach. We literally did exactly the same thing 12 months ago.

There hasn't yet been any discussion as far as I can tell around fitness and conditioning, recruiting, player development, player welfare and other footy dept areas.

If we tinker around the edges and think that is sufficient, we really are going to waste the Bont years. I'm hopeful we do much more than tinker.

30-08-2023, 03:06 PM
Well the optics so far have us conducting another internal post-season review and looking to appoint another senior assistant to better support the head coach. We literally did exactly the same thing 12 months ago.

There hasn't yet been any discussion as far as I can tell around fitness and conditioning, recruiting, player development, player welfare and other footy dept areas.

If we tinker around the edges and think that is sufficient, we really are going to waste the Bont years. I'm hopeful we do much more than tinker.

Should members including woofers start a petition for an external review? Not sure it would be noticed however feel the majority of members are not happy with another internal review.

30-08-2023, 04:56 PM
Dew is highly regarded, even by Australian cricket team in recent Ashes series. His weight is irrelevant

How do I report a concern? Has someone hacked bornadogs account? :)

30-08-2023, 05:10 PM

That's good, Jerry. Gold.

30-08-2023, 05:12 PM

Someone being overweight is not necessarily a discipline issue. There are a million and one other mitigating circumstances that can lead to this. Health concerns and genetics could be the cause of gaining weight. It definitely was in my case; it was never a lack of discipline.

30-08-2023, 05:19 PM
I am onboard with Dew. His got good pedigree as assistant at successful clubs.

I don't care what anyone says, but he was leading the Suns into a better place. He just had crap management around him wanting to justify their jobs.

He can kick, and hopefully teach some of our players to kick.

Maybe he can bring that hard edge to our players ? that tenacity, never want to lose a contest approach.

30-08-2023, 05:54 PM
Show a bit of f$%^&*@# fight - Stuart Dew

https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=269119505030990&t=2

30-08-2023, 06:02 PM

I just got transported back to my playing days.

30-08-2023, 06:28 PM
That won't work with todays players they'll walk out the room saying F@#K you. :)

30-08-2023, 06:37 PM
That won't work with todays players they'll walk out the room saying F@#K you. :)

Times have certainly changed since...2 years ago

30-08-2023, 06:37 PM
As soon as he showed up at the cricket we started losing

30-08-2023, 06:39 PM
Times have certainly changed since...2 years ago

There wasn't much reaction in the room back then stunned mullets.

30-08-2023, 06:39 PM

WTF are you on about

As soon as he showed up at the cricket we started losing

I never went to England this year

30-08-2023, 06:45 PM
WTF are you on about

I never went to England this year

I believe it's a reference to your previous comments about players weights in a satirical manner.

30-08-2023, 06:47 PM
I believe it's a reference to your previous comments about players weights in a satirical manner.

GG I don't find it funny, and I have my reasons

30-08-2023, 07:07 PM
There wasn't much reaction in the room back then stunned mullets.

Probably because the rev up is a pretty situational tool that most times just makes the vibes worse rather than inspire you to try harder (most likely you are already) or helping fix whatever issues are the real cause of the poor performance.

30-08-2023, 09:00 PM
I’m way old and if someone yelled at me like that I’d totally switch off. Would 100% have the opposite effect on me.

Believe or not I’m also not an elite, ultra competitive sportsman. (Hide your shock if you can).

30-08-2023, 09:17 PM
The good old footy rev up ......

https://youtu.be/_iQ_ApuYf7o?si=hPpHTS-WYJe6sdjN

30-08-2023, 09:24 PM

Did it work the next week after that video in Sept 2021 ?

30-08-2023, 09:32 PM
Did it work the next week after that video in Sept 2021 ?

The footage is from the documentary. Making their Mark. I think that was in the Calrton game. It was the COVID 2020 season. They lost the Carlton game 27-60. That is only from memory, so could be wrong. It was a Doco. I enjoyed it. Dew came across OK. The funniest part of Dew was him trying to do an "Everest Challenge" on a stationary bike with Matt Rowell. I think he was on the bike for like 23 hours.

30-08-2023, 10:36 PM
I’d be sounding out Joel Selwood about what his 2024 plans are

31-08-2023, 12:01 AM
The good old footy rev up ......

https://youtu.be/_iQ_ApuYf7o?si=hPpHTS-WYJe6sdjN

I can tell you playing for sunshine at skinner with the tattooed blokes running around, every second word in a speech was an expletive . If it didn’t get you going the “mad as hatters” blokes I played with had you scared not to go hard ! One of them actually punched on with the opposition dug out after being sent off in a final ! Look it up on YouTube .

31-08-2023, 09:39 AM
I’d be sounding out Joel Selwood about what his 2024 plans are

Baldness ads.

31-08-2023, 09:52 AM
Baldness ads.

And a horrible google phone or google watch ad.

Terrible.

31-08-2023, 11:37 AM

Terrible.

No soft cap in cheap advertising gimmicks.

31-08-2023, 11:41 AM
No soft cap in cheap advertising gimmicks.

Or screen testing either!

31-08-2023, 10:18 PM
I think it's irrelevant.

Different sports but Ange Postecoglou is a prime example. Same too for a lot of Basketball coaches, who have not played at a high level.

31-08-2023, 10:19 PM

Terrible.

I wanna magic erase those ads from my memory.

31-08-2023, 10:31 PM

I have read the criticism of Dew here and the comments that 'this wont work with players today'...

Um - of course it does. If you do it every day it get's tiresome but:

1/. Coaches shouldn't have to coach effort - when effort is unacceptable, the players need to be told (and directly).
2/. You can't mask over 'effort' issues with technical details. If you're getting smashed around the contest and the technical levers - adding an extra, moving wingers out of their structure to engage wing-on-wing, inside hit-zones, one 'go-to' player etc - then EFFORT must be the problem.

The only caveat I have is if his relationship with the players isn't 'right', then they wont 'listen' (rather they won't care). Players are proud though and they 'KNOW' when the coach is right. Those players were looking at the coach or looking at the ground - they KNEW he was right...they knew they deserved a spray and they knew they needed to actually lift.

That's good vision of a coach being prepared to use all of the tools available too him. What else would you have him do? "So...how did we go that quarter fellas?"...sound of crickets chirping..."It wasn't too good now was it fellas...".

31-08-2023, 11:23 PM
What Dew did is fine. Only as long as it's not his one wood.

I've told the story about my old club where the Swans train when in Melbourne, they convinced our boys to stop training to let them have a run for 30 or so minutes. On the way to the car after leaving the boxing gym onsite I passed Dew as he was collecting footies kicked over the fence and suggested that the right thing to do would be to give some of those nice kicked in match balls to our lads. He smiled and said I think I could do that.

Six yellow training balls were handed over at the end of their session.

That doesn't mean he's a good coach/ tactician etc., rather, it just means he's a good bloke who can read the room a bit.

01-09-2023, 06:28 PM
How would we feel about:
Bevo, Dew, Ratten, Lade
With Jackson Kornberg, Clay Smith & Spang as development coaches

01-09-2023, 06:34 PM
I saw Ratten would be available. Is this your inside knowledge?

01-09-2023, 06:36 PM
I saw Ratten would be available. Is this your inside knowledge?

Negative, I'm a bit 50/50 on the guy, hasn't really done much when he was a head coach, and I don't know enough about him when he was an assistant to really give my two cents.

Timing is curious tho, specially with his former connections to Bevo and Lade.

01-09-2023, 06:37 PM
How would we feel about:
Bevo, Dew, Ratten + 1 more as a coaching panel?

What happens to his former assistant Lade?

01-09-2023, 06:39 PM
What happens to his former assistant Lade?

Look, alright, I'm tired, it's been a long week lol

01-09-2023, 06:43 PM
How would we feel about:
Bevo, Dew, Ratten, Lade

Not sold on Ratten being a great fit for us but Bevo, Dew (2IC) Lade and Spangher would be a strong group.
Is Kornberg in the mix to head our way or is that contingent on Dew coming in?

Any news on Maddocks and Martin?

01-09-2023, 06:44 PM
How would we feel about:
Bevo, Dew, Ratten + 1 more as a coaching panel?

I think this starts to tread in dangerous waters. Bevo is Head Coach. Ultimately all decisions are his responsibility. He sits in the seat, he takes all accolades and all the heat associated with the responsibility.

Having one assistant with end-of-line experience is great as a sounding board and brings experience to an otherwise shallow coaching panel. Having two, you are suddenly outnumbered and the balance of power shifts too far to the assistants. I like the idea of Stewie Dew as a senior assistant (or even in the roll of Football Manager or coaching advisory role) but not two ex-head coaches.

01-09-2023, 06:48 PM
Not sold on Ratten being a great fit for us but Bevo, Dew (2IC) Lade and Spangher would be a strong group.
Is Kornberg in the mix to head our way or is that contingent on Dew coming in?

Any news on Maddocks and Martin?

I'm lead to believe Maddocks will remain, Martin will be going.
Kornberg is moving back to Vic end of the VFL season, I'm told we've asked the question of him and that'll be regardless of Dew coming in.

01-09-2023, 06:49 PM
I think this starts to tread in dangerous waters. Bevo is Head Coach. Ultimately all decisions are his responsibility. He sits in the seat, he takes all accolades and all the heat associated with the responsibility.

Having one assistant with end-of-line experience is great as a sounding board and brings experience to an otherwise shallow coaching panel. Having two, you are suddenly outnumbered and the balance of power shifts too far to the assistants. I like the idea of Stewie Dew as a senior assistant (or even in the roll of Football Manager or coaching advisory role) but not two ex-head coaches.

Agreed. We could have 1 former head coach like Dew, Ratten or Cameron, not 2. Plus the soft cap would be blown to smithereens (not sure I've ever used smithereens in a sentence before).

01-09-2023, 06:50 PM

I agree, not sure I even see it with Ratten. I'd actually like to see us target a recently-retired player, someone like Jack Riewoldt.

01-09-2023, 06:57 PM
Phil Davis would be my first choice for a recently retired player.

01-09-2023, 06:59 PM
I'm lead to believe Maddocks will remain, Martin will be going.
Kornberg is moving back to Vic end of the VFL season, I'm told we've asked the question of him and that'll be regardless of Dew coming in.

Any news on Stuart Edge? Seems to have a good relationship with Bevo and Footscray have done exceptionally well given the disadvantage of not having a home ground.

01-09-2023, 07:01 PM
Any news on Stuart Edge? Seems to have a good relationship with Bevo and Footscray have done exceptionally well given the disadvantage of not having a home ground.

There's some talk over on BigFooty that he'll be expanding his coaching and going full time in the men's senior program, although I haven't been able to confirm or deny that.

Could he do both senior VFL and AFL at the same time???

Very good coach tho, would be a great-get for the mens program if he could do it.

01-09-2023, 07:05 PM
There's some talk over on BigFooty that he'll be expanding his coaching and going full time in the men's program, although I haven't been able to confirm or deny that.

Very good coach tho, would be a great-get for the mens program if he could do it.

He did additional work over summer by attending a lot of Bulldogs sessions and then obviously doubling up with the Bulldog boys. Both Poulter and O'Donnell acknowledge his work with them.

Hard to know if he would serve the club better by sticking with Footscray or moving more into a development role.

01-09-2023, 07:45 PM
How would we feel about:
Bevo, Dew, Ratten, Lade

Love the idea of those 2 at the club. Could maybe see the Suns guy stepping up to a line coach role (so replacing Ratten in the hypothetical)

01-09-2023, 08:01 PM
Love the idea of those 2 at the club. Could maybe see the Suns guy stepping up to a line coach role (so replacing Ratten in the hypothetical)

We need an assistant coach for goal kicking, but we also desperately one for having the right amount of mongrel. We need some edge, and to actually stick tackles and make opponents hurt. The last month was embarrassing the inability to stick a tackle and impose some physical presence.

01-09-2023, 08:52 PM
How would we feel about:
Bevo, Dew, Ratten, Lade

I would be VERY happy with this, but would also like our current Ruck coach to stay

02-09-2023, 12:43 AM
Didn’t know who Jackson Kornberg was but read a couple of articles and he sounds like a great young coach

02-09-2023, 12:50 AM
Yeah much prefer to get an up and coming coach than Rats.

02-09-2023, 08:41 AM
Phil Davis would be my first choice for a recently retired player.
Players fail the dickhead test, can coaches fail too?

02-09-2023, 09:54 AM
Players fail the dickhead test, can coaches fail too?

My GWS hate runs deep but I think Davis is a pretty upstanding citizen. Was a great leader of their club for a long time.

02-09-2023, 11:51 AM
My GWS hate runs deep but I think Davis is a pretty upstanding citizen. Was a great leader of their club for a long time.

Yep. I don't get how he is a DH. Perhaps if you don't like the rich but hipster look? IDK. He just seems above average articulation and/or intelligence for a footy player + solid citizen + good leader to me.

02-09-2023, 12:13 PM
Yeah much prefer to get an up and coming coach than Rats.

I though Ratts said he was retired from coaching and going back to planting trees (seedling company of some sorts).

02-09-2023, 05:02 PM
He showed great leadership in staging, being a mercenary and arrogance. The Fabio look will teach the players how groom themselves better too.

02-09-2023, 05:44 PM
He showed great leadership in staging, being a mercenary and arrogance. The Fabio look will teach the players how groom themselves better too.

Do you think Bontempelli is a good footballer?

02-09-2023, 06:02 PM
Do you think Bontempelli is a good footballer?

Strange question to ask.

For What it's worth, I wouldn't go near Phil either. We need some experience to help Bevo, maybe a player with a couple of years coaching at another club.

02-09-2023, 06:51 PM
We brought in Lade and saw no changes at all in our game day coaching. I can only assume that?s because Bevo still calls all the shots in game day.

If we get Dew and or Ratts - surely it is to be another voice of authority in the coaches box. Can?t imagine it?s an attractive role if not

02-09-2023, 08:34 PM
I'd be chips in on Selwood.

No idea what he's doing, but our lack of mental fortitude, accountability and leadership are areas he could bring value to.

Raels_d
03-09-2023, 09:34 PM
Although not an assistant coach I have reliably heard that Mat Inness (Head is Sport Science and Physical Performance) is leaving to take up a role with West Coast Eagles

03-09-2023, 10:34 PM
Although not an assistant coach I have reliably heard that Mat Inness (Head is Sport Science and Physical Performance) is leaving to take up a role with West Coast Eagles

What’s The Weapon doing these days?

04-09-2023, 02:26 PM
What’s The Weapon doing these days?

Recovering from a quadruple bypass after a massive heart attack and preparing to defend himself against numerous drug related charges.

04-09-2023, 02:29 PM

At least he delivered JOD to us. Hopefully we can sign a suitable replacement if he is departing.

06-09-2023, 03:37 PM
Marc Webb is staying in footy. Taking up a role with the footy commission over here - will be coaching the 18's.

Webb Returns To Coach State 18s

The WA Football Commission is excited to confirm the appointment of Marc Webb as the new U18s State Coach.

The former Fremantle and Western Bulldogs assistant coach returns for his second stint in charge of the program.

Webb coached the State 18s previously in 2021, leading the team to three wins against South Australia, including in the curtain raiser on AFL Grand Final day at Optus Stadium.

Webb has spent the last two seasons at the Western Bulldogs as an Assistant Coach.

With his wife Lisa named head coach at the Fremantle Dockers AFLW team at the end of last year, Webb has embraced the opportunity to move back to Perth to be closer to family.

The 44-year-old will support WA’s talent development coaches to enhance players’ entry into the WAFL, State Academy programs and the AFL system.

Webb has wealth of experience as a player and coach.

Representing Subiaco, Webb played 176 games, winning four premierships with the Lions between 2002 and 2010.

Webb also claimed a Premiership as Senior Coach with Claremont in 2012, and the following year he joined the Fremantle coaching panel, serving in a number of development and assistant coaching roles for seven seasons.

Webb is also in the process of completing a Masters of Education at Edith Cowan University.

Webb said he was delighted to return to a role he knows well.

“To be able to work across the WA Talent Pathway again is something I am really excited about,” Webb said.

“Giving back to WA footy and trying to pass on some of my knowledge to coaches and players all is something I enjoy and to play a role in the journey of talented footballers is extremely rewarding.

“At the elite level, I want to prepare players as best I can for the AFL and the WAFL, but also continue to develop good people.

“I am excited to meet all the players and staff.”

Scott Baker, Executive Manager – Football Operations at the West Australian Football Commission, believes Webb is the perfect fit for the full-time job.

“It’s very exciting to welcome back a quality of person like Marc Webb,” Baker said.

“Marc has great credentials across the AFL and WAFL, whilst also having a very strong knowledge of the Talent Pathway in WA.

“He returns to WA from the Western Bulldogs with a broad range of skills which can only benefit young footballers in this state.”

As this role is now moving to a full-time Talent Pathway position, Ben Dyer is unable to continue due to his full-time working commitments.

The WAFC would like to thank Dyer for his outstanding contribution to the program.

06-09-2023, 03:50 PM
A lot of people didn't rate Webb, but he came with good experience and he will be a loss. Good to see him get a decent role.

09-09-2023, 07:00 PM
Sanderson is clearly talented and we would be an experienced addition.

I wonder if we could pry Dean Cox out of Sydney?
Troy Chaplin is the dees defensive coach as another option.
I would love to get Joel Corey back or left field let?s poach Jimmy Bartel from the giants board

Joel Corey and Dale Morris were huge losses to our MC following the need to reduce our Coaching panel following Covid. Disappointing to now see Morris at the Lions and Matthew Boyd at Fremantle who were both highly regarded at the WB.

09-09-2023, 07:50 PM
Joel Corey and Dale Morris were huge losses to our MC following the need to reduce our Coaching panel following Covid. Disappointing to now see Morris at the Lions and Matthew Boyd at Fremantle who were both highly regarded at the WB.

Had Morris even started as a development coach when the cutbacks meant he moved into the coterie management role but I agree that it was a loss. Corey I thought was a strong coach and that was a real shame that we had to let him go due to those enforced cutbacks.

11-09-2023, 03:43 AM
Dew to be announced either this week or next.

I'm told we're also working on another high-profile very-experienced assistant coach to come in.

11-09-2023, 08:07 AM
Dew to be announced either this week or next.

I'm told we're also working on another high-profile very-experienced assistant coach to come in.

Love this. Bevo your on notice. I hope both can and do work and gel together. Could be a few dust ups over a selection of two with these guys.

Critter
11-09-2023, 08:53 AM
Tom Morris on SEN has just said Dew is not going to Bulldogs. Also that Varcoe is going

11-09-2023, 09:17 AM
Tom Morris on SEN has just said Dew is not going to Bulldogs. Also that Varcoe is going

Didn't feel like a Bevo appointment.

Shame re Varcoe.

11-09-2023, 09:24 AM
Didn't feel like a Bevo appointment.

Shame re Varcoe.

It doesn't but could Tom Morris be wrong? Or your happy to believe it because it supports your narative?

11-09-2023, 09:28 AM
Love this. Bevo your on notice. I hope both can and do work and gel together. Could be a few dust ups over a selection of two with these guys.

It's hard for me to draw the conclusion that bringing in more experienced assistant coaches is in some way putting Beveridge on notice.

I see it more simply that we've identified the need to add more experienced coaches around Beveridge to help this team fulfill it's potential and to give the players more support so we are looking far and wide to achieve that.

Lets see who we land before getting too excited.

11-09-2023, 09:46 AM

If all true from Morris, I'm not that concerned about Dew. Yes he would have been an upgrade given his experience but I think there are plenty of other coaches that might suit us better. I liked the way Varcoe connected with the players so that is a shame.

11-09-2023, 09:54 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/F5sne67bsAApvqb?format=jpg&name=large

11-09-2023, 09:59 AM
If all true from Morris, I'm not that concerned about Dew. Yes he would have been an upgrade given his experience but I think there are plenty of other coaches that might suit us better. I liked the way Varcoe connected with the players so that is a shame.

Dew maybe is in the Richmond senior picture so makes sense he wouldn't be singing anywhere yet.

11-09-2023, 10:06 AM
Dew maybe is in the Richmond senior picture so makes sense he wouldn't be singing anywhere yet.

I read somewhere that Gia is down to the last few for the Richmond role.

11-09-2023, 10:07 AM
There have been plenty of comments that Bains and Grant haven't been standing up to Beveridge but it appears to me that this sort of shake-up proves we have a new vision for the footy department and we are re-shaping it now in a big way.

The next few weeks are going to be an interesting ride.

11-09-2023, 10:09 AM
Spangher staying is laughable.

BAD you got me on that print screen. The X on the pop up is not working, took me a while to work that out it'sa screen shot. Hahaha.

11-09-2023, 10:10 AM
I read somewhere that Gia is down to the last few for the Richmond roll.

He is ready to take on a senior coaching roll. He's done plenty of additional work to prepare himself.

11-09-2023, 10:11 AM
SEISMIC CHANGE CONTINUES WITH VARCOE SET TO DEPART WESTERN BULLDOGS Tom Morris

summer of seismic change will continue at the Western Bulldogs, with development coach Travis Varcoe set to depart the club.

Varcoe, who has been at Whitten Oval for three years, will part ways with the club in the coming weeks.

He will be the third coach to leave, with more football department staff expected to follow him as the Dogs re-shape the team underneath Chris Grant and Luke Beveridge.

Varcoe, a two-time premiership player with Geelong who also played for Collingwood, arrived at the end of 2020 and worked mostly with the VFL program in his stint.

In addition to coaching responsibilities, his role included acting as a mentor for Indigenous players Jamarra Ugle-Hagan, Arthur Jones, and involved in the club?s Reconciliation Action Plan.

Varcoe joins assistant coaches Marc Webb and Rohan Smith to depart the club in the off-season.

As reported by SEN.com.au, Webb made the call to return home to Perth, while club great Smith was told his time was up, despite strong support from coach Luke Beveridge.

It?s understood forwards coach Matt Spangher is likely to stay, as is midfield coach Brendon Lade.

Stef Martin and Jamie Maddocks are the two other development coaches, while Stewart Edge has coached Footscray, whose season came to an end on Saturday.

Despite reports of interest in Stuart Dew, the club has not signed the former Gold Coast Suns coach as a replacement.

Many clubs are waiting on the coaching appointment at Richmond, as the outcome will determine the availability of key candidates.

From a player perspective, premiership player Toby McLean, plus veterans Taylor Duryea and Tim O?Brien are without contracts.

The Western Bulldogs have traditionally waited until after the best and fairest to make most list changes, which is due to be held on October 4 this year.

Exit meetings for VFL players on the Dogs senior list will be held early this week.

11-09-2023, 10:16 AM

BAD you got me on that print screen. The X on the pop up is not working, took me a while to work that out it'sa screen shot. Hahaha.

Maybe no laughable.

I can't recall this, but I was talking to a mate a while back and he said Spangher was first hired as a development coach and with the departure of King and Hansen was thrown into a line coaching role.
In 2024 he will return back to the a development focused role.

Honestly so much speculation and hearsay going on, we might as well lock this thread and open it up once announcements are made!

11-09-2023, 10:23 AM
Honestly so much speculation and hearsay going on, we might as well lock this thread and open it up once announcements are made!

Nah, fun reading what posters opinions are.

On Varcoe, he was brought in to look after JUH and other indigenous players that we bring in. Maybe he is looking for a more serious role now. I think I read that he does coach his own team in one of the suburban leagues.

11-09-2023, 10:28 AM

So why don't you rate Spangher?

11-09-2023, 05:52 PM
It's hard for me to draw the conclusion that bringing in more experienced assistant coaches is in some way putting Beveridge on notice.

I see it more simply that we've identified the need to add more experienced coaches around Beveridge to help this team fulfill it's potential and to give the players more support so we are looking far and wide to achieve that.

Lets see who we land before getting too excited.

I agree with this. Like the book - Good to great. Get the best people you can on the bus. Tell them where you need to go, and let them figure out how to get you there.

Egos can be a bad thing. I'd hope we're taking a "hire the best we can get..." approach.

11-09-2023, 06:29 PM
We were 16th for defensive transition from our D50 to F50, even with supposed stars in Richards and Dale.
An experienced defensive line coach should be the priority among our assistants.

And spend the cash and get a specialist goal-kicking coach. If we can't pry Sav Rocca out, get one. The number of games we lost by less than two kicks was frustrating, and our two KPF pillars went at below average set shot accuracy. It's a no-brainer.

11-09-2023, 07:00 PM
We were 16th for defensive transition from our D50 to F50, even with supposed stars in Richards and Dale.
An experienced defensive line coach should be the priority among our assistants.

And spend the cash and get a specialist goal-kicking coach. If we can't pry Sav Rocca out, get one. The number of games we lost by less than two kicks was frustrating, and our two KPF pillars went at below average set shot accuracy. It's a no-brainer.

Yes re defensive.

Goal kicking, nobody does that it's a relic of the past.

11-09-2023, 07:19 PM
So why don't you rate Spangher?

You Canna’ hand a man a granda’ Spangher.

11-09-2023, 07:55 PM
Blakey left norrrffffff today...

Grant and Bains have basically said assistant coaches and the list is to blame it's going to be fascinating who they bring in. If it's underwhelming again this joint is going to go mad. And rightly so.

11-09-2023, 08:10 PM
Goal kicking, nobody does that it's a relic of the past.

David Wheadon was a specialist goal kicking coach at St.Kilda this season.

I get what you are saying but I am not into writing things off because no one else does it. I think it's no chance under Bevo as he seems to think concentrating on it puts it into your head and makes things worse. I think it's something that should be player by player rather than having a specialist coach or basically not working on it at all.

11-09-2023, 09:11 PM

I get what you are saying but I am not into writing things off because no one else does it. I think it's no chance under Bevo as he seems to think concentrating on it puts it into your head and makes things worse. I think it's something that should be player by player rather than having a specialist coach or basically not working on it at all.

Or just maybe, something the players might do in their spare time........

11-09-2023, 09:25 PM

Getting someone like Wheadon could be worth a shot. If a goal kicking specialist coach can help a few of our guys improve just a bit we re well ahead of this year. Naughton, Ugle-Hagan, Weightman, Darcy and Croft could all benefit with some specialist coaching.

11-09-2023, 09:33 PM
Getting someone like Wheadon could be worth a shot. If a goal kicking specialist coach can help a few of our guys improve just a bit we re well ahead of this year. Naughton, Ugle-Hagan, Weightman, Darcy and Croft could all benefit with some specialist coaching.
Sav turned Casboult from a woeful shot at goal to am above-average shot.
There are actually a few clubs that employ them.

11-09-2023, 09:59 PM
Sav turned Casboult from a woeful shot at goal to am above-average shot.
There are actually a few clubs that employ them.

Are there?

Serious question, I thought they were gone the way of the Dodo from people I know in vfl setups including one of my good mates.

Sav was eons ago.

I think it's a no brainier to have a specialist, I don't get why they don't.

NoseBleed
12-09-2023, 04:32 AM
When YeahNa the current Saints coach was in the media a while ago, and the Collinwood coaching job was up for grabs, he was asked on the radio, theoretically, if he became a senior coach next week, what would he do first.

He pointed to the number of good teams losing by a goal or less, and said he'd hire a goal kicking coach.

Pretty sure my Saints supporting nephew went to the finals last weekend while I went for a bike ride.

12-09-2023, 07:24 AM

Also Melbourne employed a goal kicking coach this year as well. I recall Goodwin on an interview saying it?s a game of percentages and he was looking for one percent here and there.

12-09-2023, 08:44 AM
Also Melbourne employed a goal kicking coach this year as well. I recall Goodwin on an interview saying it?s a game of percentages and he was looking for one percent here and there.

There you go. Did it help?

12-09-2023, 09:21 AM

Well they gave themselves two chances.

12-09-2023, 09:55 AM

Well we will never know as they could have been even worse without one.

12-09-2023, 10:28 AM

JUH is the one that needs it the most. His routine is all over the place when he should be a lovely kick. Weightman is usually a good kick at goal, don't think he needs much work.

Naughton isn't pretty to look at but he's actually fairly consistent and mechanical, I'm not sure he has much improvement in him. If he can sit around the average level I would be happy enough.

12-09-2023, 10:42 AM
JUH is the one that needs it the most. His routine is all over the place when he should be a lovely kick. Weightman is usually a good kick at goal, don't think he needs much work.

Naughton isn't pretty to look at but he's actually fairly consistent and mechanical, I'm not sure he has much improvement in him. If he can sit around the average level I would be happy enough.

Marra is the one for me. Just having his routine be so inconsistent...what's happening there? It feels like it isn't spoken about it.

Bevo has made reference to focusing on it too much meaning it becomes a bigger problem and I get that. Dees have focused on it and look at last week.

First of all, what do I know? But if we get past that, I really up for case by case approach to goal kicking. No set specialist coach working with a group but also focus on it when an individual/individuals could do with it.

12-09-2023, 10:47 AM
Marra is the one for me. Just having his routine be so inconsistent...what's happening there? It feels like it isn't spoken about it.

Bevo has made reference to focusing on it too much meaning it becomes a bigger problem and I get that. Dees have focused on it and look at last week.

First of all, what do I know? But if we get past that, I really up for case by case approach to goal kicking. No set specialist coach working with a group but also focus on it when an individual/individuals could do with it.

There was a bit of a deal made in the media when he kicked the ball laces facing inwards a couple times

12-09-2023, 11:08 AM
There was a bit of a deal made in the media when he kicked the ball laces facing inwards a couple times

Sorry for being unclear, I mean by our club.

12-09-2023, 01:10 PM
Sorry for being unclean, I mean by our club.

I'm glad this is finally being discussed. Have a shower Rocco.

12-09-2023, 01:29 PM
I'm glad this is finally being discussed. Have a shower Rocco.

Noted.

12-09-2023, 02:09 PM
I'm glad this is finally being discussed. Have a shower RoCo.
Edited for accuracy. RoCo is one dude who looks as filthy as a vagrant.

12-09-2023, 04:14 PM
I don't think we need a goal kicking coach, we need good assistants that are able to help formulate what is required in the modern game and come up with a new winning game plan.

12-09-2023, 05:10 PM
Daniel Cherny

West Coast has landed Western Bulldogs high performance chief Mathew Inness.

12-09-2023, 05:19 PM
A shame but 12 years is a long stint in club land. Hopefully we have a suitable replacement lined up.

Inness to depart the Kennel (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1430052/inness-to-depart-the-kennel)

Long-serving Western Bulldogs strength and conditioning boss Mat Inness will depart the Club in coming weeks after 12 seasons at the Kennel.

The Head of Sport Science and Physical Performance has been with the Club since 2012, beginning as the VFL High Performance Manager and PhD student with Victoria University, before making his way up the ranks to manage the AFL team?s performance department.

A period of sustained success has followed since Inness took over the AFL program in August 2015, starting with a premiership in his first full season in charge. The Club has since made finals in six of the past nine seasons.

Inness has accepted a new opportunity at another AFL club that includes an expanded portfolio and career growth.

?For the past 12 seasons, including over eight in my current role, I?ve given my absolute all to the football club, creating a high-performance environment where players and staff look to get the very best out of themselves each day,? Inness said.

?I love so much about the Club, and I have created some very special memories and relationships with both players and staff that I will carry with me for the rest of my life.

?I?ve been with Bevo since the day he started at the Club, and I can?t speak highly enough of the support he, Granty, Ameet, and so many others have given me across my time at the Club.

?I know that none of us can be at the same place forever, as much as we may want to. I will be forever grateful for the support of the Western Bulldogs.?

Bulldogs? Executive Director of Football Chris Grant thanked Inness for his significant contribution to the Club.

?Mat has been a key and popular member of our football department for over a decade, and he leaves a fantastic legacy within our strength and conditioning department ? both professionally and personally,? Grant said.

?While we are disappointed to lose Mat, it is a credit to Mat and his work at the Bulldogs that he?s been able to gain a wonderful opportunity at another football club.

?We wish Mat, Jo, William and Jakob all the best for the future.?

12-09-2023, 05:19 PM
Daniel Cherny

West Coast has landed Western Bulldogs high performance chief Mathew Inness.

Innes has been a good performer from all reports / indications however has had a lot on his plate. I’m not adverse to a refresh here as we move into our first full pre-season st our new facilities.

12-09-2023, 05:22 PM
There is definiltey a lot of changes. It is going to be so important that we nail some great appointments for all of these growing vacancies. Hopefully the team have been planning this for some time and have some good people ready to roll.