View Full Version : Inside The Kennel

Mat Lyons
02-01-2023, 01:18 PM
Dear Woofers,

I am journalist and long-time Bulldog Supporter. and new to WOOF.

I am currently working with Doug Hawkins to produce interviews with our Past Players so that they may be enjoyed for generations to come, all in one place! You will find lots of vids already, with a huge dump of interviews about to drop...

Additionally, I will share videos from training and all-Bulldog related content.

Access my FREE Bulldog Channel and enjoy - as the WOOF army are my number one customers, (PLEASE!!!!!) click SUBSCRIBE to support the channel and to get notifications:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MFplwBbItqo

Go Doggies, Mattie

02-01-2023, 08:32 PM
Great channel Mat. Welcome to the Bulldogs WOOF community. The interviews with Doug Hawkins and Ray Walker were really good.

02-01-2023, 11:00 PM
Looks good mate, love Bulldogs content!

03-01-2023, 12:14 AM
Thanks Mattie, I am already a subscriber. Keep up the good work.

Also check this forum out where a WOOFER did many interviews some time ago.

Click here (https://www.woof.net.au/forum/forumdisplay.php?30-Legends-and-Larrikins)

04-01-2023, 09:42 AM
I'm in. Great channel Mattie. Massive source of Club history, player insights, thought provoking and entertaining. You and Paul work well as a team. Thanks for your work and wish you every success

09-01-2023, 10:52 AM
In the process of subscribing I discovered I am signed up to some weird youtube channels. That's what I get for having the kids tablets signed into my google account!

09-01-2023, 11:43 AM
In the process of subscribing I discovered I am signed up to some weird youtube channels. That's what I get for having the kids tablets signed into my google account!

Likely story - blame the kids.

09-01-2023, 11:44 AM
Nice work Mat - love the interviews. Looking forward to more.

Mat Lyons
09-01-2023, 08:27 PM
In the next four weeks we have four interviews to release, every seven days: a) A best and fairest Bulldog who also coached us b) A Bulldog brownlow medalist c) A member of the infamous 1985 end-of-season trip d) A 1980s/90s Bulldog cult hero
Stay tuned - the first of these wi be released on Wednesday...

Here's Simon Beasley!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dWUajlvLXPs

11-01-2023, 12:36 AM
In the next four weeks we have four interviews to release, every seven days: a) A best and fairest Bulldog who also coached us b) A Bulldog brownlow medalist c) A member of the infamous 1985 end-of-season trip d) A 1980s/90s Bulldog cult hero
Stay tuned - the first of these wi be released on Wednesday...

Should be great viewing. Cheers Mat.

Being a Doggies supporter born 1989 it’s great to get a deeper insight to the older Doggies stuff.

Mat Lyons
11-01-2023, 09:19 AM
New Interview has dropped! Do not miss this epic podcast with Terry Wallace! The Plough takes us on his journey from his glory days at Hawthorn to his arrival at Footscray, culminating in 14 years at our Club as an incredible player and coach. He is genuinely awesome in this...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6zuokmSG40w

11-01-2023, 05:31 PM
New Interview has dropped! Do not miss this epic podcast with Terry Wallace! The Plough takes us on his journey from his glory days at Hawthorn to his arrival at Footscray, culminating in 14 years at our Club as an incredible player and coach. He is genuinely awesome in this...https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6zuokmSG40w

Out of curiosity would you like the video posted here directly (would still count as a view on YT) or are you chosing not to do so to drive people to the site directly to like, comment etc?

11-01-2023, 06:04 PM
The Bulldog marketting department could implant an unforgettable image in our psyche:
Tim English holding up Caleb Daniel to equal eye level,.....
...and after a pregnant pause saying "you're too tall" or almost anything will be funny or poignant.
C'mon it has to happen.

11-01-2023, 06:06 PM
New Interview has dropped! Do not miss this epic podcast with Terry Wallace! The Plough takes us on his journey from his glory days at Hawthorn to his arrival at Footscray, culminating in 14 years at our Club as an incredible player and coach. He is genuinely awesome in this...https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6zuokmSG40w

Noice - don't forget to give WOOF a shout out in future episodes Mat so we can get the reciprocal love happening.

Love your work.

12-01-2023, 09:15 AM
Absorbing interview with Terry Wallace. He won 2 B&Fs, was there for us during a tumultuous time and was a very good coach.

Mat Lyons
18-01-2023, 02:36 PM
Don't miss this interview with Bulldog Legend John Schultz!

Gentleman John shares his amazing journey from his arrival in 1958 to winning the Brownlow and five Charles Sutton Medals, representing Victoria 24 times, meeting the Queen and handing over the 2016 Premiership Cup to Easton, Bob and Bevo!... <font color="#050505"><span style="font-family: system-ui"><span style="font-family: inherit"><span style="font-family: inherit">
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q3ufp1AiyJk

Mat Lyons
25-01-2023, 08:53 PM
Strap yourself in for a wild ride! Steve MacPherson is in the hot-seat for our latest episode of Inside The Kennel - and in true Supa-style, he does not hold back!

<strong><span style="font-family: inherit"><span style="font-family: inherit">
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b7tDM-Tlm5g

25-01-2023, 09:22 PM
Super Mac was a sensational player for us and for a time one of the brilliants hosts at the old Selectors Table at the club on a Thursday night.

Mat Lyons
28-01-2023, 01:21 PM
Loved his Phantom Calls on Thursdays at the Social Club. I was going to get him to do one on this podcast, but ran out of time. He did however list his top 12 teammates. He could have carried on listing all day!

Here's Ray Walker, 1963 B&F!!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wcWTc80Gzek

28-01-2023, 01:53 PM
Loved his Phantom Calls on Thursdays at the Social Club. I was going to get him to do one on this podcast, but ran out of time. He did however list his top 12 teammates. He could have carried on listing all day!

How did you arrange all of these wonderful interviews Mat?

28-01-2023, 03:04 PM

Here is an interview with Super from 2008 by a former WOOF member.

See here (https://www.woof.net.au/forum/showthread.php?2985-Interview-With-Stephen-MacPherson)

28-01-2023, 04:32 PM
Eyes of a stone-cold killer.

https://i.ibb.co/WkT7XTN/SUPA.jpg (https://ibb.co/D9qmFqP)

28-01-2023, 04:40 PM
Eyes of a stone-cold killer.

https://i.ibb.co/WkT7XTN/SUPA.jpg (https://ibb.co/D9qmFqP)

Most Scottish man in history?

Mat Lyons
01-02-2023, 07:56 PM
https://youtu.be/9R3BPGj8si0

New Inside The Kennel Podcast! 1980's young gun Alister Ford takes us on his journey in the red, white and blue for the most incredibly unique pathway to League Footy ever!

Mat Lyons
08-02-2023, 05:26 PM
Just dropped newest podcast, with Clay Smith!!

<strong>
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LnQgiq_KBuE

Mat Lyons
15-02-2023, 03:55 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W814e5KlgRc
Don't miss our EPIC Tom Boyd Interview!!​

With one thunderous blow, Tom Boyd delivered us a premiership and became an instant icon of our Club. His story is an incredible one, from his early years as a hulking junior and phenomenal rise to the Number One Draft pick, to his ground-breaking trade to the kennel and ultimate status as a BullGOD. Enjoy this incredible ride...​

19-02-2023, 11:15 PM
FYI if you’re interested the Big Al Ford has an interesting story to tell if you can get him to talk about his journey to AFL and beyond. Been very successful in his career outside of footy since. Top bloke

19-02-2023, 11:28 PM
FYI if you’re interested the Big Al Ford has an interesting story to tell if you can get him to talk about his journey to AFL and beyond. Been very successful in his career outside of footy since. Top bloke

https://youtu.be/9R3BPGj8si0

Mat Lyons
25-02-2023, 07:58 PM
Epic NEW Podcast has dropped - Jason Akermanis at his explosive best!! You're welcome ;)

Join us for the incredible journey of the enigmatic and extraordinary Jason Akermanis; a footy king who delivers the most captivating account of his career, told in the same honest, explosive and powerful style that he delivered on the field. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tFhJV2GPUUs

25-02-2023, 08:52 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tFhJV2GPUUs

Mat Lyons
19-03-2023, 06:20 PM
Epic New Interview (the perfect video to cheer us up after that loss!) Thanks to the Woofers who posed questions for me to ask Choc :)

Champion rover Brian 'Choco' Royal takes on his magical journey, from following Footscray as a kid, to playing with his idols along the way to becoming a favorite son and Bulldog Hall of Fame hero himself!...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BSeYUmR7V0I

Mat Lyons
05-04-2023, 10:37 PM
Tony Liberatore's EPIC interview has just landed! DO NOT MISS THIS!!

One of the greatest and most loved players to don the red, white and blue explains what it means to be a Liberatore, as he takes us through all the explosive bumps, scrapes and joys throughout his decorated career at the Doggies...

https://youtu.be/7HGjtNWMtqQ<a href="https://youtu.be/7HGjtNWMtqQ" target="_blank">
https://youtu.be/7HGjtNWMtqQ (https://youtu.be/7HGjtNWMtqQ)

Mat Lyons
24-04-2023, 05:33 PM
<span style="font-family: system-ui">
https://youtu.be/itCk-d2e0lkSuperstar Footscray rover Tony McGuinness takes us back to his meteoric rise from winning the Magarey Medal as a teenager, to his move to Victoria to fulfil his destiny of becoming a champion of the game and Bulldog favorite son! Enjoy!

24-04-2023, 10:29 PM
Good stuff Mat, T-Mac was a gun player.

Mat Lyons
01-05-2023, 07:32 PM
<strong>
https://youtu.be/_3ZZQ0wNKb0Laurie Sandilands is an incredible guest on our show. His story is a ripper. Enjoy!

Mat Lyons
08-05-2023, 07:06 AM
<span style="font-family: Verdana">
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FS6O9Ow-nkIDon't miss this new MASSIVE interview!! Champion Footscray big man Peter Foster bashes and crashes his way through this phenomenal episode just as he did on the field throughout his storied career as a star Bulldog!

Mat Lyons
15-08-2023, 08:43 PM
Here's Georgie Bisset! Enjoy!!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QIymELZSgd0

Mat Lyons
15-08-2023, 08:44 PM
You asked for him - here he is - Interview with Danny DelRe!!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZKPTHtH_nFw

Mat Lyons
15-08-2023, 08:45 PM
Latest interview - Brad Johnson! Amazing insights into an epic career. Please leave your feedback for me to share with him directly...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WIygBk5AfA8

16-08-2023, 10:02 PM
Matt.

Woof isn't free advertising.

Surely if you're going to leverage the work Gary has done you should promote the site on your podcast or contribute yourself.

Interviews are great but the free advertising is grinding my gears.

17-08-2023, 10:09 AM
Matt.

Woof isn't free advertising.

Surely if you're going to leverage the work Gary has done you should promote the site on your podcast or contribute yourself.

Interviews are great but the free advertising is grinding my gears.

Well said GG. Vote with your ears and don't listen.

17-08-2023, 11:31 AM
Certainly not trying to be derogatory to Matt and the great interviews.

It's more a quid pro quo situation Clarice !

Mat Lyons
29-08-2023, 07:48 PM
<strong><span style="font-family: inherit">
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b8hbqLtYHwYNew Episode has just dropped, starring Sir Lin Jong! It's FREE and the perfect tonic for feel-good vibes to drown our sorrows now that the season is over. Enjoy!

29-08-2023, 08:05 PM
Well said GG. Vote with your ears and don't listen.

I haven’t yet.

Mat Lyons
30-08-2023, 10:15 PM
You should, he's awesome.

Mat Lyons
04-09-2023, 10:23 PM
It's NONNA time!Mrs Liberatore invites us into her home to share her thoughts on life, football...and Toby Greene!Don't miss this epic special edition!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=slPwgMCB0ZA

Mat Lyons
07-09-2023, 05:29 PM
New Episode: Steve Kretiuk!

Mega tough guy, Steve Kretiuk takes us back to a time when defenders ruled the roost! Enjoy this classic episode and please leave a comment that we will share with Kritter directly!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QkSR3vNlzUo

Mat Lyons
16-09-2023, 01:13 PM
New Podcast - Superstar Nathan Eagleton! Free and awesome! I hope you can all enjoy this interview with a champ from yesteryear. Please leave your feedback and any requests for my next interview!...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=499iT_924h0

19-09-2023, 08:56 AM
Loved the interview with George Bissett. What a character and what a great player. Easy to see why he was a
supporters' favourite.

19-09-2023, 09:35 AM
This forum is struggling to survive but just enough personal interest here to plug one’s own videos while not contributing to the forum. Guess it needs to be promoted elsewhere soon.

Mat Lyons
22-09-2023, 07:31 PM
Bulldog Tragic, thanks for the feedback. I see you have no interest in our history, players or culture. Scroll on kind sir, as I will continue to share them with our people here, despite your odd irritation.

22-09-2023, 07:47 PM
Mat, you might not have seen the thread titled Woof Update but I think it would be worth a read. The response to bulldogtragic who has posted on here over 30000 times is pretty unwarranted.

Personally I don't have any issue with your links - but it would be great to see you and others engaging in more threads and conversations!

22-09-2023, 08:03 PM
Bulldog Tragic, thanks for the feedback. I see you have no interest in our history, players or culture. Scroll on kind sir, as I will continue to share them with our people here, despite your odd irritation.

Mat do you even bulldogtragic?

Mat Lyons
23-09-2023, 11:01 AM
I think you'll find I provided comprehensive coverage of training throughout summer of training and progress. My engagement here in season is to share stories of our players. If Tragic has a problem ith that, the problem is simply theirs.

23-09-2023, 11:11 AM
I think you'll find I provided comprehensive coverage of training throughout summer of training and progress. My engagement here in season is to share stories of our players. If Tragic has a problem ith that, the problem is simply theirs.

Some self awareness would not go astray. 25 of your posts out of 39 have been on this thread alone promoting your side hustle for self gain.
You do not even take the time to format. Clearly a cut and paste exercise.

How many posters have you engaged with who take the time to reply to your posts? Or that does not interest you?

23-09-2023, 12:23 PM

Thanks for that Mat, for mine we don't see enough of it. You're a passionate dogs man as we all are so would love to hear your input in here more often.

When you rarely contribute, then clearly use the site as advertising for your own content it's not hard to see why that would irritate people who are desperately trying to keep woof vibrant, dynamic and a place for intelligent discussion.
Keep up the great work, would love to hear from you more often.
Cheers and Go Dogs.

Mat Lyons
23-09-2023, 02:25 PM
I'd have thought the content would stimulate conversation and interest. If it doesn't do that for some, that is representitive of their interest level or passion. As said previously, I will continue to share interviews and report on pre-season training. If that irritates some, well scroll on or find a different hobby!

23-09-2023, 02:47 PM
Guys, can I respectfully ask you all to step back from any criticism of Mat who has reached out to me to try I see how he might best support the site via his podcasts.
Once things become a bit clearer of WOOFs future we might be in a better position to support each other.
Let's try to keep the discussions focused more on the players being interviewed
Thanks Gary

23-09-2023, 08:03 PM

Meh. I’d respond, but I don’t care for you as a forum ‘member’.

23-09-2023, 08:19 PM
Meh. I’d respond, but I don’t care for you as a forum ‘member’.

I don't want to inflame things further however just wanted to say : BT you're one of the greats and I thought Mat's comments were off the mark completely.

You're woof royalty, Mat just needs to read some of your work and I'm sure he will realise his mistake :)

Mat Lyons
23-09-2023, 08:41 PM
Tragic, I'd suggest avoiding this stream from here on then, as there will be lots more free content from Dougie Hawkins and I discussing all things Bulldogs. No need to pop over to this topic if you have no interest. Best wishes to you.

23-09-2023, 09:52 PM
Posted in the wrong thread. Whoops.

Mat Lyons
26-09-2023, 12:51 PM
New Podcast - Irene Chatfield!

Full length interview with the Queen of Footscray, as she details how she saved our Club in 1989!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=83JC79b-fqQ

Mat Lyons
07-10-2023, 08:05 AM
Ameet Baines!.

Additionally, please feel free to support by signing a petition to have Irene Chatfield elevated into the HoF
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UJpknxHudaA :)

https://www.change.org/p/elevate-irene-chatfield-into-the-western-bulldogs-hall-of-fame?recruiter=1265471122&recruited_by_id=1e3f4040-d185-11ec-919e-c35b00d76932&utm_source=share_petition&utm_campaign=share_petition&utm_medium=copylink&utm_content=cl_sharecopy_37589036_en-AU%3A0

07-10-2023, 09:29 AM
Folks, Irene discusses her desire to be recognised by being entered into the Hall of Fame for the Club in the interview above. A kind supporter heard this and created a petition that he is sharing with Ameet. Please feel free to support by signing :)

https://www.change.org/p/elevate-irene-chatfield-into-the-western-bulldogs-hall-of-fame?recruiter=1265471122&recruited_by_id=1e3f4040-d185-11ec-919e-c35b00d76932&utm_source=share_petition&utm_campaign=share_petition&utm_medium=copylink&utm_content=cl_sharecopy_37589036_en-AU%3A0

I'm actually amazed she isn't already.

07-10-2023, 10:37 AM
Folks, Irene discusses her desire to be recognised by being entered into the Hall of Fame for the Club in the interview above. A kind supporter heard this and created a petition that he is sharing with Ameet. Please feel free to support by signing :)

I wonder if we have to alter the rules to get a supporter in there?
Either way, she should definitely be there!
I believe she's a life member.

Mat Lyons
07-10-2023, 08:00 PM
I wonder if we have to alter the rules to get a supporter in there?
Either way, she should definitely be there!
I believe she's a life member.

GG, supporters are able to be inducted. Here's hoping we can honour Irene sooner rather than later.

Mat Lyons
07-10-2023, 08:03 PM
Dougie Hawkins Vs Choco Royal! Watch our two champions go head to head in our Bulldog Quiz Final.

Who wins the grand prize?!
<font color="#050505"><span style="font-family: system-ui">
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D4CwYLS1Y6k

24-01-2024, 06:04 PM
Epic new Interview with Luke Darcy. Not to be missed!!...

https://youtu.be/CDY_BXjBlMo?si=bBX-__QFcpOLTQLI

Damn that one doesn’t work .
Loved seeing Choco and Hawk
Awesome work Mat, thank you.

24-01-2024, 06:44 PM
Damn that one doesn’t work .
Loved seeing Choco and Hawk
Awesome work Mat, thank you.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CDY_BXjBlMo&ab_channel=InsideTheKennel

Mat Lyons
24-01-2024, 08:56 PM
Epic new interview with Luke Darcy! Not to be missed...

Episode includes cracking stories such as Darcy king hitting Bob Murphy, having a grenade thrown at him and removing a leech from Brain Lake's mouth. I hope everyone enjoys this as much as I did interviewing him.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CDY_BXjBlMo

Mat Lyons
31-01-2024, 07:46 PM
The EXPLOSIVE and UNMISSABLE 'Rocket' Rodney Eade episode has just landed! Oh yeah!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LCnyptLdWgI

31-01-2024, 10:51 PM
The EXPLOSIVE and UNMISSABLE 'Rocket' Rodney Eade episode has just landed! Oh yeah!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LCnyptLdWgI (https://l.facebook.com/l.php?u=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DLCnyptLd WgI%26fbclid%3DIwAR3mlrnjrL2cxAGoBeWhrqJq7vqouDJ83mcO7nAyv4b TSR8XLnEYgBttiNo&h=AT2diOdIqI85uh6GdJX2pSagT--P_-qhuqAtbXJDAWrLJkl1uJK_XaR0od9PTO8tE3zMBrFh4m6ZpSSB2MOVHx4NY1 lRTLbV7z386EnMiChRSEXjjOKWVbl5tNtF0Fr1Z22gFd0&__tn__=-UK-R&c[0]=AT3av6KaO9eZgWT5U6jUcp1Vkrhmd7Iq2bmHCwkGBfdjfZiv3_BWfhqPzGQ W0ytX-sWNEi-r2nTdO-Gtu59H7btpIivixn-IxvOrzzDbzeMkCi6a2K9VyBpG7aOajix0gRkv_d-MrkaivQKMwv17ftM42WMcdHGNusKUTBuy1EY-UlALIh8yhtnovht9ANX4UigBWkWhGGM4HxHbnHFnZo8c)

I loved rocket and was sad to see him go. I think he could have gone another rebuild.

01-02-2024, 04:31 PM
Great interview of Rocket

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LCnyptLdWgI&amp;ab_channel=InsideTheKennel

One for Sedat - Even Ed Barlow features

01-02-2024, 07:51 PM

Episode includes cracking stories such as Darcy king hitting Bob Murphy, having a grenade thrown at him and removing a leech from Brain Lake's mouth. I hope everyone enjoys this as much as I did interviewing him.

That pre season camp certainly left Wheeler's 'jumping into Hobson's Bay' bonding exploits in the shade.

And what of the revelation that Darce was a Hawthorn supporter!

Another great interview Matt. A great legacy for Dogs supporters in decades to come.

Another great interview Matt

02-02-2024, 01:04 PM
I will never forget Rockets 50th thanks to the people of WOOF.
He is a down to earth bloke .

05-02-2024, 08:47 AM
Gday Mat - do you have a podcast as well I can download and listen without YouTube?

Uninformed
06-02-2024, 10:12 PM

Absolutely brilliant interview Mat. Shows what a great and humble character Luke is and what an incredible Bulldog family. I remember watching Dave Darcy at full back in games at Whitten Oval. He was almost never beaten in a contest, especially a marking contest, and then regularly streamed out of the backline and connected with precision kicking. Didn't know the story of his move to Adelaide until watching this.

I also want to compliment you on the way you interview generally. A journo. who doesn't go for the gotcha moment and allows the subject the space to expand their perspective is a rarity. At the same time you manage to raise touchy subjects in a very positive way.

Congratulations on the Channel. It is a great resource for all the WOOFers who love our club. I am a sub. and glad to see the numbers rising.

Keep em coming Mat.

Mat Lyons
07-02-2024, 07:06 PM
<font color="#050505"><span style="font-family: system-ui">
https://youtu.be/IqVOc0Nrn-g?si=HIfMwu49JNCQHKdYOne of the greats of our game - Richard Osborne - dropped in to share this classic footy tale with me on Inside The Kennel. Don't miss this classic interview!...
https://youtu.be/IqVOc0Nrn-g?si=HIfMwu49JNCQHKdY

07-02-2024, 10:50 PM
One of the greats of our game - Richard Osborne - dropped in to share this classic footy tale with me on Inside The Kennel. Don't miss this classic interview!...

He was an absolute gun. Sadly under rated. When he got on that wide arc he never missed.
All class .

08-02-2024, 09:50 AM
One of the greats of our game - Richard Osborne - dropped in to share this classic footy tale with me on Inside The Kennel. Don't miss this classic interview!...

Nice, still remember that time he was horribly concussed up in Sydney and the ambulance came on the field.

08-02-2024, 10:36 AM
Can we change the title of this thread to "Inside The Kennel"?

Mat Lyons
08-02-2024, 06:01 PM
How do I do that SG?

08-02-2024, 06:14 PM
Nice, still remember that time he was horribly concussed up in Sydney and the ambulance came on the field.

How do I do that SG?

All done

Mat Lyons
09-02-2024, 07:15 PM
Too good. Thanks G!

Stay tuned for my interview releases with Dale Morris, Les Bamblett, Jordan Roughead and Brad Hardie in the coming month. I hope WOOFers enjoy.

Plus, Dougie and I will be doing our video appraisal of the upcoming practice match.

Mat Lyons
24-02-2024, 09:09 AM
Extended Practice Match Vision!

Dougie and Mattie discuss how changes to the game-style and structure is paying dividends, as the Bulldogs launch their 2024 campaign, with only one objective in mind: a premiership!

https://youtu.be/ih49Yb1C-ek

24-02-2024, 10:37 AM
Extended Practice Match Vision!

Dougie and Mattie discuss how changes to the game-style and structure is paying dividends, as the Bulldogs launch their 2024 campaign, with only one objective in mind: a premiership!

https://youtu.be/ih49Yb1C-ek

Thanks for that Mat , you whipped that up quick , sometimes Doug gives us something out of the box we can think about.
I noticed you thanked Raelene in the credits she has always been a rock to Doug.

This is the best list I’ve ever seen at the dogs with depth and talls . Doug is right it’s time, if this list can get it together we could have a few flags coming.

Mat Lyons
24-02-2024, 05:12 PM
Cheers Ledge. How was the vision of Marra coming off the bench and straight into the marking contest?! https://youtu.be/ih49Yb1C-ek

Yep, really interesting insights from Dougie about his depression and comparison to Baz.

25-02-2024, 12:06 PM
Cheers Ledge. How was the vision of Marra coming off the bench and straight into the marking contest?! https://youtu.be/ih49Yb1C-ek

Yep, really interesting insights from Dougie about his depression and comparison to Baz.

One thing that Power has done is find talls who are exceptional when the ball hits the ground , years ago if you were tall you were no good with a ground ball , all our talls have ground skills.
Jamara , English , Darcy , Naughton all have great ground ball skills and let’s not forget Bont.
Doug mentioned Templeton and Beasley as champions and they were amazing but I’m not sure I can remember either kicking goals after picking it off the turf and a baulk or side step in a pack.
They just weren’t any good at it.

25-02-2024, 01:38 PM
Different times though wasn't it and I think you can't compare past players with current ones.
They got a lot of leading up to the ball and one on ones today game tends to be more congested and you need mobility to work around it.

Mat Lyons
28-02-2024, 06:57 PM
NEW EPISODE!
Premiership Bulldog Jordan Roughead shares his wild journey, along the way to the most remarkable magic carpet ride - the 2016 Grand Final - in this unmissable episode!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XbVSgtkN010

Mat Lyons
01-04-2024, 05:20 PM
INCREDIBLE interview with Bulldogs champion Merv Hobbs!

Free and all yours to enjoy!...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sgfcAOsWhc8

01-04-2024, 05:50 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sgfcAOsWhc8 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sgfcAOsWhc8&fbclid=IwAR0mBLbUGwyNzPF9Xe8g1UHZm-Pc7AmseXiDw3zw9NP6esohsvoz1B_jsxs_aem_AZ7ItzVj6fsySrN_k1mytd X2WIfnzCN-lGrstjjkpb3FfPQgsosrSn5bc274-l3Nies2K2LQAs3WScTI0DDuWNBz)

Damn I was in Ararat two weeks ago for a car show , wish I could recognise him . Absolute legend with that mark all those years ago.

Mat Lyons
01-04-2024, 09:54 PM
Tells some ripping stories about EJ and some of the boys back then! What a tragedy to lose him at aged 23 from league footy.

02-04-2024, 07:55 PM

I was glad to hear Ossie reflect on his decision to go to the NFL tryout camp in the U.S. straight after joining the dogs. I remember being very pissed off at the time. Great to hear him say that it was the wrong thing to do and that he regretted it. A fine player for us.

02-04-2024, 08:01 PM
NEW EPISODE!
Premiership Bulldog Jordan Roughead shares his wild journey, along the way to the most remarkable magic carpet ride - the 2016 Grand Final - in this unmissable episode!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XbVSgtkN010 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XbVSgtkN010&fbclid=IwAR0P5S5eJZ5uFPCQaUs2CnibVr0F_WVCwugF3771LOTtOrU8_kC ovuQVhpA)

Another great interview Mat.

Roughy comes across as a very intelligent and insightful interviewee. Interesting to hear his take on Rocket's manner when dealing with him. It appeared to take you by surprise.

Mat Lyons
03-04-2024, 10:46 AM
It was really interesting to hear Roughy say that - if you haven't watched my interview with Rocket, do so, as he has a very different take on how he communicated with players!

Thanks for supporting the pod - I am interviewing Barry Standfield tonight :)

03-04-2024, 11:03 AM
It was really interesting to hear Roughy say that - if you haven't watched my interview with Rocket, do so, as he has a very different take on how he communicated with players!

Don't forget to ask him if he lined up on Plugger for a few minutes in his first game with us? Chris Grant at one end and Standfield at the other. Grant in #29 and Standfield in #47

I also recall when he replaced Scott Wynd in the ruck early in a game against Carlton and went on to play a big role in that win.

03-04-2024, 11:23 AM

The fish!

03-04-2024, 12:24 PM
Don't forget to ask him if he lined up on Plugger for a few minutes in his first game with us? Chris Grant at one end and Standfield at the other. Grant in #29 and Standfield in #47

I also recall when he replaced Scott Wynd in the ruck early in a game against Carlton and went on to play a big role in that win.

I remember that day against Carlton as well. Punched well above his weight all day.

Full of heart that bloke.

Mat Lyons
03-04-2024, 01:22 PM
They're on my question list - looking forward to following up on your reminder about how he slayed Harry Madden at Princess Park!

03-04-2024, 07:17 PM
They're on my question list - looking forward to following up on your reminder about how he slayed Harry Madden at Princess Park!

Was bog that day. I remember Wyndy laying prostrate in front of the Heatley stand. Apparently convulsing.
After the game i remember seeing Peter Welsh standing outside our race and a couple of Carlton supporters walking by had a crack at him so he told them to pi55 off.
Great day on their dung heap.

Mat Lyons
06-04-2024, 12:23 PM
Yep, exactly. Just had my interview with 'Fish' and he goes into great detail about that day playing on Madden and being the "unlikely hero". I will share it next month, but the episode is in the queue behind Geoff Jennings and Neil Cordy.

I have Dale Morris coming up - any questions you'd like me to probe?

06-04-2024, 12:43 PM
Yep, exactly. Just had my interview with 'Fish' and he goes into great detail about that day playing on Madden and being the "unlikely hero". I will share it next month, but the episode is in the queue behind Geoff Jennings and Neil Cordy.

Thanks Mat. Could you please ask Dale, how bad was his back in the GF? Did he have pain during the game?

Also, ask him if he would have liked to play in a different role in his footy career, instead of backline.

LifeLongBulldog
06-04-2024, 01:40 PM
Thanks Mat, could you ask Dale what was the best win he was ever apart of excluding the grand final?

06-04-2024, 10:06 PM

Waiting very patiently for Geoff and Neil.

Mat Lyons
08-04-2024, 11:21 AM
They are both right up there with the best interviews. Storytelling, honesty and some tears from raw emotion in these upcoing eps. Thanks for supporting them Maxy!

08-04-2024, 09:01 PM
They are both right up there with the best interviews. Storytelling, honesty and some tears from raw emotion in these upcoing eps. Thanks for supporting them Maxy!

Geoff is pretty special. Great long distance runner at high school. Cried for days when he retired.

Mat Lyons
09-04-2024, 03:56 PM
Geoff Jennings dazzled the Footscray faithful with speed, tenacity and class on his way to representing the Big V and captaining the Bulldogs - Enjoy this EPIC free interview!

https://youtu.be/3zQeBrTt2m8?si=rcQfyzmJOBtHAWin

09-04-2024, 04:01 PM
Geoff Jennings dazzled the Footscray faithful with speed, tenacity and class on his way to representing the Big V and captaining the Bulldogs - Enjoy this EPIC free interview!

Awesome Mat, he and KT were my first Footscray hero's, the number 25 running around was just a jet, fast with great skills and loved watching him burn off Lethal at Princess Park one game, and that infamous jumper number swap with Terry Wheeler (35) to try put the Bombers off.

09-04-2024, 04:55 PM
If you ever come across Zeno , ask him about his braybrook days and ask him how his house ended up with his name painted on his old tin roof.
Tell him John wright says hello. I bet that brings up some memories.
Primary schoolmates we were, lost contact when he moved to Keilor.

09-04-2024, 11:35 PM

Fantastic thanks Mat. I have followed Geoff since I was 10 years old and he was 12. Always my hero.

Mat Lyons
10-04-2024, 11:41 AM
Yes, please search for Inside The Kennel on Spotify :)

Raels_d
10-04-2024, 01:02 PM

thanks Mat for the opportunity to listen to my all time favourite player. Number 25 always!

Mat Lyons
19-04-2024, 07:36 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HLw58rGrQHk

EPIC and EMOTIONAL!

Premiership hero Zaine Cordy's uncle - Neil Cordy - takes us on this incredible journey in our new episode!

Mat Lyons
20-04-2024, 08:57 AM
Take a listen to the part where Neil recalls 2016. He weeps openly and talks about his love for the Club. Love it!

26-04-2024, 07:20 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sgfcAOsWhc8

Great interview with Merv Hobbs Matt. I love the way you intersperse all those photos during the interviews.

I had to laugh towards the end of the interview when Merv said we need to get more height at the club and that we have too many players around his height of 5 foot 8!!!

Mat Lyons
29-04-2024, 07:45 PM
Cheers Jose! The photos are sourced from our Club Historian, Ace Arthur, in addition from the interviewee's personal collections or sourced from library archives or online.

I am currently editing Barry Standfield's episode, so I will share later this week. Thanks for supporting the pod and let me know if you have anyone you'd like me to get on the program...

02-05-2024, 11:15 PM
Cheers Jose! The photos are sourced from our Club Historian, Ace Arthur, in addition from the interviewee's personal collections or sourced from library archives or online.

I am currently editing Barry Standfield's episode, so I will share later this week. Thanks for supporting the pod and let me know if you have anyone you'd like me to get on the program...

Cheers Mat. If possible, I would love to hear the perspective of some non-playing staff. Shane O'Sullivan maybe or Mick Malthouse who drove the recruiting in the 80's. Maybe Dr Jake Landsberger. Or some of the trainers and behind the scenes staff from way back.

Appreciate the research

02-05-2024, 11:33 PM
Cheers Mat. If possible, I would love to hear the perspective of some non-playing staff. Shane O'Sullivan maybe or Mick Malthouse who drove the recruiting in the 80's. Maybe Dr Jake Landsberger. Or some of the trainers and behind the scenes staff from way back.

Appreciate the research

Shane has some great stories. Lives in my building.

Mat Lyons
04-05-2024, 08:44 AM
Hi Woofers!

New episode with 1990's star defender Big Barry Standfield! An interview exclusively for all Bulldog fans!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rb37gUGd5yM[/COLOR]

Mat Lyons
26-05-2024, 06:05 PM
About to interview Danny Southern - anyone have any topics or stories they want probed?!

26-05-2024, 06:50 PM
About to interview Danny Southern - anyone have any topics or stories they want probed?!

The strangle hold incident - how did he feel afterwards?

Does he still have pet snakes:D

26-05-2024, 07:05 PM

12 Brownlow votes in his first year. Was he robbed in the Rising Star by Chris Scott?