View Full Version : Charles Sutton Medal

dalek
08-09-2022, 08:37 PM
Who is going?

It's Wednesday 28th September 2022 at Crown.

Who is going to win it?

My choice are from Josh Dunkley, Tom Libertore & Ed Richards.

08-09-2022, 08:45 PM
Who is going?

It's Wednesday 28th September 2022 at Crown.

Who is going to win it?

My choice are from Josh Dunkley, Tom Libertore & Ed Richards.

I think it will be one of those three.

Are you going?

dalek
08-09-2022, 08:51 PM
Yes, I have booked my ticket to go just waiting for confirmation from the club.

08-09-2022, 08:52 PM
I shall be there. Haven't missed one for a while, be nice to get back to one.

I think Dunkley, Libba or Naughton. I think Naughts came 4th? one year. He seems to poll well.

Macrae will be up there as always, and I expect Bailey Smith to be in the lead early doors prior to his headbutt incident.

09-09-2022, 09:20 AM
Will Dunks show up?

09-09-2022, 09:26 AM
Will Dunks show up?

He still seems invested in the club so he is very likely to.

09-09-2022, 09:29 AM

Surely he would’ve made a decision one way or the other by then… if he’s chosen to leave would he still attend?

Not sure it would be good for his ‘brand’ to be subjected to negative vibes if he was on his way out.

09-09-2022, 09:29 AM

He might string his decision up till the 29th Sept. ;)

09-09-2022, 09:36 AM
Surely he would’ve made a decision one way or the other by then… if he’s chosen to leave would he still attend?

Not sure it would be good for his ‘brand’ to be subjected to negative vibes if he was on his way out.

You would think so but don't some players leaving a club still show at the B&F?

09-09-2022, 09:38 AM
You would think so but don't some players leaving a club still show at the B&F?

Yes there was definitely one recently.

Not sure how he would be received, but hopefully people can put aside any feelings for a night.

I think the Crows told Lever not to come in 2017.

09-09-2022, 02:10 PM
Even if he doesn't want to nominate a club yet if he intends to leave it'd be nice of him to just say so already.

If he's staying I can only assume he's drawing it out for as long as possible to try and get every cent he can from the club. A concept I'm ideologically predisposed to like. The Bulldogs are the exception that prove I'm a hypocrite.

Edit: Just realised this is the Sutton Medal thread. I blame Dunkley

28-09-2022, 11:17 AM
Hoping for a Libba win. Had a very good year.

28-09-2022, 11:25 AM
Anyone but Dunks.

28-09-2022, 11:35 AM
Anyone but Dunks.

I'm hoping for a McComb/McNeil tie, just for the board meltdown.

28-09-2022, 11:36 AM
Anyone but Dunks.

Stevo reckons he will be there.

I think Libba or Naughts.

28-09-2022, 11:37 AM

Richards should be up there as well

28-09-2022, 11:42 AM
I'm hoping for a McComb/McNeil tie, just for the board meltdown.

McNeil should be on the podium.

28-09-2022, 11:47 AM
McNeil should be on the podium.

For pressure acts?

they add up

Swoop
Baz and English to poll well early. Libba and Richards to poll consistently. Bont to get a few big ones late.

Macrae will be around as always. I'd like to see Gardner poll in the top 10.

28-09-2022, 11:49 AM
Anyone but Dunks.

I reckon I’d enjoy some real time crowd feedback on his decision to leave.

28-09-2022, 11:54 AM
Macrae, Dunkley and Dale the only 3 to play every game.

Treloar, Bont, Williams, Richards, Libba, Naughton, Gardner all played 22.

My top 5 is Libba, Dunks, Richards, Naughton, Bont (not necessarily in that order).

28-09-2022, 12:35 PM
For pressure acts?

If there's not a pressure act award I'm walking out.

Macrae, Dunkley and Dale the only 3 to play every game.

Treloar, Bont, Williams, Richards, Libba, Naughton, Gardner all played 22.

My top 5 is Libba, Dunks, Richards, Naughton, Bont (not necessarily in that order).

Not bad I'd go

Libba, Naughton, Dunkley, Macrae, Richards

Naughts winning would be great for non mids to have a win

28-09-2022, 12:36 PM
Naughts winning would be great for non mids to have a win

He came fourth in his second? season.

28-09-2022, 12:44 PM
Libba is my pick for the BnF

Followed by Dunkley, Richards and Bont.

28-09-2022, 12:50 PM
Bailey Dale came 4th last year, I don't think his 2022 has been far off 2021 so expect him to be up there. Despite not having his best year there is no way Bont isn't top 5 and probably still top 3. I would be surprised if Richards or Naughton are top 5 but you never know.

28-09-2022, 01:29 PM
Feels like an open race this year. Wouldn't surprise me to see any of Libba, Macrae, Bont, Dunkley, Richards, Dale or Naughton finish on top. My tip is with Libba given he was a convincing winner of the WOOF player awards.

28-09-2022, 01:49 PM
If there's not a pressure act award I'm walking out.

What do you mean, I heard you are presenting it.:D

28-09-2022, 02:04 PM
What do you mean, I heard you are presenting it.:D

GG has made a trophy to present to McNeil. The inclusion of his own hair on it is slightly creepy though.

28-09-2022, 02:13 PM
GG has made a trophy to present to McNeil. The inclusion of his own hair on it is slightly creepy though.

And a vial of blood Billy Bob Thornton style.

28-09-2022, 02:41 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FdtaQpNVQAIlkyH?format=jpg&name=medium

28-09-2022, 03:01 PM
Would be great to see Libba win it. Been such an important player.

28-09-2022, 09:01 PM
Didn't see Hunter at the pre drinks.

Most others were there.

Bailey Smith wearing black and white Adidas sneakers with his suit left after about 10 mins.

28-09-2022, 09:32 PM
Dunks in front after 8 rounds.

Naughton second.

28-09-2022, 09:37 PM
I can't see Dunkley losing, the only other person I'd have near him is Libba and he's 20+ votes behind.

28-09-2022, 09:39 PM
Link and Site not working for me.

28-09-2022, 09:47 PM
Didn't see Hunter at the pre drinks.

Most others were there.

Bailey Smith wearing black and white Adidas sneakers with his suit left after about 10 mins.

Not an amazing look given his mid year suspension. Don't want to judge too harshly given he may have good reason but still doesn't look amazing without context

28-09-2022, 09:49 PM
Link and Site not working for me.

https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1229956/watch-here-charles-sutton-medal-event

Swoop
28-09-2022, 09:52 PM
They have been at a meal break for a while now...should be due to return shortly.

28-09-2022, 09:54 PM
https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1229956/watch-here-charles-sutton-medal-event

Cheers Bad , got it going but now it’s a meal break.:)

28-09-2022, 09:55 PM
Bevo cleaned shaved

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Fdu3Yj4UcAAwCDg?format=jpg&name=medium

Swoop
28-09-2022, 09:58 PM
Bevo looks like so much younger since the appointment of Lade. You can see the positive affect he's having on him already!

28-09-2022, 10:01 PM
Not an amazing look given his mid year suspension. Don't want to judge too harshly given he may have good reason but still doesn't look amazing without context

He can hardly smash a bag in front of everyone.

28-09-2022, 10:03 PM
Bevo cleaned shaved

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Fdu3Yj4UcAAwCDg?format=jpg&name=medium

The Review claims its first casualty.

28-09-2022, 10:14 PM

Sullivan absolutely shit it in for the VFL B&F

28-09-2022, 10:22 PM

Sullivan absolutely shit it in for the VFL B&F

Concrete evidence that Stef deserves another contract. Top 10 finish in the B&F*!!!!

**vfl

28-09-2022, 10:23 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/7LQJpdq1/20220928-211847.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

28-09-2022, 10:23 PM
Why are they not showing my beautiful clean shaven boy. Why are you hiding Bevo's face you cowards? Are you scared of what might come of it? I thought you were all better than that.

28-09-2022, 10:25 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/7LQJpdq1/20220928-211847.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

Daniel top 5 but no Richards. Would have guessed the opposite TBH

28-09-2022, 10:41 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FdvVrurUoAAVyWP?format=jpg&name=medium

28-09-2022, 10:47 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FdvWZSDUoAAJnKL?format=jpg&name=medium

28-09-2022, 10:47 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FdvXW9CUYAECBTK?format=jpg&name=medium

28-09-2022, 10:50 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FdvYNt6VEAIdw_U?format=jpg&name=medium

28-09-2022, 10:56 PM
None for the coaches award BAD? I though that was the best lead up and said a lot about that particular player's develpment.

28-09-2022, 10:58 PM
LIBBA! Leading by 10 at round 20 over the great darkness

28-09-2022, 10:59 PM
https://i.postimg.cc/0jkVnZqJ/20220928-215731.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

28-09-2022, 10:59 PM
How good is the energy Cody Weightman brings? Really happy to have someone like him at the club.

28-09-2022, 11:00 PM
Will be 4 trophies for Libba tonight if he takes out the B&F

28-09-2022, 11:00 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FdvaVAaVsAAexRO?format=jpg&name=medium

28-09-2022, 11:02 PM
How good is the energy Cody Weightman brings? Really happy to have someone like him at the club.

Highlight of the night.

Was drinking coke too last time I checked.

28-09-2022, 11:04 PM
Will be 4 trophies for Libba tonight if he takes out the B&F

I saw the Domestique Award and the B&F as you mentioned. What are the other two awards he won?

28-09-2022, 11:05 PM
I saw the Domestique Award and the B&F as you mentioned. What are the other two awards he won?

Community and Trainer awards

28-09-2022, 11:05 PM
Looking at the last few games, looks like Dunkley played well and guessing he takes it out

28-09-2022, 11:06 PM
Looking at the last few games, looks like Dunkley played well and guessing he takes it out

I just did the same thing.

Dunks is going to win.

The noise when Libba hit the lead was huge, he's the popular man.

Awk-award.

28-09-2022, 11:07 PM
I don’t know if I want Dunkley to win the Charlie to drive his price up or deny him and kick him out the door with nothing but a bad taste in the mouth.

28-09-2022, 11:10 PM
Dunkley the Bulldog leader in the coaches awards in two of the last three games. He takes Charlie.

28-09-2022, 11:11 PM
I just did the same thing.

Dunks is going to win.

The noise when Libba hit the lead was huge, he's the popular man.

Awk-award.

Let us know what the reception is like when he is announced winner

28-09-2022, 11:12 PM
Dunkley winning probably helps our cause for driving a hard bargain, but it leaves a bitter taste in my mouth that he leaves satisfied and accomplished.

In short, it further strokes his ego.

28-09-2022, 11:12 PM
It feels like the Domestqiue and the best team player awards overlap.

28-09-2022, 11:43 PM
Sad times. Dunkley has it. Burn it quickly before he can accept it

28-09-2022, 11:43 PM
Dunks...

This could be fun.

28-09-2022, 11:44 PM
Wait no Karl Drohgo him

28-09-2022, 11:44 PM
live stream died?

28-09-2022, 11:46 PM
Wait no Karl Drohgo him

I'm not sure how his stylist will feel about a golden crown.

28-09-2022, 11:47 PM
live stream died?

still running

28-09-2022, 11:47 PM
live stream died?

Perhaps hit refresh.

28-09-2022, 11:50 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FdvllnxVEAAm7Xr?format=jpg&name=medium

28-09-2022, 11:55 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Fdvm7vGVUAIXzR5?format=jpg&name=medium

28-09-2022, 11:58 PM
Libba congratulating Tim on winning a hitout, hoping he can win a couple more next year :D

28-09-2022, 11:59 PM
Libba congratulating Tim on winning a hitout, hoping he can win a couple more next year :D

Love this bloke, wish he had won

29-09-2022, 12:02 AM
Libba's quirky sense of humor is just wonderful. Great year Tom.

29-09-2022, 12:03 AM
Might be a bit parasocial of me but seems telling that Libba made a joke about Naughton as well (not sure how he even got in the top 10) but was deadly serious with Dunks.

Could be a bit of sentiment about him leaving but might show Dunkley just wasn't as close with everyone else.

29-09-2022, 12:05 AM
Bevo is a professional, he's handled a difficult situation brilliantly.

29-09-2022, 12:06 AM
Bevo asked Josh to be there to see it all through, praising his maturity. Puts the decision to turn up in a different light for me (also says Brissy need to 'pony up'

29-09-2022, 12:06 AM
Bevo is a professional, he's handled a difficult situation brilliantly.

Yes agree

29-09-2022, 12:09 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FdvoV65VEAAr5Yb?format=jpg&name=medium

29-09-2022, 12:10 AM
Not much clapping

29-09-2022, 12:10 AM
Nice crack at Andrew Dunkley too.

29-09-2022, 12:11 AM
Jeez hearing Josh speak is deflating after Bevo and Tom...

Very subdued applause. Rightly so.

Yes agree

Incredibly classy performance from Bevo - better than anything Fages will ever serve up

29-09-2022, 12:12 AM
Not much clapping

It's been pretty good.

Bevo very wisely prepared it well.

Libba is a classic.

29-09-2022, 12:13 AM
For anyone who has doubts about Bevo, tonight highlights he has a deep and genuine love for the club. His acknowledgement of Charlie Sutton when he was a player at the club and the way he detailed all the attributes of Dunkley really hit home for me.

Lets hope Bevo extends his time as the senior coach with our great club.

29-09-2022, 12:14 AM
It's been pretty good.

Bevo very wisely prepared it well.

Libba is a classic.

Not coming across well on stream and almost embarrassing.

Libba the best

29-09-2022, 12:18 AM
Obviously supporters are very disappointed he is leaving

29-09-2022, 12:19 AM
Real 'pin drop' stuff after that rousing speech Pickering emailed him.

https://i.postimg.cc/Qd44JVhx/20220928-231825.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Fdvsy7jUAAAN204?format=jpg&name=large

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Fdvsy7hUAAAT1nS?format=jpg&name=large

Obviously supporters are very disappointed he is leaving

Of course they are so it's very understandable. We never want to lose someone who was professional throughout his career.

29-09-2022, 12:20 AM
I wish they said absolutely nothing and just said the winner is J Dunkley. Horrible feeling. Horrible moment. Awful pathetic insencere emotions all around. I would have preferred that #branddunkly wasn’t even there. BOOOOOOOOO

29-09-2022, 12:20 AM
Real 'pin drop' stuff after that rousing speech Pickering emailed him.

That ending was so me me me..

Most were pretty gracious, no boos but not an overwhelming chorus of applaus either.

29-09-2022, 12:23 AM
It's great and very strategic by the club. Would have been a great personal honour for Libba but no doubt Dunkley was our best.

I feel his win raises his value potentially or at least provides extra ammunition for Sammy in our negotiations but overall the class we showed now allows us to leave this relationship with Dunkley with our heads held high and our dignity intact.

It feels like the culture issue rumours will go with Dunkley as well.

Proud of my club the way they have handled this. All class.

That ending was so me me me..

Most were pretty gracious, no boos but not an overwhelming chorus of applaus either.

Yep, not his finest work

Well done on a great season Josh - he was a deserving best and fairest, and as Nigel said he is one of only 13 players to be premiership, 100 game and B&F players for our club. The highlight of his speech was "to the boys...wow...i am going to miss you" read like an emotionless droid.

I thought Bevo spoke really well. As he said, "Brisbane are gonna have to pony up now".

Ahh Libba and Bevo seriously just love those two boys, Bulldogs through and through.

29-09-2022, 12:27 AM
To all you at WOOF... "WOW" and "I'm going to miss...you."

I'll be posting on the Brisbane boards next year but feel free to call me for a chat. You know how I love conversation and am good at it. You might not see me around anymore but I'll be watching you from afar... always watching...

29-09-2022, 12:28 AM
He forgot to mention his sponsors. Expect a few Insta posts in the next 24 hours ….

29-09-2022, 12:28 AM
Suprised by Gardner's placing. They rate him highly. Baz really struggled this year not great seeing him down there.

29-09-2022, 12:29 AM
https://i.postimg.cc/YqbKTrMT/20220928-232422.jpg (https://postimg.cc/QH9yTrBq)

29-09-2022, 12:30 AM
To all you at WOOF *checks notes* "WOW" and *checks notes* "I'm going to miss *checks notes*...you."

Fixed.

To all you at WOOF... "WOW" and "I'm going to miss...you."

I'll be posting on the Brisbane boards next year but feel free to call me for a chat. You know how I love conversation and am good at it. You might not see me around anymore but I'll be watching you from afar... always watching...

"has that security camera in the changerooms always been there?"

Suprised by Gardner's placing. They rate him highly.

I was really pleased for Gardner. Gives his all.

Yep, not his finest work
"Bevo I can't speak highly enough of you"
and he didn't.

29-09-2022, 12:31 AM
He forgot to mention his sponsors. Expect a few Insta posts in the next 24 hours ….

Stylist didn't get a mention after his effort on Brownlow night. Wow.

29-09-2022, 12:32 AM
Suprised by Gardner's placing. They rate him highly. Baz really struggled this year not great seeing him down there.

Thought that was well deserved. Only missed one game and was extremely consistent, with a few games where he stood out.

He has become an important member of the team.

29-09-2022, 12:34 AM
Fixed.

Well I'm a bit better at giving speeches than Dunks. You could argue I'm more talented in general if you want.

Swoop
29-09-2022, 12:43 AM
Grantysghost did Baz return? That was the most disappointing part of the night for mine.

29-09-2022, 12:50 AM
Grantysghost did Baz return? That was the most disappointing part of the night for mine.

What happened?

29-09-2022, 01:27 AM

He was at the main event swoop

He just wandered out of the Player Sponsors event early.

Bumped into him in the toilets later on seemed pretty happy.

Having a wee next to Libba, Chris Grant, Bailey etc I maybe got stage fright. Don't tell anyone. This is a DM right?

29-09-2022, 01:28 AM
What happened?

Nothing, we had pre drinks with the players from 6 to 645 and he left after about 10 mins nothing major.

Hunter I didn't see at all he wasn't there.

29-09-2022, 01:30 AM
Stylist didn't get a mention after his effort on Brownlow night. Wow.

Haha. Tippah's should've been mentioned. Lucky man.

29-09-2022, 01:38 AM
Nothing, we had pre drinks with the players from 6 to 645 and he left after about 10 mins nothing major.

Hunter I didn't see at all he wasn't there.

Hunter wasn't there at all as far as I could see.

29-09-2022, 01:39 AM
Thanks Dunks, don't let the door hit you on the way out.

Hard to buy into that speech when you've now requested a trade, twice, on us, yeah he gave his all but I'm not shedding a tear over him.

Milk Brisbane for all they're worth and turn him leaving into some proper defenders. If Brisbane don't pony up, zero problems with walking him to the PSD (not that we will).

29-09-2022, 02:20 AM
Well done on a great season Josh - he was a deserving best and fairest, and as Nigel said he is one of only 13 players to be premiership, 100 game and B&F players for our club. The highlight of his speech was "to the boys...wow...i am going to miss you" read like an emotionless droid.

I thought Bevo spoke really well. As he said, "Brisbane are gonna have to pony up now".

He did. The other thing that stood out to me about Bevo's intro to Josh was how he said he was the glue that held things together, and that others are going to have to stand up.
I can only assume he meant standards?

29-09-2022, 02:24 AM
He did. The other thing that stood out to me about Bevo's intro to Josh was how he said he was the glue that held things together, and that others are going to have to stand up.
I can only assume he meant standards?

To be honest I heard Bevo's speech as part truth, part reverse-marketing.

Anything other than what he stated about Josh would be on Footy Classified - Jamming Bevo with a Fat One Special Edition - at the next opportunity.

Bevo said all the right things, but just enough to also make Dunkley feel bad, Andrew Dunkley look like a *!*!*!*!wit in a relatively controlled but typical Bevo shot, and to galvanise the playing group against an enemy for next year in Dunkley and Brisbane with an excuse to band together.

29-09-2022, 08:04 AM
What a disappointing season it was. All year it seems we've just been scraping through, just doing enough. The way we lost that final was embarrassing and now our best and fairest winner has requested a trade to a rival top 8 club. I hate to be pessimistic but the way things have panned out this year we will be put over a barrel by team Dunkley and Brisvegas .

I really hope we have irons in the fire Tom Boyd style and have an offer in front of a Zac Bailey, Jarrod Berry, Harris Andrews or Cam Reyner. Something to make them feel like they are selling the farm to get Dunkley. Pony up Brisvegas!!

Congratulations to all the winners except Dunkley

29-09-2022, 08:11 AM
I really thought Dunkley missed an opportunity to propose to Tippah and then kick off a reality style show that follows them along their wedding journey.

Wedding proposal, wedding planning, the big day, the honeymoon and then conception of little Dunks...

29-09-2022, 08:31 AM
Done now, trade him and move on.

29-09-2022, 09:16 AM
To be honest I heard Bevo's speech as part truth, part reverse-marketing.

Anything other than what he stated about Josh would be on Footy Classified - Jamming Bevo with a Fat One Special Edition - at the next opportunity.

Bevo said all the right things, but just enough to also make Dunkley feel bad, Andrew Dunkley look like a *!*!*!*!wit in a relatively controlled but typical Bevo shot, and to galvanise the playing group against an enemy for next year in Dunkley and Brisbane with an excuse to band together.

What were the main tenets of what he said that particularly made old man Dunkley look like a "*!*!*!*!wit"?

29-09-2022, 09:25 AM
I really thought Dunkley missed an opportunity to propose to Tippah and then kick off a reality style show that follows them along their wedding journey.

Wedding proposal, wedding planning, the big day, the honeymoon and then conception of little Dunks...

It wouldn't surprise me if the Queensland Government is contributing a little extra something to Dunks from their "Film & Screen Industry" budget/slush fund, anything with a nice little kickback to Liam Pickering along the way.

29-09-2022, 09:37 AM
It's great and very strategic by the club. Would have been a great personal honour for Libba but no doubt Dunkley was our best.

I feel his win raises his value potentially or at least provides extra ammunition for Sammy in our negotiations but overall the class we showed now allows us to leave this relationship with Dunkley with our heads held high and our dignity intact.

It feels like the culture issue rumours will go with Dunkley as well.

Proud of my club the way they have handled this. All class.

https://youtu.be/xVFckYwEzzc

29-09-2022, 09:49 AM
https://youtu.be/xVFckYwEzzc

Marlo; one of the best ice cold characters ever created for the big screen or small screen...

Swoop
29-09-2022, 09:57 AM
You know Bont has had a down year when he finishes fourth. Bont has finished top 3 for the last 7 years! Quite remarkable ��

29-09-2022, 10:11 AM
You know Bont has had a down year when he finishes fourth. Bont has finished top 3 for the last 7 years! Quite remarkable ��

It was a bad year for consistency that is for sure. Williams was 14th in the count, but he had a shocker this year, so tells you a bit about how we were travelling.

29-09-2022, 10:29 AM

He and Macrae never really hit their best form at the right time and of course Bailey Smith missing those 4 weeks didn't help.

29-09-2022, 10:46 AM
Hunter not there last night. Not sure why.

Swoop
29-09-2022, 10:52 AM
If I was struggling with temptation than I may place some strategies to avoid situations where I may be tempted? Just an idea.

29-09-2022, 10:57 AM
If I was struggling with temptation than I may place some strategies to avoid situations where I may be tempted? Just an idea.

The pre-drinks event was insane. It felt like every 5 seconds someone was offering me a drink.

Crown do these events very well, but if you were trying to avoid it's a little overwhelming.

29-09-2022, 11:33 AM
Re-watching the vids, Libba is an absolute icon of this club.

Can we build a statue of him somewhere?

29-09-2022, 11:42 AM
Re-watching the vids, Libba is an absolute icon of this club.

Can we build a statue of him somewhere?

https://i.postimg.cc/6QntvX67/Libba.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

29-09-2022, 11:43 AM
It just feels like he's the DNA of this footy club; the spirit that makes us what we are.

There's been better players over the journey, but none come close to his unique spirit.

It'll be a bloody sad day when he hangs them up.

29-09-2022, 01:10 PM
What were the main tenets of what he said that particularly made old man Dunkley look like a "*!*!*!*!wit"?
Bevo just said something like Andrew had mentioned he needed more opportunity and Bevo reflected that he’d effectively had loads of opportunity and was doing ok for opportunity

29-09-2022, 01:50 PM
Congrats to Dunkley. Respect for him playing his arse off in his farewell season with us.

Leaves a BullGod and a BNF.

29-09-2022, 04:03 PM
Bevo just said something like Andrew had mentioned he needed more opportunity and Bevo reflected that he’d effectively had loads of opportunity and was doing ok for opportunity

Andrew has 100% influenced his departure.

Good luck to him and hope Brisbane never make finals again

29-09-2022, 04:03 PM
Andrew has 100% influenced his departure.

Good luck to him and hope Brisbane never make finals again

Haha love it.

29-09-2022, 04:12 PM
Andrew Dunkley. Always a red flag when you completely fall out with the football club you played more than 200 games for https://wwos.nine.com.au/afl/afl-news-sydney-swans-hall-of-famer-andrew-dunkleys-relationship-with-the-club-nonexistent/db848463-854e-4dad-b276-63ae5abccc28

29-09-2022, 04:24 PM
I was pleasantly surprised to see JUH awarded the coaches award.

It speaks highly of his character, hard work and dedication to improving. You don't necessarily get that with number one picks.

29-09-2022, 04:38 PM
I was pleasantly surprised to see JUH awarded the coaches award.

It speaks highly of his character, hard work and dedication to improving. You don't necessarily get that with number one picks.

Big pump up from Bevo as you’d expect.

29-09-2022, 05:50 PM

Bevo called him out as not believing Bevo was giving him enough chances in the right spot in the early days.

29-09-2022, 06:57 PM

Is this referring to Hunter? If so regardless of temptation it’s a piss poor effort to not turn up to the clubs B&F… especially as a former winner.

I understand not turning up to Mad Monday, but turn up to the B&F, bring a minder, drink water, chat to your team-mates and supporters and head home when the night is done.

29-09-2022, 07:15 PM
Is this referring to Hunter? If so regardless of temptation it’s a piss poor effort to not turn up to the clubs B&F… especially as a former winner.

I understand not turning up to Mad Monday, but turn up to the B&F, bring a minder, drink water, chat to your team-mates and supporters and head home when the night is done.

Piss poor is a bit harsh we don't know his circumstances.

I think he should've gone as well and now that coupled with the Mad Monday absence would suggest he's completely disconnected with the team.

Impossible to see him with us next season.

29-09-2022, 07:18 PM

We may never know why he didn't make himself available last night but what you have detailed should have been an option for him.
It's a big night for the club, players and supporters and you would hope every effort was made to attend.

29-09-2022, 07:44 PM
Piss poor is a bit harsh we don't know his circumstances.

I think he should've gone as well and now that coupled with the Mad Monday absence would suggest he's completely disconnected with the team.

Impossible to see him with us next season.

We shouldn't jump to conclusions and we should back the club that they will address this professionally.
While it's a chance he will depart I hope he stays.

29-09-2022, 07:46 PM
We shouldn't jump to conclusions and we should back the club that they will address this professionally.
While it's a chance he will depart I hope he stays.

Fair call Jasper.

Personally I think it's best for both parties that there's a change, but if not I'd trust Bevo to turn it around.

29-09-2022, 07:49 PM
Fair call Jasper.

Personally I think it's best for both parties that there's a change, but if not I'd trust Bevo to turn it around.

Same here and if Bevo is happy for him to depart I'll accept that.

29-09-2022, 07:52 PM
Is this referring to Hunter? If so regardless of temptation it’s a piss poor effort to not turn up to the clubs B&F… especially as a former player.

I've fixed that for you.

It's clear he's done at the club. I hope he is well and goes well, he's been good for us.

29-09-2022, 07:52 PM
I've fixed that for you.

It's clear he's done at the club. I hope he is well and goes well, he's been good for us.

That's a piss poor post.

Hey ppp.

Yep just hope hes ok and can have another couple of years at the top level.

Otherwise always remembered as the most excited player on the bench in AFL history!

29-09-2022, 08:12 PM
That's a piss poor post.

Hey ppp.

Yep just hope hes ok and can have another couple of years at the top level.

Otherwise always remembered as the most excited player on the bench in AFL history!

How so? It's been evident all year Hunter is on the outs and on the way out.

Also you'll note I wished him well and acknowledged his service.

This is an outrageous slur and I won't stand for it and demand satisfaction.

29-09-2022, 08:16 PM
How so? It's been evident all year Hunter is on the outs and on the way out.

Also you'll note I wished him well and acknowledged his service.

This is an outrageous slur and I won't stand for it and demand satisfaction.

Will you take this song as a sign of my affection?

https://youtu.be/U6AMDEMXlco

29-09-2022, 08:19 PM
Will you take this song as a sign of my affection?

https://youtu.be/U6AMDEMXlco

No.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=HmvSgvy7a34

29-09-2022, 08:26 PM
How's the section on Kamahl. How're the sound effects, and the backing music.

It's the most Australian thing I've ever heard. I can't believe it goes for almost five minutes.

dalek
29-09-2022, 09:37 PM
Had a good night. The meals were good.

After Dunks done well in the Brownlow, I had a feeling that he would win. While I'm disappointed in that he is leaving I wish him well except when he plays against us.

29-09-2022, 09:49 PM

After Dunks done well in the Brownlow, I had a feeling that he would win. While I'm disappointed in that he is leaving I wish him well except when he plays against us.

Good to have you back dalek

29-09-2022, 10:14 PM

Steak or Chicken?

The steak was insanely good!

29-09-2022, 10:15 PM

You should have went up to him and Exterminate, Exterminate, Exterminate

29-09-2022, 10:54 PM

Boooooo

29-09-2022, 10:59 PM
How's the section on Kamahl. How're the sound effects, and the backing music.

It's the most Australian thing I've ever heard. I can't believe it goes for almost five minutes.

Yep, mahatmacoat signed copies are where it's at.

dalek
30-09-2022, 08:04 PM
Steak or Chicken?

The steak was insanely good!

I had the steak & it melted in my mouth. To me that was one of the best meals I've had at functions.

dalek
30-09-2022, 08:05 PM

Never thought of that. :):):)

30-09-2022, 08:36 PM
I had the steak & it melted in my mouth. To me that was one of the best meals I've had at functions.

Totally agree.

I'd been to the Steak Ministry in Glen Waverley the previous week on the coin of a vendor, so we were thinking the Tomahawk but Wagyu Ribeye was our tame selection.

I dare say that steak was close to as good.

Perfectly cooked, melted in the mouth.

I could've had 10.

30-09-2022, 08:41 PM
Totally agree.

I'd been to the Steak Ministry in Glen Waverley the previous week on the coin of a vendor, so we were thinking the Tomahawk but Wagyu Ribeye was our tame selection.

I dare say that steak was close to as good.

Perfectly cooked, melted in the mouth.

I could've had 10.

The Tomahawk!

https://i.postimg.cc/43DmMnp2/20220913-193148.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

30-09-2022, 09:14 PM
The Tomahawk!

https://i.postimg.cc/43DmMnp2/20220913-193148.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

What kind of shit restaurant serves you raw meat?

30-09-2022, 09:18 PM
The surprise quality function steak. It's actually a fine art mass-function cooking that people don't really appreciate. Takes a lot to go right to get it to a high standard.

Ordering steaks out is often a road to disappointment.

30-09-2022, 09:44 PM
What kind of shit restaurant serves you raw meat?

I am married to a Vegetarian.

I'm glad she wasn't there!

30-09-2022, 10:54 PM
Heard a ridiculous thing today on Trade Radio. The club counts the preseason games in the vote counting.

01-10-2022, 12:44 AM
Heard a ridiculous thing today on Trade Radio. The club counts the preseason games in the vote counting.

Mentioned on the night

01-10-2022, 02:58 AM
The surprise quality function steak. It's actually a fine art mass-function cooking that people don't really appreciate. Takes a lot to go right to get it to a high standard.

Ordering steaks out is often a road to disappointment.

Yeah nah

01-10-2022, 09:48 AM

Mentioned on the night

I'm sure I heard it mentioned as well. I can see the argument to exclude it but does it matter?

01-10-2022, 10:34 AM

There were a lot of Past players in attendance although two in Doug Hawkins and Gary Dempsey who have Awards named after them were absent. Hunter is obviously still struggling with his personal issues. A highlight of the huge crowd of 1,200 in attendance was the great crowd support for Tom Liberatore.

01-10-2022, 10:48 AM
There were a lot of Past players in attendance although two in Doug Hawkins and Gary Dempsey who have Awards named after them were absent. Hunter is obviously still struggling with his personal issues. A highlight of the huge crowd of 1,200 in attendance was the great crowd support for Tom Liberatore.

Thanks NBP. Along with Tony his dad they are 2 of the most popular players ever with fans. Tony was the best bulldog to watch of all time for me.

01-10-2022, 11:38 AM
Yeah nah

Which part?

01-10-2022, 12:18 PM

Yes agree!

I saw Bernie Quinlan still feel small kid idolisation every time I see him.
Unfortunately didn't get to have a chat. I may have not been able to speak anyway.

I mean it's Super Boot!

For those younger Woofers who haven't seen Bernie play here's a taste.

https://youtu.be/VPZnIIGK9xg

01-10-2022, 01:31 PM
Yeah nah

Hey hey this was good steak!

I don't know how they did it, but they did it ;)

Only issue : not enough.

01-10-2022, 02:34 PM
Yes agree!

I saw Bernie Quinlan still feel small kid idolisation every time I see him.
Unfortunately didn't get to have a chat. I may have not been able to speak anyway.

I mean it's Super Boot!

For those younger Woofers who haven't seen Bernie play here's a taste.

https://youtu.be/VPZnIIGK9xg

Bernie Quinlan remains a loyal WB person and often attends Club events. Tremendous to have Club legend John Schultz and together with two other Brownlow Medallist’s in Quinlan and Tony Liberatore in attendance.

01-10-2022, 02:56 PM
Bernie Quinlan remains a loyal WB person and often attends Club events. Tremendous to have Club legend John Schultz and together with two other Brownlow Medallist’s in Quinlan and Tony Liberatore in attendance.

NBP, next event I need you to introduce me to Bernie.

It's possible I'll not be able to talk but that's where you come in to translate.

I noticed Brian Lake was there too.

Gone quite grey old Brian. The rocket sprays took their toll.

03-10-2023, 11:06 AM
Anyone going tomorrow night?

Bont a certainty but who comes in runner up and third? - I think Libba and Tim

03-10-2023, 11:10 AM

Yep, I'll be there with the better half.

We have pre drinks with the players too, so any questions woofers have I can try to ask. (mainly Marra because if I talk to Marcus again my heart may stop he's too perfect).

03-10-2023, 11:13 AM

I think Bont, English, Libba

03-10-2023, 11:20 AM
I think Bont, English, Libba

I think early in the season that Richards and Jones could feature before their respective injuries.

I think it will be Bont, Libba, Tim. With the AFLCA Coaches Awards, Bont polled in 15 games, Libba 12 and Tim 8. I know they are different awards, but I thought our B&F is voted on by the coaches?

03-10-2023, 12:36 PM

I will look forward to attending tomorrow night and expect to see Bont and Libba fight it out. They were clearly our best two players this year.

04-10-2023, 12:31 PM
For those going, it'd be interesting to know what the "vibe" of the room is like.

04-10-2023, 12:57 PM
For those going, it'd be interesting to know what the "vibe" of the room is like.

I’ve just had a last minute call up for tonight so will (likely tomorrow) give you a full Dennis Denuto-style update.

04-10-2023, 01:10 PM
Well if nothing else it'll be refreshing for attendees not to have to suppress the urge to heckle the winner.

04-10-2023, 03:09 PM
Jones for best first year player :)

04-10-2023, 04:43 PM
I will be there..just doing the nails now��
I think it will be between Bont and Libba with Tim third

04-10-2023, 04:45 PM
Interesting to note there is a Q&A session with Ameet Bains scheduled as a part of this evening.

04-10-2023, 05:00 PM
Interesting to note there is a Q&A session with Ameet Bains scheduled as a part of this evening.

Ameet is a star. We are very lucky to have him.

04-10-2023, 10:18 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/F7lSNInboAARe5B?format=jpg&name=medium

04-10-2023, 10:26 PM
Bevo speaking. He looks like a guy who is not enjoying life.

04-10-2023, 10:28 PM
Bevo speaking. He looks like a guy who is not enjoying life.

My wife is there and just said to me (I've got a man flu) if you want to fall asleep listen to Bevo.

04-10-2023, 11:41 PM
Its very different to previous years. He is usually really profound and inspiring. Maybe he is not 100% well, but he looks like he is at a low ebb.

04-10-2023, 11:50 PM
Tim English 6th after 21 rounds. That is a suprise, but isn't a suprise.

04-10-2023, 11:53 PM
1 - The Bont
2 - Libba
3 - Richards
4 - Daniel
5 - L Jones
6 - Treloar

This is how it will end - if there is a concern its that our top 6 is dominated by guys closer to the end of their career and none of the Fab 4 are in the top 6.

It begs the question whether we are paying guys Naughts et al on potential or performance

04-10-2023, 11:55 PM
1 - The Bont
2 - Libba
3 - Richards
4 - Daniel
5 - L Jones
6 - Treloar

Where’s the AA ruck? Don’t the judges rate rucks?

04-10-2023, 11:58 PM
Where’s the AA ruck? Don’t the judges rate rucks?

Is that a rhetorical question?

05-10-2023, 12:01 AM
Is that a rhetorical question?

I would’ve thought a break out year, AA honours, gets you top 6? Surely. Or don’t the coaches think he influenced games enough.

It’s intriguing.

05-10-2023, 12:03 AM
I would’ve thought a break out year, AA honours, gets you top 6? Surely. Or don’t the coaches think he influenced games enough.

It’s intriguing.

I'm not suprised. Bevo has shown he doesn't rate the ruck position for a long, long time.

05-10-2023, 12:04 AM
I'm not suprised. Bevo has shown he doesn't rate the ruck position for a long, long time.

Lets not confuse Bevo's views on the ruck with how he views Tim. He rates Tim.

05-10-2023, 12:07 AM
Lets not confuse Bevo's views on the ruck with how he views Tim. He rates Tim.

Rate your opinion, views and insights highly. However, the Charles Sutton leaderboard doesn't really reflect that after the season that Tim had.

05-10-2023, 12:09 AM
None of the fab 4 are in our top 6 in the club B&F.

The top 2 in the B&F, won the vote by more than they did in prior years, meaning that they dominated games.

Where was Macrae? English? Naughts? Cody?, B Smith? B Dale?

Pleasing that Ed Richards finished 3rd - talk about break out season!

05-10-2023, 12:10 AM
5 Times winner

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/F7mAS8OaYAEYNVp?format=jpg&name=large

05-10-2023, 12:11 AM
None of the fab 4 are in our top 6 in the club B&F.

The top 2 in the B&F, won the vote by more than they did in prior years, meaning that they dominated games.

Where was Macrae? English? Naughts? Cody?, B Smith? B Dale?

Pleasing that Ed Richards finished 3rd - talk about break out season!

Think that says a lot about our demise really. The next group coming through are not stepping up.

05-10-2023, 12:14 AM
After the Home and Away season. Harris Andrews is winning the Lions B&F. Neale second. Neale can't even win his B&F.

Wins the Brownlow. Doesn't get AA. Doesn't win his own B&F over the Home and Away.

p.s. Dunkley in fourth position

05-10-2023, 12:16 AM
Rate your opinion, views and insights highly. However, the Charles Sutton leaderboard doesn't really reflect that after the season that Tim had.

It's not Bevo's award though, it's voted on by a number of people. I just don't think we say Tim's lack of votes is because Bevo doesn't rate ruck man.

05-10-2023, 12:20 AM
Think that says a lot about our demise really. The next group coming through are not stepping up.

To be fair Dale, English, Naughts and JUH finished int he top 10,so I may have jumped the gun

05-10-2023, 12:22 AM
To be fair Dale, English, Naughts and JUH finished int he top 10,so I may have jumped the gun

Also, Bont and Libba are generational talents who are still in prime football years. As Pendles showed in the GF, if players have a professional approach to their preparation and lifestyle they can contribute at an elite level well into their 30s.

05-10-2023, 12:23 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/F7mFN50bcAAjUHc?format=jpg&name=large

05-10-2023, 12:24 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/F7mFmF2bMAAyvFP?format=jpg&name=medium

05-10-2023, 12:25 AM
JJ fininished 13th after only playing 11 games, which is the equivilanent of 5th if he played every game. Good comeback on what he had produced in prior years.

05-10-2023, 12:27 AM
Where?s the AA ruck? Don?t the judges rate rucks?

A ruckman won our B&F last year....;)

05-10-2023, 12:29 AM
How does Tim finishing 7th in the B&F impact his decision to stay or leave when he was AA and clearly the best Ruck in the competition this year?

05-10-2023, 12:30 AM
Jon Ralph

"The Bont 5 best and fairests in ten completed seasons. What a mega star. But Macrae and Smith 14th and 15th sums up what went wrong for the Dogs. In a star driven league Beveridge didn’t maximise his talent"

05-10-2023, 12:40 AM
Jon Ralph

"The Bont 5 best and fairests in ten completed seasons. What a mega star. But Macrae and Smith 14th and 15th sums up what went wrong for the Dogs. In a star driven league Beveridge didn’t maximise his talent"

What vacuous shit.

A star driven league. Absolute pollution.

05-10-2023, 12:42 AM
What vacuous shit.

A star driven league. Absolute pollution.

Horrific take. Look at Pies. A star driven team didn't win the flag. It was 23 players playing their role on the day that won the cup.

05-10-2023, 12:55 AM
mmm Bullldogs social media having a crack at Lions B&F result ...

https://x.com/westernbulldogs/status/1709552501329211491?s=20

05-10-2023, 01:00 AM
Winning 5 V/@AFL B&Fs before turning 28 years old

Dick Reynolds
Alan Ruthven
Kevin Murray
Bob Skilton
John Schultz
Gary Dempsey
Leigh Matthews
John Murphy
Garry Wilson
Matthew Pavlich
Nick Riewoldt
Chris Judd
MARCUS BONTEMPELLI

05-10-2023, 02:29 AM
JJ fininished 13th after only playing 11 games, which is the equivilanent of 5th if he played every game. Good comeback on what he had produced in prior years.

Amazing when you play a guy in his position

05-10-2023, 08:45 AM
Can any of you really believe how privileged we are to see Marcus Bontempelli play AFL?

An absolute star. I can't wait to see him hold aloft the premiership cup one more time before he retires.

05-10-2023, 10:10 AM
Jon Ralph

"The Bont 5 best and fairests in ten completed seasons. What a mega star. But Macrae and Smith 14th and 15th sums up what went wrong for the Dogs. In a star driven league Beveridge didn?t maximise his talent"

Out of a really strong field Jon Ralph is the worst scribe in the game... he's ****ing ordinary.

05-10-2023, 10:21 AM
Out of a really strong field Jon Ralph is the worst scribe in the game... he's ****ing ordinary.

The new generation of journos don't compare to the old school.

Who can write a great storytelling piece on the game these days? Greg Baum, Rohan Connelly, Martin Flangan ... any younger people have the same type of stoytelling skill? Robbo, another from the old school can do a great, insightful interview piece. Maybe I'm not across them, but the newere generation appear to be chasing the story but don't have the intelligence or skill to actually take the reader on any kind of journey.

05-10-2023, 10:39 AM
What a find this bloke was.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/F7luFTlbUAEiWka?format=jpg&name=large

05-10-2023, 10:43 AM
Bailey Williams 12th is a pretty average season from him. Need him to push up into that top ten.
English 7th is a surpise to me.

05-10-2023, 10:44 AM
A ruckman won our B&F last year....;)

A tagger don't you mean?

05-10-2023, 10:52 AM
mmm Bullldogs social media having a crack at Lions B&F result ...

https://x.com/westernbulldogs/status/1709552501329211491?s=20

Dunkley fourth fair first season.

05-10-2023, 11:22 AM
Dunkley fourth fair first season.

Nah. Let's run the opposite narrative. He won last year. He finished fourth this year. He has gone backwards and played so poorly he could not take votes off Neale and cost Bont the Brownlow.

Let's run with that. It makes me feel better.

05-10-2023, 11:59 AM

Is he wrong though?

I don't blame Beveridge for the performances of two individuals but based on talent and past performance, those two should not be finishing mid-teams in the B&F. I noted yesterday Jack Macrae has had a 27x goal assist season (Bont had 24 this year for comparison)...this year he had 13.

05-10-2023, 12:00 PM
Nah. Let's run the opposite narrative. He won last year. He finished fourth this year. He has gone backwards and played so poorly he could not take votes off Neale and cost Bont the Brownlow.

Let's run with that. It makes me feel better.

And he tagged De Goey in the GF...who kicked 2x CRUCIAL goals.

05-10-2023, 12:19 PM
Is he wrong though?

I don't blame Beveridge for the performances of two individuals but based on talent and past performance, those two should not be finishing mid-teams in the B&F. I noted yesterday Jack Macrae has had a 27x goal assist season (Bont had 24 this year for comparison)...this year he had 13.

It's just lazy journalism to insinuate that Beveridge was at fault for the drop off in output of both of these players.

It's true they both had very poor years... so why not dig deeper into why that was the case instead of just blaming the coach based on the roles they were asked to play?

05-10-2023, 12:24 PM
It's just lazy journalism to insinuate that Beveridge was at fault for the drop off in output of both of these players.

It's true they both had very poor years... so why not dig deeper into why that was the case instead of just blaming the coach based on the roles they were asked to play?

Could not agree more strongly with this post. Bailey Smith even commented his attitude to playing the role he was asked to play could have been better.

05-10-2023, 01:24 PM

Isn't the coach ultimately responsible for the performance of the players.
He clearly accepted the poor form because those players played every game they were available.
Surely how he used them contributed to how they played

05-10-2023, 01:34 PM
Didn't Bevo look flat last night. Ideally he needs a good month or more off but with a few appointments need to complete the footy department he probably can't afford to do that.

05-10-2023, 01:43 PM
OK, I made it home after last night at Crown. Even manage to spend a little time in the afterparty with the players and rest of the crew. It was my first Charlie Sutton for a while, so an enjoyable celebration overall. A reminder that we are a good club.

Here are my observations:

- when I walked in the room, they had two musicians playing classical string music. Very classy but a little un-Bulldog. What would EJ think?
- I managed to talk to about 80% of the players at some point during the night. The younger ones just love being there and experiencing a big free function at Crown, and their WAGs are right into it because they don't get invited to the Brownlow and the other big events. I predict quite a few up and coming influencers amongst that group of WAGs.
- James O'Donnell is a ripping young bloke.
- Rohan Smith wasn't there. The version I heard was he doesn't want to be in the same room as Chris Grant.
- Whether by design or not, I'm not sure, I felt Chris Grant kept a low profile.
- Of the players, the only one I didn't see in the room was Robbie McComb, but I may have missed others.
- The room lit up anytime Libba was mentioned or involved.
- We are a better club from having Liam Jones part of it.
- The Naughton announcement shocked the room in a great way. The club has posted Marra's reaction to the news. I was fairly close to the front and it's fair to say that it was an extremely popular decision amongst the playing group.
- I spoke with Naughty. He's really excited about it and loves the club. I spoke with Naughty's dad. He's still not going to change from being a Collingwood supporter, but did admit that this announcement was a second reason why it has been such a great week for him.
- I suggested to Marra that he now needs an 8 year deal and said, nah he wants 9!
- Ed Richards is a significant part of our footy club. His 3rd placing during an injury-filled season shows he is valued by the coaching group. Wouldn't surprise me if he is part of next year's leadership group.
- Asked Adam Treloar and Kim who they were going for last Saturday and definitely it was Brisbane said Kim - they were sitting with the Dunkley family. Suspect Kim still has some bitterness towards the Pies.
- It was a highlight seeing Tim English receive the Most Improved Award on stage from Tony Liberatore - what a great game that whatever size you are, you can succeed.
- In the room, Bevo's speech was very flat, just as I'm sure it was on the livestream. Mostly thankyous, particularly the focus on Rohan Smith, clearly the elephant in the room this year. I think we all expect something a bit more inspirational from Bevo, even following a disappointing year. Hope he's OK.
- It felt like people were just chatting through President Kylie's speech. She's engaging one on one, but just seems to be on auto-pilot when delivering a speech. All technically accurate and correct, but no passion.
- Clay Smith was there and was up and about. Also saw him at the after party later. I would be amazed if he is not part of next year's new coaching panel. It felt like he was now part of the furniture.
- Bont was flying off overseas at 4am this morning. I'm guessing North America.
- A lot of love for Josh Bruce.
- Felt for Jack Macrae, usually right at the top of the Medal count. This year he was well back. I just wonder what the future is for him and whether he can re-invent himself in a different role like Matthew Boyd or Scott Pendlebury.
- Bailey Smith seemed to spend most of the night en route to the bathroom. Maybe too much Barry before the main event?
- Further on Bailey Smith, he is a very different unit to the rest of the team. I never feel he's part of the team or mixes with the rest of the boys. It's also not a good look to be vaping in public at an event like this. I feel that Bevo spends a lot of time and attention managing him. Really wonder whether it's worth it. Bailey is happy to get a selfie with anyone, but I'd like to have seen him joking around with his teammates like all the others seemed to.

I'm sure other things will come to mind, but hopefully this gives an idea of the "vibe" I experienced.

05-10-2023, 01:53 PM
OK, I made it home after last night at Crown. Even manage to spend a little time in the afterparty with the players and rest of the crew. It was my first Charlie Sutton for a while, so an enjoyable celebration overall. A reminder that we are a good club.

- when I walked in the room, they had two musicians playing classical string music. Very classy but a little un-Bulldog. What would EJ think?
- I managed to talk to about 80% of the players at some point during the night. The younger ones just love being there and experiencing a big free function at Crown, and their WAGs are right into it because they don't get invited to the Brownlow and the other big events. I predict quite a few up and coming influencers amongst that group of WAGs.
- Rohan Smith wasn't there. The version I heard was he doesn't want to be in the same room as Chris Grant.
- Whether by design or not, I'm not sure, I felt Chris Grant kept a low profile.
- Of the players, the only one I didn't see in the room was Robbie McComb, but I may have missed others.
- The Naughton announcement shocked the room in a great way. The club has posted Marra's reaction to the news. I was fairly close to the front and it's fair to say that it was an extremely popular decision amongst the playing group.
- I spoke with Naughty. He's really excited about it and loves the club. I spoke with Naughty's dad. He's still not going to change from being a Collingwood supporter, but did admit that this announcement was a second reason why it has been such a great week for him.
- I suggested to Marra that he now needs an 8 year deal and said, nah he wants 9!
- Ed Richards is a significant part of our footy club. His 3rd placing during an injury-filled season shows he is valued by the coaching group. Wouldn't surprise me if he is part of next year's leadership group.
- Asked Adam Treloar and Kim who they were going for last Saturday and definitely it was Brisbane said Kim - they were sitting with the Dunkley family. Suspect Kim still has some bitterness towards the Pies.
- It was a highlight seeing Tim English receive the Most Improved Award on stage from Tony Liberatore - what a great game that whatever size you are, you can succeed.
- In the room, Bevo's speech was very flat, just as I'm sure it was on the livestream. Mostly thankyous, particularly the focus on Rohan Smith, clearly the elephant in the room this year. I think we all expect something a bit more inspirational from Bevo, even following a disappointing year. Hope he's OK.
- It felt like people were just chatting through President Kylie's speech. She's engaging one on one, but just seems to be on auto-pilot when delivering a speech. All technically accurate and correct, but no passion.
- Clay Smith was there and was up and about. Also saw him at the after party later. I would be amazed if he is not part of next year's new coaching panel. It felt like he was now part of the furniture.
- Felt for Jack Macrae, usually right at the top of the Medal count. This year he was well back. I just wonder what the future is for him and whether he can re-invent himself in a different role like Matthew Boyd or Scott Pendlebury.
- Bailey Smith seemed to spend most of the night en route to the bathroom. Maybe too much Barry before the main event?
- Further on Bailey Smith, he is a very different unit to the rest of the team. I never feel he's part of the team or mixes with the rest of the boys. It's also not a good look to be vaping in public at an event like this. I feel that Bevo spends a lot of time and attention managing him. Really wonder whether it's worth it. Bailey is happy to get a selfie with anyone, but I'd like to have seen him joking around with his teammates like all the others seemed to.

I'm sure other things will come to mind, but hopefully this gives an idea of the "vibe" I experienced.

Great insight. Appreciate the time to write it out.

Three main points stand out to me.

1. The whole Rohan Smith v Chris Grant thing seems to be creating a divide. It was a curious call from Grant to get rid of Rohan. What was his rationale? I'm not sure Granty is doing good for the club IMHO.

2. How you described Smith is exactly how I perceive him. It goes in line with his personal branding taking precedence over his football. Him vaping and heading to the bathrooms is concerning. All I can picture is Kramer feeling good all the time. Needs to change otherwise I'm even more tempted to offload him before his stock plummets.

3. Bevo. I listened to his speech. I didn't find it flat but it was certainly uninspiring. Really feels he needs a break. I'm surprised he hasn't walked away if he's feeling that stressed and burnt out. We can't have a coach in that state. It kind of reflects our performances.

05-10-2023, 02:00 PM
Great insight. Appreciate the time to write it out.

Three main points stand out to me.

1. The whole Rohan Smith v Chris Grant thing seems to be creating a divide. It was a curious call from Grant to get rid of Rohan. What was his rationale? I'm not sure Granty is doing good for the club IMHO.

2. How you described Smith is exactly how I perceive him. It goes in line with his personal branding taking precedence over his football. Him vaping and heading to the bathrooms is concerning. All I can picture is Kramer feeling good all the time. Needs to change otherwise I'm even more tempted to offload him before his stock plummets.

3. Bevo. I listened to his speech. I didn't find it flat but it was certainly uninspiring. Really feels he needs a break. I'm surprised he hasn't walked away if he's feeling that stressed and burnt out. We can't have a coach in that state. It kind of reflects our performances.

Thanks BT&T.

With Bubba v Turtle, the decision on Bubba seemed very much an Ameet & Grant decision, not just Grant. My reading of the tea leaves is that Granty had to show he could make a tough decision.

05-10-2023, 02:05 PM

Anyone have a link to that. Google shows me nothing

05-10-2023, 02:12 PM
Anyone have a link to that. Google shows me nothing

Check the clubs insta if you can.

Pedro Sanchez
05-10-2023, 02:21 PM

Excellent insights - thank you.

In regards to English, did you get an impression that he was well invested in the playing group?

05-10-2023, 02:33 PM
Excellent insights - thank you.

In regards to English, did you get an impression that he was well invested in the playing group?

Yes definitely. His partner Rudi also got on very well with the other partners. I was interested to see how all players and partners interact with each other.

To be fair, with Tim he's so shy and polite all the time - definitely no extrovert - and you can't always tell what he's thinking. But he was very popular with those attending and happy to engage.

With Rudi now based in Melbourne for a couple of years, I think they'll just see how that all goes. He's very pensive and that probably reflects why he is taking his time with his contract. But that shouldn't be taken as he's shopping himself around.

Brendan Lade told a story about when he signed onto the Bulldogs, Tim texted him immediately and asked Brendan what he thought of him and what he could do to get better. Definitely a quiet deep thinker.