View Full Version : AFL next CEO

03-11-2022, 09:20 AM
There is some speculation that AFL CEO Gillon McLachlan will stay on throughout 2023 and perhaps the Hawks Racism issue, Tassie football license and some other challenges mean that the timing isn't right for him to depart.

The is also some speculation that our Kylie Watson-Wheeler is still very much in the mix to replace Gil along with Andrew Dillon and Brendan Gale.

Who would be best placed to replace Gil and could KWW be that person?

03-11-2022, 09:45 AM
There is some speculation that AFL CEO Gillon McLachlan will stay on throughout 2023 and perhaps the Hawks Racism issue, Tassie football license and some other challenges mean that the timing isn't right for him to depart.

The is also some speculation that our Kylie Watson-Wheeler is still very much in the mix to replace Gil along with Andrew Dillon and Brendan Gale.

Who would be best placed to replace Gil and could KWW be that person?

Yes. If KWW is prepared to use her power to unfairly advantage her supported club like Ian Collins and co.

New mega sweet deal at Docklands, WO redevelopment and AFEL games there, further investment into Ballarat, guaranteed 10 Friday Night games, Bonts & Naughton paid $1M each year as AFEL ambassadors outside our salary cap, funding us to play a USA game to expand our international reach/fan base, rig the Tassie player acquisition strategy so we don’t lose guns again, make sure we get super awesome Free Agency compo every year, another 3 or 4 Blockbuster games, guaranteed to play finals at Docklands, influence to make sure more major sponsors come our way, going after other clubs good players to get them suspended and Brownlows stolen, upgrade food retailers at Docklands, and so on.

So I can see some merit in KWW in getting the job.

03-11-2022, 10:40 AM
It'll be one of the boys. One of the lads from the Melbourne Club most likely. Hob hob.

Either that or Lethlean. Sure he's due a bit more failing upwards.

03-11-2022, 11:36 AM
Until the smell of burnt toast dissipates Sedat can only "like" posts in this thread.

03-11-2022, 01:21 PM
It'll be one of the boys. One of the lads from the Melbourne Club most likely. Hob hob.
Auld or Dillon $1.01 and firming. Lethers would be amusing for the lols, but even that might be a bridge too far. He will fail up again eventually.

Couldn't possibly consider external operators from city hall like Bryan Cook or Brendan Gale. What have they ever achieved?

03-11-2022, 04:12 PM
There were whispers Kylie Rogers had the nod but you could hardly blame her for suddenly feeling a little hesitant to take the baton while Gill continues to dip it in cronyistic shit.

24-11-2022, 08:32 AM
AFL CEO Gillon McLachlan will remain in the role until Round 5 of the 2023 season.

The Age is reporting that clubs were informed on Wednesday of his delayed departure, following the launch of the league’s new Magic Round.

McLachlan announced he would depart the league early in 2022, but a lack of a clear successor and looming issues including the racism allegations at Hawthorn, Tasmanian expansion and collective bargaining agreements delayed his exit.

Caroline Wilson told The Don’t Shoot the Messenger Podcast in November that the AFL CEO should move on from the top job as quickly as possible.

“He should go and he should go fairly soon,” she told the Don’t Shoot the Messenger Podcast.

“This notion from Richard Goyder that only Gillon McLachlan can solve the current problem is crazy.

“Now I understand in most ways he has been a brilliant CEO of the AFL, but he announced his retirement from the game in March and we’re now in November and the suggestion is and even Gillon is saying to people ‘I’m being told I have to stay to get all of this solved and I’ve got to get Tasmania sorted’.

“I understand that he did say he would stay until Tasmania was done and dusted. He would stay until the collective bargaining agreement for the next five years was done, but this is crazy.”

24-11-2022, 08:33 AM
Strange timing to be departing such a senior role.
How do you rate Gil's performance?

23-12-2022, 03:05 AM
Here's an article from Jake Niall evolving shit show that is the AFLs inability to let go of Gillon and anoint a successor:

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/the-afl-drops-the-ball-on-mclachlan-s-successor-20221222-p5c874.html

OPINION
The AFL drops the ball on McLachlan’s successor

Gillon McLachlan first announced that he would be exiting the AFL back before Easter this year. As Christmas beckons, McLachlan remains chief executive and the country’s most powerful sporting body has been unable to nominate his successor.

In what should be viewed as an embarrassing turn of events, McLachlan has been asked by the AFL commission to stay on in his role until late April or May of next year, in effect giving McLachlan a farewell tour of sorts.

Jeemak comment - One of the most interesting elements of the article relates to the commission's chair Richard Goyder - the guy who mollycoddles Alan Joyce at QANTAS in his entitled efforts to extract a living out of Australians and screw those same Australians in the process (sound anything like what's happening in the AFL?).

The third key difference between Demetriou/Essendon and McLachlan/Hawthorn is that Demetriou’s chairman Mike Fitzpatrick was a more forceful figure, in terms of keeping the CEO on a leash, than the current chairman Goyder.

The impression given has been that Goyder is in thrall to Gillon, in the same way that Goyder, the Qantas chairman, has extolled Alan Joyce as a CEO nonpareil. He has let McLachlan run the show with minimal push back.

Unfortunately, this adoration of McLachlan – yes, a highly effective CEO on key measures such as COVID-19, government relations, sponsorship, club equalisation, broadcast deal, AFLW; less so on cultural matters – is also casting a shadow on his successor, whether that is Dillon, fellow AFL senior executive Travis Auld, Richmond CEO Brendon Gale or another left-field choice.

The notion that McLachlan is needed to remain in the job to deal with various tasks – the players’ CBA, club funding, the Tasmanian licence and the Hawthorn investigation – necessarily means removing important decisions from the next CEO’s domain.

And, within the AFL, there’s perpetually a crisis of one kind or another. The next CEO will be confronted with a fresh disaster soon enough.

Goyder’s commission, meanwhile, is still running two short – three if you count the temporary leave of Andrew Newbold, the ex-Hawthorn president (who has stepped aside, as a matter of governance, for the Hawthorn probe). Jason Ball, the ex-Swans premiership player, and ex-News Corp CEO Kim Williams have been gone from the AFL board for almost two years.

Jeemak comment - So essentially what we have is a commission short on cattle, and possibly dissenting/ alternative voices, overseeing a corporate organism that is fat and happy, bereft of talent and perpetually engaged in crisis management due to the nature of its major assets and its startling ability to shoot itself in the foot due to a lack of integrity.

If you're wondering (which I know you're not but I'll say it anyway) the only reason this competition is still as strong as it is comes down to its lack of natural predators. The people running it are average in the extreme.

23-12-2022, 10:32 AM
The people running it are average in the extreme.

A few years ago (precovid), I went to a football function and Goyder was guest speaker. It was the first time I had heard him speak and he was stepping down from West Farmers at the time. To say I was under whelmed is an under statement.

23-12-2022, 11:03 AM
Andrew Dillion should be given the role and I would imagine there will be a few departures after someone is appointed.

23-12-2022, 12:07 PM
What sort of God complex is happening at the AFL if they believe McLachlan is that hard to replace. Please. What a joke.

23-12-2022, 07:17 PM
What sort of God complex is happening at the AFL if they believe McLachlan is that hard to replace. Please. What a joke.

He knows where the bodies are buried.

03-02-2023, 07:35 PM
This week a couple of the radio stations have been asking the questions given the delay in announcing Gils successor if this might be an indicator that Australian GP CEO Andrew Westacott is in contention.
Westacott is a Bulldogs supporter and is stepping down from that role after the GP.

03-02-2023, 07:38 PM
This week a couple of the radio stations have been asking the questions given the delay in announcing Gils successor if this might be an indicator that Australian GP CEO Andrew Westacott is in contention.
Westacott is a Bulldogs supporter and is stepping down from that role after the GP.

There was a John Westacott who played with us in the mid to late 50's. Father?

03-02-2023, 07:56 PM
Yes B4L, his father played for the Dogs

Some info I can find on Westacott

From 2016
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CtOqXYKVIAEyBrb?format=jpg&name=small

https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=10154505414323926

03-02-2023, 11:51 PM

Didn't realise that. A few years ago, a Bulldog business group I was in arranged a function at the GrandPrix track, a few days before practise. We had a good tour of the back rooms, Pitstop etc. Now I know how Campbell Rose arranged it.

12-04-2023, 06:10 PM
Kylie Watson-Wheeler surges into contention to replace Gillon McLachlan as AFL CEO (https://www.codesports.com.au/afl/gillon-mclachlan-expected-to-remain-as-afl-ceo-through-to-may-federal-budget/news-story/834bed1550631300ea11d39da15489b2)

Western Bulldogs president Kylie Watson-Wheeler has surged into contention as a key contender to replace Gillon McLachlan as the AFL Commission?s search is whittled down to a handful of candidates.

AFL legal and football boss Andrew Dillon and Watson-Wheeler are believed to be the favourites for the role even as AFL chairman Richard Goyder told presidents this week McLachlan would remain in the chair for the next few weeks.

I don't have full access to Code Sport

12-04-2023, 06:14 PM
Kylie Watson-Wheeler surges into contention to replace Gillon McLachlan as AFL CEO (https://www.codesports.com.au/afl/gillon-mclachlan-expected-to-remain-as-afl-ceo-through-to-may-federal-budget/news-story/834bed1550631300ea11d39da15489b2)

Western Bulldogs president Kylie Watson-Wheeler has surged into contention as a key contender to replace Gillon McLachlan as the AFL Commission?s search is whittled down to a handful of candidates.

AFL legal and football boss Andrew Dillon and Watson-Wheeler are believed to be the favourites for the role even as AFL chairman Richard Goyder told presidents this week McLachlan would remain in the chair for the next few weeks.

I don't have full access to Code Sport

Who? (Sedat will like this)

12-04-2023, 06:17 PM
Brilliant

12-04-2023, 06:21 PM
So Peter Gordon can come back. Terrific to have a fierce vocal president again.

12-04-2023, 06:23 PM
Who? (Sedat will like this)
Her skill set and career experience is so much better suited to City Hall than it is to a club environment.

Purely gut feel but I think she will get the gig over Andrew Dillon.

12-04-2023, 06:25 PM
Her skill set and career experience is so much better suited to City Hall than it is to a club environment.

Purely gut feel but I think she will get the gig over Andrew Dillon.

Be great to have someone on the inside.

12-04-2023, 06:25 PM

I don't really feel like we've got her now. Just another career corporatist on her way up to her next sinecure.

12-04-2023, 06:26 PM

Or, petrified of a conflict of interest or allegation of bias, that they screw us even harder…

12-04-2023, 06:29 PM
Or, petrified of a conflict of interest or allegation of bias, that they screw us even harder…

Haha amazingly that's exactly where my mind went.

12-04-2023, 06:44 PM
I don't really feel like we've got her now. Just another career corporatist on her way up to her next sinecure.

I reckon it takes some work.

If this was Ameet would we be saying the same? I'm not saying it but I'm thinking it.

12-04-2023, 06:51 PM

https://youtu.be/_8mduTEvnU0

This appointment has never sat well with me and I feel like I’ve heard her name mentioned in CEO talks from the day she walked into the club.

12-04-2023, 06:53 PM
The fact that it has dragged on for so long is hardly an endorsement of Dillions, Auld or Gales bids.
I'm not sure what to make of this but while it would be nice to see a genuine Bulldogs person in such a prestigious job, I'm not sure how she might go.

Could Andrew Westacott be parachuted into the role of the clubs President if Kylie Watson-Wheeler was successful?

12-04-2023, 06:57 PM
The fact that it has dragged on for so long is hardly an endorsement of Dillions, Auld or Gales bids.
I'm not sure what to make of this but while it would be nice to see a genuine Bulldogs person in such a prestigious job, I'm not sure how she might go.

Could Andrew Westacott be parachuted into the role of the clubs President if Kylie Watson-Wheeler was successful?

Darcy?

12-04-2023, 07:03 PM
Darcy?

He's got a few other commitments but he could be a reasonable but a somewhat uninspiring candidate.

derb
12-04-2023, 07:55 PM
If Dillon is successful they will need to fill his position so.....

12-04-2023, 07:59 PM

Paul Dimattina preparing his campaign as we speak.

12-04-2023, 09:19 PM
I reckon it takes some work.

If this was Ameet would we be saying the same? I'm not saying it but I'm thinking it.

If your inferring I'm making some kind of gender related comment then you're wrong. I feel exactly the same about Bains. I feel exactly the same about any corporate mercenary.

Hey, I don't hold any animosity towards them for it, I just don't feel any connection with them either.

12-04-2023, 09:59 PM
If your inferring I'm making some kind of gender related comment then you're wrong. I feel exactly the same about Bains. I feel exactly the same about any corporate mercenary.

Hey, I don't hold any animosity towards them for it, I just don't feel any connection with them either.

I met Kylie recently and she is a lovely person and a real Bulldogs person. She does have a very high profile role in the corporate world and would make a pretty good CEO of the AFL.

12-04-2023, 10:08 PM

Do you know anything about them?

Just a blanket rule for all corporate types?

12-04-2023, 10:10 PM
I met Kylie recently and she is a lovely person and a real Bulldogs person. She does have a very high profile role in the corporate world and would make a pretty good CEO of the AFL.

No no she's a corporate shill bad.

Listen to the echo chamber.

12-04-2023, 10:37 PM
I mentioned after the Legends dinner at Mulgrave last year she makes a great impression but it's a shame she hasn't been more visible with our members since she arrived in the job. I'd love to know what she rates as her best achievements since arriving at the club.

If she is genuinely being considered for the role she might struggle given she doesn't have Gill's charm but on the plus side she doesn't have his smarm either.

13-04-2023, 12:03 AM
I mentioned after the Legends dinner at Mulgrave last year she makes a great impression but it's a shame she hasn't been more visible with our members since she arrived in the job. I'd love to know what she rates as her best achievements since arriving at the club.

If she is genuinely being considered for the role she might struggle given she doesn't have Gill's charm but on the plus side she doesn't have his smarm either.

Greatest achievement is seeing through the redeveolpment of the VU Whitten Oval with 70 million being spent.

13-04-2023, 04:04 AM
Darcy?
Please no. Anyone aligned to Peter Dutton is a no to me.

13-04-2023, 06:32 AM
Alright, I’m putting my hat in for the upcoming bulldogs presidency.

My platform is based solely around returning exiled favourite son Simon Minton-Connell back to the club.
First act will be Long sleeves are compulsory on all players.

13-04-2023, 08:51 AM
Do you know anything about them?

Just a blanket rule for all corporate types?

As a raging socialist, yes.

No no she's a corporate shill bad.

Listen to the echo chamber.

That's bullshit and below you and that's all I'm going to say about it.

Nets, of course.

13-04-2023, 08:52 AM

My platform is based solely around returning exiled favourite son Simon Minton-Connell back to the club.

Nathan Saunders to act as deputy.

13-04-2023, 10:03 AM
Greatest achievement is seeing through the redeveolpment of the VU Whitten Oval with 70 million being spent.

Did she actually start all this or was it already in the works when she took over? I wonder if she lands the AFL CEO role will she actually see it through?

Perhaps I don't quite rate these largely funded projects at footy clubs that highly but I'd rather get an idea of the more day to day type fixes that have been implemented.

D Mitchell
13-04-2023, 10:10 AM

Exiled ? Is there an untold story ?

13-04-2023, 10:16 AM
As a raging socialist, yes.

That's bullshit and below you and that's all I'm going to say about it.

Nets, of course.

I just don't get generalisations. Everyone is different and has their own story. We should be celebrating them not bringing them down because they've accomplished something.

13-04-2023, 10:19 AM
I don’t think it’s arguable that she’s been a poor advocate for the club. Not everyone has to be Eddie McGuire standing outside a big top with a megaphone and a top hat but she’s been virtually anonymous outside of end of season stuff that only members watch or read anyway.

It really does feel like we’ve been used as a resume builder, which stings coming from a position we’ve seen previously be filled by only the most passionate of Bulldog people.

13-04-2023, 10:32 AM
I don’t think it’s arguable that she’s been a poor advocate for the club. Not everyone has to be Eddie McGuire standing outside a big top with a megaphone and a top hat but she’s been virtually anonymous outside of end of season stuff that only members watch or read anyway.

It really does feel like we’ve been used as a resume builder, which stings coming from a position we’ve seen previously be filled by only the most passionate of Bulldog people.

I actually think she's done very well but as members and shareholders we should be seeing and hearing more from her. She makes an exceptionally great impression when she talks at events and it's why most of us would like to see her more.

Gil's style is very different and if she was to be successful it will be interesting to see how she goes about it.

D Mitchell
13-04-2023, 10:36 AM
I don?t think it?s arguable that she?s been a poor advocate for the club. Not everyone has to be Eddie McGuire standing outside a big top with a megaphone and a top hat but she?s been virtually anonymous outside of end of season stuff that only members watch or read anyway.

It really does feel like we?ve been used as a resume builder, which stings coming from a position we?ve seen previously be filled by only the most passionate of Bulldog people.

Perhaps the blueprint of an AFL club president has swung away from the extroverted Media types, McGuire, Brayshaw, Koch to a quieter, behind the scenes model. Off the top of my head, I can't name another club president. The club seems to be pretty well run, regular budgeted surplus, no off field scandals.

13-04-2023, 10:47 AM
I just don't get generalisations. Everyone is different and has their own story. We should be celebrating them not bringing them down because they've accomplished something.

That's a bit of a generalisation, don't you think? :)

I can understand the assumptions people make about KWW to an extent, and it's largely because we've not seen enough of her across myriad opportunities to vocally advocate for the club. I have no doubt she is a good Bulldogs person, she wouldn't have had the support she's had if she wasn't.

It's a difficult role the one of president. You have to bring your own style but at the same time appeal to the tribal nature of the membership and fan base whilst advocating for the club at a business/ corporate level. Not everyone is going to get that balance right, though I'd be interested if she's received this type of feedback and chosen to address it or ignore it.

13-04-2023, 10:51 AM

This is a good post HD. She is a victim of her predecessors.

I certainly have that same feeling, that she isn't visible enough however then I ask myself is she any different to Peggy O'Neal at the Demons or Roffey at the Tigers and the comparison is maybe less stark.

What do people want to see more of is probably a good question to ask?

13-04-2023, 10:53 AM
Did she actually start all this or was it already in the works when she took over? I wonder if she lands the AFL CEO role will she actually see it through?

Perhaps I don't quite rate these largely funded projects at footy clubs that highly but I'd rather get an idea of the more day to day type fixes that have been implemented.

I did say see it through, ie make sure it happens. Make no mistake, overseeing a project like that is huge.

Day to day stuff is up to the CEO

Perhaps the blueprint of an AFL club president has swung away from the extroverted Media types, McGuire, Brayshaw, Koch to a quieter, behind the scenes model. Off the top of my head, I can't name another club president. The club seems to be pretty well run, regular budgeted surplus, no off field scandals.

Spot on D Mitchell.

Maybe in the past we needed an out there President fighting tooth and nail for everything, but these days it is not necessary.

Like you, I couldn't name any other President other than Koch.

13-04-2023, 10:54 AM

I certainly have that same feeling, that she isn't visible enough however then I ask myself is she any different to Peggy O'Neal at the Demons or Roffey at the Tigers and the comparison is maybe less stark.

I just google searched KWW and Good Friday. I didn't see any commentary about us losing the fixture. That's something to my mind the president should be passionate and vocal about, in lieu of us wanting to build a yearly event with North and the Royal Children's. That's just one example.

13-04-2023, 10:57 AM
I just google searched KWW and Good Friday. I didn't see any commentary about us losing the fixture. That's something to my mind the president should be passionate and vocal about, in lieu of us wanting to build a yearly event with North and the Royal Children's. That's just one example.

That was left to Ameet to complain about. see here (https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/teams/western-bulldogs/afl-2022-western-bulldogs-taken-off-good-friday-reactions-response-ceo-ameet-bains-full-fixture-details-carlton-v-north-melbourne-latest/news-story/f41a19c4cbed6e1b1d0d030ee9d732bd)

13-04-2023, 10:58 AM
That was left to Ameet to complain about. see here (https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/teams/western-bulldogs/afl-2022-western-bulldogs-taken-off-good-friday-reactions-response-ceo-ameet-bains-full-fixture-details-carlton-v-north-melbourne-latest/news-story/f41a19c4cbed6e1b1d0d030ee9d732bd)

That's the entire point.

13-04-2023, 11:00 AM
That's the entire point.

For me that is the CEO's job.

13-04-2023, 11:10 AM
That's a bit of a generalisation, don't you think? :)

I can understand the assumptions people make about KWW to an extent, and it's largely because we've not seen enough of her across myriad opportunities to vocally advocate for the club. I have no doubt she is a good Bulldogs person, she wouldn't have had the support she's had if she wasn't.

It's a difficult role the one of president. You have to bring your own style but at the same time appeal to the tribal nature of the membership and fan base whilst advocating for the club at a business/ corporate level. Not everyone is going to get that balance right, though I'd be interested if she's received this type of feedback and chosen to address it or ignore it.

This is pretty spot on Jee to the mak.

We don't know how ardently she pushes our causes behind the scenes, so the disconnect with fans/members appears to be that transparency with what she is doing with the club.

13-04-2023, 11:12 AM
That's the entire point.

I guess if she was being sounded out for the top job she wasn't going to make anything public.
I don't mind her lower profile but for a club so linked with members she needs to be putting out regular updates.

13-04-2023, 11:21 AM
I guess if she was being sounded out for the top job she wasn't going to make anything public.
I don't mind her lower profile but for a club so linked with members she needs to be putting out regular updates.

I'm not sure they're the words I'd use, but I get your meaning and agree. We need the connection to someone who isn't an employee, but a genuine fan leading the club.

13-04-2023, 11:29 AM

I'm not bringing them down. I'm just not invested or interested in them.

13-04-2023, 11:47 AM

She was at the East West Club with her parents who are all lifelong Bulldogs supporters. I think the criticism of her goes over the top. Our club has had continued success while KWW has been president.

How many current club presidents can you name? I'm stuck after Kochie to be honest. We were spoiled with Gordon - but he isn't the norm.

Edit: didn't realise there was so much thread after the comment I quoted. I have no issue with KWW and think if she leaves, then she leaves the club in a better state than she found it.

13-04-2023, 12:25 PM

It's interesting her style. She was VP to Gordo for 4 years so would have learnt the ropes through him.

D Mitchell
13-04-2023, 02:37 PM
She was at the East West Club with her parents who are all lifelong Bulldogs supporters. I think the criticism of her goes over the top. Our club has had continued success while KWW has been president.

How many current club presidents can you name? I'm stuck after Kochie to be honest. We were spoiled with Gordon - but he isn't the norm.

Edit: didn't realise there was so much thread after the comment I quoted. I have no issue with KWW and think if she leaves, then she leaves the club in a better state than she found it.

I agree with all of this but would like to add a qualifier to the bolded part. Peter, like Winston Churchill, was a great wartime leader. All those years ago, Peter was just what was needed to galvinise a defeated demography with defiance, anyone who attended that Sunday rally way back in 1989 experienced a never to be forgotten moment in Footy history, there were plenty of supporters of other clubs there, too, sensing the moment, supporters claiming the game from corporates. Within 5 years, the Club was back on its knees, the young in years Board at their wits end. Along came an older, wiser David Smorgon and a more mature board, repaired the relationship with the VFL/AFL the Club prospered. In Peter's second stint, he was different, a solid performer, vocal but restrained, like David. Don't get me wrong, David wasn't perfect but that's for another time / thread. The Club now prospers and grows in influence, no longer the poor old bulldogs with their "tragic history". It?s arguable that Kylie, with her corporate background, the good will from her involvement in the Marvel naming rights contract and lower public profile is the model of presidency the Club now deserves.

13-04-2023, 02:52 PM
I agree with all of this but would like to add a qualifier to the bolded part. Peter, like Winston Churchill, was a great wartime leader. All those years ago, Peter was just what was needed to galvinise a defeated demography with defiance, anyone who attended that Sunday rally way back in 1989 experienced a never to be forgotten moment in Footy history, there were plenty of supporters of other clubs there, too, sensing the moment, supporters claiming the game from corporates. Within 5 years, the Club was back on its knees, the young in years Board at their wits end. Along came an older, wiser David Smorgon and a more mature board, repaired the relationship with the VFL/AFL the Club prospered. In Peter's second stint, he was different, a solid performer, vocal but restrained, like David. Don't get me wrong, David wasn't perfect but that's for another time / thread. The Club now prospers and grows in influence, no longer the poor old bulldogs with their "tragic history". It?s arguable that Kylie, with her corporate background, the good will from her involvement in the Marvel naming rights contract and lower public profile is the model of presidency the Club now deserves.

Excellent Post

13-04-2023, 03:42 PM
Here are the current Presidents/Chairs of each club:

Adelaide
* Andrew Wellington (2017–present)
Carlton
* Luke Sayers (2021–present)
Collingwood
* Jeff Browne (2021-present)
Essendon
* David Barham (2022 - present)
Fremantle
* Dale Alcock (2016 – present)
Geelong
* Craig Drummond (2021–present)
Gold Coast
* Tony Cochrane (2016 – present)
Greater Western Sydney
* Tony Shepherd (2011–present)
Hawthorn
* Andy Gowers (2022–present)
Melbourne
* Kate Roffey (2021–present)
North Melbourne/Kangaroos
* Dr Sonja Hood (2022–present)
Port Adelaide
* David Koch (2013–present)
Richmond
* John O'Rourke (2022–present)
St Kilda
* Andrew Bassat (2018–present)
Sydney
* Andrew Pridham (2013 – present)
Western Bulldogs
* Kylie Watson-Wheeler (2021-present)
West Coast
* Russell Gibbs (2016–present)

13-04-2023, 03:52 PM
In related news apparently Simon Garlick is a hot favourite to leave Freo and take up the vacant general manager of football position at the AFL.

13-04-2023, 03:54 PM
Here are the current Presidents/Chairs of each club:

Adelaide
* Andrew Wellington (2017–present)
Carlton
* Luke Sayers (2021–present)
Collingwood
Essendon
* David Barham (2022 - present)
Fremantle
* Dale Alcock (2016 – present)
Geelong
* Craig Drummond (2021–present)
Gold Coast
* Tony Cochrane (2016 – present)
Greater Western Sydney
* Tony Shepherd (2011–present)
Hawthorn
Melbourne
* Kate Roffey (2021–present)
North Melbourne/Kangaroos
* Dr Sonja Hood (2022–present)
Port Adelaide
* David Koch (2013–present)
Richmond
* John O'Rourke (2022–present)
St Kilda
* Andrew Bassat (2018–present)
Sydney
* Andrew Pridham (2013 – present)
Western Bulldogs
* Kylie Watson-Wheeler (2021-present)
West Coast
* Russell Gibbs (2016–present)

Heard of about 4 of them

D Mitchell
13-04-2023, 03:55 PM
[QUOTE=SquirrelGrip;836369]Here are the current Presidents/Chairs of each club:

A.....
Collingwood
Hawthorn
Thanks for that, all, for me, immediately forgettable except
(a) C'Wood. Browne long the League's solicitor. Conflicts of interest all over the place, why is that a surprise ?; and
(b) H'thorn. Andrew Gowers. The Gowers are descendants of the great Sir Leo Cussen, arguably the best legal brain this country has ever produced.

13-04-2023, 03:56 PM

Brilliantly accurate

13-04-2023, 04:02 PM
Cochrane (GCS) and Shepherd (GWS) are both long standing and vocal presidents. I would suggest most have seen or heard from them even if you don't recall their names.

13-04-2023, 04:18 PM
Cochrane (GCS) and Shepherd (GWS) are both long standing and vocal presidents. I would suggest most have seen or heard from them even if you don't recall their names.

Cochrane was leaving in March.

13-04-2023, 07:51 PM
In related news apparently Simon Garlick is a hot favourite to leave Freo and take up the vacant general manager of football position at the AFL.
It be good to get someone in the AFL with a genuine bulldogs connection

Hopefully it will reduce some of the hate they have for us at the tribuneral

D Mitchell
13-04-2023, 08:13 PM
It be good to get someone in the AFL with a genuine bulldogs connection

Hopefully it will reduce some of the hate they have for us at the tribuneral

Garlick was doing his MBA whilst still playing, from memory, so he'd be after a job in admin rather than at the Tribunal.

13-04-2023, 08:38 PM

They want to hear our President going 'Up yours Oakley' I mean up yours Gil! We're used to that approach in the Western Burbs.

Smorgo is a Gold nugget. Think most AFL Presidents are very behind the scenes at an operational level unless you're a raving lunatic who also happens to be celebrity.

Uninformed
13-04-2023, 11:59 PM
I actually think she's done very well but as members and shareholders we should be seeing and hearing more from her. She makes an exceptionally great impression when she talks at events and it's why most of us would like to see her more.

Gil's style is very different and if she was to be successful it will be interesting to see how she goes about it.

I like a president who operates effectively in the background and respect anyone who is comfortable enough not to command a media presence.

Perhaps a regular 'presidents update' video to the membership with news on the issues being dealt with would suffice?

The grandstanders who want to be heard on every known issue and pretend they are making a difference are just a pain.

14-04-2023, 12:05 AM
I like a president who operates effectively in the background and respect anyone who is comfortable enough not to command a media presence.

Perhaps a regular 'presidents update' video to the membership with news on the issues being dealt with would suffice?

The grandstanders who want to be heard on every known issue and pretend they are making a difference are just a pain.

It sure would, I like her and think she is a very good president but she should get out in front of the fans more because she makes such a positive impression. A 5 minute update video every few weeks would be time well spent.

14-04-2023, 08:18 AM
I hope she gets it. The AFL needs to break from the boys club. Someone who wasn?t groomed by Gil, a female, now with some club land experience, and with a perspective of a small club not just a mega club? I think she ticks the boxes.

As a member, I don?t really care how much I hear from the president. I?m not exactly sure where the president starts and the CEO and Board start/end. What actually is the role? While KWW is more senior, I don?t think her voice in a press release would hold more weight than Bains? does.

14-04-2023, 09:17 AM
The AFL needs to break from the boys club.

I'm sure the current executive is hard working but I am so over the way the game is run. Please. Some new ideas (and ideals) at executive AND commission level.

14-04-2023, 09:37 AM
I'm sure the current executive is hard working but I am so over the way the game is run. Please. Some new ideas (and ideals) at executive AND commission level.

Ditto

D Mitchell
14-04-2023, 10:10 AM

Curious. What is it about the way the game is run that displeases you ? Is it that it's too focused on money ? too preoccupied with social issues ? too blokey ie execs appearing on TV really talking about themselves rather than issues ? the fixture rather than a draw ?

14-04-2023, 12:26 PM
Curious. What is it about the way the game is run that displeases you ? Is it that it's too focused on money ? too preoccupied with social issues ? too blokey ie execs appearing on TV really talking about themselves rather than issues ? the fixture rather than a draw ?

All.

Although I'll make a note that the social issues one is much more virtue signalling, in that I think they say a lot of the right things but don't execute.

The AFL likes to pretend it's this amazing professional organisation but every time the curtain is pulled back it is basically still just as competent as the blokes running your div 4 EFL club in their spare time, just scaled up. Bunch of unjustified egos, poor decision makers, out of touch wankers, who continually make obviously bad decisions but are never held accountable for it.

It's definitely on show this week with "Gather Round". It's fine as a concept, but the backslapping last night about how whoever came up with the idea is a genius (it's directly stolen from about 6 other codes), and how it will be lauded as this huge success when the AFL is still so dumb as to schedule a team in a bizzarely newly created timeslot of 3pm on a weekday for literally no reason kind of starts to illustrate the frustrations one could have with league.

14-04-2023, 12:33 PM

I'm not going to rant but (in no particular order):

- The continuous rule changes that eat away at the fabric of the game.
- The simple fact that the broadcast 'partner' doesn't send commentators to the venues where games are played.
- The unfair nature of the fixture.
- The manipulation of the draft.
- The focus on enabling player movement.
- The Gold Coast Suns.
- The complete shamozzle of what is called AFLW.
- The lack of a true tier 2 competition and the absurd amount of money spent flying state league teams all over the eastern seaboard.
- The lack of a clear policy on sports betting and the level of advertising.
- The confusion (and YEP, COVID - I get it) around the direction of the talent pathway over the past 5 years.
- The removal of the AFL-AIS academy and the introduction of the club-based academy system when the clubs (for the most part) dont have academies.
- The joke of the 4-umpire system.
- The match review system and the tribunal.
- Clash jumpers.
- Scheduling of game-times.
- Thursday night footy and the chase for $ that is compromising junior footy.
- The de-evolution of coaching in favour of relationship building.
- The lack of attention given to the development of 'recreation' versions of the game as a solution to address drop out.
- The last touch rule and the absolute farce that is coming our way.
- The absence of 100-goal per year goal kickers and the fact that despite 10000000 rule changes the fundamental goal - increase scoring - has not been close to achieved.
- The price of a pie at the footy and the fact that when I go to the game I have to drink mid-strength beer out of a paper cup.

I could and should keep going but it's not great.

14-04-2023, 12:42 PM
I don?t think it?s arguable that she?s been a poor advocate for the club. Not everyone has to be Eddie McGuire standing outside a big top with a megaphone and a top hat but she?s been virtually anonymous outside of end of season stuff that only members watch or read anyway.

It really does feel like we?ve been used as a resume builder, which stings coming from a position we?ve seen previously be filled by only the most passionate of Bulldog people.

On the other hand how many other club's presidents can we name because they are "out there". Eddie was everywhere even before he was president of Collingwood. To me she is no different than the others.

14-04-2023, 12:42 PM

- The simple fact that the broadcast 'partner' doesn't send commentators to the venues where games are played.
- The Gold Coast Suns.
- The lack of a true tier 2 competition and the absurd amount of money spent flying state league teams all over the eastern seaboard.
- The confusion (and YEP, COVID - I get it) around the direction of the talent pathway over the past 5 years.
- The removal of the AFL-AIS academy and the introduction of the club-based academy system when the clubs (for the most part) dont have academies.
- Clash jumpers.
- The lack of attention given to the development of 'recreation' versions of the game as a solution to address drop out.
- The absence of 100-goal per year goal kickers and the fact that despite 10000000 rule changes the fundamental goal - increase scoring - has not been close to achieved.
- The price of a pie at the footy and the fact that when I go to the game I have to drink mid-strength beer out of a paper cup.

Please do a rant version!

D Mitchell
14-04-2023, 12:43 PM
I'm not going to rant but (......

I'd hate to see one of your rants.

That's a comprehensive list. Thanks.

14-04-2023, 12:43 PM

Could you elaborate on this one? I'm not sure I understand it and how it relates to the AFL admin.

14-04-2023, 12:46 PM
Interesting that Andrew Dillon has stepped off a few boards he was on that would have conflicted with Gil's role.

14-04-2023, 01:02 PM
Could you elaborate on this one? I'm not sure I understand it and how it relates to the AFL admin.

Well, sure.

I have done my Level 3 or Hi Performance coaching course TWICE. Once in 2008, then again in 2020.

In 2008 (course extends for 12-months) it was about FOOTBALL and we were each challenged on the programs we were running. We had to write development players for players to assist in kicking remediation, construct match day strategies etc. It was a FOOTBALL course.

In 2020 it still took 7-days but it was first year uni psychology...and I know that 'cos I did a 4-year psych degree. It wasn't about FOOTBALL. It was a general 'coaching' course and all about story telling (cool) and relationship building (cool) and you need all of that...but you need to be able to actual coach the skills of the game and construct a game-plan etc.

I don't exactly know what's behind it but they have turned an awesome footy focussed course designed to help coaches improve and genuinely assist players become better into something designed to help coaches build relationships, understand the difference between coaching men and women, understand the battles of First Nations footballers in society...it's just not the same course and not even close to being 'good'.

So - that 100% relates to the AFL Admin because that is the stuff they are teaching.

Oh - and even your Level 1 used to have to be done in person and now it is 100% online? I mean, who can't spare 3 hours in February on a Wednesday night in order to coach their kids footy team starting in March? I know it's the way of the world but on one hand (Level 3) the coaching course has become ALL about relationships whereas on the other the Level 1 has become the opposite - don't build connection and relationships and ask questions...just sit at your desk and tick some boxes and...anyway.

14-04-2023, 01:08 PM
Well, sure.

I have done my Level 3 or Hi Performance coaching course TWICE. Once in 2008, then again in 2020.

In 2008 (course extends for 12-months) it was about FOOTBALL and we were each challenged on the programs we were running. We had to write development players for players to assist in kicking remediation, construct match day strategies etc. It was a FOOTBALL course.

In 2020 it still took 7-days but it was first year uni psychology...and I know that 'cos I did a 4-year psych degree. It wasn't about FOOTBALL. It was a general 'coaching' course and all about story telling (cool) and relationship building (cool) and you need all of that...but you need to be able to actual coach the skills of the game and construct a game-plan etc.

I don't exactly know what's behind it but they have turned an awesome footy focussed course designed to help coaches improve and genuinely assist players become better into something designed to help coaches build relationships, understand the difference between coaching men and women, understand the battles of First Nations footballers in society...it's just not the same course and not even close to being 'good'.

So - that 100% relates to the AFL Admin because that is the stuff they are teaching.

Oh - and even your Level 1 used to have to be done in person and now it is 100% online? I mean, who can't spare 3 hours in February on a Wednesday night in order to coach their kids footy team starting in March? I know it's the way of the world but on one hand (Level 3) the coaching course has become ALL about relationships whereas on the other the Level 1 has become the opposite - don't build connection and relationships and ask questions...just sit at your desk and tick some boxes and...anyway.

Ah thanks I didn't get it was around coaching courses and was wondering why the AFL would be responsible if Bevo decided to focus on relationships as part of his coaching strategy.

I hope that initial course still exists in some form.

14-04-2023, 01:12 PM

Love it when you bust out vocabulary that makes me get the dictionary out EastWestie

14-04-2023, 01:39 PM
Ah thanks I didn't get it was around coaching courses and was wondering why the AFL would be responsible if Bevo decided to focus on relationships as part of his coaching strategy.

I hope that initial course still exists in some form.

NOPE. Gone Daddy Gone.

As for the Bevo/relationships focussed etc part - well - Bevo knows what he's doing so he can do what he wants. The challenge for the AFL is there are heaps of people who don't and they don't get anywhere near enough help and assistance to do their job properly. Some of them don't care - they're just filling in - but others care deeply and want to get better.

14-04-2023, 02:06 PM
All.

Although I'll make a note that the social issues one is much more virtue signalling, in that I think they say a lot of the right things but don't execute.

The AFL likes to pretend it's this amazing professional organisation but every time the curtain is pulled back it is basically still just as competent as the blokes running your div 4 EFL club in their spare time, just scaled up. Bunch of unjustified egos, poor decision makers, out of touch wankers, who continually make obviously bad decisions but are never held accountable for it.

It's definitely on show this week with "Gather Round". It's fine as a concept, but the backslapping last night about how whoever came up with the idea is a genius (it's directly stolen from about 6 other codes), and how it will be lauded as this huge success when the AFL is still so dumb as to schedule a team in a bizzarely newly created timeslot of 3pm on a weekday for literally no reason kind of starts to illustrate the frustrations one could have with league.

This is the first time I've heard the term virtue signaling used and actually mean something and agreed entirely with it because your reasoning is spot on.

Love it when you bust out vocabulary that makes me get the dictionary out EastWestie

My footy punditry is terrible, I have to be good for something.

Also, you have dictionary you god damned Luddite?

14-04-2023, 02:36 PM
My footy punditry is terrible, I have to be good for something.

Also, you have dictionary you god damned Luddite?

Metaphor for looking it up online

14-04-2023, 03:32 PM

- The Gold Coast Suns.
- Clash jumpers.

Great list, I am with you all the way except your point on "the absence of 100 goal per year kickers". I don't know how that can be fixed? The evolution of the game has changed how the game is played, so difficult to kick 100 goals in a season.

14-04-2023, 03:55 PM

Paper cup? Some strange goings on over west, still plastic here.

How is it we are now able to get cans? I thought they were phased out years ago because morons would throw them? Not sure the moron count at the footy has lessened any.

14-04-2023, 04:09 PM
Paper cup? Some strange goings on over west, still plastic here.

How is it we are now able to get cans? I thought they were phased out years ago because morons would throw them? Not sure the moron count at the footy has lessened any.
OMG great question. I don't partake currently - however I've seen cans everywhere.

Very odd.

14-04-2023, 07:48 PM

I don't believe you. I can see you in your horn rimmed glasses by the fireplace, flicking through your hardback dictionary.

14-04-2023, 08:42 PM

He was hoping to impress you with luddite.

14-04-2023, 08:56 PM
He was hoping to impress you with luddite.

Nah I know BR knows what a Luddite is. I've called him that before.

18-04-2023, 12:12 PM
Nah I know BR knows what a Luddite is. I've called him that before.

You have indeed, and you havent been the only one to do so over the years

19-04-2023, 12:17 PM
If it is to be KWW, Darcy steps up as President you’d think?

We seem a bit light on for successful industry folk with a profile that actually seem to want to be involved?

19-04-2023, 02:22 PM
If it is to be KWW, Darcy steps up as President you’d think?

We seem a bit light on for successful industry folk with a profile that actually seem to want to be involved?
If he is bed with Dutton still, no thanks

19-04-2023, 02:44 PM
If he is bed with Dutton still, no thanks

Firstly, ew. Thanks for that image.

Second, I imagine the bulk of these high flying corporate types are all card carrying members of the high society toff club. Believe me I say this through decently gritted teeth but political affiliations in high office at clubs shouldn't bother us that much. People in high places etc.

Look at Sue Alberti, a warrior and legend of our club, and a Liberal through and through. Shrug.

19-04-2023, 02:49 PM
Firstly, ew. Thanks for that image.

Second, I imagine the bulk of these high flying corporate types are all card carrying members of the high society toff club. Believe me I say this through decently gritted teeth but political affiliations in high office at clubs shouldn't bother us that much. People in high places etc.

Look at Sue Alberti, a warrior and legend of our club, and a Liberal through and through. Shrug.

I consider myself a socialist and hate the Libs but whatever is best for the club.

I believe Luke Darcy has demonstrated he loves the club and has our best intentions at heart.

19-04-2023, 02:52 PM
I consider myself a socialist and hate the Libs but whatever is best for the club.

I believe Luke Darcy has demonstrated he loves the club and has our best intentions at heart.

Yeah that's pretty much me too.

19-04-2023, 02:57 PM
If it is to be KWW, Darcy steps up as President you'd think?

Is Darcy a self-made successful entrepreneur? Does he have the interests of the club at heart, and isn't going to use the position as a personal stepping stone in his own career? If the answer to both questions is yes and the position is available in the future, then he'd be a worthy candidate (hopefully there are many other quality candidates).

I don't care at all about his personal political leanings, so long as they remain personal and don't impact on any public representation of the club. By all means lobby whoever is in power purely for the benefit of the club, but treat every single politician/political party as the vile, slimy snake-oil salesman that they are. Know they are all deeply untalented and thoroughly mediocre people, and they exist as politicians purely in a self-serving capacity - so if their self-serving benefits our club on occasion then great.

IMO, it's such a weird flex to be favouring one slime-bag politician/political party over another, but so many more people seem to do this today than in years past, which is absolutely their right in a free thinking society. Each to their own. Maybe I'm the outlier in my complete and utter disdain and disregard for all of them without exception.

19-04-2023, 03:02 PM
IMO, it's such a weird flex to be favouring one slime-bag politician/political party over another. Each to their own I suppose.

I think this is extremely relative to the amount of privilege/discrimination you face based on things that aren't your choosing. A bit different for a white rich middle aged straight man to favour/flex compared to a refugee/member of LGBTIQ+ community or what not. I get you find all politicians slimy but for some, certain parties/politicians gaining power can truly impact their lives outside of their tax return.

I truly believe 'they are all as bad as each other' line is an enormous leg up to the most evil.

Anyways, I do agree with whatever helps the Bulldogs part. And if we eliminate economy/wealth first Libs from President talks, we won't be left with too much options.

19-04-2023, 03:12 PM
Each to their own. Maybe I'm the outlier in my complete and utter disdain and disregard for all of them without exception.

I think you at least make an effort to be fair and give reasoning. I think rather than an outlier, I'd say it's different for different people.

Easier for a straight white middle class middle aged man (I know that's not you Sedat) to be 'non political' than perhaps any other combo.

19-04-2023, 03:16 PM
I think this is extremely relative to the amount of privilege/discrimination you face based on things that aren't your choosing. A bit different for a white rich middle aged straight man to favour/flex compared to a refugee/member of LGBTIQ+ community or what not. I get you find all politicians slimy but for some, certain parties/politicians gaining power can truly impact their lives outside of their tax return.

I truly believe 'they are all as bad as each other' line is an enormous leg up to the most evil.
You're a good man and I always respect your position Rocco, even if I respectfully disagree from time to time. I don't think any politician/party really cares about any subset of the community (vulnerable or otherwise) - they are nothing more than a potential voting bloc who will assist the politician/party on their own personal crusade for even more personal wealth and power. I honestly believe the most minimal basic involvement that politicians have in all our day-to-day lives, the better and more personally rewarding our collective lives will be - I know that my life is far better and more rewarding without their involvement in it and with me significantly reducing consumption of their content.

19-04-2023, 03:24 PM
Is Darcy a self-made successful entrepreneur? Does he have the interests of the club at heart, and isn't going to use the position as a personal stepping stone in his own career? If the answer to both questions is yes and the position is available in the future, then he'd be a worthy candidate (hopefully there are many other quality candidates).

I don't care at all about his personal political leanings, so long as they remain personal and don't impact on any public representation of the club. By all means lobby whoever is in power purely for the benefit of the club, but treat every single politician/political party as the vile, slimy snake-oil salesman that they are. Know they are all deeply untalented and thoroughly mediocre people, and they exist as politicians purely in a self-serving capacity - so if their self-serving benefits our club on occasion then great.

IMO, it's such a weird flex to be favouring one slime-bag politician/political party over another, but so many more people seem to do this today than in years past, which is absolutely their right in a free thinking society. Each to their own. Maybe I'm the outlier in my complete and utter disdain and disregard for all of them without exception.

I think you might be generalising a bit.

19-04-2023, 03:26 PM
You're a good man and I always respect your position Rocco, even if I respectfully disagree from time to time. I don't think any politician/party really cares about any subset of the community - they are nothing more than a potential voting bloc who will assist the politician/party on their own personal crusade for even more personal wealth and power. The less involvement they have in all our lives, the richer our lives will be IMO.

Thank you and I think the same back.

I definitely hear what you're saying but for marginalised members of society, whatever the motive or intention, even it's 'branding' or 'marketing', I'd prefer the product that makes it less likely to get racially abused, a victim of homophobia, the list is endless. Even if it is 'just' simply promoting stuff that's bottom of the pyramid discrimination wise, it is impactful.

Assisting some personal crusades is better for society than other ones. Being low-key okay with Nazis probably more a marketing thing with Trump than true beliefs. Wanting to be hard on anyone who condones that might be for personal gain, probably even. But I know which branding I want to win.

Of course ultimately it would be great for as many of us to be as educated and experienced as possible. Have a truly free society. In effect I am advocating for the least shitty of all options rather than saying I am backing something wonderful.

Anyways, the main thing, if Luke Darcy helps us I don't care.

The vast majority of suitable AFL President candidates surely sit in the 'right-moderate/teal open market, capitalism is great but I do cringe at my colleagues when they are homophobic/racist, Malcolm Turnbull-esque' mould.

19-04-2023, 03:47 PM
I definitely hear what you're saying but for marginalised members of society, whatever the motive or intention, even it's 'branding' or 'marketing', I'd prefer the product that makes it less likely to get racially abused, a victim of homophobia, the list is endless. Even if it is 'just' simply promoting stuff that's bottom of the pyramid discrimination wise, it is impactful.
I would say 99.5% of the population would be in furious agreement with you on the above (I certainly am), but the amplified voices of the 0.5% (on both radical sides of the spectrum) seem to get a disproportionately high % of media profile and political focus so that it seems like we are a wholly intolerant nation, when the reality is we are anything but.

As a student of marketing and branding and who has made a 25 year career from it, you don't need to sell me on the importance of this if you are trying to sell laundry detergent, yoghurt or any other consumable goods and services. However, I would prefer to see the billions of public $$$ annually spent on the most vulnerable groups in our community to actually and tangibly benefit these groups at the coalface, and not simply line the pockets of the pollies and the lobbyists as they invariably (and not coincidentally) always do. But I digress....

Back to the topic, Luke Darcy political leanings should have no bearing on his candidacy credentials or otherwise. So long as there is talent, competency, passion, and dedication to the club, all applicants should be welcome (assuming KW-W moves on to greener pastures).

20-04-2023, 12:53 AM
I would say 99.5% of the population would be in furious agreement with you on the above (I certainly am), but the amplified voices of the 0.5% (on both radical sides of the spectrum) seem to get a disproportionately high % of media profile and political focus so that it seems like we are a wholly intolerant nation, when the reality is we are anything but.

The media coverage is ridiculously self interested and not representative of what people are really worried about. A good example recently was the Aston by-election. Every media organisation was covering trans issues (which are important)/ culture wars en masse because of the circus that was in town at the time, but largely the people voting just wanted someone to tell them how they can feed themselves and try not to lose their houses.

The politcal, media and business classes have lost the plot. John Roskam of IPA fame had to quit because he couldn't keep battling/ losing a culture war that he himself practically started and existed entirely in his own head, Tony Abbott gets up and tells everyone Pell (a pedo activist and protector at best, at worst a pedo) is the best Australian he's ever known, business leaders want to have a workforce of 40% that identifies as male, 40% female and 20% other (where do you actually find 20% of people who identify as other? - I can't source that, but someone I trust attended a lunch where such commentary got glorious ovations), and media practically ignores a death of a woman each week at the hands of a partner in fear of not being cognizant of men's rights/ issues.

The more we can just keep footy as footy and out of the abovementioned mess when it comes to club representations, unless it's obviously clear whoever is nominated is out of touch and/ or an arseehole, the better.

20-04-2023, 10:41 AM
but largely the people voting just wanted someone to tell them how they can feed themselves and try not to lose their houses.

Yes, although that also came with the added bonus of James "Major Arnold Toht" Campbell crying into his cornflakes the next morning.

I wonder if Roshena Campbell has moved into her rental at Scoresby yet?

and media practically ignores a death of a woman each week at the hands of a partner in fear of not being cognizant of men's rights/ issues.

Yes.

I really like James Newbury and hope that one day he'll be Victorian Premier (this is %100 a comment designed to draw out a Sedat politics rant, because there's nothing I love more).

20-04-2023, 01:44 PM
Sedat, I assume you've signed up for the Western Bulldogs Performance Leadership course, with KWW and Ameet as key speakers? (As well as Bevo and Easton Wood).

Link (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/performanceleadership)

D Mitchell
20-04-2023, 02:58 PM
Y....ry and hope that one day he'll be Victorian Premier (this is %100 a comment designed to draw out a Sedat politics rant, because there's nothing I love more).

If Sedat is a rusted on ALP voter, there's a fair chance that he'd agree with you, subject to Newbury moving to the ALP, a party which might be said to be one in which Newbury might feel more comfortable.

20-04-2023, 04:12 PM

Darc would absolutely be an appropriate candidate. I mostly agree with your sentiment there too, we have to accept that folk will wear different hats, hold various political opinions and preferences and interests and that all these things can exist without any real drama if the person is qualified and acting in the best interests of the club and within the boundaries of their role.

Off the top of my head, I can’t think of who else would be in the mix?

In terms of ex players/known club people:
At one point Dimma was making noises, but he’s not the right guy at all.
Beasley isn’t allowed to.
Wynd \ Galaxy have successfully overseen businesses but doubt they have an interest

There are probably some folk on the board who are capable too, but don’t have the public profile yet.

I’d just like to see whoever is the President be a little more public facing, do a bit more story telling and identity buildijg amongst the club and fans.

20-04-2023, 04:36 PM
If Sedat is a rusted on ALP voter, there's a fair chance that he'd agree with you, subject to Newbury moving to the ALP, a party which might be said to be one in which Newbury might feel more comfortable.

Lol that's a joke right? James "born to rule let's kick poor people onto the street and sell the land bastiaanz ally" Newbury?

Also I doubt Sedat simps for any politician or side, as it should be.

20-04-2023, 04:41 PM
Darc would absolutely be an appropriate candidate. I mostly agree with your sentiment there too, we have to accept that folk will wear different hats, hold various political opinions and preferences and interests and that all these things can exist without any real drama if the person is qualified and acting in the best interests of the club and within the boundaries of their role.

Off the top of my head, I can’t think of who else would be in the mix?

In terms of ex players/known club people:
At one point Dimma was making noises, but he’s not the right guy at all.
Beasley isn’t allowed to.
Wynd \ Galaxy have successfully overseen businesses but doubt they have an interest

There are probably some folk on the board who are capable too, but don’t have the public profile yet.

I’d just like to see whoever is the President be a little more public facing, do a bit more story telling and identity buildijg amongst the club and fans.

I think it was GVGjr that suggested Andrew Westacott the ex F1 boss, but he has also put up his hand for the AFL CEO Role

20-04-2023, 04:52 PM
Brickman for President!

20-04-2023, 05:54 PM
Chris Grant ? I don’t think any members knew of KWW at all before she got it so I would say it will be someone from outside, hopefully of some sort of footy knowledge.

D Mitchell
20-04-2023, 06:00 PM
Lol that's a joke right? James "born to rule let's kick poor people onto the street and sell the land bastiaanz ally" Newbury?....

Newbury worked as a Party staffer post uni ie, has never had a job. He's on public record record as supporting LGBTQ rights, abortion rights, zero emission standards policy. That's Victorian ALP Left credentials. Where do you get the "born to rule let's kick poor people onto the street and sell the land bastiaanz ally" ? Is your reference to "bastiaanz ally" to the Dutch Psych who advocated LSD treatment for Holocaust survivor victims ? That's Dan Andrews' career path. He's in the wrong party.

Back on topic, though, re: Darcy's politics. That shouldn't be in issue, at all. The position of the Chair of a Football Club should be Primus Inter Pares rather than Monarch. I've only seen the incumbent in action once, hosting a President's Lunch some years ago. I wasn't impressed with her delivery and command but the club's functioning well and the Board seems united. Those are the signs of a good Footy Club Chair / President.

20-04-2023, 08:42 PM
Chris Grant ? I don’t think any members knew of KWW at all before she got it so I would say it will be someone from outside, hopefully of some sort of footy knowledge.

Who is our current VP?

20-04-2023, 09:59 PM
Who is our current VP?
I have no idea .

20-04-2023, 10:28 PM
Newbury worked as a Party staffer post uni ie, has never had a job. He's on public record record as supporting LGBTQ rights, abortion rights, zero emission standards policy. That's Victorian ALP Left credentials. Where do you get the "born to rule let's kick poor people onto the street and sell the land bastiaanz ally" ? Is your reference to "bastiaanz ally" to the Dutch Psych who advocated LSD treatment for Holocaust survivor victims ? That's Dan Andrews' career path. He's in the wrong party.

Back on topic, though, re: Darcy's politics. That shouldn't be in issue, at all. The position of the Chair of a Football Club should be Primus Inter Pares rather than Monarch. I've only seen the incumbent in action once, hosting a President's Lunch some years ago. I wasn't impressed with her delivery and command but the club's functioning well and the Board seems united. Those are the signs of a good Footy Club Chair / President.

Newbury is close pals with Bastiaan (I don't know where the z came from) and is literally on the record about his policy being kicking homeless people out and selling the land they're on.

Vote Quimby.

21-04-2023, 12:11 AM
I have no idea .

Neither, and my quick Google didn't answer my question - maybe we don't have an official VP? I thought Luke Darcy was on the board as well?

Here's the list from the club website link (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/about-us/board/board-information)

21-04-2023, 04:05 AM
Neither, and my quick Google didn't answer my question - maybe we don't have an official VP? I thought Luke Darcy was on the board as well?

Here's the list from the club website link (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/about-us/board/board-information)

A few there seem capable .

21-04-2023, 08:32 AM

This one is better JD.

https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/about-us/board

First rule of web content management. No artefacts.

21-04-2023, 03:43 PM
Inside the AFL?s CEO search farce: What has happened since Gillon McLachlan announced his departure from the top job

It?s been 53 weeks since Gillon McLachlan announced he was walking away. And the process to replace him has been labelled a ?disgrace?. This is what is happening behind the scenes.

Don't miss out on the headlines from AFL. Followed categories will be added to My News.

Gillon McLachlan was emotional. After eight years he was done, cooked, finished and ready to walk away from the biggest job in Australian sport.

He?d just come through the toughest period of his career, steering the AFL through the Covid pandemic and it was now back flourishing again.

At the age of 49 he was ready to ride off into the sunset, enjoying those European summers he?d been missing out on.

As usual McLachlan had been impressive at his resignation press conference with the emotion of the decision obvious. He also explained how he?d come to an arrangement with AFL Commission chairman Richard Goyder to stay on until the end of the coming season to tidy up some significant loose ends.

?I think this timeline gives Richard and the Commission the right runway to work through the succession process,? McLachlan said.

That was April 12, 2022.

GILL?S $1M PRICE, TASSIE AND THE ?BROMANCE?

?IF this was a publicly listed company, the Commission would be tipped out. How they have gone about this is just a disgrace.?

The high-profile AFL club CEO is angry and it?s a sentiment shared by many of his contemporaries.

It?s April 19, 2023.

Gillon McLachlan is still the AFL CEO. There is no set date for his departure, no replacement has been named and those loose ends, well there?s now more of them, and they?re still loose.

To understand how the previous 12 months have played out the best starting point is the fact that Goyder has always ? and still does ? wanted McLachlan to continue as CEO.

It?s a scenario he tried to get across the line a number of times, first with the man himself who wasn?t totally against the idea given he was suffering from a case of buyer?s regret.

McLachlan was understandably wrecked after two years of a Covid-impacted competition, mentally and physically. But as the past year has played out, the batteries have been re-charged and those big job offers he expected to be on his doorstep haven?t really materialised.

Running the Brisbane Olympics was mentioned and a gig at Crown floated but there was nothing which compared with the adrenaline rush of running the largest sporting code in the country.

It has been suggested by multiple club sources that McLachlan put a $1 million pay increase on his head to stay on, raising his annual package to around $3.5 million with bonuses. (McLachlan has denied this claim).

Goyder was apparently more than happy to accommodate and looked at ways of raising the extra funds, allegedly even having a conversation with broadcast partner Channel 7 where it was quickly shut down.

McLachlan?s first deadline for departure ? the end of the 2022 season ? was already drifting to the end of the year when the Hawthorn racism scandal hit in September. It was a mess, not of the AFL?s making, but it landed in the CEO?s lap and he felt obligated to stay on to try and sort it.

In November a message was sent around to staff saying the CEO was now staying until after the Gather Round in April the following year while several big-ticket items remained on the agenda, including finalising a position on a 19th license for Tasmania and the new player Collective Bargaining Agreement.

Again as that deadline approached a new narrative was being pushed out. The Tasmanian licence needed Federal Government funding so it now made sense for McLachlan to stay around until the Federal Budget in May.

While this ever-moving deadline scenario played out, the process to find a successor spluttered along with a mystifying lack of urgency.

Goyder said there was ?no time-frame? when McLachlan first tendered his resignation and he wasn?t joking.

The bromance between the CEO and his chairman is seen as an issue in this failed ?succession process?.

What the pair didn?t work together on was a heir apparent plan which has dumbfounded many given McLachlan came into the job as the beneficiary of a carefully orchestrated handover from Andrew Demetriou.

?Normally there is an heir apparent in the AFL but there has been no real succession plan within the AFL for their CEO, there has been no genuine attempt to try and identify a person,? one club executive said.

?They would argue they have identified several people, I don?t buy that as I don?t think they had a real look at it. Their preparation has been poor.?

What has infuriated the clubs even more is the lack of urgency from the Commission to fill its two vacancies. It has been over two years since former West Coast and Sydney premiership player Jason Ball and former Foxtel executive Kim Williams announced they were retiring from their positions.

The Commission usually has nine members who are elected by the 18 AFL clubs, with each club entitled to make nominations. McLachlan is also a member of the Commission while the role of Chairman is decided by the Commission and not the clubs which is the same for the CEO position.

So since early 2021 there has only been six commissioners alongside Goyder and McLachlan: private equity banker Robin Bishop, academic Professor Helen Milroy, venture capitalist Paul Bassat, former soldier Simone Wilkie, businessman and former Hawthorn president Andrew Newbold and former lawyer Gabrielle Trainor.

With Ball leaving, it left the group responsible with running the game without anyone with football expertise. Remember, the previous Chairman was former Carlton premiership ruckman Mike Fitzpatrick.

?Would you have a banking commission without anyone with banking experience on it?,? one observer stated.

Names such as AFL legend Leigh Matthews and modern day greats of the game Matthew Pavlich, Chris Judd and even the recently retired Geelong premiership skipper Joel Selwood have been thrown up as possible commissioners as has former Sydney Swans and Brisbane CEO Andrew Ireland.

But all the club?s pleas have been met with deaf ears by Goyder and McLachlan which some believe is part of their power play, the less people involved the easier it is to control.

?One of the reasons they are indicating why they haven?t picked new commissioners is they don?t want the new commissioners, the inexperienced commissioners who might lack AFL industry knowledge to have a say in who might be the next AFL CEO,? another club CEO said.

?I find this part extraordinary, they want to decide for themselves and have become a bit of an oligarchy, a little group within a team.?

Adding to the power play, Goyder recently told the clubs that he would only be communicating with each club president rather than the CEOs.

So could this all lead to McLachlan staying on?

?They would need to play Benny Hill music out if they were announcing that,? one industry figure said.

Former Collingwood president Eddie McGuire is not ruling it out, saying the door is still ajar.

?He?s 49 years of age and it?s the best corporate job in Australia. I?m not sure why he would be running away from that one,? McGuire said.

WHO WAS WINNING THE RACE AND HOW DO THE CANDIDATES LOOK?

A FEMALE legacy piece was Richard Goyder?s back-up plan which blew up in smoke spectacularly over last weekend?s Gather Round.

In his other roles as chairman of Woodside Petroleum and Qantas Airways, Goyder has actively promoted women and the thought of being the one to install the first female AFL CEO appealed.

Woodside?s chief executive is Meg O?Neill while two of the leading candidates to replace Alan Joyce at Qantas later this year are Qantas Loyalty chief executive Olivia Wirth and the airline?s chief financial officer Vanessa Hudson.

Goyder?s anointed ground-breaker in the AFL was the highly regarded and well-credentialed Kylie Watson-Wheeler, the Western Bulldogs president and CEO of the Walt Disney Company Australian and New Zealand arm.

Her name had been thrown up at the start of the search with a dozen others but the trail went cold as the focus turned elsewhere before she suddenly emerged last week as the chairman?s chosen one.

The AFL engaged New York based recruitment company Spencer Stuart and have paid them over $1 million to run the worldwide search to find McLachlan?s replacement.

First interviews happened in June last year with candidates sounded out including club chief executives Brendon Gale (Richmond), Tom Harley (Sydney), David Matthews (GWS Giants) and Simon Garlick (Fremantle).

The in-house candidates were the AFL?s General Counsel and General Manager Football Operations Andrew Dillon, Travis Auld (GM Finance, Clubs and Broadcast) and Kylie Rogers (GM Customer and Commercial).

Then for nine months nothing happened. The search ground to a halt for reasons no-one has explained.

Behind-the-scenes opinions were being sought from club presidents and other industry figures although the Herald Sun understands that neither the recruitment firm, nor Goyder, sought out Demetriou for his take which shocked many.

?It?s hard to believe Andrew Demetriou didn?t get a phone call, you?d think he would know what is required to be the CEO of the AFL,? an industry source said.

It wasn?t until March that a short list of candidates were summoned to Spencer Stuart?s Melbourne office at 101 Collins St.

By this stage Dillon was considered the front-runner from Gale before Goyder fell in love with Watson-Wheeler?s business nous which included running the Hallmark greeting cards business in the US.

The lack of excitement around Gale has been the biggest surprise of the process. There is a sense he was never ?really in it? with his relationship with McLachlan and Goyder a sticking point.

?Brendon Gale came second in the process in 2014, one in which Gillon McLachlan was a shoe-in and the anointed one,? a club boss observed this week.

?Since 2014 he has won three premierships, got 100,000 members, put $20 million in the bank and set up external businesses for the Richmond Football Club yet he didn?t make the top two.

?And don?t forget he?s a lawyer, played 250 games and was president of the Players? Association. I mean how is Kylie Watson-Wheeler ahead of Brendon Gale??

When news broke that Watson-Wheeler had cancelled a speaking engagement in Melbourne last week to be a late addition to the AFL?s lavish Gather Round dinner at the prestigious Magill Estate winery in South Australia, she was quickly wound into favourite.

But Goyder?s plan hit a snag at the Commission table where it?s believed he was rolled by a vote of 4-3 to make Watson-Wheeler the new CEO.

If the clubs were frustrated before, they left Adelaide steaming, particularly after McLachlan engineered a three-year deal, worth around $60 million, for Gather Round to remain in Adelaide.

That was a decision many believed should have been one for the incoming CEO, not the one who was allegedly in his final days.

Watson-Wheeler left the City of Churches embarrassed and flew overseas on a holiday with her children. She never wanted her name to come out given her Disney commitments and like the assistant coach who keeps missing out on the senior job, it?s not a great look.

With Auld linked to the vacant Australian Grand Prix gig, the sense by the end of the highly successful football feast in Adelaide was that it was back to Dillon even though Goyder had apparently been concerned he didn?t want it enough.

The reason the clubs love Dillon is his no-fuss personality, he?s very good at his job and does it without the fanfare which clearly the AFL chair would like to see more of.

If it does fall Dillon?s way ? he has been at the AFL for 22 years ? how must he be feeling?

He has been in front of the Commission?s eyes the whole time and they?ve spent most of the past 12 months trying to find reasons not to appoint him.

?They have humiliated the candidates,? one experienced AFL figure said. ?How does anyone go into the job feeling they have got a really solid imprimatur to be able to create the change they want to create with this environment of uncertainty which has been created by an inept Commission.

?At the end of it all they will appoint Andrew Dillon, they could have picked him out five years ago and prepared him. So much for needing time for the worldwide search, they?ll go with the man who has been in their backyard the whole time.

?Seriously, we are getting laughed at.?

21-04-2023, 03:44 PM
What is going on? Seriously. How incompetent is the AFL commission. Laughable if it wasn't so serious.

21-04-2023, 03:57 PM
What is going on? Seriously. How incompetent is the AFL commission. Laughable if it wasn't so serious.

I have zero respect for Goyder.

21-04-2023, 04:08 PM
Sounds like Goyder is a bit of a sycophant for his chosen CEOs.

21-04-2023, 04:25 PM
I have zero respect for Goyder.

Yep. Zero respect. I really enjoyed this hit piece from Joe Ashton on Alan Joyce from Qantas. He doesn't miss when has a go Joe. Worth a read. https://12ft.io/proxy?q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.afr.com%2Frear-window%2Falan-joyce-has-had-enough-20230416-p5d0ve

The last bit for those not interested in the entire piece ...

"The problem for people who surround themselves exclusively with sycophants is that they become ill-equipped to cope with negative feedback.

The role of the Qantas board here is coming into sharp focus. It is simply extraordinary that the directors consider it their responsibility to rehabilitate the egoic injuries of Alan Joyce. That soothing his hurt feelings would chew up a moment of the board’s time is truly wacky.

Rather, the board should be paying Joyce lip service while actually focused on getting him out the door before he does the company any further reputational damage.

Joyce is on track to retire this Christmas with roughly $125 million in total realised pay over his 15 years in charge. It’s not enough – he needs to be revered, too. He’s a Companion of the Order of Australia, don’t you know? An Australian business legend.

There is a difference between backing your CEO and indulging him. By now, any half-shrewd chairman would’ve told Alan to harden the f--- up."

Who is the Chairman of Qantas. Yep. Goyder. Weak as piss. (He has been Chairman since 2018).

D Mitchell
21-04-2023, 04:27 PM
Inside the AFL?s CEO search farce: What has happened since Gillon McLachlan announced his departure from the top job

It?s been 53 weeks since Gillon McLachlan announced he was walking away. And the process to replace him has been labelled a ?disgrace?. This is what is happening behind the scenes.

Don't miss out on the headlines from AFL. Followed categories will be added to My News.

Gillon McLachlan was emotional. After eight years he was done, cooked, finished and ready to walk away from the biggest job in Australian sport.

He?d just come through the toughest period of his career, steering the AFL through the Covid pandemic and it was now back flourishing again.

At the age of 49 he was ready to ride off into the sunset, enjoying those European summers he?d been missing out on.

As usual McLachlan had been impressive at his resignation press conference with the emotion of the decision obvious. He also explained how he?d come to an arrangement with AFL Commission chairman Richard Goyder to stay on until the end of the coming season to tidy up some significant loose ends.

?I think this timeline gives Richard and the Commission the right runway to work through the succession process,? McLachlan said.

That was April 12, 2022.

GILL?S $1M PRICE, TASSIE AND THE ?BROMANCE?

?IF this was a publicly listed company, the Commission would be tipped out. How they have gone about this is just a disgrace.?

The high-profile AFL club CEO is angry and it?s a sentiment shared by many of his contemporaries.

It?s April 19, 2023.

Gillon McLachlan is still the AFL CEO. There is no set date for his departure, no replacement has been named and those loose ends, well there?s now more of them, and they?re still loose.

To understand how the previous 12 months have played out the best starting point is the fact that Goyder has always ? and still does ? wanted McLachlan to continue as CEO.

It?s a scenario he tried to get across the line a number of times, first with the man himself who wasn?t totally against the idea given he was suffering from a case of buyer?s regret.

McLachlan was understandably wrecked after two years of a Covid-impacted competition, mentally and physically. But as the past year has played out, the batteries have been re-charged and those big job offers he expected to be on his doorstep haven?t really materialised.

Running the Brisbane Olympics was mentioned and a gig at Crown floated but there was nothing which compared with the adrenaline rush of running the largest sporting code in the country.

It has been suggested by multiple club sources that McLachlan put a $1 million pay increase on his head to stay on, raising his annual package to around $3.5 million with bonuses. (McLachlan has denied this claim).

Goyder was apparently more than happy to accommodate and looked at ways of raising the extra funds, allegedly even having a conversation with broadcast partner Channel 7 where it was quickly shut down.

McLachlan?s first deadline for departure ? the end of the 2022 season ? was already drifting to the end of the year when the Hawthorn racism scandal hit in September. It was a mess, not of the AFL?s making, but it landed in the CEO?s lap and he felt obligated to stay on to try and sort it.

In November a message was sent around to staff saying the CEO was now staying until after the Gather Round in April the following year while several big-ticket items remained on the agenda, including finalising a position on a 19th license for Tasmania and the new player Collective Bargaining Agreement.

Again as that deadline approached a new narrative was being pushed out. The Tasmanian licence needed Federal Government funding so it now made sense for McLachlan to stay around until the Federal Budget in May.

While this ever-moving deadline scenario played out, the process to find a successor spluttered along with a mystifying lack of urgency.

Goyder said there was ?no time-frame? when McLachlan first tendered his resignation and he wasn?t joking.

The bromance between the CEO and his chairman is seen as an issue in this failed ?succession process?.

What the pair didn?t work together on was a heir apparent plan which has dumbfounded many given McLachlan came into the job as the beneficiary of a carefully orchestrated handover from Andrew Demetriou.

?Normally there is an heir apparent in the AFL but there has been no real succession plan within the AFL for their CEO, there has been no genuine attempt to try and identify a person,? one club executive said.

?They would argue they have identified several people, I don?t buy that as I don?t think they had a real look at it. Their preparation has been poor.?

What has infuriated the clubs even more is the lack of urgency from the Commission to fill its two vacancies. It has been over two years since former West Coast and Sydney premiership player Jason Ball and former Foxtel executive Kim Williams announced they were retiring from their positions.

The Commission usually has nine members who are elected by the 18 AFL clubs, with each club entitled to make nominations. McLachlan is also a member of the Commission while the role of Chairman is decided by the Commission and not the clubs which is the same for the CEO position.

So since early 2021 there has only been six commissioners alongside Goyder and McLachlan: private equity banker Robin Bishop, academic Professor Helen Milroy, venture capitalist Paul Bassat, former soldier Simone Wilkie, businessman and former Hawthorn president Andrew Newbold and former lawyer Gabrielle Trainor.

With Ball leaving, it left the group responsible with running the game without anyone with football expertise. Remember, the previous Chairman was former Carlton premiership ruckman Mike Fitzpatrick.

?Would you have a banking commission without anyone with banking experience on it?,? one observer stated.

Names such as AFL legend Leigh Matthews and modern day greats of the game Matthew Pavlich, Chris Judd and even the recently retired Geelong premiership skipper Joel Selwood have been thrown up as possible commissioners as has former Sydney Swans and Brisbane CEO Andrew Ireland.

But all the club?s pleas have been met with deaf ears by Goyder and McLachlan which some believe is part of their power play, the less people involved the easier it is to control.

?One of the reasons they are indicating why they haven?t picked new commissioners is they don?t want the new commissioners, the inexperienced commissioners who might lack AFL industry knowledge to have a say in who might be the next AFL CEO,? another club CEO said.

?I find this part extraordinary, they want to decide for themselves and have become a bit of an oligarchy, a little group within a team.?

Adding to the power play, Goyder recently told the clubs that he would only be communicating with each club president rather than the CEOs.

So could this all lead to McLachlan staying on?

?They would need to play Benny Hill music out if they were announcing that,? one industry figure said.

Former Collingwood president Eddie McGuire is not ruling it out, saying the door is still ajar.

?He?s 49 years of age and it?s the best corporate job in Australia. I?m not sure why he would be running away from that one,? McGuire said.

WHO WAS WINNING THE RACE AND HOW DO THE CANDIDATES LOOK?

A FEMALE legacy piece was Richard Goyder?s back-up plan which blew up in smoke spectacularly over last weekend?s Gather Round.

In his other roles as chairman of Woodside Petroleum and Qantas Airways, Goyder has actively promoted women and the thought of being the one to install the first female AFL CEO appealed.

Woodside?s chief executive is Meg O?Neill while two of the leading candidates to replace Alan Joyce at Qantas later this year are Qantas Loyalty chief executive Olivia Wirth and the airline?s chief financial officer Vanessa Hudson.

Goyder?s anointed ground-breaker in the AFL was the highly regarded and well-credentialed Kylie Watson-Wheeler, the Western Bulldogs president and CEO of the Walt Disney Company Australian and New Zealand arm.

Her name had been thrown up at the start of the search with a dozen others but the trail went cold as the focus turned elsewhere before she suddenly emerged last week as the chairman?s chosen one.

The AFL engaged New York based recruitment company Spencer Stuart and have paid them over $1 million to run the worldwide search to find McLachlan?s replacement.

First interviews happened in June last year with candidates sounded out including club chief executives Brendon Gale (Richmond), Tom Harley (Sydney), David Matthews (GWS Giants) and Simon Garlick (Fremantle).

The in-house candidates were the AFL?s General Counsel and General Manager Football Operations Andrew Dillon, Travis Auld (GM Finance, Clubs and Broadcast) and Kylie Rogers (GM Customer and Commercial).

Then for nine months nothing happened. The search ground to a halt for reasons no-one has explained.

Behind-the-scenes opinions were being sought from club presidents and other industry figures although the Herald Sun understands that neither the recruitment firm, nor Goyder, sought out Demetriou for his take which shocked many.

?It?s hard to believe Andrew Demetriou didn?t get a phone call, you?d think he would know what is required to be the CEO of the AFL,? an industry source said.

It wasn?t until March that a short list of candidates were summoned to Spencer Stuart?s Melbourne office at 101 Collins St.

By this stage Dillon was considered the front-runner from Gale before Goyder fell in love with Watson-Wheeler?s business nous which included running the Hallmark greeting cards business in the US.

The lack of excitement around Gale has been the biggest surprise of the process. There is a sense he was never ?really in it? with his relationship with McLachlan and Goyder a sticking point.

?Brendon Gale came second in the process in 2014, one in which Gillon McLachlan was a shoe-in and the anointed one,? a club boss observed this week.

?Since 2014 he has won three premierships, got 100,000 members, put $20 million in the bank and set up external businesses for the Richmond Football Club yet he didn?t make the top two.

?And don?t forget he?s a lawyer, played 250 games and was president of the Players? Association. I mean how is Kylie Watson-Wheeler ahead of Brendon Gale??

When news broke that Watson-Wheeler had cancelled a speaking engagement in Melbourne last week to be a late addition to the AFL?s lavish Gather Round dinner at the prestigious Magill Estate winery in South Australia, she was quickly wound into favourite.

But Goyder?s plan hit a snag at the Commission table where it?s believed he was rolled by a vote of 4-3 to make Watson-Wheeler the new CEO.

If the clubs were frustrated before, they left Adelaide steaming, particularly after McLachlan engineered a three-year deal, worth around $60 million, for Gather Round to remain in Adelaide.

That was a decision many believed should have been one for the incoming CEO, not the one who was allegedly in his final days.

Watson-Wheeler left the City of Churches embarrassed and flew overseas on a holiday with her children. She never wanted her name to come out given her Disney commitments and like the assistant coach who keeps missing out on the senior job, it?s not a great look.

With Auld linked to the vacant Australian Grand Prix gig, the sense by the end of the highly successful football feast in Adelaide was that it was back to Dillon even though Goyder had apparently been concerned he didn?t want it enough.

The reason the clubs love Dillon is his no-fuss personality, he?s very good at his job and does it without the fanfare which clearly the AFL chair would like to see more of.

If it does fall Dillon?s way ? he has been at the AFL for 22 years ? how must he be feeling?

He has been in front of the Commission?s eyes the whole time and they?ve spent most of the past 12 months trying to find reasons not to appoint him.

?They have humiliated the candidates,? one experienced AFL figure said. ?How does anyone go into the job feeling they have got a really solid imprimatur to be able to create the change they want to create with this environment of uncertainty which has been created by an inept Commission.

?At the end of it all they will appoint Andrew Dillon, they could have picked him out five years ago and prepared him. So much for needing time for the worldwide search, they?ll go with the man who has been in their backyard the whole time.

?Seriously, we are getting laughed at.?

Thanks for that. I have no idea whether any of that is accurate or not or even if you are pulling our collective legs all the way down Bourke Street but it's a hell of a good read.

21-04-2023, 04:30 PM
Thanks for that. I have no idea whether any of that is accurate or not or even if you are pulling our collective legs all the way down Bourke Street but it's a hell of a good read.

Well there has to be some truth. Or an alternative version of the truth would still be one hell of story. It has been an entire year since they announced Gill was leaving. No one still knows anything. Crazy times.

21-04-2023, 04:33 PM
I get there is a process to follow but hasn't this dragged on 6 months too long?
It sounds like Goyder's preferred candidate was our President KWW but he was out voted and Andrew Dillon will be the default appointment unless there is a late candidate to consider. It only needs one of the other 4 to change their mind and the job might swing back to KWW so don't rule her out.
Dillon should have got the role months ago.

I've met Goyder and he is both intelligent, stubborn and very capable of a major miscalculation based on over confidence.
I wonder if the appointment will have a Bunnings UK type result for the AFL.

21-04-2023, 04:37 PM
I get there is a process to follow but hasn't this dragged on 6 months too long?
It sounds like Goyder's preferred candidate was our President KWW but he was out voted and Andrew Dillon will be the default appointment unless there is a late candidate to consider. It only needs one of the other 4 to change their mind and the job might swing back to KWW so don't rule her out.

I've met Goyder and he is both intelligent, stubborn and very capable of a major miscalculation based on over confidence.

Interesting. The Coles acquisition under his watch was probably one of the worst major acquisitions in Australian Corporate history. Destroyed a lot of shareholder value. The timing before the GFC was a disaster. He also was CEO when Bunnings made their disaster of an entry into the UK market.

So he has a number of miscalculations under his belt.

21-04-2023, 04:55 PM
Interesting. The Coles acquisition under his watch was probably one of the worst major acquisitions in Australian Corporate history. Destroyed a lot of shareholder value. The timing before the GFC was a disaster. He also was CEO when Bunnings made their disaster of an entry into the UK market.

So he has a number of miscalculations under his belt.

He misunderstood consumers more than anything else based on how successful Bunnings was by not acknowledging that their main competitor back 25 + years ago folded and the rest of the hardware sector was cash strapped and couldn't compete.
The Bunnings business rode on the coat tails of all those home renovation shows and big box hardware stores become popular and year on year double digit sales growth came easy to the business. In other words it came too easy for them and gave Wesfarmers a false sense of their own ability. They never really had any competition and had suppliers wrapped up in a tight bow.
Given Bunnings success he thought that Wesfarmers and their execs understood the retail market when they really didn't.
They did some things exceptionally well but also burned cash along the way with some poor decisions.

I think there is a chance he has misread this process and made it far more complicated than it needed to be.

21-04-2023, 05:01 PM
He misunderstood consumers more than anything else based on how successful Bunnings was by not acknowledging that their main competitor back 25 + years ago folded and the rest of the hardware sector was cash strapped and couldn't compete.
The Bunnings business rode on the coat tails of all those home renovation shows and big box hardware stores become popular and year on year double digit sales growth came easy to the business. In other words it came too easy for them and gave Wesfarmers a false sense of their own ability. They never really had any competition and had suppliers wrapped up in a tight bow.
Given Bunnings success he thought that Wesfarmers and their execs understood the retail market when they really didn't.
They did some things exceptionally well but also burned cash along the way with some poor decisions.

I think there is a chance he has misread this process and made it far more complicated than it needed to be.

100% agree. It is easy to manage a business when you have a monopoly. Bunnings also benefited from a super strong construction cycle underpinned by record levels of immigration and friendly Government policy. We basically built houses at record levels for year after year. Also, increasing house prices and low interest rates resulted in many people using the equity in their house to do renovations. Also, he didn't even run the Bunnings business (John Gilham did in his time). At the Wesfarmers exec and board levels they are essentially allocators of capital. However people like Goyder operate above the line. When things go well they look in the mirror, when things go bad they look out the window. Always someone to blame. Nothing ever sticks.

Hubris does most people in after successful runs like that. Success in one area doesn't mean you will have success in another.

Goyder's stint at the AFL and Qantas have both been shambolic. I don't think in my time I have seen a company and brand lose as much goodwill as Qantas has under Goyder's watch as Chairman.

D Mitchell
21-04-2023, 06:08 PM
Newbury is close pals with Bastiaan (I don't know where the z came from) and is literally on the record about his policy being kicking homeless people out and selling the land they're on.

Vote Quimby.
I have no idea who your Bastiaan is. Before I posted, I googled it, came up with Jan Bastiaan, Dutch psych, I could swear that yesterday Jan spelt his name with a z. Whatever, Newbury looks more ALP socialist left than Liberal hard right. Quimby, Diamond Joe from the Simpsons ?

21-04-2023, 06:24 PM
I have no idea who your Bastiaan is. Before I posted, I googled it, came up with Jan Bastiaan, Dutch psych, I could swear that yesterday Jan spelt his name with a z. Whatever, Newbury looks more ALP socialist left than Liberal hard right. Quimby, Diamond Joe from the Simpsons ?

Marcus Bastiaan and I'm now convinced you're trolling me. Well done, hook like and sinker.

21-04-2023, 06:30 PM
Marcus Bastiaan and I'm now convinced you're trolling me. Well done, hook like and sinker.

N.Mitchell maybe.

21-04-2023, 06:42 PM

Hehe, that's not a thing that exists.

21-04-2023, 06:46 PM
We should avoid political spectrum debates.

21-04-2023, 07:19 PM

So no political compass memes? Yes best to avoid that.

21-04-2023, 07:34 PM

This isn't a debate. This is a segue.

Back in track though, I reiterate. Vote Quimby.

21-04-2023, 08:28 PM
So no political compass memes? Yes best to avoid that.

Haha. I don't care if you're a cow hugger or blue beef eater I'll judge you as a person.

21-04-2023, 08:28 PM
This isn't a debate. This is a segue.

Back in track though, I reiterate. Vote Quimby.

https://youtu.be/jbWkZHP1Kvw
This is a tribute! Great work.

22-04-2023, 01:00 AM

It sounds precisely like there isn't a process, actually.

22-04-2023, 02:28 AM

He bought the wrong business in the UK. B&Q would have been a much better buy for Bunnings - essecintially the same model, big shed style store.

Homebase is a halfway house between a hardware store/soft furnishing store/nursery

22-04-2023, 02:44 AM
Brickman for President!

I?ll only entertain the idea if there?s a quorum on the board to bring back the original Olympic donuts Van at Footscray station.

22-04-2023, 10:08 AM
I?ll only entertain the idea if there?s a quorum on the board to bring back the original Olympic donuts Van at Footscray station.

You have my vote

22-04-2023, 11:49 AM
100% agree. It is easy to manage a business when you have a monopoly. Bunnings also benefited from a super strong construction cycle underpinned by record levels of immigration and friendly Government policy. We basically built houses at record levels for year after year. Also, increasing house prices and low interest rates resulted in many people using the equity in their house to do renovations. Also, he didn't even run the Bunnings business (John Gilham did in his time). At the Wesfarmers exec and board levels they are essentially allocators of capital. However people like Goyder operate above the line. When things go well they look in the mirror, when things go bad they look out the window. Always someone to blame. Nothing ever sticks.

Hubris does most people in after successful runs like that. Success in one area doesn't mean you will have success in another.

Goyder's stint at the AFL and Qantas have both been shambolic. I don't think in my time I have seen a company and brand lose as much goodwill as Qantas has under Goyder's watch as Chairman.

I must say i do like that line. Hope i remember it for future use.
Maybe we should have a thread 'Classic lines...'

22-04-2023, 12:05 PM
https://youtu.be/jbWkZHP1Kvw
This is a tribute! Great work.

Wow that's good. I honestly thought Tenacious D referred to a rapper.

Back to future president thread.

22-04-2023, 11:39 PM
It's alright everybody. Leigh Matthews has been approached to fill the 'ex player' position on the Commission, providing a thoroughly modern and nuanced look at the state of the game.

23-04-2023, 03:18 AM
It's alright everybody. Leigh Matthews has been approached to fill the 'ex player' position on the Commission, providing a thoroughly modern and nuanced look at the state of the game.

Mick Malthouse or Kevin Sheedy should get a run too.

23-04-2023, 09:47 AM

Wow. Matthews is closer to being an ex-person than an ex-player.

23-04-2023, 10:53 PM
On the plus side he's an expert in what it takes to ruin someone's brain through violent acts on a football field.

23-04-2023, 11:23 PM

Future footage of Lethal in commission meetings.
https://twitter.com/7AFL/status/1002137831823691776?s=20

26-04-2023, 11:31 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FuoO59waAAAF4M4?format=jpg&name=large

27-04-2023, 12:14 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FuoO59waAAAF4M4?format=jpg&name=large
A courageous decision. Long live the Boys Club.

27-04-2023, 03:04 AM
He's literally the whitest person I've ever seen!

I never knew what he looked like, but if you asked me to identikit describe white AFL boys club executive that'd be it!

27-04-2023, 04:38 AM
What a long drawn out fiasco this process has been. I thought Dillon was the best candidate from the jump but now takes on the role knowing that in the eyes of the chairman he was at best the 3rd choice.
A couple of weeks ago he quietly resigned from a number of other footy community roles he had so I guess he was aware he was likely to land the job.

27-04-2023, 09:24 AM
So KWW is happy to stay in her current position despite trying to leave the club for bigger and better personal things?

27-04-2023, 09:35 AM
So KWW is happy to stay in her current position despite trying to leave the club for bigger and better personal things?

It's one of the most prestigious jobs you can have and it's a feather in her cap to not only get identified as a top candidate, asked to throw her hat into the ring but then almost get the role. I can't see that being a problem for her as our President and I'm sure it's not an issue for Brendan Gale and Richmond.

27-04-2023, 10:36 AM
It's one of the most prestigious jobs you can have and it's a feather in her cap to not only get identified as a top candidate, asked to throw her hat into the ring but then almost get the role. I can't see that being a problem for her as our President and I'm sure it's not an issue for Brendan Gale and Richmond.

With respect why would we (the Western Bulldogs) have an issue given her role with the club is voluntary... if anyone is going to have an issue it would be Kylie's employer, Disney.

Different situation totally to Brendan Gale who is employed by Richmond.

27-04-2023, 10:41 AM
With respect why would we (the Western Bulldogs) have an issue given her role with the club is voluntary... if anyone is going to have an issue it would be Kylie's employer, Disney.

Different situation totally to Brendan Gale who is employed by Richmond.

I cant see any issues with her being considered for the role.

27-04-2023, 11:27 AM
With Richard Goyder heavily in her corner, it wouldn't surprise me if KW-W was in the running for one of the current vacant seats on the AFL Commission. These globalist career corporatists love to stick together and join prestigious boards that require extensive international travel (zoom/teams/skype only mandatory for the plebs of society it would seem). If that was to materialise, then mission accomplished with all the profile she has received in the last 2 weeks, which is more than she has had in her entire tenure as club president.

I'm not sure Gil is completely out of the reckoning to stay on - I bet the AFEL frame the delayed announcement on some funky internal restructuring, with Gil staying on to do all the ribbon-cutting stuff and Dillion doing all the grunt work with heavy emphasis on his legal area of expertise, which will come into heavy focus on head trauma and other future legal minefields. They just gorged on another $250m from the federal govt/taxpayer, so what's another multi-million dollar head-count at city hall?

27-04-2023, 12:16 PM
I'm not sure Gil is completely out of the reckoning to stay on - I bet the AFEL frame the delayed announcement on some funky internal restructuring, with Gil staying on to do all the ribbon-cutting stuff and Dillion doing all the grunt work with heavy emphasis on his legal area of expertise, which will come into heavy focus on head trauma and other future legal minefields. They just gorged on another $250m from the federal govt/taxpayer, so what's another multi-million dollar head-count at city hall?

It's hard to believe there is still a real chance Gil stays but given it's been reported that he hasn't been getting a lot of calls about his availability perhaps Goyder just throws another million at him to stay on and he gets his wish.
It's a real Hollywood style story

27-04-2023, 12:25 PM
It's hard to believe there is still a real chance Gil stays but given it's been reported that he hasn't been getting a lot of calls about his availability perhaps Goyder just throws another million at him to stay on and he gets his wish.
It's a real Hollywood style story
He has great presidential hair, which gets you far in the corporate world.

27-04-2023, 12:44 PM

Surely Brendan Gale will now take on the role of setting up the new Tasmanian club.

27-04-2023, 12:47 PM
He has great presidential hair, which gets you far in the corporate world.

Plus he does all the groovy handshakes and man hugs.

He's done a good job through a challenging period but it's time for him to move on.

27-04-2023, 12:47 PM
Surely Brendan Gale will now take on the role of setting up the new Tasmanian club.

It's a good suggestion.

28-04-2023, 03:35 PM
"Senior club figures have suggested Goyder will be gone within 12 months. Some of those senior figures say it can?t come quick enough because, in their time, they have never seen a more dysfunctional and vanilla commission table, and one bereft of football IQ."

Robbo goes whack. If half of this even remotely true, then the commission is a shambolic mess at best.

Mark Robinson: Why Brendon Gale has been overlooked for AFL CEO position April 28, 2023 - 1:46PM

It?s the question on everyone?s lips: why wasn?t Brendon Gale appointed the next AFL CEO? Because the Commission often presents like a secret society, writes Mark Robinson.

Brendon Gale is football?s elephant in the room.

Why wasn?t he appointed the next chief executive officer of the AFL?

No slight on the respected Andrew Dillon, who is expected to replace Gillon McLachlan in what would be yet another in-house selection.

It?s a curious situation when the $1 million worldwide search found Dillon one office away from McLachlan in the game?s Docklands headquarters, just as McLachlan was an office away from Andrew Demetriou, who was an office away from Wayne Jackson, and Jackson himself was a commissioner during the Ross Oakley era.

It?s like a mafia family and only ?made men?? reap the rewards.

Clubs wanted to break this cycle, because they felt a person was needed from outside the institution, and one with expansive club knowledge.

It?s why every senior figure at club level contacted by the Herald Sun finds it ?bizarre?? and ?bewildering?? that Gale has not already been appointed McLachlan?s successor ? or should be.

Why not, they ask.

What has the AFL got against Richmond?s chief executive, they ask.

Because the AFL Commission often presents like a secret society, chaired by Richard Goyder, those same club figures are left to only surmise why Gale has seemingly been death-ridden by people within the AFL.

He might not even run second, or perhaps even third, in the race for McLachlan?s job, when he was second to McLachlan last time around.

It?s mind-boggling.

Gale?s CV is a rip snorter: 244-game player, lawyer, Players? Association boss, Tigers CEO, helped save a crumbling football club, three flags, 100,000 members, league-leading Indigenous programs, bundles of generated cash, well liked, well respected, loves the game and respects the fans.

But apparently not that rip snorting enough.

Former Richmond president Peggy O?Neal is a fan of Dillon?s but is mystified by the potential Gale snub.

?Decisions are made which I just don?t understand and haven?t for a while,?? O?Neal said.

?I can?t imagine anyone doing a better job than Brendon, so I don?t know what the dilemma is, really.

?Maybe he sees major changes are needed and others don?t want that to happen, I don?t know ... it?s a mystery.

?I do wonder what else they want when you consider all he has done in his career, the commercial side of things, he?s a lawyer, players? association, and then coming to Richmond when we were down on our luck ... and to be so determined for the turnaround, and it happened, and way, way the large part goes to Brendon.

?He?s a very intellectually curious person who has a lot of skills beyond what you see on game day.

?I?m not sure what criteria the AFL is looking for, and sometimes when you?re interviewing you think, and not just for AFL jobs, sometimes people go with someone they know rather than take a chance.??

She argued the AFL had to look outside, an opinion shared by most of her former counterpart presidents.

?We?re at a point where I think (we need) someone outside AFL (headquarters) and someone who knows club land because the clubs really need to have a say of what happens, and I?ve thought that for a long time,?? she said.

?We put on the show. TV rights and all those kinds of things are going well because the show is pretty good and that?s because we put a team out every week, and we bring the fans, and I just think we?ve lost sight somewhere along the way about where the control really lies and the ability to exercise it.

?The commission was set up to avoid club bias, but I think we need someone who understands the stress of club land.??

Like many, O?Neal is flabbergasted that the search took so long.

?I think most people who have been in this mix for a while have had to put their lives on hold, and that?s not fair,?? she said. ?We change governments faster than this. BHP change CEOs faster than this.??

The year-long fiasco to find the replacement for McLachlan ? and the machinations of recent weeks in particular ? could prompt a severe shake-up of the commission.

It is said Goyder wanted Western Bulldogs president Kylie Watson-Wheeler in McLachlan?s chair, but clubs didn?t like that idea, nor did some members of the commission, who allegedly voted down Goyder?s left-field idea.

That?s not good news for Goyder. Put it this way, if the coach declares who he wants as captain and the support staff say no, the coach clearly has lost authority.

Senior club figures have suggested Goyder will be gone within 12 months. Some of those senior figures say it can?t come quick enough because, in their time, they have never seen a more dysfunctional and vanilla commission table, and one bereft of football IQ.

Certainly, club presidents are headed for a showdown with Goyder and, as a group, they will likely soon call for an urgent meeting with him and the commission.

The presidents have no say about who will be the league?s next CEO, but they are all over the two vacant spots on the commission and possibly one or two more.

he clubs want former player and administrator Andrew Ireland and Ireland wants in. Leigh Matthews is also warming to the idea of being a commissioner. And Matthew Pavlich is seemingly the No.1 draft pick on that front.

Another name to emerge in recent days is Collingwood director Jodie Sizer, who has done a power of work in the wake of the Magpies? Do Better Report.

One of Australia?s foremost Indigenous leaders, Sizer could be a contender for the position held by Helen Milroy, who is expected to depart the commission.

It?s possible the club presidents could push for all four to join the commission in what would be a major overhaul.

Even Goyder?s potential successor as chairman, Robin Bishop, an investment banker who has been on the commission since 2017, might not have the support from the presidents that he?d hope to have.

McLachlan has been the ultimate poker player throughout, holding his cards close about when he?s departing and even closer about who should replace him.

He says he?s had nothing to do with it, but that can?t be true. Goyder won?t open an envelope without McLachlan?s blessing, so it?s incongruous to believe Goyder hasn?t asked McLachlan for his input, or more to the point, McLachlan hasn?t offered it.

And so he should as the incumbent.

But it?s fair to say if McLachlan believed Gale was his appropriate replacement, it would?ve happened.

It?s also fair to say Richmond has had, at times, a combative relationship with headquarters in recent years and popular opinion has it that the AFL frowns upon unruly clubs.

Like the time in May, 2021, Gale, and coach Damien Hardwick, were loath to play a home game at Marvel Stadium.

?To have the MCG ? one of the world?s great sporting stadiums ? empty this weekend just makes no sense. We should be playing at the MCG,? Gale said.

?Playing at Marvel this weekend will minimise crowds and that goes against everything the industry wants to deliver. We want fans at games.?

Hardwick added post game: ?Mate, I hate coming here. I probably shouldn?t say that.??

There was also Richmond?s frustration at the hubs set up, and the late-night punch up at the kebab caravan, and the breaking of curfew, one of them being by the wife of then Tigers captain Trent Cotchin.

In searching for reasons as to why Gale has seemingly been overlooked for the role, there?s a suggestion that some at the AFL have a set against Gale?s wife, Jane.

It sounds crazy, but club bosses have heard the scuttlebutt and so, too, have some in the media.

Jane Gale is a warm, engaging and enthusiastic person who speaks her mind and ? if the suggestion is true ? maybe that?s too much of a handful for the AFL.

If she has played any part in her husband being overlooked for the job, it says more about the AFL than it does Jane.

At the start of the 2022 season, and in an interview with this newspaper, McLachlan was bemused by questions about his relationship with Gale, and whether he had any issues with the Tigers, as was suggested through the club?s tumultuous 2021 season.

?Zero issues,?? McLachlan said.

On Gale, he said: ?From my perspective, he?s an excellent chief executive and he and I have a great relationship and we?re friends. I think we?re friends.??

Could he do your job? ?Yes. Clearly it has to be the best person, but I think being a club chief executive means you?re more qualified than less qualified.??

But not qualified enough, apparently.

D Mitchell
28-04-2023, 03:49 PM
According to news.com.au, Dillon's getting the gig. Kylie stays and we've unearthed Westacott. If this bloke's any good, let's get him on to the Board asap.

28-04-2023, 04:50 PM
According to news.com.au, Dillon's getting the gig. Kylie stays and we've unearthed Westacott. If this bloke's any good, let's get him on to the Board asap.
As in the Grand Prix boss? He's linked to us?
That's a fair coup to get someone like that on our board.

28-04-2023, 04:59 PM

Dogs supporter

28-04-2023, 05:25 PM

Yep, a passionate Dogs supporter and from all reports an outstanding sports administrator. I hope he is interested in making a contribution to the club.

28-04-2023, 11:39 PM
Gale and the Tigers are paying for their hubris and sense of self importance/ entitlement. That's fair enough for mine, a bit like Geelong they don't know how easy they have it when it comes to games on the home deck or favourable away fixtures at their home deck/ finals mecca.

So **** them.

However, it's all moot because Gill has come out and told everyone they're crazy........which, you know, is normal for someone who heads up an organisation that believes the public owes it a living, an organisation that is chaired by a chairman of another organisation that thinks the Australian public owes it a living (QANTAS).

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/never-seen-fans-so-happy-mclachlan-defends-ceo-process-aflw-gets-season-eight-start-date-20230428-p5d40a.html

McLachlan defends CEO process
Marc McGowan

Outgoing AFL boss Gillon McLachlan has vigorously defended the lengthy process that league headquarters has undertaken to find his replacement as chief executive.

More than a year has passed since an emotional McLachlan announced that, after eight seasons in charge, he would pass the torch to someone else.

Andrew Dillon has been hotly tipped this week to be McLachlan?s successor, but the AFL is yet to confirm his appointment or say when that will happen.

But McLachlan said it was normal in the corporate world for important hiring decisions to take time, and he had not met these ?anonymous people who are furious?.

Gillon McLachlan is comfortable with how long the CEO process has taken.
Gillon McLachlan is comfortable with how long the CEO process has taken.CREDIT:GETTY IMAGES

?We are a big, very public organisation, and what happens is that every decision that?s big plays out in public, and so people demand stuff,? McLachlan told 3AW on Friday.

?But if it was damaging, people in public would care ? they?d be talking about it, or crowds would be different.

?The game is the only thing that matters, and the supporters and the clubs are the only [things] that matter, and they?re loving their football in record numbers and record ratings.

?I?ve never seen our supporters so happy. I go to a lot of football, and I?ve never had one of them talk about any angst about this, so I don?t know what everyone?s worried about.?

McLachlan said it was ?not my place? to reveal the timeframe for his replacement to become public knowledge.

Prime Minister Anthony Albanese is expected to announce in Hobart this weekend that the federal government will chip in $240 million to help bankroll the new stadium that is set to trigger a Tasmanian team as the AFL?s 19th licence.

RELATED ARTICLE
James Sicily?s Tasmania?s comments sparked some heated reaction.
AFL Briefing
AFL 2023
MCG changes parking system; Sicily rebuked by Mitchell, Tassie premier; Petracca confident Pickett will stay
But McLachlan stopped short of confirming the stadium funding.

?There has been speculation; there?s clearly been some leaks,? he said. ?We feel like we?ve prosecuted a good pitch to the federal government but nothing?s done until it?s out and announced ? and it?s pretty hard for me to comment other than that.?

McLachlan also explained why the league insisted on the Tasmanian government paying the lion?s share for the stadium?s construction, which amounts to $375 million, compared to the AFL?s $15 million.

?It?s a stadium that will be owned by the government of Tasmania, built in Hobart, that is a multipurpose precinct ? it?s about urban development, it?s about a whole series of things,? he said.

?It?s got nothing to do with us ? then we bring games and content and tourism, so it?s a community-owned asset that actually brings economic stimulus, jobs and frankly, pride that changes the whole state.

?You?ve only got to go and look at what?s happened in Adelaide around Adelaide Oval, where it?s an asset that?s owned by the community and ultimately has driven pride, economic impact and changed the state, the same as the Optus Stadium in Perth.?

28-04-2023, 11:40 PM
Gill says everything's fine and we're all idiots.

28-04-2023, 11:51 PM
Gill says everything's fine and we're all idiots.

Stop looking idiot.

28-04-2023, 11:52 PM
Did Robbo actually give an opinion why Gale was overlooked or just a bunch of jibrish?

28-04-2023, 11:53 PM
Stop looking idiot.

I know, right.

The CEO's told us everything's fine with the process to replace him and that should be good enough for us. After all, we've never been as happy or impressed as we are now with the state of the game, let alone the new clothes he's doing his final march down the street in.........

28-04-2023, 11:55 PM
I know, right.

The CEO's told us everything's fine with the process to replace him and that should be good enough for us. After all, we've never been as happy as we are now with the state of the game, let alone the new clothes he's doing his final march down the street in.........

I can’t recall where I read it but apparently Gilligan hasn’t exactly been inundated with job offers.

29-04-2023, 12:22 AM
Gill just took another +$2m from the AFL coffers after the process runs way over, but it it?s all OK. Gill tells us there is no issue!

Gill. Supposedly the best sports administrator in Australia if not the world but over his journey has not been able to coach/develop/mentor a clear successor. But he is so good that they are begging him to stay. You can?t make this stuff up.

29-04-2023, 12:34 AM
Gill. Comes from generational wealth. Grew up on a legacy mansion in SA. His uncle was the Defence Minister for the country. Went to one of the best private school’s in the country. Grew up playing polo. Went to Melbourne University. Started at the AFL at age 27, so really didn’t hold a “real job” for any real length of time.

Gee whiz, he overcome so much adversity and showed so much grit against all odds to to become the AFL CEO! The way he is constantly held in such high esteem baffles me.

29-04-2023, 12:41 AM
I can’t recall where I read it but apparently Gilligan hasn’t exactly been inundated with job offers.

I think there's tension between handling the pandemic well, but completely ****ing up the racism stuff multiple times holding him back.

Plus, the corporate world much like everyone outside of the AFL circle jerk bubble knows running the AFL is a turkey shoot. His job would be like running Coles if Woollies didn't exist and only IGA and Aldi were there to bother him from time to time. It's harder to **** it up than succeed.

Outside of pharma or mining/ petrochem, which industries enjoy the lack of competition the AFL does? He's the last guy I'd be taking to war.

29-04-2023, 12:45 AM
Gill. Comes from generational wealth. Grew up on a legacy mansion in SA. His uncle was the Defence Minister for the country. Went to one of the best private school’s in the country. Grew up playing polo. Went to Melbourne University. Started at the AFL at age 27, so really didn’t hold a “real job” for any real length of time.

Gee whiz, he overcome so much adversity and showed so much grit against all odds to to become the AFL CEO! The way he is constantly held in such high esteem baffles me.

Exactly.

In my personal (and limited) experiences with him, he really did come across as the most privo mother****er I've ever met. Way worse than the Old Xaverian arseholes or Melbourne Grammar ponces I had the displeasure losing games of football to. He just reeked shithead.

An interesting juxtaposition for how you and I may feel though, is how Peter Gordon feels about him.

29-04-2023, 12:15 PM
Exactly.

In my personal (and limited) experiences with him, he really did come across as the most privo mother****er I've ever met. Way worse than the Old Xaverian arseholes or Melbourne Grammar ponces I had the displeasure losing games of football to. He just reeked shithead.

An interesting juxtaposition for how you and I may feel though, is how Peter Gordon feels about him.

The biggest issue that I have is that he actually achieved nothing personally prior to starting in the AFL. Basically fresh out of university and a few years working at a big four consulting firm. The AFL is like a big political party. You get ahead by who you impress rather than the work that you actually do. What is important is how you are perceived not what you do. Career unionist/politicians like Dan Andrews are similar albeit from a different socio-economic part of society. Never had a real job where you are judged on what you actually do.

01-05-2023, 09:52 AM
Confirmed - click for full story

Andrew Dillon appointed new AFL chief executive (https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/andrew-dillon-appointed-new-afl-chief-executive-20230421-p5d2ai.html)

01-05-2023, 10:15 AM
Confirmed - click for full story

Andrew Dillon appointed new AFL chief executive (https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/andrew-dillon-appointed-new-afl-chief-executive-20230421-p5d2ai.html)

What a long drawn out process and the possibly best credentialed candidate was in house anyway.
I get that you need to conduct a thorough search but it took way too long.

01-05-2023, 10:19 AM

This triumph of the human spirit should be documented with a brand new Netflix original series.

01-05-2023, 10:36 AM
This triumph of the human spirit should be documented with a brand new Netflix original series.

We could name it "Fyre Festival 2: CEO boogaloo"

01-05-2023, 11:05 AM
We could name it "Fyre Festival 2: CEO boogaloo"
Who will play the role of Ja Rule?

01-05-2023, 11:09 AM
Who will play the role of Ja Rule?

Well he claimed it was "not his fault" so really anyone in City Hall could play him.

01-05-2023, 11:15 AM
Well he claimed it was "not his fault" so really anyone in City Hall could play him.
A lucrative career in politics beckons

01-05-2023, 11:36 AM
You're getting and Old Boy from the elite schools but that's all good apparently:

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/the-old-xavs-boy-without-an-enemy-in-the-game-who-is-new-afl-boss-andrew-dillon-20230412-p5czux.html

01-05-2023, 11:51 AM
Why is everyone so fascinated by what high school he went to? Everyone fawning over that he is an old Xavier boy. Why does everyone talk about it and bring it up?

Because it appears it is crucial to him getting the job. The high school he went to for six years about 30 years ago is somehow a talking point. It is crazy that this is still happening in 2023. What is also disturbing is how many of the AFL executive team went to elite private schools. The game of the people, for the people run by a secret little club from Melbourne's elite circle.

It is disturbing.

01-05-2023, 12:02 PM
Why is everyone so fascinated by what high school he went to? Everyone fawning over that he is an old Xavier boy. Why does everyone talk about it and bring it up?

Because it appears it is crucial to him getting the job. The high school he went to for six years about 30 years ago is somehow a talking point. It is crazy that this is still happening in 2023. What is also disturbing is how many of the AFL executive team went to elite private schools. The game of the people, for the people run by a secret little club from Melbourne's elite circle.

It is disturbing.

It's good practice to talk it up and normalise it as an important hiring criteria. Makes it easier to justify why you keep hiring people from the same background over and over again.

01-05-2023, 12:14 PM
The ruling classes have mastered the art of concealing the fact that there are indeed, ruling classes.

The fat content bourgeoisie (love Marxist terms, someone said Prole the other day) sleepwalking along whilst (mind the gap) the rich get richer.

We need a nationalist uprising, let's pretend it's socialist too (screw DAS KAPITAL!). We could call it National Socialist something or other?

Sedat for President, EW for Benevolent leader, GVG minister for tents, BAD propaganda ;)

I can be Rasputin. Crazy middle aged idiot who posts crap like this.

01-05-2023, 12:20 PM
You're getting and Old Boy from the elite schools but that's all good apparently:

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/the-old-xavs-boy-without-an-enemy-in-the-game-who-is-new-afl-boss-andrew-dillon-20230412-p5czux.html
Straight from the VAFA footy factory

01-05-2023, 12:36 PM
Straight from the VAFA footy factory

Yep. From Sam's piece on Dillion below https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/who-is-new-afl-boss-andrew-dillon-the-incredible-rise-of-the-games-next-ceo/news-story/2a8fbeeca82a83a1cd0a691d4fc26791

It was the middle of 2000 and the young legal eagle had spent his weekdays for the previous three years working on property trusts and contracts for Village Roadshow’s theme parks and cinema exhibitions, and spent the weekends fortifying his reputation as a revered champion in the Victorian Amateur Football Association.

So when Dillon fleetingly saw his 1995 Old Xaverians premiership teammate and AFL administrator Ben Buckley on Punt Rd that day it was a nod to one of those powerful VAFA links that seemingly sprout tentacles anywhere.

“(Dillon) joined the AFL’s commercial operations team and from memory it was a result of me running into him, or him literally running me over, after a game of footy,” Buckley said.

“Susan Harper, who is one of the senior execs at (talent management agency) TLA, had left the AFL and we were looking for an in-house counsel.

“I yelled out to him, because we’d played footy together, and said: ‘You’re a lawyer aren’t you, Dills?’

“One thing led to another and he joined the team.”

01-05-2023, 12:44 PM
Yep. From Sam's piece on Dillion below https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/who-is-new-afl-boss-andrew-dillon-the-incredible-rise-of-the-games-next-ceo/news-story/2a8fbeeca82a83a1cd0a691d4fc26791

It was the middle of 2000 and the young legal eagle had spent his weekdays for the previous three years working on property trusts and contracts for Village Roadshow’s theme parks and cinema exhibitions, and spent the weekends fortifying his reputation as a revered champion in the Victorian Amateur Football Association.

So when Dillon fleetingly saw his 1995 Old Xaverians premiership teammate and AFL administrator Ben Buckley on Punt Rd that day it was a nod to one of those powerful VAFA links that seemingly sprout tentacles anywhere.

“(Dillon) joined the AFL’s commercial operations team and from memory it was a result of me running into him, or him literally running me over, after a game of footy,” Buckley said.

“Susan Harper, who is one of the senior execs at (talent management agency) TLA, had left the AFL and we were looking for an in-house counsel.

“I yelled out to him, because we’d played footy together, and said: ‘You’re a lawyer aren’t you, Dills?’

Oh gold.

DILLS!

There is literally DILLS in charge.

01-05-2023, 12:55 PM
Over the years, I cannot say I have liked one CEO of the AFL.

I don't know what Dillon is like, so we shall see.

01-05-2023, 12:57 PM
It's amazing that he just happened to bump into a mate who didn't really know what type of lawyer he was, but just knew he was the right/ most talented man for the job.

Working on property trusts and contracts........is there anything more Old Xaverians?

01-05-2023, 01:01 PM
It's amazing that he just happened to bump into a mate who didn't really know what type of lawyer he was, but just knew he was the right/ most talented man for the job.

Working on property trusts and contracts........is there anything more Old Xaverians?

Pretty amazing isn't it!!!!

Also highly unusual that someone from a legal counsel background goes onto to be the CEO.

01-05-2023, 01:01 PM
Over the years, I cannot say I have liked one CEO of the AFL.

I don't know what Dillon is like, so we shall see.

Yes fair enough to give him a chance. Let's see how he goes.
Reading between the lines though the fact he had to be convinced, implies he was asked initially.

So they've spent millions searching, then the guy who said he didn't want it, wants it.

Bonza.

01-05-2023, 01:50 PM

This is unbelievable. And hilarious.

I can't get even imagine getting a job like that.

01-05-2023, 02:01 PM

It is disturbing.
It was, but now it isn't and that's a talking point in itself.
Teams overwhelmingly draft out of the APS system, the administrators all are connected, corporate sponsors dictate the game, etc.

RU is screwed as it's now purely a private school game, and Cricket is following suit given their TV rights deal. The AFL seems to be in part following their leads.

01-05-2023, 04:02 PM
The ruling classes have mastered the art of concealing the fact that there are indeed, ruling classes.

The fat content bourgeoisie (love Marxist terms, someone said Prole the other day) sleepwalking along whilst (mind the gap) the rich get richer.

We need a nationalist uprising, let's pretend it's socialist too (screw DAS KAPITAL!). We could call it National Socialist something or other?

Sedat for President, EW for Benevolent leader, GVG minister for tents, BAD propaganda ;)

I can be Rasputin. Crazy middle aged idiot who posts crap like this.

Wouldn't I get the affordable housing ministers role? :)

01-05-2023, 04:21 PM
Oh gold.

DILLS!

There is literally DILLS in charge.
If his appointment doesn't work out and if the incumbent cannot find suitable future corporate employment, at least they have a fail-safe option to join Triple M and start up "The weekday drive-home with DILLS and GILLS".

I can see the ads plastered all over the number 86 tram line now.

02-05-2023, 12:20 PM
One thing in Andrew Dillon's favour when he eventually takes over is that he doesn't register anywhere near as highly on the smug-o-meter as the incumbent - I think the punters will appreciate the significant reduction in smarm that Polo Gil possesses in abundance.

Also being a legal eagle, he will be much better placed to navigate through the entire head trauma minefield that is approaching with the speed of a bullet train and will completely dominate the landscape and drastically impact the direction of the code for the foreseeable future - despite his immaculate hair and his exquisite ribbon-cutting technique, I'm not quite sure Gil has the mental bandwidth to manage such complex and intricate issues.

02-05-2023, 03:18 PM
One thing in Andrew Dillon's favour when he eventually takes over is that he doesn't register anywhere near as highly on the smug-o-meter as the incumbent - I think the punters will appreciate the significant reduction in smarm that Polo Gil possesses in abundance.

Also being a legal eagle, he will be much better placed to navigate through the entire head trauma minefield that is approaching with the speed of a bullet train and will completely dominate the landscape and drastically impact the direction of the code for the foreseeable future - despite his immaculate hair and his exquisite ribbon-cutting technique, I'm not quite sure Gil has the mental bandwidth to manage such complex and intricate issues.

From some reports the clubs like him more than Gill.

D Mitchell
06-05-2023, 12:13 AM
Watch out for Laura Kane, now Acting General Manager, Football Operations, sure to be confirmed now that Dillon's gone. Still in her 30s, hard as and not (high whistle, low whistle), started at Melbourne Uni Footy Club (Womens) in year 7 !. A footy player at Melb Uni; lawyer, personal injuries and actions against pedos rather than commercial; footy administrator with North Melbourne and its women's team. Better positioned judges than me, perhaps just drink more, predict Laura to become the first female AFL CEO.

D Mitchell
06-05-2023, 03:28 AM
He doesn't cut quite the same dash in moleskins, RM Williams and houndstooth sports coats.

06-05-2023, 06:22 AM
I played against Dillon a couple of times in his final years, he was a pretty good footballer (anyone who got a gig with Xavs in those days was a pretty good footballer, I guess). Unassuming.

Now I've had my fair share of laughs about how ridiculous the process to appoint him was when they could have just gone to the boys club in the first place, I'm prepared to see how he handles the shit show Gill will leave behind after kicking the can down the road on a number of issues before I write him off.

06-05-2023, 07:19 AM
He doesn't cut quite the same dash in moleskins, RM Williams and houndstooth sports coats.

How’s Dillon’s polo game?

06-05-2023, 11:01 AM
I don’t respect APS old boys footy, lawyers or the position of AFL CEO at all so safe to say I’m out on Dillon and am looking forward to the pics from his 21st birthday costume party dropping.

06-05-2023, 11:40 AM
I don’t respect APS old boys footy, lawyers or the position of AFL CEO at all so safe to say I’m out on Dillon and am looking forward to the pics from his 21st birthday costume party dropping.

Ha ha ha.