Margin:
First goal:
Best on ground:

29-03-2022, 05:24 PM
Margin: Dogs by 2 points
First goal: JUH
Best on ground: Macrae

Cmon Dogs we need that first win and get some confidence.

29-03-2022, 05:28 PM
Hopefully the adjustments have been significant.

This from Marvel Stadium after I complained:

Hi Michael,

Patron feedback has been noted and match-by-match we are reviewing these issues. Last Saturday, we had changes to egress, lighting and sound in response to patron feedback and will continue to do so. Thanks.

29-03-2022, 07:20 PM

I too lodged complaint about new lights and loudness of PA with AFL-similar response. I suggested they ask/survey patrons as lots of people around me were not happy as well as woof folks

29-03-2022, 08:55 PM
Syd 33 points
1st goal - treloar
Bog - macrae

29-03-2022, 09:19 PM
Syd 33 points
1st goal - treloar
Bog - macrae

33 points xD

I think that's a good omen DG.

Dogs by 20
FG Treloar
BOG Dunkley

29-03-2022, 09:40 PM
I too lodged complaint about new lights and loudness of PA with AFL-similar response. I suggested they ask/survey patrons as lots of people around me were not happy as well as woof folks

Thanks for the effort.

29-03-2022, 09:42 PM

Thanks. You have made Thursday less stressful.

29-03-2022, 10:42 PM
Thanks. You have made Thursday less stressful.

The answer came back via twitter and already hundreds have liked the tweet. So we are not alone

29-03-2022, 10:43 PM
Dogs by 27 points
First goal Weightman
BOG Libba

29-03-2022, 11:08 PM
The answer came back via twitter and already hundreds have liked the tweet. So we are not alone

I'll add my voice. My huge following will mobilise and take down the corporate behemoth pumping our heads full of capitalist propaganda...

All 5 of them.

30-03-2022, 12:41 AM
Swans by 40
First goal Cody
BOG Heeney

30-03-2022, 01:12 AM
Dogs by 18
First goal Libba
BOB Bont

If we lose this I will fall into football depression. A GF appearance (dopamine football levels and expectations are very high) to starting 0-3 would be too much for me to take.

30-03-2022, 08:16 AM
Sydney are really well balanced. Solid ruck combo, strong midfield, powerful attack and a good mix of talls and smalls in defence.

I rate them below Melbourne but slightly higher than Carlton. All 3 sides are nicely balanced.

Going to take close to our best to win this one and we just have too many out of form or unfit to find that level.

Sydney by 25
BOG: Treloar
FG: Hannan

30-03-2022, 08:49 AM
Sydney are really well balanced. Solid ruck combo, strong midfield, powerful attack and a good mix of talls and smalls in defence.

I rate them below Melbourne but slightly higher than Carlton. All 3 sides are nicely balanced.

Going to take close to our best to win this one and we just have too many out of form or unfit to find that level.

Sydney by 25
FG: Hannan

Sydney are still relatively young and I am hoping they experience a mental let down after Franklin kicking his 1000th goal.

30-03-2022, 08:57 AM
Bulldogs by 23 points
First Goal: JUH

30-03-2022, 09:02 AM
Weirdly, I'm more confident about this game than I was against Carlton.

Dogs by 7
First goal: Marra

30-03-2022, 09:19 AM
Weirdly, I'm more confident about this game than I was against Carlton.

Dogs by 7
First goal: Marra

Me too, I really feel like we will win this one.

There is no logic to this, it's all my doggies sense (like spidey sense but way more dissapointing).

30-03-2022, 09:26 AM
Me too, I really feel like we will win this one.

There is no logic to this, it's all my doggies sense (like spidey sense but way more dissapointing).
The closest thing to logic is - Bevo has lost only one game to Longmire as a player or coach in his entire AFL career.

We have under-performed against Carlton under Bevo, and out-performed against Sydney. That 2015 win at the SCG was the turning point for our club.

30-03-2022, 12:16 PM
Dogs by a goal to re-boot the season.
Wearing my dogs hoodie as I file out for NAT testing ( 4th time )
First goal JUH
BOG Jack Mac.

30-03-2022, 12:29 PM
Dogs by 26
First goal Treloar
BOG Bont

Jamarra to have a breakout quarter.

30-03-2022, 01:40 PM
Dogs by 19 pts
First goal Hannan
BOG Dunkley v his dad's old side.

30-03-2022, 04:16 PM
The closest thing to logic is - Bevo has lost only one game to Longmire as a player or coach in his entire AFL career.

Where are you getting that from? We have lost to Sydney 3 times since the 2016 grand final alone.

31-03-2022, 10:49 AM
Bulldogs by 11 points. If we drop this one we're under the pump big time.

31-03-2022, 11:52 AM
I want to be confident - our season with respect to Top 4 is almost on the line tonight.

But Sydney are so well balanced and we just aren't executing.

Swans by 4.
BOG Daniel
FG Hannan

31-03-2022, 03:51 PM
Just so flat after the first two weeks, still I guess we better stick with them, selections wise.

Dogs by 5.
FG: Marra
BOG: Baz

31-03-2022, 05:24 PM
Just so flat after the first two weeks, still I guess we better stick with them, selections wise.

Dogs by 5.
FG: Marra
BOG: Baz

Hi Jeanette
Yeah I felt flat too. On the plus side, we had 10 goal kickers, according to Bevo in the presser.
It's a good spread to have. Hopefully we can get that again with 2 players getting multiples each.

31-03-2022, 06:23 PM
Can't attend. Doh! This time due to a family member testing positive to COVID. The rest of the household is negative. We are in quarantine for a few more days. Cheer loud those woofers who are attending.

31-03-2022, 06:29 PM
Dogs by 7
First goal- Hannan
BOG- Bont

31-03-2022, 07:45 PM
Wallis is the medical sub. No changes.

31-03-2022, 08:00 PM
Wallis is the medical sub. No changes.

Wonder if they're worried Naughton might not last the game.

31-03-2022, 08:08 PM
Sydney this Sydney that ffs I hope we smash them tonight.

31-03-2022, 08:41 PM
Getting fair scoreboard reward for our possession dominance.

31-03-2022, 08:49 PM
Wallis in for Cordy, our first choice back-up ruckman is out of the game.
I wonder how we will set-up with Wally

31-03-2022, 08:50 PM
Decent start.

Our players seem to be underestimating their kick penetration.

31-03-2022, 08:50 PM
Good quarter by the Dogs. Pressure is high all over the ground, just need to move that ball quicker into the forward 50. Our scoring can't be reliant on pack marks every forward entry.

31-03-2022, 08:51 PM
Wallis in for Cordy, our first choice back-up ruckman is out of the game.
I wonder how we will set-up with Wally

Ruck of course.

31-03-2022, 08:51 PM
Nice we turned up 1st quarter this week. Need to just keep doing what we are doing.

31-03-2022, 08:52 PM
Very good start. Swans rattled by our pressure.
Good starts by Hunter and VDM after a poor couple of weeks.

31-03-2022, 08:53 PM
Short down back now. Will require a real team defensive effort.

31-03-2022, 08:54 PM
Good signs. Vanders much better. Treloar just one touch so far. Libba, Bont quiet - so there is a lot of upside. This is a must win game. Let's get the job done.

31-03-2022, 08:59 PM
Naughton great marker, shite kicker.
Get your head over your knee when kicking for goal, son. Don't worry about where it is going.

31-03-2022, 09:03 PM
Is Tim English the best player in the AFL?

31-03-2022, 09:06 PM
Goals Dogs, we need goals.

31-03-2022, 09:06 PM
I have been seriously impressed by Marra so far.

31-03-2022, 09:09 PM
Should be 5 goals up . Hope this doesn't come back to bite us

31-03-2022, 09:12 PM
Gardner and Keath been excellent. We seem to be doing a great job at protecting the switch

31-03-2022, 09:13 PM
The scoreboard has really dried up for us.

31-03-2022, 09:21 PM
Should be 5 goals up . Hope this doesn't come back to bite us

I feel like this comment could just be copy/pasted.

Seriously, this game should basically be cooked.

31-03-2022, 09:23 PM
Weightman just chases and chases.

31-03-2022, 09:25 PM

Pretty close to it.

31-03-2022, 09:26 PM
Amazing defensive effort. Superb.

But 1.7 v 0.0 in that quarter. It should be game over. All over red over.

Just about right behind Bailey Smith. What a gun.

Painful.
Dominating but scared of the two big sticks,
wary of greatness.

Great half from English!

Around the ground we’ve been great. Need to finish but another qtr like that and it’ll burst open!

31-03-2022, 09:27 PM
Last time at Marvel Sydney played keepings off and did as they pleased. Our defensive zone and intent to put pressure on them at every moment has completely stifled their ball movement.

31-03-2022, 09:27 PM
I’m just excited watching Jamarra. He is going to be some player

31-03-2022, 09:28 PM
It's been a while since I've seen ANY team dominate a game as we have this game. No excuses if we don't go on and have a big win. Just have to kick straight.

31-03-2022, 09:28 PM
Hunter with 18 touches much better tonight. The upside for us is that Bont has been quiet with 9 touches and Libba with only 5.

31-03-2022, 09:29 PM
If only we could kick straight.

Love Marras effort - he'll be a player in 2 years.

31-03-2022, 09:30 PM
Hunter with 18 touches much better tonight. The upside for us is that Bont has been quiet with 9 touches and Libba with only 5.

He has been excellent. Was of the opinion he needed to be dropped but he has turned his form around.

31-03-2022, 09:31 PM
Feeling a bit uneasy. Should be in front by a lot more, lots more. Swans will adjust and we've got to match it or we may just get ran over. I can't fault anything else, we're doing everything right except for kicking goals.

31-03-2022, 09:32 PM
Tim English has it on a string tonight. 13 touches. 5 marks. 6 contested possessions. 7 score involvements.

31-03-2022, 09:33 PM
How was that deft pick up and turn on a dime by Marra. Not too many players can move like that. It warms the soul.

31-03-2022, 09:38 PM
He has been excellent. Was of the opinion he needed to be dropped but he has turned his form around.

Classic Hunter game. This is where his value is. Links the play and runs his guts out.

31-03-2022, 09:40 PM
Classic Hunter game. This is where his value is. Links the play and runs his guts out.

100%. Just needed to convert that goal on the siren and it was the perfect half.

31-03-2022, 09:42 PM
If only we could kick straight.

Love Marras effort - he'll be a player in 2 years.

We need him tonight.

31-03-2022, 09:42 PM
Skill levels are very ordinary

31-03-2022, 09:46 PM
Whats with the cameras?

Every miss for goal a nail on the cross.

We are going to throw this away.

31-03-2022, 09:47 PM
Camerawork pretty ordinary to start the half.

31-03-2022, 09:47 PM
Do not knock out McCartin...

31-03-2022, 09:48 PM
Faraarking Liberatore!

31-03-2022, 10:00 PM
Just horrible.

31-03-2022, 10:01 PM
We should be 10 goals up lol

31-03-2022, 10:02 PM
When Wallis marked I shed a tear.
When he missed it dried up.

31-03-2022, 10:04 PM
You know, Ed Richards misses a lot of targets.

31-03-2022, 10:10 PM
Sublime.

31-03-2022, 10:15 PM

His defensive physicality and run has been important, much like B Smith who has been important but can’t hit a barn at the moment

31-03-2022, 10:17 PM
His defensive physicality and run has been important, much like B Smith who has been important but can’t hit a barn at the moment

Agreed. Reckon Ed's been really good in all other facets.

Good position to be in but we have some work in front of us. Need to improve our goal scoring.

Would miss the ocean from the middle of the Pacific right now.

31-03-2022, 10:18 PM
Dunkley has been immense at the contest. An absolute defensive beast

31-03-2022, 10:19 PM
Good position to be in but we have some work in front of us. Need to improve our goal scoring.

Understated as usual G

31-03-2022, 10:19 PM
We are smashing them in all the stats except the scoreboard. Our inside 50s are really pathetic

31-03-2022, 10:20 PM
Dunkley has been immense at the contest. An absolute defensive beast
He had at least 10 disposals and 7 tackles that quarter

31-03-2022, 10:20 PM
Understated as usual G

How important is the first goal of the 4th quarter?

31-03-2022, 10:21 PM
If it wasn't for Weightman we'd be in serious trouble. I'm feeling confident we'll get over the line. They had a bit of anrun on there in the 3rd but we're still dominating in most areas around the ground.

31-03-2022, 10:22 PM
We finally stopped a run on before it happened. They kicked two and we stepped up the pressure around the ball the tackling has been immense.

31-03-2022, 10:22 PM
How important is the first goal of the 4th quarter?

Massive. This quarter is season defining

31-03-2022, 10:24 PM
Buddy Whittenesque.

31-03-2022, 10:28 PM
The tear came back.

31-03-2022, 10:30 PM
I'm done with Vandermeer. Ignores Marra out wide and just bombs it.

31-03-2022, 10:34 PM
Bont isn't right out there. He's not bad but he's very hindered.

31-03-2022, 10:38 PM
We need the next one to calm the farm

31-03-2022, 10:41 PM
Keath kicks a goal. Continues to look unimpressed. Never change.

31-03-2022, 10:52 PM
Edge of the seat stuff. Let's get this centre clearance

31-03-2022, 10:59 PM
Ugly shit win. Should have been 10 goals but 4 points is 4 points.

31-03-2022, 11:02 PM
Well we will see how the rucks go without English

31-03-2022, 11:02 PM
Ugly shit win. Should have been 10 goals but 4 points is 4 points.

A lot of positives in that one. The defensive work especially around the footy was a massive step forward. English, Hunter, Keath, Marra, all very impressive

31-03-2022, 11:03 PM
Great win. Should have been more but will take that.

Any issue with English’s bump?

31-03-2022, 11:04 PM

Blakey seemed to be okay. Given that, hopefully just a fine.

31-03-2022, 11:04 PM
Gardner took another giant leap forward as a backmen. Played one of the best and kept him to two goals.

31-03-2022, 11:06 PM

Blakey was the one that ran full tilt into a stationary target.

31-03-2022, 11:08 PM
Keath kicks a goal. Continues to look unimpressed. Never change.

He tried so hard to no sell it and Baz wouldn’t let him. Loved that.

31-03-2022, 11:15 PM
Gardner took another giant leap forward as a backmen. Played one of the best and kept him to two goals.

If English hit his head he will get a week .it was a beautiful shirt front

31-03-2022, 11:16 PM
The contested ball was always the quickest way to turn things around, as soon as we fixed that we looked a better team. Little bit concerned that we appeared to be red lining for effort but only just got up in the end.

Looked like we played with the weight of the world on their shoulders probably due to the stakes. Hopefully we loosen up now and start using the ball a bit better.

Besides the points we kicked, shots we didn’t score from I think we missed 4-5 chances where Sydney coughed it up in our forward 50 and we fumbled or made a poor decision.

English was huge on the turnover game but I thought disappointing in the taps particularly after Hickey went off.

Hunter set the tone in some ways, so important for our team.

Dunkley 35 pressure acts was his best game for a while.

31-03-2022, 11:16 PM
If English hit his head he will get a week .it was a beautiful shirt front

No contact to the head.

31-03-2022, 11:19 PM
No contact to the head. excellent

31-03-2022, 11:25 PM
Must have been excruciating watching. Looking forward to seeing it later.

31-03-2022, 11:31 PM

Only the kicking for goal. The rest was good (far from a free flowing game but a good desperate effort). We were dominant and (mostly) in control.

31-03-2022, 11:31 PM
That overall defensive performance was Melbourne esque, we covered the wings beautifully , worked our asses off to provide coverage and stuck key tackles when the Swans had a mini run on. Absolutely rapped with Gardner and Keath tonight I actually thought Gardner outshone Keath outside of a few kicks.

Congrats to the coaches for getting the the style right to beat the swans there is no way we win that in a shoot out, our forward line still well and truly a work in progress. Nice to see Cody have some nice moments and the classic green shoots with Marra.

31-03-2022, 11:32 PM

The endeavour was there, it's just that it was for minimal reward.

31-03-2022, 11:39 PM
The endeavour was there, it's just that it was for minimal reward.

We played like a team down on confidence and the self doubt was creeping in when we didn’t put the game away when we were on top in general play.

The confidence will come, but the intensity needs to remain.

31-03-2022, 11:56 PM
We were on tonight all over the ground except for goalkicking. Should have won by 10 goals. Dominated the hard ball gets and controlled the game for 80 -85% of match time.

So, what do we take out of this game? In mý view plenty. The defense was very solid all night - a collective effort. Dale was dashing. Keath very sure. Gardner had his best game. Duryea was desperate and effective and Daniel was safe and used the ball well. And I was impressed by Ed Richards. He ran hard and made many contests. Had some missed opportunities when kicking inside 50 - otherwise veey solid. Roarke Smith also chimed in with some good moments.

Our midfield was excellent with Hunter, Dunkley, Macrae and B. Smith outstanding. Adam Treloar worked his way into the game as it progressed and was a solifd performer. When crunch time arrived Libba and Bont put their hands up. In the critical moments they were THERE.

English had his best game for quite a while. He can play like a midfielder and tonight he demonstrated his full repertoire of skills.

I was very impressed by Cody Weightman. He applied a lot of pressure on the Swans backs and kicked 3 goals. Vanders was also very good. He was involved in a lot of important plays.

I couldn't believe it when Wally missed his set shot for goal and was so pleased when he nailed that snap in the last.

Jamarra had a fine game. His defensive efforts really demonstrated his DESIRE to make his mark as a footballer. Aaron Naughton is always closely marked and he will only benefit as Marra becomes more of a threat.

The season is 21 games. We have started poorly but tonight we DOMINATED a team that is in very good form. We have a lot to look forward to.

01-04-2022, 12:09 AM
English was huge on the turnover game but I thought disappointing in the taps particularly after Hickey went off.

He won the tap outs and was halving the hitouts to advantage when Hickey was on

01-04-2022, 12:14 AM
https://i.postimg.cc/PJzdw5nL/Screenshot-20220331-231317-Lite.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

01-04-2022, 12:34 AM
Aside from the goalkicking that was fun. I know it can be slow going for the neutral supporter but I absolutely love watching us strangle opposition rebound. Much like the third quarter last week Sydney had no idea how to get the ball out, and it's so fun to watch them aimlessly move it back and forth before kicking to an outnumbered contest.

Thought today was a good demo of how the standing back off the mark works for us. I still don't like it in our defensive 80-100m but in our forward half of the ground i think it closes down options really well and because all our forwards have great pace off the mark it means we are always ready to swarm.

Really happy to see the defensive group step up tonight after an underwhelming performance last week. Gardner was so impressive, that's the most aggressive game we have seen from him and he excelled. Hopefully he can do that again. Also great to see the hobbled fumbly Keath of last week banished for the AA quality Keath again, how I have missed his elite intercept marking coupled with his elite sour demeanor.

Dale was immense running out of defence and our best for mine. Thought his aggressive kicking was so important and he was really important in countering the few attacks Sydney managed to construct. Daniel despite another good game on the stat sheet still seems off the pace for mine. He isn't quite at the level he has been in his ability to damage the game with his disposal, but I'm sure he'll come good soon.

Fantastic signs from JUH, some things came off, others didn't, but his intensity was top notch and it's pretty hard to fault him on that display. Weightman also was hugely important.

Thought that's Vandermeer's best game since he first started cracking the 22, his pressure was great and thought he was better (still room to improve) with the ball. Good week to pick it up (not that I thought he was going badly) with McNeil pushing for a spot.

English continues an excellent contract year season, his work around the ground was majestic, as was that mark over Buddy.

Really pleased with that, if we can find form now we might be alright still. We have faced probably 3 of the top 5 teams (us and Brisbane the others) and while two wins would have been nicer (and probably justified considering how we should have won last week) this isn't the worst outcome.

01-04-2022, 12:37 AM
https://i.postimg.cc/PJzdw5nL/Screenshot-20220331-231317-Lite.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

My highlight of the night. Bit mark by Timmy and puts the knee into Buddy's back. Loved it. Seriously. How good was Timmy!

01-04-2022, 12:39 AM
Need to eat a little bit of humble Pie after last week. Gardner and Keath both superb tonight. Tough. Took intercept marks. Stood up when it counted. Like what I saw. Bailey Dale was also absolutely superb back there tonight too.

However, as Bevo said at his mid week presser. It helps when you apply pressure to the ball coming in.

01-04-2022, 12:55 AM
Really happy with the performance tonight. We played very well I thought for the whole game and it would have been crazy had we not won that.

Our kicking at goal needs to be looked at as that will cost us games in the future.

Great to be at Marvel tonight celebrating a Bulldogs win again. I use the car park now there at Marvel and put my Doggies scarf out driving home.

01-04-2022, 12:56 AM
Really happy with the performance tonight. We played very well I thought for the whole game and it would have been crazy had we not won that.

Our kicking at goal needs to be looked at as that will cost us games in the future.

Great to be at Marvel tonight celebrating a Bulldogs win again. I use the car park now there at Marvel and put my Doggies scarf out driving home.

Nothing better than a win on home soil and driving home with scarf out the window. Love it.

01-04-2022, 12:58 AM
Keath had 12 marks tonight. 2 marks last week. Such a difference to the team when he is clunking them.

01-04-2022, 12:59 AM
Keath had 12 marks tonight. 2 marks last week. Such a difference to the team when he is clunking them.

Yep Keath and Gardner both did well down back. Keath a lot better tonight. I thought Hunter was very good as he has been a bit out of form as well.

01-04-2022, 01:00 AM
Nothing better than a win on home soil and driving home with scarf out the window. Love it.

It is a great footy tradition putting the scarf out the car window when we win.

01-04-2022, 01:45 AM
Our midfield did a lot better putting pressure on the ball carrier, that let our defenders really control the game.

01-04-2022, 01:50 AM
Goal kicking aside, and excepting the fact we looked like we ran out of petrol tickets, that was a game played almost exclusively on our terms and rarely looked like dropping.

Not a great performance. But it’s a good sign that we can be a bit off and still put ourselves in the position to flog a challenger like the swans, would have been nice to see that.

01-04-2022, 01:58 AM
Goal kicking aside, and excepting the fact we looked like we ran out of petrol tickets, that was a game played almost exclusively on our terms and rarely looked like dropping.

Not a great performance. But it’s a good sign that we can be a bit off and still put ourselves in the position to flog a challenger like the swans, would have been nice to see that.

Agree 100%. I was expecting a much closer contest. In reality we dominated the game and won easily (just listen to the Longmire presser) but our inability to convert and their ability to take their chances kept them in it. Tonight was a good sign that if we bring our best, we are a contender.

01-04-2022, 10:49 AM
The sealer

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nmiLeKsrJVo&ab_channel=JustBontThings

01-04-2022, 10:52 AM
How good is the Bont

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KYjFpnpofbg&ab_channel=Michael

01-04-2022, 11:00 AM
How good is the Bont

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KYjFpnpofbg&ab_channel=Michael

That was sublime. I was right in front of that kick and it went like a tracer.
Two better kicks only, English finding Bont on the wing and Buddy's goal which I was in front of perfect view between the sticks.

01-04-2022, 11:02 AM
The sealer

So much to like in that clip. Libba storming out of the contest, Marra halving the contest with Rampe, VDM with the 20 metre hand ball and Bont with the sealer.

01-04-2022, 11:19 AM
The sealer

Its only a little thing, but I loved the way JUH went back and bodied Rampe to make sure the ball came to ground and created the goal.

01-04-2022, 11:27 AM
So much to like in that clip. Libba storming out of the contest, Marra halving the contest with Rampe, VDM with the 20 metre hand ball and Bont with the sealer.

Yep - Marra's contest v Rampe was actually massive.

Rampe is one of the best defenders in the league and very experienced / strong. To push back hard and not be outmarked was a great effort.

01-04-2022, 11:52 AM
The sealer

So much to like here: Jamarra pushing back on Rampe - an All-Australian defender and their co-captain; the gut-running by Bont and Laith in the 119th minute - where were their opponents? And most of all I do like the rugby jumper of the guy in the crowd with his cap backwards. Where do I get myself one of those?

01-04-2022, 01:37 PM
As much as some of the delivery inside our forward 50 was pretty ordinary last night, what I really liked was the workrate & willingness of our forwards to be selfless. So many examples where 3 of them worked in tandem to provide legal blocking maneuvers to enable one of the other forwards to get some separation on the lead. Some deft little movements where two of the forwards would move a little bit at the right time to stop a Sydney defender from squeezing through easily. Just a pity that when those efforts did combine with good delivery that Naughts was unable to complete the deal on the scoreboard.

01-04-2022, 01:41 PM
Also, really getting sick of the shallow conversation in the media about the free kick count. Someone like Whately, in particular, should have the cognitive abilities to draw some better, nuanced conclusions other than just using the raw free kick numbers as a basis for criticism.
I think the vast majority of the frees we got were valid, and the free kick differential might better be explained by the work ethic of our players last night, and a comparative lack of intent around the ball by Sydney's players.
I actually thought the umpires missed some critical ones for us, and also gave a couple of touchy ones to Sydney.

01-04-2022, 01:52 PM
Also, really getting sick of the shallow conversation in the media about the free kick count. Someone like Whately, in particular, should have the cognitive abilities to draw some better, nuanced conclusions other than just using the raw free kick numbers as a basis for criticism.
I think the vast majority of the frees we got were valid, and the free kick differential might better be explained by the work ethic of our players last night, and a comparative lack of intent around the ball by Sydney's players.
I actually thought the umpires missed some critical ones for us, and also gave a couple of touchy ones to Sydney.

Whately knows how to play ball. Looking forward to a certain poster’s take on his commentary.

01-04-2022, 02:30 PM
Whately knows how to play ball. Looking forward to a certain poster’s take on his commentary.

His half time chat with tiny Nick is quite nauseating.

Him touting McNuggets is about as sold out as you can get.

Must be still drunk from Robbo's breath?

01-04-2022, 03:49 PM

Sadly they only lurk now, except to comment on the handling of the Bevo and Morris affair.

They left around the same time as you.

01-04-2022, 04:17 PM
Who are we talking about now? I can't remember who hates Whately and didn't care to read much about the Tom Morris affair.

01-04-2022, 05:48 PM
Just finished the replay. At the game I was being very critical of VDM through the lens of R1 and 2 and a chunk of what I was seeing at the ground. He is a better player than what he has been dishing up, and I think we really need him to be the player he can be right now.

At the ground I was getting frustrated with a few of his involvements but honestly, having seen it again, he was not far off a game breaking performance. Gut running, presented well, showed his pace, physical play. Was a few clean kicks and one mark and goal away from a really good game.

Expect his form to really take an upswing from here.

01-04-2022, 05:52 PM
Yep - Marra's contest v Rampe was actually massive.

Rampe is one of the best defenders in the league and very experienced / strong. To push back hard and not be outmarked was a great effort.

It was indeed a very good sign. Rampe, as we know, is no mug.

01-04-2022, 05:58 PM
It was nice to fly over and see a win.
Keath was unbelievable. I thought the backline gelled well. Dureya, Dale, Daniel good with plenty of run.
Naughton and Marra made contests and Hunter played his best game of year so far.
The pressure acts of Weightman was superb, and his 2 set shots were the difference in the end as they were so important amongst our points.
English was great mainly after Hickey went off (hickey had 97 SuperCoach points at half time with 11 contested possessions). Dunkley tackled very well. Unfortunately the kicking was atrocious and we should’ve won well. But I’ll take the win for sure.

01-04-2022, 06:02 PM
Keath was unbelievable. I thought the backline gelled well. Dureya, Dale, Daniel good with plenty of run.
Naughton and Marra made contests and Hunter played his best game of year so far.
The pressure acts of Weightman was superb, and his 2 set shots were the difference in the end as they were so important amongst our points.
English was great mainly after Hickey went off (hickey had 97 SuperCoach points at half time with 11 contested possessions). Dunkley tackled very well. Unfortunately the kicking was atrocious and we should’ve won well. But I’ll take the win for sure.

Glad you saw a win. Nothing worse than flying interstate to see a loss.

01-04-2022, 06:43 PM
Exactly Bornadog…thanks.
It’s really cool to see how the play unfolds. Obviously you can’t see that on tv.

01-04-2022, 07:02 PM

I bet you are glad your pre-match prediction was well off!

01-04-2022, 07:17 PM
I bet you are glad your pre-match prediction was well off!
Very much so. We were rubbish first 2 weeks. Sydney were fantastic. For mine it was justified. I’m just glad our backline found some form and we played a team orientated performance.

01-04-2022, 07:48 PM

To be fair, I caught the train to the Grand Final and that wasn't great.

01-04-2022, 07:49 PM
We were rubbish first 2 weeks. Sydney were fantastic.

I'm not sure either of those things are true.

Geelong kicked themselves out of it last week. Our effort has been pretty good.

01-04-2022, 08:13 PM
I'm not sure either of those things are true.

Geelong kicked themselves out of it last week. Our effort has been pretty good.

Maybe…our effort might have been ok, but I honestly thought our team work was pretty poor.

01-04-2022, 09:08 PM
Maybe…our effort might have been ok, but I honestly thought our team work was pretty poor.

Fair. I'm battling a bit with the negativity to be truthful. I didn't want to go 0-2 and 100% didn't want to lose to either of Melbourne or Carlton but all I want (well, maybe not ALL!!) is effort. I thought we 100% fought it out both weeks and but for some pretty poor kicking at goal vs Carlton could easily have pinched it. The Swans were great in R1 but then the Giants got rolled again in R2...so how good were they REALLY? Then they were kissed by the goal kicking gods (at both ends) vs Geelong and that's 2-0.

I hate the Wednesday and Thursday night games (and Fridays for that matter) as I can never watch them live due to work/footy commitments...so I end up watching them after receiving 200000 text messages about the game. Then I watch them expecting the worst only to watch the players trying pretty hard and - for the most part, succeeding.

I don't mean to single out your post btw - which is on the low end of things - but it feels like we can't even celebrate a great performance like the one last night without criticising everything. Yep, Naughton has to kick straighter. But this has been an ongoing issue and I kinda thing unless he goes all Giannis on us and totally dedicates himself to correcting this deficiency (the way the Bucks centre has just 'fixed' his free throws this year) then it is going to be 'him' for the next 10 years. Not ideal I know but ultimately as a supporter I would take the bad to get the good! Anyway, I'm rambling now.

01-04-2022, 09:45 PM
To be fair, I caught the train to the Grand Final and that wasn't great.

I guess the trip home is awful from no matter where you are from home when you lose

03-04-2022, 11:09 AM
Have only managed to watch a half of the game, and while it's presented as a frustrating encounter we seriously had our team defencive mindset in tune which is great to see.

Agree with the comments around Marra, to half time he was clearly up for the contest and having a massive crack which is great to see.

English has also been immense all over the ground.

Boots
03-04-2022, 01:24 PM
I was at the ground and couldn't really have been happier. The two-way running, which has been missing for weeks, was back with a vengeance, and the tackling pressure was immediately apparent. The Swans only got moving when we missed a tackle and if we'd played like that against Melbourne it would have absolutely shut them down.

The way we defended was glorious, and so many obviously good efforts from so many players - Keath, Marra, Dunkley chief among them, but Bont, Hunter, Dale, Treloar, even Gardner were all just even contributors.

Honestly if we'd been playing this sort of game for the last three weeks I wouldn't have rued the results no matter which way they fell. Here's to a few entertaining weeks.

03-04-2022, 07:28 PM
I was at the ground and couldn't really have been happier. The two-way running, which has been missing for weeks, was back with a vengeance, and the tackling pressure was immediately apparent. The Swans only got moving when we missed a tackle and if we'd played like that against Melbourne it would have absolutely shut them down.

The way we defended was glorious, and so many obviously good efforts from so many players - Keath, Marra, Dunkley chief among them, but Bont, Hunter, Dale, Treloar, even Gardner were all just even contributors.

Honestly if we'd been playing this sort of game for the last three weeks I wouldn't have rued the results no matter which way they fell. Here's to a few entertaining weeks.

Love it Boots.

04-04-2022, 08:06 AM
Finished watching the game and it was pleasing to see us weather the storm with Sydney coming at us after a bit of a lift in intensity post half time.

Dale was immense with his kicking and stability off half back, I'm so happy to see him be the player his talent suggested he could and also see him becoming a bit more solid in elements of his defencive game.

It was a very structured and strategic encounter, and it was great to see us counter Sydney's chip and spread game with a team defence mindset enabling angles to be cut off and space to be tightened - which we failed miserably to do last year.

We really miss Josh Bruce, and being able to adapt to his absence in the last part of 2021 was on reflection unbelievable from our coaches and playing group. Our finals series has given teams insight into how to constrain our forward movement without him, and we will need to keep working our arses off to keep ahead of defencive structures.

Realistically it should have been a six or seven goal win, but given our start to the year I'm happy with the four points and some momentum going into this week's game against Richmond.

04-04-2022, 08:55 AM
Finished watching the game and it was pleasing to see us weather the storm with Sydney coming at us after a bit of a lift in intensity post half time.

Dale was immense with his kicking and stability off half back, I'm so happy to see him be the player his talent suggested he could and also see him becoming a bit more solid in elements of his defencive game.

It was a very structured and strategic encounter, and it was great to see us counter Sydney's chip and spread game with a team defence mindset enabling angles to be cut off and space to be tightened - which we failed miserably to do last year.

We really miss Josh Bruce, and being able to adapt to his absence in the last part of 2021 was on reflection unbelievable from our coaches and playing group. Our finals series has given teams insight into how to constrain our forward movement without him, and we will need to keep working our arses off to keep ahead of defencive structures.

Realistically it should have been a six or seven goal win, but given our start to the year I'm happy with the four points and some momentum going into this week's game against Richmond.

Great summary, the close result didn't reflect how well we played. We will play a lot worse but win by more through the season.
I would have been happy with a 20 point plus result.

Our defenders did well especially Keath, Gardner and Dale.

04-04-2022, 10:16 AM
Dale was immense with his kicking and stability off half back, I'm so happy to see him be the player his talent suggested he could.

He should need a licence to carry that weapon at the end of his leg.

04-04-2022, 10:41 AM

Man if he gets the ball anywhere even near goals they might as well just take it back to the centre. If Bont is the best kick in the world then Dale is no worse than second.

04-04-2022, 12:31 PM

Man if he gets the ball anywhere even near goals they might as well just take it back to the centre. If Bont is the best kick in the world then Dale is no worse than second.

Two guys who just hit the shit out of it and move it flat and quick. It's not always perfect but it's direct, and that sort of kick takes complication out of the equation because the ball's all of a sudden there and in play before defenders can adjust to it.

04-04-2022, 12:45 PM
Two guys who just hit the shit out of it and move it flat and quick. It's not always perfect but it's direct, and that sort of kick takes complication out of the equation because the ball's all of a sudden there and in play before defenders can adjust to it.

As a team we need more players that can kick low bullets.

06-04-2022, 04:06 PM
Coaches Votes

Round 3 votes – Western Bulldogs v Sydney

10 – Tim English (WB)
7 – Bailey Smith
6 – Josh Dunkley
3 – Adam Treloar
2 – Ryan Gardner
1 – Cody Weightman
1 – Bailey Dale

06-04-2022, 04:09 PM
Coaches Votes

10 – Tim English (WB)
7 – Bailey Smith
6 – Josh Dunkley
3 – Adam Treloar
2 – Ryan Gardner
1 – Cody Weightman
1 – Bailey Dale

Don't think the Bont has polled a vote yet. Slow start for him.

06-04-2022, 04:11 PM
I don't mean to single out your post btw - which is on the low end of things - but it feels like we can't even celebrate a great performance like the one last night without criticising everything. Yep, Naughton has to kick straighter. But this has been an ongoing issue and I kinda thing unless he goes all Giannis on us and totally dedicates himself to correcting this deficiency (the way the Bucks centre has just 'fixed' his free throws this year) then it is going to be 'him' for the next 10 years. Not ideal I know but ultimately as a supporter I would take the bad to get the good! Anyway, I'm rambling now.

Liked your post overall

Felt like we outplayed Carlton for a lot of the game, and dominated the second half, they just were efficient when we made mistakes. Dominated Sydney just didnt put a big gap on the scoreboard, but again good effort.

The only point I would make on Giannis is that its my impression he has been working at it for years, as in, it takes a lot of repetition and time to make these improvements - hoping Naughts is continuing to work at it

06-04-2022, 04:13 PM
Coaches Votes

10 – Tim English (WB)
7 – Bailey Smith
6 – Josh Dunkley
3 – Adam Treloar
2 – Ryan Gardner
1 – Cody Weightman
1 – Bailey Dale

I know we were the better side but we were potentially a centre clearance away from losing and not a vote for a swans player!

I saw Blakey amongst the votes in some of the media reports.

06-04-2022, 04:15 PM
I know we were the better side but we were potentially a centre clearance away from losing and not a vote for a swans player!

I saw Blakey amongst the votes in some of the media reports.

Funny isn't it. Carlton dominated the coaches votes from memory in round 2.

06-04-2022, 04:26 PM
Funny isn't it. Carlton dominated the coaches votes from memory in round 2.

May indicate how annoyed Longmire was.

06-04-2022, 08:05 PM
Don't think the Bont has polled a vote yet. Slow start for him.

That'd be a big boost for us if he got rolling soon.