View Full Version : WB Game Day V Geelong R12 2023 Sat 3/6, 7:25PM - Marvel Stadium

29-05-2023, 11:37 AM
Margin: Dogs by 10 points

First goal: Anthony Scott

Best on ground: Jack Macrae

29-05-2023, 07:26 PM
Dogs by 35
First Goal: Lobb
BOG Libba

29-05-2023, 07:36 PM
Do we need to be worried how we pull up from Darwin?

29-05-2023, 07:56 PM

Maybe. Getting to the point in the season where most players will have ongoing aches and pains. Thankfully it's a 7 day break. Geelong and us are a bit like Dad's Army.

29-05-2023, 08:47 PM

Could be a factor and that our history against Geelong in recent times hasn’t been great but we have played reasonably well the last month or so and the Cats have their injuries and are struggling so they are definitely ripe for the picking at Marvel.

29-05-2023, 10:59 PM
Chris Scott said on AFL 360 that Dangerfield will be available for selection. But they need to make a decision if they play him (Danger wants to play) or give him another week with the Cats having the bye following week.

31-05-2023, 12:40 AM
I want to beat them twice this season more than any other team.

31-05-2023, 05:07 PM
Just had a peek on Ticketmaster and there only single seats available on both Level 1 and Level 2 for this match.

Hopefully we get plenty of support and the game's a good earner for the club.

31-05-2023, 06:27 PM
I don’t care if they are out of form…our backline will play them into form.
Hawkins and Cameron

Cats by 21
1st goal - Jamarra
Bog - Libba

31-05-2023, 06:52 PM
I'm going hard on a Hawthorn Elimination final style end of era for Geelong type game.

Bulldogs by 45 points (Geelong kick the last 3 in redtime)
1st goal - Anthony Scott
BOG - Tim English

01-06-2023, 10:30 AM
Dogs by 28
1st goal - Naughty
Bog - L. Jones

01-06-2023, 01:24 PM
Dogs by 41
1st goal - Weightman
BOG - Bont

01-06-2023, 06:46 PM
Why didn't the AFL have the VFL as a curtain raiser.

01-06-2023, 07:31 PM

No need to put worries on our worries. There's never been a better opportunity to knock over the Cats than this week. No Dangerfield and they're absolutely stinking it up.

Expect us to lose the game by a kick but win i50s easily and have 50% more scoring shots.

02-06-2023, 03:11 PM
We have awaited this game for a decade.
We are favoured to beat Geelong and could shirt front the living s.... out of them.
WOOFERS that only recently thought we were poor, bottom eight side!
Come on comeuppence, kmarma, justice where are you?
Dogs by 33pts.
FG Naughton
BOG Bontempelli.
Run riot Dogs.

02-06-2023, 04:35 PM
AFL: Western Bulldogs have been bullied by Geelong under Chris Scott Sam Landsberger

There’s a chink in the armour of Luke Beveridge. The Bulldogs have skipped their byes and spent several nights in Torquay in attempts to beat the Cats, but Chris Scott just has Bevo covered.

Luke Beveridge is unquestionably the Western Bulldogs’ greatest coach – he has them on track to play finals for a club-record fifth-straight season after a premiership in 2016 and grand final in 2021.

But Beveridge’s 2-9 record against Chris Scott is one elephant in the room.

It’s Beveridge’s worst head-to-record record from 35 coaches he’s been pitted against, outside of one-off losses to caretakers Scott Camporeale, Ash Hansen and Jaymie Graham.

Beveridge and Scott are fierce competitors and would be acutely aware of that record. Welcome to football’s unspoken rivalry.

The Dogs treat trips down the highway like interstate games and spend the previous night bunking in Torquay.

Beveridge doesn’t want his players spending hours behind the wheel before taking the field against Geelong.

“Forever and a day while I’m coaching the Bulldogs if we’re playing Geelong at Geelong we’ll do the same thing,” he said in 2016.

In 2021 the Dogs sought permission from the AFL Players’ Association to train through their mandated four-day bye, with a clash at GMHBA Stadium their next assignment.

They had planned to give their players a break after that game. But the Covid winds suddenly changed and the Dogs spent the following week locked down in Perth.

They never got their bye. But they played their hearts out at the Cattery – and led by one point at the final siren.

Anthony Scott quelled Tom Stewart in the second half, the inside work of Tom Liberatore, Marcus Bontempelli and Jack Macrae was inspirational and Toby McLean put the Dogs in front on his return from an ACL.

But Gary Rohan then broke their hearts with a clutch goal kicked after the final siren.

The Dogs were devastated and left to rue their inability to force stoppages in the final 90 seconds – a lesson in risk management.

The Dogs have thrown punch after punch after punch at Scott’s team and struggled to land that knockout blow.

Last year they trailed 51-11. Then, Stewart was concussed and they got within five points in the last quarter … only to lose by 13.

In the rematch at GMHBA Stadium the Dogs led 26-0 before the Cats kicked 13 of the next 15 goals to win by 28 points.

In 2020 – when quarters lasted just 16 minutes – the Dogs kicked the only six goals of the first term.

Yet Scott looked so calm at the break. He switched things around and engineered an 11-point win, despite still trailing by nine points deep in the last term.

In 2016, the year the Dogs won the premiership, they beat every team except the Cats. They might’ve got lucky avoiding them in September.

The clubs appeared headed for a semi-final showdown when Isaac Smith, playing for Hawthorn, marked on the siren in the qualifying final.

The Dogs had eliminated West Coast the previous night and were booked to play the loser of that match. But Smith shanked his set-shot and the Dogs rolled his Hawks the next week.

The possibility of a Dogs-Cats grand final was also shelved when Sydney ambushed Geelong with the first eight goals at the MCG in the preliminary final.

Perhaps it wouldn’t have mattered, given the magical form of those September Bulldogs.

Plus, in round 19 that season the Dogs led the Cats by five points at GMHBA Stadium with Liberatore and Macrae silencing Patrick Dangerfield and Joel Selwood respectively.

Then Macrae ripped his hamstring and Liberatore hurt his syndesmosis. It took medical miracles to get them back for the start of the finals – but Dangerfield cut loose in the second half that night.

He always cuts loose against the Dogs. Dangerfield has polled 17 out of a possible 27 Brownlow Votes against Beveridge’s team under Scott.

In those nine matches Dangerfield has averaged 30 disposals, six clearances, 506m gained, nine score involvements and 130 ranking points.

But on Saturday night Dangerfield (hamstring) won’t be there. Nor will Mitch Duncan, Cam Guthrie, Max Holmes, Rhys Stanley or Esava Ratugolea.

Meanwhile the Dogs are healthy – only Jason Johannisen is missing from their best 23.

Club legend Brad Johnson told Fox Footy the Dogs’ approach this week should be “relentless” – a spike on most weeks.

Johnson said the Cats were “ripe for the picking” and noted a Bulldog win would push them 12 points clear on the ladder.

But the hoodoo has seen Geelong win 20 out of its past 23 games against the Dogs. Liberatore has played 205 matches and beaten every club at least four times … except the Cats.

Libba is 0-10 against them. Caleb Daniel is 0-9, Bailey Dale is 0-5 and pup Cody Weightman is 0-3.

That will surely be in their minds this week, just like Tom Hawkins (16-3), Mark Blicavs (11-2), Smith (10-2) and Brad Close (4-0) will be thinking they are never really underdogs against these Dogs.

Beveridge’s two outlier wins against Geelong have been relatively unconvincing.

In 2018 – which was the Dogs’ worst year under Beveridge (13th) – Harry Taylor out-marked Roarke Smith seconds before the siren.

But Taylor missed a simple set-shot as 11 Dogs jumped around on the mark as if it were a callisthenics class.

In 2019 the Dogs kicked five goals in the first three quarters and then five in 10 minutes as Aaron Naughton swung the match. They won by 16 points.

That’s been it.

But this looks a different Geelong team.

The reigning premiers are staring at four-straight losses for the first time since 2006 and have already been beaten by four teams the Dogs have swatted away this year – Carlton, Richmond, Fremantle and GWS.

Saturday night at Marvel Stadium is the perfect opportunity for Liberatore, Daniel and Dale to break their duck.

Sam Mitchell 3-0 (100%)
Craig McRae 1-0 (100%)
Adam Kingsley 1-0 (100%)
Michael Voss 1-0 (100%)
Matthew Nicks 3-1 (75%)
Stuart Dew 5-2 (71.4%)
Chris Fagan 7-3 (70%)
John Longmire 7-4 (63.6%)
Brad Scott 5-3 (62.5%)
Justin Longmuir 3-2 (60%)
Adam Simpson 7-5 (58.3%)
Ken Hinkley 5-8 (38.5%)
Brett Ratten 2-3 (40%)
Simon Goodwin 4-7 (36.4%)
Ross Lyon 2-6 (25%)
CHRIS SCOTT 2-9 (18.2%)
*Beveridge was 5-4 (55.6%) against Damien Hardwick; yet to coach against Richmond caretaker Andrew McQualter

02-06-2023, 04:41 PM
Great piece by Sam above. Gee whiz. They own our football club. Libba is 0-10 against them. We have three wins in our last 23 attempts against them.

PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE WIN. I CAN'T TAKE THIS ANYMORE.

02-06-2023, 05:30 PM
Great piece by Sam above. Gee whiz. They own our football club. Libba is 0-10 against them. We have three wins in our last 23 attempts against them.

PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE WIN. I CAN'T TAKE THIS ANYMORE.

Testify. It's exhausting.

02-06-2023, 05:48 PM
That’s one unhealthy read.

02-06-2023, 05:53 PM
If we take out games at Sedat Park it doesn't look quite so bad - 2-3 record.

02-06-2023, 05:55 PM
ISedat Park.

I want this to become a WOOF tradition, like Wall Of Biggs in the real world hashtag never forget.

It's a shame we don't have more recurrent themes on here.

02-06-2023, 05:57 PM
I want this to become a WOOF tradition, like Wall Of Biggs in the real world hashtag never forget.

It's a shame we don't have more recurrent themes on here.

We lack recurrent themes just like we lack a place to see contract information

02-06-2023, 06:13 PM
Recent finals record. Dogs V Cats. I attended every single one of those games. The pain of playing against this football club runs deep. PLEASE WIN DOGS.

2009 QF loss
2008 PF loss
1995 QF loss
1992 PF loss
1992 QF loss

02-06-2023, 06:19 PM
Against all 18 teams in the competition. Our all time win loss record % is the worst against Collingwood at only 31%. Geelong is the second worst winning % record at 35%.

All time record. Played 165. Won 57. Draw 2. Win 35%

Home record. Played 75. Won 40. Draw 1. Win 54%.

Away record. Played 80. Won 15. Draw 1. Win 19%.

Finals record. Played 10. Won 2. Win 20%.

02-06-2023, 09:56 PM
There is nothing better in sport than turning up to a game knowing you have the other team beaten mentally before you take the field, and regardless of how far behind you find yourself the other team will choke and you'll find a way to win. That is exactly how Geelong will feel when they wake up tomorrow.

For the Bulldogs to overcome this it will take something miraculous - do we have it in us, and more importantly, do the players and coaches actually believe it is possible to beat them. It can be done but it won't be easy.

02-06-2023, 10:23 PM
Bizarrely we are red hot favourites with the tipsters.

Despite our heroics in 2016 I am still grateful we didn’t meet Bloody Geelong in a final.

02-06-2023, 11:44 PM
There is no team in the world I hate more. Can we just stop playing like flogs around them please?

02-06-2023, 11:56 PM
Save this masochism for the game day thread......oh...wait.....

03-06-2023, 09:45 AM
Huge game.

How we play tonight will settle whether or not we are actually going anywhere. Geelong have our number, but they are there for the taking. We are coming off a loss and a draining away trip. It?s a big ask in so,e ways, but if we are fair dinkum, we?ll perform well and get a win.

03-06-2023, 10:09 AM
Honestly cant see us letting this one slip away, Dogs are stinging after last week.

Dogs by 32 points, 6 goal opening term
1st Goal Naughton
BOG Libba

All us "old farts" will enjoy a good contest with no heart stopping moments tonight

03-06-2023, 11:08 AM
Honestly cant see us letting this one slip away, Dogs are stinging after last week.

Dogs by 32 points, 6 goal opening term
1st Goal Naughton
BOG Libba

All us "old farts" will enjoy a good contest with no heart stopping moments tonight

I appreciate this optimism and am choosing to take it on board.

03-06-2023, 11:34 AM
If they bleed we can do them over.

03-06-2023, 12:07 PM
Cats by 15 (Cameron and Hawkins scare me)
BOG : Macrae
FG : English.

03-06-2023, 01:22 PM
Cats by 15 (Cameron and Hawkins scare me)
BOG : Macrae
FG : English.

Scaredy cat.

03-06-2023, 02:10 PM
'Dogs to win by 5 points, with a kick after the siren.
BOG: Libba
First Goal: Marra

Funke disco
03-06-2023, 02:17 PM
Dogs: our team will click and put out its most impressive win to date for the year 48 points
BOG: Liberatore
First Goal: Scott

03-06-2023, 04:07 PM
Looks like McNeil is sub, based on who is in vfl this arvo.

03-06-2023, 05:31 PM
Dogs by 51
bog Bonti
first goal Bonti

03-06-2023, 05:38 PM
I appreciate this optimism and am choosing to take it on board.

You will not be disappointed :o

03-06-2023, 07:55 PM
Tonight should be a stress free win against an undermanned opponent… should being the operative word. Who knows with us though.

Go Dogs.

03-06-2023, 08:06 PM
Dogs by 33.
FG Weightman
BOG Bont

Their midfield is VFL standard. If we can't win this and by 5+ goals I'd be concerned.

03-06-2023, 08:14 PM
Tonight should be a stress free win against an undermanned opponent… should being the operative word. Who knows with us though.

Go Dogs.

Stressed, who?
Cats have to get the ball before they offer resistance to this inevitable glorious victory.

03-06-2023, 08:18 PM
Scott oozing confidence on tv on ground now.

03-06-2023, 08:18 PM

Go Dogs.

It's Geelong though so, larrydavidnotsure.gif

03-06-2023, 08:27 PM
I picked last two fg kickers.
I am psychic.

03-06-2023, 08:32 PM
Nice one Richards.

03-06-2023, 08:33 PM
Treloar done!

03-06-2023, 08:34 PM
Crap x2.
Treloar off Gardner caught.

03-06-2023, 08:35 PM
That was a ridiculous handball by English.

03-06-2023, 08:38 PM
That was a ridiculous handball by English.

Just total dumb passage of play , he should have give it off to duryea who was infront

Defendees could not beat 3-1 against cameron

03-06-2023, 08:39 PM
25 m out in front and miss by Williams , unbeleivable

03-06-2023, 08:41 PM
25 m out in front and miss by Williams , unbeleivable

Would hate to buy real estate from you.

03-06-2023, 08:46 PM
Treloar done!

Or not

03-06-2023, 08:46 PM
Our field and goal kicking is letting us down badly.. should be 3-4 goals up.

03-06-2023, 08:48 PM
3 errors, 3 easy cats goals. C’mon dogs!

They're killing us.
Intercept marking, backing up.

Turn over kings right now. Time to hit some bloody targets.

We ain't a top 8 side. We have so many average footballers.

03-06-2023, 08:49 PM
When we link we are very dangerous.

03-06-2023, 08:50 PM
X 2.

03-06-2023, 08:51 PM
This umpiring is shocking.

03-06-2023, 08:51 PM
Shoot out?
Ok bring it on.

03-06-2023, 08:52 PM
Not just sedat Park they get all the frees.

03-06-2023, 08:54 PM
Not just sedat Park they get all the frees.

Bloody he’ll…

03-06-2023, 08:54 PM
5 of their 6 frees have not been there. What's more they've not called 2 obvious ones for us.

03-06-2023, 08:57 PM
I'm roaring for Lobby Lloyd.

03-06-2023, 08:59 PM
Best thing TOB's done.

03-06-2023, 09:02 PM
Scratchy start. We look OK. Bont and Williams should have goals against them. Keep grinding away Doggies we’ve got this.

03-06-2023, 09:02 PM
All 5 of their goals from free kicks or unforced turnovers. We need some killer instinct tonight.

03-06-2023, 09:03 PM
English has a couple of good moments but his actual ruck craft is as bad as any in the league and Geelong are taking advantage of it.

Richards with 2 turnovers resulting in goals brings back memories of his EF last year.

We look like we are well aware they have the wood on us and they look fully aware of it too.

03-06-2023, 09:04 PM
English has a couple of good moments but his actual ruck craft is as bad as any in the league and Geelong are taking advantage of it.

Richards with 2 turnovers resulting in goals brings back memories of his EF last year.

We look like we are well aware they have the wood on us and they look fully aware of it too.

I am also well aware of it evident by anxiety of an impending capitulation/goal on the siren.

03-06-2023, 09:05 PM

They are sweating on us for sure, they know we’re going to turn it over, just as much as we kick it directly to Stewart.

03-06-2023, 09:05 PM
I didn’t see last week but our defence lazy letting it over the back again. Some of the postioning has been poor indeed.

03-06-2023, 09:09 PM
That ball came out of our forward line way too easily.

03-06-2023, 09:09 PM
I didn’t see last week but our defence lazy letting it over the back again. Some of the postioning has been poor indeed.

It happened last week all night.

03-06-2023, 09:10 PM
Gardner on Cameron is freaking me out

03-06-2023, 09:15 PM
This is absolutely bs

No wonder we can't ever beat em. They've got 4 extra players in there giving them absolute gimmes.

03-06-2023, 09:16 PM
Gardner finds ways to get goals kicked on him.
Back to twos for you!

03-06-2023, 09:17 PM
Just dumb by Gardner… had Cameron under the ball and didn’t need to use his hands.

Umpiring is cheating…

Gardner finds ways to get goals kicked on him.
Back to twos for you!

He's been rather horrible this season. Id prefer Keath.

Goal kicker Jack.

03-06-2023, 09:18 PM
Just dumb by Gardner… had Cameron under the ball and didn’t need to use his hands.

Yes right in front of me here and he stuffed it.

Umps been fine.

03-06-2023, 09:18 PM

Once again it was 1 on 1 because of our pathetic defence in our own half.

03-06-2023, 09:20 PM
Yes right in front of me here and he stuffed it.

Umps been fine.

From what I'm seeing we've getting a different interpretation of holding the ball to them.

03-06-2023, 09:20 PM
Defenders need to use the ball a lot better out of defence.

03-06-2023, 09:21 PM
Our field kicking is disgusting.

03-06-2023, 09:21 PM
This is actually cheating now.

03-06-2023, 09:22 PM
How can you beat them with umpiring like this?

03-06-2023, 09:22 PM
4 goals direct from frees.

03-06-2023, 09:25 PM
Dare I say the gifts from us and the umps that have led straight to Geelong goals might cost us at the end of this. Will we run out of legs after the Darwin game?

03-06-2023, 09:34 PM
How many targets can we miss?

03-06-2023, 09:36 PM
The crucial stalemate goal we give up once again. They often cost us.

03-06-2023, 09:36 PM
How many targets can we miss?

All of them!!!

03-06-2023, 09:37 PM
JOD is nowhere near it. Please end the project for now.

Just hit targets this next half please.

If we lose this we can solely blame Richards. Absolutely horrendous.

03-06-2023, 09:38 PM

Great spoil I thought, against Gardner.

It’s an absolute joke he’s playing. Offers zilch. What is even his role ??

How are they winning clearances? How? Please explain?

I just don’t like Caleb in defence.

03-06-2023, 09:39 PM
Gardner would be the worst puncher in the AFL. Most goes backwards 3 metres.

Coz our media overrated midfield is being owned.

Think the gifts we've given them will cost us tonight. We'll run out of legs for them to pip us. We just can kill a game off when we have momentum. We should have kicked the last goal of that quarter for a 14pt lead. Instead it's 2.

03-06-2023, 09:41 PM
I get the feeling Cameron is going to have a big 2nd half.

If it wasn?t for English, we?d be 4 goals down.

03-06-2023, 09:41 PM
Got 2 good lead up marks early and fluffed the kicks.

03-06-2023, 09:42 PM
Our backline tackling is the worst in the AFL.

We should be 30 in front. How are they still in the game? Need some players to lift - Bont, Jamarra, Smith, Naughton- hopefully we can hang on.

I think Geelong have scored 3 or 4 goals from free kicks and two from turnovers by our defenders. Their field kicking has been the reason why they're still in it. Ours has been ordinary.

Don’t know the stats but the ruck contests we win go straight to them

03-06-2023, 09:43 PM

And Jones.

He has been huge. What a game. Hope others follow.

Boots
I saw some analysis after the suns game (on bigfooty) that showed how vulnerable we are to forward line turnovers. It just kills us every week, it’s the main reason we never just put teams away. We can score like mad but if we turn it over in the forward line it’s a near certain goal. Seems to be killing us tonight too. Watching their guys “lead at the foot” (think I’m using this right mjp) and just clunk marks everywhere while we run weird sideways leads that are constantly cut off…

And at the other end I have to watch Hawkins just smash it on his own boot as the ruck. They did all this shit to protect the ruckman (getting rid of 3rd man up) but they won’t do a thing to stop that.

03-06-2023, 09:44 PM
I’m not so sure that you all will be correct after the next 60 minutes. We are playing ok. We just need to take our chances. I still confident that we get them in the end

03-06-2023, 09:44 PM
We need to lower the eyes going inside 50 not using easy targets and kicking too long.

03-06-2023, 09:46 PM
Our skills (kicking in particular) needs to improve dramatically. The amount of times our 20 metre kicks don’t hit a target or even make the distance is a Hollywood comedy.

03-06-2023, 09:48 PM
Bonts movement is a concern. Looked cooked multiple times and his form has been pretty average for a few weeks now.

03-06-2023, 09:49 PM
Is it just me but has Baker given us much lately?

03-06-2023, 09:50 PM
I’m not so sure that you all will be correct after the next 60 minutes. We are playing ok. We just need to take our chances. I still confident that we get them in the end

We are playing ok but not putting teams away is a huge concern. Geelong will sniff a victory and lift. Going to be tough

We need to lower the eyes going inside 50 not using easy targets and kicking too long.
Defensive side kicking isn’t much better

Bonts movement is a concern. Looked cooked multiple times and his form has been pretty average for a few weeks now.

You mean since he tweeted his knee weeks ago.

03-06-2023, 09:51 PM
Is it just me but has Baker given us much lately?

I think so. Plenty of run and carry. Gets enough of the ball. But like the rest of the team often butchers it.

You mean since he tweeted his knee weeks ago.

If he's injured, rest him. Half baked Bont isn't helping us overcome a VFL standard midfield group.

Girdle our loins Woofers.
We can do this.
Great opportunity to beat the Cats

What role is Scott playing? He’s hardly been cited

03-06-2023, 09:52 PM

He was on Stewart from what I could see.

03-06-2023, 09:52 PM

He is good in patches but looks like he is struggling a bit.

03-06-2023, 09:53 PM
Girdle our loins Woofers.
We can do this.
Great opportunity to beat the Cats

Yes, we should win. Should’ve won last week too. Time to play well, hit targets and kick easy goals. We should absolutely win this.

He was on Stewart from what I could see.

He’s been a goal kicker the last 3 weeks so now gotta sacrifice his game on Stewart (when we continue to kick it to Stewart anyway) ;)

Should’ve had an uncontested mark and likely goal of Weightman hit him up in the first.

03-06-2023, 09:55 PM
We can’t have Geel getting belief. If they get that 2-3 goal lead I reckon we will struggle to get it back.

03-06-2023, 09:56 PM
Should’ve had an uncontested mark and likely goal of Weightman hit him up in the first.
Exactly. I was thinking the same. Completely ignored.

03-06-2023, 09:56 PM
Listening on AFL app.Seems Gardner has given away a couple of frees for Geelong goals. Needs to do better

Boots
03-06-2023, 09:57 PM
Turnover… goal

03-06-2023, 09:57 PM
Yes, we should win. Should’ve won last week too. Time to play well, hit targets and kick easy goals. We should absolutely win this.

Feeling nervous now.

03-06-2023, 09:58 PM
Is there any chance at all Baker can give the ball to one of ours?

03-06-2023, 10:01 PM
Turnover kings!

03-06-2023, 10:03 PM
Good boy.

Boots
Geez Marra is off tonight. I’ve seen him jog towards space and leave the ball to oppo players, plus he keeps kicking behinds.

Well done JOD, good on the kid

03-06-2023, 10:05 PM
Great capt’s point that 1

Ffs bont

Listening on AFL app.Seems Gardner has given away a couple of frees for Geelong goals. Needs to do better

Wait until you see the footage of the Jezza flop. I think he's played alright - Cameron is an outstanding player.

03-06-2023, 10:06 PM
Worst Captain shot at goal in the comp.

Desperately needed.

Boots
Ok I take that back he’s doing well

03-06-2023, 10:09 PM
Aaaand another goal from our forward 50.

That’s rubbish Libba… every time we sneak a 10 point break we let them back into it.

Aaaand another goal from our forward 50.

It’s like a sling shot.

03-06-2023, 10:10 PM
That’s rubbish Libba… every time we sneak a 10 point break we let them back into it.

What with this in his game now?

03-06-2023, 10:12 PM
5 defenders going to smother the kick. 5!!! Then they've got 3 guys all on their own. Rubbish.

03-06-2023, 10:13 PM
This is abysmal.

Boots
03-06-2023, 10:13 PM
The cats make us look like amateurs every single time we play them.

03-06-2023, 10:14 PM
Push in the back!!? They never pay those yet have paid 2 of them against us tonight.

03-06-2023, 10:14 PM
The cats make us look like amateurs every single time we play them.

It's like kids trying to beat their parents. Honestly we look like we're in the amateur league.

03-06-2023, 10:15 PM
F off Gardner.

Gardner isnt afl quality

This is why I hate watching footy.

03-06-2023, 10:16 PM
How many times do we basic kicking errors? It’s embarrassing.

Boots
Push in the back!!? They never pay those yet have paid 2 of them against us tonight.

to be fair they’ve paid real soft ones to us too. There’s one ump out there who loves them.

I feel we are just mentally weak against this mob.

Boots
Tim English is completely brilliant.

03-06-2023, 10:18 PM
Dear oh dear
I can see this blowing out

I saw some analysis after the suns game (on bigfooty) that showed how vulnerable we are to forward line turnovers. It just kills us every week, it?s the main reason we never just put teams away. We can score like mad but if we turn it over in the forward line it?s a near certain goal. Seems to be killing us tonight too. Watching their guys ?lead at the foot? (think I?m using this right mjp) and just clunk marks everywhere while we run weird sideways leads that are constantly cut off?

And at the other end I have to watch Hawkins just smash it on his own boot as the ruck. They did all this shit to protect the ruckman (getting rid of 3rd man up) but they won?t do a thing to stop that.

Becase all our fwds fly for the Mark and no one is.at bottom of pack to crumb and trap the ball

Even Hawkins knows when to stay down , the goal he kicked from ball falling behind the pack

3rd quarter and now they are 2 points in fromt wih 5 mims left

Put a fork in us. Season done. We just arent that good.

Naughton is taking the piss.

03-06-2023, 10:19 PM
We are their bitch. Simple.

Boots
03-06-2023, 10:20 PM
Turnover? goal

03-06-2023, 10:20 PM
Richard subbed, Bont injured

03-06-2023, 10:21 PM
Ffs....we are like an u10s team. We suck.

Leave McNeil. Now.

Wow. Oh McNeil

Why is McNeil on our list?

Leave McNeil. Now.

Forever.

03-06-2023, 10:22 PM
You just knew that McNeil would miss that.

There's something Sisyphean about watching us go forward

McNeil and Gardner should never play afl again.

03-06-2023, 10:23 PM
Leave McNeil. Now.

We just dont want to win

You hope they work on their kicking during training ?

03-06-2023, 10:24 PM
Really need this goal. So of course he'll miss.

03-06-2023, 10:25 PM
We just dont want to win

You hope they work on their kicking during training ?

I never want to see him again. Ever.

03-06-2023, 10:26 PM
I'm about a quarter away from being done with Bevo.

03-06-2023, 10:26 PM
We have all seen this episode before

03-06-2023, 10:27 PM
This is absolutely abysmal. We are Geelongs bitches. We have the mental fortitude of a 4 year old.

Four more scores and we are down. It’s like that’s the plan it’s so ****ing regular.

I hate watching this. This game should have been done and dusted at HT. Can’t see us winning now

What’s new

Hands up to those who thought McNeil was going to miss. *raises hand*

You certainly are on the money with some of our team selections.

But…….

Basic and I mean very basic errors from senior players are what’s cost us the game tonight.

03-06-2023, 10:28 PM
This is absolutely abysmal. We are Geelongs bitches. Would we beat their vfl side?

Lucky to beat their U19s

What’s new

Your blind optimism certainly isn't.

We are being rimmed by a team that shouldn’t be anywhere near it, but with our overrated midfield and our Benny hill backline, ofcourse we give this “no chance” team, be a “real chance” team.
Geel only need 2 more goals to win this.

03-06-2023, 10:29 PM
Your blind optimism certainly isn't.
Yep….

https://i.postimg.cc/xTjw9rnX/PXL-20230603-112055960.jpg (https://postimg.cc/WtKW7HDV)

I had this photo ready to go......

Tough to come out and be match ready the sub thing is a hard gig.

Williams is a guy who looks like he can kick but actually can't.

McNeil and Gardner should never play afl again.

Gardener really won this stubborn old fool over, he's lost me this season. An absolute liability by foot, spoils teamates and can no longer defend. Surely Keath can't be going that badly when guys like him.and TOB are getting games back there.

03-06-2023, 10:31 PM
We are being rimmed by a team that shouldn’t be anywhere near it, but with our overrated midfield and our Benny hill backline, ofcourse we give this “no chance” team, be a “real chance” team.
Geel only need 2 more goals to win this.

Lots of depth in the backline : Bevo this week.

Gardners just a quicker Cordy.

Gardener really won this stubborn old fool over, he's lost me this season. An absolute liability by foot, spoils teamates and can no longer defend. Surely Keath can't be going that badly when guys like him.and TOB are getting games back there.

That just shows where our defensive stocks are. Thank god for Jones.

Gardner and O’Brien are VFL
Keath is cooked.

03-06-2023, 10:32 PM
Not getting enough from senior players but a number others shouldn’t have been selected

Hands up to those who thought McNeil was going to miss. *raises hand*

Thats a rhetorical question

We ca.n still win this.

03-06-2023, 10:33 PM
We probably won’t kick a goal this quarter…

03-06-2023, 10:34 PM
Lots of depth in the backline : Bevo this week.

Going turn Poulter to a backman to add versatility

03-06-2023, 10:35 PM
We probably won’t kick a goal this quarter…

But Tom stewart Did ! We have give up

03-06-2023, 10:35 PM
Pay him $2,000,000 to kick like that

03-06-2023, 10:37 PM
The floodgates are about to open

03-06-2023, 10:40 PM
We are frauds.

03-06-2023, 10:41 PM
We are frauds.

Bring on the Ashes

Baker and Jones need a rest.
McNeil and JOD just need to be dropped.

03-06-2023, 10:43 PM
Just error after error… school boy stuff.

03-06-2023, 10:43 PM
English is playing the absolute game of his life just quietly

03-06-2023, 10:44 PM
Game over

03-06-2023, 10:45 PM
Reckon we could get a few more handballs in.

English is playing the absolute game of his life just quietly
Pity it’s all in vain

We can’t kick and can’t win this

03-06-2023, 10:47 PM
Has Baker hit a target?

03-06-2023, 10:47 PM
Fairly beaten.
Like last week.
Better drilled team with great character.
Our character lacked on the night, missing field kicks and goals.

03-06-2023, 10:48 PM
Has Baker hit a target?

He’s not alone.

03-06-2023, 10:49 PM
McNeil you make me angry.

03-06-2023, 10:49 PM
Now Port next week haha

I’m getting in early….
Port by 42 points.

03-06-2023, 10:50 PM
McNeil you make me angry.

That was pathetic effort , he was nowhere near the ball , no body contact , just got outmarked

03-06-2023, 10:51 PM
He’s not alone.

He’s just about the worst offender.

03-06-2023, 10:52 PM
He’s just about the worst offender.

He needs a rest
Like a few out there.

Boots
03-06-2023, 10:54 PM
What a frustrating team we are. Can’t mark, can’t get ground balls, can’t run, can’t kick.

03-06-2023, 10:54 PM
He needs a rest
Like a few out there.

And bring in who? Our depth is awful. We're going nowhere fast.

03-06-2023, 10:56 PM
Smith you peanut.

03-06-2023, 10:56 PM
Sack him.

03-06-2023, 10:57 PM
Well that was such a disappointment

03-06-2023, 10:58 PM
I love our club, but really dislike our team. :(

We had our opportunities and we missed all of them.

We shovel it forward, we get repeat stoppage, we turn it over, they rebound, they score. Rinse, repeat

And bring in who? Our depth is awful. We're going nowhere fast.

True. I have no idea who. I don?t watch the VFL. I?m expecting Poulter to be named next week so maybe baker for him.

03-06-2023, 10:59 PM
We're not making finals this year. This team is garbage. Absolute frauds the lot of them.

03-06-2023, 11:00 PM
Well that was such a disappointment

To be honest, I thought it was fairly predictable…

I know what Geel is like against us
I know what we are like against them
Us coming back from Darwin
Geel going for 4 losses (won’t happen)
Hawkins/Cameron/Rohan playing
Jones/O’Brien/Gardner playing

I couldn’t believe Geel were $2.37

03-06-2023, 11:01 PM
Geelong always turn up against us ffs .. gee the free kicks were bad too .
Same thing, kick it shit into our forward line , talls run into each other.
Never see Cameron or Hawkins run into each other .

03-06-2023, 11:02 PM
70 more touches. More inside 50s. More scoring shots.

Never in doubt. Scott and Geelong own this football club.

03-06-2023, 11:03 PM

Yep. I didn't understand the confidence. We never beat this mob. They laugh at us and mock us and we never respond.

03-06-2023, 11:04 PM
We did not kick 1 goal in the last quarter. All the misses early on, just soul destroying.
10. 15 , yes 15 points !

the good, bad and the ugle is our game style.

03-06-2023, 11:06 PM

Yep knew we'd lose. As predictable as a sunset. They're in another league to us.

03-06-2023, 11:06 PM
Shocking performance - there is no escaping that. We simply cannot kick goals from set shots or snaps and our field kicking is well below par.
We are a long way off the teams above us and I'm certain that even if we make the finals we are just making up the numbers. Very poor performance tonight.

Boots
03-06-2023, 11:07 PM
We're not making finals this year. This team is garbage. Absolute frauds the lot of them.

it’s worse than that. We’ll make finals again and change nothing.

03-06-2023, 11:07 PM
It is what it is, not disappointed as I put the cue in the rack on this season long ago, this just kind of reaffirms it. We are just nowhere near good enough, middle of the rung team. No better than last season, no worse.

03-06-2023, 11:09 PM
it?s worse than that. We?ll make finals again and change nothing.

For us to make finals we'll obviously need our opponents to be missing 10 of their best 22.

03-06-2023, 11:10 PM
it?s worse than that. We?ll make finals again and change nothing.

Just a tweak of the defence will do it. Maybe add another tall. Then we're destined for top 4. Bevo is on crack.

03-06-2023, 11:12 PM
Effort was there but our minds weren't. You can't give that much away to a team that's better than average, in terms of both shots at goal and poor usage up the field.

You'll get burned every time, and some of our players need to either get it together and capitalise on simple shots, or **** off and make some other team's supporters go insane.

Such a typically wasteful display.

03-06-2023, 11:14 PM
70 more touches. More inside 50s. More scoring shots.

Never in doubt. Scott and Geelong own this football club.

03-06-2023, 11:14 PM
Effort was there but our minds weren't. You can't give that much away to a team that's better than average, in terms of both shots at goal and poor usage up the field.

You'll get burned every time, and some of our players need to either get it together and capitalise on simple shots, or **** off and make some other team's supporters go insane.

Such a typically wasteful display.

Please start a trade thread, maybe a few. Maybe use a super draft and rebuild. I don’t think a refresh wins s flag from here.

03-06-2023, 11:16 PM
At the end of the day in my mind, the 22 we put out on the park should beat the 22 they had out on the park. This was our best chance to beat the Cats in a long time, and we choked

03-06-2023, 11:17 PM
Three minutes to go and three goals down, Smith gets a fifty and runs forward slowly enough to allow holes to be filled. Then goes sideways to a contest. What the actual **** mate?

Perfect example of our idiotic players not thinking or being proactive.

Funke disco
03-06-2023, 11:18 PM
So disappointing, the type of loss the drains energy, hope and belief from a season. We just aren’t good enough. We look our best when our best link together and move the ball. As soon as a weak link takes it….. turnover and goal. We didn’t lose because they played better than us, we lost because they made less mistakes than us

03-06-2023, 11:23 PM
They score goals so easy against the run. We can’t score goals with all the momentum. That is basically the difference every single time we play them. They laugh at our all out efforts, knowing they are going to feast on an east turn over as soon as we stuff it up.