View Full Version : Sam Darcy:- Welcome to the Western Bulldogs

24-11-2021, 08:45 PM
It’s official … pick number two. Matched

24-11-2021, 08:47 PM
Welcome to the Dogs Sam, hope you have a long and illustrious career with us.

24-11-2021, 08:49 PM
Did we pick swap 23?

24-11-2021, 08:50 PM
Welcome to the Dogs Sam. Hoping you have a great career with us at the Dogs. JUH and now Darcy exciting times. Haven't posted for a bit on woof but up and about with this news.

24-11-2021, 08:52 PM
Did we pick swap 23?

Yes, 23, 52 and 2022 Rd 3 out for 34, 42,47 and 2022 Rd 3 (nth) in.

24-11-2021, 08:52 PM
Go Sammy - wishing you a wonderful career with our mighty club. We'll be cheering you all the way like we did with your Dad and your Grandad.

24-11-2021, 08:55 PM
Welcome aboard Darce the third. Hopefully you have the same impact that your dad did.

24-11-2021, 09:53 PM
Welcome Sam and best of luck for a long career

24-11-2021, 09:57 PM
Welcome Sam and best of luck for a long career

Lets hope for a Fletcheresque type career

24-11-2021, 10:02 PM

I'm hoping for more than two premierships.

24-11-2021, 10:31 PM

I'm hoping for more than two premierships.

I'm just hoping he doesn't mean Fletcher Roberts.

25-11-2021, 01:41 AM
Congratulations and welcome Sam Darcy. 3 generations of Darcy's is pretty cool.

Oh and congrats on growing a couple centimetres since being drafted. Facebook already has him at 208cm

25-11-2021, 09:59 AM
Congratulations and welcome Sam Darcy. 3 generations of Darcy's is pretty cool.

Oh and congrats on growing a couple centimetres since being drafted. Facebook already has him at 208cm

The photo of him next to his dad, makes Luke look like a regular size human rather than a 6 ft 6 inch giant man. Sam towers over him.

25-11-2021, 10:01 AM
I'm just hoping he doesn't mean Fletcher Roberts.
Premiership Full Back Fletcher Roberts than you very much!
If Sam wins a premiership I'd be over the moon.

Rare to have a kid judge the ball in flight so well yet be so agile at ground level. 205cm is a very handy size for a KPP

25-11-2021, 10:02 AM
The photo of him next to his dad, makes Luke look like a regular size human rather than a 6 ft 6 inch giant man. Sam towers over him.
Current tallest players in the competition (pre-draft, list is from zerohanger):

PLAYER HEIGHTS
211cm (6' 11")
Sam Alabakis, Mason Cox

209cm (6' 10")
Mate Colina, Jarrod Witts

208cm (6' 10")
Max Gawn, Ned Reeves

206cm (6' 9")
Rory Lobb, Sam Naismith, Braydon Preuss, Samson Ryan, Zac Smith

205cm (6' 9")
Darcy Cameron, Tim English, Oscar McInerney (Sam Darcy goes here)

25-11-2021, 10:02 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FE9BTfrVgAkCEuD?format=jpg&name=large

25-11-2021, 10:53 AM
https://i.postimg.cc/MZDd9HTc/darcy2.jpg (https://postimg.cc/7b536xSD)

https://i.postimg.cc/VvDgvGT9/darcy1.jpg (https://postimg.cc/q66yZLpg)

25-11-2021, 11:55 AM
Welcome aboard Darce the third. Hopefully you have the same impact that your dad did.

Nickname sorted

25-11-2021, 11:58 AM
Does Sam get number 2?

25-11-2021, 12:03 PM
Does Sam get number 2?

He could start in number 40 like his old man.

25-11-2021, 12:17 PM
Good to see Sam changes up his hairstyle.

25-11-2021, 12:18 PM
Does Sam get number 2?
The stars aligned for him to grab it with Lewie moving on.

Maybe we'll get a super quick indigenous kid who would suit 40 (Harbrow mk 2)
No 10 is also now free

25-11-2021, 12:52 PM
He definitely looks like he has added weight across the year, I'm more confident we will see him play in the 1's in 2022 now.

25-11-2021, 02:13 PM
Has good pedigree from both parents, with Mum related to Shaw of Essendon

25-11-2021, 03:09 PM
Welcome Sam. Best wishes for a long and successful career with RWB.

Good to see Sam is looking a decent size/filling out his frame.

25-11-2021, 07:21 PM
Has good pedigree from both parents, with Mum related to Shaw of Essendon

Robert Shaw?

25-11-2021, 08:54 PM
Premiership Full Back Fletcher Roberts than you very much!

You're right I take it back.

Bullgod, Fletcher Roberts.

25-11-2021, 09:05 PM
Robert Shaw?

David Shaw

https://australianfootball.com/players/player/david%2Bshaw/9008

Premierships in 1962 and 1965 and also a Club President.

25-11-2021, 09:37 PM
delete please

25-11-2021, 09:38 PM
Welcome lad. When you lift the cup it will pretty high up!

26-11-2021, 12:41 AM
Maybe we'll get a super quick indigenous kid who would suit 40

Well played.

26-11-2021, 07:11 AM
The stars aligned for him to grab it with Lewie moving on.

Maybe we'll get a super quick indigenous kid who would suit 40 (Harbrow mk 2)
No 10 is also now free

So are you the guy in the bulldogs war room with the manbun? :D

26-11-2021, 09:44 AM
That's it. I'm never coming back again. It's the pinnacle of my posting history on Woof right here.

26-11-2021, 10:06 AM
Robert Shaw?

I believe so

26-11-2021, 10:50 AM
I believe so

No
David Shaw
Premierships in 1962 and 1965 plus Essendon President 1993 to 1996

26-11-2021, 10:57 AM
You're right I take it back.

Bullgod, Fletcher Roberts.

Still makes no sense.

Chris Grant - no premierships
Brad Johnson - no premierships
Bob Murphy - nothing
Scott West - nada

Fletcher Roberts - Premiership player
Life is weird.

26-11-2021, 11:55 AM
No
David Shaw
Premierships in 1962 and 1965 plus Essendon President 1993 to 1996

Pretty sure he is Sam's grandfather.

26-11-2021, 12:35 PM
Pretty sure he is Sam's grandfather.

Yep, that's what has been reported.

Not bad having both grandfathers play over 100 games of league footy.

26-11-2021, 12:58 PM
Very nice pedigree. Thoroughbred.

26-11-2021, 09:22 PM
That's it. I'm never coming back again. It's the pinnacle of my posting history on Woof right here.

https://youtu.be/8YaaZZN9VYs

28-11-2021, 10:07 PM
So are you the guy in the bulldogs war room with the manbun? :D

I think that is Dan Fisher.

29-11-2021, 01:08 AM
Still makes no sense.

Chris Grant - no premierships
Brad Johnson - no premierships
Bob Murphy - nothing
Scott West - nada

Fletcher Roberts - Premiership player
Life is weird.

Dunno. Champion team vs team of champions.

What it does say is how hard it is to win a flag. And hopefully the squad we have are gutted about the GF and don’t think it’ll just happen… before we know it Naughton will be 30… time waits for no man.

29-11-2021, 12:47 PM
So... anyone want to drive past Whitten today and see what group Darcy is training with? I'm hoping it's with the backs..

29-11-2021, 01:42 PM
WHY BULLDOGS FATHER-SON’S AFL INTRODUCTION WILL BE DIFFERENT TO UGLE-HAGAN’S

Could Western Bulldogs father-son Sam Darcy start his career in defence?

The key position talent is “conditioned to an AFL lifestyle” and is capable of playing his first 30 games in defence, according to David King.

Darcy is a natural forward and has grown an extra 2cm to 205cm, making him one of the tallest players in the AFL.

The Bulldogs matched a bid from GWS to secure the 18-year-old with pick No.2 in last week’s National Draft, meaning he will follow in the footsteps of father Luke and grandfather David in donning the red, white and blue.

Stay up to date with all the latest news from SEN. Sign up HERE.

SEN Breakfast co-host Sam Edmund asked King: “Looking at the way they handled Jamarra Ugle-Hagan and where Sam Darcy’s at with his physical development – would they play him Round 1?”

The North Melbourne champion replied: “I heard Jamarra talk on the news last night, saying he’s spent most of the pre-season with ‘Bont’ (Marcus Bontempelli), travelling and living that lifestyle and how good it’s been for him and how much it’s made him realise that he mentally and physically wasn't ready.

“Sam Darcy won't be that. He's conditioned to an AFL lifestyle, given his father and the head start that’s going to bring.

“I can see him playing centre half-back, not as a forward. I can see him learning at centre half-back for the first 20 to 30 games.”

Darcy averaged 16 disposals, 6.3 marks and six hit-outs in three NAB League games for the Oakleigh Chargers this year.

He kicked six goals for Vic Metro in an under-19 trial game against Vic Country in June.

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2021/11/28/why-bulldogs-father-sons-afl-introduction-will-be-different-to-ugle-hagans/

19-05-2022, 02:11 PM
https://youtu.be/rEyEoqx4IO0

19-05-2022, 02:16 PM
I hope we take our time with Sam Darcy and not put pressure on him to play games too early. Really develop him to be that CHB for 300 games.

Naughton is an exceptional athlete. Amazing circumstance, we managed to pick him up ( as a defender) and they discovered his marking ability to swing him forward.

JUH should not worry about getting AFL game time, he needs to work on the basics and improve his work rate , especially second efforts. Give him time. I don't want him to become another high draft picked that is burnt out , high expectation , put under spot light and then nit picked at slightest hic cup , dropped mark, etc... etc...

19-05-2022, 02:25 PM
I hope we take our time with Sam Darcy and not put pressure on him to play games too early. Really develop him to be that CHB for 300 games.

Naughton is an exceptional athlete. Amazing circumstance, we managed to pick him up ( as a defender) and they discovered his marking ability to swing him forward.

JUH should not worry about getting AFL game time, he needs to work on the basics and improve his work rate , especially second efforts. Give him time. I don't want him to become another high draft picked that is burnt out , high expectation , put under spot light and then nit picked at slightest hic cup , dropped mark, etc... etc...

Not sure he will be a defender. 207 cm sounds like a ruck forward.

19-05-2022, 05:05 PM
Not sure he will be a defender. 207 cm sounds like a ruck forward.

Griffin Logue is too short, Darcy is too tall.

I didn't know there was such a goldilocks zone for tall defenders.

19-05-2022, 06:46 PM

BAD's already said he's going to be a ruck so that's the end of it. :p

19-05-2022, 06:58 PM

I can't think of many 6 ft 10 defenders?

20-05-2022, 06:40 AM
I can't think of many 6 ft 10 defenders?

I know where you're coming from but if 193cm is the height of the past for key defenders why don't we develop the key defender of the future at 207cm? He'll be midsized by the end of his career at this rate.

20-05-2022, 09:56 AM
I know where you're coming from but if 193cm is the height of the past for key defenders why don't we develop the key defender of the future at 207cm? He'll be midsized by the end of his career at this rate.

I agree especially when you look at all the top forwards in the AFL and how tall they are.

22-05-2022, 02:31 AM

We could use him against Peter Wright and stop him kicking half a dozen each time he plays against us.

22-05-2022, 11:34 AM
Based on a bit of VFL I saw yesterday, he’s a very smooth mover and great below his knees for such a big man. He’s going to take some time but you can already see how his physical capabilities are going to give him a huge advantage at AFL level. Not many are going to be able to move like he does at his size.

22-05-2022, 12:01 PM
How does Sam Darcy compare to say someone like Ayce Cordy so early on? Similar comments I would’ve thought. Hopefully it is a completely different outcome.

22-05-2022, 12:02 PM
How does Sam Darcy compare to say someone like Ayce Cordy so early on? Similar comments I would’ve thought. Hopefully it is a completely different outcome.

Why azabob... Why!

22-05-2022, 12:04 PM

Darcy has “IT” whatever “IT” is, Ayce did not.

22-05-2022, 01:38 PM
Why azabob... Why!

Good question! One I don’t have an answer to!

22-05-2022, 02:44 PM
Yeah the half I saw yesterday has me pretty impressed. Took two or three big pack marks and uses the ball really well for a huge guy.

28-06-2022, 09:12 AM
SAM DARCY COMING WITH A BULLET FOR SENIOR SELECTION:

"A good judge I trust was out there ... and he said 'wow' ... there's real momentum now."

@StevoMedia
on
@westernbulldogs

No.2 draft pick making surge for senior selection. Big day out in ruck in VFL v Box Hill.

28-06-2022, 09:35 AM

Surely he's more Tim Walsh than Ayce Cordy?

28-06-2022, 11:23 AM

Oh no you di-ent.

28-06-2022, 11:23 AM
SAM DARCY COMING WITH A BULLET FOR SENIOR SELECTION:

"A good judge I trust was out there ... and he said 'wow' ... there's real momentum now."

@StevoMedia
on
@westernbulldogs

No.2 draft pick making surge for senior selection. Big day out in ruck in VFL v Box Hill.

Stevo been on here again xD

28-06-2022, 12:33 PM
Cordy was average when I played against him v U16s.

Honestly amazed he was drafted let alone in the first round.

28-06-2022, 03:10 PM

Darcies have more talent than the Cordies and more generations have been Bulldogs no duds yet.
Neil was best Cordy and was a good half back.

28-06-2022, 03:17 PM

Well, hopefully he is more Luke Darcy than either Walsh or Cordy!

02-08-2022, 10:47 PM
He's 209.5cm now

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/the-young-pup-who-won-t-stop-growing-the-rise-of-bulldogs-big-man-sam-darcy-20220801-p5b68b.html

02-08-2022, 11:59 PM
He's 209.5cm now

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/the-young-pup-who-won-t-stop-growing-the-rise-of-bulldogs-big-man-sam-darcy-20220801-p5b68b.html

Unbelievable that he has grown 5.5cm since being recruited ans is still going through growth pains.
Macrae grew several cm's too after we recruited him, something in the Footscray water.

03-08-2022, 12:05 AM
I think it puts the quality of his performance in a greater light as well. Feels like he'd be a bit more unco but he's looked good whenever I've seen him

03-08-2022, 12:06 AM
He's 209.5cm now

Perfect Backman to take on the big forwards :D

03-08-2022, 08:35 AM
Perfect Backman to take on the big forwards :D

theres a bit of dustin fletcher about him me thinks.

04-08-2022, 01:51 PM
Just announced by Bevo that Sam will be making his debut this weekend!
Great news!

04-08-2022, 01:56 PM
Fantastic news.

04-08-2022, 02:00 PM
Great News .
Plays on Lobb ?

04-08-2022, 02:06 PM
Was mightily impressed when I saw him in the flesh at Sandringham. Looked incredibly mature, read the ball well and had good hands. And he’s absolutely *!*!*!*!ing gigantic.
Glad the MC have been brave enough to bring him in despite the high stakes. Now is he in for Bruce or Khamis?

04-08-2022, 02:17 PM
I think we go taller down back. Darcy in for Hannan role wise and maybe takes a bit of the ruck to make life a bit easier for Juice.

04-08-2022, 02:22 PM
Woo hoo. Had a suspicion Sam would debut this week. Makes Sat arvo even more exciting.

04-08-2022, 02:30 PM
Bevo delivering the news.

https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/1188860/darcy-to-debut?videoId=1188860&modal=true&type=video&publishFrom=1659581100001

04-08-2022, 02:44 PM
Love it.

During Retro Round too!

04-08-2022, 02:50 PM
Bevo delivering the news.

https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/video/1188860/darcy-to-debut?videoId=1188860&modal=true&type=video&publishFrom=1659581100001

Great scenes!

Hopefully the guys get a bit of a lift with his inclusion. Go well Sam.

Surely he takes Bruce's role in the side? Either that or Khamis switches forward.

04-08-2022, 03:02 PM
Great scenes!

Hopefully the guys get a bit of a lift with his inclusion. Go well Sam.

Surely he takes Bruce's role in the side? Either that or Khamis switches forward.

Interesting that in Bevo's presser today he all but confirmed Bruce would be playing.

He also said tall defenders weren't an area of concern last week, and hinted that Keath will continue in the twos.

04-08-2022, 03:10 PM
Love this. Go Sam!

04-08-2022, 03:35 PM
Looks like he will be on Lobb. Bevo said at this time we don't need any tall forwards. Sticking with Brucey.

04-08-2022, 03:42 PM
Freo only have two tall forwards - Lobb, and Taberner who has dropped his output remarkably this year.
They may try to push Logue (or heaven forbid, Cox) forward which only serves to help our defence.

04-08-2022, 03:44 PM
It would be a bit silly for Darcy to be playing back in the VFL and then debut forward. Sure he will probably end up a ruck/forward but this gives him some continuity in his role to start with. Freo's forward line has been impotent of late so hopefully it's not too challenging a task for young Sam.

04-08-2022, 03:44 PM
Freo only have two tall forwards - Lobb, and Taberner who has dropped his output remarkably this year.
They may try to push Logue (or heaven forbid, Cox) forward which only serves to help our defence.

Logue has been playing forward.

04-08-2022, 03:45 PM
Sam calling Dad and Mum. How good. https://twitter.com/westernbulldogs/status/1555048018042560512?s=20&t=yOrGG4PUPY3clraDoZ-51w

04-08-2022, 03:45 PM

Logue has been playing more forward than back recently. There has been some talk of Taberner being dropped though.

04-08-2022, 04:18 PM
Interesting that in Bevo's presser today he all but confirmed Bruce would be playing.

He also said tall defenders weren't an area of concern last week, and hinted that Keath will continue in the twos.

Interesting that in the very same presser Bevo all but confirmed Sam wouldn't be playing!

04-08-2022, 04:45 PM
Interesting that in the very same presser Bevo all but confirmed Sam wouldn't be playing!

I didn't hear it that way. He said he will be assessed after today's training

04-08-2022, 06:20 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FZSdGmoVEAE5txu?format=jpg&name=large

04-08-2022, 09:27 PM
*!*!*!*! he looks like his dad.

05-08-2022, 02:32 AM
Good luck Sam! Hope you have a great debut for us and help in getting us a vital win.

05-08-2022, 01:44 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FZXUKrHaUAAkOfG?format=jpg&name=large

05-08-2022, 02:24 PM
Jumper presentation and young Sam casually ducking under the roof....

https://youtu.be/2sKf0_uXqIo

05-08-2022, 03:02 PM
Fantastic jumper presentation - glorious to see the sons of guns get their opportunities, but also so good to hear what it means to them and their families. Luke spoke very eloquently.

05-08-2022, 03:30 PM
Yep, Luke was great.

Easy to forget that Luke is a really big part of our fabric given his media persona.

Good luck Sam!

05-08-2022, 05:15 PM
Fantastic jumper presentation - glorious to see the sons of guns get their opportunities, but also so good to hear what it means to them and their families. Luke spoke very eloquently.

Unlike Sam with his first few words.

Let the footy do the talking and everyone will be ecstatic!

05-08-2022, 05:45 PM
Hopefully a couple of more Darcy's to come too looking at the photo.

05-08-2022, 06:26 PM
Unlike Sam with his first few words.

Let the footy do the talking and everyone will be ecstatic!

What did he say? I couldn't make it out. I know there was a swear word in there :p

05-08-2022, 06:46 PM
Thanks for posting these videos. What a well spoken young man. Possibly have another future leader in the wings. And yes, geez he looks like Luke!

Anyone notice Sam bent lower on his way to front of group, presumably to avoid hitting a beam?

I’m super excited to see Sam in action tomorrow.

05-08-2022, 08:14 PM
3 to be exact!

Hopefully a couple of more Darcy's to come too looking at the photo.

05-08-2022, 09:38 PM
3 to be exact!

Sister talented as well with a World rowing Champs win, not sure if she has interest in footy

05-08-2022, 09:49 PM
Do we think Darcy will grow those extra couple of CMs to become the tallest bulldog ever?

05-08-2022, 10:09 PM
Do we think Darcy will grow those extra couple of CMs to become the tallest bulldog ever?

I hope not. He’s already grown more than I would have thought is ideal, don’t want it to negatively affect his agility.

06-08-2022, 02:23 AM
I hope not. He’s already grown more than I would have thought is ideal, don’t want it to negatively affect his agility.
I feel like a parent worried about a child taking on men.
It is his knees I fear for. Memory of his dad's still haunt me plus Sam if taller yet athletic. Don't stumble giraffe!
Yet he is balanced and is border elite mark already.

06-08-2022, 11:03 AM
With Luke’s channel 7 commitments he likely won’t be able to see Sam debut live.

06-08-2022, 09:00 PM
I thought Sam was excellent in his first game.

A few 'copters early would have had his confidence edging south, but he still went for the high ball and backed his marking ability. He could have been a bit more defencive one or two times throughout the day, but overall an excellent marking game and he became a little more sure with ball in hand.

Well done young fella. A lot of pressure today, but you showed you can handle it.

06-08-2022, 09:23 PM
In the darkness, there was Sam.

06-08-2022, 09:24 PM
I thought Sam was excellent in his first game.

A few 'copters early would have had his confidence edging south, but he still went for the high ball and backed his marking ability. He could have been a bit more defencive one or two times throughout the day, but overall an excellent marking game and he became a little more sure with ball in hand.

Well done young fella. A lot of pressure today, but you showed you can handle it.

Agree was as good as any of our talls in the air.

Not sure he's a defender by crikey he has a big future.

06-08-2022, 09:36 PM
Had the most marks with 8

06-08-2022, 10:16 PM
Great game first up. Look forward to him playing next week. I’d hate to be footing the food bill at the Darcy house as he needs to eat and bulk up over the pre season.

Would loved to have given him 15 minutes up forward today. Who knows he bay have clunked a few

06-08-2022, 10:18 PM
Great game first up. Look forward to him playing next week. I’d hate to be footing the food bill at the Darcy house as he needs to eat and bulk up over the pre season.

Would loved to have given him 15 minutes up forward today. Who knows he bay have clunked a few
I thought that move could have been made too. Him taking a grab and kicking a goal could have electrified a group that looked stale and out of ideas.

06-08-2022, 10:33 PM
Just as a trivia question.......... who IS the tallest bulldog ever?

06-08-2022, 10:39 PM
Just as a trivia question.......... who IS the tallest bulldog ever?

At a guess Peter Street? Or is that too easy?

06-08-2022, 10:47 PM
At a guess Peter Street? Or is that too easy?

How big was Grgic?

Edit 203.
Street 211.

06-08-2022, 10:48 PM
How big was Grgic?

From memory 203cm

06-08-2022, 10:49 PM
From memory 203cm

That's some memory! Spot on.

06-08-2022, 10:51 PM
We had plenty of ideas. Kick over the heads of everyone going forward, kick along the ground to mix things up, and burn each other and take the kick yourself just for laughs.

How dare you say we lacked ideas!

We implemented them to perfection.

06-08-2022, 10:57 PM
We implemented them to perfection.

We were innovators this evening. Misunderstood.

06-08-2022, 11:04 PM
That's some memory! Spot on.

I used to go to the footy with a couple mates and we would go through all the players heights as a test.

He was a very good player considering how we got him.

06-08-2022, 11:06 PM
I used to go to the footy with a couple mates and we would go through all the players heights as a test.

I used to know every player's height in the 90's. League wide.

But it had nothing to do with anything that could be considered feelings of inadequacy, I swear!

06-08-2022, 11:33 PM

Me too except early 2000s. I was a very cool kid.

06-08-2022, 11:34 PM
Now I know everyone is taller than me and I'd look like the fat kid trying his guts out but not keeping up........and I'm 183!

07-08-2022, 12:01 AM
Good debut from Sam! Marked the ball very well. Big cheer from the crowd when he marked back there in the 1st quarter.

07-08-2022, 02:30 AM
Didn't see the silky skills the VFL watchers rave about but his high marking translated to AFL level well. Should keep his spot now

07-08-2022, 02:37 AM
Didn't see the silky skills the VFL watchers rave about but his high marking translated to AFL level well. Should keep his spot now

I reckon after his first two kicks that were mongrels/ helicopters he maintained the faith and started kicking more fluidly.

He was a bit scratchy with the ball in dispute but so were the rest of us today and it would have been intimidating for him.

07-08-2022, 02:52 AM
There was a really nice kick after a mark he took on the wing. That was more like what we've seen at VFL level

07-08-2022, 03:52 AM
Pushed in the back, no free. Welcome to AFL footy Sam.

07-08-2022, 11:56 AM
Is Sam the answer to the tall defender that I have been raving about, ie someone over 200cm :)

07-08-2022, 03:53 PM
Is Sam the answer to the tall defender that I have been raving about, ie someone over 200cm :)

Anyone but Lewis Young though?

Players height isn't the real reason why we struggle down back.

07-08-2022, 03:58 PM

He could definitely be the answer to the intercept defender we don’t have.

07-08-2022, 04:01 PM
Anyone but Lewis Young though?

Players height isn't the real reason why we struggle down back.

Cordy says help, Lobb says thank you

07-08-2022, 10:01 PM
A lot to like about Darcy's first game. intercept marking was good, as as his positioning.

Got out bodied a little and was out positioned as well, but he will learn. Should stay in for the rest of the year.

07-08-2022, 10:05 PM
Reminded me a bit of ol Peter Foster marking across the backline

08-08-2022, 11:28 AM

But it had nothing to do with anything that could be considered feelings of inadequacy, I swear!

Me too except early 2000s. I was a very cool kid.

08-08-2022, 11:34 AM

You know you had to do something during the half time break because we couldn't surf the net on the iPhones like the cool kids do now :)

08-08-2022, 01:34 PM
Good debut from Sam! Marked the ball very well. Big cheer from the crowd when he marked back there in the 1st quarter.

He did very well. In 2017 Lewis Young had an impressive 9 mark debut for us and a few of them were intercepts.

Darcy looks composed and while it's taken a long while to work through his injury challenges we got him into form at Footscray and gave him the best chance to have a positive debut. Bright future.

08-08-2022, 02:36 PM
While they're all top shelf talent (which is exactly what you want) you'd have to say that all of JUH, English, Darcy and Naughton have been well managed through their careers to date. We used to say we couldn't develop KPPs but none of these guys were traded in, and they've all followed different paths. Plus... there's a long way to go before they're at the their peaks.

08-08-2022, 03:17 PM
He did very well. In 2017 Lewis Young had an impressive 9 mark debut for us and a few of them were intercepts.

Darcy looks composed and while it's taken a long while to work through his injury challenges we got him into form at Footscray and gave him the best chance to have a positive debut. Bright future.

Andres Everitt also had a few plum weeks as the 3rd intercept defender. Boy did he look good.

08-08-2022, 03:41 PM
Deleted due to joke flopped.

08-08-2022, 04:52 PM
Darcy is already ahead of those two blokes.

No he's not.... Lewis Young was way more impressive in his first outing for us.

I must be on my own, but I thought Sam was a little underwhelming in his first game which was partly due to obvious nerves... obviously took some nice marks which is encouraging but his positioning and lack of strength really showed out.

08-08-2022, 05:04 PM

I must be on my own, but I thought Sam was a little underwhelming in his first game which was partly due to obvious nerves... obviously took some nice marks which is encouraging but his positioning and lack of strength really showed out.

I thought he was impressive but had some very clear vulnerabilities in his game. His strength and conditioning will come with time, but he's not close to the level required at the moment. His kicking needs work - would like to see him kick off a few steps, his shanks are a bit predictable because he doesn't balance himself, taking only one step. Generally I think the default for players of Sam's size should be to look for a handball first, 9 kicks and 1 handball is not the kind of ratio I'd expect or want to see for a 200cm+ player.

08-08-2022, 05:09 PM

Tongue in cheek comment.

It was day one for a guy who is yet to turn 19. I can't remember Lewis Young's first game, but watched him yesterday against Brisbane and wasn't that impressed. Especially when he got out marked towards the end of the last quarter, I think against McStay - it was a very weak effort.

Darcy, of course has a long way to go, but I like the way he is cool and calm and doesn't seem to panic.

08-08-2022, 05:22 PM
Tongue in cheek comment.

It was day one for a guy who is yet to turn 19. I can't remember Lewis Young's first game, but watched him yesterday against Brisbane and wasn't that impressed. Especially when he got out marked towards the end of the last quarter, I think against McStay - it was a very weak effort.

Darcy, of course has a long way to go, but I like the way he is cool and calm and doesn't seem to panic.

Lewis Young's first game was against Carlton at the MCG. It was a wet game. By memory he wore a long sleeve jumper and took a very nice pack mark. (Round 17, 2017).

08-08-2022, 05:23 PM
Lewis Young on Debut

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DE16FUgUwAMFJMu.jpg

08-08-2022, 05:26 PM
Lewis Young's first game was against Carlton at the MCG. It was a wet game. By memory he wore a long sleeve jumper and took a very nice pack mark. (Round 17, 2017).

21 disposals, 9 marks and most of those were intercepts from memory. Might still be his career best game, though he's played some good ones for the Blues this year.

08-08-2022, 05:30 PM
Tongue in cheek comment.

Lewis debuted at age 19 and had 21 disposals and nine marks, with I think all but one being intercepts.

He was excellent in his first game.

08-08-2022, 05:31 PM
Lewis debuted at age 19 and had 21 disposals and nine marks, with I think all but one being intercepts.

He was excellent in his first game.

Doesn't seemed to have progressed much from that day.

08-08-2022, 05:34 PM
Tongue in cheek comment.

Why do you always say a comment is tongue in cheek or a joke when questioned?

Anyway, as others have mentioned Lewis's debut was very good... why we weren't able to develop his game from that point on is a source of great frustration to me.

08-08-2022, 05:42 PM
Why do you always say a comment is tongue in cheek or a joke when questioned?

Do I? I better use emojis more :rolleyes:

08-08-2022, 05:46 PM
Anyway, as others have mentioned Lewis's debut was very good... why we weren't able to develop his game from that point on is a source of great frustration to me.

It is a great question. Is it the player's innate skill and work ethic or is it our developmental ability? I don't think Lewis ever got a sustained run at it with us. He played 24 games in five seasons. However the biggest factor that probably held him back the most was his intensity at the contest and overall aggression. He was just too weak in too many contests. Bevo as has been mentioned many times on these boards has a low tolerance for players who are weak at the contest (see Lippa).

So is ones ability to attack the contest with vigor a learned trait or something that comes innate. I think it is the latter. It is hard or nigh on impossible to teach. You either have it or you don't. Lewis Young doesn't have it.

08-08-2022, 05:48 PM
Darcy is already ahead of those two blokes.

I read over the comments on here after the Young debut and you were singing his praises.
Young had 21 disposals and 9 marks and from memory one terrific park mark. Darcy had 10 and 8 which was more than OK.

Darcy looked composed and a good prospect but you can't be comparing debut games between he and Young which is what I referred to.

08-08-2022, 05:50 PM
It is a great question. Is it the player's innate skill and work ethic or is our developmental ability? I don't think Lewis ever got a sustained run at it with us. He played 24 games in five seasons. However the biggest factor that probably held him back the most was his intensity at the contest and overall aggression. He was just too weak in too many contests. Bevo as has been mentioned many times on these boards has a low tolerance for players who are weak at the contest (see Lippa).

So is ones ability to attack the contest with vigor a learned trait or something that comes innate. I think it is the latter. It is hard or nigh on impossible to teach. You either have it or you don't. Lewis Young doesn't have it.

Youngy hasn't put on the muscle that I thought he would. Here's hoping Darc does.

08-08-2022, 05:51 PM
I read over the comments on here after the Young debut and you were singing his praises.
Young had 21 disposals and 9 marks and from memory one terrific park mark. Darcy had 10 and 8 which was more than OK.

Darcy looked composed and a good prospect but you can't be comparing debut games between he and Young which is what I referred to.

Of course I was singing his praises and I was hoping he would make it, but it just didn't work out.

08-08-2022, 05:54 PM
Youngy hasn't put on the muscle that I thought he would. Here's hoping Darc does.

It is not just muscle. It is a mindset. It is how you see the game. It is how you attack the contest and the ball. Naughton in his first year was skinny yet through his body into contests with reckless abandonment.

08-08-2022, 06:03 PM
It is not just muscle. It is a mindset. It is how you see the game. It is how you attack the contest and the ball. Naughton in his first year was skinny yet through his body into contests with reckless abandonment.

McStay out muscled Young at the Gabba when it counted. Mindset is important but if you ain't got the muscle that's a problem.

08-08-2022, 06:04 PM
Of course I was singing his praises and I was hoping he would make it, but it just didn't work out.

So you weren't comparing debut games between both of the boys like I was when you quoted me?

08-08-2022, 06:06 PM
Lewis Young on Debut

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DE16FUgUwAMFJMu.jpg

Best part of the photo is two fold.

1. EW will be happy as Young used old mate Suckers as a launch pad
2. EW is reminded that Suckers donned the RWB jumper

08-08-2022, 06:12 PM
So you weren't comparing debut games between both of the boys like I was when you quoted me?

it was a joke. Ok I will delete.

08-08-2022, 06:13 PM
I thought he was impressive but had some very clear vulnerabilities in his game. His strength and conditioning will come with time, but he's not close to the level required at the moment. His kicking needs work - would like to see him kick off a few steps, his shanks are a bit predictable because he doesn't balance himself, taking only one step. Generally I think the default for players of Sam's size should be to look for a handball first, 9 kicks and 1 handball is not the kind of ratio I'd expect or want to see for a 200cm+ player.

I think it is Darcy's modus operandi. Was quite similar in the VFL game last week but was a bit more composed and able to pull them off.

I suspect if he does play as a defender long term we'll be pretty happy with his willingness to contribute to the rebound when the opportunity arises rather than hold up and slow down play to look for a safe option every time.

08-08-2022, 09:28 PM
I think it is Darcy's modus operandi. Was quite similar in the VFL game last week but was a bit more composed and able to pull them off.

I suspect if he does play as a defender long term we'll be pretty happy with his willingness to contribute to the rebound when the opportunity arises rather than hold up and slow down play to look for a safe option every time.

Agree
Having watched a few of the televised VFL, Darcy looks to be an excellent use off both sides by foot.

08-08-2022, 10:45 PM
Best part of the photo is two fold.

1. EW will be happy as Young used old mate Suckers as a launch pad
2. EW is reminded that Suckers donned the RWB jumper

Actually the best bit is Lewy's left boot doing what I wish I could've.

08-08-2022, 10:49 PM
Actually the best bit is Lewy's left boot doing what I wish I could've.

Given Matt a shoulder massage?

08-08-2022, 11:39 PM
Given Matt a shoulder massage?

Do you know your left from right?

08-08-2022, 11:46 PM

I know Matt did. Left is the foot you kick on and Right is the foot you must never kick on.

08-08-2022, 11:46 PM

I’ll let George explain it.

https://youtu.be/PVRD7A7PiG4

11-08-2022, 01:48 PM
Article on him on the AFL site

https://www.afl.com.au/news/817731/debut-to-remember-for-a-pup-who-s-a-big-dog-now

More importantly though is that apparently Rocket was his coach at Scotch College (Jamarra too but only for the year there was no footy). When asked about Darcy on the Danny Boyd podcast he didn't want to compare him to any specific AFL players because he was 'too unique' but when asked to make a comparison with Danniher said he would be 'a better player' than Danniher.

Also thinks he'll be a forward eventually

18-08-2022, 09:57 AM
Sam Darcy was interviewed on RSN this morning.

https://player.whooshkaa.com/episode?id=1033424

18-08-2022, 08:50 PM
I know Matt did. Left is the foot you kick on and Right is the foot you must never kick on.

Suckling only had a right foot to stop him toppling over.

19-08-2022, 12:01 AM
Sam is such a good mark this supersedes some of his need to defend man on man. He will not be outmarked if in position.
Getting into marking position is the challenge.

21-08-2022, 08:14 PM
Haha, will play a signifcent part in our finals champagne campaign

21-08-2022, 08:26 PM
I got way more exited thinking about Sam Darcy whilst he was dominating at times today than a fella probably should if I'm honest.

21-08-2022, 09:00 PM
Actually, wait…

Did we not really mention that Darcy kicked a goal around the corner on his opposite foot….

In those conditions….

22-08-2022, 12:29 AM
King Darcy - big future ahead.

22-08-2022, 09:52 AM
Actually, wait…

Did we not really mention that Darcy kicked a goal around the corner on his opposite foot….

In those conditions….

Yeah, like a pro

22-08-2022, 11:29 AM
Great to see him kick a couple for us up forward. Has looked very good since he debuted. His marking is great.

22-08-2022, 11:05 PM
Very exciting to see Darcy up toward we just need him to add 20kg and he could’ve the next Tommy hawk

What a problem for the match committee Naughton, Darcy, JUH, Lobb, Bruce and Buku. We gonna need a bigger membership team

22-08-2022, 11:35 PM
Article on him on the AFL site

https://www.afl.com.au/news/817731/debut-to-remember-for-a-pup-who-s-a-big-dog-now

More importantly though is that apparently Rocket was his coach at Scotch College (Jamarra too but only for the year there was no footy). When asked about Darcy on the Danny Boyd podcast he didn't want to compare him to any specific AFL players because he was 'too unique' but when asked to make a comparison with Danniher said he would be 'a better player' than Danniher.

Also thinks he'll be a forward eventually

Legit already is a better player than Daniher.

23-08-2022, 01:02 AM
You can't drop him after the performance on the weekend, but I have a feeling he will be a deer in the headlights with the added pressure and bright lights in a fortnight's time.

But, that's not to detract from the excitement of him actually getting the opportunity and what he has shown to date. This lad can and will do anything, he's just got IT.

it will be amazing to see he and Marra play low/ high/ high/ low and rip opposition teams to shreds, while Naughton just hovers over everyone at will.

Never in my time could I imagine us being so well endowed with such quality talls. JUH, Naughton and Darcy are going to put fear into teams for ten years.

23-08-2022, 09:48 AM
You can't drop him after the performance on the weekend, but I have a feeling he will be a deer in the headlights with the added pressure and bright lights in a fortnight's time.

But, that's not to detract from the excitement of him actually getting the opportunity and what he has shown to date. This lad can and will do anything, he's just got IT.

it will be amazing to see he and Marra play low/ high/ high/ low and rip opposition teams to shreds, while Naughton just hovers over everyone at will.

Never in my time could I imagine us being so well endowed with such quality talls. JUH, Naughton and Darcy are going to put fear into teams for ten years.

If he ckunks one or two, and let's face it he has history, he's already in front of a few of our talls. Hoping we can carry him through for a game or two and give him some exposure at the coal face.

23-08-2022, 11:17 AM

I reckon Sam will be ok. Only young but has that determined look about him, a bit like young Westie. Perhaps less likely to be overawed and guessing any nerves will settle down early on in game. Especially if he clunks a few!

23-08-2022, 12:12 PM
Dreamers pick kids.

23-08-2022, 12:23 PM
Dreamers pick kids.

2016 we dreamed all year.

Time we started dreaming again.

23-08-2022, 12:28 PM
Dreamers pick kids.

Or good cubs pick young talent when they know it is ready.

23-08-2022, 12:33 PM
Or good cubs pick young talent when they know it is ready.

I actually think he should play.

But we should not be counting on ANY kind of contribution.

What a player does vs an out of contention Hawthorn who are already thinking about Mad Monday is in no way related to what they are able to do in a final vs Freo in Perth. If he plays forward he is not going to be competing against the likes of Siciliy, Grainger-Barrass and Scrimshaw who are pure intercept players. Pearce, Cox, Logue, Ryan and even Young are hardened footballers now who have been through some stuff in 2022 - away wins vs Geelong and Melbourne says so.

23-08-2022, 12:37 PM

What a player does vs an out of contention Hawthorn who are already thinking about Mad Monday is in no way related to what they are able to do in a final vs Freo in Perth. If he plays forward he is not going to be competing against the likes of Siciliy, Grainger-Barrass and Scrimshaw who are pure intercept players. Pearce, Cox, Logue, Ryan and even Young are hardened footballers now who have been through some stuff in 2022 - away wins vs Geelong and Melbourne says so.

I’m fully prepared to give him this latitude anyway, but if we can’t make anything of his contribution against the Hawks because they put the cue in the rack then what can we make of Bruce’s efforts?

23-08-2022, 12:42 PM
I’m fully prepared to give him this latitude anyway, but if we can’t make anything of his contribution against the Hawks because they put the cue in the rack then what can we make of Bruce’s efforts?

LOL. Shouldn't be playing.

Just isn't ready. Anyone who is watching knows this.

Coaches have trust in individuals though and Josh has obviously earned that trust from Bevo for whatever reason...

23-08-2022, 01:02 PM

Agree he'll find it tough, but we want to keep Cox and Ryan accountable in particular. My feeling is that Darcy and Naughton together will provide the kind of contest to keep Pearce and Cox from dominating aerially. The big IF then centres around whether Jamarra can get dangerous, to engage their interceptors.

With Bruce I just don't see it, Hawthorn were happy to play Scrimshaw and Day on him, and no damage done. The cat's out of the bag on his form, and Freo won't hesitate to treat him as a witches hat.

23-08-2022, 09:26 PM
Agree he'll find it tough, but we want to keep Cox and Ryan accountable in particular. My feeling is that Darcy and Naughton together will provide the kind of contest to keep Pearce and Cox from dominating aerially. The big IF then centres around whether Jamarra can get dangerous, to engage their interceptors.

With Bruce I just don't see it, Hawthorn were happy to play Scrimshaw and Day on him, and no damage done. The cat's out of the bag on his form, and Freo won't hesitate to treat him as a witches hat.

Yep - the first few weeks Bruce played, the opposition were still paying respect to him. He was still woeful, obviously, but it did help Marra.

The last 3 weeks or so, teams haven't worried about Bruce and coincidentally Marra has been quieter.

There's just no way they can play Bruce at this point.

24-08-2022, 11:01 AM
Yep - the first few weeks Bruce played, the opposition were still paying respect to him. He was still woeful, obviously, but it did help Marra.

The last 3 weeks or so, teams haven't worried about Bruce and coincidentally Marra has been quieter.

There's just no way they can play Bruce at this point.

I agree. It would be the second final series Bruce would miss in a row. Wonder if that would come into it? It definitely shouldn't.

24-08-2022, 11:54 PM
LOL. Shouldn't be playing.

Just isn't ready. Anyone who is watching knows this.

Coaches have trust in individuals though and Josh has obviously earned that trust from Bevo for whatever reason...

I don't see how we can realistically take Bruce into a final. I get we have been playing cut throat games for the last 5 or 6 weeks, but next week really is cut throat and Bruce though getting better, is a long, long, long way off. I'd play Schache at FF and ruck and deal with the outcome.

31-03-2024, 09:24 AM
Burst blood vessels, hole in the lung: Dog's challenging start to career

Western Bulldogs youngster Sam Darcy has had to overcome a series of complex, 'random' injuries in his early days

https://resources.afl.com.au/photo-resources/2024/03/24/f5835fbf-2a2e-4ef3-bc45-d22a8eb9308e/WLNX8GwH.jpg?width=1064&height=600

SAM DARCY thought it was just a corked quad when he came off the SCG last July. It ended up being much worse.

Burst blood vessels forced him to remain in Sydney when the team headed home. It ultimately cost him another two months, just when he was back in the team. Yet another unusual injury that required specialist intervention.
The 2021 pick No.2 has endured a brutal welcome to the AFL. While those drafted around him ? Nick Daicos (51 games) and Jason Horne-Francis (42 games) ? have played plenty of football early, including big finals, Darcy has spent more time in hospitals and in the rehab group than on the park. Richmond key defender Josh Gibcus is in the same boat.

Darcy arrived at the Whitten Oval with a stress fracture in his foot, which wiped out most of his debut season. Then he missed a chunk of football last year when a hole was discovered in his lung. A fractured jaw in the VFL and the incident at the SCG limited Darcy to just seven AFL appearances until his return against Gold Coast last Sunday in Ballarat.

"It has definitely had its challenges. You always try and set yourself lofty goals for the season coming ahead. It can be tough at times when you get setbacks, especially ones that are so random and obnoxious and you don't see coming," Darcy told AFL.com.au this week after kicking two goals from 15 disposals at Mars Stadium.

"I think I've handled it pretty well ? as tough as it can be at times ? I've tried to stay positive and grow in different areas off-field. I think it's a mindset that will hold me in good stead in the long run. You also learn good habits going through those injuries.

https://resources.afl.com.au/photo-resources/2023/07/17/c2fc8ed4-9967-4b6d-b031-e09527cb5e09/DNz9nXPZ.JPG?width=1064&height=600

"It was tough not being out on the track but you do build up a lot of resilience through lots of different injuries. I've been able to practice different off-field stuff like mindfulness, yoga and breathwork, which you might not have time to explore otherwise. I can take them into my career going forward."

While the Whitten Oval was being redeveloped, both literally and figuratively over the off-season, Darcy was coming and going every other day. No player was spotted at the club more between the club's final game in August and the start of the pre-season in November.
Darcy was one of the standouts across the pre-season and was stiff not to be picked against Melbourne in round one. He had been in a battle with Rory Lobb all summer for the spot behind Tim English in the ruck and alongside Aaron Naughton and Jamarra Ugle-Hagan inside 50. He didn't whinge. Instead, he went back to the VFL and kicked five goals for Footscray in a practice match. It was only going to be a matter of time before he got the spot.

"I was obviously disappointed initially, but there is only one thing you can do and that's keep your head down and try and prove to the coaches that you are good enough to be in the team and keep performing," Darcy said.

"I think it's a good sign for our list that there is that healthy, competitive, fight for spots. Lots of people are fighting for spots, so it's not just us. Me and Rory get on really well. We are both here trying to put our best foot forward. We'll just leave it up to the coaches."

Darcy is unlike almost any athlete the AFL has seen. Standing at 208cm, the Scotch College product has played in the ruck and in a key post at either end across his first eight games. He is lighter and more mobile than most close to his size, providing the high-performance department with a unique challenge to develop. Long-term he wants to be a ruckman who plays forward. But right now, with the reigning All-Australian ruckman in the side, the split is the other way.

"During the pre-season I did a lot of work in the ruck working closely with 'Ladey' [midfield coach Brendon Lade] and Tim English. That ruck craft is something I want to have in my arsenal going forward," he said.

https://resources.afl.com.au/photo-resources/2024/02/28/d92ea698-8db0-4a6f-a1d8-d3591dee15cc/GiaWie6u.jpg?width=1064&height=600

"The plan now is that ruck-forward mix. I've played down back in the past, so I've always got that if needed. I'm going to say a ruck-forward (in the long-term). Think more ruck than forward, but not too fazed as long as I'm playing."

Lade is in his corner, but ironically, for a long time the Port Adelaide great was one of his dad's toughest opponents. At the turn of the century, Luke Darcy and Lade were two of the best ruckmen in the country, competing for All-Australian blazers. Darcy collected one in 2002 when he shared the Leigh Matthews Trophy with Michael Voss. Lade secured two in 2006 and 2007 after leading the Power to their only AFL premiership in 2004.

"Ladey has been really helpful with my development," he said. "I've worked with him really closely on my craft stuff in the mornings on the touch floor. After training we go through edits. He is so knowledgeable and experienced in the game. Hall of Fame career at Port Adelaide, assistant at different clubs, so he has been a great sounding board for me."

https://resources.afl.com.au/photo-resources/2024/03/20/bcf640cd-082f-430d-8d1c-326881dc1ee5/AdrGPWc7.jpg?width=708&height=1062

Darcy is a third-generation player at the Dogs. He has red, white and blue blood coursing through his veins. His dad played 226 games, captained the club and is now the football director on the board. His grandfather, the late David Darcy, played 133 games for Footscray between 1963 and 1971, as well as two stints with South Adelaide in the SANFL.

"For as long as I can remember, this is what I've wanted to do," he said. "I've always wanted to play AFL, always wanted to play for the Bulldogs. It is pretty special when you think about it."

Darcy has had to be patient. Now he is ready to make up for lost time.

https://resources.afl.com.au/photo-resources/2022/08/10/70047054-f354-4ccc-87d2-7371d56b9f2d/TR221121MW0240.jpg?width=1064&height=600

LINK (https://www.afl.com.au/news/1096341/burst-blood-vessels-hole-in-the-lung-western-bulldogs-sam-darcy-challenging-start-to-career)

31-03-2024, 10:58 AM
Burst blood vessels, hole in the lung: Dog's challenging start to career

Western Bulldogs youngster Sam Darcy has had to overcome a series of complex, 'random' injuries in his early days

https://resources.afl.com.au/photo-resources/2024/03/24/f5835fbf-2a2e-4ef3-bc45-d22a8eb9308e/WLNX8GwH.jpg?width=1064&height=600

SAM DARCY thought it was just a corked quad when he came off the SCG last July. It ended up being much worse.

Burst blood vessels forced him to remain in Sydney when the team headed home. It ultimately cost him another two months, just when he was back in the team. Yet another unusual injury that required specialist intervention.
The 2021 pick No.2 has endured a brutal welcome to the AFL. While those drafted around him ? Nick Daicos (51 games) and Jason Horne-Francis (42 games) ? have played plenty of football early, including big finals, Darcy has spent more time in hospitals and in the rehab group than on the park. Richmond key defender Josh Gibcus is in the same boat.

Darcy arrived at the Whitten Oval with a stress fracture in his foot, which wiped out most of his debut season. Then he missed a chunk of football last year when a hole was discovered in his lung. A fractured jaw in the VFL and the incident at the SCG limited Darcy to just seven AFL appearances until his return against Gold Coast last Sunday in Ballarat.

"It has definitely had its challenges. You always try and set yourself lofty goals for the season coming ahead. It can be tough at times when you get setbacks, especially ones that are so random and obnoxious and you don't see coming," Darcy told AFL.com.au this week after kicking two goals from 15 disposals at Mars Stadium.

"I think I've handled it pretty well ? as tough as it can be at times ? I've tried to stay positive and grow in different areas off-field. I think it's a mindset that will hold me in good stead in the long run. You also learn good habits going through those injuries.

https://resources.afl.com.au/photo-resources/2023/07/17/c2fc8ed4-9967-4b6d-b031-e09527cb5e09/DNz9nXPZ.JPG?width=1064&height=600

"It was tough not being out on the track but you do build up a lot of resilience through lots of different injuries. I've been able to practice different off-field stuff like mindfulness, yoga and breathwork, which you might not have time to explore otherwise. I can take them into my career going forward."

While the Whitten Oval was being redeveloped, both literally and figuratively over the off-season, Darcy was coming and going every other day. No player was spotted at the club more between the club's final game in August and the start of the pre-season in November.
Darcy was one of the standouts across the pre-season and was stiff not to be picked against Melbourne in round one. He had been in a battle with Rory Lobb all summer for the spot behind Tim English in the ruck and alongside Aaron Naughton and Jamarra Ugle-Hagan inside 50. He didn't whinge. Instead, he went back to the VFL and kicked five goals for Footscray in a practice match. It was only going to be a matter of time before he got the spot.

"I was obviously disappointed initially, but there is only one thing you can do and that's keep your head down and try and prove to the coaches that you are good enough to be in the team and keep performing," Darcy said.

"I think it's a good sign for our list that there is that healthy, competitive, fight for spots. Lots of people are fighting for spots, so it's not just us. Me and Rory get on really well. We are both here trying to put our best foot forward. We'll just leave it up to the coaches."

Darcy is unlike almost any athlete the AFL has seen. Standing at 208cm, the Scotch College product has played in the ruck and in a key post at either end across his first eight games. He is lighter and more mobile than most close to his size, providing the high-performance department with a unique challenge to develop. Long-term he wants to be a ruckman who plays forward. But right now, with the reigning All-Australian ruckman in the side, the split is the other way.

"During the pre-season I did a lot of work in the ruck working closely with 'Ladey' [midfield coach Brendon Lade] and Tim English. That ruck craft is something I want to have in my arsenal going forward," he said.

https://resources.afl.com.au/photo-resources/2024/02/28/d92ea698-8db0-4a6f-a1d8-d3591dee15cc/GiaWie6u.jpg?width=1064&height=600

"The plan now is that ruck-forward mix. I've played down back in the past, so I've always got that if needed. I'm going to say a ruck-forward (in the long-term). Think more ruck than forward, but not too fazed as long as I'm playing."

Lade is in his corner, but ironically, for a long time the Port Adelaide great was one of his dad's toughest opponents. At the turn of the century, Luke Darcy and Lade were two of the best ruckmen in the country, competing for All-Australian blazers. Darcy collected one in 2002 when he shared the Leigh Matthews Trophy with Michael Voss. Lade secured two in 2006 and 2007 after leading the Power to their only AFL premiership in 2004.

"Ladey has been really helpful with my development," he said. "I've worked with him really closely on my craft stuff in the mornings on the touch floor. After training we go through edits. He is so knowledgeable and experienced in the game. Hall of Fame career at Port Adelaide, assistant at different clubs, so he has been a great sounding board for me."

https://resources.afl.com.au/photo-resources/2024/03/20/bcf640cd-082f-430d-8d1c-326881dc1ee5/AdrGPWc7.jpg?width=708&height=1062

Darcy is a third-generation player at the Dogs. He has red, white and blue blood coursing through his veins. His dad played 226 games, captained the club and is now the football director on the board. His grandfather, the late David Darcy, played 133 games for Footscray between 1963 and 1971, as well as two stints with South Adelaide in the SANFL.

"For as long as I can remember, this is what I've wanted to do," he said. "I've always wanted to play AFL, always wanted to play for the Bulldogs. It is pretty special when you think about it."

Darcy has had to be patient. Now he is ready to make up for lost time.

https://resources.afl.com.au/photo-resources/2022/08/10/70047054-f354-4ccc-87d2-7371d56b9f2d/TR221121MW0240.jpg?width=1064&height=600

LINK (https://www.afl.com.au/news/1096341/burst-blood-vessels-hole-in-the-lung-western-bulldogs-sam-darcy-challenging-start-to-career)

Thanks HotDog. Great read. Looking forward to Sam strutting his stuff today. Well spoken, determined young lad.

31-03-2024, 11:46 AM
We are lucky to have three Darcy's play for the club

08-04-2024, 07:59 PM
Dogs' son of a gun lands Rising Star nomination (https://www.afl.com.au/news/1104939/western-bulldogs-son-of-a-gun-sam-darcy-lands-rising-star-nomination)

WESTERN Bulldogs young gun Sam Darcy has landed the round four Rising Star nomination after his three-goal haul against Geelong on Saturday night.

Darcy impressed in his 10th AFL game during Gather Round, kicking three goals in the Bulldogs' four-point loss at Adelaide Oval.

The son of a gun also had 12 disposals, four tackles, eight hitouts and five score involvements in just 55 per cent time on ground.

Darcy's nomination marks a second straight for the Bulldogs after Harvey Gallagher in round three.

08-04-2024, 08:55 PM
Dogs' son of a gun lands Rising Star nomination (https://www.afl.com.au/news/1104939/western-bulldogs-son-of-a-gun-sam-darcy-lands-rising-star-nomination)

WESTERN Bulldogs young gun Sam Darcy has landed the round four Rising Star nomination after his three-goal haul against Geelong on Saturday night.

Darcy impressed in his 10th AFL game during Gather Round, kicking three goals in the Bulldogs' four-point loss at Adelaide Oval.

The son of a gun also had 12 disposals, four tackles, eight hitouts and five score involvements in just 55 per cent time on ground.

Darcy's nomination marks a second straight for the Bulldogs after Harvey Gallagher in round three.

Excellent news. Now for Saunders.

08-04-2024, 09:51 PM
Love this https://x.com/westernbulldogs/status/1777256316114813359

09-04-2024, 08:39 AM
The young man is a Unicorn, Forward-Ruck is a hard position to play with not a lot of standout players capable of both roles so to have really good ruckcraft and be dangerous in the forward 50 is very rare.

09-04-2024, 11:12 AM
The young man is a Unicorn, Forward-Ruck is a hard position to play with not a lot of standout players capable of both roles so to have really good ruckcraft and be dangerous in the forward 50 is very rare.

And he can go back.

09-04-2024, 12:33 PM
Well done Sam. Great to have another Rising star nomination. Ryley Sanders next.

We do have some good youngsters coming through which is great to see.

Keen to see JOD playing again. Really liked how he has gone since he started particularly coming from cricket.

09-04-2024, 01:47 PM
Great to get two Rising Stars in two week and hopefully Sanders isn't far away from getting a nod, you know there must be something special there with Sam Darcy when Leigh Matthews who very rarely has anything positive to say about the Bulldogs comes out and labels Sam the next big thing.

It's interesting that when drafted he was playing back but was always a forward ruck before that draft year and he also see's himself as a ruckman first then forward, i know i thought he was a forward who gave a chop out in the ruck as he looks so natural up forward but either way, he's a beauty.

Looking back to when Buddy and Roughy were dominating for the Hawks up forward and that final where they blew us out of the water especially at the G, wheres those two but especially Roughead would take the ball at the highest point and we had no answer for it, we didn't have that luxury in our forward line but with Sam now, that highest point is 208cm plus given his high reach, we even saw that on the weekend against two Cats players one being Tom Stewart both right in the contest but neither could get near him, it was just magnificent to see and will only get better.

09-04-2024, 02:18 PM
Great to get two Rising Stars in two week and hopefully Sanders isn't far away from getting a nod, you know there must be something special there with Sam Darcy when Leigh Matthews who very rarely has anything positive to say about the Bulldogs comes out and labels Sam the next big thing.

It's interesting that when drafted he was playing back but was always a forward ruck before that draft year and he also see's himself as a ruckman first then forward, i know i thought he was a forward who gave a chop out in the ruck as he looks so natural up forward but either way, he's a beauty.

Looking back to when Buddy and Roughy were dominating for the Hawks up forward and that final where they blew us out of the water especially at the G, wheres those two but especially Roughead would take the ball at the highest point and we had no answer for it, we didn't have that luxury in our forward line but with Sam now, that highest point is 208cm plus given his high reach, we even saw that on the weekend against two Cats players one being Tom Stewart both right in the contest but neither could get near him, it was just magnificent to see and will only get better.
You could argue it's his judgement of the ball in flight that is more important than his height. He's a natural football brain.

09-04-2024, 03:01 PM
You could argue it's his judgement of the ball in flight that is more important than his height. He's a natural football brain.

Darcy and Jamarra both take it at the highest point, they are both footy naturals .
Naughton a little different he prefers to get as high as possible and take it on the chest.

09-04-2024, 03:07 PM

Absolutely, it's both positioning and height which why i think he just looks a natural up forward, a lot of times height is grossly overrated because a 200cm plus spud is still a spud, but with Darce it gives him that massive advantage with that skillset and height with taking the ball at the highest point.

09-04-2024, 03:14 PM
he reminds me of Paul Salmon. hopefully he can dominate up forward like that too.

cant wait for another 3 years when his body development catches up with his height.

09-04-2024, 03:28 PM
he reminds me of Paul Salmon. hopefully he can dominate up forward like that too.

cant wait for another 3 years when his body development catches up with his height.

Spot on. A modern day fish is what I was thinking too. What Paul Salmon was to 1984 (and prior to Geoff Raines rearraging his knee) is what Sam Darcy could be to 2024. He just needs a consistent injury free run at it.

09-04-2024, 03:34 PM
What really impresses me is his ability below his knees.

He isn't afraid to be a link in the chain in general play and his teammates are more than happy to use him accordingly.

An extremely exciting talent.

09-04-2024, 03:50 PM
What really impresses me is his ability below his knees.

He isn't afraid to be a link in the chain in general play and his teammates are more than happy to use him accordingly.

An extremely exciting talent.

IIRC Rocket said in Darcy's draft year that while there isn't a perfect comparison, the player he could most liken Darcy to was Joe Danniher. I don't know if he's quite that agile but just being pretty agile as a 208cm ruck/forward is already huge.

09-04-2024, 04:03 PM
IIRC Rocket said in Darcy's draft year that while there isn't a perfect comparison, the player he could most liken Darcy to was Joe Danniher. I don't know if he's quite that agile but just being pretty agile as a 208cm ruck/forward is already huge.

Difference is Darcy is already a better kick.

09-04-2024, 04:49 PM

As in set shot? Yeah nah not convinced on that yet. Danniher aint great necessarily but Darcy has missed some shockers IIRC. Time will tell though it's still early. Can't say his technique is reassuring as you watch him approach goal.

Uninformed
09-04-2024, 06:22 PM

And can play back as a bonus.

Uninformed
09-04-2024, 06:23 PM
And he can go back.

Sorry. Just saw this. Great minds..

Uninformed
09-04-2024, 06:25 PM

That was such a great contested mark. Hardly ever see that these days.

Uninformed
09-04-2024, 06:27 PM
Absolutely, it's both positioning and height which why i think he just looks a natural up forward, a lot of times height is grossly overrated because a 200cm plus spud is still a spud, but with Darce it gives him that massive advantage with that skillset and height with taking the ball at the highest point.

And his ability to hold position and still win a tap or a mark is amazing for his young and still slight frame.

09-04-2024, 06:40 PM

and I think smarter overall.

09-04-2024, 06:42 PM
As in set shot? Yeah nah not convinced on that yet. Danniher aint great necessarily but Darcy has missed some shockers IIRC. Time will tell though it's still early. Can't say his technique is reassuring as you watch him approach goal.

I am very much reassured by the fact that he has a consistent technique that improves the percentages in actually having a consistent result.

09-04-2024, 06:51 PM
I know there was some commentary on his ruck work last weekend (which is going to be WIP for another few years I suspect) he was able to hold his own on most occasions and the upshot of his marking ability inside F50 is worth it.

He’s a rising star, no doubt.

09-04-2024, 09:07 PM

Rocket also said Darcy would be a better player than Daniher.

09-04-2024, 09:14 PM
and I think smarter overall.

Yeah anyone that sprays it as often as Daniher from long range and have other better options closer to goals then smile and laugh everytime he misses like he just can't believe it missed, i'm so glad i'm not a Brissy supporter.

54Bulldog16
10-04-2024, 01:06 AM
When does the next Darcy father/son come through? Is he tracking to be anywhere near Sam’s ability?

10-04-2024, 11:22 AM
Are we tracking to have the most father/sons in the last ten years ?