BOG Bont

26-04-2023, 07:39 PM
Margin: Dogs by 44 points

First goal: Rory Lobb

Best on ground: Marcus Bontempelli - congrats on 200 games

26-04-2023, 09:28 PM
Can't make this game. Shattered to miss Bont's 200th but the kids sporting commitments come first. Hopefully can catch the second half on TV.

27-04-2023, 04:15 PM
FUN FACTS (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1317107/match-preview-r7-v-hawthorn)

Saturday afternoon will mark Marcus Bontempelli?s 200th career match

In the last four encounters at Marvel Stadium, the crowd has not dipped below 30,000 since round 16, 2012

The two sides have met 166 times, with Hawthorn leading the win-loss ledger by four games (84 to the Dogs? 80) and two draws

Taylor Duryea was a two-time premiership player with the Hawks (2014, 2015) alongside Bulldogs? assistant coach Matt Spangher (2014 premiership player)

Tom Liberatore shares the Club lead for most career tackles against Hawthorn (69) with father Tony

28-04-2023, 03:31 PM
FUN FACTS (https://www.westernbulldogs.com.au/news/1317107/match-preview-r7-v-hawthorn)

Saturday afternoon will mark Marcus Bontempelli?s 200th career match

In the last four encounters at Marvel Stadium, the crowd has not dipped below 30,000 since round 16, 2012

The two sides have met 166 times, with Hawthorn leading the win-loss ledger by four games (84 to the Dogs? 80) and two draws

Taylor Duryea was a two-time premiership player with the Hawks (2014, 2015) alongside Bulldogs? assistant coach Matt Spangher (2014 premiership player)

Tom Liberatore shares the Club lead for most career tackles against Hawthorn (69) with father Tony

Tony and Tom both on 69 tackles v Hawks.....
Enough to make you believe in numerology...

Raels_d
28-04-2023, 08:48 PM
Dogs win by 30 points
First Goal - Naughton
BOG - The Bont

29-04-2023, 11:18 AM
Dogs by 4
First goal- The Bont
BOG- The Bont

29-04-2023, 11:21 AM
Dogs by 21
First goal- Weightman
BOG- Bont

29-04-2023, 11:35 AM
'Dogs by 5 ponts.

First goal: Arty
Best on Ground: "It's him, you know who it is".

29-04-2023, 11:37 AM
'Dogs by 5 ponts.

First goal: Arty
Best on Ground: "It's him, you know who it is".

@jeanette you missed a 10 in front of your 5.

29-04-2023, 12:12 PM
Looks like Toby to be the sub.

29-04-2023, 12:31 PM
@jeanette you missed a 10 in front of your 5.

you missed a decimal between your 5 and zero :D

29-04-2023, 12:41 PM
you missed a decimal between your 5 and zero :D

I'm always conservative with margins, too many disappointments in the past.

ps. I hope you are right, I bow to your better judgement.

29-04-2023, 01:23 PM

Let's keep it real Jeanette.

29-04-2023, 01:34 PM

Haha, that comment was aimed at GG's 150 point margin not yours :D

29-04-2023, 03:49 PM
Let's see how many hawk fans make it to the ground.

With 4 flags in the last 15 years you'd think they should have a strong show of fans there today. They have been known to go missing in the past when having a rare lean patch.

Pay back time dogs.

29-04-2023, 03:55 PM
Does anyone know if marvel does general admission on level 1, or is it all reserved?

29-04-2023, 04:23 PM
Does anyone know if marvel does general admission on level 1, or is it all reserved?

Think reserved but you can watch standing up from walkway with good vision in spots.

29-04-2023, 04:38 PM
McLean is the sub.

29-04-2023, 05:00 PM
Day needs to improve
In Top Dogs room and only Shiraz is bottom of range Wolf Blass Bilyara.
They haven't matched with a bottom of range price.

Needing Bont to lift the mood
Although Danny playing Son's of the West as the National Anthem helps

29-04-2023, 05:40 PM
Decent start although out f50 entries haven't been great.

It's crowded, we're running to the same spots and aren't lowering the eyes.

Pressure has been good though.

29-04-2023, 05:45 PM
Keath’s kicking :(

29-04-2023, 05:55 PM
Wouldn't mind a centre clearance.

29-04-2023, 05:56 PM
Libba seems to be crucial to clearances.

Obrien may as well be playing for his old club.

29-04-2023, 05:58 PM
Playing poorly.

29-04-2023, 06:00 PM
First game with no Libba or Dunkley in the middle is exposing other's physicality.

29-04-2023, 06:02 PM
0 - 6 centre clearances. Crikey.

-6 in contested pos.

29-04-2023, 06:05 PM
Any clearance will do.

29-04-2023, 06:05 PM
Ordinary quarter. We can’t play this bad and stay in the game. Need to turn it around. Centre clearances are crap

29-04-2023, 06:06 PM
Gosh, we're back to this are we?

29-04-2023, 06:06 PM
Macrae FFS, mark the footy or tap it to advantage. Failing that, actually run to get back on a man instead of dozing in space. You're supposed to be a leader.

29-04-2023, 06:07 PM
Don’t we miss Libba I know he hadn’t been impressive but I would rather West at the centre bounce than a Daniel.

Smith also should just stay on the wing.

29-04-2023, 06:08 PM
Finals English not 2023 English is playing atm

29-04-2023, 06:08 PM
Nothing really clicked that quarter. We need to up our pressure and presence around the contest and start connecting.

Connection is as much about the person up the field making an option as it is about the dude with the footy using it properly. We need to get on our bikes and provide better options.

29-04-2023, 06:09 PM
Pretty uninspiring start for what should be an all in 4 Qtr effort to celebrate the 200 game milestone of one our most inspirational players.
Better be a big lift, as it's not acceptable.

29-04-2023, 06:10 PM
Libba seems to be crucial to clearances.

Obrien may as well be playing for his old club.

I would have liked Tobias to play in Libba's role personally.

TOB I've gone overboard on to the point I better stop. It's joint frustration that the likes of him, McComb, Hannan get games. They aren't anything at all and will let us down more than not.

Disappointing

Don’t we miss Libba I know he hadn’t been impressive but I would rather West at the centre bounce than a Daniel.

Smith also should just stay on the wing.
Apart from 1 errant kick Daniel has been good. West fumbling at vfl level isn’t gonna work at afl level

Bont and Treloar quiet.

Weightman hasn't touched it.

Need an Arty goal to spark things.

29-04-2023, 06:11 PM
We have been very fumbly and their centre clearances are on top. We really miss Libba.

Hawthorn's first goal resulted in a poor kick which was intended for English. English should have made at least tried to punch the ball in the contest.
TOB effort in the goal square was really poor, he will never be a KPD.

Anthony scott made an excellent tackle early and his first goal was good work.

We just need to be cleaner with the delivery and start winning some centre clearances.

29-04-2023, 06:12 PM
Bang another clearance and goal. Are we switched on? No

29-04-2023, 06:14 PM
That's complete horse shit Naughton. Going for a ball you didn't need to, spoiling a team mate and getting hurt. Jesus.

29-04-2023, 06:15 PM
Duryea is struggling to keep his feet currently.

29-04-2023, 06:15 PM
2nd quarter Hawks wins first clearance, kick fwd , and Breust ends up marking on a 1-1 contest.

Switch on Doggies!

29-04-2023, 06:16 PM
Duryea is struggling to keep his feet currently.

It's really noticeable.

29-04-2023, 06:16 PM
Imagined we might learn a bit about this team today, and we are.

29-04-2023, 06:17 PM
Is it possible that Naughton has incredible leap and commitment and no peripheral vision

29-04-2023, 06:17 PM
This is some sorta horse shit.

29-04-2023, 06:18 PM
I'm glad I'm going out for tea tonight. This is diabolical

29-04-2023, 06:18 PM
This is seriously terrible

29-04-2023, 06:19 PM
That's complete horse shit Naughton. Going for a ball you didn't need to, spoiling a team mate and getting hurt. Jesus.

I am starting to wonder if Naughton knows how to block ?

29-04-2023, 06:19 PM
So my train line was out, Ubers were scarce, replacement journey was fifty minutes....so I went back home.

Not regretting it.

29-04-2023, 06:20 PM
Would be tempted to get McLean out there now and throw him in the middle. We're uncompetitive in there.

29-04-2023, 06:20 PM
Getting absolutely owned by the worst team in the comp.

29-04-2023, 06:21 PM
We must be playing the top team :( who is on Newcombe ? Who is on Worple ? Who is on Impey ?

So my train line was out, Ubers were scarce, replacement journey was fifty minutes....so I went back home.

Not regretting it.

Yep, just thinking this is another “glad I stayed home” game

Getting absolutely owned by the worst team in the comp.

And a team that wants that #1 pick

Down 18 in contested possession.

Effort.

29-04-2023, 06:22 PM
Libba is leaving a gaping hole in this team.

29-04-2023, 06:23 PM
Hawks are hungrier around the ball. We can’t break a tackle as usual.

I’m not worried just yet…like the last few weeks, the hawks will be looking for an honourable loss.

29-04-2023, 06:23 PM
Down 18 in contested possession.

Effort.

It's always goddamn effort with this group. So frustrating.

No Libba and Dunkley shows exactly what Smith, Treloar and Macrae are made of.

29-04-2023, 06:24 PM
That was a bit better. Well done McNeill.

29-04-2023, 06:25 PM
Look the hawks are playing well. It's just we're playing uncompetitive football that is pissing me off.

29-04-2023, 06:26 PM
Daniel that was a SHIT and LAZY effort on that loose ball. Lucky it wasn't a goal resulting from it.

29-04-2023, 06:26 PM
It's always goddamn effort with this group. So frustrating.

No Libba and Dunkley shows exactly what Smith, Treloar and Macrae are made of.

We even out the CP and the clearances we will be ok.

29-04-2023, 06:27 PM
Go home Scott. That was the worst.

29-04-2023, 06:28 PM
Lifted the intensity. Good goal

29-04-2023, 06:28 PM
Go home Scott. That was the worst.

Another one on the list of should not be on our list next season.

29-04-2023, 06:32 PM
thats just poor allowing Will day to mark in fwd 50 , goal to Hawks. First goal for him in the season. Smith where were you?

29-04-2023, 06:32 PM
Bailey Smith you lazy ****

29-04-2023, 06:33 PM
How far was Jiath allowed to run then? Bullshit.

Good clearance and finish from JUH.

29-04-2023, 06:34 PM
God JJ off half back is a beautiful thing

29-04-2023, 06:34 PM
Bont is doing Bont things.

29-04-2023, 06:35 PM
Bont takes control. Bang bang.

29-04-2023, 06:36 PM
Wasn’t a fan of Caleb in the middle and remain so

29-04-2023, 06:37 PM
That's the 3rd goal of one step to the hawks.

29-04-2023, 06:38 PM

He is not a midfielder.

29-04-2023, 06:38 PM
Another one on the list of should not be on our list next season.

Strong disagree

29-04-2023, 06:41 PM
We're actually waiting for them to get the footy. Is it clear at the ground that we're standing off?

29-04-2023, 06:41 PM
Why is Jones on Wingard and Duryea on Lewis? What is going on down there?

29-04-2023, 06:42 PM
Keath is lazy and slow.

29-04-2023, 06:42 PM
Lucky to be within 3 points. Hopefully inexperience tells in the end but not great signs today.

29-04-2023, 06:43 PM

He hasn't got the body strength or size to hold his position and push out players. His getting soundly beaten. Inside mid something he won't be able to do.

We're actually waiting for them to get the footy. Is it clear at the ground that we're standing off?
Some players yes

Need a rocket up Treloar- 5 disposals and just stands there

Lucky to be within 3 points. Hopefully inexperience tells in the end but not great signs today.

Lucky mitch lewis cannot kick, His taken 10 marks so far!

29-04-2023, 06:44 PM
Mitch Lewis Almost 10 marks at HT. He?s one of those fwds that lick their lips when playing us.

Our effort is nothing but insipid and weak. Our mids should hang their heads in shame.

I?m surprised we haven?t brought it for Bonts 200th, but then again?.I?m not surprised with this pathetic effort.

29-04-2023, 06:44 PM
Only 3 points down and we have played poorly. We can turn this around

29-04-2023, 06:46 PM
We need to inject McClean into the guts. Don’t want Arty off but Toby needs to be playing midfield the entire 2nd half

Only 3 points down and we have played poorly. We can turn this around
Need to get on top of clearances and cont poss

Duryea is struggling, McNeill hasn't had a kick and Weightman hasn't touched it.

Strong disagree
Scott isn?t gonna get us anywhere but there are at least 5 or 6 that need to go before him

Keath is lazy and slow.

How long until we just admit he's finished?

29-04-2023, 06:47 PM
Conditional effort. Where have we heard (seen) that before?

29-04-2023, 06:48 PM
How long until we just admit he's finished?

He was finished half way thru ‘22

29-04-2023, 06:48 PM
Scott isn?t gonna get us anywhere but there are at least 5 or 6 that need to go before him

Scott has done some important things this game, at least his effort is there. Sure his execution is poor sometimes.

We have allowed 10 marks inside fwd 50 for the Hawks. thats 10 kicks the midfield has allowed to target.

We have allowed them to run the ball out of the middle and kick to their leading forwards.

29-04-2023, 06:49 PM
He was finished half way thru ‘22
I would drop him and bring Gardner in

All we need to do really is get it in Bont’s hands. Ok win it first then Bont’s hands

It obvious the next mid we are to draft, has to be a Libba replacement.

29-04-2023, 06:50 PM
I would drop him and bring Gardner in
Agree

29-04-2023, 06:51 PM
Scott has done some important things this game, at least his effort is there. Sure his execution is poor sometimes.

We have allowed 10 marks inside fwd 50 for the Hawks. thats 10 kicks the midfield has allowed to target.

We have allowed them to run the ball out of the middle and kick to their leading forwards.
No argument in Scott’s effort just his ability

29-04-2023, 06:51 PM
All we need to do really is get it in Bont’s hands. Ok win it first then Bont’s hands
We started to do that but need more

29-04-2023, 06:54 PM
-22 contested.

We even or win that in the second half we will be ok.

Who was the idiot that said 150 points?

Happy Days?

G - think a ban might be on the cards.

29-04-2023, 06:56 PM
Missed the first half. What’s with Treloar only having five touches?

29-04-2023, 06:58 PM
-23 contested.

We even or win that in the second half we will be ok.

Who was the idiot that said 150 points?

Happy Days?

G - think a ban might be on the cards.

I didn’t put my prediction in coz I thought I might be barraged for my “Dogs by 1 pt” prediction.

29-04-2023, 06:59 PM

Just hasn't found a way to work into the game. Been part of a midfield that's been smashed.

Bont and Caleb have been good, Smith, Baker, Treloar, Macrae not so good.

Need our wingers to work harder.

Any chance Lobb can show some intensity drives me a little spare have to say.

Not running hard enough to get to contests. A lazy performance so far.

We need to inject McClean into the guts. Don’t want Arty off but Toby needs to be playing midfield the entire 2nd half

I didn’t put my prediction in coz I thought I might be barraged for my “Dogs by 1 pt” prediction.

Haha

I'll change mine to Dogs by 35.

29-04-2023, 07:09 PM
Who the fk is Will Day and why is he destroying our mids.

29-04-2023, 07:11 PM
Who the fk is Will Day and why is he destroying our mids.

He's tough and contested. Our mids are not.

29-04-2023, 07:25 PM
He's tough and contested. Our mids are not.

They've lifted.

Caleb been really good.

29-04-2023, 07:26 PM
putrid umpiring has allowed Daniel to be awarded that holding the ball.
The further away umpire calls holding the ball
closest umpire calls playon.

29-04-2023, 07:31 PM
big Qtr from Caleb.

29-04-2023, 07:33 PM
We need to add a couple of more multiple goal kickers.

29-04-2023, 07:33 PM
Contested even that qtr, well we lost by 2.

Makes a huge difference.

29-04-2023, 07:34 PM
When do we sub in Toby and who comes off?

29-04-2023, 07:35 PM
They’ve let us off the hook a couple of times. Really nothing in it.

29-04-2023, 07:35 PM
Weightman 1 hand ball

Bont didn’t touch the ball that quarter

29-04-2023, 07:36 PM

Should’ve been Cody 15min ago.

They've lifted.

Caleb been really good.

He's a good distributor to receive the ball but we don't really have anyone who goes in to win it. That was Libba and Dunkley. Macrae might be the only other but he's slowed down a but much.

Scott maybe. Tempted to say Cody, but he has that ability to have an effect from nowhere. Think Arty and Lachie are doing enough

29-04-2023, 07:37 PM
Cody is trying hard, just can't get the run of the ball. It happens sometimes.

29-04-2023, 07:47 PM
What was English doing there? Ridiculous play.

29-04-2023, 07:53 PM
This is objectively a rubbish game of footy

29-04-2023, 07:53 PM
This is objectively a rubbish game of footy

It's horrendous.

29-04-2023, 07:54 PM
I don't know what our identity is.

We've seen this flat effort so many times it can't be an aberration.

29-04-2023, 07:56 PM
Not pretty but at least we get the points

29-04-2023, 07:56 PM
So ugly.

Poor Toby might not get off the pine.

29-04-2023, 07:58 PM
That was horrific defending from Tim O’Brien.

29-04-2023, 07:58 PM
That's atrocious defence. Starts with lazy Lobb.

But what should have been an easy intercept becomes an open forward line where a mid crumbs under no pressure.

29-04-2023, 07:59 PM
Thank goodness for Timmy getting a hand in there.

29-04-2023, 08:00 PM
Tim English. Wow. That’s unbelievable play and composure for a ruckman.

29-04-2023, 08:00 PM
Is it good or bad that English has been our best deliverer inside 50?

29-04-2023, 08:02 PM
Game needed that!

Go Arty!

29-04-2023, 08:03 PM
Well done Arty! Well deserved.

29-04-2023, 08:05 PM
Marra behind the ball interesting.

29-04-2023, 08:08 PM
They go on about our hand balls but Newcombe gets away with far worse

29-04-2023, 08:09 PM
It wasn’t pretty. But an important four points.

29-04-2023, 08:23 PM
Another big day for Baker with the metres gained (590) and while he didn't have a big day on the stat sheet Bont did get a game high 4 goal assists which is exactly what we all know he's capable of.

29-04-2023, 08:25 PM
Watching Lobb live is like pulling teeth. He is uninterested, lazy and at one stage was the ruck and ran away from a boundary throw in.

Those lamenting the loss of Liberatore, FMD, nothing to do with Libba missing just lazy lazy midfielders.

Five goal win; bank the four points; move on.

29-04-2023, 08:26 PM
Treloar is pure class. His second half great to watch. English very good from Q2 on too.

Best turnout & support for a milestone match I can recall. Shows how much we love our skipper. Onya Bomt.

29-04-2023, 08:27 PM
Gawd, that was a forgettable four points. I'd have taken a five goal win prior to the game, especially if it was on the proviso of not having to sit through it.

29-04-2023, 08:47 PM
Watching Lobb live is like pulling teeth. He is uninterested, lazy and at one stage was the ruck and ran away from a boundary throw in.

Those lamenting the loss of Liberatore, FMD, nothing to do with Libba missing just lazy lazy midfielders.

Five goal win; bank the four points; move on.

I think that's basically the point. Libba is typically the only one prepared to get his hands dirty most weeks. The others want the ball given to them.

29-04-2023, 08:55 PM
McSteal stealing a ball and using it to hand off a goal is a weekly occurence whenever he's in the team.
I really think he has a future with us.

29-04-2023, 09:03 PM
McSteal stealing a ball and using it to hand off a goal is a weekly occurence whenever he's in the team.
I really think he has a future with us.

Feel like him, Arty and Cody give us pace and effort in the forward line and are probably the best small forward combo.

29-04-2023, 09:07 PM
Feel like him, Arty and Cody give us pace and effort in the forward line and are probably the best small forward combo.
He really does seem to want to make that thankless HF role his own. Another pre-season and he could probably start taking wing rotations as well.

29-04-2023, 09:07 PM
I think that's basically the point. Libba is typically the only one prepared to get his hands dirty most weeks. The others want the ball given to them.

Libba's as guilty of lapsing and going missing for patches in games as anyone else in the midfield.

29-04-2023, 09:10 PM
Libba's as guilty of lapsing and going missing for patches in games as anyone else in the midfield.

Of course he is. It's symbolic of our whole team. But he is at least prepared to get his hands dirty and apply some physicality. That is an entirely different concept to lapses.

I just think without Dunks and Libba for the first time in a while it really highlighted how our other mids really do want the cheap and easy ball. I'd say Bevo gave them a fair spray at half-time....whatever a Bevo spray is.

29-04-2023, 09:11 PM

Agree. As brilliant at the source as our midfielders undoubtedly can be, they can also individually be prone to some real horrific judgment when it comes to their appetite for risk.

29-04-2023, 09:20 PM

Honestly I reckon Liberatore would?ve turned up the same rubbish.

29-04-2023, 09:20 PM

He and Arty were top 2 on the ground for sprints and repeat sprints. Baker was 3rd. All 3 are providing what we've desperately been lacking.

29-04-2023, 09:21 PM

Jinx you owe me something something.

29-04-2023, 09:23 PM

I think it just shows how untrustworthy our midfield really is. Their younger guys were pushing our more experienced guys away like they were teenagers in the 1st half. Against a half decent side the game would have been over at half time.

Just a complete 180 to what we saw last week, but unfortunately an all too common site.

I don't think Libba changes it no, but I do think it shows our mix is too unbalanced.

29-04-2023, 09:31 PM
I think it just shows how untrustworthy our midfield really is. Their younger guys were pushing our more experienced guys away like they were teenagers in the 1st half. Against a half decent side the game would have been over at half time.

Just a complete 180 to what we saw last week, but unfortunately an all too common site.

I don't think Libba changes it no, but I do think it shows our mix is too unbalanced.

For starters we were coming back from a trip to Adelaide then Perth, and yes a bit lacklustre in the first half. But if you look at the whole game, we had a pretty even spread across the board with the mids as they got on top and we won the game.

On to next week

29-04-2023, 09:38 PM
I was impressed with the way the mids turned it around at the coalface in the second half. At one point the centre clearance count was 7-0 in the Hawks favour. We definitely missed Libba, but we also have to give credit to the Hawks midfield who have been one of the best outfits so far this season.

29-04-2023, 09:52 PM
Just good to keep banking the 4 points at this stage of the season.

29-04-2023, 09:55 PM
For starters we were coming back from a trip to Adelaide then Perth, and yes a bit lacklustre in the first half. But if you look at the whole game, we had a pretty even spread across the board with the mids as they got on top and we won the game.

On to next week

Yeah normally I'd pay that. Back to back interstate plus back to back really wet games a week prior.

Unfortunately this group doesn't get off so lightly when they put in regular performances like today.

29-04-2023, 10:24 PM
Unfortunately this group doesn't get off so lightly when they put in regular performances like today.

Totally agree. I love the club and all the players but they collectively don’t live up to all the hype. We can be very good at times but just don’t put it together for an entire game. We are not consistent enough for a list with this much talent and reputation.

29-04-2023, 10:30 PM
I know he got 2 goals but Lobb is falling short in expectations.

29-04-2023, 10:33 PM

Well short. Unfortunately it is what some of us predicted. His output is equivalent to Schache at three times the price.

29-04-2023, 10:47 PM

He really lacks intensity. That goal was nice though great kick.
I guess structurally he's important, I'm not overly impressed however it's probably about what I expected.

29-04-2023, 10:55 PM
Well short. Unfortunately it is what some of us predicted. His output is equivalent to Schache at three times the price.

It's a shame because he isn't anywhere near as competent in the ruck as he should be and isn't the marking force in the forward line as he should be. I know he was sore from running into the fence but his game awareness when he started running forward instead of taking the ruck contest isn't a good sign.

29-04-2023, 11:12 PM

As much as I agree, he's also not that far away from being impressive. If he holds that mark in the third and converts he has 3 goals. If Dale hits a simple 15m pass in the last and he converts, that's 4.

I get there's a lot of ifs, and we absolutely need more from him, but he's not as far away as it may seem IMO.

Clearly was hampered by the ankle, had surgery, and has taken some time to get moving again. I'm confident he'll build into the season, and as he starts to move more I expect the production to go up.

29-04-2023, 11:26 PM
I think today reaffirms my belief we're a team in the 6-10 range. Capable, but we aren't consistent enough to challenge.

Give Hawthorn credit. They brought genuine intent, have leg speed and challenged us with their ball use. Our effort wasn't where it needed to be in the first half and they made a game of it. We pulled away as we should have, but we needed an 8+ goal win.

I'd like to highlight Baker's game and his continual improvement. Clearly growing in confidence by the week. I really love how he holds his width - such an important trait for any winger not to get sucked into the play. He's so often an option because he holds his position, and then hes prepared to run hard and use his pace to advance the ball with his penetrating leg. He's great at putting the ball to the intended targets advantage too. We need to find ways to keep getting the ball to him because his touches are damaging. If he can get to 25 a game, that would be pretty big.

One thing I've noticed is that our key forwards aren't working well enough together. They fly for the same ball and/or drag their direct opponent to an otherwise 1-v-1 too often. They don't work for each other and sacrifice themselves for each other with blocking to create separation. I look at Hawkins and Riewoldt and they're great players but they're also very selfless. I'm not sure we can say the same about Naughton, Lobb and Marra.

29-04-2023, 11:39 PM
Celebrated the Dogs win and Bonts 200th afterwards at the Mona Castle Hotel in Seddon with a Chicken parma, chips and Heaps Normal non-alcoholic beer. The Mona is my favourite in the inner west. Just a nice cosy pub.

A big couple of weeks coming up to really consolidate ourselves in the top 8.

29-04-2023, 11:53 PM
As much as I agree, he's also not that far away from being impressive. If he holds that mark in the third and converts he has 3 goals. If Dale hits a simple 15m pass in the last and he converts, that's 4.

I get there's a lot of ifs, and we absolutely need more from him, but he's not as far away as it may seem IMO.

Clearly was hampered by the ankle, had surgery, and has taken some time to get moving again. I'm confident he'll build into the season, and as he starts to move more I expect the production to go up.

BAD calls Hannan the 'almost man' and I wonder what Lobb should be labeled at the moment? He is just missing on making his mark in so many contests. He could be very close to coming up with a great game but he could easily struggle to make an impact.

29-04-2023, 11:56 PM
Treloar is pure class. His second half great to watch. English very good from Q2 on too.

Best turnout & support for a milestone match I can recall. Shows how much we love our skipper. Onya Bomt.

I was calling for English and Treloar to lift in the second half and agree thought they were both excellent. Caleb was absolute quality all night, he is really starting to impact our season from further up the field.

Just for those who weren't at the game, Arty Jones can run and run he did! He worked his backside off and while he has a long way to go it was nice to see him get some reward for effort.

30-04-2023, 12:26 AM

His leads were missed on more than 1 occasion. I can recall at least 3 other times he should have been lining up for goal.

30-04-2023, 12:51 AM
Lobb is laconic which can look lazy, and I do get frustrated by it, but he's battled injury and averaging a goal a game while part of a forward structure which is still figuring itself out. Both his goals tonight were important, and there were actually a few contests where I was impressed with how he competed to get past a block and bring the ball to ground.

30-04-2023, 12:52 AM
I was really frustrated in the first half by some of our efforts over the ball. That contested possession differential was all down to intent...we backed off or second guessed a ground ball on multiple occasions. I don't know if we were scared of getting suspended or have been training to not give away free kicks, but we can't just give up those balls like we did tonight.

30-04-2023, 08:30 AM
I thought Hawthorn were always going to worry us with their pace and it showed early.
They are a young energetic team and their pace will trouble some sides.
We need to control the ball because if it gets past us our mids are too one paced.
We need to pacey skilled mid on our shopping list at seasons end.

30-04-2023, 09:23 AM

LOL. What were those expectations?

He's exactly what he has always been.

30-04-2023, 09:30 AM

We want that guy from the Freo game last year! You know his job interview.

30-04-2023, 10:35 AM

I think the set shot kicking has been a let down so far but otherwise he seems to be back around his normal output. Good for 1-3 goals from 2-4 shots and will take a turn in the ruck bu doesn't love doing it. Is that fair or am I missing something?

30-04-2023, 10:39 AM

I expected more than what I have seen. Watched Freo last year and Lobb was more of a force with his marks and rucking.
Hes on big money for a reason and we arent getting a great return on at the moment.

30-04-2023, 10:55 AM
We want that guy from the Freo game last year! You know his job interview.

I think he is struggling but if the inference is that his current output is around his level then we haven't found that missing piece like we hoped for. He's currently not much of an upgrade on the likes of Bruce in the ruck and I think he is capable of more.
Why did we play the 3 talls so deep yesterday? Marra should be at CHF.

30-04-2023, 12:18 PM
Wasn?t a fan of Caleb in the middle and remain so

He's always a chance of a high tackle :)

30-04-2023, 12:25 PM
I expected more than what I have seen. Watched Freo last year and Lobb was more of a force with his marks and rucking.
Hes on big money for a reason and we arent getting a great return on at the moment.

I think (1) he is still recovering from his ankle surgery (yes, that excuse is nearly up); and (2) he is still fitting into the team dynamic. Naughton is the very dominant forward and will flatten anyone in his path, including Marra, Weightman etc. Lobb is wise to give him the space, with those sticky hands. He needs to find his own space and gain the respect of the other forwards. His kicking for goal is an advantage.

To me he is slowly improving and getting involved more. Second efforts and a bit more aggression hopefully will emerge.

Who knows, he might be doing exactly what the coaches have instructed him to do.

D Mitchell
30-04-2023, 02:36 PM
I...

One thing I've noticed is that our key forwards aren't working well enough together. They fly for the same ball and/or drag their direct opponent to an otherwise 1-v-1 too often. They don't work for each other and sacrifice themselves for each other with blocking to create separation. I look at Hawkins and Riewoldt and they're great players but they're also very selfless. I'm not sure we can say the same about Naughton, Lobb and Marra.

Light at the end of the tunnel. Between the 3 they scored 8, twice last w eek and their average pf 4.

30-04-2023, 02:41 PM
I'm still concerned. We seem to avoid the corridor at all costs - like teams did a few years ago.
Teams that are surprising/rising - Magpies, St Kilda, Crows - are less scared to go direct.

I'm worried we are behind the trend

30-04-2023, 05:04 PM
I'm still concerned. We seem to avoid the corridor at all costs - like teams did a few years ago.
Teams that are surprising/rising - Magpies, St Kilda, Crows - are less scared to go direct.

I said the same thing at the ground, we head out to the boundary from kick ins every time.

30-04-2023, 05:05 PM

I totally agree that we arent bold and brave enough to mix it up and play more direct.

30-04-2023, 05:40 PM

100% nailed it the only time we use the corridor is from a D50 turnover. Outside of turnovers we go sideways to the boundary everytime.

I get it's difficult as it's well defended but the best teams use it effectively.

30-04-2023, 07:22 PM
Celebrated the Dogs win and Bonts 200th afterwards at the Mona Castle Hotel in Seddon with a Chicken parma, chips and Heaps Normal non-alcoholic beer. The Mona is my favourite in the inner west. Just a nice cosy pub.

A big couple of weeks coming up to really consolidate ourselves in the top 8.

Have they still got all the screens in the bar?

30-04-2023, 07:31 PM
Have they still got all the screens in the bar?

Yep 4 TV Screens in the public bar at the Mona.

30-04-2023, 08:28 PM

How many grand finalists in recent years have been corridor centric in attack?

Geelong - No
Sydney - No
Melbourne - No
Bulldogs - No
Richmond - No
Geelong - No

Teams can take the corridor away pretty easily if they're organised, and if you can't score or attack in a range of different ways then you're going to struggle.

I reckon it would be a big change in trend if corridor footy became the dominant pointy end style. Not saying it can't happen, just don't think it will.

30-04-2023, 08:39 PM

Geelong - No
Sydney - No
Melbourne - No
Bulldogs - No
Richmond - No
Geelong - No

Teams can take the corridor away pretty easily if they're organised, and if you can't score or attack in a range of different ways then you're going to struggle.

I reckon it would be a big change in trend if corridor footy became the dominant pointy end style. Not saying it can't happen, just don't think it will.

I agree. The corridor has always been known to be the best way to score. It's why teams try to shut it down. The only thing is maybe the pies have figured out a way to blast the footy so quickly that teams don't have enough time to setup, but teams will click onto that.

As for the saints, they're using the wings for their movement. The only times they haven't have led to both their losses. Except once where they used the corridor for a win. Against us, where we were so pitiful we just gave the corridor up. I think the saints have done similar to the pies though in using the stand rule to play back and forth handball with an extra runner to gain territory (as tbt pointed out in another thread). It means manning up becomes critical for their opponents which creates holes elsewhere.

At the end of the day it's just about team discipline.

30-04-2023, 10:02 PM

Geelong - No
Sydney - No
Melbourne - No
Bulldogs - No
Richmond - No
Geelong - No

We're not talking corridor-centric ball movement here we're talking about simply having the confidence and ability to transition through there. For mine
Richmond, Geelong and Melbourne in particular have all use the corridor way more effectively than we have and they have been rewarded for it.

30-04-2023, 10:25 PM
We're not talking corridor-centric ball movement here we're talking about simply having the confidence and ability to transition through there. For mine
Richmond, Geelong and Melbourne in particular have all use the corridor way more effectively than we have and they have been rewarded for it.

Have they........

30-04-2023, 10:39 PM
He's always a chance of a high tackle :)

But his tiny steps mean he has trouble keeping up with the adult size mids.

30-04-2023, 11:27 PM

Except Richmond

30-04-2023, 11:55 PM
I think when teams have their defence sorted and are being assertive the corridor naturally opens up - as does the forward switch rather than the sideways/ backward one.

A bit of confidence and intent comes with it as well.

D Mitchell
01-05-2023, 01:36 AM
Corridor attacks are effective on a turnover in the opposition forward line. The oppo defenders are pressing up towards and beyond the centreline. A fast, direct attack targeting forwards spring towards goal defeats any lockdown if the corridor. Even from a centre bounce it works, Johannisen’s goal in the last quarter ?

01-05-2023, 02:03 AM
Corridor attacks are effective on a turnover in the opposition forward line. The oppo defenders are pressing up towards and beyond the centreline. A fast, direct attack targeting forwards spring towards goal defeats any lockdown if the corridor. Even from a centre bounce it works, Johannisen’s goal in the last quarter ?

Yep, agree. What I was trying to say is the corridor opens up as a function of defending well. We start defending better, the corridor and other options to move the ball forward open up for us.

You might get the odd blistering kick that's ballsy, though even a team at the top of its confidence levels might pull them off a few times a game.

01-05-2023, 09:26 AM

Geelong - No
Sydney - No
Melbourne - No
Bulldogs - No
Richmond - No
Geelong - No

It's been the big, noticeable trend this year though.
You don't plan for the last game, you plan for the next one.

01-05-2023, 04:18 PM
Aflca votes :
Western Bulldogs v Hawthorn
5 Will Day (HAW)
5 Caleb Daniel (WB)
4 Bailey Williams (WB)
4 Jai Newcombe (HAW)
3 Ed Richards (WB)
3 Aaron Naughton (WB)
3 Blake Hardwick (HAW)
3 Ned Reeves (HAW)

LEADERBOARD
45 - Nick Daicos (COLL)
33 - Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
33 - Jeremy Cameron (GEEL)
33 - Christian Petracca (MELB)
32 - Patrick Dangerfield (GEEL)
29 - Toby Greene (GWS)
29 - Clayton Oliver (MELB)
29 - Jack Sinclair (STK)
28 - Charlie Curnow (CARL)
28 - Jordan De Goey (COLL)
26 - Jordan Dawson (ADEL)
24 - Chad Warner (SYD)
24 - Callum Wilkie (STK)
23 - Tim Kelly (WCE)
23 - Lachie Neale (BL)
22 - Patrick Cripps (CARL)
22 - Darcy Moore (COLL)
21 - Zak Butters (PORT)
21 - Luke Davies-Uniacke (NMFC)
20 - Charlie Cameron (BL)
20 - Rory Laird (ADEL)
20 - Zach Merrett (ESS)
20 - Caleb Serong (FRE)

01-05-2023, 04:23 PM
Aflca votes :
5 Will Day (HAW)
5 Caleb Daniel (WB)
4 Bailey Williams (WB)
4 Jai Newcombe (HAW)
3 Ed Richards (WB)
3 Aaron Naughton (WB)
3 Blake Hardwick (HAW)
3 Ned Reeves (HAW)

I thought Reeves did a better job than English and deserves votes. HTA 14 to 8

We won this game and both English and Bont had their worst games for the season to date - which is good because they can only improve from here.

01-05-2023, 05:37 PM
Surprised by Bailey Williams?

01-05-2023, 05:50 PM
Aflca votes :
5 Will Day (HAW)
5 Caleb Daniel (WB)
4 Bailey Williams (WB)
4 Jai Newcombe (HAW)
3 Ed Richards (WB)
3 Aaron Naughton (WB)
3 Blake Hardwick (HAW)
3 Ned Reeves (HAW)

My favourite time of the week trying to figure out the votes, especially with a spread like this.

Did Sam Mitchell give 12 of his 15 votes to Hawks?

Did Bevo not rate Day's game? Or was it the other way around, and he went Day then Williams?

I'm going with Bevo's votes being:
5 Daniel
4 Williams
3 Naughton
2 Hardwick
1 Richards

Mitchell:
Day
Newcombe
Reeves
Richards
Hardwick

01-05-2023, 05:51 PM
Surprised by Bailey Williams?

A little. He got plenty of it, and hit the scoreboard though didn't seem dominant or standout if that makes sense.

01-05-2023, 06:12 PM
I thought Reeves did a better job than English and deserves votes. HTA 14 to 8

We won this game and both English and Bont had their worst games for the season to date - which is good because they can only improve from here.

I think English had his colours lowered against both Freo and Hawks.

01-05-2023, 06:17 PM
I think English had his colours lowered against both Freo and Hawks.

Not against Freo. English was great around the ground. You have to look at the total picture and not just hitouts

01-05-2023, 07:32 PM
Not against Freo. English was great around the ground. You have to look at the total picture and not just hitouts

Didn’t you just use hit out stats to justify your reasoning on why Reeves was better than English?

01-05-2023, 08:01 PM
Didn’t you just use hit out stats to justify your reasoning on why Reeves was better than English?

He said YOU have to look at the total picture and not just hitouts.

Stevo
01-05-2023, 08:12 PM

Nice pick up :)

01-05-2023, 09:18 PM
Complete contradiction statistically at the moment in regards to our defensive numbers. Our transition stats are horrendous and we are last for scores conceded from defensive 50 BUT we are 4th best for overall points against. Without doing the numbers I would suggest we are nearly 1st for points against over the last 5 weeks (under 70 per game).

01-05-2023, 09:50 PM
Great to get the win after an ordinary first half. 29 points flattered us a little but then again we hit the post 3 times!

Very pleased with the defence. They all had solid games and some big moments especially Jones. Richards, JJ and Dale gave us a bit of run and, like many have said, JJ is a half back flanker - full stop.

Daniel was terrific after 1/4 time and Treloar really lifted in the 2nd half. He had to because he was as missing as Lord Longford in the first.

English was beaten in the ruck but certainly did well around the ground. His pace and skill certainly puts him in the "much improved" category this year.

Having a losing ruck really showed up how we depend on Libba inside. He is so in and under and not having him there allowed them some easy clearances. Their kicking and decision making was excellent in the first 2/3rds of the game. But they couldn't sustain it and the turn overs began in the last.

It was great having Bailey Smith back. He worked his way into the game, competed well and broke away from congestion with pace.

I think Jack Macrae really played a strong game - very workmanlike, 100% effort and he.covered more ground than Ludwig Leichhardt

I am concerned about Lobb. He could show a bit more intensity for mine. But he's playing a role and snagged a couple - one at a very important stage. So he gets a pass.

Oskar Baker is ticking over nicely. He has pace, takes the game on and is cementing his place in the side.

Naughton was steadfast in the face of strong opposition and some pretty crafty scragging which went largely unnoticed by the chaps in lemon puce. I'm surprised Specsavers hasn't stepped up to fill the sponsorship void left by the departure of OPSM.

Williams had another good game which is what all supporters want to see. He is one of our better kicks and can multiple roles .

Jamarra is getting better each game. Roaming more, holding more marks, leading well and he has some tricks in close.

Speaking of tricks - come on down Arthur Jones. He has pace and agility to burn and is going to cause oppositions nightmares as his gains experience and strength. You can see how this kid is loved by his team mates from their reaction to his first goal.

Bont would have been thrilled with the win and would be gladdened that the boys got the job done without a dominant performance from him. What a pity that booming shot for goal hit the post. It would have bought the house down.
But let's not forget, he still had 20 possessions 10 of them contested and 4 score involvements.

We have a big game next week and a win is a must. It's going to be a very tight season and percentage will play a big role in where we end up.

Let's go Dogs!

01-05-2023, 11:09 PM
How bad was the bouncing of the ball on Saturday night by the umpires? Really poor performance.

02-05-2023, 12:12 AM
Didn?t you just use hit out stats to justify your reasoning on why Reeves was better than English?

HTA was one stat. English was not great around the ground like he has been in previous games.

Coaches agreed.

02-05-2023, 08:29 AM
How bad was the bouncing of the ball on Saturday night by the umpires? Really poor performance.

Just throw it up. It's funny which traditions they can't let go of.

02-05-2023, 09:17 AM

Clearly my mistake.

02-05-2023, 10:37 AM

I think it could be a fun bit of minutiae if umpires had to earn the right to bounce the ball through testing and game day performance.

02-05-2023, 10:44 AM

The interesting part was that they weren't even trying to bounce to the ball in the middle. I've been a fan of bouncing the ball but it's clearly a lost skill and it's time to cut our losses.

02-05-2023, 10:49 AM

The one I hate is the boundary umpires who throw the ball in short. Happens nearly every game.

02-05-2023, 10:49 AM
The interesting part was that they weren't even trying to bounce to the ball in the middle. I've been a fan of bouncing the ball but it's clearly a lost skill and it's time to cut our losses.

I agree. Once they stopped it all over the ground, then why keep it for the middle.

02-05-2023, 10:54 AM

I think they call it back too often.

If it bounces sideways good - it's an oval ball it's supposed to be random.

02-05-2023, 11:25 AM
The one I hate is the boundary umpires who throw the ball in short. Happens nearly every game.

Would help if the ruckmen didn't stand in the centre square and try to runwrestle to the drop of the ball

02-05-2023, 05:37 PM
Would help if the ruckmen didn't stand in the centre square and try to runwrestle to the drop of the ball

That would stop if they allowed other players to go for the ball when the ruckmen don't get there.

02-05-2023, 09:01 PM
Great to get the win after an ordinary first half. 29 points flattered us a little but then again we hit the post 3 times!

Very pleased with the defence. They all had solid games and some big moments especially Jones. Richards, JJ and Dale gave us a bit of run and, like many have said, JJ is a half back flanker - full stop.

Daniel was terrific after 1/4 time and Treloar really lifted in the 2nd half. He had to because he was as missing as Lord Longford in the first.

English was beaten in the ruck but certainly did well around the ground. His pace and skill certainly puts him in the "much improved" category this year.

Having a losing ruck really showed up how we depend on Libba inside. He is so in and under and not having him there allowed them some easy clearances. Their kicking and decision making was excellent in the first 2/3rds of the game. But they couldn't sustain it and the turn overs began in the last.

It was great having Bailey Smith back. He worked his way into the game, competed well and broke away from congestion with pace.

I think Jack Macrae really played a strong game - very workmanlike, 100% effort and he.covered more ground than Ludwig Leichhardt

I am concerned about Lobb. He could show a bit more intensity for mine. But he's playing a role and snagged a couple - one at a very important stage. So he gets a pass.

Oskar Baker is ticking over nicely. He has pace, takes the game on and is cementing his place in the side.

Naughton was steadfast in the face of strong opposition and some pretty crafty scragging which went largely unnoticed by the chaps in lemon puce. I'm surprised Specsavers hasn't stepped up to fill the sponsorship void left by the departure of OPSM.

Williams had another good game which is what all supporters want to see. He is one of our better kicks and can multiple roles .

Jamarra is getting better each game. Roaming more, holding more marks, leading well and he has some tricks in close.

Speaking of tricks - come on down Arthur Jones. He has pace and agility to burn and is going to cause oppositions nightmares as his gains experience and strength. You can see how this kid is loved by his team mates from their reaction to his first goal.

Bont would have been thrilled with the win and would be gladdened that the boys got the job done without a dominant performance from him. What a pity that booming shot for goal hit the post. It would have bought the house down.
But let's not forget, he still had 20 possessions 10 of them contested and 4 score involvements.

We have a big game next week and a win is a must. It's going to be a very tight season and percentage will play a big role in where we end up.

Let's go Dogs!

Ah Ludwig! Merantau, i look forward to more references to early Australian explorers in future summaries. Incidentally, Ludwig is still out there...

04-05-2023, 06:14 PM
Ah Ludwig! Merantau, i look forward to more references to early Australian explorers in future summaries. Incidentally, Ludwig is still out there...

He's out there alright along with Lassiter, Hans Tholstrup, Alby Mangels and Russell Coyt!