Sunday July 16

North Melbourne vs Hawthorn (Marvel Stadium), 1:10pm

West Coast Eagles vs Richmond (Optus Stadium), 4:40pm

11-07-2023, 02:42 PM

11-07-2023, 04:45 PM
Essendon forced to go to Sedat Park. Same should happen to every team including Pies.

12-07-2023, 10:36 AM
Some really interesting and important games on Saturday… hopefully we get the win and then we sit back and pray for carnage!

12-07-2023, 11:10 AM
All eyes on Brissie - they've been perennial chokers at the MCG, Demons are just going and only percentage may well keep them in the top 4 after this round.

Would love a 'sack the coach bounce from the Suns this weekend against St Kilda. Miller back with one game under his belt, that starting midfield of Miller, Anderson & Rowell is as good as any in the AFL.

13-07-2023, 01:00 PM
Grundy has been dropped - dodged a bullet there

13-07-2023, 01:02 PM

Lobb has also been dropped so you might say we got hit by a different bullet

13-07-2023, 01:39 PM

Are we surprised that someone who has played his entire career as a no.1 ruck would struggle to adjust in a foreign role?

13-07-2023, 02:20 PM
Grundy & Gawn was never going to work

14-07-2023, 09:00 PM
Stupid Melbourne have kicked four goals in like five minutes.

Lions are getting smashed

14-07-2023, 09:28 PM
Didn't think I could despise the Dees any more then discovered there's another Woewodin running around.

14-07-2023, 10:03 PM
Stupid Melbourne have kicked four goals in like five minutes.

Lions are getting smashed

Just switched it on before half time and Lions have hit the front

14-07-2023, 10:36 PM
Melbourne boards will be looking for Goodwin’s head tonight!

14-07-2023, 10:38 PM
Melbourne are witches hats.

14-07-2023, 10:44 PM
Melbourne boards will be looking for Goodwin’s head tonight!

They have lost the last 4 of 7, and this would make it 5 of 8

14-07-2023, 11:09 PM
Maybe the Lions don't need Dunks

14-07-2023, 11:19 PM
Maybe the Lions don't need Dunks

Who?

14-07-2023, 11:28 PM
Wow. Demons have come from no where. Game looked dead.

14-07-2023, 11:31 PM
How have Melbourne won this game? They looked absolutely gone. Cooked. Game just flipped. Came from no where.

14-07-2023, 11:34 PM
Cracking game

14-07-2023, 11:35 PM
How have Melbourne won this game? They looked absolutely gone. Cooked. Game just flipped. Came from no where.

Brisbane at the MCG. They had to keep in range and Lions wilted as expected.

14-07-2023, 11:36 PM
Who?

Maybe they do ;)

14-07-2023, 11:36 PM
They kicked the last four goals of the game in how many minutes? Lions in complete control. Still can’t believe what I watched.

What kept Melbourne to be with in fighting chance is that on the third quarter when they were being obliterated, they still kicked a few goals against the trend to stay within contact.

14-07-2023, 11:38 PM
They kicked the last four goals of the game in how many minutes? Lions in complete control. Still can’t believe what I watched.

What kept Melbourne to be with in fighting chance is that on the third quarter when they were being obliterated, they still kicked a few goals against the trend to stay within contact.

666 keeps you in with a chance. Numbers back is hard.

14-07-2023, 11:39 PM
24 points down with 7:15 to play. Four goals in seven minutes to steal it. Crazy.

14-07-2023, 11:40 PM
That Viney goal that he stole from that ruck contest was incredible.

14-07-2023, 11:40 PM
Four goals in seven minutes to steal it.

Might be season defining.

14-07-2023, 11:44 PM
Swamp

MELB only streaks of consecutive goals tonight
The first 4 goals of the night
The last 4 goals of the night

Melbourne played like the Dogs. Started well, finished well. Rubbish in middle. Difference was that they won.

14-07-2023, 11:53 PM
Might be season defining.
For both teams.

To be honest, Melbourne started dominating earlier but were wasteful in front of goal. Brisbane were extremely timid for the last 20 odd minutes of that match. Kudos to Melbourne, they believed and kept working hard to create chances inside F50 without compromising their defensive cover. When the whips were cracking, didn't see much of Daniher or Hipwood down the line providing a bail-out option.

14-07-2023, 11:56 PM
For both teams.

To be honest, Melbourne started dominating earlier but were wasteful in front of goal. Brisbane were extremely timid for the last 20 odd minutes of that match. Kudos to Melbourne, they believed and kept working hard to create chances inside F50 without compromising their defensive cover. When the whips were cracking, didn't see much of Daniher or Hipwood down the line providing a bail-out option.

A mate at the game said the Lions stopped running about half way through the last.

Maybe they need to run more at training?

14-07-2023, 11:58 PM
Bland fajita doesn't like this post ;)

15-07-2023, 08:24 AM
That Viney goal that he stole from that ruck contest was incredible.

He wanted if a little more than his Brisbane opponent.

Brisbane are a ?nice? team who lack hardness when the going gets tough. Dunkley would?ve stuck that tackle, but McLuggage who is a ?nice? player got worked over.

15-07-2023, 12:10 PM
He wanted if a little more than his Brisbane opponent.

Brisbane are a ?nice? team who lack hardness when the going gets tough. Dunkley would?ve stuck that tackle, but McLuggage who is a ?nice? player got worked over.

The opponent was the the ruckman Oscar, who I thought gave a piss weak effort in trying to hold that ball.

15-07-2023, 01:31 PM
A mate at the game said the Lions stopped running about half way through the last.

When a team stops running (working hard), it is a mental rather than physical thing - they either got comfortable and thought the game was over, or they suddenly realized that breaking a long hoodoo was in sight and froze in the moment.

15-07-2023, 03:52 PM
Collingwood would be so much fun to support.

They’ve just kicked eight goals in a row and have kicked thirteen goals and not even half time.

15-07-2023, 04:07 PM
Collingwood would be so much fun to support.

They’ve just kicked eight goals in a row and have kicked thirteen goals and not even half time.

Second this. Exciting fun football.

15-07-2023, 04:52 PM
GC up 34 points in 3rd quarter

15-07-2023, 05:43 PM
Suns doing us a solid there.

Our odds of landing a finals berth boosted if the Saints and/or Crows drop as many as possible from here.

15-07-2023, 05:47 PM

Our odds of landing a finals berth boosted if the Saints and/or Crows drop as many as possible from here.

Geelong or Essendon need somebody to beat in the first week. Why not us?

15-07-2023, 06:19 PM
Blues smashing Port.

They might take our spot this year. Role reversal.

15-07-2023, 06:22 PM
Blues smashing Port.

And then some. McKay subbed off injured also.

Motlop into the team, one minute prior to the start of the game and has four goals and not even halftime

15-07-2023, 06:29 PM
Blues smashing Port.

Port made 7 changes, so they are tanking

15-07-2023, 06:43 PM
Blues smashing Port.

Yep after all the LOLs against them this year, there’s a good chance they’ll have the last laugh while we think about being 3rd on the live ladder vs GCS…

The season has gone off the rails it feels.

15-07-2023, 07:12 PM

Geez I'm sick of hearing these comments (not having a go at you, just sick of the need for them).

15-07-2023, 07:47 PM
Geez I'm sick of hearing these comments (not having a go at you, just sick of the need for them).

Frustrating isn't it? Basically dejavu of last season. JUH has improved but otherwise not much has changed.

15-07-2023, 07:48 PM
Yep after all the LOLs against them this year, there’s a good chance they’ll have the last laugh while we think about being 3rd on the live ladder vs GCS…

The season has gone off the rails it feels.

Nah we had a gallant 12pt loss to the pies. We rock.

15-07-2023, 08:16 PM
The Blues have had five less inside 50s. 13 less touches. Losing clearances. Contested possessions are even.

They are 49 points up!!!!!!!!!!!!

They have have become an efficient machine!

15-07-2023, 08:35 PM
The Blues have had five less inside 50s. 13 less touches. Losing clearances. Contested possessions are even.

I count as follows (different level of course):

Over the course of a quarter:
+5 as a win (Green)
+4 to -2 as a draw (orange)
-3 and worse as a loss (red)

I don't personally think inside 50's are that valuable a stat but they are worthwhile when you look at # number of possessions per i50 and (of course) number of inside 50's per shot on goal...

You can go further to number of inside 50's per mark inside 50 and number of inside 50's per tackle inside 50...so often those stats are skewed as the team with the more marks/tackles inside f50 win the f50 count...so, I mean - who cares? That isn't valuable information...what you want to have is clear targets for tackles, marks and i50 marks as they pertain to both possessions and entries...

Simple pressure rating numbers (oppo possessions/our tackles)
Above 5 as a loss (red)
2.5 to 5 as a draw (orange)
less than 2.5 as a win (green).

Using my uber simple system, vs Sydney our pressure rating was 5.17 (red) for the game.
Sydney's was 4.1 (orange).

Now, of course the numbers are better calulated q-by-q as you can see trends and compare to scoring but a score of 5+ for the game isn't ideal. Collingwood are flavor of the month and they scored 4.08 for the day...The question is (I guess), what did they score in the 2nd q when they piled them on???

Again, 20x tackles per q is a reasonable target - at the same time, that is much more meaningful when the oppo are kept to 80 possessions for that quarter than it is when they have 100+ touches...

15-07-2023, 08:37 PM

They are 49 points up!!!!!!!!!!!!

They have have become an efficient machine!

I noticed they were playing a bit like the Pies. Run from behind, very quick ball movement, deep entries, pressure high in forward line so defence can pick off intercepts.
Port could barely clear their d50 early.

15-07-2023, 08:58 PM
Sedat Park strikes again!

47 to 1 at qtr time.

Classic.

15-07-2023, 09:02 PM
Sedat Park strikes again!

47 to 1 at qtr time.

Classic.
And they move to 5th

15-07-2023, 09:03 PM
Ess won?t be this bad next week don?t worry. Wright will probably have 3 at qtr time ;)

Well, well, well.

The Bombers have just tasted how hard it is to win at Karinia Park on a cold night in the middle of winter.

What an absolute disgrace that the so called "big" Melbourne clubs have never had to make the trip to Kardinia Park. Disgrace.

And they move to 5th

So now I really don't want to finish 8th.

15-07-2023, 09:28 PM
Well, well, well.

The Bombers have just tasted how hard it is to win at Karinia Park on a cold night in the middle of winter.

What an absolute disgrace that the so called "big" Melbourne clubs have never had to make the trip to Kardinia Park. Disgrace.

It should be compulsory for everyone to have to play there. The plus side is Geelong gets less MCG exposure.

15-07-2023, 09:29 PM
It should be compulsory for everyone to have to play there. The plus side is Geelong gets less MCG exposure.

I actually prefer the alternative where nobody plays there.

15-07-2023, 09:30 PM
So now I really don't want to finish 8th.

My ladder predictor had us 8th and them 5th….

15-07-2023, 09:32 PM

Noooooooooooooo!

15-07-2023, 09:34 PM
Noooooooooooooo!

That’s what I thought.

15-07-2023, 09:38 PM

Two losses in two games to Geelong, one a knock out final. Great way to finish the season…

15-07-2023, 09:42 PM
Two losses in two games to Geelong, one a knock out final. Great way to finish the season…

Imagine if they're both at Sedat Park.

15-07-2023, 09:47 PM

That is funny

15-07-2023, 09:50 PM

Then I choose to tap out now.

15-07-2023, 09:50 PM
My ladder predictor had us 8th and them 5th?.

I think I?d rather not make the 8.

Getting flogged at Geelong in the last round to then have to face them in an elimination ? That?s stuff of nightmares.

15-07-2023, 09:51 PM
I could actually see the AFL forgoing its prioritisation of crowd numbers in finals and making us play at that shithole.

15-07-2023, 09:55 PM
Look I loathe Geelong as much as the next poor sap but at least we'd be falling prey to a ruthless, ultra-professional machine.

Alternately, imagine losing a final to *shudder* Essington, and thereby extinguishing their streak of 6,978+ days without winning a final.

Reckon I'd renounce society and go voluntarily AWOL.

15-07-2023, 09:59 PM
Look I loathe Geelong as much as the next poor sap but at least we'd be falling prey to a ruthless, ultra-professional machine.

Alternately, imagine losing a final to *shudder* Essington, and thereby extinguishing their streak of 6,978+ days without winning a final.

Reckon I'd renounce society and go voluntarily AWOL.

Ha I don't know which is worse tbh.

You're probably right. Geelong, just a tad more palatable.

15-07-2023, 10:02 PM
Two losses in two games to Geelong, one a knock out final. Great way to finish the season?

Can you imagine is beating them on their dungheap in a massive elimination final?

Yeah, me neither.

15-07-2023, 10:24 PM
Can you imagine is beating them on their dungheap in a massive elimination final?

Yeah, me neither.

I can imagine two weeks after R23 of the media playing on loop the Billy Brownless goal after the siren though. And dismantling us in 2008 in the PF and 2009 QF. Plenty of that everywhere.

15-07-2023, 10:47 PM
Me, hearing the Bombres apologia in the commentary box.

https://i.ibb.co/QDpj4bf/Screen-Shot-2020-03-01-at-9-52-21-am.png (https://ibb.co/g4mFxj3)

15-07-2023, 10:49 PM
Essendon showing they ain’t a final 8 team

15-07-2023, 10:57 PM
Me, hearing the Bombres apologia in the commentary box.

https://i.ibb.co/QDpj4bf/Screen-Shot-2020-03-01-at-9-52-21-am.png (https://ibb.co/g4mFxj3)

Far out this made me laugh out loud.

15-07-2023, 11:09 PM
GWS up by 8 points - 4 min to go

15-07-2023, 11:16 PM
This is hilarious - still in seventh.

15-07-2023, 11:17 PM

Very Bradburyesque season. Thanks Toby’s Team. Thanks Pussies.

15-07-2023, 11:24 PM

Must win next week as our luck about to run out

15-07-2023, 11:24 PM
Bombers supporters will be turning on their players again and the bitch about not playing at the MCG . Well they would have all left at 1/4 time anyway .
Next week is our chance to knock them right out and give us a great push up .
Oh damn this is a game that matters and we know what happens when we play those games.
I’m a little worried as I can’t see the bombers put in another bad game as in two in a row.
Our backline is now being hurt with injuries and we know what mediocre forwards to do us , expect Weiderman to kick 6 after not getting near it in 7 games.

15-07-2023, 11:32 PM
GWS. Another impressive win.

That’s now 6 wins from 7 games. Lost solitary game to Tigers by a goal.

In this run they beat Cats at Kardinia Park, Crows at Footy Park and also Demons. They are the real deal.

15-07-2023, 11:43 PM
Strewth. Don't look now but assuming Richmond register a walkover versus the Eagles tomorrow just a solitary game will separate 6th through 13th at the end of this round.

It didn't have to be this way but jeez, reckon there's a little bit to play for next Friday eve?

16-07-2023, 12:02 AM

Yeah, me neither.

Freo did that one year

16-07-2023, 12:07 AM
Freo did that one year

Sure but that's not us is it?

16-07-2023, 12:09 AM
Sure but that's not us is it?

I’m just saying the one time they played a final there they lost… gotta believe in something

16-07-2023, 12:13 AM
I’m just saying the one time they played a final there they lost… gotta believe in something

Hm. Fair enough.

16-07-2023, 12:25 AM
Giants are good to watch.

Surge and run.

16-07-2023, 09:54 AM
Geez I’d love Taylor (giants) in our backline.