North Melbourne vs. Adelaide Crows Blundstone Arena 1:10pm Fox Footy

Collingwood vs. GWS GIANTS MCG 3:20pm Seven/Fox

Port Adelaide vs. Gold Coast SUNS Adelaide Oval 4:10pm Fox Footy

19-06-2022, 11:55 PM

23-06-2022, 06:56 PM
Did I here Jackson Archer will make his debut for North this weekend?

His mom said, "don't talk shit" when he called her to let her know.

23-06-2022, 07:27 PM

https://resources.afl.com.au/photo-resources/2021/11/25/51c03aac-180d-4da0-a9ef-9019d09bb88e/rYyGjBog.jpeg?width=952&height=600

23-06-2022, 09:24 PM
The Lions kind of remind me of the Dogs under Eade.

Always look capable, but never deliver when it matters.

23-06-2022, 09:31 PM
The Lions kind of remind me of the Dogs under Eade.

Always look capable, but never deliver when it matters.

Yep, play similar too.

Came to post about the Lions. They're overrated and won't win anything.

23-06-2022, 09:34 PM
Dees annoyingly appear back. Nice to see that dickhead Harmes stop a gun mid who doesn’t play for us for once.

23-06-2022, 10:10 PM
Dees annoyingly appear back. Nice to see that dickhead Harmes stop a gun mid who doesn’t play for us for once.

Presently Lions have lost over 6 percent.

134.2 to 127.9

23-06-2022, 10:23 PM
Bedford is a player who should interest us.

23-06-2022, 10:53 PM
Brisbane have defended awfully between the arcs tonight. Something for us to think about next week - maybe another shootout wouldn’t be so bad.

23-06-2022, 10:56 PM
Brisbane have defended awfully between the arcs tonight. Something for us to think about next week - maybe another shootout wouldn’t be so bad.

The G looks a kick too big for them.

23-06-2022, 10:59 PM
The G looks a kick too big for them.

Speaking of - how funny have the references to “they need to win at the G because it’s where they’ll play in September” been? They can’t even win in September at the Gabba.

23-06-2022, 11:00 PM
Speaking of - how funny have the references to “they need to win at the G because it’s where they’ll play in September” been? They can’t even win in September at the Gabba.

They lost the unlosable prelim.

Fagan doesnt setup the defence like the top coaches do. They just seem too open.

24-06-2022, 12:42 AM
Very bad match by Lions tonight. Seemed like so many missed tackles and fumbles. Dees kind of didn’t win. Lions lost.

We gotta win tomorrow

24-06-2022, 08:48 AM
Very bad match by Lions tonight. Seemed like so many missed tackles and fumbles. Dees kind of didn’t win. Lions lost.

We gotta win tomorrow

Lions did not look sharp, but Melbourne's pressure was incredibly high. They brought back some anger to their game last night and applied serious heat around the contest and ball. They created a lot of front half turnovers that resulted in easy goals. They looked scary good last night.

24-06-2022, 10:01 AM
They looked strong all over the ground. Jackson stepped right up. Their prime movers have to be nullified otherwise they collectively just overwhelm you.

24-06-2022, 10:05 AM

I remember when Glen Archer jumped over the fence in a under age game because someone was rough with his son...or something like that. Be great if he did it again.

24-06-2022, 12:17 PM
Melbourne's best is clearly the best in the competition. However, their best is not on show every week and they are clearly gettable when they aren't 100% on - hell, we were 5 mins and 1-2 more goals from getting them in the GF. What they did last night was just reinforrce their credentials as the deserved #1 seed.

Last night was more of a reflection on Brisbane than Melbourne to be honest. Their credibility as a contender was torn to pieces last night. That was the meekest, most inept performance in a big game from a top of the ladder team in many a year. Melbourne destroyed them psychologically last night and I don't think their playing group will recover for the remainder of 2022. And with their age profile as well as their poor finals record, their current playing group may not recover without some regenration of the list. Was reminscent of the Bulldogs circa 2010 when we started running out of juice under Rocket.

24-06-2022, 12:21 PM
Melbourne's best is clerly the best in the competition. However, their best is not on show every week and they are clearly gettable when they aren't 100% on - hell, we were 5 mins and 1-2 more goals from getting them in the GF. What they did last night was just reinforrce their credentials as the deserved #1 seed.

Last night was more of a reflection on Brisbane than Melbourne to be honest. Their credibility as a contender was torn to pieces last night. That was the meekest, most inept performance in a big game from a top of the ladder team in many a year. Melbourne destroyed them psychologically last night and I don't think their playing group will recover for the remainder of 2022. And with their age profile as well as their poor finals record, their current playing group may not recover without some regenration of the list. Was reminscent of the Bulldogs circa 2010 when we started running out of juice under Rocket.

I didn't see the game as I am currently away, but looking at the stats, the Melbourne mids smashed Brisbane. Brissie may be vulnerable due to the lack of good mids. Neale, best mid, but was well held

24-06-2022, 12:25 PM
I didn't see the game as I am currently away, but looking at the stats, the Melbourne mids smashed Brisbane. Brissie may be vulnerable due to the lack of good mids. Neale, best mid, but was well held
Honestly they have holes everywhere. But the lack of explosive mids and depth in the middle was glaring last night. Berry and McLuggage have stagnated and not made the jump from very good to elite like Petracca/Oliver did or Serong/Brayshaw or even Bailey Smith has done for us. To be fair they missed Zac Bailey last night - he is a jet and has taken his game to the next level.

24-06-2022, 01:28 PM
Honestly they have holes everywhere. But the lack of explosive mids and depth in the middle was glaring last night. Berry and McLuggage have stagnated and not made the jump from very good to elite like Petracca/Oliver did or Serong/Brayshaw or even Bailey Smith has done for us. To be fair they missed Zac Bailey last night - he is a jet and has taken his game to the next level.

Yep, it highlighted the point of difference Bailey brings, which is hurt factor.

Even when they were on top in the first quarter, they just didn't look 'dangerous'.

24-06-2022, 07:20 PM
Melbourne's best is clearly the best in the competition. However, their best is not on show every week and they are clearly gettable when they aren't 100% on - hell, we were 5 mins and 1-2 more goals from getting them in the GF.

This is the truest thing ever written on this board and yet I hate Sedat for writing it.

24-06-2022, 11:43 PM
I don't want to get peoples hopes up too much by Essendon are behind at 3 quarter time against the Eagles
Does it get much better than a Bulldogs win and a potential Bombers loss on the same night? I'm giddy.

24-06-2022, 11:46 PM
I don't want to get peoples hopes up too much by Essendon are behind at 3 quarter time against the Eagles
Does it get much better than a Bulldogs win and a potential Bombers loss on the same night? I'm giddy.

The Eagles have been slowly getting better, how nice the Injectors might be the ones to cop their best performance.

Rutten might have to stay over there for a while for his safety.

24-06-2022, 11:46 PM

Best part is Essendon have had 23 scoring shots to 19.

24-06-2022, 11:47 PM
Best part is Essendon have had 23 scoring shots to 19.

The first goal of the quarter could be telling.

24-06-2022, 11:48 PM
Cmon Eagles!!!

25-06-2022, 12:07 AM
Well a goal at the near 22 minute mark has the Eagles 21 points up.

25-06-2022, 12:19 AM
Well a goal at the near 22 minute mark has the Eagles 21 points up.

We're the big birds, Kings of the big game, we're the Eagles, we're flying high!

25-06-2022, 12:39 AM
We're the big birds, Kings of the big game, we're the Eagles, we're flying high!

That modern version of the song is an atrocity

25-06-2022, 12:52 AM
That modern version of the song is an atrocity

The whole song is

25-06-2022, 05:01 PM
Super performance by Carlton today. They have significant injuries but have been harder and stronger for longer against a genuine top 4 opponent. They have smashed the Freo midfield all day.

25-06-2022, 05:13 PM
Super performance by Carlton today. They have significant injuries but have been harder and stronger for longer against a genuine top 4 opponent. They have smashed the Freo midfield all day.

Yep. De Koning in the ruck has been super impressive against one of the more physical rucks in the league too.

This is a game style that we’re very capable of replicating against Freo in a few weeks.

25-06-2022, 05:16 PM

Have to agree, strong all over the ground, injuries are no excuse for them.

25-06-2022, 05:16 PM
Yep. De Koning in the ruck has been super impressive against one of the more physical rucks in the league too.
On the flipside, Lobb has been utterly awful today. He's just not a reliable key forward or ruckman, and at his age he is not going to suddenly tear up the competition or bridge the gap between his best and worst.

I'm still on Team Goldy for 2023-24.

25-06-2022, 05:18 PM
On the flipside, Lobb has been utterly awful today. He's just not a reliable key forward or ruckman, and at his age he is not going to suddenly tear up the competition or bridge the gap between his best and worst.

I'm still on Team Goldy for 2023-24.

You’re probably right about Lobb, but after today’s VFL game I think I’m on team Darcy now.

25-06-2022, 05:46 PM
As much as I dislike conceding it, Chris Scott is a very good coach.
He always has his team ready to play.

25-06-2022, 06:02 PM
Stewart just knocked out Prestia off the ball.

Long spell coming his way.

25-06-2022, 06:06 PM

Yeah that was really bad. Must have learnt it playing on Cameron all pre season.

25-06-2022, 06:10 PM
Yeah that was really bad. Must have learnt it playing on Cameron all pre season.

Cowardly as.

25-06-2022, 06:18 PM

Intentional tick
Late tick
Severe tick
High impact tick

Has to be 3 to 4 weeks doesn't it?

25-06-2022, 06:26 PM
Intentional tick
Late tick
Severe tick
High impact tick

Has to be 3 to 4 weeks doesn't it?

At least yes. 4 my first guess.

Stewart in hot water after Prestia KO'd in this incident
https://www.afl.com.au/video/786726

25-06-2022, 06:54 PM

4 would be better for us! Just watched clip on afl website. Sickening to watch Prestia on ground.

25-06-2022, 07:16 PM
Have to agree, strong all over the ground, injuries are no excuse for them.

Not this week, but they were last week. And they weren't the game before that, but they were one before that. It's a week to week proposition for anyone with injuries.

From what I saw Fremantle just didn't respond to any of the pressure and had an absolute mare. Carlton have vulnerabilities just like everyone else and need to bring their absolute best to compete.

25-06-2022, 07:18 PM
As much as I dislike conceding it, Chris Scott is a very good coach.
He always has his team ready to play.

And fall in a heap.......!

I'm not sure if the tire or if their structure eventually gets broken down by teams as they adjust to their set up. But we should have probably done them and it looks like the Tigers might after Geelong kicked out to substantial leads.

25-06-2022, 07:30 PM
Not this week, but they were last week. And they weren't the game before that, but they were one before that. It's a week to week proposition for anyone with injuries.

From what I saw Fremantle just didn't respond to any of the pressure and had an absolute mare. Carlton have vulnerabilities just like everyone else and need to bring their absolute best to compete.

Additionally, out of their next eight how many of these are Freo a lock to win?

Round 16 Sun 3 Jul 3:20pm Power Optus Stadium
Round 17 Sat 9 Jul 7:25pm Saints Marvel Stadium
Round 18 Sat 16 Jul 5:30pm Swans Optus Stadium
Round 19 Fri 22 Jul 7:50pm Tigers Marvel Stadium
Round 20 Fri 29 Jul 12:00pm Demons Optus Stadium
Round 21 Fri 5 Aug 12:00pm Bulldogs Marvel Stadium
Round 22 Fri 12 Aug 12:00pm Eagles Optus Stadium
Round 23 Fri 19 Aug 12:00pm Giants Manuka Oval

They might finish the year on 13 wins and in the bottom half of the eight.

25-06-2022, 07:40 PM
Additionally, out of their next eight how many of these are Freo a lock to win?

Round 16 Sun 3 Jul 3:20pm Power Optus Stadium
Round 17 Sat 9 Jul 7:25pm Saints Marvel Stadium
Round 18 Sat 16 Jul 5:30pm Swans Optus Stadium
Round 19 Fri 22 Jul 7:50pm Tigers Marvel Stadium
Round 20 Fri 29 Jul 12:00pm Demons Optus Stadium
Round 21 Fri 5 Aug 12:00pm Bulldogs Marvel Stadium
Round 22 Fri 12 Aug 12:00pm Eagles Optus Stadium
Round 23 Fri 19 Aug 12:00pm Giants Manuka Oval

They might finish the year on 13 wins and in the bottom half of the eight.

Power, Swans, Eagles and maybe Giants

25-06-2022, 07:49 PM

I wonder if it could even exceed 4 weeks?
Prestia will miss 3 weeks at least you would have to think.

25-06-2022, 08:11 PM
Thank you Geelong

25-06-2022, 08:16 PM
I wonder if it could even exceed 4 weeks?
Prestia will miss 3 weeks at least you would have to think.

It should - it was well past the ball and he had no other intention.

It should be 4 weeks at a minimum, but I'm sure he'll get off with 2.

25-06-2022, 08:22 PM
It should - it was well past the ball and he had no other intention.

It should be 4 weeks at a minimum, but I'm sure he'll get off with 2.

I don't think the AFL can give Stewart the same penalty as Bailey Smith and expect the media and clubs to accept it.

25-06-2022, 08:25 PM
26-13 frees and they had their best midfielder assassinated early in the first quarter? Tigers got screwed.

25-06-2022, 08:26 PM
I watched half of 3rd qtr & most of last quarter of cats came tigers (whilst making a finely chopped salad - dangerous thing to do in a tight match). As a neutral that was a ripper match. Result I believe means we stay in the 8 at end of this round. Thx Pussies.

25-06-2022, 10:04 PM
We don't Swans to gain percentage.

25-06-2022, 10:07 PM
Goals Saints please but low scoring so not so much of an issue.

25-06-2022, 10:12 PM
Could be a blowout.

25-06-2022, 10:12 PM
I will be absolutely embarrassed if either of these teams finish above us on the ladder. They're both so rubbish.

Saints also exposed horribly without their ruck tandem.

25-06-2022, 10:16 PM
Max Wanker.

25-06-2022, 10:19 PM
Saints have only scored 2g 6b: 18 pts at 3/4 time.
Have they no respect for our percentage?
I will disrepect them if they fail to goal in the last qtr.

25-06-2022, 10:28 PM
Ugly performance by Saints.

25-06-2022, 10:36 PM
Saints finally score a behind 1/2 way last 1/4.
I have zero hope they will goal.

25-06-2022, 10:42 PM
Shame Saints, hang your heads, shame.

25-06-2022, 10:43 PM
Swans only .03 behind us atm on %.
One goal Saints is all I ask in the final 7 mins.

25-06-2022, 10:46 PM
Billings to the rescue. I wanted him in the Bont draft.

25-06-2022, 10:52 PM
Could be a blowout.
Swans 119.5 % atm.
1 1/2 min's to go. Saints goal pls.
Swans have Dons to come so we no longer have % advantage over them unless we smoke Lions.

26-06-2022, 08:46 AM
This might sum up Stewart knocking out Prestia
It's intentional - He wasn't looking at the ball
The impact was severe
The contact was high - Hit his head

After review I think he gets 5 weeks.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FWFL6iNUAAAYW7q?format=jpg&name=small

26-06-2022, 09:48 AM
This might sum up Stewart knocking out Prestia
It's intentional - He wasn't looking at the ball
The impact was severe
The contact was high - Hit his head

After review I think he gets 5 weeks.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FWFL6iNUAAAYW7q?format=jpg&name=small

Straight to the tribunal then. Interesting.

26-06-2022, 09:51 AM
Shame Saints, hang your heads, shame.

On the plus side Saints % took a big hit.

26-06-2022, 01:15 PM
26-13 frees and they had their best midfielder assassinated early in the first quarter? Tigers got screwed.

Tigers always give up a lot of frees. When you watch them it is one of their tactics to just slow the play and let them get back to defend.

26-06-2022, 01:46 PM
Tigers always give up a lot of frees. When you watch them it is one of their tactics to just slow the play and let them get back to defend.

Usually yes but this was just brutal to watch. If you want to know why fans aren't going to the games then look no further than a blocking free off the ball against Lynch late in the fourth quarter negating a Riewoldt hanger to win the game. I swear neutral games didn't used to be this frustrating.

26-06-2022, 06:53 PM
Collingwood's behinds put them in front.

26-06-2022, 06:56 PM
Is David Swallow one of the surprise players of the competition this year?

26-06-2022, 07:01 PM
Does Nat Fyffe get a week for touching an umpire?

26-06-2022, 07:21 PM
Does Nat Fyffe get a week for touching an umpire?

I think he'll argue he was being pushed into him and bracing.

26-06-2022, 07:32 PM
I think he'll argue he was being pushed into him and bracing.

Probably gets him off.

26-06-2022, 07:33 PM
Suns are really pushing things with Port, next goal important.

26-06-2022, 07:36 PM
Mr Complete Defensive Performance just squibbed it at the worst possible moment. Good stuff.

26-06-2022, 08:19 PM
The more football I watch, the more I'm convinced that the ability to kick the ball hard and low over 30 - 50mt should be one of the key skills we seek in the players we draft and recruit.

The number of times over the weekend that I saw high, loopy hang time specials give defenders the time to make a contest or intercept the ball was very noticeable.

Blokes who can kick like Bont and Bailey Dale are invaluable.

26-06-2022, 09:02 PM
The more football I watch, the more I'm convinced that the ability to kick the ball hard and low over 30 - 50mt should be one of the key skills we seek in the players we draft and recruit.

The number of times over the weekend that I saw high, loopy hang time specials give defenders the time to make a contest or intercept the ball was very noticeable.

Blokes who can kick like Bont and Bailey Dale are invaluable.

And Schache, Daniel.

27-06-2022, 12:07 AM
Did I hear right that there is some conjecture if the Tom Stewart report is careless not intentional?
I'm not sure how they could come to that conclusion.

27-06-2022, 01:41 AM
Did I hear right that there is some conjecture if the Tom Stewart report is careless not intentional?

I guess the whole “1 second at most to make a decision” is important. I love hanging cats out to dry and even more when it could help us but also, there’s 1 second.

27-06-2022, 09:58 AM

The powers of ambiguity.

Why even have careless or intentional?

For me this also raises the issue of a card system. Tigers lose by a few points after a prime mover is removed and Stewart is important in Cats win. Nice it was them after Cotchin/Shiel, however irony aside I'd advocate for something like the hockey system.

"There are three cards, green, yellow, and red, which are used for misconduct violations. The green card is used for warnings, the yellow card is used to remove a player from the game for a minimum of five minutes, and the red card disqualifies the player from the game"

27-06-2022, 10:33 AM
The powers of ambiguity.

Why even have careless or intentional?

For me this also raises the issue of a card system. Tigers lose by a few points after a prime mover is removed and Stewart is important in Cats win. Nice it was them after Cotchin/Shiel, however irony aside I'd advocate for something like the hockey system.

"There are three cards, green, yellow, and red, which are used for misconduct violations. The green card is used for warnings, the yellow card is used to remove a player from the game for a minimum of five minutes, and the red card disqualifies the player from the game"

With the way our sport is played, far more contact than many other sports, my concerns about moving to a card based system and especially send off's is that we will spend the following week debating the merits of the card adjudications. There is a significant amount of carry on over a 50mtr penalty or how an umpire interprets a standing rule now so I hate to think what might happen if someone like Bont was sent to the sin bin for 5 or 10 minutes or Joel Selwood wasn't sent off. There is a chance the debate will be more focused on the decisions of the umpires

The AFL is a very different sport to the world game where players face off against each other and off side rules retain a level of order.
An AFL player going for the ball can have the opposition coming at him from all sides so I suppose the point I'm trying to make what works well for soccer or even basketball may not transition into the AFL.
It's faster paced than many other sports, there are no real time outs and there are 36 players on the field which creates a bit more chaotic contests than other comps.

Keep the penalties at a level that is a significant deterrent rather than putting the onus on an umpire to make a snap decision during a game.

27-06-2022, 12:28 PM
With the way our sport is played, far more contact than many other sports, my concerns about moving to a card based system and especially send off's is that we will spend the following week debating the merits of the card adjudications. There is a significant amount of carry on over a 50mtr penalty or how an umpire interprets a standing rule now so I hate to think what might happen if someone like Bont was sent to the sin bin for 5 or 10 minutes or Joel Selwood wasn't sent off. There is a chance the debate will be more focused on the decisions of the umpires

The AFL is a very different sport to the world game where players face off against each other and off side rules retain a level of order.
An AFL player going for the ball can have the opposition coming at him from all sides so I suppose the point I'm trying to make what works well for soccer or even basketball may not transition into the AFL.
It's faster paced than many other sports, there are no real time outs and there are 36 players on the field which creates a bit more chaotic contests than other comps.

Keep the penalties at a level that is a significant deterrent rather than putting the onus on an umpire to make a snap decision during a game.

I don't think it would be that hard to be honest. It would take some adjustment for sure but our game isn't that different to many others.
World game is a 360 game, many tackles from behind and shoulder to shoulder.

I just hate taking out players, I was sat on the fence as a 14 year old when Daniher knocked out Brown and I've hated it ever since. Typical Sheedy.

27-06-2022, 12:39 PM

What an absolute joke to grade this as careless. He went the bump, he knew what he was doing and elbowed him in the head.

The bullshit that came out on the weekend with " I am so sorry", his coach hugging him, oh he is such a great guy - just ridiculous.

This is no less than 4 weeks plus, and should be stamped out of the game, if the AFL were serious.

PS: a send off card would not work in our game, and I agree with all your arguments above.

27-06-2022, 12:43 PM
He knew exactly what he was doing. The big giveaway is passing/ ignoring the footy and going the body.

27-06-2022, 12:45 PM
He runs past the ball and elbows him in the head. Like I'm supposed to buy that a guy recruited out of the Geelong Football League didn't know exactly what he was doing.

27-06-2022, 12:47 PM
What an absolute joke to grade this as careless. He went the bump, he knew what he was doing and elbowed him in the head.

The bullshit that came out on the weekend with " I am so sorry", his coach hugging him, oh he is such a great guy - just ridiculous.

This is no less than 4 weeks plus, and should be stamped out of the game, if the AFL were serious.

PS: a send off card would not work in our game, and I agree with all your arguments above.

International rules had it, not sure it wouldn't work. Most other major codes are mature enough to deal with this type of system.

Order-off rule

A referee can send off any player for a period of 10 minutes (yellow card) or for the remainder of the game (red card) depending on the incident and severity of it. Players cannot be replaced and a red card also results in a penalty kick.

All you old conservatives fearing change !! xD

27-06-2022, 12:54 PM

In terms of someone throwing haymakers like Lynch did all those years ago I could probably live with a send off rule but those examples are few and far between and there is an element of confusion in those collision incidents that are often answered by looking at slow motion replays a few times. We just don't have time to wait for that to happen during games.

27-06-2022, 01:02 PM
In terms of someone throwing haymakers like Lynch did all those years ago I could probably live with a send off rule but those examples are few and far between and there is an element of confusion in those collision incidents that are often answered by looking at slow motion replays a few times. We just don't have time to wait for that to happen during games.

That's a good point re replays. The VAR is really annoying.

For eg with the Stewart/Prestia incident. I'd have the same type of system.

You've got a player knocked out. The ARC or whatever it's called notifies the umpire at the next stoppage that something has happened and needs to be checked.

He goes to a screen on the side and decides. It can be over in a few minutes, but it would be a culture change that people might struggle with.

Would need to be used with discretion.

27-06-2022, 01:43 PM
He knew exactly what he was doing. The big giveaway is passing/ ignoring the footy and going the body.
The $300m Taxpayer Funded Pissant Regional Toy Ground protection racket has been in full swing since Saturday arvo. It's a shame we just had Queens birthday awards, otherwise Tom Stewart would have been in line for an Order of Australia.

27-06-2022, 02:12 PM
That's a good point re replays. The VAR is really annoying.

For eg with the Stewart/Prestia incident. I'd have the same type of system.

You've got a player knocked out. The ARC or whatever it's called notifies the umpire at the next stoppage that something has happened and needs to be checked.

He goes to a screen on the side and decides. It can be over in a few minutes, but it would be a culture change that people might struggle with.

Would need to be used with discretion.

I think you take it out of the field umpire/s hands and the ''video umpire'' makes the decision.

The game can continue whilst a decision is being made and then the emergency umpire notifies the on-field umpires at the next stoppage in play of the decision.

Would think it might be a once a year occurrence for incidents such as this one and the Cameron hit on Andrews.

27-06-2022, 02:55 PM
I'm against it. I understand the concerns in game about a victims side being disadvantaged but i think it's careful what you wish for and I do not trust the AFL one bit to do it well.

I'd much rather they actually start treating incidents with clear malicious intent seriously when they hand out suspensions instead of trying to fix it in the middle of a game.

27-06-2022, 03:05 PM
I'm against it. I understand the concerns in game about a victims side being disadvantaged but i think it's careful what you wish for and I do not trust the AFL one bit to do it well.

I'd much rather they actually start treating incidents with clear malicious intent seriously when they hand out suspensions instead of trying to fix it in the middle of a game.

A consistent and strong approach at the tribunal is the answer, if players know they're going to miss 4 or 5 weeks it's a fair deterrent for them.

I don't think Stewart intended to knock out Prestia but once his focus diverted away from the football and more to making contact with the man then he has to accept the outcomes for that decision.

27-06-2022, 03:38 PM
but it would be a culture change that people might struggle with.

Wayne Carey still has a prominent career in the industry. James Hird is starting to be talked about like he's the second coming. Campbell Brown still has a job. The culture doesn't change so this is a moot point.

27-06-2022, 10:57 PM
The yellow and red card system works in other levels of Aussie Rules. Yellow card is 15 minutes off for a reportable offence. Red card is off for the game for a serious offence or 2nd yellow. Should have been in the AFL decades ago.

As for the Stewart v Prestia incident, why was the game allowed to continue? The umpire even told Prestia to get out of the protected zone whilst he was lying on the ground, barely conscious and being attended to by trainers...what a muppet.

27-06-2022, 11:39 PM
The yellow and red card system works in other levels of Aussie Rules. Yellow card is 15 minutes off for a reportable offence. Red card is off for the game for a serious offence or 2nd yellow.

We have a BLUE card as well now.

Player leaves the field with a head injury? If an oppo player was deemed to have caused said injury, he is sent from the field until the concussion test is completed (because the player with a player under concussion protocol is effectively one-short whilst the test is happening). It actually makes too MUCH sense.

On the weekend, we had a player leave the field under concussion protocols and ruled out of the game. Once the test was complete, the other teams player was able to go back on (so it isn't an instant report/conviction)...I mean, I guess we were still disadvantaged (especially since he has now been rubbed out for 3-weeks) but it's the testing period that (to me at least) is the key at AFL level...you can't activate your sub in a lot of cases until the test results are back, so you are effectively a rotation down...

28-06-2022, 01:15 AM
The yellow and red card system works in other levels of Aussie Rules. Yellow card is 15 minutes off for a reportable offence. Red card is off for the game for a serious offence or 2nd yellow. Should have been in the AFL decades ago.

As for the Stewart v Prestia incident, why was the game allowed to continue? The umpire even told Prestia to get out of the protected zone whilst he was lying on the ground, barely conscious and being attended to by trainers...what a muppet.

It's a very immature sport that doesn't penalise critical incidents in game.
Opposition is extreme conservativism mainly Kennett and gang.
It just makes sense.
Name one major sport that doesn't do this.

Also, no our game isn't that unique.

28-06-2022, 01:18 AM

Player leaves the field with a head injury? If an oppo player was deemed to have caused said injury, he is sent from the field until the concussion test is completed (because the player with a player under concussion protocol is effectively one-short whilst the test is happening). It actually makes too MUCH sense.

On the weekend, we had a player leave the field under concussion protocols and ruled out of the game. Once the test was complete, the other teams player was able to go back on (so it isn't an instant report/conviction)...I mean, I guess we were still disadvantaged (especially since he has now been rubbed out for 3-weeks) but it's the testing period that (to me at least) is the key at AFL level...you can't activate your sub in a lot of cases until the test results are back, so you are effectively a rotation down...

How do they handle incidental or accidental contact to the head in that scenario? I'm assuming it's subjective, how could it not be.

28-06-2022, 01:26 AM
How do they handle incidental or accidental contact to the head in that scenario? I'm assuming it's subjective, how could it not be.

Same as the world game when they go for a header.

28-06-2022, 01:36 AM

I'm not sure why we can't be progressive enough to learn from sports that let's face it are worth probably our entire competition per game.

Or maybe let's live in the era where Blight and Sheedy can send out hit men with zero penalty.

28-06-2022, 02:01 AM
Same as the world game when they go for a header.

So you're saying the competition MJP is talking about handles those incidents the same way the world game does via VAR?

28-06-2022, 06:46 AM
Maybe we should look at Ice Hockey and give the side that loses the player a power play the offending player goes into I suppose a sin bin for a set amount of time and have to play short.
Mind you I'm still against changes to the rules and they need to reel a few of the latest one back.

28-06-2022, 11:29 AM
So you're saying the competition MJP is talking about handles those incidents the same way the world game does via VAR?

I don't know what I'm saying. Let me know when you find out Jee.