View Full Version : Always Right Match Committee Round 22 v Hawthorn

19-05-2023, 06:00 PM
Welcome to the Always Right Match Committee Thread. The Match Committee threads has been named after long time WOOF member Always Right who tragically passed away in March 2018.

If you were on the Western Bulldogs match committee, what changes would you make after our Round Twenty-One match against Richmond for our Round Twenty-Two match against Hawthorn at UTAS Stadium on Sunday.

For those new to these threads, please give a brief explanation for your changes ... this would add a lot of value to the discussion

04-08-2023, 12:45 PM

04-08-2023, 11:30 PM
Out: Scott (inj)

In: Jones from sub (unless we want Keath/Gardner)

04-08-2023, 11:48 PM
Great game to rest a few. Only forced change will be Scott

Out Scott, Poulter rest him as it’s been a big year for him

In Keith and Baker

05-08-2023, 12:17 AM
Poulter isn’t getting dropped

05-08-2023, 12:19 AM
Poulter? Nah, no chance.

Scott is out, JJ might be iffy.

05-08-2023, 01:23 AM
In Keath
Out Scott

05-08-2023, 09:22 AM
Poulter isn’t getting dropped
Young legs. I would rest him. We will need him for the finals

05-08-2023, 09:26 AM

Out Scott, Poulter rest him as it’s been a big year for him

In Keith and Baker

This is a danger game. Our record in Launceston against hawks is terrible. I’d be very careful of who to rest.

05-08-2023, 09:44 AM
This is a danger game. Our record in Launceston against hawks is terrible. I’d be very careful of who to rest.

Yep. Finals or not, there’s a rest in 3 games time. If we’re sticking with West, JOD, Poulter & VDM we need to put games into them. Need to build up Lobb too. Hopefully he gets a bag vs WCE and gets super confident into a possible EF. While generally trying to create competition for a possible EF spot.

Wouldn’t mind Williams & Smith hitting their potential in the next little bit too. There’s some more potential here sitting untapped to their full extent.

Moreover, just come to play like last night!

05-08-2023, 11:11 AM
Poulter has only play 6 games of AFL he'll be fine.

05-08-2023, 11:27 AM
In Gardner and Baker
Out Scott and I'm not sure JJ will be right.

05-08-2023, 11:36 AM

haven't we beaten Hawks there the last few times?

05-08-2023, 11:40 AM
Out Scott and in Baker.

Our forward line will be a nightmare for Hawthorn next week.

05-08-2023, 12:32 PM
haven't we beaten Hawks there the last few times?

We beat them last year when we needed to win to make finals. In 2021 which was the prior time we were there, we need to win to lock down a top four spot. We got smashed. 9.10 to 5.7 (Hawks only won 7 games that season).

The prior three games down there against them have all been losses too. 70 point loss. 62 point loss. 19 point loss.

Our record against Hawthorn at the ground is P7. W2. L5.

05-08-2023, 01:06 PM
Poulter has only play 6 games of AFL he'll be fine.

18 actually

05-08-2023, 01:27 PM
We beat them last year when we needed to win to make finals. In 2021 which was the prior time we were there, we need to win to lock down a top four spot. We got smashed. 9.10 to 5.7 (Hawks only won 7 games that season).

The prior three games down there against them have all been losses too. 70 point loss. 62 point loss. 19 point loss.

Our record against Hawthorn at the ground is P7. W2. L5.

But we have Bont. So we'll be fine.

05-08-2023, 01:42 PM
18 actually

This year

05-08-2023, 01:51 PM
Being in Tassie shouldn't make any difference. Our past record probably reflects playing the hawks when they were dominating. 2021 being the disappointing exception.

At the end of the day if we lose we won't deserve finals. The equation is pretty simple from here: beat hawks and Eagles and we play finals. % won't matter. We're talking about the worst team in the past 20yrs and then a bottom 3 side. This team is so polarising I suppose anything can happen but we should be playing finals from here. Last night's win was great to finally see us put a team to the sword even if they were undermanned. It gives hope for anything can happen if we make the 8.

05-08-2023, 08:00 PM

Out Scott, Poulter rest him as it?s been a big year for him

In Keith and Baker Dont think we will be resting anyone after Hawthorns win today.

05-08-2023, 08:20 PM
Is Bailey Smith ok?
Was the fumbliest I've seen him on the weekend and just couldn't get into the game.

05-08-2023, 08:25 PM
Is Bailey Smith ok?
Was the fumbliest I've seen him on the weekend and just couldn't get into the game.

Can’t say I’ve ever seen a player fall over their own feet off one step… so that’s new.

05-08-2023, 08:48 PM
Who plays on Sicily?

05-08-2023, 09:20 PM
Who plays on Sicily?

You mean who does Sicily play on

05-08-2023, 10:02 PM
Who plays on Sicily?

Last week the Saints sent a player to him to curb his influence. Not sure if we will do that with 3 talk forwards. He will try and match up on Lobb and back his pace and judgement to get a lot of the footy.

05-08-2023, 11:32 PM
Sydney curbed influence of Taylor by kinda tagging him tonight. Can we do same with Sicily? Not a likely Bevo move.

I think their mids are good. Will be a tough one.

05-08-2023, 11:44 PM
Sydney curbed influence of Taylor by kinda tagging him tonight. Can we do same with Sicily? Not a likely Bevo move.

I think their mids are good. Will be a tough one.
Zaine Cordy played 4 finals as a 'defensive' forward. We have done it before.

05-08-2023, 11:49 PM
Zaine Cordy played 4 finals as a 'defensive' forward. We have done it before.

Good point, also Schache on Allir Allir in ‘21 Prelim.

Who do woofers reckon could do that role for us now?

05-08-2023, 11:57 PM
18 actually

This year I mean re. in answer to his body holding up. It may be one or two more.

06-08-2023, 12:11 AM
This year I mean re. in answer to his body holding up. It may be one or two more.

Yeah fair enough, sorry I miss understood.

06-08-2023, 10:14 AM
You mean who does Sicily play on

I think it's very much a case of who do we play on Sicily. I know there is a wide gap between Collingwood's tall forwards and ours but Sicily needs attention.

We don't have a disciplined medium forward who can do the job it's one of the holes in our list.

Khamis maybe.

06-08-2023, 11:39 AM
Who plays on Sicily?

Cody for mine. Can put the defensive effort in and make him accountable the other way.

06-08-2023, 11:42 AM
I'd ask Naughton to mind him and play a defensive forward role on Sicily. I would keep team balance and allow JUH and Lobb space.

06-08-2023, 11:47 AM
I think the biggest thing with nullifying Sicily is lowering the eyes and targeting his opponent when he gives them too much space.

I think Hannan is actually the player most suited to a role on him but I wouldn't play him.

06-08-2023, 11:49 AM
I'd ask Naughton to mind him and play a defensive forward role on Sicily. I would keep team balance and allow JUH and Lobb space.

I think the Hawks would just go one of their KPDs to Naughton here and if use Naughts to follow Siciliy from there it just makes it more congested, allowing Sicily to be the extra tall.

06-08-2023, 03:13 PM
I think the biggest thing with nullifying Sicily is lowering the eyes and targeting his opponent when he gives them too much space.

I think Hannan is actually the player most suited to a role on him but I wouldn't play him.
The other left-field option - Smith?

His best games this year have all been when given a 'job' (e.g. against Cripps in the middle),
Baz plays high forward anyway so he's going to be close to Sicily. Has the tank to work up and back off him to provide a link up option too

06-08-2023, 03:27 PM
Each week we push a forward up to the contest and only play 5 forwards. In that scenario it’s pretty much impossible to ‘tag’ Sicily. So we need to either change this central part of our game plan or focus on fast forward entries and lowering the eyes.

06-08-2023, 06:17 PM
I don’t think you can name a forward to tag an opposing backman. The backman goes to who ever they choose. The forward then chooses how to play him, eg from the square, run him around. The backman then decides whether to go with that player or not. I doubt we set up our forward line with a 2 on 2 because the match up isn’t right.

07-08-2023, 01:18 AM
I'd be trying to understand who from our Friday night game outside of Scott might not be in the ultimate available 22/3 and set them up to play together in preparation for finals.

So maybe Keath or Gardner comes in for Scott this week and we shuffle the deck chairs up-field, with a question mark over JOD in the coming weeks.

07-08-2023, 09:51 AM
I don’t think you can name a forward to tag an opposing backman. The backman goes to who ever they choose. The forward then chooses how to play him, eg from the square, run him around. The backman then decides whether to go with that player or not. I doubt we set up our forward line with a 2 on 2 because the match up isn’t right.
Cordy in the 2016 finals series.

07-08-2023, 09:52 AM

Schache on Allir, PF 2021.

07-08-2023, 10:49 AM
I don’t think you can name a forward to tag an opposing backman.

Stick your elbow in his BACK.

Done.

07-08-2023, 12:27 PM

Done.

Can you do that with a five man forward line? It just frees up another player, or if Sicily goes to another forward it could free up two interceptors. Genuine question from someone with zero coaching experience and only junior playing experience.

07-08-2023, 02:05 PM
Can you do that with a five man forward line? It just frees up another player, or if Sicily goes to another forward it could free up two interceptors. Genuine question from someone with zero coaching experience and only junior playing experience.

If you are going to tag an interceptor, that player needs to understand one simple thing:

- DO NOT LEAD. Stick your elbow in his back and contest with him every time.

The rest of the forward line needs to structure around the 'tag'...so to answer your question, 'Sort Of' - but if the oppo coach has a second interceptor who can drop back (aka the problem when you play Melbourne who have both Lever AND May) then taking one of them out of it is often of limited value.

I think we need to sit on Sicily 100%. But I do get why coaches hate to tag because it can completely wreck everything else you are trying to do as a team...

07-08-2023, 02:31 PM
We have four legitimate marking threats forward of the ball - Naughts & Marra obviously, Lobb most of the time, and Weightman if he gets space to lead into.

It shouldn't be that hard to either:
a. Avoid Sicily, or
b. Put the ball on his head, in front of a leading Naughton or Marra to collect him in every contest

07-08-2023, 04:06 PM
It shouldn't be that hard to either:
a. Avoid Sicily, or

Well, the problem is that Siciliy does what he does better than any of our guys do what they do...so if we don't give him a designated match-up then mark him down for 8+ intercepts (we get a lot of inside 50's so intercept totals against us are always skewed by 15-20%).

07-08-2023, 04:18 PM
If we move the ball like we did last Friday Sicily will be a non factor. If the ball goes sideways left, right, backwards before our inside 50 kick like we have for most of the season then Sicily becomes an issue. Let's see which Bulldog team turns up.

07-08-2023, 04:24 PM
If we move the ball like we did last Friday Sicily will be a non factor. If the ball goes sideways left, right, backwards before our inside 50 kick like we have for most of the season then Sicily becomes an issue. Let's see which Bulldog team turns up.

Yes agree. Let's play our game and try not to kick the ball straight to Sicily. Balta was meant to be the highest interceptor this season, and looked what happened there.

07-08-2023, 08:20 PM
Fingers crossed JJ plays, he wasn't in the injury list but doesn't mean he will be playing.

The go forward factor of JJ, Dale and Richards was significant in the first quarter and I love how Bevo mentioned taking ground in the presser it does sound like its something we are working on.

07-08-2023, 09:15 PM

Naughton appeals to me to be the ideal player at CHF to play on Sicily, which leaves Lobb and English to alternate in the ruck and at full forward. Naughton has the pace, skill and marking ability to match and beat Sicily, who is the key to Hawthorn?s defence.

10-08-2023, 11:08 AM
JJ to miss with calf tightness. Gards to miss again.

10-08-2023, 11:23 AM
In: Keath, Baker
Out: JJ, Scott, Jones

With Hawthorn having 3 tall forwards we will need to bring Keath back in.

10-08-2023, 11:24 AM

Real shame on JJ.

I don't think Hawks have a great tall forward aside from Lewis so hopefully Jones and O'Donnell can handle him between them

10-08-2023, 11:26 AM
Real shame on JJ.

I don't think Hawks have a great tall forward aside from Lewis so hopefully Jones and O'Donnell can handle him between them

Bevo said they are a different challenge when compared to Richmnd with their talls. My read is that we will play another tall. Keath back in.

10-08-2023, 11:28 AM
Bevo said they are a different challenge when compared to Richmnd with their talls. My read is that we will play another tall. Keath back in.

Makes sense forgot Keath was concussion protocols and would be available.

10-08-2023, 11:37 AM

Shit. That really sucks. Such a key cog.

10-08-2023, 11:38 AM
Real shame on JJ.

Yes and no. They have a very raw 200+cm giant playing well and Koschtizke rediscovered form against Collingwood.

10-08-2023, 07:24 PM
BULLDOGS

B: A.Keath, L.Jones, T.Duryea

HB: B.Dale, J.O’Donnell, E.Richards

C: C.Poulter, M.Bontempelli - C, B.Williams

HF: C.Weightman, A.Naughton, B.Smith

F: R.Lobb, J.Ugle-Hagan, R.West

FOLL: T.English, A.Treloar, T.Liberatore

I/C (FROM): A.Jones, J.Macrae, C.Daniel, L.Vandermeer, O.Baker, B.Khamis, L.Cleary, J.Sweet

In: A.Keath, O.Baker, B.Khamis, L.Cleary, J.Sweet

Out: A.Scott (Injured), J.Johannisen (Injured)

10-08-2023, 07:24 PM
Double

10-08-2023, 07:27 PM
Bench seems to pick itself.

10-08-2023, 07:28 PM
I'll go with
I/C (FROM): A.Jones(Sub), J.Macrae, C.Daniel, L.Vandermeer, O.Baker

10-08-2023, 07:33 PM
I'll go with
I/C (FROM): A.Jones(Sub), J.Macrae, C.Daniel, L.Vandermeer, O.Baker
Baker sub

10-08-2023, 08:31 PM
Thought JJ would be up against it after last week. Hopefully just the one week, he's become very crucial again. No coincidence our best footy has been with him as the running half back alongside Dale and Richards.

10-08-2023, 08:51 PM

Vandermeer at times this year and last. Depends who we play. Hannan also has pretty much been our Cordy for the past two years. Bevo love a defensive forward if it's required.

10-08-2023, 08:52 PM

Hawthorn are better than you think they'll be. Best we tag Sicily.

10-08-2023, 08:54 PM

Done.

Yeah push him off balance all night.

10-08-2023, 08:56 PM
BULLDOGS

B: A.Keath, L.Jones, T.Duryea

HB: B.Dale, J.O?Donnell, E.Richards

C: C.Poulter, M.Bontempelli - C, B.Williams

HF: C.Weightman, A.Naughton, B.Smith

F: R.Lobb, J.Ugle-Hagan, R.West

FOLL: T.English, A.Treloar, T.Liberatore

I/C (FROM): A.Jones, J.Macrae, C.Daniel, L.Vandermeer, O.Baker, B.Khamis, L.Cleary, J.Sweet

In: A.Keath, O.Baker, B.Khamis, L.Cleary, J.Sweet

Out: A.Scott (Injured), J.Johannisen (Injured)

Jones back is the key.

10-08-2023, 11:38 PM
Jones back is the key.

He's on I/C :)

11-08-2023, 06:01 PM
AFL Round 22 - Hawthorn v Western Bulldogs
Sunday 13 August, 1.10pm AEST
UTAS Stadium

B: Alex Keath, Liam Jones, Taylor Duryea
HB: Bailey Dale, James O’Donnell, Ed Richards
C: Caleb Poulter, Marcus Bontempelli, Bailey Williams
HF: Cody Weightman, Aaron Naughton, Bailey Smith
F: Rory Lobb, Jamarra Ugle-Hagan, Rhylee West
R: Tim English, Adam Treloar, Tom Liberatore
Int: Jack Macrae, Caleb Daniel, Laitham Vandermeer, Arthur Jones.
Emg: Oskar Baker, Buku Khamis, Jordon Sweet, Luke Cleary.

IN: Alex Keath, Arthur Jones
OUT: Anthony Scott (concussion), Jason Johannisen (calf)

11-08-2023, 06:02 PM
So Arty joins the 22. Who is the sub? Baker would be the obvious choice for me.

11-08-2023, 06:04 PM
So Arty joins the 22. Who is the sub? Baker would be the obvious choice for me.

Agree, seems likely.

Glad Arty is in. His energy is important for this team.

meenies
11-08-2023, 06:59 PM
My bet is that Oscar and Buck will be in Tassie tomorrow.

12-08-2023, 10:56 AM
Dropping someone off at the airport this morning and Cleary is travelling to Tasmania.

12-08-2023, 10:58 AM
Baker is also travelling with the group.

12-08-2023, 11:03 AM
My daughter got a photo with the Bont. Made her day!

12-08-2023, 11:18 AM
My daughter got a photo with the Bont. Made her day!

Can you post it here so I can superimpose myself in?

12-08-2023, 12:28 PM

Ha. A group of school girls going to SA for National Aerobic Championships. Let's just say that Bazlenka was a popular man.

12-08-2023, 12:30 PM

I don't think anyone wants a photo of you and APs daughter in it.

12-08-2023, 12:43 PM
I don't think anyone wants a photo of you and APs daughter in it.

Thankyou for slam dunking my lob pass.