01-05-2022, 10:43 PM

01-05-2022, 11:52 PM
Another must win game

02-05-2022, 12:01 AM
Sunday to Friday turnaround but at Marvellous.

02-05-2022, 01:45 AM
Sunday to Friday turnaround but at Marvellous.

It's at the Adelaide oval

02-05-2022, 08:54 AM
How the *!*!*!*! do we get a 5 day TAT for this game? Just dumb scheduling.

I guess we take comfort that the Power played in heavy conditions in Cairns, but this game should really be on Saturday night.

02-05-2022, 09:17 AM
How the *!*!*!*! do we get a 5 day TAT for this game? Just dumb scheduling.

I guess we take comfort that the Power played in heavy conditions in Cairns, but this game should really be on Saturday night.

It really should be Saturday night, but I think we are ok compared to Port's additional travel on top of the conditions they played in.

The 5 day turn around cannot be an excuse.

WE MUST WIN.

02-05-2022, 08:01 PM
It really should be Saturday night, but I think we are ok compared to Port's additional travel on top of the conditions they played in.

The 5 day turn around cannot be an excuse.

WE MUST WIN. I also don't think any of our players were tackled by an Essendon player whereas Robbie Gray from Port said after the game it was the most physical game he had ever been in.

06-05-2022, 12:05 PM
I’ve got a bad feeling about tonight’s game. Think we’re down too many guys.

06-05-2022, 12:18 PM
Dogs by 6

First Goal: Naughton

BOG: Macrae

06-05-2022, 12:43 PM
Margin: Dogs by 4 points

First goal: Weightman

Best on ground: Dunkley

06-05-2022, 12:55 PM
Dogs by 12
BOG Dunkley
First goal Buku

Not confident at all - hope we don’t get trounced.

06-05-2022, 01:02 PM
Dogs by 19
BOG- Macrae to lead from the front
First goal- Baz

06-05-2022, 04:07 PM
I don't feel good about this one.
Dogs by 1
BOG: Macrae
1st goal: Buku!!

06-05-2022, 05:07 PM
Dogs by 14
BOG: Dunkley
1st Goal: Naughton

06-05-2022, 05:13 PM
Any SA woofers heading to the match tonight? Cheer loudly for us Doggies supporters watching back home.

06-05-2022, 05:26 PM
Port by 9
1st goal - Naughton
Bog - macrae

06-05-2022, 06:14 PM
It looks like there is now only a remote chance of rain for the actual game (10%). However it is going to be cold. 11c forecasted for the bounce and only light wind.

06-05-2022, 06:26 PM
Good night to be indoors on the couch watching the game.

Glad we aren’t North in the double header. Game starting at 8.40pm… would be asleep by half time not even considering the standard the game will be.

06-05-2022, 06:59 PM
The MG fuel pump I dismantled to divine last weeks result is still working. Apart from that being a minor miracle for anything MG, I also take it as a good sign for this week.

Dogs by 11
First goal: Weightman
BOG: Baz

06-05-2022, 08:07 PM
Massive game if we can win this with this team we could really build momentum with Bont English and Keath back next week. Biggest game of the year so far for mine.

06-05-2022, 08:09 PM
Crozier sub

06-05-2022, 08:27 PM
Feeling really good! Might be the Black Hops East Coast Haze. Might be the fact we’re gonna dominate!

Dogs by 63
FG: Buku
BOG: Libba

06-05-2022, 08:31 PM
Ripping kick from Richards.

06-05-2022, 08:38 PM
All doom and gloom on BigFooty prior to the game, have they not been watching Port this season?

06-05-2022, 08:49 PM
Two very stiff deliberate OOB calls so far, Bailey Williams on the wing and Gardner in the pocket both being pushed as they tapped the ball. Wouldn't have been paid deliberate rushed behinds...

06-05-2022, 08:51 PM
Poor I50 delivery and poor defensive efforts by our defenders so far. Gardner needs to be better.

06-05-2022, 08:51 PM
Port fwd line is pagans paddock while ours is a congested mess. Gardners body work is insipid.

06-05-2022, 08:52 PM
All doom and gloom on BigFooty prior to the game, have they not been watching Port this season?

We’re experts in getting a team into form!

Two very stiff deliberate OOB calls so far, Bailey Williams on the wing and Gardner in the pocket both being pushed as they tapped the ball. Wouldn't have been paid deliberate rushed behinds...

The rules are different in each case (OOB & behind) though so you can’t compare the 2.

Yep!

A few errors we’ve made but we’re ok if we help the defence a bit!

06-05-2022, 08:53 PM
He did get two hands square in the middle of his back, but I agree he hasn't started well.

06-05-2022, 08:53 PM
Umpire goal.

06-05-2022, 08:54 PM
What the hell was that ? Laughable

06-05-2022, 08:54 PM
WTF are we doing defensively in the air?

06-05-2022, 09:43 PM
We dominated that first quarter. Smashed them for zero reward. So many cheap goals conceded out the back and allowing some soft inside 50m marks.

06-05-2022, 09:44 PM
We're playing OK, but some real dumb mistakes have cost us and some poor defensive efforts aerially.

I've liked Khamis, Naughton looks dangerous, Macrae has been huge and Libba pretty good.

Defenders need to be better and we need more from Treloar, our fringe types and the forwards.

Too many one on ones that they are winning.

Still in it which is a good sign but need to tighten up.

We need a tidy up on half back with the handball receivers

Umps to stop those magical free kicks and we will run all over them.

06-05-2022, 09:45 PM
In 2016 our 15 - 22 ranked players won us the flag. The 2022 15 - 22 ranked players will cost us the flag.

06-05-2022, 09:45 PM
We're playing OK, but some real dumb mistakes have cost us and some poor defensive efforts aerially.

I've liked Khamis, Naughton looks dangerous, Macrae has been huge and Libba pretty good.

Defenders need to be better and we need more from Treloar, our fringe types and the forwards.

Khamis looks lively and will be a great addition to our forward mix.

06-05-2022, 09:46 PM
So many head scratching free kicks given to them. They have definitely got the run of the green.

Our defence looks very shaky. Allowing them easy transition, allowing their fwds to have lots of space. We need to keep the ball inside fwd 50. What also annoys me is the ease they come out in a scrum. A little flick, little kick, always going their way, but also the fact that we have too many onlookers instead of getting in there and getting it themselves.

Is any one frustrated with the umpires and free kicks? Almost every aerial contest there is a free kick. Chopping of arms was brought in to stop defenders deliberately chopping arms, but in a marking contest the players aren't robots and arms are going to tangle.

As for the deliberate against Gardy, that was a joke.

VFL watchers. Is that McComb kick on goal typical or he normally better that that? It was a shocking kick.

Mutz
06-05-2022, 09:47 PM
We need a tidy up on half back with the handball receivers

Umps to stop those magical free kicks and we will run all over them.

Yep, some very poor decisions that have given them cheap goals.

06-05-2022, 09:48 PM
VFL watchers. Is that McComb kick on goal typical or he normally better that that? It was a shocking kick.

It's fairly consistent with every other kick he has done, which is disappointing.

It only went about 6 foot 5 in height.
Honestly he offers nothing. Nothing against him personally, but he just ain’t good enough.

[/B]

Yep, some very poor decisions that have given them cheap goals.

The holding the ball decisions against Scott and Duryea were *chefs kiss*.

I think we run over them.

06-05-2022, 09:49 PM
It's fairly consistent with every other kick he has done, which is disappointing. He should never be playing at the elite level when we have Rhylee West. His skills in the 2's are deplorable.

06-05-2022, 09:49 PM
Caleb only 4 touches to HT. Need to get him into the game. Same with Dale only 9 touches

06-05-2022, 09:50 PM
Love the energy of the group tonight, but on occasions over exuberance is leading to some costly turnovers.
If we tighten that up and maintain our intent we can win this. Unless the red hot whistles of the umpires keep playing the tune they blared in the first half. The umps are really red hot tonight.

06-05-2022, 09:51 PM
We need to think a bit before automatically deciding to play on. We gifted two goals from a stoppages where we were in possession.

With an undermanned team we are doing ok so far. Good overall team effort, but we need more pressure on PA players who are going inside their forward 50.

If we continue to allow them easy access to their fwd 50, I think our defence will allow them plenty of marking opportunities. We have to be more solid and vice like along half fwd not allowing the ball out too easily.

Is any one frustrated with the umpires and free kicks? Almost every aerial contest there is a free kick. Chopping of arms was brought in to stop defenders deliberately chopping arms, but in a marking contest the players aren't robots and arms are going to tangle.

As for the deliberate against Gardy, that was a joke.

I thought it was my prejudice. Free kick count may be revealing.

06-05-2022, 09:52 PM

Normal I am afraid, but have seen him also thump it. Should have kicked that

06-05-2022, 09:53 PM
Caleb only 4 touches to HT. Need to get him into the game. Same with Dale only 9 touches

We get these two in the game we win

06-05-2022, 09:53 PM
I thought it was my prejudice. Free kick count may be revealing.

18 - 12 port's way.

06-05-2022, 09:56 PM
Our defenders stink tonight. I mean we like to blame our midfield when they're eaten up and the most part that is true but we have been woeful in defence

06-05-2022, 09:57 PM
Our defenders stink tonight. I mean we like to blame our midfield when they're eaten up and the most part that is true but we have been woeful in defence

Every time it goes down there it is a worry

06-05-2022, 09:57 PM
God we miss Keath. Just to be that general down there. Gardner is like a deer in headlights when under pressure.

06-05-2022, 09:59 PM
McNeil and Scott disappointing with 5 touches between them, Cordy 2 disposals. We can't carry these hanger oners

06-05-2022, 10:01 PM
Problem is, with 8 of our best 22 missing, it’s almost like I don’t want the ball going near our bottom 8 playing tonight.
However, they need to step it up.

The half time message to the defenders needs to be to take up the space a bit and stop guarding it so loosely. With a bit of pressure in the air their forwards will struggle.

We have it in us to keep with them, tighten up on a few things, and push over the top.

Buku has shown something his first kick was full of nerves but he seems to have settled.

06-05-2022, 10:02 PM
Of the bottom seven possesion winners on the ground at HT we have six of them.

Vanda 4
Dureya 3
Gardner 3
Scott 3
Cordy 2
Mcneil 2

06-05-2022, 10:02 PM
God we miss Keath. Just to be that general down there. Gardner is like a deer in headlights when under pressure.

Yeah, Gardner looks like Gardner V1 from his first season with us. Fingers crossed he can go back to V3. I'm quite comfortable with that version

06-05-2022, 10:03 PM
Another mark inside 50.

06-05-2022, 10:05 PM
Better kick to advantage from McComb

06-05-2022, 10:07 PM
Martin is a liability… I’d like to hope this is his last game tonight otherwise we’re in trouble.

06-05-2022, 10:09 PM
Yeah, Gardner looks like Gardner V1 from his first season with us. Fingers crossed he can go back to V3. I'm quite comfortable with that version He is injured. Really struggling at the ground. Limping quite a bit of the ball.

06-05-2022, 10:12 PM
Port are just doing enough. Much cleaner with ball in hand. We are in trouble I feel.

I know some people say Vandermeer covers the angles and applies pressure but is there anyone else who can do that job?

How easy are they getting f50 marks

06-05-2022, 10:13 PM
12-6 marks inside 50 ports way

06-05-2022, 10:13 PM
He is injured. Really struggling at the ground. Limping quite a bit of the ball.

When did that happen?

06-05-2022, 10:14 PM
We’ve got way too many guys down tonight.

Dunkley, Daniel, Dale

06-05-2022, 10:17 PM
We’ve got way too many guys down tonight.

Dunkley, Daniel, Dale
Their efficiency going in fwd 50 isn’t allowing Dale and Daniel to clean up.

06-05-2022, 10:18 PM
Surprise surprise, another mark

I reckon we’re cooked.

We're making complete arseholes of ourselves right now.

Need to tighten up and actually stop the flow.

Thank you linesman, thank you ball boys

Stick a fork in us, we're done.

06-05-2022, 10:19 PM
Too many players not pulling their weight and it's starting to show on the scoreboard

06-05-2022, 10:21 PM
Stick a fork in us, we're done.
Yeah, hard to win when half the team is no existent.

06-05-2022, 10:21 PM
My favourite part about tuning in every week is how we find new and innovative ways to blaze it into the forward line and hope one of our players can mark it.

06-05-2022, 10:22 PM
They should be 30+ in front.

This one done yet? Can I call it.

Probably the worst team we’ve fielded in the Bevo era and it’s showing.. hopefully it’s shoring him that some of his project players aren’t worth persisting with when we get some troops back.

06-05-2022, 10:23 PM
We're making complete arseholes of ourselves right now.

Need to tighten up and actually stop the flow.

We don’t know how to tighten up. This much we know.

Why the F isn’t Cordy down back. ?

Well, we can start planning for 2023.

Bevo stop being a stupid *!*!*!*! and get some height back there.

Naughton, Cordy, Khamis....*!*!*!*!ing anyone you stubborn so and so.

Shit balls.

06-05-2022, 10:24 PM
Well, we can start planning for 2023.

Yeah. The Bombres game was paper over the cracks. We are rubbish.

06-05-2022, 10:24 PM
Why the F isn’t Cordy down back. ?

Why is he in the team?

06-05-2022, 10:25 PM
Is our coaching staff just stupid? How can midgets defend a giant? How many times!

06-05-2022, 10:26 PM
Martin is so cooked what are we doing?

Yep, we're done.
Injuries to O'Brien and now VDM doesn't help.

How is Crozier the medi-sub? Martin playing off a five day break? We are short down back? How?

Why is he in the team?

Why are a lot of players in the team ?

06-05-2022, 10:27 PM
How the *!*!*!*! can that not be a holding the ball against Wines.

What the *!*!*!*!?

06-05-2022, 10:29 PM
Bevo is a joke. Seriously a joke. Crozier on Marshall game over while Cordy gets cold up forward.

06-05-2022, 10:30 PM
We should have put them away in the first quarter. They were there for the kill. Built scoreboard pressure.

06-05-2022, 10:31 PM
You stubborn prick.

How was Shaq not the medi-sub? How?

Bevo you are being a stubborn dickhead.

You can't help yourself. I'm one of your biggest supporters, but you're losing your shit tonight mate.

16 marks inside 50 to 3 qtr time is absolutely pathetic.

06-05-2022, 10:32 PM
Why are a lot of players in the team ?

Because we have a lot of injuries?

Naughton a positive at least.

Not great but given our outs and now injuries not unexpected

Good boy Naughts.

Needed that. Come on lads.

06-05-2022, 10:33 PM
Umps are disgusting. We are playing disgusting. Bevo coaching disgusting.

06-05-2022, 10:34 PM
Because we have a lot of injuries?
True. But just goes to show our list isn’t as good as some think.

No Bont English and Keath simply exposes our lack of class and depth. Back line in particular has been outclassed

After all the non-calls post a technical free kick night leading up to it, the Dunkley holding the ball really got me angry. Especially after the Port player slipped over and then didn't try and get rid of it but didn't get pinged.

40 free kicks in three quarters. This game is so over officiated.

Surely either Cordy or Buku go to the backline.

Mutz
So many times they are winning and clearing the 50:50 ground ball. Bad luck or lack of effort?

Would love to know the reasoning behind keeping Zaine as a forward. He offers nothing beyond a contest at best as a forward, while we have one defender over 190cms.

Obviously stubborn in that he doesn't want our forwards out marked like they were vs Adelaide, but I mean ... It just seems too obvious doesn't it?

06-05-2022, 10:35 PM
True. But just goes to show our list isn’t as good as some think.

Which list is? We have at least six players out who would likely be playing firsts, including a top three league player.

Surely either Cordy or Buku go to the backline.
Too late now.

So many times they are winning and clearing the 50:50 ground ball. Bad luck or lack of effort?

Yes.

06-05-2022, 10:36 PM
How was Shaq not the medi-sub? How?

I was thinking the same in this third quarter.

Flynn and Marshall are killing us, they are just too tall. Crozier had no chance to compete in that mark.

Richards is also getting beaten in the air.

Our tackling has not stuck tonight, and we fell apart in the half forward line in the third.
its been very disappointing the tackling pressure.

Come on dogs, string in together and go hard in the 4th quarter.

Something is wrong with our forward line in terms of crumbing. There is no-one at the front of the pack waiting for the drop of the ball.

WE cannot be that unlucky with the ball end up in Port players hands.

Losing O’Brien was costly, but why not make a move? It’s unbelievable. Is Bevo watching another game?

Which list is? We have at least six players out who would likely be playing firsts, including a top three league player.

Even so, the list needs work.

06-05-2022, 10:37 PM
We need our leaders to stand up and lead. Get the boys going. Too too many passengers tonight.

Too many non contributors. Is Dunkley having a quiet one tonight? Would take a gargantuan effort with one player down and a midget defence. C’mon dogs - fight it out. Do something different - McComb and Daniel to centre clearances? Not gonna win it with current set-up.

Not great but given our outs and now injuries not unexpected

A few wanna-be leaders not giving a shout! Dunks? Daniel? Even Libba (and I love him more than most things in life) just need to get their hands on it.

Would love to know the reasoning behind keeping Zaine as a forward. He offers nothing beyond a contest at best as a forward, while we have one defender over 190cms.

Obviously stubborn in that he doesn't want our forwards out marked like they were vs Adelaide, but I mean ... It just seems too obvious doesn't it?

Daisy Pearce commented after the last Naughton mark that that is why Cordy is forward right now. If he's not, Allir is likely to be a lot more aggressive and double Naughton.

06-05-2022, 10:38 PM
Todd Marshall taking marks on midgets. Madness.

Calling for Cordy to go back makes sense in theory.

But in reality would be so any better than Crozier etc?

Highly likely the result would be the same

After all the non-calls post a technical free kick night leading up to it, the Dunkley holding the ball really got me angry. Especially after the Port player slipped over and then didn't try and get rid of it but didn't get pinged.

another example of allowing the umpire to "interpret" a rubbish rule of prior opportunity.

So you slip and not dispose so its your fault its prior ?

I guess we need to kick goals and so if he keeps Aliir busy it improves our chances?

Prob is the mids and also some panic. Get it done!

06-05-2022, 10:39 PM

Throw Buku back ffs if they want Cordy forward

06-05-2022, 10:39 PM
Even so, the list needs work.

It did before the start of the season.

Hunter, Bont, Bruce, Keath, English.....so on....

They're too important for their absence not to be a massive issue.

I'm just pissed off about positioning.

06-05-2022, 10:43 PM
That's a great burst goal from Smith. Massive.

06-05-2022, 10:46 PM
Such a silly decision for Flea to bump? He would have had him cold holding the ball and now does his shoulder.

And there goes Weightman

That's a great burst goal from Smith. Massive.

His just awesome , that was brilliant kick outside 50 , evades 3 port players and takes them all on and kicks hard.

15 mins to go and we are 21 points down. We need to start taking the game on.

06-05-2022, 10:51 PM
We have cursed the Football Gods. What a bad run with injuries in a single game. Playing off a five day break is just wrong.

06-05-2022, 10:52 PM
Is Boak the new Lenny Hayes?

He must sleep in the change room the night before games against us.

What has happened to Dunkley tonight? One step forward, two steps back

Glad we brought Scott straight back in.

06-05-2022, 10:53 PM
Also, to rub salt into a nasty wound we have to listen to BT.

06-05-2022, 10:53 PM
I hate football

06-05-2022, 10:54 PM
Footy gods are cruel. This will force our hand to play West and Schache. I think Schache should have been sub.

06-05-2022, 10:55 PM
O’Brien, VDM, Cody injured. Gardner struggling. What have we done to deserve this?

06-05-2022, 10:56 PM
Footy gods are cruel. This will force our hand to play West and Schache. I think Schache should have been sub.

At this rate, you, me and MrMahatma will be getting the call up.

06-05-2022, 10:58 PM
How do you reckon we're looking for another Friday night game when the floating fixture is next discussed?

06-05-2022, 10:58 PM
O’Brien, VDM, Cody injured. Gardner struggling. What have we done to deserve this?

Five day break. It should not be allowed. It’s a physical hard game that goes for two hours plus.

06-05-2022, 10:59 PM
Boys are fighting it out. Proud of them.

06-05-2022, 11:00 PM
Five day break. It should not be allowed.

It’s farcical… I know it will sound like sour grapes, but something needs to be said by the club… and not by Bevo in the presser.

06-05-2022, 11:02 PM
It’s farcical… I know it will sound like sour grapes, but something needs to be said by the club… and not by Bevo in the presser.

Unfortunately won’t happen. We all know Bevo is the clubs voice.

06-05-2022, 11:03 PM
First quarter has cost us this game. We should have a minimum of a four goal lead with our dominance and went in behind.

Dunks not sure now's the time to be raising the finger.

Dunkley that's a wanker effort. Who are you trying to be, Michael Bevan maintaining a batting average?

06-05-2022, 11:05 PM
Boys are fighting it out. Proud of them.

Agree. They have given it their all.

06-05-2022, 11:06 PM
Dunkley that's a wanker effort. Who are you trying to be, Michael Bevan maintaining a batting average?

Is it all about him? He was awful tonight we needed him to have a big one.

06-05-2022, 11:07 PM
The lads had a crack.

While the positioning of Cordy and other talls has been discussed, one thing that really annoys me is the five metre stand off tactic on a ground that only delivers space if you give length! Stand up on a narrow ground and you severely limit angles and opportunities to move the ball quickly. I don't think the coaching staff thought it through for this week.

06-05-2022, 11:08 PM
Is it all about him? He was awful tonight we needed him to have a big one.

He's kinda hard to like.

I dunno. I had 5 beers watching that but I’m not really angry about it. They tried their guts out with zero on the bench and half the best 22 in the stands.

We only gave them 44 inside 50s. That is enough to win most games. But we have up 29 shots on goal from 44 entries. Crazy high % on entries. Just let them transition to easily too many times and also our defence in those 1:1s was not up to standard on a number of occasions.

We won the inside 50m count by 5.

06-05-2022, 11:10 PM
We have cursed the Football Gods. What a bad run with injuries in a single game. Playing off a five day break is just wrong.

the afl just hate us and have screwed us with the fixture

the footy gods hate us.. they have never forgiven us for winning our premiership in 2016 from nowhere.

5 day breaks should be banned as it can cause serious injuries ... well see what happened tonight to a few of our players.

O'Brien, Cordy, VDM , and a few others looking sore.

06-05-2022, 11:10 PM
I dunno. I had 5 beers watching that but I’m not really angry about it. They tried their guts out with zero on the bench and half the best 22 in the stands.

Yeah it's hard to be angry at that, but it's been a dreadful year which is close to over and it's only early May. That's a long way from preseason talk about top 4.

06-05-2022, 11:11 PM
We only gave them 44 inside 50s. That is enough to win most games. But we have up 29 shots on goal from 44 entries. Crazy high % on entries. Just let them transition to easily too many times and also our defence in those 1:1s was not up to standard on a number of occasions.

We won the inside 50m count by 5.

No forward pressure. Teams have worked us out. Wait for our forwards to converge, spill the ball and mop up.

Why is Weightman flying for all these marks, when he should be crumbing at the foot of packs ?

Its football.....we are going to get injuries.

What beers?

We will overcome, I agree. But too many not-AFL standard players getting a game.

Port actually didn’t play well.

Martin looks like is 135 years old.

06-05-2022, 11:12 PM
Fought it out but lost it when it counted and when we had a full team on the ground. Lost yetbanother winnable game and made a pretty ordinary side look pretty good in the process

06-05-2022, 11:13 PM
Unfortunately won’t happen. We all know Bevo is the clubs voice.

Someone mentioned our predisdent as a possibility to take over from Gill , now that's farcical.

06-05-2022, 11:13 PM
What beers?

We will overcome, I agree. But too many not-AFL standard players getting a game.

Port actually didn’t play well.

Martin looks like is 135 years old. Martin looked like he was 135 years old at his last season in Brisbane

06-05-2022, 11:14 PM
That’s four losses less than three goals now. We were in all those games, but just not good enough mainly in basic execution in most of them. We just have not been clean this year. Fumbles, missed kicks, bad goal kicking, dropped marks.

06-05-2022, 11:16 PM
21 marks inside 50

No forward half pressure

We did well to hang in there

06-05-2022, 11:17 PM
That’s four losses less than three goals now. We were in all those games, but just not good enough mainly in basic execution in most of them. We just have not been clean this year. Fumbles, missed kicks, bad goal kicking, dropped marks.

We were not in this game. The scoreboard flattered us.

06-05-2022, 11:19 PM
Great effort with 6 of probably our best 10? out.

Top 15 for sure.

I was ok with the Dunks finger he had his head caved in with a knee hope the cheekbone is ok.

Naughton was exceptional, just our bottom 6 fell away sharply, we copped 3 injuries (Weightman probably ok, VDM looked a real bad hammy) and didn't get enough out of some senior guys.

Martin tried hard but man oh man he is done.

Ended up 5 in front contested ball just didn't have the finishing.

We really need tall defenders we couldn't get any rebound with their talls plucking everything.

06-05-2022, 11:20 PM
I do think there’s reasons we lost and also we could win more matches with better players.

I do wonder why we play McOooooomb3, McNeil, Scott and dudes like that who have very, very low ceilings over JUH and Schache, who could maybe play a good quarter and win a match.

So yeah.

Still keen to hear which 5 beers happy days had. I chopped a couple Black Hops, Newstead, and Kaiju ��

06-05-2022, 11:21 PM

We came with the right inention. We jumped them. We dominated them in the first quarter. The scoreboard flattered them at 1/4 time. But yes, you are correct by the end it flattered us.

06-05-2022, 11:23 PM
I don't know if its just me but Treloar is starting to give me the pips. When we need him to be defensive he stands 5m off or jogs around doing his best impression of a baby bird try fly for the first time.
He's so outside he might as well be on the other side of the stadium having a coffee waiting for the ball to come to him.
May be I'm just a bit peeved how the night unfolded.

06-05-2022, 11:24 PM
Great effort with 6 of probably our best 10? out.

Top 15 for sure.

I was ok with the Dunks finger he had his head caved in with a knee hope the cheekbone is ok.

Naughton was exceptional, just our bottom 6 fell away sharply, we copped 3 injuries (Weightman probably ok, VDM looked a real bad hammy) and didn't get enough out of some senior guys.

Martin tried hard but man oh man he is done.

Ended up 5 in front contested ball just didn't have the finishing.

We really need tall defenders we couldn't get any rebound with their talls plucking everything.

The effort was there. No doubt. It is really execution that is letting us down badly. Our bottom six are not really up to it. Inuries are hurting badly.

06-05-2022, 11:25 PM

I am the same. Frustrated yes but not angry.

06-05-2022, 11:26 PM

Disagree. I thin we were right in it. Yes Port should have finished us off and probably should have won by more, but we definitely could have won this game. Bont missing was big. Add to Hunter, Keath, English and then lose Flea, Vanders and O'Brien in game compounds the matter. No surprise that the break was when O'Brien went off.

06-05-2022, 11:26 PM
I don't know if its just me but Treloar is starting to give me the pips. When we need him to be defensive he stands 5m off or jogs around doing his best impression of a baby bird try fly for the first time.
He's so outside he might as well be on the other side of the stadium having a coffee waiting for the ball to come to him.

He's been pretty ordinary this year for the most.part, but so has most of the list.

06-05-2022, 11:27 PM
Our bottom group of players are just not up to it and letting us down badly. Out of the 11 players with the least touches on the ground we had nine of them. Nine!!!!

Disposals

Khamis 9
O'Brien 9
Weightman 9
Scott 8
Cordy 7
Crozier 6
Gardner 6
McNeil 6
Vanda 4

Out of the top six ball winners on the ground we had five!!!! We are asking too much to much of our best. When a few of our best are out we can't compete.

Macrae 32
Dale 28
Smith 24
Libba 23
Treloar 23

06-05-2022, 11:27 PM
Losing O’Brien was costly, but why not make a move? It’s unbelievable. Is Bevo watching another game?

Like last week, we went into the game with bare bones for talls. One injury to a tall last week would have hurt us like it did tonight.
For some reason Bevo and the MC won't add much insurance to copping an injury

06-05-2022, 11:28 PM

The score did flatter us. Still think we were in the game till HT. But then the wheels fell off once O’Brien came off. Exposed our lack of height.

06-05-2022, 11:29 PM

The thing is though you don't want your best outside runner at the bottom of the pack. We're pretty good with quick hands in the contest and I'd rather it hit him in the open than say a McComb or Scott. I do get what you are saying but I think most of that would be game plan.

06-05-2022, 11:29 PM
He's been pretty ordinary this year for the most.part, but so has most of the list.

On Dunks and his Podcast this week he mentioned that he has been really disapointed in his season so far. Mainly that he isn't being physical enough at the contest and the man.

06-05-2022, 11:30 PM
Its football.....we are going to get injuries.

Of course it is but a team like the Demons has a golden run whilst we are out of luck.

06-05-2022, 11:31 PM
The score did flatter us. Still think we were in the game till HT. But then the wheels fell off once O’Brien came off. Exposed our lack of height.

Agree 100%. But why not switch Cordy down back immediately? Or Khamis? We were alseep in the coaching box. Also should have played Shaw as the medi-sub. Blind freddy could see that was the right choice. I don't see what Crozier brings as the sub.

06-05-2022, 11:31 PM
He's kinda hard to like.

Really?? Maybe for yourself.

06-05-2022, 11:32 PM
Like last week, we went into the game with bare bones for talls. One injury to a tall last week would have hurt us like it did tonight.
For some reason Bevo and the MC won't add much insurance to copping an injury

How is Shaq not at least the medi-sub? Just mind boggling stuff.

06-05-2022, 11:32 PM
We came with the right inention. We jumped them. We dominated them in the first quarter. The scoreboard flattered them at 1/4 time. But yes, you are correct by the end it flattered us.

Yeah, I was happy with about the first 15 minutes. We couldn't reel them in after that. Did we get back 2 back goals after the 1st quarter. It always seemed we gave up an easy one. The fight at the end was nice but we lost that game before the injuries piled up.

06-05-2022, 11:33 PM
I’ve had 6 beers now (Balter XPA for MM who I think asked) but one thing I was kinda flat with was Bevo’s adjustments. Keeping Allir occupied with Cordy when we had him well in hand at the expense of letting Marshall look like Carey and Finlayson look like a really grim loser who happens to be good at footy really hurt us.

Also Dunkley should’ve been our match winner tonight, not isolated at full forward.

06-05-2022, 11:33 PM
Agree 100%. But why not switch Cordy down back immediately? Or Khamis? We were alseep in the coaching box. Also should have played Shaw as the medi-sub. Blind freddy could see that was the right choice. I don't see what Crozier brings as the sub.

The only reason I can think of would be to take Alir out of the game. If Cordy goes down back Alir would just take intercept after intercept. Obviously didn’t pan out that way and Cordy would have added more value down back.

Mutz
06-05-2022, 11:34 PM
Our bottom group of players are just not up to it and letting us down badly. Out of the 11 players with the least touches on the ground we had nine of them. Nine!!!!

Disposals

Khamis 9
O'Brien 9
Weightman 9
Scott 8
Cordy 7
Crozier 6
Gardner 6
McNeil 6
Vanda 4

Out of the top six ball winners on the ground we had five!!!! We are asking too much to much of our best. When a few of our best are out we can't compete.

Macrae 32
Dale 28
Smith 24
Libba 23
Treloar 23

Very perceptive and very telling.

06-05-2022, 11:35 PM
Yeah, I was happy with about the first 15 minutes. We couldn't reel them in after that. Did we get back 2 back goals after the 1st quarter. It always seemed we gave up an easy one. The fight at the end was nice but we lost that game before the injuries piled up.

To be fair we were within two goals until O'Brien copped that injury in the third quarter. We kicked consevutive goals in the last quarter.

06-05-2022, 11:36 PM
Disappointing.

We threw in the towel early in the third, things went worse and only when it was well beyond us, with one fit man left did the effort really ramp up. Like they gave themselves permission to fully embrace the challenge.

I’m not necessarily saying it was a lack of effort, but when the game was there, we meandered and fluffed shots. The stats for tackles etc are damning.

I thought we were destined for an 8 goal defeat at 3/4 time - 17pts flattered us as they had 3 posters and a few easy misses as well.

We were cruelled by injuries but even so, we played poorly and it was only the efforts of the few who prevented the flood gates from opening.

We are in trouble now and a win next week is a must.

The thing is though you don't want your best outside runner at the bottom of the pack. We're pretty good with quick hands in the contest and I'd rather it hit him in the open than say a McComb or Scott. I do get what you are saying but I think most of that would be game plan.

That's fair enough but when it's his time to go it doesn't look like there's enough effort and he may stick 1 tackle in 10.
The other thing is what does Martin offer us and would we lose much with Sweet who we should have pumped games into last year when Martin was injured. I don't believe the around the ground stuff either because I think they are on par with each other except one has age on his side.

06-05-2022, 11:40 PM
Disappointing.

We threw in the towel early in the third, things went worse and only when it was well beyond us, with one fit man left did the effort really ramp up. Like they gave themselves permission to fully embrace the challenge.

I’m not necessarily saying it was a lack of effort, but when the game was there, we meandered and fluffed shots. The stats for tackles etc are damning.

We lose the stats tackle by 20!!! They had nine of the 10 players with the most tackles on the field. That is actually unbelivable.

11 players had zero tackles on the field. We had eight of them.

Zero tackles

Bazlenka
Cordy
Dale
Dureya
Gardner
O'Brien
Richards
Vanda
Williams

06-05-2022, 11:41 PM
That's fair enough but when it's his time to go it doesn't look like there's enough effort and he may stick 1 tackle in 10.
The other thing is what does Martin offer us and would we lose much with Sweet who we should have pumped games into last year when Martin was injured. I don't believe the around the ground stuff either because I think they are on par with each other except one has age on his side.

Preaching to the choir there mate. Should have played him last season and should play him now. Martin got toweled up by a 3rd gamer.

Mutz
06-05-2022, 11:42 PM

I'd like to see Sweet given a chance as well. I was at the game a year ago (2 years?) when we beat Port and Sweet played a very decent game.

06-05-2022, 11:49 PM
We lose the stats tackle by 20!!! They had nine of the 10 players with the most tackles on the field. That is actually unbelivable.

Zero tackles

Bazlenka
Cordy
Dale
Dureya
Gardner
O'Brien
Richards
Vanda
Williams

Baz had 4 AP. Your point is solid though. They had too much free run and carry.
Considering we beat them 9-5 tackles inside 50 it's a key stat for sure.

06-05-2022, 11:54 PM
I'd like to see Sweet given a chance as well. I was at the game a year ago (2 years?) when we beat Port and Sweet played a very decent game.

But got destroyed by Gawn so was never seen again.

06-05-2022, 11:56 PM
Baz had 4 AP. Your point is solid though. They had too much free run and carry.
Considering we beat them 9-5 tackles inside 50 it's a key stat for sure.

Apologies. I must have put him down when I saw Bailey Dale.

06-05-2022, 11:57 PM
Sweet is seriously so bad. He’s getting wrecked by back up rucks for VFL teams and also he’s clearly behind Stef “Two Days Before My Police Pension Kicks In” Martin. Bringing him up is pointless and gets us nowhere but annoyed.

06-05-2022, 11:58 PM
It doesn't matter what stat you look at. We leave too much for too few to do. We are not getting an even contribution.

Metres gained.

Bazlenka 578m
Dale 577m
Macrae 543m
Treloar 428m

Then nine Port players in a row.

Richards 297m
Libba 281m

07-05-2022, 12:16 AM
Our defence were really poor in the air tonight but maybe that is what happens when you have an ageing broken down jalopy of a ruckman who had no chance of getting back to help and mids who looked like they were running through treacle by the end. The ball was in our forward line the last seven minutes but no one looked dangerous at all.

I’m more resigned than heartbroken, injuries have been absolutely devastating and cruel.

Im not sure how much injuries have forced the situation but the proliferation of low skilled low possession players in our fwd line is right out of proportion at the moment. And with the refusal to move Cordy was Bevo in effect just trying to save a shellacking, by not wanting Allir to have free rein?

07-05-2022, 12:16 AM
Bevo "I think tonight the rot started with how easily they marked the footy inside their own 50m". "We came in at quarter time and they had kicked five goals from nine entries and that is just a tragic ratio. That is one area of the game we let ourselves down in."

At least he is acknowledging what we are all saying. Now to put in place a plan to stop it!

07-05-2022, 12:19 AM
Bevo "I think tonight the rot started with how easily they marked the footy inside their own 50m". "We came in at quarter time and they had kicked five goals from nine entries and that is just a tragic ratio. That is one area of the game we let ourselves down in."

At least he is acknowledging what we are all saying. Now to put in place a plan to stop it!

It's almost like ignoring genuine KPD's over the past few years has had a run on affect... No one to blame but bad list management when our tall stocks are so thin.

07-05-2022, 12:22 AM
It's almost like ignoring genuine KPD's over the past few years has had a run on affect... No one to blame but bad list management when our tall stocks are so thin.

Sam Power. Let’s name him. He isn’t Jesus. He’s the list manager and this is on him.

Sorry to start taking aim at the sacred cow…

07-05-2022, 12:34 AM
Sam Power. Let’s name him. He isn’t Jesus. He’s the list manager and this is on him.

Sorry to start taking aim at the sacred cow…

More curious if it's directions from the Football department on who to target/draft more than anything. Wouldn't be pinning the blame squarely on Power but someone is calling the shots on who we draft and target in trades. At the majority of clubs, Gardner and Cordy wouldn't get games down back, yet they're regular mainstays in ours, this is a problem that's needed fixing for a long, long time.

07-05-2022, 12:38 AM

and when we actively trade away tall backs (ie L Young).........

07-05-2022, 12:45 AM
and when we actively trade away tall backs (ie L Young).........

Actually, more like traded away:
Lachie Young
Lewis Young
Marcus Adams
Jordan Roughead
Liam Jones

Some questionable players in there, but also some very-locked in best 22's. The problem is we've done nothing to really replace what we've traded out, hence why we are so thin down back right now, it shows in both the VFL and AFL team.

07-05-2022, 12:51 AM
Lachie Young
Lewis Young
Marcus Adams
Jordan Roughead
Liam Jones

Some questionable players in there, but also some very-locked in best 22's. The problem is we've done nothing to really replace what we've traded out, hence why we are so thin down back right now, it shows in both the VFL and AFL team.

Adams chose to leave
Young wasn’t getting a game
Lewis we refused to play
Roughead we should have never let go
Jones could not get a game (Bevo thought he didn’t have the courage to play)

07-05-2022, 12:55 AM
Lachie Young
Lewis Young
Marcus Adams
Jordan Roughead
Liam Jones

Lachie Young, FFS - wow scrapping the barrel there. Jones was before Bevo, Adams was injured the majority of time he was with us, Roughead is just a tall that can do what Gardner does and jury is out on Lew Young.

During the last three years we have recruited Key PP in Keath, Bruce, Gardner, O'Brien. We have tried.

07-05-2022, 12:56 AM
More curious if it's directions from the Football department on who to target/draft more than anything. Wouldn't be pinning the blame squarely on Power but someone is calling the shots on who we draft and target in trades. At the majority of clubs, Gardner and Cordy wouldn't get games down back, yet they're regular mainstays in ours, this is a problem that's needed fixing for a long, long time.

So if the list manager doesn’t get heat for the list, does the coach get let off for coaching… and the players can be ok with not playing well? Prob makes sense given our Pres isn’t anywhere to be seen. How about some accountability? McCartney used to get all the hate for everything list related on here… but Power gets plaudits for landing JUH, Darcy and Treloar (who literally had nowhere else to go!?)

It’s time Power said something about the state of our list. No way the club don’t have staff reading this forum to understand what fans are feeling. So… front up Sammy Boy. Tell us WTF is going on.

07-05-2022, 01:00 AM
Jones could not get a game (Bevo thought he didn’t have the courage to play)

Jones left in 2014, Macca was the one that forced him out

07-05-2022, 01:00 AM
We actually made a grand final last year when we had some fit players and some coaches who were experienced.

The list isn't perfect, the coaching/ MC decisions aren't, but the issues we have right now are issues no team in this even competition are going to perform at their best with.

Not to say we can't improve, but we need to face the facts and they're pretty obvious ones. We don't need to look hard to see what our issues are.

07-05-2022, 01:04 AM
Jones left in 2014, Macca was the one that forced him out

Yes. Correct. Paraphrasing. Ar a corporate event I heard Bevo basically say that he didn’t think Jones had the intestinal fortitude to make it. Some players have it, some don’t. He believed that was his issue in regards to being a forward.

07-05-2022, 01:05 AM
Lachie Young, FFS - wow scrapping the barrel there. Jones was before Bevo, Adams was injured the majority of time he was with us, Roughead is just a tall that can do what Gardner does and jury is out on Lew Young.

During the last three years we have recruited Key PP in Keath, Bruce, Gardner, O'Brien. We have tried.

I was more so making the point that for every two we've traded off for whatever reason (forgot to even mention Hamling) we only seem to bring one back in. At the end of the day, you have our current situation.

I wasn't praising all the defender's we've left walk as 'walk up best 22' - I was pointing out our lack of depth, yes we've bought in Keath, Gardner and O'Brian to cover the loss of 7 other defenders.. In my opinion it's crap, disagree, that's what makes forums a fun place to discuss issues, but for me it's crap list management.

07-05-2022, 01:06 AM
It has been a tough season so far. We put up a good effort tonight considering the five day break and the injury list. Top 8 is still a chance and other teams around us I’m sure will go through their slumps. Really need to get a win now next week against the Pies or else finals might just start slipping away from us.

07-05-2022, 01:10 AM

Zero tackles

Bazlenka
Cordy
Dale
Dureya
Gardner
O'Brien
Richards
Vanda
Williams

And 6 are defenders

07-05-2022, 01:13 AM
Good that our % is still over 100. We have had 2 big wins, 1 close win and the losses haven’t been big ones. Need to get a run on now. Don’t want to leave it late.

07-05-2022, 01:17 AM
So if the list manager doesn’t get heat for the list, does the coach get let off for coaching… and the players can be ok with not playing well? Prob makes sense given our Pres isn’t anywhere to be seen. How about some accountability? McCartney used to get all the hate for everything list related on here… but Power gets plaudits for landing JUH, Darcy and Treloar (who literally had nowhere else to go!?)

It’s time Power said something about the state of our list. No way the club don’t have staff reading this forum to understand what fans are feeling. So… front up Sammy Boy. Tell us WTF is going on.

I really don't know if the list manager is accountable for the lack of KP depth but he certainly doesn't pick the selected side.
As many people here pointed out during the trade period it was a highly flawed logic that didn't replace Bruce and put faith an often injured Martin. We were using Lewis Young as the ruckman in the latter part of last season and didn't replace him when he departed. He seems to be doing OK at Carlton in his more natural position
O'Brien replaced Wood which was a good move.

07-05-2022, 01:23 AM
I really don't know if the list manager is accountable for the lack of KP depth but he certainly doesn't pick the selected side.
As many people here pointed out during the trade period it was a highly flawed logic that didn't replace Bruce and put faith an often injured Martin. We were using Lewis Young as the ruckman in the latter part of last season and didn't replace him when he departed. He seems to be doing OK at Carlton in his more natural position
O'Brien replaced Wood which was a good move.

I don't understand the logic here. You're conflating one job in the football department with another and it doesn't stack up.

There seems to be this feeling that even though we've seen our coach actually state we would like more depth in the ruck and KPPs and that we have had to make do with what we have that it's his fault we don't have those things.

If it's the coach's job to ensure we have that depth then we have a problem. If we don't think it's the list manager's job to ensure we have that depth we have a problem. If these are our problems and they're not being resolved then we have a director of football problem.

07-05-2022, 01:33 AM
I don't understand the logic here. You're conflating one job in the football department with another and it doesn't stack up.

There seems to be this feeling that even though we've seen our coach actually state we would like more depth in the ruck and KPPs and that we have had to make do with what we have that it's his fault we don't have those things.

If it's the coach's job to ensure we have that depth then we have a problem. If we don't think it's the list manager's job to ensure we have that depth we have a problem. If these are our problems and they're not being resolved then we have a director of football problem.

You don't think that if Bevo said I need talls Power wouldn't go out and get them?
I think it might be harder to get the type of talls Bevo would play.

07-05-2022, 01:42 AM
You don't think that if Bevo said I need talls Power wouldn't go out and get them?
I think it might be harder to get the type of talls Bevo would play.

That's something I've been saying for a long time.

But, he's played Gardner, and he's played Martin and there's been better players than those guys with better attributes up for grabs over the past few years. And we haven't landed them.

Is that really on the coach?

07-05-2022, 01:59 AM

total agreed, all but Gardner was injured tonight!

Don't forget, Carlton had given up on Liam Jones every making it as a fwd and he was put down back as a last resort. Carlton were so rubbish in those early years, they could afford to lose to play him down back until he learnt to become a half decent defender. Jones went to Carlton in 2015 and only started to become a decent fullback in his last 2 years.

Do we put 3+years of investment in any of our young players to play them only as a KP in AFL games?

Lukewarm Beveridge
07-05-2022, 06:46 AM
Watching from the UK so feeling a little bit more detached this year (probably a good thing to be honest)

Obviously it's all incredibly disappointing, but I genuinely don't think we can underestimate the impact of injuries. I know it seems like we don't have much depth, but I'd love to see if Melbourne, Brisbane etc were tested for depth, as they haven't been in the slightest in the last 2 years. I'm aware Brissy just lost Joe to add to Hipwood, but they are literally their only two injuries, and Melbourne finally had some players out last week with covid and struggled past Hawthorn.

It's disappointing that this year has become a write-off but we are hardly an aging team.
Get some games into depth players, weed out who belongs and reload for 2023. It's very possible to go from bottom 8 to dominating the league (see Melbourne) with how equalised the league has become.

07-05-2022, 08:28 AM
Watching from the UK so feeling a little bit more detached this year (probably a good thing to be honest)

Obviously it's all incredibly disappointing, but I genuinely don't think we can underestimate the impact of injuries. I know it seems like we don't have much depth, but I'd love to see if Melbourne, Brisbane etc were tested for depth, as they haven't been in the slightest in the last 2 years. I'm aware Brissy just lost Joe to add to Hipwood, but they are literally their only two injuries, and Melbourne finally had some players out last week with covid and struggled past Hawthorn.

It's disappointing that this year has become a write-off but we are hardly an aging team.
Get some games into depth players, weed out who belongs and reload for 2023. It's very possible to go from bottom 8 to dominating the league (see Melbourne) with how equalised the league has become.

Good to hear from you mate, and some good points raised.

07-05-2022, 09:53 AM
Can anyone find Bevo's Presser?

07-05-2022, 10:05 AM

I am not writing off the season yet. Hopefully we get a few back in the next few weeks.

BTW, Hipwood will be back in the next two weeks, and Daniher has to work in the GYM on his shoulder and won't have surgery. So yes they haven't lost much.

07-05-2022, 10:07 AM
Can anyone find Bevo's Presser?

It's not on the afl website yet for our game which is odd.

The norf freo ones are there.

07-05-2022, 10:45 AM
I am not writing off the season yet. Hopefully we get a few back in the next few weeks.

BTW, Hipwood will be back in the next two weeks, and Daniher has to work in the GYM on his shoulder and won't have surgery. So yes they haven't lost much.

As long as we can make finals we are still in it.

07-05-2022, 12:10 PM
https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/bevosbrief-rd8-2022?utm_source=sfmc&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=AFL_MEM_INFO_OTHER_Bevo%27s+Brief+RD8+070522&utm_term=https%3a%2f%2fwww.westernbulldogs.com.au%2fbevosbri ef-rd8-2022&utm_id=35570&sfmc_id=15980437

07-05-2022, 12:50 PM
What’s happened to Caleb this year? Thought he’d had an improved
Month and was starting to turn the corner, but we really miss his creativity and influence to open us up and move the ball quickly through dangerous parts of the ground.

We are too slow to respond. It was obvious to everyone as soon as TOB went down we needed more height down back. Marshall started playing like Tom Boyd in the GF and clunking everything meanwhile Buku went off and Cordy went straight forward again. We adjusted in the last but too slow.

We had some great individual performers last night but again didn’t look like a team that was to a man prepared to do whatever it took to win the game.

Lot of work to do.

07-05-2022, 01:14 PM
What’s happened to Caleb this year? Thought he’d had an improved
Month and was starting to turn the corner, but we really miss his creativity and influence to open us up and move the ball quickly through dangerous parts of the ground.

We are too slow to respond. It was obvious to everyone as soon as TOB went down we needed more height down back. Marshall started playing like Tom Boyd in the GF and clunking everything meanwhile Buku went off and Cordy went straight forward again. We adjusted in the last but too slow.

We had some great individual performers last night but again didn’t look like a team that was to a man prepared to do whatever it took to win the game.

Lot of work to do.

Daniel has struggled since he stood over a certain ruck mid way through the 3rd quarter of our final game in 2021.

GD your last point on individual performers V team to a man is a brilliant summary of our entire season to date. We’ve been in each and every game but for what ever reason we are struggling to get the win like we did in 2015/16 and 2021.

Yes injuries are an issue but they were not early on in the season.
No idea how we fix it either, but we need to fix it fast.

07-05-2022, 01:23 PM
Daniel has struggled since he stood over a certain ruck mid way through the 3rd quarter of our final game in 2021.

GD your last point on individual performers V team to a man is a brilliant summary of our entire season to date. We’ve been in each and every game but for what ever reason we are struggling to get the win like we did in 2015/16 and 2021.

Yes injuries are an issue but they were not early on in the season.
No idea how we fix it either, but we need to fix it fast.

This is a point that might get lost somewhere down the track. Injuries are certainly an issue now and as Mantis has mentioned a couple of times you have to wonder why soft tissue injuries are an issue for us.

07-05-2022, 01:40 PM
This is a point that might get lost somewhere down the track. Injuries are certainly an issue now and as Mantis has mentioned a couple of times you have to wonder why soft tissue injuries are an issue for us.

It's no surprise that the Crows look incredibly fit this season with Burgess who was at the Demons previously.

We seem to never make changes unless they're forced upon us.

I have a second hand connection with Andrew Russell through an old manager and he is so adamant on the importance of the fitness people being key.

Swoop
07-05-2022, 08:06 PM

I thought he was poor last night but it was evident that Port put time into both Daniel and Dale. Has he been bad all season? I thought he was very good last week against the Bombers.

07-05-2022, 08:14 PM
Daniel and Dale weren’t influential due to the ease and delivery the port fwds got. Daniel is best when he eats up the poor disposals of the opposition going into their fwd 50. You dont get much of an opportunity when the opposition fwds are taking 16 marks inside 50 by 3 qtr time.

07-05-2022, 09:42 PM
I thought he was poor last night but it was evident that Port put time into both Daniel and Dale. Has he been bad all season? I thought he was very good last week against the Bombers.

Swoop I don’t think we can benchmark performance against Essendon or North Melbourne. We surely are aiming for top 4; not bottom 4. Have you been happy with his performance?

Swoop
07-05-2022, 10:17 PM
Swoop I don’t think we can benchmark performance against Essendon or North Melbourne. We surely are aiming for top 4; not bottom 4. Have you been happy with his performance?

That's a fair comment. He hasn't been as prolific as he has in the past, but I also think his presence has allowed Dale to flourish.

He was moved in the 2nd half to the forward line, the question is now if his form is a problem, what is the solution? Has the load been picked up by others? Could he be more damaging elsewhere?

I wouldn't be against moving him further up the field.

08-05-2022, 08:50 PM
Should've just stopped before the BUT!

https://i.postimg.cc/25StR5np/Screenshot-20220508-194740-AFL.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

08-05-2022, 11:52 PM
When you take 5 of your best players in Bontempelli English Bruce Hunter and Keath out of your team, most teams would struggle.
Our forward line without Bruce is a real concern leaving just one quality tall forward in Naughton. Equally troubling is our inability to recruit a second ruck man which puts enormous pressure on English when fit as our sole ruck man. I also believe that there is apart from Dale, Bailey Smith and Richards who is still looking to establish himself as a regular, that we lack genuine leg speed.