View Full Version : 2022 AFL Grand Final Day

22-09-2022, 04:04 PM
Who wins and by how much?

By the way I think Vandermeer is our representative in the sprint

22-09-2022, 04:08 PM
I’m thinking Cats. Dangerfield will be thinking this could possibly be his last ditched effort for a premiership and I’m expecting him to explode. Geelong has the fwd line to really let rip if given the opportunity, but Rohan and Cameron have shit the bed in finals before lol

It should be fairly close, especially to half time, but I think the cats will break to a 2-3 goal lead at 3qtr time, and be able to hang on.

Geel by 14 points

22-09-2022, 04:45 PM
Swans for mine by 20.

Think they'll break them in the third.

2012 style. Where's Mitch Morton.

Edit : It was the last in 2012.

22-09-2022, 05:12 PM

At great odds too, $1000.00 the win but only $1.01 to ping a hammy!
BTW hoping for the Swannies to get up.

22-09-2022, 05:23 PM
Here’s to a Cats win from a dubious free kick after the siren and lots of fights and injuries.

22-09-2022, 05:23 PM
Cats will win by 19, though I'd like the Swans to win by 46.

Dangerfield will win the Norm Smith and everyone here will still say "yeah but what has he achieved" :).

Vandermeer definitely going to get injured

22-09-2022, 05:39 PM
Cats most likely, but would rather Swans and Buddy to kick 6

22-09-2022, 06:13 PM
Head says Cats by 22. Heart says Swans by 52.

22-09-2022, 07:09 PM
Swans have dropped Logan McDonald and bought in Hayden McLean.
Sam Reid named.

Seems they are risking an injured Reid who will only play forward and not relief ruck.

22-09-2022, 07:38 PM
Swans have dropped Logan McDonald and bought in Hayden McLean.
Sam Reid named.

Seems they are risking an injured Reid who will only play forward and not relief ruck.

It's the right move, McLean can ruck in case Reid can't and McDonald hasn't quite done enough in the last 2 games.
I say this a lot but it's a tough game.

22-09-2022, 08:42 PM

Laith to ping his hammy at the 25m mark.

Leek Aleer (Suns) to win by a length.

23-09-2022, 10:35 PM
Sydney’s pressure game can get Geelong IMO. Their mids are beatable

24-09-2022, 01:50 AM
This is a tough one.

Sydney match up well on Geelong with key talls that can test Geelong (Reid and Franklin), a ruck that crashes and bashes (Hickey) and two very good key defenders (McCartins).

If Geelong play risky and run and gun, I think they can do damage but if it becomes an arm wrestle I like Sydney and their ability to stay structurally sound, tough but also skillful.

Lord knows I can't put myself through another Cats flag.

Swans by 11

24-09-2022, 10:47 AM
Cats by 26 points and Danger with the first goal

I would prefer Sydney to win it but I don't believe they are quite ready yet.

24-09-2022, 11:01 AM
Hopefully Swans

24-09-2022, 01:14 PM
I'm tipping a Geelong win, and I reckon Sydney will get burned by the Reid inclusion.

A Sydney loss with an unbalanced free kick count in their favour is about as good as I can expect from the day, as I think the cats will be a bit too strong around the ball and their defenders will be a bit too good.

24-09-2022, 01:41 PM
VDM second in the sprint running in outside lane, great effort.

24-09-2022, 01:47 PM
Swans have the game to do it. Reid being fit would help them.
Horse to out coach Scott early.

24-09-2022, 03:11 PM
I'm still undecided on who to cheer for? I'm not a fan of either team at all. I was leaning towards barracking for the Swans then I saw Papley's head.

24-09-2022, 03:15 PM
Go Cats.

24-09-2022, 03:23 PM
I'm still undecided on who to cheer for? I'm not a fan of either team at all. I was leaning towards barracking for the Swans then I saw Papley's head.

Ha ha, I thought I might lean toward Swans, then seeing young Ablett’s son being held by Selwood as he ran through banner pulled my heart strings. I hope it’s a high quality final. Think I’ll go with the Swans simply because I hate the Cat’s home ground advantage so much and there will be less hoo haa if an interstate team wins it. Plus seeing a premiership medal put around sour lolly face Cameron sends nasty shivers through my spine.

24-09-2022, 03:25 PM
Ha ha, I thought I might lean toward Swans, then seeing young Ablett’s son being held by Selwood as he ran through banner pulled my heart strings. I hope it’s a high quality final. Think I’ll go with the Swans simply because I hate the Cat’s home ground advantage so much and there will be less hoo haa if an interstate tram wins it. Plus seeing a premiership medal put around sour lolly face Cameron sends nasty shivers through my spine.

You'll quickly forget that as soon as Selwood is in a contest and crying for a free kick.

24-09-2022, 04:00 PM
Goddamn, at least we were in it until late in the 3rd.

24-09-2022, 04:04 PM
This is underwhelming so far….

Feels like the year Geelong trashed Port (whenever that was)

Didn’t have the Swans being completely uncompetitive on the bingo card.
Cats nearly home already.

Shocking start for Swans

24-09-2022, 04:05 PM
Didn’t have the Swans being completely uncompetitive on the bingo card.
Cats nearly home already.

Nearly?

It's done and dusted.

24-09-2022, 04:06 PM
Nearly?

It's done and dusted.

Famous last words :D

24-09-2022, 04:07 PM
Brisbane ruined this finals series by getting over Richmond in the EF. Tigers were the only team that could have stopped Geelong at the MCG.

24-09-2022, 04:07 PM
So what is everyone else doing this afternoon

24-09-2022, 04:13 PM

Counting Gary Rohan stats. With two disposals he’s on track for a PB in a Granny. Go Gary!

24-09-2022, 04:16 PM
Counting Gary Rohan stats. With two disposals he’s on track for a PB in a Granny. Go Gary!

Awesome behind Gary. Equals most points kicked in his four granny’s so far. Go Gary!

In fact equal highest score of his in a granny. 1 point. Go Gary!

24-09-2022, 04:26 PM
Is Heeney on holiday already?

24-09-2022, 04:26 PM
Awesome behind Gary. Equals most points kicked in his four granny’s so far. Go Gary!

In fact equal highest score of his in a granny. 1 point. Go Gary!

This could be the only entertainment left in the day!

Keep it up BT

24-09-2022, 04:27 PM
Is Heeney on holiday already?

Crikey he's had 1 tackle only.

Crazy!

24-09-2022, 04:27 PM
If I could choose a kid under 22 it would be De Koning.

24-09-2022, 04:30 PM
Heeney has done absolutely nothing, is he injured?

24-09-2022, 04:31 PM
Gary now has 3 more AFL Fantasy points than the subs and emergencies combined!

Go Gary!

24-09-2022, 04:33 PM
Nearly?

It's done and dusted.

I was going to be more definitive, but I saw a team recently blow a 7 goal lead in a final and it made me doubt myself.
It’s done now. Like, might not watch the second half level done

24-09-2022, 04:41 PM
Gary Rohan

14 quarters played in Grand Finals (420 minutes game time, 14 x 30 minutes)

For

20 Disposals (touches it once every 21 minutes on GF day)
1 Goal
2 Behinds

Ranked worst on ground by fantasy points, again

Go Gary!

24-09-2022, 04:42 PM
Gary Rohan

14 quarters played in Grand Finals (420 minutes game time)

For

20 Disposals
1 Goal
2 Behinds

Ranked worst on ground by fantasy points, again

Go Gary!

Whenever you need someone unreliable in your hour of need.

Call Gaz.

Jezza hasn't been much better.

Swans with a late glimmer of hope.

There's always the dream of a choke.

Would've have to win the third well.

24-09-2022, 04:49 PM
How would McDonald feel watching Reid 5% fit. Disgraceful.

24-09-2022, 05:02 PM

Why isn't he the sub also?

I'm texting someone at the game and he said he was lame 5 mins in.

24-09-2022, 05:02 PM

Might start Andor

24-09-2022, 05:03 PM
Swans need to outscore them by at least 2 goals in the 3rd to give themselves any chance.

This could get ugly as the Swans have to take chances.

24-09-2022, 05:05 PM
Swans need to outscore them by at least 2 goals in the 3rd to give themselves any chance.

This could get ugly as the Swans have to take chances.

Need to keep Cats under 75 and get to 55 ish to have a chance.

24-09-2022, 05:06 PM

To be fair, 4 disposals in a half is Logan McDonald-sequel stats

24-09-2022, 05:07 PM
To be fair, 4 disposals in a half is Logan McDonald-sequel stats

Buddy been useless too.

Used as the exit way too many times, he can't mark over head.

24-09-2022, 05:09 PM
Reid subbed out, should never have been named in 22

24-09-2022, 05:11 PM
Reid subbed out, should never have been named in 22

Someone’s head has to roll for this decision to select him.

Yet he’s got a higher fantasy score than Rohan!

24-09-2022, 05:14 PM
All over

24-09-2022, 05:17 PM
Someone’s head has to roll for this decision to select him.

Yet he’s got a higher fantasy score than Rohan!

Admire your commitment to the bit

24-09-2022, 05:19 PM
This is utterly pathetic by Sydney.

Tell me more about the bloods culture. Must be unwritten to choke in Grand Finals.

24-09-2022, 05:20 PM
Upside, we weren’t the ones with our pants pulled down on GF day this year.

24-09-2022, 05:21 PM
This is utterly pathetic by Sydney.

Tell me more about the bloods culture. Must be unwritten to choke in Grand Finals.

Geelong fans don’t have to hear about umpiring and Buddy’s rolled ankle forever though…

24-09-2022, 05:24 PM
Gary Rohan playing like shit even when his team is losing is a highlight in this game.

24-09-2022, 05:37 PM
UPDATED:

Gary Rohan

15 quarters played in Grand Finals (450 minutes game time, 15 x 30 minutes)

For

21 Disposals (touches it once every 21.5 minutes on GF day)
1 Goal
2 Behinds

Go Gary!

24-09-2022, 05:40 PM
Isaac Smith for norm smith? Damn good player.

24-09-2022, 05:40 PM
Cats kicking 15 goals with none to Jezza or Rohan is giving me some relief.

24-09-2022, 05:42 PM
RECORD BREAKING ???:

Rohan vs Leon Davis

15 quarters vs 16 quarters played in Grand Finals

For

21 Disposals vs 36 Disposals
1 Goal vs 1 Goal
2 Behinds vs 1 Behind

We are maybe watching the worst grand final ever player now. We might never see such a spud like this ever again. History in the making.

Go Gary!

24-09-2022, 05:50 PM
Swans lose another GF, this time I would've been happy for them to win.
This loss should take the piss out of them and Koch whingeing about '16!

24-09-2022, 05:54 PM
Jez kicked a goal and Rohan got a couple of touches. It's been a bad five minutes.

24-09-2022, 05:57 PM
It's the fourth quarter and I can't remember seeing the Swans have clean possession. Geelong have a grid like defence but it's amazing when all players are pushing up hard and putting pressure on the ball carrier, it gives it a complete different look.

24-09-2022, 05:59 PM
Great to see Paddy get one.

24-09-2022, 06:03 PM
Did our club do due chasing of de Konings? Dad must've had loyalty to us and family had a shop in the near west.

24-09-2022, 06:05 PM
Great to see Paddy get one.

He has played well today. Might also win the norm smith. Moving Smith to backline hasn’t helped Isaac’s chances.

24-09-2022, 06:07 PM
Does Sydney come back from this mentally?

24-09-2022, 06:10 PM
I’m happy for like one person in the whole Geelong organisation. Tyson Stengle. The rest can get *!*!*!*!ed.

24-09-2022, 06:15 PM
Does Sydney come back from this mentally?

I don’t know why, but this flogging of Sydney makes me feel worse about our flogging last year

24-09-2022, 06:17 PM
Congratulations Geelong - by far the best team all season, and thoroughly deserved.

24-09-2022, 06:22 PM
Just woke up here in Germany. Glad I missed nothing!

24-09-2022, 06:25 PM
It was a comprehensive performance. Sydney were under enormous pressure from go to whoa. They never got a look in. I'm gutted.

24-09-2022, 06:27 PM
It was a comprehensive performance. Sydney were under enormous pressure from go to whoa. They never got a look in. I'm gutted.

They really were weak as

24-09-2022, 06:29 PM
GFC are very professional it seems. How they attracted and develop older recruits is beyond me and makes me jealous.
Touhy and Stengle are two Cats players I am happy to have this premiership.

24-09-2022, 06:30 PM
Isaac Smith goes alright for an old man.

24-09-2022, 06:31 PM
Isaac Smith goes alright for an old man.

We should have chased him. Classy long kicking winger would have been amazing for our last few years.

24-09-2022, 06:33 PM
We should have chased him. Classy long kicking winger would have been amazing for our last few years.
He'll go another couple of years as well at or very near his peak. Outstanding recruiting, one example of many by this mob.

24-09-2022, 06:33 PM
He has played well today. Might also win the norm smith. Moving Smith to backline hasn’t helped Isaac’s chances.
Paddy McCartin that is, forgot about Danger sorry.
Haha you were prophetic, Isaac wins!

24-09-2022, 06:37 PM
As Selwood said Premierships are hard to come by. That one was 10 years in the making. They have been in the premiership window for a while but were able to really recruit on a needs basis (in the last couple of years) with Smith, Cameron and Stengle really adding the final pieces to an already strong list.

24-09-2022, 06:47 PM

We need to move Whitten Oval closer to Torquay

As Selwood said Premierships are hard to come by. That one was 10 years in the making. They have been in the premiership window for a while but were able to really recruit on a needs basis (in the last couple of years) with Smith, Cameron and Stengle really adding the final pieces to an already strong list.

He's played in as many winning finals as the Saints.

Really bleeding heart stuff how much he's suffered.

Hard to stomach this club. Been the best all year but living and working in Geelong, this is a bloody dark day!

Must be on the colostrum.

We have to remember he did play a big part in our 2016 win.

Missing after the siren got the Cats on the other side of the draw.

He was washed up a couple of years ago, I'm tipping something unnatural.

24-09-2022, 06:52 PM
He's played in as many winning finals as the Saints.

Really bleeding heart stuff how much he's suffered.

Yeah I don’t get the bleeding heart stuff and the pain Geelong have suffered. Maybe they mean they are insufferable.

24-09-2022, 06:53 PM
Hard to stomach this club. Been the best all year but living and working in Geelong, this is a bloody dark day!

They are very hateable (is that even a word).

24-09-2022, 06:56 PM
It also helps when players want to go there.

24-09-2022, 07:01 PM
I hate this mob as much as anyone, but when you completely and utterly dominate the competition en route to a demolition in a GF, you just have to take the L and acknowedge these arseholes for being a brilliantly run club.

Isaac Smith is about as good a result for the Norm as you could get, for no reason other than preventing the ultimate Danger fairytale and resultant media fapping frenzy.

24-09-2022, 07:05 PM
It also helps when players want to go there.

Too true and mostly top end talent. Thus inevitably they are bound to win a few flags.

24-09-2022, 07:06 PM
I hate this mob as much as anyone, but when you completely and utterly dominate the competition en route to a demolition in a GF, you just have to take the L and acknowedge these arseholes for being a brilliantly run club.

Isaac Smith is about as good a result for the Norm as you could get, for no reason other than preventing the ultimate Danger fairytale and resultant media fapping frenzy.

I can't do it I tells ya, I can't give them any credit!

Stengle, I mean how did they manage that.

24-09-2022, 07:16 PM
I can't do it I tells ya, I can't give them any credit!

Stengle, I mean how did they manage that.

That is good question , how did they manage Stengle to come good ? Richmond had a go , I guess they had heaps of small . His speed is elite and kicking very good . geez we are crying out for an exciting small fwd who is electric and can keep their feed

If you put asid his questionable character before 2022, is there any smaller on our list they has better traits than him ?

24-09-2022, 07:18 PM
Sydney never fired a shot and were humiliated, yet the final margin was not too far off our humiliating GF loss in which we fired plenty of shots. It’s wild to me how different the games were for both ending up a domination.

Boots
24-09-2022, 07:19 PM
I applaud everyone who is able to offer good sportsmanlike congratulations to Geelong. You are better people than I am.

They are undoubtedly an exceptional team, and it’s a thoroughly deserved win. However, this victory presents a problem - what’s the next step above “unbearable”?

24-09-2022, 07:29 PM
Geelong deserved it, showed up all over the ground with the exception of a few favourites who never really do in a big game which is OK with me.

There's a lot to dislike about Joel Selwood but equally there's as much to admire him for. It's probably the same with a few of their players and their coach as well.

Sydney were just trash across the whole game. They didn't fire a shot and it wasn't because of running out of puff like we did last year, they were fine physically but just weren't there mentally at all.

Let's get into next year. With some structural changes and a few tweaks we're in it.

24-09-2022, 07:32 PM
I applaud everyone who is able to offer good sportsmanlike congratulations to Geelong. You are better people than I am.

They are undoubtedly an exceptional team, and it’s a thoroughly deserved win. However, this victory presents a problem - what’s the next step above “unbearable”?
Pretty easy for me to be magnanimous when I'm currently sitting at a bar in the Greek islands, drinking a frappe with the sound of the waves gently crashing and the temperature at a glorious 30 degree. Would hate to be in Melbourne right now being forced to endure all the redemption storylines being spewed out by the meedya. By the time I get back to Oz, this game will be ancient history and I'll get to see Essendon win their 10th trade week premiership in a row.

24-09-2022, 07:34 PM
That is good question , how did they manage Stengle to come good ? Richmond had a go , I guess they had heaps of small . His speed is elite and kicking very good . geez we are crying out for an exciting small fwd who is electric and can keep their feed

If you put asid his questionable character before 2022, is there any smaller on our list they has better traits than him ?

No he's a gun player.

Was very good at Adelaide for small periods but was off the rails outside of footy.

Somehow the calming waters of the bay have done it again.

24-09-2022, 07:39 PM
Pretty easy for me to be magnanimous when I'm currently sitting at a bar in the Greek islands, drinking a frappe with the sound of the waves gently crashing and the temperature at a glorious 30 degree. Would hate to be in Melbourne right now being forced to endure all the redemption storylines being spewed out by the meedya. By the time I get back to Oz, this game will be ancient history and I'll get to see Essendon win their 10th trade week premiership in a row.

Thanks for rubbing it in :D you lucky bastard. Are you in Samos?

Let the games begin - Dodoro to take the throne

24-09-2022, 07:46 PM
Are you in Samos?

Let the games begin - Dodoro to take the throne
Bevo captain/coach of the Samian team of the century :D

24-09-2022, 07:47 PM
Ahaaaaa....!
https://i.postimg.cc/TYbSHRrM/Screenshot-20220924-184521.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

24-09-2022, 07:48 PM
Bevo captain/coach of the Samian team of the century :D

Yes his Grand father came from there

24-09-2022, 07:49 PM
Ahaaaaa....!
https://i.postimg.cc/TYbSHRrM/Screenshot-20220924-184521.jpg (https://postimages.org/)

Just him?

24-09-2022, 07:53 PM
Just him?

I have no idea. But I knew it!

Actually I don't know it..

But I bloody knew it too!

24-09-2022, 07:59 PM
We lost a GF by 74 points and are only the 3rd worst GF team of the last 5 years.

24-09-2022, 08:10 PM
Isaac Smith for norm smith? Damn good player.

He's been impressive with the Cats playing 48 games for them in the last 2 seasons. You should never put a line through a player largely based on his age.
The Cats recruiting model is working for them.

24-09-2022, 08:13 PM
They really were weak as

So many missed tackles.

24-09-2022, 08:15 PM
Dup. go Dogs!

24-09-2022, 08:19 PM
Sydney never fired a shot and were humiliated, yet the final margin was not too far off our humiliating GF loss in which we fired plenty of shots. It’s wild to me how different the games were for both ending up a domination.

We were 51 up early.

24-09-2022, 08:22 PM
We were 51 up early.

I don't get this post?

24-09-2022, 08:28 PM
Hats off to Geelong.

Bevo to double down on you don’t need a ruck to win a grand final.

Also quite noticeable Geelong defenders outside of Stewart are a bunch of misfits that are good ordinary footballers. Henry and SDK will obviously become better than ordinary. System is the key.

Great to see Issac Smith dominate, was such an obvious target for us at the time.

For all the love of Heeney in the media he only got 35 touches in total for all three finals and boy Rohan… what more can be said.

I’m neither here nor there on Selwood, but kudos on an outstanding career and leadership for over a decade.

24-09-2022, 08:51 PM
Disappointing end to a disappointing season. Hoping for more joy next year.

24-09-2022, 08:55 PM
Hats off to Geelong.

Bevo to double down on you don’t need a ruck to win a grand final.

Also quite noticeable Geelong defenders outside of Stewart are a bunch of misfits that are good ordinary footballers. Henry and SDK will obviously become better than ordinary. System is the key.

Great to see Issac Smith dominate, was such an obvious target for us at the time.

For all the love of Heeney in the media he only got 35 touches in total for all three finals and boy Rohan… what more can be said.

I’m neither here nor there on Selwood, but kudos on an outstanding career and leadership for over a decade.

Stanley bettered a guy today who played very well against the best in the league in week one. Perhaps he's actually an OK ruck?

You make a good point about the Geelong defenders, though having that one really good one makes a world of difference to your overall defencive set up and at this stage unless Keath plays like he did at times the two years before this one we're likely to be lacking in that area again. Perhaps with Jones, Keath and Gardner, and possibly Collins in the mix we have a good range of competent talls and that might be enough.

Agree with you on Heeney. He gets way too many plaudits for mine, even if he is a really good player. It's almost as if it's just a given he's going to be great, but the reality is he's just like most medium sized forwards - if the supply isn't great he's going to struggle.

24-09-2022, 09:04 PM
Watched the grand final at the Mona Castle Hotel in Seddon today.

The game was a fizzer. Geelong well deserved premiers. They were in some great form. Dominated from the start. Swans did not show up. The best defence in the league conceded 20 goals.

Hopefully the Dogs will be in it next year at the G.

24-09-2022, 09:05 PM
Stanley bettered a guy today who played very well against the best in the league in week one. Perhaps he's actually an OK ruck?

You make a good point about the Geelong defenders, though having that one really good one makes a world of difference to your overall defencive set up and at this stage unless Keath plays like he did at times the two years before this one we're likely to be lacking in that area again. Perhaps with Jones, Keath and Gardner, and possibly Collins in the mix we have a good range of competent talls and that might be enough.

Agree with you on Heeney. He gets way too many plaudits for mine, even if he is a really good player. It's almost as if it's just a given he's going to be great, but the reality is he's just like most medium sized forwards - if the supply isn't great he's going to struggle.

English is also an ok ruck. Just an observation as Geelong never seemed sure if Stanley was the answer. Hence their recruitment of Ceglar and Ceglar playing in round 22 and being 24th listed player all finals.

24-09-2022, 09:32 PM
Selwood, Hawkins and Smith were all outstanding in the first quarter. Blew the Swans away and had the game won.

34yo 355 game captain - 12 touches in the first quarter.
34yo 327 game full forward - 2 brutish goals in the first quarter.
33yo 255 game winger - 2 goals and great link up run in the first.

Experience does pay off sometimes.

24-09-2022, 09:35 PM
Also...

Brandan Parfitt - subbed on for the last quarter.
14% game time, 8 touches, a tackle, 1 goal

Gary Rohan -
78% game time, 7 touches, 3 free kicks against, 1 behind

24-09-2022, 10:03 PM
English is also an ok ruck. Just an observation as Geelong never seemed sure if Stanley was the answer. Hence their recruitment of Ceglar and Ceglar playing in round 22 and being 24th listed player all finals.

Agreed. And I should have looked at the stats last time we played Sydney with Hickey in the side as I'd have seen that Tim outdid him in hit outs. So I guess I need to apologise because you'd already proved the point and I was still in offencive mode because of GVGjnr's ongoing and completely distracting anti-Rory Lobb campaign......... :)

And your second point is probably a good way to ask the question as to whether we should put players who are viable first ruck options on the list (usually at reasonably high cost) even if we will sparingly play them rather than putting something makeshift together.

24-09-2022, 10:12 PM
Agreed. And I should have looked at the stats last time we played Sydney with Hickey in the side as I'd have seen that Tim outdid him in hit outs. So I guess I need to apologise because you'd already proved the point and I was still in offencive mode because of GVGjnr's ongoing and completely distracting anti-Rory Lobb campaign......... :)

And your second point is probably a good way to ask the question as to whether we should put players who are viable first ruck options on the list (usually at reasonably high cost) even if we will sparingly play them rather than putting something makeshift together.

Don't be too quick to concede that point. Hickey was injured that game (49% TOG). Rucking the rest of the game against Amartey Tim got 28 HO vs Hickey's 21

24-09-2022, 10:47 PM
Insufferable.

Yes you take what you're given but it'd be nice if they had to deal with a competent opponent in the prelim and ensuing granny.

25-09-2022, 08:49 AM
Selwood, Hawkins and Smith were all outstanding in the first quarter. Blew the Swans away and had the game won.

34yo 355 game captain - 12 touches in the first quarter.
34yo 327 game full forward - 2 brutish goals in the first quarter.
33yo 255 game winger - 2 goals and great link up run in the first.

Experience does pay off sometimes.

Providing you do your homework and understand how the player fits into the side the age of a player isn't as important as many think.
Geelong have been very successful over an extended period and I wonder if any other club is willing to follow that approach of bringing in experienced players and topping up rather than rebuilding every 3 or 4 years.

25-09-2022, 10:04 AM
Providing you do your homework and understand how the player fits into the side the age of a player isn't as important as many think.
Geelong have been very successful over an extended period and I wonder if any other club is willing to follow that approach of bringing in experienced players and topping up rather than rebuilding every 3 or 4 years.

The Swans brought 0 pressure that was one of the lamest Grand Finals I’ve ever seen. Was like a regular season game.

Those old guys need to get their joints hammered by some hard hits, not sure I saw one. It’s a lot harder to recover and you feel them more after a certain age. Smith played on his own. Crazy by the Swans.

The new rules to open the game have probably helped, and I also think the spread of talent across the board has dropped significantly with the 18 teams.

Credit to Geelong’s management of those old guys though they did a stellar job.

Thry really have a good idea where their list is at and what spots they need to fill. They improved with new additions.

Dalhaus came in as a small forward he’s replaced by Stengle.
Higgins high half forward replaced by Close.
Holmes probably took Menagolas spot who is good but slowish.
Harry Taylor goes they get De Koning amazing drafting (We took Weightman at 15 he was 19)
Henry basically plays the Henderson role now .

Their ability to know what they needed and to get it are second to none. List management is brilliant.

Resilient too I mean they were just as badly humiliated by the Demons last year, they turned it into motivation.

25-09-2022, 11:10 PM
Spotted a great post from a Swans fan on BF:

Well, again we shat the bed and unfortunately, yet again the Germans have a word for it: nestbeschmutzers - nest defilers.

We are serial nestbeschmutzers.

25-09-2022, 11:21 PM
What a cracking word.

26-09-2022, 02:24 PM
Attended the Grand Final. The entire game day experience with the full house, sun shining, pre game entertainment and build up was absolutely awesome. Melbourne is well and truly back.

The game was an absolute fizzer. The Swans did not give themselves any chance at all. To be fair Geelong's pressure was off the charts and the Swan's did not have any answers. They then tried to play more defensive which only made things worse. Even when they then flipped things again and started to run and take the game on, Geelong's pressure was too good and Sydney's execution deplorable.

I hate Geelong. But gee whiz I admire them. What they have done to that joint since the early 2000s is nothing short of a miracle. They made a Prelim in 2004. Since that point they have basically been in contention every single year. Four Flags. Six GFs. 13 Prelims. Only missed the finals a couple of times. I'm actually changing my mind. To do what they have done in the equalisation era of salary cap and the draft is a miracle.

26-09-2022, 02:31 PM
Attended the Grand Final. The entire game day experience with the full house, sun shining, pre game entertainment and build up was absolutely awesome. Melbourne is well and truly back.

The game was an absolute fizzer. The Swans did not give themselves any chance at all. To be fair Geelong's pressure was off the charts and the Swan's did not have any answers. They then tried to play more defensive which only made things worse. Even when they then flipped things again and started to run and take the game on, Geelong's pressure was too good and Sydney's execution deplorable.

I hate Geelong. But gee whiz I admire then. What they have done to that joint since the early 2000s is nothing short of a miracle. They made a Prelim in 2004. Since that point they have basically been in contention every single year. Four Flags. Six GFs. 13 Prelims. Only missed the finals a couple of times. I'm actually changing my mind. To do what they have done in the equalisation era of salary cap and the draft is a miracle.

All it takes is biggest home ground advantage in the league, an unusually attractive location for quality free agents, a wealthy supporter base providing additional financial opportunities for the playing group outside of the salary cap, some hard work and a pinch of talent ;)

26-09-2022, 02:41 PM
All it takes is biggest home ground advantage in the league, an unusually attractive location for quality free agents, a wealthy supporter base providing additional financial opportunities for the playing group outside of the salary cap, some hard work and a pinch of talent ;)

Agree with all of that, but they have made it happen. They have made their innate advantages bigger. They have redeveloped their ground multiple times. When it is fully complete it will be even more intimidating to attend and more profitable for Geelong. They have targeted players who like the lifestyle that their location affords (close to the Surf Coast and good rural properties). They have defied popular convention that you need to drop down the ladder to collect draft picks to rise again. They have absolutely milked every inch out of older players like Selwood, Hawkins, Smith and Duncan when other clubs would be looking to diminish their responsibility to "blood" younger players.

26-09-2022, 02:45 PM
Agree with all of that, but they have made it happen. They have made their innate advantages bigger. They have redeveloped their ground multiple times. When it is fully complete it will be even more intimidating to attend and more profitable for Geelong. They have targeted players who like the lifestyle that their location affords (close to the Surf Coast and good rural properties). They have defied popular convention that you need to drop down the ladder to collect draft picks to rise again. They have absolutely milked every inch out of older players like Selwood, Hawkins, Smith and Duncan when other clubs would be looking to diminish their responsibility to "blood" younger players.

Sedat is triggered.

26-09-2022, 02:46 PM
Sedat is triggered.

Don't spoil his holiday :D

26-09-2022, 03:27 PM
Do you think the Swans would be dirty on Ladhams getting himself reported given there was doubts on Reid to get through the game?

26-09-2022, 03:29 PM
Do you think the Swans would be dirty on Ladhams getting himself reported given there was doubts on Reid to get through the game?

I think the Swans would be dirty that they traded for Ladhams. He got votes on Brownlow night and I remember the reaction of the Swans player and their partner who were on screen was not positive - I'm not sure he has fitted in.

26-09-2022, 07:14 PM
Don't spoil his holiday :D
Nothing could do that, not even the knowledge that my hard-earned has gone to redeveloping a regional pissant toy ground with no wings located in a pork-barrell marginal electorate ;)

To the victor goes the spoils.

27-09-2022, 02:29 AM

I hate Geelong. But gee whiz I admire them. What they have done to that joint since the early 2000s is nothing short of a miracle. They made a Prelim in 2004. Since that point they have basically been in contention every single year. Four Flags. Six GFs. 13 Prelims. Only missed the finals a couple of times. I'm actually changing my mind. To do what they have done in the equalisation era of salary cap and the draft is a miracle.

Or they're a bunch of land grabbing cheats and all will come out in the wash eventually.

27-09-2022, 02:35 AM

And this is why I will continue to hate them even if that hate is somewhat tempered by them not being complete *!*!*!*!s about winning it.

They make 300% to 500% more money per head for attendees than we do at our home games, or thereabouts. Just because of luck, nothing smart about it. When they're not making that money they're demanding more games at the MCG because you know, they're Geelong and deserve big games at the MCG. Their entitlement is off the charts, and the mollycoddling of them is again an example of how bush league the AFL really is.

It's great for them that they have exploited their advantages, I'd deride them more so if they didn't. But once this gloss has worn off my admiration will wane and I'll revert to my normal position of thinking they're the most entitled and priveliged bunch of *!*!*!*!s in the leage for no good reason at all.

27-09-2022, 02:36 AM
Nothing could do that, not even the knowledge that my hard-earned has gone to redeveloping a regional pissant toy ground with no wings located in a pork-barrell marginal electorate ;)

To the victor goes the spoils.

Never change.....as if you would anyway......but never change.